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September 1, 2017 
 

The Honorable Randy McNally 
 Speaker of the Senate 
The Honorable Beth Harwell 
 Speaker of the House of Representatives 
The Honorable Mike Bell, Chair 
 Senate Committee on Government Operations 
The Honorable Jeremy Faison, Chair 
 House Committee on Government Operations 

and 
Members of the General Assembly 
State Capitol 
Nashville, Tennessee 37243 
 and 
The Honorable Julie Mix McPeak, Commissioner 
Department of Commerce and Insurance 
500 James Robertson Parkway 
Davy Crockett Tower 
Nashville, TN 37243-0565 
 
Ladies and Gentlemen: 
 
 Transmitted herewith is the sunset performance audit of selected programs and activities 
of eight boards and commissions that are administratively attached to the Department of 
Commerce and Insurance’s Division of Regulatory Boards.  This audit was conducted pursuant 
to the requirements of the Tennessee Governmental Entity Review Law, Section 4-29-111, 
Tennessee Code Annotated.   
 
 This report is intended to aid the Joint Government Operations Committee in its review to 
determine whether the regulatory boards should be continued, restructured, or terminated. 
 

Sincerely, 

 
Deborah V. Loveless, CPA 
Director 
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A u d i t   H i g h l i g h t s 
 

Comptroller of the Treasury                                Division of State Audit 
 

 
Performance Audit 

Regulatory Boards and Commissions 
September 2017 

_________ 

 
PRIOR AUDIT FINDINGS 

 
Repeat Finding 1:  State Regulatory Fee (Not Resolved) 
September 2012 Regulatory Boards and Commissions Audit, Finding 1 

Unresolved issue:  The state regulatory fee has not been analyzed and is not providing sufficient 
funding for indirect costs.  The Department of Finance and Administration has not analyzed the 
sufficiency of the state regulatory fee since its inception in 1989.  Due to insufficient revenues 
other divisions of Commerce and Insurance and the general fund are subsidizing indirect costs 
incurred by regulatory boards and commissions (page 7). 
 
Repeat Concern:  Tracking and Monitoring Civil Penalties Collection (Partially Resolved) 
September 2012 Regulatory Boards and Commissions Audit, Finding 2 

Unresolved issue:  License suspension or revocation took up to 510 days allowing individuals 
and businesses to remain licensed when they had not met requirements or paid civil penalties; 
referrals to collections took up to 267 days to complete after eligibility, and demand letters were 
not sent (page 16). 
 
Repeat Finding 2:  Inadequate Internal Controls (Not Resolved) 
September 2012 Regulatory Boards and Commissions Audit, Finding 6 

Unresolved issue:  The Department of Commerce and Insurance and Division of Regulatory 
Boards did not provide adequate internal controls in one area (page 19). 
 

 

CURRENT AUDIT FINDINGS 
 

The Real Estate Appraiser Commission and the Soil Scientist Advisory Committee should 
consider fee reductions to bring revenues in line with expenses  
According to division management, Regulatory Boards have a goal of maintaining two years of 
expenses to ensure self-sufficiency.  The Real Estate Appraiser Commission and Soil Scientist 
Advisory Committee have received revenues in excess of the self-sufficiency goal (page 21). 



The General Assembly may wish to consider removing or modifying the Real Estate 
Commission Education and Recovery Account and the Auctioneer Commission Education 
and Recovery Account  
Division and board staff do not inform or provide individuals making a complaint against a 
licensee with information concerning the recovery accounts.  The Real Estate Commission 
provides information on its website regarding filing a claim against the fund; however, the 
Auctioneer Commission does not (page 23).   
 
The Board of Court Reporting and the Real Estate Appraiser Commission have board 
vacancies; several boards had members serving on expired terms; and three board and 
commission members had attendance issues 
The Board of Court Reporting and the Real Estate Appraiser Commission have one vacancy 
each.  Several of the boards and commissions under review have members serving on expired 
terms, as permitted by statute.  Two boards have members attending 50% or fewer meetings 
during period reviewed (page 25). 

 
 

OBSERVATIONS 
 
The audit report also discusses the following issues:  state regulatory fee tracking (page 13), civil 
penalties (page 18), unlicensed activity reviews (page 27), statement of necessity filing (page 
28), data migration (page 29), and department website search functionality (page 30). 
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Performance Audit 
Regulatory Boards 

 
 

INTRODUCTION 
 

 
PURPOSE AND AUTHORITY FOR THE AUDIT 
 

This performance audit of eight regulatory boards was conducted pursuant to the 
Tennessee Governmental Entity Review Law, Title 4, Chapter 29, Tennessee Code Annotated.  
Under Section 4-29-239, the eight selected boards are scheduled to terminate June 30, 2018.  The 
Comptroller of the Treasury is authorized under Section 4-29-111 to conduct a limited program 
review audit of the boards and to report to the Joint Government Operations Committee of the 
General Assembly.  This audit is intended to aid the committee in determining whether these 
regulatory boards should be continued, restructured, or terminated: 

 
Auctioneer Commission  

Board of Court Reporting  

Board of Funeral Directors and Embalmers 

Collection Service Board 

Private Investigation and Polygraph Commission 

Real Estate Appraiser Commission 

Real Estate Commission 

Soil Scientist Advisory Committee 
 
 
HISTORY AND ORGANIZATION 
 
Department of Commerce and Insurance, Division of Regulatory Boards 
 
 Created in 1978 by Section 56-1-301, Tennessee Code Annotated, the Division of 
Regulatory Boards provides administrative and staff support to the various boards that perform 
the occupational licensing and regulation of various professionals within Tennessee.  As a 
division of the department, it receives fiscal and support services from the department’s 
Administrative Division.  In addition, the Office of Internal Audit under the Commissioner for 
the Department of Commerce and Insurance receives and investigates allegations of fraud, waste, 
and abuse of state funds and property, but does not investigate complaints against licensees.   
 
 The Division of Regulatory Boards is led by an Assistant Commissioner who is 
responsible for the overall functioning of the division.  Each board is assigned administrative 
staff, such as licensing technicians and administrative assistants.  An Executive Director oversees 
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each board, and some boards share an Executive Director.  Each board is also assigned a lawyer 
who advises and handles various aspects of the complaint process for the boards.  The division 
employs a Director of Accounting, who serves as a liaison to the department’s Fiscal Services 
Section and assists the boards with relevant financial information.  Lastly, the division employs a 
Director of Licensing to assist the boards with licensing questions and as a point of contact for 
the Comprehensive Online Regulatory & Enforcement (CORE) database.  The staff of the 
division are employees of the Department of Commerce and Insurance.   
 
Office of Investigations 

 
The Office of Investigations reviews and investigates complaints against individuals and 

businesses licensed or unlicensed for professions under the Division of Regulatory Boards.  The 
complaints are initially received by the boards and are reviewed by the legal staff.  If a complaint 
merits further review, it is then referred to the Office of Investigations so that an investigation 
can be initiated.  Once the investigation has been conducted, a field representative provides a 
written report to the Director of the Office of Investigations.  The director forwards the report to 
the department’s Legal Division staff, who make a recommendation of action to the applicable 
board or commission. 

 
Regulatory Boards 

 
 The regulatory boards are generally responsible for safeguarding the public by 
interpreting the laws, rules, and regulations to determine, regulate, and enforce the appropriate 
standard of practice for select professions in Tennessee.  The boards meet as statutorily required 
to examine applications; conduct hearings to revoke or suspend a license; sponsor, conduct, or 
approve educational programs; and enact rules for licensees.   

 
 The members of each board are appointed by the Governor to serve a term defined by the 
statute for the board.  Some board members receive a per diem when actually engaged in the 
discharge of official duties and are reimbursed for travel and other necessary expenditures.  They 
are not employees of the State of Tennessee.   

 
 The boards issue initial licenses and renew licenses on an annual or biennial basis.  For 
the boards audited in this report, all licenses are renewed biennially.  See below for a brief 
description of each of the boards included in the scope of this audit.  Following the descriptions, 
a chart lists the number of licenses and range of renewal fees charged by each board.   
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Brief Summary of Regulatory Boards Covered in Audit 
 

Auctioneer Commission 
 The Auctioneer Commission, created in 1967, is governed by Sections 62-19-101 through 62-19-128, 
Tennessee Code Annotated.  It licenses and regulates apprentice auctioneers, auctioneers, firms, galleries, firm 
branches, and gallery branches.  The five-member commission is appointed by the Governor and is statutorily 
required to meet quarterly. 

 
Board of Court Reporting 
 The Board of Court Reporting was created under the Tennessee Court Reporter Act of 2009.  
Governed by Sections 20-9-601 through 20-9-616, Tennessee Code Annotated, it regulates the profession of 
court reporters.  The board is made up of seven members appointed by the Governor and is statutorily required 
to meet at least twice a year. 

 
Board of Funeral Directors and Embalmers 
 The Board of Funeral Directors and Embalmers was created in 1951 and is governed by Sections 62-5-
101 through 62-5-611, Tennessee Code Annotated.  The board regulates the professions of funeral directors, 
embalmers, funeral establishments, apprentices, and mortuary students.  It is made up of seven members 
appointed by the Governor.  Statute does not specify the number of times the board is to meet annually.  

 
Collection Service Board 
 The Collection Service Board was created under the Tennessee Collection Service Act enacted in 
1981 and is governed by Sections 62-20-101 through 62-20-127, Tennessee Code Annotated.  The board 
formulates public policy concerning the collection industry, enacts rules, and ensures compliance with enacted 
legislation pertaining to the collection industry.  The five-member board is appointed by the Governor.  Statute 
does not specify the number of times the board is to meet annually.   

 
Private Investigation and Polygraph Commission 
 The Private Investigation Commission was created in 1993.  In 1999, the Polygraph Commission was 
transferred to the Private Investigation Commission, thus creating the Private Investigation and Polygraph 
Commission.  Governed by Sections 62-26-201 through 62-27-129, Tennessee Code Annotated, the 
commission regulates the professions of private investigators, private investigation companies, and polygraph 
examiners.  The commission is made up of nine members who are appointed by the Governor.  Statute does 
not specify the number of times the board is to meet annually.   

