
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

G.O.C. STAFF RULE ABSTRACT 
 
 
DEPARTMENT: State Board of Education 
 
DIVISION:  
 
SUBJECT: Virtual Schools 
 
STATUTORY AUTHORITY: Tennessee Code Annotated, Section 49-16-102 
 
EFFECTIVE DATES: August 29, 2012 through June 30, 2013 
 
FISCAL IMPACT: Minimal 
 
STAFF RULE ABSTRACT:  
 
The 107th General Assembly created the "Virtual Public Schools Act." This act gives local 
education agencies the authority to establish virtual schools; and permits LEAs to contract for 
services with nonprofit or for-profit entities to manage and operate virtual schools. 
 
The proposed rules clarify several issues relative to virtual schooling relative to establishment, 
enrollment, attendance, and transfer. The proposed rules also make clear that students with 
disabilities and limited English proficiency are not excluded from enrolling and participating in 
virtual schooling. 
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Regulatory Flexibility Addendum
Pursuant to T.e.A. §§ 4-5-401 through 4-5-404, prior to initiating the rule making process as described in T.e.A.
§ 4-5-202(a)(3) and T.e.A. § 4-5-202(a), all agencies shall conduct a review of whether a proposed rule or rule
affects small businesses.

Not Applicable
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Impact on Local Governments

Pursuant to T.CA §§ 4-5-220 and 4-5-228 "any rule proposed to be promulgated shall state in a simple
declarative sentence, without additional comments on the merits of the policy of the rules or regulation, whether
the rule or regulation may have a projected impact on local governments." (See Public Chapter Number 1070
(http://state.tn.us/sos/acts/106/pub/pc1070.pdf) of the 2010 Session of the General Assembly)

This will have no impact on local governments.
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CHAPTER 0520-01-03
Minimum Requirements for the Approval of Public Schools

Amendment

Rule 0520-01-03-.03 (11 )(f) by deleting the second sentence in the paragraph and substituting the
following language:

If a request to transfer is submitted less than two weeks before the beginning of the receiving district's
school year, and the student is currently enrolled in another district during the prior semester, the
approval of both the sending and receiving districts must be obtained.

Rule 0520-01-03-.03 by inserting a new subsection (12) and renumbering the following subsections
accordingly.

(12) Public Virtual Schools.

(a)

(b)

Public virtual schools must comply with all applicable Tennessee State Board of
Education policies and rules and regula~ions.

Public virtual schools shall:

1. be approved by the local board of education;

2. use technology to deliver a significant portion of instruction to its students via the
Internet in a virtual or remote setting;

3. review and provide access to a sequential curriculum that meets or exceeds the
curriculum standards adopted by the Tennessee State Board of Education;

4. meet the eqUivalent of the 180 days of Instruction and 6.5 hours per day per
academic year pursuant to T.C.A. § 49-6-3004;

5. monitor participation and progress to ensure students meet participation
requirements and make progress toward successful completion of courses;

6. administer all state tests required of public school students to students enrolled in
a virtual school in a proctored environment consistent with. state test
administration guidelines;

7. be evaluated annually and report the extent to which the school demonstrates
increases in student achievement, along with academic, fiscal, and operational
performance;

8. ensure that students with special needs, including students with disabilities and
limited English proficiency are not excluded from enrolling and participating,
further, the public virtual school is responsible for providing the services in the
student's Individualized Education Program (IEP);

9. assign a highly qualified teacher to each student enrolled;

10. ensure that all teachers employed to provide services to the students are
endorsed in their grade or course and qualified to teach in Tennessee;

11. ensure access to instructional materials, access to technology such as a
computer and printer that may be necessary for participation in the program, and
access to an Internet connection used for school work; and

SS-7038 (September 2011) 2 RDA 1693
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12. meet class size standards established by T.G.A. § 49-1-104.

(c) Public virtual schools must comply with State Board Rule 0520-01-03-.03(11).

1. For a student who is currently enrolled or was enrolled the previous semester in
a public school to transfer to a public virtual school after the open transfer time
has lapsed:

a. the student must· apply to and be approved for acceptance in the public
virtual school; and

b. once acceptance has been determined, the public virtual school must
obtain permission from the sending district before enrolling the student in
the public virtual school A public virtual school shall not be eligible for
state education funds for students who are improperly enrolled.

2. Students not registered in a public school the previous semester but who were
enrolled instead in a private school or a home school do not require approval
from a sending district.

(d) Public virtual schools must comply with all compulsory attendance requirements including
monitoring and reporting as required in TGA § 49-6-3007.

1. The district ·establishing the public virtual school is required to report truancy to
the juvenile court having jurisdiction over that student.

2. On or before August 1 of each year the public virtual school shall notify all LEAs
of the enrollment of students residing within the LEA's jurisdiction. LEAs shall
be notified within two weeks when changes occur relative to students residing
within the LEA's jurisdiction.

3. Once a non-resident student has been accepted and enrolled in a public virtual
school, it shall be the responsibility of the LEA that has established the public
virtual school to maintain enrollment of that student until such a time as the
student is withdrawn by the parent or guardian. If the student is withdrawn by the'
parent or guardian, the public virtual school shall send transcripts and other
student records to the receiving school in a timely manner.

S8-7038 (September 2011) 3 RDA 1693

6



Date: -F'--!J::;b'jr'iU~=r-'-"6:L,.::2-=.01-,-,27-~_. - _-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_- ~
Signature: g){l_ _

Name of Officer: -,O:D:Lr."'G=ar'-L'02.=i"'xo"'n"--- --,-- _

* If a roll-call vote was necessary, the vote by the Agency on these rules was as follows:

Board Member Aye No Abstain Absent Signature
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RULES
OF

THE STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION
CHAPTER 0520·01·03

MINIMUM REQUIREMENTS FOR THE APPROVAL
OF PUBLIC SCHOOLS

(11) Students Transferring From One School To Another.

(a) Students may transfer among public schools or among Category I, II, or III private schools (see
Chapler 0520-07-02), wlthoutloss of credit for compleled work. The school which the sludenl
leaves must supply a property certified transcript showing the student's record of attendance,
achievement. and the units of credit earned.

(b) Principals shall allow credit for work transferred from other schools only when sUbstantiated by
official transcripts. Students transferring from schools which are not approved by the Tennessee
State Board of Education or by comparable agencies shall be allowed credit only when they have
passed comprehensIve written examinations approved, administered, and graded by the
principal. Student'scores from a recognized standardized test may substitute for the required
comprehensive written examinations.

(c) The examination administered to students In grades 1-8 shall cover only the last grade
completed.

(d) The examinations administered to students In grades 9-12 shalf cover the individual subjects
appearing on the offldal transcripts. The examination for sUbjects of more than one unit need
cover only the last unlt completed. A student transferring from one school to another may count
for graduation one-half unit of credit In courses for which a minimum of One unit is required only if
the course Is not offered in the school to which he or sh~ Is transferring.

(e) The prindpalls authorized to transmit transcripts of a student to any school to which the student
transfers or applies for admission when the records are requested by the receiving school or
Institution. The parent or guardian of the student will be notified that the transcript is being sent.

(f) If a request to transfer is submitted less than two weeks bero-re the beginning of the receivlng+..·... Formatted: Normal, Justified, Adjust space
district's school year. and the student Is currently enrolled in another district during the prior between latin and As\an text, Adjust space

between AsIan text and numberssemester, the approval of both the sending and receiving districts must be obtainedA-stl;lGeRt
may-transfeF-l~el----system-GU:leF-tha~-{}ne---ffi-wt:l!Gh-fuey.-tive l;lf3 ta two wee*&-befe-;~·it;;;-··~···l:'-'Fo"nn=a"tt:::ed":c'.F""""t:,-,{"oe'Cf",au;:k,,)Arla:;:;:!."22ST'~

belJiAfliAg-Qf-lhe-s<hoo4eaF-WIIh-eRly-ll",-aPJl"'''''H»-lha-reooiviR~boa,~ of e~uGalieRrlkl
traAs(eF-felCluesHs--lew--than·Wle--weeks-befo(&-tA&-beginning---ef....Ule--sffiool-yea~ufin9-tl:la

ssAoar-ye-aF;--the-approval--of....both-the-seRfllng-and.-f-eGeiving-tocal-boaffi.....G~uGatian--ml:lst--be

obtalnoo,

(9) Local boards of education may arrange for the transfer of students residing within their systems to
other school systems by establishing agreements with other local boards of education for the
admission or transfer of students from one school system to another,

(h) The receiving board of education may set a time before or during the school year after which it
will not accept transfer stUdents. The receiving board of education may charge the non-resident
student tuition to attend. .

(I) If a local board of education other\vise pennIts non-resident students to transfer Into its schools, it
may not discriminate against any students solely on the grounds of their race, sex, national origin
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or dlsabilily, nor may it charge such students a tuition over and above the usual tuition for non­
disabled persons.

Amend .Rule 0520·01-03-.03 by Inserting a new subsection (12) and- renumbering the following
subsections accordingly.

I (12) Public Virtual SelloolsRawrG&<lAd-Rep<>rt•.

(a) Public virtual schools must comply with all applicable Tennessee State Board of
Education'policies and rules and regulations.

(b) Public virtual sellools shall:

1. be approved by the local ,board of education;

2. use technology to deliver a significant portion of Instruction to its students via the
Intemet in a virtual or remote seffing;

3. review and provide access to a sequential curriculum that meets or exceeds the
curriculum standards adopted by the Tennessee State Board of Education;

4. meet the equivalent of the 180 days of Instruction and 6.5 hours per day per
academic year pursuant to T.C.A. § 49-6-3004;

5. monitor participation and progress to ensure students meet participation
requirements and make progress toward successful completion of courses;

6. administer all state tests required of public school students to students enrolled in
a virtual school In a proctored environment consistent with state test
administration guidelines;

_7.__be evaluated annually and report the extent to which the school demonstrates
Increases In student achievement, along with academic, fiscal, and operational
perfonnance;

8. ensure that students with special needs, Including students with disabilities and
limited English proficiency are not excluded from enrolling and participating,
further, the public virtual school Is responsible for providing the services In the
student's Individualized Educayon Program (IE?);

9. assign a highly qualified teacher to each student enrolled;

10. ensure that all teachers employed to provide services to the students are
endorsed In their grade or course and qualified to teach In Tennessee;
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11. ensure access to Instructional materials, access to technology such as a
computer and printer that may be necessary for participation in the program, and
access to an Internet connection used for school work; and

12. meet class size standards established byT.C.A. § 49~1·104.

(c) Public virtual schools must comply with Siale Board Rule 0520-01-03-.03(11).

1. For a student who is currently enrolled or was enrolled the previous semester in
a public school to transfer to a public virtual school after the open transfer time
has lapsed:

a. the student must apply to and be approved for acceptance In the public
virtual school; and

b. once acceptance has been detennined, the public virtual school must
obtain permission from the sending district before enrolling the student in
the public virtual school A public virtual school shall not be eligible for
state education funds for students who a-re Improperfy enrolled.

2. Students not registered In a public school the previous semester but who -were
enrolled Instead In a private school or a home school do not require approval
from a sending district.

(d) Public virtual schools must comply with all compulsory attendance requirements Including
. monitoring and reporting as required In TCA § 49-6-3007.

1. The district establishing the public virtual school is required to report truancy to
the juvenile court having JUrisdiction over that student.

2. On or before August 1 of each year the public virtual school shall notify all LEAs
of the enrollment of students residing within the LEA's jUrisdiction. LEAs shall
be notified within two weeks when changes occur relative to students residing
within the LEA's jurisdlcllon.

3. Once a non·resldent student has been accepted and enrolled In a public virtual
school, it shall be the responsibility of the LEA that has established the public
virtual school to maintain enrollment of that student until such a time as the
student is withdrawn by the parent or guardian. If the student is withdrawn by the
parent or guardian, the public virtual school shall send transcripts and other
student records to the receiving school In a timely manner.
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G.O.C. STAFF RULE ABSTRACT 
 
 
DEPARTMENT: State Board of Education 
 
SUBJECT: Isolation or Restraint of Children with Disabilities Receiving 

Special Education Services 
 
STATUTORY AUTHORITY: Chapter 457 of Public Acts of 2011  
 
EFFECTIVE DATES: August 29, 2012 through June 30, 2013 
 
FISCAL IMPACT: Minimal 
 
STAFF RULE ABSTRACT: The proposed rules mandate a standard reporting format 

to be used by LEAs when reporting incidents of isolation or 
restraint of children with disabilities. 
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Regulatory Flexibility Addendum
Pursuant to T,C,A, §§ 4-5-401 through 4-5-404, prior to initiating the rule making process as described in T,CA
§ 4-5-202(a)(3) and T,C,A, § 4-5-202(a), all agencies shail conduct a review of whether a proposed ruie or rule
affects smail businesses,

Not Appiicable

SS-7038 (September 2011) 6 RDA 1693
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Impact on Local Governments

Pursuant to T.C.A. §§ 4-5-220 and 4-5-228 "any rule proposed to be promulgated shall state in a simple
declarative sentence, without additional comments on the merits of the policy of the rules or regulation, whether
the rule or regulation may have a projected impact on local governments." (See Public Chapter Number 1070
(hllp://state.tn.us/sos/acts/1 06/pub/pc1 070.pdf) of the 2010 Session of the General Assembly)

This will have no impact on local governments.
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CHAPTER 0520·01·09
Special Education Programs and Services

Amendment

Rule 0520-01-09-.23(1) Isolation and Restraint for Students Receiving Special Education Services is
amended by deleting subsections (a) and (d) In their entirety and re-numbering the remaining
sUbsections.

Rule 0520-01-09-.23(7) Isolation and Restraint for Students Receiving Special Education Services is
amended by deleting the language "T.GA § 49-10-1304(b)" and substituting instead the language
"T.GA § 49-10-1304".

Rule 0520-01-09-.23 Isolation and Restraint for Students Receiving Special Education Services is
amended by adding the following new subsection:

(9) Reports.

School personnel who must isolate or restrain a student shall report the incident to the school
principal or the principal's designee. The Department of Education shall develop a report form
which shall be used by school personnei when reporting isolation or restraint to the school
principal or the principal's designee.

(a) The report form must include the following information:

1. Student's name, age and disability;

2. Student's school and grade level;

3. Date, time and location of the isolation or restraint;

4. Length of time student was isolated or restrained;

5. Names, job titles and signatures of the personnel who administered the isolation
or restraint;

6. Whether the personnel who administered the isolation or restraint were certified
for completing a behavior intervention training program;

7. Names and job titles of other personnel who observed or witnessed the Isolation
or restraint;

8. Name of the principal or designee who was notified following the Isolation or
restraint and time of notification;

9. Description of the antecedents that immediately preceded the use of isolation or
restraint and the specific behavior being addressed;

10. A certification that any space used for Isolation is at least forty (40) square feet;

11 . A certification that school personnel are in continuous direct visual contact at all
times with a student who is isolated;

SS-7038 (September 2011) 2 RDA 1693
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12. How the isolation or restraint ended, including the student's demeanor at the
cessation of the isolation or restraint;

13. Physical injury or death to the student, school personnel or both;

14. Medical care provided to the student, school personnel or both;

15. Description of property damage, if relevant; and

16. Date, time and method of parent notification.

(b) A copy of the report form must be provided to the local education agency's director of
special education who shall determine whether an Individualized Education Program
(IEP) Team meeting must be convened pursuant to T.e.A. § 49-10-1304.

SS-7038 (September 2011) 3 RDA 1693
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Ayers X
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Justice X
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Wriqht X
Student Member X
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placed on file in his office as rules at the expiration of sixty (60) days of the first day of the month subsequent to
the filing of the proposed rule with the Secretary of State.
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Tennessee and are approved as to legality pursuant to the provisions of the Administrative Procedures Act,
Tennessee Code Annotated, Title 4, Chapter 5.

Date
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CHAPTER 0520-01·09
Special Education Programs and Services

0520-01-09-.23 ISOLATION AND RESTRAINT FOR STUDENTS RECEIVING SPECIAL EDUCATION
SERVICES.
Amendment

(1) Definitions

(a) "ErneF§en6y-silHaliofHHeans-tfla\-a-£llil~eIJaviol'-plaees-#1e-eflil4eHlltlef&-fll-As~ioleFlGe

eF-injHf)'-if-ne~inteFVeRtiefH)66Hf&

(bj(a) "Extended isolation" means isolation which lasts longer than one (1) minute per year of
the student's age or isolation which lasts longer than the time provided in the child's individualized
education program (IEP).

(eJ(b) "Extended restraint" means a physical holding restraint lasting longer than five (5)
minutes or physical holding restraint which lasts longer than the time provided in the child's IEP.

(61--"Iselatien-roem" means a spaee-eesigneG-te-iselate a stHdent that is Hnleeked,-Gaflflet-be-ieekea
ffern-iIJe-insiae,witAeHl-£trHGtHra4>affiers te exit, free-ef-afl}'-OOnditien that GeHld-IJe-a-aaAgeHe
tlie-slHGenl,well-veRtiiated, sH#iGientiy IigAted,aAd-where scIJoel-jJerseAAel-are-ifH:lirect visHal
oontaet-witil tile stHdeRl-Bt~mes.<>Hcil spaces mHst comply '....itil an~aPf'liealJle-stateand loeal
fire-Geae<r.

(e)(c) "Noxious substance" means a substance released In proximity to the student's face or
sensitive area of the body for the purpose of limiting a student's freedom of movement or action,
inCluding but notlimlled to Mace and other defense sprays.

(2) Local education agencies are authorized to develop and Implement training programs that include:

(a) Use of positive behavioral interventions and supports;

(b) Nonviolent crisis prevention and de-escalation;

(c) Safe administration of isolation and restraint; and

(d) Documentation and reporting requirements.

(3) Local education agencies are authorized to determine an appropriate level of training commensurate
with the job descriptions and responsibilities of school personnel.

(4) Local education agencies shall develop policies and procedures governing:

(a) Personnel authorized to use isolation and restraint;

(b) Training requirements; and

(c) Incidenl.reporting procedures.

(5) Only the principal, or the principal's designee, may authorize the use of isolation or restraint.

(6) When the use of restraint or isolation is proposed at an IEP meeting, parents/guardians shall be
advised of the provisions of T.eA § 49-10-1301, et seq., this rule and the IDEA procedural
safeguards. .
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(7) An IEP meeting convened pursuant to T.CA § 49-10-1304t9}may be conducted on at least twenty­
four (24) hours notice to the parents.

(8) State agencies providing educational services within a residential therapeutic setting to children in
their legal and physical custody shall deveiop and adhere to isolation and restraint policies in such
educational settings which conform to the TDMHDD (Tennessee Department of Mental Health and
Developmental Disabilities) state standards as applicable and at least one of the following national
standards: ACA (American Correctionai Association), COA (Council on Accreditation), CMS (Centers
for Medicare & Medicaid Services), JCAHO (Joint Commission for Accreditation of Healthcare
Organizations), CARF (Commission on Accreditation of Rehabilitation Facilities), as they apply in the
educational environment. Development of, and adherence to, such policies shall be overseen by a
licensed qualified physician or licensed doctoral level psychologist.

(9) Reports.

Schooi personnel who must isoiate or restrain a student shall report the incident to the schooi
principal or the principal's designee. The Department of Education shall develop a report form
which shall be used by school personnel when reporting isolation or restraint to the school
principal or the principai's designee.

(al The report form must include the follOWing information:

1. StUdent's name, age and disability;

2. Student's school and grade level:

3. Date, time and location of the isolation or restraint:

4. Length of time student was isolated or restrained;

5. Names, job titles and signatures of the personnel who administered the isolation
or restraint:

6. Whether the personnel who administered the isolation or restraint were certified
for completing a behavior intervention training program;

7. Names and job titles of ·other personnel who observed or witnessed the isolation
or restraint:

8. Name of the principal or designee who was notified following the isolation or
restraint and time of notification:

9. Description of the antecedents that immediately preceded the use of isolation or
restraint and the specific behavior being addressed;

10. A certification that any space used for isolation is at least forty (40) square feet:
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11. A certification that school personnel are in continuous direct visual contact at all
times with a student who is isolated;

12. How the isolation or restraint ended, including ·the student's demeanor at the
cessation of the isolation or restraint:

13. Physical injury or death to the student. school personnel or both:

14. Medical care provided to the student. school personnel or both:

15. Description of property damage, if relevant: and

16. Date, time and method of parent notification.

(b) A copy of the report form must be proVided to the local education agency's director of
special education who shall determine wheth·er an IEP Team meeting must be convened
pursuant to T.CA § 49-10-1304.

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 49-10-1306.
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G.O.C. STAFF RULE ABSTRACT 
 
 
DEPARTMENT: State Board of Education 
 
SUBJECT: Charter Schools 
 
STATUTORY AUTHORITY: Tennessee Code Annotated, Section 49-13-112 
 
EFFECTIVE DATES: August 29, 2012 through June 30, 2013 
 
FISCAL IMPACT: Minimal 
 
STAFF RULE ABSTRACT:  
 
New paragraph three (3) of Rule 0520-14-01-.03 regarding local funding quotes directly from 
Public Chapter 507 of 2011: 
 
"Each LEA shall include as part of its budget submitted pursuant to Tennessee Code 
Annotated, § 49-2-203, the per pupil amount of local money it will pass through to charter 
schools during the upcoming school year. Allocations to the charter schools during that year 
shall be based on that figure. The LEA shall distribute the portion of local funds it expects to 
receive in no fewer than nine (9) equal installments to the charter schools in the same manner 
as state funds are distributed. If the amount of local funds received increases or decreases from 
the budgeted figure, the LEA may adjust payments to the charter schools in February or June. 
Before adjusting payments to the charter schools, the LEA shall receive approval from the 
commissioner." 
 
The priorities and sample enrollment chart from Rule 0520-14-01-.04 were deleted in 
accordance with the removal of enrollment limitations in Public Chapter 466 of 2011. This rule 
changes the date when projected enrollments will be used to determine funding for new charter 
schools or charter schools adding a new grade from May 1 to March 1. 
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Regulatory Flexibility Addendum
Pursuant to T.G.A. §§ 4-5-401 through 4-5-404, prior to initiating the ruie making process as described in T.GA
§ 4-5-202(a)(3) and T.GA § 4-5-202(a), all agencies shall conduct a review of whether a proposed rule or rule
affects small businesses.

Not Applicable

SS-7038 (September 2011) 7 RDA 1693
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Impact on Local Governments

Pursuant to T.C.A. §§ 4-5-220 and 4-5-228 "any rule proposed to be promulgated shall state in a simple
declarative sentence, without additional comments on the merits of the policy of the rules or reguiation, whether
the rule or regulation may have a projected impact on local governments." (See Public Chapter Number 1070
(htlp://state.tn.us/sos/acts/1 06/pub/pc1070.pdf) of the 2010 Session of the General Assembly)

This will have no impact on local governments.

SS-7038 (September 2011) 8 RDA 1693
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CHAPTER 0520-14-01
Charter Schools

Amendment

Rule 0520-14-01-.03 Allocation of State and Local Funds is amended by deleting the present
language in its entirety and. replacing it with the following:

Rule 0520-14-01-.03 Allocation of State and Local Funds

(1) State and local funds to charter schools shall be allocated pursuant to T.GA § 49-13-112. State
and local fund allocations are determined for each LEA on the basis of prior year average daily
membership (ADM).

(a)

(b)

(c)

(d)

(e)

(f)

(g)

Allocations shall be based on one hundred percent (100%) of state and local funds
received by the LEA, including current funds allocated for capital outlay purposes

. (excluding the proceeds of debt obligations and associated debt service).

Student enrollments used in allocations shall be for the same period used in allocating
state funds to the LEA under the basic education program.

Allocations to the charter school may not be reduced by the LEA for administrative,
indirect or any other category of cost or charge except as specifically provided in a
charter agreement. Any educationai or operational services the authorizer provides for a
fee may also exist in a separate contractual agreement between the charter school and
the authorizer. However, approval of a separate services contract may nofbe a condition
of approval of the charter agreement.

If students attended a non-chartered public school in the prior year, and attend a public
charter school in the same LEA in the current year, those students are being funded
through the BEP formula, and funds for those students must be passed through to the
public charter school in an amount equal to the per student state and local funds received
by the LEA.

If students are new to the LEA and enroll first in a public charter school, their enrollment
would not be reflected in the BEP formula used to determine the initial distributions to the
LEA. But their enrollment would be reflected in the growth funds distributed in February
and June. Thus, as the LEA receives increased funding in subsequent distributions to
reflect the increased ADM, the LEA must allocate the funds for those students to the
public charter schools they attend. LEAs can determine the amount to allocate by
determining pro-rata shares of growth money based on the current district-wide ADM,
and then divide the growth money by that figure to determine the amount to allocate to
the public charter schools for each student.

If an LEA does not generate increased funding due to growth, the public charter school
would receive no additional funding in the current year for the students new to the LEA.

New charter schools or charter schools adding a new grade are funded based on
anticipated enrollment in the charter agreement. Those figures are then subsequently
adjusted to reflect the actual number of students enrolled. Initial payments will be based
on enrollment projections for the next school year as of March 1.

(2) All ten (10) payments distributed by the State Department of Education are based on prior year
weighted average daily membership (ADM) figure. However, twice a year, once in February and
once in June, funds are adjusted based on actual enrollment in the current year. If payments to
an LEA from the Department of Education are increased or reduced based on actual enrollment,
and a charter school's actual enrollment is higher or lower than its prior year enrollment, or than
its anticipated enrollment in the charter agreement, the payments to the charter schools shall be

SS-7038 (September 2011) 2 RDA 1693
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adjusted by \letermining pro-rata shares of adjusted distributions based on the current year's
ADM for the LEA.

