G.0.C. STAFF RULE ABSTRACT

DEPARTMENT: State Board of Education

DIVISION:

SUBJECT: Virtual Schools

STATUTORY AUTHORITY: Tennessee Code Annotated, Section 49-16-102
EFFECTIVE DATES: August 29, 2012 through June 30, 2013
FISCAL IMPACT: Minimal

STAFF RULE ABSTRACT:

The 107th General Assembly created the "Virtual Public Schools Act" This act gives local
education agencies the authority to establish virtual schools; and permits LEAs to contract for
services with nonprofit or for-profit entities to manage and operate virtual schools.

The proposed rules clarify several issues relative to virtual schooling relative to establishment,
enrollment, attendance, and transfer. The proposed rules also make clear that students with

disabilities and limited English proficiency are not excluded from enrolling and participating in
virtual schooling.



Regulatory Flexibility Addendum

Pursuant la T.C.A. §§ 4-5-401 through 4-5-404, prior to initialing the rule making process as described in T.C.A.
§ 4-5-202(a)(3) and T.C A. § 4-5-202(a), all agencies shall conduct a review of whether a proposed rule or rule
affects small businesses.

Not Applicable
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Impact on Local Governments

Pursuant to T.C.A. §§ 4-5-220 and 4-5-228 "any rule propoased to be promuigated shall state In a simple
deciarative sentence, without additional comments on the merits of the policy of the rules or regulation, whether-
the rule or regulation may have a projected Impact on local governments.” (See Public Chapter Number 1070
(http:ifstate.tn.us/sos/acts/106/pub/pc1070.pdf) of the 2010 Session of the General Assembly)

- This will have no impact on local governments,
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CHAPTER 0520-01-03

Minimum Requirements for the Approval of Public Schoois

Amendment

Rule 0520-01-03-.03 (11)f) by deleting the second sentence in the paragraph and substituting the

following language:

if a request to transfer is submitted less than two weeks before the beginning of the receiving district's
school year, and the student Is currently enrolled In another district during the' prior semester, the
approval of both the sending and receiving districis must be obtained,

" Rule 0520-01-03-.03 by Inserting a new subsection (12) and renumbering the following subsections

accordingly.

(12)  Public Virlual Schools.

{a) Public virtual schools must comply with all applicable Tennessee State Board of
Education pollcies and rules and regulations.

(b)  Public virtual schools shali

1. be approved by the local board of education;

2. use technology to deliver a significant portion of instruction to its students via the
Internet in a virlual or remote setting; ‘

3. review and prévide access to a sequential curriculum that meets or exceads the
curriculum standards adopted by the Tennessee State Board of Education;

4. meet the equivalent of the 180 days of instruction and 6.5 hours per day per
academic year pursuant to T.C.A. § 49-6-3004;

5. monifor participation and progress to ensure students meet participation
requirements and make progress toward successful completion of courses;

6. administer all state tests required of public schoal students to students enrolled in
a virlual school in a proclored environment consistent with state test
administraiion guidelines;

7. be evaluated annually and report the extent to which the schoo! demonsirates
increases in student achievement, along with academic, fiscal, and operational
performance;

8. ensure that students with special needs, including students with disabilities and
limited English proficiency are not excluded from enrolling and participating,
further, the public virtual school is responsible for providing the services in the
student's Individualized Education Program (IEP);

9. assign a highly qualified teacher fo each student enrolled;

10. ensure that all teachers employed to provide services fo the students are
endorsed in their grade or course and qualified to teach in Tennessee;

11. ensure access to Instructional malerials, access to fechnology stch as a
computer and printer that may be necessary for parlicipation in the program, and
access o an Internet connection used for school work; and
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12..  meet class size standards established by T.C.A. § 49-1-104.

(©) Public virtual schools must comply with State Board Rule 0520-01-03-.03(11).

1. For a student who is currently enrofted or was enrolled the previcus semester in

a public school to transfer to a public virtual school after the open transfer time
has lapsed:

a. lhe student must apply to and be approved fer accaplance in the public
virtual schoal; and

b. once acceptance has been determined, the public virtual school must
obtain permission from the sending district before enrolting the student in
the public virtual school A public virtual school shall not be eligible for
state education funds for sludents who are improperly enrofled.

2. Students ot registered in a public school the previous semester but who were

enrolied instead In a private school or a home school do not require approval
from a sending district.

{d} Public virtual schools must comply with all compulsary attendance requirements including
monitoring and reporting as required in TCA § 49-6-3007.

1. The district-establishing the public virtual schoo! Is required to report truancy to
the juvenite court having jurisdiction over that student.

2. On or before August 1 of each year the public virlual school shall notify ali LEAs
of the enrolimert of students residing within the LEA’s jurisdiction. LEAs shall
be nofified within two weeks when changes oceur relative to studenis residing
within the-LEA's jurisdiction. .

3 Once a non-resident sfudent has bean accepted and enrolled in a public virtual
school, it shall be the responsibility of the LEA that has established the public
virtual school to maintain enrollment of that student until such a fime as the
student is withdrawn by the parent or guardian. If the student is withdrawn by the
parent or guardian, the public virtual school shall send transcripts and other
student records to the recsiving scheol in a fimely manner.

§5-7038 (September 2011) -3 RDA 1693



* If a roll-call vate was necessary, the vots by the Agency on these rules was as foliows:
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| certify that this is an accurate and complete copy of proposed rules, lawfully promulgated and -adopted by the
TN State Board of Education an __1/27/12 , and is In compliance with the provisions of T.C.A. § 4-5-
222. The Secretary of State is hereby instructed that, in the absence of a petition for proposed rules being filed
under the conditions set out herein and in the localions described, he Is to treat the proposed rules as being

placed on file In his office as rules at the expiration of sixly (60) days of the first day of the month subsequent to
the filing of the proposed rule with the Secretary of State.
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My commission expires on:

All proposed rules provided for herein have been examined by -the Aftorney General and Reporter of the State of
Tennessee and are approved as to legalily pursuant to the provisions of the Administrative Procedures Act,

Tennesseo Code Annotated, Title 4, Chapter 5.
Cbesr . L,

Robert E. €oaper, Jr. @
Attorney General and Reporter
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Date
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RULES
OF
THE STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION
CHAPTER. 0520-01-03
MINIMUM REQUIREMENTS FOR THE APPROYAL
OF PUBLIC SCHOOLS

{11) Students Transferring From One School To Ancther.

{a) Siudents may transfer among public schools or among Calegory 1, 11, or Ii} private schools (see
Chapler §520-07-02), wilhout loss of credit for completed work, The school which the student
leavas must supply a propedy certified lranscript showing the student's record of allendanca,
achlevement, and the units of cradit eamed.

{b) Principals shall allow credit for work fransferred from other schoois only when substantiated by
officlal transcripts, Students lransferring from schools which afe not approved by the Tennessee
State Board of Education or by comparable agencles shall be allowed credit only when they have
passed comprehensive willten examinations approved, administered, and gradad by the
prindpal. Sludent'scoras from a recognized standardized test may substilute for the required
comprehensive wiilton examinallons. .

(¢} The examination administered o students in grades 1-8 shall cover only the fast grade
compleatad. .

{d) The examinations admlnstered 1o studants In grades 9-12 shall cover the individual subjacts
appearing on the offictal transcripls. The examination for subjects of more than one unit nead
cover anly the tast unlt completed. A student transferring from one school to anolher may count
for graduation ona-half unlt of credi In courses for which a minimum of one unlt is requlred only ¥
the course is not affered In the school lo which he or she Is ransfaming.

{a) The principal Is autherized to transmil franscripls of a student o any school to which the student
transfers or applias for admission when the records are raquested by the recelving school or
instilution, The parent or guardian of the student will be notified that the transcript is belng sent.

(f} lfa request to ransfer is sybmilted less than two weeks belore_the baginning of the !ggjvlng*---.-?-

distrcl’s schoot_year, and the studaeni Is currenlly emvolled In snother distict durng the prigr -

semesler, the approval of both the ssnding and recaiving districts must be obtained A-student - '~
may-transler-lo-a-school-system-othar{hanthe-one-in-which-lhoy-live-up-to two-weeks bolora-the T

baginring-ot-lhe-scheel-year-wilh-oaly-the-approval-of he—eceiving-beard ef-odusation—ia
transfer requdstisloss-than-twe-waaks-bofore-the beginring-el{he-schaok-year-eris-during-the
sehool-year-the-approval of-belh-the-sending-andrecaiving-locat-board-of-edusation-must-be
ehlained,

{g) Local boards of education may arrange for the transfer of studenls residing wilkin their systems to
other school systems by eslablishing agresments with other local boards of education for the
admission ar transfer of students from one school system to ancthar,

{h) The racelving board of education may set a lime bafore or during the school year afler which it
will not accept transfer students. The recelving board of education may charge (he non-resident
student tuilion to atlend. )

(I} ¥ alocal boand of educalion othenwvise permits non-resident siudents to transfor Inte Its schools, it
may not discriminate againsl any students solely on he grounds of their race, sex, national origin

P
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ar disabilily, nor may & charge such studants a tuition cver and above the ushal {ultion for non-
disabled persons.

Amend Rule 0520-01-03-03 by inserling a new subsaection {12) and- renumb-eliﬁg the foliowing
subsections accordingly.

(12)  Publlc Vidual SchoolsRecords-andReparis.

@

®)

Public virtual schools must comply with all applicable Tennessee Stale Board of
Educalion policles and nules and regulations. .

Pubilic virtuat schools shall:

1. be approved by the local board of educalion; .

2, use lachnology to deliver a significant portion of Inatruction to fts sludents via the .
Intemst in a virdual or remote selting;

3. teview and provide access lo a sequentlal curriculum that meets or excesds the | b
curriculum standands adopted by the Tennessee State Board of Education;

4. meel the equivalent of the 180 days of Inatruction and 6.5 hours per day per ~+
acadamis year pursuant {o T.C.A. § 40-6-3004;

5. monitor parficlpation and prograss o enswre sludents meat paricipation
requirements and make progress toward successful completion of courses;

6. administer all state tests reqidred of pubfic school students 1o students enrolled In
a vidual school In a proclored anvironment consistenl wilh slate test
admialstraion guldelines;

7. be evaluated annually and report the extent lo which (he school demonstrales
increasas in student achlevement, along with academic, fiscal, and operational
performance;

8 enswra that students with speclal needs, including students with disabifities and ST
limited English proficlency are not excluded from enrolling and participatng,
furthar, the publle virval school Is responsible for providing the services in the
sludents Individualized Education Program {IEP);

9, assign a highly qualifiad leacher to each student enrofled;

10, ensure lhat all leachers employed to provide services to the students are

endorsed in thelr grade or course and qualified {o teach In Tennesses;




]

")

11,

12,

ensure access !0 Instruclional materals, access lo technology such as a
computer and printer thal may be necessary for parlicipation In the program, and
accass to an Internel conneclion used for school work; and

maet class size standards established by T.C.A. § 49-1-104.

Publlc vidual schools must comply with State Board Rule 0520-01-03-.03(11).

1.

" For a sludent who s currently enrolled or was enrolied the previcus samester in

a public schoo! lo uransrar to a public vlrlual schoo! afler the open transfer time
has lapsed:

a. the student must apply to and be approved for acceptance In the public
virlual school; and

b, once acceplance has been determined, the public virual school must
obtain permission from the sending district before enroliing the student In

the public virtual schoal A public virtual school shall not be eligibte for g

state educalion funds for studenls who sre Improperty enrofled.

Siudents not reglstered In a public schoal the previous semester but who were
enrolled lnstead in a private school or a homs school do not require approval
from & sending district.

Public virtual schools must comply with all compulsery altendance requirements including

- monltoring and reporting as required In TCA § 49-6-3007.

’

- The districl establishing the public vidual school is required fo report truancy to

he juvenile court having Judsdiclion over that studenl.

On or before August 1 of sach year the public virdual school shall notify alt LEAs
of the enrollment of students residing wilkin the LEA's jursdiction. LEAs shafl
be notiflad within two weeks when changes cccur relafive o students residing
within lhe LEA's jurisdiction.

Once a non-resident sludent has been aceepted and enrolled In a public virdual

school, It shall be the responsibliity of the LEA thal has established the public

virlual school to maintain enroliment of that siudent untll such a lime as the
student is withdrawn by the parent or guardian. If the student is withdravm by the
parent or guardian, the public virtual schoot shall send franscripls and other
student records to the recsiving school In a imely mannar.

[0




G.0.C. STAFF RULE ABSTRACT

DEPARTMENT: Education

DIVISION: Charter Schools

SUBJECT: . Achievement School District

STATUTORY AUTHOQITY: Tennessee Code Annotated, Section 49—13-1 26
EFFECTIVE DATES: August 29, 2012 through June 30, 2013

FISCAL IMPACT: Minimal

STAFF RULE ABSTRACT: This rule provides for an application process for charter

school sponsors applying to operate a school in the
Achievement School District.

/1



Regulatory Flexibility Addendum

Pursuant to T.C.A. §8§4-5-401 through 4-5-404, prior to initiafing the rule making process as described in T.C.A.

§4-5-202(a)(3) and T.C.A. §4-5-202(a), all agencies shall conduct a review of whether a proposed rule or rule
affects small businesses.

(If applicable, insert Regulatory Flexibility Addendum here)

S$5-7038 (September 2011) _ 4 RDA 1693
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Impact on Local Governments

Pursuant to T.C.A. §§4-5-220 and 4-5-228 "any rule proposed to be promulgated shall state in a simple
declarative sentence, without additional comments on the merits of the policy of the rules or regulation, whether
the rule or regutation may have & projected impact on local governments.” (See Public Chapter Number 1070
{nttp.//state tn. us/sos/acts/106/publpc1070.pdf) of the 2010 Session of the General Assembly)

This rule shall have no impact on local governments.

$5-7038 (September 201 1) 5 RDA 1693
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Chapter 0520-14-03
Achievement School District
New Rule

Title 0520-14 is amended by inserting a new chapter 0520-14-03 Achievement School District and by inserting the
following as & new, appropriately numbered rule:

Rule 0520-14-03-.01 Authorization of Charter Schools

(1 Charter schools may be authorized by the achievement school district through an application process
established by the achievement school district (ASD).

(@ The application shall be reviewed according to procedures established by the superintendent of
the ASD.

)] By signing and submitting an application, the sponsor requests a waiver of all education statutes
and rules of the state board or department of education, except those listed in T.C.A. § 49-13-105
or included by reference (such as statutes and rules related to licensing of charter schoo!
teachers) in Title 48, Chapter 13 (the Tennessee Public Charter Schools Act). The approval of a
charter school by the superintendent shall include the approval of these waivers by the

commissioner of education, and such automatic waivers shali be reflected in the contract
between the charter school and the ASD.

{c) Decisions of the superintendent to grant or deny ASD charter appiications are final and not
subject to appeal.

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 49-13-112, 49-13-1286.

$5-7038 (Septernber 2011) 2 RDA 1693
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G.0.C. STAFF RULE ABSTRACT

DEPARTMENT: Labor and Workforce Development

DIVISION: Workers' Compensation

SUBJECT: Medical Fee Schedule; Drug Free Workplace
STATUTORY AUTHORITY: Tennessee Code Annotated, Section 50-6-204
EFFECTIVE DATES: June 10, 2012 through June 30, 2013

FISCAL IMPACT: The agency has provided the following information:

State and local governments have the option to accept the
provisions of the workers' compensation laws pursuant to
Tennessee Code Annotated, § 50-6-106(6), but are not
required to do so. For those governmental agencies that
do adhere to the medical fee schedule and Drug Free
Workplace Program, their workers' compensation
premiums should decrease, though It is difficult at this time
to ascerfain by exactly how much.

STAFF RULE ABSTRACT:

The medical fee schedule for workers' compensation has been in place since 2005. These
amendments make several changes, some subsiantive and some minor.

A substantive change is reducing the maximum professional fees, which are based upon a
percentage above Medicare rates. Changes to Medicare’s reimbursement formula have caused
a steep increase in these rates that was not previously anticipated. The sule amendment would
return the rates to more moderate levels, which will alleviate the burden on Tennessee
employers.

Other substantive changes include: capping pathology fees at 200% of applicable Medicare;
linking repackaged and compounded drugs to the average wholesale price of the original
national drug code number; capping ground ambulance rates at 150% of applicable Medicare;
allowing chiropractors to charge for an office visit on the same day as the initial treatment; and,
removing the requirement that physical therapy must go through utilization review after six visits.

In addition, the amendmenis update the Drug Free Workplace drug-testing panel to the new
U.S. Department of Transportation panel.
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Pubiic Hearing Comments

One copy of a document containing responses to comments made at the public hearing must accompany the
filing pursuant to T.C.A. § 4-5-222. Agencies shall include only their responses to public hearing cormments,
which can be summarized. No lelters of inquiry from parties questioning the rule will be accepted. When no
comments are received at the public hearing, the agency need oniy draft a memorandum stating such and include
it with the Rulemaking Hearing Rule filing. Minutes of the meeting will not be accepted. Transcripts are not
acceptable,

1) Comment:  The Department should consider revising the in-patient per diem and stop-loss amounts.
Alternatively, the in-patient fees should be based on Medicare. Under either system, the in-patient rules should
adhere to the Medicare bundling guidefines. Otherwise, hospital costs could experience a significant increase.
Due to the complexities involved, this may be an issue that the Medical Care & Cost Containment Committee
should study and then make a recommendation.

Resgponse: Currently, the data on hospital reimbursements is insufficient to fully analyze this amendment.
That data should be available in the next year. As such, the Department agrees that this is a change that should
await more concrete data to analyze the impact and we will exciude it from the current amendments.

2) Comment:  The wording in the in-patient bundling amendment should be changed from “are not controliing"
to “do not apply” for clarity purposes.

Response: In light of the response to Comment #1, this comment is moat.

3) Comment:  Maximum ambulance fees should remain as they currently are, rather than being based on
Medicare, since Medicare covers different types of patients and emergencies than workers' compensation
insurance.

Response: While the Department recognizes that Medicare covers a different type of patient than workers’
compensation, we have used a Medicare-based fee schedule for most aspects of medical costs since the fee
schedule was first implemented in 2005. The original reimbursement formuia for ambulances was the lesser of
submitled charges or the average price in the geographical locality. The database for the latter is now obsolete,
so ambulance services have been able {o receive up to their submitted charges, which can be significant
amounts. In looking for ways to control those costs, the fairest and most accessible option appears to be setfing
a relmbursement amount as a percentage of Medicare. Going forward, we will conlinue to consider moving the
medical fee schedule rates for all services away from a Medicare-based system as other commenters have also
suggested.

4) Comment:.  Many commenters recommended that generic equivalent average price ('GEAP") should not be
incorporated into the pharmacy fee schedule because it is inaccessible and only covers a small percentage of
drugs.

Response: Due to the inaccessibility and lack of information in the GEAP database, the Department agrees
with the commenters and will remove references {o GEAP in the final rule. '

8) Comment: Thereis suppdrt’for addressing repackaged andfor compounded drugs, but the proposed wording
should be clarified so that the responsibilities of the parties are clearer.

Response: The Department agrees that the language in the final rule should be revised to bstter convey the
intent. While we received several suggestions on how the language should be revised, we will take the aspects of
those suggestions that best convey the intent and reformulate the language.

8) Comment: ~ There is concern that restricting the payments for repackaged and compounded drugs to average
wholesale price ("AWP") will discourage physicians from dispensing, especially when dispending physicians have
a 100% fill rate, whereas pharmacy prescriptions have a 70-80% fili rate. This change could also lead to access
to care problems if it is no longer financially viable far physicians to dispense drugs.

Response: Currenily, the pharmacy fee schedule uses AWP as a basis for drug prices, but repackaged and
compouinded drugs are not adequately addressed by the current language. As such, the amendment is to fill a

S8-703¢ (October 2011) ' 11 RDA 1693
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gap and ensure that drug prices are based on AWP whenever possible. In no way does the rule amendment
prehibit physician-dispensing or the practice of repackaging or compounding drugs.

7)Y Comment:  There is opposition to the decrease in maximum professional fees from physicians, as well as
chiropractors and physical therapists. Some providers have advised that the 11% cut in the maximum aflowable
amount may cause them 1o discontinue traating workers' compensation patients.

Respaonse: Amendments to the medical fee schedule in 2009 designated a conversion factor of 38.0870 in

the formula for maximum professional fees because of anticipated cuts to Medicare. In the last two years, the
Medicare cuts have not materialized and, as a result, the medical fee schedule's maximum professional fees have
increased by 20% since August 2008, which included an 8.8% increase at the beginning of 2011, according to the -
Naticnal Council on Compensation Insurance ("NCCI). As such, the maximum professional fees have become
significantly higher than was anlicipated when the 2009 amendments took effect. The curreni amendment wouid
update the designated conversion factor to current Medicare, which is 33.9764.

While we would be disappointed to see any physician decline to see workers’ compensation patients
because of this amendment and do recognize that such cases can provide more administrative hassles, the
amended reimbursement formula would still allow for percentages significantly higher than Medicare (i.e., 275%
for orthopaedic and neurosurgery, 200% for general surgery, 160% for office visits). In addition, the final
amendment will insulate the providers from further decreases to Medicare's conversion factor.

8) Comment  The NCCI pricing method used in the law-only filing as a basis for the reduction in professional
feas is flawed because it does not account for prices actually paid and it uses outdated Medicare studies.

Response: The pricing method used in NCCI's filing is based on trending. While actual prices paid are not
used in the fifing, the method accounts for increases and decreases by assuming that a certain percentage
change in the medical fee schedule will correlate to a very similar change in actual prices paid. As for the
Medicare study, that is only utilized with projected reductions in costs, whereas the commenters take issue with
the projected increases in the filing. Accordingly, that study had no impact on the commenters' areas of interest.

9) Comment: A recent Workers Compensation Research Institute (*WCRI") study showed that Tennessee was
the only one of 25 study states to have medical costs below its 2002 level. As such, there should be no reduction
in maximum professional fees.

Response: The WCRI study did show that Tennessee's medical costs are lower than in 2002. The medical
fee schedule did not go info effect, however, until 2005. As such, the data showing that costs are very closs,
albeit still lower, than the 2002 levels is actually disconcerting for the purposes of the medical fee schedule, in
addition, the study only used data up to June 2010, whereas the [argest increase from the previous conversion
factor designation on maximum professionat fees occurred in January 2011, Accordingly, that study has not yet
accounted for the most recent increase in medical costs.

10} Comment: Going to a two-tiered surgical reimbursement system based on CPT codes will cause some
codes that have traditionally been paid at the higher leve! to be paid at the lower level, which would significantly
increase medical costs.

Response: Tennessee is the only state that uses a two-tiered surgical reimbursement system based on the
board-certification/eligibility status of the physician, which has ¢aused issues with improper reimbursements. Due
to the concerns aboul increased costs, however, the Depariment will revise the proposed language to maintain
the orthopaedic and neurosurgeon distinction, but with additional language aimed at alieviating the issues with
improper reimbursements.

11) Comment: There is a concern among several commenters that the administrative hassles involved in
workers' compensation will result in a decrease in the number of providers willing to see thase patients.

Response:; While many of the areas that concern the commenters are outside of the scope of these rule
amendments, one change that should help ease this burden is the clarifying language mentioned in the response
to Comment 10.

12} Comment; The multiple procedures reduction will reduce reimbursement for providers, especially physical
therapists who perform several modalities in one session.
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Response: The multiple pracedures reduction has been in the medical fee schedule since its implameniation
in 2005. The present amendment merely clarifies which procedures are primary, i.e., to be paid in full, and which
are secondary, i.e., to be paid at half. Accordingly, the amendment is only to clarify an ambiguous area and
should not have a significant impact.

13) Comment: There is concern that the prohibition on line-by-line comparisons will increase costs and impede
bill reviewers from applying contracted discounts.

Respaonse: The Department has always interpreted the Medical Fee Schedule “lesser of' comparison o
apply to entire bills, rather than a line-by-fine comparison of each item in the bill. As such, the amendment is
merely to clarify the rule. Nothing in the amendment should prevent contracting or negotiating for discounts below
the maximum rates.
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Regutatory Flexibility Addendum

Pursuant to T.C.A. §§ 4-5-401 through 4-5-404, prior to initiating the rule making process as described in T.C.A.
§ 4-5-202(a)(3) and T.C.A. § 4-5-202(a), all agencies shall conduct a review of whether a proposed rule or rule
affects small businesses.

STATEMENT OF ECONOMIC IMPACT TO SMALL BUSINESSES

1. The type or types of small business and an identification and estimate of the number of small businesses
subject to the proposed rule that would bear the cost of, or directly benefit from the proposed rule: The amended
rules will affect small employers that fall under the Tennessee Workers' Compensation Laws, which would be
emplovers with at least five emplovees, or in the construction industry, at least one smplovee. The rule
amendments should result in premium decreases for stuich emplovers.

2. The projected reporting, recordkeeping and other administrative costs required for compliance with the
proposed rule, including the type of professional skills necessary for preparation of the report or record:
Employers' insurance carriers or third parly administrators will be responsible for complying with changes to the
medical fee schedute, so no administrative impact would be expected for small businesses. Drug testing
companies will be responsible for complying with the updated drug testing, but the update merely mirrors the U.S.
Department of Transportation’s drug panel, which is widely utilized, so any administrative costs should be
minimal.

3. A statement of the probable effect on impacted small businesses and consumers: Employers will pay lower
warkars' compensation premiums, which is a benefit that can then be passed on to employees and consumers.

4. A description of any less burdensome, less intrusive or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose
and objectives of the proposed rule that may exist, and to what extent the allernative means might be less
burdensome to small business: There are no less burdensome methods to achieve the purposes and objectives
of the amended rule.

5. Comparison of the proposed rule with any federal or state counterparts: The medical fee schedule rates are

based on a percentage above Medicare rates. The Drug Free Workplace Program’s drug panel is based on the
L.S. Department of Transportation's rules (49 C.F.R. 40.87).

6. Analysis of the effect of the possible exemption of small businesses from all or any part of the requirements
contained in the proposed rule: |t would be detrimental to small businesses that fall under the Tennessee

Waorkers' Compensation L aws to be exempt from the medical fee schedule since it contains costs.
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impact on Local Governments

Pursuant to T.C.A. §§ 4-5-220 and 4-5-228 "any rule proposed to be promulgated shall state in a simple
declarative sentence, withoul additional comments on the merits of the policy of the rules or regulation, whether
the rule or reguiation may have a projected impact on local governments." (See Public Chapter Number 1070
{http:f/state.tn.us/sos/acts/106/pub/pc1070.pdf) of the 2010 Session of the General Assembly)

Local governments have the option to accept the provisions of the workers' compensation laws pursuant to T.C.A.
§ 60-8-106(6), but are not required to do so. For those local governments that do accept the provisions of the

workers' compensation laws, the impact of the rule amendments will be a decrease in their workers’
compensalion insurance premiums.
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Chapter 0800-02-12
Drug Free Workplace Programs

Amendmenis

Rule 0800-02-12-.03 Definilions, subsection {17)(a} is amended by deleting the current language and replacing it
with the following:

{17} (=) "Prohibited Levels® for a drug or a drug's metabolites means cut-off levels on screened

specimens which are equal to or exceed the following and shall be considered to be
presumptively positive;

1. Cut-off levels on initially screened specimens:

Amphetamings  .......oviinesaen, 2 2 B00 ngfmb
Marijuana (cannab;nmds) et reeeae e 20 NGMML
Cocaine {(benzolylecgonine) ... 150 ng/mb
Opiates (codeine, morphine, heroin)  ........2,000 ngimtL
PCP {phencyclidine) e rrninrrencnee e enn 28 NGIML
§-Acetylmorphine (heroin} ... 10 ng/mL
MDMA {ecstasy) crreevaevnenenennaie 500 ngfmL

2. Cut-off levels on confirmation specimens:

Amphetamines ... e 280 NGIML
Marijuana (cannabmmds) ceerrreeisnee. 18 NGIML,
Cocalne {benzolylecgonine) wermneeneneee 100 nG/ML
Opiates {codeine, morphine, heroin)  .......... 2,000 ng/mL
PCP {phencycliding) TUTTRUUTIORTPRTROROR-.- 3 ¢ o i :11 B
g-Acetyimorphine (heroin) .. .....ceeieann 10 ngfimi
MDMA (ecstasy) v eeae e e 280 NQAML

Authority: T.C.A. §850-8-103, 50-9-1086, 50-9-109, and 50~9-111.
Rule 0800-02-12-.07 Testing, section (1) is amended by adding two new subsections, which shall read:

(g} 6-Acetyimorphine (heroin)
{h) MDMA (ecstasy)

Authority: T.C.A. §§50-9-101(a) and (b), 50-9-104, 50-8-106{a}{1), 50-9-107{a) and (c), 50-9-110, and 50-9-111.

Chapter 0800-02-17
Medical Cost Containment Program

Amendments

0BOD-02-17-.06 Pracedures for Which Codes Are Not Listed, seclion {1) is amended by adding the phrase “or
revenue code, as applicable” at the end of the first sentence, so that it reads as follows:

H if a procedure is performed which is not listed in the Medicare Resource Based Relative Value
Scale ("RBRVS™, the health care provider must use an appropriate CPT procedure code or
revenua code, as applicable. The provider must submit an sxplanation, such as copies of
operative reports, consultalion reports, progress notes, office notes or other applicable
documentation, or description of equipment or supply {when that is the bill}.

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 50-8-204, 50-6-205 and 50-6-233 {Repl. 2005).
$§8-7038 (Cctober 2011) 3 RDA 1693
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0800-02-17-.09 Independent Medical Examination to Evaluate Medical Aspects of Case, section {2) is amended
by adding the following sentence at the end:

Physicians may only require pre-payment of $500.00 for an IME; provided, that following the
completion of the IME and report, the physician may bill for other amounts appropriately due and
the payer may recover any amounts that were overpaid.

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 50-6-204, 50-6-205 and 50-6-233 (Repl. 2005).

0800-02-17-.092 independent Medical Examination to Evaluate Medical Aspects of Case is amended by adding
the following as a new section {4):

{4} Physicians who perform consultant services and/or records review in order to determine whether
to accept a new patient shail not bill for an IME. Ralher, such physicians shall bill using CPT
codes 98358 and 99359. The reimbursement shall be $200.00 for the first hour of review and
$100.00 for each additional hour; provided, that each quarter hour shalt be pro-rated.

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 50-6-204, 50-6-205 and 50-68-233 (Repl. 2005).
0800-02-17-.10 Payment, section {4) is amended by adding the following sentence at the end:

If the Division does not designate a specific form, then the proper form shall be according fo
Medicare guidelines.

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 50-6-204, 50-8-205 and 50-6-233 (Repl. 2005).

0800-02-17-.10 Payment, section (12) is amended by deleting the current language and replacing it with the
following:

(12)  Payments to providers for initial examinations and treatment authorized by the carrier or employer
shall be paid by that carrier or employer and shall not fater be subject to reimbursement by the
employee, even if the injury or condition for which the employee was sent to the provider is later
determined non-compensable under the Act,

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 50-6-204, 50-6-205 and 50-6-233 (Repl. 2005).
0800-02-17-.12 Recovery of Payment, section (1) is amended by adding the following sentence at the end:

i the timeframes in these Rules are not met, then the Medical Care and Cost Containment
Committee will decline to review the dispute, but such failure shall not provide an independent
basis for denying payment or recovery of payment.

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 50-6-204, 50-6-205, 50-6-226 and 50-6-233 (Repl. 2005).

0800-02-17-.20 Utilization Review, subsection (1){a) is amended by changing “Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-102(18)"
to “Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-102(17)."

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 50-6-102, 50-6-122, 50-6-124, 50-6-204, 50-6-205 and 50-8-233 (Repl. 2005},

0800-02-17-.21 Process for Resolving Differences Between Carriers and Providers Regarding 8ills, subsection
{(d)(b} is amended by deleting the first sentence and replacing it with the following:

()] Valid requests for Administrative Review must be accompanied by a form prescribed by the
Division, must be legible, and must contain copies of the following:

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 50-6-126, 50-6-204, 50-6-205, 50-6-226 and 50-6-233 (Repl. 2005).

0800-02-17-.21 Process for Resolving Differences Between Carriers and Providers Regarding Bills, section (4) is
amended by adding the foliowing as a new subsection (d):
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{d) if the reguest for review does not contain proper documentation, then the MCCCC will decline to
review the dispute. Likewise, if the timeframes in this Rule are not mel, then the MCCCC will

decline to review the dispute, but such failure shall not provide an independent basis for denying
payment or recovery of payment.

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 50-6-1286, 50-6-204, 50-6-205, 50-6-226 and 50-6-233 (Repl. 2005).

0800-02-17-.24 Provider and Facility Fees for Copies of Medical Records, section (1) is amended by adding the
following sentence at the end:

The cost set forth in this subsection shall also apply to paper records transmitted on a disc or by
other electronic means based upon the number of pages reproduced on the disc or other media.

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 50-6-204, 50-6-205 and 50-6-233 (Repl. 2005).

0800-02-17-.24 Provider and Facility Fees for Copies of Medical Records, section (2} is amended by deleting the
current language and replacing it with the following:

(2) Health care providers and facilities must furnish an injured employee or the employee’s aftorney

and carriers/self-insureds or their legal representatives copies of records and reports as set forth
in Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-204, as amended.

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 50-6-204, 50-6-205 and 50-6-233 {Repi. 2005).

Chapter 0800-02-18
Medicai Fee Schedule

Amendments

0800-02-18-.02 General Information and Instructions for Use, subsection (2)(b) is amended by adding the
following as a new subsection: :

8. The "lesser of' comparison among (1) the provider's usual charge, {2) the maximum allowable
amount pursuant to these Rules, or (3) any olher contracted amount, should be determined
based on the entire bill or amount due for a particular service, rather than on a line-by-line basis.

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 50-6-204, 50-6-205 and 50-6-233 (Repl. 2005).

0800-02-18-.02 General Information and Instructions for Use, section (4) is amended by deleting the section in its
entirety and replacing it with the following:

L)) Practitioner fees shall be based on the conversion factor of 33.9764, which shall be used in
conjunction with the most current Medicare RVUs. The Division may designate another baseline
conversion factor at any time through- the rulemaking process. The Tennessee-specific
conversion factors listed below shouid be applied to the service category in order to calculate the
appropriate amount.

Service Category TN Conversion Factor
Anesthesiology......cc.coieve i e S TH.00 per unit
Crthopaedic and Neurosurgery* .................c...... 275%
General SUIgery.......cocoovvesvecvevinr e eineeenen ... 200%
RATIOIOOY ... o e et e e e e 200%
Pathology. ..o oovieeceeet et e e . 200%
$8-7039 (October 2011) ' 5 RDA 1693




PhysicalfOccupational Therapy.........................130%

Chiropractic.........coov i 130%
General Medicine

(including evaluation & management).................. 180%
Emergency Care...........ooiiiiiiin i, 200%
Bantistry. ... 100%

* Orthopaedic and neurosurgeons may use the modifier “ON” on the HCFA 1500 form when
submitting surgical charges. If the modifier or another indicator is not placed on the form, then

the Tennessee Department of Health's database may be consulted in order to determine the
provider's specialty.

Authority: T7.C.A. §§ 50-6-204, 50-6-205 and 50-6-233 (Repl. 2005).

0800-02-18-.04 Surgery Guidelines, section (1) is amended by deleting the current language and replacing it with
the following:

(1) Muitiple Procedures: Maximum reimbursement shall be based on 100% of the appropriate
Medical Fee Schedule amount for the major procedure plus 50% of the lesser or secondary

procedure(s). The major procedure shall be determined to be the procedure with the highest
Medicare reimbursement.

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 50-6-204, 50-6-205 and 50-6-233 (Rep!. 2005),

0800-02-18-.07 Ambulatory Surgical Centers and Outpatient Hospital Care (Including Emergency Room Facitity
Charges), subsection {1){c) is amended by deleting the current language and repiacing it with the following:

{c) Under the Medical Fee Schedule Rules, the OPPS reimbursement system shall be used for
reimbursement for all outpatient services, wherever they are performed, in a free-standing ASC or
hospital setting. The most current, effective Medicare APC rates shall be used as the basis for
facility fees charged for outpatient services and shall be reimbursed at a maximum of 150% of
current value for such services. Depending on the services provided, ASCs and hospitals may be
paid for more than one APC for an encounter. When multiple surgical procedures are performed
during the same surgical session, maximum reimbursement shall be based on 100% of the
appropriate Medical Fee Schedule amount for the major procedure plus 50% of the lesser or
secondary procedure(s), provided, that the major procedure shall be determined to be the
procedure with the highest Medicare reimbursement. Only separate and distinct surgical
procedures shall be billed. Medicare guidelines shall be consulted and used in determining
separate and distinct surgical procedures.

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 50-6-204, 50-6-205 and 50-6-233 (Repl. 2005).

0800-02-18-.07 Ambulatory Surgical Centers and Outpatient Hospital Care (Including Emergency Room Facility
Charges), subsection (1)(h)(2) is amended by deleting the current language and replacing it with the following:

2. Laboratory Services (including pathotogy)

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 50-6-204, 50-6-205 and 50-6-233 (Repl. 2005).

0800-02-18-.07 Ambulatory Surgical Centers and Outpatient Hospital Care (Including Emergency Room Facility
Charges), subsection (k) is amended by deleting the current language and replacing with the following:

{k) There may be emergency cases or other occasions in which the patient was scheduied for
outpatient surgery and it becomes necessary to admit the patient. All hospitals with ambulatory
patients who stay longer than 23 hours past ambulatory surgery and are formally admitted to the
hospital as an inpatient will be paid according to the In-patient Hospital Fee Schedule Rules,
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0800-02-19. All ASCs shall be paid pursuant fo this Rule 0800;02~18—.07 regardiess of the
patient’s length of stay.

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 50-6-204, 50-6-205 and 50-6-233 (Repi. 2005).

0800-02-18-.08 Chiropractic Services Guidelines, section {2} is amended by deleting the current language in its
entirety and substituting instead the following:

) For chiropractic services, an office visit may only be billed on the same day as a manipulation
when it is the patient's initial visit with that provider.

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 50-6-204, 50-6-205 and 50-6-233 (Repl. 2005).

Rule 0800-02-18-.09 Physical and Occupational Thérapy Guidelines, section (5) is amended by deleting the
current language in its entirely and replacing it with the fallowing:

(5) Whenever physical therapy andfor occupational therapy services exceed twelve (12) visits, such
treatment shall be reviewed pursuant to the carrier's uilization review program in accordance with
the procedures set forth in Chapter 0800-02-06 of the Division's Utilization Review rules before
further physicai therapy and/or occupational therapy services may be certified for payment by the
carrier. Such certification shall be completed within the timeframes set forth in Chapter 0800-02-
06 lo assure no interruption in delivery of nesded services. Fallure by a provider to properly
certify such services as prescribed herein shall result in the forfeiture of any payment for
uncertified services. Failure by an employer or utilization review agent to conduct utilization
review in accordance with this Chapter 0800-02-18 and Chapter 0800-02-06 shall result in no
more than twelve (12) additional visits being deemed cerlified. The initial utilization review of
physical therapy andfor occupational therapy services shall, if necessary and appropriate, certify
an appropriate number of visits. if necessary, further subsequent utilization review shall be
conducted to certify additional physical therapy and/or occupational therapy services as is

appropriate; provided, that further certifications are not required to be in increments of twelve (12)
visits.

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 50-6-204, 50-6-205 and 50-6-233 (Repl. 2005).

Rule 0800-02-18-.10 Durable Medical Equipment and tmplant Guidelines, section (1) is amended by adding the
phrase “or, for hospital reimbursements, a UB 04 form.” at the end of the last sentence, so that it reads as follows:

)] Reimbursement for durable medical equipment and implants for which hilled charges are $100.00
or less shail be limited to eighty (80%) of billed charges. Durable medical equipment and implants
for which billed charges exceed $100.00 shall be reimbursed at a maximum amount of the
supplier or manufacturer's invoice amount, plus the lesser of 15% of invoice or $1,000.00, and
coded using the HCPCS codes, These caleulations are per fiem and are not cumulative. Charges
for durable medical equipment and implants are in addition to, and shall be bilied separately from,
all facility and professional service fees, Codes to be used are found in the HCPCS. Charges’
should be submitted on a HCFA 1500 form or, for hospital reimbursements, a UB 04 form.

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 50-6-204, 50-5-205 and 50-6-233 {Repl. 2005).

Rule 0800-02-18-.12 Pharmacy Schedule Guidelines, subsection {1){c} is amended by deleting the phrase
*subsection {5) of this section” and replacing it instead with "the following subsections.”

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 50-6-204, 50-6-205 and 50-8-233 {Repl. 20085).

Rule 0800-02-18-12 Pharmacy Schedule Guidelines, subsection (1)}{e)}2){v) is amended by deleting the
reference to "Rule 0800-2-11-.10" and replacing it with “Rule 0800-02-17-.10."

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 50-6-204, 50-6-205 and 50-6-233 (Repl. 2005).

Rule 0800-02-18-.12 Pharmacy Schedule Guidelines, subsection (1){{2} is amended by deleting the reference to
“(4){b)" and replacing it with “(e)(2).”
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Authority: T.C.A. §§ 50-6-204, 50-6-205 and 50-6-233 (Repi. 2005).

Rule 0800-02-18-.12 Pharmacy Schedule Guidelines, section (1) is amended by adding a new subsection (h) at
the end, which should read as follows: )

(h) Repackaged or Compounded Products

All pharmaceutical bills submitted for repackaged or compounded products must include the NDG
Number of the original manufacturer registered with the U.S, Food & Drug Administration or its
authorized distributor’s stock package used in the repackaging or compounding process. The
reimbursement allowed shall be based on the current published manufacturers AWP of the
preduct or ingredient, calculated on a per unit basis, as of the date of dispensing. A repackaged
or compounded NDC Number shall not be used and shall not be considered the original
manufacturer's NDC Number. If the original manufacturers NDC Number is not provided on the
bill, then the reimbussement shall be based on the AWP of the lowest priced therapeutically

equivalent drug, calculated on a per unit basis. The filling fees otherwise provided in these Rules
shall be payabie when applicable.

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 50-6-204, 50-6-205 and 50-6-233 (Repl. 2005).

0800-02-18-.13 Ambulance Services Guidelines, section (4) is amended by deleting the current language in its
entirety and reptacing it with the following:

{4) Reimbursement shall be based upon the lesser of the submitted charge or 150% of the current
Medicare rate. To the extent permitted by federal law, the rales determined in the preceding
sentence shall also apply to air ambulance services.

Authority. T.C.A. §§ 50-6-204, 50-6-205 and 50-6-233 (Repi. 2005).