 
Real Estate Appraiser Commission 
 The Real Estate Appraiser Commission, created in 1981, is governed by Sections 62-39-101 through 
62-39-426, Tennessee Code Annotated.  The commission regulates real estate appraisers in accordance with 
federal laws, state laws, and policies.  It is made up of nine members appointed by the Governor and is 
statutorily required to meet three times a year. 

 
Real Estate Commission 
 The Real Estate Commission, created in 1951, is governed by Sections 62-13-101 through 62-13-604, 
Tennessee Code Annotated.  The commission licenses and registers real estate firms, brokers, and affiliate brokers.  
It is made up of nine members appointed by the Governor and is statutorily required to meet three times a year. 

 
Soil Scientist Advisory Committee 
 The Soil Scientist Advisory Committee was created under the Soil Scientist Licensure Act of 2009 
and is governed by Sections 62-18-201 through 62-18-219, Tennessee Code Annotated.  The committee assists 
the Commissioner of the Department of Commerce and Insurance in rulemaking.  It is made up of five 
members appointed by the Commissioner of Commerce and Insurance.  Statute does not specify the number of 
times the committee is to meet annually.  
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License Renewal Amounts and Number of Licenses as of February 2017 
 

Board/Commission Biennial Renewal Amount Number of Licensees(a) 
Auctioneer Commission $125-$175(b) 1,525 
Board of Court Reporting $200 521 
Board of Funeral Directors and 
Embalmers 

$235-$575(c) 3,336 

Collection Service Board $25-$350(d) 908 
Private Investigation and Polygraph 
Commission 

 $100-$1,000(e) 1,145 

Real Estate Appraiser Commission $350 2,047 
Real Estate Commission $80 27,907 
Soil Scientist Advisory Committee $400 61 
Notes: 

(a) Numbers do not include those required only to register with a board. 
(b) Includes individuals and firms. 
(c) Includes funeral directors, embalmers, and establishments. 
(d) Includes individuals and companies. 
(e) Includes individuals and companies. 

 
 An organization chart of the Department of Commerce and Insurance’s Division of 
Regulatory Boards and the eight boards and commissions reviewed is on the next page.    
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Department of Commerce and Insurance
Division of Regulatory Boards

Eight Boards and Commissions Reviewed
August 2016
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Source: Department of Commerce and Insurance.

Assistant 
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AUDIT SCOPE 
 

 
We audited eight boards and commissions administratively attached to the Department of 

Commerce and Insurance’s Division of Regulatory Boards for the period January 1, 2014, 
through February 17, 2017.  Our audit scope included a review of business practices, internal 
controls, compliance with laws and regulations, and prior audit findings that are significant 
within the context of the audit objectives.  Management of the boards and commissions and the 
Division of Regulatory Boards is responsible for establishing and maintaining effective internal 
controls and for complying with applicable laws, regulations, and provisions of contracts and 
grant agreements.   
 

For our sample design, we used nonstatistical audit sampling, which was the most 
appropriate and cost-effective method for concluding on our audit objectives.  Based on our 
professional judgment, review of authoritative sampling guidance, and careful consideration of 
underlying statistical concepts, we believe that nonstatistical sampling provides sufficient, 
appropriate audit evidence to support the conclusions in our report.  We present more detailed 
information about our methodologies in the individual report sections.  

 
We conducted this performance audit in accordance with generally accepted government 

auditing standards.  Those standards require that we plan and perform the audit to obtain 
sufficient, appropriate evidence to provide a reasonable basis for our findings and conclusions 
based on our audit objectives.  We believe that the evidence obtained provides a reasonable basis 
for our findings and conclusions based on our audit objectives.  
 
 

 
PRIOR AUDIT FINDINGS, OBJECTIVES, AND METHODOLOGIES  

 
 

Section 8-4-109, Tennessee Code Annotated, requires that each state department, agency, 
or institution report to the Comptroller of the Treasury the action taken to implement the 
recommendations in the prior audit report.  We followed up on the prior audit findings and found 
the department resolved findings related to the Real Estate and Auctioneer Commission 
education and recovery accounts and the untimely deposit of board revenue.  The finding related 
to tracking and monitoring civil penalties is partially resolved while the findings about the state 
regulatory fee and certain information security risks are not resolved.  The partially resolved or 
unresolved findings are discussed below. 
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September 2012 Audit, Finding 1, State Regulatory Fee (Not Resolved): 
“The Department of Finance and Administration has not analyzed the sufficiency of the state 
regulatory fee…”  

 
The audit recommended the following:  

 The Department of Finance and Administration, working with the Department of 
Commerce and Insurance, should analyze the amount of state regulatory fees collected 
to the amount of indirect costs incurred through board operations every two years so 
that the fee is set at an amount sufficient to cover all the state’s indirect costs derived 
from the Regulatory Boards’ operations.  

 
The state regulatory fee is set by law in the general appropriations act, and the fee stands 

in lieu of any allocation of indirect costs to the boards.  The amount of the fee has been the same 
since it was established in 1989: $10 for a two-year license and $5 for a one-year license.  The 
previous audit found the following deficiencies:  

 

 The Department of Finance and Administration had not analyzed the amount of the 
state regulatory fee and could not state whether the amount of state regulatory fees 
collected was sufficient to cover indirect costs incurred by the regulatory boards. 

 The Department of Finance and Administration applied the revenue collected from 
the state regulatory fee to the general fund, not to the indirect costs of the regulatory 
boards.  

 Because the Department of Finance and Administration does not use the fee to offset 
the Department of Commerce and Insurance’s own indirect costs, it gave Commerce 
and Insurance a recurring supplemental appropriation from the general fund to cover 
those indirect costs. 

 
Our objective was to determine whether the Department of Finance and Administration 

has effectively addressed these three deficiencies.  In order to do so, we interviewed Finance and 
Administration’s Director of Budget and Director of Cash Management, and Commerce and 
Insurance’s Fiscal Director of Budget.  We reviewed Statewide Cost Allocation Plan 
Agreements, Indirect Charges Recovery Plans, and the Department of Commerce and 
Insurance’s departmental cost allocation plans.  Based on our interviews and reviews, we 
determined these issues have yet to be resolved. 

 
 

Repeat Finding 1 – State Regulatory Fee  
 
The state regulatory fee has not been analyzed and is not providing sufficient funding for 
indirect costs  
 

The Department of Finance and Administration has not analyzed the sufficiency of the 
state regulatory fee to cover the indirect costs incurred by the regulatory boards.  These indirect 
costs include the following:  
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 departmental indirect costs, 

 General Government costs, and 

 Statewide Cost Allocation Plan Section I costs. 
 

Of these, only departmental indirect costs are calculated each year for the Division of 
Regulatory Boards; the Department of Commerce and Insurance makes this calculation for 
distribution of its own administrative overhead.  This overhead includes expenses such as 
salaries for the Commissioner, Fiscal Services, and Human Resources personnel.  During fiscal 
years 2014, 2015, and 2016, the amount of state regulatory fees collected by the regulatory 
boards in the Department of Commerce and Insurance was insufficient to cover the boards’ 
departmental indirect costs as captured by Chart 1 and Table 1. 

 
Chart 1 

Comparison of State Regulatory Fee Collected to  
Division of Regulatory Boards’ Indirect Costs 

Fiscal Years 2014-2016 
 

 
Source:  Data obtained from Department of Commerce and Insurance Fiscal Services. 
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Table 1 
Comparison of the State Regulatory Fee Amounts to Regulatory Boards’ Indirect Costs 

Fiscal Years 2014-2016 

Fiscal
Year 

Regulatory Boards’ 
Share of Department 

Indirect Costs 
Difference Amount of State Regulatory 

Fee Remitted 
2014 $1,524,796 ($151,131) $1,373,665 
2015 $1,570,898 ($178,353) $1,392,545 
2016 $1,671,945 ($414,940) $1,257,005 

Source:  Data obtained from Department of Commerce and Insurance Fiscal Services. 

 
The remaining two components of regulatory boards’ indirect costs, General Government 

and Statewide Cost Allocation Plan Section I costs, are not calculated specifically for the 
Division of Regulatory Boards.  Because the state regulatory fee was insufficient during this time 
period to cover one component of the indirect costs, we estimated numbers for the remaining 
types of indirect costs in order to present a more complete picture of the fee’s insufficiency. 
 
General Government Costs 
 

General Government costs are allocated and billed to six state agencies, based on each 
agency’s payroll dollars as a percentage of total payroll dollars for the state.  We calculated 
General Government costs for the regulatory boards by the same method, using payroll numbers 
for the Division of Regulatory Boards as a percentage of total state payroll for fiscal years 2014 
through 2016.  (See Table 2.) 

 
Table 2 

Estimated General Government Costs for Regulatory Boards  
Fiscal Years 2014-2016 

Fiscal 
Year 

General Government 
Costs 

Regulatory Boards’ Payroll 
as a Percentage of Total State 

Payroll 

Regulatory Boards’ 
Share of General 

Government Costs 
2014 $81,309,730 0.30% $247,651 
2015 $82,767,307 0.36% $298,150 
2016 $82,695,234 0.37% $305,582 

Source:  Data obtained from Department of Finance and Administration and Department of Commerce and Insurance 
Fiscal Services.   
 

The Department of Finance and Administration does not bill the Division of Regulatory 
Boards for General Government costs, but relies on the State Regulatory Fee.  Should the 
Department of Finance and Administration analyze the State Regulatory Fee, it should calculate 
and include General Government costs for the Division of Regulatory Boards for which the 
numbers are readily available. 
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Statewide Cost Allocation Plan Section I Costs  
 

Statewide Cost Allocation Plan costs are for services one state agency performs for 
another.  Section I costs are indirect costs that are allocated across state agencies (for example, 
costs for Finance and Administration’s work on the state budget).  The federal government must 
approve the Statewide Cost Allocation Plan Agreement each year so that state agencies receiving 
federal funds may bill these costs to federal grants and contracts.  These costs are calculated for 
agencies’ use; they are not billed except to the same agencies that are billed for General 
Government costs, as noted above.  

 
The allocation plan agreement shows Section I costs for the Department of Commerce 

and Insurance as a whole.  To estimate the regulatory boards’ share of these costs, we used the 
same percentages that the Department of Commerce and Insurance used to allocate departmental 
indirect costs to the regulatory boards.  (See Table 3.) 