(3) Local funds. Each LEA shall include as part of its budget submitted pursuant to T.CA § 49-2­
203, the per pupil amount of local money it will pass through to charter schools during the
upcoming school year. Allocations to the charter schools during that year shall be based on that
figure. The LEA shall distribute the portion of local funds it expects to receive in no fewer than
nine (9) equal installments to the charter schools in the same manner as state funds are
distributed. If the amount of local funds received increases or decreases from the budgeted
figure, the LEA may adjust payments to the charter schools in February or June. Before adjusting
payments to the charter schools, the LEA shall receive approval from the commissioner. The per
pupil amount of local money budgeted for charter schools is not budgeted in a separate line item
in the budget; but rather is part of the entire amount of budgeted local revenue.

(4) Pursuant to T.CA § 49-13-124, the chartering authority may endorse the submission of the
qualified zone academy bond application to the local taxing authority. The chartering authority
may endorse such a bond application submitted by the charter school governing body, or the
chartering authority may include the charter school's project as part of the chartering authority's.
bond application.

(5) School Nutrition Programs. If charter schools provide school nutrition programs, they may
provide their own programs hi compliance with United States Department of Agriculture
regulations and State law or they may contract with the LEA for the provision of school nutrition
programs.

(6) Transportation. Charter schools that provide transportation in accordance with the provisions of
T.CA § 49-6-2100 et seq., other th.an through an agreement with the LEA, shall receive the
State and local funds generated through the BEP for such transportation.

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 49-13-112, 49-13-126.

Rule 0520-14-01-.04 Enrollment is amended by deleting the present language in its entirety and replacing
it with the following: .

Rule 0520-14-01-.04 Enrollment

(1) Enrollment of eligible students, as defined in T.CA § 49-13-106, shall comply with T.CA
§ 49-13-113.

(2) Students currently enrolled in a specific charter school do not need to re-apply if they remain in
that specific charter school. Students moving from one charter school to another- even if both
schools share a sponsor or governing body- are subject to the priority and preferences outlined in
T.CA § 49-13-113.

(3) Charter schools shall apply the enrollment preferences in T.CA § 49-13-113(b) and (c).

(a) Charter schools shall conduct an initial student application period of at least thirty (30)
days. During this period, all eligible students may apply.

(b) If, at the end of the initial student application period, the number of eligible students
seeking to be enrolled exceeds the school's capacity or the capacity of a program, class,
grade level or building, then the enrollment of eligible students shall be determined on the
basis of a lottery. Any such lottery shall be conducted within seven (7) calendar days of
the close of the initial student application period. Charter schools must either have an
independent accounting firm or law firm certify that each lottery conducted complied with
the statutory requirements or, prior to the lottery, have their lottery process approved by
the department of education.

SS-7038 (September 2011) 3 RDA 1693
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(c) If, at the end of the initial student application period, the number of eligible students
seeking to be enrolled does not exceed the school's capacity or the capacity of a
program, class, grade levei or bUilding, then the enrollment of eligible students may
proceed on a first come, first served basis.

Authority: T.e.A. §§ 49-13-113, 49-13-126.

SS-7038 (September 2011) 4 RDA 1693
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CHAPTER 0520·14·01
CHARTER SCHOOLS

0520·14·01·.03 ALLOCATION OF STATE AND LOCAL FUNDS.
Amendments

(1) State and local funds to charier schools shall be allocated pursuant to T.e.A. § 49-13­
112. State and local fund allocations are determined for each LEA on the basis of prior
year average daily membership (ADM).

(a) Allocations shall be based on one hundred percent (100%) of state and local funds
received by the LEA. including current funds allocated for capital outlay purposes
(excluding the proceeds of debt obligations and associated debt service).

(b) Student enrollments used in allocations shall be for the same period used in allocating
state funds to the LEA under the basic education program.

Ic) Allocations to the charter school may not be reduced by the LEA for administrative.
indirect or any other category of cost or charge except as specifically provided in a
charter agreement. Any educational or operational services the authorizer provides for a
fee may also exist in a separate contractual agreement between the charier school and
the authorizer. However. approval of a separate services contract may not be a condition
of approval of the charter agreement.

(d) If students attended a non-chartered public school in the prior year. and attend a public
charter school in the same LEA in the current year. those students are being funded
through the BEP formula. and funds for those students must be passed through to the
public charter school in an amount equal to the per student state and local funds received
by the LEA.

(e) If students are new to the LEA and enroll first in a public charter school, their enrollment
would not be refiected in the BEP formula used to determine the initial distributions to the
LEA. But their enrollment would be reflected in the growth funds distributed in February
and June. Thus. as the LEA receives increased funding in subsequent distributions to
reflect the increased ADM. the LEA must allocate the funds for those students to the
public charter schools they attend. LEAs can determine the amount to allocate by
determining pro-rata shares of growth money based on the current district-wide ADM.
and then divide the growth money by that fiqure to determine the amount to allocate to
the public charter schools for each student.

CD If an LEA does not generate increased funding due to growth. the public charter school
would receive no additional funding in the current year for the students new to the LEA.
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(g) New charter schools or charter schools adding a new grade are funded based on
anticipated enrollment in the charter agreement. Those figures are then subsequently
ill.ti.usted to reflect the actual number of students enrolled. Initial payments will be based
on enrollment projections for the next school year as of March 1.

(2) All ten (10) payments distributed by the State Department of Education are based on prior year
weighted average daily membership (ADM) figure. However, twice a year. once in February and
once in June, funds are adjusted based on actual enrollment in the current year. If payments to
an LEA from the Department of Education are increased or reduced based on actual enrollment.
and a charter school's actual enrollment is higher or lower than its prior year enrollment, or than
its anticipated enrollment in the charter agreement, the payments to the charter schools shall be
adjusted by determining pro-rata shares of adjusted distributions based on the current year's
ADM for the LEA.

(3) Local funds. Each LEA shall include as part of its budget submitted pursuant to T.C.A. § 49-2­
203, the per pupil amount of local money it will pass through to charter schools during the
upcoming school year. Allocations to the charter schools during that year shall be based on that.
figure. The LEA shall distribute the portion of local funds it expects to receive in no fewer than
nine (9) equal installments to the charter schools in the same manner as state funds are
distributed. If the amount of local funds received increases or decreases from the budgeted
figure, the.LEA may adjust payments to the charter schools in February or June. Before adjusting
payments to the charter schools, the LEA shall receive approval from the commissioner. The per
pupil amount of ioeal money budgeted for charter schools is not budgeted in a separate line item
in the budget: but rather is part of the entire amount of budgeted local revenue,

(4)' Pursuant to T.C.A. § 49-13-124, the chartering authority may endorse the submission of the
gualified zone academy bond application to the local taxing authority. The chartering authority
may endorse such a bond application submitted by the charter school governing body, or the
chartering authority may inclUde the charter school's project as part of the chartering authority's
bond application.

(51' School Nutrition Programs. If charter schools provide school nutrition programs, they may
provide their own programs in compliance with United States Department of Agriculture
regulations and State law or they may contract with the LEA for the provision of school nutrition
programs.

01--(6) Transportation. Charter schools that provide transportation in accordance with the provisions of
T.CA § 49-6-2100 et seq., other than through an agreement with the LEA, shall receive the State
and local funds generated through the BEP for such transportation.&Iale-aAG--Ieeal f~Ad8 to-<7Aaftef
8GAeGI&-8Aall-be-alleeate~~f6HaAt-te-:r-.GA-§49-'1-3-1-R.
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Authority: T.GA §§ 49-13-112 and 49-13-126.
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CHAPTER 0520·14·01
CHARTER SCHOOLS

0520·14·01·.04 ENROLLEMNT.
Amendments

0520-14-01-.04 Enrollment

(1) Enrollment of eligible students, as defined in T,CA § 49-13-106, shall comply with T,C,A,
§ 49-13-113.

(2) Students currently enrolled in a specific charter school do not need to re-apply if they remain in
that specific charter school. Students moving from one charter school to another-even if both
schools share a sponsor or governing body- are subject to the priority and preferences outlined in
T,C,A, § 49-13-113,

(3) Charter schools shall apply the enrollment preferences in T.CA § 49-13-113(b) and (c),

(a) Charter schools shall conduct an initial student application period of at least thirty (30)
days, During this period, all eligible students may apply.

(b) If, at the end of the initial student application period, the number of eligible students
seeking to be enrolled exceeds the school's capacity or the capacity of a program, class,
grade level or building, then the enrollment of eligible students shall be determined on the
basis of a lottery, Any such lottery shall be conducted within seven (7) calendar days of
the close of the initial student application period. Charter schools must either have an
independent accounting firm or law firm certify that each lottery conducted complied with
the statutory requirements or, prior to the lottery, have their lottery process approved by
the department of education,

f1+-(c) If, at the end of the Initial student application period, the number of eligible students seeking to be
enrolled does not exceed the school's capacity or the capacity of a program, class, grade level or
building, then the enrollment of eligible students may proceed on a first come, first served
basis.MrollmeRl-Gf-eligilJl&-81ugeflls,-as-defiAe€HA-+,C,/\, § 49...:j.3..W@,-&RaII-BeRlply 'NitR T.C,A, § 49­
1:J 11:J.

~lugents GYI'f8Al!y-eHrolleG-iA-a-speGifiG-BRafl8f-8Glcl001 gO not-nee4-to re apply-if tRey remaiA-iA-tllal
SfJeGifiG-6l1afieF-6GRool.-SludeAt&-meviAg-ffOffi-GAe-ffiafieF-SGllOol-te-aAotReF,Rowever-even-if-lJotR
sGRools-silare-a-spoASOF-GF-§overnIAg-!JOOy-aHHloojeGl-to-#lQ-jlrjorily-ami-j3refereAGeS-OYUiAOO-JA
T,C:A, §-49~-1-"tJ.

~f--GRafieF-SGhool&-opef.aling-iA-1oGaI-eguGalion-ageAGie&-(.L-€As}~A-wRiGfH;tBgeAt&-arenot eligi91e-to
eAro~A'GRar~eF-6eRool&-pYrsYaAI-te-:r~-1-34()6(a)(-1-)fEt-sRall-apply-iRe-eAroIlFRBnt

preferenGes In T,C,A § 49 1:J 11 :J(b) aAd (G) oAly,
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(4) Ghar~ef-S6Reel!H)peFaliA§-iB-hEAs in whieiH;tueents are el~~U-iFHJhaFler schoei&-j}ur-suant
!e T.G./'.. § 49~e(a1(1 )(E) shall-shall-aflflly-ihe-ooreUmen\-jlfieFities in T.G.A. §-49 13 113(Gt.-as
weil-as-the-emellment preferences in T.G.A. § 49 1-3 113(13)an~

(a}-ChaFler-sGheels-ilHheso LEAs shaU_nfluGt-an·initial--£tuGent--aw1ieatien--peFieG--ef-at--lea6t--thiFly
~ring-lhi&-j}erieG,---all-eli§ible-slueOflts4nay-aflflly.

tGHf,at--the-ene--ef--the-iAitial-mueent--aflflUeatien--perieG-,-tlle numboF-Gf-eligible-mueenl6-6eeking-le--be
enreliee-eeeG&--the-sGhoel's-BapaGity-er-ih6--GOf}aGily.-ef-a--pregFafll,--{lIOGS-rllfaee-ievel--er
builgjng,tflelHhe--enrellmenl--ef-eligible-mueent6-6hal!-be--4etBfffiineG-elHhe--basis--el--a-lettery--.-AAy
611Gh-ietter-y-shall--b6--OGfl4uetefl-within-se\'OfI-(-+j-Ba1Ofl4ar---4ay&-ef-the--elese-ef-the-initial--stuGent
applieaUeR--fleFiee.

1. If-the-ffilrOOer--Gf-stueeflts-lneetiflg the re'lUiHlments--ef-T.,.GA--§-49-4-3---4Qe(aj(4-)(Aj
eXoeeG&--the--eapaGity-ef-the-sGheel--er-ihe--eajlaGity-ef-a-j}regrarA-;-elOGS-rllraee-ievel--er
bullGing,thefl--the--enrellmenl--ef-eligible-muGOflts shall be eetermineG-by-a--lottery ameng
these-mueents--enly.

2. If lhe--num8OF-Gf-otBGOflts--meetiflg-lhe--fe'luire-ments ofT.G.A. § 49 13 10e(ajf"!l\At--Gees
net exceee Ihe capacity of-the-sGheel--er-ihe--eapaGity-ef-a--pregFam, class, gfaGe-ie¥el-er
bullgjng,but--the--nBm8OF-Gf-stBGOflts--meetiHghe--re€flMrernenls efT.G.A. § 49 13
'We(ajf"!l(I\) (0) eees,thelHh~lImentof-eligible-stB4ent6-in the slets remainiflg--alle-r
alt-mBeOflts-meetiflg-lhe--re€flMffifAents Elf T.G.A. § 49 13----1OO(aj(B(A-)--Rave--b6Ofl-OnreUe4
shall--be-4etefR1inee by a leltefy--ameng-lhe-mu4ents--meeting the reEjuire-ments--ef T.G.A.
§49 13 10@(aj(B(B) (OJ.

3. If-the--nurnbeF-ef-stB4ent&-R1eetiflg-lhe--feEjuiffifAOflts--ef-T.G.A. §-49 13 10€lfa)0-)(AHQ1
ee06-Hel-exeeeG--the--eaflOGity Elf lhe seheel--er-ihe--eapaGity-ef-a-j}r-egFarn, olass, grade
level--ef--tluikling,bBt--1he--num8OF-Gf-sludents-meeling-lhe--fGEJulrements ef T.G.A. § 49 13
'W@(ajfB(Aj~ees, Ihen Ihe-oorelimOflI--ef-eIigll:>Ie-mueents-ilHhe--slels-rernalning-after
all-stuGents--rneetiflg-lhe;-reEJUirements--ef T.G.A. § 49 13-:W@(aj(B(A) (0) hav-e--been
enrollee shall be eelermln~y--a-ieltefy--arneng the students meeting-lhe--re€flMrements--ef
T.G.A.§ 49 13 10e(ajf"!l(E+

(B)--#;---al--the-ene-ef-the-initial-mBeent--applieaUen--peFieG,--the--numbOF-Gf-eligible-stuGOflts-6eeking-le--be
OflrelleG--Gee&4'let-exeee{!--tl1e-sehee~paGity-er-ihe--eapaoity-ef-a--pregrarA-;-ela66-;-ijfa4e-ievel-er

building,thelHhe-enrelimOflI--ef-eligible-mu4ents4nay-j}reeeed-en--a--first-eeme, first serveG--basls-,

(e) If applieable,tAEl-flreferences in T.G.A. § 49 13 113(b)--afl4-{e)-6l1all be usee In eflrellmOflt-ef
stueents ifl-shaFler-sGhool!H)jlerating in LEAs In whiGh-stuGOflt&-are--ellgible-ie-eflroll In chaFter
6Gheei&-j}Uf6Banl--to T.G.A. § 49 13 1O@(aj(1HE). Prleritizing enrellment a600rGin~e--felIewing
Ghart shall satiety the OepaFlmeni--ef--€6ueatiGn--rev1ew--aAd-ejlflreval preoess pursuanl--tEl T.G.!". §
49 13 113(e)(3}.

gibllng&Bnd Previously AsslgAed-t<>--a--SGlwel ~iQible--f"r
ohiidreA GAfGlle<l-1A-a missiAg free--and
\fewer IhaA Ghafler A¥P---.--er red<IGGd
2&-aAd (4Q-.tJ..1QI'i(-a)f1l1'A) f49-1-3-~00(!lllH(al meals
4W1.)! l'ailiAg-te--fesl (4G-13-tootaX,tj(-E-,j

I (4~J...-\-.-\-3{~l) f'FGIiGieAl-GA
the TCAPIGaleway
.HI-

l'iArelle<l-1A-a
sGhooWl1at
GGAverts te a :l- e 9 -t-3
Gharter
49....j.;l-1-t~b](2l(AJ(11

AUeAdiflg-a 2 6 40 :14
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* Per TeA § 49 13 11 3~Ftef-SGh(j(jI-ma'Klive-iRiUaI-fJFefefeRGO-te-tlle-6ilJliB9&-ef-a;J1lI'il-alfeaGy

eflr.ellee-anG-to-GAileFefHlf-teaGAef&,-6I'ORSOF&;-aRc:l-beare-meffiOOr&.-TAis-pFefeFeRSO-J&jjmitee-kHOR
fJOf6ORt{tO-o/.}eH3Rf(j"A1eR~F-lweAly-.fi.ve (25) SI{leeAl&,whiGAeveF-is-les&

Authority: T.GA §§ 49-13-113 and 49-13-126.
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G.O.C. STAFF RULE ABSTRACT 
 
 
DEPARTMENT: Education 
 
DIVISION: Charter Schools 
 
SUBJECT: Achievement School District 
 
STATUTORY AUTHORITY: Tennessee Code Annotated, Section 49-13-126 
 
EFFECTIVE DATES: August 29, 2012 through June 30, 2013 
 
FISCAL IMPACT: Minimal 
 
STAFF RULE ABSTRACT: This rule provides for an application process for charter 

school sponsors applying to operate a school in the 
Achievement School District. 

 

36



Regulatory Flexibility Addendum
Pursuant to T.CA §§4-5-401 through 4-5-404, prior to initiating the rule making process as described in T.CA
§4-5-202(a)(3) and T.CA §4-5-202(a), all agencies shall conduct a review of whether a proposed rule or rule
affects small businesses.

(If applicable, insert Regulatory Flexibility Addendum here)

SS-7038 (September 2011) 4 RDA 1693
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Impact on Local Governments

Pursuant to T.CA §§4-5-220 and 4-5-228 "any rule proposed to be promulgated shall state in a simple
declarative sentence, without additional comments on the merits of the policy of the rules or regulation, whether
the rule or regulation may have a projected impact on local governments." (See Public Chapter Number 1070
(http://state.tn.us/sos/acts/106/pub/pc1070.pdf) of the 2010 Session of the General Assembly)

This rule shall have no impact on local governments.

88-7038 (September 2011) 5 RDA 1693
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Chapter 0520-14-03
Achievement School District

New Rule

Title 0520-14 is amended by inserting a new chapter 0520-14-03 Achievement School District and by inserting the
following as a new, appropriately numbered rule:

Rule 0520-14-03-.01 Authorization of Charter Schools

(1) Charter schools may be authorized by the achievement school district through an application process
established by the achievement school district (ASD).

(a) The application shall be reviewed according to procedures established by the superintendent of
the ASD.

(b) By signing and submitting an application, the sponsor requests a waiver of all education statutes
and rules of the state board or department of education, except those listed in TCA § 49-13-105
or included by reference (such as statutes and rules related to licensing of charter school
teachers) in Title 49, Chapter 13 (the Tennessee Public Charter Schools Act). The approval of a
charter school by the superintendent shall include the approval of these waivers by the
commissioner of education, and such automatic waivers shall be reflected in the contract
between the charter school and the ASD.

(c) Decisions of the superintendent to grant or deny ASD charter applications are final and not
sUbject to appeal.

Authority: TCA §§ 49-13-112,49-13-126.

SS-7038 (September 2011) 2 RDA 1693
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G.O.C. STAFF RULE ABSTRACT 
 
 
DEPARTMENT: Labor and Workforce Development 
 
DIVISION: Workers' Compensation 
 
SUBJECT: Medical Fee Schedule; Drug Free Workplace 
 
STATUTORY AUTHORITY: Tennessee Code Annotated, Section 50-6-204 
 
EFFECTIVE DATES: June 10, 2012 through June 30, 2013 
 
FISCAL IMPACT: The agency has provided the following information: 
 

State and local governments have the option to accept the 
provisions of the workers' compensation laws pursuant to 
Tennessee Code Annotated, § 50-6-106(6), but are not 
required to do so. For those governmental agencies that 
do adhere to the medical fee schedule and Drug Free 
Workplace Program, their workers' compensation 
premiums should decrease, though It is difficult at this time 
to ascertain by exactly how much. 

 
STAFF RULE ABSTRACT: 
 
The medical fee schedule for workers' compensation has been in place since 2005. These 
amendments make several changes, some substantive and some minor. 
 
A substantive change is reducing the maximum professional fees, which are based upon a 
percentage above Medicare rates. Changes to Medicare's reimbursement formula have caused 
a steep increase in these rates that was not previously anticipated. The rule amendment would 
return the rates to more moderate levels, which will alleviate the burden on Tennessee 
employers. 
 
Other substantive changes include: capping pathology fees at 200% of applicable Medicare; 
linking repackaged and compounded drugs to the average wholesale price of the original 
national drug code number; capping ground ambulance rates at 150% of applicable Medicare; 
allowing chiropractors to charge for an office visit on the same day as the initial treatment; and, 
removing the requirement that physical therapy must go through utilization review after six visits. 
 
In addition, the amendments update the Drug Free Workplace drug-testing panel to the new 
U.S. Department of Transportation panel. 
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Public Hearing Comments

One copy of a document containing responses to comments made at the public hearing must accompany the
filing pursuant to T.CA § 4-5-222. Agencies shall include only their responses to public hearing comments,
which can be summarized. No letters of inquiry from parties questioning the rule will be accepted. When no
comments are received at the public hearing, the agency need only draft a memorandum stating such and inclUde
it with the Rulemaking Hearing Rule filing. Minutes of the meeting will not be accepted. Transcripts are not
acceptable.

1) Comment: The Department should consider revising the in-patient per diem and stop-loss amounts.
Alternatively, the in-patient fees should be based on Medicare. Under either system, the in-patient rules should
adhere to the Medicare bundling guidelines. Otherwise, hospital costs could experience a significant increase.
Due to the complexities involved, this may be an issue that the Medical Care & Cost Containment Committee
should study and then make a recommendation.

Response: Currently, the data on hospital reimbursements is insufficient to fUlly analyze this amendment.
That data should be available in the next year. As such, the Department agrees that this is a change that should
await more concrete data to analyze the impact and we will exclude it from the current amendments.

2) Comment: The wording in the in-patient bundling amendment should be changed from "are not controlling"
to "do not apply" for clarity purposes.

Response: In light of the response to Comment #1, this comment is moot.

3) Comment: Maximum ambulance fees should remain as they currently are, rather than being based on
Medicare, since Medicare covers different types of patients and emergencies than workers' compensation
insurance.

Response: While the Department recognizes that Medicare covers a different type of patient than workers'
compensation, we have used a Medicare-based fee schedule for most aspects of medical costs since the fee
schedule was first implemented in 2005. The original reimbursement formula for ambulances was the lesser of
submitted charges or the average price in the geographical locality. The database for the latter is now obsolete,
so ambulance services have been able to receive up to their submitted charges, which can be significant
amounts. In looking for ways to control those costs, the fairest and most accessible option appears to be setting
a reimbursement amount as a percentage of Medicare. Going forward, we will continue to consider moving the
medical fee schedule rates for all services away from a Medicare-based system as other commenters have also
suggested.

4) Comment: Many commenters recommended that generic equivalent average price ("GEAP") should not be
incorporated into the pharmacy fee schedule because it is inaccessible and only covers a small percentage of
drugs.

Response: Due to the inaccessibility and lack of information in the GEAP database, the Department agrees
with the commenters and will remove references to GEAP in the final rule.

5) Comment: There is support for addressing repackaged and/or compounded drugs, but the proposed wording
should be clarified so that the responsibilities of the parties are clearer.

Response: The Department agrees that the language in the final rule should be revised to better convey the
intent. While we received several suggestions on how the language should be revised, we will take the aspects of
those suggestions that best convey the intent and reformulate the language.

6) Comment: There is concern that restricting the payments for repackaged and compounded drugs to average
wholesale price ("AWP") will discourage physicians from dispensing, especially when dispending physicians have
a 100% fill rate, whereas pharmacy prescriptions have a 70-80% fill rate. This change could also lead to access
to care problems if it is no longer financially viable for physicians to dispense drugs.

Response: Currently, the pharmacy fee schedule uses AWP as a basis for drug prices, but repackaged and
compounded drugs are not adequately addressed by the current language. As such, the amendment is to fill a

88-7039 (October 2011) 11 RDA 1693
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gap and ensure that drug prices are based on AWP whenever possible. In no way does the rule amendment
prohibit physician-dispensing or the practice of repackaging or compounding drugs.

7) Comment: There is opposition to the decrease in maximum professional fees from physicians, as well as
chiropractors and physical therapists. Some providers have advised that the 11 % cut in the maximum allowable
amount may cause them to discontinue treating workers' compensation patients.

Response: Amendments to the medical fee schedule in 2009 designated a conversion factor of 38.0870 in
the formula for maximum professional fees because of anticipated cuts to Medicare. In the last two years, the
Medicare cuts have not materialized and, as a result, the medical fee scheduie's maximum professional fees have
increased by 20% since August 2009, which included an 8.8% increase at the beginning of 2011, according to the
National Council on Compensation Insurance ("NCCI"). As such, the maximum professional fees have become
significantly higher than was anticipated when the 2009 amendments took effect. The current amendment would
update the designated conversion factor to current Medicare, which is 33.9764.

While we would be disappointed to see any physician decline to see workers' compensation patients
because of this amendment and do recognize that such cases can provide more administrative hassles, the
amended reimbursement formula would still allow for percentages significantly higher than Medicare (I.e., 275%
for orthopaedic and neurosurgery, 200% for general surgery, 160% for office visits). In addition, the final
amendment will insulate the providers from further decreases to Medicare's conversion factor.