Chapter 0800-02-19
in-patient Hospital Fee Schedule

Amendmants

0800-02-19-.03 Special Ground Rules — Inpatient Hospital Services, subsection (2)(e) is amended by delating the
current language and replacing it with the following:

{e) The items listed in subsection (d)(4) shall be reimbursed according to the Medical Cost
Containment Program Rules (Chapter 0800-02-17) and Medical Fee Schedule Rules (Chapter
0800-02-18) payment limits. Refer to the maximurn rates set forth in Rule 0800-02-18-.02(4) for
practitioner fees. Items not listed in the Rules shall be reimbursed at the usuai and customary
rate as defined in Rule 0800-02-17-.03(80}, unless otherwise indicated herein,

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 50-6-125, 50-6-128, 50-8-204 and 50-6-205 (Repl. 2005),

0800-02-19-.03 Special Ground Rules — Inpatient Hospilal Services, subsection (4)(d) is amended by deléting the
current language and replacing it with the following:

(d) Example: DRG 222: Knee Procedures W/O CC

Hospital Peer Group: 1 — Surgical admission

Maximum rate per day: $1,800 for first 7 days; 1,500 for 2 additional days
Number Billed Days: 9

Total Billed Charges

(afier subtracting amounts for implants, radiology, etc.): 000, $63,650.00

Maximum alfowable paymenti for Normal DRG stay........ccccecincenienieniennnnen. $45,600.00

Total difference, charges over and above maximum payments .......cceeen... $38,050.00
§S-7039 (October 2011) ' 8 ‘RDA 1693
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(if this amount is $15,000 or less, then stop-loss is not applicable)

Difference over and above $15,000 Stop-1088i8...cccivvviiie i, $23,050.00
Payable under Stop-10s5 (80% of $23,050.00)........ccceieie et $18,440.00
Amounts due hospital for implants, radiology, ®1C..cc i 000 $3,525.00

Maximum fee schedule amount: ...........15 600.00 + 18,440.00 + 3,525.00 = $37 565.00

Proper reimbursement would be the lesser of billed charges, maximum fee schedule amount, or
other contracted or negotiated rate

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 50-6-125, 50-6-128, 50-6-204 and 50-6-205 (Repl. 2005).

$S8-7039 (October 2011) 9 RDA 1693 -
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CHAPTER 0800-2-12
DRUG FREE WORKPLACE PROGRAMS
0800-2-12-.03 DEFINITIONS.

(17} {(a) “Prohibited Levels” for a drug or a drug's metabolites means cut-off levels on screenad

specimens which are equal to or exceed the following and shall be considered to be
presumptively positive;

1. Cut-off levels on initially screened specimens:

Amphetamines e e e HES00 ng/mL
Marijuana (cannabinoids) RNt -1 11711 1 I
Cocaine (benzolylscgonine) e e 08180 ngimb
Opiates (codeine, morphine, heroin) . 2,000 ng/mL
PCP {phencyclidine) O~ . I 11411
g-Acetiimorphine {heroin) T SO TP 10 naimb
MEOMA {ecstasyy it iieeriieis §00 no/mt
2. Cut-off levels on confirmation specimens:
Amphetamines seveee ey e e ey . BE2B0 ngimL
Marjjuana {cannabinoids) e e 10 NGAML
Cocaine (benzolylecgunine) v 38100 ng/ml
Opiates (codeine, morphine, heroiny ... 2,000 ng/mL
PCP (phencyclidine) 25 ng/mi,
8-Acelyvimorphine (heroin) PO O UUS T 1 1.1 114410
MDMA (egstasy) e e rses e A0 REYL

0800-2-12-.07 TESTING.

{1) A covered employer shall be required to test employees and job applicants for the following
drugs:

(a)  Alcohol-Not required for job applicant testing.
{b) Amphetamines

{c} Cannabinoids, (THC)

(dy Cocaine

{e} Opiates

fy Phencyclidine

{g) . _6-Acetylmorphine {heroin}

{hy  MDMA (ecstasy)

Chapter 0800-02-17
Medical Cost Gontainment Program

0800-02-17-.06 PROCEDURES FOR WHICH CODES ARE NOT LISTED.

{1) [f a procedure is performed which is not listed in the Medicare Resource Based Relative
Value Scale (*RBRVS"), the health care provider must use an appropriate CPT procedure
code _of reyenue code. as applicable. The provider must submit an explanation, such as
copies of operative reports, consuitation reports, progress notes, office notes or other
appiicable documentation, or description of equipment or supply (when that is the bili).
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0800-02-17-.08 INDEPENDENT MEDICAL EXAMINATION TO EVALUATE MEDICAL ASPECTS OF

CASE.
(2)

- Inay recover any amounts that were overpaid.

An independent medical examination, performed to evaluate the medical aspects of a
case (other than one conducted under the Division's MIRR Program), shall be billed
using the appropriate independent medical examination procedure, and shall include the
practitioners time only. Time spent shall include face-to-face time with the patient, fime
spent reviewing records, reports and sludies, and time spent preparing reports. The office
visit bill is included with the code and shall not be billed separately. The total amount for
an IME under this Rule shall not exceed $500.00 per hour, and shall be pro-rated per
quarter hour, i.e. two and one half hours may not exceed $1,250.00. Physicians may only
reguire pre-nayment of $500.00 for an IME: provided. that following the completion of the
IME and repord, the physician may bill for other amounts appropriately due and the payer

{4) Physicians who pedform consultant services andior records review in order to determine

whether 1o accept a new patient shall not bill for an IME. Rather, such physicians shall
bill using GPT codes 99358 and 99359, The reimbursement shall be $200.00 for the first
howr of raview and $100.00 for each additional hour: provided, that each guarter hour
shall be pro-rated.

0800-02-17-.10 PAYMENT.

4y

(12)

Billing for provider services shall be submitted on forms approved by the Division, UB-92
and CMS-1500, or their official replacement forms. If the Division does not designate a
spegific form, then the propér form shall be according to Medicare quidelines.

Payments fo providers for initial examinations and treatment authorized by the carrier or
saif-insurad-employer shall be paid by that carrer or seif-insured-employer and shall not
later be subject to reimbursement by the employee-o7, even if the injury or condition for

which the employee was sent to the provider is later determined non-compensabie under
the Act.

0800-62-17-.12 RECOVERY OF PAYMENT.

(N

Nothing in these Rules shall preclude the recovery of payment already made for services
and bills which may later be found to have been medically paid at an amount which
exceeds the maximum allowable payment Likewise, hothing in these Rules shall
preclude any provider from receiving additional payment for services or supplies if it is
properly due that provider and does not exceed the amount allowed by these Rules. If g
fimeframes in thess Rules are not met, then the Medical Care and Cost Ccntainmem
Committee will dedline to review the dispute. but such failure shall not provide an
independent basis for denying payment or recovery of payment,

0800-02-17-.20 UTILIZATION REVIEW,

(1)

Scope of this part;

(a) Requirements contained in this Rule pertain to Utilization Review activity as
defined by Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-102(178) (Repl. 2005) with respact to
services by a provider for health care or health related services furnished as a
result of a compensable injury, illness or occupational disease arising out of and
in the course of employment. The Division’s Utilization Rules, Chapter 0800-02-
8, provide detailed specifics regarding Ulilization Review and must be consulted
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as they are incorporated in this Rule as if set forth fully herein. Notwithstanding
any other provision in this Chapter which may be to the contrary, this Rule is
intended to merely supplement Chapter 800-2-6 on Utilization Review and does
not in any way displace the Utilization Review Rules, Chapter 0800-02-6.

08006-02-17-.21 PROCESS FOR RESOLVING DlFFERENCES BETWEEN CARRIERS AND
PROVIDERS REGARDING BILLS.

(4)

Disputes

(b) Valid requests for Administeative Review de-nolreguin-s-particular form-but-must
be accompanied by a form preseribed by the Division, must be legible and
contain copies of the following:

{d) If_the request for review does not contain proper documentation, then the
MCCCC will decline to review the dispute.  Likewise i the timeframes in this
Rule are not met, ihen the MCCCC will decling io review the dispute, but such
fafture shall not provide an independant basis for denving payment or recovery of
paymernt,

0800-02-17-.24 PROVIDER AND FACILITY FEES FOR COPIES OF MEDICAL RECORDS.

(1)

2)

Health care providers and facilities are entitied to recover an amount in accordance with
Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-8-204 to cover the cost of copying documents requested by the
carrier, seif-insured employer, employee, attorneys, eic. Documentation which is
submitted by the provider andfor facility, but was not specifically requested by the carrier,
shall not be allowed a copy charge. The cost set forth in this subsection shall also apply
to _paper records transmilted on a disc or by other eiectronic means based upon the
number of pages reproduced on the disc or other media.

Heaith care providers and facilities must furnish an injured empioyee or the employee’s
altorney and carriersiself-insureds or their legal representatives capies of records and
repotts wpon-requast.-the-maximum-charge-allowed-shall bethe-same-asthatsebout as
set forth in Tenn. Gode Ann. § 50-6-204, as amended.

Chapter 0800-02-18
Medical Fee Schedule

0800-02-18-.02 GENERAL INFORMATION AND INSTRUCTIONS FOR USE,

(b)

4)

Reimbursement to all providers shall be the lesser of the foliowing:

8 The "lesser of' comparison among (1) the providers usual charge, (2) the
maximum allowable amount pursuani to these. Rutes, or {3) any other coniracted
arnount. should be determined based on the entire bill or amount due for g
parlicular service, rather than on a line-by-line basis.

{axMenatary-Gonversion-Faclars-are-based-anthe CMS unibamount-in-effecton-Marsh
42008 These-Factore-are-subjsctic thange-based-upen-any-change-m-the-Medicare
writamouni-Hithe-Medicare-Gonversion-Factorialls below ihe-unitamountinafecton
Marsh-4.-2008 ks Departinent will-adjust the Teinesses-Medical-Fes-Schedule
Gonversion-Factors-lisied-on-the-Division's-websile-to-mainisin the-equivalent
maximur-allowable reimbursement-which-wouid-have-been-gliowed-had-the Medisam
Gonvarsion-Faclerremainad-atthe.amountip-effect on-March-4:-2008-lo-no-event
shall reimbursement amounts-undesthis Chapter be-less-than- the-amounts-applicable
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(h)

()

standing ASC or hospital sefting. The most current, effeciive Medicare APC rates shall be
used as the basis for facility fees charged for outpatient services and shail be reimbursed
at a maximum of 150% of current value for such services. Depending on the services
provided, ASGCs and hospitals may be paid for more than one APC for an encounter.
When multiple surgical procedures are performed during the same surgical session, the
maximu reimbursement shall be made at 100% of the appropriaie rate-Medical Fes
Schedule amount for the highest charge surgical procedure and 50% of-the approprate
rate for all additional surgical procedures; provided, that the maior procedure shall be
determined to be the procedure with the highest Medicare reimbursement.. Only separate
and distinct surgical procedures shall be billed. Medicare guidelines shall be consulted
and used in determining separate and distinct surgical procedures.

2. Laboratory services (including pathology:-whish-is-reimbursed-at theusuat and
customary- amount-regardiess-of whers-performed)

There may be occasions in which the patient was scheduled for cutpatient surgery and it
becomes necessary to admit the patient. All hospitals with ambulatory patients whe-are
admitted-to-the-hospital-and-stay longer than 23 hours past ambulatory surgery and are
formally admitied 1o the hospital as an inpatient will be paid according to the In-patient
Hospital Fee Schedule Rules, 0800-2-19. All ASCs shall be pald pursuant to this Ruile
0800-02-18-.07 regardiess of the patient's lenglh of stay.

0800-02-18-.08 CHIROPRACTIC SERVICES GUIDELINES,

{2)

For chiropractic services, an office visit shaltnetmay only be billed on the same day as a
inanipulation i&-billed when it is the patient's initial visit with that provider.

0800-02-18-.09 PHYSICAL AND OCCUPATIONAL THERAPY GUIDELINES.

(6}

Whenever physical therapy and/or occupational therapy services exceed sh{B}visits.-or
-cases-which-dre-post-eparative-twelve (12) visits, such treatment shall be reviewed
pursuant to the carrier's utilization review program in accordance with the procedures set
forth in Ghapter 0800-02-086 of the Division’s Utilization Review rules before further
physical therapy and/or occupational therapy services may be certified for payment by
the carrier, Such certification shall be completed within the timeframes set forthin @~
Chapter 0800-02-06 to assure no interruption in delivery of needed services. Failure by a
provider to properiy certify such services as prescribed herein shall result in the forfeiture
of any payment for uncertified services. Failure by an employer or utilization review agent
to conduct utilization review in accordance with this Chapter 0800-02-18 and Chapter
0800-02-06 shall result in no more than tweive (12} additiona! visits being deemed
ceriified. The initial utilization review of physical therapy and/or occupationat therapy
services shall, if necessary and appropriate, certify an appropriate number of visits. If
necessary, further subsequent utilization review shall be conducted to certify additional
physical therapy andfor occupational therapy services as is appropriate, provided. that
further certifications are nol required 1o be in lhcremanis of twelve {12) visits,

0800-02-18-.10 DURABLE MEDICAL EQUIPMENT AND IMPLANT GUIDELINES.

(1)

Reimbursement for durable medical equipment and implants for which billed charges are
$100.00 or less shall be limited to eighty (80%) of billed charges. Durable medical
squipment and impiants for which billed charges exceed $100.00 shall be reimbursed at
a maximum amourt of the supplier or manufacturer's invoice amount, plus the lesser of
15% of invoice or $1,000.00, and coded using the HCPCS codes. These calculations are
per item and are not cumuative. Charges for durable medical equipment and implants
are in addition to, and shall be billed separately from, all facility and professional service
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on-March-4:2008-

b} The-approprate-sopversion-laslormust be determined by-the lype-of SR code for
the procedure perfermed-in-all cases-except-these-invelving-orhopedic-and
neurosurger--Board-eligible-and-cedified-neurosurgeens-and-onthopedic-surgeons.shall
yse-the-separale newrosurgery-and-arthopedic surgery-cenversionfasiors listed-an-the
Bivision's-wabsitefor-all-sutgery GRPT-codes:

Praciiiioner fees shall be based on the conversion factor of 33,9764, which shall be used
in_conjunction witlh_the_most current Medicare RVUs.  The Division may designate
anocther baseline conversion factor at any time through the rulemaking process,  The
Tennesses-spagific conversion factors listed below should be applind to the service
category in order 1o calculate the appropriate amount

Service Calegory TN Conversion Faclor
L AnesthesioloOY... e B75.00 per unit

Qithopaedic -and MeuroSUIAery® .o il D0
General SUIHEIY. . e s ssnine e 200%
Radiology.. .o e 200%
AT O Oty e st ittt s bt s st sttt e bt te cet rrenseneans 200%
PhysicallOceupational Therapy... .. ... 0. L0 130%
Chiropraghic. .o i e 130%
General Medicing

{Including evaluation & manzgementl.. ... 160%
.Emergency Care ....... s 200%
DenUSIY. oo e cieirane s eenniiras s eonssoee o 100%

* Orthopaedic and neurosurgeons mav usa the modifier "ON" on the HCFA 1600 form

when submitling surgical charges. i the modifier or another indicator is not placed on the
form, then the Tennessee Depardment of Health's database may be consulted in order to
determine the provider's specialty.

0800-02-18-.04 SURGERY GUIDELINES.

4! Multiple Procedures: Maximum Rreimbursement shall be based on 100% ef-ihe
physician's-usual-sharge of the appropiiate Medical Fee Schedule amount for the major
procedure é:et-teaaxeeed—w%Mﬂmma%shedm&amw%aﬁe%bie}
plus 50% ofthe-physisian’s-usual-charge-for the lesser or secondary procedure (s)-{hot-to
excesnd 50%-ohe TDWE Medical Fee-Schedula-allowable), The major procedure shall
be determined to be the procedure with the highest Medicare reimbursement,

0800-02-18-.07 AMBULATORY SURGICAL CENTERS AND OUTPATIENT HOSPITAL CARE
(INCLUDING EMERGENCY ROOM FACILITY CHARGES).

{1)(c) Under the Medical Fee Schedule Rules, the OPPS reimbursement system shail be used
- for reimbursement for all outpatient services, wherever they are.performed, in a free-
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fees. Codes to be used are found in the HCPCS. Charges should be submitted on a
HCFA 1500 form_or. for hospital reimbursements, a UB 04 form.

0800-02-18-.12 PHARMACY SCHEDULE GUIDELINES.

M

The Pharmacy Fee Guideline maximum allowable amount for prescribed drugs

{medicines by pharmacists and dispensing practitioners) under the Tennesses workers’
compensation laws is the lesser of:

(¢} The fees established by the formula for brand-name and generic pharmaceuticals as
described in-subsestien{E}-ofihis-sesation_ the following subsections,

{e) Reimburssment

2, {v) I allowable payment for prescriptive drugs is not paid by employers or
carriers for prescriptions provided to employees who have suffered a
compensable work-related injury under the Workers' Compensation Law within
thirty-one (31} days from the date of receipt by the employer or insurer of the bill
for prascriptive drugs provided to such an employee, interest at the rate of 2.08%
Imonth of the payment allowed pursuant to these rules may be charged by a
hospital, pharmacy, or provider of such service as set forth in Rule 0800-2-174-
.10 of the Medical Cost Containment Program Rules,

{f) “Patent” or 'Proprietary Preparations”

{n

2. Generic substitution as discussed in (4}{b¥-{2)(2) above applies also 1o “over-the-
counter” preparations.

Repackaged or Compounded Products

4

All pharmaceuticat bills submilted for repackaged or compounded products must include
the NDC Number of the eriginal_manufacturer reqistered with the U.8. Food & Drug
Admmasiratson or its authorized distributor's stock package used in the repackaging or
compound nn process. The reimbursement allowed shall be based on the current
published manufacturers AWP of the product or ingredient, calculated on a per unit
bagis, as of the date of dispensing. A repackaged or compounded NDC Number shall not
be used and shall not be considered the original manufaciurer's NDG Number, 1f the
ariginal manufacturer's NDC Numser is not provided on the bill, then the reimbursement
shall be based on the AWP of the lowast priced therapeutically squivalent drug,
calculated on a per unit basis, The filling fees otherwise provided in these Rules shall be
payable when applicable.

0800-02-18-.13 AMBULANCE SERVICES GUIDELINES.

Reimbursement shall be based upon the lesser of the submitted charge or 150% of the
currant Mediéare rate. To the extent permilted by federal law, the rales determingd in the
preceding sentence shall also apply to alr ambulance services. the-average
reimbursement rate-for-smbulances- w¢4hm4hageeg;a9h¢s4esah%yﬂ4hes&eha;ga&»shaii
notexcead the-average-charges-in-that locality-for. cemparable-senvices-under
comparable-sirsumslances-and-commensurate-with-the-sepdces-aclually-perormed:
Ambulance-sorvicee-shall-be-paid-onatwe {2 parl-basis - the-firsl-level-baing-the-evel-of
care-the-second being-a mileags-allowance-The servicesrendered are-independent.of

the-type-ofcall-reseived:

Chapter 06800-02-19
in-patient Hospital Fee Schedule
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0800-02.19-.03 SPECIAL GROUND RULES - INPATIENT HOSPITAL SERVICES.

{2} General Information

(e)

The items fisted in subsection {d)(4) shall be reimbursed according to the Medical
Cost Containment Program Rules (Chapter 0800-02-17) and Medical Fee
Schedule Rules (Chapter 0800-02-18) payment limits. Refer to the maximum
rates set forth in Rule 0800-02-18-.02(4) for practitioner fess. ltems not listed in
the Rules shall be reimbursed at the usual and customary rate as defined in Rule
0800-02-17-.03(80), uniess otherwise indicated herein.

4) Stop-Loss Method

(d)

Example: DRG 222: Knee Procedures W/O GC

Hospital Peer Group: 1 - Surgical admission

Maximum rate per day: $1,800 for first 7 days; 1,500 for 2 additional days
Number Billed Days: 9

Total Billed Charges:—— 3760000
{alter subtracting amounts fcr xmpiants radivioay, ete.d, e 393.680.00
Maximum allowable payment for-Normal DRG stay .....c...oocooo.... $15,600.00
Versue:-billed-shamges .orm-——$37800.00
Amount-Bayable Before Stop-Loss,
Lowerof-Charge-ve-Mawimum Allowable s o $16,800.00
Total difference, charges over and above maximum
PAYIIEINS. ...t e st et et e e et e $22.000.0038.050.00

- (i ihls amount Is 315,000 or less then stoa loss is not applizable)
Difference over and above $15,000 StOp-loss _
is., e eee it e e e een e B B00.0023,050 .00
Payable under StOp Ioss (80% of _
0023 05 050.00)... . bttt e e g aen sen saeaens oo DERDRSE018,440 00
Amaunts due hospitel for implants, radioloay, 8e., .o $3.525.00
Tolal payment ,
Maximum fee_schedule amount: .. .. 1560000 + 1844000 + 352500 =
$37.565.00 : ‘

Proper_reimbursement. would be the lesser of billed charges, maxdimum, e
schedule amount, or ether contraated or negotlated rate
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G.0.C. STAFF RULE ABSTRACT

DEPARTMENT: Massage Licensure Board

SUBJECT: Licensure of Massage Therapists and Establishments;
Massage Therapy Educational Programs

STATUTORY AUTHORITY: Tennessee Code Annotated, Section 63-18-111

EFFECTIVE DATES: July 8, 2012 through June 30, 2013

FISCAL IMPACT: Minimal

STAFF RULE ABSTRACT:

Rule 0870-01.01: Provides definitions for terms used throughout rules.

Description of Amendments: Definitions of "Application," "Board Administrative Office,” "Client,"
"Establishment," revised to by removing extraneous words or information. Definitions of "Closed
Files," "Hefshe Him/her,” "HRB," and "Outcall" deleted as no longer necessary. Definitions for
"MBLEX" and "FSMTB" added. Definition of "Sexual Activity" moved here from its prior location
in Rule 0870-01-.02(4)(a).

- Rule 0870-01-.02: Rules concerning massage establishment practice standards and
inspections. ,
Description of amendments:
.02(1): Revised te clarify that establishment owners may be disciplined for violations of the
subsections that foliow.
02(2)(a)1.. Reworded for clarity.
.02(2)(a)2.: Smoke detector requirements expanded and made more specific to clarify what is
considered adequate.
.02(2)(2)3.: Reworded stightly for clarity.
.02(2)(a)4.: Reworded slightly for clarity.
.02(2)(a)4.(i): Flush toilet requirement moved from its prior location at .02(2)(a)4.
.02(2)}(a)4.(ii): Sink requirements reworded by combining prior rules .02(2)(a)4.{ii) and (iii)
relating to cleaning materiais and drying devices required.
.02(2)(a)4.(iil). Reworded slightly for clarity.
.02(2)(a)4.({iv): Deleted as unnecessary.
.02(2)(a)6.: Reworded slightly for clarity.
.02(2){(b)1.: Reworded slightly for clarity.
.02(2)(b)2.: Added requirement that establishments maintain massage licensure certificates for
licensees practicing at that location.
.02(2)(b)3.: Previously designated as .02(2)(b)2; reworded slightly for clarity.
.02(2)(b)4.: Previously designated as .02(2)(b)3.
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.02(2)(b)5.: Previously designated as .02(2)(b)4; reworded slightly for clarity.

.02(2)(c)1.: Reworded for clarity and to remove extraneous requirements.

.02(2)(c)2.: Reworded slightly for clarity.

-02(2)(d): Deleted as unnecessary; necessary portions of these rules now appear elsewhere.
.02(3): Rules pertaining to inspection of establishments; previously numbered as .02(5). Also
reworded slightly for clarity and medified to explicitly permit unannounced inspections.
.02(3)(a): Reworded slightly for clarity.

.02(3)(b}: Reworded slightly for clarity.

.02(3)(c): Added a new rule stating that an inspection score of 84 or below results in a "failure”
of the inspection.

.02(3)(d): Previously numbered as .02(3){(c)}, otherwise unchanged.

.02(3){d)4.: Reworded slightty for clarity.

-02(3)(d)5.: New rule stating that failure to pass reinspection will result in a complaint being
opened.

.02(3)(e): Reworded slightly for clarity.

.02(3)e)4.: Reworded slightly for clarity.

-02(3)(e)3.: New rule stating that failure to pass reinspection for failure to allow or appear at
reinspection will result in a complaint being opened.

Rule 0870-01-.03: States basic standards concerning the necessity of licensure and use of
abbreviations indicating licensure.

Description of amendments:

~.03(1): Reworded by combining the prior sections .03(1), (2) and (4).

.03(2): Previously numbered as .03(3); corrected to reflect the renumbering of Rule 0870-01-
.19; otherwise unchanged. _

Rule 0870-01.04: Rules governing the licensure process for individuals.

Description of amendments:

.04{1): Reworded for clarity.

.04(1){d). Revised to require that non-citizen applicants submit proof of their right to live and

work in the United States.

04(1)(e); Old rule .04(1)(e), which required applicants to submit a passport photograph deleted

as unnecessary. New rule .04(1)(e} and its subsections are substantively the same as old rule

.04(1)(N)1. and its subsections with minor rewording for clarity.

.04(1)(f): Clarified/simplified version of old rule .04(1){H2. and 3.

.04(1 )(g): Revised to add requirement that references list their licensing credentlals

.04(1 )(h): Reworded slightiy for clarity.

.04{1)(h)1.: Reworded slightly for clarity.

.04(1 )(h)4.: Revised to limit disclosure requirement to actions involving only malpractice,

negligence, or fraud.

.04(1 ){m)1.: Revised to require applicants for reciprocity only to submit a transcript that shows
the applicant has taken the statutorily mandated number of hours and passed the examination

* indicated by the Board. Other requirements in the old rule eliminated as unnecessary.

04{1)}{m}2.: Revised and simplified to refer to the relevant Tennessee Code section that was

previously largely repeated in the old rule.

.04(1 }(m)3.: New rule added to require that reciprocity applicants must show proof of instruction

in ethics and Tennessee massage statutes and regulations, and that such hours may not be

self-directed.

.04(2). Combines prior rules .04(1)}(n), (o) and (p}. Reworded slightly for clarity.

.04(3): Renumbered old rule .04(2).
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Rule 0870-01-.05: Rules governing the licensure process for establishments.

Description of amendments:

.05(1): The rule previously numbered as .05(1) was deleted, and the rule previously numbered
05(2) was renumbered as .05(1).

.05(2): Previously numbered as .05(3); reworded slightly for clarity.

.05(3): Previously numbered as .05(4); revised to add that applicants who are not citizens must
submit proof of their right to live and work in the United States.

.05(4): Previously numbered as .05(6).

.05(5): Adds a new requirement that applicants who are not licensed massage therapists must

submit proof of having completed at least two hours of education In Tennessee law relating to
massage therapy.

.05(6); Previously numbered as .05(7).

05(7): Revised to pertain only fo the applicant.

.05(7){a): Reworded slightly to clarify.

.05(7}d): Revised to limit disclosure requirement to actions involving only malpractice or fraud.
.05(8): Previously numbered as .05(9).

.05(9): Previously numbered as .05(10).

.05(10): Previously numbered as .05(11), reworded slightly to clarify.

.05(11): Previously numbered as .05(12).

.05(12): Previously numbered as .05(13).

05(13): Substantively identical to the rule previously numbered as .05(14), reworded to clarify.
-.05(14): Previously numbered as .05(15) .

.05(15): Previously numbered as .05(16).

Rule 0870-01.07: Rules governing the process by which applicants are reviewed, approved,
and denied.

Description of amendments:

.07(1): Revised for clarity and to remove previously specified timeframe for application initial
determination to take place.

.07(2): Revised to refer to the authorization granted pursuant to an initial determination as a
"temporary authorization" instead of a "license.”

07(3): Previous .07(3)(a) requiring notifications to be sent by certified mail deleted. .07(3)
amended to conform with the fact that the Board will not be able to determine when notice is
"received” because certified mail will not be used; changed time-to-reply to 65 days instead of
60 as a result. New .07(3}(a) is substantively identical to section previously numbered .07(3}b),
but reworded for clarity. '

.07{4). New section added to state that applications must be complete at least fifteen days prior
to a board meeting in order for the Board to be reviewed at that meeting.

07(5). Previously numbered as .07(4); revised to reflect that applicants will only be notified If
the Board denies an application. The section previously numbered as .07(5) has been deleted
as unnecessary.

07(5)a). Previously numbered as .07{4){a). Revised for clarity.

L07(5)(b): Previously numbered as .07(4)(b), renumbered but unchanged.

07(5)Xb)1: Previously numbered as .07{4)}(b)1., and edited to require that a request for a contest
case hearing must be made within 30 days of an applicant receiving notification of the denial.
.07(5)(b)2.: Previously numbered as .07{4)(b)2.

.07(6)(a): Revised to eliminate typographicai errors.

.07(8): This section and its subsections have been deileted as duplicative and unnecessary.

Rule 0870-01-.08: This rule states the examination requirements for licensure.
Description of amendments:
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.08(1): Revised to eliminate unnecessary reference to establishment licensure process and to
reflect revision to section .04(1)}(m).

.08(2): This section and its subsections have been revised to state that untii January 1, 2012 the
Board will accept four specific exams, but leaves the Board leeway to approve another
examination in the future.

.08(3): This newly-added section states that as of January 2,2012, the Board will accept only
one particular examination given by the Federation of State Massage Therapy Boards.

Rule 0870-01-.09(1) and (2): These portions of the rules pertaining {o licensure renewal goverm
how renewal applications are to be submitted and how an expired license can be reinstated.
Description of amendments:

.09(1)(a): Revised for clarity.

.09(1)(b){1): Revised to specify that establishments may not renew their licenses by the internet,
and to remove the web address given in the prior rules as unnecessary.

09(1)(d): Revised to state that licenses that are not renewed within 60 days of expiration are
administratively revoked, and to direct licensees to reinstatement procedures. The prior rule
referenced a section of the rules that has been repealed.

-09(2): Revised to correct a typographical error and to clarify that reinstatement of an expired
license is at the discretion of the Board.

.08(2)(a): Revised to reflect that a statement stating why the licensee failed to renew is required
and that appearing before the Board is no longer an option.

.09(2){b); Revised for ciarity.

Rule 0870-01-.11: Pertains to retirement, reinstatement, inactivation and reactivation of
licensure.

Description of amendments: 7
All portions of this rule other than (2)(c) are unchanged.
.11 (2)(c): Revised for clarity.

Rule 0870-01-.12: Pertains to continuing education requirements for licensees.

Description of amendments:

-12(1): Rewritten entirely. The new version of this paragraph clearly states that all licensees
must complete 25 hours of continuing education every two years, and states that the two-year
cycles run from January 1 of each odd-numbered year through December 31 of the following
even-numbered year.

12(1)(a): Specifies that all courses must be approved by the Board and that one course cannot
be taken twice in the same two-year cycle. The course approval reguirement was present
elsewhere in the old rules.

12(1 )b} Requires at least 2 of the 25 hours to pertain to Tennessee statues and rules
concerning massage therapists and establishments. This requirement was in the old rules at
.12(2)(e). The Subparagraphs of the prior rule .12(2)(e) were deleted as unnecessary.
12(1)(c): Requires at least 2 of the 25 hours to pertain to practice management, ethics, or
substance abuse. This requirement was in the old rules at .12(2)(f).

12(1)(d): States that at most 8 of the 25 hours may be taken by a variety of multi-media (i.e.,
not in-person) formats. This is a new limitation.

.12(2): Reworded version of previous rule .12(1)(d); changed and renumbered for clarity,
substantively unchanged.

12(3)a): The rule previously numbered as .12(3)(a) was deleted as unnecessary. The new
12(3)(a) was present in the rules previously as .12(3)(b).

.12(3)(b): Revised for clarity and to specify what constitutes "acceptable documentation”
verifying continuing education courses that have been completed.
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.12(4)(a): Revised fo state that approval for all courses will expire December 31, 2012, and that
subsequent to that date all courses must be approved pursuant to other portions of the rules in
each continuing education cycle. Course approval was previously perenmal

.12(4)(b)1.: Revised to reflect renumbering of rule it refers to.

A2(4Y(b}1.(ii): Revised for clarity.

A2(4)b)1.(ii): Revised for clarity.

12(4)(b)1.(v): Deleted as unnecessary.

.12(4)(b)5.: Revised to allow courses by institutions accredited by the Tennessee Higher
Education Commission or the Tennessee Board of Regents, in addition to those accredited by
the U.S. Department of Education.
.12(4)(b)8.: Added the Federation of State Massage Therapy Boards to the list of pre-approved
continuing education providers.

12(4)(c)1.: Revised version of the rule previously numbered as .12(4)(¢)7. Revision allows
providers to submit the ISBN number and title of materials in lieu of sending in actual materials.
12(4)(c)2.: Revised/expanded version of the rule previously numbered as .12(4)(c)3. and 4.
Revised to make explicit the requirement that instructors be licensed massage therapists or
demonstrate training and experience that qualifies them to teach the subject matter indicated.
.12(4)(c)3.: Revised version of the rules previously numbered as .12(4)(c)1. and 2., reworded for
Clarity.

12(4)(c)4.. Expanded version of the rule previously numbered as .12(4)(c)8., requiring certain
materials to demonstrate how atiendance wilf be verified.

-12(4)(c)5.: Revised version of rule previously numbered as .12(4)(c)5., adds statement that 50
clock minutes of instruction constitutes an hour.

12(4)(c)6.. New rule stating that the Board may deny a request if it believes a sponsor is using
copyrighted materials without appropriate permission. Note that the rule previously numbered as
12{4){c)6. has been deleted as unnecessary.

A2(4)(€)7.: New rule spec;fylng that the Board may request additional information from the
SPONSOT.

.12(4)(c)8.: New rule specifying that the Board may deny a request if the information specified in
the rules is not provided.

12(4)(d)7.: Revised to require "contact information" instead of merely a telephone number.
12(4)(e)2.: Revised to remove list of types of "multi-media courses” to simplify. Acceptable
multi-media courses are spelled out elsewhere in rules .

12(4)(f): Revised to specify that sponsors must maintain records of the materials in
subparagraph (c); the old rule required only a subset of those materials, and to require record
retention for 4 years instead of 5. Combines old rule subsections (f}, {(g) and (h) .

.12{4){g): Previously numbered as .12(i).

.12(5)(a). Revised for clarity.

.12(5)(b): Revised to specify that a continuing education waiver request must be submitted prior
to the end of the licensure cycle in which the continuing education is due.

12(5)(d): Revised to allow both the consultant and designee to provisionally grant or deny
waiver requests, as opposed to oniy the consultant.

.12(6)(a): Adds requirement that only 8 of the 20 hours may be completed in a mulii-media
format. :

.12(6)(d): Deleted as unnecessary.

12(7)(a). Revised to combine the rules previously numbered as .12(7)(a) and (b).
.12(7){b): Renumbered; previously numbered as .12(7)(c).

Rule 0870-01-.13: Pertains o disciplinary actions and civil penalties.
Description of amendments:
.13(1): Revised for clarity.



13(1)(a): New rule.

13(1)(b): Revised version of the rule previously numbered as .13(1)(a).

13(1)(c): Revised version of the rule previously numbered as .13(1)}(b), removes reference to
this as appropriate for "less severe viclations."

3(1)(d): Revised version of the rule previously numbered as .13(1)(c); unnecessary portions
removed.

13(1 )(e): Revised version of the rule previously numbered as .13(1 )(d).

-13(1 )(1): Revised version of the rule previously numbered as .13(1)(e), reworded for clarity.
13(1 )(9): Revised version of the rule previously numbered as .13(1 )(f). Adds subsections (1),
{2}, and (3), which were in the old rule .13(1 )(f), but reworded for clarity.

13(1)(h): Revised version of the rule previously numbered as .13(1)(g).

13(1 )(i): Revised version of the rule previously numbered as .13(1){h); eliminates "petition”
requirement in prior rule.

.13(2): This rule and its subsections was previously numbered as .13(3) and its subsections.
The Rule previously numbered as .13(2) has been deleted in its entirety.

13(2)(b)1.: Reworded to reflect elimination of mandatory form previously in subsection
A3(2)(c).

A3(2)b)2.: Revised such that only the administrative staff, not the consultant, are autherized to
make the "initial determination.”

13(2)(b)3.: Previously numbered as .13(2)(b)(4). The section previously numbered as
13(2)(b)3. has been deleted as unnecessary.

-13(2)(b)4.: New rule giving a petitioner the right to appear before the Board if his or her petition
has been denied.

13(3): This rule and its subsections was previously numbered as .13(4) and its subsections.
The wording of .13(3) was previously contained in .13(4)(a).;

.13(3)(a): This subsection combines the subsections previously numbered as .13(4)(b) and
13(4){(c).

-13(3)(a)1.: In addition to the combination noted above, reworded for clarity and revised to
remove requirement of a "willful and knowing" violation, and to remove requirement that the
threat to health, safety and welfare be "imminent." Aiso revised to exclude operating a massage
establishment without a license from the examples of activities qualifying for Type A penalties.
.13(3)(a)2.: In addition to the combination noted above, reworded for clarity.

.13(3)(a)3.: In addition to the combination noted above, reworded for clarity.

J13(3)(b): This subsection was previously numbered as .13(4)(d).

3(3)(b)1.: The section previously numbered as .13(4)(d)(1) is deleted as unnecessary. This
section was previously numbered .13{4)(d)(2), but has been reworded for clarity.

A3(3)(b)2.: This section was previously numbered as .13(4)(d)3.

13(3)(b)4.: This section was previously numbered as .13(4)(d)4.

The rule previously numbered as .13(5) has been deleted as unnecessary.

0870-01-.14: Rule pertaining to display of licenses, obtaining a replacement license, and
obtaining verification of licenses. '

Description of amendments:

Subparagraph (2) of this rule has been revised to clarify what license may be replaced, fo
remove the requirement to submit a passport-style photograph, and for clarity. The remainder of
rule .14 has not been changed.

0870-01-.15: Rules pertaining to how a licensee must notify the board of a change in his or her

name or practice address.
Description of amendments:
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15(1): Revised for clarity; also eliminates requirement to include the licensee's social security
number. Adds requirement that the notification be received no more than 30 days after it took
effect.

.15(2): Revised for clarity; also eliminates requirement to include licensee's social security
number. Adds requirement that a licensee must inform the board if he or she has no current
practice address.

.15(3): Revised for clarity. Also clarlf ed that replacement license fee is due if the establishment
changes its name, and a reinspection fee will be due if an establishment changes its address.

(870-01-.16: Rule pertaining to certain internal operations of the Board.
Description of amendments:
16(2)(c): The rule previously numbered as .16(2)(c) has been deleted as unnecessary. The text
. of the new rule .16(2)(c) was previously numbered as .16(2)(d).

.18(3): Revised for clarity.
.16(3)(a): Revised to clarify that initial determinations made by a consultant or designee are
subject to Board ratification .

16(3)(b): Revised to simplify the description of what tasks a consultant or designee may take as
"Consultant to the Division."

.16(4): Revised to simplify; new rule simply refers to the Declaratory Order statute.

0870-01-.17: Contains rules governing advertising of massage therapy services.
Description of amendments:

A7(1): Revised for clarity.

17(2): Revised by deleting the definition of "Licensee” previously numbered as .17(2)(b) as
unnecessary, renumbering remaining rules, and deleting the word "ordinary™ from the newly
numbered .17(2)(b).

-17(3)(a): Revised by moving the text of previously numbered Subparagraph .17(3)(a)(1) into
(3)a).

17(3)(b}. Revised slightly for clarity. '

47(3)(c): Revised by moving the text of previously numbered subparagraph .17(3)(c}{(1) into
(3)(c). ‘

17(4)(d): Revised by substituting the word “client’ for "clientele."

A7(4)(r): Revised for clarity.

.17(6): Rule has been deleted as unnecessary.

0870-01-.18: Rule setting forth statutory requirements stemming from the Health Care
Consumer Right-to-Know Act of 1998.

Description of amendments:

18(1): Revised to clarify.

.18(3): New paragraph added to specify that any actions falling under subsections .18(1) or (2)
must be reported to the Board within 30 days of when they occur.

0870-01-.19; Sets forth certain Professional Ethical Standards that licensees may be disciplined
for violating.

Description of amendments:
-18(1): Revised to clarify that both individuals and establishments will be held to these
standards.

19(1 )k): Revised to extend prohibition to "arranging far" sexual conduct/activity/behavior.
©.19(1)(1): Rule prohibiting certain treatments was previously numbered as .02(4)(e).
Subsections edited to remove the words "therapeutic” as unnecessary, and broaden prohibition
from "vaginal massage"” to include any treatments to genitals.
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A9(1)(m): Rule previously numbered as .19(1 )(1).

19(1 ){(n): Rule previously numbered as .19{1 }(m).

.19(1 )(0): Rule previously numbered as .19(1)(n). Rule previously numbered as .19(1)(0}) has
been deleted.

19(1 )(p): Rule previously numbered as .19(1)(q). Rule previously numbered as .19(1){p) has
been deieted.

.19(1)(q): Rule previously numbered as .19(1)(r).

A9(1)(r): New rule; previously numbered as Rule .02(3)(b); revised to add specificity concerning
draping requirements.

19(1)(v): Subsections reworded slightly for clarity.

19(1}{w): Revised to remove exception that applied if the licensee had obtained a signed
notarized statement indicating the establishment had a license when in fact it did not.

19(1)(x): New rule added making it a violation of the rules to fail to launder or sanitize materials,
equipment and supplies.

Rule 0870-02-.01: Provides definitions of terms used in chapter 2 of the Board rules.
Description of amendments:

.01 (B): Definition for NCBTMB added.

.01 (7). Definition for FSMTB added.

Q1 (8): Definition for MBLEX added.

Rule 0870-02-.02: Sets forth massage therapy educational program curriculum requirements
and the procedure for program approval.

Description of amendments:

.02(1): Revised for clarity and to specify that massage therapy educational program approval is
not transferable.

.02(2){a): Revised for clarity.

.02(2){a)7.. Adds specificity to requirement to submit program catalog.

.02(3)(a): Instructor to student ratio revised from 1:10 to 1:14. .

.02(3)(c): Revised by changing reference from “NCBTMB" examination to the "approved
examination."

.02(3)(d): Revised version of the rule previously numbered as .02(3)(p); now specifies that
programs must ensure at least a 2-hour presentation from the Board's impaired professional
assistance program. The rule previously numbered as .02(3){d) has been deleted.

.02(3)(e): Revised for clarity and to specify that programs must retain written proof of
compliance with this requirement.

.02(3)(h): Previously numbered as .02(3)(i). The old rule numbered as .02(3){h) has been
renumbered as .02{3)(0).

L02(3)(i): Previously numbered as .02(3(j) and revised for clarity.

.02(3)(j): This rule and its subparagraphs were previously numbered as .02(3}(k) and its
subparagraphs,

02(3)(j)4.: Revised to state that transcripts shall include contact hours for each subject.
.02(3)0)8.: Revised for clarity.

02(3\{k): Previously numbered as .02(3}(1) and revised slightly for clarity.
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.02(3)(1): Previously numbered as .02(3)(m) and revised slightly for clarity.

.02(3)m): Previously numbered as .02(3)(o).

