G.O.C. STAFF RULE ABSTRACT

AGENCY:

SUBJECT:

STATUTORY AUTHORITY:

EFFECTIVE DATES:

FISCAL IMPACT:

STAFF RULE ABSTRACT:

Tennessee Treasury Department, Division of
Claims Administration, Criminal Injuries
Compensation

Criminal injuries Compensation Program
Tennessee Code Annotated, Section 29-13-106
May 8, 2016 through June 30, 2017

The department estimates that an increase in
annual expenditures of $172,900, which will be
funded by a federal grant and fines, penalties, and
fees paid by convicted individuals {o state and
federal courts.

Under the Criminal Injuries Compensation Act of
1976, the maximum compensation that may be
awarded on account of the same criminal act is set
by statute at $30,000. The Act requires the
treasurer to annually compare the maximum to that
of other states and, if the treasurer determines that
the maximum is less than 105 percent of the
national average, the treasurer must promulgate a
rule to adjust the maximum award to an amount
equal to 105 percent of the national average,
rounded up to the nearest $100. Any adjustment
made pursuant to this provision is effective on July
1 of the next fiscal year and applies to claims filed
for crimes occurring on or after such date.

The proposed rule adjusts the maximum
compensation to $31,900, which will apply to claims
filed for crimes occurring on or after July 1, 2016.



Regulatory Flexibility Addendum

Pursuant to T.C.A. §§ 4-5-401 through 4-5-404, prior o initiating the rulemaking process as described in T.C.A.
§ 4-5-202(a)(3) and T.C.A. § 4-5-202(a), all agencies shall conduct a review of whether a proposed rule or rule
affects small businesses.

Not applicable.



Impact on Local Governments

Pursuant to T.C.A. §§ 4-5-220 and 4-5-228 "any rule proposed to be promulgated shall state in a simple
declarative sentence, without additional comments on the merits of the policy of the rules or reguiation, whether
the rule or regulation may have a projected impact on local governments.” (See Public Chapter Number 1670
{(http:#/state.tn. us/sosfacts/106/pub/pc1070.pdf) of the 2010 Session of the Genheral Assembly)

Chapter 0300-02-.07 does not have a projected impact on local governments.
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Proposed Rule(s) Filing Form

Proposed rules are submitted pursuant to Tenn. Code Ann. §§ 4-5-202, 4-5-207, and 4-5-229 in lieu of a rulemaking hearing. It is the intent of
the Agency fo promulgate these rules without a rufemaling hearing tinfess a petition requesting such hearing is filed within ninety (90} days of
the filing of the proposed rule with the Secrefary of State. To be effective, the petition must be filed with the Agency and be signed by twenty-
five (25) persons who will be affected by the amendments, or submitted by a municipality which will be affected by the amendments, or an
association of wenly-five (25) or more members, or any standing committee of the General Assembly. The agency shall forward such petition
to the Secrefary of State.

Pursuant to Tenn. Code Ann. § 4-5-229, any new fee or fee increase promulgated by state agency rule shali take effect on July 1, following
the expiration of the ninety (90) day period as provided in § 4-5-207. This section shall not apply fo rules that implement new fees or fee
increases that are promulgated as emergency rules pursuant fo § 4-5-208(a) and to subsequent rufes that make permanent such emergency
rules, as amended during the rulemaking process. In addition, this section shall not apply to state agencies that did nof, during the preceding
two (2) fiscal years, collect fees in an amount sufficlent to pay the cost of operating the board, commission or eniity in accordance with § 4-29-
121(h).

Agency/Board/Commission: | Tennessee Treasury Department
Division: | Division of Claims Administration, Criminal Injuries Compensation
Contact Person: | Rodney Escobar, Director of the Division of Claims Administration
Address: | 502 Deaderick Street; Andrew Jackson Building, 15" Floor, Nashville,
Tennessee
~ Zip: | 37243
Phone: | 615-741-9957
~ Email: | Rodney.Escobar@tn.gov

Revision Type {check all that apply):
Amendment
X New

Repeal

Rule(s) Revised (ALL chapters and rules contained in filing must be listed here. If needed, copy and paste
additional tables to accommodate multiple chapters. Please enter only ONE Rule Number/Rule Title per row)

Chapter Number | Chapter Title

0300-02 Criminal Injuries Compensation Program
Rule Number Rule Title
0300-02-.07 Maximum Award Limit




Chapter 0300-02
Criminal Injuries Compensation Program
0300-02-.07 Maximum Award Limit.

(1) Purpose. The purpose of this rule is to adjust the maximum compensation award for a claim or
claims filed pursuant to title 29, chapter 13, part 1.

{2} Award Limit and Requirements. For a claim or claims filed with the division requesting compensation
for a crime committed against a victim, the maximum compensation award shall not exceed thirty-one
thousand nine hundred dollars {$31,900.00). The maximum compensation award applies to the
aggregate of all claims filed arising from a single crime against a victim. The maximum compensation
award shall be effective on July 1, 2016, and shall apply to all claims filed for crimes occurring on or
after such date.

Authority: T.C.A. § 29-13-106{h).



* If a roll-call vote was necessary, the vote by the Agency on these rules was as follows:

Abstain Absent Signature
(if required)

Board Member Aye No

Not applicable.

| certify that this is an accurate and complete copy of proposed rules, lawfully promulgated and adopted by the
/‘m c‘" z o /4 (date as mm/dd/yyyy), and is in compliance with the

(board/commission/other authorify) on o ¢
provisions of T.C.A. § 4-5-222. The Secretary of State is hereby instructed that, in the absence of a petition for

proposed rules being filed under the conditions set out herein and in the locations described, he is to treat the
proposed rules as being placed on file in his office as rules at the expiration of ninety (80) days of the filing of the

proposed rule with the Secretary of State.
Date: Q/ (;&W% 5/&) ﬂ é/ﬁ
Signature: m/ W{,/%Aﬂé%?ﬁ

Name of Officer: David H. Lillard, Jr.

Title of Officer: State Treasurer

. !
Subscribed and sworn to before me on: j“ . S .20 4

Notary Public Signature: LAty -tV Ve &%WL“
JNavrith 100 D6l g

My commission expires on:

All proposed rules provided for herein have been examined by the Attorney General and Reporter of the State of
Tennessee and are approved as {o legality pursuant to the provisions of the Administrative Procedures Act,

Tennessee Code Annotated, Title 4, Chapter 5.
HHoborr Y o, P

Herbert H. Sjtery 1|
Altorney General and Reporter

2 [5/201b
o Date

Department of State Use Only
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o

- t«\" o Filed with the Department of State on: ,;13 AT
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o Effective on: 31 g ]i(e
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oo b Tre Hargett

& s
P Secretary of State
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G.0.C. STAFF RULE ABSTRACT

AGENCY:

SUBJECT:

STATUTORY AUTHORITY:

EFFECTIVE DATES:

FISCAL IMPACT:

STAFF RULE ABSTRACT:

Water and Wastewater Financing Board

Definitions; Powers, Duties and Authority;
Regulatory Procedures

Tennessee Code Annctated, Section 88-211-
1009(a)(1)

May 1, 2016 through June 30, 2017
None

According to the Board, the rules provide basic
procedural guidelines for the Board's administrative
processes and change the Board's prior rules by
removing provisions that duplicated state law and
streamlining the regulatory procedures section.



Regulatory Flexibility Addendum
Pursuant to T.C.A. §§ 4-5-401 through 4-5-404, prior to initiating the rule making process as described in T.C.A.

§ 4-5-202(a)(3) and T.C.A. § 4-5-202(a), all agencies shali conduct a review of whether a proposed rule or rule
affects small businesses,

(If applicable, insert Regulatory Flexibility Addendum here)



Impact on Local Governments

Pursuantto T.C.A. §§ 4-5-220 and 4-5-228 "any rule proposed to be promulgated shall state in a simple
declarative sentence, without additional comments on the merits of the policy of the rules or regulation, whether
the rule or regulation may have a projected impact on local governments.” (See Public Chapter Number 1070
(http://state tn.us/sos/acts/1 06/pub/pci107Q.pdf} of the 2010 Session of the General Assembly)

The estimated fiscal impact on state and local government revenues and expenditures is minimal; the rule is
merely a simplified version of the Water and Wastewater Financing Board's prior rule.
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Proposed Rule(s) Filing Form

Proposed rules are submitted pursuant to Tenn, Code Ann. §§ 4-5-202, 4-5-207, and 4-5-229 in lfeu of a rulemaking hearing. It is the intent of

the Agency to promulgate these rules without a rulemaking hearing unless a petition requesting such hearing is filed within ninety (90} days of

the filing of the proposed rule with the Secretary of State. To be effective, the petition must be filed with the Agency and be signed by twenty-
: five (25) persons who will be affected by the amendments, or submitfed by a municipality which will be affected by the amendments, or an
i association of twenty-five (28) or more members, or any standing committee of the General Assembly. The agency shall forward such petition
; fo the Secretary of State.

H
1
i
i

Pursuant to Tenn. Code Ann. § 4-5-229, any new fee or fee increase promulgated by state agency rule shail take seffect on July 1, following
the expiration of the ninely {90} day pericd as provided in § 4-5-207. This section shall not apply to rules that implement new fees or fee
increases that are promulgated as emergency rules pursuant to § 4-5-208(a) and fo subsequent rules that make permanent such emergency
rules, as amended during the rulemaking process. In addifion, this section shall not apply to state agencies that did not, during the preceding
two (2} fiscal years, collect fees in an amount sufficient to pay the cost of operating the board, commission or entify in accordance with § 4-29-
121(b}.

Agency/Board/Commission: | Comptroller of the Treasury
Division: : Water and Wastewater Financing Board
Contact Person: | Betsy Knotts
Address: | Suite 1700, James K. Polk Building, 505 Deaderick Street
Zip: | 37243
Phone:  (615) 401-7954
Email: | Betsy.Knotts@cot.tn.gov

Revision Type {check all that apply):

Amendment
X New
X Repeal

Rule(s) Revised (AlL chapters and rules contained in filing must be listed here. If needed, copy and paste
additional tables to accommaodate mutltipie chapters. Please enter only ONE Rule Number/Rule Title per row)

Chapter Number | Chapter Title

1740-01 Water and Wastewater Financing Board
Rule Number Rule Title

1740-01-.01 Definitions

1740-01-.02 Powers, Duties, and Authority
1740-01-.03 Regulatory Procedures

Chapter Number | Chapter Title

Rule Number Rule Title
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(Place substance of rules and other info here. Statutory authority must be given for each rule change. For
information on formatting rules go to hitp://share.tn.us/sos/rules/1360/1360.htm)

1740-01-.01 DEFINITIONS
{1) As used in these regulations:
{a) "Board” means the Water and Wastewater Financing Board.
(b} “Chair" means the Comptroller's designee.

{c) "Comptroller” means the Comptroller of the Treasury, or designee.

{d) "Counsel” means an attorney from the Comptroller's Office,

(e} “Staff’ means any person or persons under the control and direction of the Comptroller.
Authority: T.C.A. §§4-5-202 and 68-221-1007 through 68-221-1013. Administrative History: Qriginal rule filed
August 26, 1988, effective October 10, 1988. Chapter 1200-22-05 moved to 1740-01 by the Secretary of State
under the authority of Public Chapter 86 of Acts of 2007. Repeal and new rule filed June 29, 2010; effective
September 27, 2010. Repeal and new rules filed <DATE>; effective <DATE>.
1740-01-.02 POWERS, DUTIES, AND AUTHORITY

(1) Terms; expenses
(a) Board members shall be appointed to three-year terms.
(b) If a successor is not appointed before the end of a Board member's three-year term, the
Board member shall continue to serve until a successor is appointed or until the Board

member is reappointed.

{c) Appointments to succeed a Board member who is unable to serve a full ferm shall be for the
remainder of that term.

{d} Board members shall serve without compensation, but shall be eligible for reimbursement for
travel expenses in accordance with the provisions of the comprehensive travel regulations as
promulgated by the Department of Finance and Administration and approved by the Aitorney
General and Reporter.
{2) Meetings

(a) The Board shall exercise its powers only at public meetings.

(b) The Board shall hold at least two meetings each calendar year.

(c} The Board may hold special meet?ngs.

{d) Special meetings shali be called by the Chair or by any two Board members.

(e} Forany calendar year, the Board by resolution may set a regular meeting schedule.
(3) Quorum

(a) A majority of the Board constitutes a quorum.

11



(b) A majority of the Board members present and voting shall be required for formal action of
the Board,; for purposes of determining whether a Board member is voting, any member
who has been determined by Counsel to have a conflict of interest or an appearance of
impropriety must be excluded.

{4) Conflicts of interest; appearances of impropriety

(a) Board members shall file annual written disclosures of financial interests and other direct
and indirect conflicts of interest. '

{b} Board members are not authorized to participate in the discussion of or to vote on
matters involving entities in which the Board member has a financial interest, with which
the Board member has a conflict of interest, with which the Board member has a contract
of employment, or if there is any appearance of impropriety as determined by Counsel.

(5) Records
(a) Staff shall keep complete and accurate records of Board meetings.

(b) Board records will be maintained in accordance with applicable records retention policy
and will be open to the public in accordance with Comptroller policy and state law.

{6) Guidelines

(a) The Board may annually delegate certain duties to Staff related to researching, drafting,
and updating Board guidelines and other educational materials.

(b} The Board may annually review, amend, and endorse by formal action the following:

1. A non-revenue water percentage and validity score that provide
parameters for water loss referrals and any related Board guidelines
or educational materials.

2. A list of certain factors that are used by the Board when evaluating
the reasonableness of rate structures and any related Board
guidelines or educational materials.

Authority: T.C.A. §§4-5-202 and 68-221-1007 through 68-221-1013.
1740-01-.03 REGULATORY PROCEDURES
(1} Formal Review

(a) When an entity is referred by operation of statute to the Board for any
reason, including, but not limited to financial distress, Comptrofier
investigation, or excessive water loss, the entity will undergo a formal
review by Staff and the Board.

(b} In preparation for the Board's formal review, Staff may request and
review documents of the entity and speak with officials and staff of the
entity. Staff shall gather as much verifiable information as possible about
the entity’s situation and summarize that information for the Board; Staff
must be able to provide backup documentation for all statements made
in any case summary.

{c) The Board shail review Staff's case summary at a public meeting,

request any backup documentation, and decide what the entity must do
to remedy any issues. The Board shall then direct Counsel to document

12



(d)

the Board’s requirements in the form of a Board order, letter, or
memorandum. The requirements must be met before the Board releases
the entity from Board oversight and the formal review. The order or
similar document shall require the entity to update the Board in writing by
a date certain prior to formal release from Board oversight.

At the apprepriate time, the Board shall direct Counsel to close the case
formally and inform the entity of its changed status.

{2) Board Investigation

(@)

(d)

(e)

In certain circumstances, including, but not limited to, when an entity has
been referred by operation of statute to the Board for two or more years
consecutively, the Board may request Staff to perform an investigation of
an entity’s financial, technical, and managerial capacity.

Staff may request and review documents, speak with officials and staff of
the entity, and attend entity meetings.

At the conclusion of the special investigation, Staff shall summarize its
findings and recommendations in a draft report to the Board.

The Board shall review and amend as necessary the draft report at a
public meeting and decide what the entity must do to remedy any issues.
The Board shall then direct Counsel to enter it info an order. The order
shall require the entity to update the Board in writing by a date certain as
a condition for formal release from Board oversight and the investigation.

At the appropriate time, the Board shall direct Counsel to close the
investigation formally and inform the entity of its changed status.

{3) Contesied Case

(@)

(b}

()

(4} Litigation

(@)

(b)

(c)

Parties to a Board order may request by written petition a hearing or
rehearing brought before the Board pursuant to the Uniform
Administrative Procedures Act, compiled in title 4, chapter 5, part 3.

The written request for a contested case hearing must be received by
Staff no later than thirty (30) days after the date the Board order was
served on the parties.

All contested cases before the Board shall be conducted pursuant to the
Rules of Procedure for Contested Cases as compiled at Chapter 1360-
04-01.

Within the parameters of state law, as confirmed by Counsel, the Board
may initiate legal proceedings against noncompliant entities.

The Board shall exhaust all statutorily authorized administrative
procedures before initiating any formal legal proceedings.

In all matters involving formal litigation, the Board shall engage the
Altorney General and Reporter.

Authority: T.C.A. §§4-5-202 and 68-221-1007 through 68-221-1013.
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* {If a roll-calt vote was necessary, the vote by the Agency on these rules was as follows:

Board Member Aye No Abstain Absent Signature
(if required)

Ann Butterworth
Tom Moss
Tamika Parker
Drexel Heidel
Kenneth Wiggins
Rick Graham
Mechele Williams
Randy Wilkins
Vacancy
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| certify that this is an accurate and complete copy of proposed rules, lawfully promulgated and adopted by the
{board/commission/other authority) on 12/03/2015 (date as mm/dd/yyyy), and is in compliance with the provisions
of T.C.A. § 4-5-222. The Secretary of State is hereby instructed that, in the absence of a petition for proposed
rules being filed under the conditions set out herein and in the locations described, he is {o treat the proposed
rules as being placed on file in his office as rules at the expiration of ninety (90) days of the filing of the proposed

rule with the Secretary of State.
Date: { / L:' / / f:’)

g, I ‘
%GQ%£SH$,<§; 3 Signature: > . z?/i(/t}?l)‘@\
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F STATEOF & Name of Officerr  Ann V. Butterworth
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NOTARY
PUBLgc
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Title of Officer:  Chair of the Water and Wastewater Financing Board
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Notary Public Signature: ?3

My commission expires on: Qﬁ,j@‘%g
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All proposed rules provided for herein have been examined by the Attorney General and Reporter of the State of
Tennessee and are approved as to legality pursuant to the provisions of the Administrative Procedures Act,

Tennessee Code Annotated, Title 4, Chapter 5.
meéw- - St )

Herbert H. Slatery H!
78] Attorney General and Reporter

7/25/2016
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Effective on:

Tre Hargett
Secretary of State
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G.0.C. STAFF RULE ABSTRACT

AGENCY:

SUBJECT:

STATUTORY AUTHORITY:

EFFECTIVE DATES:

FISCAL IMPACT:

STAFF RULE ABSTRACT:

Utility Management Review Board

Definitions; Powers, Duties and Authority;
Regulatory Procedures

Tennessee Code Annotated, Section 7-82-
702(a)(1)

May 1, 2016 through June 30, 2017
None

According to the Board, the rules provide basic
procedural guidelines for the Board's administrative
processes and change the Board's prior rules by
removing provisions that duplicated state law,
streamiining the regulatory procedures section, and
clarifying the provisions related to Board member
conflicts of interest,
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Regulatory Flexibility Addendum

Pursuant to T.C A. §§ 4-5-401 through 4-5-404, prior to initiating the rule making process as described in T.C.A.
§ 4-5-202(a)(3) and T.C.A. § 4-5-202(a), all agencies shall conduct a review of whether a proposed rule or rule
affects small businesses.

(If applicable, insert Regulatory Flexibility Addendum here)
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Impact on Local Governments

Pursuant to T.C.A. §§ 4-5-220 and 4-5-228 "any rule proposed to be promulgated shall state in a simple
declarative sentence, without additional comments on the merits of the policy of the rules or reguiation, whether
the rule or regulation may have a projected impact on local governments.” (See Public Chapter Number 1070
(http://state.tn.us/sos/acts/1068/pub/pc1070.pdf) of the 2010 Session of the General Assembly)

The estimated fiscal impact on state and local government revenues and expenditures is minimal, the rule is
merely a simplified version of the UMRB’s prior rule.
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Proposed Rule(s) Filing Form

Proposed rules are submitted pursuant to Tenn. Cade Ann. §§ 4-5-202, 4-5-207, and 4-5-229 in lieu of a rulemaking hearing. It is the infent of
the Agency fo promulgate these rules without a rulemaking hearing unless a pefition requesting such hearing is filed within ninety (90) days of
the filing of the proposed rule with the Secretary of State. To be effective, the peiition must be filed with the Agency and be signed by fwenty-
five (25) persons who will be affected by the amendments, or submitted by a municipality which will be affected by the amendments, or an
association of twenfy-five (25) or more members, or any standing committee of the General Assembly. The agency shall forward such petition
to the Secrefary of State.

Pursuant to Tenn. Code Ann. § 4-5-229, any new fee or fee increase promufgated by stale agency rule shall take effect on July 1, folfowing
the expiration of the ninety (90) day period as provided in § 4-5-207. This section shall not apply to rules that implement new fees or fee
increases that are promulgated as emergency rules pursuant to § 4-5-208{a} and to subsequent rules that make permanent such emergency
rules, as amended during the rulemaking process. In addition, this section shall not apply to stete agencies that did not, during the preceding
two (2} fiscal years, collect fees in an amount sufficient to pay the cost of operating the board, commission or entity in accordance with § 4-29-
121¢b}. . ..

. Agency/Board/Commission: fComptro"er of the Treasury ,
- Division: - Utility Management Review Board
Contact Person: . Betsy Knotts
__Address:  Suite 1700, James K. Polk Building, 505 Deaderick Street
_Zip: 37243
Phone: (615) 401-7954
Email: Betsy.Knotts@cot.tn.gov

Revision Type (check all that apply):

Amendment
X New
X Repeal

Rule(s) Revised (ALL chapters and rules contained in filing must be listed here. If needed, copy and paste
additional tables to accommodate multiple chapters. Please enter only ONE Rule Number/Rule Title per row)

Chapter Number | Chapter Title

1715-01 Utility Management Review Board

Rule Number Rule Title
1715-01-.01 Definitions ) e ]
1715-01-.02 Powers, Duties, and Authority

1715-01-.03 Regulatory Procedures

_ Chapter Number | Chapter Title

‘Rule Number Rule Title
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(Place substance of rules and other info here. Statutory authority must be given for each rule change. For
information on formatting rules go to hitp://share.tn. us/sos/rules/1360/1360.htm)
1715-01-.01 DEFINITIONS
(1) As used in these regulations:
(a) "Board” means the Utility Management Review Board.
(b} "Chair’ means the Comptroller's designee.
{c) "Comptroifer” means the Comptrolier of the Treasury, or designee.
{d} “Counsel!” means an attorney from the Comptroller's Office.
(e) "Staff’ means any person or persons under the control and direction of the Comptroiler.
Authority: T.C.A. §§ 4-5-202 and 7-82-701 through 7-82-709. Administrative History; Original rule filed June 13,
1989; effective July 28, 1989. Amendment filed August 2, 1994 effective December 29, 1894, Chapter 1200-22-
07 moved to 1715-01 by the Secretary of State Under the authority of Public Chapter 86 of 2007. Amendment
filed June 28, 2010; effective September 27, 2010. Repeal and new rule filed <DATE>; effective <DATE>.
1715-01-.02 POWERS, DUTIES, AND AUTHORITY
(1) Terms; expenses
(a) Board members shall be appointed to four-year terms.
(b} If a successor is not appointed before the end of a Board member’s four-year term, the Board
member shall continue to serve until @ successor is appointed or until the Board member is

reappointed.

{c) Appointments to succeed a Board member who is unable to serve a full-term shall be for the
remainder of that term.

{d) Board members shall serve without compensation, but shall be eligible for reimbursement for
travel expenses in accordance with the provisions of the comprehensive travel reguiations as
promulgated by the Department of Finance and Administration and approved by the Attorney
General and Reporter.

{2} Meetings
{a) The Board shall exercise its powers only at public meetings.

{b} The Board shall hold at least two meetings each calendar year.

{c) The Board may hold special meetings.
(d) Special meetings shall be called by the Chair or by any two Board members.

{(e) For any calendar year, the Board by resolution may set a regular meeting schedule.
(3) Quorum
(a) A majority of the Board constitutes a quorum.

(k) A majority of the Board members present and voting shall be required for formal action of the
Board;, for purposes of determining whether a Board member is voting, any member who has

19



been determined by Counsel to have a confiict of interest or an appearance of impropriety
must be excluded.

{4) Conflicts of inferest; appearances of impropriety
{a) Board members shall fife annual written disclosures of financial interests and other direct and
indirect conflicts of interest with Staff to be maintained in accordance with applicable records
retention policy and open to the public in accordance with Comptroller policy and state law.
{b) Board members are not authorized to participate in the discussion of or to vote on matters
involving entities in which the Board member has a financial interesi, with which the Board

member has a conflict of interest, with which the Board member has a contract of
employment, or if there is any appearance of impropriety as determined by Counsel.

{c) Ateach Board meeting, Counsel shall state the following on the record;

1. The Board was created to act for the public welfare and in furtherance of the
legistature’s intent that utility systems be operated as self-sufficient enterprises.

2. Board members are not authorized to participate in the discussion of or to vote on
matters involving entities in which the Board member has a financial interest, with
which the Board member has a conflict of interest, with which the Board member has
a contract of employment, or if there is any appearance of impropriety.

(5) Records

{a) Staff shall keep complete and accurate records of Board meetings.

{b) Board records will be located in the office of the Comptroller and will be open to the public in
accordance with Comptroller policy and state law.

{6) Guidelines

{a} The Board may annually delegate certain duties to Staff related to researching, drafting, and
updating Board guidelines and other educational materials.

{p) The Board may annually review, amend, and endorse by formal action the following:

1. A non-revenue water percentage and validity score that provide parameters for water
loss referrals and any related Board guidelines or educational materials.

2. A list of certain factors that are used by the Board when evaluating the
reasonableness of rate structures and any related Board guidelines or educational
materials.

3. A list of model utility system policies and any related Board guidelines or educational
materials.

4. A priority list of commissioner training topics and any related Board guidelines or
educational materials.

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 4-5-202 and 7-82-701 through 7-82-709.
1715-01-.03 REGULATORY PROCEDURES

{1} Formal Review
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{a) When an entity is referred by operation of statute to the Board for any reason, including, but
not limited to financial distress, Comptrolier investigation, or excessive water loss, the entity
will undergo a formal review by Staff and the Board.

(b} In preparation for the Board's formal review, Staff may request and review documents of the
entity and speak with officials and staff of the entity. Staff shall gather as much verifiable
information as possible about the circumstances leading to the referral and summarize that
information, as well as remedial steps taken by the entity for the Board; Staff must be able to
provide backup documentation for all statements made in any case summary.

(c} The Board shall review Staffs case summary at a public meeting, request any backup
documentation, and decide what the entity must do to correct any issues if the Board decides
satisfactory remedial actions have not been taken by the entity. Counsel shall document the
Board's direction(s) in the form of a Board order, letter, or memorandum. The order or similar
document shall require the entity to update the Board in writing by a date certain prior to
formal release from Board oversight. The Board's direction{s) must be met before it releases
the entity from Board oversight.

(d) Upon satisfactory compliance with the direction(s) of the Board, the Beard shall instruct Staff
to close the review and inform the entity of its changed status.

(2) Board Investigation
(@) In certain circumstances, including, but not fimited to, when an entity has been referred by
operation of statute to the Board for two or more years consecutively, the Board may request

Staff to perform an investigation of an entity’s financial, technical, and managerial capacity.

{b} Staff may request and review documents, speak with officials and staff of the entity, and
attend entity meetings.

(c} At the conclusion of the investigation, Staff shall summarize its findings and
recommendations in a draft report to the Board.

(d) The Board shall review and amend as necessary the draft report at a public meeting and
decide what the entity must do to remedy any issues. The Board shall then direct Counsel to
enter it into an order. The order shall require the entity to update the Board in writing by a
date certain as a condition for formal release from Board oversight and the investigation.

(e} At the appropriate time, the Board shall direct Staff to close the investigation formally and
inform the entity of its changed status.

{3) Informal Hearing

{(a) Counsel shall review every customer request for an informal hearing in order to assess
whether the matter falls within the legal jurisdiction of the Board.

() Upon confirmation of jurisdiction, Counsel shall prepare the matter for informal hearing by
requesting evidence from both parties, including, but not limited to, minutes, transcripts,
policies, rules, cost of service, and other related documentation.

{c) Both parties shall have an opportunity to be heard at the informal hearing.

(d) After reviewing the evidence, the Board shall direct Counsel to enter an erder memorializing
the Board’s reasoning and conciusion(s).

{4) Contested Case

{a} Inthe event of customers petitioning the Board to initiate a contested case hearing, Staff shall
verify the signatures on the petition and prepare a Staff recommendation to the Board.
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(b) At a public meeting, the Board shall review the Staff recommendation and, if appropriate, the
Board shall take formal action to initiate a contested case hearing. The Board shall direct
Staff and Counsel accordingly to ensure that the case is handled in an efficient manner.

{c) All contested cases before the Board shall be conducted pursuant to the Rules of Procedure
for Contested Cases as compiled at Chapter 1360-04-01.

{5) Litigation

{a} Within the parameters of state faw, as confirmed by Counsel, the Board may initiate legal
proceedings against noncompiiant entities.

{b} The Board shall exhaust all statutorily authorized administrative procedures before initiating
any formal legal proceedings.

{c} In all malters involving formal litigation, the Board shall engage the Attorney General and
Reporter.

Authority: T.C.A. §8§ 4-5-202 and 7-82-701 through 7-82-709.
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If a roli-call vote was necessary, the vote by the Agency on these rules was as follows

Board Member | Aye No

Abstain Absent Signature

(if required)
Ann Butterworth

Tom Moss

Jim Hunter
Kevin Botts
Tim Pelham
Bruce Giles
Jason West
Rebecca Hunter
Pat Riley

XK XX XXX X
=

| certify that this is an accurate and complete copy of proposed rules, lawfully promuigated and adopted by the
{(board/commission/other authorify) on

12/03/2015 (date as mm/dd/yyyy), and is in compliance with the
provisions of T.C.A. § 4-5-222. The Secretary of State is hereby instructed that, in the absence of a petition for

proposed rules being filed under the conditions set out herein and in the 1ocati6ns described, he is to treat the
proposed rules as being placed on file in his office as rules at the expiration of ninety (90} days of the filing of the
proposed rule with the Secretary of State.

o, vate: _y [u1 1o
T 7
§§)®’ﬁ ““““““ ¥ . ’f% Signature: "\ {/dn, r‘n Jl.'”-
§ a: "{A‘?E{}? ‘aa‘ % . ""i'
E : T%“ﬁﬁsgs T2 Name of Officer:  Ann V. Butterworth
z oL P F | | _ B _
% Nwe‘xﬁ N Title of Officer: _ Chair of the Utility Management Review Board
%, e C@s& &
g
'@9’ ot :mma\\\‘

Notary Public Signhature:

My commission expires on: ﬁf{}%ﬁ%

All proposed rules provided for herein have been examined by the Attorney General and Reporter of the State of
Tennessee and are approved as to legality pursuant to the provisions of the Adminisirative Procedures Act

Tennessee Code Annotated, Title 4, Chapter 5.
r#‘méu»# ﬁf/ .é/ at,

Herbert H. Sla ry!ll

Attorney General and Reporter
= / /fo’/"- 2/p
- / Date
Filed with the Department of State on: & { viik
Effective on: St
7

Tre Hargett
Secretary of State
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G.0.C. STAFF RULE ABSTRACT

AGENCY:

SUBJECT:

STATUTORY AUTHORITY:

EFFECTIVE DATES:

FISCAL IMPACT:

STAFF RULE ABSTRACT:

Alarm Systems Contractor Board

General Provisions and Rules of Conduct
Tennessee Code Annotated, Section 62-32-307
May 26, 2016 through June 30, 2017

None.

The Board submitted two rules in one filing.

According to the Board, the first rulemaking hearing
rule amends certain employee registration
requirements concerning the renewat of employee
registration, specifically, by clarifying the statutory
expiration date for registered employees, which is
24 months, and deleting language in the rules,
previously adopted by the Board, which list the
alarm contractor's date of expiration as the date in
which its employees’ registration expires. The
alarm contractor will remain responsible for
submitting the employee registrant's renewal
application, which includes the respective renewal
fees. The first rulemaking hearing rule aiso adds a
new rule clarifying the statufory renewai
requirement for alarm contractors, upon submission
of its certification renewal application, to attach a
list of registered employees.

The second rulemaking hearing rule adds a new
chapter with rules concerning standards of conduct
and ethics for all licensees and employee
registrants. This includes standards by which
licensees and registrants conduct door-to-door
solicitation with customers, along with the
prohibition from engaging in certain false, deceptive
or misleading acts by the licensees or employee
registrants during the sale, installation, service or
maintenance of alarm systems. Furthermore, the
rule will address certain measures by which alarm
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contractors shall conduct themselves and its
employees in regards to conduct concerning
contractual issues with its customers.

25



Impact on Local Governments
Pursuant to T.C.A. §§ 4-5-220 and 4-5-228 “any rule proposed to be promulgated shall state in a simple
declarative sentence, without additional comments on the merits of the policy of the rules or regulation, whether

the rule or regulation may have a projected impact on local governments.” (See Public Chapter Number 1070
(http:/istate.in.us/sosfacts/106/pubipc1070.pdf) of the 2010 Sessicn of the General Assembiy)

These rules are not reasonably viewed as having a projected financial impact on iocal governments.
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Public Hearing Comments

The Alarm Systems Contractors Board held a public hearing on Qctober 16, 2014. Oral commenis received
during the hearing are summarized below along with the Department’s response.

Comment:

Mr. Howard Kohnstamm with Videoguard Integrated Technologies indicated his suppert regarding the Board's
proposed rule 0080-06-.04 regarding the providing of terms clearly and conspicuously on forms and requiring
contractors fo train their employees sufficiently to be able to explain the contractual terms to persons solicited. He
indicated this is a good business practice and that such rule would not dictate what is going to be in the contract.
Mr. Kohnstamm further indicated that those businesses that are complying with the law will not have an issue with
the proposed rule.

Response: The Board appreciates Mr. Kohnstamm'’s response in support of this rule.
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Regulatory Flexibility Addendum

Pursuant to T.C.A. §§ 4-5-401 through 4-5-404, prior to initiating the rule making process as described in T.C.A.
§ 4-5-202(a){3) and T.C.A. § 4-5-202(a}, all agencies shall conduct a review of whether a proposed rule or rule
affects smali businesses.

1. Overlap, duplicate, or conftict with other federal, state, and local governmental rules:

There will be no overlap, duplication, or canflict with other federal, state or local governmental rules.
2. Clarity, conciseness. and tack of ambiguity in the rule or rule:

The proposed rules are clear in purpose and intended execution. The rules are not open to different
interpretations.

3. Flexible compliance and/or reporting requirements for small businesses:

The propoéed rules do not effect current compliance and/or reporting requirements as provided by the Act and.
current rutes.

4, Friendly schedules or deadlines for compliance and/or reporting requirements:

The proposed rules do not effect current compliance and/or reporting requirements as provided by the Act and
current rules.

5. Consolidation or simplification of compliance or reporting reguirements:

There will be no change to the current compliance or reporting requirements.

6. Performances standards for small businesses:

The Board expects all licensees and registrants to follow the newly proposed rules concerning Standards of
Conduct and Ethics.

7. Barriers or other effects that stifle enfrepreneurial activity, curb innovation, or increase cosis:

The proposed rules do not create any significant barriers or other effects that may stifle entrepreneurial activity,
curb innovation, or increase costs to licensees,

Economic Impact Statement:

1. Types of small businesses directly affected:
These rules are not expected to have a measurable impact on the cost to small businesses.

2. Projected reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs:
There are no projected reporting, recordkeeping or other administrative costs required for these proposed rules.

3. Probable effect on small businesses:

There is no expected adverse impact on small businesses as a result of these proposed rules. The proposed
rules are expected to assist with the protection of the welfare and safety of the citizens of the State of Tennessee
by seeking to further clarify provisions in the law regarding issues. such as code of conduct of licensees in

solicitation and the reporting requirements regarding status changes and arrests of licensees.
4, Less burdensome, infrusive, or costly alternative methods:

There are no less burdensome, less intrusive or less costly alternative methods known which will achieve the

purpose and objective of these proposed rules.

5. Comparison with federal and state counterparts:
There are no known federal or state counterparts to these rules.

6. Effect of possible exemption of small businesses:
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Any possible exemption of small businesses from these rules would result in less protection for the citizens of the
State of Tennessee.
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Department of State

Division of Publications

312 Rosa L. Parks Avenue, 8th Fioor S
Nashville, TN 37243

Phone: 615-741-2650

Email: publications.information@tn.gov

For Department of State Use Only

Sequence Number: (37327 -{s
Rule ID(s): G I2¢.-Giad
File Date: =)
Effective Date:  S)ad{id,
T []

nodgrass/TN Tower

Rulemaking Hearing Rule(s) Filing Form

Rulemaking Hearing Rules are rules filed after and as a resulf of a rulemaking heating (Tenn, Code Ann. § 4-5-205),

Pursuant fo Tenn. Code Ann. § 4-5-229, any new fee or fee increase promulgated by stafe agency rule shall take effect on July 1, following
the expiration of the ninety (80} day period as provided in § 4-5-207. This seclion shall not apply to rules that implement new fees or fee

increases that are promulgated as eme

rgency rules pursuant to § 4-5-208(a) and to subsequent rules that make permanent such emergency

rules, as amended during the rulemaking process. In addition, this section shall not apply fo state agencies that did not, during the preceding
two (2) fiscal years, collect fees in an amount sufficient to pay the cost of operating the board, commission or entity in accordance with § 4-29-

121(b).

'Agency/Board/Commission:

Tennessee Alarm Systems Contractors Board

Division:

Division of Regulatory Boards
Department of Commerce and insurance

. Contact Person: | Ashiey N. Thomas_

Address: | Davy Crockett Tower
500 James Robertson Pkwy.
i Nashville, Tennessee
.......Phone:
... Email: | Ashley.thomas@tn.gov

Revision Type {check all that apply):
X _ Amendment

X  New
Repeal

Rule(s} Revised (ALL chapters and rules contained in filing must be listed here. If needed, copy and paste
additional tables to accommodate multiple chapters. Piease enter only ONE Rule Number/Rule Title per row)

Chapter Number | Chapter Title

0090-01 General Provisions

Rule Number Rule Title

0090-01-.05 Employee Registration Regquirements
0090-01-.06 Qualifying Agent Requirements
0090-01-.07 Alarm Systems Contractor Requirements
0090-01-.09 Fees

0090-01-.10 Renewal of Certification and License
Chapter Number | Chapter Title

0090-06 Standards of Conduct

Rule Number Rule Title

0090-06-.01 Applicability

0090-06-.02 Door-to-door Solicitation

0090-06-.03 Standards of Conduct and Ethics

30



{ 0090-06-.04

| Contracting with Customers
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Chapter 0020-01
General Provisions
Amendments

Rule 0090-01-.05 Employee Registration Requirements is amended by deleting the text of paragraphs (7} and (2)

in their entirety and substituting instead the following language so that, as amended, the new paragraphs shall
read:

(7)

(N If an active registered employee leaves the employment of a coniractor the employee's
registration will be placed in an "invalid” status until such time as the alarm employee registration
is transferred to a certified alarm contractor or until the registration expires.

{9) Renewal

(a) A reqistration shall expire on the last day of the twenty-fourth (24th} month following its
issuance or renewal and shall become invalid on such date unless renewed. A new
application for employee reqistration, including a new application fee, as established by
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(b)

Rule 0090-01-.09 Fees, shall be required to be submitted if such renewal application is
not fimely submitted to Board by the date of the employee reqgistrant's expiration date.

An alarm systems contractor shall apply to the Board for the renewal of the registration of

{c)

each registrant employed by the contractor by submitting the required renewsal
application, including the reguisite renewal fee as established by Rule 0090-01-.09% and
two (2} frontal, color photographs for each renewal registration.

Upon initial implementation of this part all reqistered employee registration expiration

(d)

dates will be set to coincide with the alarm systems contractor with whom they are
afiilialed as of the effective date of these rules. All registered employee renewals
thereafter will be the last day of the twenty-fourth (24™ month following the issuance or
renewal thereof per Rule 0080-01-.05(9)(a).

An_ alarm _employee registrant who has not met the requirements for renewal of

(e)

registration by the expiration date of the registration shall cease acting as an alarm
employee for any firm until all requirements for registration renewal, inciuding the
payment of any fees for late renewal, have been met.