 
Table 3 

Statewide Cost Allocation Plan Section I Costs for Regulatory Boards  
Fiscal Years 2014-2016 

Fiscal 
Year 

Total Department Share 
of Statewide Cost 

Allocation Plan Section I 
Costs 

Percent Used to 
Allocate 

Departmental 
Indirect Costs 

Regulatory Boards’ Share 
of Statewide Cost 

Allocation Plan Section I 
Costs 

2014 ($121,489) 17.26 % ($20,969)*      
2015 $19,343 16.99 % $3,286 
2016 ($5,424) 15.96 % ($866)* 

Source:  Data obtained from Department of Commerce and Insurance Fiscal Services. 
*Negative numbers for Statewide Cost Allocation Plan Section I costs occur because current-year costs are 
estimated using numbers from two years prior.  Totals are then adjusted to correct for inaccuracies in previous 
years’ estimates.  

 
Total Indirect Costs Compared to State Regulatory Fee 

The table and chart below show the three components of indirect costs:  
 

 department indirect costs, 
 

 General Government costs, and  
 

 Statewide Cost Allocation Plan Section I costs. 
 

Then the table and chart compare the total of these to the state regulatory fee remitted.  
Negative numbers in the final column indicate the regulatory fee’s deficiency compared to the 
indirect costs the fee is intended to cover.  The results are also displayed in Table 4 and Chart 2.   
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Table 4 
Total Indirect Costs Compared to State Regulatory Fee  

Fiscal Years 2014-2016 

Source:  Data obtained from Department of Commerce and Insurance Fiscal Services and Department of Finance 
and Administration. 
 

Chart 2 
Comparison of Indirect Costs to State Regulatory Fee 

Fiscal Years 2014-2016 

 
Source:  Data obtained from Department of Commerce and Insurance Fiscal Services and Department of Finance 
and Administration. 
*Calculated as discussed with Department of Finance and Administration management. 
Note: Statewide Cost Allocation Plan Section I costs constitute too small a percentage of the total to be visible on 
this chart. 
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Plan 

Section I 
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Total 
Indirect 

Costs 

State 
Regulatory 

Fee 
Remitted Difference 

2014 $1,524,796 $247,651 ($20,969) $1,751,478 $1,373,665 ($377,813) 
2015 $1,570,898 $298,150 $3286 $1,872,334 $1,392,545 ($479,789) 
2016 $1,671,945 $305,582 ($866) $1,976,661 $1,257,005 ($719,656) 
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Deficient State Regulatory Fee Means Indirect Costs of Boards Funded by Other Divisions of the 
Department and Ultimately by the General Fund  
 

As discussed previously, for fiscal years 2014, 2015, and 2016, the statewide regulatory 
fee did not generate enough funds to cover indirect costs (departmental, General Government, 
and those in the Statewide Cost Allocation Plan).  To help address the deficiency the state budget 
provides a supplemental appropriation to the Department of Commerce and Insurance to cover 
its indirect costs.  We found the supplemental appropriation has been insufficient to cover those 
costs, effectively resulting in other divisions of the department subsidizing the costs of regulatory 
boards.  
 

In fiscal year 2016, the amount of the supplemental appropriation was greater than the 
state regulatory fee remitted, resulting in money from the general fund being used to subsidize 
regulatory board and commission indirect costs.  (See Chart 3.) 

 
Chart 3 

Comparison of Department Indirect Costs, Supplemental Appropriation Toward those 
Costs, and Amount of State Regulatory Fee Remitted  

Fiscal Years 2014-2016 
 

 
Source:  Data obtained from Department of Commerce and Insurance Fiscal Services. 
 
 

Recommendation 
 

The Department of Finance and Administration should analyze the state regulatory fee 
and take action to prevent the general fund from subsidizing regulatory board and commission 
indirect costs.  Indirect costs include those of the Department of Commerce and Insurance, 
General Government costs, and statewide allocated costs.  Consideration of all should ensure 
regulatory boards and commissions operate in a self-sufficient manner as required by state law.  
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Management’s Comment 
 

We concur in part.  The Department of Finance and Administration has not conducted an 
analysis to determine if the fee amount established in the appropriations bill provides sufficient 
funding to cover all indirect costs.  While conducting this analysis may provide insight, this 
analysis is not required in order to establish the fee amount.  The fee is established, and intended 
to be, in lieu of any indirect cost charges to the regulatory boards.  The statute states the fee will 
be in lieu of any indirect cost charges, but does not state how much of the indirect costs it should 
cover. 

 
The purpose of the flat fee amount is to recognize regulatory board indirect costs exist, 

but avoid analyzing the large number of accounting transactions of the many small boards to 
determine actual indirect costs.  The regulatory fee approach currently in place is a simple 
method of collecting from the licensees the approximate indirect cost of having the regulatory 
boards. 

 
The fee amount, currently $5 for a one-year license and $10 for a two-year license, can be 

changed any year by the General Assembly or the Governor in the appropriations bill.  We will 
analyze the sufficiency of the state regulatory fee at any time that the Governor wants to consider 
making a budget recommendation to increase the fee or at any time the General Assembly 
considers increasing the fee. 

 
 

Observation 
 

1. The Department of Commerce and Insurance Division of Regulatory Boards should 
account for the state regulatory fee separately from other licensee fees, may wish to 
place state regulatory fees in a dedicated fund, and should include miscalculation of 
the fee in the division’s annual risk assessment 

 
The Department of Commerce and Insurance has taken steps to ensure that the state 

regulatory fee calculation is correct; however, entering the fee into the Comprehensive Online 
Regulatory & Enforcement (CORE) database separately when licenses are issued or renewed 
would make the process more resistant to error.  Additionally, the risk of miscalculation of the 
fee should be included in the Division of Regulatory Boards’ risk assessment.   

 
State Regulatory Fee Calculation 
 

The Director of Accounting for Regulatory Boards has improved the process for counting 
licenses issued in order to accurately calculate the state regulatory fee owed.  The fee is 
calculated monthly beginning with fiscal year 2017 and will be used as a check against the year-
end calculation.   

 
The process for counting licenses to which the state regulatory fee should be applied 

consists of a series of steps performed in an Excel spreadsheet, and there is no method of 
checking the accuracy of the count other than re-performing the steps. The Office of Internal 
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Audit, in follow-up work to the previous performance audit, evaluated the process for calculating 
the fee and re-performed the calculation of fee owed for fiscal year 2014.  Its report stated: “The 
OIA’s [Office of Internal Audit] calculation of the state regulatory fee was within $140 of the 
$1,373,665 that was remitted to F&A.  The amount was not considered material and the OIA did 
not find any discrepancies with the methodology for the computation.” 

 
OIA staff was able retrace the steps of the process with demonstration and guidance; 

however, best practices call for a process that can be understood and duplicated if the person 
who usually performs it is not able to do so, or better yet, that occurs automatically.  The 
department should create a procedure with written instructions or should automate the 
calculation.  

 
Further, the calculation process would be more robust if the department separated the 

state regulatory fee from the licensing fee as recommended in the prior audit.  Currently the fee 
is considered a reduction in revenue and is not separated from the license fee when the 
transaction takes place in CORE.  If it were assessed as a separate fee within CORE, the fee 
amounts could be automatically combined.  The current process used to calculate the fee could 
then be used as a check for correctness.  

 
Risk Assessment 
  

The previous audit recommended that management add risks associated with the state 
regulatory fee calculation and the indirect costs of the regulatory boards to its annual risk 
assessment.  While the 2015 administrative risk assessment for the Division of Regulatory 
Boards listed miscalculation of the state regulatory fee as a risk, the 2016 risk assessment did not 
include this risk.  According to division management, the change in the calculation method 
(resolved audit issue) and the accuracy check provided by the monthly calculation of the fee 
make the risk of miscalculation of the fee insignificant.  

 
The Department of Commerce and Insurance should improve the accounting of the state 

regulatory fee to improve efficiency and reduce risks of miscalculation; create a procedure to 
ensure the process to verify the fee remittance is accurate and replicable; and include the risks 
associated with the fee in the division’s annual risk assessment.  
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September 2012 Audit Finding 2, Tracking and Monitoring Civil Penalties Collection 
(Partially Resolved): 
“The Department of Commerce and Insurance’s Legal Division failed to track and monitor civil 
penalties collection efforts for the Regulatory Boards, increasing the risk that the penalties were 
not collected timely or at all.” 
 

The audit recommended that the Legal Division should ensure that 
 
 when a partial payment is received on a consent order, legal staff either obtain a 

signed payment plan consent order or schedule a formal hearing for failure to abide 
by terms of the consent order; 

 demand letters are issued timely and other appropriate action is taken in response to 
respondents’ failure to meet payment terms; 

 revocation letters are issued timely if respondents fail to meet payment terms and the 
consent orders require revocation as a consequence; 

 in cases in which a revocation letter is issued, the license is promptly revoked and 
noted as such in the CORE (Comprehensive Online Regulatory & Enforcement) 
database and on the website; and 

 all uncollected civil penalty cases referred to the Attorney General’s office collections 
unit are tracked as to resolution and that amounts collected by the Division of 
Regulatory Boards are reported to the Attorney General’s office. 

 
A case against a licensee or a person engaging in unlicensed activity may result in the 

assessment of civil penalties through a hearing before the board or commission and 
Administrative Law Judge, resulting in a final order.  Respondents may avoid a hearing by 
signing an agreed order or consent order, in which penalties are agreed to.  If respondents are 
unable to pay the penalty in full, they may be allowed to pay over time by negotiating a payment 
plan.  Orders assessing civil penalties may also order revocation or suspension of the 
respondent’s license, or make revocation or suspension a consequence of non-payment.  Legal 
staff are tasked with monitoring orders and payment plans for payment by due dates so that 
actions including suspension, revocation, and referral to collections take place timely.  
 
The previous audit found the following deficiencies: 
 

 Of cases tested, 13% involved respondents who returned consent orders with only a 
partial payment although the order required full payment. 

 For 60% of cases tested, the Legal Division did not promptly issue demand letters or 
begin collections processes.  

 For all of the cases tested, board attorneys did not send license revocation letters to 
respondents or notify board administrative staff so that licenses could be revoked, 
when revocation was required as a consequence of failure to meet the terms of the 
consent orders. 
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 For all of the cases tested, when the Legal Division sent revocation letters, the 
respondent’s license was not then immediately revoked in the regulatory boards 
information system, and was not therefore changed to revoked status on the Division 
of Regulatory Boards’ website for public use.  

