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AGENCY/BOARD/COMMISSION:

DIVISION:

SUBJECT:

STATUTORY AUTHORITY:

EFFECTIVE DATES:

FISCAL IMPACT:

STAFF RULE ABSTRACT:

Tennessee Department of Children’s Services
Child Protective Services

Emergency Rule: Classification and Review of Reports of
Child Abuse/Neglect and Due Process Requirements for
Release of Child Abuse/Neglect Records

Tennessee Code Annotated, Sections 4-5-208, 4-5-
226(b)(2), 4-5-313, 37-1-409, 37-1-612, 37-1-616, 37-5-
101, 37-5-105, 37-5-106, 37-5-112(a), and 49-5-413(e)

July 19, 2013 through January 15, 2014
None

This emergency rule is required by Public Chapter 381,
enacted by the General Assembly and signed by the
Governor on May 14, 2013, which creates Tennessee
Code Annotated § 49-5-413(e). This new subsection (e)
authorizes the emergency rule and states that DCS “shall
promulgate [the rule] within 60 days of [the legislation]
becoming law.”

This emergency rule repeals and replaces Chapter 0250-
07-09 in its entirety; however, the creation of Rule 0250-7-
9-.03 is the only substantive change, with the other
changes reflecting a subsequent renumbering of the
previous rules in this chapter.

Rule 0250-7-9.03 applies to the release of child abuse and
neglect investigation information to covered educational
entities relative to any person who is employed or offered
employment with a covered educational entity. The rule
identifies requirements and procedures for due process
and notification by the department of children’s services.



Impact on Local Governments
Pursuant to T.C.A. §§ 4-5-220 and 4-5-228 “any rule proposed to be promulgated shall state in a simple
declarative sentence, without additional comments on the merits of the policy of the rules or regulation, whether

the rule or regulation may have a projected impact on local governments.” (See Public Chapter Number 1070
(http://state.tn.us/sos/acts/106/pub/pc1070.pdf) of the 2010 Session of the General Assembly)

This rule amendment is not expected to have any impact on local governments.

SS-7040 (October 2011) 16 RDA 1693
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Contact Person: Douglas Earl Dimond
Address: 7" Floor Cordell Hull, 436 Sixth Avenue North, Nashville, TN
Zip: 37243
Phone: (615)741-9184
Email: Douglas.E.Dimond@TN.Gov

Rule Type:
X __ Emergency Rule

Revision Type (check all that apply):

Amendment
X New
X Repeal

Statement of Necessity:

Pursuant to T.C.A § 37-5-105, 37-1-409, and 37-1-612, the Commissioner of the Department of Children’s
Services (DCS) or the Commissioner's designee has the power to make and adopt ruies, regulations and
policies for the government, management and supervision of DCS and to set out procedures for disclosure of
information from child abuse investigations consistent with state law.

This emergency rule is required by Tenn. Code Ann. § 49-5-413(e), enacted by the Legislature and signed by
the Governor on May 14, 2013. The statute authorizes this emergency rule and requires that DCS “shall
promulgate” within 60 days of the statute becoming law. Moreover, due to the immediate danger to the public
safety and welfare and the length of time necessary to complete the rulemaking process, these rules are
necessary for DCS to immediately establish procedures for the release of child abuse and neglect information to
local educational agencies (LEAs) to ensure a hiring process that is safe for children.

Rule(s) Revised (ALL chapters and rules contained in filing must be listed here. If needed, copy and paste
additional tables to accommodate multiple chapters. Please enter only ONE Rule Number/RuleTitle per row)

Chapter Number | Chapter Title - i

0250-07-09 | Classification and Review of Reports of Child Abuse/Neglect and Due Process
- Procedures for Release of Child Abuse/Neglect Records
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RULES
OF THE

TENNESSEE DEPARTMENT OF CHILDREN’S SERVICES
CHILD PROTECTIVE SERVICES

CHAPTER 0250-7-9
CLASSIFICATION AND REVIEW OF REPORTS OF CHILD ABUSE/NEGLECT

DUE PROCESS PROCEDURES FOR RELEASE OF CHILD ABUSE/NEGLECT RECORDS

0250-7-9-.01
0250-7-9-.02
0250-7-9-.03
0250-7-9-.04

0250-7-9-.05

0250-7-9-.06

AND

TABLE OF CONTENTS
Definitions 0250-7-9-.07
Scope of Rules
Prohibited Releases
When Rights Under this 0250-7-9-,08
Chapter Attach
Standard and Criteria for
Review of Classification of 0250-7-9-.09
Reports of Child
Abuse/Neglect as “Indicated” 0250-7-9-.10
Right to Notice and
Opportunity for Formal File 0250-7-9-.11

Review

0250-7-9-.01 DEFINITIONS.

Alleged Perpetrators with
Current Access to Children;
Emergency Notification
Right to Notice and
Opportunity for Administrative
Hearing

Stay of Administrative
Proceedings

Conduct of Administrative
Hearing

Evidence; Standard of Proof
at the Administrative Hearing

1) “Abuse” exists when a person under the age of eighteen (18) is suffering from, has sustained,
or may be in immediate danger of suffering from or sustaining a wound, injury, disability or
physical or mental condition caused by brutality, neglect or other actions or inactions of a
parent, relative, guardian or caretaker. Tenn. Code Ann. §37-1-102(b)(1)

(2) “Adult” means any person eighteen (18) years of age or older. Tenn. Code Ann. §37-1-
102(b)(3)

3) “Child” means (A) A person under the age of eighteen (18) years of age.

(4) "Child sexual abuse” means:

(a)

(b)

The commission of any act involving unlawful sexual abuse, molestation, fondling or
camal knowledge of a child that constitutes a criminal offense under Tennessee law; or

One (1) or more of the following acts:

1. Any penetration, however slight, of the vagina or anal opening of one (1) person
by the penis of another person, whether or not there is the emission of semen;

2. Any contact between the genitals or anal opening of one (1) person and the
mouth or tongue of another person;

November, 2006 (Revised)
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CLASSIFICATION AND REVIEW OF REPORTS OF CHILD CHAPTER 0250-7-9 . | Formatted: Space After: 0 pt
ABUSE/NEGLECT AND DUE PROCESS PROCEDURES FOR )
RELEASE OF CHILD ABUSE/NEGLECT RECORDS

(Rule 0250-7-9-.01, continued) - | Formatted: Indent: Left: 0", First line: 0"

3. Anyintrusion by one (1) person into the genitals or anal opening of another
person, including the use of any object for this purpose, except that it shall not
include acts intended for a valid medical purpose;

4.  The intentional touching of the genitals or intimate parts, including the breasts,
genital area, groin, inner thighs, and buttocks, or the clothing covering them, of
either the child or the perpetrator, except that it shall not include:

()  Acts that may reasonably be construed to be normal caretaker
responsibilities, interactions with, or affection for a child; or

GLASSIFICATION-AND-REVIEW OF RERORTS OF CHILD- CHARTERO02E0720 . | Formatted: Space After: 0 pt
ABUSEHNEGLECT-AND DUE-PROCESS RROCEDURES FOR
RELEASE OF CHILD ABUSENEGLECT REGORDS
November, 2006 (Revised)2
()  Acts intended for a valid medical purpose;
5.  The intentional exposure of the perpetrator's genitals in the presence of a child,
or any other sexual act intentionally perpetrated in the presence of a child, if such

exposure or sexual act is for the purpose of sexual arousal or gratification,
aggression, degradation, or other similar purpose;

6. The sexual exploitation of a child, which includes allowing, encouraging, or
forcing a child to:

()] Solicit for or engage in prostitution; or
(i) Engage in an act prohiblted by Tenn. Code Ann. §39-17-1003,

(c) For the purposes of the reporting, investigation, and treatment provisions of Tenn.
Code Ann. §37-1-603— 37-1-615 “child sexual abuse” also means the commission of
any act specified in subdivision Tenn. Code Ann. § 37-1-802(a)(3) against a child
thirteen (13) years of age through seventeen (17) years of age if such act is committed
against the child by a parent, guardian, relative, person residing in the child’s home,
other person responsible for the care and custody of the child. Tenn. Code Ann. §37-1-
602(a)(3)

(5) “Department’” means the Tennessee Department of Children’s Services.

(6) “Neglect” means a child: (A) Who is without a parent, guardian or legal custodian; (B) Whose
parent, guardian or person with whom the chlid lives, by reason of cruelty, mental incapacity,

November, 2006 (Revised) * Formatted: Indent: Hanging: 0.75"




CLASSIFICATION AND REVIEW OF REPORTS OF CHILD _ CHAPTER 0250-7-9

ABUSE/NEGLECT AND DUE PROCESS PROCEDURES FOR
RELEASE OF CHILD ABUSE/NEGLECT RECORDS

(Rule 0250-7-9-.01, continued)
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9)

immorality or depravity is unfit to properly care for such child; (C) Who is under unlawful or
-improper care, supervision, custody or restraint by any person, corporation, agency,
association,-institulion, society or other organization or who is unlawfully kept out of school;
(D) Whose parent, guardian or custodian neglects or refuses to provide necessary medical,
surgical, institutional or hospital care for such child; (E) Who, because of lack of proper
supervision, is found in any place the existence of which is in violation of law; (F) Who is in
such conditions of want or suffering or is under such improper guardianship or control as to
injure or endanger the morals or health of such child or others; (G) Who is suffering from
abuse or neglect; (H) Who has been in the care and control of an agency or person who is
not related to such child by blood or marriage for a continuous period of eighteen (18) months
or longer in the absence of a court order, and such person or agency has not initiated judicial
proceedings seeking either legal custody or adoption of the child; or () Who is or has been
allowed, encouraged or permitted to engage in prostitution or obscene or pomographic
photographing, filming, posing, or similar activity and whose parent, guardian or other
custodian neglects or refuses to protect such child from further such activity. Tenn. Code
Ann. §37-1-102(b)(12)

“Commissioner's designee” means the person designated by the Commissioner of the
Tennessee Department of Children's Services to act pursuant to this rule.

“Child care agency” means a place or facility, regardiess of whether it is currently licensed,
that is operated as a “family child care home”, a “group child care home”, a “child care
center”, or a “drop-in center”, or that provides child care for five (5) or more children who are
not related to the primary caregiver for three (3) or more hours per day. Tenn. Code Ann.
§71-3-501.

“Indicated” means the classification assigned to an individual found to be a perpetrator of
abuse, severe child abuse, child sexual abuse, or neglect as the result of investigation of a
report of abuse. Tenn. Code Ann. §37-1-406(i)

(10) “Regional General Counsel” means the supervising attomey for one of the regional DCS

GLASSIEICATION- AND REVIEWOF R
ABUSENEGLECT AND-DUE PROC:

offices.

RTS OF CHILD-CHARTER 0250-7-8
2 3 FOR

(11) “Severe child abuse” means (A) The knowing exposure of a child to or the knowing failure to

protect a child from abuse or neglect that is likely to cause great bodily harm or death and the
knowing use of force on a child that is likely to cause great bodily harm or death; (B) Specific

Movember, 2006 (Revised)
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CLASSIFICATION AND REVIEW OF REPORTS OF CHILD CHAPTER 0250-7-9
ABUSE/NEGLECT AND DUE PROCESS PROCEDURES FOR

RELEASE OF CHILD ABUSE/NEGLECT RECORDS

(Rule 0250-7-9-.01, continued)

(12)

(13)

brutality, abuse or neglect towards a child that in the opinion of qualified experts has caused
or will reasonably be expected to produce severe psychosls, severe neurotic disorder, severe
depression, severe developmental delay or retardation, or severe impainment of the child's
abillty to function adequately in the child’'s environment, and the knowing failure to protect a
child from such conduct; (C) The commission of any act towards the child prohibited by Tenn.
Code Ann. §§ 39-13-502 — 39-13-504, 39-13-522, 39-15-302, and 39-17-1005 or the knowing
failure to protect the child from the omission of any such act towards the child; or (D)
Knowingly allowing a child to be present within e structure where the act of creating
methamphetamine, as that substance is identified in Tenn. Code Ann. § 39-17-408(d)(2), is
occurring. Tenn. Code Ann §37-1-102(b)(21)

“Record” Inciudes files, reports, records, communications and working papers related to
investigations or providing services, video tapes, photographs, or electronic mails.

“Formal File Review” means the review established pursuant to 42 U.S.C. §
5108a(b)(2)(A)(xv)(1l) that is avallable to an individual whom the Department identifies or
proposes to identify as a perpetrator of abuse, severe child abuse, child sexual abuse, or
neglect. The Department shall use a formal file review as the initial form of due process when
the information regarding the report and identity of a perpetrator must be released to any
organization or individual and shall also afford the right to a hearing as provided in Rule
0250-7-9-.07 08.

Authority: T.C.A. §§4-5-226(b)(2); 37-1-409; 37-1-612; 37-1-616; 37-5-101, 37-5-105; 37-5-106; 37-5-

112(s).

Administrative History: Original rule filed September 13, 1988; effective October 28, 1988. Rule
assigned a new control number, removed and renumbered from 1240-7-9-.10 filed and effective March
25, 1999. Repeal and new rules filed September 11, 2006; effective November 25, 2006.

0250-7-9-.02 SCOPE.OF RULES.
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These Rules shall apply to all indicated cases of child abuse/neglect.

These Rules establish procedures to review indicated cases and to release the identity and
other related information of a perpetrator in “indicated” reports of abuse, severe child abuse,
child sexual abuse, or neglect to organizations or persons.