No alarm emplovee reqistrant shall receive a renewal when such registration has been in

default for failure to comply with T.C.A. § 62-32-301 et seq. for a pericd of three (3)
months, in such an event, the alarm employee, in order to qualify under the [aw, shall
make new application and meet all current requirements to obtain a new registration.

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 62-32-307{a),-62-32-307(b), 62-32-307(g)-62-32-307(1), 62-32-312, 62-32-312(d), 62-32-
317, 62-32-318 and 62-32-320.

Rule 0090-01-.06 Qualifying Agent Requirements is amended by deleting paragraph (9)(i) in its entirety and
substituting instead the following so that, as amended, paragraph ()i} shall read:

(9) A designated qualifying agent must perform the following:

i)

A designated gualifying agent shall notify the Board within thirty (30) days after a
registrant’s, applicant's or qualifying agent’s senviction-under their supervision by any
state, federal, or military court of any crime {except minor traffic violations) has been
arrested or convicted, that is known or should be have been known {o the designated
qualifying agent. The designated gualifying agent shall provide this notification for
persons who are registered of required to be registered under the alarm systems

contactor that employs the deSIQﬂated qualifymg agent Ih&des:g#atedm&ahiymg—agem

—For the purposes of these rules con\nctlon
means the entry of a guilty plea, no contest plea or a verdict or decision rendered by a
judge or jury.

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 62-32-303, 62-32-304(b), 62-32-307{a)-62-32-307(c);-62-32-307(d) 62-32-307{g),62-32-
3074),-62-32-307()), 62-32-313, 62-32-316(b}, and 62-32-320.

Rule 0090-01-.07 Alarm Systems Contractors Requirements is amended by deleting “listed in T.C.A. § 62-32-303,
paragraph 8" from paragraph {10) and substituting, instead, the phrase "(except minor traffic violations)” so that,
as amended, the paragraph shali read:

{10)  The contractor or the Designated Qualifying Agent must notify the Board within thirty (30} days of
any known arrest, conviction or any arfrest or conviction of which the contractor or Designated
Qualifying Agent should have known of any Designated Qualifying Agent, Qualifying Agent, or
registered employee under their supervision by any state, federal, or military court of any crime
listedin T.C-A-§ 82-32-303, paragraph-8-{except minor traffic wolatmns) For purposes of these
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rules, "conviction” means and includes the entry of a plea of guilty, pleas of no contest or a verdict
rendered in open court by a judge or jury.

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 62-32-307, 62-32-307(a}, 62-32-307{}, 62-32-314, 682-32-316, and 62-32-320.

Ruie 0090-01-.09 Fees is amended by adding paragraph (8), so that, as amended, the new paragraph shall read:

(6)

The examination fee shall be the fee charged by the entity administering the examination,

subject to the Board's approval,

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 62-32-307{b), 62-32-313(a)-62-32-313(1), 62-32-314(a), and 62-32-318.

Rule 0090-01-.10 Renewal of Certification and License is amended by deleting the section in its entirety and
substituting instead the following language, so that, as amended, the section shall read:

(N
(2)

3

{5

6)

(7)

(8)

©

(10}

As used in these Rules, the requirements contained in T.C.A. § 62-32-317 are applicable.

Each certificate,-and license, and registration shall expire on the last day of the twenty-fourth
(24™ month following its issuance or renewal and shall become invalid on such date unless
renewed.

Company Certification, Qualifying Agent License. and Alarm Employee Registration renewal
notices shall all be mailed by-the-Board-to the |ast known business address ninety (90) days prior
to the expiration date of the license, certification, or registration. Such renewals must be received
in the office of the Board thirty {30) days prior to the expiration of such Certification, er License,

or Registration. :

The Board shall notify every company certificate holder, and-qualifying agent licensee_and alarm
employee registrant by mail fo the last known business address of the date of expiration of such
certificate, or license, or registration and the £ fee required for its renewal for two (2) years.

Applications for renewal of the company Certification shali list all persons required to be licensed
or registered in accordance with T.C.A. § 62-32-312(a).

No Qualifying Agent license shall be renewed unless the Board has received satisfactory
evidence of the completion of continuing education prior to renewal, in compliance with the
minimum satisfactory standards set for in rule 0090-05-.01.

A qualifying agent who has not met the requirements for renewal of a qualifying agent license by
the expiration date of the license shall cease acting as a gualifying agent for any firm until the
gualifying agent has established fo the satisfaction of the Board that all qualifications for renewal,
including the payment of any fess for late renewal, have been met.

The fee to be paid for the renewal of a company certificate or Qualifying Agent license after the
expiration date shall be increased ten percent (10%) for each month or fraction of a month that
payment for renewal is delayed; provided that the maximum fee for a delayed renewal shall not
exceed twice the normal fee.

No company certificate holder er, qualifying agent licensee, or alarm employee registrant shall
receive a renewal when such company or, agent, or registrant has been in default in complying
with T.C.A. § 62-32-301 et seq. for a period of three (3) months. In such an event, the alarm
systems contractor ef, qualifying agent, or registrant, in order {o qualify under the Jaw, shall make
new application and meet all current requirements to obtain a new certificate ef, license, or

registration.

An alarm contractor, in order to renew its certification, shall submit to the Beard, on a Board

approved form, a notarized statement of the contractor's designated qualifying agent. chief
executive officer or any other authorized contractor representative, which identifies the number of
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employees required to be registered with the Board as well as a list containing the name and

registration number of each employee who is registered or required to be reqistered with the

Board.

Authority; T.C.A. §§ 62-32-307, 62-32-30Ha)-62-32-304¢e), 62-32-312, 62-32-313, and 62-32-317.

New Rules

Chapter 0090-06 is added to 0090 Alarm Systems and shall read as foliows:

Chapter 0080-06
Standards of Conduct
Table of Contents

0090-06-.01 Applicability

0090-06-.02 Door-to-door solicitation
0090-06-.03 Standards of Conduct and Ethics
0090-06-.04 Contracting with customers

Rule 0090-06-.01 Applicability

The provisions of this chapter shall apply to any person or firm licensed and/or registered by the Alarm Systems

Contractors Board, to conduct the sale, service, maintenance, installation and/or monitoring of alarm systems in

this state. For purposes of this chapter, unless the context otherwise requires, the word “licensee” includes any

perseh, partnership, corporation, or any other entity certified as an alarm contiractor or licensed as a qualifying

agent.

Authority: T.C.A, §§ 62-32-302 and 62-32-307.

Rule 0090-06-.02 Door-to-door solicitation

(1)

A licensee or employee registrant who sells, offers to sell, or attempts o sell alarm systems, as

defined in T.C.A. § 62-32-303(1), to a homeowner or resident of a home or apartment, through

direct physical contact, including door-{o-door solicitation, shall:

(a

{c)

Carry an identification card or a copy of a currently pending application for license or
registration issued by the Board, and present said identification or proof of registration for
inspection to the homeowner or resident:

Truthfully and cleartly identify themselves by name. their full registered company name,

and the purpose of their solicitation o the potential customer at the initiation of a sales

presentation without request from the consumer. No licensee or regisirant shall

generically identify themselves as being from “the alarm company” or "the security
company”:

Provide fo the homeowner or resident, at no charge, a document or business card listing

{d}

the licensee’s name, employer's name, address, phone number, icense ntimber;

Not approach or solicit 2 home or residence at any time where a placard, sign, or any

(e}

other posting of whatever nature is displayed indicating that the homeowner or residential
occupant does nof wish to be solicited: and

Comply with any applicable door-to-door solicitation ordinance consistent with state and

federal law.

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 62-32-302, 62-32-304 and 62-32-307.

Rule 0090-08-.03 Standards of Conduct and Ethics
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An alarm systems contractor, licensee, or employee registrant shall not engage in any deceptive,
misleading, unlawful or unethical business practices with customers or consumers. Such
practices shall constitute improper, fraudulent or dishonest dealing pursuant to T.C.A. § §2-32-

319(d).

An alarm systems contracior, licensee or employee registrant, when engaging in the sale,
installation, service or maintenance of alarm systems, shali not falsely state or imply the following

to a potential or existing customer:

That a competitor company is going out of business or is in financial difficulty, or that
such competitor company no longer exists:

That a competitor company is changing or has changed its company name;

That the licensee or registrant is a representative agent of is acting on behalf of, oris
otherwise acting with the consent or approval of a competitor company;

That the licensee or regisirant’'s company is a “sister” company of a competitor, or is
acguiring, merging with, or has taken over or purchased the competltor company's
accounts:

That the licensee or registrant is performing routine maintenance on a competitor
company's eguipment which is in the possession of a customer;

That any material change proposed during a sales solicitation is an "update” or "upgrade”
of an existing alarm system, when such transaction requires an adreement with a person,
company, or entity different than the customer’s existing alarm sysiem or alarm
monitoring service agreement;

That the licensee or registrant’'s company is affiliated with, has the endorsement of,_oris.
in any manner, acting at the direction of any governmental or law enforcement agency:,
and

{h) Quoting statistics or providing other information that is known to be false or misleading, or
which the licensee or registrant has not made a reasonable effort to objectively quantify
or substantiate.

D
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Authority: T.C.A. §§ 62-32-302, 62-32-307, and 62-32-3189.

Rule 0090-06-.04 Contracting with Customers

o)

=

@

S

S

When contracting with existing or potential customers, alarm contractors shall require employee
registrants to use written materials which clearly and conspicuously set forth both the alarm

contractoer and the customer’s rights and obligations.

Alarm contractors and their emplovee registrants shall clearly and conspicuously disclose all
material terms and conditions of the offer before obtaining a customer’s consent.

Alarm contractors shall train their emplovee registrants with respect to the terms and conditions_of

the contract so that a customer’s guestions can be adequately answered at or prior to sighing the
contract.

Alarm contractors shall require their employes registrants to provide a copy of the contract to the
customer immediately upon execution.

Refund policies, including termination fees, shall be clearly and conspicuously disclosed o
existing or potential customers prior to the sale of any alarm product or service,

Alarm contractors shall honer all refunds for cusiomers in accordance with their stated refund
polices.

Upon request, alarm contractors shall provide customers a written termination fee calculation and
statement of the information upon which they base the calculation.

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 62-32-302 and 62-32-307.
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* If a roll-call vote was necessary, the vote by the Agency on these ruiemaking hearing rules was as follows:

Board Member Aye No Abstain Absent Signature

(if required)

Karen D. Jones X
Vivian Hixson X
Scott Cockroft X
Keith Harvey X
McKenzie Roberts X

| certify that this is an accurate and complete copy of rulemaking hearing rules, lawfully promuigated and adopted

by the Alarm Systems Contrac:tor Board on 10/16/2014 and is in compliance with the provisions of T.C.A. § 4-5-
222.

| further certify the following:

Notice of Rulemaking Hearing filed with the Department of State on: 08/09/2014

Rulemaking Hearing(s) Conducted on: (add more dates). 10/16/2014

vate: /[ [ 18]155
Signature: /Bﬁ/b&/f g// i

ﬂﬂﬁiﬂi F!ig’;,

&) 7,

§ ‘\%’5% »»»»»» N %g; 2 Name of Officer; _Ashley N. Thomas
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H “° STATE OFE“ z Title of Officer: _Assistant Generai Counsel
z WNNESSE =
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e, Lo §§ Subscribed and sworn to before me on; &)9; 15
By et e W
’;‘ fﬂm’gﬁﬁ'@é\ nv /
""’”?“m“‘“ g?w“‘ Notary Public Signature: {_{_¥ V2N
e 2t

All rulemaking hearing rules provided for herein have been examined by the Atlorney General and Reporter of the
State of Tennessee and are approved as {o legality pursuant to the prov;s;ons of the Administrative Procedures

Act, Tennessee Code Annotated, Title 4, Chapter 5.
ﬂ%ﬁl}d‘ Y. St 77

Herbert H. Slajery I
Altorney General and Reporter

a/n/zwé

Date
Diparﬁn;ent of State Use Cnly

Filed with the Department of State on:

Effective on:

© o
/
Tre Hargett

Secretary of State
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G.0.C. STAFF RULE ABSTRACT

AGENCY:

SUBJECT:

STATUTORY AUTHORITY:

EFFECTIVE DATES:

FISCAL IMPACT:

STAFFE RULE ABSTRACT:

Board of Water Quality, Oil and Gas
Environmental Protection Fund Fees

Tennessee Code Annotated, Sections 68-203-103
and 69-3-105

May 8, 2016 through June 30, 2017

The Department of Environment and Conservation
anticipates a slight increase in state revenues and
no change in local revenues.

The rulemaking hearing rule reduces the
application fee for recreational prospecting for gold
or other precious and semi-precious ores, metals
and minerals from $500 to $50.

The rulemaking hearing rule also reduces the
permit annual maintenance fee for recreational
prospecting for gold or other precious and semi-
precious ores, from $350 to zero.
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Public Hearing Comments

One copy of a document containing responses to comments made at the public hearing must accompany the
filing pursuant to T.C.A. § 4-5-222. Agencies shall include only their responses to public hearing comments,
which can be summarized. No letters of inquiry from parties questioning the rule will be accepted. When no
comments are received at the public hearing, the agency need only draft a memorandum stating such and include
it with the Rulemaking Hearing Rule filing. Minutes of the meeting will not be accepted. Transcripts are not
acceptable.

There were no comments received during the public comment period.
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Regulatory Flexihility Addendum

Pursuant to T.C.A. §§ 4-5-401 through 4-5-404, prior to initiating the rule making process as described in T.C.A.
§ 4-5-202(a)(3) and T.C.A. § 4-5-202(a), all agencies shall conduct a review of whether a proposed rule or rule
affects small businesses.

The intent of this rulemaking is to amend Rule 0400-40-11-.02 to reduce the application fee from $500 to $50 and
the annual maintenance fee from $350 to $0 for general permits for recreational prospecting for gold or other
precious and semi-precious ores, metals and minerals.

(1)

)

4)

®)

- (6)

The type or types of small business and an identification and estimate of the number of small businesses
subject to the proposed rule that would bear the cost of, or directly benefit from the proposed rule.

The rule change is intended to benefit individual hobbyists and would not directly affect small businesses;
however, there may be some indirect benefit from equipment purchases and fravel expenditures related
to recreational prospecting activities.

The projected reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs required for compliance with the

proposed rule, including the type of professional skiils necessary for preparation of the report or record.
There are no added administrative costs resulting from this proposed rule.
A statement of the probable effect on impacted small businesses and consumers.

It is anticipated that there will be an increase in the number of applicants that will apply to be covered
under the general permit for recreational prospecting.

A description of any less burdensomes, less intrusive or less costly aliernative methods of achieving the
purpose and objectives of the proposed rule that may exist, and to what extent the alternative means
might be less burdensome to small business.

This proposed rule reduces the application and annual maintenance fees for recreational prospecting and
there is no other method for achieving this purpose or objective under the current rule.

A comparison of the proposed rule with any federal or state counterparts.

The regulation and requirements for a permit to conduct recreational prospecting varies widely from state
to state. For those states that do require a permit to conduct activities, it is unknown what specific fee
requirements exist, but it is anticipated that the proposed rule change would place the permit fee
requirement in Tennessee among the lowest by comparison.

Analysis of the effect of the possible exemption of small businesses from all or any part of the
requirements contained in the proposed rule.

Small businesses are not directly impacted by this rule change and exempting small businesses from this
proposed rule is not necessary.
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Impact on Local Governments

Pursuant to T.C.A. §§ 4-5-220 and 4-5-228 “any rule proposed to be promulgated shall state in a simple
declarative sentence, without additional comments on the merits of the policy of the rules or regulation, whether
the rule or regulation may have a projected impact on local governments.” (See Public Chapter Number 1070
(http://state.tn.us/sos/acts/106/pub/pc1070.pdf) of the 20110 Session of the General Assembly)

The Department anticipates that this rulemaking will not result in an increase in expenditures or decrease in
revenues for local governments.
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Department of State For Department of State Use Only
! Division of Publications

312 Rosa L. Parks Avenue, 8th Floor Snodgrass/TN Tower Sequence Number: 02 -1 -1
: Nashville, TN 37243 .

. Phone: 615-741-2650 Rule ID(s): _ Gla2

i Email: publications information@tn.gov File Date: 21 Riils

| | 8]

| Effective Date: _ S{& |1t

Rulemaking Hearing Rule(s) Filing Form

Rulemaking Hearing Rules are rules filed after and as a result of a rulemaking hearing (Tenn. Code Ann. § 4-5-205).

Pursuant to Tenn. Code Ann. § 4-5-228, any new fee or fee increase promulgated by stafe agency rule shall fake effect on July 1, foflowing
the expiration of the ninety (90} day period as provided in § 4-5-207. This section shall not apply fo rules that implement new fees or fee
increases that are promulgaled as emergency rules pursuant to § 4-5-208(a) and fo subsequent rules that make permanent such emergency
rules, as amended during the rulemaking process. In addition, this section shall not apply fo state agencies that did not, during the preceding
two {2) fiscal years, collect fees in an amount sufficient to pay the cost of operafing the board, commission or entity in accordance with § 4-29-
121{b}.

Agency/Board/Commission: | Envirenment and Conservation
~ Division: | Water Resources
_..Contact Person: | JimmySmith
Address: | William R. Snodgrass Tennessee Tower
312 Rosa L. Parks Avenue, 11th Floor
! 'Nashville, Tennessee
 Zip: 37243
___Phone: | (615)532:0648
Email:  Jimmy.R Smith@tn.gov

Revision Type (check all that apply):
_ X Amendment
 New
____ Repeal

Rule(s) Revised {ALL chapters and rules contained in filing must be listed here. If needed, copy and paste
additional tabies to accommodate multiple chapters. Please enter only ONE Rule Number/Rule Title per row)

Chapter Number Chapter Title
0400-40-11 Environmental Protection Fund Fees

Rule Number Rule Title

0400-40-11-.02 Fees
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(Place substance of rules and other info here. Statutory authority must be given for each rule change. For
information on formatting rules go to hitp.//state.in.us/sos/rules/1360/1360.0tm)

Amendments

Chapter 0400-40-11
Environmental Protection Fund Fees

Subpart {vi) of part 1 of subparagraph (a) of paragraph {2} of Rule 0400-40-11-.02 Fees is amended by deleting it
in its entirety and substituting instead the following:

{vi) Personal Residenceor Family-Farm residence, family farm, or
recreational prospecting for gold or other precious and semi-
precious ores, metals and minerals $50

Authority: T.C.A. § 69-3-101 et seq., 68-203-101 et seq. and 4-5-201 et seq.

Part 12 of subparagraph (b} of paragraph (2) of Rule 0400-40-11-.02 Fees is amended by deleting it in its entirety
and substituting instead the following:

12. General Permits

0] For construction activities that exceed one year under general
permit coverage:

)] Projects equal {o or greater than 150 acres $3,750
{in Projects equal to or greater than 50 acres and less than

150 acres $2,000
(i) Projects equal to or greater than 20 acres and less than

50 acres $1,000
{1 Projects equal to or greater than 5 acres and less than

20 acres $500
(V) Projects equal to or greater than 1 acre and less than

5 acres $125

(i) For_minor_activities that reguire no notification to obtain general

permit _coverage, recreational prospecting for _gold or other
precious _and  semi-precious  ores, meials and minerals, or
concentrated animal feeding operalions $0

(i) _ All other activities {(oth
Wﬂ%&?%%@&%h%%%ﬂ%ﬁk&%@ﬁ%@-@b&&m
- ooverage) $350

Authority: T.C.A. § 69-3-101 et seq., 68-203-101 et seq. and 4-5-201 et seq.
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*If a roll-call vote was necessary, the vote by the Agency on these rulemaking hearing rules was as follows:

Board Member

Aye | No | Abstain | Ahsent | Signature

(if required)

Dr. Gary G. Bible
{Oil and Gas industry)

X

Elaine Boyd
(Commissioner's Designee, Department of
Environment and Conservation)

X

James W. Cameron Il
{Small Generator of Water Pollution representing
Automotive Interests)

Jill E. Davis
{Municipalities)

Mayor Kevin Davis
{Counties)

Derek Gernt
{Oil or Gas Property Owner)

C. Monty Halcomb
{Environmental Interesis)

Charlie R. Johnson
(Public-at-large)

Judy Manners
{Commissioner's Designee, Department of Health)

x| x| X X X X

John McClurkan
(Commissioner's Designee, Department of
Agricuiture)

Frank McGinley
(Agricultural interests)

D. Anthony Robinson
{(Manufacturing Industry)

X

| certify that this is an accurate and complete copy of rulemaking hearing rules, lawfully promulgated and adopted
by the Board of Water Quality, Oil and Gas on 10/20/2015, and is in compliance with the provisions of T.C.A. § 4-

5-222.

{ further certify the following:

Notice of Rulemaking Hearing filed with the Department of State on:

Rulemaking Hearing{s) Conducted on: {add more dates).

Date:

08/25/15

10/16/15

October 20, 2015

Signature:

(}c"’ﬂ’lmw.\% /qéq [cor(

Name of Officer:

C. Monty Halcomb

Title of Officer:

Chairman

whr\

Notary Public Signature:

My commission expires on:

\Subscnbed and sworn to before me on:

(Ja fo Jg_u_ o20 DA(S

\jw 62 @Q{E‘rg@
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Rules of the Board of Water Quality, Gil and Gas
Rule 0400-40-11-.02 Fees

All rulemaking hearing rules provided for herein have been examined by the Attorney General and Reporter of the
State of Tennessee and are approved as o legality pursuant to the provisions of the Adminisirative Procedures

Act, Tennessee Code Annotated, Title 4, Chapter 5.
Lo H. Sl

Herbert H. STatery il
Attorney General and Reporter

,L/ £ / o1l
o Date
Department of State Use Only
Filed with the Department of State on; AT
194
Effective on: 5 ] {ila
1)

o bl

4 Tre Hargett
Secretary of State

R
hul N i
=
& oul
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G.0.C. STAFF RULE ABSTRACT

AGENCY:

' SUBJECT:

STATUTORY AUTHORITY:

EFFECTIVE DATES:

FISCAL IMPACT:

STAFF RULE ABSTRACT:

State Textbook and Instructional Materials Quality
Commission

Supplement to Contract, Policies of the
Commission

Tennessee Code Annotated, Section 48-6-2203
May 12, 2016 through June 30, 2017
None.

According to the Commission, the proposed rule
makes the following changes {o their current rules;

(1) Adds "instructional materiais" to the definition of
textbooks;

(2) Adds that the Commission shall determine the
adoption cycle of textbooks rather than having
staggered adoption on a 6-year cycle;

(3) Adds that the State Instructional Materials
Review Association (SIMRA) standards shall be
Tennessee's official minimum standards for non-
consumable student books;

(4) Specifies that samples shall be submitted "if
requested by the Commission members";

(5) Defines "finished form" as relates to textbook
samples, and adds new language clarifying the
content and format of sample textbooks and the
process for publishers to submit online samples;
(6) Establishes that publishers are required to
make all textbooks and instructional materials
proposed for adoption available for inspection
online by LEAs and the public;

(7) Establishes time limits for substitutions to guard
against publishers substituting new editions during
the final year of a contract; .

(8) Clarifies what constitutes factual errors, and
adds new language about the process for
submitting corrective action plans; and
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(9) Adds that the department shall develop a
process for state advisory panels to review
textbooks and instructional materiais.
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Regulatory Flexibility Addendum

Pursuant o T.C.A. §§ 4-5-401 through 4-5-404, prior to initiating the rule making process as described in
T.C.AA § 4-5-202(a)(3) and T.C.A. § 4-5-202(a), all agencies shall conduct a review of whether a
proposed rule or rule affects small businesses.

Regulatory Flexibility Analysis - Methods of Reducing Impact of Rules on Small Businesses:

{1} The extent to which the rule may overlap, duplicate, or conflict with other Federal, State, and
local governmental rules:
There is no overlap, duplication, or conflict with other federal, state, or local governmental rules.

{2} Clarity, conciseness, and lack of ambiguity in the rule:
The rules are clear, concise, and unambiguous.

{3} The establishment of flexible compliance and reporting requirements for small businesses:
These rules do not have any impact on compliance and reporting requirements for small businesses.

(4} The establishment of friendly schedules or deadlines for compliance and reporting
requirements for small businesses:
These rules have no impact on compliance and reporting requirements for small businesses.

{5} The consolidation or simplification of compliance or reporting requirements for small
businesses:
These rules do not complicate compliance or reporting requirements for small businesses in any respect.

{6) The establishment of performance standards for small businesses as cpposed to design or
operational standards required in the proposed rule:
There are no performance standards for small businesses as a resuit of these rules.

{7} The unnecessary creation of entry barriers or other effects that stifle entrepreneurial activity,
curb infiovation, or increase costs:

These rules do not result in the unnecessary creation of entry barriers or other effects that will stifle
entrepreneurial activity, curb innovation, or increase costs. In fact, the adopted changes to Rule 0520-05-
01-.07 lower the performance bond required for publishers to do business with the State, which eases
entry into the marketplace for smaller publishers.

In accordance with Tenn. Code Ann. § 4-5-403, please find the attached Economic Impact Statement,
labeled “Addendum A.”
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Impact on Local Governments

Pursuant to T.C.A. §§ 4-5-220 and 4-5-228 "any rule proposed to be promulgated shall state in a simple
declarative sentence, without additional comments on the merits of the policy of the rules or regulation,
whether the rule or regulation may have a projected impact on local governments.” (See Public Chapter
Number 1070 (hitp://state.tn.us/sos/acts/106/pub/pc1070.0df} of the 2010 Session of the General
Assembly)

The proposed rules to be promulgated wiil not have a projected impact on local governments.
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Addendum A: Economic Impact Statement for Rule 0520-5-1-.07

{1) The type or types of small business and an identification and estimate of the number of small
businesses subject to the proposed rule that would bear the cost of, or direcily benefit from the
proposed rule;

These rule revisions will impact textbook publishing companies that bid to contract with the Textbook and
Instructional Materials Quality Commission. In particular, they will have a positive impact for smaller
pubtishers by opening up the potential market to smaller businesses. While we are unable to estimate
the number of small publishers that could be affected by these rules, the Commission's intent is to have
requirements that foster an open marketplace and competitive contracting with the State.

{2) The projected reporiing, recordkeeping and other administrative costs required for compliance with
the proposed rule, inciuding the type of professional skills necessary for preparation of the report or
record;

N/A — The Director of Content for the Department of Education manages Textbook Commission matters.

{3) A statement of the probable effect on impacted small businesses and consumers;

The proposed rule revisions will have a positive impact for smaller publishers by opening up the potential
market to smaller businesses. In particular, two rules will positively impact small publishers: (1) Rute
0520-5-1-.06 Online Access to Sample Texthooks and Instructional Materials helps small businesses by
allowing them to have their materials in digital form rather than having to go to the expense of printing and
distributing hard copies; (2) Rule 0520-5-1-.07 Amount of Performance Bond Required lowers the bond
amount required to do business with the State, which opens the potential field to smaller publishers.

{4) A description of any less burdensome, less intrusive or less costly alternative methods of achieving
the purpose and objectives of the proposed rule that may exist, and to what extent the alternative means
might be less burdensome to small business;

N/A

(5) A comparison of the proposed rule with any federal or state counterparts; and

N/A

(6) Analysis of the effect of the possible exemption of small businesses from all or any part of the
requirements contained in the proposed rule.

N/A
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Department of State For Department of State Use Only
Division of Publications

312 Rosa L. Parks Avenue, 8th Floor Snodgrass/TN Tower Sequence Number: O2-{%-{l,
Nashville, TN 37243
Phone: 615-741-2650 Rule ID(s): Q! plE

Email: publications.information@tn.qov

File Date: _ 2:l12]16
Effective Date:  Blinali¢,

Proposed Rule(s) Filing Form

Proposed rufes are submitted pursuant to Tenn. Code Ann. §§ 4-5-202, 4-5-207, and 4-5-229 in lleu of a rulemaking hearing. It is
the intent of the Agency to promuigate these rules without a rulemaking hearing unless a petilion requesting such hearing is filed
within ninety (90) days of the filing of the proposed rule with the Secretary of State. To be effective, the petifion must be filed with the
Agency and be signed by twenty-five {25} persons who will be affected by the amendments, or submitted by a municipality which will
be affected by the amendments, or an association of twenty-five (25) or more members, or any standing committee of the General
Assembly. The agency shall forward such petition to the Secretary of State.

Pursuant to Tenn. Code Ann. § 4-5-228, any new fee or fee increase promulgated by state agency rule shall take effect on July 1,
following the expiration of the ninety (90) day period as provided in § 4-5-207. This section shall not apply to rules that implement
new fees or fee increases that are promulgated as emergency rules pursuant fo § 4-5-208(a} and to subsequent rules thaf make
permanent such emergency rules, as amended during the rulemaking process. In addition, this section shall not apply to stafe
agencies that did nof, during the preceding two {2} fiscal years, collect fees in an amount sufficient to pay the cost of operating the
board, commission or entity in accordance with § 4-29-121(b).

Agency/Board/Commission: | State Textbook and Instructional Materials Quality Commission

Division:

Contact Person: | Joanna Collins

Address: | Andrew Johnson Tower, 9t Floor
710 James Roberison Parkway
Nashville, TN

Zip: | 37243

Phone: | 615-770-3869

Email: | joanna.collins@tn.gov

Revision Type (check all that apply):
X Amendment
X New

Repeal

Rule(s} Revised (ALL chapters and rules contained in filing must be listed here. If needed, copy and
paste additional tables to accommodate multiple chapters. Please enter only ONE Rule Number/Rule
Title per row)

Chapter Number | Chapter Title

0520-05-01 Supplement to Centract — Policies of Tennessee State Textbook Commission

Rule Number Rule Title

0520-05-01-.01 Definition

0520-05-01-.02 Staggered Adoption

0520-65-01-.03 Manufaciuring Standards for Non-Consumable Books

0520-05-01-.04 Submitting of Sample Textbooks and Instructional Materials

0520-05-01-.05 Condition of Sample Texthooks and Instructional Materials

0520-05-01-.06 Online Access to Sampie Textbooks and Instructional Materials
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0520-05-01-.07

Substitutions

0520-05-01-.08

Amount of Performance Bond Reguired

05620-05-01-.09

Publisher Corrective Action Plans

0520-05-01-.10

State Advisory Panels
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Textbook and Instructional Materials Quality Commission — Textbook
Commission Rule Proposal

CHAPTER 0520-05-01
SUPPLEMENT TO CONTRACT-POLICIES OF TENNESSEE STATE TEXTBOOCK
COMMISSION
TABLE OF CONTENTS

0520-05-01-.01 Definition.
0520-05-01-.02 Staggered Adoption.
0520-05-01-.03 Manufacturing Standards for Non-Consumable Books.

0520-05-01-,.04 Submitting of Sample Textbooks and Instructional Materials.
0520-05-01-.05 Condition of Sample Textbooks and Instructional Materials.
0520-05-01-.06_ Online Access to Sample Texthooks and Instructional Materials.
0520-05-01-.07 Substitutions.

0520-05-01-.08 Amount of Performance Bond Required.

0520-05-01-.09 Corrective Action.

0520-05-01-.10 _State Advisory Panels.

0520-05-01-.01 DEFINITION. Textbook means-and instructional materials shall
be defined as any medium or manual of instruction that contains a systematic
presentation of the principles of a subject and that constitutes a major
instructional vehicle for that subject.

0520-05-01- 02 STAGGERED ADOPTION. %@Pe—shai-l—be—a—%&ggﬁeé—aéep&eﬁ

.+ N
SO o T ) --,u-- E ed r) e

&éepéeﬂ&maﬂ—sﬁbjeetaf%me Textbook Comrmssxon Shaﬂ determme the

adoption cycle of textbooks in Tennessee. The Textbook Commission shall
approve the state textbook review and approval process and timeline for each
textbook adoption cycle.

0520-05-01-.03 MINIMUM-STANDRDS-AND
SPEGI-F—I%ZPI—Q-N—MANUFACTURING STANDARDS FOR NON-CONSUMABLE

s%aﬂe}afds—aﬂd—ssfmﬁﬁe&&eﬁs—feﬁextbeeks—The Commission may adopt

physical standards and specifications that assure suitable durability of the
textbooks, instructional materials and supplemental materials. Any non-
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consumable student book submitied as a textbook or as part of a texthook
must meet the specific criteria identified in the Minimum Manufacturing
Standards and Specifications for Textbooks [“Standards”) as developed by the
State Instructional Materials Review Association (“SIMRA”), in consultation with
the Asscciation of American Publishers and the Book Manufacturers’ Institute.
The SIMRA Standards shall be Tennessee’s official minimum standards and
specifications for non-consumable student books. The Commission may
consider for recommendation fextbooks that do not meet the SIMRA Standards
if there are Hmited Learning Resources of quality submitted for a specific state-
funded course.

0520-05-01-.04 SUBMITTING OF SAMPLE TEXTBOOKS AND INSTRUCTIONAL
MATERIALS.

{1) At least one (1) set of all textbooks and instructional materials bid, including
all supplementarvy materials, shall be filed with the secretary of the Textbook

Commission on or before a date specified by the Commission in the state
adoption schedule for each cycele, but no later than the date of the start of the

review by the advisory panels.

(2} If requested by Commission members, pPublishing companies may at-any
time-send sample textbooks to the Commission members as individuals only,
but these companies are not to send samples to them as members of the
Textbook Commission before the firstregularmeeting of each-ealendar
year:start of the textbook review of the state advisory panels on the date set by
the Commission.

requested by the Commission members, Dubhshers shall send Commission
members one set of samples.

MATERIALS

(1] A publisher shall not submit draft copies of textbooks, instructional

materials or other supplemental materials. All textbooks, instructional
matetrials and accompanying manuals, workbooks and other supplemental
materials shall be submitted in finished form at the date set by the
Commission, but no later than the start of the review period. If a complete
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copy of anv textbooks, instructional materials or anv of their supplemental
materials is not filed prior to the date specified by the Commission, then the
textbook or instructional materials shall not be considered for adoption.

~ The texthooks and instructional materials shall be accompanied by a list

" stating the edition, tifle and author of each textbook or any instructional
materials offered.

(2) ‘Finished form’ is defined as the final form of the book or instructional
material that would be distributed to public schools, if purchased.
Texibooks and instructional materials must meet the minimum
manufacturing standards and specifications for textbooks and instructional
materials set by the Commission in order to be considered in finished form.
Textbooks and instructional materials in beta version, and/or with missing
pictures, charts, graphs, or other content will not be considered to be in
‘finished form.” No gallery proofs or page proofs may be submitted for
review.

>

0520-05-01-.06 ONLINE ACCESS TO SAMPLE TEXTBOOKS AND
INSTRUCTIONAL MATERIALS.

{1) In addition to the finished textbooks and instructional materials required to
be filed with the Tennessee Department of Education, publishers shall make
all textbooks and instructional materials proposed for adoplion available for
inspection online by LEAs and the public. The online inspection: shall allow
inspection of both the textbook or instructional materials and all
accompanying manuals, workbooks and other supplemental materials.

(2) The content, including pictures and graphs, of the textbooks, instructional
materials, and supplementary materials that are made available for online
inspection shall be in finished form and shall be the same as what would be
distribuied to public schools; however, the platform and format does not
have to be in finished form, If the online textbooks and instructional
materials are the same as the samples submitted to the Commission as
required by Rule 0520-05-01-.04, then the online textbooks and
instructional materials shall be in finished form.

{3) Publishers shall agree in the bid docuuments to provide access to complete
online copies of the textbooks or imstructional materials, including all
supplementary materials, bid during the review process by the advisory
panels, at the time specified by the Comanission in the textbook adoption
schedule, but in no case shall the textbooks or instructional materials be
available for less than ninety {(80) days.
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{4) Publishers that submit textbooks and instructional materials for adoption
shall provide the Tennessee Department of Education with instructions for
how the public and state advisory panel members can access the textbooks
and materials. The depariment shall post the instructions submitted by
publishers on the department’s website along with instructions for how the
public can submit comments on the textbooks and instructional materials.,

0520-05-01-.076 SUBMIITTING OEBOOKSSUBSTITUTIONS. At the first
regular meeting of each calendar year, the Commission will consider:;

{1) The substitution of the revised edition of a textbook for the edition previously
listed; and

(2) The substitution of a textbook which bears the same copyright date, but
contains content revisions made since the previous official listing of the book,
provided that each book:

(a) Will be sold at the same price as the book originally listed; and

(b) Can be used with the book originally listed. When these books
are offered for substitution, the same sampling and bidding
procedures shall be followed as in the case of the original texts
which they are to replace, except that no additional bond or
contract will be required. Samples of each book shall bew
subimitted by the publishing company representatives to each
member of the Cominission, if requested by the Commission
members, together with a brief setting forth in detail the together,
with a brief setting forth in detail the differences between the book
originally listed and the newwver book. Every textbook to be
submitted accordingly to Policy No. 06 shall be presented to the
members of the Commission at least thirty {30) days prior to the
first regular meeting of the calendar year.

{3) Substitution requests shall not be submitted for textbooks and instructional
materials within one {1} vear of the expiration of the approved contract date for
the official listing of the book.

0520-05-01-.08 AMOUNT OF PERFORMANCE BOND REQUIRED. Publishers
shall file with the textbook contract a good and sufficient bond with a surety
company authorized to do business in this state in the sum of ten thousand
dollars ($10,000) and conditioned upon the faithful performance of all
conditions of the contract and T.C.A. Title 49, Chapter 6, Part 22.

0520-05-01-.09 PUBLISHER CORRECTIVE ACTION PLANS. Publishers
submitting textbooks or instructional materials for possible state approval shall
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executed an agreement to correct all factual and editing errors found in a
textbook or instructional materials, at the publisher’s expense.

The publisher shall submit a corrective action plan to the department, for
review and approval by the state board, within thirty (30) days of the
department’s notification of the existence of errors in the textbook or
instructional materials.

Factual errors only apply to information that is inaccurate at the time of state
approval of the texthook or instructional material.

The department shall submit corrective action plans to the board for approval
at least once per vear.

0520-05-01-.10 STATE ADVISORY PANELS

(1) APPOINTMENT OF STATE ADVISORY PANELS. The Chair of the
Commission may recruit and appeint members to an advisory panel of
expert teachers and other expertis. The Chair shall present the list of
members of the advisory panel to the Commission at the next regular

meeting,

The department shall post the names of the reviewers, their positions,
emplovers and the panels on which they serve on the department’s web site.

(2) QUALIFICATIONS OF STATE ADVISORY PANEL MEMBERS. Af least one {1}
teacher shall be appointed to each advisory panel. Teachers appointed to
the advisory panels shall nossess a license to teach with an endorsement in
the subject area or grade level for which they shall review textbooks or
instructional materials,

Experts, who are not nublic school teachers, mayv include college professors
and credentialed subiect matter specialists.

All members of advisory panels shall have a specific knowledge of and
expertise in the content of the subject matier contained in the textbooks or
instructional materials they review.

(3) TRAINING FOR ADVISORY PANEL MEMBERS. The Department of
Education shall assisi the Commission by providing mandatory training {o
members of advisory panels on the review process and the completion of
their assigned tasks. The mandatory training shall include, at a minimum,
the components outlined in T.C.A. § 49-6-2201(n){(2).

{4) REVIEW RUBRIC FOR ADVISORY PANEL MEMBERS. The Tennessee
Department of Education may develop a review instrument/rubric to be
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used bv state advisory panels to review textbook and instructional materials
submitted for adoption.

The review instrument shall include an examination as to whether the
texthooks or instructional materials:

(a) Conform to the standards for their subject areas or grade
levels;

(bl Are free of anv clear, substantive, factual or grammatical
erTors;

(c) Comply with and reflect the values expressed in § 49-6-1028(b),
if the texdbook or instructional materials are being considered for
adoption as a textbool or instructional materials for education of
students in general sfudies and specifically in United States
history and this nation’s republican form of government: and

(d) Nothing in this part shall prohibit the use of or apply to
supplemental instructional materials.