 Of cases listed by the Attorney General’s office as referrals for collections from the 
Division of Regulatory Boards, 24 were not found on the Legal Division’s list of 
referrals.  Some payments made to the Legal Division after cases were referred for 
collections were not reported to the Attorney General’s office, and six cases listed as 
referred by both the Legal Division and the Attorney General’s office recorded 
different amounts owed. 

 
Our objectives were to determine if the Legal Division has instituted new procedures and 

control activities for tracking payments to payment plans, and if paralegals’ spreadsheets used to 
track civil penalties match cases coded in CORE with a payment plan status. Further, we sought 
to determine if respondents who do not make payments are sent demand letters as required, and 
whether licenses are revoked or suspended and cases are referred to collections in a timely 
manner.  An additional objective was to determine whether lists maintained by the Attorney 
General’s office and the state’s collections vendor match lists of referrals from the Regulatory 
Boards’ Legal Division as to case and monetary amounts collected and owed. 

 
In order to meet these objectives, we interviewed Legal Division management and staff to 

gain an understanding of the CORE system’s compliance module and how it is used to track civil 
penalties requirements including payments.  We obtained spreadsheets that board paralegals use 
to track cases with payment plans, and matched the spreadsheets to the Case and Complaint 
report, a weekly query that management of the Division of Regulatory Boards uses to track and 
evaluate the progress of complaints.  We obtained a spreadsheet maintained by a Legal Division 
paralegal of cases referred for collections and matched it to lists of cases we obtained from the 
Attorney General’s office and the state’s collections vendor.  We also used the collections 
spreadsheet to test cases for timeliness of follow-up measures.  

 
We concluded that the 2012 audit finding is partially resolved.  The Legal Department 

has made considerable progress in improving processes.  However, improvements can be made 
as noted below.  
 
 

Repeat Concern: Tracking and Monitoring Civil Penalties Collection 
 
License suspension or revocation took up to 510 days, allowing individuals and businesses to 
remain licensed when they had not met requirements or paid civil penalties; referrals to 
collections took up to 267 days to complete after eligibility, and demand letters were not sent 
 

Using the spreadsheet of collections cases obtained from Legal Division management, we 
identified cases of respondents with payment plans for the eight boards within our audit scope 
and tested 27 files that had been referred to the Attorney General’s office or to the state’s 
collections vendor, Focus.  Some of these cases were consent orders with payment plans, and 
some were final or agreed orders which respondents had failed to pay.  
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Our testing showed that legal staff assigned to the boards are tracking cases with civil 
penalties for payment due dates; however, legal staff referrals to collections when respondents 
failed to pay were sometimes delayed for several months after the cases were eligible for referral 
according to the Division of Regulatory Boards Standard Operating Procedure for Sending Cases 
for Collection.  The procedure specifies deadlines applicable to each type of order: consent, 
agreed, or final.  Cases are eligible for referral to collections when 30 days have passed beyond 
the payment deadline.  When files included communications between legal staff and respondents 
negotiating extended payment deadlines, we extended dates in our testing accordingly.  
Department policy does not specify when a case should be referred to collections once it 
becomes eligible.  We determined that 100 days would provide sufficient time for processing and 
referring a case to collections.  However, we found cases referred to collections up to 267 days 
after eligibility. The following issues were noted: 

 
 In 8 of 27 instances (30%), we found that legal staff referral to collections took more 

than 100 days past the eligible date.  

 In 4 of 9 instances (44%), legal staff did not process revocation or suspension timely.  
In two of these instances, revocation or suspension was part of the judgment in addition 
to payment of a civil penalty, and in two instances, revocation or suspension was 
required if payment terms were not met.  In the instances when suspension or 
revocation was required because payment terms were not met, legal staff sent a warning 
letter or suspension letter to the respondent.  Cases ranged from 43 to 510 days late.  

 For 10 consent or agreed orders with payment plans, in 2 instances (20%) legal staff 
could not provide a demand letter sent to the respondent prior to referral to 
collections.  

 
Attorneys send demand letters when respondents do not pay civil penalties according to 

their payment plan.  However, the attorneys refer cases directly to collections when there is no 
payment plan, although their procedure requires attorneys to “make one last effort to collect the 
total outstanding amount.”  To be consistent and perhaps increase collections, the Legal Division 
may wish to send a demand letter for every case before sending it to collections.  

 
 

Recommendation 

Legal Division staff should continue to monitor civil penalty cases to allow respondents 
reasonable time to pay while simultaneously keeping an eye toward timely referral to collections.  
Legal Division and board staff must coordinate to ensure that revocation or suspension is 
performed as directed in the order.  Management should determine in which instances a demand 
letter is appropriate, and revise the Standard Operating Procedure for Sending Cases for Collection 
to make the requirements clear.  To be consistent and perhaps increase collections, the Legal 
Division may wish to send a demand letter for every case before sending it to collections.  
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Management’s Comment 
 
We concur in part.  While the department agrees that collection and compliance are areas 

that can always be further refined, it disagrees that this should be considered a repeat finding.  
The previous audit finding was that “The Department of Commerce and Insurance’s Legal 
Division failed to track and monitor civil penalties collection efforts for the Regulatory Boards, 
increasing the risk that penalties were not collected timely or at all.”  This audit has made a 
finding regarding the timeliness of matters being referred to collection or of taking enforcement 
action authorized by Consent Orders.  The department would respectfully note that the processes 
set out the earliest time that such an action take place, but do not set out a deadline to take into 
account the additional work that must be done to take such action and the individuality of each 
such case.  While the department understands that the audit team has found that some such 
efforts occurred far enough beyond the initial authorization to be considered untimely, and the 
department believes that it will ensure faster action in the future, this appears to be a 
substantially different finding than the one that is being listed as repeated. 

 
 

Observation 

2. The Division of Regulatory Boards’ system can better manage unpaid civil penalties 
by including them in its Case and Complaint report and implementing a process for 
determining that civil penalty debts are uncollectible   

 
Management uses the Case and Complaint September report, a weekly report with 

information drawn from the Comprehensive Online Regulatory & Enforcement (CORE) 
database, to track the complaints process.  However, the division removes unpaid cases from the 
report when it sends them to collections.  Review of this report has become central to 
management review of case progress; keeping the collections cases in the report would help 
management track cases to their completion and provide an overview of the number of unpaid 
penalties.  

 
Additionally, the department has no process for determining that a case is uncollectible 

and closing out amounts owed for civil penalties.  Cases in which penalties were assessed as long 
ago as 2009 are among the collections cases currently with the Attorney General’s office; and 
Legal Division staff have re-referred to the state’s new collections vendor, HS Financial Group, 
LLC, those cases which had been returned to the department by the state’s previous collections 
vendor after one year of unsuccessful collection attempts.  State agencies’ ability to write off 
uncollectible debts is guided by the Department of Finance and Administration Policy 23 and 
Rule 0620-1-9, neither of which addresses timelines for writing off debt.  However, the 
department’s process of sending civil penalties to collections is cumbersome and labor-intensive.  
Due to the change in the state’s collections vendor in January 2017, three different entities are 
currently pursuing collections efforts for the Division of Regulatory Boards, and one paralegal 
must track cases in a spreadsheet and reconcile amounts collected with all three.  Since 
respondents in collections status sometimes still make their payments directly to the department, 
both the department and the collections entities must communicate updates on payments made.  
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Staff should track and ensure that records on outstanding debt are accurate and focus on 
pursuing debts most likely to be paid.  If no debt is written off, the cumulative contents of the 
collections spreadsheet will continue to grow and add to the workload of the paralegal tasked with 
tracking cases in collections.  The Office of Internal Audit’s July 2015 follow-up report to the 2012 
performance audit stressed the importance to management of data on uncollectible cases and 
recommended that another code be added to CORE for cases that had been deemed uncollectible.  

 
The Department of Commerce and Insurance and Division of Regulatory Boards should 

develop criteria for deciding when cases are uncollectible and follow Department of Finance and 
Administration guidelines to move the appropriate cases into this status.  The department and 
division should implement recommendations made from their Office of Internal Audit which 
would create a case code of “Uncollectible.”  The “Sent to Collections” and “Uncollectible” 
cases should be tracked and analyzed in the CORE system. 
 
 
September 2012 Audit, Finding 6, Inadequate Internal Controls (Not Resolved): 
 
The audit recommended the following: 
 

 Department and division management should ensure that the conditions identified are 
remedied by the prompt development and implementation of effective controls and 
assign staff to be responsible for ongoing monitoring of the risks and mitigating 
controls.   

 Management should ensure risks associated with this finding are adequately identified 
and assessed in the risk assessments of the department, division, and boards along 
with mitigating control activities. 

 
Our objective was to determine whether the department and division have effectively 

addressed these deficiencies.  In order to do so, we interviewed department human resources 
management and Strategic Technology Solutions management assigned to the Department of 
Commerce and Insurance.  Based on our interviews and reviews, we determined these issues 
have yet to be resolved. 

 
 

Repeat Finding 2 – Inadequate Internal Controls  
 
The Department of Commerce and Insurance and Division of Regulatory Boards did not 
provide adequate internal controls in one area 
 
 As noted in the 2012 and 2009 performance audits, the department did not design and 
monitor internal controls in one area.  We found several internal control deficiencies.  Ineffective 
implementation of internal controls increases the likelihood of errors and unauthorized access to 
licensees’ information.  

 
The details of this finding are confidential pursuant to Section 10-7-504(i), Tennessee 

Code Annotated.  We provided the Division of Regulatory Boards and the Department of 
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Commerce and Insurance with detailed information regarding specific deficiencies as well as our 
recommendations for improvement. 
 
 

Recommendation 
 

Department and division management should ensure that these conditions are remedied 
by the prompt development and implementation of effective controls.  Management should 
ensure that risks associated with this finding are adequately identified and assessed in the 
department, division, and boards’ risk assessments; this would include determining if any 
weaknesses have actually been exploited.  Management should implement effective controls to 
ensure compliance with applicable requirements, assign staff to be responsible for ongoing 
monitoring of the risks and mitigating controls, and take action if deficiencies occur. 
 