A release pursuant to these Rules shall be for purposes of protecting children from further
abuse, severe child abuse, child sexual abuse, or neglect and for purposes directly
connected with the administration of Tenn. Code Ann. §§37-1-401 et seq.; 37-1-601 et seq.;
49-1-1101 et seq. and 71-3-501 et seq.

This rule shall apply to any release of information to the Department of Heaith in compliance
with Tenn. Code Ann. §68-11-1004(b)(2). Prior to such release, the individual shall have the

November 2006 (Revised)

«

| Formatted: Space After: Opt

Formatted: Indent: Left: 0", Hanging: 0.74",

Space After: Opt

Formatted: Indent: Left: 0.74", First line:

0.01"



nghtie-an-adminsirativa-heanng-pursuantle-thess rilss.

CLASSIFICATION AND REVIEW OF REPORTS OF CHILD CHAPTER 0250-7-9
ABUSE/NEGLECT AND DUE PROCESS PROCEDURES FOR

RELEASE OF CHILD ABUSE/NEGLECT RECORDS

(Rule 0250-7-9-.02, continued)

—right lo an administrative hearing pursuant lo these rules,

(5) These Rules shall not apply when the Department intends to release or has released any
information about an individual who is an alleged perpetrator of abuse, severe child abuse,
child sexual abuse, or neglect to any of the following:

(@)

any state(s) or federal law enforcement agency(ies) investigating a report of known or
suspected child abuse or neglect or any crimes involving children;

CLASSIFICATION-AND REVIEW OF RERPORTS OF CHILD-CHAPTER-D250-7-0
ARUSEMNEGLEC L ANLDUE BRI B PROCERURESL QR

©

(@)
(€)

®

(@

any state(s) District Attomey, Attomey General, or United States Attomey(s) or their
authorized assistants, of the judicial districts or agencies involved in investigating or
prosecuting crimes against children;

any state(s) or federal grand jury by subpoena or presentation of evidence by the
District Attorney or United States Attomey to such grand jury,;

treatment professionals treating the child, his or her family, or the perpetrator;

in-house requests by employees of the Department for purposes consistent with
enforcement of the child abuse and neglect or child welfare licensing laws of the State
of Tennessee including disclosure to other individuals for purposes directly connected
with the administration of Title 37, Chapter 1, Parts 4 and 6 or Title 71, Chapter 3, Part
5, of the Tennessee Code Annotated, other than disclosure to the employers, or
licensing authority other than the Department;

any state(s) or federal social service or other agencies investigating cases of child
abuse or neglect or providing treatment or care for alleged or known victims of child
abuse or neglect;

any court official, probation counselor, parole officer, designated employee of any
Department of Comrection or other similarly situated individual charged with the
responsibility of preparing information to be presented in any administrative or judicial
proceeding conceming any individual charged with or convicted of any offense
involving child abuse, child sexual abuse, or neglect;

November, 2006 (Revised)
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CLASSIFICATION AND REVIEW OF REPORTS OF CHILD CHAPTER 0250-7-9
ABUSE/NEGLECT AND DUE PROCESS PROCEDURES FOR
RELEASE OF CHILD ABUSE/NEGLECT RECORDS

(Rule 0250-7-9-.02, continued)

(h) to the court, administrative board or hearing, the officials or employees thereof in the
performance of their duties, the parties, or their legal representatives in any judicial or
administrative proceeding or before any board or hearing officer for the purpose of
protecting a child or children from physical or severe child abuse, neglect, or child
sexual abuse, except in such situation when such court, administrative hearing, board,
or hearing officer, other than the Department of Children’s Services, is adjudicating a
case affecting the perpetrator's ability to remain or become employed or licensed, in
which situation such information shall be released only by order of the court or hearing
officer;

(i) any release of information to the Departments of Education or Human Services
pursuant to Tenn. Code Ann. §§ 37-5-512(a)(2) and (3) regarding an individual who is
the subject of an ongoing or a completed investigation of abuse, severe child abuse,
child sexual abuse, or neglect by the Department may be released to the Departments
of Education and Human Services.

1.  Any further release of information by the Departments of Education or Human
Services of a finding by the Department that an individual has been classified in
an “indicated” report as a perpetrator of abuse, severe child abuse, child sexual
abuse, or neglect shall occur according to the procedures established by these
Rules.; or

() Anyrelease to a foster care agency contractor of the Department for purposes of
determining whether a child in the Department'’s custody should be placed with an
individual.

Authority: T.C.A. §§4-5-226(b)(2); 37-1-409; 37-1-612; 37-1-616; 37-5-101; 37-5-105; 37-5-106; 37-5-
112(a).

Administrative History: Original rule filed September 13, 1988; effective October 28, 1988. Rule
assigned a new control number, removed and renumbered from 1240-7-9-.10 filed and effective March
25, 1999. Repeal and new rule filed September 11, 2006; effective November 25, 2006.

CLASSIFICATION - AND-REVIEW-OF RERORTS-OF CHILB-GRARTER 026078
ABUSEMEGLECT ANSG-DUE PROCESE PROCEDURES LOR
RELEASEO=CHILD ABLISERIECLECT RECORDS

November-2006-{Revised) 5
0250-7-9-.03 RELEASES TO COVERED EDUCATIONAL ENTITIES | Formatted: Font color: Blue
Q)] This rule shall apply only to child abuse and neglect investigation information mandated by
Tenn. Code Ann. § 48-5-413(e) lo be released (o the depariment of educalion, any local
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CLASSIFICATION AND REVIEW OF REPORTS OF CHILD CHAPTER 0250-7-9
ABUSE/NEGLECT AND DUE PROCESS PROCEDURES FOR
RELEASE OF CHILD ABUSE/NEGLECT RECORDS

(Rule 0250-7-9-.03, continued)

educational entity (such, individual to be referred lo as a “covered individual”), in which case

this rule's procedures apply notwithstanding any language 1o the contrary contained
elsewhere within Ihese rules

2) The Department shall offer the due process procedures set out in 0250-7-9-.05(1), including
the opportunity for a hearing pursuant to 0250-7-9-.09, to any covered individual who has

ever been found by the Department to have committed abuse or nealecl and who has not

jndividual's due process rights, have been waived or fully concluded, the Department shall
disclose its final finding to any relevant covered educational gntity.

3) In the case of any covered jndividual whose investination has nol been concluded or any
covered individual whose due process righls have not vel been offered or are otherwise
pending, the Depariment shall conduct an emeraency file review pursuant to 0250-7-8-.07, If
the emergency file review results in a finding that the covered Jndividual poses an immeadiate
hreat to the heallh, safety, or welfare of children, the Depariment shall disclose thal threal o
the relevant covered educational gnlity.

4 If the Depardiment's proceedings under these rules have been stayed pursuant to Rule D250-
7-8-.10, due to pending criminal charges against a covered individual, he Depariment shall

0250-7-9-.03 .04. PROHIBITED RELEASES.

(1)  Any report of abuse, severe child abuse, chlld sexual abuse, or neglect is confidential
pursuant to Tenn. Code Ann. §§37-1-409(a)(1) and 37-1-809(a).

(2) Any unauthorized release of a report of abuse, severe child abuse, child sexual abuse, or
neglect constitutes a class B misdemeanor.

(3) Until the affected individual has exhausted all reviews permitted by these Rules, the
Department shall not release any information from its records to any organization or person
for purposes of preemployment screening or licensing, to identify any individual as a
perpetrator abuse, severe child abuse, child sexual abuse, or neglect.

| November, 2006 (Revised)
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CLASSIFICATION AND REVIEW OF REPORTS OF CHILD CHAPTER 0250-7-9
ABUSE/NEGLECT AND DUE PROCESS PROCEDURES FOR
RELEASE OF CHILD ABUSE/NEGLECT RECORDS

l (Rule 0250-7-9-.04, continued)

(4) Until the affected individual has exhausted all reviews permitted by these Rules, the
Department shall not release any information from its records to identify any Individual as a
perpetrator of abuse, severe child abuse, child sexual abuse, or neglect to any organization
or person that requests this information for purposes of routine or random screening of
current employees, volunteers, or associates.

(5) If the Department does not begin procedures to release the identity and other related
information of a perpetrator in an “indicated” report of abuse, severe child abuse, child sexual
abuse, or neglect within two years of the initial classification, the Department shall not release
any information as to that report. This provision shall not, however, require expunction of this
information from the Department's intemal records.

Authority: T.C.A. §§4-5-226(h)(2); 37-1-409; 37-1-612; 37-1-616; 37-5-101; 37-5-105; 37-5-106; 37-5-
112(a).

Administrative History: Qriginal rule filed September 13, 1988; effective October 28, 1988. Rule
assigned a new control number, removed and renumbered from 1240-7-9-.10 filed and effective March
25, 1999, Repeal and new rule filed September 11, 2006, effective November 25, 2006.

| 0250-7-9-.04 Lé WHEN RIGHTS UNDER THIS CHAPTER ATTACH.

(1)  Anindividual whom the Depariment has classified in an "indicated” report as a perpetrator of
abuse, severe child abuse, child sexual abuse, or neglect shall have the right to a formal file
review and to a hearing under these Rules if:

(a) The Depariment intends to or shall release the individual's name under the emergency
l procedures of Rule 0250-7-9-.14.12 to any organization or person; or

(b) The Department intends to or shall release the individual's name in non-emergency
situations to any organization or person.

(2) An individual whom the Department has classified in an “indicated” report as a perpetrator of
abuse, severe child abuse, child sexual abuse, or neglect and whose identity shall be placed
in the Departiment's registry of perpetrators of abuse or neglect shall only have the right to a
formal file review under these Rules.

(a) This paragraph applies when the Department will not identify or does not intend to
identify to any organization or person in Rules that it has classified an individual in an
“indicated” report as a perpetrator of abuse, severe child abuse, child sexual abuse, or

neglect.
(b) Ifafier an individual exhausts the formal file review afforded by paragraph 2 of this = | Formatbed: List Paragraph, Indent: Hanging:
Rule, and if within the two-year perlod from the date of the initial classification of the | 0.38"

report the Department intends to identify to any organization or person that it has
classified the individual in an “indicated” report as a perpetrator of abuse, severe child -
< | Formatted; List Paragraph, Indent: Left:
November, 2006 (Revised) -0.5", Hanging: 0.5"
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CLASSIFICATION AND REVIEW OF REPORTS OF CHILD CHAPTER 0250-7-9
ABUSE/NEGLECT AND DUE PROCESS PROCEDURES FOR
RELEASE OF CHILD ABUSE/NEGLECT RECORDS

(Rule 0250-7-9-.05, continued)

abuse, child sexual abuse, or neglect, the Department shall not release this information « - | Formatbed: Indent: First fine: 0"
unless the individual is afforded the right to a

SIFICATION AND REVIEW OF RERPORTS OF CHILD CHAPTER 0250-7-9
ABUSE/NEGLECT AND-DUE PROCESS PROCEDURES
RELEASE OF CHILD ABUSE/NEGLEGT RECORDS

November, 2006 (Revised) 6
hearing under Rule 0250-7-9.6708. The Department shall insure that the individual is
notified in accordance with these Rules.

Authority: T.C.A. §§4-5-226(b)(2); 37-1-409; 37-1-612; 37-1 -616, 37-5-101; 37-5-105; 37-5-106; 37-5-
112(a).

Administrative History: Original rule filed September 13, 1988; effective October 28, 1988. Rule
assigned a new control number, removed and renumbered from 1240-7-9-.02 filed and effective March
25, 1999. Repeal and new rule filed September 11, 2006; effective November 25, 2006.

0250-7-9-.06.06 STANDARDS AND CRITERIA FOR REVIEW OF CLASSIFICATION OF REPORTS OF
CHILD ABUSE/ NEGLECT AS “INDICATED”,

(1) A report made against an alleged perpetrator shall be classified as “indicated"” if the
preponderance of the evidence, in light of the entire record, proves that the individual
committed abuse, severe child abuse, child sexual abuse, or neglect. Proof of one or more of
the following factors, linking the abusive act(s) to the alleged perpetrator, may constitute a
preponderance of the evidence:

(a) Medical and/or psychological information from a licensed physician, medical center, or
other treatment professional, that substantiates that physical abuse, sexual abuse, or
severe physical abuse occurred;

(b)  An admission by the perpetrator;
(c) The statement of a credible witness or witnesses to the abusive or neglectful act;
(d) The child victim's statement that the abuse occurred;

(e) Physiological indicators or signs of abuse or neglect, including, but not limited to, cuts,
bruises, bums, broken bones or medically diagnosed physical conditions;

® Physical evidence that could impact the classification decision:

November, 2006 (Revised) . | Formatted: Indent: Hanging: 1.13"
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CLASSIFICATION AND REVIEW OF REPORTS OF CHILD CHAPTER 0250-7-9
ABUSE/NEGLECT AND DUE PROCESS PROCEDURES FOR
RELEASE OF CHILD ABUSE/NEGLECT RECORDS

(Rule 0250-7-9-.06, continued)

(@) The existence of behavioral pattems that may be indicative of child abuse/neglect and
corroborates other evidence of abuse, severe child abuse, child sexual abuse, or
neglect should be examined;

(h) The existence of circumstantial evidence linking the alleged perpetrator to the abusive
or neglectful act(s) (e.g., child was in care of the alleged perpetrator at the time the
abuse occumred and no other reasonable explanation of the cause of the abuse exists
in the record).