02(3){n): Previously numbered as .02(3)(q). The section previously numbered as .02(3)(n) has
been deleted.

.02(3)(0): Previously numbered as .02(3)(h).

Rule .02(4) has been deleted as unnecessary.
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Rute 0870-02-.03: Rule concerning withdrawal of program approval.
Description of amendments:

Revised to specify that the required graduation rate is measured over 12-month periods.

Rule 0870-02-.065: Rule setting forth minimurm standards for directors, instructors and
classrooms.
Description of amendments:

.05({1 ){d): Adds second sentence, stating that an instructor may only teach principles and
concepts from the profession that he or she is licensed in.

Ruie 0870-02-.06: Rule setting forth program policies and procedures.

Description of amendments:.

.06(1): The entire rule has been restructured for clarity and to remove unnecessary
requirements that are largely duplicative of THEC requirements. The policies are now required
to be in written form and distributed to all students.

.06(2). New rule requiring that programs are required to have at least 1 person qualified in basic
life support present during all classroom and clinical hours. Previously, all instructors were
required to be certified in basic life support.

.06(5): The rule previously numbered as .06(5) has been deleted as unnecessary.

Ruie 0870-02-.07: Ruie stating that board-approved massage therapy education programs are
required to submit an annual report, and selling forth the requirements of that report.
Description of amendments: The catch-line (text appearing before numbered subparagraphs)
has been revised to specify that the annual report is due by December 31 of each calendar
year. The requirements for the annual report have not changed.



Public Hearing Comments

One copy of a document containing responses to comments made at the public hearing must accompany the
filing pursuant to 7.C.A. §4-5-222. Agencies shall include only their responses to public hearing comments, which
can be summarized. No lelters of inquity from parties questioning the rule will be accepted. When no comments
are received at the public hearing, the agency need only draft a memorandum stating such and include it with the
Rulemaking Hearing Rule filing. Minutes of the meeting will not be accepted. Transcripls are not acceptable,

PUBLIC HEARING COMMENTS

TENNESSEE MASSAGE LICENSURE BOARD

OCTOBER 26, 2009 AND FEBRUARY 23, 2010

The rulemaking hearing for the Tennesses Massage Licensure Board was held on October 26, 2009 in the
Department of Heaith Conference Center's Poplar Room on the First Floor of the Heritage Place Building in
MetroCenter, Nashville, Tennessee. The rulemaking hearing was nol conciuded at the end of the meeling and
was carried over to February 23, 2010, when it was concluded.

Several members of the public attended and had verbal questions and statements. Written comments as well as
verbal comments were received from Karen Craig, representing the Massage Institute of Memphis.

1. Maj-Lis Nash had several requests for revisions as listed below:
a. That the requirement for a passport photo in the licensure application be added back in. The
Office of General Counsel responded that within six (6) months of recelpt, the applications are

imaged, and the photos are virtually unrecognizable in the imaged documents, therefore, this
raquirement was deleted;

b. That the words “as delineated in 0870-01- 04(1){1) be deleted in Rule 0870-01-.04(m){(1);
c. That Rule 0870-01-.12(4)(c)6 be deleted as it is confusing;
d. That the words “in writing” be added to Rule 0870-02-.02(3)(e);
e. Ta delete the word "husiness™ and changse to “clinic and classroom” in Rule 0870-02-.06(2);
. To change "on or before June 30” to “by December 31" in Rule 0870-02-.07.
2. Karen Craig represented the Massage Institute of Memphis and submitted writien comments and stated

that she found several typographicai and numbering errors. The Office of General Counsel responded that the

-typographical and numbering errors would be corrected per her written comments. Her verbal questions and
comments were as follows:

a. That the last word in Rule 0870-01-.02(3)(d}4 should be “reinspection” instead of "inspection:

b. That the word “for’ be inserted In Rule 0870-01-.02(e)5 in reference to appearing “for* a
reinspection;

c. That the word “Bodyworks” bs inserted in Rule 0870-01-.01(14);

d. That in Rule 0870-01-.08(3), the NCBTMB should be left in as a competency examination.

there was much discussion among the Board members regarding this suggestion and it was
stated that many states were only going to accept the MBLEX after 2011. The Board did not
approve this suggestion;

e, That in Rule 0870-01-.04 a subparagraph be added requiring a student 1o sign an
acknowledgement of provisions regarding criminal convictions and becoming licensed;

f. That Rule 0870-01-.12(2) is confusing and questioned which date is used. The director replied
that date of issue of the license is the date used for required confinued education;

g. Must providers of continuing education be approved by the Board or just courses as stated in
Rule 0870-01-.12(4)? Yes, providers must be approved as well as courses,

h. Whether in Rule 0870-01-.12(4)(b}6, continuing education courses taken as formal educational

courses can be given more than fifteen (15} hours of CEU credit for a three (3) hour course. The
board responded this could not be changed.

i That the minutes of instruction in Rute 0870-01-.12(4)(c)5 to equal an hour of CEU credit be
changed to fifty (50) minutes rather than sixty (60);
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i Whether a licensee needs approval for all out of state CEU classes or only these which did not
have pricr board approval. The Board answered only those not previously approved would need
approval,

k. That in Rule 0870-01-.16(3)(b) the ward “patient’ be changed to “client’. OGC responded that
T.C.A. §3-1-117 uses the lerm "patient” and that language must be used in the rule.

L That in Rule 0870-01-.19(1) two (2) of the original responsibilities were deleted and could they be
put back In. The Board replied these requirements were covered in the new subparagraph (c)
and were no longer needed.

3. Dianne Smlthson appeared and raquested that in Rule 0870-01-.12(1)(b} a sentence should be added
staiing “This wo (2} hour course must be approved by the Board.” She further requested clarification of the
words "and aitendance” in Ruie 0870-01-.02(3)(d) questioning what must be documentead by the program.

4. Sarah Lahti appeared and stated she was opposed to the new rule only accepling the EMBLEX as the
licensing examination after June, 2011,
5. Mindy Oldham appeared and questioned ihe following:
a. The 100 cubic feat designation In Rule 0870-01-.02(2)2;
b. Whether unannounced inspections in Rule 0870-01-.02(3) would interrupt client hours. The
Board slated that unannounced inspections were not common and were used in problem cases.
C. Whether the implementation date for the EMBLEX could be changed from 2011 to 2013 in Rule
0870-01-.08(3). The Board responded this was discussed earlier, and it was decided to keep the
date as 2011.
d. What is the "biennial alternative interval” in Rule 0870-01-.09(1){a)?
e. Whether the words “from the preceding cycle” could be added to Rule 0870-01-.02(3)(a).
6. Sleve Summers appeared and questioned whether establishment owners should be requsred io take the

law class as required for therapists.

7. Lort Schrader quastioned how long is a person considered a “client” in terms of Rule 0870-01-.19(1);
whether a husband-wife would be considered clients; whether a person who received a massage when a
iherapist was performing volunteer work would be considered a client. OGC respondad if qusstions of this nature
were raised in a disciplinary matter, each matter would be treaied on an individual basis.

8. Debbie Hicks, President of MTA, appeared and requested the Board revisit Rule 0870-01-,02(2)(a)2 and
the 100 cubic feet measurement. OGC suggested 1000 square feet be used in the rule. She further questioned
whether the term “reciprocity” be changed to “portability” in Rule 0870-01-.04(1)(m). OGC stated the statute uses
the term “reciprocity,” thus this is the term which should be used in the rule.

9. Wrillen comments were received from Chaltancoga State Technical Community College requesting the
ratio of 14 students to 1 instructor in Rule 0870-02-.02(3)(a} be changed io 20 student to 1 instructor. The Board
did nat approve this change in the rule amendment.

With the exceplions noted above, at the conclusion of the public comments the Board voted unanimously to
approve the suggestions and incarporate these into the permanent rules.
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Regulatory Flexibility Addendum
Pursuant to T.C.A. § 4-5-401 through 4-5-404, prior to initiating the rule making process as described in T.C.A.

§ 4-5-202(a)(3) and T.C.A. § 4-5-202(a), all agencies shall conduct a review of whether a proposed rule or rule
affects small businesses.

(If applicable, insert Reguiatory Flexibliity Addendum here)

(1
(2)
(3)

(4)

(6)

(6)

@)

Regulatory Flexibility Analysis

The proposed rules do not overlap, duplicate, or conflict with other federal, state, or local government
rules.

The proposed rules exhibit clarity, conciseness, and lack of ambiguity.

The proposed ruies are not written with special consideration for the flexible compliance andfor
reporting requirements because the licensing boards have, as their primary mission, the protection of

the health, safety and welfare of Tennesseans. However, the proposed rules are written with a goal of
avoiding unduly onerous regulations.

The compllance reguirements throughout the proposed rules are as "user-friendly” as possible while
slill aflowing the Divislon o achieve its mandated mission lhe protection of the health, safety and
welfare of the cliizens of Tennessee. There is sufficient notice botween the ruiemaking hearing and

the final promulgation of rules to allow services and providers to come into compliance with the
proposed rules.

Coampliance requirements are not consolidated or simplified for small businesses in the proposed
rules for the protection of the health, safely and welfare of Tennesseans

The standards required in the proposed rules are very basic and do not necessitate the establishment
of performance standards for small businesses. When the health-related licensing boards’ rules

contain standards, there are always statements included which specify what conslitutes compliance
with such standards.

There are no unnecessary entry batriers or other effects in the proposed rules that would stifle
entrepreneuwrtal activity or curb innovalion. All of the health-related lcensing boards’ rules contain

initial licensure requiremenis and requirements to maintain licensure, but these are necessary for the
protection of the health, safety and welfare of Tennesseans.
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STATEMENT OF ECONOMIC IMPACT TO SMALL BUSINESSES

1. Name of Board, Committee or Council: Tennessee Massage Licensure Board
2. Rulemaking hearing date: Cotober 26, 2009 and February 23, 2010

3. Types of small businesses that will be directly affected by the proposed rules: The types of small

businesses direclly affected by the proposed ruies are massage establlshments, licensed massage therapisis
and massage schools.

4. Types of small businesses that will bear the cost of the proposed rules: Should there be any cost of the
proposed rules, massage establishments, massage therapists and massage schools will bear the cost..

5. Types of small businesses that will directly benefit from the proposed rules: Massage establishments,
massage therapists, and massage schools will benelit trom the proposed rules.

6. Description of how smail business will be adversely impacted by the proposed rules: There should be
no adverse impact fo small business due to the proposed rules.

7. Alternatives 1o the proposed rule that will accompiish the same oblectives but are less burdensome,
and why they are not being proposed: There are no less burdensome alternatives to the proposed rules.

Comparison of the proposed rule with federal or state counterparts:
Federal - None

State — None
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Impact on Local Governments

Pursuant to T.C.A. 4-5-220 and 4-5-228 “any rule proposed to be promulgated shall state in a simple declarative
sentence, without additional comments on the merits of the policy of the rules or regulation, whether the rule or
regutation may have a projected impact on local governmenis.” (See Public Chapter Number 1070
(http://state.tn.us/sos/acts/106/pub/pc1070.pdt) of the 2010 Session of the General Assembly)

These amendments to the rules are hot expecled to have any impact on local governments,
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{43-—-Applicant—Any-individual-seaking-licensure-who-has-submilted.-an-ofigial- -applicsition-and

paid-the appiication fea.

%MM&-MWMM&MH&BWMW%
%WMM%MM@@W@MMWW@

serificationdlicensurofrom-oibersiate bhoords.

%&m&dmm&mﬁv@@ﬁme«#h&sfﬁse@wqeaéﬁm'

' : -'m%mmm—&ammg—e&any—emeps@%
appmue&&mmsmﬁa#—--@u&-&)mmgmix— latterspf--profossional—rac ,

MmmameMMQammtnmiqufrmmsaagd

io-pedform-Board-funclions-sublect-to-review. and-ratifics

thesa-rules.

MMWHWWWM—M&SW&GT&WSHE&&B -agreamentio-provide

massage-tharapy:

Hy—Closed Filss—An-adminisimlive-aciion whish-renders-anincomplete-or doniad fie inactive.

i

Mgia%ln&@msmﬁaa%—ﬂelam%mmaﬁ enmma@apaﬁmmgi%%mwﬁam

¢10)—Establishment-—Any-locallon.or-potiion-therenf whish-advarises—an
public-massage-therapy-senicas-on-tha-pramisos-for- wempeasatmmﬁnyﬂmﬁaedmheauh
cara-faciily-or pry-health care-professionals-office whersin-ma i .
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GENERAL RULES GOVERNING LICENSED MASSAGE THERAPISTS CHAPTER 0870-01
AND ESTABLISHMENTS

(Rule 0870-01-.01, continued)
geiadvamm -of-provided-gxcept-on-pn-cecasionagl-sulcali-basis-is-not-an-astabiiskment for
purposes-of this-rula—Any-location-within-a-Hsenped-heaith-cara-fasilily-or-any-health-care
professional s-oliics-which-is-dedicatedio-and-maintsined-forthe-use-oba-massago-tharapist
whem«pe;fenne—eesasmama&sage—@he‘apwmeeammwmwauemswcaf the- tamaty—u j&-3

WMW%MWWMHM
the-standaids-established -in-rile-0870-04-.02 —The tetm"oocasionalas—usad-in-this-rule
meanrs-not-moeredhanbwice-ip-a-one-1)-wesk-patind-

44y Hedshe HipiherWhen-"he'-appears-in-the-texd-ef-these-nies,-the-word-represenis-both-the
faminine-and-rmasculine gendess.

%%WWWWW%%MW
Givision-of-Health-Related-Boords.

{13} Livenses—Any-pearsonholding—a-licanse o-practice--massage-therapy.-or-as-a-Massage
establishmaat-in-the-Blale-gl-Tennecsee.\Where-applicable-thie-shall-include-saninarehing
andior-comporation:

gefbodywordeomatic— The—manipulation-at-{he-sofi-tissies—of-the-body.-with-the
intention-of pesitively-affesting the-heslth-and-well being-of the-clisnt:

HE LGB TMB- The-MNational Cerification Beard-fer Therapeutic Massage-and-Bodywnork.

{18)--Nationsl-Cadification-Exarsination—The-oxaminationreguired-for-nalivhal cerification-from
the N.C.B.TALE-

A Culeali-~The-provision-ol-vassage-services-culside-of an-astablishment . as-defined-by-this
fule-and-in-a-lpcation-atwhich-there-is-neitherthe requia

provision-of-norhe-advertising-of
puth-sandpas—For-purposes-oithis definiiontha darm Sregulari-mieans-more-than twice in-a
spe-tilwesl-perod:

{48} Parson—Anpyindividual e corporation, pardnersh

bady-politis:
{193-—Rhysician—Any-physicianlicensed pursuant lo T.CA-Tille 83, Chaplers-6-0r-8-

g870-01-.01  Definitions. As used in these rules, the following terms and acronyims shall have the
following mesning ascribed ta ihem:

(11 Aoplicant - Aoy individual seeking licensure who has submitted an official application and
paid the application fee.

{23 Apglication - The apolication form spproved by the Board and the fequired attachments,

3 Board - The Tennessse Massage Licensure Boord,

{43 Board Administrative Difice - The office of the administrator assigned lo the Board,

55 Board's Consultant - Any person who has received a delegation of awihority from the
Board to perform Board functions subiect 1o review and ratification_by the Beard where
provided by these rules.

) Client - Any person with whom the massage therapist has an agreement lo provide
Imassage therapy.

June, 2009 {Revised) 2



GENERAL RULES GOVERNING LICENSED MASSAGE THERAPISTS CHAPTER 0870-01
AND ESTABLISHMENTS

(Rute 0870-01-.01, continued)

8]

Continuing Education ~ Those pre-planned/formalized activiies with weitian leaming

obiectives that are directad at develoning and enhancing an individual's massade therapy
knowledge base or relevant skills

Departrnent - Tennassee Depariment of Health,

Division - The Division of Health Related Boards, Tennasses Department of Health from

which {he Board receives adminislralive supporl

Establishment ~ A business or instilution that is a fied and permanent location or a

{11}

mobile vehicle facility that is open and accessible to the general public for compensated
massage services.

FSMTB - The Federalion of Siaie Massage Therapy Boards,

{12)

Licenses - Any person_holding a keense fo praclice massate therapy or {o operate a

(13)

massage establishment in the State of Tennessee. Where appiicabile this shall inciude
partnershins andfor corporations.

Massage/bodywork/somatic — The manipulation of the soft tissues of the hody with the

(14

intantion of positively affecting the health and well-belng of the client.

MBLEx ~ The Massage and Bodyworks Lisensing Examination astablished by the

{15}

FEMTB.

NCBTMB - The National Cerification Board for Therapeutic Massage and Botdywork.

(18}

Mational Cerlification Examination - The examination réguired for national ceritfication

{17}

from the NCBTMB.

Person - Any individuat, firm,_ corporation, partnarship, organization, or bodv politic.

{183

Physician - Any physician ficensed pursuant to T.0.A. Title 83, Chapter § or 6.

18

Sexuat Activity — “"Sexual aciivily” means any direct or indirect physical contact or

communication by any person of between persons which is jntended io erctically
stimutate either person or both.or which is likely to cause such stimulation and includes
but is not fimited to, sexual intercourse, fallatio, cunnilingus, masturbation or anal
intercourse, “Sexual activity” can involve the use of any device or object or conversation
and is not dependent on whether penetration, orgasm or slaculation oceuited. As used
in these rules, “masturbation” means the manipulation of any body Hissus with the intent
to cause sexual arousal

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 4-5-202, 4-5-204, 63-18-102, 63-18-104, 63-18-105 and 63-18-108, and 63-18-111.
Administrative History: Original rule filed November 13, 1996; effective January 27, 1997. Amendment
filed November 26, 1996; effective February 9, 1997. Amendment filed Novermber 12, 1999; effective
January 26, 2000. Amendment fited July 31, 2000; effeciive Oclober 14, 2000. Amendment filed July 25,
2002; effective Oclober 8, 2002. Amendment filed April 17, 2003; effective July 1, 2003. Amendment
filed March 24, 2008; effective June 7, 2006. Amendment filed June 16, 2006; effective August 30, 20086.

08700102 PRACTHCE STANDARDS ANDINSPECTION OE ESTARLISHMENTS.

{43~ Policy-Statement---Tha-scope -of-the-practice-sl-massage-therapy-in-Tennassae-is-broadly
defed-and-includessmapy-aspecis-which-iF not-padisularlyteguisted-scould-Jead-tn-gerious

June, 2009 (Revised)
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GENERAL RULES GOVERNING LICENSED MASSAGE THERAPISTS CHAPTER 0870-01
AND ESTABLISHMENTS

{Rule 0870-01-.02, continued)
ramifications——fer-the-sonsursing-publig—— Thig-—-rule-is-to--taslgnate-specific-areas-in-tha

practive-for-regulation-the—volation-of which-maysesuil-in-disciplinary -astion-or denial-of
ioensure-pursuantie T CA5 6315308,

{2 —-Slandarde-for-Massage-Eclablishments, Porsonnal-EquipmantLinens-and Supblies

{a)—-Massage-Establishments Standards---The. Mdmtamassage@stabimmnm—imanw
st oomphrwith-all-of the-foliswing:

4 Coniain-adeguate walling-area-forclients:
2o Mlaipiain-properiy-insialiod-sroke detector-and - fre-oxtinguisher.

3.——Massage-herapy-may-be-condusted-only- inroomes-which-are-adeguatehy Hghled
and-ventiated —and-so-gonsiructed-that thay—can-be-kept-clean--Floors —walls,
celiings-and-windows-must remain-fres-of dust-and stherunclean-substances:

4 Rest-Rooms.Every bstablishment-shall contain-restrosm—laciites{neluding-ai
least-one-water-fushed-dolial-squipped-with-toliat- issusfrom-which-the-wasle
walershall-be-discharged-inlo o sowage-syslem-acoeptable-to-the-Bepartmentof
Epvironment—Establishmentslocated-in-bulldings—housing—muitiple-businesses
ynder-pne-roof-such-as-areadesshoppirg-malisterminals.-hetals,-ale-may
substifuls-cahiralized ollet fugiitios Such-cantral-faciliies-shall-ba-withinthiese
hundred {300} foel of tha-massage-sstablishmeant.

{iy-—-Hand-cleansing-capabiliiesfor- the-thoapists—rhust- be-located-within. 20
fest piiha-eatment-arsa—each-astablishmont-shallhave-stHeast-one-sink
with-fiekand-cold-running-waterwithin-300 -fest-of the freatmant area;and

{iy— —Sha me&l%ﬂ%l%%&%%mwﬁ%wmmd%ﬁm

m@unﬁa@ emm b&@wd;yar am& waate me-amacle-
(i) Such.-faci _ bl §
kapt%a%m%ed-m;a&we&hgﬁ@d-ade%eﬁ#eaﬂa&eﬁ—%ﬁm—ﬁ

pesis.
{v—Maistainolist-faciliies-in - commen-aréaoiths eslablishment.

&-——Reasonable-affort for sanitation-shall-be-maintained lor lamporary localiolis-suih
as-athielic-ovants-orpublic-servicefund raisarsdn- lompoians venues.

58— Provide-for-safe-and-unobstucted-human-passaga-in-the-public-areas-of the

DIEiSHE;- W;dm;mwmwamagmim—m&mmm
slorage-orfemevalol lummable-and-hazardous malerials:

{by—Parsounsl

o PAll-porsens-wWho-petform-massage-thefapy-in-a-massage-ostablishmentmust-be
Hoansad-bythe Board-pursuant-to nde-0870-04--04

—-A-licanse-issusd-io-38- mémdsa&-»wh&@was—aumassagauestawshmen% mmaet
ransferable-and-is-subjocttorevosation arciher-dissiplinans-ach '

of-any-inspastion-orfor-relusal-to-allow-inspection-by.- iha@mmmautmad
raprosontatives:

June, 2009 (Revised) 4
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GENERAL RULES GOVERNING LICENSED MASSAGE THERAPISTS CHAPTER 0870-01
AND ESTABLISHMENTS

{Rule 0870-01-.02, continued)

Mgtwﬁhsiaﬂdmg—tﬁs—a%wa—a—%ensed -MBEERGD wasiabhshmem ~may—-change
lsgatione, pursuantiorule-OB70-04-15 13)

4.—-The-person-lo-whom-jhe-ssisblislwent licensa-is-issued-shall be responsiblefor
maintaining-all paris-therestin-a-canitary-condition.at-all imes-and-for-stharwise
insuring-that-such-esiablishment-is-pperatedincompliancewith-this Chapler
However-this—ruls-shal-not-relieve-any-Individual therapist-of responsibilityfor
the-sanitaty-conditions-of-the-spase-or-agulpmentused-iniheir-prasctice.

{e—Equipmeant

4——Maintain-all-equipment-and-supplies-used fo-perform-massage-services-on-tha

Wmfw%&%%%%mmmmam
tisansars-and-bagtaric pplication”

wﬁw@wwm&%hmugﬁ@m&ngaﬂh&mmgﬁ—mﬁwm

one-lime-s-day-or-whonover olis-or-pther substancesvisibiyaccumuiate-on-the
massage-tabla surfade.

2 -gapibped -with-a-whidpool-bath,-sauna,-sieam-cabinet-and/or-sisam—roam.
mraiain-adeguate-ahd-clean shower faciliigs-onthe pramises:

{&)——Liners-and-Supplios

F-—Each-cllent-shall-recsive -a-separale;-cleap-soverng-foruse-on-the—massage

2—Launderorsanitize; before reuse-all-maleriale —sguipment-and-supplies utilized
joreach-glieni

(3+—Draping

ishrment-shalbmainisin-a-sufficlent suppiv-of dsan-drapesforthe
gu@pasehgf dt:apmgnaaah -gliest-whils -the-clisnt-is-being massaged—As—used-hersin
Ldrapas” masns-lowsls gowns.-or shoats.

{b}mgsiemp;eceed;nwm—masaage—&a%h&@mni«mh -massage-therapist-shall-have
_ i 5 55 : ques-and-provide-the-gllent-a-glean
d;:apa )azzgawsam;gh-im ihe—aumesemm m;@%mmmmam
sase-of-a-fomale-client-the broasts. -

A —SexualActivity-and-Dther Therapsulic- Treatmanis Prahibited

mmmmﬂm%awsm@wwwn—pm—w@wmmd%—mmky
atimuiaiameltheprereema&h@r wmen—;avkkeiy ‘o WWQMWWMMQ&

the-intentto-cause-cexual argusal-As-used-hemin_saxu

of-any-device-or-cbiact-or-sonversation-and-is-not-dep
orgasr-orsjaculalion has-ossurred,

purpasawf; this. mle«paﬂ«m&urbaﬁan maans iha mampuiams-ef any-bad%&ssu&w

£y Sexual-astivity-by-am- pamson: br-pereons In-any-nassage-establishment-s-absolutely
probibited-

June, 2008 (Revised)
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GENERAL RULES GOVERNING LICENSED MASSAGE THERAPISTS CHAPTER 0870-01
AND ESTABLISHMENTS

(Rule 0870-01-.02, continued)
{e}-—No-raassage-egiabiishimenl-owner-shall-angage-in-or-permil-any-person-or-pereons-io
anpgage—in—saalactvily in—sush-ewnerfs—massage—sctablishmant o use—such
establishment-to-malke arrangementslo-engage-in-saxual activity-in-any-ptherplace-

(g} —Na-licensed-massage-therapistshall-use-thetherapist-client-relationship-to-engage-in
sexpal-astivity- with-any-slient-or-to-make-arrangements-lo-ongage-in-sexual activibywith

any-clent

{a}-—Prohibited—therapsitis—lroatmants—nol—within—the—ecope—of-—praslice—al-inassage
therapisis-inaiude:

Mhampw%imtmemﬁﬁhm&mnﬁ—am%ﬁe&m}g—%&—muzmwg
colonis-rigations-and-sremas—and

+——itherapaulic-cress-gender-breast maseageand
%—ihmpeutie—vagina#mssag&

4 B— E«ﬁgagmg—m any-ofthe-astivilles-or-reatments described-in-this-paragraph-shall- subject
tholiconsee-lo-disciplinarractionas provided-in-rule-0876-04-43.

{6} —Inspection-of-E siabhshmemswézeemé%assagé—ihefap&esﬁabi shments-and-applicants-ate
subject-lo--parlodic-inspactions—by-the- Baard -ar-its-authorized-representativiels)—dudng
husiness-hours—AWhen-scheduling-inspestionsthe Inspaslor shall stlempt-lo- accommedate
mmﬂwmmmmm&eﬂmmmmm

ion-of-establishments-ls-to-verlfy-compliance with-the-practice
ﬁandamséuihwruieabwavadaé n-paragraphe-(2)-(3)-and {4)-and-tha-display of
lisenss roguirements-as provided-in-paragraph-{H-of Rule 0870-01-34;

by J&e—asiabhshment kseﬂs&may—be-wb;ect wﬁismpi&nawae%n—pu%ﬂueﬂwgs?&

ataaéarés and—mqaimmsn&e —set @ng mr«uia ap—when~ihe~mspesi+an—fevaais~4}=at4m
Hconse-o-am-employes-has-been-syspendad-or revoked.

a}wmﬂe%aspeeﬂan—m Whewamssabisshmmi—dea&mt«gasmmpe@hMhemestabi;shmem
eubmit-an-applicationforrainspestion.

{30-days-aflerthe falodinspastion:

3. The reinspection-fee-bhall-ba-submitted-with-the-application-pursuant-io-Ruls
BB70-01--08-

4 The Board'e Unit Direcior shali-causa-to have-thavelnspection-schedules.

iy —Ealiure-fo-Allow- @FAW%%@%MMsmmmmwhasemﬁmpm
falls—5-allow-an-inspes have—falled-the
mapeehen——%n—eai’abkshmenl- whese anﬁr@r«apamtabdeaa—mtaappeagar—m’aimr

aMladW%Mmmmmehe@am

administralive-offich-or the-Board's-aulhorzad 1 h%n%ﬁeéa@-&east—&vaﬁt%

four-{24)-houre—prisrtothe—schoduled—appointment -tima Jor

sirursslante —a—subsaguant —schedided--inshestion—shalk ~~%&—€Qﬁ8§d€¥$€i B

June, 2009 (Revised) 8
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GENERAL RULES GOVERNING LICENSED MASSAGE THERAPISTS CHAPTER 0870-01
AND ESTABLISHMENTS

(Ruie 0870-01-.02, continued)

reinspestionWhen-a-reinspeciion- is-necessitatel-as-a-rosuli-of-sither-gireumsianses;
tha-following-shall ossur

e T Rg—Board' s—administrative—office - shall--provide—the —establishmantwith_an
application-for reinspaction.

Z—The-gelablishments-owner-or-oparator-shall-submit-thereinepection-anpiication
to-the-Board's-adminisirative-office-withinten-(15)-days-after-the sstablishment
recolvad-the-application:

3——The-—rainspaction-fes-shall-be-submitted-with-the--application,-pursuant-to-Ruls
GB70-04--06.

4-The-Board's-Lnit Direcior-shall-cause-lo-have the reinspection scheduled.

0870-01-.02 _ Praclice Standards and {ngpeciion of Establishments,

{1 It 15 the responsibiliy of establishment owners to ensure compliance with ali pravisions of

this rule and any violation of any portion of this rule may result in disciplinary action or
denial of licensure pursuantte T.C A § 83-18-108.

{2) Standarts for Massage Exstablishments, Personnal. and Equipment

{a} Massage Establishments Standards

1 Eslablishment owners shall ensure and maintain an_adequate walling
area for sliapis,

2 Establishment owners shall maintain properly installed smoke detectors
and fire sxtinguishers in compliance with local fire codes. I there are no
local fire codes, there shall be » minimum of one smoke detector and
ane fire sxtinquisher per one thousand (1000) square fest of treatment
area. If local fire codes require fire ifispections, esiablishment owners

shall maintain written documentalion of all fire inspections for 3 period of
fayur (4) years,

3. Massage therapy mav be conducted only in rooms which are adequataly -
- lighted and ventilated, and so constructed that they can be_kept clean,
Establishment owners shall ensure that floors, walls, ceilinas and
windows are kepl clean in good repair and fres of pests

4, Rest Rooms, Every establishment shall conlain rest room facilities for
use hy clients and employees, Establishments localed in buildings
housing_multile bysinesses under one rogf such as arcades. shonping
malls, terininals, holels ete,, mav substilule cepiralized tollst faciities,
Such centralized facilities shall be within three hundred {300) fest of the
roassate establishment,

{H Rest room faciiitias shall include at least one water-flushed toilet,

equipped with toilet tissue, from which the waste water shall be
discharged inlo a sewage system acceplable fo the Department
of Environment and Gonservation.

{H} Rest room faciliies shall inclide at least one sink with hot and
cold running water and shall be equipped with 2 scap dispenser

June, 2009 (Revised) 7
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GENERAL RULES GOVERNING LICENSED MASSAGE THERAPISTS CHAPTER 0870-01

AND ESTABLISHMENTS

(Rule 0870-01-.02, canfinued)

{b)

with soap or other hand cleaning materials, clean towsls or other
hand-drying device such as a wall-mounted eleciric blow drver,
and waste receptacle.  Hand cleansing capabilities for the
therapists must be located within twenly {20} feet of the
reatment area,

{iii}) Res! room faciites and all of the foregoing fixtures and
componants shall be kept clean, in gocd repair and free of pests,

Reasanable effort for saniiation shall be maintained for temporary

jmeations such as alhletic esvenis or public service fund raisers in
femporary venues,

Cstablishment owners shall provide for safe and unobstructed human

passage in_the public areas_of ihe premises. orowide for rernoval of
garbage end refuse, and provide for safe storage or removal of
flammabla and hazardous materiais.

Personnsi

©

i

Establishment owners are responsible for ensuring thai ali persons who

perform massage therapy in 8 massade asteblishment maintain current
ficensure by the Board pursuani to rule §870-01-.04.

Establishment owners shall maintain in a centralized location & current

copy of the cerdificate of renewal for each lcensed massage therapist
providing services at the establishment. A copy ef any such certificate
shall be made available uspon request of any client or any represeniative

Establishment linenses ate not ransferable and ars subject to revocation

or sther disciplinary actions upon failure of any inspection or for refusal
to allow inspegclion by the Board's suthorizad represenialives.

Notwithstanding the above, & licenssed Mmassage establishment may

ot

change locations, pursuant to sule 0870-01-15 (3).

Establishment owners  shall be responsible for maintaining all parts

thereof In a sanitary condition at all fimes, and for otherwise ansuring
that such establishment is operated in compliance with this Chanter,
However, this rule shall not rélleve any individual therapist of
rgsponstbility for the sanitary conditionis of e space or squipment used
in their practice.

Equipment

June, 2009 (Revised)

1.

Establishment owners shall ensure that all eqipment and suoplies used

to perform massate services on the premises are maintained in 2 safe
and sanitary condifion.

i he establishinent is euuipped with a_whirpool bath, $auna, steam

cabinet andlor steam room,  establishment owners shall maintain

adequate and clean shower faciiifies on the premises.
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GENERAL RULES GOVERNING LICENSED MASSAGE THERAPISTS CHAPTER 0870-01
AND ESTABLISHMENTS

{Rule D870-01-.02, cantinued)
€3] Inspection_of Establishments - Licensed massage therapy establishments are subiact 1o

inttiat inspections and periodic subsequent inspections by the Board or ils authorized

representative(s) during normal and customary business hours.  Inspactions may be

announcad o ynannounced.

{a)

The purpose of inspection of establishments is to verify compiiance with the

Bl

{z}

eciabiishment standards of this rule and to verify that the establishiment and alt
licensed massage therapists_ providing  services  have  their  licenses
censpicususly displayed on the premises as required by 0B70-01- 14,

The establishment ficense may be subjest to disciplipary action. pursuant o Rulg

0870-01-13, i ihe inspection reveals that the establishment does not mest he -
standards and requiroments set by this rule or if the inspaction reveals that the
license of any massage therapist providing services ot the establishment s not
current or has been suspended or revoked.

A massage establishinent which recelves an inspection score of gighty-five {85}

d)

or_higher achieves a passing score on the inspection, A massage establlshment
which receives an inspection score of eighty-four (84) or below does not pass the
inspection.

Reinspection - When an  establishment does not pass inspection. the

&)

establishment shall submit an application for reinspection,

1, The inspector shall provide the establishment with an application for
rainspection.
2. The application shall be submitied lo the Board's adminisicative office

within thirty {30} days after the fziled inspection,

3 The reinspection fee shall be submitled with the application. pursuant to
. Rule 0&70-01-.08.

4 Upon timely submission of the application and fes, the Board's Director,
Manager or designee shall schedule the reinspection.

5, Failure lo pass 2 reinspection shall result in a formal complaint with ha
Division's investinatinns upit.

Failyre to Allow or Appear for Inspection - An_establishment whose owner or

June, 2009 (Revised)

cperator fails to allow an inspection shall be deemed o have falled the
inspection. _An_establishment whose owner or operator does not aopear for
histher scheduled inspection shall be deemed to have failed the inspection
uniess ihe Board’s administrative office or the Board's authorized representative
is nolified at least twenty-Tour (24) hours prior to the scheduled appointment time
for inspaction. in the event of either 4 fallure lo appear without notice or a failure
o allow inspection, a subseguent scheduled inspection shall be considered a
reinspestion. When s reinspection is necessitated as 5 result of sither
gircumstance, the following shall accur:

1, The Board's administrafive office shall provide the establishment with an
application for reinspection,
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GENERAL RULES GOVERNING LICENSED MASSAGE THERAPISTS CHAPTER 0870-01
AND ESTABLISHMENTS

{Rule 0870-01-.02, continued)

2. The establishment's owner or operator shall submit the reinspection
application to the Board's adminisirative office within ten {10) days after
the establishment received the apotication,

3. The reinspection {se shall be submitted with ihe application. pursuant io
Rule 0870-01-.08.

4, Upon timely submission of the application and fee, the Board's Director
Wanager or designes shali schedule the reinspection,

5, Eailure fo pass a reinspection o failure 1o allow or appear gt reinspection
shall result in & formal complaint with the Division's investigations unit.

Authority: T.C.A. §§4-5-202, 4-5-204, 63-18-104, 63-18-105, 63-18-106, 63-18-108, and 63-18-111.
Administrative History: Original rule filed November 13, 1996; effective January 27, 1997. Amendment
filed November 26, 1996, effeclive February 9, 1997. Amendment filed August 10, 1999; effeclive
October 24, 1999. Amendment fled July 31, 2000, effective Gctoher 14, 2000. Amendment filed
November 27, 2000; sifoctive February 10, 2001, Amendment filed October 4, 2004; effective December
18, 2004. Amendment filed December 29, 2004; effoctive March 14, 2005. Amendments filsd March 24,
2006; sffective June 7, 2006. Amendment filed June 16, 2006; effective August 30, 2008.

ésmmmd#w%ﬁnt—hems&itepm&abaaémam—a&a heana&é
massage @m&%&%mdkmmmwmmm&mmmwﬁm
astablishment-oul-fo—the—public—as-being-lisensed-by-—using—a-tile-on-signs—mailhoxes,
addrase--plates-siationary, -announcements —lelephono—istlings—calling—Gams,—er—athes
insitumonis-oiprofecsionat-identification

{2}—Massage-therapy-ls-one-of-the-healing-aris-and-se-such-the-praciice-is+eshicted-fo-those
WWWM%%@%MW&QMQ%MW!@W%B
therapy-withsul being-Hctnsed-or-axpress
55-63-1123%and 5318404,

{3+ —Use-of Tilles —Any person-who-postasses-a-validcurent-and-active-lisense-issusd-by-the
Board-thal has not-baen-suspended-or-rsvoked-has-thesight-to-use-the-titles "Massage
Mmpmﬁwwmgm@nﬂ%—wﬁe—ma%%&m%m
therapist-as-dafipadin1- 3-48-162—Any-parson-lisensad-by-the-Beard-to-whon-this
:mwmmwmmmmwmmﬂm

Hura lo-d0-sowillconslitute gr-omission-of- a-materal-fast-which-makes the
mm;sxmwnmamm&mwmmmmw
action-putsuantleo T.G-A-5§83-18-104{c) ard-53-18-108(5}-and-rule-0870-01-48-13)45)-

{4)—Shudentsay-notheld-themseives-out-as-licensed massage therapists-ualil-such-time as-thay

0870-01--03  Necessily of Licensure

(1} Massage therapy is one of the healing arts and,_as such, the practice Is resticled to
those persons issued a crédential by this Board. Persons engaging in the practice of
massaas therapy wilhout being Hoensed or expressly exempted by the laws are In
violation of T.C.A. 58 63-1-123 and 83-18-104, H is unlawiul for any person who is not
jicansed in the manner prescribed in Title 63 Chapter 18 of the Tennessee Code
Annctated to present himself or his establishment as a licensed massage therapist or a

June, 2009 {(Revised) io -
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GENERAL RULES GOVERNING LICENSED MASSAGE THERAPISTS CHAPTER 0870-0]
AND ESTABLISHMENTS

{Rule 0870-01-,03, continued)

icensed massage establishment or 1o hold h:m off or his establishment out to the sublic
as _being heensed by using 2 Hie on signs, mailboxes. address plates  siationery,
announcements telephong listings, caling gards, or other insiruments of professional

dentificgtion.  Bludents may_nol hold themselves oul as licensed massage theranists
untll such time as they are licensed

(A Uze of Tilles - Any person who possesses g valid, cutren and active licanse ssusd by
e Beard that has not been susterded or revoked has the right to use the tilles
‘Massags Therapist (M T.Y or “Licensad Massage Therapist (L M.T) and to prac tice as
a massage Werapist, as defined wn T O A & B3-18-102. Any person lcensed by the
Soard o whom this rule applies must use one of the titles authonized by this rule In every
advertisermnent ne or she publishes  Fallure to do so will constitute an omission of a

material fact which makes the advertisemantUmisieading and deceptive and subjacts the
massaye therapist {6 disciniinary aclion pursuant 1o T.C.A, §5§ 83-18-134/1) 2nd 63-1B-
OB, and rule 870-01- 18(1¥pl.

Authority: T.C.A. §§4-5-202, 4-5-204, 63-1-123, 63-1-145, 63-1-1486, 63-18-102, 63-18-104, 63-18-105,
63-18-108, and 63-18-171. Administrative History: Original rule filed November 13, 1995 effeclive
January 27, 1997. Amendment filed March 24, 20086; effeclive June 7, 2006. Amendment filed June 186,
20086; effective August 30, 2006. Amendment filed April 30, 2008; sffective July 14, 2008.

C8Y6-04-04 LICENSURE PROCESS.

(3 Mamags Ihe;apaMe prscﬂaavmasaage ﬁasrapy~-;a~ wﬁmammwi »ip@ssassma

A - hallt setod from the-Boards Administative CHics.

th}—An-applcant-shallrespond-tuthiully-and-complately- lo-every-question-or-request-for
intormalion-soptainad-in-the-applicalien-form.-The-applisant-shall-submil- the-application
mwﬁha%@mmmammmmmdmm%wmm
mmiaMWW %@esaa@%&%a@mpksh—&m—ﬁ

ﬁ&@as%ies&t&sim&tamusiyamssibi&

{&y——Applications-will-be-acsaplad throughauh ih&yea&&umm@ag—égmmm;mqmé
by-the-application-or-thessrules-must-be-timely-recaived in-the-Board-Adminstrative
Géfico-asprovided inrule S870-071-.07 {3 or the file will be tlosad.

{&-—An-applicant-shail-slisch-to-his-appliceliona "passport’ wiygwmagm;amksnuwm
he-pracading twelys- 12y monthe-The pholo must be-affiked )
application:

- ftis the applicantsresponsitility io do the ioliowing ina timely mannes

4;-——Roguast-that-o--franscrpt-frome- 6o {1} -or--more--post-satandans-academis
m@ctumﬁ#s}—ap;}meﬁ« by-the-Tennossee-Higher-Edusstion-Commission-or-is
+statele)-or-approved-bythe-Tennassee-Board-of-Regenis;
be—submilted—directivtrom-the - instiutionts} to the -Beard-Adminisirative Offica.

June, 2009 (Revised} 11
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GENERAL RULES GOVERNING LICENSED MASSAGE THERAPISTS CHAPTER 0870-01
AND ESTABLISHMENTS

{Rule 0870-01-.04, continued)
The—transeripl-must—show--that-the-applisant-has- suseesshlly-compialad--a
massage-bodywork-and/or-somalic-therapy-curdeulumi{s)-consiskag-ofno-less
ihap-five-hundrad (EB0)—slassreom-hours-and--samy--the-gffigial--seal-of-the

institutionis).