 

Management’s Comment 
   

We concur in part.  While the department agrees that internal controls is an area that can 
always be further mitigated, it disagrees that this should be considered a repeat finding.   
 
 

 
CURRENT AUDIT OBJECTIVES, METHODOLOGIES, AND CONCLUSIONS 

 
 

OPERATING ACCOUNTS AND RESERVE BALANCES 
 
 Section 4-29-121(a), Tennessee Code Annotated, requires the commissioner of the 
Department of Finance and Administration to provide a list of all regulatory boards—including 
regulatory boards that were not self-sufficient during the preceding fiscal year—to the Senate 
and House Government Operations Committees and to the Office of Legislative Budget 
Analysis.  In addition, under Section 4-29-121(b), any such regulatory board identified as not 
self-sufficient for two consecutive fiscal years must be reviewed by a joint evaluation committee 
of the legislature in the next legislative session.  This statute effectively requires each regulatory 
board to be self-supporting by collecting fees in an amount sufficient to pay the operational costs 
of the board. 
 

 Our audit objective was to determine if each board and commission currently under 
review has sufficient funds to cover expenses for the two-year license cycle.  We reviewed 
relevant statutes and obtained operating fund balances.  We also talked with division 
management about board and commission self-sufficiency expectations. 
 
 From our audit work, we determined that the Real Estate Appraiser Commission and the 
Soil Scientist Advisory Committee have reserve balances in excess of the self-sufficiency goals 
as outlined by division management.  Details are in the following finding.     
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Finding 
 

1. The Real Estate Appraiser Commission and the Soil Scientist Advisory Committee 
should consider fee reductions to bring revenues in line with expenses  

 
 We reviewed operating budgets for fiscal years 2013-2016 to determine if boards and 
commissions reviewed during this audit were charging appropriate fees to cover expenses.  Table 
5 shows the FY 2016 summary for each board and commission:  
 

Table 5 
Regulatory Boards’ Operating Accounts 

As of June 30, 2016  

Board, 
Commission, 
or 
Committee 

Board of 
Court 

Reporting 

Real Estate 
Appraiser 

Commission 

Private 
Investigation 

Polygraph 
Commission 

Auctioneer 
Commission 

Soil 
Scientist 
Advisory 

Committee 

Collection 
Service 
Board 

Funeral 
Directors 

and 
Embalmers 

Real Estate 
Commission 

Revenues $79,585 $739,029 $179,670 $200,349 $92,958 $273,186 $772,915 $2,047,099 
Expenditures $22,487 $443,641 $160,253 $139,509 $70,259 $180,998 $514,828 $1,715,988 
Net Balance $57,098 $295,388 $19,417 $60,840 $22,699 $92,188 $258,087 $331,111 
Prior Year 
Reserve  

$83,678 $1,639,871 $372,007 $279,421 $331,751 $428,139 $983,166 $4,081,414 

June 30, 2016 
Reserve  

$140,776 $1,935,259 $391,424 $340,261 $354,450 $520,327 $1,241,253 $4,412,525 

Source:  Account balance information obtained from Division of Regulatory Boards Director of Accounting.  
 

Each board and commission under review increased its account balance during the time period 
reviewed.  Table 6 shows the growth for each board and commission from FY 2013 to FY 2016. 
 

Table 6 
Regulatory Boards’ Operating Account Growth 

From Fiscal Year Ended June 30, 2013, to Fiscal Year Ended June 30, 2016 

Board or Commission Account Balance Growth 
Real Estate Appraiser Commission 68% 
Private Investigation and Polygraph Commission 24% 
Auctioneer Commission 107% 
Soil Scientist Advisory Committee 34% 
Collection Service Board 94% 
Board of Funeral Directors and Embalmers 74% 
Real Estate Commission 48% 

Source:  Operating account balance information obtained from Division of Regulatory Boards 
Director of Accounting. 
*Board of Court Reporting not included due to late 2015 addition to the Department of 
Commerce Insurance Division of Regulatory Boards. 

 
According to division management, regulatory boards are considered self-sufficient if 

they do not have two consecutive years with an operating deficit.  The following table outlines 
the average operating account balance, average expenses incurred, and number of years expenses 
held for the time period reviewed.  
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Board, 
Commission, or 
Committee* 

Real Estate 
Appraiser 

Commission 

Private 
Investigation 

and Polygraph 
Commission 

Auctioneer 
Commission 

Soil Scientist 
Advisory 

Committee 
Collection 

Service Board 

Board of 
Funeral 

Directors and 
Embalmers 

Real Estate 
Commission 

Average 
Operating 
Account 
Balance 

$1,546,297 $350,709 $244,660 $309,554 $372,149 $1,001,281 $3,696,210 

Average 
Expenditures 

$452,193 $154,063 $189,438 $73,197 $252,677 $550,921 $1,695,472 

Years of 
expenses held 
in reserve 

3.42 2.28 1.29 4.23 1.47 1.82 2.18 

Source: Operating account balance data provided by Division of Regulatory Boards Director of Accounting. 
*Board of Court Reporting not included due to late 2015 addition to Department of Commerce and Insurance 
Division of Regulatory Boards.  
 

The Auctioneer Commission, Collection Service Board, and Board of Funeral Directors 
and Embalmers are currently below the two-year expense goal; however, all three have 
experienced the highest growth in their operating budgets from Fiscal Year 2013 to Fiscal Year 
2016.  The Real Estate Appraiser Commission and the Soil Scientist Advisory Committee have 
also increased their operating accounts by 68% and 34%, respectively, from fiscal year 2013 to 
fiscal year 2016.   

 
 

Recommendation 
 

Regulatory boards should ensure that they are generating sufficient revenues to cover 
expenses yet strive to maintain their fund balance at a reasonable level.  The Real Estate 
Appraiser Commission and Soil Scientist Advisory Committee should consider a fee reduction to 
bring revenues in line with expenses. 

 
 

Management’s Comment 
 

We concur.  The department concurs with the recommendation to lower fees for these 
programs and has begun the internal process of determining the optimal fee in order to 
promulgate appropriate rules. 
 
 

EDUCATION AND RECOVERY ACCOUNTS 
 

Section 62-13-208, Tennessee Code Annotated, established the Real Estate Commission 
Education and Recovery Account.  Likewise, Section 62-19-116, Tennessee Code Annotated, 
established the Auctioneer Commission Education and Recovery Account.  The stated purpose 
of each fund provides that “any person may, by order of any court having competent jurisdiction, 
recover from the account actual or compensatory damages, . . . resulting from any violation of 
this chapter or of any rule promulgated under this chapter.”  In addition, each commission may 
use interest earned on the accounts to provide educational opportunities for their respective 
licensees.  The accounts are funded by fees charged by the respective professions. 

 
Our audit objective was to determine how many recovery claims have been paid, how 

much has been spent from the accounts on education events or programs, and how consumers or 



 

23 
 

 

complainants are notified of the accounts if a complaint against a licensee is lodged.  We 
reviewed relevant statutes, rules and regulations, and commission webpages.  We also obtained 
financial information and claim records from board accounting and legal management.  

 
From our audit work, we determined that education and recovery accounts have had few, 

if any, claims and have been used to fund few, if any, education events or programs.  Details are 
in the following finding and observation.  
 
 

Finding 
 
2. The General Assembly may wish to consider removing or modifying the Real Estate 

Commission Education and Recovery Account and the Auctioneer Commission 
Education and Recovery Account  

 
 We reviewed the Real Estate Commission Education and Recovery Account and the 
Auctioneer Commission Education and Recovery Account from fiscal year 2013 through 2016 to 
determine if awards were issued, and if education opportunities were funded through interest 
earned on the accounts.  We found that the Department of Commerce and Insurance did not use 
the Real Estate Education Account for educational purposes and the Real Estate Recovery 
Account has had one claim paid out since 2012 and one case is pending, resulting in a nearly $4 
million balance.  Further, the department has never paid any claims from the Auctioneer 
Commission Education and Recovery Account.  Neither commission informs complainants of 
the recovery accounts although the Real Estate Commission does have information on its 
website.  The results of our review are as follows: 
 
Real Estate Commission Education and Recovery Account 
 

Real Estate Education and Recovery Account Balances 
FY 2013-2016 

Fiscal Year 2013 2014 2015 2016 
Education Account Balance $109,237 $115,564 $164,124 $179,728 
Recovery Fund Balance $3,856,168 $3,891,873 $3,931,913 $3,973,858 

Source:  Education and Recovery Account balance information obtained from Director of Accounting, 
Division of Regulatory Boards. 

 
 Since the previous audit in 2012, the recovery account paid an award of $30,000 in 

May 2013 and another claim is being litigated. 

 Education opportunities were not expensed in fund reports reviewed by auditors.  
According to commission management, education events are funded through the 
commission operating budget.   
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Auctioneer Commission Education and Recovery Account 
 

Auctioneer Commission Education and Recovery Account Balances 
FY 2013-2016 

Fiscal Year 2013 2014 2015 2016 
Account Balance $208,779 $223,283 $231,009 $218,134 

Source:  Education and Recovery Account balances obtained from Director of 
Accounting, Division of Regulatory Boards. 

 
 According to Division of Regulatory Boards legal staff, the fund has not paid out any 

awards to date.  

 Educational opportunities funded by the account were limited to newsletters sent to 
licensees. 

 
We requested any information provided to consumers when filing a complaint against a 

licensee of the Real Estate Commission or the Auctioneer Commission.  According to 
commission legal staff, when a complaint is received, staff does not automatically inform the 
complainant of the recovery accounts and the filing process.  The Real Estate Commission 
webpage does provide information concerning the fund and the process to go about filing a 
claim, but the Auctioneer Commission webpage does not provide this information.   
 

 
Recommendation 

 
 The General Assembly may wish to remove or modify statute concerning the Real Estate 
Commission Education and Recovery Account and the Auctioneer Commission Education and 
Recovery Fund to reduce or eliminate fees associated with the funds or to eliminate the funds 
entirely.  An alternative could be to reimburse licensees from funds held in reserve.  Unless and 
until such change occurs, the Auctioneer Commission should include information regarding the 
recovery fund and the process to file a claim against the account on the commission webpage.   
 