The Textbook Commission shall approve any review instrument/rubric used
by state advisory panels.

(5} PANEL REVIEW PROCESS. The department shall develop a process for
state advisory panels to review textbooks and insiructional materials. The
process shail align with the review timeline outlined in the textbook
adoption schedule approved by the Commission.

[Lach textbook or any instructional materials proposed for approval shall be
reviewed by multiple members of the panel.

(6) PANEL RECOMMENDATIONS TO THE COMMISSION. The advisory
panelists shall individually make their recommendations to the Commission.
The reviews of the members of an advisory panel shall be posted on the
department’s web site without any information that would identify the
reviewers.

Before issuing a recommendation on a textbook or on instructional
materials, each advisory panelist shall review the public commments on the
textbook or instructional materials posted on department’s web site,
pursuant to § 49-6-2203(d)(4), that are received by the date set by the
Commission. Each advisorv panelist shall consider the public comments in
making the panelist’s recommencdation.

Authority: Tennessee Code Annotated section 49-6-2201(n}.
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October 6, 2014:

Board Member Aye No Abstain Absent Signature
{if required)

Dr. Craig X

Hammond,

Chairman

Ms. Shannon X

Streett

Mpr. Cory Concus
Dr. Jason Robinson
ir. Lewis Moorer
Dr. Verna Ruffin

XK | XX

Vote on final version of $520-05-01-.07 SUBSTITUTIONS, contained herein, on September 28, 2015.

Board Member Aye No Abstain Absent Signature
{if required)
Ms. Cynthia X
Bryant
Ms. Susan X
Bunch
Dr. Bill Campbell X
Ms. Kelsey X
Cruze
Mr. Kyle Mallory X
Mr. Jason Vance X
Dr. Vicki Kirl, X

Commissioner
of Education’s
designee

Dr. Craig X
Hammond,
Chairman

| certify that this is an accurate and complete copy of proposed rules, lawfuily promulgated and adopted
by the State Textbook and instructional Materials Quality Commission on 10/06/2014 and 9/28/15 and is
in compliance with the provisions of T.C.A. § 4-5-222. The Secretary of State is hereby instructed that, in
the absence of a petition for proposed rules being filed under the conditions set out herein and in the
locations described, he is to treat the proposed rules as being placed on file in his office as rules at the
expiration of ninety (90} days of the filing of the proposed rule with the Secretary of State.
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Notary Public Signature:
Ciciobar 18, 208

Name of Officer:
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All proposed rules provided for herein have been examined by the Attorney General and Reporter of the
State of Tennessee and are approved as to legality pursuant to the provisions of the Administrative
Procedures Act, Tennessee Code Annotated, Title 4, Chapter 5
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Herbert Ij/ Slatery H
Attorney General and Reporter
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Notary Public Signature:

My commission expires on:
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G.0.C. STAFF RULE ABSTRACT

AGENCY:

SUBJECT:

STATUTORY AUTHORITY:

EFFECTIVE DATES:

FISCAL IMPACT:

STAFF RULE ABSTRACT:

Tennessee Student Assistance Corporation Board
of Directors

Tennessee Promise Scholarship Program

Tennessee Code Annotated, Section 49-4-204 and
Chapter 186 of the Public Acts of 2015

May 9, 2016 through June 30, 2017
None.

According to the Board, the rulemaking hearing rule
clarifies existing language and makes revisions to
the rules due to the enactment of 2015 Tenn. Pub.
Acts Ch. 1886, including allowing a student to enroll
in less than fulliime attendance in the semester of
graduation if full-time attendance is not required to
complete the program; allowing for a leave of
absence for military service and fulltime enroliment
while waiting for acceptance into an eligible
program of study; allowing partnering organizations
to serve students residing in counties outside their
service area if attending high school in their service
area; and stating that institutions shall apply tuition
waivers and discounts before the use of gift aid.
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Public Hearing Comments

These rule amendments were originally adopted by the Board of Directors of the Tennessee Student
Assistance Corporation on May 27, 2014.

The Tennessee Student Assistance Corporation received no comments pursuant to the Rulemaking
Hearing October §, 2015.
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Regulatory Flexibility Addendum

Pursuant to T.C.A. §§ 4-5-401 through 4-5-404, prior o initiating the rule making process as described in
T.CA. § 4-5-202{a}(3) and T.C.A. § 4-5-202(a), all agencies shall conduct a review of whether a
proposed rule or rule affects small businesses. The statute requires that as a part of its analysis, each
agency shall prepare an economic impact statement as an addendum to each rule that is deemed to
affect small businesses, which shalil be published in the Tennessee Administrative Register, filed with the
Secretary of State's Office, and made available to all interested parties, including the Secretary of State,
Attorney General, and the House and Senate Government Operations Commitiees.

The agency shall consider without limitation, certain methods of reducing the impact of the proposed rule
on small businesses while remaining consistent with health, safety and well-being and those methods are
as follows: the extent to which the proposed rule or rules may overiap, duplicate, or conflict with other
federal, state, and local governmental rules; clarity, conciseness, and lack of ambiguity in the proposed
rule or rules; the establishment of flexible compliance and/or reporting requirements for small businesses;
the establishment of friendly schedules or deadlines for compliance and/or reporting requirements for
small businesses; the consolidation or simplification of compliance or reporting requirements for small
businesses; the establishment of performance standards for small businesses as opposed to design or
operational standards required in the proposed rule; and the unnecessary creation of entry barriers or
other effects that stifle entrepreneurial activity, curb innovation, or increase costs.

Description of Proposed Rule

The proposed rules act to adopt changes to the Tennessee Promise Scholarship Program Chapter 1640-
01-26 as proposed rules, making various clarifications to existing language and revisions to the rule
pursuant to the passage of 2015 Tenn. Pub. Acts Ch. 186, which allows a student to enroll in less than
full-time attendance in the semester of graduation if full-time attendance is not required to complete the
program; allows for a leave of absence for military service and fulltime enroliment while waiting for
acceptance into an eligible program of study; allows partnering organizations to serve students residing in
counties outside their service area if attending high school in their service area; and states that
institutions shall apply tuition waivers and discounts before the use of gift aid.

Regulatory Flexibility Analysis - Methods of Reducing the lmpact of Rules on Small Businesses

1. Qverlap, duplicate, or conflict with other federal, state, and local governmental rules:

The proposed rules will not overlap, duplicate, or conflict with other federal, staie, and local
governmental rules.

2. Clarity, conciseness, and lack of ambiguity in the rule or rules:

The proposed rules were patterned to ensure clarity and conciseness of the language of the rules
and to eliminate possible ambiguity in the interpretation of the rules.

3. Fiexible compliance and/or reporting requirements for small businesses:

The proposed rules were drafted to facilitate administration of the program for eligible
postsecondary education institutions.

4. Friendly schedules or deadlines for compliance and/or reporting requirements:
TSAC worked diligently with the postsecondary financial aid community, the Tennessee Higher
Education Commission, Tennessee Board of Regents, and Tennessee Colleges of Applied

Technology, University of Tennessee System, and partnering organizations that are most directly
affected by these proposed rules to ensure that proposed compliance and reporting requirements
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can be practically applied by eligible institutions administering the program.
5. Consolidation or simplification of compliance or reporting requirements:

The proposed rules were drafted to ensure solid, easily interpreted, compliance and reporting
reguirements.

8. Performance standards for small businesses:

TSAC expects the eiigible institutions engaged in the administration of the Tennessee Promise
Scholarship Program to comply with all applicable rules.

7. Barriers or other effects that stifle entreprensurial activity, curb innovation, or increase costs;

The proposed rules do not contain any foreseeable inhibitors to small business entrepreneurial
activities,

Furthermore, the statute requires that the agency, as part of the rulemaking process for any proposed
rule that may have an impact on small businesses, shall prepare an economic impact statement as an
addendum for each rule. The statement shall include the following: the type or types of small businesses
and an identification and estimate of the number of small businesses subject to the proposed rule that
would bear the cost of, and/or directly benefit from the proposed rules; the projected reporting,
recordkeeping and other administrative costs required for compliance with the proposed rule, including
the type of professional skills necessary for preparation of the report or record; a statement of the
probable effect on impacted small businesses and consumers; a description of any less burdensome,
less intrusive or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose and/or objectives of the
proposed rule that may exist, and to what extent, such alternative means might be less burdensome to
small businesses; a comparison of the proposed rule with any federal or state counterparts; and analysis
of the effect of the possible exemption of small businesses from all or any part of the requirements
contained in the proposed rule,

Economic Impact Statement
1. Types of small businesses directly affected:

Not applicable. The proposed rules were drafted to facilitate administration of the program for the
eligible postsecondary institufions and should have no impact on small businesses.

N

. Projected reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs:

There are no significant changes In reporting, recordkeeping, or other administrative costs that
will result from the promulgation of these proposed rules.

w

. Probable effect on small businesses:

Not applicable.

g

. Less burdensome, intrusive, or costly alternative methods:

As these proposed rules present no foreseeabie cost to the eligible postsecondary institutions,
there is no alternative method to propose.

5. Comparison with federal and state counterparts:

There are no federal or state counterparts to the issues addressed by these proposed rules.
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6. Effect of possible exemption of small businesses:

There will be no exemptions created by these proposed rules.
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impact on Local Governments

Pursuant to T.C.A. §§ 4-5-220 and 4-5-228 “any rule proposed to be promulgated shall state in a simpie
declarative sentence, without additional comments on the merits of the policy of the rules or regulation,
whether the rule or regulation may have a projected impact on local governments.” {(See Public Chapter

Number 1070 (http:/state.tn us/sos/acts/106/pub/pc1070.pdf) of the 2010 Session of the General
Assembly)

The rules for the Tennessee Promise Scholarship Program Chapter 1640-01-28, as proposed, have ho
projected impact on local governments.
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CHAPTER 1640-01-26
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(1)

(68)

(78)

(84)

(98)

DEFINITIONS.

Academic Reguirement: A requirement of a specified grade point average or satisfactory
academic progress that determines the continuing eligibility for postsecondary financial
assistance from the Tennessee Promise Scholarship.

Academic Year: Three (3) consecutive semesters beginning with a fall semester and
including the immediately following spring and summer semsasters.

Board of Directors; The board of directors of the Tennesses Student Assistance Corporation.

Board of Regents: The board of regents of the state university and community college system
of Tennessee.

Certificate or Diploma: A credential, other than a degree, the receipt of which indicates
satisfactory compietion of training in a program of study offered by an eligible postsecondary
institution.

Continuous Enrcliment: The term is defined in T.C.A. 49-4-708,

Cumulative Grade Point Average: The grade point average as calculaied by the eligible
postsecondary institution.

Degree: A two-year associate degree conferred on students by an eligible postsecondary
institution.

Eligible High School: The term is defined in T.C.A. § 49-4-902.

(109} Eligible Postsecondary Institution: The term is defined in T.C.A. § 49-4-708.

(11

Eligible Posisecondary Program: The term is defined in T.C.A. § 49-4-708.

{120) Entering Freshman: A student who enrolls in an eligible postsecondary institution as a

participant in the Tennessee Promise Scholarship program in the fall term immediately
following high school graduation, completion of a home school program, or attainment of a
GED or HISET diploma. Exceptions to this enroliment requirement may be made for students
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TENNESSEE PROMISE SCHOLARSHIP PROGRAM ' CHAPTER 1640-01-26

(Rule 1640-01-26-.01, continued)

enrolled in a TCAT, for students enrolled in a four-year postsecondary institution but not
immediately admitted into an eligible postsecondary program, or for personal or medical
leaves of absence as outlined in these rules.

(134) FAFSA: The term is defined in T.C.A. § 49-4-902.

(142} Full-Time Student: The term is defined in T.C.A. § 49-4-708.

(153} GED: The term is defined in T.C.A. § 49-4-902.

{164) Gift Aid: The term is defined in T.C.A. § 48-4-708.

(178) HISET: The term is defined in T.C.A. § 49-4—902.%%%%@%%@&

(188} Home School Student: The term is defined in T.C.A. § 49-4-708.

(1947)

(2048)

{2148)

(2022)

(2423}

(R224)

(2328)

(2428)

(2527)

(2828)

(2729)

Immediate Family Member: Spouse, parents, children, or siblings.

Mentor; An individual who is assigned by a Parinering Organization to assist
Tennessee Promise Scholarship program participants in the college application and
financial aid process. Meniors may serve in a volunteer or employed capacity at the
discretion of the Partnering Organization. Volunteer mentors shall be at least twenty-
one (21) years of age.

Parent: The parent of legal guardian of a siudent.

Partnering Organization: A not-for-profit organization selected by TSAC to administer
the Tennessee Promise Scholarship program.

Resident: A resident of Tennessse; as defined by regulations promulgated by the
Tennessee Board of RegentsA-student-rmeetng-the-definiion-ef-in-slate™in-Tenn:
Comp-R-&-Regs-0240-02-02-03.

Satisfactory Academic Progress: Progress in. a course of study in accordance with the
standards and practices used for Title IV programs by the TCAT at which the student is
currently enrolled.

Semester: The term is defined in T.C.A. § 49-4-902,

Semester Hour: The credit hour used by a postsecondary institution, if the institution is
on a semester system, or its equivalent, if the institution is on a system other than a
semester system. "Semester hour" includes each semester hour attempted, whether
remedial or for credit toward a degree, but shall not include any semester hour
attempted before graduating from high school or earning a GED® or HISET.

TCAT: Tennessee College of Applied Technology.
Tennessee Promise Scholarship: A last-dollar scholarship to be applied fo a
participating student’s tuition and mandatory fees after other gift aid for which a student

is eligible is applied first o tuition and mandatory fees.

Tennessee Promise Scholarship Program-£Rregrars®): A scholarship program which
provides last-dofiar financial aid, mentoring, and community service opportunities for
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TENNESSEE PROMISE SCHOLARSHIP PROGRAM : CHAPTER 1640-01-26

{Rule 1640-01-26-.01, continuad)

(30)

Tennessee students upon graduation from high scheool or home school, or attainment
of a GED or HiSET.

Tennessee Promise Scholarship Student: The term is defined in T.C.A. § 49-4-708.

(2831) Terminating Event: The occurrence of an event described in T.C.A. § 49-4-708(c)(8).

{2832) Title IV: The term is defined in T.C.A. § 49-4-902,

(3033) TSAC: Tennessee Student Assistance Corporation.

(3434) Tuition and Mandatory Fees: Tuition and mandatory fees required for the enrollment or

attendance of a student at an eligible postsecondary institution that are charged to all
students, and shall net include fees charged for the Regents Online Degree Program, aniine
courses, specific programs of study, books, or supplies even if such fees are considered
necessary for enroliment.

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 49-4-201, 49-4-204, 49-4-708, and 49-4-902. Administrative History: Emergency
rule filed August 14, 2014; effective through February 10, 2015. Criginal rule filed August 14, 2014;
effective November 12, 2014. Amendments filed December 19, 2014, effective March 19, 2015.

1640-01-26-.02 SCHOLARSHIP AWARD AMOUNTS AND CLASSIFICATIONS.

(1)

)

The Tennessee Promise Scholarship program is intended {o provide financial assistance to
offset tuition and mandatory fees associated with pursuing postsecondary education after
other gift aid has been credited fo tuition and mandatory fees.

Award amounts for the program shall be determined in accordance with T.C.A. § 49-4-708
and shall be set in the General Appropriations Act.

in the event that funds are insufficient to fully fund the Tennessee Promise Scholarship award
program, TSAC may reduce the award amount in accordance with these rules.

Recipients of a Tennessee Promise Scholarship award as provided by these rules must be
enrolled and attending full.time in an eligible postsecondary institution. A student may enroll
less than full time in the semester of graduation if full-time enrollment is not required to
complete the program of study, and for semesters in which the student receives an approved
leave of absence.

Except for approved medical or personal leaves of absence, award recipients must be
continuously enrolled and maintain the required grade point average or satisfactory academic
progress at an eligible postsecondary institution as provided in Tenn. Comp. R. & Regs.
1640-01-26-.04{1){=).

All tuition waivers and discounts for which a student or parent qualifies shall first be deducted
from the student’s {uition and mandatory fees before gift aid is credited.

Gift aid from sources other than the Tennessee Promise Scholarship shall be credited first to
tuition and mandatory fees to reduce the student's Tennessee Promise Scholarship award. If
other gift aid exceeds tuition and mandatory fees then the student shall not be eligible for the
Tennessee Promise Scholarship award, but shall remain efigible for all other services
available through the Tennessee Promise Scholarship program, provided the student
maintains all academic and non-academic requirements.
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TENNESSEE PROMISE SCHOLARSHIP PROGRAM CHAPTER 1640-01-26
(Rule 1640-01-26-.02, continued)

"(8) The receipt of a Tennessee Promise Scholarship is contingent upon admission to and
enroliment in an eligible postsecondary institution. Qualifying for the Tennessee Promise
Scholarship does not guarantee admission to an eligible postsecondary institution.

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 49-4-201, 49-4-204, and 49-4-708. Administrative History: Emergency rule filed
August 14, 2014; effective through February 10, 2015. Original rule filed August 14, 2014; effective
November 12, 2014. Amendment filed December 19, 2014; effective March 19, 2015.

1640-01-26-.03 APPLICATION PROCESS,

(1) Students participating in the Tennessee Promise Scholarship program shall file a FAFSA, or
renewal FAFSA, in each year of program participation. The FAFSA must be submitted by
mail or slectronically as directed in the FAFSA instructions.

{2) Studenis enrolled in a community college, public four-year postsecondary institution, or
private institution shall file the FAFSA or renewal FAFSA according to the following
deadlines:

{a) No later than February 15 for fall enrollment, or
(b)  No later than November 1 for spring and summer enroliment.

(3} Students enroiled in a TCAT shall file the FAFSA or renewal FAFSA according to the
following deadlines:

{a) No later than February 15 for summer and fall enroliment, or
{b)  No later than November 1 for spring enroliment.

(4} Students are required to complete the Tennessee Promise Scholarship award application for
the initial year of enroliment no later than November 1 of their senior year of high school. For
each successive year of participation students shall submit a renewal application no later
thar July 1 prior fo the successive academic year giving notice to TSAC of their infent to
participate in the Tennessee Promise Scholarship program. If either deadline occurs on a
weekend or state holiday, then the application deadline will be the next business day.

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 49-4-201, 49-4-204, and 49-4-708. Administrative History: Emergency rule filed
August 14, 2014; effective through February 10, 2015. Original rule filed August 14, 2014; effective
November 12, 2014.

1640-01-26-.04 ELIGIBILITY ~ TENNESSEE PROMISE SCHOLARSHIP PROGRAM.
(1) To be eligible fo receive a Tennessee Promise Scholarship a student shall:
{a) Bea Tennessee resident;

(o)  Graduate from an eligible high school, graduate high school as a dependent child of a
military parent as outfined in T.C.A. § 49-4-826, complete high school as a home
school student, or obtain a GED or HIiSET diploma, provided that the student obtains a
GED or HIiSET diploma prior to the student reaching nineteen (19) vears of age;

{c) Atftend full time in an eligible postsecondary institution in the fall term immediatety
following graduation from an eligible high school or home school, or attainment of the
GED or HISET diploma; except that a student enroliing in a cerlificate or diploma
program at a TCAT may enroll in the summer prior to the fall term;
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{Rule 1640-01-26-.04, continued)

(d)

(e)

®

Maintain continuous enroliment as a full-time student at an eligible postsecondary
institution unless granted a medical or perscnal leave of absence;

Maintain a minimum cumulative grade point average of 2.0, as determined by the
eligible postsecondary institution, at the end of each academic year if enrolled in an
associate degree program, or maintain satisfactory academic progress as determined
by the TCAT,;

Comply with United States Selective Service System requirements for registration, if
such requirements are applicable to the student;

Be in compliance with federal drug-free rules and laws for receiving financial
assistance;

Not be in defauilt on a federal Title IV educational loan or Tennessee educational lean;

Not owe a refund on a federal Title iV student financial aid program or a Tennessee
student financial aid program;

Not be incarcerated;

Not have earned an associate degree prior to enrolling in the initial academic term
following graduation from a high school or home school program;

Prior to initial fall enrollment in a postsecondary institution, attend one mandatory
meeting related to financial aid and FAFSA completion, and the coliege application
process; and a second mandatory meeting related to college orientation. Participants
may, but are not required to, attend additional meetings as offered by a Partnering
Organization;

Complete a-minimunrof-eight (8) hours of community service for each semester while
participating in the Tennessee Promise Scholarship program; and

Complete-FAFEBA-verificalion.-if-salecied by ha-postsecendary-institution, Submit all
necessary documentation fo allow the postsecondary institution to complete FAFSA
verification by August 1 if enrolled at a two-year or four-year eligible instifution or by
October 1 if enrolled at a TCAT. Verification shall be completed regardless of eligibility
for federal or state grants.

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 49-4-201, 49-4-204, and 49-4-708. Administrative History: Emergency rule filed
August 14, 2014, effective through February 10, 2015. Original rule filed August 14, 2014; effective
November 12, 2014. Repeal and new rule filed December 19, 2014, effective March 19, 2018,

1640-01-26-.05 ELIGIBILITY - EARLY HIGH SCHOGL GRADUATION.

(1)

A student who graduates early from an eligible high school, or completes an eligible home

school program or obtains a GED or HIiSET diploma prior to the spring semester preceding

the initial fall enrollment may immediately enroll in an eligible postsecondary institution. Such

student shall not be eligible for the Tennessee Promise Scholarship untd the subsequent fall

semester, but shall otherwise meaet all initial eligibility requirements, and upon receipt of a
Tennessee Promise Scholarship meet all continuing eligibility requirements as outlined in
these rules.
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(Rule 1640-01-26-.05, continued)

{2} Notwithstanding the provisions of this section, a student may be eligible for a Tennessee
Promise Scholarship at a TCAT prior to the subsequent fall term if eligible for an exception as
provided in these rules.

{3) During all academic terms in which a student is enrolled in a posisecondary institution prior to
the fall term foilowing graduation from an eligible high school, the student shall:

(@) Enroll in an eligible postsecondary institution or a regionally accredited postsecondary
institution located outside this states;

{b) Attend all mandatory meetings provided by the Partnering Organization;

{c) Not be required to participate in community service, except that the student must
complete the amount of community service required by Tenn. Comp. R. & Regs. 1640-
01-26-.07(1) before the subsequent fall semester; and

(d) Have no minimum requirement for credit hours or academic performance.

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 49-4-201, 49-4-204, and 49-4-708. Administrative History: Emergency rule filed
August 14, 2014, effective through February 10, 2015. Qriginal rule filed August 14, 2014; effective
November 12, 201 4.

1640-01-26-.06 PERSONAL OR MEDICAL LEAVE OF ABSENCE.

{1) A student may be granted a medical or personal leave of absence from timely enroliment in
the initial semester, full-iime attendance, or confinuous enroliment at an eligible
postsecondary institution as long as all other applicable eligibility criteria are met. Allowable
medical or personal reasons may include iliness of the student; iliness or death of an
immediate family member; extreme financial hardship of the student or student’s immediate
family; fulfillment of a religious commitment expected-encouraged of members of that faith;
fulfillment of required-military-service initial active duty for training as a National Guard or
Reserve member or for National Guard or Reserve mobilization; the altendance in a program
of study at a TCAT which only begins in the spring or summer academic term or when
openings are unavailable for the fall academic term; full-fime attendance at an eligible four-
year postsecondary institution while waiting for admission to an eligible postsecondary
orogram; or other extraordinary circumstances beyond the student's control where
attendance by the student creates a substantial hardship. In the event an institution denies a
student's request for a medical or personal leave of absence, the student may appeal the
decision in accordance with these rules.

(2) A student granted a medical or personal leave of absence shall enroll full time in an eligible
postsecendary instifution in the first semester following the end of the leave of absence and
who-resumes—full-time-attondance—at-aneligible-nestsecendary-institution-shall retain the
Tennessee Promise Scholarship until a terminating event occurs.--However.—a—leave of
absence-ofsb{6)-months-orless-shall-not-count-against-the-two-and-ene-half-years-from-the
date-of-the-students-iritial-enroliment-atan—eligible-postsecondap-institulion: A leave of
absence of six (68) months or less shall not count against the five semester limi{ at an eligible
postsecondary institution, and a leave of absence may extend beyond six (6) months for
military, religious, or other extraordinary circumstances as described in this rule.

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 49-4-201, 49-4-204, and 49-4-708. Administrative History: Emergency rule filed
August 14, 2014; effective through February 10, 2015. Original rule filed August 14, 2014; effective
November 12, 2014.

1640-01-26-.07 COMMUNITY SERVIGE PROGRAM REQUIREMENTS.
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(1)

@)

)

()

(7)

A student participating in the Tennessee Promise Scholarship program shall perform g
rinimum—of-eight {8) hours of community service for each semester the scholarship is
received. Service shall be performed prior to the beginning of each academic semester,
including the initial fall semester, in which the Promise Scholarship is received according to
the following deadlines:

(a) August 1 for students attending the fall academic term.
{bY  December 1 for students attending the spring academic term.
(cy  May 1 for students attending the summer academic term.

A student who is granted a leave of absence which precludes the performance of community
service shall complete the community service in the first academic term foliowing the period
for which the leave of absence was granted. Such community service shall be in addition to
any other community service required in the same academic term.

Upon completion of the community service, each student shall verify to the Partnering
Organization a description of service performed, the date(s) the service was performed, the
total hours of service provided, and the name and address of the organization for which the
service was provided.

Community Service shall not include:

{a) Service performed prior to the January preceding the initial academic term;
(b) Service resulting in payment or remuneration of any kind; or

{c}  Service that directly benefits family members.

Community service may be performed with or under the direction of a faith-based
arganization, buf shali not include religious persuasion or proselytizing.

Community service in excess of eighi (8) hours performed in any semester shall not be
carried over into subsequent semesters. Unless the student is on an approved leave of
absence, failure to complete the sight (8) hours of community service prior to an academic
semester will result in the immediate termination of eligibility for the Tennessee Promise
Scholarship. Community service performed during an approved leave of apsence shall count
towards fulfiilment of the community service requirement in the first semester following the
leave of absence.

A student who knowingly provides false verification of community service shall be ineligible o
receive additional benefits under the Tennessee Promise Scholarship program.

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 49-4-201, 49-4-204, and 49-4-708. Administrative History: Emergency rule filed
August 14, 2014; effective through February 10, 2015. Original rule filed August 14, 2014; effective
November 12, 2014. Repeal and naw rule filed December 19, 2014; effective March 18, 2015,

1640-01-26-.08 SELECTION OF PARTNERING ORGANIZATIONS.

{1)

To participate in the Tennessee Promise Scholarship program, a Partnering Organization
shall be recommended by the mayor or executive of each county in which the Partnering
Organization participates and approved by the Board of Directors.
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{2y An approved Partnering Organization may continue to serve in such capacity unless it is no
longer recommended by a county mayor or executive or approved by the Board of Directors.
Final approval to serve as a Partnering Organization shall be given at the discrefion of the
Board of Directors and based on the Parinering Organization's satisfactory performance and
compliance with these rules.

{3) A negative recommendation by one county mayor or executive shall not automatically
disqualify the Partnering Organization from participating in other counties but will be
considered in the Board of Directors’ evaluation of the Partnering Organization's continued
participation in the Program.

Authority: T.CA. §§ 49-4-201, 49-4-204, and 49-4-708. Administrative History: Emergency rule filed
August 14, 2014; effective through February 10, 2015. Original rule filed August 14, 2014; effective
November 12, 2014.

1640-01-26-.09 PARTNERING ORGANIZATION REQUIREMENTS.

{1} Partnering Organizations that participate in the Tennessee Promise Scholarship program
shall meet the following requirements:

(a)

Be established as a not-for-profit organization, except that a postsecondary institution
that receives funding under the Tennessee Promise Scholarship program shall not be
permitted to participate as a partnering organization.

Operate as a college access and success program serving Tennessee residents at an
eligible postsecondary institution.

Demonstrate annually to TSAC that funding exists within the Partnering Organization's
budget to provide all services under the Tennessee Promise Scholarship program for a
minimum of one (1) year. No funds under this program shall be provided for the direct
or indirect benefit of a Partnering Organization.

Adhere fo rules promulgated by TSAC for the administration of this program.

Provide a mentoring program with a ratio of one (1) volunteer mentor to no more than
ten (10) eligible student applications. This ratic shall apply to eligible student
applications and may be reduced in proportion to the number of students who drop
from participation in the program.

The minimum age and ratio requirements shall not apply to full- or part-time paid
mentors or counselors that work directly with students.

Select volunteer mentors prior to December 1 for the following academic year and
provide one (1) mandatory training meeting for all paid and volunteer mentars prior fo
January 31. This meeting may be offered on multiple dates prior to the January 31
deadline. This meeting shall cover at least the following topics:

1. Program overview,

2. Appropriate mentor-student relationships,

3. Financial aid,

4. FAFSA completion,
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(h)

(i

(k)

()

(m)

5. Callege applications and admissions, and
8. Community service requirements.

Provide one {1) mandatory meeting for all Tennessee Promise Scholarship program
participants prior to March 1 preceding the initial enroliment in an eligible
postsecondary institution. This meeting may be offered on multiple dates prior to the
March 1 deadline, and shall provide training on the foliowing topics:

1. An overview of the Tennessee Promise Scholarship program,
2. Appropriate relationships with mentors,

3. Financial aid opporiunities,

4, FAFSA completion, and

5. The college application process.

Provide one (1) mandatory meeting for all Tennessee Promise Scholarship program
participants after March 1 and prior to May 31 preceding the initial enrollment in an
eligible postsecondary institution. This meeting may be offered on multiple dates prior
to the May 31 deadline and shall provide training on topics related to college
orientation, making the transition from high school o college, and community service
reguirements.

Where a student cannot attend either mandatory meeting due to required attendance at
a school-sponsored activity, required atiendance at a religious-based activity,
documented liness of the student, or other extenuating circumstances, the Partnering
Organizations shall provide opportunities for the student to receive the training prior to
the March 1 and or May 31 deadline, or as soon thereafter as practicable.

Provide a minimum of one (1) mentor contact monthly with each assigned Tennessee
Promise Scholarship program participant beginning February 1 of the senior year of
high school. Contact shall be maintained throughout the student’s participation in the
Program.

Organize a local advisory council to serve as an advocate for the Program. The
advisory council shall be comprised of a minimum of five (5) members, with at least one
{1) member representative from each the iocal education agency, the county mayor's
or executive's office, and a local postsecondary institution. Organizations that have
been in existence for a minimum of three (3) years may use existing boards or boards
of trustees as the local advisory councit if the board or board of trustees is substantially
similar {o the requirements of this subsection.

Obtain a certified background check on all mentors prior to service as a mentor. A
menior shall not be eligible to participate in the Tennessee Promise Scholarship
program if convicted of any felony or offense listed at T.C.A. §§ 38-13-527, 39-13-532,
39-17-417, and 40-35-501(i)(2). For purposes of this section, "conviction” includes entry
of a plea of guilty or nolo contendere or entry of an order granting pre-trial or judicial
diversion.

Submit to audits on a periodic basis as determined by TSAC.
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(n) Enter into a memorandum of understanding with TSAC regarding program
requirements and Parfnering Organizalion obligations and provide requested
information to TSAC as required in the memorandum of understanding.

fo} Provide electronic notification to TSAC when Tennessee Promise participants have
completed their mandatory meetings and community service requirements. Reporting
of community service performed in the previous academic term shall be provided to
TSAC for each student no later than:

1. August 15 for students attending the fali academic term.
2. December 15 for students attending the spring academic term.
3. May 15 for students attending the summer academic term.

{p} Provide performance metrics as ouilined in the memorandum of understanding entered
into with TSAC.

{g) Obtain an insurance policy that, at a minimum, limits liability of the Partnering
Organization against physical and sexual abuse or misconduct directed toward
participants of the Program by its officers, directors, employees, and volunteers.

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 39-13-527, 39-13-532, 39-17-417, 40-35-501, 49-4-201, 49-4-204, and 49-4-708.
Administrative History: Emergency rule filed August 14, 2014, effective through February 10, 2015.

Criginal rule filed August 14, 2014 effective November 12, 2014. Repeal and new rule filed December
19, 2014; effective March 19, 2015.

1640-01-26-.10 PARTNERING ORGANIZATIONS — SERVICE IN COUNTIES.

{1} A Parinering Organization that agrees to provide Tennessee Promise Scholarship program
services in a county shall make the pregram available to all sligible high school, home
school, and GED/HISET students in that county. The Partnering Organization shall continue
to work with students from that county through a terminating event, regardiess -of which
eligible postsecondary institution the student attends. Partnering Organizations may work
with students from high schools or counties outside their assigned counties as agreed upon

hetween the Partnering Organizalions.
Authority: T.C.A. §§ 49-4-201, 49-4-204, and 49-4-708. Administrative History: Emergency rule filed
August 14, 2014, effective through February 10, 2015. Original rule filed August 14, 2014; effective
November 12, 2014,

1640-01-26-.11 TERMINATING EVENTS

(1) A student shall receive the Tennessee Promise Scholarship until reaching a terminating
event as outlined in T.C.A. § 48-4-708.

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 49-4-201, 49-4-204, and 49-4-708. Administrative History: Emergency rule filed
August 14, 2014; effective through February 10, 2015. Original rule filed August 14, 2014; effective
November 12, 2014.

1640-01-26-.12 TENNESSEE PROMISE SCHOLARSHIP REFORMS.

(1)  In the event funds are insufficient to fully fund the cost of Tennessee Promise scholarships,
TSAC is authorized to take one or more of the following actions:
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(2)

{a) Establish a maximum award amount,

(b} Establish additional eligibility criteria for new applicants entering the program,

{c) Administer the program on a first-come, first-served basis.

Any action taken by TSAC as described in subsection (1) shall require approvai by TSAC’s

board of directors and noflification shall be provided fo the chairs of the Senate and House
Education Committees of the Tennessee General Assembly.

Authority: T.CA. §§ 49-4-201, 49-4-204, and 49-4-708. Administrative History: Emergency rule filed
August 14, 2014; effective through February 10, 2015. Original rule filed August 14, 2014; effective
November 12, 2014.

1640-01-26-.13 CERTIFICATION OF ELIGIBILITY,

(1)

Each Partnering Organization shall determine student eligibility hased on atiendance at
mandatory meetings and fulfillment of community service requirements as required in these
rules, and shall certify such eligibiiity to TSAC.

TSAC will create a master certification roster of students for each institution. The master list
will contain students who have met all requirements for the Tennessee Promise Scholarship.

The eligible postsecondary institution will-be—respensible forcerifying shall certify each
student’s eligibility for a financial award from the Tennessee Promise Scholarship hased on

continuing eligibility requirements established in these rules. The award amount reported to
TSAC shall be the amount of tuition and mandatory fees remaining after other gift aid has first
been applied to the student’s tuition and mandatory fees. All tuition waivers and discounts for
which a student or parent qualifies shall first be deducted from the student’s fuition and
mandatory fees before gift aid is credited.

Once the eligible postsecondary institution has certified the student’s eligibility for a financial
award, the certification information shall be electronically transmitted to TSAC.

TSAC shall process a payment request directly to the eligible postsecondary institution on
behalf of all Tennessee Promise Scholarship recipients who are eligibie for a financial award.
No funds shall be disbursed directly to the Partnering Organizations or to the students.

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 49-4-201, 49-4-204, and 49-4-708. Administrative History: Emergency rule filed
August 14, 2014; effective through February 10, 2015. Original rule filed August 14, 2014; effective
November 12, 2014,

1640-01-26-.14 EVALUATION OF THE TENNESSEE PROMISE SCHOLARSHIP:

(1)

(2)

TSAC, along with the Tennessee Higher Education Commission, shall review the Tennessee
Promise Scholarship program annually. The review shall include, at a minimum, the number
of reciplents, total cost of the program, student persistence, hours of community service
completed, and scholarship retention. These findings shall be reported to the education
commitiee members of the Senate and House of Representatives of the Tennessee General
Assembly.

TSAC shall convene a meeting of its Special Advisory Commitiee at least annually to review
the effectiveness and best practices of the Tennessee Promise Scholarship program.
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Authority: T.C.A. §§ 49-4-201, 49-4-204, and 49-4-708. Administrative History: Emergency rule filed
August 14, 2014, effective through February 10, 2015. Original rule filed August 14, 2014; effective
Movember 12, 2014, ‘

1640-01-26-.15 AWARD MADE IN ERROR.

(1) Repayment from the student shall not be required if TSAC determines that the error was
through no fault of the student.

(2) Repayment from the student shall be required if TSAC determines that fraud was committed
or the error was due to the fault of the student. When repayment is required, the student may
not receive additional student aid from TSAC until repayment is made.

(3) Repayment from the postsecondary institution will be required if TSAC determines that the
error was due to the faulf of the postsecondary institution.

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 49-4-201, 49-4-204, and 49-4-708. Administrative History: Emergency rule filed
August 14, 2014; effective through February 10, 2015. Original rule filed August 14, 2014; effective
November 12, 2014.

1640-01-26-.16 REFUND POLICY.

{1} If a recipient of a Tennessee Promise Scholarship award fails to complete a semester for any
reason, the eligible postsecondary institution shall apply its refund policy to determine
whether a refund may be required and funds returned to TSAC. The eligible postsecondary
institution shall provide the student with a notice indicating the amount to be returned to the
student or the amount to be refunded fo TSAC. Additionally, the eligible posisecondary
institution shall noiify TSAC of the refund, which shall be noted on the student’s record. The
eligible postsecondary institution shall also be responsible for obtaining repayment from the
student. The student shall be ineligible for student aid from TSAC until the refund is paid.

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 49-4-201, 49-4-204, and 49-4-708. Administrative History: Emergency rule filed
August 14, 2014, effective through February 10, 2015. Qriginal rule filed August 14, 2014 effective
November 12, 2014. '

1640-01-26-.17 TRANSFER STUDENTS.

{1y A student who meets all academic and non-academic requirements of the Tennessee
Promise Scholarship may transfer from one eligible posisecondary institution to another
eligible postsecondary institution and maintain the scholarship, provided the student is able to
complete the diploma or associate degree in the amount of time remaining before reaching a
terminating event as outlined in T.C.A § 49-4-708.

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 49-4-201, 49-4-204, and 49-4-708. Administrative History: Emergency rule filed
August 14, 2014, effective through February 10, 2015. Original ruie filed August 14, 2014; effective
November 12, 2074. ' _

1640-01-26-.18 APPEAL AND EXCEPTION PROCESS.

{1} Each eligible postsecondary instifution shali use their existing Institutional Review Panel
{IRP) for purposes of reviewing and rendering decisions regarding appeals for the Tennessee
Promise Scholarship program. The IRP shall use the same procedures and timelines as
those that currently exist for the review of Tennessee Education Lottery Scholarship (TELS)
appeals as outlined in Tenn. Comp. R. & Reg. 1640-01-19,
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(2) TSAC shall use the existing TELS Appeals Panel to consider appeals and render decisions
for those students who appeal a decision made by the IRP. The same duidelines shall exist
for appeals of the Tennessee Promise Scholarship program as those that are currently in
place for TELS as outlined in Tenn. Comp. R & Reg.1640-01-19.

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 49-4-201, 49-4-204, 49-4-708, and 49-4-924, Administrative History: Emergency

rule filed August 14, 2014, effective through February 10, 2015. Original rule filed August 14, 2014;
effective November 12, 2014,
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The vote by the Agency on these rules was as follows:

Board Member Aye No Abstain Absent
Governor Haslam,
by X
Mr. Mark Cate
Dr. Russ Deaton X
Dr. Ciaude Pressnell X
Mr. David H. Lillard, Jr. X
Comptroller Justin P. Wilson X
Commissioner Larry Martin,
by X
Mr. David Thurman
Commissioner Candice
McQueen,
by X
Dr. Danielle Mazera
Chancellor John Morgan,
by X
Mr. David Gregory
Dr. Joe Dipietro,
by X
Dr. Katie High
Dr. Gary Weedman X
Dr. J. Gary Adcox X
Ms. Celena Tulloss X
Ms. Keri Mclnnis X
Dr. LaSimba Gray, Jr. X
Mr. Tom Hughes X
Ms. Sydney Jones X
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| certify that this is an accurate and complete copy of proposed rules, lawfully promulgated and adopted
by the TSAC Board of Directors on 05/27/2105, and is in compliance with the provisions of T.C.A. § 4-5-
222. The Secretary of State is hereby instructed that, in the absence of a petition for proposed rules being
filed under the conditions set out herein and in the locations described, he is to treat the proposed rules
as being placed on file in his office as rules af the expiration of ninety (90) days of the filing of the
proposed rule with the Secretary of State.