Authonity: T.C.A. §§4-5-226(b)(2); 37-1-409; 37-1-612; 37-1-616; 37-5-101; 37-5-105; 37-5-106; 37-5-
112(a).

Administrative History: Original rule filed September 13, 1988; effective October 28, 1988. Rule
assigned a new control number, removed and renumbered from 1240-7-9-.02 filed and effective March
25, 1999. Repeal and new rule filed September 11, 2006; effective November 25, 2008.

0250-7-9-.05.07. RIGHT TO NOTICE AND OPPORTUNITY FOR FORMAL FILE REVIEW.

(1)  Within 10 business days after the Department has classified an individual in an “indicated”
report as a perpetrator of abuse, severe child abuse, child sexual abuse, or neglect, the
Department shall notify the individual, in writing at the individual’s last known address, of the
classification and shall inform the individuat that he or she may request a formai file review by
the Commissioner's designee to determine whether the report has been properly classified as
“indicated.”

GLASSIFICATION-ANE-REVIEW-OF REPORTS OF CHILD CHARTER D280-7-0

ABUSE/NEGLECTANDDUEPROCESS PROGEBURESFOR
RELEASE-OF GHILD- ABUSE/NEGLECT RECORDS

November-2006-(Revised) 7

(2) Ifthe indicated pempetrator in the classified report is a minor, the Department shall notify the
minor, the child's parent or guardian, Child Protective Services, Regional General Counsel,
and any Guardian Ad Litem or other attomey for the child. The parent, guardian, Guardian Ad
Litem, or the child’s attomey may request a formal file review on the minor's behalf.

| (3) The Department shall determine whether the emergency procedures of Rule 0250-7-9-.4412
apply to the individual whom the Department has classified as the perpetrator of abuse,
severe child abuse, child sexual abuse, or neglect in an “Indicated” report,

(4) The notice to obtain a formal file review shall contain, at a minimum, the following:

November, 2006 (Revised)
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CLASSIFICATION AND REVIEW OF REPORTS OF CHILD CHAPTER 0250-7-9

ABUSE/NEGLECT AND DUE PROCESS PROCEDURES FOR
RELEASE OF CHILD ABUSE/NEGLECT RECORDS

(Rule 0250-7-9-.07, continued)

(a)

{b)

©

()

(©

That the individual has been classified as the perpetrator of abuse, severe child abuse,
child sexual abuse, or neglect in an “indicated” report investigated by the Department;

That the individual may request a formal file review by the Commissioner's designee
within 10 business days of the date of the notice (the date of the notice must reflect the
actual mailing date);

That failure to submit a request for a formal file review within 10 business days, absent
a showing of good cause, shall result in the classified report becoming fina! and the
individual shall waive any right to a formal file review;

That the request for a formal file review shall be submitted to State of Tennessee
Department of Children’s Services, Child Protective Services Division, Formal File
Review, Cordell Hull Building, 436 Sixth Ave. North, Nashville, Tennessee, 37243; and

That if the individual provides care, supervision, instruction or treatment to a child or
children to any organization or individual, the formal file review decision may have an
impact on the individual’'s employment, and that, in this case, the individual also shall
have the right to an administrative hearing under Rule 0250-7-9-.0708.

(5) The Department shall date-stamp all requests for formal file reviews on the date received.

(6) The Department shall respond to a timely filed request for a formal file review within 10
business days of receipt by sending written notice of the individual's obligations pursuant to a
formal file review process. This additional notice shall include, at a minimum, the following:

@

(b)

(©

(d)

That pursuant to the Department’s Rules the individual may submit additional written or
documentary information on his or her behalf to the address identified in_paragraph
3(d) of this Rule;

That the individual must submit the additional information within 30 business days of
the date of the notice;

That if the information is not timely submitted, the formal file review shall proceed with
the information provided in the file and that the individual's right to submit additional
information shall be waived; and

That the formal file review shall be completed within 90 business days of the date of
the notice.

(7)  Unless the emergency procedures in Rule 0250-7-9-.0708 apply, during the 10-business-day
period in which an individual may request a formal file review, the Department shall not

November, 2006 (Revised)
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CLASSIFICATION AND REVIEW OF REPORTS OF CHILD CHAPTER 0250-7-9

ABUSE/NEGLECT AND DUE PROCESS PROCEDURES FOR

RELEASE OF CHILD ABUSE/NEGLECT RECORDS

(Rule 0250-7-9-.07, continued)

disclose that the individual has been classified as the perpetrator of abuse, severe child
abuse, child sexual abuse, or

CLASSIFICATION- AND REVIEW OF REPORTS OF CHILB-CHARPTER-0250-7-9
ABUSE/MNEGLECT AND DUERROCESS PROCEDURES FOR
RELEASE OF CHILD-ABUSE/NEGLECTRECORDS

Neovember, 2006 (Reviced)-8

®

®)

(10)

an

neglect in an “indicated” report. In addition, the Department shall not disclose any details
about the case. The Department may only confirm that a child abuse, severe child abuse,
child sexual abuse, or neglect investigation has commenced.

In conducting the formal file review, the Commissioner's designee shall determine whether
the evidentiary standards set forth in Rule 0250-7-9-.9506 have been satisfied.

If the Commissioner's designee determines that the standards in Rule 0250-7-9-.0506 are
not met, the report shall be reversed and it shall be classified as “not indicated.” The
Department shall not release information from its records identifying the individual as a
perpetrator of abuse, severe child abuse, child sexual abuse, or neglect. Nothing in these
rules shall be construed to require the expunction of intemnal case recorde maintained by the
Department.

(@) Within 10 business days of the date of the formal file review, the Department shall send
to the individual who was classified in a report of abuse, severe child abuse, child
sexual abuse, or neglect at his or her last known address written notice containing, at a
minimum, the following:

1. the formal file review has classified the report as “not indicated”; and

2, the Department will not releage information from its records identifying the
individual as a perpetrator of abuse, severe child abuse, child sexual abuse, or
neglect.

If the Commissioner’s designee determines that the proof in the report supports a different
conclusion than that reached by the Department, the report shall be modified and it shall be
classified accordingly. The Commissioner shall notify the individual in accordance with
paragraphs 8 or 10 of this Rule.

If the Commissioner’s designee determines that the standards in Rule 0250-7-8-.0506 are
met, the report shall be upheld and it shall be classlfied as “indicated.”

’ November, 2006 (Revised)
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CLASSIFICATION AND REVIEW OF REPORTS OF CHILD CHAPTER 0250-7-9
ABUSE/NEGLECT AND DUE PROCESS PROCEDURES FOR
RELEASE OF CHILD ABUSE/NEGLECT RECORDS

(Rule 0250-7-9-.07, continued)

(@) Within 10 business days of the date of the formal file review, the Department shall send
to the individual who was classified in a report of abuse, severe child abuse, child
sexual abuse, or neglect at his or her last known address written notice containing, at a

minimum, the following:

1.  That the individual has been identified as the perpetrator of abuse, severe child
abuse, child sexual abuse, or neglect in an “indicated” report investigated by the

Department; and

2. That, after conducting a formal file review, the “indicated” report was upheld.
(b) The notice in this paragraph shall also contain, at a minimum, the following:

: N That, if the individual meets the standards for an administrative hearing pursuant
to 0250-7-9-.6809,; the individual may request a hearing within 10 business days
of the date of the notice before an administrative law judge by filling out an

attached request for administrative hearing;

2. That, if the individual requests a hearing, he or she shall complete the attached
form and mail or fax it to the Department's Administrative Procedures Division;

3. That, if the individual fails to timely request a hearing absent good cause, he or

she shall waive the right to an administrative hearing; and

ABUSEMESLECT AND DUE RREOCESS PROCERURES BOR
BELEASE QR CHILD ARLUSERIZCLECT RECORDS

blevamber 2006 {Ravized) 0

4. That, if the individual fails to timely request a hearing absent good cause, the
Department will release its finding of abuse, severe child abuse, child sexual

abuse, or neglect to any individual or organization.

Authority: T.C.A. §§4-5-226(b)(2); 37-1-409; 37-1-612; 37-1 -616; 37-5-101; 37-5-105; 37-5-106; 37-5-

112(a).

Administrative History: Original rule filed September 13, 1988; effective October 28, 1988. Rule
assigned a new control number, removed and renumbered from 1240-7-9-.02 filed and effective March
25, 1999. Repeal and new rule filed September 11, 2006; effective November 25, 2006.

0250-7-9-.07.08 ALLEGED PERPETRATORS WITH CURRENT ACCESS TO CHILDREN;

EMERGENCY NOTIFICATION.

November, 2006 (Revised)
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CLASSIFICATION AND REVIEW OF REPORTS OF CHILD CHAPTER 0250-7-9
ABUSE/NEGLECT AND DUE PROCESS PROCEDURES FOR
RELEASE OF CHILD ABUSE/NEGLECT RECORDS

(Rule 0250-7-9-.08, continued)

(1)  The provisions of this Rule apply to individuals classified as perpetrators of abuse, severe
child abuse, child sexual abuse, or neglect in an “indicated” report who pose an immediate
threat to the health, safety, or welfare of a child or children to whom the alleged perpetrator
has access.

(2) Assoon as reasonably possible after the Department has investigated and identified an
Individual in an “indicated” report as a perpetrator of abuse, severe child abuse, child sexual
abuse, or neglect, who poses an immediate threat to the health, safety or welfare of a child or
children to whom the alleged perpetrator has access, the Department shall conduct an
emergency file review in accordance with this rule.

(3) The Commissioner's designee shall determine: (1) Whether the indication should be upheld;
and (2) Whether there is an immediate threat to the health, safety, or welfare of a child or
children to whom the alleged perpetrator has access.

(@) If both factors are met, the Department shall then follow the procedures set forth in
paragraphs (4), (5) and (6) of this Rule.

(b) If no such immediate threat exists, the Depariment shall not reveal the alleged
perpetrator's identity.

(4) As soon as reasonably possible after the Commissioner's designee has determined that an
immediate threat to the health, safety, or welfare of a child or children to whom the alleged
perpetrator has access exists, the Depariment shall notify in writing both the alleged
perpetrator and the organization or person with whom the individual is associated identified of
such immediate threat.

(a) The notice shall contain the information set forth in Rule 0250-7-9-. 6607 (10)(b); and

(b) A statement that the organization or person with which the individual is associated shall
receive notice of the Department's determination.

1. The nofice shall also contain the following:

(i) thatthe organization or person shall ensure that the individual is not a
threat to the safety of any child in their care; and

(i) that the individual has been notified of his or her rights o a hearing on the
allegations, and that the organization or person shall be notified of the final
decision regarding the allegations.

November, 2006 (Revised)
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CLASSIFICATION AND REVIEW OF REPORTS OF CHILD CHAPTER 0250-7-9
ABUSE/NEGLECT AND DUE PROCESS PROCEDURES FOR
RELEASE OF CHILD ABUSE/NEGLECT RECORDS

(Rule 0250-7-9-.08, continued) b Formatted: List Paragraph, Indent: Left: 0",
First line: 0" - _ Al
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RELEASE OF CHILD-ABUSE/NEGLECT REGORDS
November, 2006 (Revised)-10

available for dissemination to any organization or individual and the individual's identity shall
be piaced in the registry.

(6) If the individual timely requests a hearing, the Department shall follow the procedures set
forth in Rule 0250-7-9-. 6309(4).

Authority: T.C.A. §§4-5-226(b)(2); 37-1-409; 37-1-612; 37-1 -616, 37-5-101; 37-5-105; 37-5-106; 37-5-
112(a).

Administrative History: Original rule filed September 13, 1988; effective October 28, 1988. Rule
assigned a new control number, removed and renumbered from 1240-7-9-.02 filed and effective March
25, 1999. Repeal and new rule filed September 11, 2006; effective November 25, 2006.

0250-7-9-.08.09 RIGHT TO NOTICE AND OPPORTUNITY FOR ADMINISTRATIVE HEARING.

(1)  Anindividual whom the Department has classified in an “indicated” report as a perpetrator of
abuse, severe child abuse, child sexual abuse, or neglect and whose classification has been
upheld pursuant to a formal file review may request an administrative hearing before a
hearing officer of the Administrative Procedures Division of the Department if the Department
is going to release information or if the indication will affect their employment or any
professional license.

(2) -Anindividual shall request an administrative hearing within 10 business days from the date
of the notice of the outcome of the formal file review. A request for a hearing submitted
before a case file review has been completed shall be invalid.

(3) Unless the emergency procedures in Rule 0250-7-9-.6708 apply, during the 10-business day <« - - [ Formatted: Indent: Left: 0.38", Hanging:
period in which an individual may request a hearing, the Department shall not disclose that [ 0.37"
the individual has been classified as the perpetrator of abuse, severe child abuse, child
sexual abuse, or neglect in an “indicated” report. In addition, the Department shall not
disclose any details about the case. The Department may only confirm that a child abuse,
severe child abuse, child sexual abuse, or neglect investigation has commenced.

November, 2006 (Revised)
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CLASSIFICATION AND REVIEW OF REPORTS OF CHILD CHAPTER 0250-7-9
ABUSE/NEGLECT AND DUE PROCESS PROCEDURES FOR
RELEASE OF CHILD ABUSE/NEGLECT RECORDS

(Rule 0250-7-9-.09, continued)

(a) If the individual timely requests a hearing, the Department may only release a
statement stating that a hearing conceming the individual pursuant to the child abuse
laws of this State is currently pending.

(4)  If the Individual timely requests a hearing, the Department shall schedule a hearing and give
the individual adequate notice of the hearing, as provided by Rules 1360-4-1.