{—TPwo-hundred {200} classroam-hours-oi-the-dive-hundred {5001 -classroom
heur-requirement-shall-consict-of-soiances-including - but-nob-limited -,
anatomy—physiology-\Western—-andiorEastain. - knesislogy—pathelogy
%%%mmWQQ%HMWWQmMQM

presuulions)-Other-sclenses-related-ta-tha-buman-body-may-badnciuded
with-Board-approval

{i}--—Two-hundred-(200}-claseroom hours-ot-the-five-hundmsd-slassropm-500)
hour-feguirement-shall--consist-ot-basis-massage-theon-and-practice
m@u&ﬂg—%ﬁmﬂ%ﬁeﬁe—%&eﬁ%&ﬁ&ﬁi&—%ﬁé&%%&@i&m@%@n&

imawwmnmmma%madiw@m&mkMa@mmweWw
vibration—persuesion—simihi

vements,-draping,-positioning,;
tummg_Jmbassthemngidmmentaiae&mprapemmmashanwé
sdlfcare:

{i)— Eighty-five {85)-ciassraem-hours-of-the-five-hundrad -{600)-classroom-haur
raguiremaent-shall-consist-of-related -subjects-including-but-not-limited 4o,
business-slandards—of-practice,-communication-skills, - CRRIFist-Ald-1he
Amarcans-with-Disabilities-Actreferralmethods—specialized-populaiions,
- and-spacialized-and-adjuncttheraplesimodaliies-Sncluding-hydrotherapy).

{)—TFan—{40}-ciassroom—hours—of—tha—five—hundred {500} classraom—hour
requirement-shall-consist-nlathiss-instiction.

fu}——-Fwe-%}—aiassﬁaemmmws ~-gf-ihe-fve—hundred {500}-cizssropm—how

ali-sonsist-ol-insirhction—tegarding--Fannesssp —nassages
statites- aﬂd regulations;.and

2-Raquest--that--vetiicalion-—oi-having - successhlly—complated—the—bational
Gemt eaﬁgnéxmmahw—a&pmwéa@m -Ratle-H870-04-08; »be»submﬂed»d#amly

Qﬁiwm o ’

30— Requast tha!wenfsat;eweﬁ»havmg sueaasafuﬂy -gomplstad-a-Buard-approved
7. 8 va-submittad-diresty from-such

exan. s-lastmg a@n@y@a%&%m:&%m@a&atwe—@#ﬁs&

e mm%nmimwawmmwmmammmwma
siaa Lmn&s%@t%m—&é—maa@t—{wﬂm %Mmeeéag%msﬂthe)-eﬁgmauaaaﬂs—#em
i 5 &4 _pﬁeani—s-—p&maaaé——eﬁa%#—am

m@fessrsméaihlas»

{b}mﬁpra;aplieantshaikéissms&-&hﬁ--@mﬁwWan@mﬁiﬁg%%&a@i%

d———Gomvistion-of-any-crirminal - offense-ol-any-countiy-siate-or-municipalily-except
m@#aﬁse—gﬁensea—seﬁ%@ma—fgpwalmmﬁenwmﬂm
fwmmwswmmnmm%wmmmmm:
sexual-missonductoffensas-shall disqualiiy an-applicantfrom receiving 2 Yoense.

June, 2008 (Revised) 12
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GENERAL RULES GOVERNING LICENSED MASSAGE THERAPISTS CHAPTER 0870-01
AND ESTABLISHMENTS

{Rule 0870-01-.04, continued)

A-sonviction—for-a-faleny—under-the laws ol Tennessee—tnay disquality an
applcantfrom-raceiing-a lisonse.

2 THe-denial-of profassional licensure/cartification-application-by-any-otharstate-or
the dissipline-oHicensure/cedificationin-any-slala:

3-——Loss-o-restiction-ollicensyrsicediicalion.

d—Any-slvlsuibiudgmentor-sivitsult-seftlament in-whish-the- app;isan%wasa—;aaﬁy
defendant-lncluding;-witheut-imitation—actions-invalving-alprastice. breach-of
sonrast-antirust-astivityor any-olher-civil-action. mmady:swgmze@uader—ths
coumtrye-or-siate’s-slatuiony common or sase law.

Mmmmfmi%%mﬂswgg%mnmemmimﬁe&

{H—irp-applicant -shall- eaaswa@a—sumnitmm -the-Board's-Administrative-Office-directly
fom-the-vendoridentified-inthe-Board's lisensure-applisation matedals - the-rosult-of a
stiminabbackgroupd-shack:

sld-a-license/contificaleto-practice-any-profession-in
ary— ath«erwetata»«»«the appmaa% -shall--sause--to--be-submitted—ihe squivalent ol 3
hm@m@m%mmmﬂmmn%mwmnmem%aﬁ
sueh--licensing—board —whish— mdwa%es —wm&wpiawm%s ~gg--hald--an—askive
fieansaisartficate and whathar i 7 &1 rwas-in-good-glanding
stihedime-ithecame inactive.

{—An-applicani-shall submil- 4ha—app#aahea—iea—aﬂé-sta%a4agala%@:ﬁeaﬂas—9mm@é~m
Fale-DETH-04--08.

(%m_%eaumsessary-man-mqgkad—dagumeats—ahaﬁwba%aslmmw%nghs#aad—wch

{ranslation-and-original-dosurentscertified-as—to-aulbenticity by the-issulng-sollive.
Belh-varsionsmust-be-submitled.

G Apphsanis.-wito—arelicansed--os-have-bean-licensed - in anotherState o8-
massage-—therapist—must—submit--along--with-their—applications-copies—of-{he
statiiet-and-rules-governing theJicansure/centification-qualifications-and-process
fror—-all-—states—in—which —they—surrenily—or—previousiy-—havwe—hald
licensureicerification-Tha-Board-will delermine-in-its-sole-discration whethsr the
liconsure/cenification-standards -of-any-othef-state-ars-gs-slingent-as-those of
Tonnesses—for-purposes-of—grantinglicensure—under—thisrule.—Unlnes-—an
applican--mskes -ute-of-the. »wwmn&%ﬁaﬁmmmgbwagmh—m
applicant shall-be-approvadfordi miplating-the-five
ﬁ%ﬁam&m—@mﬁmﬁusﬁmﬁaw&ng—ﬁam&ea mamg& stabtasand
regdiations-asrequired-in-subpad-LHH-+v-

M@pﬁeaﬁis@%mﬁ—&m@qﬁmmemmw}{i}a ~«~iay havmgﬂﬂ Q—Eﬂ" MB.
subraitdirselly do-the-B
fws—«iﬁ}waa;—pensd—;mmeéiately—mmdmg appﬁaa%ndm#s@snmw_by
submitling decumehiation salisfactonto-the- Board-thatthey have-ongaged-inthe
practise—oi—maseaye—therapy—ib—-ancthér—siate—for-tho-five—{5)-yoar—parsd
immaediaialy preseding-applicationfor livanswre-and-whe-sither

June, 2009 (Revised) 13

- 64



GENERAL RULES GOVERNING LICENSED MASSAGE THERAPISTS CHAPTER 0870-01
AND ESTABLISHMENTS

{Rule 0B70-01-.04, continued)

f}——have-suseassiully-compietad-the-axaminalion-requiremenis-of tule-H8720-
04-0B-and-have -met-the-edusationroguirements set-fodh-in-pad L34 1
but-are-unable,-besansethe-edusational-insliivlion-aiiber-was-nol-slate-
approved-orE-ao-longor-in-existense, 1o have-a-fransctipt-be-submitied
direclly-from the institution{s} o the-Board Administrative Difice,-ar

{i}-——pava-graduatad-from-a- quauﬁaé—mmgaﬁsﬁém SE-Gaurse-prior-lo-Detober
4-18856-and-have-gaused-a-transeipt-tdocumenting-the-graduation-to-be
submitted dirsctiy-from. the-institution{s o the Bourd-Admipistrative Office.

{A}—~Alkaphlications-shall-be sworn-{o-and-signad-bythe-applicant and notarized

@M%ume%s%mﬁ%@mmm%wm—bmw%%—emmw
Fennossas-and-wilnot-be-retumed.

{p}Theapplicationform-ienet acceptable fapy pordion-has baen-executed wpd-dated prior

to-ons-{-ysar-before-recsipt-by-the-Board-Adminisrative-CHfica. As-used-in-this-ruls,

%ﬁ!imtesmaamwmmgwmmmmm
dosurmanis.

{2 Applivation-review and-al-ivensure declslons-shall-be-govemed-by-nia 0870-04-.07.

16870-071-.04 Licensure Process

{1} To practice massage therapy in Tennessee a person must possess g lawfully issued

license from the Board The process for obtaining a license is as foliows;

{a)

An application packet shall be requasied from the Board's Adminjstrative Gffice.

{b}

An applicant shall respond truthfully and complstely to every question or retuest

{c

for_information contained in the application form. The applicant shali submit the
application along with all required docurmeniation and fess fo the Board
Administrative Office. 1t is the intent of this rule that activities necessary fo
accomplish the filing of the teguired documeniation be campleted prior 1 filing an
application and that all dogumentation be filed as close to simulianepusly as
possible,

Anplications will be accepted throughout the year. Supporting documentation

()

required by these rules must be timely received in the Board Administiative
Office as providad in rule 0870-01-07(3) or the file will be closed,

An applicant shall submit 2 copy of hisfher birth cerlificate or its syuivalent which

{e)

indicates tha! the applicant is, i the time of application, at least eighitesn {18}

years of age. Applicants who are nol citizens of the Linited States or whose birth
certificated reflect that they were not born in the United States shall submit proof

of their Immigration status demonstrating their right to live and work in the United
States.

Applicants shall request that a ranscript from_one {1} or more post secondary

June, 2009 (Revised)

academic insfitution{s) approved by lthe Tenpessee Higher Education

Commission or iis equivaient in’ ancther Slate(s). or approved by the Tennesses
Board of Regents and approved by the Tennessee Massage Licensure Board, be
submitted directly from the institution(s) {0 the Board Adminisiralive Office, The

transcript must carry the official seal of the institution{s} and must show that the

applicant has sucoessfully sompieted & massage, bodywork, andior somatlic

14
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GENERAL RULES GOVERNING LICENSED MASSAGE THERAPISTS CHAPTER 0870-01
AND ESTABLISHMENTS

{Rule 0870-01-.04, conlinued)

(H

tharapy curticyiumis) consisting of no less than five hundred (B00) classroom
nouts, specilically delineatad as follows:

1. Two hundred (2003 classroom hours of the five hundred 1500 classroom
hour requirement_shall consist of sciences including, but not limited to,
anatormy, physiclogy-Western andfor/Eastern, kinesiology, pathalogy,
HIVIAIDS and blend-bome pathogens, and hygiene {including standard
precautions),  Other sclences ralated o the human body may hse
inctuded with Board approval.

2. Two hundred (200) classrobrm houss of the five hundred classroom {(500)
hodr_requiremnent shall consist of basic massage thecry and practice
including, but not  limiled  fo,  history,  benefits  irdicalions,
contraindications, demonstration_and  supervised  practice.  client
assessmenifevaluation,  soft lissue  manipulations including.  gliding,
kneading, friclion, compression, vibration, percussion, streiching, joint
moverments. draping, posilioning, turning, feadback,
chatting/dosumentation, proner body mechanics, and sell-care.

3. Eighty-five {85} classroom hours of ihe five hundred {(500) classroom
hour_requirement_shall_consist of related subjscts including, hut not
limited 1o, business standards of practice, communication skilis,
CPRIFIrst Aid, the Americans with Disabiliies Act. referral methods,
speciplized oopulations, and specialized and adjunct
therapiesimadalities (including hydrotherapy).

4 Ten {14) classroom howrs of the five hundred (500) classroom hour
requirement shall consist of sthics instrucion,

<

Five {5) classrogom hours of the five hundred (500) classionm hour
requiroment shall consist of nstruction regaiding Tennessee massage
statites and requiations.

Applicants shall reguest that verification of having successfully comuleted an

gxamingtich, as provided in Rule 0870-01-.0B. be submitled directly from the
examining ageney or #ts suctessor organization to the Board Adminisirative
Qfffce.

Applicants shall submil evidence of good moral character, Such evidence shall

(h

cansist. of twe (2) recent (within_the precading 12 menths) original sipned and
dated lellers from health care protessionals thal include the professional's
licensing credentials_and aftest to the applicants personal character and
professional ethics. '

Anplicants shall disclose the circumstances surrounding any of the following:

June, 2009 (Revised}

4 Conviction of any_criminal offense {excent minor traffic offenses) of any
country, state or_municipality, including without limitation, conviction for
proslitution_or any sexual misconduct offense A conviction for
prostitution or sexual misconduct offenses shall disqualify an d@pplicant
fron recelving @ license. A corvigtion for a felony under Ine Jaws of
Tennesses may disqualily an applicant from receiving a license.

2. The denial of professional llcensuralcertification by any other state oy the
discipline of llcensure/certification in any slate,

18
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GENERAL RULES GOVERNING LICENSED MASSAGE THERAPISTS CHAPTER 0870-01
AND ESTABLISHMENTS

{Rule 0870-01-.04, conlinued)

(8

3 Loss or restriction of heensure/cardification.

4, Any civil sult judgment or civil suit settlement in which the applicant was
a party defendant in any aclions involving malpractice, neglicence andior
fraud.

8, Failure of any professional licensure or gertification examinagtion.

Appheants shall cause to be submilied o the Board Administrative Office direcily

{3

from the vendor idenfified in the Beard's licensure applicalion materials, the
result of a eriminal background check.

if_an_applicant_hoids or has ever held a license/certificate to praciice any

(K}

profession in_any _other siate, ihe aoplicant shall cause o be sybmilted the
gquivalent of 2 Tennessee Certificate of Endorsement (verification of
licensure/cerification) from each such licensing board which indicates the
applicant helds or heid an active license/certificate and whether it is presently in
goed standing or was in good stending at the time it became inaclive,

An appiicant shall submit the application Tee and siate requlatory fse as provided

{13

in rule 0870-01- 06, -

Vyhen necessary, ail required documents shall be franslated inlo Epalish and

{rm)

such translation and original documents certified as fo authentisity by the issuing
souree. Both versions must be submitted,

Heclprocity Ligensure

June, 2000 (Revised)

1. Applicants who are licensed or have been licepsed in another state and
are_sesking reciproclly lcensure in Tennessee must regues! that a
franscript from one {1) or more post-secondary academic instiution(s)
approved by the equivalept educational accrediting agency in the olhsr
state be submilted directly from the institution{s) to the Board
Administrative Office. The iranscripi(s) musi show that the applicant has
sutcessiuily completed a massage, bodywork, and/or somatic therapy
curriculum consisting of po fess than five hundred (500} classroom hours -
angd must cairy the official seal of the inshitution{s). Applicanis must also
request  that  verification  of having successfully completed _ the
&xamination provided in 0870-01-.08 or the exam offered by the
NCBTMB or its successor orqamzatson be subrmitted direstly to the Bosrd
Administrative Office.

2. Applicants _Tor reciprocity  licensure  gan  avoid  the  educational

reguirements of rule 0870-01-.04{ 1te)1-3 i they duatify under the terms
of Tennassen Code Annotaled § 63-18-116. Such gqualifying applicanis
tmust feguest that proot from the NCBTMEB of thelr cedification for the five
(5) vyear oehiod immediately preceding sppifcation for licenswe he
submilted direclly o the Board Administrative Office and must subrmnit
documentation salisfaciory 1o the Board that they have endaged in the
practice of massage therapy in ancther state for the five {5) year pericd
immediately preceding applicaticn for icensurg.

a. All applicants for reciprocity licensure must submit proof of having

sucaessiully completed five {5) classroom hours of inatruclion regarding

16
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GENERAL RULES GOVERNING LICENSED MASSAGE THERAPISTS CHAPTER 0870-01
AND ESTABLISHMENTS ,

(Rule 0870-01-.04, continued)

Tenpessee massage slatuies and regulations and ten (10) classroom
haurs_of ethics instruction,_ as required in rule 0870-01-.04{4Y(e}4. and 5.
These hours shall not be self directed.

{23 Al applications_shall_be sworn to and sioped by the applicant and notanzed. Al
zpplications and documents submitted for licensure purposes become the properiy of the
Slate of Tennessee and will not_be returned.  Neither the application form nor any
required dogument will be accepled if any portion hag bean exscuted and dated orior o
one {1} year before receint by the Board Administrative Office.

{3 Apphcation review and all licensure decisions shall be governed by Rule 0870-01-.07.

Authority: T.C.A. §§4-5-202, 4-5-204, £3-1-104, 63-18-104, 63-18-105, 63-18-108, 63-18-111, 63-18-
112, and 63-18-116. Administrative History: Original rule filed March 25, 1996; effactive June 8, 1996.
Repeal and new rule filed Novemiber 13, 1996; effective January 27, 1997. Amendment filed August 21,
1998; effective November 4, 1998. Amendment filed August 10, 1999; effactive October 24, 1999,
Amiendment filed November 12, 1998; effective January 26, 2000. Amendment filad July 31, 2000;
effective October 14, 2000. Amendment filed July 25, 2002; effective October 8, 2002. Amendment fited
September 17, 2002; effective December 1, 2002. Amendment filad Aprif 17, 2003; effective July 1,
2003. Amendment filed June 18, 2004; affective August 29, 2004. Amendmenf filed -October 4, 2804;
effective December 18, 2004. Amendments filed March 24, 2006; effective June 7, 2006, Amendment
filed June 16, 2006; effective August 30, 2006. Amendment filed May 10, 2007; effective July 24, 2007.

B870-89-05-ESTABLISHMENTLICENSURE PROCES S Anv-minssage therany ssiablishmant unless

axempled-by-any-provision-of - T.C-A-§83-48-1 Ho—must-be-licensed-by-the-BeardThe-process—for
oblalning-a license-ls-asfollows:

H3-—An-application-packet shall-berequesied-fiom-the-Hoard's Administrative Office.

{2}—An--applicant-shall -respond- ~truitbfully-and--complitely to—svery guestion orrequest for
a1 W) HeationJorm-—The-applicant chall submit the-application-glong
wMWW%MaWM%MMMM&WWMWi

m%mmmmm@aswmmmmem
-an—application—and-that-all- documsnialion-beflied-as-close-to
mmﬁwuw—a&p@ss;m

{3}—»%9;311939%— ~for-purposes-of-thisrule-shall mean the person-undarwhose-name-the-massage
sstablishment-chail-beicensed—The-applicant need-not be licapsed-as-amassage-tharapiet.
Hemvmmwawgy%mwh&am—prngnh&Wm

lmans%meassua&@rapf@v%eual%uaé%&nseshaﬂh&pmes&eﬁ@wmm

for-app deing-business-in-Tennassea—everyapplicant
shail- s&bpmtua--%mﬁed—eep%—m——a %QFWMWMWMN%%M
squivalontwhich-indicatesthat-the applicantis-atleast vighteen {18} years ol ago-at-the tims
af-application,

MM%M%M&%MMWMW@@%HMM@W@%
- who-have-any-ownership-interest-in-or-whe-receive-any-disbursement-oi-the-income,-Sther
thap-employmentsalary from-themassane-selablishment:

(o) The-applicant-shall-atidchdo -the-application-sopies-—at the-surent-licenses—pi-all
rrassags-therapists-pedorming massagetherapy-at-that- sclablishment.
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GENERAL RULES GOVERNING LICENSED MASSAGE THERAPISTS CHAFTER 0870-01
AND ESTABLISHMENTS

{Rule 0870-01-.05, cantinued)

(b}t -he requiremants-of paragraph{Brand-subparagraph {a}are-continuing-ones-and-must
be-updated-within-thiky- (30} days-efany-change:

(& —Except-for-applicants-whe--ara-corporalions-deing-business-in-Tennessee —every-applicant
shail-have-submitleddo-the Board-Adminisirativa-DHice-evidence-of good-moral-charasies.
Sugh-gvidence- shall-consist-of -two- [} vecent-puithin-the-precading-12--monihe)--orginal
latters-allestingto-the-applicantspersonalcharasterand-professional-athics-

{#—-tpplicantewho-are-corporations-doing business.inJennessesshallcubmit a-certified copy of
&n&m@@aﬂm%&hmmmamwnmmswm&a -statament-identitying the
sorporations-sadislared-agentinrsendse-ol prosess:

{8}—An-applicant-shall-disclose-the-clroumstances-surrounding-any-of-the following-conceming

almseltand-al-ndividuals-idenliied-by-the-infosmalion-provided-pursuaniio-parageaph-45)-of
ihis-rle: )

{a}—Gonviction-of -any-criminaloffense—ol any-couptny-siale-er-munisipality-sxsept -miner
traffic offensas, conviclion-for any-sexuval-related-eHferss—and sanvictionforprosiitution
or-sexdal-misconduct-offenses—A—sonviction-for-prostitution-or-sekual-miscondugt
offenses-shall-disqualify-an-applicant from-receiving a Hoanse A convislion-fora-felony
vndsrthelaws- ol Tenncsses-may-disgualiv- anapplicantfrom-receiving a-ficense

{b}—The-denial-of-profsssionaHicersure/sadification-application-by-any other state or the
discipline-oHisenswrel-cerificallon-in-any atats.

{5}—Ltoss-orresidelionof-iconsureioariification.

{d}—Any-eivil-suit-fudgment-or—eivil-suit-seilementin—which-the applicant-was—a—party
- defendant-lncluding—withoul-limitallon.—aslions--involving-malpractice— breach--oaf

sonirack--antitrust-astivity--or-any- other—civil-action—remedy recognized underthe
sountrye-orsiale’s siatulon common-orease-Jaw-

{9)--—-An-applicant-shall cause to-be-submittedio-the-Boarde-Adminisiralive-Office-directy-from dhe

ng@mﬁe@%%g%:d’m;mmgﬁm—mmmmwwm
baekground shask.

{10)-—An-applicant-shall-submit-he-establishment-gpplicdtiontee-and slate regulalory-feb—as
provided-in-rule-D870-03-08.

4113 When-necessary,-all-required documents shall-be-ranslated Into English-and-such-iransiation
and-erigiral-decumstis-catified as-lo-authenticity- by the lssuing-seurce-Both-versions-must
ba-submiltad.

Mmmmmmnmmmmm

13)—Al--dosumants-subriiled —for-lisensure-. QWEWMMHSM%B—%&&M
Tennessos-and-willnotbe-reburmad-

{14 The application-form-is-not accaptable. if ary portion-has-bean-oxecutad-and-tatad-pror-io
gne-{vearbefore receipt by the-Board Adminishalhe Office.

{15)-—An-establishment-licsnse—may-be-donied,-conditioned.—astristedand/or-disciplined-for-the
same-causes-and-pursuant-t-the same-procedires-as-a-assage-herapists licanss.

{18--Application-review-anddiesnsurg-desisions-shall-be governed by rue 8870-01-07.
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GENERAL RULES GOVERNING LICENSED MASSAGE THERAPISTS GCHAPTER 0870-01
AND ESTABLISHMENTS

{Rule 0870-01-.05, continued)

0870-01-05 Esfablishment Licensure Process. Any massage therapy establishment, unless exempted

by any provision of T.CA. § 83-18-110, must be Jicensed by the Board. The process for obiaining a

license is as follows:

(1

An_applicant shall respond fruthiully and completely to svery guestion or reguest for

{2)

information contained in the application form, The applicant shall submit the anolication
along with all required dosumentation and fees 1o the Board Adminisicative Office. It is
the intent of this rule that actvities necessary to accomplish the filing of the requirad

documentation be completed prior to Rling ap appliication and that all documentation be
filed as close to simultaneously as possihle.

"Applicant,” for purpeses of this rule shall mean the person under whose name the

(3)

massage establishment shall be licensed. The applicant need not be licensed as a
massage therapist, However, all persons  who provide massage therapy on the
premises must be licensed  pursuant to rule 0B70-01-.04. Failure to comply with this
provision may result in the denial of revocation of the establishment canse.

Except for applicants who are corporations deing business in Tennesses, every applicant

{41

shall submit a copy of hisffier birth cedificale or its equivalent which ingicates that the
applicant is at least eighteen {18) years of age at the time of application. Applicants who
are not gilizens of the United States or whose birth certificates reflect that they were not
born in the United States shall submit prooi of their immigration siatus demaonsirating
their right to Hve and waork in the United States.

Except for applicants who are corporations doing business In Ternessae, avery applicant

{5

siall submit to the Board Administrative Office, evidence of good moral character, Such
avidence shall consist of two {2} recent {within the preceding 12 months) priginal signad
and dated ietters altesting 1o the applicant's personal character and professional ethics.

Applicants who ara not licensed as massage therapists in Tennesses shall submit proof

{61

that they have completed at least two {21 hours of education In Tennesses Law relating to
massage therapy, These courses must be approved by the Board,

Applicants who are corporations doing business in Tennessee shall submit a cooy of thair

!

vorporale charter and shall submit 8 statement identilving the corporation's reaistered .
agent for service of process,

An__applicant _shail disclose the circumstances surrounding any of the foliowing

concerning himself,

(&) Conviction of any criminal offense (except minor traffic offenses) of any country,
state or municipalily, including without limitation conviction for prostilution or any
sexual misconduct offense. A conviction for prostitution or sexual misconduct
offenses shall disgualify an applicant from recelving a license. A conviction for a

felony under the laws of Tennessee may disqualify an applicant from receiving a
license,

[19)] The denial of professional lisensureicertification by any other stale or the
discipline of licensure/ cerlification in_any stale.

(4] Loss of restriction of kcensurefcdriification,
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GENERAL RULES GOVERNING LICENSED MASSAGE THERAPISTS GHAPTER 0870-D1
AMD ESTABLISHMENTS

{Rule 0870-01-.05, continued)

{d) Any civil sbit judgment or civil sult seftiement in which ihe appiicant was a parly
defendant for any aclions involving malpractice, negligence, and/or fraud.

(8) An applicant shall cause 1o be submilled to the Board Adminishkiative Office directiv from

the vendey identified in the Board's licensure application matesials, the result of s crimingy
background check.

{8) An applicant shall submit the establishment application fee and state reguiatery fee as
provided in rule 0870-01- 06

{10} When necessary, sl required documents shall be transialed into English and such
transiation and original documents cerdified ag to authenticity by the issuing source. Both
versions must be submitted to the Board's administralor.

11 All applications shall be sworn to and signed by the apolicant and notarized.

{123 All documants submitled for licensure purposes Become he property of the Siate of
Tennessees and will not be réturned,

{3y The aoplication form and all required dogurments must be dated no more than ong (1)
year before recsipt by the Board Administrative Office,

{14) An establishment license may be denied, condilionad, restricted and/or distipiined for ihe
same cayuses and pursuant to the same procedures as a Imassage therapist's license,

{15} Application review ang licensure decisions shall be governed by fule 0870-01-07.

Authority: T.CA. §§4-5-202, 4-5-204, 63-18-104, 63-18-105, 63-18-108, and 63-18-111.
Administrative History: Original rule filed November 26, 1996; effective February 8, 1987. Amendmen!
filed November 12, 1999; effective January 26, 2000. Amendment filed July 25, 2002; effective Oclober
8 2002, Amendmenf filed June 15, 2004; effactive August 29, 2004. Amendment flled Dacember 29,
2004; effective March 14, 2005. Amendments fited March 24, 20086; effective June 7, 2006. Amandment
filsd June 16, 2006; effective August 30, 2006. Amendment filed February 2, 2007, effective April 18,
2007. '

Ga870-01-06 FEES.

(1} The fees authorized to be established by the Board and necessary to the operation of the
Board are established as follows;

{a) Individual Application Fee - A non-tefundable fee to be paid by all applicants for a
massage therapist's license including those seeking licanisure by reciprocity, This fea
includes an initial ficensure fee and the state regulatory fee. In cases where an
applicant is denied licensure or the application file ¢loses due to abandonment, obly the
initial licensure fee will be refundable upon request. The state regulatory fee is not
refundable.

{b) Establishment Application Fee - A non-refundabie fee to be paid by all applicants who
wish to license a massage establishrient. This fee includes an initial licensuré fee and
the state regulatory fee. In cases where an applicant is denied licensure or the
application file closes dus to abandonment, only the initial licensure fee will be
refundable upon request. The siate regutatory fee Is not refundable.
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GENERAL RULES GOVERNING LICENSED MASSAGE THERAPISTS CHAPTER 0870-01
AND ESTABLISHMENTS

{Rule 0870-01-.08, continued)

{c) Biennial Licensure Renewal Fee - A non-refundable fee to be paid prior to the issuance
of the renewal cerlificate. This fee must be received on or before the expiration date of
the license.

(d) Initial License Fee - A fee to be paid at the time of appiication for initial licensure,

(e) Late Renewal Fee - A non-refundable fee to be paid when a licensee fails to renew on
or hefore the license's expiration date. This is an additional fee which must he
submitted with the bienniai licensure renewal fee and state regulatory fee.

(f  Replacement License Fee - A non-refundable fee to be paid when an individual’
requests a replacement for a lost or destroyed "artistically designed” wall license or
renewal certificate, or when a licensed massage establishment requests a change of
name and/or address, pursuant to rule 0870-01-.15 (3).

(g) State Regulatory Fee - A non-refundable fee to be paid by all individuals at the time of
application and with all renewal applications.

(h) A reinspection fee is a nonrefundable fee to be paid by an establishment when an
establishment does not pass inspection, fails to schedule an inspection, does not
appear for a scheduled inspection, or moves to a new location requiring an inspection
of the new establishment.

{i) A continuing educalion course approval fee is a nonrefundable fee to be paid by a
continuing education course provider upon the submission of a continuing education
curriculum to be approved by the Board sach continuing education cycle.

(2) Fee Schedule: : Amount

{a) Individual application fees shall include the following:

1. Applicationfee.................... ... 585,00
2. Initial icensure fee...........oco. e . 518500
3. Statereguiatoryfee....................... ... .. 34000
Total application fees due upon submission of an application... ...........$280.00
(b)  Establishment application fees shall include the following:
1. Applicationfee..................i ... 395,00
2. Initial ficensure fee..................oc i e, . $120.00
3. Stateregulatoryfee...................... . 310,00
Total application fees due upon submission of an application...............$225.00

{c) Individual biennial licensure renewal fee........._................................$185.00

(d) Establishment biennial licensure renewalfee......................co.ccooee ... 313500

(8) LateRenewalFee................... ... $100.00
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GENERAL RULES GOVERNING LICENSED MASSAGE THERAPISTS CHAPTER 0870-01
AND ESTABLISHMENTS

(Rule 0870-01-.06, continued)
{H ReplacementLicense Fee.. ... -2, 325,00

{g) State Regulatory {blennial}..................... .o e W 310,00

{h) Reinspection fee

1. due to a failed inspection or for a failure to allow or to appear for
NSPECHON... o e e $110.00

2. due lo a change of address because of moving o a new
FOCARUION. ... e e e e e e e e i e . 31356.00

(i) Continuing education course approval fee......... ..o e omvevree e senreer...$100.00

{per course)

{3) Fees may be paid in the following manner:

(@) All fees paid by money order, cerified, personal, or corporate check must be submitted

to the Board's Administrative Office and made payable to the Tennessee Massage
Licensure Board.

{b) Fees may be paid by Division-approved credit cards or other Division-approved
electronic methods.

Authority: T.C.A. §§4-3-1011, 4-5-202, 4-5-204, 63-1-103,_63-1-104, 63-1-107, 63-1-108, 63-1-1 12, 63-
18-104, 63-18-105, 63-18-106,_£3-18-105, and 83-18-111. Administrative History: Qriginal rule filed
March 25, 19986; effective June 8, 1996. Repeal and new rule filed November 13, 1996, effectiva January
27, 1997. Amendment filed August 10, 1899; effective Oclober 24, 1999, Amendment filed July 31,
2000; effactive October 14, 2000. Amendment filed November 14, 2000; effecfive January 29, 2001.
Amendment filed July 25, 2002; effective October 8, 2002. Amendment filed Seplembsr 17, 2002;
effective December 1, 2002. Amendment filed December 29, 2004, effective March 14, 2005
Amendment filed March 24, 2008; effactive June 7, 2006. Amendment filed June 16, 2006; effective

August 30, 2006. Amendment fited April 9, 2009, effective. June 23, 2009. Amendments filed April 9,
2009; eiffective June 23, 2009,

GR7O-01- 07 ARPLIDATION REVIEW. ARPROVAL AND DEMNIAL.

PTM%MM%&MM%Q&B%WWB&EWB%&@LMM
and-the. g%%ggmmuummmwmmm ity . se-initial

Mmm%@d—p&mnﬂe—tﬁ& imtiai determinalisn-made-by-the-Board member-of

W%m%ﬁ@%wgm&mmmwmwamﬂmﬁwm@mmm
shall-notbegome-fully-elffociive-uniit sush-time-as- the full Board ralifissit-

(- Ji-an-application-s-ihcomplate- meww_wmmmmmwm 306
Wmmmmw@m_mwmwwa ighee-detetmines—additiohal
informadion-is- mgm%mmymmmmmammm
mmwmmmeM&appnmf ~th&—mffermaﬂan— pguired—The
appllm%shaltgauseé&&@qua@mdm ;}ferm &by by-the-Boawd-Adininistrative
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GENERAL RULES GOVERNING LICENSED MASSAGE THERAPISTS CHAPTER 0870-01
AND ESTABLISHMENTS

{Rule 0870-01-.07, continued)

{ar—Sush-notifications—shall-be-santcerified-mallreturn reneiphregquesied- from-the-Bearg
Administrative-Office.

th}--—l-the-requosiod-information-is nol-dimaly.rocaived.the-application-shall- be-closed-and
the-applicant-notified—MNo-lurheBoard-astion-shall-take-place-until-a-new-apslication-is

raceived-pursuant-lo--the--nias-governing - the-liconsure process—insiuding -another
payment-ofail-faes,

{4:‘,}-m-4§-~a—-m;;teied_ap{aﬁsai%aﬁ--i&%a&ﬁaﬂy—iﬁe‘m%:;L%ayAiheurewewiag~-8@8¥dmm&;m...ga~&h&-éﬁgamis
Consultant-ordosignae-the-applicant-shal-be-informed-oi thal-intlial-deeision and-that final

detemmnination-shall-ba-made-by-he-Board.atb-is-nextmeeting- 1t ie-Beard-atifios-the niial
daniathe-aclion-shall besomadinal-and the-following shall neeur:

{a—A-notification-obthe-denialshall- be sent by the Bogrd Administrali
mal-relur-receipt-raquested - Seaciic-reasens-for--dunlal-will-be-plated, msuc-hw
incemplete—infermation—uneiiicial recorde—oxamination—fallute,-or - math

insutficient-fer-certification, -and-such-notifisation-shail-conlain-all-the-spacific-stalulony
orrule-sutborlies for-the-denial

%Mgma&%@l%—%ﬁm%ﬁ%ﬂ@@h&ap&ms
Aght-to-raquest-a—sontesied--case-hearing—under-the-Tonnesses-Administrative

Rrocedure-Ast-{T-6.A-§§- 4-5-101--0t-seq.)}-to-sonisst-tha-denial and- 4%;&«;;?@%144;;8
necasean-lo-acsemplish-thal- action.

+——Aa-applicant-has-a-tightloa-conlested-sase-hearingonly-ifthe licensure-danial
was-based-on-subjostive-ordiseretionary-sriteria.

2—An-applicant-may-be-granted—a-sontested-casa-hearingi-eonsura-denial-is
based-on-an-ebjeclive-cleary-defined-atitera-only it aliec revisw-and-attempted
resoltion-by-the-Board's-Administrative-staff the licepsura-appliication-cannotbo .

approved-and-the-reasons-for-continuad-denial-presont-a-genuire-issus-obfact
shdiarlawwhish-is-apprepriate-for-appeal:

{5} Tha-initial-determinalion-prosadures-el-this-rule-will-not-apply-if-the-full-Beard reviews-and
makes-final-delerminalion-ondhe-appication-duing its-mestings.

{8)—Any-applicant-who-has-sucsessiully complied with-all requirements ol ihe rulss-governing the
licarsurs-process-shall-bo-entitied-to-is-issuance-with-the fpllowing-exceplions:

{a)l—-—Applisanis—wio-by-vittue-{o--any -crteria-in-the-area-ol-mental-physical-meral-or
WWMMWWW%&WMM@
indisglas-a-polsntal-rsk-to-the-public-haglih -sofely-and-weita quirad-io
prasent-themsoives-io-dhe-Bogrd-orsalepted- membeﬂs}aiéhe@am@immtew&w
bafore final-approvalysay-be.graniad.

{B)The-issuance-ot-ihe-loanse-applied. formay-be-withbeld resiticled -or-conditiored-far

violalion-of-the-provisions-of T.C-A-§ 63-18-108-and-anyrules-promulgated pursuant
therate-or-failure-to fully-comply-with-all applicatinnasguitaments.

{Iémmmaﬁawnﬁnféawwwmwwmm@m fype-oliicanse-the-Board-will-give-weilten
rotice-by certified-mal-olis-intant-lo-mvoke-the-license-The-notice-wil-allow-the-spplivant
the-opperunity-lo-meet-the-reguirements Jfor-lcenuur- swithin-thiry{30)-days-from-the date-of
raceipt-ofthe notification.-i-the-applisani-doss-not concur-with-the-siated reacen-and-the
intent-o-revoke- the-license,-the-applicant -shal-have the-right-t6-proceed-acsording-lo-rule
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GENERAL RULES GOVERNING LICENSED MASSAGE THERAFISTS CHAPTER 0870-01
AND ESTABLISHMENTS

(Rule 0870-01-.07, continued)
{B—Abandonmani-olApplization
{a)-—Fhe—Beards—Administraleris—authorized o deem—an—application—closad—by
abardonment—-on-raguire-updatad-dosumentation—if-the-applisation-has-not-besn

camplated by the applicant-within-the-timesrequired-by-nilssolthe Board:

T {By——An-application-submitied-subseguant-io-the-dsterminalion-of-abandenment-of-a-prier
applisation-shall-be-teated as-a-pew-gpplication:

{s——-Applications-ihat-gre-deerned-abandoned-willrseuirs-tha-applisant-{o-submit-a-naw
applcalion-now-application-ise—and-all-new suppeding-documsents.

QR70-01- 07 Applicaticn Review, Approval, and Denial.

(1} Completed applications receivad in the Board Administrative Office may be reviewed by
any member of the Board, the Board's consultant, or designee for initlal determinatlion,
An initial deferminalion as io acceptance or denjal of the application shall be made prior
to the end df the menth in which the application is received. Each member of the Board

and the Board's consultant or designee is vesied with the authorily o make these inltigl
daterminations.

(2} A femporary aulhorzation may be issyed pursuant 1o the initial approval determination
made by the Board membar or the Board's consulianl or designee reviewing the

application.  However, such determination shall not become fully effective unlil such time
as the full Board rafifies i,

{2} i an application is incompiete when received by the Board Administrative Office, or the
reviewing Board member or the Board's consultant or desianee determines additiona!
information is required from an abplicant before an initial detsrmination ¢an be made, the
Board Administralive Office shalt nolify the applicant of the information required. The
applicant _shall_cause the requested information fo be received by the Board
Adminigirative office on of before the ssxiv fifth {85th] dav gfter the date of notification

{al If the information is not received in a timely mannaer, then no {urther action shall

lake place untll a new application is recelved pursuant 1o the rules governing the
ICENSUre PIoGEss.

(4} In rder for an_application to be scheduled for review by the Board at a board meeting, all
required documentation must be completed and submittad to the Board's Adminisirative
Office at least fifteen (15} days prior to the board meeting,

decist on amj the foltaw;na shali otCUr:

{a) A nolification of the denial shait be sent to the appiicant by ihe Board
Administrative Office by certified mail return receipt requasted which shall contain
the reasons for the denial and  the specific statutory or nile authoriliss for the
denial,

{b) The nofification, when appropriate, shall_also coniain a statement of the
applicant's right to request a contested case hearing uhdar the Tennessee
Adminisirative Procedures Act (1T.C.A. &8 4-5-101,_et sed.} to contest the denial
and the procedures necessary to actomplish that action.
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GENERAL RULES GOVERNING LICENSED MASSAGE THERAPISTS CHAPTER 0870-01
AND ESTABLISHMENTS

{Rule 0870-01-.07, continued)

1. An applicant has a rght o a conlested case hearing only if the licensure
denial was based on subjeclive or discrelionary criteria and anly if the
request for a contesiad case hearing is made In writing within thirtty (30
days of the receipt of the denial notification.

2. An applicant may be granted a conlested case hearing ¥ licensure denial
s _based on an objective_ clearly defined crileria onl y If after review and
attemplted resglution by the Board’s Administralive stafi the licensure
appitcation cannot_be approved and the reasons for continuad danial
present a genuine issue of fagl andfor faw which is appropriate for
anpasai

(63 Any applicant who has stuccassfully complied with all requiraments of the rulas govarning
the licensure process shall be entitled to ils issuance with the following excepiions:

{a} Applicanis who by virtue of any criteria in the area of menial physical. moral or
educational capabililies, as contained in_the spplication and review process.
which indicates a potential tisk to the public health, safely and welfare may be
1aduired to present themselves to the Board or selected member(s) of the Board
for an interview before final approval may be granted.

[£2] The issuance of the license applied for may be withhald, rastricled or condilioned
for viotation of the provisions of T.C.A. § 63.18-108 and anv rules promulaated
pursuant thereto or failure to fully comply with all applicalion requirements.

{7 if the Board finds jt has erred in the issuance of any type of license. the Board will dive
written notice by cerdified mail of its interd to revoke the license. The notice will allow ihe
applicant the ocprortunily to meet the requirements for licerisure. wilhin thinly {30} days
from the dete of receipt of the nolification. If the applicant does not concur with e stated

raasan and the intent to revoke the ficense, the applicant shall have the right io proceed
accorqu to 1ol 0B70-01- 07(5)1(by.

Authority: T.C.A, §§4-5-102(3}, 4-5-202, 4-5-204,_63-1-142. 63-18-104, 63-18-105, 63-18-108, 63-18-
109, 63-18-111, and 63-18-112. Administrative History: Qriginal rule filed November 13, 1998,
effactive January 27, 1997. Amendment filed June 15, 2004; effective August 29, 2004. Amendment
filed March 24, 20086; effective June 7, 2006, Amendment filed June 16, 2906 effective August 30, 2008.
Amendimient fﬂed May 10, 2007, effactive July 24, 2007.

{H—Wilh-the-oxcaplion-of applicanis-qualifying pursuant-to-Rule-0870-03-04 {3} tm) 2-ll}-or-Rule
Qﬂ?@-@%&ﬁ—pﬁmamnte&émg%aap%feﬁieemr&mﬁ-smss&uﬁymmgﬁe&a@%%
ofthe-sompetancy-axarinalions-adopled byihsusgard«pummmmﬁie%a—pmmame
Mm%awahw&m@mem&@wﬁwwmﬁw%@?@mum
«BG&YMR)W&#B&#B—QWG&Q&—BM&W%G&% p;eeesswtaimdm%s—@mﬁﬂ-

{2)-—Gompatancy-Examinalion-—The-Board-accepts-sucoessful-complation,-as-determined by the
axarining-agensy-oi-any-one { Bofthe following examinations:

(a—The—M-C-B-LMB s—andior-ts—slccossor—organization’s—Mational—Cerifieation
Examination.—Appiisation--for--proof- -si-having-suctessiully—completed--a-massage;
bodywoark—andiorsomatic-{therapy-curdsulumisl-as-provided-in-subparagraph D870-81-
-Q-d—{%——{?},—and—faaﬁ neseesawiwakﬁihswamwmgam@ammw&—be
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(Rute 0870-01-.07, continued)

{)—Apy-otbar-Board-aspproved sxammatran ~»ﬁ5«QpE€Ga§GF§~fGF«»]3¥GGf -of-having-successiully
sompleted-a-massage body rapy-surfetlum{sl-as-provided-in
subparagraph-H870-04-04-{1 }m{-i} -and- feaswna{:essaﬁymm take—a-Heard-approved
axamination-must-be-sentlosuch-exam's-losling-agensy-and notlo- the Boad:

0870-01-08  Examination.