Date: 1 20y 2

Signature:

A e
= f : s'/ ’

Name of Officer: Dr. Russ E{)_eaton

Title of Officer:  Interim Executive Direcior
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@biter of the State of Tennessee and are approved as to legality pursuant to the provisions of the
Administrative Procedures Act, Tennessee Code Annotated, Title 4, Chapter 5.
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Attorney General and‘Reporter
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&3 Secretary of State
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G.0.C. STAFF RULE ABSTRACT

AGENCY:

SUBJECT:

STATUTORY AUTHORITY:

EFFECTIVE DATES:

FISCAL IMPACT:

STAFF RULE ABSTRACT:

Tennessee Student Assistance Corporation Board
of Directors

Tennessee Promise Scholarship Program
Tennessee Code Annotated, Section 49-4-204
May 22, 2016 through June 30, 2017

None.

According to the Board, the proposed rule makes
various clarifications and technical changes to the
existing language including requiring students {o
submit Free Application for Federal Student Aid
(FAFSA) verification documents to their
postsecondary institution by August 1, aliowing
students to begin fulfilling their community service
obligations the day after the application deadline of
their high school senior year, and reflecting new
community service deadlines beginning with the
2017-18 academic year.
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Regulatory Flexibility Addendum

Pursuant to T.C.A. §§ 4-5-401 through 4-5-404, prior to initiating the rule making process as described in
T.C.A. § 4-b-202(a)(3) and T.C.A. § 4-5-202(a), all agencies shall conduct a review of whether a
proposed rule or rule affects small businesses. The statute requires that as a part of its analysis, gach
agency shall prepare an economic impact statement as an addendum to each rule that is deemed lo
affect small businesses, which shall be published in the Tennessee Administrative Register, filed with the
Secretary of State’s Office, and made available to all interested parties, including the Secretary of State,
Attorney General, and the House and Senate Government Operations Committees,

The agency shall consider without limitation, certain methods of reducing the impact of the proposed rule
on small businesses while remaining consistent with health, safety and well-being and thase methods are
as follows: the extent to which the proposed rule or rules may overlap, duplicate, or conflict with other
federal, state, and local governmental rules; clarity, conciseness, and lack of ambiguity in the proposed
rule or rules; the establishment of flexible compliance and/or reporting requirements for small businesses;
the establishment of friendly schedules or deadlines for compliance and/or reporting requirements for
small businesses; the consolidation or simplification of compliance or reporting requirements for small
businesses; the establishment of performance standards for small businesses as opposed to design or
operational standards required in the proposed rule; and the unnecessary creation of entry barriers or
other effects that stifle entrepreneurial activity, curb innovation, or increase costs.

Description of Proposed Rule

Pursuant to T.C.A.§ 4-5-202, the Tennessee Student Assistance Corporation {TSAC) intends fo file
proposed rules to amend the current rules of Chapter 1640-01-26 Tennesses Promise Scholarship
Program, in lieu of a rulemaking hearing. it is the intent of TSAC to promulgate these rules without a
rulemaking hearing unless a petition requesting such hearing is filed within thirty (30) days of the
publication date of issue of the Tennessee Administrative Register in which the proposed ruies are
published.

The proposed rules act to adopt changes to the Tennessee Promise Scholarship Program Chapter 1640-
01-26 as proposed rules, making various clarifications and technical changes to the existing language
including requiring students to submit Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) verification
documents o their posisecondary institution by August 1, allowing students {o begin fulfilling their
community service obligations the day -after the application deadline of their high school senior year, and
reflecting new community service deadlines beginning with the 2017-18 academic year.
Regulatory Flexibility Analysis - Methods of Reducing the Impact of Rules on Small Businesses

1. Overlap, duplicate, or conflict with other federal, state, and local governmental rules:

The proposed rules will not overtap, duplicate, or conflict with other federal, state, and local
governmental rules.

2. Ciarity, conciseness, and lack of ambiguity in the rule or rules:

The proposed rules were patterned to ensure clarity and conciseness of the tanguage of the rujes
and to eliminate possible ambiguity in the interpretation of the rules.

3. Flexible compliance and/or reporting requirements for small businesses:

The proposed rules were drafted to facilitate administration of the program for eligible
postsecondary education institutions.

4. Friendly schedules or deadlines for compliance and/or reporting requirements:
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TSAC worked diligently with the postsecondary financial aid community, the Tennessee Higher
Education Comm:ssmn Tennessee Board of Regents, and Tennessee Colleges of Appiled
affected by these proposed rules 1o ensure that proposed comphéhcé and reporilng requirements
can be practically applied by eligible institutions administering the program.

5. Consolidation or simplification of compliance or reporting requirements:

The proposed rules were drafted to ensure solid, easily interpreted, compliance and reporting
requirements.

6. Performance standards for small businesses:

TSAC expecis the eligible institutions engaged in the adminisiration of the Tennessee Promise
Scholarship Program to comply with all applicable rules.

7. Barriers or other effects that stifle entrepreneurial activity, curb innovation, or increase costs:

The proposed rules do not contain any foreseeable inhibitors to small business entreprensurial
activities.

Furthermore, the statute requires that the agency, as part of the rulemaking process for any proposed
rule that may have an impact on small businesses, shall prepare an economic impact statement as an
addendum for each rule. The statement shall include the following: the type or types of small businesses
and an identification and estimate of the number of small businesses subject to the proposed rule that
would bear the cost of, andfor directly benefit from the proposed rules; the projected reporting,
recordkeeping and other administrative costs required for compliance with the proposed rule, including
the type of professional skills necessary for preparation of the report or record; a statement of the
probable effect on impacted small businesses and consumers; a description of any less burdensome,
less intrusive or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose and/or objeciives of the
proposed rule that may exist, and to what extent, such alternative means might be less burdensome to
small businesses; a comparison of the proposed rule with any federal or state counterparts; and analysis
of the effect of the possible exemplion of small businesses from all or any part of the requiraments
contained in the proposed rule.

Economic Impact Statement
1. Types of small businesses directly affected:

Not applicable. The proposed rules were drafted to facilitate administration of the program for the
eligible postsecondary institutions and should have no Impact on small businesses,

2. Projected reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs:

There are no significant changes in reporting, recordkeeping, or other administrative costs that
will result from the promulgation of these proposed rules.

3. Probhable effect on small businesses:
Not applicable.
4. Less burdensome, intrusive, or costly alternative methods:

As these proposed rules present no foreseeable cost to the eligible postsecondary institutions,
there is no aliernative method to propose.
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5. Comparison with federal and state counterparts:
There are no federal or state counterparts to the issues addressed by these proposed rules.
6. Effect of possible exemption of small businesses:

There will be no exemptions created by these proposed ruies.
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Impact on Local Governmentis

Pursuant to T.C.A. §§ 4-5-220 and 4-5-228 “any rule proposed to be promulgated shall state in a simple
declarative sentence, without additional comments on the merits of the policy of the rules or regulation,
whether the rule or regulation may have a projected impact on local governments.” (See Public Chapter
Number 1070 (hitp:/state.tn.us/sos/acts/106/pub/pc1070.pdf) of the 2010 Session of the General
Assembly)

The rules for the Tennessee Promise Scholarship Program Chapter 1640-01-26, as proposed, have no
projected impact on local governments.
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permanent such emergency rules, as amended during the rulemaking process. In addition, this section shall not apply fo state
agencies that did nof, during the preceding ftwo {2) fiscal years, coilect fees in an amount sufficient to pay the cost of operating the
board, commission or entity in accordance with § 4-29-121(h).

Agency/Board/Commission: | Tennessee Student Assistance Corporation .
o Division: | Higher Education
i __Contact Person: | Peter Abernathy - o
. o ~ Address: | Suite 1510, Parkway Towers, 404 James Robertson Parkway, Nashville, TN
) Zip: | 37243 ‘ -
_ Phone: | 615.532.6065 _ o
) Email: | Peter. Abernathy@tn.gov S -
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Rule(s) Revised (ALL chapters and rules contained in filing must be listed here, If needed, copy and
paste additional tables fo accommodate multiple chapters. Please enter only ONE Rule Number/Rule
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(1)

(6)
N

(8)

(10)

(14
(12)

DEFINITIONS.

Academic Requirement: A requirement of a specified grade point average or satisfactory
academic progress that determines the continuing eligibility for postsecondary financial
assistance from the Tennessee Promise Scholarship.

Academic Year: Three (3) consecutive semesters beginning with a fall semester and
including the immediately following spring and summer semesters.

Board of Directors: The board of directors of the Tennessee Student Assistance Corporation.

Board of Regents: The board of regents of the state university and community college system
of Tennessee.

Certificate or Diploma: A credential, other than a degree, the receipt of which indicates’
satisfactory completion of fraining in a program of study offered by an eligible postsecondary
institution.

Continuous Enroliment: The term is defined in T.C.A. 49-4-708.

Cumulative Grade Point Average: The grade point average as calculated by the eligible
postsecondary institution.

Degree: A two-year associate degree conferred on students by an eligible postsecondary
institution.

Eligible High School: The term is defined in T.C.A. § 49-4-802. !

Eligible Postsecondary Institution: The term is defined in T.C A, § 49-4-708.

Eligible Postsecondary Program: Th'e ferm is defined in T.C.A. § 49-4-708.

Entering Freshman: A student who enrolls in an eligible postsecondary institution as a
parficipant in the Tennessee Promise Scholarship program in the fall term immediately

following high school graduation, completion of a home school program, or attainment of a
GED or HIiSET diploma. Exceptions to this enroliment requirement may be made for students
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enrolled in a TCAT, for students enrolled in a four-year postsecondary insfitution but not
immediately admitted into an eligible postsecondary program, or for personal or medical
leaves of absence as cutlined in these rules.

{13} Expected Family Conbribution (EFC): A measure of parental andior student ability to
contribute toward payment of educational expenses as determined by the FAFSA.

{4314) FAFSA: The term is defined in T.C.A. § 49-4-902,

(15) FAFSA Verification: The process used by a postsecondary institution to verify the accuracy of
mnformation submitted on a student’s FAFSA. For purposes of these rules, such process
shall apply to verification documents reguired by the U.S. Department of Education
regardless of how the student is selected.

H

(4416} Full-Time Student: The term is defined in T.C.A. § 49-4-708.

(4817) GED: The term is defined in T.C.A. § 49-4-902.

(4618) Gift Aid: The term is defined in T.C.A. § 49-4-708,

(4%19) HISET: The term is defined in T.C.A. § 49-4-902.

(4820) Home School Student: The term is defined in T.C.A. § 49-4-708.

(4e21) Immediate Family Member: Spouse, parents, children, or siblings.

(2022) Mentor: An individual who is assigned by a Partnering Organization to assist
Tennessee Promise Scholarship program participants in the college application and financial
aid process. Mentors may serve in a volunteer or employed capacity at the discretion of the
Partnering Organization. Volunteer mentors shall be at least twenty-one (21) years of age.

(2423) Parent: The parent or legal guardian of a student.

{2224) Partnering Organization: A not-for-profit organization selected by TSAC to administer
the Tennessee Promise Scholarship program.

(2325) Resident: A resident of Tennessee as defined by regulations promulgated by the
Tennessee Board of Regents.

(2426) Satisfactory Academic Progress: Progress in a course of study in accordance with the
standards and practices used for Title IV programs by the TCAT at which the student is
currently enrolled.

{2E827) Semester: The term is defined in T.C.A. § 49-4-902.

(2628) Semester Hour: The credit hour used by a postsecondary institution, if the institution is
on a semesler system, or its equivalent, if the institution is on a system other than a semester
system. "Semester hour" includes each semester hour attempted, whether remedial or for
credit toward a degree, but shall not include any semester hour attempted before graduating
from high school or earning a GED® or HISET.

(2729) TCAT: Tennessee College of Applied Technology.
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(2830) Tennessee Promise Scholarship: A last-dollar scholarship to be applied fo a

participating student’s tuition and mandatory fees after other gift aid for which a student is
eligible is applied first {o tuition and mandatory fees.

{2931) Tennessee Promise Scholarship Program: A scholarship program which provides last-

dollar financial aid, mentoring, and community service opportunities for Tennessee
students upon graduation from high school or home school, or attainment of a GED or
HISET.

(3032)  Tennessee Promise Scholarship Student: The term is defined in T.C.A. § 49-4-708.

(3433) Terminating Event: The occurrence of an event described in T.C.A. § 48-4-708(c)(8).

(8234) Title IV: The term is defined in T.C.A. § 49-4-802.

(3335) TSAC: Tennessee Student Assistance Corporation.

(3436) Tuition and Mandatory Fees: Tuition and mandatory fees required for the enrollment or

attendance of a student at an eligible postsecondary institution that are charged to all
students, and shall not include fees charged for the Regents Online Degree Program, online
courses, specific programs of study, bocks, or supplies even if such fees are considered
necessary for enroliment.

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 49-4-201, 49-4-204, 49-4-708, and 49-4-902. Administrative Hisiory: Emergency
rule fited August 14, 2014; effective through February 10, 2015. Criginal rule filed August 14, 2014;
effective November 12, 2014. Amendments filed December 19, 2014; effective March 18, 2015
Emergency rule filed August 4, 2015, effective through January 31, 2016.

1640-01-26-.02 SCHOLARSHIP AWARD AMOUNTS AND CLASSIFICATIONS.

(1N

The Tennessee Promise Scholarship program is intended to provide financial assistance to
offset tuition and mandatory fees associated with pursuing postsecondary education after
other gift aid has been credited to tuition and mandatory fees.

Award amounts for the program shall be determined in accordance with T.C.A. § 49-4-708
and shall be set in the General Appropriations Act.

In the event that funds are insufficient to fully fund the Tennesses Promise Scholarship award
program, TSAC may reduce the award amount in accordance with these rules.

Recipients of a Tennessee Promise Scholarship award as provided by these rules must be
enrolled and attending fulltime in an eligible postsecondary institution. A student may enroll
less than full time in the semester of graduation if full-time enroliment is not required fo
complete the program of study, and for semesters in which the student receives an approved
leave of absence.

Except for approved medical or personal leaves of absence, award recipients must be
continuously enrolled and maintain the required grade point average or satisfactory academic
progress at an eligible postsecondary institution as provided in Tenn. Comp. R. & Regs.
1640-01-26-.04.

AH tuition waivers and discounts for which a student or parent qualifies shall first be deducted
from the student’s tuition and mandatory fees before gift aid is credited.

Gift aid from sources other than the Tennessee Promise Scholarship shall be credited first to
tuition and mandatory fees to reduce the student’s Tennessee Promise Scholarship award. If
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(8)

other gift aid exceeds tuition and mandatory fees then the student shall not be eligible for the
Tennessee Promise Scholarship award, but shall remain eligible for all other services
available through the Tennessee Promise Scholarship program, provided the student
maintains all academic and non-academic requirements.

The receipt of a Tennessee Promise Scholarship is contingent upon admission o and
enrollment in an eligible postsecondary institution. Qualifying for the Tennessee Promise
Scholarship does not guarantee admission to an eligible postsecondary institution.

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 49-4-201, 49-4-204, and 49-4-708. Administrative History: Emergency rule filed
August 14, 2014; effective through February 10, 2015. Original rule filed August 14, 2014, effective
November 12, 2014. Amendment filed December 19, 2014; effective March 19, 2015. Emergency rule
filed August 4, 2015; effective through January 31, 2016.

1640-01-26-.03 APPLICATION PROCESS.

(1)

@)

(4)

Students participating in the Tennessee Promise Scholarship program shall file a FAFSA, or
renewal FAFSA, in each year of program participation. The FAFSA must be submitted by
mail or electronically as directed in the FAFSA instructions.

Students enrolied in a community college, public four-year postsecondary institution, or
private institution shall file the FAFSA or renewal FAFSA according to the following
deadlines:

{a) No later than February 15 for fall enroliment, or
(k)  Nolater than November 1 for spring and summer enrollment.

Students enrolled in a TCAT shall file the FAFSA or renewal FAFSA according to the
following deadlines:

(a) Nolater than February 15 for summer and fall enrollment, or
(b) Noilater than November 1 for spring enrallment.

Students are required o complete the Tennessee Promise Scholarship award application for
the initial year of enroliment no later than November 1 of their senior year of high school. For
each successive year of participation students shall submit a renewal application no later
than July 1 prior to the successive academic year giving notice to TSAC of their intent to
participate in the Tennessee Promise Scholarship program. If either deadline occurs on a
weekend or state holiday, then the application deadline will be the next business day.

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 49-4-201, 49-4-204, and 49-4-708. Administrative History: Emergency rule filed
August 14, 2014; effective through February 10, 2015. Original rule filed August 14, 2014; effective
November 12, 2014. Emergency rule filed August 4, 2015; effective through January 31, 2016.

1640-01-26-.04 ELIGIBILITY — TENNESSEE PROMISE SCHOLARSHIP PROGRAM.

(1)

To be eligible to receive a Tennessee Promise Scholarship a student shall:
{a) Bea Tennessee resident;

() Graduate from an eligible high school, graduate high school as a dependent child of a
military parent as outlined in T.C.A. § 49-4-926, complete high school as a home
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©)

(e)

(f}

{9)

(h
(i)

(m)

school student, or obtain @ GED or HISET diploma, provided that the student obtains a
GED or HISET diploma prior to the student reaching nineteen (19} years of age;

Attend full time in an eligible postsecondary institution in the fall term immediately
following graduation from an eligible high school or home school, or attainment of the
GED or HiSET diploma; except that a student enrolling in a certificate or diploma
program at a TCAT may enroll in the summer prior to the fall term;

Maintain continucus enrollment as a full-time student at an eligible postsecondary
institution unless granted a medical or personal leave of absence;

Maintain a minimum cumulative grade point average of 2.0, as determined by the
eligible postsecondary institution, at the end of each academic year if enrolled in an
asscciate degree program, or mainiain satisfactory academic progress as determined
by the TCAT;

Comply with United States Selective Service System requirements for registration, if
such requirements are applicable to the student;

Be in compliance with federal drug-free rules and laws for receiving financial
assisiance;

Not be in default on a federal Title IV educational loan or Tennessee educational loan;

Not owe a refund on a federal Title |V student financial aid program or a Tennessee
student financial aid program;

Not be incarcerated,;

Not have earned an associate degree prior {0 enrcliing in the initial academic term
following graduation from a high school or home school program;

Prior fo initial fall enroliment in a postsecondary institution, attend one mandatory
meeting related to financial aid and FAFSA completion, and the college application
process; and a second mandatory meeting related to college orientation. Participants
may, but are not required fo, attend additional meetings as offered by a Partnering
Qrganization;

Complete eight {8) hours of community service for each semester while participating in
the Tennessee Promise Scholarship program; and

Submit all necessary documentation by August 1 to allow the postsecondary institution
to complete FAFSA verification by August-4-if enrolled at a two-year or four-year
eligible institution or by October 1 if enrolled at a TCAT. FAFSA Mverification shall be
completed regardless of eligibility for federal or state grants. After performing an initial
review of the verification materials submitted by August 1, additional documentation
may be requested by the postsecondary institution to complete initial FAFSA
verification. This shall not render the student ineligible for Tennessse Promise if the
additional necessary documents are provided by December 1. If either deadline occurs
on 8 weekend or state holiday, then the application deadline will be the next business

day; and

Complete the FAFSA and have been assigned an EFC by the U.8. Department of
Education.
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Authority: T.C.A. §§ 49-4-201, 49-4-204, and 49-4-708. Administrative History: Emergency rule filed
August 14, 2014; effective through February 10, 2015. Original rule filed August 14, 2014; effective
November 12, 2014. Repeal and new rule filed December 18, 2014; effective March 19, 2015.
Emergency rule filed August 4, 2015; effective through January 31, 2016.

1640-01-26-.05 ELIGIBILITY - EARLY HIGH SCHOOL. GRADUATION.

{1) A student who graduates early from an eligible high school, or completes an eligible home
school program or obtains a GED or HISET diploma prior to the spring semester preceding
the initial fall enroliment may immediately enroll in an eligible postsecondary institution. Such
student shall not be sligible for the Tennessee Promise Scholarship until the subsequent fall
semester, but shall otherwise meet all initial eligibility requirements, and upon receipt of a
Tennessee Promise Scholarship mest all continuing eligibility requirements as outlined in
these rules.

(2)  Notwithstanding the provisions of this section, a student may be eligible for a Tennessee
Promise Scholarship ata TCAT gprior fo the subsequent fall term if eligible for an exception as
provided in these rules.

(3) During all academic ferms in which a student is enrolled in a postsecondary institution prior to
the fall term following graduation from an eligible high school, the student shall:

(a) Enroll in an eligible postsecondary institution or a regionally accredited postsecondary
institution located outside this state;

(b} Aftend all mandatory meetings provided by the Parinering Organization;

{c) Not be required to participate in community service, except that the student must
complete the amount of community service required by Tenn. Comp. R. & Regs. 1640-
01-26-.07(1) before the subsequent fall semester; and '

(d) Have no minimum requirement for credit hours or academic performance.

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 49-4-201, 49-4-204, and 49-4-708. Administrative History: Emergency rule filed
August 14, 2014; effective through February 10, 2015. Criginal rule filed August 14, 2014; effective
November 12, 2014. Emergency rule filed August 4, 2015, effective through January 31, 2016.

1640-01-26-.06 PERSONAL OR MEDICAL LEAVE OF ABSENCE.

(1) A student may be granted a medical or personal leave of absence from timely enrollment in
the initial semester, full-time aftendance, or continuous enroliment at an eligible
postsecondary institution as long as all other applicable eligibility criteria are met. Allowable
medical or personal reasons may include illness of the student; iliness or death of an
immediate family member; extreme financial hardship of the student or student’'s immediate
family; fulfillment of a religious commitment encouraged of members of that faith; fulfiliment of
required initial active duty for training as a National Guard or Reserve member or for National
Guard or Reserve mobilization; attendance in a program of study at a TCAT which only
begins in the spring or summer academic term or when openings are unavailable for the fall
academic term; full-time attendance at an eligible four-year postsecondary institution while
waiting for admission to an eligible postsecondary program; or other extraordinary
circumstances beyond the student's control where attendance by the student creates a
substantial hardship. In the event an insfitution denies a student’s request for a medical or
personal leave of absence, the student may appeal the decision in accordance with these
rules.
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(2)

A student granted a medical or personal leave of absence shall enroll full time in an eligible
postsecondary institution in the first semaster following the end of the leave of absence and
shall retain the Tennessese Promise Scholarship until a terminating event occurs. A leave of
absence of six {6) months or less shall not count against the five semaster limit at an eligible
postsecondary institution, and a leave of absence may extend beyond six {6) months for
military, religious, or other extraordinary circumstances as described in this rule.

Authority: T.CA. §§ 49-4-201, 483-4-204, and 49-4-708. Administrative History: Emergency rule filed
August 14, 2014; effective through February 10, 2015. Original rule filed August 14, 2014; effective
November 12, 2014. Emergency rule filed August 4, 2015, effective through January 31, 2016,

1640-01-26-.07 COMMUNITY SERVICE PROGRAM REQUIREMENTS.

(1)

(4)

(5)

(6)

A student participating in the Tennessee Promise Scholarship program shall perform and
report eight (8) hours of community service for each semester the scholarship is received.
Service shall be performed prior to the beginning of each academic semester, including the
initial fall semester, in which the Promise Scholarship is received according to the following
deadlines:

(a) August 1 for students attending the fall academic term;. except that beginning in the
2017-18 academic year and thereafter, entering freshmen shall perform and report
community service hours by July 1 for the fali academic term.

(b) December 1 for students attending the spring academic ferm.

{c) May 1 for students aftending the summer academic term.

A student who is granted a leave of absence which—precludes—the—performanse—afmay
complete the communily service shall-complete-the-community-sendee-during the lsave of
absence or in the first academic term following the period for which the leave of absence was
granted. Sush-sCommunity service performed in the first academic term following the leave
of absence shall be in addition to any other community service required in the same
academic term.

Upon completion of the community service, each student shall verify to the Partnering
Organization a description of service performed, the date(s) the service was performed, the
total hours of service provided, and the name and address of the organization for which the
service was provided.

Community Service shall not include:

(@} Service performed prior to the JaruaryTennessee Promise Scholarship application
deadiine preceding the initial academic term;

{b}) Service resuiting in payment or remuneration of any kind; or
{c) Service that directly benefits family members.

Community service may be performed with or under the direction of a faith-based
organization, but shall not include religious persuasion or proselytizing.

Community service in excess of eight (8} hours performed in any semester shall not be
carried over into subsequent semesters. Unless the student is on an approved leave of
absence, failure to complete the eight {8) hours of community service prior to an academic
semester will result in the immediate termination of eligibility for the Tennessee Promise

95



TENNESSEE PROMISE SCHOLARSHIP PROGRAM CHAPTER 1640-01-26
(Rule 1640-01-26-.07, continued)

Scholarship. Community service performed during an approved leave of absence shall count
fowards fulfilment of the community service requirement in the first semester following the
teave of absence.

{7} A student who knowingly provides false verification of community service shall be ineligible to
receive additional benefits under the Tennessee Promise Scholarship program.

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 49-4-201, 49-4-204, and 49-4-708. Administrative History: Emergency rufe filed
August 14, 2014; effective through February 10, 2015. Original rufe filed August 14, 2014; effective
November 12, 2014. Repeal and new rule filed December 19, 2014, effective March 19, 2015.
Emergency rule filed August 4, 2015, effective through January 31, 2016.

1640-01-26-.08 SELECTION OF PARTNERING ORGANIZATIONS.

(1) To participate in the Tennessee Promise Scholarship program, a Parfnering Organization
shall be recommended by the mayor or executive of each county in which the Partnering
Grganization participates and approved by the Board of Directors.

{2)  An approved Partnering Organization may continue to serve in such capacity unless it is no
tonger recommended by a county mayor or executive or approved by the Board of Directors.
Final approval to serve as a Partnering Organization shall be given at the discretion of the
Board of Directors and based on the Parinering Organization's satisfactory performance and
compliance with these rules.

(3) A negative recommendation by one county mayor or executive shall not automatically
disqualify the Parinering Organization from participating in other counties but will be
considered in the Board of Directors’ evaluation of the Partnering Organization’s continued
pariicipation in the Program,

Authority: T.CA. §§ 49-4-201, 49-4-204, and 49-4-708. Administrative History: Emergency rule filed
August 14, 2014, effective through February 10, 2015. Original rufe filed August 14, 2014; effective
November 12, 2014.

1640-01-26-.09 PARTNERING ORGANIZATION REQUIREMENTS, -

{1} Parinering Organizations that participate in the Tennessee Promise Scholarship program
shall meet the following requirements: :

(a) Be established as a not-for-profit organization, except that a postsecondary institution
that recsives funding under the Tennessee Promise Scholarship program shall not be
permitted to participate as a partnering organization.

(b) Operate as a college access and success program serving Tennessee residents at an
eligible postsecondary institution.

(¢} Demonstrate annually to TSAC that funding exists within the Partnering Organization's
budget to provide all services under the Tennessee Promise Scholarship program for a
minimum of one (1) year. No funds under this program shall be provided for the direct
or indirect benefit of a Partnering Organization.

(d) Adhere to rules promulgated by TSAC for the administration of this program.

{e} Provide a mentoring program with a ratio of one (1) volunteer mentor to no more than
ten (10} eligible student applications. This ratio shall apply to efigible student
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(h)

applications and may be reduced in proportion to the number of students who drop
from participation in the program.

The minimum age and ratio requirements shall not apply to full- or part-time paid
mentors or counselors that work directly with students.

Select volunteer mentors prior to December 1 for the following academic year and
provide one (1) mandatory training meseting for all paid and volunteer mentors prior to
January 31. This meseting may be offered on muitiple dates prior to the January 31
deadline. This meeting shalt cover at least the following topics:

1. Program overview,

2. Appropriate mentor-student relationships,

3. Financial aid,

4, FAFSA completion,

5. College applications and admissions, and

6. Community service requirements.

Provide one (1) mandatory meeting for all Tennessee Promise Scholarship program
participants prior to March 1 preceding the initial enrollment in an eligible
postsecondary institution. This meeting may be offered on multiple dates prior to the
March 1 deadline, and shall provide training on the following topics:

1. An overview of the Tennessee Promise Scholarship program,

2. Appropriate relationships with mentors,

3. Financial aid opporfunities,

4. FAFSA completion, and

5. The college application process.

Provide one (1) mandatory meeting for all Tennessee Promise Scholarship program
participants after March 1 and prior to May 31 preceding the initial enrollment in an
eligible postsecondary institution. This meeting may be offered on multipie dates prior
to the May 31 deadline and shall provide training on topics related to college
orientation, making the transition from high school to college, and community service
requirements.

Where a student cannot attend either mandatory meeting due {o required attendance at
a school-sponsored activity, required altendance at a religious-based activity,
documenied iiiness of the student, or other extenuating circumstances, the Partnering
Organization shall provide opportunities for the student to receive the fraining prior to
the March 1 or May 31 deadline, or as soon thereafter as practicable.

Provide a minimum of one (1) mentor contact monthly with each assigned Tennessee
Promise Scholarship program participant beginning February 1 of the senjor year of

high school. Contact shall be maintained throughout the student's participation in the
Program.
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(k)

()

(m)
()

(&

(Q)

Organize a local advisory council to serve as an advocate for the Program. The
advisory council shali be comprised of a minimum of five (5) members, with at least one
(1) member representative from each the local education agency, the county mayor's
or executive’s office, and a local posisecondary institution. Organizations that have
been in existence for a minimum of three (3) years may use existing boards or boards
of trustees as the local advisory council if the board or board of frustees is substantially
similar to the requirements of this subsection.

Obtain a certified background check on all mentors prior to service as a mentor. A
mentor shall not be eligible to participate in the Tennessee Promise Scholarship
program if convicted of any felony or offense listed at T.C.A. §§ 39-13-527, 39-13-532,
39-17-417, and 40-35-501(i)(2). For purposes of this section, "conviction” includes entry
of a plea of guilty or nolo contendere or entry of an order granting pre-trial or judicial
diversion.

Submit to audits on a periodic basis as determined by TSAC.

Enter into a memorandum of understanding with TSAC regarding program
requirements and Parinering Organization obligations and provide requested
information to TSAC as required in the memorandum of understanding.

Provide electronic notification to TSAC when Tennessee Promise participants have.
completed their mandatory meetings and community service requirements. Reporting
of community service performed in the previous academic term shall be provided to
TSAC for each student no later than:

1. August 15 for students attending the fall academic term.

2. December 15 for students attending the spring academic term.

3 May 15 for students attending the summer academic term.

Provide performance metrics as outlined in the memorandum of understanding entered
into with TSAC. '

Obtain an insurance policy that, at a minimum, limits liability of the Parinering
Organization against physical and sexual abuse or misconduct directed toward
participants of the Program by its officers, directors, employees, and volunteers.

Authority: T.CA. §§ 39-13-527, 39-13-532, 39-17-417, 40-35-501, 49-4-201, 49-4-204, and 49-4-708.
Administrative History: Emergency rule filed August 14, 2014; effective through February 10, 2015.
Original rule filed August 14, 2014, effective November 12, 2014. Repeal and new rule filed December
18, 2014, effective March 19, 2015.Emergency rule filed August 4, 2015, effective through January 31,

2016.

1640-01-26-.10

PARTNERING ORGANIZATIONS — SERVICE IN COUNTIES.

(1) A Partnering Organization that agrees to provide Tennessee Promise Scholarship program
services in a county shall make the program available to all eligible high school, home
school, and GED/HISET students in that county. The Partnering Organization shall continue
to work with students from that couniy through a terminating event, regardless of which
sligible postsecondary institution the student attends. Partnering Organizations may work
with students from high schools or counties outside their assigned counties as agreed upon
between the Parthering Organizations.
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Authority: T.C.A. §§ 49-4-201, 48-4-204, and 49-4-708. Administrative History: Emergency rule filed
August 14, 2014, effective through February 10, 2015. Original rule filed August 14, 2014; effective
November 12, 2014. Emergency rule filed August 4, 2015; effective through January 31, 2016.

1640-01-26-.11 TERMINATING EVENTS

(1) A student shall receive the Tennessee Promise Scholarship until reaching a terminating
event as outlined in T.C.A. § 49-4-708.

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 49-4-201, 49-4-204, and 49-4-708. Administrative History: Emergency rule filed
August 14, 2014; effective through February 10, 2015. Original rule fited August 14, 2014, effeciive
November 12, 2014. Emergency rule filed August 4, 2015; effective through January 31, 2016.

1640-01-26-.12 TENNESSEE PROMISE SCHOLARSHIP REFORMS.

{1) In the event funds are insufficient o fully fund the cost of Tennessee Promise scholarships,
TSAC is authorized to take dne or more of the following actions:

(a) Establish a maximum award amount,
(p) Establish additional eligibility criteria for new applicants entering the program,
(c) Administer the program on a first-come, first-served basis.

{2} Any action taken by TSAC as described in subsection (1) shall require approvai by TSAC's
board of directors and notification shall be provided {o the chairs of the Senate and Mouse
Education Committees of the Tennessee General Assembly.

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 49-4-201, 49-4-204, and 49-4-708. Admiinistrative History: Emergency rule filed
August 14, 2014; effective through February 10, 2015. Orginal rule filed August 14, 2014; effective
November 12, 2014.

1640-01-26-.43 CERTIFICATION OF ELIGIBILITY.

(1) Each Partnering Organization shall determine student eligibility based on attendance at
mandatory meetings and fuifiliment of community service requirements as required in these
rules, and shall certify such eligibility to TSAC.

(2) TSAC will create a master certification roster of students for each institution. The master list
will contain students who have met all requirements for the Tennessee Promise Scholarship.

(3) The eligible postsecondary institution shall certify each student’s eligibility for a financial
award from the Tennessee Promise Scholarship based on continuing eligibility requirements
established in these rules. The award amount reported to TSAC shall be the amount of
tuition and mandatory fees remaining after other gift aid has first been applied to the student’s
tuition and mandatory fees. All tuition waivers and discounts for which a student or parent
qualifies shall first be deducted from the student’s tuition and mandatory fees before giff aid is
credited.

{4) Once the eligible postsecondary institution has certified the student’s eligibility for a financial
award, the certification information shall be electronically fransmiited to TSAC.

{8) TSAC shall process a payment request directly to the eligible postsecondary institution on

behalf of all Tennessee Promise Scholarship recipients who are eligible for a financial award.
No funds shali be disbursed directly fo the Partnering Organizations or to the students.
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TENNESSEE PROMISE SCHOLARSHIP PROGRAM CHAPTER 1840-01-26
(Rule 1640-01-26-.13, continued)

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 49-4-201, 49-4-204, and 49-4-708. Administrative History: Emergency rule filed
August 14, 2014, effective through February 10, 2015. Original rule filed August 14, 2014; effective
November 12, 2014. Emergency rule filed August 4, 2015; effective through January 31, 2016.

1640-01-26-.14 EVALUATION OF THE TENNESSEE PROMISE SCHOLARSHIP.

{1) TSAC, along with the Tennessee Higher Education Commission, shall review the Tennessee
Promise Scholarship program annually. The review shall include, at a minimum, the number
of recipients, total cost of the program, student persistence, hours of community service
compieted, and scholarship retention. These findings shall be reporfed to the education
committee members of the Senate and House of Representatives of the Tennessee General
Assembly.

(2) TSAC shall convene a meeting of its Special Advisory Commitiee at least annually fo review
the effectiveness and best practices of the Tennessee Promise Scholarship program.

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 49-4-201, 489-4-204, and 49-4-708. Administrative History: Emergency rule filed
August 14, 2014, effective through. February 10, 2015. Original rule filed August 14, 2014; effective
November 12, 2014.

1640-01-26-.15 AWARD MADE IN ERROR.

(1} Repayment from the student shall not be required if TSAC determines that the error was
through no fault of the student.

{2} - Repayment from the student shall be required if TSAC determines that fraud was committed
or the error was due to the fault of the student. When repayment is required, the student may
not receive additional student aid from TSAC until repayment is made.

(3) Repayment from the postsecondary institution will be required if TSAC determines that the
error was due to the fault of the postsecondary institution.

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 49-4-201, 49-4-204, and 48-4-708. Administrative History: Emergency rule filed
August 14, 2014; effective through February 10, 2015. Original rule filed August 14, 2014, effective
November 12, 2014.

1640-01-26-.16 REFUND POLICY.

{1} If a recipient of a Tennessee Promise Scholarship award fails fo complete a semester for any
reason,- the eligible postsecondary institution shalt apply its refund policy to determine
whether a refund may be required and funds returned to TSAC. The eligible postsecondary
institution shall provide the student with a notice indicating the amount to be returned to the
student or the amount to be refunded to TSAC. Additionally, the eligible postsecondary
institution shall notify TSAC of the refund, which shall be noted on the student’s record. The
eligible postsecondary institution shall also be responsible for obtaining repayment from the
student. The student shall be inéligible for student aid from TSAC until the refund is paid.

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 49-4-201, 49-4-204, and 49-4-708. Administrative History: Emergency rule filed
August 14, 2014; effective through February 10, 2015. Original rile filed August 14, 2014, effective
November 12, 2014.

1640-01-26-17 TRANSFER STUDENTS.

{1) A student who meeis all academic and non-academic requirements of the Tennessee
Promise Scholarship may transfer from one eligible postsecondary institution to ancther
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TENNESSEE PROMISE SCHOLARSHIP PROGRAM CHAFTER 1640-01-26
{Rule 1640-01-26-.17, continued)

eligible postsecondary institution and maintain the scholarship, provided the student is able to
complete the diploma or associate degree in the amount of time remaining before reaching a
terminating event as outiined in T.C.A § 49-4-708.

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 49-4-201, 49-4-204, and 49-4-708. Administrative History: Emergency rule filed
August 14, 2014; effective through February 10, 2015. Original rule filed August 14, 2014; effective
November 12, 2014,

1640-01-26-.18 APPEAL AND EXCEPTION PROCESS.

(1) Each eligible postsecondary institution shall use their existing Institutional Review Panel
{IRP) for purposes of reviewing and rendering decisions regarding appeals for the Tennessee
Promise Scholarship program. The IRP shall use the same procedures and timelines as
those that currently exist for the review of Tennessee Education Lottery Scholarship (TELS)
appeals as outlined in Tenn. Comp. R. & Reg. 1640-01-19,

{2) TSAC shall use the existing TELS Appeals Panel to consider appeals and render decisions
for those students who appeal a decision made by the |IRP. The same guidelines shall exist
for appeals of the Tennessee Promise Scholarship program as those that are currently in
place for TELS as outlined in Tenn. Comp. R & Regq.1640-01-19.

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 45-4-201, 49-4-204, 49-4-708, and 49-4-524. Administrative History: Emergency

rule filed August 14, 2014; effective through February 10, 2015. Original rule filed August 14, 2014;
effective November 12, 2014.
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The vote by the Agency on these rules was as follows:

Board Member Aye No Abstain Absent
Governor Haslam,
by X
Mr. Will Cromer
Dr. Russ Deaton X
Dr. Claude Pressnell X
Mr. David H. Lillard, Jr. X
Comptroller Justin P. Wilson
by X
Mr. Joseph Woodson
Commissioner Larry Martin,
by X
Mr. Greg Turner
Commissioner Candice
McQueen,
by X
Dr. Danielle Mazera
Chancellor John Morgan,
by X
Mr. David Gregory
Dr. Joe Dipietro,
by X
Dr. Katie High
Dr. Gary Weedman X
Dr. J. Gary Adcox
Mr. Richard Smeiser X
Ms. Keri Mclnnis
Dr. L. LaSimba Gray, Jr.
Mr. Tom Hughes X
Ms. Kerri Mclnnis X
Ms. Courtney Williams X
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| certify that this is an accurate and complete copy of proposed rules, fawfully promulgated and adopted
by the TSAC Board of Directors on 09/24/2015, and is in compliance with the provisions of T.C.A. § 4-5-
222, The Secretary of State is hereby instructed that, in the absence of a petition for proposed rules being
filed under the conditions set out herein and in the locations described, he is to treat the proposed rules
as being placed on file in his office as rules at the expiration of ninety (80) days of the filing of the

proposed rule with the Secretary of State.