(@) The hearing will be held, and an initial order entered therein, within 90 business days of
the date of the notice required in Rule 0250-7-9-. 9807 (10), unless:

1. the time limit is extended or waived by agreement of the parties, or for good
cause shown; or

2. the proceedings are stayed pursuant to Rule 0250-7-9-.0810.

(5) If the individual fails timely to request a hearing, the individual shall waive his or her right to a
hearing. The Department’s “indicated” report regarding the individual shall be then be
available for dissemination to any organization or person with whom the indlvidual is
associated and the individual's identity shall be placed in the registry.

(6) An individual who fails timely to request a hearing may be granted a hearing provided that he
or she shows good cause for his or her failure to make a timely request.

CLASSIFICATION-AND-REVIEW QF REPORTS OF CHILD CHARTER-0260-7-0

ABUSENEGLEECT AND DU PLOCESS CPROCERURLL 0L
FELEASEOECHILD ABUSERESLECT RECORDE

{Rule-0250-7-9--08—continued)
November—2006-(Revised)-14

(a) Good cause is limited to a failure to receive the notice referred to in Rule 0250-7-9.
0607(10), severe iliness, or some other circumstance that substantially prevented the
individual from timely requesting a hearing.

Authorlty: T.C.A. §§4-5-226(b)(2); 37-1-409; 37-1-612; 37-1-616; 37-5-101; 37-5-105; 37-5-106; 37-5-
112(a).
Administrative History: Original rule filed September 13, 1988; effective October 28, 1988. Rule
assigned a new control number, removed and renumbered from 1240-7-9-.05 filed and effective March
25, 1999. Repeal and new rule filed September 11, 2006; effective November 25, 2006.
0250-7-9-.06.10 STAY OF ADMINISTRATIVE PROCEEDINGS.

(1) The Department shall stay all administrative proceedings under these Rules:

November, 2006 (Revised)
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CLASSIFICATION AND REVIEW OF REPORTS OF CHILD CHAPTER 0250-7-9

ABUSE/NEGLECT AND DUE PROCESS PROCEDURES FOR

RELEASE OF CHILD ABUSE/NEGLECT RECORDS

(Rule 0250-7-9-.10, continued)

)

)

(a) If an individual whom the Department has classified in an “indicated” report as a
perpetrator of abuse, severe child abuse, child sexual abuse, or neglect has been
arrested or indicted on criminal charges that are derived from the same allegations that
caused the Department to investigate; or

(b) if an individual whom the Department has classified in an “indicated” report as a
perpetrator of abuse, severe child abuse, child sexual abuse, or neglect is the subject
of other administrative or civil proceedings that are derived from the same allegations
that caused the Department to investigate.

If the arrest, indictment, or initiation of other judicial or other administrative proceedings
occurs any time prior to the entry of a final order by the Department, all proceedings under
these Rules shall be immediately stayed pending final resolution (including appeals) of the
judicial or administrative proceedings. Provided, however, that the Department shall notify an
individual in accordance with Rules 0250-7-9-,0607, 0250-7-9-.0708, or 0250-7-9-.0809, as
appropriate. The individual shall comply with the provisions of these Rules, as appropriate, in
order to preserve his or her future rights to a hearing or to judicial review. During the stay,
unless the emergency procedures in Rule 0250-7-9-.6708 apply, the Department shall not
disclose that the individual has been classified as the perpetrator of abuse, severe child
abuse, child sexual abuse, or neglect in an “indicated” report until the proceedings referred to
in paragraph 1 of this Rule become final. The Department may only release the fact that
judicial or administrative proceedings involving allegations of abuse, severe child abuse, child
sexual abuse, or neglect by the individual are pending before a specified court or
administrative proceeding.

If a criminal prosecution results in a conviction or guilty plea for any offense listed in Tenn.
Code Ann.§37-1-602(a)(3), or for any act which would constitute physical abuse, sexual
abuse, or severe physical abuse as defined in Tenn. Code Ann. §37-1-102(21), or if the
individual is found guilty or pleads guilty to any lesser offense derived from the offenses or
acts alleged under Tenn. Code Ann. §37-1-602(a)(3) or Tenn. Code Ann. §37-1-102(21), or if
any court or administrative proceeding results in a judicial or administrative adjudication that
the individual has committed, or has knowingly allowed to be committed, any act which would
constitute physical abuse, sexual abuse, or severe physical abuse, as defined in Tenn. Code
Ann. §37-1-102(21) or any act which constitutes child sexual abuse as defined in Tenn. Code
Ann. §37-1-602(a)(3), then such conviction and/or adjudication will be conclusive evidence
that the individual is the perpetrator classified in the “indicated” report and the individual will
have no right to a hearing provided for in 0250-7-9-.6809 in regard to that particular report. in
this event, the Department may release information about the perpetrator as permitted under
these Rules.

(a) If the criminal, civil or administrative proceeding does not result in a conviction orin a

November, 2006 (Revised)
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CLASSIFICATION AND REVIEW OF REPORTS OF CHILD CHAPTER 0250-7-9
ABUSE/NEGLECT AND DUE PROCESS PROCEDURES FOR

RELEASE OF CHILD ABUSE/NEGLECT RECORDS

(Rule 0250-7-9-.10, continued)

finding as specified in paragraph 3 of this Rule, including pretrial diversion, this fact
shall be admissible

CLASSIFICATION AND-REVIEW-OF RERPORTS-QF CHILD CHAPTER D250-7-8
ABUSEMNEGLECT AND DUE PROCESS PROCEDURES FOR
BELEASEOR CHILD ARLSERIECLECT RECORDS

{Pule-0250-2 000 sentinued)
Nevember-2006-(Revised)12

@)

©)

in the Department's administrative hearing, but shall not be conclusive on the issue of
whether the report is properly classified as “indicated.”

If administrative proceedings were stayed pursuant to this Rule, they shall resume at the
point at which they were stayed if the alleged perpetrator so requests in writing to Tennessee
Department of Children's Services, Case File Review, 8th Floor, Cordell Hull Building, Child
Protect Services, 436 6th Ave. N., Nashville, Tennessee 37243, within 30 days of entry of a
final order by a court or other administrative body favorably disposing of the issue of child
abuse Involving the alleged perpetrator or of any disposition other than gulity by a court in a
criminal proceeding. If the alleged perpetrator fails timely to make such a written request, he
or she shall waive his or her rights to a hearing in regard to that report. The indicated report
and information regarding the perpetrator will be released as permitted under these Rules.

Unless the individual has waived his or her rights to a formal file review or to an
administrative hearing by faiting timely to request same, if administrative proceedings have
been stayed, the Department shall notify in writing the individuat as follows:

(@) That administrative proceedings have been stayed pending the final outcome of judicial
or other administrative proceedings conceming allegations of child abuse involving the
individual;

(b) that the administrative proceedings under these rules will be reinstituted at the point
they were stayed only if the individual requests such in writing to the local office of the
Department which issued the original notice within 30 days of the entry of a final order
by the court or administrative tribunal or verdict by a criminal court (unless the order or
verdict s a conviction or guilty plea as specified in paragraph (3) above);

(c) Iif the individual fails timely to make such a written request, he or she shall waive his or
her rights to an administrative hearing in regard to the report.

Authority: T.C.A. §§4-5-226(b)(2); 37-1-409; 37-1-612; 37-1-616; 37-5-101; 37-5-105; 37-5-106; 37-5-

112(a).

Administrative History: Original rule filed September 13, 1988, effective October 28, 1988. Rule

November, 2006 (Revised)
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CLASSIFICATION AND REVIEW OF REPORTS OF CHILD CHAPTER 0250-7-9
ABUSE/NEGLECT AND DUE PROCESS PROCEDURES FOR
RELEASE OF CHILD ABUSE/NEGLECT RECORDS

(Rule 0250-7-9-.10, continued)

assigned a new control number, removed and renumbered from 1240-7-9-.06 filed and effective March
25, 1999. Repeal and new rule filed September 11, 2006; effective November 25, 2006.

0250-7-9-.42-.11CONDUCT OF THE ADMINISTRATIVE HEARING.

(1)  The hearing provided for in 0250-7-9-.0809 will be conducted in accordance with the
provisions of the Uniforr Administrative Procedures Act and of Rule 0250-5-6.

(2) In hearings pursuant to 0250-7-9-.0809, the sole issue for the hearing officer is to determine
whether the preponderance of the evidence, in light of the entire record, proves that the
individual committed abuse, severe child abuse, child sexual abuse, or neglect. In making
this determination, the hearing officer shall consider whatever relevant and admissible proof
the individual offers that the report is not properly classified as indicated and shall further
consider any competent and admissible proof conceming the dynamics of child abuse
relevant to whether the classification is proper.

(3) Unless the emergency procedures in Rule 0250-7-9-.0708 apply, the Department shall not
disclose that the individual has been classified as the perpetrator of abuse, severe child
abuse, child sexual abuse, or neglect in an “indicated” report until the individual has
exhausted all of his or her appeal rights under these Rules, including judicial review of a final
order by the Department. The Department may only release the fact that a hearing
concemning the individual pursuant to the child abuse laws of the State is pending.

_CLASSIFICATION-AND REVIEW OF REPORTS OF CHILD CHARTER-0250-7-9

(4) 'fthe Department, or a court of competent jurisdiction in the event of judicial review,
concludes that the standards in Rule 0250-7-9-.6506 are not met, the report shall be
classified as “not indicated.” The Department shall not release information from its records
identifying the individual as a perpefrator of abuse, severe child abuse, child sexual abuse, or
neglect.

(a) If the Department had previously disclosed that an individual was under investigation
under the child abuse laws of this State, the Department shall forthwith notify that
organization or person that the report was “not indicated.” Nothing in this rule shall be
construed to require the expunction of any information from intemal case records
maintained by the Department.

(5) ifthe Individual is dissatisfied with the decision of the Department, a Petition for b | Formatted: Indent: Left: 0.38", Hanging:
0.38"
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CLASSIFICATION AND REVIEW OF REPORTS OF CHILD CHAPTER 0250-7-9
ABUSE/NEGLECT AND DUE PROCESS PROCEDURES FOR
RELEASE OF CHILD ABUSE/NEGLECT RECORDS

(Rule 0250-7-9-.11, continued)

Reconsideration of the Final Order may be filed within fifteen (15) days from the date of the « | Formatted: Indent: First fine; 0"
Order. Further, the individual may petition for review in the Chancery Court of his/her county
of residence or in Davidson County within sixty (60) days of the date of this order.

Authority: T.C.A. §§4-5-226(b)(2); 37-1-409; 37-1-616; 37-5-101; 37-5-105; 37-5-106; 37-5-112(a).
Administrative History: Originel rule filed September 13, 1988; effective October 28, 1988. Rule
assigned a new control number, removed and renumbered from 1240-7-9-.07 filed and effective March
25, 1999, Repeal and new rule filed September 11, 2006; effective November 25, 2006.

0250-7-9-.11.12 EVIDENCE; STANDARD OF PROOF AT THE ADMINISTRATIVE HEARING.

(1)  Admissibility of evidence in hearings pursuant to 0250-7-9-.0809 is govermned by the
provisions of Tenn. Code Ann. §4-5-313. Provided, however, that “evidence admissible in a
court” shall, for purposes of hearings pursuant to this chapter, refer also o evidence
admissible in any juvenile court of this state. Provided further that the evidentiary provisions
of Title 24, Chapter 7, Part | of the Tennessee Code Annotated and Tenn. Code Ann. §§37-1-
401 et seq. and 37-1-601 et 8eq., including the use of videotape testimony, shall be
applicable to such hearings.

(2) Anindividual will be indicated as the perpetrator of abuse, severe child abuse, child sexual
abuse, or neglect only after the case is proven by a preponderance of the evidence.

(3) Following final resolution of the case, whether by administrative hearing, court order, or
waiver by the alleged perpetrator, the Department shall promptly notify of its decision the
organization or person with whom the individual Is associated of its decision.

(a) If the classification of the report as “indicated” is upheld, the organization or person
shall continue to assure that the individual is not a threat to the safety of any child in
their care, and the notice shall so state.

(b) if the classification of the report as “indicated” is reversed, the organization or person
will be promptly notified of the reversal of the indication and will not be required to
assure that the individual is not a threat to the safety of any child in their care, and the
notlce shall so state.

Authority: T.C.A. §§4-5-226(b)(2); 4-5-313; 37-1-409; 37-1-612; 37-1-616; 37-5-101; 37-5-105; 37-5-106;
37-5-
112(a). Administrative History: Original rule filed September 13, 1988; effective October 28, 1988. Rule

assigned a new control number, removed and renumbered from 1240-7-9-.08 filed and effective March
25, 1999. Repeal and new rule filed September 11, 2006; effective November 25, 2006.
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G.O.C. STAFF RULE ABSTRACT

DEPARTMENT: Department of Health
DIVISION: Community Health Services
SUBJECT: Determination of citizenship or qualified alien status of

persons seeking to obtain primary care services

STATUTORY AUTHORITY: Tennessee Code Annotated, Sections 4-58-102, 4-58-108,
4-58-110, 68-1-103, 68-1-106, and 68-2-603

EFFECTIVE DATES: July 19, 2013 - January 15, 2014

FISCAL IMPACT: NONE

STAFF RULE ABSTRACT: The new rule provides applicants with guidance on

the criteria for obtaining primary care services from a
health department in accordance with the Eligibility
Verification for Entitlements Act and how to request
reconsideration if services are denied. Primary care
services are the basic level of health care generally
rendered by general practitioners, family practitioners,
internists, obstetricians, and pediatricians and advanced
practice nurses and is offered at clinics. However, this rule
does not apply to applicants under 18 years of age, certain
exempt services, emergency services, and prenatal care.