{1

With the sxcepiion of applicants qualifving for reciprocity licensuie pursuant to Rule D870-01-

(2}

L4{1Hm), ol persons inlending to apply for licensure must successfully complele one (43 of
ihe competency exarminations adaopled by the Board pursuant lo this Rule as a prergquisite to
icensure. Such sxaminations must be compiated prior to application for Heensura. Evidence
of suceassiul completion must be submitted directly by _the examining agency to the Board
Adminisirative Office as part of the application process contained in Rule 0870-01-.04.

Competency Examination — Through January 1, 2012, the Board will accept sugcessiul

3)

completion, as defermined by the examining agency, of any one {1) of the following
gxaminations;

{a} _The NCBTMB's andior its successor organization's Nationsl Certification Examination
for Therapeutic Massage (NCETMY: or

(bl The NCBTIMB's andior s successor organization's. Netional Cedification for
Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork (NCETME): or

(¢} The NCBTMB's andior its successor organization's National Examination for State
Licensing INESLY. or

{d  The FSMTB's Massage and Bodywork Licensing Examination (MBLEX): or

i@}  Any other Board-approved examination.

Effective January 2, 2012, ihe exclusive competency examination accepted by the Boarg

shall be the FSMTB's and/or #is suteessor organization's Massage and Bodywork Licensing
Examination (MBLEX).

Authority: T.C.A. §§4-5-202, 4-5-204, 63-18-104, 63-18-105, 63-18-114, 63-18-112, and 63-18-1186.
Administrative History: Original rufe filed April 17, 2003; effective July 1, 2003. Amendment filed
March 24, 2006; effective June 7, 2006, Amendment filed June 18, 2006; effective August 30, 20086,
Amendmerit filed May 10, 2007; effective July 24, 2007.

0870-01-.09 LICENSURE RENEWAL. All licensed massage therapists and massage establishments

must biennially renew their licenses to be able to legally coniinue in praclice,. Licensure renewal is
governed by the following:

H}-—Fenswsl-applicalion

fa}— Theﬂua#at&fm eamf;aaiﬁm -renawa? J&-the- ias% day ai thskmant*a i whlsh & E;ﬁemea»s

axg&mﬁswatwmt%&mﬂews s‘aemi@gat&
{b—Mesihodsof Renewal

—intarnel Renewale —Individuals-may apply-for repewal-and pay-the-tecessay
feps-vig-the-ntemet—The applicalion-do-renew-can-bu-acosssed-at:
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wysptannessesanytime oy

e Paper-Renewals—For individuals-who-havehol renewed-their iicense-onlinavia

the-internel; -a renswal applicationform will- be-malled-fo-eachindividual icensad
by-{he-Board-16-1he-laet-address provided-to-the Board—Fallure-lo-retelve-such

nobification-deas-not-relieve- ‘he-licensea-from-the-rosponsibiity-ot-maeting-all
requiremenis-lorrenawnl.

bt -a-liconseemust-submiito-the-Division-op-or-bafare the
expu:aﬂ@rwais all-6fthe follewing:

+——Asomplalad-and sighed-renaowalapplisationtorm; and
2——Therenewal-and-stateregulatory fees-as-provided-in.ruls HB70-04-06-

ta—tloensees-who-fail-to-comply-with-the-renewal-ndes-or-notificalion-racelved by them

songerning-fallure-to-timely rensw-shall-have-theirlicenses processed-pursuant-to-rule
4200-10-4-140-

&) —Anyena.-submitling—a-signed--ranawal-ferm-or Jetier—which-is—found to—be-untrue—is
subjectio-disciplinary-astion-puduantlo T-0-A-5-63-18-108.

(&)} —Reinstatement-ot-an-Expired-Licenso—Reinstatement-ofl-a-license-thal-hos-expired-may-be
agcomplished-upon-mesling-the-following sonditions:

m@mmmmpagpear—be#amam submit-a-notarized statement
set%mgwfﬁﬁh the-causs-for-faliure-to-renpw; and

tb}- - Paymentolallpastdue renswal-and the late renewal fees-and
{&)y—Submission—of-prooct-olcompliance- with-continuing--sducation-regquirements—ofrule

(3) Renewal issuance decisions pursuant fo this rule may be made administratively, or upon
review by the Board or the Board’s consultant.

(4) No appfication for renewal of an establishment license or reinstatement of an exp;red

establishment license shall be considered unless the establishment has passed its most
recent inspection.

{1 Renewal application

{a) The due date for license renewal is sel by tha Division's biennial alterpative

interval renewsl sysfem. The duz date Is containgd on the renewal document as
the expiration date.

(b Methods of Renewat

1. Intemel Renswals - Individuals may_apply for renewal and pay the
nevessary Tees via the inlernel.  The internet renswal method s not
available o establishments.

2. Paper Renswals - For individuals who bave not renewed their license
onling via the Internet, a renewat application form will be mailed to each
individual licensed by the Board o the last address provided to the
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Board, Falure to receive such notification does nol relieve the licensee
from the responsibility of meeling all requirements for renawal

{c) To be eligible for renewal a licenses must submit to the Division, on or before the
expiration date, all of the following;
1. A completed and signed renewal application form; and
2, The renewal and state requlalory fess as provided in sule 0870-01-.08.
(i} Licenses which are nol renewed withisn sixty {60) days of the expiralion of the

Heense shall be administratively revaked, without further notice or opportunity for
hearing 2% provided in T.C A § 63-1-107(c). _Reinstalernent may be sought
pursuant to paragraph (23 of this rule,

i2) _ Anyone submitiing & sioned renewal form or letter which is found le be unjiue is
subject to disciplinary action pursuant to T.C.A § 83-18-108.
{2 Reinstaiement of an Expired License - Reinstaterent of » license that has expired may
ba allowed. at the discretion of the Board, upon meeting the following conditions:
{=) Submission of a statement setiing forth the cause for failure ta rensw, and
M Payment ¢f the late renewal fee and all past due renewal fees that accrued while

the license was in an expired! administrativelv revoked staius; and

{c} Submission of proof of compliance with the continuing educalion requirements of
rule O870-01-12.

Authority: T.C.A. §§4-5-202, 4-5-204, 63-1-107, 3-18-104, 63-18-106, and 63-18-111. Administrative
History: Original rule filed November 13, 1996, effective January 27, 1997. Amendment filed July 31,
2000; effective Qctober 14, 2000. Amendment filed July 25, 2002, effective October 8 2002.

Amendment filed March 24, 2006, effective June 7, 2006, Amendment filed June 16, 2008; effective
August 30, 2006.

0870-01-10 REPEALED.

Authority: T.CA. §§4-5-202, 4-5-204, 63-18-104, and 63-18-111. Administrative History: Original
rulo filed November 13, 1996; effeclive January 27, 1997. Amendment filed March 24, 2008; effeclive
Juns 7, 2006. Repeal filed June 16, 2006; sffective August 30, 2006.

£870-01-11 RETIREMENT, REINSTATEMENT, INACTIVATION, AND REAGTIVATION OF
LICENSURE.

(1) Licensees who wish to retain their licenses but not actively practice may avoid compliance
with the licensure renewal precess and continuing education requirements by daing the
following:

{a} Oblain from, complete and submit to the Board Administrative Office an affidavit of
retirament form.

{b) Submit any documentation which may be required by the form to the Board
Administrative Office.

(2) Any licensee whose individual license has been relired may reenter active practice by deing
ihe foltowing:
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(Rule 0870-01-.11, continuad)

(3)

{4)

(8)

(@)  Submit a reinstatement application to the Board Administrative Office; and
(h)  Pay the licensure renewal fee and state regulatory fee as provided in rule 0870-01-.05,
{5 ) lf—naquss{ed?_aﬂewwiew—b%&&aa%d-a--—dssigﬁamd_-&;a;d»membai’---a;rA~the-Eeard

sonsuitant-appear-bolorethe-Board-a-Board-member-orthe-Board-consultant foran
'mtewiaw-;ega;éing%méauemeempeieﬂ_@e~~~énm-‘tha‘--~evsnt~—ai4meﬂsuM%%mn%m

{c} in_the svent of licensure refirement or inactivation in excess of two {21 vears,
anpear_before the Hoard for an intarview regarding_continued comipelence i
raquestad. ’

{d) Comply with the continuing education provisions of rule 0870-01-.12 applicable to
reactivation of retired licenses.

Establishments that wish to retain their licenses but not operate as an establishment may
avoid compliance with the licensure renewal process requirements by doing the foliowing:

(a) Obtain from, complete and submit to the Board Administrative QOffice a request for
establishment inactivation form,

(b} Submit any documentation which may be required by the form to the Board
Administrative Office.

Any esiablishment whose license has been placed in inactive status may activale such
license by doing the following:

(@)  Submit a reactivation application to the Board Administrative Office; and

(b} Pay the establishment biennial licensure renewal fee and state regulatory fee as
provided in rule 0870-01-.06, and

{(c)  No application fer reactivation of an establishment license shall be considered uniess
the establishment has passed its most recent inspection.

Application review and decisions required by this rule shall be governed by rule 0870-01-,07.

Authority: T.C.A. §§4-5-202, 4-5-204, 63-1-111, 63-18-104, 63-18-106, and 63-18-111. Administrative
History: Original rufe filed November 13, 1996; effective January 27, 1997. Amendment filed July 31,
2000; effective October 14, 2000, Amendment filsd Oclober 4, 2004; effective Dacember 18, 2004.

Amandment fifed March 24, 2006; effactive Juns 7, 2006. Amendment filed June 1 6, 2006; effective
August 30, 2006.

D870-04-12 - CONTINUING -EDUCATION.

{4}-—Massage-Therapy-Conlinuing-Education-issonsidered to-e- hose-proplannadiicnnalized

actvities-with-widllen-leaming-sbjectives-ihat-are dirscled-at-developing-and-onhancing an
individuals-massage-tharapy knowladge base-orrelevant-skills-Except-for-courses offersd
twmuhamu#smm-m@uma@gmp#w&mmﬁ%—m%pmmwnaw
{ormat-authorized by subparagraph-{4)-(d}-and partd4)1b)-5.-orented loward snhanrsement of
masgage-thorapy-and-forthe-purpese-ofaccomplishing spac +abloslives.

{2}—Continuing-Edusation— Howrs-Reguirsd
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{Rule 0870-01-.12, continued)

{a}—Lpurses-io-he-offered- f@r—mwpm%m@wu%mtmumg%%m—hm
anlgss-olhenvise-provided recelve-approval-from-the-Board-

{hTwo-{Dyaarcysles:
G dBREN-1-2003-10-Decamber 34,2604

2 antian-4,-2005 46-Decembes31- 2008
& danbaned 2007 40-Decambear34- 2008
B ariany 42008 t0-Docamber-34,- 2048
S danvary 32004 do Decamber-31, 2042

F—Januany-1 2015 to-Decamber 34,2016

age-therapistaflerJanvar—1-2003will

haua—hwuhsmsqmmd @ntmmgaﬁumMmmmmmMWa
subparagraph-{11-{d}—over-the-remaining months-ol-the coplinuing-educalion-syste-in
whaa#ﬁewmb%amed@ammmwmmmm
| ctain-one. (1) ant onslbwenty fousth (/243 houra
igmuerymthammamm«m-me agn&mmgg -stiucation-oysle-ir-which-he-orshe-became
ae—am#—the—ﬁaai—g

A : eeember—siat—eﬁ&he-ayde-{ﬁe;
axamg&a—a«—pa;ssnwwm«beeemas_heens = :

Hrst-yoar-ot-a. ear}
WMMemmmmmm' .
acember-ofthe following year ragqui 3

hrough-D mg-ma-peﬁsaﬂ—meh%am—'z&aaé—ﬁ%%
of-continuing education-{reunded up-to-18-hours)-which-are-dus-on-December 31" of
thaéeﬂawagqeap}w&vepgpam&%smn%pumnﬂe&ww@&y&tw

sub;agta' ” ir@d- bgbﬂarag:apha{:z—)-{s}-agd% Vo and @i,

{dy—Naw-Lisensee—Fro-RationGChar - Peérsans.- wh&«@e@emwsmeémw#& «hava»—the#
yequired-contipuing-education-hows pro-ialed-
year gycie-in-which-thoy-becoms-licensad-according M&feﬁwamn

Fablaan——— 24— FaBilany- — 3
—Margh s 23 - NAAFGH 44
Y. 29 ~ il A0

£ ‘rli EES I-- 7 _l?_ITl" lg

~May— 21 May -8
—due 20 Sung 8
ot 18 Juby 7
e BligHEE 48 August )
—Saplomber 1.7 Suplembes 5
~—ploher 18 Gslober 4
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{Rule 0870-01-.12, continued)
—plovambar 15 Naovember -4
—Dacembar 14 Becembetr— 8o 4

{@)——dwe-{2}-hours—ol-the-twenly-five-{26}-hourrequirement-shall-pedain-to-fatderaland
Fonpessec—siaiutes—and—rules-ca

neerning-massage-therapisis—and -establishmenis.
Rroviders-must-comply-with-all the-follewing-befers-the-course-can-be presanted:

Yyt 0 Provider-must-submit-the-course-malerials forroview-and-approval pursuant
1o-subparsgraph{dH{e) ol this rule--and

" Z——Tha- shurse-including-multi-media-courses,-must-be-presented in-aegiure-forrmat

WM&MMWMWWM&&W@
matenal-relention:and

3—TFhe-provider-must-submit-dosumentation-sutficient to-show that the information
to-be-disseminated-in-thecourse-is-assurate-and-current-and-is-In-compliance
with-paragraph-{1}-and-subpatagraph-(4)-{e)otihis ruls.

M%mﬂ%m&%@%&w#@m%aﬂyeﬂm@hemmg@mm
efpre@ye&wassag& therapy.-or-to-professional-ethics-or-fo-subsiance abuse.

;equtmd—@:o-@qsa;—hauﬂy&e@a&—;eg;%&s&—e f
attended-orcompleted-by-any-individual licensss;

{3}—Gentinuing-Edusation Rreckof Cermpliancs

(&) The-due-dats for atlendance-and-complation-of the required-continuing-education-hours
SNy

@«%mmgmhmxstwusbgmwwmemmﬂe&wm
a%nﬁamand%amgi&&enﬁéhmeqmmmlﬂamg sdusation hours:

m@mmm&mgﬁ@%ﬂm%m@um@#&ww@aﬁwm

4} —-Gontinuing-Edudation--Courés-Approval

M&M%WMM%M%MW&WWW@H%@G?
uploss-otherwise-provided; receive-app

{h—The-following

Egar@appms{iw%numg-efémaamsma& |
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{Rule 0870-01-.12, continued)
(i} the-provider-must-submit-the-course-muaterals-forthose howrs-for-roview
and-approval-pursuantio-subparagraph-(4}-ie)-ofthis-rule;-and

Hi—These-howrs—insluding—mull-media-courses,-must-be—presemed-in-—a
lecture—{ormeat-with- suscessiul-completion-of -a-writter—post--experience
examination-fo-svaluate materialstenticnand

{i}——Fhe—provider—must-—submit-dosumentation—sufficient-{o-showthat the
slormationto-be-disseminated-in-those-hours-is-aceurate-and-surrent-and
is-in-compliance-with-paragraphe {1} and subparagraph{4)-{a}-of this-rule.

{h}—The-provider-shall-submit-the—continuing-education-course-approval-fee
sstablished-in-rule-0870-01-08(23-

- ——Golleges-oruniversities-accredited-by-the United-States-Deparimeant- of Education
as-descrbed-in-parmgraph-{i).

8 Fomnalbeducational-coursesrelating dirsellyto plication
_ massage%erapwpensereémbyawa%méaleémaeiiagsienwem&y-ep—msamgas
approved-by-the-Tennessee-Higher-Educatian-Commission, Board-oi-Ragenls-or
Hs-equivalant-in-another-statels)—H-such-course-is-lakenJor-orascigned-guarier
or-samester 6!’%{«&8&%—4@?&6—{3) -samester-hours-or-equivalent-quarter-hours
ni-to-fifleen{15)-continuing-sducalion-howrs —Ne-sradits will-be

countad-for. sourses{allad.

T—fenrasese Massage-Therapy-Assosiation:

approvel-purspant o
W%{%—@—M ] W&-%he—saaﬁ%maﬁequesi—aaaﬂ—apwmpay

M%@y&wwih&pmmd er—ssiae@uia&éate—eﬁhe—wm

$——TFhe-wrilten-leaming-objectives of the.course:

4 Briefresums-ofal-lecturers-including-experence-or-training-in-tho-subijpst-matier
belag-taughl:

Femmemophon-of-materdals-to-be-ulilized-in-the-course.

£ Howveriication-of allendance-is-to-be-dosumentad.
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{Rule 0870-01-.12, continued)

{ady individual- licensaes-may-recpive-conlinuing-education-credit-for-coursas-prosentad-oul
eﬂsiate—wﬁh—iheﬁm@e—subaeqaent-agpmva#—#—%h@eemsms—pmsetﬁe@dmmg -the
sontinuing-educalion-gyois-n- -which-the Jicensee-is-requesiing credit-be appliad;-upon
submitling-the-following to-the-Board-Administrative-DHice:

+——Thewillen-leaming-ebjestives ol the course.
A——Acouse-deseriplion-or-outine:
3—Mames-olfallechurers.
4-——Numbetr-othours-of aducational creditrequested.
FFha-couse providers-telephons-mumber

8—The-couwse provider s—pra@fmteé«bfeahum—-ageaéa—sf—eﬂmmeg&s-whm _
descrbe-and/or adverise-the-course.

Ao el i sesssfub-comalatio iORes
sxmsa%mn ta—a%a&aat&mater&al remtémmte—mwmummmda—bmﬁe
nmdmmmwmamﬁemmammwmnmwmm_

&M@WWWWW%MM@%@
examination-to-evaluate-maleral retention.

4o Apycombiiationolthe-above.

ponsor—of--each- conlitning -education-program—shall-keep
éﬁ&aﬂeduﬁesé#dséﬁthe—feligwmg

2. :ﬂ ; s i ! _r «I é‘eﬁ'

3—Aist—of-the senificate—lisense - and-permit-helders-atlending—sash—program
préseniation and

4oPeiition-cutliine-ofthe program-precastation.

(g Each-sponsor-oi-a-gonliniing-aducation—sourse—must-provide—a—cedificateto-each
WWWMWWQWHMHWMW@M
attendance-and-compliance-ef-the-sontinuing-educalion-obl
ng%%aim-&i&emmam&ﬁsemwbeHeﬁMaméamﬂsemiwmg

ﬁm—gsasfa @Wangﬁaedataneﬁeaahpmgmwmmm:p
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(Rule 0870-01-.12, continued)
—Approvat-ot-any-continuing-education-program-may-be-withdrawn-by the-board i -the
sponsar-ot-such-program-alls-to-comply-with the-provisions-ef-this-chapler.
{6} Waiver-ot-Gominung-Education

{a}—The-Boapd-may-grant-a-waiver-of- the-naad-to-attend-and complate-the-required - hours-of
conlinuing-education-if-i-can-be-shown-o-the-Board-that the-fallure-to-comply-was-not

atfributable-to-orwas-beyord-the-physical-capabilities of the-person-secking the-waiver,

b} Waivers-will-be-considered-only-on-an-individual-basis-andmay-be-fequested-by
submitting-thefollowing-temis-{o-the-Board-Adminisitative Olics:

i equiramsnt.-ls-seughtdo be
wawed ané wnitaﬂ aad@gned»axpianawwm ;eas@méxsr—ihamquesi—

2———Any-dosumentation-which-suppers-the reason-for-ihe-walverrequestes-or-which
e-subsequantiyreguested-by-the Beard.

{5} ——-Amver—a;spfeved—bﬁha%wd |&aﬁeaaw~%FenhLme mmwawenmmwwm

-s@sgqueat&aambﬁaﬁﬂéaﬁénf )

£)-—Conlinuing-Edueation{for-Reactivation-or-Reinstatemant-—of Refired, Explred—or-Revoked

{a}) mm msageihe&’a%%&—appﬂes ia&«maaﬁvatm;}@wmta{amenwf-a lsense-which

ed-forfallyreto-complete continuing
eﬁusat;emmu&ameats—fwwaﬂw f &t-subinit-Slong-with-thareadtivation
Mmsmwmnﬁequw—wewlmmiés&swaﬁmdM% -amnd-samplotion-of
twanty-{20)-hours-of-Board approved-massage-therapy-related-continuing-aducdtion:
' 7 ' 5 } It Hm}]s‘ihg}\;@ b \ ’. _' 4 : ged'*ﬁg ‘, :

{b}—The-continuing-edusalion-hours-oblained-as-a-prereguisie-for-licensure-reactivation-or
reinstatement-may-npt-be-counted-toward-the-continuing-aducation-hoursrdguired 1o
bo-oblainad-before-the-end-of the-renewal-period of redotivation-orteinstatomant.

Wﬁm&%ﬁﬁ%&ﬁ%&%&mwﬁm@mﬁw
oithisnie.

{@)—Tha-Board-ls-authorized-to-grantor-denytequesis-forwaivers:
(B—Miolations '

(a)—Apy—massage-—therapist-who—falésly—attests—toaltendanss . _ ,
Mwaéhaurs aiwam%mamg -education-may-be-subjeste- dtss;pimaxsg—amnmm

ho fai wod-continuing sdut
Wbt@&%pi&%@a@a&pwsmu@nm §3-48-408-
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{Rule 0870-01-.12, continued)
{e}—Edusation-hours-oblained -as-a-result-of compliance-with-the-lerms-ol-am-disciplinary
astien-shal-nol-be-counted-- loward -the-sentinuing-education-hours-required--to-ba
obtained-in-anyrenswal perod.

a870-01-12  Continuing Education,

{1} Al icensess must complele twenty five (25) hours of continuing educalion every two {2)

calendar years, as 2 prerequisite to ligensure renewal. The first two vaar cyole for

continuing education ran from January 1, 2003 to December 31, 2004 and shall continue

on two year cycles thereajier.

{a) Continuing_sducation cradit shali oniy_be awarded for those courses which are
approved by ihe Board pursuant to paragraph (4] of ihis Rule. The Board
approves courses for only the number of hours contained in the course. The
approved hours of any individual course will not be counted more than once
toward the twenty-five {25) hour renuirement of any two-vear cycle, regardinss of
ihe number of times the course is attended or completed by any licenses,

(b) Two (2) of the twenty-five (25) hours reguiremant shall pertain to Tennessee
stalutes and Tules concerning massage therapists and establishments. The two
{2) hour courses must be approved by the Board,

{&) Twa () of the twenly-five (25) hours feguirerrent shall . perain to the
management of praclicing massage therapy, professional sthics or substance
abuse,

{d) Eight (8) of the iwanty-five (25) howrs requirement may be completed in any of
ihe following multi-media formals:

1 The internet:
2 Closed cirouil television;
3. Bataliite broadeasts,
4. Correspondence courses;
. Vidaotapes:
6. CD-ROM:
7. DVD;
8 Teleconfarencing,
8, Videgeonferencing: or
10, Dislance Learning.
B3] initlal jicensees shall have their required Sontinuing education hours proqaled over the

ramaining months of the two {2) vear cycle in which they become licensed accorging io

the foliowing chart,

First Yaar of the Cyole Becond Year of the Cydle

June, 2006 {Revised)
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Monih Licensed  Houwrs Required Monih Licensed  Hours Reguired
January 25 ‘ January 13
February 24 February 12
March 23 March 11
April 22 April 10
May 21 May g
June 20 Jung 8
July 18 July 7
Augusi 18 August 8]
Seplember 17 ) Seplember 5
Catober 16 Dciober 4
November 16 November 4
Decembear 14 Decamber 4

(3 Continuing Education - Proef of Compliznce

(&)

Eaph massage therapist must on the bisnnial licensure renewal foomn, attest 1o

()

timely attendance and complefion of the required continuing education hours
during the preceding cygle,

Each Massage therapist rmust retain independent documentation of sttendance

and sornpletion of ail continuing education courses. This dosurnentation must be
retained for a period of four {4} vears from the end of the cycle in which the
continuing aducation was acquired. This decumentation must be produced for
inspectioh and veiification, i requested in wiiting by the Board during its
verificatibn _process.  Acceptable documentation  verfying the Hcensee's
completion _of the continuing education program(s) may consist of either a
cestificate or an original leller on officlal stationery from the program's sponsor,
indigating the program titie, date and lenoth in hours, along with the licenses’s
hame and license number,

{4 Continuing Edugalion - Course Approval

[a)

EBroviders of courses o he offersd for credit toward the required continuing

i)

education hours must uniess otherwise provided, receive approval from. the
Board. Approval once granted, regardless_of whather approval is pursuant to
subparagraph {b) or {c} 6f this paragraph, is effective only during the continuing
sducation oycle {os idenlified in paragraph {23 duting which approval was
granted, Grant of approval of any course prior fo January 31, 2012 will expirs
December 31, 2012, After that all_courses/holirs provided for credit toward
meetmg the requiremenis of This rule must be approved sither pursuant 1o pant
{b}1. or subparagraph (¢} of this paragraph in every confinuing education cycle
they are offered,

The following sponsors or courses need not receive piior approval and shaﬁ.

June, 2009 (Revised)

consfitute Board approved continuing education courses:

i Associations, corporations, or aroanizations authorized as g provider by
the National Certification Board for Therapsutic Massage and Bodywork
INCBTMB) or the National Cormmission for  Cerfifying Agencies
(N.CIC.AL  Provided howsver,  any provider spproved by any
oraanization identified in this part who iritends to inchde in theif cburse
the hours necessary io meet he requirements of subparadraph 0870-01-
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{c}

J2{1(b) of this rule must neveriheless comply with all of the following
hefore those hours can be prasemad:

(\y The provider musl submil the course materials for those hours
for review and approval pursuant to subparagraph (4) {c) of this
rule; and

{18 The course may be presented in a live lecture format or 3 mult-
media format with successiul completion of a post-examination:
and

)] The provider must submit docymenlation sufficient io show that
the information fo be disseminated in those hours is sccurate
and current.

Amerigan Hearl Association course in CPR.

American Massage Therapy Association,

American Red Cross courses in HIV, CPR, or Standard First Ald.

Colleges, universities or massage schobls sccredited by the United

States _Department of Education, fhe Tennessee Higher Education
Commission or the Tennessee Board of Regents,

Format educetional courses relating directly to the theory or clinical

7.

application of massage therapy sponsored by an  accredited
coliege/university or insttution approved by the Tannessee Hinher
Education Comimission, Board of Regents or its squivalent in another
state(s). Il such course is taken for or assioned gquarter or semester
credit hours, three (3) semestef hours or equivalent guarter hours shall
be squivalent to fifteen {15) continuing aducation hours. No credits will
be sounted for courses failad,

Tennessee Massage Therapy Associgtion.

8

. _FSMTB

if a sponsor is unable to obiain or chooses not o oblain approval pursuant to

June, 2008 (Revised)

subparagraph {4) (b) of this rule, the sponsor may request Board approval by

submitting the following information o the Board Administrative Office at least
forly-five (45) days prior to the proppsed or scheduled date of the course:

i

Copies of any and all materials to be utiized in the course.  Sponsors

may sybrrit the 1SBN numiber and titie of materials with ISBN numbers in
ligy of sending the actual msterals.

Resume or Vila for all instructors that details their experienge or iraining

in_the subjeet malter they will teach.  Instructors must Be ficensed
massage therapists or demonstrate experience and training that qualifies
them !o provide continuing education.

Written Jeaming obiectives as well as @ detalled outline of the course.
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{&

4, A copy of any student course evaluations, class roster forms, check In
sheels and certificates of compietion that will be provided at the course,

5, Number of hours of educational credit requested.  An hour equals fifty
{50 clock minules of instruciion,

8. The Board may deny s request fo sponsor continuing education ¥ it is
determined the sponsor will utilize copyrighted materials  without
appropriste permissian,

7. JThe Board reserves the right to request additional information i the
infarmation provided by the sponsor is deemed inadequste  or
incomplete,

8. The Board may deny a request to sponsor continuing education ¥ any of

the above information is not provided.

individual licensess  may receive continuing  education credit for courses

{e)

presenteéd out of state with the Board's subsequent approval. if the dourse is

presented dunng the conlinuing education cvcle in which the Hoensee is

requesting credit be applied, upon submifling the following to the Board

Administiative Office:

1. The wiilten leaming obieciives of the courss,

2. A course descriplion or outline.

3. Names of all lecturers.

4 Number of hours of educational credit requested.

5. Dale of course.

B, Coples of materiais to be ulllized in the course, upon a Board request.

7. The course provider's contact information.

3 The course provider's pre-pfinted brochure, agenda or other malerials

which desciibe and/or advertise the cotrse,

Continuing Education courses may be presented in any of the following formats:.

ifi

1. Lecturs.

2. Multi-media courses - with successful gompletion of a written post
experience examination 1o evaluate matetial retention,

3 Correspondence - with successfid completion of a wiitten post
experience examination to evaluate material retention.

4. Any combination of the above.

The sponsor of each continving sducation program shall keep detalied records of

June, 2009 (Revised)

the _materials required in subparagraph {g) of this rule and a copy of the
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attendance record for not less than four (4) vears from the date the course was
approved,

(o Approval of any cantinuing educafion program may be withdrawn or denied by

ihe Board ¥ the sponsor of such program fails to comply with the provisions of
this rufe.

{5) Waiver of Continuing Education

{2} The Board may grant a waiver of the neetl o aftend and complete the required
hours of continuing education where ifiness, disability or olher undue hardship
havond the control of the licenses prevenis a licensee from complying.

) Waivers will be considered only on an individual basis and may be requested by

submitting the following iters to the Board Administrative Office prior to the end
of the licensure cycle in which the continuing education is duse;

1. A written request for a waiver which specifies what recuiirament Is souaht
1o be waived and the reasons for the request,

2. Any documentation which_supports_the reason for the walver requested
or which is subsequently requestid by the Board,

&) A waiver approved by the Board is effective for only the renewal peijod for which
the waiver is sought unless otherwise specified in writing by the Board.

s ) The Board Consultant and the designee are authorized to arant or deny reguests
for waivers subject to Subsequent Board ratification.

(8] Continuing Education for Reactivation or Reinstatement of Retired, Expired, or Revoked
License,

(& Any massage therapist who applies for reaclivation or reinstaternent of & jicense
which has been refired or has expired for over two (2) years, or any individual
who applies for a new license after his or her prior license was revoked for failure
to complete continuing education requirements  must submit along with the

eactwahon r&sgstafement, or_new hcense agghc tion, proof which md:cates the S

therany related conlinuing education. The contmumg education must have beesn
eamed in the twelve {12) months preceding the application for reactivation,

einstatement, or new license, Eight {8) hours of the twenty (20) hour continuin
education requiternent may be compleled in & multi-media format.

(b The continviing education hours required by the provisions of subparagraph (6)(a)
of this rule may not be counted toward the continuing education hours required fo
be obtained before the end of the renewal period of the reactivated, reinstated or
new license,

{c) The Board ma‘f ant a waiver of the continuing education requirements set out
in_subparagraph (6Ya) of this rule, as provided in paragraph {5) of this ruie

(7} Violations
{a) Any massage therapist who fails to oblain ihe redquired coniinuing educalion

hours or who falsely atlests to attendance andfor compietion of the reduired

June, 2008 (Revised) 39
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nours of sontinuing education may be sublect to disciplinary action. pursuant ic
T.C.A §63-18-108.

45, Education hours oblained as g resull of complisnce with the larms of any

disciplinary action shall_not be counled toward the continuing education hours
required 1o be obtained in any renews] period,

SR SRR UNURUI S I o ¢ | ]
‘Authorfty: T.C.A. §§ 4-5-202, 4-5:204, and 63-18-111. Administrative History: Original nde filed
November 13, 1996; effective January 27, 1987. Amendment filed August 21, 1998; effective November
4, 1998. Amendment filed Novembar 12, 1599, effective Januvary 26, 2000. Amendment filed July 31,
2000; effactive- Qclober 14, 2000, Amendment filad July 25 2002; effeclive Qclober 8, 2002
Amendment filed May 20, 2003; sffective August 3, 2003. Amendment fllod December 16, 20085;
effective March 1, 20068, Amendments filed March 24, 2006; effective June 7, 2008. Amendment fited
June 18, 2006; effactive August 30, 2006. Withdraw of rule 0870-01-.12{4)(b)1 fled and effective August
15, 2006. Afnsndment filad February 2, 2007; sifective Aprif 18, 2007. Amendment filad May 10, 2007;

effoctive July 24, 2007. Amendment filed April 30, 2008; effective July 14, 2008. Amendment filed Apri 9,
2009. sffective June 23, 2009.

0870-04-43—DISCIRLINARY-GROUNDS - ACTIONS - AND- CIWVIL- RENALTIES:

{4}—-ipon-a-finding-by-the-Board-that-a-lisensae-orregistrant-has-violated-any-provision-of the
FJennssteo—Massage--Therdpist Practice (1.0 A—5§-63-48401 —wut

tseg}-or-the—rules
promulgated pusoant-theratothe-Beard-may-impesa-ary-of- theollowing-actions-separately
erin-any-cembination-which-ls-deemed-appropriate-to the ofense:

WMWWWWM%M%QMMWW :

%&u%@@en%%&ﬂeﬁnmanwwwﬂemm&wm&maﬁdm
sevareviolations—{tis-a-formal-disciplinary action. s

g st i
tlase- ssmﬂayt»iar Mm ww&:mmmm&mmwmm:m
whmmusbb&met mfemwabama wit-be-lifled andier-which-reshict-acliviles during

{g}wavILWHWSMWiR ;
paragraph-i4}-of this rile,

June, 2000 (Revised) 40
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th)-—ngs-ordered, probation:-suspension; ravocation. assessment-of-a-civil-penally.-os-any
emefwam@wmmmpz;m%wmew%mmwmw
licansea-patiions.-pursuant-io-paragraph-{2)-of-this-ule-and-sppoare-bofore dhe-Board
after-the-period-olnilial-probation,-suspension-revocation,-or-other-conditioning-has
sun-and-allconditions-placed on 4he-probalion-suspensionrevosation-have-boen-mbk
and-alter any-civil penalties-assessed-have-heon paid:

{2y—-LOrderof Gompliance-~This-procadure- Wmmwwwa%mmmkﬂaw
orders-and-is-availabla only-wher-a-pelitionsr-has-completeiy-semplied with-the-provisions-of

a-previouslyissuved-disciplinasy-order-nsluding-an-unlicensed-practice-civil- penaity-order.and
wishes orisrequited-io-eblain-an-ordorraflosting that compllance:

{@}—-The-Board-will-onisrain-petitons-for-an-Order-of-Compllanse-as-—a-supplement-to-a
pravipusly--issued--order--upon--shict-compliance--with-the—-procedures -sei-Jordh-in
subparagraph-{b}in-only the-following three {3} sircumstances:

G- the petifioner-can- WGVWWMMWM—WW
suad-orler-and-is-sesking-lo-have-an-orderissuod-teflecting that-somplianes;
of

F—ihon-the-petitivrer-can-prove-compliance-with-ai-the-termse-of-the-previously

lssupd-orlor-and-is-sesking-to-have-an-order-ssued-lifing-a-previeusiy-ordered
s&spanstan»e: probalion.-of

3———%@9—&9»9&9&99&%#9@ -somphance-with-all-the-lerms—oithe-praviously
mw&%&%m%nmmmmmmswm&mw
proviously-revoked:

thy—Frocedures

“+——The-petiioner-shail-submit-a-Feliion-for- Order-of Compliance —as-sonlainad-in
subparagraph-{o}-to-the-Board's Administrative-Ofice-that shallconlain-atiof the
following:

{trpopy-of-the previouslhrissued-ordor-and

{h—A-slatement-obwhish-provition-of subparagraph{a)-ihe-pelifionor-isvelving
wpon-as-a-basisfor-ihsrsquested-ordenand

fig——A—scopy-of-all-dosuments - that-prove-complianse-with—all-tho-lepns-or
wmwmammwwimmmmmm

testimony-of-an-Individual(s).-inchiding that-of the- mwammetmem C

sAust-submit-signad-slateman rar-intonds -
%—m@—am&aﬁaa@%%&—eaih—%&—smmm#}wm :

sonsultant and-administrative-siafl in-theirdiscrolion—may-require-such
Wmmmwmmmmym: :

{B-Gorfify complianse-and have -he-maller-scheduledJor-prosentationto-the
Board-as-anuncontesied matler or

June, 2009 {Revised} A1
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f——Damy-the-pelition,-ofler-consuiiatipr with-legalsipii - compliance-with-all-of
the-provisions-oi-tho-previcus order is-not-proven-and-nolify the -patitioner
of-what-provisions-remain-to-be-fulliied-ardior what-proct-of-compliance
was-githerpel-sufisientornot-submitiad.

aﬁdiumwemmmwwm%wmmmm
arginally-subriltted:

%—«#&h&u%;aatdmﬁnés-~4#3a%mthen--geéiim%rm&as—mmpiiad—w%aﬁnmewmpms«-@i—-the'
srevious-orderan-Ordarof Camplianss-shall-bé-ssusd.

B Y- the-paltitlon-is-denisd-eltherinitialiy by staff orsflecpresentationto-the Bosed -
and—the-pelitioher-beliaves. —e@mghama—w&h %h&-eadsfmhas»bsﬂa suffmn:iy
proven-the-petitlonsr-may—as-authotzed. ‘ .
wmm%%wmmn&m%mwﬁmw

{e}——Form—Patilion

PeliionforOrderof Conplisnce
tennessesMassage-bivsasurs-Boand
Beafitionasrs-MName;
Pelitionars-Mailing-Address

Paiitonsrs-E-Mail-Address:
?e&e@hezmﬂumbef
Allome :

h&emw&mﬁmg-&éwe&s

Felephona Numben
%@«p&%}%ﬁ@%&&%&m@m 3

that-all-provisions-of- thaa%teahed—d;sa;phnaﬁ Mvs#men eamaﬁaéwﬁh«m&i—i—am
ragpactiully-roquassting-{eircle-one)

FemAir-ordortsusdrafiscting that-complinnes, or

ZoeBipr-Giiier--istund—reflasling that-complianse—and-lifling - a--previoushy-orderad
ol bsation:

3 An-order-lssued-reflasting-thal-compliance -and-reinstaling -a-licenss-previoushy
veoked.

Biie-—NYouw-must-enclose-all-documenis-necessary-to-

WW@#M@&%W%WWMWQAWW
is—thetestimony—ol.any-individual—-including-yowesil-you-must-englose-tigned
statementefrom-evantindiidual-yeu-intond-lo-rely-upon-attosingunder-catiylo-the
sompliance—The-Beard's-consullant-and-administrative-sialin-thei-disorelion-may
mqwm%&gﬁed%mem&w@&mmmm%&éewmmﬁ%ﬁmm

June, 2009 (Revised) a2
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thap-that-submitted-will-be-considersd-in. ma!éng—aa—m%&ai—ée&emna@mwm—ef—aﬁﬁai
orderinresponse-io-this-palition:

Rospeetiuliy-submitted-thisthe —dayof— 30

Reliiopers-Signalure

8} —Order-Modifications—TFhis-procedure -Is-not-intended-to-allow-anyens-under-a-previcusly
issuad-discipiinans emmawwmwmmwwmmnw
findings-of fact-conelusions-ef mw—epthe—masaa&m%«dmwimmd—mihwdwu
is-also-not-intended-to-aliowg-patitioniora-losser-dise
mmwmstmmmmm Bea:dmavdars wer& sublact-15
rocansideration-and-appoat-underthe-provisions-of-the-Ualforim-Administralive Prosadures
AsT-GA—B4—4-5-301,-bt-gag.)— This—procedureisnot-available-as—a-substitule-for
reconsideration-andlorappealand-is-shly-avallable aﬁer—au-meﬁsadarauen aadappeal +ights
have-been-eitherexhausted-ornotiimely pursdad: W56
accopled-and-been-issued-a-raprimand,

{a)—Fhe—Board—will-entedain—peliions--for-maodification—of - the-disciplinanr—porion-of
previously jesusd--orders—upon-sidet-complianse—with-the-procedures—set-forth in
subparagraph-{b)-only-when-the-petitionercan-prove-that-compliance-with-any-one-or
mora-obtho-condiions-or-terms-of-the dissipline-previcusly-ordered is-impossible For
p&@eses—eﬁ%h;s—wm—m@m_mmsam—dwéaammm
insonveniantor-impractical-for pemsonal-financial-scheduling-or-other reasons.

ih&femra»sgmamséaa sahgaasagraph {G}«&eﬁthe—aeaad%ﬁdmsmaka%we—éfﬁse«that
shall-soniain-all-of the following:

- 'GI—-EH%&BEH——G&QRBQ——EM
aetaéﬁeé« ﬁaimﬁ&iwmwlwmmmm

G%e@@emmrdmsenwmwmmwwwmwnmaﬁm
BF

{iy—DPeny-the-petition,—after consuliation—with legal-siafl i imposeibility of
somplianse-with-the-provisions—oi-tbapravious-atder-is-—not-proven-—and

June, 2009 (Revised) 43
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potifi-the pelitioner of what proof-ofimpossibility of compliance was sither
netsufficient ornot submitted.

G-——lf-the-pelition—is—presented—{o--the—Board-thepolitionoray-net-submit-any
atditional desumentalion-oriestimeony-otherthan-that senlained-In-the-pelilienas
srginally submitted:

%—#%he—pehhen—;fs-g;amed -a-pew-order-shall-be-issusd-reflecting-the-modifications

a-Board-that-it deemed-approprisis-and pnecassartinrelationts
ihe-vislations-foundinthe previcus-ordar.