Date: ! f’

Signature: 5 !,/ ”M/f /{i’L i

Name of Officer: Dr Russ Deaton

Title of Officer:  Interim Executive Director

; ribed and sworn to before me on: @frﬁ@ /&

Notary Public Signature: ﬂfﬂzw” (ﬁd ,f,’if _,//

My commission expires on: (¥~ .2 2 «*/f”

All proposed rules provided for herein have been examined by the Atiorney General and Reporter of the
State of Tennessee and are approved as to legality pursuani to the provisions of the Administrative
Procedures Act, Tennessee Code Annotated, Title 4, Chapler 5.

%M & é/qu

Herbert H Slatery Ill
Attorney General and Reporter
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7 Secretary of State
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G.0.C. STAFF RULE ABSTRACT

AGENCY:

SUBJECT:

STATUTORY AUTHORITY:

EFFECTIVE DATES:

FISCAL IMPACT:

STAFF RULE ABSTRACT:

Tennessee Alcoholic Beverage Commission
Rules for Sales of Wine at Retail Food Stores

Tennessee Code Annotated, Section 57-3-
104(c)(4)

May 29, 2016 through June 30, 2017

- Based on the fiscal note for Chapter 554 of the

Public Acts of 2014,the Commission reports an
expected increase in its gross revenues (after
subtraction of expected expenditures) of $961,000
for FY 14-15, $2,102,200 for FY 15-16, $1,444 000
for FY 18-17, and $1,777,000 for subsequent fiscal
years. In addition, the fiscal note expected an
increase in general fund revenues of $1,724,800 for
FY 14-15, $7,278,200 for FY 15-18, and at least
$7,677,700 for FY 16-17 and subseguent years. To
the best knowledge of the Commission, this rule
would not significantly alter the expectations
specified in the fiscal note.

The rulemaking hearing rules effectuate the
purposes of Chapter 554 of the Public Acts of 2014,
which authorized the sale of wine in retail food
stores upon licensure by the Commission.
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Public Hearing Comments

One copy of a document containing responses to comments made at the public hearing must accompany the
filing pursuant to T.C.A. § 4-5-222. Agencies shall include only their responses to public hearing comments,
which can be summarized. No lstters of inquiry from parties guestioning the rule will be accepted. When no
comments are received at the public hearing, the agency need only draft a memorandum stating such and include
it with the Rulemaking Hearing Rule filing. Minutes of the meeting will not be accepted. Transcripts are not
acceptable.

A copy of a document summarizing Commission responses to public hearing comments is attached.
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STATE OF TENNESSEE
ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE COMMISSION
DAVY CROCKETT TOWER
500 JAMES ROBERTSON PKWY, 3 FLOOR
NASHVILLE, TENNESSEE 37243-0755

PHONE 615.741.1602 ' FAX 615.741.0847

MEMO
From: E. Keith Bell, Director

Re:  Responses to comments made at public rulemaking hearing

Date: December 11, 2015

On December 9, 2015, a rulemaking hearing was held in accordance with the law. At the
hearing, various comments were made regarding proposed Rule 0100-11. Below is a summary
of the comments and the Tennessee Alccholic Beverage Commission’s (TABC’s) responses to
such comments:

(1) OFFICER IDENTIFICATION — Rule 0100-11-.01(1)(a)(2) and (1)(a)(15) —
Comments were presented that the proposed rules requiring officers of a corporation to
submit questionnaires and declarations of citizenship were either unnecessary or not
sufficiently defined. The TABC deems it to be necessary to require questionnaires and
declarations of citizenship for officers of corporations in certain circumstances, but
agrees that the proposed rule should be revised to clarify which officers exactly would
need to complete such documents, and the proposed rule has been so revised.

(2) SUBMISSION OF LEASES - Rule 0100-11-.01(2) - Comments were presented
requesting that Rule 0100-11-.01(2) be revised to specify that only lease restrictions
between the applicant and the applicant’s landlord are relevant to bar an applicant
from obtaining a license, and that lease restrictions between other tenants of the same
shopping center or other development and the landlord were not relevant. We
disagree. T.C.A. § 57-3-806(f) states that “[n]o retail food store wine license shall be
issued to a retail food store located within a shopping center or other development
unless documentation is provided to the commission that the owner of such shopping
center or development has imposed no restrictions on the sale of wine or other
alcoholic products at the shopping center or development and that it does not impose
any restrictions or limitations on the business practices related to the sale or
distribution of alcoholic beverages upon any entity that is located within the same
shopping center or other development as the proposed location of the retail food store
wine license holder.” To TABC staff, it is clear from the plain language of the statute
that if the landlord has placed any restriction upon the development or any tenant in
the development regarding wine or alcoholic products, then any retail food store
applicant within that development would not be eligible for a license. It is the TABC
staff’s belief that the language of the proposed rule accurately reflects that
interpretation and the plain meaning of T.C.A. § 57-3-806(f). That being said, upon
further review of the statute and rule, the TABC stafl has made two revisions to the
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rules. Firstly, it is the opinion of the TABC staff that the use of the term “alcoholic
product” instead of “alcoholic beverage™ in the statute includes both alcoholic
beverages and beer, and the proposed rule has been revised accordingly. Secondly, it
is clear upon further review of the statute that the statute not only requires that no such
restrictions exist, but it also requires that documentation be provided to the TABC
evidencing that no such restrictions exist. To satisfy this requirement, Rule 0100-11-
.01(1)(a)(4) has been added to require an affidavit from the landlord or owner of such
property.

a. A separate comment was made suggesting that the lease restrictions in a
development which would prohibit a retail food store from being eligible for a
license be expanded to include not just wine and alcoholic products, as specified
in the statute, but also any other product that is authorized to be sold by a retail
package store under T.C.A. § 57-3-204. It is the opinion of the TABC staff, that
such a suggestion is outside of the statute’s scope and the TABC’s authority, and
as such should be denied.

CONFIDENTIALITY — A request was made for the TABC to establish a rule allowing
for the redaction of certain confidential information prior to such information being
placed in the files of the TABC. It is the opinion of the TABC staff that such a rule is
unnecessary, and that such a process can already be performed without any such rule
pursuant to the authority of T.C.A. § 10-7-504(a)(24).

STORAGE PRIOR TO LICENSURE — A request was made that the TABC, by rule,
allow for the delivery of wine to, and storage by, retail food store wine applicants prior
to the licensure of any such retail food store wine applicant on July 1, 2015. The
TABC does not have any statutory authority to create any such rule. In addition, the
laws of the state prohibit any unlicensed entity from storing alcoholic beverages, and,
a licensed wholesaler is prohibited from selling, or delivering, alcoholic beverages to
any unlicensed person or establishment. The TABC may not supersede these laws by
rule to allow the storage of alcoholic beverages by an unlicensed entity and to allow
the delivery and sale of alcoholic beverages to an unlicensed entity.

SERVICES BY BEER WHOLESALERS — Rule 0100-11-.07(3) — Rule 0100-11-
.07(3) was drafted to effectuate the provisions of T.C.A. § 57-3-815, which prohibits a
licensed wholesaler from providing any services to or for the benefit of a retail food
store wine licensee, including services involving shelving, dressing, displaying, or
setting inventory. This statute could be interpreted one of two ways: (1) a licensed
wholesaler cannot provide such services with regards to any product that it sells to the
retail food store, including beer, or (2) a licensed wholesaler cannot provide such
services only with regards to the wine that the wholesaler sells to the retail food store.
Initially, TABC staff held the opinion that the first interpretation was applicable and
the rule reflected that. Upon the receipt of multiple comments urging the adoption of
the second interpretation, and upon further review, TABC staff agrees to adopt the
latter interpretation and has revised the proposed rules to reflect that change.
SERVICES BY WHOLESALERS - Rule 0100-11-.07(3) — Furthermore, one comment
requested that the TABC remove the rule completely and to allow licensed
wholesalers to provide any and all services to retail food stores with regards to the
wine that the wholesaler sells to such store. Such a request would be in direct conflict
with T.C.A. § 57-3-815 and is denied.

MANAGEMENT AGREEMENTS — Rules 0100-11-.01(1)(a)(3) and various other
rules — Pursuant to T.C.A. § 57-3-803, a retail food store may enter into a franchise or
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management agreement with another person or entity for the making of wine sales. A
comment suggested adding the management agreement as a possible proof of
possession to be provided pursuant to Rules 0100-11-.01(1)(a)(3) and for that term to
be inserted in various other rules. While it is the opinion of TABC staff that such
additions are unnecessary, TABC staff, upon further review, agrees that it is necessary
that the TABC receive a copy of any such management or franchise agreement, if one
exists, and a rule has been added to this effect in Rule 0100-11-,01(2)(5).

SALES TAXABLE SALES — Rules 0100-11-.01(4) and 0100-11-.04(1) - T.C.A. § 57-
3-802 requires that 20% of a retail food store’s sales taxable sales include food and
food ingredients, and T.C.A. § 57-3-806(d)(1) requires that such calculation be made
on an annual basis. Rule 0100-11-.01(4) required that an applicant provide an
affidavit regarding this and copies of applicant’s sales tax returns for the past two
years. A comment suggested that the rule be revised to require the past 3 years of
sales tax returns and to consider other information. Upon review, it is the opinion of
TABC staff that such a revision would be outside of the statute’s scope and the
TABC’s authority. Furthermore, upon further review, it is the opinion of TABC staff,
that the initial requirement of the rule that 2 years of sales tax returns be provided is
outstde the scope of the statute and the authority of the TABC, and as such, the
proposed rule has been revised to instead require that such tax returns be provided for
the last complete business year of the applicant.

a. A separate comment was made suggesting that the requirement for the past sales
tax returns would cause otherwise confidential information to be disclosable
pursuant to the Public Records Act. This assertion is incorrect as such
information would be confidential pursuant to T.C.A. § 10-7-504(a)(24).

PROHIBITION AGAINST REMUNERATION - T.C.A. § 57-3-404(i) states that
“In]o retail food store wine licensee may receive any remuneration, by whatever name,
at a corporate office located inside or outside this state that affects the profitability of
wine or beer sales in this state, that is not made available to all retail licensees or other
retail food stores licensed to sell wine or beer in this state.” A comment suggested
restating this prohibition in the rules, requiring a certification that this requirement will
be followed, and requiring a written agreement from the applicant agreeing to notify
the commission of any compensation agreement. TABC staff agrees that the
compliance with this statutory provision is of great importance. That being said, it is
not believed that the creation of a rule to this effect is either necessary or the best
method for ensuring compliance with this statute. Instead, it is the intent of the TABC
staff to include a similar certification and/or question regarding remuneration and/or
compensation agreements in the application for a retail food store wine applicant.
ADDITION OF FIRM, PARTNERSHIP, ETC. — Rule 0100-11-,02(4) and other
provisions — A comment was made suggesting that language clarifying that certain
provisions applying to persons be revised to specify that they also apply to firms,
partnerships, limited liability companies, corporations, and other entities. It is the
opinion of TABC staff that the term “person” as used in the law, includes and
incorporates any and all such companies, firms, businesses and entities, and as such
the addition of those terms in addition to the term “person” is unnecessary.
SUBLEASEE’S AND MANAGEMENT COMPANIES ACCOUNTABLE — A
comment suggested clarifying that the proposed rules that specify that the laws of
agency apply and that a licensee is responsible for the actions of it’s agents to clarify
that such provision would also apply to any business that has a management agreement
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with the licensee and any subleasee upon the premises. 1t is the opinion of TABC staff
that such clarification is unnecessary and could potentially add confusion, and thus
should be denied. Such an addition could add confusion to the law, as (1) in many, if
not most, circumstances in which a management agreement is used, the management
company will be the licensee as the management company is the person with ultimate
control over the alcoholic beverages and this clarification could be construed to be
contrary to this, and (2) in many circumstances, a subleassee may not be permissible,
and to the extent that it is, such subleassee would have to be completely separate from
the licensed premises of the licensee, and this clarification may be interpreted to be
contrary to this. Furthermore, to the extent that a licensee might have possibly have a
management agreement agreement with a business that is not the licensee or have a
sublease where the subleassee is still a part of the licensed premises, then in those
circumstances those persons would be the agents of the licensee and would be subject
to this rule as the agents of the licensee without the addition of this clarification.
LICENSE AFTER REVOCATION - Rule 0100-11-.01(4) - Comments were made
suggesting that prohibiting licensure within five miles of a revoked licensee is too
prohibitive, and that Rule 0100-11-.01(4)(b) which prohibits licensure, or renewal of a
license, for 1 year of a corporation who has a license revoked, could have the impact
of, for example, requiring the non-renewal of the licenses of all Krogers in the state
upon the revocation of a single Kroger’s store in the state. Upon further review,
TABC staff agrees with said comment and has revised the proposed rules accordingly
to remove Rule 0100-11-.01(4)(b) and to remove the requirement that a store cannot
get a license within 5 miles of a store whose license has been revoked, provided that
the requirement that a store within close proximity to a store who's license has been
revoked cannot get a license at that location for one year following revocation, unless
commission approval, is still in effect.

a. There was a separate comment made to revise the rule prohibiting licensure of
any entity within close proximity to a retail food store whose license was revoked
to instead have that the rule only prohibit such a license of an applicant owned by
any of the owners of the license which was revoked. Such a clarification is
unnecessary, since the rule applies to all applicants as currently written. Note,
under the rule, the Commission may waive this prohibition on a case by case
basis, and thus whether or not the applicant is in any manner related to the store
whose license was revoked can be considered by the TABC in deciding whether
or not to waive the prohibition.

DISCIPLINARY ACTIONS — Rule 0100-11-.03 — Multiple comments were made
regarding this rule and are detailed below:

a. A comment was made suggesting to add to Rule 0100-11-.03(c) the requirement
that a retail food store licensee whose license is revoked cannot sell for on-
premises consumption. T.C.A. § 57-3-817 authorizes a retail food store wine
licensee to hold a license to sell alcoholic beverages for on-premises consumption
{LBD license}, provided that both the premises and the business of the LBD is
operated separately and distinctly from the business and premises of the retail
food store licensee. As such, the activities of off-premises sales are performed
pursuant o a retail food store wine license and the activities of on-premises
consumption are performed pursuant to an LBD license and both the licenses and
the activities performed pursuant to such licenses are completely separate and
distinct. Because of this separation, the TABC will generally have no authority to
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take action on an LBD license held by an entity or similar entity that holds a
separate retail food store wine licensee. An exception to this general rule may be
when there is sufficient evidence that the LBD is not being ran separately and
distinctly from the retail food store wine licensee as required by law. In such
circumstances, the TABC may seek to revoke both licenses, but it is the opinion
of TABC staff that in such very limited circumstances, such action can be taken
under current law, without the necessity of a rule to that effect.

A comment was made suggesting the deletion of the last sentence in proposed
Rule 0100-11-.03 regarding the consideration of mitigation factors. This sentence
is used practically verbatim in a similar rule regarding liquor by the drink
licensees, and as such, for consistency, the suggested deletion should be denied.
Proposed Rule 0100-11-.03(c) states that the suspension or revocation of a retail
food store wine licensee only effects the ability of the retail food store to sell wine
and does not effect such stores’ ability to sell food items, non-food items, or beer.
This rule contrasts to the laws surrounding retail package stores in which the
suspension or revocation of such a license requires the entire closure of the retail
package store, and the retail package store cannot sell food items, non-food items,
or beer during any period of suspension or revocation. A comment was made
suggesting that retail food stores and retail package stores needed to be treated the
same on this issue, and to do otherwise would be treating one member of the
industry unfairly. The difference between the treatment of retail food stores and
retail package stores is statutory. The retail food store wine license solely applies
to the sale of wine and has no bearing or impact on the sale of other items, and as
such a suspension or revocation of that license has no bearing on any item other
than wine. A retail package store, however, sells beer and items other than
alcoholic beverages under the authority given by it’s retail package store license.
Let’s take beer for example. A retail food store can sell beer pursuant to a local
beer board permit and is not selling such beer pursuant to a TABC license,
whereas retail package stores do not need a local beer board permit to sell beer,
because retail package stores sell beer pursuant to their TABC issued retail
package store license. Similarly, other items that a retail package store can sell,
are sold pursuant to their retail package store license. Let’s take the example of a
retail package store that sells Jack Daniel’s shirts under their license, and their
retail package store license is revoked. In that case, the retail package store
cannot stay open and licensed as a retail package store just to sell Jack Daniel’s
shirts. The retail package store would need to be completely closed. That being
said, if a completely different business that was not a retail package store wanted
to set up a new business selling Jack Daniel’s shirts and other items that they can
lawfully sell, then that would be fine, but while a retail package store is a retail
package store, they can only sell such other items pursuant to their retail package
store license. It is also for this reason, why a retail package store must be
completely closed on Sundays and cannot be open to sell solely non-alcoholic
items. Notwithstanding this statutory distinction, the TABC does take this
distinction into consideration in issuing certain penalties, like suspensions for
sales to minors. For LBD licensees (restaurants, bars, etc.) who have a second
sale to minor within 3 years, the TABC generally issues a suspension of between
10 and 30 days. Such suspension must be served all at once and cannot be broken
up as a few days one day a week. This is done because an LBD under a TABC
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suspension can still sell food and beer, and thus, given that, such a suspension is
an adequate and necessary penalty to ensure compliance with the laws regarding
the sale of alcoholic beverages or beer to minors. For a retail package store that
has a similar second sale to minor, however, a suspension of between 5 and 10
days is issued and the suspension may typically be held one day a week, for so
many weeks. This is done exactly because a retail package store must be closed
during a suspension and cannot be open or sell any other items during a
suspension, and without that fact, the suspension terms that are applied to LBD’s
would have otherwise been made applicable to retail package stores. Therefore,
the suggestion that the TABC has not and is not taking all steps necessary to
ensure a fair playing field among all industry members is disingenuous.
STORAGE — Rule 0100-11-.03(3) — A comment was made suggesting to clarify that a
retail package store cannot store any alcoholic beverages outside of it’s licensed
premises. As such activity is illegal under present law, such a clarification in the rules
would be unnecessary.
RESPONSIBLE VENDOR PROGRAM — Rule 0100-11-.05 — A comment was made
suggesting that the proposed rule be revised to make clear that a retail food store wine
licensee can choose whether to participate in the Responsible Wine Vendor Program
or the Responsible Beer Vendor Program. Upon careful consideration of both the
comment and the proposed rule, it is the opinion of TABC staff that the proposed rule
is properly worded and that no change in the proposed rule would be either proper or
necessary.
MINIMUM PRICING OF WINE — A suggestion was made to add into the rules the
provisions of T.C.A. § 57-3-901, et seq. verbatim. It is the opinion of TABC staff that
such an addition would be unnecessary, as such provisions are already in the
applicable statutes and restating such provisions verbatim in the rules does not
accomplish anything of value. Furthermore, in the event that it should be determined
that a clarification of T.C.A. § 57-3-901, et seq. by rule is necessary, it is the present
intent of TABC staff that such clarification would be accomplished at another time and
through the creation of a completely separate rule.
CERTIFICATE OF GOOD MORAL CHARACTER — Rule 0100-11-.01(c) — Under
the original proposed rule, if a retail food store applicant applies for a required
certificate of good moral character from a city or county after March 1, 2016, and the
city or county fails to grant or deny the certificate within 60 days of application, then
the certificate is deemed to be granted. A comment was made that this rule may not be
adequate to ensure that such certificates could be obtained in time for the applicant to
be licensed by July 1, 2015, and suggesting that the language “March 1, 2016 be
removed and that this rule apply upon the city or county receiving a request, instead of
an application, for a certificate, instead of an application. TABC staff agrees that the
date of March 1, 2016 is too far out, and has accordingly revised the rule instead make
it effective January 1, 2016. However, in the opinion of TABC staff, the TABC does
not have the authority to deem the certificates granted if not granted or denied within
60 days of receipt of a “request” for such certificate. The practical effect of this
change would be for the TABC to deem a certificate to be granted after 60 days of a
request being made for a certificate, even if the city or county had not established any
application or review process for granting a certificate at the time the request was
made. T.C.A. § 57-3-806(h) states that “|a] failure on the part of the issuing authority
to grant or deny the certificate within sixty (60) days of the writien application for
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such shall be deemed a granting of the certificate.” The statute specifically says
application, and the TABC does not have the authority to change this by rule. In the
opinion of TABC staff, for the TABC to deem a certificate to be granted before a city
or county has established any process for the acceptance or review of applications for a
certificate would be contrary to law and would be preempting the lawful authority of
the local government to make a determination whether or not a certificate should be
issued upon application.

(18) MANDATORY CARDING — Rule 0100-11-.03(6) — Comments were made
suggesting that this rule be revised to clarify that a person over the age of 55 does not
need to be carded and that a retail food store can accept expired government issued
identifications. The language of the proposed rule is substantially the same as a
similar rule for retail package stores. This rule is based off of T.C.A. § 57-3-808(a),
which creates a defense to the mandatory carding requirement if a person reasonably
appears over the age of fifty. Regarding expired identifications, the statute requires
that the licensee view a “valid, government-issued document,” and an expired
document is not a valid document. Because the statute creates a defense for not
carding persons who appear over 50, instead of stating that there is no requirement to
card persons over 50, and because the statute requires that the document be valid at the
time of presentation, not solely at the time of issuance, it is the opinion of TABC staff
that no change in the proposed rule in necessary or proper,

(19) SALES TO INTOXICATED CUSTOMERS — Rule 0100-11-.03(7) — A suggestion
was made that the language “may not” be changed to “shall not” for clarification
purposes. The TABC staff agrees and that suggested change has been made.

(20) CUSTOMER ASSISTANCE — Rule 0100-11-.03(8) — The original proposed rule
allowed a retail food store to assist with loading wine purchased by a customer of the
store to the customer’s vehicle, but implied that such activity must be done by a
certified clerk and only the same certified clerk who had reviewed the customer’s
identification. A comment was made suggesting that the language be modified to
clarify that any employee of the retail food store could assist with such loading of
wine, as long as the customer’s identification was checked by a certified clerk prior to
such sale and assistance. The TABC staff agrees with the proposed clarification, and
has made the appropriate changes accordingly.

Sincerely,

& L on s

E.Keith Bell °
Executive Director

Tennessee Alcoholic Beverage Commission
(615)741-8916
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Regulatory Flexibility Addendum

Pursuant to T.C.A. §§ 4-5-401 through 4-5-404, prior to initiating the rule making process as described in T.C.A.
§ 4-5-202(a)(3) and T.C.A § 4-5-202(a), all agencies shall conduct a review of whether a proposed rule or rule
affects small businesses.

Public Acts 2014, ch. 554 (commoenly referred to as the Wine in Grocery Stores Act) allowed for the selling of wine
in retail food stores upon licensure by the Tennessee Alcoholic Beverage Commission (TABC). These rules
effectuate the purpose of such Act and create an application process for such licenses. The statute, and the rule
effectuating the statute, benefits small business retail food stores throughout the state by allowing such small
businesses to expand their business and begin the sale of wine. An exact number of such small businesses
affected is impossible to estimate at this time, but is expected to be substantial and significant. The impact of the
statute, and the rule effectuating the statute, is heneficial to both small businesses and the consumer by
increasing the business of the small business and increasing the number of establishments that a consumer may
be able to purchase wine in the state. The requirements specified in the rule are designed to effectuate the
purpose and requirements of Public Acts 2014, ch. 554, and any cther applicable statute, and there are no less
burdensome, intrusive, or costly method for effectuating such purpose and requirements. There are no state or
federal counterparts for which this rule can be effectively compared to. The exemption of small businesses from
this rule would be detrimental to the small businesses of this state and would be contrary to statute.
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Impact on L.ocal Governments

Pursuant to T.C.A. §§ 4-5-220 and 4-5-228 “any rule proposed to be promulgated shall state in a simple
declarative sentence, without additional comments on the merits of the policy of the rules or regulation, whether
the rule or reguiation may have a projected impact on local governments.” (See Public Chapter Number 1070
{(http.//state.tn.us/sos/acts/106/pub/pc1070.pdf) of the 2010 Session of the General Assembily)

The proposed rule is not projected to have any direct impact on local governments.
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CHAPTER 0100-11
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Operation of Liquor by the Drink Establishments within Retail Food Stores
Cenduct of Industry Members with Retail Food Stores

9100-11-.01 Licenses and Permits.

(1)

Procedure for Off-Premise Retail Food Store Wine License Appiication. An application for a
retail food store wine license shall be made on forms provided for such purpose by the
Commission. In addition to completing and filing such forms, data, written statements,
affidavits, evidence or other documents deemed a part of the application, an applicant shall
provide the Commission with the following information:

(@)

Applications shall be submitted to the TABC Headquarters offices in Nashville,
Tennessee or on-line at the TABC website. In addition to the application and other
forms provided by the Commission, the following daia, written statements, affidavits,
evidence or other documents must be submitted in support of an application for a retail
food store wine license:

1.

Completed application;

2. Completed questionnaires from all individuals having at least a ten percent (10%)

4.

ownership interest in the business and from all executive officers of a
corporate applicant. As used in this rule, the term “executive officers” shall mean
each of the following four persons: (1) the President or Chief Executive Officer
(CEQ}; {(2) the Vice President or Chief Operating Officer (COQ); (3) the Secretary;
and (4) the Treasurer or Chief Financial Officer (CFO). The term “executive
officers” shall include the four {4) individuals that best fit into each of the above
categories, respectively and shall not include more than four {4) individuals,
including assistant Secretaries, assistant officers, and other such individuals.

Proof of possession of the licensed premises, i.e., lease agreements, assignments,
subleases, and/or deed to property;

Affidavit from the landlord or owner of the proposed location of the applicant's retail

food store stating that there does not exist any lease or deed restrictions or
covenants limiting or restricting the sale or distribution of wine or other alcoholic

116



(b)

10.

11.

12.

13.

14.

15.

16.

17.

18.

19.

products (i.e. alcoholic beverages and/or beer as defined in T.C.A. § 57-5-101) by
any tenant within the same shopping center or development of the applicant.

A copy of any management or franchise agreement, if applicable.

Affidavit regarding amount of sales taxable sales of the applicant and copies of
applicant's sales tax returns filed with the Tennessee Department of Revenue for
the last complete business year;

Affidavit regarding amount of retail floor space of the applicant;

if not included in the lease, a site-plan designating the premises and the parking
areas.

Certificate of Good Maoral Character, Zoning and Approved Sales of Wine by local
option election, as required by T.C.A. §§ 57-3-801, 57-3-805 & 57-3-8086, issued
within one hundred eighty {180} days of the applicant's application and signhed by
the county executive or chair of the county commission in which the licensed
premises are to be located if outside the corporate limits of a municipality or, if
within- a municipality, signed by the mayor {(or highest executive officer) or a
majority of the commission, city council, or legisiative body of the municipality.

Inspection by the Tennessee Alcoholic Beverage Commission;
Acknowledgment of the rules and regulations;

Proof that applicant entity, if a corporation, LLC, LP, etc., is registered with the
Tennessee Secretary of State’s office, and the submission by said applicant entity
of a Certificate of Existence/Good Standing issued by the Tennessee Secretary of
State’s Office within thirty (30) days of applicant's appiication for a new or renewed
license. !f applicant entity was formed in ancther state or foreign jurisdiction,
applicant must submit a Certificate of Authorization issued by the Tennessee
Secretary of State’s Office within thirty (30) days of applicant's application for a
new license or renewal of an existing license.

Corporate charter/Articles of Organizétion;

List of Officers/Owners/fMiembers/Pariners. Any owner of less than ten percent
{10%) of the applicant need not be individually identified;

Sales & Use Tax Certificate of Registration,

Application fee;

Completed declarations of citizenship fo be submitted by owner(s), member(s),
executive officer(s), and/or principal(s) of the applicant and others as required by
P.C. 1061 (2012);

Designation by the applicant of a TABC permitted manager or managers who will
be in actual control of the retail wine sale cperations upon the applicant’'s premises;
and

Any other information that the Tennessee Aicoholic Beverage Commission may
request pursuant to the provisions of Tenn. Code Ann. §57-3-801, et.seq.

in addition, any of the following documents which exist must also be submitted:
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(2)

(3)

1. Management agreements;
2. Billof sale.

{c) If a county or municipality wherein the applican{ intends to conduct business fails to
grant or deny the certificate required by T.C.A. § 57-3-B08 within sixty (60) days of
receipt of the written application for a cerificate, the certificate is deemed to be
daranted.

if a lease agreement, assignment, sublease or other documentation executed by the
applicant for a Retfall Food Siore Wine license and the owner or landlord of the proposed
location, sought to be licensed, contains provisions that would limit or restrict the sale or
distribution of wine or other alcoholic products (i.e. alcoholic beverages andfor beer as
defined in TC.A § 57-5101) within the same shopping center or other development
whereupon the applicant seeks to license its premises, the applicant and the owner or
landiord of the proposed location, shopping center or other development, must submit
documentation acceptable io the Commission waiving any such restrictions to any and all
tenants within the same shopping center or other development. An applicant is not required
to obtain and submit the leases of other tenants of the shopping center or other development.
However, lease or deed restrictions or covenants imposed by an owner or landlord limiting or
restricting the sale or distribution of wine or other alcoholic products (i.e. alcoholic beverages
and/or beer as defined in T.C.A. § 57-5-101) by other tenants within the same shopping
center or development will serve to prohibit the issuance to the applicant of a retail food store
wine license at the proposed location.

An applicant for a retail food store wine license shall identify all retail liquor stores within 500
feet measured from the closest outside wall of the confines of the retail food store to the
closest outside wall of the retail liquor store. An applicant may submit waivers of the
permission required pursuant fo TCA §57-3-806(e) from the retail liquor stores located within
500 feet of the applicant’s retail food store, signed by the owners of such retail liquor stores,
and such waivers shall be deemed to be written permission from the retail liquor store for the
issuance of the retail food store wine license to the applicant.

(a) Upon receipt of an application for a retail food store wine license application, and in the
absence of the submission of a signed waiver from the owner of a retail liquor store
located within 500 feet of the applicant's retail food store, the Commission shall notify
the retail liquor store, by email if the retail liquor store has provided an email address or
by telephone if not provided, of the applicant requesting said waiver.

(by The retail liquor store shail have 30 days to respond to the communication from the
Commission by either granting permission for the issuance of a retail food store license
or denying the issuance of a retail food store license.

(c) [f the retail liquor store does not respond within 30 days, such non-response shall be
considered a denial of permission.

(dy If a retail liquor store denies permission for the issuance of retail food store wine
license, it shall immediately cease selling all items identified in T.C.A § 57-3-404(e). A
retail liquor store may not resume selling the items identified in T.C. A § 57-3-404(e)
until permission is granted to the retail food store wine applicant and the Commission is
nofified in writing of this grant of permission or July 1, 2017, whichever ocours first.

{e) The grant of permission o a retail food store shall survive any and all subsequent

purchases of a retail liguor store by a new owner and once a written grant of
permission has been given to a retail food store it may not be rescinded.
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{4) Restriction on License after Revocation. If a retail food store wine license is revoked by the
Commission, for a period of one (1) year following revocation, no subsequent license shall be
issued to the spouse, child or children, daughter-in-law, son-in-law or other person having
any interest in the business of the licensee whose license was revoked. Additionally, for a
period of one (1) year following revocation, no license shall be issued at the same location or
in close proximity of the same location. The Commission may, in its discretion, waive the
prohibition regarding locations.

{5) Must Surrender License If Business Discontinued. Whenever any licensee discontinues
business for any reason, it shall immediately notify the Commission in writing and surrender
its license.

(8) Time Requirement to Commence Business. Approval of the issuance of a retail food store

wine license by the Commission shall auiomatically expire ninety (90) calendar days after
such approval if the licensee has not opened for business, unless a written request is
received and granted for an extension.

{7) Business Name Change. At least seven (7) calendar days prior to any change in its business
name or “d/b/a", a licensee shall submit the proposed change in writing to the Commission for
approval. Upon approval and within a reasonable time, the Commission will amend the
licensee's electronic record to reflect the licensee's new business or “d/b/a” name.

(8) Display of License. Any person, partnership, corporation, or other legal entity holding a retail
food store wine license shall prominently display and post, and keep displayed and posted, in
a conspicuous place in the licensed premises, the license so issued.

Authority: T.C A. §§ 57-1-209, 57-3-104{c)(4), 57-3-803, and 57-3-806. Administrative  History:
Original rule filed

0100-11-.02 Issuance of Initial Licenses.

A retail food store wine applicant may not sell wine to patrons or customers, in sealed packages only,
and not for consumption on the premises untll it has been issued a retail food store wine license.
Retail food store wine licenses shall not be issued prior to July1, 2016.

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 57-3-104(c)(4) and 57-3-803. Administrative History: Criginal rule filed

0100-11-.03 Conduct of Business.

(N Advertising. The provisions of rules, 0100-03-.02, 0100-03-.03, 0100-03-.04, 0100-03-.05,
0100-03-.06, 0100-03-.07, and 0100-03-.08 apply to retall food store wine licensees in the
same manner as they apply to off premises retailers licensed pursuant to T.C.A. § 57-3-204.

{2) Responsihility for Penaities and Violations.

(a) Licensees are at all times responsible for the conduct of their business and are at all
times directly respensible for any act or conduct of any employee which is in violation of
the laws of Tennessee, the rules and regulations of the Commission, whether the
licensee be present at any such time or not. This section is defined to mean that any
unlawful, unauthorized, or prohibited act on the part of an agent or employee shall be
construed as the act of the licensee, and the licensee shall be proceeded against as
though it were present and had an active part in such unlawful, unauthorized, or
prohibited act, and as if having been at the licensee's direction and with its knowledge.
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(4)

)

6)

0

(8

(©)

(b} In disciplinary proceedings, it shall be no defense that an employee or agent of a
licensee acted contrary to an order, or that a licensee did not personally participate in
the unlawful, unauthorized, or prohibited action or actions. However, mitigating factors
as permitted under the Responsible Wine Vendor program may be considered by the
Commission.

{¢) In a disciplinary actions brought against a retail food store wine licensee, any
suspension or revocation of a license shall suspend or revoke the ability of the refail
food store to sell wine and accept deliveries of wine from wholesalers. A suspension or
revocation of a license shall not affect the ability of the retail food store to remain open
or to sell other items not regulated by the TABC, including food items, non-food items,
and beer.

Delivery of Wine. A wholesaler may deliver wine to a retail food store wine licensee at any
time the retail food store location is open to the public and shall deliver only to the business
address of the retall food store licensee at its customary loading dock.

All Licensees Must Keep Records Available Three Years. Each licensee shall keep, for at
least three (3) years; all purchase orders, invoices and ali other records of all purchases and
sales of wine made by such licensee. All such orders, invoices, and all other books and
records pertaining {o the licensee’s operation shall be open for inspection to any authorized
representative of the Tennessee Alcoholic Beverage Commission or Department of Revenue
and failure to make such available shall be deemed cause for revocation of its license. Such
records may be maintained in electronic format, and will be deemed available and open for
inspecticn if the Commission or the Department of Revenue can review such records at the
licensed premises or, if such records are stored in a central office, can he supplied to the
Commission or Department of Revenue within three (3) business days upon request.

Hours Licensee may Sell Wine. A Retail Food Store may sell wine only between the hours of
8:00 a.m. and 11:00 p.m. on Monday through Saturday. A Retail Food Store may not make
any sale of wine on Sunday or on Christmas, Thanksgiving, Labor Day, New Year's Day, or
the Fourth of July.

Mandatory Carding. Prior to making a sale of wine, a Retail Food Store certified clerk must
inspect a valid unexpired government issued form of identification to ensure that the
purchaser is over the age of 21. Tha inspection of the identification must take place in a face-
to-face transaction. Any government-issued document that has expired shall not be deemed
to be “valid” for purposes of T.C.A. § 5§7-3-808, and as such, a retail food store may not sell
wine to a person who has not provided an unexpired government-issued document that
meets the requirements of T.C.A. § 57-3-808.

Sales fo Infoxicated Customers. A retail food store’ shall not make a sale of wine to a
customer who is visibly intoxicated or accompanied by a person who is visibly intoxicated.

Customer assistance. An employee of a retail food siore may assist customers with loading
wine in their vehicles as long as the vehicle is parked in the parking area of the licensee and
such parking area is identified in the application of the retail food store. A retail food store
permitted clerk must check the identification of any persen purchasing wine as part of the
sale prior to assistance being given to that customer by an employee with loading of wine to
a vehicle.

Managers.
(@) Each retail food store wine licensee shall have ai least one designated permitted

manager, but may have fwo or more designated permitted managers. Only the retail
food store wine licensee's designated permitted manager(s) may place orders for wine
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(10)

(11)

(12)

(13)

(14)

with wholesalers. A designated permitied manager may not be assigned to more than
one retail food store wine licensee.

{b} A designated permitted manager of a retail food store may transfer his or her permit to
another retail food store wine licensee by notifying the Commission in writing of the
effective date of the transfer. All transfer notifications must be made prior to the
designated permitted manager(s) involvement in the placement of wine crders at the
new retail food store wine licensee’s location.

Free Access to Licensed Premises Without Warrant. Immediate access, without 2 warrant, to
all parts of a retail food store shall at all times be accorded agents, officers or representatives
of the Commission.

Refusal of Cooperation. Any licensee, his agent, or employee who refuses to open or
disclose records to, or furnish information to, or who furnishes faise and/or misleading
information to an agent, officer or representative of the Commission upon any matter relating
to or arising out of the conduct of the retail food store premises shall subject the license to
revocation or suspension.

Licensee Responsible For Law and Order on Licensed Premises. Each licensee shall
maintain his establishment in a decent, orderly and respectable manner in full compliance
with all {aws of Tennessee, Commissicn rules and regulations, federal statutes, and
ordinances and laws of the municipality and/or county where the licensed premises are
located at all times. The renting or leasing of the licensed premises for an event to a non-
licensed entity, person or corporation is specifically deemed not to be a defense for a
violation of this rule and does not diminish licensee's responsibility to comply with this rule.

Restriction as to Age of Licensee's Employees. Nothing herein shall prohibit a licensee from
hiring a person under the age of 18 years, however employees under the age of 18 shall not
be permitted to sell wine, beer, mait beverages or hard cider in any establishment licensed
under the provisions of T.C.A. § 57-3-803.

Purchases. Only the designated permitied manger(s) of a retail food store wine licensee may
place orders for wine with wholesalers. No discounts for wine may take into account orders
for wine at other locations owned by the licensee.

Authority: T.C.A. §§57-1-209, 57-3-104(c)(4) and (9), 57-3-404(i), 57-3-412, 57-3-803, 57-3-808, 57-3-
8O3, 57-3-811, 57-3-812, and 57-3-815, Administrative History: Original rule filed

0100-11-.04 Renewal

(1)

(2)

3

in addition 1o submitting a completed renewal application and the renewal fee, each retail
food store wine licensee is required to submit an annual statement detailing its annual total
sales revenue and its annual sales taxable sales revenue from the retail sale of food and
food ingredients for human consumpticn. The report of such sales shall not include tax paid
as part of the calculations of revenue.

A retail food store wine licensee shall keep sales and purchase records for 2 minimum of
three years in a manner usual and customary in the industry. Such records may be
maintained in electronic format.