The rule requires that each applicant for primary
care services attests to his or her status as a citizen or
qualified alien and submit certain forms of identification.
Applicants claiming to be qualified aliens are required to
submit at least two forms of identification. If they do submit
two forms of identification, their alien status will be verified
through SAVE or SEVIS. If SAVE or SEVIS indicates that
the applicant is not a citizen or qualified alien, the clinic will
deny future primary care services.

The applicant may request reconsideration in
writing within 21 days of denial of services. There will be a
review of the determination of whether the applicant is a
citizen or qualified alien. The determination after the
review is final.
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Impact on Local Governments

Pursuant to T.C.A. §§ 4-5-220 and 4-5-228 “any rule proposed to be promulgated shall state in a simple
declarative sentence, without additional comments on the merits of the policy of the rules or regulation, whether
the rule or regulation may have a projected impact on local governments.” (See Public Chapter Number 1070
(http://state.tn.us/sos/acts/106/pub/pc1070.pdf) of the 2010 Session of the General Assembly)

This Chapter is expected to have no impact on local governments.

S8-7040 (October 2011) 7 RDA 1693
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Regulatory Flexibility Addendum

Pursuant to T.C.A. §§ 4-5-401 through 4-5-404, prior to initiating the rule making process as described in T.C.A.
§ 4-5-202(a)(3) and T.C.A. § 4-5-202(a), all agencies shall conduct a review of whether a proposed rule or rule
affects small businesses.

These rules do not affect small businesses.

§S-7040 (October 2011) 8 RDA 1693

28



Department of State For Department of State Use Only
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Emergency Rule Filing Form

Emergency rules are effective from date of filing for a period of up to 180 days.

Agency/Board/Commission: | Department of Health
Division: | Community Health Services
Contact Person: Jan BeVille, M.D.
Address: = 425 5™ Avenue North, 4" Floor, Nashville, TN
Zip: | 37243
Phone: = (615) 741-0393
Email:  Jan.beville@tn.gov

Rule Type:
X Emergency Rule

Revision Type (check all that apply):
Amendment

Statement of Necessity:

The “Eligibility Verification for Entitlements Act’ requires that the Department obtain access to the Systematic
Alien Verification for Entitlements (SAVE program) or the Student and Exchange Visitor Information System
(SEVIS system) operated by the U.S. Department of Homeland Security. The Memorandum of Understanding
issued by the Department of Homeland Security to permit the Department access to that system requires that
the Department have an appeals process for those who are denied services. The purpose of these rules is to
identify persons who are eligible for services, and to create a review process for those who are denied services.
Adoption of emergency rules is necessary under Tenn. Code Ann. § 4-5-208(a)(4) and (5) in order to comply
with the requirements of the United States Department of Homeland Security, an agency of the federal
government, for access to the SAVE program, and to implement rules required by 2012 and 2013 enactments of
the general assembly.

Rule(s) Revised (ALL chapters and rules contained in filing must be listed here. If needed, copy and paste
additional tables to accommodate multiple chapters. Please enter only ONE Rule Number/RuleTitle per row)

Chapter Number | Chapter Title
1200-37-01 | Primary Care Services

' Rule Number Rule Title

' 1200-37-01-.01 Definitions

| 1200-37-01-.02 Applicability of This Part
1200-37-01-.03 Application for Primary Care Services
1200-37-01-.04 Reconsideration of Denial

§8-7040 (October 2011) 1 RDA 1693

29



(Place substance of rules and other info here. Statutory authority must be given for each rule change. For
information on formatting rules go to http:/state.tn.us/sos/rules/1360/1360.htm)

New Rule
1200-37-01
Primary Care Services

1200-37-01-.01 Definitions.

1200-37-01-.02 Applicability of This Part.
1200-37-01-.03 Application for Primary Care Services.
1200-37-01-.04 Reconsideration of Denial.

1200-37-01-.01 Definitions,

) For the purpose of these regulations the terms used herein are defined as follows:

(a) “Adult’” means an individual aged eighteen or over.

(b) “Applicant’ means an individual seeking primary care services.

(c) “Citizen” means a citizen of the United States, whether native-born or naturalized.

(d) “Clinic” means a site under the control of the Department or a county health department
at which primary care services are offered to the public and which is not a federally
qualified health center (FQHC).

(e) “Department” means the Tennessee Department of Health.

(N “Emergency’ means a medical or dental condition manifesting itself by acute systems of
sufficient severity (including pain) such that the absence of immediate medical attention
could reasonably be expected to result in placing the patient's health in serious jeopardy,
serious impairment to bodily functions or serious dysfunction of any bodily organ or part.

(9) “Exempt Services” means those services which are not subject to eligibility verification
under the Eligibility Verification for Entitlements Act, T.C.A. §§ 4-58-101 et seq.

(h) “Federal public benefit”

1. Has the same meaning as provided in 8 U.S.C § 1611; and
2. Does not mean a benefit listed in 8 U.S.C. § 1611 (b).

(i) “Primary Care Services” means the basic level of health care generally rendered by
general practitioners, family practitioners, internists, obstetricians, and pediatricians and
advanced practice nurses and is offered at clinics.

)] “Program Director” means the Department employee responsible for the overall
supervision of primary care services for the Department.

(k) “Provider” means a health care professional working in a clinic.

U] “Qualified alien” means: an alien who, at the time the alien applies for, receives, or

SS-7040 (October 2011)

attempts to receive a Federal public benefit, is:

1. Lawfully admitted for permanent residence under the Immigration and Nationality
Act[8 U.S.C. §§ 1101 et seq.];

2, Granted asylum under section 208 of such Act [8 U.S.C. § 1158];
3. Admitted to the United States under section 207 of such Act [8 U.S.C. § 1157];
2 RDA 1693
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§S-7040 (October 2011)

Paroled into the United States under section 212(d)(5) of such Act [8 U.S.C. §
1182 (d)(5)] for a period of at least 1 year,

One whose deportation is being withheld under section 243(h) of such Act [8

U.S.C. § 1253] (as in effect immediately before the effective date of section 307
of division C of Public Law 104-208) or section 241(b)(3) of such Act [8 U.S.C. §
1231(b)(3)] (as amended by section 305(a) of division C of Public Law 104-208);

Granted conditional entry pursuant to section 203(a)(7) of such Act [8 U.S.C. §
1153(a)(7)] as in effect prior to April 1, 1980; or

A Cuban and Haitian entrant (as defined in section 501(e) of the Refugee
Education Assistance Act of 1980); or

An alien:

(i) who has been battered or subjected to extreme cruelty in the United
States by a spouse or a parent, or by a member of the spouse or
parent's family residing in the same household as the alien and the
spouse or parent consented to, or acquiesced in, such battery or cruelty,
but only if (in the opinion of the agency providing such benefits) there is a
substantial connection between such battery or cruelty and the need for
the benefits to be provided; and

(ii) who has been approved or has a petition pending which sets forth a
prima facie case for:

(N status as a spouse or a child of a United States citizen pursuant
to clause (ii), (i), or (iv) of section 204(a)(1)(A) of the
Immigration and Nationality Act [8 U.S.C. § 1154(a)(1)(A)ii), (iii),
(W],

(m classification pursuant to clause (ii) or (iii) of section 204(a)(1)(B)
of the Act [8 U.S.C. § 1154(a)(1)(B)(ii), (iii)],

(1 suspension of deportation under section 244(a)(3) of the
Immigration and Nationality Act [8 U.S.C. § 1254(a)(3)] (as in
effect before the title 1ll-A effective date in section 309 of the
lllegal Immigration Reform and Immigrant Responsibility Act of
1996),

(Iv) status as a spouse or child of a United States citizen pursuant to
clause (i) of section 204(a)(1)(A) of such Act [8 US.C. §
1154(a)(1)(A)(i)], or classification pursuant to clause (i) of section
204(a)(1)(B) of such Act [8 U.S.C. § 1154(a)(1)(B)(i)], or

V) cancellation of removal pursuant to section 240A(b)(2) of such
Act[8 U.S.C. § 1229b(b)(2)]; or

(iii) whose child has been battered or subjected to extreme cruelty in the
United States by a spouse or a parent of the alien (without the active
participation of the alien in the battery or cruelty), or by a member of the
spouse or parent's family residing in the same household as the alien
and the spouse or parent consented or acquiesced to such battery or
cruelty, and the alien did not actively participate in such battery or
cruelty, but only if (in the opinion of the agency providing such benefits)
there is a substantial connection between such battery or cruelty and the
need for the benefits to be provided; and

3 RDA 1693
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(m)

(n)

(0)

(iv) who meets the requirements of subpart (ii) of this part; or

V) who has been granted nonimmigrant status under section 101(a)(15)(T)
of the Immigration and Nationality Act (8 U.S.C. §1101(a)(15)(T)) or who
has a pending application that sets forth a prima facie case for eligibility
for such nonimmigrant status.

“SAVE program” means the systematic alien verification for entitlements program created
pursuant to the federal Immigration Reform and Control Act of 1986, compiled in 8 U.S.C.
§§ 1101 et seq., and operated by the United States department of homeland security, or
any successor program thereto.

“SEVIS system” means the student and exchange visitor information system created
pursuant to section 641 of the lllegal Immigration Reform and Immigrant Responsibility
Act of 1996, Public Law 104-208 (as amended), and operated by the United States
department of homeland security, or any successor program thereto.

“State or local public benefit”’

1. Means any public benefit as defined in 8 U.S.C. § 1621, that is provided or
administered by a state governmental entity or a local health department; and

2. Does not mean a benefit listed in 8 U.S.C. § 1621(b).

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 4-58-102, 68-1-103, 68-1-106, 68-2-603, 8 U.S.C. § 1641(b), and 2013 Acts, Pub. Chap. 120.

1200-37-01-.02 Applicability of This Part. This part shall apply to all primary care services offered in clinics,
provided, however, that it shall not apply to:

@) Applicants under the age of eighteen;

2) Exempt services;
(3) Emergency Services, including emergency dental services; or
4) Prenatal care.

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 4-58-102, 4-58-106, 4-58-110, 68-1-103, 68-1-106, and 68-2-603.

1200-37-01-.03 Application for Primary Care Services. Each adult applicant for services under this program shall
attest to his/her status as a citizen or qualified alien and shall submit to verification of that status as follows:

(1) Applicants claiming to be citizens shall present one of the following:

(@)

(b)

(c)

(d)

$S-7040 (October 2011)

A valid Tennessee driver license or photo identification license issued by the department
of safety;

A valid driver license or photo identification license from another state where the
issuance requirements are at least as strict as those in Tennessee, as determined by the
department of safety;

An official birth certificate issued by a state, jurisdiction or territory of the United States,
including Puerto Rico, United States Virgin Islands, Northern Mariana Islands, American
Samoa, Swains Island, and Guam; provided, that Puerto Rican birth certificates issued
before July 1, 2010, shall not be recognized under this rule

A United States government-issued certified birth certificate;

4 RDA 1693
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(@)
()
(4)

®)

(6)

(e) A valid, unexpired United States passport;

) A United States certificate of birth abroad (DS-1350 or FS-545);

(9) A report of birth abroad of a citizen of the United States (FS-240);

(h) A certificate of citizenship (N560 or N561);

(i) A certificate of naturalization (N550, N570 or N578),

1) A United States citizen identification card (I-197, I1-179);

(k) Any successor document of subparagraphs (1)(e) through (1)(j) above; or

" A social security number that the entity or local health department may verify with the
social security administration in accordance with federal law.

Applicants claiming to be qualified aliens shall present two forms of documentation of identity and
immigration status as determined by the United States Department of Homeland Security to be
acceptable for verification through the SAVE program or SEVIS system.

Where an applicant claiming to be a qualified alien presents only one form of documentation of
identity described in (2) above, the clinic shall attempt to verify the applicant’s status through the
SAVE program or SEVIS system.

If an applicant who claims eligibility as a qualified alien is unable to present two (2) forms of
documentation as described in paragraph (2) above, then the applicant shall present at least one
(1) such document that the entity or local health department shall then verify through the SAVE
program or SEVIS system.

Any document submitted pursuant to paragraphs (1) or (2) of this rule shall be presumed to be
proof of eligibility until final verification is received from the SAVE program or SEVIS system.

If the SAVE program or SEVIS system indicates that the applicant is not a citizen or qualified
alien, the clinic shall deny future primary care services and shall pursue any appropriate action
under T.C.A: §§ 4-58-104 or 4-58-105.

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 4-58-102, 4-58-104, 4-58-105, 4-58-106, 4-58-107, 4-58-108, 4-58-109, 4-58-110, 68-1-103,
68-1-106, 68-2-603, and 2013 Acts, Pub. Chap. 120.

1200-37-01-.04 Reconsideration of Denial.

1

Applicants denied or removed from primary care services may request reconsideration.

(@) The applicant must request reconsideration in writing, directed to the Program Director,
within twenty one (21) calendar days of denial or removal. The Program Director will
issue a reconsidered decision in writing within fourteen (14) days of the request for
reconsideration. The Program Director's review is limited to a determination of whether
or not the applicant meets eligibility criteria. The decision of the Program Director is final.

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 4-58-102, 4-58-108, 4-58-110, 68-1-103, 68-1-106, and 68-2-603.