5o—if-the-peliton-is-denied -eitherinilialy.-by-staff-or-afterpresentation-to-ihe-Board
and-the-peliioner-believes-impossibility-of -compliance-with-the-order-has-been
sufficlently-proven-the pelitionermay—as-authodzed by -law, fle g-pelition-forsa

declarators-order pusuant-io the provisions of L0 A §4-5-0223 and-ruie—4200-
LAV &

[y FEorm-Poliion
Paition forOr faation
Fennessee-Massage Licensure Board

Fem;tsner—s%#aaimg—;@déraﬂ

PeliliohersE-Mail- AdUrmasi s i st
Felaphons-Number:

Adtorney-for-Palitioner
Alorney-s-Mailing-Address:

Aﬁaaey—s&—%ﬂaﬁ—#éém
TelophoneNumber:

Thepatiionerrespactiully-representis-that forthe following reasensas-cubstantiated by
tha-attached-dosumenialion-the-identified provisions-of tha-altached disciplinary-order
areinpossibleformeto-comply-with:

Mme—-#ewmus& 2n0 eseali denmseﬁts%eeessaw ia arev&y@uwequesbme%adiﬂga
M@%&M@w—aﬁy msiw@ua#— ml-uémg »yeursaif— yfeu-mustn@%im sagaaé-aﬁd
sotarizad-siatemenis-from—evenindividual :

gathto-the- ream&wh%samakmmaes@ﬁieﬂe—éeeum&%ﬁm—aﬁesﬁmy
otherthan-hat-submitied-will- be-considerad-in-making-andnitial detemilration-on,-or-2
fnatorderin-respense-to-this pelition.

June, 2008 {Revised) 44
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Respactiully-submitiod thisthe—davof—— .00

Patiioneds-Bignature
4y —CivikRPanaltiss

{@}—Purpose-The-purpose-ofihisrule is lo-set-out-a-schedule-designating-the-minimumm-and
maximum-sivil penaties-which-may be-assessed pursuantlo T.CA- § 63-1-124.

tby—Schadule-of Civil Ponalties

4———#—%199 e QW&Q&H@HWB@S&WM%R%%%W
s-regquirad-lo-be-lisansad,—carified,- ~parmilted, orregistered-by-the -Board -guily
sf-a-williully—and-knowing-violalion-of-the-Massags-Therapy-Rractice--Actaf -
regulations-prormuigated-pursuantthereleto-such-an-exent-that there-is,—or-ig
likely-to-beanimminont- sabsaamw;mumwmsmmmmmm
mwid%wtmmmmwwwwmm
kﬁéﬁéﬁg%&@hﬁ:ﬂg Fiassage -tharapy-or-oparating -a-nascage-establishment

w;theummm@%mmmmmm&%mﬁmw
Prastice-ActHorwhish-a Type-A-CivikRenalty is-assassable.

znwwklyfaa—g—@w#»&eﬂai@«w -be-mposed-whonover-the-Board-finds-the.
requirad-1o-be-licensed: cerified -permitted,-or registered-by-the Beard. 4&guéityt~9f
HSM%@H&&—MG%EQ&%&W%&G&—AW@%&&&WW&&

pursuant-ihereto-n-such-manrsras e inpact-diraclly-on-the-care-ofclienis-orthe
public:

3——A-Type-C-Civi-Renalty-may- be-impo \ i
reguirad-to-be-lieensed, conlified. parmiliedor feg;&tere@by 4%8&34&4&9%—@%

a Ms%mwmmmimé
pursuani-therele, which-as-neithordirast

y-dotimsnial-to-the palients-orpublis;
Mmsﬁmd_ﬁwqummmm

sare-orthe public.
(B —Amountol-Civil-Renalties.
A Type-A-Chvil Penallies shall be-assessed nthe-amount-olnot Jess-than-3500-and
notmore-than-$1000:

2——Type-B-Civil-Ranalties may-be-assessed-inthe-amount-of-netess than-$400-and
notrnore than-$500.

3o Type-C-Civi-Ranaitios may bo-assessed-in-the-amount of not-ess-than-$50-and
notmore-than-$100.

{d)--Proceduresfor Assessing-Civil Penaities

;ampasad ameun%aﬂhaawi-peaammme—hasmgr—s&m#ﬁeaa . M@»@umn
may-incerporate-tha-Mamorandum-ef-Assassment-of-Civil-Renali-with-a-Nolice
ofLhatges-which-may bo-jssuod attendant thersto.
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GENERAL RULES GOVERNING LICENSED MASSAGE THERAPISTS CHAPTER 0870-01
AND ESTABLISHMENTS

{Rule 0870-01-.13, continued)
2—Cil—Panaliies—may-aleo—be—initialed—and—assessad —by—the—Boand -during

sonsideralion-st-any-Netise-of- Charges-In-addiion,-the-Board-rmay-upon-gosd

CRUSE—FROWR—O55EE5-- 8- ype -and--amount--of--civil-- penally—which-—was-nal
recommendesd-by-the-Division.

3-—in-assessing-the-civil penalliss-pursuant-lo-thess-ndes-the- Boord-may-consides

ha-following-fastess:
H—-Wiheolher-the-amauni-impesed-will-be-a-subslantish-sconomis-delarani-i
thewiekaton

bR The-chroumsiancesloading-to-the vicktion;
{ii}—The-severity o thavislalion-and-the-visk-of harm-to-the publis;

{y—-The-seonomic-bernefis—gained—by—the—viokler—as—a—reeull ot -noa-

85—The-interest-of the-public:

4——Alprocesdings-{or-the-assesament-ol-eivil-potiaitios-shall-ba-governed by-the

sonlosted case-provisionof TiHle 4 Chapler 5, TG4

{8yAli-contested-case-hearings-before-ibe-Board-shall-be-senducted-pursuant-to-the-LUniform
Rules-of-Prosedures-for-Contasled-Gase-Heatings-Belore-Siate-Administrative-Agentias,

Rules-Chapler|360-4-of The Officlal-Compiiation- st Rulps-gnd-Regulations-of -he-Siale-of
Tenpesses.

DA70-01-.12  Disciplinary Aclions sand Civil Penaities

{1 Actions - Upon a finding by the Beard that any provision uf the Tennessee Massage

Therapist Practice Act or the rules promulgated pursuant thereto has been violated, the

Board may impose any of the Ibllowing actions separately of in any combination deemead

appropriate fo the offense,

{a

Denial of an application for licensure,

{n

“tetter of warning.” This is a wrilten aclion. #f is informal and advisory in nature

(g}

and doss not constitte a forma! disciplinary action,

"Formal reprimand.” This is s written action. s o formal disciblinary action.

{d)

"Probation.” This i a formal disciplinary aciion for a fixed period of time,

{e}

“Licensure suspension.” This is o formial disciplinary action which suspends a

Eii

licenses’s right to praclice for a fixed perind of fime. It contemplates the re-enhry
of the Jicensee into the praclice under the license praviously issued,

“Licensure revocation.” This js g formal disciplinary action which removes &

June, 2009 {Revised)

licensee from the praclice of the profession and tenminates the license previcusly
issued. No new apoiication for licensure from a person whose license was
revoked shall be considerad priot to the axpiration of at least one {1) year uniess
otherwiss stated in the Board's revocation order.
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GENERAL RULES GOVERNING LICENSED MASSAGE THERAPRISTS CHAPTER 0870—01
AND ESTABLISHMENTS

(Ruie 0870-01-.13, continued)

{q} Conditions - Any action deemed appropriate by the Board to be renuired of g
disciplined licensee in any of the followind circumstances:

1. During any peried of probation, suspension;
2 As a prerequisite to the lifing of probation or suspension; or
3, As a stand-alone requirernent of requirements in any disciplinary action.

(" Civil penaity - A monetary disciplinary action assessed by the Board pursuant 1o
paragraph three {3).of this rule.

{ii _ Once ordered, probation, suspension. assessment of g civil penaity. or any other
condition(s) of any type of disciplinary agtion may not be lifted unless and until
the licensee appears before the Board after the period of inilial probation.
suspension, or other conditioning has run and all conditions nlaced on the

probation, suspension, have been met and after any civil penalties assessed
nava been paid.

(23 .. Order Modifications ~ A licensee gan petition the Board to modify a provioysly issued
digciplinary order if the ficensae cannot fulfill the conditions of the imposed discipline.
This procedure s only avallable after all reconsideration and appeal rights have been
gither exhausted or not timely pursued. This procedure cannot be used to modify any
findings of fact, conclusions of law, or the reasons for the decision contained in the order.

{a) ihe Beard will entertain petiions for modification of the disciplinary porfion of
previously issued orders upon_ sitict compliance with the procedures sat forth in
subparagraph {b) only when the petitioner can prove that compliance with any
one or more of the conditions or terms of the discipline previously ordered is
impossible. For purposes of this rule the term "impossible” does not mean that

compliance is inconvenient or impractical for personal financisl, scheduling or
other reasons.

[£e)) Procedures

L The petitioner shall submit a written and signed Pelition for Order
Modification {0 the Board's Office that shall contain alf of the following:

i A copy of the previously issued order; and

A statement of why the pelitioner believes it is impossible to
cornply with the order as issuad; and

{1t A copy of alf documents that proves that compliance is
impossible. if proof of impossibility of compliance requires
testimony of an individual(s], inciuding that of the petilioner, the
pelittoner must submit signed and nofarized stalements from
svery individual the petitioner intends to relv_upon sttesting,
under oath, to the reasons why compliance is impossible. No
documentation or testimony other than that submitted will be
gonsidered in making an initial determination on, or a final order
in response io, the petition,

2 The Board authorizes administrative staff to maké an initial determiingtion
en the petition and teke one of the following actions:
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GENERAL RULES GOVERNING LICENSED MASSAGE THERAPISTS CHAPTER 0870-01
AND ESTABLISHMENTS

(Rule 0870-01-.13, continued)

{i Cerlify impossibility of compliance and forward the petilion to the
Office of General Counsel for presentation to the Board as an
uncontested matler; or

(i) Beny the petition, after consultation with the Office of General
Counsel, i impossibility of compliance with the provisions of the
previcus order is not proven and nolify the petitioner of what

proof of impossibility of compliance was either not sufficient or
not submitted,

3. if the pefition is granted, 2 new order shall be issued reflecting the
rmodifications authorized by the Board that it deamed appropriate and
necessary in relation o the viglations found in the previous order,

4, If the petition is denied either initially by staif or after presentation to the
Board and the pelitioner believes impossibility of compliance with the
prder has been sufficiently proven, the petitioner may request, in writing,
o appesar before the Board not less than thirly (30) days before the next
regularly schaduled meeling of the Board,

{3} Civil Penalfies - The purpose of this rule is to set oul a schedule designating the minimum
and maximum civil penaities which may be assessed pursuantlo TCA. § 63-1-134.

{ay Schedule and Amount of Civil Penallies

1. A Type A civil penaity may be imposed whenever the Board finds the
person who js required to be licensed by the Board is guilty of a violation
of TCA § 63-18-101, ef seq. or requlations promuigated pursuant
thereto, 1o such an exient that there s, or is likely to be & substantial
threal lo the health, safely and welfare of an individual client or the
public. For purposes of this section, a tvpe A penally shall include, but
not be limited to, a person who s or was practicing massage therapy
without a license from the Board. Type A civil penallies shall be
assessed in the amount of not less than $500 and not more than $1.200,

2. A Type B ¢ivil penalty may_be imposed whenever the Board finds the
person reguired to be licensed by the Board is guilly of a violation of
T.CA. §63-18-101, et seq. or requiations promulgated pursuant thereto
in such manner as {o impact directly on the care of clients or the public.
Type B civil pepaliies may be assessed in lhe amount of not less than

$100 and not more than 3500,

3, A Type © cvil penalty may be imposed whenever the Board finds. the

person required 1o be lcensed, permitted, or authorized by the Board is

uiity of a violation of T.CA. £3-18-101, ef seq. or regulations

promulaated pursuant thereto, which is neither directly delrimental fo the

clients or public, nor directly impacts their care, but has only -an indirect

telationship to cliept care or the public.  Tvoe C civil penslifes may be
assessed n the amount of not less than $50 and not more than $100,

(b} Procedures for Assessing Givil Penaltiés
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GENERAL RULES GOVERNING LICENSED MASSAGE THERAPISTS CHAPTER 0870-01
AND ESTABLISHMENTS

{Rule 0870-01-.13, continued)
1. During & contested case proceeding the Board may assess civil

penalties in a type and amount which was nol recommended by the
Office of General Counsel,

2. in_assessing oivil penalties pursuant to these rules the Board may
consider the following factors:

{) Whether the amount imposed will be a substantial econom%c
deterrent to the viplator:

{if) The circumstances leading to the violation:

£y The severity of the violation and the risk of harm to the public:

{iv) The econpmic benefits gained by the violator as a result of non-
compliance; and

{v} The interest of the public,

3 All proceedings for the assessment of civil penalties shall be govemed
by the contested case provisions of T.C.A, Title 4, Chapter 5.

Authority: T.C.A. §§4-5-202, 4-5-204, 4-5-217, 4-5-223, 63-18-106, 63-18-108, 63-18-109, and 63-18-
111. Administrative History: Original rule fited November 13, 1996; effective January 27, 1997.
Amendment filed July 31, 2000; effective October 14, 2000. Amendment filed July 25, 2002: effeclive
October 8, 2002. Amendment filed August 2, 2004; effective October16, 2004. Amendment filec! March
24, 2006; effective June 7, 2006.

0870-01-.14 LICENSE.

{1} Display of License - Every person who has recelved a license from the Board In this state
shall display that license in a conspicuous place in hisfher office/establishment and produce
the license when required by the Board o its autharized representatives.”

{2y-—Replacement-License—A-liconsee-whoso—ardistically-designed”-license-has-been—fostor

Mmed—m&%—maemmwpia%mem%%me%mmemqmaqwa

typ@«phategmph«anéuaPﬁaﬁﬁdw%&gm@aﬂéﬂnetameé}s%aﬁng&mmmwm&ss
ardestruclion-oHhe-originatlicense and-the-reguired foe-pursuant-lo sule 0870-04-06.

23 Replacement License - A licenses whose initial or renewal license has been lpst or
ﬁestroyed may be issued a replacement license upon receipl of a signed, written request
in_the Board Administiative Office. The licensee_shall include in such request the facts
concerning the loss or destruction of the crigingl license and include the requirad fee
pursuan to Rule 0870-01-08.

{3) Requests for Cerificates of Fithess for licensees or registrants desiring to practics in another
state must be made in writing to the Board Administrative Office.

{4) Requests for verification of license must bée made in writing to the Board Administrative
Office.
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(GENERAL RULES GOVERNING LICENSED MASSAGE THERAPISTS CHAPTER 0870-01
AND ESTABLISHMENTS

(Rule 0870-01-.14, continued)

Authority: T.C.A. §§4-5-202, 4-5-204, 83-1-106, 63-1-108, 63-1-108, 63-8-108, 63-18-104, and 63-18-
111,  Administraiive History: UOuginael nie fled November 13, 1996, effeclive January 27, 1997
Amendmant filed March 24, 2008; effective June 7, 20086.

8B70-04-48 - CHANGE - OF NAME ANDVOR-ADDRESS.

emhange-of-Mame-—-A-licensse-shalinotify the- Board-n-wiiling-within-30doys-of -a-same
shange-and-wil provide-both-the old-and-new pames—A-requastdor- name-changa-must-alse
includa—a—oopy—ui-the--otfisial—dosument—invalved —and--ralerspes—the -indbiduals—or
establishment's-profession, sosialsecurity-and licanse-himbers.

{2y —Ghange-ol-Address——Eash-licensea—who—has—had—a—change—of-addrees—or—place -of
employment-shall-dile-inwriting with-the-boasd-his/er- ourant-address-giving-both-oid-and
new-gidressesSuch-requesis-shall-be-received-in-the-Board-Administralive Olfice-no-1aler
than--3--days—ate

i-sush-change-is-offeclive —and—must-rolarencs e ndividuals-at-ihe
sstablishments-name-sodcalsecuril numbes-and cedificalion numbser:

By Lhange-ol-Establishment - Namio-amdlor-Addiess——A-licansed-massage-eslablishmert-shall
notify-the-Board-in-wriling- each-tme-the-sstablichmant s-name-andloraddress-changes-no
laterdhan-dhiry-30)-days-afiersush-change-ic-efective —Such-nolificalion-chall-include-the
ssiablishrentsfcense—number—old-and-new-names—old—and-new-addesses—and-the
replacoment-lisensefoe, pursuant fo-nile-0870-04- 06411 {H-and -DB870-01- 062348

Rule 0870-01-.15  licensee Address and Name

The contact information required In this Rele is necessary for and shall be used for. among other things,
ohtaining sarvice of process in the event of a discinlinary action.

{1 Change of Name - Each licensee whose name has changed shiall nolify the Board in
writing of the name change and will provide both the old and new names. A nofification
of name change must also include a copy of e official document demonsirating the
name change and must reference the fcansee's license number, Such notification must
be regeived in the Board's Administrative Office no more than thitty (30} days after such
pame change became affective,

23 Change of Address - Each nceﬁsee who has had & change of prachice address andior
malling address shall notify the Board in writing of hisfher ourrent praclice and mailing
addresses, giving both old and new addresses. Such notification shall be recelved in the
Board's Administrative Office no mora than 30 days afler such change Is effeclive and
must reference the individual's or the establishiment's name and license numbar. if the
licenses has no current practice address, hel she shall so inform the Board,

{31 change of Establishment Name andfor Address - A licensed massage establishment
shall notify the Board in writing each time the establishment'’s name andfor physical
addiess changes no more than thity (30) days after such change is effective.  Such
notification shall include the sstablishment's license number, old and new names, and old
and new addresses.  If the esiablishment has changed s pame, B must pay ithe
repiacement license foe, pursuant to rules 0870-01-06(1){) and 0870-01-08(2)(f). A re-
inspection fee is required when an establishment changes #is physical address,

Authority: T.C.A. §8§4-5-202, 4-5-204, 63-1-108, 63-1-108, and 63-18-111. Administrative History:
Original ruie filed November 13, 1996; effective January 27, 1997. Amendment filed August 10, 1999;
effective Oclober 24, 1998. Amendment filed July 25, 2002; effective Oclober 8, 2002, Amendment filed
March 24, 2008; effactive June 7, 20086,
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GENERAL RULES GOVERNING LICENSED MASSAGE THERAPISTS CHAPTER 0870-Di
AND ESTABLISHMENTS

(Rule 0870-01-.15, continued)

NTS;— RECORDS,—— DECLARATORY.—— ORDERS, —AND
SCREEMING PANELS,

{43—-The Board shallannualy slect-om-tsrnembers-the-following offines:
tay—=GChaiparsen—who-shall-uplese-absant-preside-al-the Board-mestings:
{o}—Becretary-Treasurer—who-along with-the-Board-Adminisirator-shall-be responsible-for

correspondance-from-the-Beard—The- secratary shall-proside-at-all-mectings at-which
the-chairparson-is-absent.

25— Minutes-of the-Board- meetinge-and all-resords,-documents-applications,-and-cornaspondence
w%b&mmntam%&he—%a@%mmmﬁaiw&-@m

lieations,---notises,—-complainis,~athercommunisalicns —and
%%&Q&Rdﬂﬁﬂe mismmmmmquumr
megmnewequmng—a%saw 4&6:5;9&@( oHigial Bearé e@hen%eat—dasumeﬁtswﬁiamg

feufteew{iﬂ«days-pr;e;-ie a-sshedulsd. &m&m&eﬁaganwu—m—mwznwwme
Administrative—Oflice--and -presented—to—the —Board —at-the—Board—meeting—Such
dosuments not-imelyreceived shall- bo-sat-overto-thenext- Board-mesting.

{b}-—--Albrecords sHhe Board, exseptihoss-made-confidentialby-law-are-opon-forinspaction
ang-oxaminationunder-the-supendsion-of-an- employes-ol-the-Division-al-tha Boawd
Administrative-Office dudng-nemnal-busipess-hours.

{c}—Copies-bipublis-records-shali-be-provided-to-any-persen-upon-payment-of acopying
oo

{d}---Al-somplainte-against licensess-orestablishmentis-should-be-directed-ta-the Division's
investigations Saction-and notio-the Board-orany-stitsmembers.

{3)—-The-Board-authodzes-iis-consultant—who-may-be-a-Board-member-or-a-Board-desighated
licensed-massage-therapist-eithet-serving voluntarily. mp}eya@pumuam san#ae:—wﬂh
the-Dhdsionto-ack-and-whe-is-vested-with-the authe:

on-behalf-of the-Boart:

iy —Review—and make-inial-delerminations—on—lizensure—ronewal—and—reastivation—of
Wmﬂmmwbmbmwkheﬂm&gmmgéh%&msp&mmw
Board-designes-may-alss-padorn-these sendees.
tby—Sene-as-Consultantio the-Division-to-deside the-following:
4— Whetheranpdwhal-ype-disciplinan sctions-should-be-ipstituiad-upon-cemplaints
received-orinvestigations-conductad-by the-Divislon;

2 \hetherand-Underwhat iplinany aotion-might-be

settlod—Any-matior- prepemﬁwtt&mea&me@b&éubsequ&;ﬁly%aﬁeé—by—uw
full Board before it will- besome-afisctive:

3—Any-other-matter authorized by-these-nies or & majeriy-vole-of the-Beard:

ory-Ordars—The-Board-adopts,-as-if-fully-set-out-hersin-rrle-1200-10-1-14-oi- the
Division-of Health-Related Boards-and sa-tmay from-time-is-fime-be-omended-as-its-rils
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GENERAL RULES GOVERNING LICENSED MASSAGE THERAPISTS CHAPTER 0870-01
AND ESTABLISHMENTS

(Rule 0870-01-.16, continued)
gaverning-the- éadasa%ew—aﬁéefupmmtkéedaﬁmwéepp%tm involying-statutes,
mwiles-or-erderswithin-the-juristdiction of the-Board-shall-bea

ddmssed-by the Board-pursuam
to-that nae-and-not-by-the-Divicion—Declaratory-Order-Relitlon-forms-can-be-oblained-from
the-Board's-adminisirative-office.

{5y —TFhe-Board-authorizes-the-member-whe-chaired-the-Beard-far-a-oontested caseto-ba-the
agency-mambarte-makethe-docisions-authorizad-pursuant-dole-1380-04-03-18ragarding
patiions-forreconsiderations-and stays-in that sase:

{B)—-Bereoning-Panele—The-Board-adoptsasii-fully sel out-hersinnide-1280-90-04- 43 ~oi-dhe
Dhdsion-of Haglih-Related -Boards-and-ae-i-may-from-lme-to-tma-beamended.-as sl
geverning-the-sereaning-panalprocess.

P870-01-.18  Officers, Consuliants, Records, Declaratory Orders, and Scrsening Panels,

(1} The Board shall annually elect from its members the following officers:

{a}

Chalrperson - who shall unless absent, preside at the Board mestings.

)]

Secrefary-Treasurer - who along with the Board Adrministrator shall be
responsible for comrespondance from the Board. The secratary shall preside at all
meetings at which the chaimperson is absent.

{2 Minutes of the Board meetings and all records, documents, applications, and

correspondence will.be maintained In the Board Administrative Office.

{a)

AR reguests, applications. nofices, complaints, other communications  and

b} .

ccrfespondence shali be direclad to_the Board Administrative OFice. Any

it _ icial Board action except
documents relating to disciplinary a ctions dec]aratorv orders or haaring requests
must be received fourteen (14) days prior to a scheduled Board meeting and wil
be retained m the Administiative Office and presented o the Board af the Board
meeting, Such documents not timely received shall be set over 1o the next Board
meeting.

_All records of the Board, except those made confidential by law, are open for

{c}

inspection and examination, under the supervision of an emplovee of the Division
at the Board Administrative Office during normal business hours.

All complaints against licenseas or establishments should be diresled 1o the

Diviston's investigations Section and not to the Board or any of its members,

{3) _ The Board shall appoint a Board Constitant, who may be a Board member or 2 Board

designated licensed massage therapist sither serving voluniarily or smployed pursuant to

contract with the Division, and authorizes said Consultant to act with the authority of the
Board to do the following on behalf of the Board:

{ai

Review and male inilia! determinations on licensure, renewal. and reaciivation of

{b}

icensure applications subject 1o the rules qoveminq those. respeclive
applications and sublect to subsequernt ratification by the Board.

Serve as Consultant to the Division o review complaints and request patient

June, 2009 {Revised)

records under T.C.A. § 683-1-117.
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GENERAL RULES GOVERNING LICENSED MASSAGE THERAPISTS CHAPTER 0870-01
AND ESTABLISHMENTS

{4) Declaratory Orders - Petitions for Declaratory Order shall be rosolved in accordance with
tha Tennessee Uniform Administrative Procedures Aat,

{5) The Board authorizes the member who chaired the Board for a contested case o be the
agency member to make the decisions authorized pursuant to rule 1360-04-01-.18 of the

Rules of the Depanment of State regarding petitions for reconsiderations and stays in
thal case.

{8} Scregning Panels - The Board adopts, as if fully set out herein, rule 1200-10-01-.13. ‘af
the Rules of the Division of Health Related Boards and gs it may from time to time be
amended, as #s rule governing the screening panel process,

Authority: T.C.A. §§4-5-202, 4-5-204, 4-5-223, 4-5-224, 63-1-138, 63-18-103, 63-18-108, 63-18-109,
and 63-18-111. Administrative History: Original rule filed November 13, 1998; effective January 27,
1997. Amendmant filed August 10, 1999, eifective October 24, 1999. Amendment filed July 31, 2000;

effective October 14, 2000. Amendment filed March 24, 2006; effactive June 7, 2006. Amendment filed
June 16, 2006; effective August 30, 20086.

0870-01-17 ADVERTISING.

{4)---Ralicy-Staterrent--The-lask-oaf-sophistication-on-ihe-part-ofwany-members-pi-the—public
conserping-professianalrassage-semvices - he-importance-of-the-Inlereste-affected-by-the
ehe%a#——a—:na&saga— -thamazstw er—*a—msage—es%abhohmnﬂ#waﬂd—th% feresasabls

m&ﬁ%@—%—b@haﬂ-eimassag
tal-possibilities-for-deseplion; requira-that
spaqai—eare—he takaw%&awd-mis,eadmg the»pubiée -The masbage-therapist-and massage
setablishrments-ravet-bamindiithatthe- bamﬁtwﬁaévmmng@iepaﬂd-uﬁea-ﬁswuabmtw
aeCHFEoY—Since--adverising—is—saloulated - and —not-spottanecus,—+easonable regulation
designed-to-fostercompliance-with-appropriate-standards-serves-the public-intersst-witheut
impading-the-flow-ofuselul-meaningiul-ant-relevantinformation-io-the public.

{2}——Dalinllions——at-used-in-this-uilsthe-pliowing-terms-shall-have-the-meanings-ascribad-te

{ay-—Advarisement-Informational-communication- to-he-public-in-any-manner-designad-te
atlract-public-altention-to-the-practise ofoTonnesses-licensed-massags-therapist-of
massage-establishment.

{Br-—-Liconsas-Any-person-helding-a licensa-io- p;aeﬁse»maseags—thmgywe;mms 5age
establishmeni—in—the—State of-Tennesses-Where—applicable-this--shallinclude
parnerships-andiorcomoralions.

MW%WQMWMW%%WMMM%MQM
to—know—er—rely-upon-in—making—an—informed—decision—conserning - the - cholse—of
practitioners-of-astablishments-to-serve-his-or-her-paicularnesds.

éd;———Ba;pand—swaah—AdMemsmg An--alludng-bubinsincere-offsrdo-sell a-produst-or-semce
which-the-adverticarintruth-donsnpt-intend-erwantlo-soi-or-provide-lis purpose-is-to
switch-sensurmers-from-buying-orreceiving-the-advertised-rershandise-or-sepices.-in

srder-to-sell-or-provide-something-else —ubually-at-a-higher-fee-or-on-a-basis—mors
advantagesus-to-the-advertiser:

sstabksmm femaaymsage—tharagy—;smdmm »seme& thaus4ss«ss~ haﬁ-me—*‘fee—the
person-or arganization-usually-offers-or-charges-for he-produst-sréerice-Frodusto-or
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GENERAL RULES GOVERRNING LICENSED MASSAGE THERAPISTS CHAPTER 0870-01
AND ESTABLISHMENTS

(Rule 0870-01-.17, continued)
sepdces-axpressly-oiiarad -frea-of-charge-shall-rot-be-deemsd to-be-—offerad--at-5
“discounted-fpe’

{3)—Advertising Fees-and Sepdess

{ay—Fixed-Foos-Fixgdfess-may-be adverlisedforany senvdse.

—tts-presumed-aniess othervise stated-in the-advadisement that-a-fixed-feefora
senrdes-shatHnclude-the-cost of all-professionally-recognized-componants within
gemmil&a%eﬂe@sﬁad%mwmeqweémmpi&a%&%mm~

{by——Ranges-of- Fess-A-range-of fees-may be-adverisad forsevices-and-the-ddverisement

must-disslose-the factors-used-in-determining-the-actual-feenecessary to-prevent
degaption-of-the-public.

{c)——Pistount-Fees.-BiscouniHessrray be gdvadisedif:

shargedforthe-sondee-ang

2—-The-fisonces providesthe same qualiteand componanie-of service-and-maledal

at-the-disgeuniad-foe-thab-are-nompaly- provided-atthe regularnondiscountad fos
tordhat senvica.

{}—FRelated-Serdess—and-Addiional- FoesRelaled-sepdces—whith-may-be-fequired-in

conjunction-with-the. advenised -service-for-which-additional- fees Wil be-charged -must
ba-entified as-such-in-any-advertisement:

{8)}—Time-periad-of-Adveriised-Fess-Advertisad fees-shall-be-honorad-for- those-seaidng the
advariised serdcas during-the-entire time perod-siated o the-advedisement whetharor
pot-the-seviges-are-actualiy-rendered-orcompleted within that time.

—‘l—.———if-na#me@e%d—w etaie@m he-advertisementofifeas the advertised fos shall be
- 3y mm—the—last—éate—ei-puhlmahwer—uﬁié the-pext

maéerwwmmew}m‘amm&

{H Policy Staterneni Lack of sophisticalion on_the part of many _members of the public
concerning_professional massage services. the imporance of the interests affected by
the choice of a massage therapist or a massage establishment and the foresesable
consequences of unrestf_ic_ted advertising by massage therapists or on behaif of massaqe
establishments, which is recognized to pose special possibilities for deception, reguire
that special care be teken fo avoid misleading the public. Massage therapists_and
massage establishments must be mindful that the benefits of advertising depend upoen its
reliability and accuracy. Since advertising is calculated and not spontansous, regsonable
requlation designed to foster compliance with_appropriate standards serves the public
interest without Impeding the flow of yseful, meaningfyl, and relevant information to the
public.

{23 Defiriitions - As used in this rule, the following terms shail have the meanings ascribed to
them:
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GENERAL RULES GOVERNING LICENSED MASSAGE THERAPISTS CHAPTER 0870-01
AND ESTABLISHMENTS

(Rule 0870-01-.17, conlinued)

{a)

Advertisement - Informaftional communication to the public in any manner

desianed to attract public atteniion to the praclice of a Tenressee licensed
massage therapist or massage establishment,

Material Fact - Any fact which a reasonable and prudent person would need to

{c)

know or rely ypon in_making an informed decision concerning the choice of
practifioners or establishments ko serve his or her particular needs,

Bait and Switch Advertising - An aliuring but insincere offer to sell a oroduct or

(d)

sefvice which the advertiser in truth does net intend or want to sell or provide. Its
purpose Is fo switch consumers from buying or receiving the advertised
merchandise or services, in order fo sell or provide somsthing else, usually at a
higher fes or bn a basis more advantageous to the advertiser,

Discounted Fee - A fee offered or charged by a_person, organization or

gstablishment for any massage therapy product or service that is less than the
fea the person or organization usualy offers or charges for the product or
service. Products or services expressly offered free of charge shall not be
deemed fo be offersd at a “discountad fee.”

{3 Advertising Fees and Services

(a)

Fixed Fees. Fixed fees may be advertised for any service. It is presumed. unless

{b)

oiherwise stated in the advertisermnent. that a fixed fee for a service shall inciude

the cost of alt professionally recognized components within generally accepted
standards that are reguired to complate the service.

Ranges of Fees, A range of fees may be adverlised for services. However, the

{c}

atdverlisemnent must disciose the factors used in defermining the actual fee,
necessary o prevent deception of the public,

)

Discount Fees. Discount fees may be advertised if:

1 The discount fee is in fact lower than the licensee's customary or usua]
fee charged for the servioe; and

2. The licensee provides the same quality and components of service and
: material at the discounted fee that are normally provided at the reqular
nondiscountad fee for that servica,

Related Services and Additional Fees. Related services which may be required

{e)

in_conjunclion with the adverlised service for which additional fees will be
¢charged must be identified as such in any adverdisement.

Time Pericd of Advertised Fees. Advedised fees shall be honored for those

sesking the adverised services during the enlire time period staled in the
adverliserment whether or not the servicas are aclually rendered or complsted
within that time. i no time period is sitated in the adverisement of feas, the
advertised fee shall be honored for thity {30} days from the last date of

pubfication or until the next scheduled publication, whichever is later, whether or
not the services are actually rendered or completed within that ime.

(4) Advertising Content. The following acis or omissions in the context of adveriisement by any
licensee shall constitute unethical and unprofessional conduct, and subject the licenses to
disciplinary action pursuant to T.C.A. § 63-18-108.
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GENERAL RULES GOVERNING LICENSED MASSAGE THERAPISTS CHAPTER 0870-01
AND ESTABLISHMENTS

(Rule 0870-01-17, continued)

(a)

{b)
{c)

Claims that the services performed, personnel employed, materials or office equipment
used are professionally superior to that which is ordinarily performed, smploved or
used, or thal convey the message that one licensee is befter than another when
superiority of services, personnei, maierials or equipment cannot be substantiated.

The misleading use of an unearned or non-heaith degree in any advertisement.

Promotion of a professional service which the licensee knows or should know is
beyond the licensee’s ability fo perform.

{h—Technigues—of-communication-whigh--intinidats,—exer--undue - pressure—or-undue

nflusnes-overa-prospective-slisntals.

{) Technigues of communication which_intimidate exert undue pressure or undue

influsnce over a prospective ciient.

{e)  Any appeals to an individual's anxiety in an excessive or unfair manner.

{fi  The use of any personal testimonial attesting to a quality or competence of a service or
treatment offered by a licensee that is not reasonably verifiable,

{g} Utilization of any stafistical data or other information based 6h past performances for
predication of future services, which creates an unjuslified expectation about resulis
that the licensee can achieve.

th) The communication of personal identifiable facts, data, or information about a client
without first obtaining client consent.

{i}  Any misreptesentation of a material fact,

{)  The knowing suppression, omission or concealment of any material fact or law without
which the advertisement would be deceptive or misleading.

(k) Statements concerning the benefils or other attributes of procedures or products that
involve significant risks without including:

1. A realistic assessment of the safely and efficiency of those procedures or
products; and

2. The-availability of altematives; and

3. Where necessary to avoid deception, descriptions or assessment of the benefils
or other attiibutes of those alternatives.

{)  Any communication which creates an unjuslified expectation concerning the potential
results of any treatment,

{m) Failuré to comply with the rules governing advertisement of fees and services, and
advertising records.

{n) The use of “bait and switch” adverisements. Where the circumstances indicate “bait
and switch” advertising, the board may require the licensee to furriish data or other
evidence pertaining to those sales at the advertised fee as well as other sales.
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GENERAL RULES GOVERNING LICENBED MASSAGE THERAPISTS CHAPTER D870-01
AND ESTABLISHMENTS

(Rule 0870-01-.17, continued)
(0} Misrepresentation of a licensee’s credentials, training, experience or ability.

(¢ Failure to include the corporation, partnership or individual licensee’s name in any
advertisement. Any corporation, partnership or association which advertises by use of

a trade name or otherwise falls 1o list all ficensees practicing at a particular location
shall;

1. Upon request provide 2 fist of all icensees at that location; and

2. Maintain and conspicuously display at the licensee’s office, a directory listing all
licensees practicing at that jocation.

{q) Failure to disclose the fact of giving compensation or anything of value to
representative of the press, radip, television or other communicative medium in
anticipation of or in retumn for any advertisement (for example, newspaper article)

unless the nature, format or medium of such adverisement make the fact of
compensation apparent.

{A—aAdtor-thidy {30} days-the-usa-of the-name-of-ahy-ficdnsoe-formanly- practicing -at-or
associated-with-any-adverlised-focation-or-on-office-signs-er-bulldings.-{ This-rula-shall
HMWRWM%W@%WMWMMWM
assuciation-with-one-or-mers-pt-the-presept-oosupants-if-the-slatus-of the formaer
aspociate-is-distlosed-in-any-advedisement or-sign):

{n The uss of the name of any licensee formerly practicing at or agsociated with any
advertised lovation or on office sigrzs or buildings after thirty {30) days from the
departure of that licensee, (This rule shall not apply in the case of a relired or
deceased former associate who practiced in association with one or more of the

resent oceupants i the stalus of the former associale is disclossd in an

adverlisement or sigin,

{s} Stating or implying that a certain licensee provides all services when any such services
are performed by anolher licensee.

{4  Directly or indirectly offering, giving, receiving or agreeing to receive any fee or other
“consideration to or from a third party for the referral of a client in connaction with the
perforrnance of professional services.

{5) Advertising Records and Responsibility

{a} Eachicensee who is a principal pariner, or officer of a firm or entily identified in any
advertisement, is jointly and severally responsible for the form and content of any
adveriisement. This provision shall also include any licensed professional employees
acting as an agent of such entily.

(b} Any and all advertisement are presumed to have baen approved by the licenses
names therein.

{€) A recording of every advertisement communicated by elecironic media, and a copy of
every advertisement communicated by print media, and a copy of any other form of
advertisement shall be refained by the licensee for a period of two (2} years from the
last dale of brpadcast or publication and be made available for review upon request by
the Board or its authorized representative.,
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GENERAL RULES GGVERNING LICENSED MASSAGE THERAPISTS CHAPTER 0870-01
AND ESTABLISHMENTS

(Rule 0870-01-.17, continued)

(d) At the time any type of advertisement is placed, the licensee must possess and reply
upon information which, when produced, would substantiate the truthfulness of any

assertion, omission or representation of material fact set forth in the advertisement or
public communication.

8)—Soverability—itis-horsby-daclared-that-the-sections - clauses, sentences—and-part-of-thess
aies-are-severable-are-npbmatiers-olmutual-cssential indusement-and-any-of them-shallbs
esscinded-itthese-riles-would-otheavise-be-uncenstitutional e inelfective any-oae-or-moms
sections—clausessonionces-or-paris-chal-for-eny-reason-be-questioned-Jn-court-and-shall
be-adjudged-unconstititional-or-ihvalid-sush-judgment-shallnot-afest impairor-invalidate
mmmmag—mmaymmmlmmﬂ%twmﬂmmm%wwm
provision-or-provisions-so-held-unconstitutional-er-dnvalid-and-the-inapplicabiity-ar-invalidity
sf-any-seciion-slause Serionce-or par-in-any-ore-ormora-insiancss shall not-hae taken-lo
afiector prejudice In-any-way is-applicabilily orvalidily inrany-biberinstance.

Authority: T.C.A. §§4-5-202, 4-5-204, 63-1-145, 63-1-146, 63-18-108, and 63-18-111. Adminisirative
History: Original rule filed November 13, 1996; effective January 27, 1997. Amendments filed March 24,
2008; effective June 7, 2006.

0870-01-18 CONSUMER RIGHT-TO-KNOW REQUIREMENTS.'

5--Malprastice-reporing-requirarents—The-threshold-amaunt-below-which-medical-malprastice
judgments,-awards-or-selllements—in-which-payments—are-awarded-to-complaining-parlies
peed-not-be-reporied-pursuant-le-the-"Health-Care-Consumer-Right-To-Know-Act of -1058"
shall be-terthousand-dollars {510,000

{1} Malpractice reporting réguirements.  Pursuant fo_the "Hedlth Care Gonsumer Right-to-
Know Act of 1888" codified at T.C.A. § 63-51-105, licensees shall report any and all
professional malgractice judaments, awards or setlements in which payments to
compiaining parties exceed ten thousand dollars ($10,000).

(2) Criminal conviction reporiing requirements. For purposes of the “Health Care Consumer
Right-To-Know. Act of 1998”, the following criminal convictions must be reported:

{&) Conviction of any felany,

{b)  Conviction or adjudication of guilt of any misdemeanor, regardless of its classification,
inn which any element of the misdemeanor involves any one or more of the following:

1. Sex

2.  Alcohol or drugs.

3. Physical injury or threat of injury to any persen.

4, AbuSenor neglect of any minor, spouse or the elderly.

5.  Fraud or theft.

{c) Ifany misdemeanor conviction reported under this rule is ordered expunged, a copy of
the order of expungement signed by the judge must be submitted to the Department
before the conviction will be expunged from any profile.
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GENERAL RULES GOVERNING LICENSED MASSAGE THERAPISTS CHAPTER 0870-01
AND ESTABLISHMENTS

(R‘ule 0870-01-.19, continued)

{3} Licensees shail nolify the Board Administrative Office within thirty (30) davs of a
reporfable event under this Rule (malpractice paviment or conviction).