8) Comment: The NCCI pricing method used in the law-only filing as a basis for the reduction in professional
fees is flawed because it does not account for prices actually paid and it uses outdated Medicare studies.

Response: The pricing method used in NCCl's filing is based on trending. While actual prices paid are not
used in the filing, the method accounts for increases and decreases by assuming that a certain percentage
change in the medical fee schedule will correlate to a very similar change in actual prices paid. As for the
Medicare study, that is only utilized with projected reductions in costs, whereas the commenters take issue with
the projected increases in the filing. Accordingly, that study had no impact on the commenters' areas of interest.

9) Comment: A recent Workers Compensation Research Institute ("WCRI") study showed that Tennessee was
the only one of 25 study states to have medical costs below its 2002 level. As such, there should be no reduction
in maximum professional fees.

Response: The WCRI study did show that Tennessee's medical costs are lower than in 2002. The medical
fee schedule did not go into effect, however, until 2005. As such, the data showing that costs are very close,
albeit still lower, than the 2002 levels is actually disconcerting for the purposes of the medical fee schedule. In
addition, the study only used data up to June 2010, whereas the largest increase from the previous conversion
factor designation on maximum professional fees occurred in January 2011. Accordingly, that study has not yet
accounted for the most recent increase in medical costs.

10) Comment: Going to a two-tiered surgical reimbursement system based on CPT codes will cause some
codes that have traditionally been paid at the higher level to be paid at the lower level, which would significantly
increase medical costs.

Response: Tennessee is the only state that uses a two-tiered surgical reimbursement system based on the
board-certification/eligibility status of the physician, which has caused issues with improper reimbursements. Due
to the concerns about increased costs, however, the Department will revise the proposed language to maintain
the orthopaedic and neurosurgeon distinction, but with additional language aimed at alleviating the issues with
improper reimbursements.

11) Comment: There is a concern among several commenters that the administrative hassles involved in
workers' compensation will result in a decrease in the number of providers willing to see those patients.

Response: While many of the areas that concern the commenters are outside of the scope of these rule
amendments, one change that should help ease this burden is the clarifying language mentioned in the response
to Comment 10.

12) Comment: The multiple procedures reduction will reduce reimbursement for providers, especially physical
therapists who perform several modalities in one session.

SS-7039 (October 2011) 12 RDA 1693
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Response: The multiple procedures reduction has been in the medical fee schedule since its implementation
in 2005. The present amendment merely clarifies which procedures are primary, i.e., to be paid in fUll, and which
are secondary, i.e., to be paid at half. Accordingly, the amendment is only to clarify an ambiguous area and
should not have a significant impact.

13) Comment: There is concern that the prohibition on line-by-Iine comparisons will increase costs and impede
bill reviewers from applying contracted discounts.

Response: The Department has always interpreted the Medical Fee Schedule "lesser of' comparison to
apply to entire bills, rather than a line-by-line comparison of each item in the bill. As such, the amendment is
merely to clarify the rule. Nothing in the amendment should prevent contracting or negotiating for discounts below
the maximum rates.

SS-7039 (October 2011) 13 RDA 1693
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Impact on Local Governments

Pursuant to T.CA §§ 4-5-220 and 4-5-228 "any rule proposed to be promulgated shall state in a simple
declarative sentence, without additional comments on the merits of the policy of the rules or regulation, whether
the rule or regulation may have a projected impact on local governments." (See Public Chapter Number 1070
(http://state.tn.us/sos/acts/106/pub/pc1070.pdf) of the 2010 Session of the General Assembly)

Local governments have the option to accept the provisions of the workers' compensation laws pursuant to T.CA
§ 50-6-106(6), but are not required to do so. For those local governments that do accept the provisions of the
workers' compensation laws, the impact of the rule amendments will be a decrease in their workers'
compensation insurance premiums.

SS-7039 (October 2011) 15 RDA 1693
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Regulatory Flexibility Addendum
Pursuant to T.CA §§ 4-5-401 through 4-5-404, prior to initiating the rule making process as described in T.C.A.
§ 4-5-202(a)(3) and T.CA § 4-5-202(a), all agencies shall conduct a review of whether a proposed rule or rule
affects small businesses.

STATEMENT OF ECONOMtC IMPACT TO SMALL BUSINESSES

1. The type or types of small business and an identification and estimate of the number of small businesses
subject to the proposed rule that would bear the cost of, or directly benefit from the proposed rule: The amended
rules will affect small employers that fall under the Tennessee Workers' Compensation Laws, which would be
employers with at least five employees, or in the construction industry, at least one employee. The rule
amendments should result in premium decreases for such employers.

2. The projected reporting, recordkeeping and other administrative costs required for compliance with the
proposed rule, including the type of professional skills necessary for preparation of the report or record:
Employers' insurance carriers or third party administrators will be responsible for complying with changes to the
medical fee schedule, so no administrative impact would be expected for small businesses. Drug testing
companies will be responsible for complying with the updated drug testing, but the update merely mirrors the U.S.
Department of Transportation's drug panel, which is widely utilized, so any administrative costs should be
minimal,

3. A statement of the probable effect on impacted small businesses and consumers: EmDlovers will Dav lower
workers' compensation premiums, which is a benefit that can then be passed on to employees and consumers.

4. A description of any less burdensome, less intrusive or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose
and objectives of the proposed rule that may exist, and to what extent the alternative means might be less
burdensome to small business: There are no less burdensome methods to achieve the purposes and objectives
of the amended rule.

5. Comparison of the proposed rule with any federal or state counterparts: The medical fee schedule rates are
based on a percentage above Medicare rates. The Drug Free Workplace Program's drug panel is based on the
U.8. Department of Transportation's rules (49 C.F.R. 40.87).

6. Analysis of the effect of the possible exemption of small businesses from all or any part of the requirements
contained in the proposed rule: It would be detrimental to small businesses that fall under the Tennessee
Workers' Compensation Laws to be exempt from the medical fee schedule since it contains costs.

88-7039 (October 2011) 14 RDA 1693
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(Place substance of rules and other info here. Statutory authority must be given for each rule change. For
information on formatting rules go to hllp:/lstate.tn.us/sos/rules/1360/1360.htm)

Chapter 0800-02-12
Drug Free Workplace Programs

Amendments

Rule 0800-02-12-.03 Definitions, subsection (17)(a) is amended by deleting the current language and replacing it
with the following:

(17) (a) "Prohibited levels" for a drug or a drug's metabolites means cut-off levels on screened
specimens which are equal to or exceed the following and shall be considered to be
presumptively positive;

1. Cut-off levels on initially screened specimens:

Amphetamines 500 ng/ml
Marijuana (cannabinoids) 50 ng/ml
Cocaine (benzolylecgonine) 150 ng/ml
Opiates (codeine, morphine, heroin) 2,000 ng/ml
PCP (phencyclidine) 25 ng/ml
6-Acetylmorphine (heroin) 10 ng/ml
MDMA (ecstasy) 500 ng/ml

2. Cut-off levels on confirmation specimens:

Amphetamines 250 ng/ml
Marijuana (cannabinoids) 15 ng/ml
Cocaine (benzolylecgonine) 100 ng/ml
Opiates (codeine, morphine, heroin) 2,000 ng/ml
PCP (phencyclidine) 25 ng/ml
6-Acetylmorphine (heroin) 10 ng/ml
MDMA (ecstasy) 250 ng/ml

Authority: T.CA §§50-9-103, 50-9-106, 50-9-109, and 50-9-111.

Rule 0800-02-12-.07 Testing, section (1) is amended by adding two new subsections, which shall read:

(g) 6-Acetylmorphine (heroin)
(h) MDMA (ecstasy)

Authority: T.CA §§50-9-101(a) and (b), 50-9-104, 50-9-106(a)(1), 50-9-107(a) and (c), 50-9-110, and 50-9-111.

Chapter 0800-02-17
Medical Cost Containment Program

Amendments

0800-02-17-.06 Procedures for Which Codes Are Not listed, section (1) is amended by adding the phrase "or
revenue code, as applicable" at the end of the first sentence, so that it reads as follows:

(1) If a procedure is performed which is not listed in the Medicare Resource Based Relative Value
Scale ("RBRVS"), the health care provider must use an appropriate CPT procedure code or
revenue code, as applicable. The provider must submit an explanation, such as copies of
operative reports, consultation reports, progress notes, office notes or other applicable
documentation, or description of equipment or supply (when that is the bill).

Authority: T.CA §§ 50-6-204, 50-6-205 and 50-6-233 (Rep!. 2005).
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0800-02-17-.09 Independent Medical Examination to Evaluate Medical Aspects of Case, section (2) is amended
by adding the following sentence at the end:

Physicians may only require pre-payment of $500.00 for an IME; provided, that following the
completion of the IME and report, the physician may bill for other amounts appropriately due and
the payer may recover any amounts that were overpaid.

Authority: T.CA §§ 50-6-204, 50-6-205 and 50-6-233 (Rep!. 2005).

0800-02-17-.09 Independent Medical Examination to Evaluate Medical Aspects of Case is amended by adding
the following as a new section (4):

(4) Physicians who perform consultant services and/or records review in order to determine whether
to accept a new patient shall not bill for an IME. Rather, such physicians shall bill using CPT
codes 99358 and 99359. The reimbursement shall be $200.00 for the first hour of review and
$100.00 for each additional hour; provided, that each quarter hour shall be pro-rated.

Authority: T.CA §§ 50-6-204, 50-6-205 and 50-6-233 (Rep!. 2005).

0800-02-17-.10 Payment, section (4) is amended by adding the following sentence at the end:

If the Division does not designate a specific form, then the proper form shall be according to
Medicare guidelines.

Authority: T.CA §§ 50-6-204, 50-6-205 and 50-6-233 (Rep!. 2005).

0800-02-17-.10 Payment, section (12) is amended by deleting the current language and replacing it with the
following:

(12) Payments to providers for initial examinations and treatment authorized by the carrier or employer
shall be paid by that carrier or employer and shall not later be subject to reimbursement by the
employee, even if the injury or condition for which the employee was sent to the provider is later
determined non-compensable under the Act.

Authority: T.CA §§ 50-6-204, 50-6-205 and 50-6-233 (Rep!. 2005).

0800-02-17-.12 Recovery of Payment, section (1) is amended by adding the following sentence at the end:

If the timeframes in these Rules are not met, then the Medical Care and Cost Containment
Committee will decline to review the dispute, but such failure shall not provide an independent
basis for denying payment or recovery of payment.

Authority: T.CA §§ 50-6-204, 50-6-205, 50-6-226 and 50-6-233 (Rep!. 2005).

0800-02-17-.20 Utilization Review, subsection (1)(a) is amended by changing "Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-102(18)"
to "Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-102(17)."

Authority: T.CA §§ 50-6-102,50-6-122,50-6-124,50-6-204,50-6-205 and 50-6-233 (Rep!. 2005).

0800-02-17-.21 Process for Resolving Differences Between Carriers and Providers Regarding Bills, subsection
(4)(b) is amended by deleting the first sentence and replacing it with the following:

(b) Valid requests for Administrative Review must be accompanied by a form prescribed by the
Division, must be legible, and must contain copies of the following:

Authority: T.CA §§ 50-6-126, 50-6-204, 50-6-205, 50-6-226 and 50-6-233 (Rep!. 2005).

0800-02-17-.21 Process for Resolving Differences Between Carriers and Providers Regarding Bills, section (4) is
amended by adding the following as a new subsection (d):
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(d) If the request for review does not contain proper documentation, then the MCCCC will deciine to
review the dispute. Likewise, if the timeframes in this Rule are not met, then the MCCCC will
decline to review the dispute, but such failure shall not provide an independent basis for denying
payment or recovery of payment.

Authority: T.CA §§ 50-6-126, 50-6-204, 50-6-205, 50-6-226 and 50-6-233 (Rep!. 2005).

0800-02-17-.24 Provider and Facility Fees for Copies of Medical Records, section (1) is amended by adding the
following sentence at the end:

The cost set forth in this subsection shall also apply to paper records transmitted on a disc or by
other electronic means based upon the number of pages reproduced on the disc or other media.

Authority: T.CA §§ 50-6-204, 50-6-205 and 50-6-233 (Rep!. 2005).

0800-02-17-.24 Provider and Facility Fees for Copies of Medical Records, section (2) is amended by deleting the
current language and replacing it with the following:

(2) Health care providers and facilities must furnish an injured employee or the employee's attorney
and carriers/self-insureds or their legal representatives copies of records and reports as set forth
in Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-204, as amended.

Authority: T.CA §§ 50-6-204, 50-6-205 and 50-6-233 (Rep!. 2005).

Chapter 0800-02-18
Medical Fee Schedule

Amendments

0800-02-18-.02 General Information and Instructions for Use, subsection (2)(b) is amended by adding the
following as a new subsection:

6. The "lesser of' comparison among (1) the provider's usual charge, (2) the maximum allowable
amount pursuant to these Rules, or (3) any other contracted amount, should be determined
based on the entire bill or amount due for a particular service, rather than on a line-by-Iine basis.

Authority: T.CA §§ 50-6-204, 50-6-205 and 50-6-233 (Rep!. 2005).

0800-02-18-.02 General Information and Instructions for Use, section (4) is amended by deleting the section in its
entirety and replacing it with the following:

(4) Practitioner fees shall be based on the conversion factor of 33.9764, which shall be used in
conjunction with the most current Medicare RVUs. The Division may designate another baseline
conversion factor at any time through the rulemaking process. The Tennessee-specific
conversion factors listed below should be applied to the service category in order to calculate the
appropriate amount.

Service Category TN Conversion Factor

Anesthesiology $75.00 per unit

Orthopaedic and Neurosurgery' . .275%

General Surgery . .......... .200%

Radiology 200%

Pathology 200%
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Physical/Occupational Therapy 130%

Chiropractic . .. 130%

General Medicine
(including evaluation & management). .. 160%

Emergency Care 200%

Dentistry 100%

* Orthopaedic and neurosurgeons may use the modifier "ON" on the HCFA 1500 form when
submitting surgical charges. If the modifier or another indicator is not placed on the form, then
the Tennessee Department of Health's database may be consulted in order to determine the
provider's specialty.

Authority: T.CA §§ 50-6-204, 50-6-205 and 50-6-233 (Rep!. 2005).

0800-02-18-.04 Surgery Guidelines, section (1) is amended by deleting the current language and replacing it with
the following:

(1) Multiple Procedures: Maximum reimbursement shall be based on 100% of the appropriate
Medical Fee Schedule amount for the major procedure plus 50% of the lesser or secondary
procedure(s). The major procedure shall be determined to be the procedure with the highest
Medicare reimbursement.

Authority: T.CA §§ 50-6-204, 50-6-205 and 50-6-233 (Rep!. 2005).

0800-02-18-.07 Ambulatory Surgical Centers and Outpatient Hospital Care (Including Emergency Room Facility
Charges), subsection (1)(c) is amended by deleting the current language and replacing it with the following:

(c) Under the Medical Fee Schedule Rules, the OPPS reimbursement system shall be used for
reimbursement for all outpatient services, wherever they are performed, in a free-standing ASC or
hospital setting. The most current, effective Medicare APC rates shall be used as the basis for
facility fees charged for outpatient services and shall be reimbursed at a maximum of 150% of
current value for such services. Depending on the services provided, ASCs and hospitals may be
paid for more than one APC for an encounter. When multiple surgical procedures are performed
during the same surgical session, maximum reimbursement shall be based on 100% of the
appropriate Medical Fee Schedule amount for the major procedure plus 50% of the lesser or
secondary procedure(s); provided, that the major procedure shall be determined to be the
procedure with the highest Medicare reimbursement. Only separate and distinct surgical
procedures shall be billed. Medicare guidelines shall be consulted and used in determining
separate and distinct surgical procedures.

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 50-6-204, 50-6-205 and 50-6-233 (Rep!. 2005).

0800-02-18-.07 Ambulatory Surgical Centers and Outpatient Hospital Care (Including Emergency Room Facility
Charges), subsection (1)(h)(2) is amended by deleting the current language and replacing it with the following:

2. Laboratory Services (including pathology)

Authority: T.CA §§ 50-6-204, 50-6-205 and 50-6-233 (Rep!. 2005).

0800-02-18-.07 Ambulatory Surgical Centers and Outpatient Hospital Care (Including Emergency Room Facility
Charges), subsection (k) is amended by deleting the current language and replacing with the following:

(k) There may be emergency cases or other occasions in which the patient was scheduled for
outpatient surgery and it becomes necessary to admit the patient. All hospitals with ambulatory
patients who stay longer than 23 hours past ambulatory surgery and are formally admitted to the
hospital as an inpatient will be paid according to the In-patient Hospital Fee Schedule Rules,
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0800-02-19. All ASCs shall be paid pursuant to this Rule 0800-02-18-.07 regardless of the
patient's length of stay.

Authority: T.CA §§ 50-6-204, 50-6-205 and 50-6-233 (Rep!. 2005).

0800-02-18-.08 Chiropractic Services Guidelines, section (2) is amended by deleting the current language in its
entirety and substituting instead the following:

(2) For chiropractic services, an office visit may only be billed on the same day as a manipulation
when it is the patient's initial visit with that provider.

Authority: T.CA §§ 50-6-204, 50-6-205 and 50-6-233 (Rep!. 2005).

Rule 0800-02-18-.09 Physical and Occupational Therapy Guidelines, section (5) is amended by deleting the
current language in its entirety and replacing it with the following:

(5) Whenever physical therapy and/or occupational therapy services exceed twelve (12) visits, such
treatment shall be reviewed pursuant to the carrier's utilization review program in accordance with
the procedures set forth in Chapter 0800-02-06 of the Division's Utilization Review rules before
further physical therapy and/or occupational therapy services may be certified for payment by the
carrier. Such certification shall be completed within the timeframes set forth in Chapter 0800-02­
06 to assure no interruption in delivery of needed services. Failure by a provider to properly
certify such services as prescribed herein shall result in the forfeiture of any payment for
uncertified services. Failure by an employer or utilization review agent to conduct utilization
review in accordance with this Chapter 0800-02-18 and Chapter 0800-02-06 shall result in no
more than twelve (12) additional visits being deemed certified. The initial utilization review of
physical therapy and/or occupational therapy services shall, if necessary and appropriate, certify
an appropriate number of visits. If necessary, further subsequent utilization review shall be
conducted to certify additional physical therapy and/or occupational therapy services as is
appropriate; provided, that further certifications are not required to be in increments of twelve (12)
visits.

Authority: T.CA §§ 50-6-204, 50-6-205 and 50-6-233 (Rep!. 2005).

Rule 0800-02-18-.10 Durable Medical Equipment and Implant Guidelines, section (1) is amended by adding the
phrase "or, for hospital reimbursements, a US 04 form." at the end of the last sentence, so that it reads as follows:

(1) Reimbursement for durable medical equipment and implants for which billed charges are $100.00
or less shall be limited to eighty (80%) of billed charges. Durable medical equipment and implants
for which billed charges exceed $100.00 shall be reimbursed at a maximum amount of the
supplier or manufacturer's invoice amount, plus the lesser of 15% of invoice or $1,000.00, and
coded using the HCPCS codes. These calculations are per item and are not cumulative. Charges
for durable medical equipment and implants are in addition to, and shall be billed separately from,
all facility and professional service fees. Codes to be used are found in the HCPCS. Charges
should be submitted on a HCFA 1500 form or, for hospital reimbursements, a US 04 form.

Authority: T.CA §§ 50-6-204, 50-6-205 and 50-6-233 (Rep!. 2005).

Rule 0800-02-18-.12 Pharmacy Schedule Guidelines, subsection (1)(c) is amended by deleting the phrase
"subsection (5) of this section" and replacing it instead with "the following subsections."

Authority: T.CA §§ 50-6-204, 50-6-205 and 50-6-233 (Rep!. 2005).

Rule 0800-02-18-.12 Pharmacy Schedule Guidelines, subsection (1 )(e)(2)(v) is amended by deleting the
reference to "Rule 0800-2-11-.10" and replacing it with "Rule 0800-02-17-.10."

Authority: T.CA §§ 50-6-204, 50-6-205 and 50-6-233 (Rep!. 2005).

Rule 0800-02-18-.12 Pharmacy Schedule Guidelines, subsection (1 )(f)(2) is amended by deleting the reference to
"(4)(b)" and replacing it with "(e)(2)."
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Authority: T.CA §§ 50-6-204, 50-6-205 and 50-6-233 (Rep!. 2005).

Rule 0800-02-18-.12 Pharmacy Schedule Guidelines, section (1) is amended by adding a new subsection (h) at
the end, which should read as follows:

(h) Repackaged or Compounded Products

All pharmaceutical bills submitted for repackaged or compounded products must include the NDC
Number of the original manufacturer registered with the U.S. Food & Drug Administration or its
authorized distributor's stock package used in the repackaging or compounding process. The
reimbursement allowed shall be based on the current pUblished manufacturer's AWP of the
product or ingredient, calculated on a per unit basis, as of the date of dispensing. A repackaged
or compounded NDC Number shall not be used and shall not be considered the original
manufacturer's NDC Number. If the original manufacturer's NDC Number is not provided on the
bill, then the reimbursement shall be based on the AWP of the lowest priced therapeutically
equivalent drug, calculated on a per unit basis. The filling fees otherwise provided in these Rules
shall be payable when applicable.

Authority: T.CA §§ 50-6-204, 50-6-205 and 50-6-233 (Rep!. 2005).

0800-02-18-.13 Ambulance Services Guidelines, section (4) is amended by deleting the current language in its
entirety and replacing it with the following:

(4) Reimbursement shall be based upon the lesser of the submitted charge or 150% of the current
Medicare rate. To the extent permitted by federal law, the rates determined in the preceding
sentence shall also apply to air ambulance services.

Authority: T.CA §§ 50-6-204, 50-6-205 and 50-6-233 (Rep/. 2005).

Chapter 0800-02-19
In-patient Hospital Fee Schedule

Amendments

0800-02-19-.03 Special Ground Rules - Inpatient Hospital Services, subsection (2)(e) is amended by deleting the
current language and replacing it with the following:

(e) The items listed in subsection (d)(4) shall be reimbursed according to the Medical Cost
Containment Program Rules (Chapter 0800-02-17) and Medical Fee Schedule Rules (Chapter
0800-02-18) payment limits. Refer to the maximum rates set forth in Rule 0800-02-18-.02(4) for
practitioner fees. Items not listed in the Rules shall be reimbursed at the usual and customary
rate as defined in Rule 0800-02-17-.03(80), unless otherwise indicated herein.

Authority: T.CA §§ 50-6-125, 50-6-128, 50-6-204 and 50-6-205 (Rep/. 2005).

0800-02-19-.03 Special Ground Rules -Inpatient Hospital Services, subsection (4)(d) is amended by deleting the
current language and replacing it with the following:

(d) Example: DRG 222: Knee Procedures WIO CC

Hospital Peer Group: 1 - Surgical admission
Maximum rate per day: $1,800 for first 7 days; 1,500 for 2 additional days
Number Billed Days: 9
Total Billed Charges
(after subtracting amounts for implants, radiology, etc.): $53,650.00

Maximum allowable payment for Normal DRG stay $15,600.00

Total difference, charges over and above maximum payments $38,050.00
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(if this amount is $15,000 or less, then stop-loss is not applicable)

Difference over and above $15,000 Stop-loss is $23,050.00
Payable under Stop-loss (80% of $23,050.00) $18,440.00

Amounts due hospital for implants, radiology, etc $3,525.00

Maximum fee schedule amount: 15,600.00 + 18,440.00 + 3,525.00 =$37,565.00

Proper reimbursement would be the lesser of billed charges, maximum fee schedule amount, or
other contracted or negotiated rate

Authority: T.eA §§ 50-6-125, 50-6-128, 50-6-204 and 50-6-205 (Rep!. 2005).
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G.O.C. STAFF RULE ABSTRACT 
 
 
DEPARTMENT: Labor and Workforce Development 
 
DIVISION: Occupational Safety and Health 
 
SUBJECT: Occupational Safety and Health Standards for General 

Industry, Construction, and Agriculture 
 
STATUTORY AUTHORITY: Tennessee Code Annotated, Section 50-3-201 
 
EFFECTIVE DATES: September 28, 2012 through June 30, 2013 
 
FISCAL IMPACT: Minimal 
 
STAFF RULE ABSTRACT: Rule 0800-01-01-.06, Rule 0800-01-06-.02, Rule 0800-01-

07-.01, and Rule 0800-01-07-.02 are amended to adopt 
and reference the latest occupational and health standards 
and exceptions, if any, in the applicable parts of Title 29, 
Code of Federal Regulations, when published in the 
Federal Register. Since the last amendments to the rules, 
there have been no substantive changes to the 
occupational safety and health standards. 
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Regulatory Flexibility Addendum
Pursuant to T.CA §§ 4-5-401 through 4-5-404, prior to initiating the rule making process as described in T.CA
§ 4-5-202(a)(3) and T.CA § 4-5-202(a), all agencies shall conduct a review of whether a proposed rule or rule
affects small businesses.

An economic impact statement regarding the amendments in this rule proposal is not required under the
provisions of the Regulatory Flexibility Act of 2007. As stated in Section 6 of Public Chapter 464, "This part shall
not apply to rules that are adopted on an emergency or pubic necessity basis under Title 4, Chapter 5, Part 2, that
are federally mandated, or that SUbstantially codify existing state or federal law." Under the statutory authority of
29 U.S.C. § 667, Tennessee has an approved state plan that provides for the development and enforcement of
occupational safety and health standards. In accordance with the Tennessee Occupational Safety and Health
State Plan, when a federal occupational safety and health standard is promulgated under 29 U.S.C. § 655
Tennessee generally adopts the federal standard relating to the same issue. The plan specifies that the state of
Tennessee will adopt the federal standards or an equivalent state requirement within six (6) months of the
standard's promulgation by federal OSHA. In addition, T.CA §50-3-201 authorizes the Commissioner of Labor
and Workforce Development to adopt either state or federal occupational safety and health standards.
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Proposed Amendments with Changes Red-Lined

Chapter 0800-01-01

Rule 0800-01-01-.06 Amended

Paragraph (2) of Rule 0800-01-01-.06 Adoption and Citation of Federal Standards is amended by
changing the date from"January 1, 2012" to "July 1, 2012".