$8-7040 (October 2011) 5 RDA 1693

33



If a roll-call vote was necessary, the vote by the Agency on these rules was as follows
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G.0.C. STAFF RULE ABSTRACT

DEPARTMENT: Health

DIVISION: Community Health Services

SUBJECT: Primary Care Services

STATUTORY AUTHORITY: Chapter 1061 of the Public Acts of 2012

EFFECTIVE DATES: December 29, 2013 through June 30, 2014

FISCAL IMPACT: Minimal

STAFF RULE ABSTRACT: These rules outline the eligibility verification process which

occurs upon application for primary care services offered in
clinics, not including services for applicants less than
eighteen years of age, emergency services, prenatal
services or otherwise exempt services.

Under the new rules, each adult applicant shall attest to
their status as a citizen or qualified alien and submit one of
several possible documents to prove such status, such as
a driver license or photo identification license issued by
Tennessee or another state with comparable issuance
requirements, original birth certificate issued by a state,
jurisdiction or territory of the United States, United States
government-issued birth certificate, United States
passport, certificate of naturalization or a social security
number. Qualified aliens shall present two forms of
documentation of identity and immigration status, which
shall then be verified through the SAVE program or the
SEVIS system. If a qualified alien presents only one form
of documentation, the clinic shall try to verify the
applicant’s status through the SAVE program or the SEVIS
system. If either program indicates that the applicant is not
a United State citizen or qualified alien, the clinic shall
deny future primary care services and pursue appropriate
action.

In addition, an applicant can request reconsideration in
writing to the Program Director within twenty-one days of

35



denial. The Program Director is to issue a reconsideration
in writing within fourteen days, which is final.
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Regulatory Flexibility Addendum
Pursuant to T.C.A. §§ 4-5-401 through 4-5-404, prior to initiating the rule making process as described in T.C.A.
§ 4-5-202(a)(3) and T.C.A. § 4-5-202(a), all agencies shall conduct a review of whether a proposed rule or rule

affects small businesses.

These rule amendments do not affect small businesses.

S$S-7038 (September 2011) 7 RDA 1693
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Impact on Local Governments

Pursuant to T.C.A. §§ 4-5-220 and 4-5-228 “any rule proposed to be promulgated shall state in a simple
declarative sentence, without additional comments on the merits of the policy of the rules or regulation, whether
the rule or regulation may have a projected impact on local governments.” (See Public Chapter Number 1070
(http://state.tn.us/sos/acts/106/pub/pc1070.pdf) of the 2010 Session of the General Assembly)

This Chapter is expected to have no impact on local governments.

S8-7038 (September 2011) 8 RDA 1693
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(Place substance of rules and other info here. Statutory authority must be given for each rule change. For
information on formatting rules go to http://state.tn.us/sos/rules/1360/1360.htm)

New Rule
1200-37-01

Primary Care Services

1200-37-01-.01 Definitions.

1200-37-01-.02 Applicability of This Part.
1200-37-01-.03 Application for Primary Care Services.
1200-37-01-.04 Reconsideration of Denial.

1200-37-01-.01 Definitions.

(1) For the purpose of these regulations the terms used herein are defined as follows:

(@)
(b)
(c)
(d)

(e)

“Adult” means an individual aged eighteen or over.

“Applicant” means an individual seeking primary care services.

“Citizen” means a citizen of the United States, whether native-born or naturalized.

“Clinic’ means a site under the control of the Department or a county health department
at which primary care services are offered to the public and which is not a federally
qualified health center (FQHC).

“Department” means the Tennessee Department of Health.

“Emergency” means a medical or dental condition manifesting itself by acute systems of
sufficient severity (including pain) such that the absence of immediate medical attention
could reasonably be expected to result in placing the patient’s health in serious jeopardy,

serious impairment to bodily functions or serious dysfunction of any bodily organ or part.

“Exempt Services” means those services which are not subject to eligibility verification
under the Eligibility Verification for Entitlements Act, T.C.A. §§ 4-58-101 et seq.

“Federal public benefit”

1. Has the same meaning as provided in 8 U.S.C § 1611; and

2. Does not mean a benefit listed in 8 U.S.C. § 1611 (b).

“Primary Care Services” means the basic level of health care generally rendered by
general practitioners, family practitioners, internists, obstetricians, and pediatricians and

advanced practice nurses and is offered at clinics.

“Program Director” means the Department employee responsible for the overall
supervision of primary care services for the Department.

“Provider” means a health care professional working in a clinic.

“Qualified alien” means: an alien who, at the time the alien applies for, receives, or
attempts to receive a Federal public benefit, is:

1. Lawfully admitted for permanent residence under the Immigration and Nationality
Act[8 U.S.C. §§ 1101 et seq.];

2. Granted asylum under section 208 of such Act [8 U.S.C. § 1158];

3. Admitted to the United States under section 207 of such Act[8 U.S.C. § 1157];

S8-7038 (September 2011) 2 RDA 1693
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Paroled into the United States under section 212(d)(5) of such Act [8 U.S.C. §
1182 (d)(5)] for a period of at least 1 year;

One whose deportation is being withheld under section 243(h) of such Act [8

U.S.C. § 1253] (as in effect immediately before the effective date of section 307
of division C of Public Law 104—208) or section 241(b)(3) of such Act[8 U.S.C. §
1231(b)(3)] (as amended by section 305(a) of division C of Public Law 104-208);

Granted conditiona!l entry pursuant to section 203(a)(7) of such Act [8 U.S.C. §
1153(a)(7)] as in effect prior to April 1, 1980; or

A Cuban and Haitian entrant (as defined in section 501(e) of the Refugee
Education Assistance Act of 1980); or

An alien:

Q)] who has been battered or subjected to extreme cruelty in the United
States by a spouse or a parent, or by a member of the spouse or
parent's family residing in the same household as the alien and the
spouse or parent consented to, or acquiesced in, such battery or cruelty,
but only if (in the opinion of the agency providing such benefits) there is a
substantial connection between such battery or cruelty and the need for
the benefits to be provided; and

(i) who has been approved or has a petition pending which sets forth a
prima facie case for:

N status as a spouse or a child of a United States citizen pursuant
to clause (ii), (i), or (iv) of section 204(a)(1)(A) of the
Immigration and Nationality Act [8 U.S.C. § 1154(a)(1)(A)ii), (iii),
()],

(11 classification pursuant to clause (i) or (iii) of section 204(a)(1)(B)
of the Act [8 U.S.C. § 1154(a)(1)(B)(ii), (iii)],

(1 suspension of deportation under section 244(a)(3) of the
Immigration and Nationality Act [8 U.S.C. § 1254(a)(3)] (as in
effect before the title IlI-A effective date in section 309 of the
llegal Immigration Reform and Immigrant Responsibility Act of
1996),

(IV) status as a spouse or child of a United States citizen pursuant to
clause (i) of section 204(a)(1)(A) of such Act [8 U.S.C. §
1154(a)(1)(AXi)], or classification pursuant to clause (i) of section
204(a)(1)(B) of such Act [8 U.S.C. § 1154(a)(1)(B)(i)]; or

(V) cancellation of removal pursuant to section 240A(b)(2) of such
Act [8 U.S.C. § 1229b(b)(2)]; or

(iii) whose child has been battered or subjected to extreme cruelty in the
United States by a spouse or a parent of the alien (without the active
participation of the alien in the battery or cruelty), or by a member of the
spouse or parent’s family residing in the same household as the alien
and the spouse or parent consented or acquiesced to such battery or
cruelty, and the alien did not actively participate in such battery or
cruelty, but only if (in the opinion of the agency providing such benefits)
there is a substantial connection between such battery or cruelty and the
need for the benefits to be provided; and

3 RDA 1693
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(iv) who meets the requirements of subpart (ii) of this part; or

(v) who has been granted nonimmigrant status under section 101(a)(15)(T)
of the Immigration and Nationality Act (8 U.S.C. §1101(a)(15)(T)) or who
has a pending application that sets forth a prima facie case for eligibility
for such nonimmigrant status.

(m) “SAVE program” means the systematic alien verification for entitlements program created
pursuant to the federal Immigration Reform and Control Act of 1986, compiled in 8 U.S.C.
§§ 1101 et seq., and operated by the United States department of homeland security, or
any successor program thereto.

(n) “SEVIS system” means the student and exchange visitor information system created
pursuant to section 641 of the lllegal Immigration Reform and Immigrant Responsibility
Act of 1996, Public Law 104-208 (as amended), and operated by the United States
department of homeland security, or any successor program thereto.

(o) “State or local public benefit”

1. Means any public benefit as defined in 8 U.S.C. § 1621, that is provided or
administered by a state governmental entity or a local health department; and

2. Does not mean a benefit listed in 8 U.S.C. § 1621(b).
Authority: T.C.A. §§ 4-58-102, 68-1-103, 68-1-106, 68-2-603, 8 U.S.C. § 1641(b), and 2013 Acts, Pub. Chap. 120.
1200-37-01-.02 Applicability of This Part. This part shall apply to all primary care services offered in clinics,
provided, however, that it shall not apply to:

4)) Applicants under the age of eighteen;

(2) Exempt services;
(3) Emergency Services, including emergency dental services; or
(4) Prenatal care.

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 4-58-102, 4-58-106, 4-58-110, 68-1-103, 68-1-106, and 68-2-603.

1200-37-01-.03 Application for Primary Care Services. Each adult applicant for services under this program shall
attest to his/her status as a citizen or qualified alien and shall submit to verification of that status as follows:

(1) Applicants claiming to be citizens shall present one of the following:
(a) A valid Tennessee driver license or photo identification license issued by the department
of safety;
(b) A valid driver license or photo identification license from another state where the

issuance requirements are at least as strict as those in Tennessee, as determined by the
department of safety;

(c) An official birth certificate issued by a state, jurisdiction or territory of the United States,
including Puerto Rico, United States Virgin Islands, Northern Mariana Islands, American
Samoa, Swains Island, and Guam; provided, that Puerto Rican birth certificates issued
before July 1, 2010, shall not be recognized under this rule;

(d) A United States government-issued certified birth certificate;
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)

(4)

(®)

(6)

(e) A valid, unexpired United States passport;

) A United States certificate of birth abroad (DS-1350 or FS-545);

(g) A report of birth abroad of a citizen of the United States (FS-240),

(h) A certificate of citizenship (N560 or N561);

(i) A certificate of naturalization (N550, N570 or N578);

G) A United States citizen identification card (1-197, 1-179),

(k) Any successor document of subparagraphs (1)(e) through (1)(j) above; or

(h A social security number that the entity or local health department may verify with the
social security administration in accordance with federal law.

Applicants claiming to be qualified aliens shall present two forms of documentation of identity and
immigration status as determined by the United States Department of Homeland Security to be
acceptable for verification through the SAVE program or SEVIS system.

Where an applicant claiming to be a qualified alien presents only one form of documentation of
identity described in (2) above, the clinic shall attempt to verify the applicant’s status through the
SAVE program or SEVIS system.

If an applicant who claims eligibility as a qualified alien is unable to present two (2) forms of
documentation as described in paragraph (2) above, then the applicant shall present at least one
(1) such document that the entity or local health department shall then verify through the SAVE
program or SEVIS system.

Any document submitted pursuant to paragraphs (1) or (2) of this rule shall be presumed to be
proof of eligibility until final verification is received from the SAVE program or SEVIS system.

If the SAVE program or SEVIS system indicates that the applicant is not a citizen or qualified
alien, the clinic shall deny future primary care services and shall pursue any appropriate action
under T.C.A. §§ 4-58-104 or 4-58-105.

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 4-58-102, 4-58-104, 4-58-105, 4-58-106, 4-58-107, 4-58-108, 4-58-109, 4-58-110, 68-1-103,
68-1-106, 68-2-603, and 2013 Acts, Pub. Chap. 120.

1200-37-01-.04 Reconsideration of Denial.

(1)

Applicants denied or removed from primary care services may request reconsideration.

(a) The applicant must request reconsideration in writing, directed to the Program Director,
within twenty one (21) calendar days of denial or removal. The Program Director will
issue a reconsidered decision in writing within fourteen (14) days of the request for
reconsideration. The Program Director’s review is limited to a determination of whether
or not the applicant meets eligibility criteria. The decision of the Program Director is final.

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 4-58-102, 4-58-108, 4-58-110, 68-1-103, 68-1-106, and 68-2-603.
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If a roll-call vote was necessary, the vote by the Agency on these rules was as follows
Absent Signature

Abstain
(if required)

No

Aye

Board Member

| certify that this is an accurate and complete copy of proposed rules, lawfully promulgated and adopted by the
Commissioner of Health on 07/16/2013, and is in compliance with the provisions of T.C.A. § 4-5-222. The
Secretary of State is hereby instructed that, in the absence of a petition for proposed rules being filed under the
conditions set out herein and in the locations described, he is to treat the proposed rules as being placed on file in
his office as rules at the expiration of sixty (60) days of the first day of the month subsequent to the filing of the

proposed rule with the Secretary of State.

Date: 07/16/2013

Signature: M/M’\i

iy Name of Officer: _Mary K&dy
Deputy General Counsel
Tennessee Department of Health

SSeRRAL,
Title of Officer:
0] 1e| 3013

v? 'STATE “"“m
Subscribed and sworn to before me on: |
Banbrvo, £t

Notary Public Signature:
os |\§|2015~
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M DSON
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MY COMMISSION EXPIRES:
May 5, 2015

My commission expires on:

All proposed rules provided for herein have been examined by the Attorney General and Reporter of the State of
Tennessee and are approved as to legality pursuant to the provisions of the Administrative Procedures Act

7/7 /
/N Cogpem o~

7" Robért E. Cooper, Jr.