Authority: T.C.A. §§4-5-202, 4-5-204, 63-18-111, 63-18-111, and 63-51-101, et seq. Administrative

History: Original rule 0870-01-.18 filed March 14, 2000; effective May 28, 2000. Amendment filed March
24, 2006; effsctive June ¥, 2006,

HE7-01- 10— PROFESSIONAL - ETHICAL--BTANDARDS. _ Professional_and Ethical Standards for
Therapists And Establishmenis.,

%QMMW%&S&WM@%?%%@W—%%WBQ% for-the
proper-dissharge-of-theirresponsibiliies—to—those-served,-that-protect-the-integrh—of the

profession;—and —that-safeguard--tha-interest of-individual—cients— To--adhareto- these
professionateihicalstandands liconseaswill

aﬂ#ﬁmtaﬁgns—emhewsmpm»aad

M%Mah&m@%s@mmaﬁ%ﬁsr%w -and-bodywork-and |

refecslionis{o-appropriate-healh-profossionals; and

ro-practitioners;-and-the-public-of he-scops -

______

{e}—Aucid- «awierestmactw;twf—mﬂueﬂeamwhwh @@h%mﬁmmym% _

shligationtoa

ofession-and

{h—Complywith—ali-applicable- Tennessee statutes—and-regulations—as-well-asDrders
iesuad-ny-the-Board-purmsuant-to iis-disciplinary-andlor declaratory order-authority:-and

Mmmmm%wmmmmw—mnmmgmm

respeetthe-inhareni worth-ofall bersens;and
{f}—censmeﬁ%ly—mmata%a«aa&mme—%ﬁmenai kn@w&edgeand—sampe&epme—sm

Spd-6n

thew—pmies&eﬂa%%wwaﬁé

{3—Provide-draping-and-trealment in-a way-that-ensures-the salely—comior-and-privacy-of :

_ . : o ls caasonsl {ationthat i il
advantageous-to-the client-and

e —Rsfram ﬁnéer»ﬂismﬁafaamsianses—fmm-mmatms—mﬁn@agmg4n~any—sexuat~saaé%t; :
slving-a-clentevenitthe dlisntatlemipts do

sexaalw%iah%shw—ané

{—~PReiain-iHhe lcensees-aro-owners-or-employess-of -a-massage-therapy-educational
pmgmmagpme@bﬁh&ﬁoa:é—pmaﬂueﬁma-%Iw%%&w—éamgmw
saxual-telationship-with-any-studentwhile-the Studgntds-entg
oitime-belwesn-semesiors-of altendanceand
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GENERAL RULES GOVERNING LICENSED MASSAGE THERAPISTS CHAPTER 0870-01
AND ESTABLISHMENTS

(Rule 0870-D1-.19, continued)

{r)—Refrain-idhe-licensess-are-owners-or-employees-ofa-massage therapyeducational
pregram—approved-by—the Board pursuant-toRule-0870-02-02;-Fom-solisiting-any
sludent-to-be-a-chorit-or-custemer for-massage-tharapy-sendces-while the student-is
ersolied; insluding e perod-ol-dine-between-semestors-of atlendance; and

ny—HRelmain-fom gmmaa&se%swa-mey—awmewhw%ﬁy@ﬁ meniaﬁytmeapahl&gf

sately-doing-$6—The-term-—safely™-as-u H sato massage
therapists—ang. @ﬁg@ﬁ&ihemmwmwnwak wﬂh -éu;mg— Ehe—eeamweﬁgmfessignai
praslice-and

{ap-——Refuse-any-gifts—or-bensfils-which-are-intended-dodnflusnes—arefensl-desision-or
weatmenithal-are-purelyforpersonal-gain-and nol-forthe good of the client-and

{p—Reluse-fo-unjastiydiserirminate-against-clienis-acotherhealth-vrofsesicnsls-and
ie)-—-Represent-thelrgualifications-honestly-including-their-edusaticnal-achisvemsanic-and
professional-alfiliations—and-provide-only-those-senvices-which-they-are-qualified-ang
&W#@m aagd

{1} Respestthe-cllents-bobindaries with-ragard-1o-privacy-disclosure —exposure;-emolional
expressiah-beliels-the-elieni's-aulonemy—and the-slenls-reasonable-expesialions-of
professional behavicr.ang

{e)—PRaespestihe-clientsdghtto-refusemoediyorlerminate-roatmontregnrdloss—ofprior
sonseptgiven-zod

() Respestiheclient’s right-lo-treatment-with-informed-and volunianconsent by obiaining
aad—meepémg MtMMwﬁﬁeﬁwseﬂWMMaﬂMﬁdmmmm

aawwmg-aﬁ-the nasa% passagas--and
2——thempsulic-irealmenis-intho-oraphathyy-and
3—therapeutic same-gender-breastmassage; and

&Q—Respeatih&aim%&aghwgyemmmaimammg

(v} Galoguard-the-confidentiaiy-of-all-clont informalion,-tinioss-4 o ———
pormission-lorelease-such-nfarmation;-or

Fepﬁesaatatwaw M&Qﬂ%ﬁﬁﬁﬁﬂﬁ%ﬁ&?ﬁ%%ﬁﬁf@&%ﬁ%&g&ﬂd&w

2——whan-reguired fo-do-so-pursuant de-any-action-in-a-soud-ollaws-or
3 avhare roquired-bir-lavw-toreport-io-slato-or-federal agenclas,.and

MWW&MW@%MM%W&M
Yo proseculed-ungder-this-rule-if-halshe- AL—signed--ty-the
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GENERAL RULES GOVERNING LICENSED MASSAGE THERAPISTS CHAPTER 0870-01
AND ESTABLISHMENTS

(Rule PB70-01-.19, continued)

ea@b&shm&mn&%matmwﬂmt&mmmwammmt
stating-that- he-establishment.islicensed-asa-mascage-establishmant.

{2y Viotation of any provision listed in paragraph (1) is grounds for disciplinary action, as provided
in Rule 0870-01-.13.

0870-01-18 Professional and Ethical Slandards for Therapists and Eslablishments, e mw‘ Forn
italic

b The Board reguirgs ficensed therapists and ficensed establishments o uphold
professional and  ethical siandards that allow for the proper mscharqe of their
responsibilities to hose served, that orotect ine inteqdty of the profession. and that
safequard the infterests of individual clients. To enzure compliance with these

professional atfiical siandards. licensed therapists, snd. whan applicable. ficensed
establishments, must

{a) Accuralely inform clients, other health care practiionsrs, and the public of the
scope and limitations of thelr discipline; and

b Acknowledge the limitations of and contraindications for massage and bodywori
and. when appropriate, refer clients to appropriate health professionals and

{e) Avoid_any Intersst activity or influence which might be in confiict with the
licensea’s obligation to act in the best interests of the client or the profassion; and

{h Comply with all applivable Tennessee statutes and requiations gs well as Orders
issued by the Board pursuant to its disciplinary andfor declaratos
and

{e) Conduct thelr business and professional agtivities with honesty and intearity, and
respect the inherent worth of all persons, and

th  Consistently maintain and improve professional. knowledge and competence,
striving for_professional excelience throuah requiar assessment of versonal and

professional skrenaths _and weasknesses and through continued education
faining; and

{a} Exercige the right fo refuse o treat any person or parnt of the body for just and

regsonable cause: and

f{1}) Have a sincere commitment to provide the highest guality of care to those that
seek thelr orofessional services; and

privagy of the cllent, and '

{0 Provide irnatment only where there is reasonable expectation thai # will be
advaniaueous 1o the glisnt and

{&) Refrain, under ali circumstances, from iniliating, ermangiog for, of engaging in any
sexual conduct, sexuat activity, or sexualizing behavior involving a client, sven if
the glient alternpts to sexualize the relationship: and

Il Refrain, under all glrcumsiances, from providing the following freaiments, which
are prohibited and not within the scope of practics for massane therapists;
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GENERAL RULES GOVERNING LICENSED MASSAGE THERAPISTS CHAPTER 0870-01
AND ESTABLISHMENTS

(Rule 0870-01-.19, continued)

1, Treatments to the anus or anal canal, including, but nol imited to. colonic
irrigations and enemas;

2. Cross-qender breast massage,

3, Treatments o the genitals.

{m Refrain, if the ficensees are owners or emplovess of a massage therapy
educational program approved by the Board pursuant to Bule 0870.02-02, kom
dating or having & sexual relationship with any student of such program while the

student bs enrglled, including the perod of fime bebween semesters of
attendance; and

Refrain, if the Hcensess are owners or employees of a massage therapy
educational program approved by e Board pursuant to Rule 0870-02-02, from
soliciting any student of such_program lo be a client or customer for massage
therany services while the student is enrmolied, including the period of mna
bebveen semaesters of attendance; and

{0) Refrain from providing services when the licensee s either physically or mentally
incanable of salely doing so. The term "safely” as useg in this rule means safely
of the massage therapisis and snvone they come in contact wﬂh during the

course of professional practice; and

{p Represent their qualifications honestly, including their educational achievements
and_professional affiliations, and provide only those sefvices which they am
qualified and licensed o perform: and

) Respect the client's boundaries with regard to privacy, disclosure  exposure.
emolional exprassion, beliefs, and autonomy, as well as the dlient's reasonable
expeciations of professional behavior, and

{n} Before oroceeding with a _massage, explain o the client exoecied draping
techpigues and provide the client a clean drape Jarae enough for the purpose of
draping the buttocks and genitalia and. in the case of female clients the breasts,
Such body pads must remain covered excout during therapeutic reatment of

those specific areas, with the excepfion of the genitalia, which shall always
remain covered; and

{s} Respect the clenf's right o retuse, mopdify, or lerminaie realmernt regardless of
rior consent given; and

i Respect the dlient's right to freatment with inforrned and voluntary consent by
oblaining and racording informed valuntary written vonsent of the cllent or
clienl’s advocate befors performing:

‘i.‘ Themapsulic treatments bevond the nommal nagowing of the ear canal
ang nommal narrowing of the nasal passages, ang

2 Theraneutic keatments In the orophary ang
3 Therapautic same-gender breast massags.

{u) Respect the glient's right o treatment with informad and volunfary consent by
obtaining and recording informad voluniary writien or verbat consent of the client
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GENERAL RULES GOVERNING LICENSED MASSAGE THERAPISTS CHAPTER 0870-01
AND ESTABLISHMENTS

(Rule 0870-01-.19, continuad)

or _client's _advocate, before providing treatment ofther than the trealmenis
identified in subparagraph {13 {p) of this rule: and

oA Safeguard the confidentiality of all client information. uniess the chent provides
written permission 1o release such information; or

1. Unless such information js requested during a_formal investigation by
representatives of the Stale of Tennessee or other law_enlforcement
agencies: or

2. Unless requited 1o do so pursuant to any action in a courl of law: or

3, Whare required by law o report lo state or federal agencies,

fw Refrain from practicing in an unlicensed establishmant,

{x Launder or sanitize. before reuse ail materials, eauipment and supplies utill zed

for gach glient,

Authority: T.CA. §§ 4-5-202, 4-5-204, 63-18-108, and 63-18-111. Administrative History: Original
rile filed May 30, 2003; effective August 13, 2003, Amendment filed October 4, 2004; effective
December 18, 2004. Amendment filed March 24, 2006; effective June 7, 2006. Amendmerils filad June
16, 20086; offective August 30, 2006, Amendment filed February 2, 2007; effective April 18, 2007,
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Q870-02-.02 Program Approval and Currichlum Reqguirernents Classrooms

(870-02-03 Wilhdrawal of Program Approval ) (0B70-02-08 Program Policies and Procedures
0B70-02-04  Program Admission Reguiremenls 0870-02-.07 Annual Reporl

0870-02-08 Fees

0870-02-.09 DEFINITIONS. As used in this chapier, the following lerms and acronyms shall have the
following meanings ascribad to them:

{1) Board - Tennessee Massage Licensure Board

{2) Program — any massage therapy program or school

{3) TBR - Tennessee Board of Regents
(4) THEC - Tennessee Higher Education Commission
(8) NCETMB — National Ceriification Examination for Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork

8 NCBTMB — The National Certification Board for Therapeutic Magsage and Bodywork

{7} FEMTH — The Federation of State Massage Therapy Boards

i) MBLEx - The Massage and Bodyworks Licensing Examinafion established by the
FsMTg

Authority: T7.C.A. §§ 4-5-202, 4-5-204, $3-18-111, and 63-18-115. Adminisirative History: Original
tiile fited March 24, 20086; effeciive June 7, 2008.

£870-02-02 PROGRAM APPRCVAL AND CURRICULUM REQUIREMENTS.

{4—Mossage-therapy-programs-must-receise.witlen-approval-from-the-Tennasses-Massags
Licansore Baard.

{y—hpplication-Process
{a}—%&éﬁewmgmmk&% %pprmaaéw Frust-submil--an--appication-which
provides-the foil

d%mMMM%
mg&aﬁ%sa&eﬁ&e@%mmwnwww;mmw e

1 Nama-obparantineiffuliosand suthority-for-pparalions;
R -—Lovation-ntprincipal clinical-facilitios;
F—hiasations ofall-sataliile-facilites;

June, 2009 (Revised) 1
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GENERAL RULES GOVERNING MASSAGE THERAPY CHAPTER 0870-02
EDUCATIONAL PROGRAMS

{Rule 0870-02-.02, continued)

4——-Namps--and-lisense--nunbes-oi-al-liconead- -toashing-staft-and-the—progrom
diractor

%mu%mwﬁ—mﬂmﬁg profassional-lcenss-numbers-and-desointicn-and

axplanation--of--any--prer-dissiplinary—action—taken—against-a--lisense—for—al
taaching-stall-including the program dirsclor,

T Bubmission o the-program.catalogand
H%mm%%%awﬁ%@%%mmmmmw

{By—The-program-direcior-shall-appearbeforothe -Board-as- pa-of-the-inilal-approvsl
process—The-curriculum-shall be-presenled-at tho-meating.

. {3)The Board-approved-program-shall adhere lo-the-following-minimurm-slandarde:

{ar—nstrusloristudent ratio-shall-be at-leasl-one- -{H-inshustor-lo-every-den-{10)-working
sidenis-forany-hands-on-class;

{o—The-program-curisulum-shall-include -but-not be-limitad-lo-the topics-sentale-in-the
WmWMmMW%W—JhmMMm&MW
{(NCBTMB)-oxamination, te-Bliccassst—andiorother-approved--examination—contant

euﬂha-aﬁhﬂ#ne—a#admmm%@#mwadamwﬂmmk%mmmum
sonsist-ative-hundred {500} classroom hours-and-must contaln:

t——Twe-hundred-1200)-classroom- hours - of scisnces- in@iu&ﬂ&—é&%—n%&mieé—t@-
anatomy—physicloge-Western. andi@#&@ﬁ%ﬁ#ﬂ—kmesmwmgpww
and—blood-bome-pathogens,—and—hyglens—{including—standard -precautians).
Cthar-soiences rolatad-te-the-human-body-may-be-included with-Board-approval.

rs-alralated-sublecte. mciuding-b
basm«as&—séaﬂéavé& %wrawwmtemw
Americans-with-Disabilitios RETFE REtRGEE - ShaHS g&-popuiations.and

sposislizad-and-adjunct MW%MMWM%
A——Tea-{10) classroom-hours of sthick courses:

S——Flva-{B)-classrpom-hours. aﬂwmw@nglenmmag& slahiog-and
reguiations.

fG}——%&—ﬁ%@gFﬁﬁ%—%&#&iﬁg—_ﬁmgFm—%yﬂabﬁ&w aHel :
m&mmdiaﬁﬁwxsmmmmmwmm&@mmm
axamination,-cuirent-conieat-outine-and-eligibility-adierdaare-{o-be-disitrded oo ar
befm&iheﬁ#st{%@}a&as&&easm

June, 2009 (Revised) 2
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GENERAL RULES GOVERNING MASSAGE THERAPY CHAPTER 0870-02
EDUCATIONAL PROGRAMS

{Rulg 0870-02-.02, continuad)

{¢y-—-books-are -providad-by--the--program;- the-books-on-a-partisular—subject-shall be
distributad prorlo-the-class-onthat subjach

{a)—The—program-taust-inform-aach-student-of the-reguirarnents—for lisensure and must
specifically-include-the provisions-regarding-stiminalsonvictions-

- The-pragrammust-have-a-wrillen-policy-on-the-scospied-passdail-mtes-orgrading
sycion-used-by-the program:

{——The-program-must-Rave-s-wrllon-prolosel orpolicy-on-the machaniem-io-svaluate-a
studenl's-pedormance.Atleast-onedevalvalion- s required-withis-te Srst hal ol she
progran.

hy—The-program-must-have avsitlen-pelicy-on-the dismissalof sludpnais.

{}—The-program-shail—cresis-gnt- mmmwmmmmmat

iranscdpts—a-—compliangs. - with—the—mles—of-the—Tennesses—Higher-Education
Commission-ar-ihe-Tennessen-Board-of Regents.

r——~hipon-request-a-copy-olthe ranseiptshall-be providad-to the-student-upon-complation
of-or-withdrawal-from-the-program.-The-student-raust-somplywith-the-snrsliment
ag#eeman&%@—msemmyw
Ha}—TFhe bansoript shail-include-the-foliowing-at-a-minimuny:
B Bubjocts-covered-inthe-progrom:
B Signature-oLan-authorzed-programischool otficial:
&--—Date-issuad;
-Matemrgmﬁm%aad;
8 Mumber-of sontacthours-complated.
all-be-natified-ol-sny-changs-in-directorship and/or-inshusiors-withinden

{W} ﬁays«af«m oi-discharge—DPocamaniation-ot the-{rainingand-expetence.-ol-any
rew-hirse-must-be received within-len-{10) - days-ob bire-

. o-netdfiad-msmedisteiy-of apy-shanges-made-in-the-operalion-oidhe
M % ab-a M@ﬁ_.emm%mmwmmm
: ith THEG-or THR;

{m)—Board approval-apd-subssquentre-approvals-shal-be-issved-annually.--Application-for
re-approvalb-shall mest allrequiramante. of dhie-raie;

m%%%wmewmamm duting

June, 2008 (Ravised) 3
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GENERAL RULES GOVERNING MASSAGE THERAPY : CHAPTER 0870-02
EDUCATIONAL PROGRAMS

(Rule 0870-02-.02, continued)

inslrclon.—Failure-io-provide--ascess—pursuant—to-1bisprovision- Tray-subject-the
previderio-withdraval ol program-approyal:

(py——fs-a-prerequisiie-lo-approval-or-sontinued--approval—he-Board s-professional - it
assislance-program-must be-allowed lo-make-a prasentation-upen-requast.

{pd-mamber-of-the-Board-or-a-Board. dasignoe—may-istbo-proliminary-—program -spproval
subjact io-subsequent-Board ratification.

ﬁhe—wag;ammwﬁam—%aﬂ@ay -gil-apalicabio-fess-esiablishad-in-nds 08700208 for the

application-and-renawal-olthe- -pregram-approval-by the-Board-as-well-as-feas-to-protess a
replasementsadificate-and-asomedialplan:

{13 Massage therapy programs mist receive wiilten approvat from the Tennessee Massaqe
Licensure Board through the apolication process described in patagraph {2) below. Such
approval is nof transferable

123 Application Process

{a) _ Massage therapy programs seeking approval must submil an applicalion 1o the
Board a minimum of thirty {30) davs prior to the nex| requiarly scheduled Board
meeting in_order for the Board o review the application. The application must
provide the following information;

1. Name of parent institution and autharity for operations:

2. Location of principal clinjcal facilities,

3. Locations of all sateiiite facilities;

4 Names and license numbers of all licensed teaching staff_and ihe

“program director.

5 Curdculum vilae, including professional license pumbers and desaription

and explanation of any pnor disciplinary action taken against a license,
for gl \waching staff, ncluding the proaram director;

Masimum class size;

e

A complele copy of the program catg

front-side only; and

-

o4, submitted on plain copy paper

8. Submission of other such information that the Board may deem
ﬂecessar},g' .

I Thi program director shali appear before the Board as part of the initial soproval
process. The curricutum shall be presented al the mesting,

{3 The Board-suproved program shall adhers to the following minimum standards:

{&) instructor/student ratio shail be at least one {1) inslructor to every fourdesn (14)
s{udents for any hands-on class,

June, 2009 (Revised) 4
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GENERAL RULES GOVERNING MASSAGE THERAPY CHAPTER 0870-02
EDUCATIONAL PROGRAMS

(Rule 0870-02-.02, continued)

{b}

The program curriculum shal include, byl not de imiked o the topics conigined

{c)

in_the current Nabonal Cerlificalion Board for Therapeulic Massage and
Bodywork (MCBTMB) examinalion, s successor andior other  aporoved
axamination, content oulline at the time of admission of the student.  The

program shall, at a minimum, consist of five hundred (500} classroom hours and
st contain:

1. Two hundred (2001 classroom hours of sciences including, but not fimilad
. ig,_anatomy, physiclogy-Western andior/Eastern, kingslology, pathalogy,
HIVIAIDS and blaod-bome pathogens, and hygiens (including standard
pracautions). Qiher sciences relaled lo the human body may be
included with Board aporoval,

2. Two hundred (200 ciassrcom hours of basic massage theory and.
practice including,  bu! not limiled o history, benefits, indications,
contiaindications,  demonsiration. and  supervised  prachce. client
assessmentiavalualion, soft lissue manipulations including.  gliding,
kneading fiction, comprassion. vibraion, percussion, sietebing, ipint
movemneants, draping positioning, rning, feedback
chatding/dosumentation, praper body mechanics, and seif-care,

. Eighly-five (85) classrpom hours of related subjects inghuding, but not
fimited 1o, business slandards of practice  communicalion  skills,
CPRFirst Aid. the Amedcans with Disabilities Act réderral methods,
spegialized pubylations, and specialized and adjiunct
therapies/medalifies (including hydratherabyl.

4. Tan {10} classroom hows of ethics ingtruction.
5, Five {5) classroom hours reqarding Tennessee massage siatutes and
regutalions,

The progam calslen, program syishus, policles procedures and he handbook

{d}

or_brochure regarding the approved examination, cumenl conterd oulling and
eligibility crilena_are to he distributed on or before the first (1st) clazs session.

The program shall ensure that sach graduating class shall have received a

mirdmuamn of twe {2} hours classroom presentation prior 1o praduation by the
impaired professional assistance program contracted by the Board.  Both the
pragram and the impaired professional assistance program shall each maintdin
decumentation of sach presentation reflecting the date, time and attendance of
he presentation_and shall make such documentation availablie vpon request by
the Board,  Faillure to comply with this provision may subject the program to
withdrawal of program approval,

‘The_program_muyst_document that each student has signed and dated .an

]

acknowledgement that they understand the reauirements for licensure,
sneoifically the provisions regarding criminal convigtions, uptn application o the
program,

The orogram must have 2 wrilen policy on the accepled pass-fal rales or

June, 2009 {Revised)
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GENERAL RULES GOVERNING MASSAGE THERAPY CHAPTER 0870-02
EDUCATIONAL PROGRAMS

{Rule 0870-02-.02, continued)

(@)

The program must have a wniten protocol or policy on the mechanism j{u}

{h

evaluale a student's performance. Al least one (1} evaluation is required withip
the first hatf of the program.

The program shali create and mainiain racords on each student. including official

transcrpls. n_compliance with the rules of the Tennessee Higher Education
Commission or the Tennesses Board of Regents.

Upon request, the program shall provide a copy of the Yranseript to the student

0

upon completion of or withdrawal from the program  The student must comoly
with the anrollment agresment to recalve a cony.

The transcript shall include the following, at a minimum:

{Ki

1 The program nams,

2 Name of the student;

3. Subjects covered in the program;

4 Brades and_contact hours for each subject pursuant to Rule 0BT0-01-
L4011 Xel;

5. Signalure of an authorized program/schoot official;

B, _Dats issued,

7. Drate of graduation:_and,

8. Total number of contact hours completed,

ihe prograrn shali nolify the Board of any change in directorship andfor

{Ir

instrugtors within ten (10} days of hire or discharge,  Documentation of the
iraining and experience of any new hires mus! be received within ten (10) days of

The program shall potify ke Board within ten (10} days of any changes made in

fm)

the operalion of the school such as a change of ownership, diregtor of education,
nstitulional directar, location, and/or approval status with THEC or TBR;

At any times, designees of the Department of Health of Sther state agencies shail

{nj

be provided full access o program maleiials examinalions, and ihe classroom
during instruction.  Fallure lo provide access pursuant to lhis provision may
subiect the provider to withdrawal of program appioval,

A member of fhe Board or 2 Board designes may_issue prafiminary program

{0}

aoproval sublec! o subsequent Board ratitication,

The program miust have 2 weilien policy on the dismissal of sludents,

Auvthority: 7T.C.A. §% 4-5-202, 4-5-204, 63-1-136, 63-18-111, and 63-18-115. Administrative History:
" Original rule filed March 24, 2006; effecfive June 7, 2006. Amendment filed Aprif 30, 2008; effeciive July
14, 2008. Amendment filed Aprii 9, 2008; effactive June 23, 2008.

June, 2008 {Revised)
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GENERAL RULES GOVERNING MASSAGE THERAPY CHAPTER 0870-02

EDUCATIONAL PROGRAMS
(Rule 0870-02-.03, conlinued)

[ahsaa  WEy W ¢

sxarminalions-on-the-first-{1sh-atlempl.

0B70-02-.03  Withdrawal Of Program Approvel. Program approval may be wilhdrawn if the Board finds

Al ‘ROVAL—Program-approval-may- be-withdrawn-it-the
Eeardwﬁnd& thewagfam Mmmi{en@anymm.aw:wmwmmmmm—ﬁmhmgmm
madeguate-for-catlification-purpeses-based-upenrandem-audiing of the-prograrm-andior-its sffestiveness
in-pradusing-guatifisd graduales—The-minmum-stendard forcontinued-progrmm-approval shall-be-atJeast
sevanty-persent—{70%}-ol-the—studenis—ovar-at-least-a—si-{8)-month-period-passing - the-licensure

the program in viotalion of any of the Board's statules or requlations or if the Board finds the program

inadeguale for cerdificalion purposes based upon random auditing of the. program and/or its effectiveness

in_producing_qualified graduates, The minimum standard for continued prouram aoproval based on

effectivenass In produsing qualifisd qmduates shall be at lsast seventy percent {70%) of the students

passing the licensure examination on first (17) attemp! over at least a twelve (12) month period,

Authority: T.C.A §§ 4-5-202, 4-5~204 83-18-111, and 63-18-115, Administrative History: Original

rule filed March 24, 2008; effective June 7, 2006.
0870-02-04 PROGRAM ADMISSION REQUIREMENTS,
{1) Students must be at least eighteen {18) years olg;
{2) Studenis must have either a high school diploma or GED cerlificate;

{3) Students must be legally entitled to live and work in the United States; and

(4) Students may not have been convicted of the offense of prostitution or sexual misconduct.

Authority: T.CA. §§ 4-5-202, 4-5-204, 63-18-111, and 63-18-115. Administrative History; Original

rule filed March 24, 2006; effeclive June 7, 2008.

0870-02-.05 MINIMUM STANDARDS FOR DIRECTORS, INSTRUCTORS AND CLASSROOMS.

(1) Directors and Instructors

{a) Program Direstor - The program director of the massage therapy program must be
currently licensed in Tennessee as a massage therapist with at least five (5) years
experience. The program director must meet all other conditions required by THEC or
TBR to be a program director. For purposes of this chapter of rules, the program
director is the individual who has direct responsibility for the supervision and daily

operations of the massage therapy program er school.

{b) Director of Education — The director of education must meet all conditions required by
THEC or TBR to be a diractor of education. If the director of edugation also functions
as the massage therapy program director, hefshe must be currently licensed in

Tennessee as a massage therapist with at least five (5) years experience,

{c) Institution Director — The institution director must meet alt conditions required by THEC
or TBR to be an institution director. If the institution director also functions as the
massage therapy program director, heishe must be currently licensed in Tennessee as

a massage therapist with at least five (5) years experience.

(SN

{d}—nstrostors——Any—persons—whe—inslruct-Frust-be—surrenlly— snpageas-Jicensed
profossionals—intheirappropriate-profassion-i-such-professien-requireslisensure—H
the-insirgctor is—reguirad-to-be-lizansed-in-order-io-praslive-histherprofession-the

June, 2009 (Revised) 7
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GENERAL RULES GOVERNING MASSAGE THERAPY CHAPTER 0870-02
EDUCATIONAL PROGRAMS

{Rule 0870-02-.05, continued)

inelructor-may-teach-only-principles.-and-consepls-fom-thal-profassion.— They. must
hovg-atleast-thres-(3)-yaars-of practical-expadence-within-the-past-seven(7)-years-in
the-subjest-arsato-be-faught.

{d instructors - Any persons whe instruct mmust be currentiy Tennessss licensed
professionals in thair appronriate protession if such profession requires lleensure.
Instructors must have at least three (31 years of practical sxpsvience within the
past sever {7} years in 1he subject area to be taught,

(e} Instructors who are professionally ficensedfauthorized by any state or cerlified by any
- natiorral organization must disclose to the program any prior disciplinary action by such
states or nalional organizations, and the program shall so nofify the Board. The Board

may deny approval of a program based upon an instructor's past disciplinary history.

{f)  The program director shall establish an svaluation system to evaluate the performance
of each instructor.

(g} The program director shall ensure that staff meelings are held to discuss progress of
students, policies and procedures for the school, and changes to the statutes and rules
of the Tennessee Massage Licensure Board which will affect the program's students,

{h)  The program director is responsibie for the conduct of the instructors and students and

any violation of the rules or statutes may result in the discipline of the program

director's license, the withdrawal of program approval andfor the assessment of civil
penaities.

{2) Classrooms

(8) The classruom size must agcommodate the number of students enrolied in the
program, and,

{bj The classroom must be appropriately equipped to promote effective instruction.

Au!horiiy: T.C.A. §§ 4-5-202, 4-5-204, 63-18-111, and 63-18-115. Administrative History: Original
tule filed March 24, 2008; effeciive June 7, 2006,

0870-02-.06 PROGRAM POLICIES AND PROCEDURES.
£Ay-—snfautious-Dissase Managsmant

ta——the-program-must-have-g-willen--policy-on-infeslious -disease—managnment -and
nfection control

23— -Emargency-Managsmant

{&)--—Pretocols-shall-be. eﬁa%&h&&%m&m&%&s&f@w ofinstustors.studonts.-cliamis -and
the-public-inthe-aventol an-emergency

tby-—Firstaidiamergency-kits-musi-be-available-at-all- imes-and
#mmwimﬁéﬁmmm-wwd

June, 2009 (Revised) 8
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GENERAL RULES GOVERNING MASSAGE THERAPRY ‘ CHAPTER 0870-02
EBUCATIONAL PROGRAMS

{Rule 0870-02-.08, continued)

{3y~ Firg-and-Safely
tay——All-pragrams-must comphy-with-local-ond-siste-fire-codes.

{by—Written-firs-and-salety-provedurss-shall-be-made-avaliable-lo-sach-student--Pattinent
fire-safely-precadures-shall-be-displayed in conspisuous places.

{4)-—-Sexuat-Harassmen

fa) - -All-programs-must-have-a-writtan-policy. on-sexual-harassment-to-address-siluations
bebvoon-instustomscllentssnd-sludents:

{b)——The-policy-must-be-in-cempliance-with-allapplicable-siate-and fedarsl regulations-ang
guidelines,-and;

{e}—The-policy-must-be reviewed-with-and distributad-te-alHnstruciomstalf-and - sludents:

5)—Equal- Emplaymenwapeﬁumbj—i;mmmm_ﬁﬁf;@} -------- All--programs-must-ablde-by-the '
requirementis-imposad by the EEOC,

{1 Al programs shall oréate wiltlen policies for alt of the following and shall distribute them
to all students:

{a) Infection conirol;

{ Emargency management:

fc)‘ Fire and safety; and

(e Sexual harassment and misconduct.

{2 All protrams shall have at least one (1) person_gualified in Basis Life Support (BLSY
available during all clinical and classroom hours,

Authority: T.CA. §§ 4-5-202, 4-5-204, 63-18-111, and 63-1 B-115. Admmistrative History: Original
rule filed March 24, 2006; effeclive June 7, 20086.

0870-02-07 ANNUAL RERORT.-The program-shall-fls-an annualseport with-the Bosid.

0870-02- 07 Annual Repoit  Every Board-approved pratgram shall f te an annugl Teport with the Board
on or before December 31 of each calendar year,

(1)  Thereport shall cortain:
{a) the number of students enrclled;
{(b) the number of students graduated;
{c) the number of students dismissed or withdrawn;

{d) the number of students siiting for the licensure test, and

June, 2009 (Revised) 9
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GENERAL RULES GOVERNING MASSAGE THERAPY CHAPTER 0870-02
EDUCATIONAL PROGRAMS

(Rute 0870-02-.06, continued)

{e) the percentage of students taking the test for the first (1st) time and passing the
licensure test.

{(2)  Acopy of the report filed with THEC or TBR is deemed to meet the requirements of this rule.

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 4-5-202, 4-5-204, 63-18-111, and 63-18-115. Administrative Ristory: Original
rule fited March 24, 2006; effeciive June 7, 2006.

0870-02-.08 FEES.
(1) Types of Fees.

(@) Program application fee is a non-refundable fea to be paid by all applicants for

approval of a new massage therapy program. This fee includes an initial approval fee
and he state regulatory fee. :

(b}  Annual program renewal fee is a non-refundable fes to be paid prior to the issuance of
the renewal cerlificate. This fee includes an annual renewal fee and the state
regulatory fee. This fee must be received annually on or before June 30th.

{c)  Exisling program registration fee is a non-refundable fee to be paid by all massage
programs that (within ninety (90} days of the effective date of this rule) are currently
approved by the Board.

(d) Late renewal fee is a non-refundable fee to be paid when the program fails to submit
the required annual report. This is an additional fee which must be submitted with the
annual program renewal fee and state reguiatory fee.

{e) State regulatory fee is a non-refundable fee to be paid by all programs upon initial
application and renewal.

() Replacement certificate fee is a non-refundable fee to be paid when an approved

massage program requests replacement approval for the massage therapy educational
program due to name andfor address changss.

{g) Remedial application fee is a non-refundable fee to be paid when an approved
massage program is required to submit a remedial plan.

(2) Fee Schedule:

{a} Program application fee shall include the following;
1. Initial approval fee $500.00
2. State regulatory fee $5.00

(b) Exisling program registration fee ~ $100.00
(c) Annual pragram renewal fee shall include the following:
1. Annual renewal fae $250.00

2. State reguiatory fee $5.00

June, 2009 {Revised) 10
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GENERAL RULES GOVERNING MASSAGE THERAPY CHAPTER 0870-02
EDUCATIONAL PROGRAMS

(Ruie 0870-02-.08, continued)

{d} Late renewal fee $500.00
{(e) Replacement certificate fee $25.00
(H Remedial application fee $750.00

Authority: T.C.A § 63-18-111, and 63-18-1156. Administrative History: Original rule filed April 9,
2009; effective June 23, 2008.

June, 2009 (Revised) 11
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* If aroll-call vole was necessary, the vote by the Agency oh these rulemaking hearing rules was as follows:

Board Member Aye No Abstaln Absent Signature
{if reguired)

FPhyliis B. Salyers

Faith Mayton

Chris Sluss

Marcela Collins

Cynthia Jaggers

K=

Pamela Edmond

Marilyn Field X

I certify that this is an accurate and complete copy of rulemaking hearing rules, lawfully promuigated and adopted

by the Massage Licensure Board on 10/26/2009 & 02/23/2010, and is in compliance with the provisions of TCA 4-
5-222,

| further certify the following:

Notice of Rutemaking Hearing filed with the Department of State on: 08/03/09
Rulemaking Hearing(s} Conducted on: {add more dates). 10/26/09 & 02/23/10
Date: %
7

s

Signature;

Name of Officer: Marc Guilford

4ALLE IHH;".

Assistanl General Counsel WA n Py
Title of Officer: _Department of Health ,5‘:\0?‘;& c'e ff/ s
X Y -..ﬁr[/,t'.
R ,Q}c- S

NOTARY 19"

Subscribed and sworn to before me on: "/// 2 / iy r  pusLIc ’
/’ P ". P @

Nolary Public Signature:

My commission expires on: 1} {7 /.:u) {r

All rulemaking hearing rules provided for herein have been examined by the Attorney General and Reporter of the
Stale of Tennessee and are approved as 1o legality pursuant to the provisions of the Administrative Procedures

Act, Tennessee Code Annotated, Title 4, Chapter 5. @//‘
/ i
7

*  Robert E. Cooper, Jr.
A_OAttpr,ney,General and Reporter

AT 4704
) T Date
Department of State Use Only
Filed with the Deparlment of State on: U O 2
Effective on: 01’0&7 i T2 1 W
Y
i
4 Tre Hargett
Secretary of State
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DEPARTMENT:

DIVISION:

SUBJECT:

STATUTORY AUTHORITY:

EFFECTIVE DATES:

FISCAL IMPACT:

STAFF RULE ABSTRACT:

G.0.C. STAFF RULE ABSTRACT

Wildlife Resources Agency

Boating and Law Enforcement

Chronic Wasting Disease

Tennessee Code Annotated, Section 70-1-206

August 1, 2012 through June 30, 2013

Minimal

This rule prohibits the unauthorized importation of any
cervid carcasses or paris that originate from areas where
Chronic Wasting Disease has been identified. The agency
reports that this rule is being promulgated to prevent the
introduction of Chronic Wasting Disease into Tennessee's

wild white-tailed deer and elk populations, as well as
captive non-native deer and elk populations

H:\Government Operations Committee\twra cwd deer.doc
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Public Hearing Comments

One copy of a document containing responses to comments made at the public hearing must accompany the
filing pursuant to T.C.A. § 4-5-222. Agencies shall include only their responses to public hearing comments,
which can be summarized. No letters of inquiry from parties questioning the rule will be accepted. When no
comments are received at the public hearing, the agency need only draft a memorandum stating such and include
it with the Rulemaking Hearing Rule filing. Minutes of the meeting will not be accepted. Transcripts are not
acceptable.

RULE: 1860-01-15-.02

New
Amendment X
Repeal

[1 There were no public comments to the above-described rule.

[ 1 Attached hereto are the responses to public comments.

$8-7039 (October 2011) _ 4 RDA 1693
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Regulatory Flexibility Addendum

Pursuant to T.C.A. §§ 4-5-401 through 4-5-404, prior to initiating the rule making process as described in T.C.A.
§ 4-5-202(a)}(3) and T.C.A. § 4-5-202(a), all agencies shall conduct a review of whether a proposed rule or rule
affects small businesses.

(1) The type or types of small business and an identification and estimate of the number of small businesses
subject to the proposed rule that would bear the cost of, andfor directly benefit from the proposed rule;

None

(2) The projected reporting, recordkeeping and other administrative costs required for compliance with the
proposed rule, including the type of professionai skills necessary for preparation of the report or record;

None. The only record would be a citation in the event a viclation of this rule was found.
(3) A statement of the probable effect on impacted small businesses and consumers;

Less than 10 meat processors and/or taxidermisis would not be able to provide service on one out of hundreds of
animals they handle each year.

{4) A description of any less burdensome, less intrusive or less costly aiternative methods of achieving the
purpose and/or objectives of the proposed rule that may exist, and to what extent, such alternative means might
be less burdensome to small business;

None at this time.

(5) A comparison of the proposed rule with any federal or state counterparts; and

None

(8) Analysis of the effect of the possible exemption of small businesses from all or any part of the requirements
contained in the proposed rule.

None

$5-703% (October 2011) 5 RDA 1683
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Impact on Local Governments
Pursuant to T.C.A. §8 4-5-220 and 4-5-228 "any rule proposed to be promulgated shall state in a simple
declarative sentence, without additional comments on the merits of the policy of the rutes or regulation, whether

the rule or reguiation may have a projected impact on local governmenis.” (See Public Chapter Number 1070
(http://state.tn.us/sos/acts/106/pub/pc1070.pdf) of the 2010 Session of the General Assembly)

Will passage of this rule have a projected financial impact on local governments? No

Please describe the increase in expenditures or decrease in revenues; n/a

$585-7038 (October 2011) | 6 RDA 1693
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Department of State
Division of Publications

Nashvilte, TN 37243

Phone: 615-741-2650

Fax: 615-741-5133

Email: register.information@tn.qov

For Department of State Use Only

312 Rosa .. Parks Avenue, 8th Floor Snodgrass/TN Tower Sequence Number: ( )5 - O g ~] 2.

Rule ID(s): %” 2 % <)
File Date; ¢ O [ 2.
Effective Date: (¢ g {g;i !]2

Rulemaking Hearing Rule(s) Filing Form

Rulemaking Hearing Rules are rules filed after and as a resulf of a rulemaking hearing. T.C.A. § 4-5-205

Agency/Board/Commission: | Tennessee Wildlife Resources Agency
B Division: | Boating and Law Enforcement
Contact Person: | Lisa Crawford
Address: | PO Box 40747, Nashville, TN
Zip: | 37204
Phone: | 615-781-6606
Email: | Lisa.Crawford@tn.gov

Revision Type (check all that apply):

X Amendment
_ New
Repeal

Rule(s) Revised (ALL chapters and rules contained in filing must be listed here. If needed, copy and paste
additional tables to accommodate multiple chapters. Please enter only ONE Rule Number/Rule Title per row)

Chapter Number | Chapter Title

1660-01-15 Rules and Regulations for Animal impertation

Rule Number Rule Title

1660-01-15-.02 importation of Wildlife Carcasses, Parts, and Products

Rulemaking Hearing Rules
Of
Tennessee Wildlife Resources Agency
Wildlife Resources

Chapter 1660-01-15
Rules and Regulations for Animal Importation

1660-01-15-.02, Importation of Wildlife Carcasses, Parts, and Products, is amended by deleting the current
language in its entirety and substituting the following language so that, as amended, the rule shall read as follows:

$5-7039 (October 2011)
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{e}—Cleanedtecth:
'ed;— ~ I il Eisl led_ta*}d“ e-FFH}"ﬂH-d—&H-ﬂBI'—EFQdHGt-S—.
{e}—Hides-and-{anned-products:

{1} No person may import, fransport, or possess in Tennessee a cervid carcass or carcass part from
any area that has a known case of chronic wasting disease {(CWD) except as provided herein;

(a) Meat that has bones removed.

(b} Antlers, antlers attached to cleaned skull plates, or cleaned skulls (where no meat or
tissues are attached to the skull}.

{(c) Cleaned teeth.

{d) Finished taxidermy and antler products.
{e) Hides and tanned products.
{2} The Tennessee Wildlife Resources Commission will annually compile a list of these areas and

make such list available to the public.

Authority: T.C.A. §870-1-206 and 70-4-107. Administrative History: Original rule filed July 12, 2005; effective
September 25, 2005. Amendment filed January 5, 2009; effective March 21, 2008,

If a roll-call vote was necessary, the vote by the Agency on these rulemaking hearing rules was as follows:

Board Member Aye _ No Ahstain Absent
William L. Brown
Jim Bledsoe
Harold Cannon
Jeffrey H. Griggs
Julius Johnson L
Robert Martineau s
Jeff McMillin
Mitchell S. Parks
Julie Schuster
Todd A. Shelton
Trey Teague
Eric Wright L
Danya Welch _ 2"

SRR

=

VN

| certify that this is an accurate and complete copy of rulemaking hearing rules, lawfully promulgated and adopted
by the Tennessee Wildlife Resources Commission on __03/16/2012 {mm/dd/yyyy), and is in compliance with
the provisions of T.C.A. § 4-5-222.

| further certify the following:

Notice of Rulemaking Hearing filed with the Department of State on: 01/20/2012

Rulemaking Hearing(s) Conducted on: (add more dates). 03/16/2012

132



Date:
Signature;
Name of Officer:

Title of Officer:

B-20-12.

“Odo Cosi

Ed Carter

Executive Director

H-20-12
MWQ

AW
5-5-15

Subscribed and sworn to before me on:

Notary Public Sighature;

My commission expires on:

All rulemaking hearing rules provided for herein have been examined by the Attorney General and Reporter of the
State of Tennessee and are approved as io legality pursuant to the provisions of the Administrative Procedures

Act, Tennessee Cade Annotated, Title 4, Chapter 5. M

¥ RodertE. Cooper, Jr.
Attorney General and Reporter

281 %

Date

Department of State Use Only

Filed with the Department of State on:

05703 [oan
o / 4] / 204 ;a\
MgV Sy b P

Tre Hargett
Secretary of Siate

Effective on:
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DEPARTMENT:

DIVISION:

SUBJECT:

STATUTORY AUTHORITY:

EFFECTIVE DATES:

FISCAL IMPACT:

STAFF RULE ABSTRACT:

G.0.C. STAFF RULE ABSTRACT

State

Publications

Rule Filings by State Agencies

Tennessee Code Annotated, Section 4-5-202

October 29, 2012 through June 30, 2013

Minimal

This rule reduces the number of copies of rule filings that
state agencies must submit to the Department of State
from five to three. This reduction applies to rule filings and
notices of withdrawal of rules, stays of effective dates, and
withdrawal of stay of effective date. The agency reports

that this reduction to three copies filed is consistent with
the filing requirements for notices of rulemaking hearings.