Existing Rule:

(2) The Commissioner of Labor and Workforce Development adopts the federal
occupational safety and health standards codified in Title 29, Code of Federal
Regulations, Part 1910, as of JaA~aFY 1, 2Q12 except as provided in Rule 0800­
01-01-.07 of this chapter.

Proposed Amended Rule:

(2) The Commissioner of Labor and Workforce Development adopts the federal
occupational safety and health standards codified in Title 29, Code of Federal
Regulations, Part 1910, as of July 1, 2012 except as provided in Rule 0800-01­
01-.07 of this chapter.

Authority: T.CA §§ 4-3-1411 and 50-3-201.

Chapter 0800-01-06

Rule 0800-01-006-.02 Amended

Paragraph (2) of Rule 0800-01-06-.02 Adoption and Citation of Federal Standards is amended by
changing the date from"January 1, 2012" to "July 1, 2012".

Existing Rule:

(2) The Commissioner of Labor and Workforce Development adopts the federal
occupational safety and health standards codified in Title 29, Code of Federal
Regulations, Part 1926, as of JaA~aFY 1, 2Q12 except as provided in Rule 0800­
01-06-.03 of this chapter.

Proposed Amended Rule:

(2) The Commissioner of Labor and Workforce Development adopts the federal
occupational safety and health standards codified in Title 29, Code of Federal
Regulations, Part 1926, as of July 1, 2012 except as provided in Rule 0800-01­
06-.03 of this chapter.

Authority: T.CA §§ 4-3-1411,50-3-103 and 50-3-201.

Chapter 0800-01-07

Rule 0800-01-07-.01 Amended

Paragraph (2) of Rule 0800-01-07-.01 Adoption and Citation of Federal Standards is amended by
changing the date from "January 1, 2012" to "July 1, 2012".

Existing Rule:

1
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(2) The Commissioner of Labor and Workforce Development adopts the federal
occupational safety and health standards codified in Title 29, Code of Federal
Regulations, Part 1928, as of JaA~ary 1, 21112 except as provided in Rule 0800­
01-07-.02 of this chapter.

Proposed Amended Rule:

(2) The Commissioner of Labor and Workforce Development adopts the federal
occupational safety and health standards codified in Title 29, Code of Federal
Regulations, Part 1928, as of Julv 1,2012 except as provided in Rule 0800-01-'
07-.02 of this chapter.

Authority: T.CA §§4-3-1411 and 50-3-201.

Rule 0800-01-07-.02 Amended

Paragraph (1) of Rule 0800-01-07-.02 Exceptions to Adoption of Federal Standards in 29 CFR
Part 1928 is amended by changing the date from "January 1, 2012" to "July 1, 2012".

Existing Rule:

(1) As of JaA~ary 1, 21112, there are no exceptions.

Proposed Amended Rule:

(1) As of July 1, 2012, there are no exceptions.

Authority: T.CA §§4-3-1411 and 50-3-201.

2
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G.O.C. STAFF RULE ABSTRACT 
 
 
DEPARTMENT: Wildlife Resources Agency 
 
DIVISION: Wildlife 
 
SUBJECT: Wildlife Management Areas; Waterfowl Quota Hunt 

Drawings 
 
STATUTORY AUTHORITY: Tennessee Code Annotated, Section 70-1-206 
 
EFFECTIVE DATES: July 3, 2012, through June 30, 2013 
 
FISCAL IMPACT: Minimal 
 
STAFF RULE ABSTRACT: This rule updates the lists of wildlife management areas, 

as previously designated by proclamation, that require 
small game, waterfowl, and/or big game permits. 

 
  This rule also changes the process for waterfowl quota 

hunt drawings. This rule allows parties to have equal 
representation in the drawing as individuals. 
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G.O.C. STAFF RULE ABSTRACT 
 
 
DEPARTMENT: Wildlife Resources Agency 
 
DIVISION: Boating and Law Enforcement 
 
SUBJECT: Inland Navigation Rules 
 
STATUTORY AUTHORITY: Tennessee Code Annotated, Section 70-1-206 
 
EFFECTIVE DATES: July 3, 2012 through June 30, 2013 
 
FISCAL IMPACT: Minimal 
 
STAFF RULE ABSTRACT: This rule corrects the cite for the federal Inland Navigation 

rules. These rules were recently transferred from the 
United States Code to the Code of Federal Regulations. 
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Public Hearing Comments

One copy of a document containing responses to comments made at the public hearing must accompany the
filing pursuant to T.CA § 4-5-222. Agencies shall include only their responses to public hearing comments,
which can be summarized. No letters of inquiry from parties questioning the rule will be accepted. When no
comments are received at the public hearing, the agency need only draft a memorandum stating such and include
it with the Rulemaking Hearing Rule filing. Minutes of the meeting will not be accepted. Transcripts are not
acceptable.

RULE: 1660--02-03-.07
Rules and Regulations Governing Classification of Vessels and Equipment and lights Required

New
Amendment _X_
Repeal

[X 1There were no public comments to the above-described rule.

[ 1 Attached hereto are the responses to public comments.

55-7039 (October 2011) 4 RDA 1693
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Impact on Local Governments

Pursuant to T.CA §§ 4-5-220 and 4-5-228 "any rule proposed to be promulgated shall state in a simple
declarative sentence, without additional comments on the merits of the policy of the rules or regulation, whether
the rule or regulation may have a projected impact on local governments." (See Public Chapter Number 1070
(http://state.tn.us/sos/acts/1 06/pub/pc1 070.pdf) of the 2010 Session of the General Assembly)

These rules have no projected financial impact on local governments.

SS-7039 (October 2011) 6
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Regulatory Flexibility Addendum
Pursuant to T.CA § 4-5-401 through 4-5-404, prior to initiating the rule making process as described in
T.CA § 4-5-202(a)(3) and T.CA § 4-5-203(a), all agencies shall conduct a review of whether a
proposed rule or rule affects small businesses.

(1) The type or types of small business and an identification and estimate of the number of small
businesses subject to the proposed rule that would bear the cost of, and/or directly benefit from the
proposed rule;

The commission does not anticipate significant impact to small businesses in Tennessee. The rule
establishes Navigation Rules that Tennessee boaters must follow.

(2) The projected reporting, recordkeeping and other administrative costs required for compliance with the
proposed rule, inclUding the type of professional skills necessary for preparation of the report or record;

The Commission anticipates no record keeping associated with this rule.

(3) A statement of the probable effect on impacted small businesses and consumers;

The commission anticipates no probable effect to small businesses.

(4) A description of any less burdensome, less intrusive or less costly alternative methods of achieving
the purpose and/or objectives of the proposed rule that may exist, and to what extent, such alternative
means might be less burdensome to small business;

The Commission is unaware of alternatives to the proposed rule and does not believe the rule as
proposed would be burdensome to small businesses.

(5) A comparison of the proposed rule with any federal or state counterparts; and

The Commission is adopting federal Inland Navigation Rules for operation of vessels on Tennessee
waters.

(6) Analysis of the effect of the possible exemption of small businesses from all or any part of the
requirements contained in the proposed rule.

The Commission anticipates no probable effect to small businesses and exemptions to this rule would likely not
be beneficial.

88-7039 (October 2011) 5 RDA 1693
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Department of State
Division of Publications
312 Rosa L. Parks Avenue, 8th Floor SnodgrassfTN Tower
Nashville, TN 37243
Phone: 615-741-2650
Fax: 615-741-5133
Email: register.informatioo@tn.gov

For Department of State Use Only

Sequence Number: _

Rule ID(s):

File Date:

Effective Date: ------

Rulemaking Hearing Rule(s) Filing Form
Rulemaking Hearing Rules are rules filed after and as a result of a rulemaking hearing. T.C.A § 4-5-205

Agency/Board/Commission: Tennessee Wildlife Resources Agency
Division: Boating and Law Enforcement

Contact Person: Lisa Crawford
Address: PO Box 40747, Nashville, TN

Zip: 37204
Phone: 615-781-6606
Email: Lisa.Crawford@tn.gov

Revision Type (check all that apply):
X Amendment

New
Repeal

Rule(s) Revised (ALL chapters and rules contained in filing must be listed here. If needed, copy and paste
additional tables to accommodate multiple chapters. Please enter only ONE Rule Number/Rule Tille per row)

.~:6a~~e;_~3umbllL. ~-~~I~~t:~:i~:gUlations GoverningClassification ~f Vesselsand Equipment and Li9hts-=--=1

f-=--;----;:' - Re<]l,lir:ed. .. _J
Rule Number Rule Title . ----.J
1660-02·03-.0L ~ . Navigation Rules - AdofJIicJll.of Federal Code and Regulations. .~__ =---.J

Rules and Regulations
of the

Tennessee Wildlife Resources Agency

Chapter 1660-02-03
Rules and Regulations Governing Classification of Vessels and Equipment and Lights Required

Amended Rule

Rule 1660-02-03-.07, Navigation Rules - Adoption of Federal Code and Regulations, is amended by
deleting paragraph (1) in its entirety and inserting a new paragraph (1), to read as follows:

(1) The State of Tennessee hereby adopts, anG-incorporates by reference, The Inland
Navigation Rules Act of 1980, as amended hereinafter, which appears in 33 CF"R Parts
~Q,-AII vessels operating on oHISing the waters of Tennessee shall be goveme4-by
aflG-feliow these rules.

SS-7039 (October 2011) 1 RDA 1693
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(1) The State of Tennessee hereby adopts, and incorporates by reference, The Inland
Navigation Rules Act of 1980 which appears in 33 CFR Parts 83 - 90, All yessels operating
on or using the waters of Tennessee shall be governed by and follow these rules,

Authority: T,CA §§69-9-209 and 70-1-206, Administrative History: Original rule certified May 8,1974,
Amendment filed May 27,1983; effective June 27,1983, Amendment fiied April 16, 1993; effective May
31,1993, Amendment filed February 28,1996; effective May 13,1996, Amendment flied April 10, 2007;
effectiye June 24, 2007,

The roll-call vote by the Tennessee Wildlife Resources Commission on these rulemaking hearing rules was as
follows:

Board Member Aye No Abstain Absent
William L. Brown
Jim Bledsoe
Harold Cannon
Jeffrey H, Griqqs
Julius Johnson
Bob Martineau Jr. .

Jeff McMillin
Mitchell S, Parks
Julie Schuster
Todd A Shelton
Trey Teaaue
Eric Wriqht
DanyaWelch

I certify that this is an accurate and complete copy of rulemaking hearing rules, lawfully promulgated and adopted
by the Tennessee Wildlife Resources Commission on 03/16/2012 (mm/dd/yyyy), and is in compliance with

. the provisions of TCA 4-5-222,

I further certify the following:

Notice of Rulemaking Hearing flied with the Department of State on: 01/2012012

Rulemaking Hearing(s) Conducted on: (add more dates), 03/16/2012

Date: _

Signature: --~__

Name of Officer: --"OE.=-d-=C:::a",rt",e,--r _

Title of Officer: Executive Director

Subscribed and sworn to before me on: ----------------

Notary Public Signature:

My commission expires on: _

SS-7039 (October 2011) 2 RDA 1693
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G.O.C. STAFF RULE ABSTRACT 
 
 
DEPARTMENT: Human Services 
 
DIVISION: Family Assistance 
 
SUBJECT: Financial Eligibility Standards for Supplemental Nutrition 

Assistance Program; Resource Eligibility Standards for 
Families First 

 
STATUTORY AUTHORITY: Tennessee Code Annotated, Section 71-1-105 
 
EFFECTIVE DATES: July 26, 2012 through June 30, 2013 
 
FISCAL IMPACT: The Department estimates that the fiscal impact of this rule 

to the State will not be significant. The Department reports 
that the changes required to ACCENT, the eligibility 
determination system for SNAP, are minimal, consisting 
primarily of a change in table values and the addition of 
language to the SNAP approval notice. 

STAFF RULE ABSTRACT:  
 
 
Currently, households applying for the Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP) with 
liquid resources in excess of $2,000 ($3,250 for households with an elderly or disabled member) 
are not eligible for SNAP benefits. The rule change eliminates the resource limit for all 
households (with or without an elderly/disabled member) with incomes below 200% of the 
federal poverty level. 
 
The rule also updates the name of the Title IV-A program to include the current name of the 
program (Families First) in addition to the prior name (AFDC), and makes the resource level in 
the rule for that program consistent with the amount ($2,000) approved by the federal 
government in the Department's welfare reform waiver in 1996 and which has been in effect 
since and which is also permitted by federal law. 
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Public Hearing Comments

One copy of a document containing responses to comments made at the public hearing must accompany the
filing pursuant to T.CA § 4-5-222. Agencies shall include only their responses to public hearing comments,
which can be summarized. No letters of inquiry from parties questioning the rule will be accepted. When no
comments are received at the public hearing, the agency need only draft a memorandum stating such and inciude
it with the Rulemaking Hearing Rule filing. Minutes of the meeting will not be accepted. Transcripts are not
acceptable.

Date(s), Time(s) and Place(s) of Public Hearing(s): December 29, 2011, 1:30 p.m. Central Time, Department of
Human Services, 2nd Floor Conference Room 2, Citizens Plaza Building, 400 Deaderick Street, Nashville,
Tennessee 37243.

A pUblic hearing was held on the date, time and place noted above by the Department of Human Services to
receive comments regarding amendments to the above-referenced rules.

Following are comments received either orally or in writing at the public hearing(s) concerning the above rules or
which were received within the time permitted for submission of comments follOWing the hearing, together with the
responses of the Department of Human Services. Similar or identical responses have been grouped together for
purpose of response:

Community Food Advocates provided comments in writing in support of the proposed rule change as follows:

Comment One:
The majority of states have already made changes to eliminate the resource limit for most SNAP applicants.

Response:
The Department does not dispute the fact that the majority of states have either eliminated or modified their SNAP
resource limits.

Comment Two:
Allowing households to retain their savings and receive SNAP benefits promotes long-term self sufficiency

Response:
The Department is in general agreement that families faced with a sudden loss of ongoing income should not be
required to exhaust most of their savings before becoming eligible for assistance. By providing assistance to
these families in the form of SNAP benefits, those savings can be utilized in ways that will allow for longer-term
stability, such as making mortgage payments.

Comment Three:
The elimination of the paperwork and time required to determine resource eligibility will reduce the workload
burden on DHS eligibility staff.

Response:
The Department concurs that the verification of resources is burdensome and time consuming. It is anticipated
that SNAP applications will be processed more timely and accurately with this requirement removed.

Comment Four:
The change will not allow households with higher incomes to be eligible for SNAP.

Response:
DHS concurs that in relative terms this rule change will not increase the caseload significantly, primarily because
the existing income limits will remain as they are today.

SS-7039 (October 2011) 4
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Regulatory Flexibility Addendum
Pursuant to T.CA §§ 4-5-401 through 4-5-404, prior to initiating the rule making process as described in T.CA
§ 4-5-202(a)(3) and T.CA § 4-5-202(a), all agencies shall conduct a review of whether a proposed rule or rule
affects small businesses.

The United States Department of Agriculture establishes standards of eligibility for participation by households in
the Food Stamp Program pursuant to 7 U.S.C. § 2014. For purposes of Acts 2007, Chapter 464, the Regulatory
Flexibility Act, the Department of Human Services certifies that these rulemaking hearing rules substantially codify
existing federal law, such that, pursuant to Section 6 of the Regulatory Flexibility Act, the Regulatory Flexibility
Act's provisions do not apply to these rules. In addition, these rulemaking hearing rules do not appear to affect
small businesses as defined in the Act because these rules are related to the determination of eligibility and
provision of benefits to individuals and households who file an application for them. These rules do not regulate
or attempt to regulate businesses.

SS-7039 (October 2011) 5
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Department of State
Division of Publications
312 Rosa l. Parks Avenue, 8th Floor SnodgrassfTN Tower
Nashville, TN 37243
Phone: 615-741-2650
Fax: 615-741-5133
Email: regJster.informatlon@ln.gov

For Department of State Use Only

Sequence Number: -"""+~=l-==h--l-­

Rule ID(s): --+C{oL2...j.-,.­

File Date:

Effective Date: -..LL+h-,4H..,)..LJ

Rulemaking Hearing Rule(s) Filing Form
Rulemaking Hearing Rules are rules filed after and as a result of a rulemaking hearing. T. G.A § 4·5·205

Agency/Board/Commission::rEHll1e_SS~Elgepartmentofl:lurnan Services
Division: Family Assistance Division

Contact Person: . Bill-Russell
Address: Office of General Counsel

. Citizens Plaza BUilding, 15th Floor
, 400 Deaderick Street

Nashville, Tennessee 37243-1403
Zip: : 37243-1403

Phone: 615-313-4731
Email: BilLRussell@tn:(lov

Revision Type (check all that apply):
,f Amendment

New
__ Repeal

Rule(s) Revised (ALL chapters and rules contained in filing must be listed here. If needed, copy and paste
additional tables to accommodate mUltiple chapters. Please enter only ONE Rule Number/Rule Title per row)

fChapier~llmbEl.r [ciia~t.erTjtje=--· - -----
12.4Q::91::Q_4_ IfJn.a.l1cf§IEligibilityR§guirernents____ _ _

_Rule NumbEl_r i Rule mIEl_____ __ _ _
~40-01:()4:02 IE~sourc~Eligibility§tand<lrds - F()(Jd_§tamps/.f\E[)(:;

f------- ----i -------- -------
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Chapter 1240-01-04
Financial Eligibility Requirements

Amendments

Rule 1240-01-04-.02, Resource Eligibility Standards-Food Stamps/AFDC, is amended by deleting the rule in its
entirety and by substituting instead the following, so that, as amended, the rule shall read as follows:

1240-01-04-.02 Resource Eligibility Standards - Food Stamps (SNAP)/Families First (AFDC).

(1) Food Stamps/Supplemental Nutritional Assistance Program Households (SNAP) Only.

(a) No resource eligibility test shall be required for households at or below two hundred percent
(200%) of the federal poverty level.

(b) Households with income above two hundred percent (200%) of the federal poverty level,
containing a member who is sixty (60) years of age or older or a disabled person, shall have a
resource eligibility limit of three thousand two hundred fifty dollars ($3,250.00).

(2) Families FirstlAFDC Only.

(a) Non-exempt resources of a Families FirstlAFDC aid group, liquid and non-liquid, may not
exceed two thousand dollars ($2,000.00). Resources in excess of this limit result in ineligibility.
A person receiving SSI benefits cannot be included in the Families FirstlAFDC aid group. The
SSI recipient's income and resources, including the SSI payment, are disregarded in
determining eligibility for the other Families FirstlAFDC family members.

(b) Reserved for future use.

Authority: T.CA § 4-5-202; 71-1-105(12); 71-3-157(1); 7 C.F.R. 273.20)(2)(I)(B) and (C) and Section 401(a)(1),
Social Security Act 42 U.S.C. 601(a)(1).
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G.O.C. STAFF RULE ABSTRACT 
 
 
DEPARTMENT: Board of Respiratory Care 
 
SUBJECT: Polysomnographic Services Provided by Respiratory 

Therapists 
 
STATUTORY AUTHORITY: Tennessee Code Annotated, Section 63-31-107 
 
EFFECTIVE DATES: July 25, 2012 through June 30, 2013 
 
FISCAL IMPACT: Minimal 
 
STAFF RULE ABSTRACT:  
 
Rule 1330-01-.24 (1) outlines the three methods by which certified and registered respiratory 
therapists may become endorsed by the Board of Respiratory Care to provide 
polysomnographic services pursuant to Tennessee Code Annotated, §63-31-107(a)(5). 
 
The primary method requires credentialing as a registered polysomnographic technologist by 
the board of polysomnographic technologists. 
 
The second method requires the respiratory therapist be credentialed as a sleep disorder 
specialist by the national board of respiratory care. 
 
The third mechanism requires that an individual certified as a respiratory therapist provide proof 
of completion of a minimum of five hundred four (504) hours in a sleep lab or an individual 
registered as a respiratory therapist has obtained a minimum of two hundred fifty-two (252) 
hours in a sleep lab or center and submit a board approved Sleep Center or Lab Competency 
Checklist documenting the required hours and competency relative to polysomnography. 
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Public Hearing Comments

One copy of a document containing responses to comments made at the pubiic hearing must accompany the
filing pursuant to T.CA § 4-5-222. Agencies shall include only their responses to pubiic hearing comments,
which can be summarized. No letters of inquiry from parties questioning the rule will be accepted. When no
comments are received at the pubiic hearing, the agency need only draft a memorandum stating such and include
it with the Rulemaking Hearing Rule filing. Minutes of the meeting will not be accepted. Transcripts are not
acceptable.

Kelly A. Carden, MD., St. Thomas Physician Services, commented that of the nine (9) states that license
polysomnography Tennessee is the only state that allows respiratory care therapists to practice as
polysomnographic technologists without the training and allow this "third pathway". All other jurisdictions allow
respiratory care therapists to practice polysomnography to the extent that their current training and duties overlap
with polysomnographic duties rather than fully functioning as polysomnographic technologists.

The Board deciined to respond to this comment as it was outside the scope of the rule being considered
at the rulemaking hearing.

J. Brevard Haynes, St. Thomas Physician Services, expressed concern that these respiratory care therapists
were not getting the requisite number of hours to meet the rule's requirement at accredited sleep centers under
the supervision of doctors certified in sleep medicine.

The Board declined to respond to this comment as it was outside the scope of the rule being considered
at the rulemaking hearing.

Walter Holland, Tennessee Sleep Society, the hours are in line with the national certification exam which is an
appropriate subjective measure of competency. The hours in these sleep labs do not, however, objectively
measure a respiratory therapist's competency to perform sleep studies.

The Board declined to respond to this comment as it was outside the scope of the rule being considered
at the rulemaking hearing.

Paul Anderson, St. Thomas Health Services, supports bringing respiratory care therapists into the field of sleep
medicine. Further, Mr. Anderson believes that the hours are acceptable. Respiratory Therapists can be watched
under the tutelage of supervising physicians and can be provided a basis to launch and the citizens of Tennessee
can continue to be cared for. Mr. Anderson also indicated a concern that these competency hours would be
obtained in unaccredited sleep labs.

As the portions of this comment that required response went outside the scope of the rule being
considered the Board deciined to respond.

Colleen Schahbacker, Cookeville Regional Medical Center, opposes the increase in the hours to prove
competency. Ms. Schahbacker believes that respiratory therapists will have difficulty finding sites to acquire the
required hours. She also believes that respiratory therapists are more than capable of providing sleep services as
they are passing the Board of Registered Polysomnographic Technologists Exam at a higher rate than persons
trained as polysomnographic technologists.

The Board deciined to respond to this comment.

R. David Johnson, Tennessee Society for Respiratory Care, beiieves that this rule is a reasonable compromise
that is the result of hours of negotiation. Mr. Johnson recognizes that sleep topics are not covered in respiratory
care curriculum which is why this is a reasonable measure that the Tennessee Society for Respiratory Care
supports.

The Board thanked Mr. Johnson for his comment.

Burke L Mays, Mays & Associates, wrote a letter expressing concern about the 252 hour requirement that
respiratory therapists must obtain in sleep centers in order to prove competence. He believes that this
requirement is difficult to meet In rural settings operates under the premise that the sleep centers must be
accredited. Mr. Mays claims that these requirements are an undue burden on the respiratory therapists, their
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families and the rural centers for which they work.

The Board declined to answer this comment as it was outside the scope of the rule being considered at
the rulemaking hearing.
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Impact on Local Governments

Pursuant to T.e.A. §§ 4-5-220 and 4-5-228 "any rule proposed to be promulgated shall state in a simple
declarative sentence, without additional comments on the merits of the policy of the rules or regulation, whether
the rule or regulation may have a projected impact on local governments." (See Public Chapter Number 1070
(htlp://state.tn.us/sos/acts/1 06/pub/pc1 070.pdf) of the 2010 Session of the General Assembly)

These rules will not have an effect on local governments.
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Regulatory Flexibility Addendum
Pursuant to T.C.A. §§ 4-5-401 through 4-5-404, prior to initiating the rule making process as described in T.C.A.
§ 4-5-202(a)(3) and T.CA § 4-5-202(a), all agencies shall conduct a review of whether a proposed rule or rule
affects small businesses.

Addendum

Regulatory Flexibility Analysis

Pursuant to the regulatory Flexibility Act of 2007, 2007 Pub. Acts, c. 464, § 4, eff. June 21, 2007, the Department
of Health submits the following regulatory flexibility analysis:

(1) The extent to which the rule may overlap, duplicate, or conflict with other federal, state, and local
governmental rules:

The proposed rule does not overlap, duplicate, or conflict with other federal, state, and local governmental
rules.

(2) Clarity, conciseness, and lack of ambiguity in the rule:

The proposed rule exhibits clarity, conciseness, and lack of ambiguity in the rule.

(3) The establishment of flexible compliance and reporting requirements for small businesses:

The proposed rule does not create an ongoing reporting requirement and allows for flexible mechanisms
for initial compliance.