Attorney General and Reporter
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G.O.C. STAFF RULE ABSTRACT

DEPARTMENT:

DIVISION:

SUBJECT:

STATUTORY AUTHORITY:

EFFECTIVE DATES:

FISCAL IMPACT:

STAFF RULE ABSTRACT:

Finance and Administration
Bureau of TennCare
Exclusions under the TennCare Medicaid Program

Tennessee Code Annotated, Sections 4-5-202, 71-
5-105, and 71-5-109

September 29, 2013 to June 30, 2014
Decreases state annual expenditures by $864,600
This rule discontinues the coverage of allergy

medications for adults receiving assistance under
the TennCare Medicaid program.
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Public Hearing Comments

One copy of a document containing responses to comments made at the public hearing must accompany the
filing pursuant to T.C.A. § 4-5-222. Agencies shall include only their responses to public hearing comments,
which can be summarized. No letters of inquiry from parties questioning the rule will be accepted. When no
comments are received at the public hearing, the agency need only draft a memorandum stating such and include
it with the Rulemaking Hearing Rule filing. Minutes of the meeting will not be accepted. Transcripts are not
acceptable.

There were no public comments on these rules.
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Regulatory Flexibility Addendum

Pursuant to T.C.A. §§ 4-5-401 through 4-5-404, prior to initiating the rule making process as described in T.C.A.

§ 4-5-202(a)(3) and T.C.A. § 4-5-202(a), all agencies shall conduct a review of whether a proposed rule or rule
affects small businesses.

(If applicable, insert Regulatory Flexibility Addendum here)

The rules are not anticipated to have an effect on small businesses.
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Impact on Local Governments

Pursuant to T.C.A. §§ 4-5-220 and 4-5-228 “any rule proposed to be promulgated shall state in a simple
declarative sentence, without additional comments on the merits of the policy of the rules or regulation, whether
the rule or regulation may have a projected impact on local governments.” (See Public Chapter Number 1070
(http://state.tn.us/sos/acts/106/pub/pc1070.pdf) of the 2010 Session of the General Assembly)

The rules are not anticipated to have an impact on local governments.
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Rulemaking Hearing Rule(s) Filing Form

Rulemaking Hearing Rules are rules filed after and as a result of a rulemaking hearing. T.C.A. § 4-5-205

Agency/Board/Commission: | Tennessee Department of Finance and Administration
Division: Bureau of TennCare
Contact Person: | George Woods
Address: | 310 Great Circle Road
Zip: | 37243
Phone: | (615) 507-6446
Email: | george.woods@tn.gov

Revision Type (check all that apply):
_X_ Amendments
_ New
____ Repeal

Rule(s) Revised (ALL chapters and rules contained in filing must be listed here. If needed, copy and paste
additional tables to accommodate multiple chapters. Please enter only ONE Rule Number/Rule Title per row)

Chapter Number -| Chapter Title
1200-13-13 | TennCare Medicaid
Rule Number | RuleTitle
1200-13-13-.04 | Covered Services
| 1200-13-13-10 | Exclusions
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(Place substance of rules and other info here. Statutory authority must be given for each rule change. For
information on formatting rules go to http:/state.tn.us/sos/rules/1360/1360.htrm)

Subparagraph (c) of Paragraph (1) of Rule 1200-13-13-.04 Covered Services is amended by adding a new Part
11. which shall read as follows:

11. _ Allergy medications.

Statutory Authority: T.C.A. §§ 4-5-202, 71-5-105 and 71-5-109.

Part 20. of Subparagraph (a) of Paragraph (3) of Rule 1200-13-13-.10 Exclusions is amended by adding a new
Subpart (xi) which shall read as follows:

(xi) _Allergy medications

Statutory Authority: T.C.A. §§ 4-5-202, 71-5-105 and 71-5-109.
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| certify that this is an accurate and complete copy of rulemaking hearing rules, lawfully promulgated and adopted
by the Tennessee Department of Finance _and Administration (board/commission/ other authority) on
o@:'/;ﬂ/m?; (mm/dd/yyyy), and is in compliance with the provisions of T.C.A. § 4-5-222.

| further certify the following:

Notice of Rulemaking Hearing filed with the Department of State on: 04/09/13
Rulemaking Hearing(s) Conducted on: (add more dates). 05/30/13
Date: ,5%&/ 24,3
L

Signature: 4{_)“ Q K/L/

Name of Officer: Darin J. Gordon

Director, Bureau of TennCare
Title of Officer: Tennessee Department of Finance and Administration

N CeBSefbed and sworn to before me on: é,{ (ol \ 3
s )
Notary Public Signature: O

J
My commission expires on: Q} L;Z 2 I , é

All rulemaking hearing rules provided for herein have been examined by the Attorney General and Reporter of the
State of Tennessee and are approved as to legality pursuant to the provisions of the Administrative Procedures

Act, Tennessee Code Annotated, Title 4, Chapter 5.
) 2/7 /
2% /> ( A y : _’_}’—"‘
E % Robetft E. Cooper, Jr.

Attorney Genera and Reporter
_6-25(3

Date
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G.O.C. STAFF RULE ABSTRACT

DEPARTMENT:

DIVISION:

SUBJECT:

STATUTORY AUTHORITY:

EFFECTIVE DATES:

FISCAL IMPACT:

STAFF RULE ABSTRACT:

Finance and Administration
Bureau of TennCare
Exclusions under the TennCare Standard Program

Tennessee Code Annotated, Sections 4-5-202, 71-
5-105, and 71-5-109

September 29, 2013 to June 30, 2014
Decreases state annual expenditures by $864,600
This rule discontinues the coverage of allergy

medications for adults receiving assistance under
the TennCare Standard program.
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Public Hearing Comments

One copy of a document containing responses to comments made at the public hearing must accompany the
filing pursuant to T.C.A. § 4-5-222. Agencies shall include only their responses to public hearing comments,
which can be summarized. No letters of inquiry from parties questioning the rule will be accepted. When no
comments are received at the public hearing, the agency need only draft a memorandum stating such and include
it with the Rulemaking Hearing Rule filing. Minutes of the meeting will not be accepted. Transcripts are not
acceptable.

There were no public comments on these rules.
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Regulatory Flexibility Addendum

Pursuant to T.C.A. §§ 4-5-401 through 4-5-404, prior to initiating the rule making process as described in T.C.A.

§ 4-5-202(a)(3) and T.C.A. § 4-5-202(a), all agencies shall conduct a review of whether a proposed rule or rule
affects small businesses.

(If applicable, insert Regulatory Flexibility Addendum here)

The rules are not anticipated to have an effect on small businesses.
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Impact on Local Governments

Pursuant to T.C.A. §§ 4-5-220 and 4-5-228 “any rule proposed to be promulgated shall state in a simple
declarative sentence, without additional comments on the merits of the policy of the rules or regulation, whether
the rule or regulation may have a projected impact on local governments.” (See Public Chapter Number 1070
(http://state.tn.us/sos/acts/106/pub/pc1070.pdf) of the 2010 Session of the General Assembly)

The rules are not anticipated to have an impact on local governments.
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Rulemaking Hearing Rule(s) Filing Form

Rulemaking Hearing Rules are rules filed after and as a result of a rulemaking hearing. T.C.A. § 4-5-205

~ Agency/Board/Commission: | Tennessee Department of Finance and Administration
_ Division: | Bureau of TennCare
Contact Person: ' George Woods
Address: | 310 Great Circle Road
Zip: | 37243
Phone: | (615) 507-6446
Email: | george.woods@tn.gov

Revision Type (check all that apply):
_X_ Amendments
___ New
____ Repeal

Rule(s) Revised (ALL chapters and rules contained in filing must be listed here. |f needed, copy and paste
additional tables to accommodate multiple chapters. Please enter only ONE Rule Number/Rule Title per row)

| Chapter Number | Chapter Title |
| 1200-13-14 ‘TennCare Standard - - - -
"Rule Number | Rule Title

1200-13-14-04 | Covered Services

| 1200-13-14-10 | Exclusions
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(Place substance of rules and other info here. Statutory authority must be given for each rule change. For
information on formatting rules go to http:/state.tn.us/sos/rules/1360/1360.htm)

Subparagraph (c) of Paragraph (1) of Rule 1200-13-14-.04 Covered Services is amended by adding a new Part
11. which shall read as follows:

11. _Allergy medications.

Statutory Authority: T.C.A. §§ 4-5-202, 71-5-105 and 71-5-109.

Part 20. of Subparagraph (a) of Paragraph (3) of Rule 1200-13-14-.10 Exclusions is amended by adding a new
Subpart (xi) which shall read as follows:

(xi) __ Allergy medications

Statutory Authority: T.C.A. §§ 4-5-202, 71-5-105 and 71-5-109.
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| certify that this is an accurate and complete copy of rulemaking hearing rules, lawfully promulgated and adopted
by the Tennessee Department of Finance and Administration (board/commission/ other authority) on
0b/rof 2013 (mm/dd/yyyy), and is in compliance with the provisions of T.C.A. § 4-5-222.

| further certify the following:

04/09/13

Notice of Rulemaking Hearing filed with the Department of State on:
05/30/13

Rulemaking Hearing(s) Conducted on: (add more dates).

Date: 4 Aﬂ‘/ w13

Signature: ,ﬂ_,/df g‘-"

Name of Officer: Darin J. Gordon
Director, Bureau of TennCare
Tennessee Department of Finance and Administration

(0 | ol 13
/Ay
%23 /6

Title of Officer:

ubscribed and sworn to before me on:

Notary Public Signature:

My commission expires on:

All rulemaking hearing rules provided for herein have been examined by the Attorney General and Reporter of the
State of Tennessee and are approved as to legality pursuant to the provisions of the Administrative Procedures

Act, Tennessee Code Annotated, Title 4, Chapter 5.
@% (/’1

7" Robért E. Cooper, Jr.
Attorney General and Reporter

é-28-13
Date
Department of State Use Only
; Filed with the Department of Stateon: =3[ [ | (3
- Effectiveon: _AIG|1D | Ay 4
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¢ Tre Hargett

Secretary of State
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G.O.C. STAFF RULE ABSTRACT

DEPARTMENT: Finance and Administration

DIVISION: Bureau of TennCare

SUBJECT: TennCare Medicaid - Covered Dental Services under
TennCare managed care program.

STATUTORY AUTHORITY: Tennessee Code Annotated, Section 71-5-105

EFFECTIVE DATES: September 29, 2013 through June 30, 2014

FISCAL IMPACT: Minimal

STAFF RULE ABSTRACT: These rules clarify that effective October 1, 2013,

TennCare reimbursement for orthodontic treatment
approved and begun before age 21 will end on the
individual's 21st birthday. These rules reflect that for
individuals receiving treatment prior to October 1, 2013,
the treatment may continue until completion as long as the
enrollee remains eligible for TennCare Standard.

These rules revise the definition of “handicapping

malocclusion” for the purpose of determining eligibility for
covered dental services.
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Public Hearing Comments

One copy of a document containing responses to comments made at the public hearing must accompany the
filing pursuant to T.C.A. § 4-5-222. Agencies shall include only their responses to public hearing comments,
which can be summarized. No letters of inquiry from parties questioning the rule will be accepted. When no
comments are received at the public hearing, the agency need only draft a memorandum stating such and include
it with the Rulemaking Hearing Rule filing. Minutes of the meeting will not be accepted. Transcripts are not
acceptable.

Copy of response to comments is included with filing.

S8-7037 (October 2011) RDA 1693

60 S



Regulatory Flexibility Addendum

Pursuant to T.C.A. §§ 4-5-401 through 4-5-404, prior to initiating the rule making process as described in T.C.A.
§ 4-5-202(a)(3) and T.C.A. § 4-5-202(a), all agencies shall conduct a review of whether a proposed rule or rule
affects small businesses.