H:\Government Operations Committee\state three copies.doc
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‘Regulatory Flexibility Addendum
Pursuant to T.C.A. §§4-5-401 through 4-5-404, prior to initiating the rule making process as described in T.C.A.

§4-5-202(a)(3) and T.C.A. §4-5-202(a), all agencies shall conduct a review of whether a proposed rule or rule
affects small businesses.

This rule has no impact on small businesses.

$S-7038 (September 2011) 5 RDA 1693
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" impact on Local Governments

Pursuant to T.C.A. §§4-5-220 and 4-5-228 “any rule proposed to be promulgated shall state in a simple
declarative sentence, without additional comments on the merits of the policy of the rules or regulation, whether
the rule or regulation may have a projected impact on local governments.” (See Public Chapter Number 1070
(http://state.tn.us/sos/acts/106/pub/pc1070.pdf) of the 2010 Session of the General Assembly)

This rule is not projected to have an impact on local government.

6 RDA 1693
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For Department of State Use Only

Department of State
' Division of Publications

i 312 Rosa L. Parks Avenue, 8th Floor Snodgrass/TN Tower equence Num . e - i
. Nashville, TN 37243 Seq ber: DS~]0~| .

i Phone: 6156-741-2650 . - L{

| Fax: 615-741-5133 Rule ID(s): <&03 520
Email; register.information @ tn.qov File Date: OSI Dq, l [L

Effective Date: 1()/2."—? ({2

Proposed Rule(s) Filing Form

Proposed rules are submitted pursuant to T.C.A. §§4-5-202, 4-5-207 in lfisu of a rulemaking hearing. It is the intent of the Agency fo
promulgate these rules without a rulemaking hearing unless a petition requesting such hearing is filed within sixty (60) days of the first day of
the month subsequent fo the filing of the proposed rule with-the Secrefary of State. To be effective, the petition must be filed with the Agency
and be signed by twenty-five (25) persons who will be affected by the amendments, or submitted by a municipality which will be affected by
the amendments, or an association of twenty-five (25} or more members, or any standing commitiee of the General Assembly. The agency
shall forward such peiition fo the Secretary of Siate.

Agency/Board/Commission: | Department of State
Division: | Publications
Contact Person: | Cody Ryan York N , ;

: Address: | 312 Rosa L. Parks Avenue, Snodgrass Tower, 8" Floor, Nashville, TN i
A S s . L

Phone: | 615-741-2819
Emall: | Cody.york@tn.gov

T~

OO E

Revision Type (check all that apply):
_X Amendment
_ New
__ Repeal

Rule(s) Revised (ALL chapters and rules contained in filing must be listed here. If needed, copy and paste
additional tables to accommodate multiple chapters. Piease enter only ONE Rule Number/Rule Title per row)

Chapter Numher | Chapter Title
1360-01-02 Filing of Rules
Rule Number Rule Title :
1360-01-02-.05 Additional Requirements

Chapter Number | Chapter Title

1360-01-03 Withdrawal of Rules, Stays of Effective Dates, and Withdrawal of Stay of Effective Date
Rule Number Rule Title

1360-01-03-.02 Forms and the Completion of Forms

85-7038 (September 2011) 1 RDA 1693
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(Place substance of rules and other info here. Statutory authority must be given for each ruie change. For
information on formatting rules go to hitp://state.tn.us/sos/rules/1360/1360.htm)

Chapter 1360-01-02
Filing of Rules

Rule 1360-01-02-.05 Additional Requirements is amended by deleting the language “five (5)" and by substituting
instead the language “three (3)" so that, as amended, subdivision {(4) (a) shall read as follows:

1360-01-02-.05 Additional Requirements.
(4) "Rediine” Copy of Rule Filing

(a) Pursuant to Public Chapter 741 of the 105™ General Assembly, all agencies shall submit a
“redline” version of the filing in addition {o the three (3) five-{&} copies required by the
Secretary of State. This copy will be forwarded to the General Assembly by the Secretary of
State for review by the appropriate committees.

Authority: T.C.A. §4-5-202.

. Chapter 1360-01-03
Withdrawal of Rules, Stays of Effective Dates, and Withdrawal of Stay of Effective Date

Rule 1360-01-03-.02 Forms and the Completion of Forms is amended by deleting the language “Five (5)" and by
substituting instead the language “Three (3)" so that, as amended, subdivision (1) {a) shall read as follows:

1360-01-02-.05 Forms and the Completion of Forms. The forms supplied by the Secretary of State through the
website (www.state tn.us/sos) shall be completed by the rule filer and the foliowing guidelines are to be followed.

{1} A Notice of Withdrawal of Rules, Notice of Stay of Effective Dates, or Notice of Withdrawal of Stay
of Effective Date (Form number 7041) shall require the following:

(a) FEive{B) Three (3) entire forms completed with criginal signatures.
1. The following guidelines apply to the document:
(M The decuments must be clean and legible.
(i) Use of capitals and lower case in all text. No “ali caps.”
(i)  No bold, underline or italic fonts.
(iv} Do not use auto-numbering on pafagraphs in the text of rule.
(v) Do not use the MS Word function “track changes.”

{(vi) Do not use unneeded punctuation: Example: No comma between the rule
number and rule title or apostrophe after agency name in main heading.

(vii) Use T.C.A. for Tennessee Code Annotated.

{viii) No hard return at the end of lines within a paragraph. Use atthe end of a
paragraph.

{ix) Use the enter key to put space between paragraphs. Do not use paragraph
formatting to add space before or after the paragraph. This function does
not work well with style pallets.

{x) Use hyphens on keyboard with no space between hyphen and rule numbers.
‘ Variations can cause search options to overlook target.

58-7038 (September 2011) 2 RDA 1693
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{(xi)  No single digits on rule and chapter numbers. Place "0" with single
numbers. Example: 1200-5-5 = 1200-05-05.

{xii)  Font style for all submissions shall be Arial and point size 10.

Authority: T.C.A. §4-5-202.

S$8-7038 (September 2011) 3 RDA 1693
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| certify that this is an accurate and complete copy of proposed rules, lawfully promulgated and adopted by the
Department of State on __04/24/2012 , and is in compliance with the provisions of T.C.A. §4-5-222. The
Secretary of State is hereby instructed that, in the absence of a petition for proposed rules being filed under the
conditions set out herein and in the locations described, he is to treat the proposed rules as being placed on file in
his office as rules at the expiration of sixty (60) days of the first day of the month subsequent to the filing of the

proposed rule with the Secretary of State.

Date: ‘74'/27[/ Zr Al i
Signature: :

LEEA/ Name of Officer; /A& /77%[7;1
“ Title of Officer: _ JLcus7mty OF SH7

0
W]
]
g
5
2 L]
“9 e
“”ﬂnn""“‘

"‘@

K o e Subscribed and sworn to before me on: %/ﬁ// Z .
% ?9\“ “!""‘ I
. Notary Public Signature: %M
7

&y Gomlssinn Epives Y 7, 2012
My commission expires on: /Wl/ % Zﬁ/Z,

All proposed rules provided for herein have been examined by the Attorney General and Reporter of the State of
Tennessee and are approved as to legality pursuant to the provisions of the Administrative Procedures Act,

Tennessee Code Annotated, Title 4, Chapter 5.

Rébert E. Cooper, Jr.
Attorney General and Reporter

5472

Date

Department of State Use Only

Filed with the Department of State on: SI é’i I [2.-
Effectiveon: [ EALCf l 2

7 Tre Hargett

Secretary of State

J £

1 i)

P
r,

4 RDA 1693
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DEPARTMENT:

DIVISION:

SUBJECT:

STATUTORY AUTHORITY:

EFFECTIVE DATES:

FISCAL IMPACT:

STAFF RULE ABSTRACT:

G.0.C. STAFF RULE ABSTRACT

Board of Nursing

Medication Administration by Medication Aides Certified
Tennessee Code Annotated, Section 63-7-127

August 13, 2012 through June 30, 2013

Minimad

These rules implement the licensure program and
corresponding rules for medication aides certified as set
forth in Tennessee Code Annotated, § 63-7-127. These
rules change the Board of Nursing's policy and practice by
allowing licensed nurses to provide delegation of
medication administration in a nursing home or assisted
living facility to medication aides certified.

H:\Government Operations Committee\nursing medication aides.doc
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Public Hea_ring Comments

One copy of a document containing responses to comments made at the public hearmg-must-accompany the
filing pursuant to T.C.A. §4-5-222. Agencies shall include only their responses to public hearing comments, which
can be summarized. No letters of inquiry from parties questioning the rule will be accepted. When no comments
are received at the public hearing, the agency need only draft a memerandum stating such and include it with the
Rulemaking Hearing Rule filing. Minuies of the meeting will not be accepted. Transcripts are not acceptable.

PUBLIC HEARING COMMENTS

RULEMAKING HEARING- MEDICATION AIDES CERTIFIED
RULE 1000-05

TENNESSEE BOARD OF NURSING

The rulemaking hearing for the Tennessee Board of Nursing was held on Cctober 7, 2010, in the Department of
Health Conference Center's iris Room on the First Floor of the Heritage Place Building in MetroGenter, Nashville,
Tennessee. E. Ashley Carter, Deputy General Counsel presided over the hearing.’

Comments were received at the hearing as follows:

1. A letter was received and comments were made requesting less restrictive rules for the program
instructors.

Board's Response: The Board voted fo revise the language in the proposed rule 1000-05-.07(3)(e) by deleting, ..
the requirement for instructors to have experience in medication administration in a nursing home, assisted care
living facility or gerontological experience and changing the requirement to only require medication experience
with knowledge of the reguiations and competency to administer medication in a long-term care setting.

2. A request was made for an increase of the instructor to student ratio of one to six for didactic hours.

Board's Response; The board expressed concern with the short timeframe of training and the amount of- - - -
information to be learned in that timeframe and felt a larger ratio would not be beneficial. The board voted to keep
rule 1000-05-.07(3){f) as proposed in the Notice and not change it.

3. A comment was made that there appears to be a contradiction with rules 1000-05-.02(9) and 1000=05~" "~
J10(1)(h in the supervisory and assessment requirements. In reference to rule 1000-05-.10(5)(a), it was further
stated that it is thought a resident assessment does not need to be made every time an “as needed (PRN})”
medication is requested by a resident of an ACLF.

Board's Response: The board voted to clarify the language. The board made no decision to change rule 1000-
05-.10(5)(a).

4. A comment was made that there may be some conflict with the proposed rules for MACs and the current
rules for assisted care living faciiities.

Board's Response: After consuitation with the legal counsel for the Board of Nursing and Health Care Facilities
from the Office of General Counsel, it was determined no substantive conflict exists.

5. A request was made concerning the language of the peer assistance rule to add-therwords “referratto™in

rule 1000-05-.08(1)(c), and the addition of a new subparagraph (e) to add “ongoing monitoring of recovering
professionals.”

! An earlier rulemaking hearing was held on January 21, 2010, pursuant to T.C.A. § 83-7-127(I{{1). Subsequently, the statute was amended to
include subsection (m), effective May 26, 2010. The October 7, 2010, rulemaking hearing implements the provisions of T.C.A. § 63-7-127 as
amended.

$8-7039 (July 2010) 6 16 RDA 1693
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Board’s Response: The board voted to add the suggested language.
6. A written request to include the Prohibited List of Medications and Prohibited Means of Administration in
the rules was received.

Board's Response: The board voted to include the Prohibited List of Medications and Prohibited Means bf
Administration in the rules as specified in T.C.A. § 63-7-127.

7. A letter was received with two requests;

1. A request that a second alternative to schools be considered.and included. hy.the. board.inthe.. .
rules to allow licensed nursing home and assisted living facilities to establish their own educational courses for the
training of Certified Medication Aides;

2. A request that a grandfather clause be considered to enable currently certified CNAs to take only
the coursework that was not part of their prior CNA/CNT fraining; suggesting that the prior CNA fraining (pursuant
to rule 1200-08-08-.15) overlaps with the current education requirements and therefore would be duplicative.

(Also included with the letter was a handout with the language of rule 1200-08-06-.15 and another handout with
some examples of “common tasks and education” of CNAs.)

Board's Response: The board voted to keep the rules as proposed.

At a subsequent meeting of the board on October 5, 2011, the board voted to approve the following rule revisions:

Rule 1000-05-.02(2) was revised to delete the word “drug” in the sentence and replace it with “oral or topical
medication for a specified condition.” Paragraph (9) was revised by deleting the language “the delegating
licensed nurse is to be on site and immediately available to the MAC, unless otherwise specified in these rules”
and adding new language to newly renumbered paragraph (23): “The delegating licensed nurse shall be on-site
and immediately available where required by law. If not required to be on-site, the delegating nurse shall be
immediately available for a two-way telephone conversation.” Original paragraph (23) was deleted.

Rule 1000-05-.03(2)}(b)7 was deleted and paragraphs 8 and 9 were renumbered. -

Rule 1000-05-.06 was revised by adding the words “disciplinary actions and” to the title, new paragraph.{1) was.
added, and paragraphs (2), (3) and (4) were renumbered.

Rule 1000-05-.07(3)(b) was revised by expanding the wording of the subparagraph fo be more explicit.
Subparagraph (f) was revised by changing “program instructor” to “supervising licensed nurse.” Subparagraph
(10) was revised by adding the words "denied approval” and “denial” in reference to program approval.

Rule 1000-05-.10 was revised by switching the positions of paragraphs (1) and (2). The words-“upeon-admissien; -

and after any change in status or acuity, or any change in medication” were added to the end of paragraph {3) for
clarification. Subparagraph (5)(a) was moved to be part of paragraph (5) and subparagraph (5)(b) was moved to
subparagraph (3)(b) and reworded to read “The licensed nurse has determined that it'is appropriate forthe = -
resident to receive medication from the MAGC.”

Upon subsequent review, subparagraph (7)(f) of rule 1200-05-.11 was clarified by adding “or via a two-way
telephone conversation” to be consistent with paragraph (23) of rule 1200-05-.02.

$5-7039 (July 2010) 6 17 RDA 1693
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Regulatory Flexibility Addendum

Pursuant to T.C.A. § 4-5-401 through 4-5-404, prior to initiating the rule making process as described in T.C.A.
§4-5-202(a)(3) and T.C.A. § 4-5-202(a}, alt agencies shall conduct a review of whether a proposed rule or rule
affects small businesses.

N

(2)

(3)

(4

{5)

(6}

)

REGULATORY FLEXIBILITY ANALYSIS
Tennessee Board of Nursing; Rule No. 1000-05
The extent to which the rule or rule may over lap, duplicate, or conflict with other federal, state,
and local governmental rules.

The proposed rules do not overlap, duplicate, or conflict with other federal, state, ot iocal government
rules.

Clarity, conciseness, and lack of ambiguity in the rule or rules.

The proposed rules exhibit clarity, conciseness, and fack of ambiguity.

The establishment of flexible compliance and/or reporting requirements for small businesses.
The proposed rules are not written with special consideration for the flexible compliance and/or reporting
requirements because the licensing boards have, as their primary mission, the protection of the health,
safety and welfare of Tennesseans. However, the proposed rules are written with a goal of avoiding

unduly onerous regulations,

The establishment of friendly schedules or deadlines for compliance and/or reporting
requirements for small businesses.

The compliance requirements throughout the proposed rules are as “user-friendly” as possible while still
atlowing the Division to achieve its mandated mission in licensing nurses.

The consolidation or simplification of compliance or reporting requirements for small businesses.

Comp!iahce requirements are not consolidated or simplified for small businesses in the proposed rules for
the protection of the heaith, safety and welfare of Tennesseans.

The establishment of performance standards for small businesses as opposed to design or
operational standards required in the proposed rule.

When the health-related licensing boards’ rules contain standards, there are always statements included
which specify what constitutes compliance with such standards.

The unnecessary creation of entry barriers or other effects that stifle entrepreneurial activity, curb
innovation, or increase costs.

There are no unnecessary entry barriers or other effects in the proposed rules that would stifle
entrepreneurial activity or curb innovation.

S8-7039 (July 2010) 18 RDA 1693
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STATEMENT OF ECONOMIC IMPACT TO SMALL BUSINESSES

Tennessee Board of Nursing; Rule No. 1000-05

1. * Name of Board, Committee or Council: Board of Nursing
2. Rulemaking hearing date: October 7, 2010
3. Type or types of small businesses that will be directly affected by the proposed rules:
(a) Nursing homes and assisted care living facilities who choose to use Medication Aides Certified

will be directly affected by the proposed rules.

4, Types of small businesses that will bear the cost of the proposed rules:
(a) Nursing homes and assisted care living facilities who choose to have a training program for
Medication Aides Certified wilt bear the cost of the proposed rules; and
{b) Nurse Aides who choose to become a Medication Aide Certified will bear the cost of the proposed
rules.
5. Types of small businesses that will directly benefit from the proposed rules:

Nursing homes and assisted care living facilities who choose to use Medication Aides Certified will be
directly affected by the proposed rules.

6. Description of how small business will be adversely impacted by the proposed rules:
Nursing homes and assisted care living facilities wiill not be adversely impacted by the proposed rule as
hiring personnel from this category of certification could lessen the overall cost of care of residents of
these facilities.

7. Alternatives to the proposed rule that will accomplish the same objectiVes but are less
burdensome, and why they are not being proposed:

There are no less burdensome means to accomplish the purpose of this new rule.

8. Comparison of the proposed rule with any federal or state counterparts:
(a) Federal: The Board is not aware of any federal counterparts.
{b) State: The Board's proposed new rule is consistent with the qualifications for

licensure in other states regulating the practice of nursing.

§5-7039 (July 2010) 19 RDA 1693
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Impact on Local Governments

Pursuant to T.C.A. 4-5-220 and 4-5-228 “any rule proposed to be promuigated shall staie in a simple declarative
sentence, without additional comments on the merits of the policy of the rules or regulation, whether the rule or
regulation may have a projected impact on local governments.” (See Public Chapter Number 1070
(http://state.tn.us/sos/acts/106/pub/pc1070.pdf) of the 2010 Session of the General Assembly)

The new rules for Medication Aides Certified are not expected to have an impact on local government.
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Chapter 1000-05
Medication Aides Certified

New Rules
Purpose.
Definitions.
Application, Certification and Renewal.
Reinstatement.
Fees.

Disciplinary Actions and Civil Penalties.
Training Programs.

Peer Assistance Program.

Continuing Education.

Supervision and Delegation.

Standards of Practice.

Purpose.

The rules in this chapter implement the certification program for medication aides certified, T.C.A. § 63-7-127.

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 63-7-127 and 63-7-207.

1000-05-.02  Definitions.
in addition to the definitions contained in T.C.A. § 63-7-127(a), the following definitions are applicable to this
chapter:

N “Applicant” means a person filing an application for a certificate as a MAC.

2 “As Needed Medication” means any oral or topical medication for a specified condition that is not
scheduled to be administered to a resident at a routine time but is given in response to a
resident’s complaint or expression of discomfort.

3) “Assisted Care Living Facility” shall have the same meaning as set forth in T.C.A. § 68-11-201.

@ “Board” means the Tennessee Board of Nursing.

(5) “Certified Nurse Aide” means an individual who has successfully completed an approved nursing
assistant training program and Is registered with the department,

(8) “Clinical Practice Component” means tasks or activities planned as part of a medication aide
certified training program to provide MAC students with the opportunity to administer medications
in a nursing home or an assisted care living facility setting.

(N “Clock Hour or Contact Hour” means fifty (50) to sixty (60) minutes of qualifying or continuing
education.

& “Controlled Substances” shall have the same meaning as set forth in T.C.A. § 63-10-204(7).

)] “Delegation” means the transfer of responsibility, but not the accountability, for the administration
of medication from the delegating licensed nurse to a MAC.

(10)  “Department” means the Tennessee Department of Heaith.

(1 “Drug” shall have the same meaning as set forth in T.C.A. § 63-10-204(16).
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(15)

(16)

(17}

(18)

(19}

(20)

(21)

(22)

(23)

“Licensed Nurse” means a registered nurse or licensed practical nurse licensed under T.C.A. §
63-7-101 et. seq., including an advanced practice nurse.

“Medication Administration” means giving a drug to a resident to be orally ingested by the
resident or topically applied to the resident's body.

“Medication Administration Record” (MAR) means & written or electronic record of the medication
ordered for and administered to a patient or resident of a nursing home or assisted care living
facility.

“Medication Aide Certified” (MAC) means a certified nurse aide who holds a current, valid
certificate as a medication aide certified issued by the Board and who administers medications
{pursuant to T.C.A. § 63-7-127) under the general supervision of a licensed nurse.

“Medication Aide Certified Training Program” means a formal program of study approved by the
Board and required for certification as a medication aide certified.

“Nursing Home” shall have the same meaning as set forth in T.C.A. § 68-11-201.

“Patient” or “Resident” means a person receiving the services of a medication aide ceriified in a
nursing home or assisted care living facility.

“Peer Support Program” means a program that provides monitoring of rehabilitation services to
health care professionals who may be impaired by substance abuse or a psychological condition.

“Person” is defined as an individual, natural person.

“PHI” means individually identifiable health information (1IH1) created, received, or maintained by
a covered entity and transmitted or maintained in any form or medium. 45 C.F.R. Part 160.103;
42 U.8.C. §§ 1320d — 1320d-8 (HIPAA).

"Qualified Educational Institution” means an institution accredited by the Southern Association of
Colleges and Schools (or equivalent regional accredited agency) or the Council on Occupational
Education that currently or in the future operates as a fully approved Tennessee School of
Registered or Practical Nursing. '

“General Supervision” means a licensed nurse overseeing with authority a MAC who is
performing medication administration in a nursing home or assisted care living facility. The
delegating licensed nurse shall be on-site and immediately available where required by law. If
not required to be on-site, the delegating nurse shall be immediately available for a two-way
telephone conversation.

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 83-7-127 and §3-7-207.

1000-05-.03  Application, Certification and Renewal.
(1) Application.

(a) An applicant for certification as a MAC shali complete an application on a form prescribed
by the Board. The training program shall submit the application for certification by
examination to the Board office.

{b) Any application submitted which lacks the required information or fails to meet any
requirement for certification will be returned to the applicant with written notification of
deficiency and will be held in “pending” status for a reasonable period of time, not to
exceed ninety (90) days from the date of application, so that the applicant may cure any
deficiency, if possible.

(c) An application may be withdrawn uniess it has been denied.

S$S-7039 {July 2010) 3 RDA 1683

49



(d) Application fees are not refundable.
{2) Certification.

(&) An applicant for certification as a MAGC shall submit an application o the Beard office
along with the required information and application and certification fees.

(b) An applicant shall furnish evidence to the Board office, along with a completed
application and applicable fees, that the applicant:

1. Is at least eighteen (18) years of age;

2. Has completed the twelfth (12™) grade or its equivalent or has successfully
passed the test for and has received a general equivalency diploma,;

3. Is a certified nurse aide;

4, Has worked as a certified nurse aide in a nursing home or assisted care living

facility for at least 365 days of continuous, uninterrupted, full-time work at no
more than two (2) different facilities, at the time the applicant submits an
application;

5, Has successfully completed a course of instruction provided by a training
program approved by the Board under rule 1000-05-.07 and in compliance with
T.C.A. § 63-7-127(i);

8. Has passed a medication aide certification examination approved by the Board;
7. Has caused the resuits of a criminal background check to be submitted to the

Board’s administrative office directly from one of the vendors indentified in the
Board's licensure application materials; and

8. Does not have an encumbrance on any professional license or certificate.
(€} An applicant must take the approved MAC examination.
1. An applicant must become eligible for certification by examination by applying to

the board within thirty (30) days after completing a training program;

2. An applicant must then take the examination within ninety (90) days of being
made eligible by the board;

3. An applicant taking the examination a second time must re-take the examination
and complete the certification process no later than 365 days after filing the initial
application; and

4, An applicant not successful after two (2) examination attempts must repeat the
training program and reapply.

3 Renewal.

{a) Certification is valid for two (2) years from the date of its issuance and shall become
invalid on such date uniess renewed, unless earlier suspended or revoked.

{b) A MAC may renew a current, valid certification by submitting a renewal form approved by
the Board, the required renewal fee and regulatory fee, and aitestation of having
completed six (6) contact hours of Board-approved continuing education each year prior
to the expiration date of the certificate.
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(©) A renewal form and the fees must be actually received by the Board office on or before
the due date, whether submitted in person, by the U.S. Mall, or other delivery service.

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 63-7-127 and 63-7-207.

1000-05-.04  Reinstatement.

(1 Any person seeking reinstatement of a certification after the expiration date of the certification is
required to reapply for certification, fulfill all of the requirements of initial certification, show proof
of having completed all past due continuing education, and may be required to submit proof of
additional education or testing to show continued competency.

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 63-7-127 and 63-7-207.
1000-05-.05 Fees.
(H Application and Initial Certification Fee by Examination.............ccccoeeiccenrnnnnnn. $ 150.00

2 An applicant shalt pay the examination fee set by the test service directly
to the test service designated by the State to administer the examination.

3 ReNeWal FEB.......coiiiiiiii e e e e na e aaaas $ 125.00
(4). Replacement/Duplicate Certificate Fee...coovvvii i, $ 25.00
(5) State Regulatory Fee. . ... e $ 10.00
(3] Training Program Initial Application Fee to offset the cost of two or more

survey visiis to evaluate the program for board review, consultation by a
registered nurse, preparation of reports and other responsibilities as the

DOAN MAY FEOLITB. . eeiieiieceiiieeeee et ee et e e sns s b e smt s saes enreeneeeas $ 2,500.00
(N Training Program Annual Survey Fee to offset the cost of survey visits,

compilation of annual reports and statistics and other duties as required

by the Board of NUISING. .....c..veveiiriiirics e e e e e eeieaeas $ 1,500.00
(6] Peer Assistance Program Fee to offset the added cost of adding medication

aides certified to confract for professional assistance.......ccoevevvveeeieiivires cer $ 15.00
()] Name Change Fee... ..ot e $ 2500
(10)  Reinstatement FEe...........coiv it et e e e e $ 100.00

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 63-7-127 and 63-7-207.
1000-05-.06  Disciplinary Actions and Civil Penalties

(1) The Board has the power to discipline medication aides certified based on the grounds set forth in
T.C.A. § 83-7-127 and may deny, revoke or suspend any certificate to practice as a medication
aide certified, or otherwise discipline a certificate holder, including but not limited to the imposition
of civil penalties as are specified below.

(2) Schedule of Civil Penalties

(&) A Type A Civil Penalty may be imposed whenever the Board finds a person who is
required o be licensed, certified, permitted, or authorized by the Board, guilty of a
violation of Tenn. Code Ann. § 63-7-127 or the regulations pursuant thereto, to such an
extent that there is, or likely to be, an imminent, substantial threat to health, safety and
welfare of an individual patient or the public. For the purpose of this section, practicing

5 RDA 1693
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(3)

(4)

as a MAC without a certification from the Board is one of the violations of the statute for
which a Type A Civil Penalty is assessable.

(b) A Type B Civil Penalty may be imposed whenever the Board finds a person who is
required to be licensed, certified, permitted, or authorized by the Board, guilty of a
violation of Tenn. Code Ann. § 63-7-127 or the reguiations pursuant thereto in such
manner as {o impact directly the care of patients of the public.

(c) A Type C Civil Penalty may be imposed whenever the Board finds a person who is
required to be certified, permitted or authorized by the Board, guilty of a violation of Tenn.
Code Ann. § 63-7-127 or the reguiations pursuant thereto, which are neither directly
detrimental to the patients or public, nor directly impact their care, but have only an
indirect relationship to patient care or the public.

Amount of Civil Penalties

(a) A Type A Civil Penalty may be assessed in an amount of not less than $500 or more than
$1,000.

{b) A Type B Civil Penalty may be assessed in an amount of not less than $100 or more than
$750.

(c) A Type C Civil Penalty may be assessed in an amount of not less than $50 or more than
$500. -

tn assessing the Civil Penalties pursuant to these rules the Board may consider the foliowing
factors:

(a) Whether the amount imposed will be a substantial economic deterrent to the violator;
{b) The circumstances leading to the violation;

(c) The severity of the violation and the risk of harm to the public;‘

{d) The economic benefits gained by the violator as a result of non-compliance;

(e) The interest of the public; and

(f) Willfulness of the violation.

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 63-1-134, 63-7-127 and 63-7-207.

1000-05-.07

4

S$5-7039 (July 2010)

Training Programs.

Any qualified educational institution seeking to conduct a MAC training program shall make
application with a letter of intent and submit to the Board any documents, statements and forms
as the Board may require and pay a training program application fee and annuai fee. The
complete application shall be submitted to the Board no later than forty-five {45) days prior to a
scheduled Board of Nursing meeting. A representative of the Board shall conduct a site visit to
survey the educational and clinical facilities prior to the program presenting a letter of intent to the
Board. At a minimum, the institution seeking approval to conduct a training program shall provide
the following in the letter of intent:

(a) Name and address of qualified educational institution;

{b) Contact person with address, telephone number, fax number and email address;
(c) The name and address of principal clinical facilities;
(d) The location(s} of the courses or programs;

RDA 1623
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(e)

Letters of support;

() Documentation of need for the program; and
() Demonstration of the financial ability to support the program.
{2) After the Board approves the letter of intent and prior to the acceptance of students, the institution

shall submit documentation no later than forty-five (45) days prior to a scheduled Board meeting
in order to obtain initial approval;

(a)
(b)

(c)
(d)

{e)

v

The number and type of education clock hours requested for each course;

The name(s), ficense number(s), educational credentials and teaching and nursing
experience of the director and all instructors;

The program catalog;

The topic outlines, which list the summarized topics covered in each course and upon
request, a copy of any course materials;

A summarization of any changes to the curriculum, should the prior approved program be
substantially changed. A summarization of any changes should be submitted o the
Board office at least forty-five (45) days prior to a scheduled Board meeting; and

The submission of any other such information that the Board may deem necessary.

3 The qualified educational institution providing the training program shall:

(a)
{b)

(€)

(d)

(e)

()

(9)

$8-7039 (July 2010)

Provide sufficient numbers of qualified faculty to implement the curriculum;

Provide sufficient numbers of qualified faculty to assure that the students receive
appropriate training from supervising licensed nurses in the nursing home or assisted
care living facility:

1. with which the training program has a written agreement to provide licensed
nurse supervision in the supervised clinical practice component of the training
program; and

2. so that the students are prepared to administer medications as a MAC in a safe
and effective manner.

Provide financial support and resources adequate to teach the students the curriculum
established in T.C.A. § 63-7-127, including, but not limited to classrooms, laboratories,
equipment, supplies, and qualified administrative, instructional, and support personnel
and setrvices;

Employ or contract with a registered nurse with an unencumbered Tennessee license
who may teach a course or courses within the scope of practice and areas of
competency;

Ensure that the training program instructors have an unencumbered license to engage in
the practice of nursing as a registered nurse with at least two (2) years of nursing
experience and with medication administration experience and knowledge of the
regulations and competence to administer medication in the long term care setting.

Ensure that for the didactic hours, a ratio of ne mare than six (8) students for one (1)
program instructor must be maintained; however, the ratio while engaged in clinical
medication administration shall be one (1) student to one (1) supervising licensed nurse;

Inform each student of the requirements for certification;

RDA 1693
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(n) Provide a written program grading system policy which reflects a numaerical grading
system or scaled grading system. Studenis must make a passing grade in both didactic
and clinical courses;

(i Provide a writien protocol or policy on the mechanism to evaluate a student's
performance. At least one (1) written evaluation is required within the first half of the
program;

(i) Provide a written policy on the dismissal of students;

(k) Provide a copy of a student’s transcript to the student upon the student’s written request
and upon the student’s completion of or withdrawal from the program; and

{1 Engage in program evaluation that includes, but is not limited to, obtaining feedback from
students, instructors, and employers of individuals who have successfully completed the
MAC training program.

(4)  The program shall not advertise that it is approved by the Board prior to or after a loss of Board
approval.

(5) The program shall retain records of attendees of each course and the Board may at any time
examine the records.

(6) The program shall ensure a first time test taker examination pass rate minimum of eighty-five per
cent (85%). The Board will evaluate the program’s examination pass rate on a quarterly and
annual basis.

) The program shall file with the Board office an annual report containing, at & minimum, the
following information:

{a) - The number of students currently enrolled;

(b) The total enrollment for the year;

() The attrition and retention rate of students and faculty;

{d) The employment placement data;

{e) The number of students graduated;

4] The number of students dismissed or withdrawn for the year;

{o) The number of students taking the certification examination; and

{h) The percentage of students taking the test for the first (1st) time and passing the
cettification examination.

(8) The program shall obtain approval by the Board on an annual basis thiﬁy (30) days before the
program commences each year.

2] A representative of the Board shall inspect the institution that provides the program on an annual
basis or as directed by the Board or Board's representative and shail submit a written report to
the Board. If any deficiencies are noted, the Board may grant the institution a conditional
approval of the training program until all deficiencies are corrected. The institution shall have
thirty (30) days from the date the conditional approval is granted by the Board to correct the
deficiencies. Upon correction of the deficiencies, the Board may grant {full approval.

(10) I deficiencies are not corrected within the Board’s prescribed time frame, the program will be
denied approval or removed from approved status and must reapply for appraval. Notice will be
sent to the program upon deniai or removal of approved status.
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{11)  In addition to the minimum standard curtriculum provided in T.C.A. § 63-7-127(i}(2), the qualified
educational institution shall provide courses relative to the following topics:

(a) Role of the MAC;

(9] Federal and state laws and rules relative to nursing homes and assisted care living
facilities relative to medication aides certified;

(c) Confidentiality of protected health information;
(d) Drug mathematics, weights, and measures;
(e) Drug side effects;

{f) Drug administration requirements;

() Drug packaging systems;

{h) Drug storage, destruction, or return of medication;
(i} Documentation of medication administration; and
i Drug interactions.

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 63-7-127 and 63-7-207.

1000-05-.08  Peer Assistance Program.

(1 A peer assistance program (approved by the Board) must provide at a minimum the following
services to a MAC:
{a) Referral for assessment of dependency and addiction;
(b) Referral to freatment centers and programs;
(c) Referral to aftercare treatment and counseling;
(d) Referral for psychological issues; and
(e) Ongoing monitoring of recovering professionals.

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 63-1-138, 63-7-127 and 63-7-207.
1000-05-.09  Continuing Education.

(1) As a prerequisite to renewal, all certificate holders shall compiete the following continuing
education requirements:

(a) Complete any and all continuing education or continued competency requirements, or
both, necessary to maintain nurse aide certification under T.C.A. § 68-11-209(e), and the
rules promulgated pursuant thereto; and

(b) A total of six (8) contact hours per year of continuing education; five (5) of which shall be
in pharmacology provided by a licensed pharmacist or registered nurse and one (1) of
which shall be relative to medication administration consistent with the functions of a
MAC.

(2) Each MAC shall attest to the timely aitendance and completion of the required continuing
education hours on the biennial certificate renewal form.
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{3 Each MAC shall retain independent documentation of attendance and completion of all continuing
education courses for a period of two (2} years from the date of attendance. This documentation
shall be produced for inspection and verification, if requested in writing by the Board.

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 63-7-127 and 63-7-207.

1000-05-.10  Supervision and Delegation.

(1) A licensed nurse who provides care to nursing home or assisted care living facility residents may
delegate the task of medication administration to a MAC in accordance with T.C.A. § 63-7-
127(k)(1)(B) and these rules.

(2) A licensed nurse who delegates medication administration to a MAC shall supervise the MAC by:

(a) Reviewing the medication delivery process to assure that there have been no errors in
the stocking or preparing the medications;

{b) Accepting, transcribing, and reviewing resident medication orders;

{c) Monitoring residents to whom medications are administered for side effects or changes in
health status; \

{d) Reviewing documentation completed by the MAC, including, but not limited to the
medication administration record;

{e) Providing on-site supervision and availahility for immediate direction while in a nursing
home setting;

1] Providing on-site supervision or immediate and continuous availability through
telecommunication while in an assisted care living facility setting; and,

(9) Delegating the administration of medication for each resident in writing to the MAC.

(3) Prior to delegating medication administration to a MAC, a licensed nurse shall evaluate the

following upon admission, and after any change in status or acuity, or any change in medication:

(a)

(b)

The patient and the medication needs of the patient, including:

1. The patient’s mental and physical stability;

2. The medication to be administered;

3. The time frame during which the medication is to be administered;

4, The route or method by which the medication is to be administered; and

The licensed nurse has determined that it is appropriate for the resident to receive
medication from the MAC.

4) When delegating the task of medication administration to a MAC, the licensed nurse shali
communicate, in writing, the following to the MAC:

(a)
(b)
()
(d)

5S-7039 (July 2010)

The patient to whom the MAC shail administer medications;
The medications the MAC shall administer;
The time frames during which the medications are to be administered; and

Any special instructions concerning the administration of medications to specific patients.
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5

A licensed nurse who is on site at the nursing home or assisted care living facility may delegate
the administration of as-needed medications 1o a MAC provided the licensed nurse completes a
nursing assessment of the resident to whom the as-needed medication is to be administered
immediately prior to the medication being administered.

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 63-7-127 and 63-7-207.

1000-05-.11 Standards of Practice.

(1) A MAC shall demonstrate competence and responsibility in the task of medication administration.

(2) A MAC shall ensure and promote a safe environment for nursing home or assisted care living
facility residents.

3 A MAC shall accurately document in the patient's or resident’s record the following information
immediately after the administration of a medication:

(a) The name of the medication and the dosage administered,;

{b) The route of the administration;

{c) The date and time of the administration;

(d) The name and credentials of the MAC who administered the medication;

(e) The name of the licensed nurse who delegated the administration of the medication;

{f) The resident’s refusal or inability to ingest the medication or comply with the
administration of the medication; and

{9) Any complaints by the resident about the medication administration or medication
administered.

()] A MAC shall report the following to the delegating nurse or the delegating nurse’s supervisor in a
timely manner;

(a) The resident’s request for an as-needed medication;

(b) The resident’s refusal or inability to ingest the medication or comply with the
administration of the medication;

(c) Any deviation from the delegated medication administration; and

{d Any observations or information about the resident’s condition that causes concern.

(5) A MAC shall store drugs in accordance with the pharmacist's instructions.

(6) A MAC shall remove drugs only from a properly labeled container or packaging that has been
dispensed by a licensed pharmacist that contains the drug name; dosage; strength; name of the
resident to whom it is to be dispensed; and drug expiration date.

(7) A MAC shall complete all necessary tasks to ensure safe medication administration to a resident,
including, but not limited to the following:

(=) Verifying the identify of the resident to whom the medication is to be administered;

{b) Ensuring that medication administration for the resident has been delegated and
documented by the delegating licensed nurse prior to the administration of the
medication;
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Ensuring that the medication is being administered to the resident in accordance with the
delegation and prescriber instructions;

(d) Ensuring that the correct medication in the correct dosage is administered to the resident;
(e) Witnessing the resident swallowing a drug that is to be ingested orally; and
\)) Documenting and reporting a medication error to the delegating licensed nurse who is
on-site at the nursing home or assisted care living facility, or via a two-way telephone
conversation. _
(8) A MAC shall maintain the confidentiality of protected health information obtained in the course of

the MAC’s duties and responsibilities.

)] A MAC shall not delegate the task of medication administration to any other person.

(10y A MAC shall not falsify any resident record or any other document prepared or utilized in the
course of, or in conjunction with, the administration of medication.

(11) A certified MAC shall maintain professional boundaries with each resident.

(12) A MAC shali not:

(@)

(b)

(c)
(d)

(k)

Administer medications containing a controlled substance, as defined in T.C.A § 63-10-
201 et seq.;

Administer medications when such administration would require a dosage calculation by
the medication aide;

Directly receive orders from a physician or other medication prescriber;

Administer barium or other contrast media;

Administer chemotherapeutic agents;

Administer medications administered as drops to the eye, ear or nose;

Administer rectal and vaginal medications;

Administer medications delivered by metered hand-held inhalers;

Administer medications delivered by aerosol/nebulizer;

Apply topical medications ordered for the treatment of pressure uicers or skin graits; or

Change a dosage amount to adhere to a change in a physician's order.

{13) A MAC shall not, under any circumstances, administer medications by certain methods or routes,
or both. These include, but are not necessarily limited to, the following:

(@)
(b)
(©)
(d)
(e)

()
$8-7039 (July 2010)

Injection;
Intravenous;
Central lines;
Intrathecal;
Colostomy;

A surgically placed feeding tube, e.g., gastrostomy, jejunostomy;
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{q) Nasogastric;

(n) Non-metered inhaler,
(i) Intradermal;

)] Urethral;

(k) Epidural;

)] Endotracheal;

(m) Intramuscutar; or

(m) Subcutaneous.

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 63-7-127, 63-7-207 and 63-10-201.
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* If a roll-call vote was necessary, the vote by the Agency on these rulemaking hearing rules was as foltlows:

Board Member Aye No Abstain Absent Signature
‘ (if required)

Donald Bell, APN
Terri Bowman, LPN ' X
Barbara Brennan, RN
Marilyn A. Dubree, RN
Kathleen Harkey : X
Deborah Holliday, LPN
Cheryl Steghauer, RN
Marian Steward, RN

Arthur Thompson, LPN
Beity J. Thompson, BN
Carol Lynn Thompson, APN

>

XK

X< [ XX

| certify that this is an accurate and complete copy of rulemaking hearing rules, lawfully promulgated and adopted
by the Board of Nursing on 10/07/2010, and is in compliance with the provisions of TCA 4-5-222,

| further certify the following:

Notice of Rulemaking Hearing filed with the Department of State on: 08/13/10

Rulemaking Hearing(s) Conducted on: (add more dates). 10/07/10

vae: S22

sware: 2 Z0ste A ZGL

Name of Officer: Mark S. Waters

Deputy General Counsel

o ;:g“g‘“w@g Officer: Department of Health
§ \Q\ ............ f/”
Bu bsc;g_be%gﬁﬁ syﬁng-_to beforemeon:  // 2 / y e}
i e / '
: %7' ’Z'Or Ssimc}tary?ubﬂc Signature: 73 ) .
':;,,,O l\@@or@?ﬁ ission expireson: /¢ / 3 / 5
f,,,

\ \\

1l!iiti|

All rulemaking hearing rules provided for herein have been examined by the Attorney General and Reporter of the
State of Tennessee and are approved as to legality pursuant to the provisions of the Administrative Procedures
Act, Tennessee Code Annotated, Title 4, Chapter 5.

El’bb éooper, Jr.
Attorney General ahd Reporter
:2 T

Date
Department of State Use Only

Filed with the Department of State on: ﬁ') 1< ) 12
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Effective on: }% //% ] &

[ Al
gl
4 Tre Hargett
Secretary of State
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