(4) The establishment of friendly schedules or deadlines for compliance and reporting requirements for small
businesses:

There are no reporting requirements contained in the proposed rule.

(5) The consolidation or simplification of compliance or reporting requirements for small businesses:

There are no reporting requirements contained in the proposed rule.

(6) The establishment of performance standards for small businesses as opposed to design or operational
standards required in the proposed rule:

The proposed rule does not establish design or operational standards.

(7) The unnecessary creation of entry barriers or other effects that stifle entrepreneurial activity, curb
innovation, or increase costs:

The proposed rule creates no entry barriers or other effects that would stifle entrepreneurial activity, curb
innovation, or increase cost.

88-7039 (October 2011) 7 RDA 1693
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Rulemaking Hearing Rule(s) Filing Form
Rulemaking Hearing Rules are rufes fifed after and as a resuft of a fuJemaking lJearing. T.C.A. § 4-5-205

Agency/Board/Commission:
Division:

Contact Person:
Address:

Zip:
Phone:
Email:

Board 01 Respiratory Care

Mona N. Jean-Baptiste, General Counsel
Plaza One, Suite 210, 220 Athens Way, Nashviile, Tennessee
37243

5)741-1611
Mona.N Jean-Baptiste@tn.gov
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• If a roll-call vote was necessary, the vote by the Agency on these rulemaking hearing rules was as follows:

Board Member Aye No Abstain Absent Signature
(if reauired)

Teresa DudievHatcher X
RQ,;"er M. Maior X
Candace Partee X
RavDavis X
Delmar Mack, Ed.D X
Brian T. Cook X
Gene Gantt X
JeffervMcCartnev, M.D. X

I certify that this is an accurate and complete copy of rulemaking hearing rules, lawfully promulgated and adopted
by the Board of Respiratory Care on 11/10/2011, and is in compliance with the provisions of T.C.A. § 4-5-222.

I further certify the following:

Notice of Rulemaking Hearing filed with the Department of State on: 0810212011

Rulemaking Hearing(s) Conducted on: (add more dates). 11110/2011

Date: 02/ ~ 4Pd a:tou

Signature: 'i?-un >? "'-h_~i~
Name of Officer: Mona Nicole Jean-Baptiste

Assistant General Counsel
Title of Officer: Department of Health
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Subscribed and str~~~.be~:.e.~,*,~ 12., !J./I/ •

".. '4,~ '. ~ ,. . ~ {) I I -" / .
~tary ~gna~:~ --L,.u b-.IAa« "v..~
:: 0: "'0 ~$$~ !~ = I I