 

Management’s Comment 
 

We concur.  The department has incorporated the recommendation to include information 
regarding the Auctioneer Commission Education and Recovery Account on its website and 
defers to the Legislature as to the Comptroller’s request that the General Assembly alter or 
abolish the accounts. 
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BOARD VACANCIES AND EXPIRED TERMS 
 

 To be effective, regulatory boards need members who regularly attend meetings, and 
when members’ terms expire, appointments should be made as soon as possible.  Our audit 
objective was to determine whether board members attended meetings and whether board 
vacancies were filled timely.  
 
 

Finding 
 
3. The Board of Court Reporting and the Real Estate Appraiser Commission had 

board vacancies; several boards had members serving on expired terms; and three 
board and commission members had attendance issues 

 
 As of February 17, 2017, the Board of Court Reporting had a board position that is 
vacant, and the previous board member’s term expired on June 30, 2016.  The Real Estate 
Appraiser Commission had one board position that became vacant December 2016.  Sections 20-
9-604(c) and 62-39-201(b), Tennessee Code Annotated, stipulate that appointments to the board 
and commission are to be made by the Governor.  In addition, the following boards and 
commissions had members serving on expired terms.  Statute provides that members serve until 
a successor is appointed.  (See Table 7.) 
 

Table 7 
Regulatory Boards With Members Serving on Expired Terms 

As of May 2017 
 

 
Board or Commission 

Number of Members With 
Expired Terms 

Expiration Dates of 
Terms 

Auctioneer Commission 1 8/31/2016 
Collection Service Board 1 6/30/2015 
Board of Court Reporting 2 6/30/2015* 
Private Investigation and Polygraph 
Commission 

4 9/30/2014; 
9/30/2016** 

Real Estate Appraiser Commission 1 6/30/2015 
Source:  Secretary of State website. 
*Term expired at the same time for both members. 
**Three members have the same term expiration. 
 

The following boards and commissions had members that attended 50% of board 
meetings or fewer for calendar years 2015 and 2016.  Boards need regular attendance by all 
members to ensure that decisions are based on the viewpoints and expertise of all.  (See Table 8.) 
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Table 8 
Regulatory Boards With Members Attending 50% or Fewer Board Meetings 

Calendar Years 2015-2016 
 

Name of Board Number of Members Meetings Attended 
Collection Service Board 1 3/10 
Private Investigation and Polygraph 
Commission 

2 4/8* 

Source:  Attendance records obtained from meeting minutes on the Department of Commerce and 
Insurance Regulatory Board’s website. 
*Attendance record is the same for both commission members for the reviewed time period. 

 
 

Recommendation 
 

To ensure the most efficient and effective operations, the Regulatory Board Division 
should continue to communicate the two vacancies identified and the board and commission 
members that are presently serving on expired terms.  
  
 The General Assembly may wish to amend board and commission statutes to include an 
attendance requirement.  
 
 

Management’s Comment 
 

We concur.  After the department administration received the recommendation for 
finding 3 from the Comptroller’s audit staff, three of the vacant or expired terms have been 
filled.  The administration will continue to work closely with the Governor’s office to fill the 
vacant or expired terms.  In addition, the administration along with the board directors will 
monitor and track board member attendance and will report this back to the Governor’s office in 
instances where the attendance requirement was not met.  The administration and board staff will 
also ensure that board members are adequately notified of meetings and the attendance 
requirement.   
 

 
UNLICENSED ACTIVITY 
 
 Section 62-19-116(l)(C), Tennessee Code Annotated, establishes the statutory authority 
for the Auctioneer Commission to employ an investigator.  The investigator working on behalf 
of the commission has the authority to stop any auction activity that is being promoted, managed, 
or supervised by unlicensed individuals.  Section 62-20-115(a)(1), Tennessee Code Annotated, 
provides the Collection Service Board with the statutory authority to investigate any collection 
service entity upon its own motion or by receipt of a sworn complaint.  Section 62-5-208, 
Tennessee Code Annotated, requires the Board of Funeral Directors and Embalmers to conduct 
an unannounced annual inspection of every funeral establishment each year.  Additional 
information regarding unannounced annual inspections of funeral establishments is discussed 
later in this report.  
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 Our audit objective was to determine if disciplinary and other action taken by the 
Division of Regulatory Boards had an impact on unlicensed activity and if the boards and 
commissions with the statutory authority to conduct proactive unlicensed activity reviews did so.  
We reviewed relevant statutes and interviewed division staff and management regarding current 
investigative and inspection work. 
 

From our audit work, we determined that generally the regulatory boards did not conduct 
unlicensed activity reviews unless a complaint was received; however, the Board of Funeral 
Directors and Embalmers’ annual inspection program did include unlicensed activity reviews. 
The Auctioneer Commission and the Collection Service Board should conduct, from time to 
time, proactive unlicensed activity reviews.  Details are in the following observation.     
 
 

Observation 
 

3. The Division of Regulatory Boards should consider proactive unlicensed activity 
reviews as a way to increase protection of consumers 

 
Section 62-5-208(b)(2), Tennessee Code Annotated, requires the Board of Funeral 

Directors and Embalmers to conduct unannounced funeral establishment inspections on an 
annual basis.  Of the total violations listed in Disciplinary Action Reports reviewed by auditors, 
27 out of 108, or 25%, of the Board of Funeral Directors and Embalmers’ violations were related 
to unlicensed activity.  (Each establishment is licensed and is to be operated by individually 
licensed Funeral Directors and Embalmers.)  According to department management, staff 
actively market the department’s website where consumers may verify that professionals are 
licensed.  In addition, the department relies on members of the licensed profession to report 
unlicensed activity.  According to legal staff, unlicensed activity violations were originally 
reported from the following sources: 

 
 22 violations were discovered as a result of funeral establishment inspections 

conducted by board staff, 

 4 violations were reported initially as a complaint by consumers, and 

 1 violation was reported initially as a complaint by another licensee.  
 

We conducted web searches of individuals and businesses advertising themselves within 
the purview of the boards and commissions under review and compared results to the 
Department of Commerce and Insurance Division of Regulatory Boards’ license verification 
system to determine if the individual or business was licensed as required by statute.  (The Board 
of Court Reporting and Soil Scientist Advisory Committee were not included in this review due 
to the nature of the industries.)  We found suspected unlicensed activity during these searches for 
all boards and commissions under review except for the Board of Funeral Directors and 
Embalmers.  For example, we found people with expired licenses claiming to be licensed 
professionals and saw unlicensed businesses advertising private investigation services.  While 
websites may remain even after the underlying business activity has ceased, this could be 
indicative of potential unlicensed activity.  
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The following boards and commissions have the statutory authority to conduct 
inspections or unlicensed activity investigations without a prior complaint from a consumer or 
another licensee: the Auctioneer Commission, the Board of Funeral Directors and Embalmers, 
and the Collection Service Board.  The remaining boards’ and commissions’ statutory authority 
is limited to receiving a complaint before actions are taken. 
 

In order to better protect the citizens of Tennessee and ensure compliance with rules and 
regulations, the boards and commissions with the statutory authority should consider 
implementing an unlicensed activity program that, from time to time, conducts reviews of 
individuals and businesses that are purporting to be appropriately licensed and operating in the 
state.  Additionally, the General Assembly may wish to modify statutory authority to allow 
unlicensed activity reviews for the applicable boards and commissions.   

 
 
STATEMENTS OF NECESSITY FOR BOARD MEETINGS 
 
 

Observation 
 

4. The Board of Court Reporting, Private Investigation and Polygraph Commission, 
Real Estate Appraiser Commission, and Real Estate Commission did not properly 
include required statements of necessity in meeting minutes and/or did not file such 
statements with the Secretary of State when, to achieve a quorum, members were 
allowed to tele-participate in meetings 

 
 Section 8-44-108(b)(2-3), Tennessee Code Annotated, requires that, if a physical quorum 
is not present at a board meeting’s location, the board must make a determination of the 
necessity for board members to participate by electronic or other means to achieve a quorum.  
This determination and a recitation of the facts and circumstances upon which the decision was 
made must be included in the meeting minutes and must be filed with the Secretary of State 
within two days of the board meeting.  Our objective was to review the division’s compliance 
with this law. 
 

We reviewed all board and commission meeting minutes from January 2015 through 
December 2016, to determine whether board meetings and members met key statutory 
requirements.  During this time, the boards and commissions allowed for teleconferencing to 
achieve a quorum in a total of five meetings; however, three of them did not reflect a statement 
of necessity in their minutes and did not have a determination of necessity on file with the 
Secretary of State’s office.  Two meeting minutes did reflect a statement of necessity in the 
minutes but did not have a determination of necessity on file with the Secretary of State’s office. 
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The Division of Regulatory Boards should inform regulatory boards and commissions 
about requirements to include a statement of necessity in board meeting minutes and submit a 
determination of necessity with the Secretary of State’s office within two business days after the 
meeting.  
 
 
COMPREHENSIVE ONLINE REGULATORY & ENFORCEMENT (CORE) TRANSITION 
 

The Department of Commerce and Insurance transitioned from its former computerized 
licensing system, the Regulatory Boards System (RBS), to its replacement system, the 
Comprehensive Online Regulatory & Enforcement (CORE) database, in September 2015. 
 

The objective of our review was to determine whether the department made a reasonable 
effort to ensure all information from RBS was successfully transferred to CORE.  
 

To accomplish this objective, we spoke with the Director of Information Systems; 
interviewed the Director of Licensing; contacted Strategic Technology Solutions in the Department 
of Finance and Administration; reviewed relevant information technology policies and procedures 
regarding project management; and gathered relevant documentation of work performed. 
 
 

Observation 
 

5. The Department of Commerce and Insurance’s Division of Regulatory Boards did 
not retain documentation of its post-implementation review testing to ensure that its 
licensing data was successfully migrated from the Regulatory Boards System (RBS) 
to the Comprehensive Online Regulatory & Enforcement (CORE) system and that 
the licensing data in CORE is valid and reliable 

 
The Department of Commerce and Insurance provided the auditors with User Acceptance 

Testing data that shows that the functionality of the new CORE licensing system was tested. 
However, some of the information provided is unclear and does not demonstrate that the 
department produced or retained documentation of post-implementation review testing that shows 
all data is valid and reliable and successfully migrated from RBS to CORE in September 2015.  In 
the course of our audit, we did not find any evidence of errors in migration or data reliability.   