(If applicable, insert Regulatory Flexibility Addendum here)

The rules are not anticipated to have an effect on small businesses.
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Impact on Local Governments

Pursuant to T.C.A. §§ 4-5-220 and 4-5-228 “any rule proposed to be promulgated shall state in a simple
declarative sentence, without additional comments on the merits of the policy of the rules or regulation, whether
the rule or regulation may have a projected impact on local governments.” (See Public Chapter Number 1070
(http://state.tn.us/sos/acts/106/pub/pc1070.pdf) of the 2010 Session of the General Assembly)

The rules are not anticipated to have an impact on local governments.
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Rulemaking Hearing Rule(s) Filing Form

Rulemaking Hearing Rules are rules filed after and as a result of a rulemaking hearing. T.C.A. § 4-5-206

Agency/Board/Commission: Tennessee Department of Finance and Administration
Division: Bureau of TennCare
Contact Person: George Woods
Address: 310 Great Circle Road
Zip: 37243
Phone: (615)507-6446
Email: george.woods@tn.gov

Revision Type (check all that apply):
~X_ Amendments
__ New
____ Repeal

Rule(s) Revised (ALL chapters and rules contained in filing must be listed here. If needed, copy and paste
additional tables to accommodate multiple chapters. Please enter only ONE Rule Number/Rule Title per row)

Chapter Number = Chapter Title
1200-13-13 TennCare Medicaid
Rule Number | Rule Title

. 1200-13-13-.01 | Definitions

: 1200-13-13-.04 | Covered Services
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(Place substance of rules and other info here. Statutory authority must be given for each rule change. For
information on formatting rules go to http://state.tn.us/sos/rules/1360/1360.htm)

Paragraph (51) Handicapping Malocclusion of Rule 1200-13-13-.01 Definitions is deleted in its entirety and
replaced with a new Paragraph (51) which shall read as follows:

(51}—Haﬂmeappmg—MaIe@um%pwpew%n%b%%thesmmﬂ%m#m%ﬁ

(61)

(a)—A—medical—condition—andlor—a—nutritional—deficiency—with—medicalphysiological—impaet—that—is
d%umm@&m—ﬁw%mreges&n%h&amda%e@agn%nﬁmmmmm

mucesa—This-does-notinclude-cccasional-biting-of-thecheek:

Anecdotal-information-is-insufficient-to-document-the-presence-of a-handicapping-malocelusion—Anecdetal

information-is—represented-by-statements-that-are-not-supported-by—professional-progress-netes-that-the

pahem—ha&mﬁleulty—wﬂheamg—ehewmg—er—speakmg —These-conditions-may-be-caused-by-other-medieal
conditiops-in-addition-to-the-misalignmentofthetesth-

Handicapping Malocclusion shall mean a malocclusion which causes one of the following medical

conditions:

(a) A nutritional deficiency that has proven non-responsive to medical treatment without orthodontic

treatment. The nutritional deficiency must have been diagnosed by a qualified treating physician and
must have been documented in the gualified treating physician's progress notes. The progress notes
that document the nutritional deficiency must predate the treating orthodontist's prior authorization
request for orthodontics.

(b) A speech pathology that has proven non-responsive to speech therapy without orthodontic treatment.

The speech pathology must have been diagnosed by a qualified speech therapist and must have
been documented in the qualified speech therapist's progress notes. The progress notes that
document the speech pathology must predate the treating orthodontist's prior authorization request
for orthodontics.

(c) Laceration of soft tissue caused by a deep impinging overbite. Occasional cheek biting does not

constitute laceration of soft tissue. Laceration of the soft tissue must be documented in the treating
orthodontist's progress notes and must predate the treating orthodontist's prior authorization request
for orthodontics.

Anecdotal information is insufficient to document the presence of a handicapping malocclusion. The

presence of a handicapping malocclusion must be supported by the treating professional's progress notes
and patient record.

Statutory Authority: T.C.A. §§ 4-5-202, 71-5-105 and 71-5-109.

Part 5. Dental Services of Subparagraph (b) of Paragraph (1) of Rule 1200-13-13-.04 Covered Services is deleted
in its entirety and replaced with a new Part 5. which shall read as follows:

SERVICE BENEFIT FOR PERSONS UNDER | BENEFIT FOR PERSONS AGED

AGE 21 21 AND OLDER
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5. Dental Services [defined at 42
CFR §440.100].

Preventive, diagnostic, and
treatment services covered as
medically necessary.

Dental services under EPSDT;

} } - are
provided in accordance with the
state’s periodicity schedule as
determined after consultation with
recognized dental organizations and
at other intervals as medically
necessary.

Orthodontic services must be prior
authorized by the Dental Benefits
Manager (DBM). Orthodontic
services are only covered for
individuals under age 21. Effective
October 1, 2013, TennCare
reimbursement for orthodontic
treatment approved and begun
before age 21 will end on the
individual's 21* birthday. For
individuals receiving treatment prior
to October 1, 2013, such treatment
may continue until completion as
long as the enrollee remains eligible
for TennCare.

Orthodontic treatment is not
covered unless it is medically
necessary to treat a handicapping
malocclusion. Cleft palate,
hemifacial microsomia, or
mandibulofacial dysostosis shall be

Not covered.-exeeptiororthodentic
treatment when-an-erthedontic
treatment plan-was-approved prior
to-the enrollee’sattaining 20-%
years of age—and-treatment- was
initiated-prierto-the-enrollee’s
altaining-21-years-of age; such
treatrent-may-continue-as-long-as
the-enroliee-remains-eligible for
TennCare-
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considered handicapping
malocclusions.

A TennCare-approved Malocclusion
Severity Assessment (MSA) will be
conducted to measure the severity
of the malocclusion. An MSA score
of 28 or higher, as determined by
the DBM's dentist reviewer(s), will
be used for making orthodontic
treatment determinations of medical
necessity. However, an MSA score
alone cannot be used to deny
orthodontic treatment.

Orthodontic treatment will not be
authorized for cosmetic purposes.
Orthodontic treatment will be paid
for by TennCare only as long as the
individual remains eligible for
TennCare.

The MCO is responsible for the
provision of transportation to and
from covered dental services, as
well as the medical and anesthesia
services related to the covered
dental services.

Statutory Authority: T.C.A. §§ 4-5-202, 71-5-105 and 71-5-108.
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| certify that this is an accurate and complete copy of rulemaking hearing rules, lawfully promulgated and adopted
by the Tennessee Department of Finance and Administration (board/commission/ other authority) on
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G.O.C. STAFF RULE ABSTRACT

DEPARTMENT: Finance and Administration

DIVISION: Bureau of TennCare

SUBJECT: TennCare Standard - Covered Dental Services under
TennCare managed care program.

STATUTORY AUTHORITY: Tennessee Code Annotated, Section 71-5-105

EFFECTIVE DATES: September 29, 2013 through June 30, 2014

FISCAL IMPACT: | Minimal

STAFF RULE ABSTRACT: These rules clarify that effective October 1, 2013,

TennCare reimbursement for orthodontic treatment
approved and begun before age 21 will end on the
individual's 21st birthday. These rules reflect that for
individuals receiving treatment prior to October 1, 2013,
the treatment may continue until completion as long as the
enrollee remains eligible for TennCare Standard.

These rules revise the definition of “handicapping

malocclusion” for the purpose of determining eligibility for
covered dental services.
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Public Hearing Comments

One copy of a document containing responses to comments made at the public hearing must accompany the
filing pursuant to T.C.A. § 4-5-222. Agencies shall include only their responses to public hearing comments,
which can be summarized. No letters of inquiry from parties questioning the rule will be accepted. When no
comments are received at the public hearing, the agency need only draft a memorandum stating such and include
it with the Rulemaking Hearing Rule filing. Minutes of the meeting will not be accepted. Transcripts are not
acceptable.

Copy of response to comments is included with filing.

$8-7037 (October 2011) RDA 1693

69 5



Regulatory Flexibility Addendum

Pursuant to T.C.A. §§ 4-5-401 through 4-5-404, prior to initiating the rule making process as described in T.C.A.

§ 4-5-202(a)(3) and T.C.A. § 4-5-202(a), all agencies shall conduct a review of whether a proposed rule or rule
affects small businesses.

(If applicable, insert Regulatory Flexibility Addendum here)

The rules are not anticipated to have an effect on small businesses.

§8-7037 (October 2011) RDA 1693
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Impact on Local Governments

Pursuant to T.C.A. §§ 4-5-220 and 4-5-228 “any rule proposed to be promulgated shall state in a simple
declarative sentence, without additional comments on the merits of the policy of the rules or regulation, whether
the rule or regulation may have a projected impact on local governments.” (See Public Chapter Number 1070
(http://state.tn.us/sos/acts/106/pub/pc1070.pdf) of the 2010 Session of the General Assembly)

The rules are not anticipated to have an impact on local governments.

$S-7037 (October 2011) RDA 1693
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(Pla

ce substance of rules and other info here. Statutory authority must be given for each rule change. For

information on formatting rules go to http:/state.tn.us/sos/rules/1360/1360.htm)

Paragraph (56) Handicapping Malocclusion of Rule 1200-13-14-.01 Definitions is deleted in its entirety and
replaced with a new Paragraph (56) which shall read as follows:

Mw%%%ums%%mnw@%%ﬂ%s%mn -mean

(56)

{a}—A—medical—condition—andlor—a—nutritional—deficiency—with—medical—physiological—impact—that—is
daeumeme%ﬂ—ﬁw—physman—pregres&nete&that—ppedat&th&mag nesmaad—wq&est—f%aﬁhedeﬁ&s&

{b}—The- presence—of -a-speech-pathelegy—that-is-documented-in-speech-therapy—progress—notes—that
predate-the-diagnosis-and-request-for-orthedontics—The-condition-must-be-non-respensive-to-speesh
therapy-witheut-orthodontic-treatment:

(6)—Palatal-tissue-laceration-from-a-deep-impinging-overbite-where-lower-incisor-teeth-contact-palatal
mucesa—This-does-notinclude cccasional-biting-of-the-cheek-

Anesdetakm#e#matmmmn&u#&emﬁ—teﬂeeumenﬁh&pfesenee—e# a—hanmeapmmnaleeelumen—;&needetal

Handicapping Malocclusion shall mean a malocclusion which causes one of the following medical

(a) A nutritional deficiency that has proven non-responsive to medical treatment without orthodontic

treatment. The nutritional deficiency must have been diagnosed by a qualified treating physician and
must have been documented in the qualified treating physician's progress notes. The progress notes
that document the nutritional deficiency must predate the treating orthodontist's prior authorization
request for orthodontics.

(b) A speech pathology that has proven non-responsive to speech therapy without orthodontic treatment.

The speech pathology must have been diagnosed by a qualified speech therapist and must have
been documented in the qualified speech therapist's progress notes. The progress notes that
document the speech pathology must predate the treating orthodontist's prior authorization request
for orthodontics.

(c)  Laceration of soft tissue caused by a deep impinging overbite. Occasional cheek biting does not

constitute laceration of soft tissue. Laceration of the soft tissue must be documented in the treating
orthodontist's progress notes and must predate the treating orthodontist's prior authorization request
for orthodontics.

Anecdotal information is insufficient to document the presence of a handicapping malocclusion. The

presence of a handicapping malocclusion must be supported by the treating professional’'s progress notes
and patient record.

Statutory Authority: T.C.A. §§ 4-5-202, 71-5-105 and 71-5-109.

Part 5. Dental Services of Subparagraph (b) of Paragraph (1) of Rule 1200-13-14-.04 Covered Services is deleted
in its entirety and replaced with a new Part 5. which shall read as follows:

SERVICE BENEFIT FOR PERSONS UNDER | BENEFIT FOR PERSONS AGED

AGE 21 21 AND OLDER

§S-7037 (October 2011) RDA 1693
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5. Dental Services [defined at 42
CFR §440.100].

Preventive, diagnostic, and
treatment services covered as
medically necessary.

Dental services under EPSDT;
including-dental-sereens; are
provided in accordance with the
state’s periodicity schedule as
determined after consultation with
recognized dental organizations and
at other intervals as medically
necessary.

Orthodontic services must be prior
authorized by the Dental Benefits
Manager (DBM). Orthodontic
services are only covered for
individuals under age 21. Effective
October 1, 2013, TennCare
reimbursement for orthodontic
treatment approved and begun
before age 21 will end on the
individual's 21% birthday. For
individuals receiving treatment prior
to October 1, 2013, such treatment
may continue until completion as
lonq as the enrollee remains eligible
for TennCare.

Orthodontic treatment is not
covered unless it is medically
necessary to treat a handicapping
malocclusion. Cleft palate,
hemifacial microsomia, or
mandibulofacial dysostosis shall be

Not covered.-exceptfororthedontic
treatment when-an-orthodontie
treatment-plan-was-approved-prior
to-the-enrollee’s-attaining20-%
years-ofage-and-treatment-was
initiated-prior-te-the-enrollee’s
attaining-2-1-years-of-agersuch
treatment may-centinue-as-long-as
the-enrollee-remains-eligible for
TennGare-

S§8-7037 (October 2011)
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considered handicapping
malocclusions.

A TennCare-approved Malocclusion
Severity Assessment (MSA) will be
conducted to measure the severity
of the malocclusion. An MSA score
of 28 or higher, as determined by
the DBM's dentist reviewer(s), will
be used for making orthodontic
treatment determinations of medical
necessity. However, an MSA score
alone cannot be used to deny
orthodontic treatment.

Orthodontic treatment will not be
authorized for cosmetic purposes.
Orthodontic treatment will be paid
for by TennCare only as long as the
individual remains eligible for
TennCare.

The MCO is responsible for the
provision of transportation to and
from covered dental services, as
well as the medical and anesthesia
services related to the covered
dental services.

Statutory Authority: T.C.A. §§ 4-5-202, 71-5-105 and 71-5-109.
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| certify that this is an accurate and complete copy of rulemaking hearing rules, lawfully promulgated and adopted
by the Tennessee Department of Finance and Administration (board/commission/ other authority) on
05/0R/20173 (mm/dd/yyyy), and is in compliance with the provisions of T.C.A. § 4-5-222.

| further certify the following:

Notice of Rulemaking Hearing filed with the Department of State on: 02/20/13
Rulemaking Hearing(s) Conducted on: (add more dates). 04/24/13
Date: s'/ 5/ 2o/3

Signature: ,é):(_;zf g/‘*——

Name of Officer: Darin J. Gordon
Director, Bureau of TennCare
Title of Officer: Tennessee Department of Finance and Administration

ubscribed and sworn to before me on: 5( % l \ 2

Notary Public Signature: %ﬁu% K/QJ\,:J-
% Y
My commission expires on: v o3 l 10

All rulemaking hearing rules provided for herein have been examined by the Attorney General and Reporter of the

State of Tennessee and are approved as to legality pursuant to the provisions of the Administrative Procedures
Act, Tennessee Code Annotated, Title 4, Chapter 5.
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