My ~~i.~pleil on§---,/'-!(-!---'3>LL.!....1."-5: _
~~~.... Ie .... f I

""" q~'! ()Uii\~ SOl'

f?~ii E. Cooper, Jr.
I{ Attorney General and Reporter

_2.1.-{1.-

Date

Department of State Use Only
\,J

c; \-;
(J \ __: f r:

'.:_: ~ <..n· ..·, .
\.'~ --

Filed with the Department of State on: f,!....Liz=--~..£.)_'M_-'-V_;l-- _

Effective on: 7,~;:.:::~....:5:.;./~p.o,~:::.cV.!J.-~ _
\')
( ,

3 RDA 1693

98



 
 
 
 
 
 
 

G.O.C. STAFF RULE ABSTRACT 
 
 
DEPARTMENT: Massage Licensure Board 
 
SUBJECT: Licensure of Massage Therapists and Establishments; 

Massage Therapy Educational Programs 
 
STATUTORY AUTHORITY: Tennessee Code Annotated, Section 63-18-111 
 
EFFECTIVE DATES: July 8, 2012 through June 30, 2013 
 
FISCAL IMPACT: Minimal 
 
STAFF RULE ABSTRACT:  
 
Rule 0870-01.01: Provides definitions for terms used throughout rules. 
Description of Amendments: Definitions of "Application," "Board Administrative Office," "Client," 
"Establishment," revised to by removing extraneous words or information. Definitions of "Closed 
Files," "He/she Him/her," "HRB," and "Outcall" deleted as no longer necessary. Definitions for 
"MBLEx" and "FSMTB" added. Definition of "Sexual Activity" moved here from its prior location 
in Rule 0870-01-.02(4)(a). 
 
Rule 0870-01-.02: Rules concerning massage establishment practice standards and 
inspections. 
Description of amendments: 
.02(1): Revised to clarify that establishment owners may be disciplined for violations of the 
subsections that follow. 
.02(2)(a)1.: Reworded for clarity. 
.02(2)(a)2.: Smoke detector requirements expanded and made more specific to clarify what is 
considered adequate. 
.02(2)(a)3.: Reworded slightly for clarity. 
.02(2)(a)4.: Reworded slightly for clarity. 
.02(2)(a)4.(i): Flush toilet requirement moved from its prior location at .02(2)(a)4. 
.02(2)(a)4.(ii): Sink requirements reworded by combining prior rules .02(2)(a)4.(ii) and (iii) 
relating to cleaning materials and drying devices required. 
.02(2)(a)4.(iii): Reworded slightly for clarity. 
.02(2)(a)4.(iv): Deleted as unnecessary. 
.02(2)(a)6.: Reworded slightly for clarity. 
.02(2)(b)1.: Reworded slightly for clarity. 
.02(2)(b)2.: Added requirement that establishments maintain massage licensure certificates for 
licensees practicing at that location. 
.02(2)(b)3.: Previously designated as .02(2)(b)2; reworded slightly for clarity. 
.02(2)(b)4.: Previously designated as .02(2)(b)3. 
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.02(2)(b)5.: Previously designated as .02(2)(b)4; reworded slightly for clarity. 

.02(2)(c)1.: Reworded for clarity and to remove extraneous requirements. 

.02(2)(c)2.: Reworded slightly for clarity. 

.02(2)(d): Deleted as unnecessary; necessary portions of these rules now appear elsewhere. 

.02(3): Rules pertaining to inspection of establishments; previously numbered as .02(5). Also 
reworded slightly for clarity and modified to explicitly permit unannounced inspections. 
.02(3)(a): Reworded slightly for clarity. 
.02(3)(b): Reworded slightly for clarity. 
.02(3)(c): Added a new rule stating that an inspection score of 84 or below results in a "failure" 
of the inspection. 
.02(3)(d): Previously numbered as .02(3)(c), otherwise unchanged. 
.02(3)(d)4.: Reworded slightly for clarity. 
.02(3)(d)5.: New rule stating that failure to pass reinspection will result in a complaint being 
opened. 
.02(3)(e): Reworded slightly for clarity. 
.02(3)(e)4.: Reworded slightly for clarity. 
.02(3)(e)5.: New rule stating that failure to pass reinspection for failure to allow or appear at 
reinspection will result in a complaint being opened. 
 
Rule 0870-01-.03: States basic standards concerning the necessity of licensure and use of 
abbreviations indicating licensure. 
Description of amendments: 
.03(1): Reworded by combining the prior sections .03(1), (2) and (4). 
.03(2): Previously numbered as .03(3); corrected to reflect the renumbering of Rule 0870-01-
.19; otherwise unchanged. 
 
Rule 0870·01.04: Rules governing the licensure process for individuals. 
Description of amendments: 
.04(1): Reworded for clarity. 
.04(1)(d): Revised to require that non-citizen applicants submit proof of their right to live and 
work in the United States. 
.04(1)(e): Old rule .04(1)(e), which required applicants to submit a passport photograph, deleted 
as unnecessary. New rule .04(1)(e) and its subsections are substantively the same as old rule 
.04(1)(f)1. and its subsections with minor rewording for clarity. 
.04(1)(f): Clarified/simplified version of old rule .04(1)(f)2. and 3. 
.04(1 )(g): Revised to add requirement that references list their licensing credentials. 
.04(1 )(h): Reworded slightly for clarity. 
.04(1 )(h)1.: Reworded slightly for clarity. 
.04(1 )(h)4.: Revised to limit disclosure requirement to actions involving only malpractice, 
negligence, or fraud. 
.04(1 )(m)1.: Revised to require applicants for reciprocity only to submit a transcript that shows 
the applicant has taken the statutorily mandated number of hours and passed the examination 
indicated by the Board. Other requirements in the old rule eliminated as unnecessary. 
.04(1)(m)2.: Revised and simplified to refer to the relevant Tennessee Code section that was 
previously largely repeated in the old rule. 
.04(1 )(m)3.: New rule added to require that reciprocity applicants must show proof of instruction 
in ethics and Tennessee massage statutes and regulations, and that such hours may not be 
self-directed. 
.04(2): Combines prior rules .04(1)(n), (o) and (p). Reworded slightly for clarity. 
.04(3): Renumbered old rule .04(2). 
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Rule 0870-01-.05: Rules governing the licensure process for establishments. 
Description of amendments: 
.05(1): The rule previously numbered as .05(1) was deleted, and the rule previously numbered 
.05(2) was renumbered as .05(1). 
.05(2): Previously numbered as .05(3); reworded slightly for clarity. 
.05(3): Previously numbered as .05(4); revised to add that applicants who are not citizens must 
submit proof of their right to live and work in the United States. 
.05(4): Previously numbered as .05(6). 
.05(5): Adds a new requirement that applicants who are not licensed massage therapists must 
submit proof of having completed at least two hours of education In Tennessee law relating to 
massage therapy. 
.05(6): Previously numbered as .05(7). 
.05(7): Revised to pertain only to the applicant. 
.05(7)(a): Reworded slightly to clarify. 
.05(7)(d): Revised to limit disclosure requirement to actions involving only malpractice or fraud. 
.05(8): Previously numbered as .05(9). 
.05(9): Previously numbered as .05(10). 
.05(10): Previously numbered as .05(11), reworded slightly to clarify. 
.05(11): Previously numbered as .05(12). 
.05(12): Previously numbered as .05(13). 
.05(13): Substantively identical to the rule previously numbered as .05(14), reworded to clarify. 
.05(14): Previously numbered as .05(15) . 
.05(15): Previously numbered as .05(16). 
 
Rule 0870·01.07: Rules governing the process by which applicants are reviewed, approved, 
and denied. 
Description of amendments: 
.07(1): Revised for clarity and to remove previously specified timeframe for application initial 
determination to take place. 
.07(2): Revised to refer to the authorization granted pursuant to an initial determination as a 
"temporary authorization" instead of a "license." 
.07(3): Previous .07(3)(a) requiring notifications to be sent by certified mail deleted. .07(3) 
amended to conform with the fact that the Board will not be able to determine when notice is 
"received" because certified mail will not be used; changed time-to-reply to 65 days instead of 
60 as a result. New .07(3)(a) is substantively identical to section previously numbered .07(3)(b), 
but reworded for clarity. ' 
.07(4): New section added to state that applications must be complete at least fifteen days prior 
to a board meeting in order for the Board to be reviewed at that meeting. 
.07(5): Previously numbered as .07(4); revised to reflect that applicants will only be notified If 
the Board denies an application. The section previously numbered as .07(5) has been deleted 
as unnecessary. 
.07(5)(a): Previously numbered as .07(4)(a). Revised for clarity. 
.07(5)(b): Previously numbered as .07(4)(b), renumbered but unchanged. 
.07(5)(b)1: Previously numbered as .07(4)(b)1., and edited to require that a request for a contest 
case hearing must be made within 30 days of an applicant receiving notification of the denial. 
.07(5)(b)2.: Previously numbered as .07(4)(b)2. 
.07(6)(a): Revised to eliminate typographical errors. 
.07(8): This section and its subsections have been deleted as duplicative and unnecessary. 
 
Rule 0870-01-.08: This rule states the examination requirements for licensure. 
Description of amendments: 
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.08(1): Revised to eliminate unnecessary reference to establishment licensure process and to 
reflect revision to section .04(1)(m). 
.08(2): This section and its subsections have been revised to state that until January 1, 2012 the 
Board will accept four specific exams, but leaves the Board leeway to approve another 
examination in the future. 
.08(3): This newly-added section states that as of January 2,2012, the Board will accept only 
one particular examination given by the Federation of State Massage Therapy Boards. 
 
Rule 0870-01-.09(1) and (2): These portions of the rules pertaining to licensure renewal govern 
how renewal applications are to be submitted and how an expired license can be reinstated. 
Description of amendments: 
.09(1)(a): Revised for clarity. 
.09(1)(b)(1): Revised to specify that establishments may not renew their licenses by the internet, 
and to remove the web address given in the prior rules as unnecessary. 
.09(1)(d): Revised to state that licenses that are not renewed within 60 days of expiration are 
administratively revoked, and to direct licensees to reinstatement procedures. The prior rule 
referenced a section of the rules that has been repealed. 
.09(2): Revised to correct a typographical error and to clarify that reinstatement of an expired 
license is at the discretion of the Board. 
.09(2)(a): Revised to reflect that a statement stating why the licensee failed to renew is required 
and that appearing before the Board is no longer an option. 
.09(2)(b); Revised for clarity. 
 
Rule 0870-01-.11: Pertains to retirement, reinstatement, inactivation and reactivation of 
licensure. 
Description of amendments: 
All portions of this rule other than (2)(c) are unchanged. 
.11 (2)(c): Revised for clarity. 
 
Rule 0870-01-.12: Pertains to continuing education requirements for licensees. 
Description of amendments: 
.12(1): Rewritten entirely. The new version of this paragraph clearly states that all licensees 
must complete 25 hours of continuing education every two years, and states that the two-year 
cycles run from January 1 of each odd-numbered year through December 31 of the following 
even-numbered year. 
.12(1)(a): Specifies that all courses must be approved by the Board and that one course cannot 
be taken twice in the same two-year cycle. The course approval requirement was present 
elsewhere in the old rules. 
.12(1 )(b): Requires at least 2 of the 25 hours to pertain to Tennessee statues and rules 
concerning massage therapists and establishments. This requirement was in the old rules at 
.12(2)(e). The Subparagraphs of the prior rule .12(2)(e) were deleted as unnecessary. 
.12(1)(c): Requires at least 2 of the 25 hours to pertain to practice management, ethics, or 
substance abuse. This requirement was in the old rules at .12(2)(f). 
.12(1)(d): States that at most 8 of the 25 hours may be taken by a variety of multi-media (i.e., 
not in-person) formats. This is a new limitation. 
.12(2): Reworded version of previous rule .12(1)(d); changed and renumbered for clarity, 
substantively unchanged. 
.12(3)(a): The rule previously numbered as .12(3)(a) was deleted as unnecessary. The new 
.12(3)(a) was present in the rules previously as .12(3)(b). 
.12(3)(b): Revised for clarity and to specify what constitutes "acceptable documentation" 
verifying continuing education courses that have been completed. 
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.12(4)(a): Revised to state that approval for all courses will expire December 31, 2012, and that 
subsequent to that date all courses must be approved pursuant to other portions of the rules in 
each continuing education cycle. Course approval was previously perennial. 
.12(4)(b)1.: Revised to reflect renumbering of rule it refers to. 
.12(4)(b)1.(ii): Revised for clarity. 
.12(4)(b)1.(iii): Revised for clarity. 
.12(4)(b)1.(iv): Deleted as unnecessary. 
.12(4)(b)5.: Revised to allow courses by institutions accredited by the Tennessee Higher 
Education Commission or the Tennessee Board of Regents, in addition to those accredited by 
the U.S. Department of Education. 
.12(4)(b)8.: Added the Federation of State Massage Therapy Boards to the list of pre-approved 
continuing education providers. 
.12(4)(c)1.: Revised version of the rule previously numbered as .12(4)(c)7. Revision allows 
providers to submit the ISBN number and title of materials in lieu of sending in actual materials. 
.12(4)(c)2.: Revised/expanded version of the rule previously numbered as .12(4)(c)3. and 4. 
Revised to make explicit the requirement that instructors be licensed massage therapists or 
demonstrate training and experience that qualifies them to teach the subject matter indicated. 
.12(4)(c)3.: Revised version of the rules previously numbered as .12(4)(c)1. and 2., reworded for 
clarity. 
.12(4)(c)4.: Expanded version of the rule previously numbered as .12(4)(c)8., requiring certain 
materials to demonstrate how attendance will be verified. 
.12(4)(c)5.: Revised version of rule previously numbered as .12(4)(c)5., adds statement that 50 
clock minutes of instruction constitutes an hour. 
.12(4)(c)6.: New rule stating that the Board may deny a request if it believes a sponsor is using 
copyrighted materials without appropriate permission. Note that the rule previously numbered as 
12(4)(c)6. has been deleted as unnecessary. 
.12(4)(c)7.: New rule specifying that the Board may request additional information from the 
sponsor. 
.12(4)(c)8.: New rule specifying that the Board may deny a request if the information specified in 
the rules is not provided. 
.12(4)(d)7.: Revised to require "contact information" instead of merely a telephone number. 
.12(4)(e)2.: Revised to remove list of types of "multi-media courses" to simplify. Acceptable 
multi-media courses are spelled out elsewhere in rules . 
.12(4)(f): Revised to specify that sponsors must maintain records of the materials in 
subparagraph (c); the old rule required only a subset of those materials, and to require record 
retention for 4 years instead of 5. Combines old rule subsections (f), (g) and (h) . 
.12(4)(g): Previously numbered as .12(i). 
.12(5)(a): Revised for clarity. 
.12(5)(b): Revised to specify that a continuing education waiver request must be submitted prior 
to the end of the licensure cycle in which the continuing education is due. 
.12(5)(d): Revised to allow both the consultant and designee to provisionally grant or deny 
waiver requests, as opposed to only the consultant. 
.12(6)(a): Adds requirement that only 8 of the 20 hours may be completed in a multi-media 
format. 
.12(6)(d): Deleted as unnecessary. 
.12(7)(a): Revised to combine the rules previously numbered as .12(7)(a) and (b). 
.12(7)(b): Renumbered; previously numbered as .12(7)(c). 
 
Rule 0870-01-.13: Pertains to disciplinary actions and civil penalties. 
Description of amendments: 
.13(1): Revised for clarity. 
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.13(1)(a): New rule. 

.13(1)(b): Revised version of the rule previously numbered as .13(1)(a). 

.13(1)(c): Revised version of the rule previously numbered as .13(1)(b), removes reference to 
this as appropriate for "less severe violations." 
.13(1)(d): Revised version of the rule previously numbered as .13(1)(c); unnecessary portions 
removed. 
.13(1 )(e): Revised version of the rule previously numbered as .13(1 )(d). 
.13(1 )(1): Revised version of the rule previously numbered as .13(1)(e), reworded for clarity. 
.13(1 )(g): Revised version of the rule previously numbered as .13(1 )(f). Adds subsections (1), 
(2), and (3), which were in the old rule .13(1 )(f), but reworded for clarity. 
.13(1)(h): Revised version of the rule previously numbered as .13(1)(g). 
.13(1 )(i): Revised version of the rule previously numbered as .13(1)(h); eliminates "petition" 
requirement in prior rule. 
.13(2): This rule and its subsections was previously numbered as .13(3) and its subsections. 
The Rule previously numbered as .13(2) has been deleted in its entirety. 
.13(2)(b)1.: Reworded to reflect elimination of mandatory form previously in subsection 
.13(2)(c). 
.13(2)(b)2.: Revised such that only the administrative staff, not the consultant, are authorized to 
make the "initial determination." 
.13(2)(b)3.: Previously numbered as .13(2)(b)(4). The section previously numbered as 
.13(2)(b)3. has been deleted as unnecessary. 
.13(2)(b)4.: New rule giving a petitioner the right to appear before the Board if his or her petition 
has been denied. 
.13(3): This rule and its subsections was previously numbered as .13(4) and its subsections. 
The wording of .13(3) was previously contained in .13(4)(a).; 
.13(3)(a): This subsection combines the subsections previously numbered as .13(4)(b) and 
.13(4)(c). 
.13(3)(a)1.: In addition to the combination noted above, reworded for clarity and revised to 
remove requirement of a "willful and knowing" violation, and to remove requirement that the 
threat to health, safety and welfare be "imminent." Also revised to exclude operating a massage 
establishment without a license from the examples of activities qualifying for Type A penalties. 
.13(3)(a)2.: In addition to the combination noted above, reworded for clarity. 
.13(3)(a)3.: In addition to the combination noted above, reworded for clarity. 
.13(3)(b): This subsection was previously numbered as .13(4)(d). 
.13(3)(b)1.: The section previously numbered as .13(4)(d)(1) is deleted as unnecessary. This 
section was previously numbered .13(4)(d)(2), but has been reworded for clarity. 
.13(3)(b)2.: This section was previously numbered as .13(4)(d)3. 
.13(3)(b)4.: This section was previously numbered as .13(4)(d)4. 
The rule previously numbered as .13(5) has been deleted as unnecessary. 
 
0870-01-.14: Rule pertaining to display of licenses, obtaining a replacement license, and 
obtaining verification of licenses. 
Description of amendments: 
Subparagraph (2) of this rule has been revised to clarify what license may be replaced, to 
remove the requirement to submit a passport-style photograph, and for clarity. The remainder of 
rule .14 has not been changed. 
 
0870-01-.15: Rules pertaining to how a licensee must notify the board of a change in his or her 
name or practice address. 
Description of amendments: 
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.15(1): Revised for clarity; also eliminates requirement to include the licensee's social security 
number. Adds requirement that the notification be received no more than 30 days after it took 
effect. 
.15(2): Revised for clarity; also eliminates requirement to include licensee's social security 
number. Adds requirement that a licensee must inform the board if he or she has no current 
practice address. 
.15(3): Revised for clarity. Also clarified that replacement license fee is due if the establishment 
changes its name, and a reinspection fee will be due if an establishment changes its address. 
 
0870-01-.16: Rule pertaining to certain internal operations of the Board. 
Description of amendments: 
.16(2)(c): The rule previously numbered as .16(2)(c) has been deleted as unnecessary. The text 
of the new rule .16(2)(c) was previously numbered as .16(2)(d). 
.16(3): Revised for clarity. 
.16(3)(a): Revised to clarify that initial determinations made by a consultant or designee are 
subject to Board ratification . 
.16(3)(b): Revised to simplify the description of what tasks a consultant or designee may take as 
"Consultant to the Division." 
.16(4): Revised to simplify; new rule simply refers to the Declaratory Order statute. 
 
0870-01-.17: Contains rules governing advertising of massage therapy services. 
Description of amendments: 
.17(1): Revised for clarity. 
.17(2): Revised by deleting the definition of "Licensee" previously numbered as .17(2)(b) as 
unnecessary, renumbering remaining rules, and deleting the word "ordinary" from the newly 
numbered .17(2)(b). 
.17(3)(a): Revised by moving the text of previously numbered Subparagraph .17(3)(a)(1) into 
(3)(a). 
.17(3)(b): Revised slightly for clarity. 
.17(3)(c): Revised by moving the text of previously numbered subparagraph .17(3)(c)(1) into 
(3)(c). 
.17(4)(d): Revised by substituting the word "client' for "clientele." 
.17(4)(r): Revised for clarity. 
.17(6): Rule has been deleted as unnecessary. 
 
0870-01-.18: Rule setting forth statutory requirements stemming from the Health Care 
Consumer Right-to-Know Act of 1998. 
Description of amendments: 
.18(1): Revised to clarify. 
.18(3): New paragraph added to specify that any actions falling under subsections .18(1) or (2) 
must be reported to the Board within 30 days of when they occur. 
 
0870-01-.19: Sets forth certain Professional Ethical Standards that licensees may be disciplined 
for violating. 
Description of amendments: 
.19(1): Revised to clarify that both individuals and establishments will be held to these 
standards. 
.19(1 )(k): Revised to extend prohibition to "arranging for" sexual conduct/activity/behavior. 
.19(1)(1): Rule prohibiting certain treatments was previously numbered as .02(4)(e). 
Subsections edited to remove the words "therapeutic" as unnecessary, and broaden prohibition 
from "vaginal massage" to include any treatments to genitals. 
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.19(1)(m): Rule previously numbered as .19(1 )(1). 

.19(1 )(n): Rule previously numbered as .19(1 )(m). 

.19(1 )(0): Rule previously numbered as .19(1)(n). Rule previously numbered as .19(1)(o) has 
been deleted. 
.19(1 )(p): Rule previously numbered as .19(1)(q). Rule previously numbered as .19(1)(p) has 
been deleted. 
.19(1)(q): Rule previously numbered as .19(1)(r). 
.19(1)(r): New rule; previously numbered as Rule .02(3)(b); revised to add specificity concerning 
draping requirements. 
.19(1)(v): Subsections reworded slightly for clarity. 
.19(1)(w): Revised to remove exception that applied if the licensee had obtained a signed 
notarized statement indicating the establishment had a license when in fact it did not. 
.19(1)(x): New rule added making it a violation of the rules to fail to launder or sanitize materials, 
equipment and supplies. 
 
Rule 0870-02-.01: Provides definitions of terms used in chapter 2 of the Board rules. 
Description of amendments: 
.01 (6): Definition for NCBTMB added. 
.01 (7): Definition for FSMTB added. 
.Q1 (8): Definition for MBLEx added. 
 
Rule 0870-02-.02: Sets forth massage therapy educational program curriculum requirements 
and the procedure for program approval. 
Description of amendments: 
.02(1): Revised for clarity and to specify that massage therapy educational program approval is 
not transferable. 
.02(2)(a): Revised for clarity. 
.02(2)(a)7.: Adds specificity to requirement to submit program catalog. 
.02(3)(a): Instructor to student ratio revised from 1:10 to 1:14. 
.02(3)(c): Revised by changing reference from "NCBTMB" examination to the "approved 
examination." 
.02(3)(d): Revised version of the rule previously numbered as .02(3)(p); now specifies that 
programs must ensure at least a 2-hour presentation from the Board's impaired professional 
assistance program. The rule previously numbered as .02(3)(d) has been deleted. 
.02(3)(e): Revised for clarity and to specify that programs must retain written proof of 
compliance with this requirement. 
.02(3)(h): Previously numbered as .02(3)(i). The old rule numbered as .02(3)(h) has been 
renumbered as .02(3)(o). 
.02(3)(i): Previously numbered as .02(3(j) and revised for clarity. 
.02(3)(j): This rule and its subparagraphs were previously numbered as .02(3)(k) and its 
subparagraphs. 
.02(3)(j)4.: Revised to state that transcripts shall include contact hours for each subject. 
.02(3)0)8.: Revised for clarity. 
.02(3\{k): Previously numbered as .02(3)(1) and revised slightly for clarity. 
SS-7039 (October 2009) 42 RDA 1693 
.02(3)(1): Previously numbered as .02(3)(m) and revised slightly for clarity. 
.02(3)(m): Previously numbered as .02(3)(o). 
.02(3)(n): Previously numbered as .02(3)(q). The section previously numbered as .02(3)(n) has 
been deleted. 
.02(3)(o): Previously numbered as .02(3)(h). 
Rule .02(4) has been deleted as unnecessary. 
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Rule 0870-02-.03: Rule concerning withdrawal of program approval. 
Description of amendments: 
Revised to specify that the required graduation rate is measured over 12-month periods. 
 
Rule 0870-02-.05: Rule setting forth minimum standards for directors, instructors and 
classrooms. 
Description of amendments: 
.05(1 )(d): Adds second sentence, stating that an instructor may only teach principles and 
concepts from the profession that he or she is licensed in. 
 
Rule 0870-02-.06: Rule setting forth program policies and procedures. 
Description of amendments:. 
.06(1): The entire rule has been restructured for clarity and to remove unnecessary 
requirements that are largely duplicative of THEC requirements. The policies are now required 
to be in written form and distributed to all students. 
.06(2): New rule requiring that programs are required to have at least 1 person qualified in basic 
life support present during all classroom and clinical hours. Previously, all instructors were 
required to be certified in basic life support. 
.06(5): The rule previously numbered as .06(5) has been deleted as unnecessary. 
 
Rule 0870-02-.07: Rule stating that board-approved massage therapy education programs are 
required to submit an annual report, and selling forth the requirements of that report. 
Description of amendments: The catch-line (text appearing before numbered subparagraphs) 
has been revised to specify that the annual report is due by December 31 of each calendar 
year. The requirements for the annual report have not changed. 
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Public Hearing Comments

One copy of a document containing responses to comments made at the public hearing must accompany the
fiiing pursuant to T.CA §4-5-222. Agencies shall include only their responses to public hearing comments, which
can be summarized. No letters of inquiry from parties questioning the rule will be accepted. When no comments
are received at the pUblic hearing, the agency need only draft a memorandum stating such and include it with the
Rulemaking Hearing Rule filing. Minutes of the meeting will not be accepted. Transcripts are not acceptable.

PUBLIC HEARING COMMENTS

TENNESSEE MASSAGE LICENSURE BOARD

OCTOBER 26, 2009 AND FEBRUARY 23, 2010

The rulemaking hearing for the Tennessee Massage Licensure Board was held on October 26,2009 in the
Department of Health Conference Center's Poplar Room on the First Floor of the Heritage Place Building in
MetroCenter, Nashville, Tennessee. The rulemaking hearing was not concluded at the end of the meeting and
was carried over to February 23,2010, when it was concluded.

Several members of the public attended and had verbal questions and statements. Written comments as well as
verbal comments were received from Karen Craig, representing the Massage Institute of Memphis.

1. Maj-Lis Nash had several requests for revisions as listed below:
a. That the requirement for a passport photo in the licensure application be added back in. The

Office of General Counsel responded that within six (6) months of receipt, the applications are
imaged, and the photos are virtually unrecognizable in the imaged documents, therefore, this
requirement was deleted;

b. That the words "as delineated In 0870-01-.04(1)(f) be deleted in Rule 0870-01-.04(m)(1);
c. That Rule 0870-01-.12(4)(c)6 be deleted as it is confusing;
d. That the words "in writing" be added to Rule 0870-02-.02(3)(e);
e. To delete the word "business" and change to "clinic and classroom" in Rule 0870-02-.06(2);
f. To change "on or before June 30" to "by December 31" in Rule 0870-02-.07.

2. Karen Craig represented the Massage Institute of Memphis and submitted written comments and stated
that she found several typographical and numbering errors. The Office of General Counsel responded that the
typographical and numbering errors would be corrected per her written comments. Her verbal questions and
comments were as follows:

a. That the last word in Rule 0870-01-.02(3)(d)4 should be "reinspectlon" instead of "inspection:
b. That the word "for" be inserted In Rule 0870-01-.02(e)5 in reference to appearing "for" a

reinspection;
c. That the word "Bodyworks" be inserted in Rule 0870-01-.01 (14);
d. That in Rule 0870-01-.08(3), the NCBTMB should be left in as a competency examination.

there was much discussion among the Board members regarding this suggestion and it was
stated that many states were only going to accept the MBLEx after 2011. The Board did not
approve this suggestion;

e. That in Rule 0870-01-.04 a subparagraph be added requiring a student to sign an
acknowledgement of provisions regarding criminal convictions and becoming licensed;

f. That Rule 0870-01-.12(2) is confusing and questioned which date is used. The director replied
that date of issue of the license is the date used for required continued education;

g. Must providers of continuing education be approved by the Board or just courses as stated in
Rule 0870-01-.12(4)? Yes, providers must be approved as well as courses.

h. Whether in Rule 0870-01-.12(4)(b)6, continuing education courses taken as formal educational
courses can be given more than fifteen (15) hours of CEU credit for a three (3) hour course. The
board responded this could not be changed.

i. That the minutes of instruction in Rule 0870-01-.12(4)(c)5 to equal an hour of CEU credit be
changed to fifty (50) minutes rather than sixty (60);
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j. Whether a licensee needs approval for all out of state CEU classes or only those which did not
have prior board approval. The Board answered only those not previously approved would need
approval.

. k. That in Ruie 0870-01-.16(3)(b) the word "patienf' be changed to "clienf'. OGC responded that
T.CA 63-1-117 uses the term "patienf' and that language must be used in the rule.

I. That in Rule 0870-01-.19(1) two (2) of the original responsibilities were deleted and couid they be
put back in. The Board replied these requirements were covered in the new subparagraph (c)
and were no longer needed.

3. Dianne Smithson appeared and requested that in Rule 0870-01-.12(1)(b) a sentence should be added
stating "This two (2) hour course must be approved by the Board." She further requested clarification of the
words "and attendance" in Rule 0870-01-.02(3)(d) questioning what must be documented by the program.

4. Sarah Lahti appeared and stated she was opposed to the new rule only accepting the EMBLEx as the
licensing examination after June, 2011.

5. Mindy Oldham appeared and questioned the following:
a. The 100 cubic feet designation in Rule 0870-01-.02(2)2;