 
The Department of Commerce and Insurance should maintain documentation of testing 

and edit work performed on information technology projects for assurance that the data within a 
given system or the data migrated from one system to another is valid and reliable so that 
management can use the data to make informed decisions. 
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CORE DATABASE AND WEBSITE CONSISTENCY 
 
 In September 2015, the Department of Commerce and Insurance’s Regulatory Board 
Division launched a new licensing database system, CORE (Comprehensive Online Regulatory 
& Enforcement), to replace its legacy system, RBS.  The CORE system was designed to include 
enhancements that provide the ability to apply for original licenses online and process license 
renewals without using a different system to interface with the license database.  The CORE 
system maintains licensee data and complaints; it also provides department management and 
staff with productivity reports for each board and employee. 
 

The Department of Commerce and Insurance provides the public with a searchable 
function within the department website to “verify a license.”  This function allows consumers to 
verify the license of an individual or business to ensure the individual or business is in compliance 
with statutory requirements and board rules and regulations.  According to department staff, the 
website is updated nightly with information contained in the CORE database.  Additionally, the 
website includes a Disciplinary Action Report for the boards attached to the department.  This 
monthly report provides Tennessee residents and consumers with disciplinary action taken by each 
regulatory board in a given month.  Each report lists the program name (board), respondent 
(individual or business), location, violation, action (taken by the board), and date.    

 
Our audit objective was to determine if licensee data presented on the publicly accessible 

department website was consistent with information contained in the CORE database.  We 
interviewed division management and staff, reviewed division risk assessments, selected a 
random sample of active status licensees from boards included in this audit, and compared data 
on the department’s website to data in CORE.  
 
 From our audit work, we determined that the information contained on the department’s 
website was consistent with information in the CORE database.  We did note the following 
observation concerning improvements that could be made to the department website. 
 
 

Observation 
 
6. The Division of Regulatory Boards could improve licensee search results by 

incorporating disciplinary action report data  
 

 Individuals searching to verify licensure did not automatically receive in the search 
results any disciplinary action taken by the board against the licensee.  To review disciplinary 
actions taken by the boards, individuals must review monthly disciplinary reports provided on 
the department website.  The reports are not linked to verification search results and do not 
include a search feature.   
 
 The Department of Commerce and Insurance Division of Regulatory Boards may wish to 
add disciplinary action information regarding a specific licensee to other information provided 
with search results for that licensee. 
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INSPECTION OF FUNERAL ESTABLISHMENTS 
 
Section 62-5-208, Tennessee Code Annotated, requires the Board of Funeral Directors 

and Embalmers to conduct annual, unannounced funeral establishment inspections.  As of 
November 2016, the board had 580 active funeral establishment licensees.  Two field 
representatives conduct the annual inspections with help from an investigator whose primary job 
is to investigate complaints of malpractice. The field representatives and investigator are licensed 
funeral directors and embalmers as required by statute.  Per statute, inspections are to occur 
between the hours of 8:00 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. and should be limited to items on the inspection 
checklist, which is to be posted on the board’s website.  In addition, the board performs 
unannounced annual inspections of every crematory.  

 
Our audit objective was to determine if the Board of Funeral Directors and Embalmers 

inspected funeral establishments and embalming sites as established by statute and policy.  We 
reviewed pertinent policies, procedures, and statute and interviewed the board’s executive 
director.  From the population of 580 licensed funeral establishments and crematories, we 
selected a sample of 60 establishments to determine if the board performed annual unannounced 
establishment inspections. The sample included 10 establishments (17%) that were both funeral 
homes and crematories; 44 (73%) that were solely funeral homes; and 6 (10%) that were 
exclusively crematories.  (Our results cannot be projected to the population.)  

 
We determined that the board performed all annual unannounced inspections for the 

sampled establishments for calendar years 2015 and 2016. For two inspections in which the 
board issued citations, one complaint is being reviewed by the department’s legal division while 
the other was closed with the establishment paying a civil penalty of $250.  
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Appendix 
 

Comparison of Licensing Requirements  
 

We compared the State of Tennessee’s licensure requirements to three other states, North 
Carolina, Florida, and Georgia, to determine if current laws, rules, and regulations may pose an 
undue barrier to entry.  A summary of the results can be found in the following table. 
 

Education Experience Fees 
Real Estate Appraiser  

North Carolina   
More stringent than TN 
– NC requires licensed 
residential appraisers to 
have an associate’s degree 
or higher; TN requires 30 
college semester hours. 
NC requires licensed 
residential appraisers to 
have 200 classroom hours, 
TN -150.  Equal – Both 
require a bachelor’s 
degree or higher for 
certified residential and 
general appraisers.  Both 
require certified appraisers 
to earn 200 classroom 
hours and general 
appraisers to earn 300.     

More stringent than TN – 
NC requires licensed 
residential appraisers to have 
2,500 hours of appraisals, 
while TN requires 2,000 
hours’ worth of appraisals. 
Equal – Both NC and TN 
require 2,500 hours of 
appraisals for state certified 
appraisers and 3,000 hours of 
appraisals for general 
appraisers.  

Less stringent than TN – NC 
requires a $200 application fee, 
while TN requires a $125 
application fee and a $350 fee 
for license issuance and 
renewals. 

Florida   
More stringent than TN 
– FL requires registered 
trainee appraisers to 
complete 100 hours of 
approved pre-licensure 
education and certified 
residential appraisers to 
complete 200 hours of 
approved pre-licensure 
education and hold a 
bachelor’s degree or 
higher, while TN requires 
trainee appraisers to earn 
75 hours of appraiser 
courses and state licensed 
appraisers to earn 150.  

Equal – Both FL and TN 
require certified residential 
appraisers/state certified 
appraisers to accumulate 
2,500 hours of experience 
and certified general 
appraisers to accumulate 
3,000 hours of experience.   

Less stringent than TN – There 
is no application fee and the 
issuance fee for registered 
trainee appraisers is $230, while 
the issuance fee is $350 in TN. 
Equal – the issuance fee for 
certified residential 
appraisers/state certified 
appraisers is $351 in FL and 
$350 in TN, and the issuance fee 
for certified general appraisers is 
$351 in FL and $350 in TN. 
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Education Experience Fees 
Georgia   
Equal – In addition to 
holding a high school 
diploma, both GA and TN 
require state licensed real 
estate appraisers to have 
an associate’s degree or 
30 semester hours of 
college-level education 
and state certified 
residential appraisers and 
state certified general 
appraisers to have a 
bachelor’s degree.  

Equal – Both GA and TN 
require state licensed real 
estate appraisers to submit a 
detailed appraisal experience 
log documenting at least 
2,000 hours of real property 
appraisal experience; state 
certified residential 
appraisers, a log 
documenting at least 2,500 
hours; and state certified 
general appraisers, a log 
documenting at least 3,000 
hours experience, gained 
over a period of at least 30 
months, with at least 50% 
non-residential. 

Less stringent than TN – GA 
requires a $125 application fee, 
and the following fees for 
renewals: a $140 fee for licensed 
and certified appraisers and a 
$100 fee for registered and 
trainee appraisers, while TN 
requires a $125 application fee 
and a $350 fee for license 
renewals.  

Real Estate Broker  
North Carolina   
Less stringent than TN – 
NC requires 75 hours of 
pre-licensing coursework, 
while TN requires 90 
hours.   

Less stringent than TN – 
NC requires 90 classroom 
hours of post-licensing 
education to be completed 
within three years of the date 
of initial licensure, while TN 
requires brokers to complete 
120.   

Less stringent than TN – NC 
requires a $30 application fee 
and a $45 annual renewal fee, 
while TN requires a $100 license 
fee and an $80 biennial renewal 
fee.   

Florida   
Less stringent than TN – 
FL requires that sales 
associates have obtained 
63 hours of pre-licensing 
courses (which are valid 
for two years) and for 
brokers to have obtained 
72 hours while TN 
requires affiliate brokers 
to have obtained 90 hours 
and brokers to have 
obtained 150. 

Less stringent than TN – 
FL requires sales associates 
to have obtained 45 hours of 
post-licensing courses within 
two years of initial licensing 
and for brokers and broker 
associates to obtain 60 while 
TN requires brokers to obtain 
120 hours of post-licensing 
courses before the third year 
of initial licensing.  

Less stringent than TN – FL 
requires initial license fees of 
$64 for sales associates and $72 
for brokers and biennial renewal 
fees of $64 for sales associates 
and $72 for brokers. TN requires 
$100 for an initial license fee 
and an $80 biennial renewal fee.    
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Education Experience Fees 
Georgia   
Less stringent than TN – 
GA requires salespersons 
to have 75 hours of pre-
licensing courses and for 
brokers to have 60 hours 
while TN requires affiliate 
brokers to have 90 hours 
and brokers to have 150.   

Less stringent than TN – 
There is no experience 
requirement for salespersons 
in GA.  Brokers in GA are 
required to have been 
licensed a minimum of three 
of the previous five years 
while TN brokers are 
required to have accumulated 
120 hours of post-licensing 
courses before the third year 
of licensing.  

More stringent than TN – 
GA’s broker license fee is $170 
and the renewal fee is $125, 
while TN’s broker’s license fee 
is $100 and biennial renewal fee 
is $80.  

Auctioneer  
North Carolina   
Less stringent than TN – 
NC requires either the 
completion of a two-year 
apprenticeship or 
graduating from an 
approved school of 
auctioneering, while TN 
requires 80 classroom 
hours to become an 
apprentice, and an 
additional 30 hours to 
become a licensed 
auctioneer, in addition to a 
two-year apprenticeship.   

Less stringent than TN – 
NC requires either the 
completion of a two-year 
apprenticeship or graduation 
from a school of 
auctioneering, while TN 
requires a two-year 
apprenticeship.    

More stringent than TN – NC 
requires an initial $300 fee [$50 
application; $50 examination; 
$150 (annual) license and $50 
Recovery Fund] for auctioneer 
applicants and a $200 [$50 
application, $100 (annual) 
license and $50 Recovery Fund] 
for apprentice auctioneers, while 
TN requires an initial $50 
application fee, $50 Education 
and Recovery Account fee, a 
$125 apprentice license, and a 
$175 auctioneer license. 