In the event that the retail food store has failed to meet the requirement that 20% of its sales
are from sales taxable sales of food and food ingredients for human consumption, the
Commission shall notify the licensee that it has one year to come into compliance with the
requirement. The licensee shall submit a plan to the Commission defailing its plan on

compliance.

121



(4)

The failure of the retail food store to meet the requirement that 20% of its sales are from
sales taxable sales of food and food ingredients for human consumption after the one (1)
year period shall result in the Commission's revocation of its license to sell wine. In the event
of a revocation and for a period of one (1) year following revocation, a subsequent license
shall not be issued to the spouse, child or children, daughter-in-law, son-in-law or other
person having any interest in the business of the licensee whose license was revoked.
Additionally, for a period of one (1) year following revocation, no license shall be issued at the
same location or in close proximity (within five miles) of the same location, and the
Commission shall not renew a license to the same person, firm or corporation.

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 57-3-104(c)(4) and 57-3-806(d). Administrative History: Original rule filed;

0100-11-.05 Responsible Vendor Training Program.

Each retail food store wine licensee shall participate in the Responsible Wine Vendor Program,
pursuant to T.C.A. §57-3-818 and he certified pursuant to TABC Rules 0100-12. There shall not be a
requirement for a licensee fo participate in both the Respeonsible Wine Vendor Program and the
responsible vendor iraining program established in chapter 5, part 6 of title 57.

Authority: T.CA. §57-3-104(c){4) and 57-3-818. Administrative History: Original rule filed

0100-11-.06 Operation of Liquor By The Drink Establishments Within Retail Food Stores

(1)

@

A retail food store wine licensee may also hold a license for on-premises consumption within
the location as a retail food store wine licensee. However, the premises of the on-premises
consumption license must be physically separated from the retail food store wine licensee’s
premises. Physical separation may be accomplished by walls, fencing or other means,
approved by the Commission, used to indicate that the two areas have been designated to
operate separately.

A retail food store wine licensee must operate an area with an on-premises license as a
separate entity from the retail food store. A retail food store may sublease its premises fo a
different person or entity for purpose of operating an establishment licensed pursuant to
T.C. A 57-4-101, et seq.

The comingling of the inventory of alcoholic beverages by any person holding a license under
T.CA §57-3-801 and T.CA § 57-4-101 or by any different persons holding licenses
pursuant to T.C.A. §57-3-801 and T.C.A. § 57-4-101, is cause for suspension or revocation of
any and all licenses that is invelved in such activity.

Authority: T.CA. §§ 57-3-104(c)(4), 57-3-817. Administrative History: Criginal rule filed

0100-11-.07 Conduct of Industry Members with Retall Food Stores

M

The provisions of Rule 0100-06 shall apply to retail food stores, except as otherwise
provided;

(a) An industry member may not provide stocking, rotating, or pricing services on the
premises of a retail food store; '

(b)  An industry member may provide product dispiays, signs, point of sale advertising

materials, equipment, supplies, and other items authorized by Rule 0100-06-.03
provided:
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1. Such items are provided solely to a permitted manager; and

2. The industry member may not set up any such display, sign, or item, or perform any
service or action whatsoever regarding such item, other than the provision of such
item to the permitted manager;

3. An industry member or TABC permitted representative may provide routine business
entertainment pursuant to Rule 0100-06-.03(5) and {6) and educational seminars
pursuant to Rule 0100-06-.03(11) to be conducted only upon the industry member's
non-bonded TABC licensed premises, provided that such routine business
entertainment and educational seminars may only be provided to permitted
managers and the licensee, if the licensee is an individual, and to no other
employees or agents of the retail food store; and

4. Samples of wine may not be provided upon the retail food store’s premises pursuant
to Rule 0100-06-.03{11). Samples may only be provided to a permitted manager or
licensee, if licensee is an individual, as part of an educational seminar as authorized in
this rule and Rule 0100-06-.03(11).

(c)  Anindustry member may not provide or sell to a retail food store any combination package
containing wine as otherwise authorized by Rule 0100-06-.03(10).

(2) The provision of any product display, sign, point of sale advertising material, equipment, suppiy,
or other item by a licensed wholesaler solely with regards to beer or other items that are not
alcoholic beverages may be provided pursuant to all local ordinances and federat law.

{3) No TABC licensed indusiry member or any employee, agent, representative or salesperson
employed by or representing any such TABC licensed indusiry member shall provide any
services to or for the benefit of a retail food store wine licensee inciuding, but not limited to
services involving shelving, dressing, displaying, or setting wine inventory owned or purchased
by the retail food store licensee. This prohibition shall apply to its TABC licensed industry
member if the service is being performed with relation to wine, or alcoholic beverages but not
beer. This prohibition shall not apply to any wholesaler, manufacturer or importer of beer or nan-
alcoholic items that is not licensed by the Commission.

Authority: T.C.A. § 57-1-208, 57-3-104(c}{(4) and {9}, 57-3-815, and 57-3-907. Administrative History.
Qriginal rule filed
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*If a roli-call vote was necessaty, the vote by the Agency on these rulemaking hearing rules was as follows:

Board Member Aye
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Absent
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(if required)
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| certify that this is an accurate and complete copy of rulemaking hearing rules, lawfully prééj;lgated and adopted_
by the Tennessee Aicoholic Beverage Commission {(board/commission/ other authority) on / 277 "“) / )

{mm/dd/yyyy), and is in compliance with the provisions of T.C.A. § 4-5-222.

| further certify the following:

Notice of Rulemaking Hearing filed with the Department of State on:

Rulemaking Hearing{s) Conducted on: (add more dates).

’ Subscnbed and sworn o before me on:

Date:

10/14/2015

12/09/2015

/222//6

Signature;

Name of Officer:

E. Keith Bell

Title of Officer;

Executive Director

/9—/&9»//':’

Notary Public Signature: Q@U& /}» aﬂ(i.u,./‘

My commission ex

p!TES on:

E /éo [14

All rulemaking hearing rules provided for herein have been examined by the Attorney General and Reporter of the
State of Tennessee and are approved as to legality pursuant to the provisions of the Administrative Procedures
Act, Tennessee Code Annotated, Title 4, Chapter 5.
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Filed with the Department of State on:
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Effective on;
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G.0.C. STAFF RULE ABSTRACT

AGENCY:

SUBJECT:

STATUTORY AUTHORITY:

EFFECTIVE DATES:

FISCAL IMPACT:

STAFF RULE ABSTRACT:

Tennessee Alcoholic Beverage Commission
Responsible Beer Vendor Program
Tennessee Code Annotated, Section 57-3-818
May 29, 2016 through June 30, 2017

Minimal.

The rulemaking hearing rule renames the current
responsible vendor program as the responsible
beer vendor program in order to differentiate that
program from the new responsible wine vendor
program. The rule also specifies that renewal
applications must be submitted within 30 days of
certification of expiration, clarifies that certain
timelines within the current rules will be caiculated
based on calendar days, and requires that a
certified clerk's name badge show the clerk's given
first name but may omit the clerk’s last name.
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Public Hearing Comments

One copy of a document containing responses to comments made at the public hearing must accompany the
filing pursuantio T.C.A. § 4-5-222. Agencies shall include only their responses to public hearing comments,
which can be summarized. No letters of inquiry from parties questioning the rule will be accepted. When no
comments are received at the public hearing, the agency need only draft a memorandum stating such and inciude
it with the Rulemaking Hearing Rule filing. Minutes of the meeting will not be accepied. Transcripts are not
acceptable.

A copy of a memorandum stating that no comments were received is attached.
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STATE OF TENNESSEE
ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE COMMISSION
DAVY CROCKETT TOWER
500 JAMES ROBERTSON PKWY, 3" FLOOR
NASHVILLE, TENNESSEE 37243-0755

PHONE 615.741.1602 FAX 615.741.0847

MEMO
From: E. Keith Bell, Director
Re:  Responses to comments made at public rulemaking hearing

Date: December 15, 2015

On November 20, 2015, a rulemaking hearing regarding revisions to Rule 0100-09 was held in
accordance with the law. No public comments regarding this rule were made at the hearing.

Sincerely,

E. Keith el
Executive Director

Tennessee Alcoholic Beverage Commission
(615)741-7620
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Regutatory Flexibility Addendum .

Pursuant to T.C.A. §§ 4-5-401 through 4-5-404, prior to initiating the rule making process as described in T.C.A.
§ 4-5-202(a){3) and T.C.A. § 4-5-202(a), all agencies shall conduct a review of whether a proposed rule or rule
affects small businesses.

T.C.A. § 57-3-818 requires the Tennessee Alcoholic Beverage Commission {TABC) to create a Responsible
Vendor Program for retail food stores selling wine and retail package stores that is similar to the Responsible
Vendor Program for certain stores that sell beer for off-premises consumption pursuant to Rule 0100-09. The
new program will be called the Responsible Wine Vendor Program. Rule 0100-09 is being revised primarily to
rename the current program the Responsible Beer Vendor Program to distinguish it from the Responsible Wine
Vendor Program and to revise the rule to ensure that the rule will apply to "beer” as defined in T.C.A. § 57-5-
101(b). The changes in the rule are not expected to have any impact on small businesses. There are no state or
federal counterparts for which this rule can be effectively compared to. The exemption of small businesses from
this ruie would exempt them from being able to participate in the voluntary program and receive the associated
rewards for participation, and as such would be detrimental to small businesses.
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Impact on Local Governments

Pursuant to T.C.A. §§ 4-5-220 and 4-5-228 “any rule proposed to be promulgated shall state in a simple
declarative sentence, without additional comments on the merits of the policy of the rules or regulation, whether
the rule or regulation may have a projected impact on local governments.” (See Public Chapter Number 1070
(hitp://state.tn.us/sos/acts/106/pub/pc1070.pdf) of the 2010 Session of the General Assembly)

The proposed changes in the rule are not projected to have any impact on local governments.
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Department of State : For Department of State Use Only ‘
Division of Publications _ .
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Chapter 0100-09 Responsible Vendor Program is amended by deleting the chapter in ils entirety and by

substituling instead the following language.

0100-02-.01

RULES
OF
TENNESSEE ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE COMMISSION

CHAPTER 0100-09
RESPONSIBLE BEER VENDQR PROGRAM

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Definitions 0100-09-.04 Miscellaneous Provisions

0100-092-.02  Application/Certification Process 0100-09-.05 Fines
0100-09-.03 Responsible Beer Vendor Training

0100-09-.01

M

(2)

3)
(4)

(5)

(7)

(8)

Program Format

DEFINITIONS.

Ceriified Clerk. For the purposes of this chapier, a cerlified clerk is a certified responsible
beer vendor employee who has successfully completed a certified training course and, if
appropriate, has received required additicnal annual training as set forth in the rules.

Clerk. For the purposes of this chapter, a-clerk is a certified responsible_beer vendor
employee who works in a capacity to sell, provide, distribute, and/or otherwise dispense beer
of alcoholic content ef-set-rrore-than-five-percent-(5%) by—weighias defined at TCA. §
57-5-101(b) and whose duties include the opportunity to seli, provide, distribute and/or
otherwise dispense such products. Clerks also include those certified responsible beer
vender employees who monitor self-scan or customer-scan check-out areas.

Commission. The Commission shall mean the Tennessee Alcoholic Beverage Commission.

Hire Date. The applicable hire date for a clerk is when that employee's duties and
responsibilities include the oppo:’cunity to sell prowde distrlbute and/or otherwise dispense
beer of alcoholic content ef-net-mere-than-fve-pereent-{(5%)-by—weightas defined at
T.CA §E87-5-101(b).

In-house Program. An in-house program is a training program administered by a vendor for
the vendor's empioyees.

Public Program. A public program is a training program administered to any individual by an
entity other than a vendor. A public fraining program is also a training program administered
by a vendor to both its own employees as well as other individuals.

Training date. The training date is the date on which a clerk successfully completes a vendor
training program for a particular vendor.

Valid ldentification. Valid identification meané government issued identification that includes
photograph and that has not expired. Such identification includes driver’s licenses, military
identification, passports and permanent resident cards.

Authority: T.C.A § 57-5-605(b). Administrative History: Original rule filed March 10, 2010; effective
June 8, 2010.

0100-09-.02 APPLICATION/CERTIFICATION PROQCESS.
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RESPONSIBLE BEER VENDOR PROGRAM CHAPTER 0100-09

(1)

Application for Certification of a Responsible Besr Vendor Training Program. Any entity or
individual seeking to have a responsible beer vendor training program certified shall complete
and submit a written application on forms prescribed by the Commission. The application
shall disclose the following information:

(@)

The identity of the applicant seeking to have the program certified, including the
address, names of all individuals responsible for beer vendor iraining, and the source
of the curriculum utilized by the applicant.

1. If the applicant is a corporation or LLC, a copy of the corporate charter, articles of
organization, and/or certificate of authority must be submitted.

2. If the applicant is a partnership, a copy of the certificate filed with the Tennessee
Secretary of State’s Office (if a limited partnership), or other document
evidencing formation of such partnership is required.

Each program applicant shall submit to the Commission a copy of all training materials
(including video or audic materials used for their program). A true and exact copy of
the curriculum, including tests, to be utilized in the responsible beer vendor fraining
program must also be submitted. Prior to any modifications to the training materials,
such proposed modifications shall be submitted to the Commission for approval. To be
certified, a responsible_beer vendor program must offer a curriculum which, at a
minimum, contains the following items:

1. The effect of alcohol on the human body focusing on these elements:

{ii The behavioral effects of alcohal: i.e., decrease in reaction and decision
making capability;

(i) Interaction and combined effects of mixing alcohol with legal and/or illegal
drugs; and

(i) Identification of possible intoxicated customers.
2. identifying situations in which clerk intervention is appropriate.

3. Handling situations and people in a non-confrontational manner and identifying
when support from co-workers is necessary.

4, Suggested responses by clerks to situations involving intoxicated and/or
underage perscns.

5. A review of current Tennessee laws, rules, and regulations promulgated by the
Commission relating to the sale beer andfor malt beverages and the Tennessee
Responsible Vendor Act of 2008,

6. A review of appropriate identification inciuding acceptable driver's licenses,
military identification, passports, and other governmen{ issued photo
identification cards; and

7. A review of how to identify fake and/or altered identifications as described above.

8. Advising attendees that local ordinances may exist affecting the sale of alcoholic
and malt beverages.
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RESPONSIBLE BEER VENDOR PROGRAM CHAPTER 0100-09

(2)

(4)

(c)

(d)
(e)

If the responsible heer vendor fraining program conducts in-person training, then the
program shall submit a TABC questionnaire for each trainer conducting their ciass to
the Commission. Such compieted questionnaire must be received by the Commission
prior to that trainer conducting classes.

Any other information requested by the Commission; and

Appropriate cerlification fee.

If the training program is conducied through the use of the Internet or Intranet, then in
addition to the items required above, the fraining program must provide verification
accepiable to the Commission that the identity of the users may be authenticated.

Renewal of Responsible Bear Vendor Training Program Certification.

(@)

(b)

Responsible_Beer Vendor Training Pregram Certificafion shall be valid for a period of
one year from the date of issue.

To prevent interruption of certification, the responsible beer vendor training program

must fulfill the following requirements_at least thirty (30) days prior 1o expiration date:

1. Submit to the Commission a completed renewal application along with any
amended or updated materials;

2. List of all current trainers;

3.  Appropriate renewal fee.

Application for Certification of a Responsible Beer Vendor. Any entity or individual seeking to
hecome a certified responsible_beer vendor shall complete and submit a written application
on forms prescribed by the Commission. The application shall disclose the following
information:

(a)

(b)

(c)

(d)
(e
)

The identity of the applicant seeking fo achieve responsible beer vendor status,
including the address, phone number, and any other information required by the
Commission.

1. If the applicant is a corporation or LLC, a copy of the corporate charter and/or
certificate of authority must be submitted.

2. if the applicant is a partnership, a copy of the certificate filed with the Tennessee
Secretary of State's Office {if a limited parinership), or other document
evidencing formation of such partnership is required.

Names and identifying information of all clerks employed—such information shall be
submitted on forms prescribed by the Commission;

Name of beer board issuing beer permit to applicant, beer board address, and beer
permit number;

Any other information requested by the Commission;
identification of training program used, and

Appropriate certification fees.
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RESPONSIBLE BEER VENDOR PROGRAM CHAPTER 0100-09

| (5)

| (6)

Application for Renewal of Certification of Responsible Beer Vendor.
{a)  Program certification shall be valid for a period of one year from the date of issue.

{b) To prevent interruption of certification, the responsible beer vendor must fulfill the
following requirements_at least thirty (30) days prior to expiration date:

1. Submit to the Commissicn a completed renewal application along with any
amended or updated materials; and

2. Each responsible beer vendor shall submit_at least thirty (30) days prior to the
expiration of the certification a renewal application; a current list of all clerks and
their hire dates (such shall be submilted on forms prescribed by the
Commission); the date that the certified clerks received their annual training, and
the appropriate certification fee.

Neither program nor responsible beer vendor certifications are transferable. Before a transfer
of ownership can occur, that new entity must first make application for certification fo the
Commission pursuant to the rules and regulations. The new business entity may not begin
training and the vendor will not be certified by the Commission until an application for
certification is approved. Once the location is certified as a responsible heer vendor, then the
responsible heer vendor has 61 days to train its clerks.

Authority: T.C. A § 57-5-605(b). Administrative History: Original rule filed March 10, 2010; effective
June 8, 2010.

| 0100-09-.03 RESPONSIBLE BEER VENDOR TRAINING PROGRAM FORMAT.

(1

(@)

(3)

Complete fraining program must be at least (2) hours of instruction, excluding breaks for
attendees. Such training program must take place in a publicly accessible location, but may
take place on the certified responsible beer vendor's premises. Training programs may not
be conducted in private homes. .

The training program must provide either printed materials to attendees or make fraining
materials available oniine for review after completion of the training. Once a program has
been certified by the Commission, the following statement shall be placed in bold type on the
cover sheet of such written materials or manuals: "This program has approved by the
Tennessee Alcoholic Beverage Commission as currently satisfying the requirements
contemplated by the Tennessee Responsible Vendor Act of 2006".

{a} At the beginning of each fraining program, attendees shall be advised that they must
meet the following qualifications to be a certified clerk eligible to participate in the
responsibie besar vendor program:

i. Be at least 18 years of age;

ii. Must not have been criminally convicted of any violation of the laws against
possession, sale, manufacture, or transportation of beer or other alcoholic
beverages within the past ten (10) years; and

iii. Must not have been convicted of any crime involving moral turpitude within the
past ten (10) years. ‘
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RESPONSIBLE BEER VENDOR PROGRAM CHAPTER 0100-08

4)

(5)

(6)

(N

(b)

A respensible paer vendor is not required to perform criminal background checks on
employees or clerks; however, the responsible beer vendor should inquire on the
apptlication as o any convictions the employee or clerk has had for the past ten years.

Testing.

(a)

(b)

(¢}

(d)

(e)

Upon completion of the training, the program must adequately test the comprehension
and understanding of the attendees. Testing shouild be sufficiently randomized and
conducted in such a manner as to prohibit prior knowledge of the answers by users. A
passing score of at least seventy (70%) % percent will be required from each person
attending the training before a certificate may be issued-uniess the certified beer
vendor program requires a higher score.

Any attendee failing to attain this passing score may contact the cerified program
licensee to schedule a second examination within thity (30} days. A second
examination shall be provided 1o the attendee by the responsible_beer vendor program
without additional charge.

if the second examination is not scheduled and taken within this thirty day pericd, then
the attendee shall be required to attend a second training program in its entirety and
pass the test before being eligible to obtain the certificate. Nothing herein shall act to
extend the original sixty-one (61) day grace period from the date of hire as a clerk.

Within twenty-one (21) calendar days of the training date, the certified program must
provide o the Commission a list of all clerks who have successfully completed the
program along with the vendor for which each clerk completed the fraining.

If the certified program and responsible beer vendor are the same entity (il if the
responsible beer vendor has an in-house certified program), then a single notification to
the Commission is sufficient.

Alcoholic beverages may not be consumed by the instructor or any attendee during the
training program.

All training must be conducted in a professional manner. materials and comments may not
be offensive in nature.

(@)

(b)

All Certified Responsible Beer Vendor Training Programs shall issue a certificate of
compietion for any clerk who has successfully completed the training. The original
ceriificate of completion shall be forwarded to the apprepriate responsible beer vendor,
and the clerk successfully completing the training shall receive a copy. Each certificate
of completion shall include the following information:

1. Name and date of birth for clerk;

2. Name of certified program providing the training;

3. Date on which the clerk successfully completed the program; and

4, Name and complete address of responsible beer vendor receiving the certificate
of completion.

Any certified program or responsible_beer vendor offering or submitting a fraudulent,
fake and/or altered certificate of completion to a TABC representative or to the
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RESPONSIBLE BEER VENDOR PROGRAM CHAPTER 0100-09

(8)

(9

Commissicn shall subject their certification io immediate discipiinary action—including,
but not limited to, summary suspension and revocation.

All Certified Training Programs shall permit access to Commission representatives. Failure to
permit access to a Commission representative will result in the program being required to
show cause to the Commission why its certification should not be revoked.

A successful completion by a clerk of a responsible beer vendor training conducted by a
certified training program within 61 days prior fo the responsible_beer vendor submitting its
application to the Commission shall be valid. Howsver, such training is valid only for one
designated responsible baer vendor location.

Authority: T.C.A. § 57-5-605(h). Administrative History: Original rule filed March 10, 2010; effective
June 8, 2010.

0100-09-.04 MISCELLANEOUS PROVISIONS.

(1)

(2)

Clerk Applicants wath Spemal Needs Persons with special needs Gor-examp tRaBH

to-voad-andfor-—vetis-in-Haghshe-hearing .pamme’e—*ete%must contact the certlfled
program af least eﬂe«weekseven ( ?) celeﬁdar days in advance of the training date fo request
specific assistance in completlng that program Not\mthstandmg any other provision of these

rules, the certified program anéd-ths missien-shall endeavor to provide a-reasonable

accommodations when requested on a case by case basis in compiiance with state and
federal law.

{a) Within ten (10) calendar days of the training date, the responsibie beer vendor training
program must submit to the responsible_beer vendor a list of all clerks who
successfully completed the training program and received a certificate of completion.
Responsible training beer vendor programs shall maintain records of those successfully
completing the training program for a pericd of at least three years to be available for
the Commission to review.

(b} (i) If a responsible beer vendor owns and operates several locations (operating
under the same business name and corporate name) and is using the same
responsible beer vendor program for each location, then clerks and/or employees
aftending a responsible_bger vendor program may—upon the initial training
course—designate the various locations within the same responsible bheer
vendor's operation. The successful completion of the training course will be
sufficient for training requirements at each designated location. This option does
not apply to individuals working at responsible beer vendor locations owned by
different entities. The responsible_bser vendor training program will issue a
certificate o the clerk/employee for each location designated at the time of the
class.

(i) For the purposes of cerfification costs, employees described in the above
paragraph will be counied as an employee for each location.

(i) For clerks desiring 1o add new responsible beer vendor locations under the same
ownership after the initial designation, then new training must cccur for each
location.

(a) Within twenty-one (21) calendar days of the training date, the responsible beer vendor
must submit to the Commission a list of all clerks who have successfully completed the
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RESPONSIBLE BEER VENDOR PROGRAM CHAPTER 0100-09

(4)

()

(6)

training program and received a certificate of compleﬂon Such list shall on be
submitted on forms prescribed by the Commission.

(b) If the cerified program and responsible beer vendor are the same entity (i.e., if the
responsibie_beer vendor has an in-house certified program), then a single notification to
the Commission is sufficient.

Commission Training Program. To further implement the policy and standards of the
Tennessee Responsible Vendor Act of 2006, the Commission may conduct ifs own fraining
program for cletks. The cost to each clerk in at'tendance for this trainmg program will be
$2535 00;wath-o-CRHnfatio ry-th F-bep -2
attendance at a responsuble beer vendor program for aEcoho! awareness ns requwed for any
clerk working at a responsible beer vendor location, it is not necessary that such clerk attend
the Commission program.

Each responsible_beer vendor shall maintain and have available for review by Commission
representatives’ employment and training records for ail clerks. Such documentation shall
inciude, but is not {imited to, the following informaticon for each clerk:

(a) Name, address, and social security number,;

(b) Date of hire;

{c) Date of training by cerlified respons:ble beer vendor program;

(d) Date of required annual training related to updated information, policies and
procedures.

Loss of Clerk Certification.
(a) A certified clerk shall lose their certification under the following circumstances:

1. If the heer board determines that the clerk sold alcoholic heverages to a minor.
The clerk shall lose their cerfification for a period of one year beginning on the
date of the beer board’'s determination; or

2. If the clerk receives a criminal conviction of a charge involving the sale of
aicoholic beverages to a minor. The clerk shall lose their certification beginning
on the date of the conviction, and is further subject to the provisions of TC.A. §
57-5-301(a)(1); or

3 Certified clerks must annually attend a meeting regarding updated statutory
information as required by T.C.A. § §7-5-601 et seq. This annual meeting shall
be held for all clerks within the last quarter of each calendar year. Within twenty-
one days after the annual raining, the responsible_beer vendor shall notify the
Commission in writing if the certified clerk has not attended the annual meeting
regarding updated statutory information as required by T.C.A. § 57-5-601 et seq.
Upon such notification by the responsible_beer vendor to the Commission, the
certification for identified clerk shall immediately become invalid. Such clerk shall
not work in a capacity to seli beer directly to consumers for off-premise
consumption until the clerk has received the required updated training; or

4. If the clerk has not attended at least one annual meeting by the time set forth in
these rules and received updated information disseminated by the responsible
beer vendor.

(b) If a clerk loses their certification but continues io work as a clerk and subsequently,
sells beer to an under-aged individual, then the responsible baer vendor shall not be
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RESPONSIBLE BEER VENDOR PROGRAM CHAPTER 0100-09

(7)

8

(10)

considered a responsible beer vendor for the purposes of disciplinary action taken by a
beer board.

Name Badge. FEach certified clerk is required to wear a name badge issued by the
responsible beer vendor. Such name badge shall contain the clerk’s_legal first name, of
‘given name.” but may omit ihe clerk's iast name, or family name, and must be clearly visible
to the general public.

Grace Period.

(a) Clerks have sixty-one (61} calendar days from their date of hire as a clerk to
successfully complete responsible beer vendor training. During this 61 day grace
period, if a sale to a minor takes place the Responsible Beer Vendor is treated as
having responsible_beer vendor staius. Any criminal action against the clerk is not
affected. If clerks have not received the appropriate training within 61 calendar days of
their date of hire, then the responsible besr vendor temporarily loses its status as a
responsible beer vendor immediately at the conclusion of the 61 calendar day pericd.
However, if the situation is corrected within thirty (30} calendar days, then upon
payment of a civil penalty to the Commission, the status of “responsible beer vendor’
may be re-instated. If training does not occur to remedy the situation within thirty (30}
calendar_days, then the responsible beer vendor status is pesnenesntconsidered
expired and the vendor permanently loses its siatus as a responsible beer vendor, and
a new apptication must be submitted and training must re-occur.

{(p) In scenario above, should a beer permittee be subject to discipiinary action by a local
beer board for a violation involving the sale of alcohclic beverages o a minor, the
Commission will, upon reguest, advise the beer board that the permittee is not a
responsible peer vendor because all employees have not received adequate training in
a timely manner.

{c) |f a clerk who is not eligible to participate in the responsible beer vendor program (i.e.,
if the clerk is under the age of eightesn) selis alcchol to a minor, then the responsible
beer vendor loses its siatus as a responsible_beer vendor and is subject to the
discretion of the local beer hoard as it relates to disciplinary action against the beer
permit.

(d} Upon request, the Commission will issue an affidavit, signed by appropriate personnel,
to cenrtify the status of a clerk or responsible beer vendor. This affidavit will be sufficient

in lieu of in-person testimony by a Commission representative before a local beer
board. '

Refusal of Cooperation. Any certified clerk, responsible beer vendor program, responsible
beer vendor, hits agent, or employee, who refuses o open or disclose hits records to, or
furnish information to, or who furnishes false and/or misleading information to arna TABC
special agent,_reguiatory officer or_any representative of the Commission upon any matter
directly and/or indirectly relating to the responsible beer vendor program, certification,

employees, etc., shall subject the cerfification and participation in the responsible bser
vendor program to suspensioh and/or revocation.

Beer Boards and Local Law Enforcement. Communication between city and/or county beer
boards, local law enforcement and the Commission is vital for the success of the Responsible
Bear Vendor program.

(a) When a vendor appears before a city or county beer board for an administrative charge
of the sale of alcohol to a mincr, the Commission will either:
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1. Verify the vendor and/or clerk who sold the alcohol to a minor are certified and
are eligible for mitigation in disciplinary action according to the statute; or

2. Verify such vendor and/or clerk have not been certified, and are not eligible for
mitigation in disciplinary actions by the regulating beer board.

(k) Local heer boards should notify the Commission when disciplinary actions involving the -
sale of alcoholic beverages to a minor have been taken against an off-premise beer
permitiee within 15 days of such aclion.

{c) fabeer permittee represents to a city or county beer board that they are a responsible
beer vendor but are nof then the city or county beer board should notify the
Commission of such misrepresentation. Such beer permittee shall be ineligible to
participate in the responsible beer vendor program for a period of three (3} vears from
the date of misrepresentation.

{d) Local law enforcement should notify the Commission when an employee of an off-
premise beer permittee has been criminally convicted of a charge involving the sale of
alcoholic beverages to a minor.

{11) Notice of training sessions. The Commission must be notified seven (7) calendar days in
advance of any training if the training will be conducted by an individual(s) at a location where
clerks will be present. The notice must include the name of the training program, the
instructor, the complete address of the training site, and the time and location of the training.

(12) To obtain the benefils associated with being a certified responsible beer vendor, the beer
permittee must aciually be certified by the Commission as a responsible baer vendor at the
time of the offense. Any application for certification as a responsible_heer vendor submitted
to the Commission with charges/offenses pending before the local beer board will not be
reviewed until such charges/offenses are concluded: the approval or denial of the
responsible beer vendor application will be made once the Commission has received
notification of the result of the pending charges/offenses.

(13) Once the Commission receives notification of a second offense sale of alcohol to a minor
within a twelve month period, then the Commission shall revoke the responsible beer
vendor's certification as a responsible_beer vendor for a period of three years. Subsequent
sales of alcohal fo minors by the heer permittee do nof receive protection under the
responsibie beer vendor training provisions.

Authority: T.C.A. § 57-5-605(b). Administrative History: Original rule filed March 10, 2010; effective
June 8, 2010.

0100-09-.05 FINES.
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2)

(3)

(4}

(5)

vioiation thereof however, the Commission may, ln

revocationits discretion, impose a fine as set out hereafter——. in Igeu of suspension or
revocation of any license or permit.

Fines may be used to informally remedy a matter by written consent of all parties to the
matier.

Any viciation of the Rules and Regulations promulgated to implement and maintain the
Responsible Vendor Act of 2006 may result in the imposition of a fine, suspension, or
revocation of any certification, license, or permit issued by the Commission.

Providing false or misleading information in any required document, application, and/or
investigation may resuit in the denial of that application, or the suspension or revocation of a
program’s or vendor's certification.

Fines may be assessed for the following violations:

a. Against a Responsible Beer Vendor:

1. Misrepresentation of status as a Responsible Beer Vendor,

2. Wiliful failure to comply with Tennessee staiutes and Tennessee Alcoholic
Beverage Cormmission Rules and Regulations;

3. Failure to have Clerk certified within 61 calendar days of hire date;

4. Failure to verify eligibility of clerk for certification prior to hiring with the
Commission;

5. Failure to maintain original certification of compietlon for clerk at Responsible
Beer Vendor location; :

6. Failure to notify Commission within twenty-one {21} calendar days of fraining for
certified clerk;

7. Failure to provide or have clerk display name hadge whife on duty;

8. Failure to provide instructions for its employee’s as approved by the Commission;
g Failure to have certified clerk meet annual meeting requirements;

10. Failure of Responsible Besr Vendor to disseminate updated information

prescribed by the Commission and the Responsible Beer Vendor Policy and
Procedures related thereto;

11. Failure to notify Commission of cleri failure to attend annual meeting following
original certification;

12.  Failure to maintain records of certified clerk required annual meeting;

140



RESPONSIBLE BEER VENDOR PROGRAM CHAPTER 0100-09

13.

14.

18
16.

17.

18.

18.

Failure to disseminate information related to changes in State Law or
Commission Rules and Regulations to certified clerks as required by the
Commission;

Failure to maintain employment records and all responsible fraining records of all
clerks;

Failure to cooperate by not providing information requested by the Commission;
Faiture to notify Commission of change in training program;

Allowing a decertified clerk to continue to operale in a capacity to sell beer
directly to consumer,;

Failure to have Responsible Beer Vendor certificate posted;

Failure to Renew Responsible_Beer Vendor Certification in a timely manner.

b. Against a Training Program;

1.
2,

3.

4.

5.

Failure to meet mandatory minimum class time;
Not a TABC certified training program for Responsible Beer Vendor Training;

Failure to adeguately test the comprehension and understanding of the
attendees of the Responsible Beer Vendor Training of off premise sale of beer,

Failure o cover the required material;

Failure to timely renew certification.

Authority: T.C.A. § 57-5-605(b). Administrative History: Original rule filed March 10, 2010; effective June

8, 2010.
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if a roll-call vote was necessary, the vote by the Agency on these rulemaking hearing rules was as follows:

Board Member Aye No Abstain | Absent Signature
|

{if required)

//) }fff/f(//fjtz/{ﬁffé{[kx //

MARY MCDANIEL

/
BRYAN KAEGI / ,
v

JOHN JONES

| certify that this is an accurate and complete copy of rulemaking hearing rules, lawfully promulgated and adopted

by the Tennessee Alcoholic Beverage Commission {board/commission/ other authority) on /2_/ I § /78
{(mm/dd/yyyy), and is in compliance with the provisions of T.C A, § 4-5-222.

| further certify the following:

Natice of Rulemaking Hearing filed with the Depariment of State on: 9/28/2015

Rulemaking Hearing(s) Conducted on: (add more dates). 11/20/2015

Date: > / 2'2"/ /’ 5““

Signature;

Name of Officer: E. Keith Bell

S ' Title of Officer; Executive Director

:...,Subscnbed and sworn to before me on: . /9//,7'{9- / /‘b

Notary Public Signature: &/)Dacp ,é/ OIMCZJJ/\ o~

My commission expires on: } { 19

All rulemaking hearing rules provided for herein have been examined by the Attorney General and Reporter of the

State of Tennessee and are approved as fo legality pursuant to the provisions of the Administrative Procedures
Act, Tennassee Code Annotated, Tiile 4, Chapter 5.

= Herbert H. Sjatery iil
p Attorney General and Reporter
proon
{ . g ;/}S’/}o"
il jos] : .
L-»J Lt / { Date
@epiﬁmeﬁt bt State Use Only _ ‘
= Lu

e

g Filed with the Depariment of State on:

Q i
Effective on; 51041,

/4 Tre Hargett
Secretary of State
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G.0.C. STAFF RULE ABSTRACT

DEPARTMENT: University of Tennessee

DIVISION:

SUBJECT: Use of University Property

STATUTORY AUTHORITY: Tennessee Code Annotated, Section 49-9-209
EFFECTIVE DATES: May 4, 2016 through June 30, 2017

FISCAL IMPACT: Minimal

STAFF RULE ABSTRACT: On August 19, 2015, the Joint Government Operations

Committee of the General Assembly voted to request the
University of Tennessee Board of Trustees to amend
Chapter 1720-01-02-.05 (No-Trespass Notices). A no-
trespass notice is a written directive requiring a person to
leave and/or not enter all or part of University property.

In response to the Committee’s request, the University of
Tennessee Board of Trustees adopted the following
amendments to Section .05:

Section .05 will apply only to non-affiliated persons (i.e., it
will not apply to students and employees).

Only a sworn law enforcement officer may issue a no-
trespass notice.

A person who receives a no-frespass notice may appeal to
the campusfinstitute chief of police.
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Regulatory Flexibility Addendum

Pursuant to T.C.A. §§ 4-5-401 through 4-5-404, prior to initiating the rule making process as described in T.CA
§ 4-5-202(a)(3) and T.C.A. § 4-5-202(a), all agencies shall conduct a review of whether a propased rule or rule
affects small businesses.

{If applicahte, insert Regulatory Flexibility Addendum here)

The Regulatory Flexibility Addendum is not applicable.
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Impact on Local Governments

Pursuant to T.C.A. §§ 4-5-220 and 4-5-228 “any rule praposed fo be promulgated shall state in a simple
declarative sentence, without additional comments on the merits of the policy of the rules or regutation, whether
the rule or regulation may have a projected impact on local governments.” (See Public Chapter Number 1070
{http://state.in.us/sos/acts/106/pub/pc1070.pdf) of the 2010 Session of the General Assembly)

The University of Tennessee anticipates that this rule change will have minimal to no impact on local
governments.
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Department of State _ / ' For Department of State Use Only
Division of Publications :

" 312 Rosa L. Parks Avenue, 8th Floor Snodgrass/TN Tower Sequence Number, Q{-0l~{(

* Nashville, TN 37243 é

* Phone: 615-741-2650 Rule ID{s}: 0

_ Fax: 615-741-6133 (s) 9
Email: register.information@in,gov FleDate: _ [ {5[1(

Effective Date: 4 [ 4]l 5

Proposed Rule(s) Filing Form

Proposed rufes are submitted pursuant to T.C.A. §§ 4-5-202, 4-5207 in lisu of a rulemaking hearing. It is the intent of the Agency fo
promulgate these rufes without a rufemaking hearing unless a pelition requesting such hearing s filed within sixty (60} days of the first day of
the month subsequent fo the filing of the proposed rile with the Secretary of State. To be effective, the pelifion must be filed with the Agency
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Revision Type (check all that apply):
X Amendment
MNew

Repeal
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Chapter Number | Chapter Title
1720-01-02 _Use of University F’roperty

"Rule Number Rule Title

1720-01-02-06 | No-Trespass Notices
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RULES
OF
THE UNIVERSITY OF TENNESSEE

CHAPTER 1720-01-02
USE OF UNIVERSITY PROPERTY

1720-01-62-.01 DEDICATION OF UNIVERSITY PROPERTY. The University of Tennessee (“University”)
dedicates its properly exclusively to the advancement of the University’s principal missions of teaching,
research, and service. The University regulates its property to preserve it for the advancement of the
University's principal missions.

1720-01-02-.02 DEFINITIONS

(H The term “University property” means all land, grounds, sfructures, and any other
physical properiy owned, controlled, or operated by the University of Tennessee.

@) The term “University unit” means any academic, administrative, or auxiliary department or
division of the University or any other official entity of the University, functioning through
University employees acting within the scope of their University employment.

1720-01-02-.03 AUTHORIZED USERS AND PERMISSIBLE USES,

(1) The use of Universily property is limited fo the following persons, subject to Section
.03(2) and Section .05:

(@)

)

(h}

University students;

University employees;

Members of the Board of Trustees;

Government officiais acting in their official capacities;

A person or entity invited by a University unit, including but not limited to, a
persan of entity who has a coniract to provide services to the University,
provided that the use of University property shall not exceed the scope of the
University unit's invitation;

A person who has been invited by a University student, student organization, or
employee in hisfher personal capacity, to join the student, student organization,
or employee in the use of University property {(e.g., friends and family), but not
including the use of University property for free expression activities, provided
that the use of University property shall not exceed the scope of the invitation;

A non-sffiliated person using Un'iversity'property for free expression aclivities
pursuant to Chapter 1720-01-12 {Use of University Property by Non-Affiliated
Persons for Free Expression Activities);

Volunteers of the Universily, as defined by University policy, within the scope of
their volunteer work;
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(2)

®

Prospective studenis visiting University properly and persons accompanying
prospective students for purposes reasonably necessary to evaluate the
University as an educational institution;

Alumni visiting University property and persons accompanying alumni;

A person who has a right of access to University property under Tennsssee
Code Annotated § 8-50-1601 or any other statutory provisions permitting access
to University property;

Any person or entity engaged in one of the following uses of University property;

1. The use of University property for the purpose of aftending a University
acfivily or event that is open to attendance by the members of the
general public at a designated place and time (e.q., athletic contests,
plays, lectures, concerts),

2. The use of University-owned sireets, or University-owned sidewalks
bordering University-owned streets, as thoroughfares while traveling
from ane location to another location;

3. The use of University property that is open to the general pubiic {e.q,,
campus bookstore, library, museum};

4, The use of University property consistent with the terms of a lease
agreement with the University; or

5 The use of University praperty for a purpose relating to obtaining medical
treatmeni from the University.

The use of University property shall be consistent with the University’s principal missions
of teaching, research, and service. A person using University property shait not:

(a)
(b)
(c)
(d)

{f
(9)
(h

biock or substantially impede vehicular, bic_ycie, pedestrian, or other traffic;

block or subsiantially impede entrances or exits to University property;
substantially disrupt or inferfere with University operations, events, or activities;
substantially disrupt or interfere with the ability of a student to sleep or study ina
University residence hall between the hours of 10:00 p.m. and 6:00 a.m. during

an academic term;

substantially disrupt or interfere with the ability of a siudent to study in a
University library;

violate a federal, state, or local law, rule, regutation, or ordinance;

violate University rules, policies, or proéedures;

engage in speech that is obscene; is defarnatory; consists of fighiing werds;
communicates an objectively serious expression of intent to commit an act of

unlawful violence to a particular individual or group,; or is directed fo inciting or
producing imminent lawiess action and is likely to incite or produce stich action;
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(3)

)
(k)

engage in camping in viclation of Tennessee law, the Equal Access to Public
Property Act of 2012, unless the area on which camping occurs has been
specifically designated by the University as available for camping;

unreascnably threaten the health or safety of another person; or

damage or deface University property, including, but not limited to, grass, shrubs,
trees, or other landscaping.

Nothing in Section .03(2) shall be construed to prohibit a use of University property that
has been expressly authorized by the University {(e.g., a consfruction project that
femporarily interferes with the use of a strest);

1720.01-02-.04 USE OF UNIVERSITY PROPERTY FOR FREE EXPRESSION ACTIVITIES. Chapter
1720-01-12 {Use of University Property by Mon-Affiliated Persons for Free Expression Activities) governs
the use of University property for free expression activities by persons who are not affiliated with the
University. To the exdent of any conflict between this Chapter and Chapter 1720-01-12, Chapter 1720-01-

12 shall control.

1720-01-02-.05 NO-TRESPASS NOTICES.

(1)

A No-Trespass Notice ("Notice”) Is a written directive requiring a person-non-affiliated
person _to leave and/or not enter alt or part of University property.

3)(2)

A sworn jaw enforcement officer employed by the University University-official authorized

under-Section-05(2) may issue a Notice fo_a non-affiliated person:

(a)

©

a-person-who is not authorized to use University property under Section .03(1),
and who has refused to leave University property, or a specified part of University
property, within a reaseonable time after the person has received an oral request
to leave by a University official,

a-person-who has engaged in a use of University property that is prohibited by
Section .03(2), and who has refused to cease the prohibited conduct within a
reasonable time after receiving an oral request to do so from a University official,

a-person-who, in the good faith judgment of the University-officiallaw enforcement
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officer issuing the Notice, poses an unreasonable threat to the health, safety, ot
welfare of a person(s) affilated with the University while on University properly;
ar

a-person—who, in the good faith judgment of the University—official—law
enforcement officer issuing the Notice, has engaged in conduct that substantially

disrupts or interferes with University operations, events, or activities, or is likely to
cause such a disruption or interference.;

(3} A Notice must specify: the reason for the Notice; the geographical scope of the
restriction; the duration of the restriction, which may be for an indefinite period; the
potential consequences of a violation of the Nofice; and the process for appealing the
issuance of the Notice. The scope and duration of the restriction imposed must be
proportional to the underlying misconduct. In appropriate circumstances, with respect to
conduct on University property, a Notice also may prohibit a non-affiliated person from
contacting or being within a certain distance from a person affiliated with the University.

{5)(4)_Appeals

(@)

{b)

(c)

(d)

A non-affiliated person to whom a Nolice has been issued may appeal the
decision fo the chief of police for the University's campus/institutetniversity
thici i  tho Nofice, 7

A non-affiliated person must submit the appeal in writing. The written appeal
must be received by the University-official- whe-ssued-the Noticechief of police
within twenty (20} calendar days of the date on which the Notice was provided to
the non-affiliated person. A Notice mailed (or e-mailed) te a non-affiliated person
shall be deemed to have been pravided on the date on which it was mailed (or e-
mailed). The written appeal should inciude the non-affiliated person’s reason for
being on University property, the non-affiliated person’s future need to be on
University property, and any other information the non-affiiated person wishes
the University official who issued the Notice fo consider.

Upon receipt of a written appeal, the University--offisial -wheo -ssted—the
Meticachief of police will consult as needed with other University officials to verify
the non-affiiated person's need for access fo University property, to gather
additional information or advice, or to review the impact that granting the appeal
may have on persons affiliated with the University.

Within twenfy (20} calendar days of the receipt of an appeal submitted in
accordance with this Chapter, the University-official-who-lssued-the-Metisechief of
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nalice will sustain, rescind or modify the Notice in a written decision that will be
mailed fo the address provided by the non-affiliated person. The decision of the

Universiby-offisial-wholesusdthe-Notisechief of gohc is final and not appealable

within the University.

(&) The restrictions set forth in the Notice will remain in effect while an appeal of the
Notice is pending.

{f) If the chief of police issued the Notice, then the non-affiliated person may appeal
to the supervisor _of the chief of police following the procedures set forth in
Sactior .05{4)a)-{d).

{e}—Other University rules; policies-and-proceduresratherthan-this-Section—05(5);
shali-govemm-appealsfiled by Universily students.or.-employees:

{83(8) The University-employes-who-lssued-a-Notice-law enforcement officer who issued the

Notice {or, if the Natice is appealed, the chief of police} may rescind or modify the Notice

at any time. Notification of any such rescission or modification shall be provided to the
non-affiiated person to whom the Notice was Issued.

}8) _The issuance of a Notice for conduct relating to free expression activities shall be
consistent with Chapter 1720-01-12 (Use of University Property by Non-Affiliated Persons
for Free Expression Activities).

{8)(7) Failure to comply with a Nofice may result in issuance of a citation or an armrest for
frespassing pursuant fo applicable state criminal trespass sfatutes or local ordinances.
Nething in this Section .05 shall limit or be construed to timit the exercise of the statutory
authority of swom law enforcement officers of a campus police department to arrest in
accordance with the iaws of this state or iocal ordinances. Nor shall anything in this
Section .05 fimit or be construed to limit the authority of sworn law enforcement officers of
a campus police department to issue an oral request instructing a person to leave and/or
not enter all or part of University property.

MW%@&%H—D&%—WM@W%&MM@MW
sfficial-to-issue-a-lawiul direstive {o-an-erployeswhom-helshe-superndses not-to-enter
serainparls-ef- Unlversity property:

£H(8) For purposes of this Section .05, the term “non-affiliated person” means any
person who is not a University student, student organization, employee, or volunteer.

1720-01-02-.06 USE OF UNMANNED AIRCRAFT.

(1) The purpose of the restrictions in this Section .06 is fo ensure the safe and orderly use of
unmanned aircraft on, at, inside, or above University property.

2) For purposes of this Section .06, the terim "unmanned aircraft’ means a device that is
used or is intended to be used for flight in the air without an individual in or on the device
{e.g., drone, model aircraft).

(3) Unmanned aircrafi shall not be used:

{(a) By a person who is not authorized to use University properly under Chapter
1720-01-03.01;
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{4)

(b}
{c}
{d)

(f)

(@)
()

At a time, in a place, or in a manner prohibited under Chapter 1720-01-03-02;
Inside University buildings or facilities;

On or above University—owned streets or University-owned sidewalks;

Above a human being who is either not directly participating in the operation of
the unmanned aircrait or not located under a covered structure that can provide
reasonable protection from a falling unmanned aircraft,

On or above a University campus within four hours prior to the scheduled kickoff
fime of an intercollegiate football game on that campus, during the game, or
within two hours after the conclusion of the game;

Cutside the hours of official sunrise and sunset; or

fn a manner that viclates federal or state law, including, without limitation,
regulations issued by the Federal Aviation Administration.

This Section .06 does not apply to unmanned aircraft used by a University unit, including
faculty conducting research using unmanned aircrafi, or a person or entity with whom the
University has contracted to operate an unmanned aircraft; provided, however, that
unmanned aircraft shall be used in accordance with federal and siate law, including,
without limitation, reguliations issued by the Federal Aviation Administration,
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University of Tennessee Rules

Chapter 1720-01-02 Use of University Property

* if a roli-call vote was necessary, the vote by the Agency on these rules was as follows:

Board Wember

Aye

No

Abstain

Absent

Signature
fif requirei:l)g4

Governor Bill Haslam

X

Commissioner Julius Johnson

Commissioner Candice McGQueen

Dr. Joe DiPietro

Charles C. Anderson, Jr.

Jalen K. Blue

x| X | x| X

Shannon Brown

George E. Cates

Spruelt Driver, Jr.

Dr. William E, Evans

J. Brian Ferguson

John N. Foy

D. Crawford Gallimore

br. David Golden

Vicky B. Gregg

Raja J. Jubran

Brad A. Lamplay

James L. Murphy, il

| w| x| =] x| x| x| x| x| x| %

Sharon J. Pryse

Rhedona Rose

John D. Tickle

Julia T. Wells

Charles E. Wharton

Tommy G. Whittaker

I -
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University of Tennessee Rules
Chapter 1720-01-02 Use of University Property

| certify that this is an accurate and complete copy of proposed rules, lawfully promulgated and adopted by the
Universify of Tennessee Board of Trustees on 10/08/2015, and is in compliance with the provisions of T.C.A. § 4-
5.222. The Secretary of State is hereby instructed that, in the absence of a petition for proposed rules being filed
under the conditions set out herein and in the locations described, he is o treat the proposed rules as being
placed on file in his office as rules at the expiration of ninety (90) days of the first day of the month subsequent to
the filing of the proposed rule with the Secretary of Siate.

Date: 12/11/2015

Signature: M%“J T
e

Name of Officer:  Matthew Scoggins

Title of Officer: Deputy General Counsel

Subscribed and sworn to before me on: J a-1 i" )

Notary Public Signature:

My commission expires on: 17-4-1¢

Ali proposed rules provided for herain have been examined by the Atiorney General and Reporter of the State of
Tennessee and are approved as to legalify pursuant to the provisions of the Adminisirative Procedures Act,

Tennassee Code Annotated, Title 4, Chapter 5.
<Abar . St

Herbert H. Slglefyil
Attorn eneral and Reporier

2-3 2045
Date
Department of State Use Only
Filed with the Depariment of State on: LI,
t §
Effective on: Y i “4il

7 Tre Hargeft

Secretary of State
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i Department of State
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! Nashwille, TN 37243
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* Email: publications.information@in.gov

Sequence Number:

For Department of State Use Only

Rule ID(s):

File Date:

Effective Date:

Filing Form for Stay of Effective Date on Rules,
Withdrawal of Stay, and Withdrawal of Rules

| Agency/Board/Commission:

University of Tennessee

[ B Division:

Contact Person:

Matthew Scoggins, Deputy General Counsel

Address:

ZIp:

719 Andy Holt Towar. 1331 Circle Park, Knoxville, TN |
37996-0170 e

" Phone:

865-974-3245

Emall:

scoggins@tennessee.edu

Type of Action on Rule:

X Stay of Effective Date of Rules

Notice of Withdrawal of Stay

Notice of Withdrawal of Rules

Rule Filing Date: 01/05/16
Ruie Original Effective Date:  04/04/16
Length of Stay {not to exceed 75 days): 30 days
New Effective Date of Rule Filing:: _05/04/16
Stay Filing Date: (mmydd/yy)
Stay Effective Date: _{mm/ddfyy)
New Effective Date of Rule Filing: _{mmy/dd/yy)
Rule Filing Date: _{mm/dd/yy)
Rule Effective Date: {mm/ddiyv)

Rule{s) (ALL chapters and rules contained in filing must be lisied here. If needed, copy and paste additional
tables to accommodate multiple chapters. Please enter only ONE Ruie Number/RuleTitle per row)

Chapter Number | Chapter Title

1720-01-02 Use of University Property
Rule Number Rule Title

1720-01-02-.05 No-Trespass Noticas
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Date: 2] Z’*/ 2ol

Signawre: Ao
Name of Officer: Mathew Scoqging X
Tite:of Officer: ____ Deguim Genered Comget

Subseribed-dnd sworn{o bafora me on 5’@?&” ME’

Notary Public Signature::

My commission expires on: | /&#fiﬁ

Departmentof State Use Only

Filed with the Department of State-on:

“Tre Hargett
Seeretary of State:
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G.O.C. STAFF RULE ABSTRACT

DEPARTMENT: University of Tennessee

DIVISION:

SUBJECT: The Honor System for University of Tennessee Health
Science Center

STATUTORY AUTHORITY: Tennessee Code Annotated, Section 49-9-209

EFFECTIVE DATES: May 5, 2016 tﬁrough June 30, 2017

FISCAL IMPACT: None

STAFF RULE ABSTRACT: The Honor Code of the University of Tennessee Health

: Science Center (UTHSC) guides students in behaving in a
professional and ethical manner by establishing principles
of appropriate behavior in the classroom, in the laboratory,
and in clinical settings. UTHSC has completed a
comprehensive review of its Honor Code for students,
which included input from students and the UTHSC
Committee on Academic and Student Affairs. As a result of
that review, UTHSC proposes revisicns to its Honor Code.

The proposed revisions change the name of the UAPA rule
from “Honor Code” to “The Honor System.” The term
“Honor System” is a more accurate and complete term that
encompasses the Honor Code, the Henor Code Pledge,
and the procedures for investigating and resolving
allegations of violations of the Honor Code.

The proposed revisions expand the list of specific types of
violations of the Honor. Code in order to comprehensively
establish principles of appropriate behavior in the
classroom, in the laboratory, and in clinical settings.

The proposed revisions also make various changes to the
procedures relating to an alleged Honor Code violation,
including:

(1) Resolving potential ambiguities in the procedure for
reporting suspected violations of the Honor Code;
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(2) Adding e-mail to the methods by which a Notice of
Charge will be sent to an accused student;

(3) Adding a right for the accused student to be assisted
by an advisor who is a UTHSC student or employee,;

(4) Adding a right for the accused student to request that a
hearing panel member be replaced on the grounds of bias;
and

(5) Clarifying issues relating fo an accused student’s class
attendance and grades while an allegation is pending.

The proposed revisions provide each college within
UTHSC with greater flexibility in establishing policies and
procedures governing the membership of each college’s
Honor Council, including eligibility, how members are
elected and removed, how alternates are elected and
removed, how vacancies are filled, and which members
may vote. Such policies and procedures will be published
in the UTHSC student handbook.

All other changes are non-substantive grammatical,
spelling, or structural, or reflect changes to titles of
administrative offices responsible for administering the
Honor Code.
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University of Tennessee Rules
Chapter 1720-03-01 The Honor System

Regulatory Flexibility Addendum
Pursuant tc T.C.A. §§ 4-5-401 through 4-5-404, prior to initiating the rule making process as described in T.C A
§ 4-5-202(a)3) and T.C.A. § 4-5-202{a}, all agencies shall conduct a review of whether a proposed rule or rule

affects small businesses.

The rules are not anticipated to have an effect on small businesses.
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University of Tennessee Rules
Chapter 1720-03-01 The Honor System

Impact on L.ocal Goveraments

Pursuant {o T.C.A. §§ 4-5-220 and 4-5-228 “any rule proposed to be promulgated shall state in a simple
declarative sentence, without additional comments on the merits of the policy of the rules or regulation, whether
the rule or regulation may have a projected impact on local governments.” (See Public Chapter Number 1070
(httpo//state. tn.usises/acts/106/publpc 1070, pdf) of the 2010 Session of the General Assembly)

The rules are not anticipated to have an impact on local governments.
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RULES
OF
THE UNIVERSITY OF TENNESSEE
(HEALTH SCIENCE CENTER)

CHAPTER 1720-03-01
HONOR CODE/THE HONOR SYSTEMCORE

1720-03-01-.01 PREAMBLE AND PURPOSE.

(1) The University of Tennessee Health Science Center {("UTHSC”Y expects and
requires all students to exemplify personal integrity and responsibility in the
classroom, laboratory, clinics, and other academic endeavors. UTHSC also
expects and reguires UTHSC students to interact with patients, colleagues, and
other members of the university community in a professional and ethical
manner, These expectations and requirements provide the foundation for the
TUTHSC Honor System (“Honor System™).

(2) The Honor System is composed of the following:

(a) The Honor Code, Chapter 1720-03-01-.02, which sets forth expected
behaviors in the classroom, laboratories and clinical settings;

(b) The Honor Code Pledge, Chapter 1720-03-01-.03, which all students sign
as a condition of enrollment;

{} Rules relating to the adrm'xﬂstratién of the Honor System, Chapter 1720-
03-01-.04; _

{<I) Rules relating to penalties associated with viclations of the Honor Code,
Chapter 1720-03-01-.05;

{(e) A process for appealing a finding of a violation of the Honor Code,
Chapter 1720-03-01-.06; and

(f) The composifion and functioning of the Collece Honor Councils, Chapter
1720-03-01-.07.

1720-8-1-08— THE HONOR-CODE.

Fa(A DREAMNIT
-7 il S TEF

e The-Henor Code of The Mniversitp-of Tennesseo Health-Seience-Cepterds
promudented so-thatsradent academic-atfairs are conducted-wnder-the
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highest standards ondividuatresponsibility The HeasrCede
prometes-personalhonovand-iptegaibrta-the-best-traditions-ofthe health
selence-professions-The-HoporCode-prometes-acaderic-honesty-and
imtegitp-tn-theclasnropmy-laberatery-elinies-and-other-academie
endeavors: The Honer Codevequires-students-to-uphold-its principles-of
teirness-professionalismrend-ethieal-bebavier-and italso-provides
procedurestoadindicate alleged-riolativns. By-their-plodge-to-subseribe
to-and-aphelbdhis HoaorCoder- - Health-Seience Conter students
assumpe-the-responstbilityfor-the-effective applieation olthe Horor-Code,
ane-theie-ewn-academic and-professionat-henestyandHnteerityStudents
ave-reguizeck-to-sie-the-honoreode pledeeasa-conditionfor envollment
atU T Health-Beienee Gonter:

e (o) ——Eacutyand-statholse-have-nresponsibility-to-partcipate-tnthe
applicatiorrerforeernont-and-procedures-ebthe-Jdonomr-Code:
------ ——— PRI RLES OE- THE-HOMNOK-CODE
{a—— AU Health-Seience Cerder studentsare bound-by-this Honor Code-and

pledge-to-actHnaccordance-with-the highest-prineiples-of-ethical-and
professionadconductheseprincples-condemp-any-aetob dishonor
relating-to-the-acades 'Jrekftm'ea:L,—feﬁe&srs..l.%ﬂ}lﬁ%ﬁ@#@é}f&a}m{—pﬁ)g&:aﬂw-'&-‘E
QiilH-ea-Léhu-%Ei@-Ree—’éeﬁﬂeek%%%'pteérgE%Eaiee:%&%t{;&rw—laﬂte%égéeﬁa
violabon-shall-berepeorted-itraceordaneeyvith-the provisions and
proceciresof- e Hoporade

oot {0 FPhe-prineiples-of - this-Henor Code-applyto-ath

- g . .
] Peverbo s nse st e
L LRSI I M 7t EOR P 0 iy g g e e

2

22— —Qral-werittercor-prackealrepork thatereaparbolastudents
academic-and-research-propram.

B Chricaband-labaratory-oxpedences:

e B Othor studentastivities-relating to-the-seaderrdeelinical, and
reseaveh-programne-af- DT -Health Seienee-Cortber:

— 3 —OLATHONS O THEHOMNOR-CODE

—Aa) —Hisa vielation-ef-the-Honor Code-fora shident o
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——L———Userpiveroryecoive-any-unauthorised-aid-during-ary-fost or
exarinafon-in-the-preporation-oforal-weitea-erpractical
reperts-or-in-clinical-etdaboratory weorlks-that are-a-part ofa
student' sacademieprogram:

—2—m—Reeord-orreport-fravdulent-data-rolaking-to-patient eave, willfuy
necleetelinical vosponsibilities;-or-otherwise compromise-patient
reatment theeueh-lackof professional-dntegrity.

— —3———Plagiarige-—presentanother-person s-wark-as- onels-owas

{3 Falsify-deta-in-sctentificreseareh-and reports:
e Haborate-with-othersinosstened-oub ol dlassaetivitios 4
divections or-metrretons, withler-or-verbal specify-onby

individualapplcaton-and-offortis permitted:

— H——Halsify-aeademic or-chinieal-records:

oo elaietoust ond-falsebv-accuseanstherstadent ofam Borer-Gadse
wioladon:

e G Assistanether stadontn-committing ane-ob the-spocifiod
welations:

2 Eail-toreport avieleHornreasonably believed-to-have beon

coraraitiad:

10— Biscuss-or-reveatconfidentiabinformation-ormatesialsrelatineto
allegations irvrestisations, chayges-and-Honor- Conrt-hearings:

------ Ve Enpagain-othersimilaracts-of dishonesty,

------------------------ {0y Spelents - faculby-stoff-andfor-test admdinistratorsrustteport observed
viglations-to-armomber-of-the-collepe-HonorCownetb-tnaccordarcawith
HenerCode-procedures:

+ Any-atleged-vislntionunder-Aoticle H-Sechon-At-ov-Ael-tRule
P7-3-1-01 @ a2 o4t shalb-be imumedintely-reparted-by-the
Presidentor-Faculty Advisorofthe Honor Couneil-to-the-prinetpal

clintelar-erinvestigatorafter-the-allegod-vielatoris received:

e (e — Sspicions-Ackvity- someone-withesses-suspicious-behevier- but ds
wrcertain-ofa-Hloner-Lode violation the-person-mayinformatly-report
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the behavdior-to-a-eollege Honer-Geouneill-member, The-HonerCouneil
rrembes-willcounselwith-the suspected-studentand-adidse-thestadent
that-such-actions-are-suspicieus-and A continved - mey-lead-to-a-formal
complairt-AHoror Conneil member-recoiving -a-teport-ef-puspicions
behaviermustnotify-theHonor-Lovncll- Prosident-before-comseling the
sbaclert:

-------- ) ADMINISTRATION O THE HOMOR CODE

(a)—— PARTICIPANTS

~tr - STUDENTS:- Fhe-Heonor Gode-pledge-is-stgned by alstudents
enroted-abthe-Ui-Fealth-Seienee-Conter—Thissigned-pledpe-isa
studentsplodee-ob-honesty-andintegrity—The pledee-oblisatesthe
studentto-supportthe-cthics-and-provisions-ot-the-UT Flealth
Seience-Lenter Honer-Codeand to-perticipate-in-its-procedures
and-achoRs:

g

FACHERCAMNB STAER The-faculty and staft parbelpate-in-the
Honer Codeby-endesingand-supporting-the-prineiples-of-the
ode-and-brapphine it roles-and-procedures:

3

APMINISRATION: Offices relatingto-stndentafiabs-are
sesponsible-for-provicing-advico fo-studertsresarding Honor
Codeprocedures.

R T E W uTE S &

L Hoetaltsr acdiomyaa bo oo inere Bdoan oy e
by L A e AR = R a = =

Heneor-Code-by-providingadviccand-counsel to-Menor
ounecil-membersresardingrulesproceduresand-the
appropriate-methods-of administering-the-roles and
procedures:

1l 2
SOOI = PR SR P P e

(i} The-Office-of Stadent-hife provides advieo and ovienmton

to-College-Honor-Gouneilmembersy faculty advisorsand
sthepsbadents:

s U Health-Seience Corter-Registrar{1)-makes

avaitlable-fo-each-new-studenta-printed-copyoftho-Honor
Code-priorto-metrieraton (D-msuresthat-the- Henor
Codepledgedo-signed-by-eachnew shidentand-Biretaing
the-signed-Honor Code-pledge-asa-part-of-cach-student’s
efffeial file:

el HONOR COUNCHS QR FHE COLLRGES: Bach collepadas-an
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Honer Couneithat-funetionsunder the rules delineateddnthis
Hener-Code—Alleped-vislations-ef-the-Henor Codeare proecessed
by-the-Honor Couneilof the-college-in-which the-alleged-vielation
oecurred:

1720-03-01-.02 THE HONOR CODE.

(6N UTHSC students must exhibit personal integrity and responsibility and conduct

themselves in a professional and ethical manner with respect to:

(a}

The classroom, includine without mdtation:

(b}

L

Tests and examinations;

2 Oral, written, and practical reports and assignments in a student’s
academic or research program;

3, The use of electronic technology: and

4, Classroom requirements set by UTHSC, a college within UTHSC

(“Coliege™), or a UTHSC faculty member,

Laboratory work, including without limitation;

{c}

1. Completing individual and group assignments;

2. Reporting laboratory resulfs;

3. Acknowledging contributions froﬁi other individuals and sources;
and

4. Laboratory requirements set by UTHSC, a College, or a faculty

membet.

Clinical work, including without limitation;

1. Attendance and participation in clinical teams;
2. Use of patient records; '.

3. Timely completion of reports;

4, Patient care; and
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5. Clinical work requirements set by UTISC, a College, or a facully

member.
() Section 02(1) shall be referred to as the “Honor Code.”
(3} Violations of the Honor Code include, without limitation:

{a)

Using, receiving, or providing unauthorized assistance or possessing

(b)

unauthorized information or materials: during tests, examinations,
academic assienments, or scholarship; in the preparation of oral, written,
or practical reports; or in clinical or laboratory work in the student's
academic or research program.

Recording or reporting fraudulent data relating to patient care, willfully

{c)

neglecting clinical responsibilities, or otherwise compromising patient
treatment through a lack of professional integrity.

Plagiarizing_ {presenting another person's ideas, words, projects,

(d)

creations, or work as the student's own).

Falsifving, fabricating, or misrepresenting data, laboratory  resulis,

(e)

research resulis, citations, or other information in connection with
academic assignments ar clinical, field, or laboratory records.

Substituting for another student or have another student substituting for

{f)

oneself to take an exam or perform an academic, laboratory, clinical, or
field assignment,

Collaborating with others in assipned out-of-class activities, laboratory

(g}

work, field work, scholarship, or other academic assigrunent when the
instructions reguire individual effort.

Altering grades, answers, marks, or documents in an effort to change

(h)

academic records, the earned erade, or credit.

Submittine without authorization the same assignment for credit in more

(1)

than one course.

Forging a sipmature or allowing forpery on any class- o university-

()

related document, such as a class roll or drop/add sheet. Such forgeries
could involve false identification by electronic, paper, or other means.

Failing to follow a faculty member’s instructions about the integrity of an

exam or academic assignment,
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{k) Engaging in an activity that unfairly places another student at a
disadvantage, such as taking, hiding, or altering resource material or
manipulating a grading system.

() Maliciously and falsely accusing another student of violating the Honor
Code,

{m)  Assisting another student in violating the Honor Code.

() Failing to report to UTHSC in a timely manner one’s reasonable belief
that another person has vielated the Honor Code.

{0} Discussing or revealing confidential information or materials relating to
allegations, investigations, charges, or hearings of a College Honor
Council or the University Honor Court.

() Engaging in unauthorized or inappropriate distribution or use of course

materials  (e.g., podcasts/lecture recordings), including without
limitaton

1. Sharing maierials with individuals not enrolled in the UTHSEC

course;
2. Posting lectures or portions of lechures to external sites;

3. Creating clips for online video repositories; and

4, Posting_recordings of patient encounters in simulated or actual
clinical settings.

Q) Engaging in other similar acts of academic dishonesty.
H720-3 L) PROCEDLRES AN HEARINC OPTIOME.

ey PROCEDURE FOR-RERORTING-ALLEGED- VIOLATIONS

——(a——A-complaintasaipstany-shudentmay-be-fled-byastudentfaculiyor

stat-rember observingasuspectecviolationEach-complaintnvast-be
witer-and signed-by-the-aeensersmd- presested-to-am—rrember-eof-the
appropriate-Honer-Counecth

(o) Signed-complaints-are-giver-or-forwarded-to-the college Honer-Couneil

fp?&f‘rié@ﬂ%—aﬂd—ﬁh%u—ﬂfr@%-b@-»d«i-ﬁ@u@ﬁ@@v%‘ﬁ-‘&h@ﬂﬂ%ﬁ&ﬁf@ﬁﬂ&%
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e e -stgned - complaint-of one individual s safficient-fo-initiate-an
wvestgation-of-chargo{s)againctashudent

i G e president o the Honev-Gonneil-appoits-a-council- mamber-to
investigatealleged-dolation-ofthe Honer Code-The-tnvestgater
investipatesthe-facts of the-alleged-violation(s)-1f the-investgator-finds
probable causeto-believe that-a-vielaton-has beerreommnitiac the
wvestgator recommendsisswinga-Potico-ob-Charge—The-presidentupon
the-recommmendation-ofthe-investigatordssuesa Notice of Chavge to-the
acensed-The-MNotice-of- Chargedssentlo-thenceuseddacoehlied -matk—H

thednvestigator-determines-there-ds-norolationr-theallegalionis
hisrrissed

s (Y e tdenbib-of the-porson(s) whe-reporied the-allegationis-condidlential
throughout-the-indtat vestigakion-In-the-eventthata-Motee of- Charge
is-issuedthe-neensedHsnotified-of the name(s) of theaeenser{s)-upon

reguest
- &2 Adlegations-nvestigations,-eharses-and-Heonor Courthearingsare

sovdidential

— e —Role-of-the bvestgator

b Jponreceiptofa-sipned-complaint-the-college Honor Counetd
presidentappoiican-davesigater-wha-ds-charged-with
pveshgatng-the-allogation:

_—_— 2 —Fhe-trvestizater-malesarecommencationto-thecollege Honew
Council prosidentwithinseven{d-riversiboworking-days-alter
the-dnvestizatorreceivestheassiprmend-to-byvvestieate-the
attlesaton-The-investpatodsreport, cithereralorwaritton,
recorrrendswwhether-aformaleharge of violatiorshould be
issued bi-the Honor Cewnetbpresident. The investigation-pevtad
i-advisoryand netmandatory-dus-toncdministrative closings,
hebidays-end-class-sehedules:

e o Phe-ireeestizoter-is responsible for-prosecating-eharge(s) belore
theLollepe-or-University Honor-Cowrt if-the neeusedreguests-a
Henor Code-bhearingAe-counettmember doesnotveote-irany
proceedings-for which-the-memberserved-asthe dnvestigater:

e (e B GHES AR OCED U RES- O THE ACCHSED
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e Dlotiee-of-ChargeA studontcharged-withr-a-rolabon-ofthe Honor Code
receives-writter-natice-of charge(s)stoting-tho-following:

- 1 F}“i”u_’ sybnmes ok 3k T aaepe fes)
o 3 SR RSO el i o L s s T

—— e The-possible penattdes:

— 3 Thesight to-a-heartngifthe-student-contests-the chavsels}-or
aeheds

e The-nene-andaddressof the person-te-whem-a-request-fora
heoaring-should be-direeted:

b B A ghpternent-incicating-that a request-fora-hearingmusk-berrade
within-Hve (5)-Baiversity-worldne-dayy-ofreceiptof-thisnotiee:

- {by Brocechuze-tor-the Aecused:

e Olnveceipt-of-the-Nobice b Chavpe-the-aceused-stdentmwithin
five-{3)- Uadversity-svorldne-days, must respend-te-the college
Heoner Council-president-indicating-either

——{—taintentto-plead-guiltyto-the-vielatenand wilingness
reraccept-the-penalb-assizned-by-the-Beany-or

{34} A-denial-of-the-charge-and-mdicating o doshe-tomake-an
appeat-ofthe-charge-wnder-one-of the following hearing
OpEORE o

- th——Hniforon-Admindstrative-Procedures-AcHUARAY,

(11 EAPIN P2V oo ok
ey R A A A S A [wa =
(HB—niversity Honor Court

e The studentwhe-does-notraspordHnwrtting-within-Hve-(5)
Yaiversity-work-days—waives the-ophonobhaving thecase-heard
ra-Collesaar-Upiversiyr Honor Courb-and-the-chassesvith be
adjudicatod-under theprovisions of-the HARA:

3 Rich
0 P

a-ob-thp-Aceteandd
S-od-ERP—Pre eSS

e {F) e Phe-ghudord-hasasdghito a-hearing in-aceordence-with-the
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contested-caseprovisions-of-the-Uniform-Adyainistrative
Frocedures-Aet-fUARAY, TEA-§8-4-5-30thvough4-5-325
Thehearing will be-held-under-the-provisions of-the
HARA--the-absonce-of o-voluntary-weritten-walver-of-this
stght-iithe-studentwaives the righit-toa hearing under
AP A the-hearing-will-be-held-Hrneeordance-with-the 1 F
Health-Betence-CGenter Heoner-Counel-Hearing procedures
J-it‘f’eeel»tmdeaf—--A-}'-ﬁeie—\%l,—kiea%ﬁ%g—%e&u%@pﬁeﬂﬁél—a—ﬁd—\%:
[Rule 372034048 (o) Zanet 34

i} For UARA-Hearings;-studoris-may-bereprosented by
Legal-Gounsel—The-ophon-to-obiain-Lesal-Counsel-ds-at-the
stuclents-expense—tireprosontaion-by-legal CounselHs
desired; the student-muskprovide notice-efintent-to-be
represertecd-by-Counseleoncurrent et therequest-for-the
BARA-hearing—-in-College Honor Cowrtand University
HonerCowt-hearings,shadents-may notbe represented by
legal-connseh

------------------------------------------- (-l Cellece Honor Courtand Untversivy-Fonop ot
heamngs-the- College Honor Council President ov-the
Director-ebbSiudent-Litewill makeavailablo-bs-anaccused
shaclentbarradviser-fotudentfoeuls-orstath)
lnewdedeeable ofHthe Honeov Codeand-hearing
procodiresTheadvisorwilbbeavailableto the-aceused
prior-to-anc-during-the hoariae

— ) HEARING-COURTORHGNS

(af—Awrraceusedbstudent-whowrishes-to-have o hearing ona-charge-hag-a
choiee-of hearing-opHons:

+ Uriform Adrainistrative Procodures- et ARPAY Thisact
provides-studentsa-hearingwader-the Stete-of- Ternessee
mandaterp-hearing option:-A-heasing-under Hris-Jow-is-held by a
hearing-officerappointed-by-the- Vice Prosident-for Health-Adfakes
of Ut Health Science-Centor, The-Office-of-General Counselwill
proseente the-charge in I ARA hearings-even-if-the-accused
studentis nobrepreserded-by-lepal-counsel-his hearing
procedure is-usedin-theabsence-ef-a-volurdary writkensvabrorof
thisright:

: Gollege Honor Coust-HEach-UT-Heslth-Seience Centercollepe-has
an-HeorerConrt-Rules-ef-mremborship assemblp-quorerrand

¥
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voting-are-definad-tn-cach-eellege's addendum—Adl-proceedings
of-the-college-Honor Court-headngfollow-the procedures
deseribeckin-the -Hener-Code-and--the respechive-college
addlendum-The-college-Henor Council presidentis-responsible
foradministering-the-hearing - including selecting-the-date;
appointing-the-HonerCowrt-pancl-notfying alb parties- and
recordingand-malnainmgrecords-of the-eollege-Honer-owt
hearinge—ThoselecHon-ond-pervica-of-the-collepe-Honor-GCousk
members-shalHollowthe-gutdelines-and procoduresstnted-fn-the
respeetive-college Honor Covrtadddendwrn-Members-ofthe-panel
shall-be-trmpartial-and-members-whe-believe-they-eannot-be
ipartialshall reense themeelves fromservine onthe panek-The
pecused-studeptmay request-theremovalof-anv-paaebmember
hefshe-thivde-mightnotbedmparbalDPeeistonsforsuchremoeal
will-be-made by-the-college-Henor Gourt-president.

Boene—thnbvessity-Honor CourtThe-pancl shall-be-corapesed-ef-students
reom-altcollepesatthe UT Health Seience-enterEach-college
pominates-two-Honor-Cownelbmembers-to-the Haiversibe-Honor
Court-pool-The -Director of StudentLifewillappoiptsoven {7
hearmepanehmemberss-from-a-pool-of nomineeswith-atleast
wwo-(Epatelmembersfrowm-the college-eb the-aseused-~
chabrperser-veill-be-selected - Fromthe-panelomdnill be
responsible-for-conductngthe-hearing-Membess-of the panel
shall-betmpastial-and-members who believe theveannotbe
mnpartiat shallreeuse-themaelvesfrom-serving on-the panel—the
aeeused-studentmay-request-the-rermeoval-ef-anv-penel-member
hetshe-thinks ught notbedmparbial-DPecisions-torsuch-remewal
wilbbernadeo by the Chelrpersorrofthe-Hearng Court-or-by-the
Birector-of Student-Life—The Direclor-ob Shudent - Lite-or-designes
willberespensible-for-maldnp-theappropriate-arrangements-aad
nrotifyineeall-parbes-of the Hme date and-place-of the-hearing-The
Dipector-of-Student Life or desipnee shellolso-berespensible-for
taperecording-the-hearingsondramintadning thevecovds of-the
University-FHeonoer Cowrt hearings.

e e i elines For Hloner-Court Hearings Thefolovdng-guidelines-shall
apphy-te-Colege-and-Universtty Honor Cowrthearbags:

e e e —— T hearing-is-held-as-soon-as possiblefollowing-receiphof-the
aceused-reguestfora-hearingunderthe-Honor Code-srsters:

e 2 Theaeeused-has-therishi-to-be presontatall imes-during the
hearing;-exeept-dusingthe-deliberation ofthe-Henor Court-andis
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affordeda-fudlancfair-opportunity-to-present-atl-cvidence;
ineludingwwitnesses, reasonably-relatingto-the-charga oraction-at
wsue—Evidence-thatHs-irrelevand tmmateralrepeliious ot
cwnulaive-may-belimtted—fudicial rules-of evidence-and
procedure-de-nabapply-

S -~ + " g I 1
investeater-nnd-FHeonorCourt-mermbers-hove the

stehito-guestion-albwibnesses:

Anappropriaterecorddomade obthe-heating procedures-
Hernvever-defects-in the record-deo-notinvalidate the-proceedings:
tA-tape-reeording syster-is-available-and shoudd bewsed):

—————— - 5———Theircoskgator-has-the responsibiibrof proving-bya
prependerance-of-the-evidenee, the-rath-of-the-charse(s)-at iosue:

& A-rapjority vete-ofthe panelisvequived-forany-decision:

A pm——Eotewing-the-concluston-ob-the-hearngthe hearing panel
considers-the-evidence-and-preserts-wiitterctindines conchwions;
anc-reconunondationsto-the-dearrof-the-college insvhick-the
wiolatonocoumeds

- ———Afrentbememberavith-be-netitled-of-the-outeorne-ofaryHonor
Codebvestoation-or-hearng-iftheywere-anneenserorwitness
inptha-prakier;

LY
Ry

~Penalties-for-violating-the UT Health-Belence Cenler-Honor-Code-aze
assiened-by-therespective-collepe Dean-Penaliies-may-bo probation;
suspension-dismissal-oran-otheracion-deemed appropriste by-the
eean-of the college-i-which-the wielation BQ%%%}E—‘FL@ﬁO’ CG&H%%
smake-advisory recommendations er-sugeestions to-the doa
%ﬁ%&@ﬁ%@q&eﬂée——aI‘}d»%e%-efﬁ}’—%}fukhL%ﬁkﬂ&hﬁ?ﬂ@ﬂ‘&

/.
\‘r

p)— - The Dearrwill delermine the-penaliy-to-be-assigned, it the-acensed s
tound-guilty. The Dean-considers-the-ovidence, verition fnedings,
conetusions, and rocoranendations-of-the-Heoner Court in detormining a
punishinent

P
¢

.