Florida   
Less stringent than TN – 
FL requires initial 
applicants to participate in 
a 12-month sponsorship or 
complete 80 classroom 
hours of auctioneer 
school, while TN requires 
80 classroom hours to 
become an apprentice and 
an additional 30 hours to 
become a licensed 
auctioneer, in addition to a 
two-year apprenticeship.  

Less stringent than TN – 
FL requires an 
apprenticeship of one year or 
more, while TN requires a 
two-year apprenticeship. 
 

Less stringent than TN – FL 
requires a $444.50 application 
fee for initial license based on 
education or apprenticeship, 
$205 application fee (to enter 
apprenticeship), and a $155 
biennial license renewal fee 
(includes $5 unlicensed activity 
fee), while TN requires an initial 
$50 application fee, $50 
Education and Recovery 
Account fee, a $125 apprentice 
license, and a $175 auctioneer 
license. 
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Education Experience Fees 
Georgia   
Less stringent than TN – 
GA requires that 
applicants have graduated 
from an auctioneer’s 
school, while TN requires 
80 classroom hours to 
become an apprentice, and 
an additional 30 hours to 
become a licensed 
auctioneer, in addition to a 
two-year apprenticeship.   

Less stringent than TN – 
GA does not require an 
apprenticeship for licensure, 
while TN requires a two-year 
apprenticeship. 

More stringent than TN- GA 
requires a $200 application fee 
and a $150 fee payable to the 
Recovery Fund, with the $150 
renewal fee paid every even 
year, while TN requires an initial 
$50 application fee, $50 
Education and Recovery 
Account fee, a $125 apprentice 
license, and a $175 auctioneer 
license.   

Collection Services  
North Carolina   

N/A N/A More stringent than TN – NC 
requires a $1,048 initial agency 
application fee and a $1,038 
agency renewal fee, while TN 
requires a $750 initial 
application fee ($150 license 
application fee and a $600 
collections service license) and a 
$350 renewal fee  

Florida   
N/A N/A Less stringent than TN – FL 

requires a $200 application fee 
and a $200 renewal fee, while 
TN requires a $750 initial appl. 
fee ($150 license application fee 
and a $600 collections service 
license) and a $350 renewal fee.   

Georgia   
N/A N/A N/A 

Court Reporting  
North Carolina   

N/A N/A N/A 
Florida   

N/A N/A N/A 
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Education Experience Fees 
Georgia   
Equal – Both GA and TN 
require court reporters to 
hold designations by the 
National Court Reporters 
Association and the 
National Verbatim 
Reporters Association.   

N/A Equal – Both GA and TN 
require a $200 
registration/license fee.   

Funeral Directors and Embalmers  
North Carolina   
Less stringent than TN – 
NC requires a high school 
diploma plus 32 semester 
hours from or graduate of 
a mortuary science college 
approved by the board, 
while TN requires 30 
semester or 45 quarter 
hours at a school 
accredited by American 
Board of Funeral Service 
Education, for funeral 
director applicants and an 
associate's degree in 
mortuary science, with at 
least 60 semester or 90 
quarter hours at a school 
accredited by same, for 
embalmer applicants.  

Less stringent than TN for 
funeral directors and equal 
for embalmer applicants – 
NC requires that applicants 
have a sponsor and work at 
least 2,000 hours (1 year) 
during the resident 
traineeship.  Trainees are to 
assist in directing at least 25 
funerals, while TN requires 
that funeral applicants serve 
a two-year or one-year 
apprenticeship and have an 
associate’s degree from a 
school accredited by the 
American Board of Funeral 
Service Education. TN 
requires embalmer applicants 
to serve a one-year 
apprenticeship.    

Less stringent than TN – NC 
requires $150 for an Embalmer, 
Funeral Director, Funeral 
Service application; $100.00 for 
an annual combined funeral 
director and embalmer renewal 
fee; and $250 for an 
establishment permit.  TN 
requires $200 for a funeral 
director or embalmer 
application, $235 for a funeral 
director or embalmer renewal 
fee, and $575 for a funeral 
establishment permit.  
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Education Experience Fees 
Florida   
More stringent than TN 
for funeral director 
intern applicants and 
equal for embalmer 
intern applicants – FL 
requires an associate’s 
degree in funeral services 
or a bachelor’s in any 
subject area along with a 
one-year Funeral Service 
Arts course and a two-
hour communicable 
disease course for funeral 
director intern applicants 
and completion of a one-
year mortuary science 
course and a two-hour 
communicable disease 
course for embalmer 
intern applicants.  TN 
requires 30 semester or 45 
quarter hours for funeral 
director intern applicants 
and an associate’s degree 
in mortuary science.   

Less stringent than TN for 
funeral director intern 
applicants and equal for 
embalmer intern applicants 
– FL requires completion of 
a one-year funeral director 
internship and a one-year 
embalmer internship. TN 
requires a two-year funeral 
director apprenticeship, or 
one year plus an associate’s 
degree for a funeral director 
intern applicant and a one-
year embalmer 
apprenticeship. 

Equal to TN – FL requires a 
$100 application fee and a $375 
license fee ($187.50 if 
application is received between 
Aug. 1 and Sept. 30 of an odd 
year); TN requires a $200 
application fee and a $275 
license fee ($235 for renewal). 

Georgia   
Equal – GA requires a 
high school diploma or 
GED and a degree from 
an accredited college of 
funeral service, while TN 
requires a high school 
diploma or GED and 30 
semester or 45 quarter 
hours at a school 
accredited by the 
American Board of 
Funeral Service Education 
for funeral director 
applicants, and an 
associate’s degree in 
mortuary science with at 
least 60 semester or 90 
quarter hours.  

Equal – GA requires that 
apprenticeships begin as of 
the date the application is 
approved by the board and 
3,120 hours (equivalent to 18 
months of full-time service); 
funeral directors are required 
to be licensed embalmers in 
GA, while TN requires 
funeral directors to serve two-
year apprenticeships or serve 
a one-year apprenticeship and 
earn an associate’s degree 
from a school accredited by 
the American Board of 
Funeral Service Education, 
with embalmers requiring 
one-year apprenticeships.  

Less stringent than TN – GA 
requires a $40 initial 
apprenticeship application fee, a 
$50 funeral director and $50 
embalmer application fee, a 
$150 funeral establishment 
application fee, a $100 funeral 
director and embalmer license 
renewal fee, and a $140 funeral 
establishment renewal fee.  TN 
requires a $70 initial 
apprenticeship application fee, a 
$200 funeral director or 
embalmer application fee, a 
$575 establishment application 
fee, a $235 director or embalmer 
renewal fee, and a $575 
establishment renewal fee.  
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Education Experience Fees 
Soil Scientists  

North Carolina   
More stringent than TN 
– NC requires 30 semester 
hours or 45 quarter hours 
in agriculture, or 
biological, physical, or 
earth sciences and at least 
15 semester hours or 
equivalent quarter hours 
in soil science, while TN 
requires 15 semester hours 
in soil science.  

More stringent than TN – 
both NC and TN require at 
least three years of 
professional experience; 
however, NC requires the 
experience to be as an 
apprentice, while TN allows 
applicants to substitute 
advanced degrees, teaching, 
and/or research experience 
for the three years.  

Less stringent than TN – NC 
requires a $50 application fee 
and $85 renewal fee, while TN 
requires a $100 application fee 
and a $400 license/renewal fee 
for active licenses.  

Florida   
N/A N/A N/A 

Georgia   
N/A N/A N/A 

Private Investigation  
North Carolina   
More stringent than TN- 
NC requires a high school 
diploma, GED, or proof of 
graduation from an 
accredited college or 
university, while TN does 
not require any level of 
education.  

More stringent than TN – 
NC requires three years’ 
experience in private investi-
gation, or three years in an 
investigative capacity in law 
enforcement or government, 
while TN requires one person 
in an investigation company 
to have one year of related 
experience or education. 

Equal – Both NC and TN 
require a $150 application fee.  
 
Less stringent than TN – NC 
requires a $45 license fee, while 
TN requires a $125 sole 
practitioner license fee. 

Florida   
Equal – FL allows for 
college coursework to be 
substituted for experience, 
as does TN.  

Equal – Both FL and TN 
allow for either prior 
investigative experience 
and/or college coursework to 
be substituted for experience.  

Less stringent than TN – FL 
requires for individual licensees a 
$50 application fee, a $75 license 
fee, and a $75 renewal fee.  For 
private investigative agencies, FL 
requires a $50 application fee, a 
$450 initial license fee, and a 
$450 license renewal fee. TN 
requires for individuals a $150 
application fee, a $125 license 
fee, and a $250 renewal fee, and 
requires for agencies a $250 
application fee, a $500 initial 
license fee, and a $1,000 renewal 
fee (for over 5 licensed staff). 
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Education Experience Fees 
Georgia   
Equal – GA allows for 
college coursework to be 
substituted for experience, 
as does TN.  

More stringent than TN – 
GA requires two years’ 
investigative experience with 
prior detective experience 
and college coursework 
substitutable for licensure 
experience, while TN 
requires one year of 
investigative experience with 
prior detective experience 
and college coursework 
substitutable for licensure 
experience. 

Less stringent than TN – GA 
requires companies to pay $100 
for an application, $300 for the 
license fee, and $300 for 
renewal, with individuals 
required to pay $45 for an initial 
license ($70 armed), and a $65 
renewal fee. TN requires 
companies to pay a $1,000 
application fee with more than 
five licensed investigators, $500 
license fee, and $1,000 renewal 
fee. Individuals to pay a $150 
application fee, a $125 license 
fee, and a $250 license renewal 
fee. 

Polygraph  
North Carolina   
Less stringent than TN – 
NC requires that 
applicants have graduated 
from high school and a 
board approved polygraph 
course, while TN requires 
that applicants hold a 
bachelor’s degree or two 
years of college credits.   

Less stringent than TN – 
NC requires six months as a 
trainee or one year of 
experience, while TN 
requires five years’ 
experience in criminal, 
counterintelligence, or 
private investigative work.  

Equal – NC requires a $150 
application fee and a $45 license 
fee, while TN requires a $50 
application fee and a $150 
license fee. 

Florida   
N/A N/A N/A 

Georgia   
N/A N/A N/A 
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