€} TheDeanmusbrespond-with-n-deeisionwithin 10 Universibwesking
daps-ofrecoiptobthe-hearing court-deetsion—trtnstonees-hwhich-the
Bean-trunavaikble-a-desiprecavill- be-appointed:
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By APPRALS

e The-accused-may-appeat-theacton-of-the Dean-by-submitting anvappeal;
it -to-the-Viee Presidentfor Health-Affoirg-within 10 -days-of
receiptof-the-decision-of-the-Pean- Where-a-charpeis-fornd to-be-lruey-the
studentcharged-has-the burden-of proving thatthe-diseiplinery-acton
proposed-is-urzeasonable;

¥ Any-appeal-to-the-\dee Presidentfor Health-Adfairs can be-only-for
the-penalty-nssigned-by-the-Dean. The-deeision-of-the Hemor
Cotrtean-not beapponied-to-the Mice-Presidentfor Health-AHates:

R

TheVice-President for Bealth-Odfaire-oe-designee, must respondwitho
dectsionwithinfen (L Universisworkme days-of the reguestfor-the
appeal

—_—
g

1720-03-01-.03 THE HONOR CODE PLEDGE.

1 All UTHSC students must sign the following pledge (“Honor Code Pledge”)
within two {2) weeks of the start of clagses:

I have read carefully the provisions of the Honor Code of the University of
Tennessee Health Science Center and fully understand its meaning and
sientificance, and I agvee to gbide by the Honor Code while a student enroiled at
this instibution and agree to accept all of its implications without reservation.

{2) A student's signature under Section .03(1) Vindicates the student's pledge of
personal integrity and responsibility and professional and ethical conduct and
obligates the student to comply with the UTHSC Honor Code and the UTHSC

Honor System.

1720-3-1-03—HOMOR-COUMNCLE - REPORTE AND ABMMENDRENTS,

(1} COLLEGE-HOMNOR COUNCILS

_ {a} -Compostiorrand - Fleettons: Thecomposition of the-Henesowret-anel
the-procedure for-election-of-the Honer Council- members-officersave
cetermined by cach-collese-Information describing-the-college-couneils
provisiensis-provided-in-the-Addenda:

—{B-Oficersof the Floner Couneils:

Electons-Each-Honor Council eleets officors from-Homemboers-for

H
e
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the-following offices—president svies-presidentand seeretary:

s {iy——ProsidentThe-president-{a)-presidesatallmectngs-of the
HenorCounetly-(b)-arranges for-the-heasing of avy-aceused
stedentyund-(o) performs-other-duties-as-speeitiod-in-Has
Henor Code:

(i) Mee-president—Thevice-presidentassurmes-the-chulos-of
the-presicentin-that-otficer’ sabsence:

B A i i ——Seerery-The-seeretary-(a) manages-the correspondenea-of
the Henor-Counctl- (b} notifies-allmembersof Honos
Couneil-moetings;{c)records-attendance abmestinesand
{keepsrecords-ofadlnectngs:

the-Councilbmembers-for-thefollowingvensons:

A Absence-from-Pra-eonseettive treetinesofthe Hopor Counetl:
—2———Fadlure-to-fulfitbresponsibilifiesfnaccordanee-veith-this-Heownor
_— — P Macameies-n-an- HonorCovneib-are-filled-in-aceordance with-colleserales

and-regulations governingelecion-obraermbers:
i) Az epe e Dities-of-the-Honer Cormeil:

e s e e Py aebppinister-the-Honer Godethe Honor Councllbments-ab least
enceshurno-the-firsbmonthof cach falllermand-thoreattoratiss

— e idhel-herings-oballeged-Holaions:
— 33— —Keeps adequaterecords-of-all-hearings thatresultdrom-allesed

vielatens-of-the-Heoror Code-and reporis-Hndingsto the Director
of-Shtdertlife.

— -t Ropvrerals-Hncingsand recommendotions-in-Honer Codeviolaton
proceedings to-the Dean of-the-college-

i iR O HE e ddornaion-containe d-in-thir Henor Lode-ds

prosaalgated-diseussed and-made readily-avaitable-to-all
students ofthe-colage.
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REPORT S

——~
Tl

A -lnformationregarding-the-number efalleged - Honer-Codeviolations;
hearingu-and-decisionsresuling fromr these-heavings-must-be kept by
Henos Cownctlpresidents-and-reperted-to-the- Directorof Student Life-at
the-end-of each-neademic-ferpn

&5 AMEMNDMENTS

e {a} A proposed-arnendmentbo-this Henor Code-shall be-presested-tnseriting
to-the Presideat-efeach- Ut Health-Sciencs Center-Henor-Counetl:
Femendment-must-beapproved-bya-majerifrvete-ofthe-Council efeach
eotlere and-by-the-College Honor Council Presidents,prior-to-submiting
to-the- SGARC-the L-MHealth-Seterce- Center Chancelor-and-the
Umniversity’s-Boavd-of Trustess:

— B pprevedamendments-to-a-colloge addendumshall be-presentedHn
wrtbing-to-the-Presidentot-the-Heoner-Cownetl ot -the-college-affected-by
the-proposed-amencdment and need-onbyto-beapproved-by-amajorify
wote-of thatcollege-Honor-ouncil- Uporrapprovaland concurrence by
the-college Pean—the atendment-shall- be-submitted-tothe Chancallor
and-to-the-Lhndeersiiy’s Board of Trustees:

—————{a}y - Bache-bi-Fealth Seienee-Conter-shudent-befoye-matriculaton o during
thenew-stadentoricntalon-peviod-is-required-to-sigathe tollerding
pledgetthaveread carofully the Henov Code-of The University of
Tennessee-Health-Setence- Center-and-fullyuaderstond s-meantng
significance-andappheaten—tapreeto-abide-by-this Hener-Codewehilen
stuclentin-this-nstitutiop-andngree-to-acceptatlofHsdmplcations
withoutreservation®

[T

R el
= o e (o

bocial-Security-Mumber——————College

1720-03-01-.04 ADMINISTRATION OF THE HONOR SYSTEM.

{1} Responsibility and Procedures for Reporting Violations.
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(2

(2)

UTHSC students, faculty, staff, and/or test administrators must timely

{b)

report a reasonable belief that a student has violated the Honor Code, in
accordance with the procedures outhined in Section .04{1)(b¥2).

{c)

The procedures for reporting a viclation of the Honor Code are as
follows: '

1. Informal Notification,  Faculty, staff, students, and/or test
administrators who become aware of suspicious behavior but are
unceriain, whether the behavior violates the Honor Code may
nformally report the behavior to a Collese Honor Council
member.  The Honor Council member must notify the Honor
Council president and then advise the suspected student that such
actons are suspicious and, if continued, may lead to a formal

complainit,

2 Formal Complaints.  Faculty, staff, stadents, and/or test
administrators who reasonably believe that a student has viclated
the Honor Code must file a formal complaint against the stadent.
A formal complaint is written and signed by the person alleging
that a student has violated the Honor Code. A formal complaint is
presented to a member of the appropriate College Honor Council.
A formal complaint by one individual is sufficient to initiate an
investigation against a student, Sighed complaints shall be
forwarded to the College Honor Council president and shall not
be discussed with other students.

The president or faculty advisor of the College Honor Council must

immediately report any alleged violation of the Honor Code {under
Section .0LbY2)) 1o the faculty member/clinical supervisor /researcher at
the site where the alleced violation occurred {assuming that the allegation
was not initiated by this individual}.

Responsibilities for Administering the Honor System.

(a) UTHSC offices relating to student affairs are responsible for providing
oidance to students recarding Honor System procedures,
(b) A representative of each College will discuss the Honor System with

entering students during orientation and ensure that they sign the Honor
Code Pledge. The siened pledge will be sent to the Registrar’s office and
becomes a part of the student’s official UTHSC file.
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(3)

{c)

Colleges are responsible for informing students of an appropriate style

(4

manual for citations.

Each Coilege has an Honor Council composed of current students that

(®)

functions as a body for hearing cases of alleged violations of the Heonor
Code. UTHSC also has a University Honor Court composed. of College
Honor Council members. The University Honor Court also serves as a
hearing body for Honor Code violation cases,

49

Paculty advisors to College Honor Councils provide guidance to College
Honor Council members regarding rules, procedures, and the
appropriate methods of administering the Honor System.

The Office of Vice Chancellor for Acadefnic, Faculty and Student Affairs

(2)

{(“VCAFSA”) provides guidance and orientation to College Homor
Council members, faculty advisors, and other students.

Any proposed change to the Honor System shall be presented in writing

()

to the president of each College’s Honor Council, A majority vote of each
College Honor Council and the College Honor Council presidents must
approve changes before they are submitted to the Student Government
Association Executive Commitiee, the UTHSC Chancellor, and the
University of Tennessee Board of Trustees for approval.

Changes to a College Honor Council's procedures shall be presented in

writing to the College’s Honor Council president and must be approved
by a majority vote of the College’s Honor Council. Upon approval and
concurrence by the Dean of the College, the change shall be submitted to

‘the Chancellot for approval.

Procedures for Handling Alleged Viclations of the Honor Code.

(a)

Upon receipt of a formal complaint, the president of the College Honor

{b)

Council appoints a College Honor Council member to investigate and
determine the facts of the alleged violation(s). The student investigator
shall make an oral or written recommendation to the Collece Honor
Council president concerning whether the president should issue a notice
accusing a student of violating the Honor Code (“Notice of Charge™). A
seven (7) university business day investigation period is recommended
but is not mandatory.

If the student investigpator determines that a preponderance of the

evidence does not support a finding that a viclation of the Honor Code
occurred, then the student investigator will recommend that the president
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4)

(c)

dismiss the formal complaint. The president will review the student
investigator’s factual findings and assess the appropriateness of this
recommendation. If the president agrees that a preponderance of the
evidence does not support a finding that a violation of the Honor Code
occurred, then the president will dismiss the formal complaint,

If the student investicator concludes that a preponderance of the

(d)

evidence supports the allegation, then the student investigator will
recommend the president issue a Notice of Charge. The president will
review the investigator's factual findings and determine whether to
accept the recommendation. If the president concludes that a
preponderance of the evidence supports the allegation that the student
committed a Honor Code violation, then the president shall send the
accused student a Notice of Charge in accordance with Section 04(4).
The president shall also send a copy of the Notice of Charge fo the
VCAFSA.

The identity of the person(s} who reported the alleration is confidential

throushout the student investizator’s investication. If a Notice of Charge
is issued, then the accused student will be notified of the name{s) of the
accusecr(s) npon request to the president of the College Honor Council,

Notice to the Accused Student and the Resnohse from the Accused Student,

{a)

A student chareed with viclating the Honor Code shall be given a Notice

of Charge(s) that states the followinyg;

1. Factual basis of the charge(s);

2. The penalties that could be recommended to the Dean. of the
student’s College;

3. The student’s richt to a hearing if the student coniests the

charge(s) and/or proposed penalties;

4. The name and address of the person to whom a request for a
hearing should be directed;

5, A statement indicatine that a request for a hearing must be made
within seven ({7} university business days of the date that the
Netice of Charge was sent; and

6. A statement indicating the right to consult with a faculty advisor
recommended by the College,
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(b}

The accused student must respond to the Notice of Charge in writing

(©

within seven (7} university business davs of the date the Notice of Charge
was sent. The accused student’s response must indicate either:

1. That he/she acknowledges a violation of the Honor Code and
agrees to accept the penalty imposed by the Dean; or

2. That he/she denies violation of the Honor Code and requesis a
hearing to contest the charge(s) under one of the hearing options
outlined in Section .04(5).

If the accused student does not respond to the Notice of Charge in

{d)

writing within seven (7) university business days of the date the Notice of
Charee was sent, then the accused student will be found responsible for
the charges indicated in the Notice of Charge and a penalty will be
imposed by the Dean of the student’s College.

A Notice of Charge will be sent to a student by:

(e)

i. .S, mail or courier service to the address UTHSC s Repistrar has
on file for the student, in which case the notice is effectively sent
upon mailine or delivery to the courier service; and

2. Electronic means (e.¢., e-mail) to the student’s UTHSC e-mail
account, in which case the notice is effectively sent upon
transmission.

In computing a period of time that is referenced in the Honor Systein, the

dav of the event that fricrered the period is excluded, and the last day of
the period is included unless the last day of the period is a Saturday,

Sunday, or legal holiday, in which case the period continues to run until
the end of the next day that is not a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday.

{5 Hearing Options and Guidelines. An accused student who wants to contest a

charge has the following hearing options:

(a)

UAPA Hearing, If it is reasonably likely that the penaity of suspension or

axpulsion will be imposed if the accused student is found responsibie for
violating the Honor Code, then the accused student has a right to a
hearing under the University of Tennessee’s rules for conducting
contested cases under the Uniform Administrative Procedures Act,
Chapter 1720-01-05 (“UAPA Hearing”). In accordance with Chapter 1720-
01-03, whenever an accused student who is enfitled to a UAPA hearing
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{b)

requests a hearing, that hearing will be conducted in accordance with
Chapter 1720-01-05 unless the accused student executes a waiver of right
to proceed under Chapter 1720-01-05 and elects a_hearing under Section
04(BY(bY or Secton .04{5)c). An accused student who elects a UAPA
hearing shall have no right to be heard on the same matter in a College
Honor Council hearing or a University Honor Court hearing,

College Honor Council Hearing. This hearing is held by members of the
College Honor Council from the accused student’s College. The
composition of the College Honor Councils is set forth in Section .07.
College Honor Council hearings shall be conducted in accordance with

the following guidelines:

1. A hearing panel is convened from among the members of the
College Honor Council.
2. The president of the College Honor Council serves as the chair of

the hearing panel. The president of the College Honor Council
may_appoint another member of the College Honor Council to
serve as the chair of the hearing panel if the president is
unavailable,

3. The hearing should be scheduled as soon as possible folowing
receipt of the accused student’s request for a hearing,

4, At least fve (5) calendar days before the hearing, the student
investigator should provide the acrused and the College Honor
Council hearing panel with- all documents the investigator
reasonably anticipates presenting during the hearing,

5. Both the accused student and the student investigator have the
tight to request the participation of witnesses. Any individual
who is a member of the UTHSC community (student, faculty or
staff member} is expected to participate if such a request is made.
If a witness is unable 0 participate for some reason, the accused
student or the student investigator may ask the witness to provide
a written statement documenting the witness’ knowledge of the
case. Then, the hearing panel will determine whether to consider
the written statement as evidence, balancing the potential value of
the information with the fact that the witness will not be
guestioned as part of the hearing process.

6. If he/she feels that a member of the College Honor Council may
be biased, the accused student mav request that the member be
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replaced by an alternate. Decisions for such removal will be made
by the president of the Collere Honor Council in consultation
with the faculty advisor to the College Honor Council. Unresolved
disputes regarding such requests will be resolved by the
YVCAFPSA.,

7. Before the hearing, the College Honor Council hearing panel
should meet to review the documentation, determine which (if
any) wimesses should be invited to participate, discuss the
procedure for the hearing, and determine the date of the hearing.
After the details have been settled, the president/chairperson
should schedule the hearing, inviting the accused student, his/her
advisor, the student investigator, and witnesses as appropriate.

8. The student investigator will present the charge(s) to the hearing

panel.
9. The accused student has the right to attend all parts of the formal

hearing except the deliberation of the hearing panel. In addition,
the accused has the right 1o question all withesses and is afforded
a full and fair opportunitv to present all evidence, including
witnesses, reasonably relating to the charee or action at issue. The
accused student may have one (1) advisor present. This advisor
shall be a member of the UTHSC community (e.g. a student,
faculty or staff member) but shall not be an attorney. The advisor
is_allowed to provide advice to the accused student durine the
hearing but is not allowed to guestion any witness or hearing
panel member, introduce evidence, raise objecHons, present
arguments, or otherwise participate in the hearing,

10. College Honor Council heatings are not open to the public; family
members, suppotters and any other interested party who is not an

advisor to the accused student will be provided with a waiting
area but are not allowed to listen to, or otherwise participate in,
the formal hearing.

11. Evidence that is irrelevant, immaterial, repetitious, or cumulative
mayv be limited, Tudicial rules of evidence and procedure do not

apply.

12. Allegations, investigations, charges and hearing records are
confidential and shall be ireated as student records that are
protected by federal privacy laws (i.e., the Family Educational
Rights and Privacy Act of 1974 - FERPA).
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13,

A verbatim record shall be made of the hearing procedures.

14,

However, defects in the record do not invalidate the proceedings.

After the hearing, the Collepe Honor Council hearing panel will

15,

congider the evidence and present written findings, conclusions,
and recommendations of possible penallies to the Dean of the

College in which the viglation occurred. The faculty advisor to the
College Honor Council may attend these deliberations but should
only provide advice on proc_edurai issues,

At least five (5) College Honor Council members are required for

16.

a guorum. A majority vote of the hearing panel is reguired for
any decision. The student investigator does not vote,

A finding of responsibility requires that the truth of the charge(s)

17.

at issue be supported by a preponderance of the evidence. The
student investigator has the burden of proof.

I the verdict is that the student did not violate the Honor Code,

18.

then the Notice of Charege is dismissed and no penalty is imposed
on the accused student.

Irrespective of the outcome of the hearing, all documents and

19,

recordings related to the case shall be transferred to the Office of
Student Affairs as part of the official student file.

The president/chairperson shall notify the accused student, Dean

of the Collese, the student investigator, and the Office of Student
Affairs of the outcome of the case.

() University Honor Court Hearing. The University Honor Court is

composed of students from all Colleges at UTHSC, Each College

nominates two (2} College Honor Coundil members to the University

Honor Court pool. For each hearing, the VCAFSA will appoint a hearing

panel of seven (7) members from the pool of nominees with at least two

(2)_panel members from the College of the accused student. The VCAFSA

will select a chairperson from the panel members for the hearing,

University Honor Court hearings shall be conducted in accordance with

the same guidelines outlined in Section .04(5)(b).

(" Enrollment of Students During the Notice of Charge and Hearing.,

{a) Normally, an accused student may continue attending classes after the
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issuance of a Notice of Charge, assiwming that the case does not extend for
more than one (1) complete academic term after the alleged violaton
occurred, Should the case continue into the next academic term, the
Grades for courses taken during that term will be listed as “T”
(incomplete} until the case is finally adjudicated, converting to the grade
earned if the finding of the hearing panel is that the student did not
violate the Honor Code. If the student is found responsible for violating
the Honor Code, the Dean of that student’s Collese will determine the
type of penalty to impose, which could include denying credit for courses
attended while the case was being adjudicated. Depending on individual
circumstances, students who are involved i clinical training when a
Notice of Charge is filed may not be able to continue their clinical
activities. The Dean {or designee) from the student’s College will decide
whether the student can continue attending clinical training while the
case is being adjudicated. If a case extends into a second academic term
following the issuance of a Notice of Charge, then the accused student
will normally not be allowed to continue coursework until the case has
been resolved,

{(b) I an accused student leaves the University prior to the resolution of the
case, the College Honor Council president shall send a letier to the Dean
describing the accusation and stating the case was not resolved before the
accused’s departure from school. A copy of this letter with all
accompanying documents related to the case shall be forwarded to the
Office of Student Affairs to be placed in the accused student’'s permanent
record.

{c) If an accused student leaves the University without resolving a Naotice of
Charge and is later readmitted, the accused student will be required to
appear before the College Honor Council and resolve the Notice of
Charge, If the Collece Honor Council finds that the student did not
violate the Honor Code, then the Dean shall inform the Office of Student
Affairs _and request removal of the fetter and all accompanying
documents from the student’s permanent record.

1720-3-1-04 A DBREMDUMACOLEEGEHOMOE-COURMNCILE)

————COLLEGE OE-GRADUATE FEALTH SCHNCES HONOR COUNCH.(neluding
the-behoolof Biomedical Engineering

fa) Composifion-The Honor Counell-of the-College-of- Graduate Tlealth
Scionces-consisty-ofthe Graduate-Sudent-Executive Councilavhe-are
wotirgrrembers, ancthelraliometosweith-voiee but nol voto, An
serpate-member-raay-veteinthe-sbsence-of avoting remberfor-that
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departorent:

—————————— —{b}—— Blechon-of Members- The-members-of the-Henor Counetlare selected
aceopding-to-the-Constitubion-obthe Student Goverropent-Association -of
the- U Health-Seience-Center College-of Graduate-FHealth Sciences;
Articlesand-

= fe)--—Macorey—tr-the-event-ef-e-vacaney-oecurins—tr-the - Heonor-Couneil, the
alternatemember-from-the-deparbmentin-which-the vacaney oceurs
becomes-thevolngrepresentative-for that department

e Ay Baeuliy-Advisor Bachyear the Bean-geleets-one-advisor, with-veleabut
‘ notvote-andwho raay-be-presentatheavings--Theadvisorisan-exofficio
maomber-obthe Gradunte Student-Exeeutive Cowneth

e @) e st R Five-Rembers-ofthe Honor Councilarerequired-fora-guornm
forar-Honor-Courthoaring.

— ) COLLECEQE-ALLERHEAT T SCIENCES HOMNOR-COUNCIL

------------------- e Corpestion—The - Hener Counetl of the College ef-Adlied-Health-Seiences
shallconsist of-atleastone-voling representative-frovreackhelass-of each
program-slasses-with-rnore-thar-forp-(d0)studentsearelled shall be
represented-by-brovoling representatives. Bach-classineach program
shalthave-one-alterpate represendativewdth-volce-bubne-vote-axcept
wherrserving-in-the-absence-olavelingreprosontative-teom-the-parteular
class—Beth-votingrepresentatives-and-alterpate representativesshall
attend-regular Horerounal-meetings—The Honor Counct-president
shall-preside-over-allrepularraectings-and-Honor Courthearings—the
executive-otficors- (resident-Vice-President-Seerctary-and Treasures)-of
each-elass-governed-by-the Honor Code,and thoseof the Student
Gevernment-Aesocibion-Counctl-areineligible-to-be-members-ofthe
HonorGeouneik

——— (by—-FElecHon of Members—Hach class-shall eleckits Covneil representatives
withinfowrweeks of thefust day-ef-the bopinning-of-elassesinthethst
aeademicterr-Conrethmembersshall serve a-terrrot-one acadermicyear
and-may-bereelected -at-the-diseretion of o class-This-recommernded-thet
Heror Counetbrepresentatives boreclocted - satishactorytoprovide
coptinaiby:

— Vacaney--ta-the-ovent of avacaney-eceursingin-the- Honer Council-the
parfeddaralass-insvhich-the vaconey-oceurs-shall-elect nveplacerment
withinfour-weeks efHthevocaney-TFhe-class-mayfor-econtinuibvelectfhe
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alterpate-representative-to-fill-avacaney-and-clecka-nev-alterpate

reprosepdadive
feby FaeulbrAdbdsor—there-shall-be-tivo-faenly-advisorswithvoice but ne

vote-eneselectedannually-by-the-Deam-of the-Collegerto-yerve stageered
bvo-year-terme—Hhefaculty-advisor-shall be-permitied-to-abtend-all
preccedings of the Honer-Couneil- with-veice-bubno-vote:

—————{ e —OQuermm—Arguermr-oH2 B bwe-thirds-ob-the-cumrently-elected-and
enrolled-representatives-orthe-designatod-alternates, will- be veqaired
to-be-in-attendance-for-proccedings-concerping an-Honee Code-violation:

e ProetorigFacuttp-mrav-be-present-during student-tests or-examinations,
wrraceordancewith-the-Honor Code-of the-Uriversity-of Tenmesses;
Healdh-Betonce Conter:

&) o

L0 (O E TE]
(=2 e o o ) e i e =

JEISTEY HONOR COTINCT

L =
P I R S S ] Ly =1

i

e - CrpppOs oY The-Honer Courcil o Mhe Collepe-of Dentistry-consists-of
theee-electedrepresertativesrormeach-classond-one-electad-aliornate
}Gﬁ}%DﬂE&‘EP_E—Lr%FPﬂL e ch%w Jhe-alternate representativeattends-all
reculpmestingsan Heipatesit-hoarings-in-the-absence-ofa
representaive i@m—e}m{ classerifneoded i order-to-constitute a quorwm
ef-the Honor Covnetl-fora-hearing Dusing-the-baterval-bebween-the
svachuation ol senierrepresentatives andthe-tnstallationof new-freshmen
representatives—thealermates-function-as-full Couneibmembors and
paitelpatodn-hearings held-duringthis-perio:

{oy——ElectiopobhMembers

- L—Fach-nevclasselects s Councibmembers-within-etghisvecksof
the tirst-dayotthe beainntag of classes:

---------------------------------------- A Fhe-Henor- Counctrepresemtatives may-be-reclected-at-tae
diserebon-ef-a-elass—Heweves;-tHsrecommended-that Honer
CouncH-representatives-beretainedsatisfactory to-provide

eorbnuibs
s A M peapeyHan-Councibmemberdsfor anyveasonyunable-fo-sitin

judicial-capacityatthe hearinps therespective elass-is-represented-by-the
clected Honortomwnalallernate-representative, whe-assumesat-the
realar powers-ofa-Councibmember.-Should-a-repular Cowncilmember
beremoved-from-office the-vacant positon-is-filled-by-the alternate
mesnbes from-that-elass-and anevwalternate raemberds-elected-bythe
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shass:

e B Bpeulty-Adidsors T wo - Faeuty-Aebrisers-are-appointed-by the-Bean-to
assiot-the- Conncilnto-operation:

]

e

—Quornmm-two-thirds-of the-nelivevolingmembership-of the Honor
Councilshall eonstitule-aguornm—Honor Court decisions are decided-by
sranjerity-vote of the-Heasing Courk—A-gquornm-raay-be-established
regardless-ofelass-distributionorallernato stabus,

e (e otter of WaraingeThe-purpose-of this lefteris-to-notiband wama
sriaclent that [is/ herbehavior-is-reicineconeeraamonghis/het
elassmatesstathand-faculnandthat-the-setivibr-fo-question may-bedn
wieltion-ofthe Honor Code- i the-astivite-or-behavier continues, &
formalnotice-of charge-mayfollow.

- ber) Adlvoeasy—the-asseeia t@%ED@aa—\--Eef—s%&eteﬂtvaﬁaiﬂ‘rﬂi&&a{se%e—ewaﬂﬂblws
the student sadvoeate-and il assishand advise any students)-charged

with-ar-Honor Codesdelaton.
— {4y COEEEGE QR MERIGINE HOMOR COUNCH

sl e Sopppgposttion—The-Heneor-Counetl-of-the-College-of Medicine consists-of
-Fhree»-@-l@e-tebﬁ@ﬁfe&dﬁ:&a&vM%mz%m&ha&l-a%rraﬁdw@He»-—ﬂle@ke—d—&]-f&\:imai@
representative fromeach-class—Thealomaterepresentative-atends-all
roparracetingsand-parbcipates-in-hearings-dn-the-absonce-ofa
represeptaiive- ?—1 ottt ehass or i needed i orderto-conskitut be-R-GUOIHR
of-the-Honor Couwncil-forahearing-Puwsingthe-interval bebveen-the
sraduaton-elsoniorrepresentatives-andthednstalladon-ofrnew freshmen
representatives-atlaliesnates funconsasfulb-Comnellorembers-and
pardeipateinhearings-held durinsthis-period:

_—— e Each-rew-class-olects Hs- Counetl rembers-within 6-weeks ef the
Hest-day-of the beghmingobalasses:

e e Phe- Henor Counetrepresontabvesmas-be-veelectedad-the
diserebion of-aclass—Hewever—itis rocommended-that Honos
Gounei-representativesberelainod ihsatisfactoryto-provide
eerbRais

= Maearey-H-eny-Councib member-is-forany-renson-unable-to-sit-b
judicial-capactorat-the hearings-the vespective-clags-ds-representec-by-the

——
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electec-Honer Couneil alioraterepresantative,whe-assumes-allthe
repulorpowers-ef-a-Councibmember-Showld-arepularCownellmembes
beremoved-fom-office; the vacant position is filled-by-the-alternate
member-from-that-chss-and-anew-alternate-memberis-clected-by-the

alags:
—— {eby-——Haeuby-Aelviser-The-faculbrachdser-is-appeinted by the Dearyassists-the

Counel-r-troperation-butshallnetbe-present-during Couneil-hearings

e oyt A quorutn of-bvo-thivde-(4t ) obthe-ctrrertly-elected-ane
enteled-representatives-avaiableorrcarmpus-or-their designated
altornates-will-berecired-to-beinatiendence-for-preceedings
concerningan-Heoner-Codeviolabor:

—_— &'}*w--—~--'Ee’e’ee&&#&%ﬁﬂﬁg#ﬁh@%@ﬁe&t&ei%eeﬁeﬂa&%&ma*&@e&aeﬁ—yeﬁ-ewe%-t%e
opHoer-te-issue-a-leter-ofwarning to-astudentinthe-eventefmultiple
combplaints-deseribing suspiclous-behavior-butwithowtaguilhverdiet
Thepurpese-of-this-letter-is-to-nobfrand-wasa-a-srdent thathis, her
behaviorisraistngconcern-armonghis her-classmates that the activibein
grestion-may-bedirvieletonof the Honer Coderlf-the activia-of
behavier continues,a-formal-MNotee-of- Charge-mayfollow:

ﬁ.m_n,ﬁ_ﬁ.,..ﬁ..m.w,.,..m.‘.,w,.(.%}

Proctoving-Haeulyarewveleomed-and-appredated during the beginning
andconchisien-ob examination periods-to-answersfaesHons-concesring
testproceedings-and-to supervise-testacdiainistraion-da-averae-shotd
beavatlable-to-cortackthe-coursedirector or Bisher representative
chreing the-exarpia-the-eventobproblems—Heweverinthe spivib-of-the
Henoetode-asa-shrdentbrun-gystem, proctotingofsviten owminalens
isnotalowedunlessdirected byan-outside-testing agencyorcorifying
beardThis “ne-proctoving provision-deesnokapply-to-practical
examinations-or examinatonsrequiring proctosing:

e G ARG E- QR NURSING-HONOR-COENCE
o) Compositioa-The-Henes-Couneil-of the College-of Nursing-consists of
ene-presicent-tepresenting all elagsses, and bvo representativesfromeach
ofthe fellowingrayentering-fowr semester BSM-ophon,b)-four-scmevter

sentor-BSN-opton-cl-erdering three semester BSMN-option-<)-three
serpester-Senior BSN-opton-e)-Ri4e-BEM-epton,f-cleven-meonth BSM
apton; and, gy the-graduato-program, Tho- Hownor-Couneil-Bresicont
presides-over-allregularmectines-and-over HonorCouneil-heasingsBoth
represertatives from-cach class attend-regular-Floner Council mrectingsas
votng rmembers—intheeventofanHovor Conrthearingore
represeptative-from-cach-elass-is-selected-by-the Heoner-Council-presicent
ro-servets-a-member-of-the hearing pancl-and-the-otherrepresentative
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serves-ai-analternate

s —{ b} Blecon-of-Members—The Heonor Couneil-presidentsmastbe-n-membor-of
the-foursermester-sentor elass-and-Hs-appoirded-by-the-president-of the
Collepe-of Mursing5GA: The bvorepresentatives-aro-electod by cach
class-churingthefall-clection-period-The-exccutive officors-of-each-class
arp-incligible-to-sesve-asmembers-of-the- Honar-Gowncth

Meeaney—n-the-eventefa-vacaneyocsmvingin-the-Honer Councllaclass
election-is-heldwvithin-d-weoeks-of-the-vacaney to-clecta new :
representative—ta-the-event-of a-vacaney ol the-Honor Counetbpresident;
a-nev-presidentisreappointed-by-the-president-of- the College-of Mursing
St

P
[£2]
e

ey Haculty-Adwiser-The-Assistant-Deantor Student-Affairs-shall be-the
College-ot-Musing-FHonor Councll-faculyadviser—The-faculby-adwiser
shallbe-permitied-to-akand-all-proceedings of- the-Honer Gouncibwith
woicebubpebwoko:

————{e—CQuorum-Thve-thirds of- the-aelbive votimgmembership-ot-the Heonor
Cownetbshollconyitvieaquorwmm—Honer-Court-decistons-are-dectded-by
aeraforibivote-ob-the-Hearing- CotrtA guorum may boe ostablished
regareless-of a-class-diswibution-or-elternote status.

EORREARMACY HOMOR COUMNCTL,

6 COLLE

e ) O ERPOEHR G- TRO-Henor Couneil of the College of Phormacy-eonsisty-of
threeelostedrepresentativesfromench-elasspoveraed-by-the Hener
Godesvhoshall-bevolingmembersand one alternate member-from-each
class-with volcebutnotvote, The altematemembor may vote-in-the
absence-ofavotingmembers-from-that particular class-The exceutive
sficers-fpresigent-vice-presidentseeretary-and-freesurer;-ofeachclass
governed-by-the Honer Code;and-those of the- SGA-Counellave
ineligible-to-be-members-of the Honer Counetk

- (b} FlecHon-of Members The-Hist-year-elass-elocts-Hoeounetlmembers
veithin-Gavecka-ot-the first-day-of the-begimning of classes-in-the-frst
acadernicterme-The-other-three-classes-clect-their Cosnetbmembersinthe
spring-Semester-of cach-yony,after-class-cleeionsHonor Counetl
representabives may be-roelocted-at-the-disereion of a-class-butonly-at
the-reelectontimes-specitied-above andonly-by-majority-vote-tis
recomnended-that-Hener Conncil yepreseriniives bereeloctocif
sikisfactoryto-provide-cordinuity:
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e} Yacaney-lthe-event of eaeanev-oconrring-in-the-Henor Counetl - the

alternatemember-from-the-class-dnwhich-the vacaney-oceurs-becomes-the
vohnprepresentativefor thatclass:

(el Faculty Adviser-Onefaculbradvisorwith-voice-butnetvoteisnot
preseptathearings-unless-at the requestof the Honor-Couneil-The
facutty-advisoris-selected-eachyrenrby-the-bearrof-the-eollege- s
advisor ustbe-satsfactery-te-beth-the Dean-and-the-student body-

------------------------- ———fe——-LIuorur Pvothirds-ofthe membership-otthe Heonor- Cowneil-shall

conptitite-t-grerum-FHonerCowretdedsions sre-decided-by-a-majortsy
yote-of the-Herner Conputl-A-quornm-may-be-ostablished-vepardiess-of
class-ropresentation-ereliormate-status,

1720-03-01-.05 HIONOR CODE VIOLATION PENALTIES.

(1)

if a hearing panel finds that an accused student violated the Honor Code, then

(2}

the hearing panel will report its findings to the Dean of the accused student’s
College and recommend possible penalties, including probation, suspension,
dismissal, or any other action deemed appropriate by the hearing panel,

The Dean will consider the evidence, written findings, conclusions, and

(3)

recommendations of the hearing panel and determine the penalty within ten (10)
university business days of the Dean’s receipt of the hearing panel’s decision. If

the Dean is not available to provide a timely penalty determination, then he/she

may appoint a designee to make the penalty determination.

The Dean’s decision on the penaliy will be sent to the student by:

(4)

(2) 11.5, mail or courier service to the address UTHSC s Registrar has on file
for the student, in which case the notice is effectively sent upon tnailing
or delivery to the courier service; and

(b) Electronic means (e.g., e-mail} to the student’s UTHSC e-mail account, in
which case the notice is effectively sent upon transmission.

A copv of the Dean's {or designee’s) decision will be sent to the

{5}

president/ chairperson of the hearing panel and o the Office of Student Affairs,
which will file the decision as part of the student’s permanent record.

Penalties in UAPA hearings will be determined by the administrative judge,

hearing exarniner, and/or Agency Head in accordance with Chapter 1720-01-05.

1720-03-01-.06 APPEALS,
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1) The accused student may appeal the Dean’s penalty determination in writing to
the Chancellor within ten (10) university business davs of receipt of the Dean's
penalty determination. The accused student has the burden of proving that the
penalty assigned by the Dean is unreasonable. Any appeal to the Chancellor
mav only address the penalty assigned by the Dean and not the decision of the
College Honor Council or the University Honor Coutrt.

2] The Chancellor {or designee) generally will respond to the student with a
decision within ten (10} university business days of the receipt of the request for
the appeal. A copy of the Chancellor’s (or designee’s) decision will be sent to the
Office of Student Affairs and maintained in the student’s permanent record.

(3) Appeals in UAPA cases will be handled in accordance with Chapter 1720-01-05.,

1720-03-01-,07 COLLEGE HONOR COUNCILS.

(1) The general duties of a College Honor Council are to:

(a) Conduct hearings of alleged violations of the Honor Code;

{b) Keep adeqguate records of all hearings and transfer all case records of the
case to the Office of Student Affairs; and

{c) Forward findines and recommendations in Honor Code violation
proceedings to the Dean of the College.

2y Each Collepe will establish policies and procedures poverning the membership of
the College Honor Council, including eligibility, how members are elected and
removed, how alternates are elected and removed, how vacancies are filled, and
which members may vote. Such policies and procedures described in Section
07(2) shall be published in the UTHSC student handbook.

3) The associate dean for student affairzs mav assist and advise any student(s)
charged with an Honor Code viglation,

4) The Dean of a College shall appoint one faculty advisor at each of its campuses to

assist the College Honor Council, The Dean will determine whether a faculty
advisor will be permitied fo attend all Collepe Honor Council proceedings and
whether the faculty advisor may vote.

{85 A College Honor Council may issue a letter of warning to a student in the event
of multivle complaints describing suspicious behavior but no guilty verdict. A
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letter of warning would wam the student his/her behavior is raising concern
among classmates, staff, and faculty that the activity in question may violate the
Honor Code. If the activity or behavior continues, a formal Notice of Charpe

may follow,
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* If a roll-call vote was necessary, the vote by the Agency on these rules was as follows:

Board Member Aye | No [ Abstain Absent Signature
{if required)

Governor Bill Haslam X

Commissioner Julius Johnson X

Commissioner Candice McQueen X

Pr. Joe DiPietro X

Dr. Russ Deaton (non-voting)

S$5-7038 (November 2014) 11 RDA 1693
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Charies C. Anderson, Jr. X

Jalen Blue . X

Shannon Brown X

George E. Cafes X
Dr. Brian Donavant {non-voting)

Spruell Driver, Jr. X

Dr. William E. Evans X
John N. Foy X

Crawford Gallimore X
Dr. David Golden X

Vicky B. Gregg X

Raja J. Jubran X

Brad A. Lampley X

James L. Murphy, Il X

Sharon J. Miller Pryse X

Miranda N. Rutan (non-voting} o

Rhedona Rose X

Julia T. Welis X

Charles E. Wharton X

Tommy G. Whittaker X

1 certify that this is an accurate and complate copy of proposed rules, lawfully promulgated and adopted by the .
University of Tennessee Board of Trustees on 06/25/2015, and is in compliance with the provisions of T.C.A. § 4-
5-222. The Secretary of State is hereby instructed that, in the absence of a pefition for proposed rules being filed
under the condifions set out herein and in the locafions described, he is to treat the proposed rules as bsing
placed on file in his office as rules at the expiration of ninety (80) days of the filing of the proposed rule with the

Secretary of State.

Name of Officer:

Subscribed and sworn o before me on:

Notary Public Signature: J/(?}/Mﬁﬁ BXﬂX
[d-4-18

My commission expires on;

Title of Officer:

11/20/2015

e

e

Matthew Scoggins

Deputy General Counsel
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All proposed rules provided for herein have been examined by the Attorney General and Reporter of the State of
Tennessee and are approved as fo legality pursuant to the provzsuons of the Administrative Proceduras Act,

Tennessee Code Annotated, Title 4, Chapter 5.
Hobor Y. St 7

Herbert H. Slafery i
Attorney General and Reporter

& fu [rors
r Date
Department of State Use Only
Filed with the Department of State on: \ i ( l o
Effective on: Uisil
: H

Tre Hargett
Secretary of State
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