b. Whether unannounced inspections in Rule 0870-01-.02(3) would interrupt client hours. The

Board stated that unannounced inspections were not common and were used in problem cases.
c. Whether the implementation date for the EMBLEx could be changed from 2011 to 2013 in Rule

0870-01-.08(3). The Board responded this was discussed earlier, and it was decided to keep the
date as 2011.

d. What is the "bienniai alternative interval" in Rule 0870-01-.09(1)(a)?
e. Whether the words "from the preceding cycle" could be added to Ruie 0870-01-.02(3)(a).

6. Steve Summers appeared and questioned whether establishment owners should be required to take the
law class as required for therapists.

7. Lori Schrader questioned how long is a person considered a "clienf' in terms of Rule 0870-01-.19(1);
whether a husband-wife would be considered clients; whether a person who received a massage when a
therapist was performing volunteer work would be considered a client. OGC responded if questions of this nature
were raised in a disciplinary matter, each matter would be treated on an individual basis.

8. Debbie Hicks, President of MTA, appeared and requested the Board revisit Ruie 0870-01-.02(2)(a)2 and
the 100 cubic feet measurement. OGC suggested 1000 square feet be used in the rule. She further questioned
whether the term "reciprocity" be changed to "portability" in Rule 0870-01-.04(1)(m). OGC stated the statute uses
the term "reciprocity," thus this is the term which shouid be used in the rule.

9. Written comments were received from Chattanooga State Technical Community College requesting the
ratio of 14 students to 1 instructor in Rule 0870-02-.02(3)(a) be changed to 20 student to 1 instructor. The Board
did not approve this change in the rule amendment.

With the exceptions noted above, at the conclusion of the public comments the Board voted unanimously to
approve the suggestions and incorporate these into the permanent rules.
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Impact on Local Governments

Pursuant to T.e.A. 4·5·220 and 4·5·228 "any rule proposed to be promulgated shall state in a simple declarative
sentence, without additional comments on the merits of the policy of the rules or regulation, whether the rule or
regulation may have a projected impact on local governments." (See Public Chapter Number 1070
(hllp:llstate.tn.us/sos/acts/1 06/pub/pc1 070.pdf) of the 2010 Session of the General Assembly)

These amendments to the rules are not expected to have any impact on local governments.
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STATEMENT OF ECONOMIC IMPACT TO SMALL BUSINESSES

1. Name of Board, Committee or Council: Tennessee Massage Licensure Board

2. Rulemaklng hearing date: October 26, 2009 and February 23, 2010

3. Types of small businesses that will be directly affected by the proposed rules: The types of small
businesses directly affected by the proposed rules are massage establishments, licensed massage therapists
and massage schools.

4. Types of small businesses that will bear the cost 'of the proposed rules: Should there be any cost of the
proposed ruies, massage establishments, massage therapists and massage schools will bear the cost..

5. Types of small businesses that will directly benefit from the proposed rules: Massage establishments,
massage therapists, and massage schools will benefit from the proposed rules.

6. Description of how small business will be adversely Impacted by the proposed rules: There should be
no adverse impact to small business due to the proposed rules.

7. Alternatives to the proposed rule that will accomplish the same objectives but are less burdensome,
and why they are not being proposed: There are no less burdensome alternatives to the proposed rules.

Comparison of the proposed rule with federal or state counterparts:

Federal - None

State - None
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Regulatory Flexibility Addendum
Pursuant to T.CA § 4-5-401 through 4-5-404, prior to initiating the rule making process as described in T.CA
§ 4-5-202(a)(3) and T.CA § 4-5-202(a), all agencies shall conduct a review of whether a proposed rule or rule
affects small businesses.

(If applicable, insert Regulatory Flexibility Addendum here)

Regulatory Flexibility Analysis

(1) The proposed rules do not overlap, duplicate, or conflict with other federal, state, or local government
rules.

(2) The proposed rules exhibit clarity, conciseness, and lack of ambiguity.

(3) The proposed rules are not written with special consideration for the flexible compliance and/or
reporting requirements because the licensing boards have, as their primary mission, the protection of
the health, safety and welfare of Tennesseans. However, the proposed rules are written with a goal of
avoiding unduly onerous regulations.

(4) The compliance requirements throughout the proposed rules are as "user-friendly" as possible while
still allowing the Division to achieve its mandated mission the protection of the health, safety and
welfare of the citizens of Tennessee. There is sufficient notice between the rulemaking hearing and
the final promulgation of rules to allow services and providers to come into compliance with the
proposed rules.

(5) Compliance requirements are not consolidated or simplified for small businesses in the proposed
rules for the protection of the health, safety and welfare of Tennesseans.

(6) The standards required in the proposed rules are very basic and do not necessitate the establishment
of performance standards for small businesses. When the health-related licensing boards' rules
contain standards, there are always statements included which specify what constitutes compliance
with such standards.

(7) There are no unnecessary entry barriers or other effects in the proposed rules that would stifle
entrepreneurial activity or curb innovation. All of the health-related licensing boards' rules contain
initial licensure requirements and requirements to maintain licensure, but these are necessary for the
protection of the health, safety and welfare of Tennesseans.
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RULES
OF

TENNESSEE MASSAGE LICENSURE BOARD

CHAPTER 0870-01
GENERAL RULES GOVERNING LICENSED MASSAGE THERAPISTS AND ESTABLISHMENTS

TABLE OF CONTENTS

0870-01-.01 Definitions
0870-01-.02 Practice Standards and Inspection of

Establishments
0870-01-.03 Necessity of Licensure
0870-01-.04 Licensure Process
0870-01-.05 Establishment Licensure Process
0870-01-.06 Fees
0870-01-.07 Application Review, Approval, and Denial
0870-01-.08 Examination
0870-01-.09 Licensure Renewal
0870-01-.10 Repealed
0870-01-.11 Retirement, Reinstatement, Inactivation, and

Reactivation of Licensure

0870-01-.12 Continuing Education
0670-01-.13 Disciplinary Grounds, Actions, and Civil Penalties
0870-01-.14 License
0870-01-.15 Change of Name and/or Address

and Screening Panels
0870-01-.17 Advertising
0870-01-.18 Consumer Right-To-Know Requirements
0870-01-.19 Professional Ethical Standards

0870 01 .01 DEFINITIONS. As Ilseg iR these fllles, Ihe feliewiRg terms aRg aGroRyms shall have the
feliowiRg meaRiRg aSGribeg Ie them:

(1) AppliGaRt ARy iRgivigllal seekiRg liGeRS~fe who has s~bmilleg aR omGlal appliGalioR aRg
paig the appliGalioR fee.

(:1) AppliGatieR As ~seg iR this rille, "appIiGatioR" meaRS the appliGatloR form appmveg by the
Ilearg aRg shall also iRGlllge, wheR appliGable, the foliowiRg: C~rf8Rt sigReg, passport Iype
phelegfaph, emGial traRsGript frem eg~GatieRai iRSliMioR(S), verifiGalioR of s~GGessf~1

GGmpietieR ef the ~I.C.Il.T.M.Il.'s NalleRal CertifiGalioR ExamiRalioR Of aRy othef Iloarg
appmveg examiRalieR, Iwe 1:1) ofigiRal iellefs of pmfessioRal reGommeRgalioR, aRg
GertlfiGatieR!liGeRS~re fmm ether slale bOafgs.

IJ) Iloafg TIle TeRRessee Massage biGeRS~fe lloaf4c

(4) Ileafg AgmiRislfative OlliGe TIle elllGe of the agmiRistfalof assigReg to Ihe Ileafg 10Gateg at
:1:!7 F'reRGh baRgiRg, S~ite JOO, Heritage PlaGe, MetmCeRtef, ~Iashville, TN J7:!4J.

Ill) Iloarg's CeRs~ltaRt l\Ry persoR who has reGeiveg a gelegatioR of a~thorily fmm Ihe Iloafg
10 peOOfm Iloarg f~RGtioRS s~lljeGt to review aRg falifiGatioR by the Iloafg whefe pm'Jigeg by
these rilles.

Ill) ClieRt MeaRS aRy persoR with 'Nhem the massage thefapisl has aR agfeemeRI to pmvige
massage therapy.

(7) Closeg Files AR agmiRistfalive aGlieR whiGh feRgerS aR iRGOmplele or geRieg file iRaGtive.

Ill) QepartmeRt TeRRessee QepartmeRt ef Health.

IQ) QivlsieR The QivisieR ef Health Reialeg Iloargs, TeRRessee QepartmeRI of Health, fmm
whiGh the Ileafg reGeives agmiRistrative s~pport.

PO) liistabllshmeRI ARy 10GalioR, Of pertieR thefeef, whlGh agvertises aRg!or pmviges 10 the
p~bliG massage therapy serviGes OR the pfemises fef GempeRsalioR. ARy liGeRSeg health
Gare faGility er aRy health Gare pmfessieRal's emGe whefeiR massage therapy serviGes are
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GENERAL RULES GOVERNING LICENSED MASSAGE THERAPISTS
AND ESTABLISHMENTS

CHAPTER 0870-01

(Rule 0870-01-.01, continued)
not adyortisod or providod OXGOpt OR aR oGGasioRal oytGal1 tlasis is ROt an ostatllisl1mont for
pyrposos of tl1is rylo. ARy 10GatioR witl1in a liGonsolWloaltl1 Garo faGility or aRY 110altl1 Garo
profossioRal's OmGO \'Il1iGI1 is dodiGatod to aRd maiRtaiRod for tl10 YSO of a massa~o tl10rapist
'N110 porforms oGGasioRal massa~o tl10rapy sorviGos to tl10 patioRtG of tl10 faGility iG a
massa~o ostatliisl1moRt for pyrposos of IiGonsyro YRdor tl1oso rYlos aRd tl10 portioRs of tl10
!aGility or OmGO wl1oroiR massa~o tl10rapy sorviGOS aro providod myst tlo in GomplianGo witl1
tl10 staRdards estatllisl1ed in rylo oa70 01 .02. Tl1e term "oGGasional" as Ysed iR tl1is rYle
moaRs ROt more tl1aR twlGO iR a oRe (1) week period.

(11) He/sl1e Him/l1er Wl1eR "110" appoars iR tl1e text of tl1ese rYles, tl1e word represeRts tlotl1tl1o
fomiRiAe and masGyline ~eRders.

(12) HRB Wl1eR tl1e aGronym HRB appoars iR tl1e text of tl1ese rYles, HRB represeRts tl1e
DiyisioR of Healtl1 Related Boards.

(1 J) liGeRsee. I',Ry persoR 1101diR~ a IiGeRSe to praGtiGe massa~e tl1erapy or as a massa~o

estatllisl1meRt iR tl1e State of TeRRessee. Wl1ere appliGatlle tl1is sl1all iRGIYde partRorsl1ips
aRd/or Gorporation.

(14) Massa~altlodyworkJsomatiG Tl1e manipYlatioR of tl1e soft tissyes of tl1e tlody 'Nitl1 tl10
iRtentioR of positively affoGtiR~ tl10 l1ealtl1 aRd \'Iell tlein~ of tl1e GlieRt.

(15) N.C.B.T.M.B. TAe NatioRal CertifiGatioR Board for TAerapeYtiG-Massa~eand Bodywork.

(19) ~laliGAal Certi~Gation ExamiRation TAe examination re"lYired for natioRal sorti~sation from
tl1e ~I.C.B.T.M.B.

(17) OYtsall Tl1e pro'JisioR of massa~e servises oYtside of aR "estatllisl1ment" as de~Red tly tl1is
rYle aRd iR a 10satioR at 'Nl1isl1 tl1ere is Reitl1er tl1e re~Ylar provision of nor tl1e advortisin~ of
SIlsl1 servises. For pyrposes of tl1is de~RilioR, tl1e term "re~Ylar" means more tl1aR twise in a
one (1) week period.

(1 a) Person ARy iRdividYal, ~rm, sorporatioR, partnersl1ip, or~aRization, or tlody politis.

(10) Pl1ysisian ARy pl1ysiGiaR IisoRsed pyrSyaRtto T.C.A. Tille 9J, Cl1apters 9 or O.

0870-01-.01 Definitions. As used in these rules, the following terms and acronyms shall have the
following meaning ascribed to them:

(1) Applicant - Any individual seeking licensure who has submitted an official application and
paid the application fee.

(2) Application - The application form approved by the Board and the reguired attachments.

(3) Board - The Tennessee Massage Licensure Board.

(4) Board Administrative Office - The office of the administrator assigned to the Board.

(5) Board's Consultant - Any person who has received a delegation of authority from the
Board to perform Board functions subject to review and ratification by the Board where
provided by these rules.

(6) Client - Any person with whom the massage therapist has an agreement to provide
massage therapy.
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GENERAL RULES GOVERNING LICENSED MASSAGE THERAPISTS
AND ESTABLISHMENTS

CHAPTER 0870-01

(Rule 0870-01-.01, continued)
(7) Continuing Education - Those pre-planned/formalized activities with written learning

objectives that are directed at developing and enhancing an individual's massage therapy
knowledge base or relevant skills.

(8) Department- Tennessee Department of Health.

(9) Division - The Division of Health Related Boards, Tennessee Department of Health, from
which the Board receives administrative support.

(10) Establishment - A business or institution that is a fixed and permanent location or a
mobile vehicle facility that is open and accessible to the general public for compensated
massage services.

(11) FSMTB - The Federation of State Massage Therapy Boards.

(12) Licensee - Any person holding a license to practice massage therapy or to operate a
massage establishment in the State of Tennessee. Where applicable this shall include
partnerships and/or corporations.

(13) Massage/bodywork/somatic - The manipulation of the soft tissues of the body with the
intention of positively affecting the health and well-being of the client.

(14) MBLEx - The Massage and Bodyworks Licensing Examination established by the
FSMTB.

(15) NCBTMB - The National Certification Board for Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork.

(16) National Certification Examination - The examination reguired for national certification
from the NCBTMB.

(17) Person - Any individual, firm, corporation, partnership, organization, or body politic.

(18) Physician - Any physician licensed pursuant to T.CA Title 63, Chapter 6 or 9.

(19) Sexual Activity - "Sexual activity" means any direct or indirect physical contact or
communication by any person or between persons which is intended to erotically
stimulate either person or both or which is likely to cause such stimulation and includes
but is not limited to, sexual intercourse, fellatio, cunnilingus, masturbation or anal
intercourse. "Sexual activity" can involve the use of any device or object or conversation
and is not dependent on whether penetration, orgasm or ejaculation occurred. As used
in these rules, "masturbation" means the manipulation of any body tissue with the intent
to cause sexual arousal.

Authority: TC.A. §§ 4-5-202,4-5-204,63-18-102,63-18-104,63-18-105 and 63-18-108, and 63-18-111.
Administrative History: Original rule filed November 13, 1996; effective January 27, 1997. Amendment
filed November 26, 1996; effective February 9, 1997. Amendment filed November 12, 1999; effective
January 26,2000. Amendment filed Ju/y 31,2000; effective October 14,2000. Amendment filed July 25,
2002; effective October 8, 2002. Amendment filed April 17, 2003; effective July 1, 2003. Amendment
filed March 24, 2006; effective June 7, 2006. Amendment filed June 16, 2006; effective August 30, 2006.

OU70 01 ,02 PRJl,CTICI; STAND.o.RDS ,o.ND INSPI;CTION OF ESTAilbiSHMI;NTS.

(1) Pelisy SlalemeRI ne ssepe ef the praslise ef massa!je lherapy iR TeRRessee is ereagly
gefiReg aRg iRSlyges maRy aspesls whish if Rei partisYlarly re!jYlaleg sey/g leag Ie serieys
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GENERAL RULES GOVERNING LICENSED MASSAGE THERAPISTS
AND ESTABLISHMENTS

CHAPTER 0870-01

(Rule 0870-01-.02, continued)
F3mi~calioAs fer tRo cOAsYmiA!j pYblic. TAis rylo is 10 sosi!jAalo spocific aroas iA tRo
practico for rO!lYlalioA, tRo violalioA of '....RicR may rosyll iA siscipliAary aclioA or sOAial of
licOASyrO pyrsyaAllo T.CA.. § sJ 18 108.

(2) SlaAsarSs fer Massa!jo EstablisRmoAts, PorsoAAol, E~YipmoAt, biAoAs, aAs SYpplios

(a) Massa!jo EstablisRmoAts StaASarGc TAo Roisor of a massa!jo ostablisRmoAt licoAso
myst comply wilR all of 11'10 fello\'liA!j:

1. COAlaiA aso~Yato waitiA!j aroa for clioAts.

2. MaiAtaiA proporly iAstalios smoko soloctor aAS fire oxtiA!jYisRor.

J. Massa!jo tRorapy may bo COASYCtOS oAly iA rooms WRicR are aso~Yatoly li!jRtoS
aAs vOAtilatos, aAS so cOAslrYctos IRat IROy caA bo kopt cloaA. floors, walls,
coiliA!jS aAs WiASOWS myst romaiA froo of SYst, aAs otRor YAcloaA SybstaACOS.

4. Rosl Rooms. EVOry oslablisRmoAI sRal1 cOAtaiA rost room facilitios; iAclYsiA!j at
loacl OAO '/Ialor flYSROS loilol, o~Yippos witR loilol tissYo, from WRicR tRo wasto
wator sRal1 bo siscRar!jos iAtO a sowa!jo systom accoplablo to 11'10 [lopartmoAt of
EAviroAmoAI. EslablisRmoAls localos iA bYilsiA!js ROYsiA!j mYltiplo bYsiAOSSOS
YASOr OAO roof SYCR as arcasos, sRoppiA!j malls, tormiAals, Rolols, otc., may
SYbstilYto cOAtralizoS toilot facilitios. SYCR cOAtral facilitios sRall bo wilRiA tRroo
RYAsros (JOO) foot of 11'10 massa!jo ostablisRmoAI.

(i) f1aAs cloaAsiA!j capabilitios fer 11'10 tRorapisls mysl bo locatos witRiA 20
feol of tRo IroalmoAt aroa, oacR ostablisRmoAI sRall Ravo at loast OAO siAk
witR Rot aAs sols rYAAiA!j \'Iator witRiA JOO fool of 11'10 troatmoAt aroa; aAS

(ii) SRall bo o~Yippos \'IitR soap sispoAsor witR soap or otRor RaAs cloaAiA!j
matorials, cloaA towols or olRor RaAs SryiA!j sovico SYCR as a wall
mOYASOS oloclric blow sryor, aAs '.'Iasto rocoplaclo.

(iii) SYCR facilitios aAs all of tRo foro!joiA!j ~xtYros aAs compoAoAts sRall bo
kopl cloaA, iA !joos ropair, '.'1011 li!jRlos, aso~Yatoly vOAtilatoS, aAs froo of
pest&.-

(iv) MaiAtaiA toilot facilitios iA a commOA aroa of 11'10 oslablisRmoAI.

5. RoasoAablo offort fer saAitalioA sRal1 bo maiAlaiAos for lomporary 10catioAs SYCR
as atRlotic ovoAts or pYblic sorvico fYAS raisors iA tomporary VOAYOS.

s. Proviso fer safe aAs YAobstrYcloS RymaA passa!jo iA tRo pYblic aroas of 11'10
promisos; proviso for romoval of !jarba!jo aAs rofYso; aAs proviso fer safe
slora!jo or romoval of flammablo aAs Razarsoys malorials.

(b) PorsoAAol

1. All porsoAs wRo porferm massa!jo IRorapy iA a massa!jo oslablisRmoAt myst bo
licOASOS by 11'10 Boars pyrsyaAlto rYlo 0810 01 .04

2. fl. IiCOASO issyoS 10 aA iAsivisYal WRO OWAS a massa!jo ostablisRmoAI is Aol
traAsferablo aAs is SYbjoctto rovocatioA or olRor siscipliAary actioAs YpOA failyro
of aAy iASpoclioA or fer rofysal 10 allo'...' iASpoctioA by tRo Boars's aYtRorizos
roprosoAtalivos.
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GENERAL RULES GOVERNING LICENSED MASSAGE THERAPISTS
AND ESTABLISHMENTS

(Rule 0870-01-.02, continued)

CHAPTER 0870-01

3. ~letwitRstaRsiRg tRe ageve, a liGeRses massage estaglisRmeRt may GRaRge
leGatieRs, p~rs~aRtle r~le Q07Q Q1 .1 a (3).

4. TRe perseR Ie wRem IRe eslaglisRmeRlliGeRse is iss~es sRal1 ge respeRsigle-fGr
maiRtaiRiRg all parts tRereef iR a saRitary GeRsilieR al all times, aRs fer elRerwise
iRs~riRg tRat S~GR estaglisRmeRI is eperates iR GempliaRGe 'NitR tRis CRapter.
~el'/eIJer, IRis r~le sRall Ret relielJe aRy iRsiIJis~al tRerapisl ef respeRsigility fer
tRe saRitary GeRsitieRs ef IRe spaGe er eq~ipmeRt ~ses iR tReir praGtiGe.

1. MaiRtaiR all eq~ipmeRI aRs s~pplies ~ses te perferm massage sef'liGes eR IRe
premises iR a safe aRs saRitary GeRsitieR, iRGI~siRg tRe reg~iar appliGalieR ef
GleaRsers aRs gaGteriGisal ageRls te IRe massage tagle. "Reg~lar appliGalieR,"
wRere ~ses RereiR, meaRS a IReF8~gR GleaRsiRg ef tRe massage tagle at least
eRe lime a sayer WReReIJer ails er etRer S~gstaRGeS visigly aGG~m~late eR IRe
massage tagle s~rfaGe.

:1. If eq~ippes witR a wRiripeel gatR, sa~Ra, steam GagiRel aRs/er sleam reem,
maiRtaiR aseq~ate aRs GleaR sRewer faGilities eR IRe premises.

(s) biReRs aRs S~pplies

1. EaGR GlieRt sRal1 reGeiIJe a separate, GleaR GeIJeriRg fer ~se eR tRe message
tagle, i.e. sReels er tel'/els.

:1. ba~Rser er saRitize, gefere re~se, all materials, eq~ipmeRI aRs s~llplies ~Iilizes

fer eaGR GlieRt.

(3) OralliRg

(a) EaGR massage eslaglisRmeRt sRal1 maiRtaiR a s~ffiGieRt s~pply ef GleaR srapes, fer tRe
p~rllese ef srapiRg eaGR GlieRt wRile tRe GlieRI is geiRg massages. As ~ses RereiR
"sralles" meaRS tel'/els, gewRs, er sReets.

(g) Befere IlF8GeesiRg witR a massage te tRe GlieRt, eaGR massage tRerapisl sRall RaIJe
explaiRes te IRe GlieRt eXlleGles srapiRg teGRRiq~es aRs pF8vise tRe GlieRt a GleaR
sralle large eRe~gR fer tRe Il~rpese ef srapiRg IRe g~lIeGks aRs geRilalia aRs iR IRe
Gase ef a female GlieRtlRe greasts.

(4) Sex~al AGlilJity aRs OtRer TReralle~tiG TreatmeRts PF8RilH1eG

(a) As ~ses iR IRis r~le, "sex~al aGtiIJily" meaRS aRy sireGt er iRSireGt IlRysiGal wRtaGt er
Gemm~RiGalieR lly aRy perseR er lletweeR perseRs '/IRiGR is iRteRses Ie eFGliGally
stim~late eitRer perseR er lletR er WRiGR is likely te Ga~se S~GR stim~latieR aRs iRGI~se

sex~al iRlerGe~rse, fellatie, G~RRiliRg~s, mast~rllatieR, er aRal iRterGe~rse. Fer
ll~rlleSes ef tRis wle Ilart, mast~rllalieR meaRS IRe maRip~latieR ef aRy llesy tiss~e '/IilR
tRe iRleRlte Ga~se sex~al aF8~sal. As ~ses, RereiR, sex~al aGtivity GaR iRIJelIJe IRe ~se

ef aRy se'liGe er ellieGt er GeRversatieR aRs is Ret sepeRseRt eR 'NRelRer peRetratieR,
ergasm, er ejaG~latieR Ras eGG~rres.

(ll) Sex~al aGlilJity lly aRy perseR er perseRs iR aRy massage estalllisRmeRI is allsel~tely

pFGRillites.
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(Rule 0870-01-.02, continued)
(s) ~lo massage estae!is~meRt OWRer s~all eRgage iR or ~erm!t aRy ~ersoR or ~ersoRs to

eRgage iR sex~al astivity iR s~s~ oWRer's massage estaelis~meRt or ~se s~s~

estaelis~meRt to make arraRgBffleRts to eRgage !R sex~al asli'lily iR aRy ot~er ~Iase.

(e) ~lo liseRsee massage t~era~ist s~all ~se t~e t~era~isl sileRt relatioRs~i~ to eRgage iR
sex~al astivity wit~ aRy sileRt or to make arraRgemeRts to eRgage iR sex~al astivity wit~

aRy slieRt.

(e) Pro~ieitee t~era~e~tis treatmeRts Rot wit~iR t~e sso~e of ~rastise of massage
t~era~ists iRsl~ee:

1. t~era~e~tis treatmeRts to t~e aR~s aRe aRal saRa!, iRsl~eiRg, e~t Rot limitee to
SOiORis irrigatioRs aRe eRemas; aRe

2. t~era~e~tis sross geReer ereast massage; aRe

a. t~era~e~tis '/agiRal massage.

(f) ERgagiRg iR aRy of t~e astivilies or IreatmeRts eessrieee iR t~is ~aragra~~ s~all s~tJjest

t~e liseRsee to eissi~liRary astioR, as ~rovieee iR r~le 087001 .1a.

(5) IRs~estioR of Establis~meRts biseRses massage t~era~y estaelis~meRts aRs a~~lisaRts are
s~tJjest to ~eriosis iRs~estioRs ey t~e Boare or its a~t~orizes re~reseRtati'/e(s) s~riRg

ewsiRess ~owrs. \N~eR ss~eswliRB iRs~estioRs, l~e iRs~estor s~all attem~t to assommosate
t~e sileRt a~~oiRtmeRt ss~eswle of t~e establis~meRt.

(a) T~e ~wr~ose of iRs~estioR of estaelis~meRts is to verify som~liaRse l'Iit~ t~e ~rastise

slaRsares of t~is rwie as ~rovises iR ~aragra~~s (2), (a), aRs (4), aRs t~e sis~lay of
liseRse re£1wiremeRts as ~ro'liees iR ~aragra~~ (1) of R~le 08700114.

(b) T~e establis~meRt liseRse may ee swtJjest to sissi~liRary aslioR, ~wrswaRt to Rwle 0870
01 .1a, w~eR t~e iRs~estioR re'/eals t~at t~e estaelis~meRt soes Rot meet t~e

staRsares aRs re£1wiremeRts set by t~is rwle or w~eR t~e iRs~estioR reveals t~at t~e

liseRse of aRy em~loyee ~as beeR sws~eRses or revokes.

(s) ReiRs~estioR W~eR aR establis~meRt sees Rot ~ass iRs~estioR, t~e estaelis~meRt

s~all swbmit aR a~~lisatioR for reiRs~estioR.

1. TAe iRs~estor s~all ~roviee t~e establis~meRt wit~ aR a~~lisatioR for reiRs~eslioR.

2. T~e a~~lisatioR s~all ee s~bmittes to t~e Boars's aemiRistrati'le offise 'IIil~iR l~irty

(aO) says after t~e failes iRs~estioR.

a. T~e reiRs~estioR fee s~all ee swbmittes wil~ t~e a~~lisatioR, ~wrswaRt to Rwle
0870 01 .Oll.

4. T~e Boars's !JRil Direstor s~all sawse to ~ave t~e reiRs~estioR ss~ee~les.

(s) ~allwre to P.llo,,", or A~~ear for IRs~estioR AR establis~meRt w~ose OWRer or o~erator

fails to allow aR iRs~estioR to ee ss~esw!es s~all be eeemes to ~ave falles t~e

iRs~estioR. ,A,R estaelis~meRt w~ose OWRer or o~erator eoes Rot a~~ear for ~isl~er

ss~eswles iRs~estioR s~all ee seemes to ~ave failes t~e iRs~estioR wRless t~e Boars's
asmiRistrative offise or t~e Boars's awt~orizes re~reseRtative is Roti~es at least tweRty
fowr (24) ~owrs ~rior to t~e ss~esw!es a~~oiRtmeRt time for iRs~estioR. IR elt~er

sirswmstaRse, a swbse£1~eRt ss~eswles iRs~estioR s~all be sORsiseres as a
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(Rule 0870-01-.02, continued)
f8iRsp8GlieRc-Wl1eR a feiRspestieR is Resessitalee as a fes~lt el eilhef sifs~mstaRse,

the feliewiR!l shall eSS~f:

1. The Beafe's aemiRislfali'Je effise shall pf9viee the eslalllishmeRI with aR
applisatieR fef feiRspestieR.

2. The eslalllisllmeRl's eWRef 9f epefatef shall s~llmit Ihe feiRspeslieR applisalieR
te Ihe Beafe's aemiRistmli\'e effise wilhiR leR (1 G) Gays alief the eslalllishmeRl
feseivee the applisatieR-,

J. The f8iRspeslieR fee shall lle s~llmitlee wilh the applisalieR, p~fs~aRt Ie RlJle
G87G 01 .Ga.

4. The Beafe's URill)iFeSlGf shall sa~se Ie have the feiRspeslieR ssheelJlee.

0870-01-.02 Practice Standards and Inspection of Establishments.

(1) It is the responsibility of establishment owners to ensure compliance with all provisions of
this rule and any violation of any portion of this rule may result in disciplinarv action or
denial of licensure pursuant to T.CA. § 63-18-108

(2) Standards for Massage Establishments, Personnel, and Equipment

(a) Massage Establishments Standards

1. Establishment owners shall ensure and maintain an adequate waiting
area for clients.

2. Establishment owners shall maintain properly installed smoke detectors
and fire extinguishers in compliance with local fire codes. If there are no
local fire codes, there shall be a minimum of one smoke detector and
one fire extinguisher per one thousand (1000) sguare feet of treatment
area. If local fire codes require fire inspections, establishment owners
shall maintain written documentation of all fire inspections for a period of
four (4) years

3. Massage therapy may be conducted only in rooms which are adequately
lighted and ventilated, and so constructed that they can be kept clean.
Establishment owners shall ensure that floors, walls, ceilings and
windows are kept clean, in good repair and free of pests.

4. Rest Rooms. Everv establishment shall contain rest room facilities for
use by clients and employees. Establishments located in buildings
housing multiple businesses under one roof such as arcades, shopping
malls, terminals, hotels, etc., may substitute centralized toilet facilities.
Such centralized facilities shall be within three hundred (300) feet of the
massage establishment.

Rest room facilities shall include at least one water-fiushed toilet,
eguipped with toilet tissue, from which the waste water shall be
discharged into a sewage system acceptable to the Department
of Environment and Conservation.

June, 2009 (Revised)

(ii) Rest room facilities shall include at least one sink with hot and
cold running water and shall be eguipped with a soap dispenser
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CHAPTER 0870-01

with soap or other hand cleaning materials, clean towels or other
hand-drying device such as a wall-mounted electric blow dryer,
and waste receptacle. Hand cleansing capabilities for the
therapists must be located within twenty (20) feet of the
treatment area.

(iii) Rest room facilities and all of the foregoing fixtures and
components shall be kept clean, in good repair and free of pests.

5. Reasonable effort for sanitation shall be maintained for temporary
locations such as athletic events or public service fund raisers in
temporary venues.

6. Establishment owners shall provide for safe and unobstructed human
passage in the public areas of the premises, provide for removal of
garbage and refuse, and provide for safe storage or removal of
flammable and hazardous materials.

(b) Personnel

1. Establishment owners are responsible for ensuring that all persons who
perform massage therapy in a massage establishment maintain current
licensure by the Board pursuant to rule 0870-01-.04.

2. Establishment owners shall maintain in a centralized location a current
copy of the certificate of renewal for each licensed massage therapist
providing services at the establishment. A copy of any such certificate
shall be made available upon reguest of any client or any representative
of the Board.

3. Establishment licenses are not transferable and are subject to revocation
or other disciplinary actions upon failure of any inspection or for refusal
to allow inspection by the Board's authorized representatives.

4. Notwithstanding the above, a licensed massage establishment may
change locations, pursuant to rule 0870-01-.15 (3).

5. Establishment owners shall be responsible for maintaining all parts
thereof in a sanitary condition at all times, and for otherwise ensuring
that such establishment is operated in compliance with this Chapter.
However, this rule shall not relieve any individual therapist of
responsibility for the sanitary conditions of the space or equipment used
in their practice.

(c) Equipment

June, 2009 (Revised)

1.

2.

Establishment owners shall ensure that all equipment and supplies used
to perform massage services on the premises are maintained in a safe
and sanitary condition.

If the establishment is equipped with a whirlpool bath, sauna, steam
cabinet and/or steam room, establishment owners shall maintain
adequate and clean shower facilities on the premises.
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(Rule 0670-01-.02, continued)
(3) Inspection of Establishments - Licensed massage therapy establishments are subject to

initial inspections and periodic subsequent inspections by the Board or its authorized
representative(s) during normal and customary business hours. Inspections may be
announced or unannounced.

(a) The purpose of inspection of establishments IS to venN compliance with the
establishment standards of this rule and to verify that the establishment and all
licensed massage therapists providing services have their licenses
conspicuously displayed on the premises as required by 0670-01-.14.

(b) The establishment license may be subject to disciplinary action, pursuant to Rule
0670-01-.13. if the inspection reveals that the establishment does not meet the
standards and requirements set by this rule or if the inspection reveals that the
license of any massage therapist providing services at the establishment is not
current or has been suspended or revoked.

(c) A massage establishment which receives an inspection score of eighty-five (65)
or higher achieves a passing score on the inspection. A massage establishment
which receives an inspection score of eighty-four (64) or below does not pass the
inspection.

(d) Reinspection - When an establishment does not pass inspection, the
establishment shall submit an application for reinspection.

1. The inspector shall provide the establishment with an application for
reinspection.

2: The application shall be submitted to the Board's administrative office
within thirty (30) days after the failed inspection.

3. The reinspection fee shall be submitted with the application, pursuant to
Rule 0670-01-.06.

4. Upon timely submission of the application and fee, the Board's Director,
Manager or designee shall schedule the reinspection.

5. Failure to pass a reinspection shall result in a formal complaint with the
Division's investigations unit.

(e) Failure to Allow or Appear for Inspection - An establishment whose owner or
operator fails to allow an inspection shall be deemed to have failed the
inspection. An establishment whose owner or operator does not appear for
his/her scheduled inspection shall be deemed to have failed the inspection
unless the Board's administrative office or the Board's authorized representative
is notified at least twenty-four (24) hours prior to the scheduled appointment time
for inspection. In the event of either a failure to appear without notice or a failure
to allow inspection, a subsequent scheduled inspection shall be considered a
reinspection. When a reinspection is necessitated as a result of either
circumstance, the following shall occur:

June, 2009 (Revised)

1. The Board's administrative office shall provide the establishment with an
application for reinspection.
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(Rule 0870-01-.02, continued)
2.

3.

4.

5.

The establishment's owner or operator shall submit the reinspection
application to the Board's administrative office within ten (10) days after
the establishment received the application.

The reinspection fee shall be submitted with the application, pursuant to
Rule 0870-01-06.

Upon timely submission of the application and fee, the Board's Director,
Manager or designee shall schedule the reinspection.

Failure to pass a reinspection or failure to allow or appear at reinspection
shall result in a formal complaint with the Division's investigations unit.

Authority: TC.A. §§4-5-202, 4-5-204, 63-18-104, 63-18-105, 63-18-106, 63-18-108, and 63-18-111.
Administrative History: Original rule filed November 13, 1996; effective January 27, 1997. Amendment
filed November 26, 1996; effective February 9, 1997. Amendment filed August 10, 1999; effective
October 24, 1999. Amendment filed July 31, 2000; effective October 14, 2000. Amendment filed
November 27, 2000; effective February 10, 2001. Amendment filed October 4, 2004; effective December
18, 2004. Amendment filed December 29,2004; effective March 14, 2005. Amendments filed March 24,
2006; effective June 7, 2006. Amendment filed June 16, 2006; effective August 30, 2006.

0870 01 ,03 NECESSITY OF liCENSURE.

(1) It i6 YRlawtYI fGF aRy p8F6aR wha i6 Ratlis8R68G iR th8 FRaRR8F pF86SFil:l8G iR Titl8 a3 Ghapt8F
18 at th8 T8RR86688 GaG8 ARRatat8G ta PF868Rt hiFR681f aF hi6 86tal:lli6hFR8Rt a6 a liS8R68G
FRa66a88 th8Fapi6t aF a iiS8R68G FRa66a88 th8Fapy 86tal:lli6hFR8Rt 8F ta halG hiFR681f 8F hi6
86la1:lli6hFR8Rt ayt ta th8 pYl:llis a6 1:l8iR8 IiS8R68G I:ly Y6iR8 a titl8 aR 6i8R6, FRaill:lax86,
aGGF866 plat86, 6tatiaR8ry, aRRaYRS8FR8Rt6, t818phaR8 li6tiR86, salliR8 SaFG6, aF ath8F
iR6tFYFR8Rt6 at prafa66iaRai iG8Rti~satiaR.

(2) Ma66a88 th8Fapy i6 aR8 af th8 h8aliR8 art6 aRG a6 6ysh th8 pFastis8 i6 F86tFist8G ta tha68
p8F6aR6 i66Y8G a SF8G8Rtiai I:ly thi6 llaaFG. P8F6aR6 8R8a8iR8 iR th8 pFastis8 af FRa66a88
lhefapy withaYt 1:l8iR8 lis8R68G aF 8XpF8661y 8X8FRpt8G I:ly th8 law6 aF8 iR 'JialatiaR at T.G.A.
§§a3 1123 aRGa318 104.

(3) U68 af Titl86 ARy p8F6aR wha pa6686686 a '1aliG, SYFF8Rt aRG asti'/8 lis8R68 i66Y8G I:ly th8
llaaFG that ha6 Rat 1:l88R 6Y6p8RG8G aF F8vak8G ha6 th8 Fi8ht ta Y68 th8 titl86 "Ma66a88
Th8Fapi6t (M.I.)" aF "bis8R68G Ma66a88 Th8Fapi6t (LM.T.)" aRG ta pFastis8 a6 a FRa66a88
th8rapi6t, a6 G8tiR8G iR T.G.A. § a3 18 102. ,1I,Ry p8F6aR lis8R68G I:ly th8 llaaFG ta whaFR thi6
FyI8 appli86 FRY6t Y68 aR8 af th8 til186 aYthaFiz8G I:ly thi6 FyI8 iR 8V8FY aGv8rti68FR8Rt h8 aF
sh8 pY1:l1i6h86. FailYF8 ta Ga 6a will saR6ti1Yl8 aR aFRi66iaR af a FRat8Fiai fast '....hish FRak86 th8
aGv8rti68FR8Rt FRi618aGiR8 aRG G8s8ptiv8 aRG 6Y!:lj8St6 th8 FRa66a88 th8Fapi6t ta Gi6sipliRaF)'
asliaR pYF6yaRt ta T.GA §§ a3 18 104(s) aRG a3 18 108(5), aRG FyI8 0870 01 .1 Q (1) (~).

(4) SlYG8Rt6 FRay Rat halG th8FR681'186 ayt a6 lis8R68G FRa66a88 th8Fapi6t6 YRtil 6ysh tiFR8 a6 th8Y
aF8 IiS8R68G.

0870-01-.03 Necessity of Licensure

(1) Massage therapy is one of the healing arts and, as such, the practice is restricted to
those persons issued a credential by this Board. Persons engaging in the practice of
massage therapy without being licensed or expressly exempted by the laws are in
violation of T.CA §§ 63-1-123 and 63-18-104. It is unlawful for any person who is not
licensed in the manner prescribed in Title 63, Chapter 18 of the Tennessee Code
Annotated to present himself or his establishment as a licensed massage therapist or a
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CHAI'TER 0870-0 I

licensed massage establishment or to hold himself or his establishment out to the public
as being licensed by using a tille on signs. mailboxes. address plates. stationery.
announcements. telephone listings. calling cards. or other instruments of professional
identification. Students may not hold themselves out as licensed massage therapists
until such time as they are licensed.

(2) Use of Titles - Any person who possesses a valid. current and active license issued by
the Board that has not been suspended or revoked has the right to use the tilles
"Massage Therapist IMT)" or "Licensed Massage Therapist IL.MTl" and to practice as
a massage therapist. as defined in T.GA § 63-18-102. Any person licensed by the
Board to whom this rule applies must use one of the tilles authorized by this rule in every
advertisement he or she publishes. Failure to do so will constitute an omission of a
material fact which makes the advertisement misleading and deceptive and subjects the
massage therapist to disciplinary action pursuant to T.GA §§ 63-18-104Ibl and 63-18­
1081S), and rule 0870-01-.19(1 )(p).

Authority: T.C.A. §§4-S-202, 4-5-204, 63-1-123, 63-1-145, 63-1-146, 63-18-102, 63-18-104, 63-18-105,
63-18-108, and 63-18-111. Administrative History: Original rule filed November 13, 1996; effective
January 27, 1997. Amendment filed March 24, 2006; effective June 7, 2006. Amendment filed June 16,
2006; effective August 30, 2006. Amendment filed April 30, 2008; effective July 14, 2008.

0870 01 ,04 liCENSURE PROCESS,

(1) Massage HleFapist. Te pFactice massage theFapy in Tennessee a peFsen m\l£t pessess a
lawfYlly issyeg license fFemthe BeaFg. The pmcess feF ebtaining a license is as tellews:

(a) An applicatien packet shall be Fe~Yesteg fmm the BeaFg'S AgministFative Office.

(b) An applicant shall FeSpeng tFYthflllly ang cempletely te e\'el'}' ~Yestien eF Fe~Yest teF
inteFmatien centaineg in the applicatien teFm. The applicant shall sybmit the applicalien
aleng with all Fe~YiFeg gecYmentatien ang fees te the BeaFg AgministFati'le Office. It is
the intent ef this Fyle that activities necessaF)' te accemplish the @ng ef the Fe~lliFeg

gecYmentatien be cempleteg pFieF te ~Iing an applicatien ang that all gecYmentatien be
meg as clese te simllitaneellsly as pessible.

(c) A,pplicatiens will be accepteg thFeyghellt the yeaF. SllppeFting gecYmentatien Fe~YiFeg

by the applicatien eF these Fyles myst be timely Feceiveg in the BeaFg AgministFative
Office as pmvigeg in Fllie 0870 01 .07 (J) eF the ~Ie '/Jill be cleseg.

(g) An applicant shall sybmit a ceFti~eg cepy ef his biFth ceFti~cate eF its e~Yivalent which
ingicates that the applicant is, at the time ef applicatien, at least eighteen (18) yeaFs ef
age,.

(e) An applicant shall attach te his applicatien a "passpmt" type phetegFaph taken '....ithin
the pFeceging t\\'el\'e (12) menlhs. The phele mllst be affixeg te the pmpeF page ef the
applicatien.

(I) II is the applicant's Fespensibility te ge the fellewing in a timely manneF:

1. Re~llest that a tFanscFipt fmm ene (1) eF meFe pest seCengaFY acagemic
iRstitYtien(s) appm'/eg by the Tennessee HigheF Egllcatien Cemmissien eF its
e~Yi'/alent in anetheF state(s), eF appmveg by the Tennessee BeaFg ef Regents,
be sllbmitteg giFectly !fem the instiMi!JR(S) te the BeaFg MministFative Office.
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(Rule 0870-01-.04, continued)
TAe traAscript m~st SROI'/ tRat tRe applicaAt Ras s~ccessf~lIy completed a
massage, 1l0dy'A'ork, aAd/or somatic tRerapy c~rric~l~m(s) cOAsistiAg of AO less
tRaA uve R~Adred (500) classroom Ro~rs aAd carry tRe official seal of tRe
iAStiMioA(S).

(i)

(Ii)

(iii)

(iv)

T.....o R~Adred (200) classroom Ro~rs of tRe fi...e R~Adred (500) classroom
Ro~r re"l~iremeAt sRal1 cOAsist of scieAces iAcl~diAg, Il~t AOt limited to,
aAatomy, pRysiology WesteFA aAd,lorlEasteFA, kiAesioiogy, patRology,
HIViAIQS, aAd Illood 1l0FAe patRogeAs, aAd RygieAe (iACi~diAg staAdard
preca~lloAs). OtRer scieAces related to tRe R~maR Ilody may Ile IRCI~daG

wilR iloard approval.

Two R~Rdred (200) classroom Ro~rs of tRe u'Je R~Rdred classroom (500)
Ro~r re"l~iremeRt sRall cORsist of Ilasic massage tReory aRd practice
iRCI~dIRg, Il~t ROt limited to, Ristory, lleRents, iAdicatioRs, cORtralRdicaliooG;­
demoRstratioR aRd s~pervised wactice, clieRt assessmeRlIe,'al~atioR, soft
tlss~e maAip~iatioRs iRcl~diRg: glidlRg, kReadiRg, frictioR, compressiOl+;
vlllratioR, perc~ssioR, stretcRiRg, jOiRt movemeRts, draplRg, positioRiAg,
t~FAiRg, feedllack, cRarliRg,ldoc~meRlalioR, proper Ilody mecRaRics, aRd
self care.

EigRty uve (85) classroom Ro~rs of IRe uve R~Rdred (500) classroom Ro~r

re"l~iremeRt sRall cORsist of related s~lljects iRCI~diRg, Il~t Rol limited 10,
ll~siRess staRdards of practice, comm~RicatioR skills, CPRJf'irst Aid, tRe
AmericaRs witR Qisallililies Act, referral metRods, specialized pop~latioRs,

aRd specialized aRd adj~RcltRerapies,lmodalities (IRcl~dIRg RydrotRerapy).

TeR (10) classroom Ro~rs of tRe five R~Rdred (500) classroom Ro~r

re"l~lremeRt sRall cORslst of etRics iRstr~ctioA.

f'i'Je (5) classroom Ro~rs of tRe uve R~Rdred (500) classroom Ro~r

rO"l~iremeRt sRall cORsist of iRstr~ctloR regardlRg TeRRessee massage
staMes aRd reg~latioRs; aRd

2. Re"l~est tRat veriucatioR of RaviRg s~ccessf~lIy complolod tRe NatloRal
CerllucatioR ExamiAatioR, as provided iR R~le 087001 .08, Ile s~llmilled directly
from tRe N.C.ilTM.il. or its s~ccessor orgaRizatioR to tRe iloard AdmiRistrative
Office; or '

d. Re"l~est tRat verificatioR of Ra\'iRg s~ccessf~lIy completed a iloard approved
examiRatioR, as proVided iR R~le 0870 01 .08, Ile s~llmilled directly from S~CR

exam's testlRg ageRcy to tRe iloard AdmiRlstrative Office.

(g) AR applicaRt sRall RavB s~llmilled evideRce of good moral cRaracter. S~cR evideRce
sRall cORsist of two (2) recBRt (WitRiR tRe precediRg 12 mOAtRs) orlgiRal lelters from
RealtR carB professioRals, altBstiRg to tRB applicaRl's pBrsoRal cRaracter aRd
professioRal etRics.

(101) AR applicaRt sRall disclose tRe circ~mstaAcBs s~rro~RdiRg aRy of tRe-fgjj~

1. CORvictioR of aRy crimlRal offeRse of aRy cO~Rtry, state or m~Ricipality except
miRor traffic offeAses, cORvlctloR for aRy sex~al related offeRse, aRd cORvictiOR
for prostiMioR or sex~al miscoRd~ct offeRses. A cORviclioR for prostiMioR or
sex~al miSCORd~ct offeRses sRall dis"l~alify aR applicaRt from recei'/iRg a liceRse.
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GENERAL RLJLES GOVERNING LICENSED MASSAGE THERAPISTS
AND ESTABLISHMENTS

CHAPTER 0870-01

(Rule 0870-01-.04, continued)
A Gen'JiGtien klr a klleny ~nser Ihe laws of Tennessee may sisq~alify an
8flj}liGant from reGeiIJing a liGense.

2. The senial of professional liGens~relGertifiGationappliGation 9y any other slate er
the sisGipline of IiGens~relGertifiGationin any state.

J. boss or restriGtion of liGens~reIGertifiGalion.

4. Any Givil s~it j~sgmenl or Givil s~il settlement in whiGh the appliGant '....as a party
lIefellGant inGI~sing, witho~t limitation, aGtiens invelving malpraGtiGe, 9reaGh of
GentraGt, antltr~st aGtivity or any other Givil aGlien remesy reGognizes ~nser the
GO~ntry's or state's stat~tory Gommon or Gase law.

5. fail~re of any professionalliGens~reor GertifiGalien examination.

(i) ,Il,n appliGanl shall Ga~se to ge s~9milles te the Boars's Mminislrative OffiGe SireGlIy
from the vensor isenlifies in the BearS's IiGens~re appliGation materials, Ihe res~1t of a
Griminal 9aGkgre~ns GheGk.

m If an appliGanl holss or has ever hels a liGense/GertifiGate to praGliGe any proklssion in
any olher slale, the appliGant shall Ga~se to ge s~9milles Ihe eq~iYalenl of a
Tennessee CertifiGale of Ensorsement (verifiGation of liGens~re/GertifiGation)from eaGh
s~Gh IiGensing gears whiGh insiGates Ihe appliGant holss or hels an aGtiIJe
liGenselGertifiGate ans whether il is presently in goos slansing or was in goos stansing
atlhe lime it geGame inaGliIJe.

(k) An appliGanl shall s~9mil the appliGalion fee ans slate reg~latory fee as prolJises in
r~le Oa70 01 .06.

(I) When neGessary, all req~ires seG~menls shall ge translales into English ans s~Gh

translation ans original seG~ments Gertifies as 10 a~thentiGily 9y the iss~ing so~rGe.

Both versions m~sl ge s~9milles.

(m) ReGiproGity biGens~re

1. AppliGanls who are liGenses or have geen !iGenses in another state as a
massage Iherapist m~st s~9mil along wilh their appliGations Gopies of the
staMes ans r~les governing the !iGens~reIGertifiGation q~alifiGations ans proGess
frem all states in whiGh they G~rrently or previo~s!y' ha\\e hels
liGens~re/GertifiGation. The Bears will setermine in its sole sisGretion whelher the
liGens~relGertifiGation slansarss ef any other state are as slringent as those of
Tennessee klr p~rposes of granting liGens~re ~nser Ihis r~le. Unless an
appliGanl makes ~se of the previsions in part 2. of this s~9paragraph, no
appliGanl shall ge approves klr liGens~re witho~t s~GGessf~lIyGomplelinglhe five
(5) Glassreom ho~rs of inslr~Gtion regarslng Tennessee massage slaMes ans
f8!llIlaliens as req~ires in s~9part (1) (I) 1. (IJ).

2. AppliGants Gan avois the req~irements of part (1) (f) 1. 9y having ~I.C.B.T.M.B.

s~9mit SireGlly 10 the Boars Asministralive OffiGe proof of their GertifiGation klr Ihe
five (5) year perios immesialely preGesing appliGation klr liGens~re ans 9y
s~9milling SOG~mentation satisfaGtory to the Boars Ihal they haye engages in Ihe
praGliGe of massage therapy in anolher slate for the five (5) year perios
immesialely preGeSing appliGalion for IiGens~re, ans who either:
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GENERAL RULES GOVERNING LICENSED MASSAGE THERAPISTS
AND ESTABLISHMENTS

CHAPTER 0870-01

(Rule 0870-01-.04, continued)
(i) Ravo S~GGossfylly Gomplolod tRo oxamiRatioR Fo~~iFomoRts of F~lo 0870

01 .08 aRd Ravo met lRo 8d~GalioR Fe~~ifBmoRls sot furtR iR part (1) (f) 1.
9~1 aFO ~Ra910, 90Ga~SO tRo od~GalioRal iRstit~lioR oilRoF was Rot stato
appmvod OF is RO 10R§or iR existoRGO, to Ravo a traRsGript 90 s~9mittod

diroGtly fmm lRo iRstit~tioR(S) 10 tRo Board AdmiRistrativo OffiGO; OF

(ii) Ravo §rad~alod from a ~~alifiod massa§o SGRool or Go~rso prior 10 OGt090F
1, 1QQ5 aRd Ravo Ga~sod a traRsGript dOG~mORliR§ tRo §Fad~atioR to 90
s~9miltod diFOGlly fmm tRo iRSliMioR{S) to lRo Board ,A,dmiRistrativo OffiGo.

(R) All appliGatioRs sRali 90 s'....orn 10 aRd si§Rod 9y tRo appliGaRt aRd Rotarizod.

(oj All dOG~moRts s~9mittod for liGORs~FO p~rposos 90GOmO tRo proporty of tRo Slato of
TORRossoo aRd will Rot 90 rol~rRod.

(p) TRo appliGalioR fuFm is Rol-aGGeflla910 if aRY portioR Ras 900R OXOG~tod aRd datod prior
to ORO (1) yoaF 90furo FOGoipt 9y tRo Board AdmiRistrativo OffiGo. /"s ~sod iR tRis F~lo,

~ppliGalioR" moaRs tRO appliGatioR furm approvod 9y tRo Board aRd all ro~~irod

dOG~moRts.

(2) AppliGatioR rO'JioYJ aRd all IiGORS~rO dOGisioRS sRal1 90 §o\'ornod 9y r~lo 0870 01 .07.

0870-01-.04 Licensure Process

(1) To practice massage therapy in Tennessee a person must possess a lawfully issued
license from the Board. The process for obtaining a license is as follows:

(a) An application packet shall be requested from the Board's Administrative Office.

(b) An applicant shall respond truthfully and completely to every question or request
for information contained in the application form. The applicant shall submit the
application along with all required documentation and fees to the Board
Administrative Office. It is the intent of this rule that activities necessary to
accomplish the filing of the required documentation be completed prior to filing an
application and that all documentation be filed as close to simUltaneously as
possible.

(c) Applications Will be accepted throughout the year Supporting documentation
required by these rules must be timely received in the Board Administrative
Office as provided in rule 0870-01-.07(3) or the file will be closed.

(d) An applicant shall submit a copy of his/her birth certificate or its equivalent which
indicates that the applicant is, at the time of application, at least eighteen (18)
years of age. Applicants who are not citizens of the United States or whose birth
certificates reflect that they were not born in the United States shall submit proof
of their immigration status demonstrating their right to live and work in the United
States.

(e) Applicants shall request that a transcript from one (1) or more post secondary
academic institution(s) approved by the Tennessee Higher Education
Commission or its equivalent in' another state(s), or approved by the Tennessee
Board of Regents and approved by the Tennessee Massaqe Licensure Board. be
submitted directly from the institution(s) to the Board Administrative Office. The
transcript must carry the official seal of the institution(s) and must show that the
applicant has successfully completed a massaqe, bodywork, and/or somatic
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GENERAL RULES GOVERNING LICENSED MASSAGE THERAPISTS
AND ESTABLISHMENTS

CHAPTER 0870-01

(Rule 0870-01-.04, continued)
therapy curriculum(s) consisting of no less than five hundred (500) classroom
hours, specifically delineated as follows:

1. Two hundred (200) classroom hours of the five hundred (500) classroom
hour requirement shall consist of sciences including, but not limited to,
anatomy, physiology-Western and/or/Eastern, kinesiology, pathology,
HIV/AIDS and blood-borne pathogens, and hygiene (including standard
precautions). Other sciences related to the human body may be
included with Board approval.

2. Two hundred (200) classroom hours of the five hundred classroom (500)
hour requirement shall consist of basic massage theory and practice
including, but not limited to, history, benefits, indications,
contraindications, demonstration and supervised practice, client
assessment/evaluation, soft tissue manipulations including: gliding,
kneading, friction, compression, vibration, percussion, stretching, joint
movements, draping, positioning, turning, feedback,
charting/documentation, proper body mechanics, and self-care.

3. Eighty-five (85) classroom hours of the five hundred (500) classroom
hour requirement shall consist of related subjects including, but not
limited to, business standards of practice, communication skills,
CPR/First Aid, the Americans with Disabilities Act, referral methods,
specialized populations, and specialized and adjunct
therapies/modalities (including hydrotherapy).

4. Ten (10) classroom hours of the five hundred (500) classroom hour
requirement shall consist of ethics instruction.

5. Five (5) classroom hours of the five hundred (500) classroom hour
requirement shall consist of instruction regarding Tennessee massage
statutes and regulations.

m Applicants shall request that Verification of having successfUlly completed an
examination, as provided in Rule 0870-01-.08, be submitted directly from the
examining agency or its successor organization to the Board Administrative
Office.

(g) Applicants shall submit eVidence of good moral character Such evidence shall
consist of two (2) recent (within the preceding 12 months) original signed and
dated letters from health care professionals that include the professional's
licensing credentials and attest to the applicant's personal character and
professional ethics.

(h) Applicants shall disclose the circumstances surrounding any of the following:

June, 2009 (Revised)

1.

2.

Conviction of any criminal offense (except minor traffic offenses) of any
country, state or municipality, including without limitation, conviction for
prostitution or any sexual misconduct offense. A conviction for
prostitution or sexual misconduct offenses shall disqualify an applicant
from receiving a license. A conviction for a felony under the laws of
Tennessee may disqualify an applicant from receiving a license.

The denial of professional licensure/certification by any other state or the
discipline of licensure/certification in any state.
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GENERAL RULES GOVERNING LICENSED MASSAGE THERAPISTS
AND ESTABLISHMENTS

(Rule 0870-01-.04, continued)

3. Loss or restriction of licensure/certification.

CHAPTER 0870-01

4. Any civil suit judgment or civil suit settlement in which the applicant was
a party defendant in any actions involving malpractice, negligence and/or
fraud.

5. Failure of any professional licensure or certification examination.

(i) Applicants shall cause to be submitted to the Board Administrative Office directly
from the vendor identified in the Board's licensure application materials, the
result of a criminal background check.

(j) If an accllcant holds or has ever held a license/certificate to practice any
profession in any other state, the applicant shall cause to be submitted the
eguivalent of a Tennessee Certificate of Endorsement (verification of
licensure/certification) from each such licensing board which indicates the
applicant holds or held an active license/certificate and whether it is presently in
good standing or was in good standing at the time it became inactive.

(k) An applicant shall submit the application fee and state regulatory fee as provided
in rule 0870-01-.06.

(I) When necessary. all required documents shall be translated into English and
such translation and original documents certified as to authenticity by the iSSUing
source. Both versions must be submitted.

(m) Reciprocity Licensure

June, 2009 (Revised)

1.

2.

3.

Applicants who are licensed or have been licensed in another state and
are seeking reciprocity licensure in Tennessee must request that a
transcript from one (1) or more post-secondary academic institution(s)
approved by the equivalent educational accrediting agency in the other
state be submitted directly from the institution(s) to the Board
Administrative Office. The transcript(s) must show that the applicant has
successfully completed a massage. bodywork. and/or somatic therapy
curriculum consisting of no less than five hundred (500) classroom hours
and must carry the official seal of the institution(s). Applicants must also
request that verification of having successfully completed the
examination provided in 0870-01-.08 or the exam offered by the
NCBTMB or its successor organization be submitted directly to the Board
Administrative Office.

Acclicants for reciprocity licensure can avoid the educational
requirements of rule 0870-01-.04(1)(e)1-3 if they qualify under the terms
of Tennessee Code Annotated § 63-18-116. Such qualifying applicants
must request that proof from the NCBTMB of their certification for the five
(5) year period immediately preceding application for licensure be
submitted directly to the Board Administrative Office and must submit
documentation satisfactory to the Board that they have engaged in the
practice of massage therapy in another state for the five (5) year period
immediately preceding application for licensure.

All acclicants for reciprocity licensure must submit proof of having
successfully completed five (5) classroom hours of instruction regarding

16
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GENERAL RULES GOVERNING LICENSED MASSAGE THERAPISTS
AND ESTABLISHMENTS

(Rule 0870-01-.04, continued)

CHAPTER 0870-01

Tennessee massage statutes and regulations and ten (10) classroom
hours of ethics instruction, as reguired in rule 0870-01-,04(1)(e)4, and 5,
These hours shall not be self directed,

(2) All applications shall be sworn to and signed by the applicant and notarized, All
applications and documents submitted for licensure purposes become the property of the
State of Tennessee and will not be returned. Neither the application form nor any
required document will be accepted if any portion has been executed and dated prior to
one (1) year before receipt by the Board Administrative Office.

(3) Application review and all licensure decisions shall be governed by Rule 0870-01-,07,

Authority: T.C,A. §§4-5-202, 4-5-204, 63-1-104, 63-18-104, 63-18-105, 63-18-108, 63-18-111, 63-18­
112, and 63-18-116, Administrative History: Original rule filed March 25, 1996; effective June 8, 1996,
Repeal and new rule filed November 13, 1996; effective January 27, 1997, Amendment filed August 21,
1998; effective November 4, 1998, Amendment filed August 10, 1999, effective October 24, 1999,
Amendment filed November 12, 1999; effective January 26, 2000, Amendment filed July 31, 2000;
effective October 14, 2000, Amendment filed July 25, 2002; effective October 8, 2002, Amendment filed
September 17, 2002; effective December 1, 2002, Amendment filed April 17, 2003, effective July 1,
2003, Amendment filed June 15, 2004; effective August 29, 2004, Amendment filed October 4, 2004;
effective December 18, 2004. Amendments filed March 24, 2006; effective June 7, 2006, Amendment
filed June 16, 2006; effective August 30,2006. Amendment filed May 10,2007; effective July 24,2007.

_0870 01 .05 I:;STA!lbIS"lMI:;NT blCI:;NSURI:; PROCI:;SS, ,1\RY massage tl1srapy sstabllsl1msRt, YRlsss
sxsmptsa by aRy previsioR of T.C.,o.. §83 1a 110, myst bs lissRssa by tl1s !loara. Tl1s pressss for
obtaiRiRg a lisSRSS is as follows:

(1) AR applisatioR paskst sl1all bs rsqYsstsa frem tl1s Boara's AamiRistratilJs Offiss.

(2) AR applisaRt sl1all rsspoRa twll1fully aRa somplstsly to svsry qYSstiOR or rsqYsst for
iRformatioR sORtaiRsa iR tl1s applisatioR form, Tl1s applisaRt sl1all sYbmit tl1s applisatioR aloRg
wltl1 all rsqYirsa aosYmsRtatioR aRa fess to tl1s Boara AamiRistrati\'s Offiss. It is tl1s iRtSRt of
Il1ls ryis tl1at astivitlss Rsssssary to assomplisl1 tl1s filiRg of tl1s rsqYirsa aosYmsRtatioR bs
somplstsa prior to filiRg aR applisatioR aRa tl1at all aosYmsRtatioR bs filsa as sloss to
simYllaRSOYsly as possibls,

(3) ",A,pplisaRt," for pYrposss of tl1is rYls sl1all msaR tl1s psrsoR YRaSr wl10ss Rams tl1s massags
sstablisl1msRt sl1all bs lissRssa. Tl1s applisaRt Rssa Rot bs lissRssa as a massags tl1srapist.
Howsl/sr, all psrsoRs smploysa to Of wl10 ars previaiRg massags tl1srapy OR tl1s prsmlsss
myst bs IissRssa by somplyiRg wltl1 tl1s previsioRs of ryis oalO 01 ,04, or RO sstablisl1msRt
lisSRSS saR bs issysa or a prs'/ioYsly Issysa lissRss sl1all bs prosssssa for rsvosatioR.

(4) EXSSpt for applisaRts wl10 ars SQrporatioRs aoiRg bYs/Rsss iR TSRRsssss, svsry applisaRt
sl1all sybmit a ssrti~sa sopy or a Rotarizsa pl1otosopy of I1ls/l1sr birtl1 ssrtl~sats or its
sqYivalsRt wl1isl1 IRaisatss tl1at tl1s appllsaRt is at Isast sigl1tSSR (1 a) ysars of ags at tl1s tims
of appllsatioR,

(5) Tl1s applisaRt sl1all aissloss tl1s Ramss, aaarsssss aRa tSlSpl10RS RYmbsrs of all psrsoRs
wl10 l1avs aRy oWRsrsl1ip iRtsrsst iR or '11110 rsselvs aRy aisbYrssmsRt of tl1s iRsoms, otl1sr
tl1aR smploymsRt salary, frem tl1s massags sstablisl1msRt.

(a) TAs applisaRt sl1all attasl1 to tl1s applisatioR sopiss of tl1s SyrrsRt IiSSRSSS of all
massags tl1srapists psrformiRg massags tl1srapy at tl1at sstablisl1msRt.
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GENERAL RULES GOVERNING LICENSED MASSAGE THERAPISTS
AND ESTABLISHMENTS

CHAPTER 0870-01

(Rule 0870-01-.05, continued)
(ll) The re~~irements af paragraph (5) anll s~llparagraph (a) are Gantin~ing ones and m~st

lle ~pllatell within thirty (JG) days of any Ghange.

(6) EXGept for appliGants "'ha are GarparatioR6-4oing ll~siness in Tennessee, every appliGant
shall have s~llmitted, ta the Boarll Allministrative Of/iGe, evidenGe of goad moral GharaGter.
S~Gh evillenGe shall Gonsist af twa (2) reGent (within the preGeding 12 months) original
letters, attesting ta the appliGant's persanal GharaGter and professional ethiGs.

(7) AppliGants who are Garparations doingll~siness in Tennessee shall s~llmit a Gerti~ed GOPy or
a notarized photaGapy of their GBFporate Gharter and shall s~llmit a statement identifying the
GBFporation's registerell agent for serviGe of proGess.

(8) An appliGant shall disGlose the GirG~mstanGes s~rro~nlling any af the following GonGerning
himself anll all individ~als identi~ed lly the information pro'Jided p~rs~ant to paragraph (5) of
this r~le:

(a) ConviGtion of any Griminal of/ense of any Go~ntry, state or m~niGipality eXGept minor
traffiG af/enses, GonviGtion for any sex~al relatell ollense, and GonviGtion for prostiMioo
ar sex~al misGond~Gt of/enses. ,A, Gonl/iGtion for prostit~tion or sex~al misGond~Gl

offonses shall dis~~alify an appliGant from reGeiving a liGense. /" GonviGtion for a folony
~nder the laws of Tennessee may dis~~alify an appliGant from reGeiving a liGense.

(ll) The denial af professianal liGens~reIGerti~Gation appliGation lly any other state BF the
disGipline of liGens~rel Gerti~Gatian in any state.

(G) boss or restriGtion of IiGens~reIGerti~Gation.

(d) Any Givil s~it j~dgment or Giyil s~it settlement in I'IhiGh the appliGant was a party
defendant inGI~lling, ",itha~t limitation, aGtions involving malpraGtiGe, llreaGh of
GantraGt, antitr~st aGtivity ar any other Givil aGtion remedy reGognized ~nder the
Ga~ntry's or state's stat~tary Gommon or Gase law.

(9) An appliGant shall Gall£e to lle s~llmitted to the Board's Administrative OlliGe direGtly from the
veRdor identi~ed in the Baard's liGens~re appliGation materials, the res~lt of a Griminal
llaGkgro~nd GheGk.

(1 G) An appliGant shall s~llmit the estalliishment appliGation fee and state reg~latory fee as
llfGVided in r~le G87G G1 .G6

(11) VVhen neGessary, all re~~ired dOG~ments shalille translated into English and s~Gh translatian
and original daG~ments Gerti~ed as to a~thentiGity lly the iss~ing SO~FGe. Bath versions m~st

lle s~llmillB4

(12) All appliGations shalille sworn to and signed lly the appliGant and notarized.

(1 J) All dOG~ments s~llmitted lar liGens~re p~rposes lleGome the property of the State 01
Tennessee and will not lle ret~rned.

(14) The appliGation larm is not aGGeptallle il any portian has lleen exeG~ted and dated priar to
ane (1) year llefore reGeiptlly the Baarll AllministratilJe OffiGe.

(15) ,A,n estalliishment IiGense may ile denied, Gonditianed, restriGted andlar disGiplined for-the
same Ga~ses and p~rs~antto the same proGed~resas a massage therapist's liGense.

(16) AppliGatian review and IiGens~re deGisians shalille gaverned lly r~le G87G G1 .G7.
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AND ESTABLISHMENTS

(Rule 0870-01-.05, continued)

CHAPTER 0870-01

0870-01-.05 Establishment Licensure Process. Any massage therapy establishment, unless exempted
by any provision of T.CA § 63-18-110, must be licensed by the Board. The process for obtaining a
license is as follows:

(1) An applicant shall respond truthfully and completely to every guestion or reguest for
information contained in the application form. The applicant shall submit the application
along with all reguired documentation and fees to the Board Administrative Office. It is
the intent of this rule that activities necessary to accomplish the filing of the reguired
documentation be completed prior to filing an application and that all documentation be
filed as close to simultaneously as possible.

(2) "Applicant," for purposes of this rule shall mean the person under whose name the
massage establishment shall be licensed. The applicant need not be licensed as a
massage therapist. However, all persons who provide massage therapy on the
premises must be licensed pursuant to rule 0870-01-.04. Failure to comply with this
provision may result in the denial or revocation of the establishment license.

(3) Except for applicants who are corporations doing business in Tennessee, every applicant
shall submit a copy of his/her birth certificate or its eguivalent which indicates that the
applicant is at least eighteen (18) years of age at the time of application. Applicants who
are not citizens of the United States or whose birth certificates reflect that they were not
born in the United States shall submit proof of their immigration status demonstrating
their right to live and work in the United States.

(4) Except for applicants who are corporations doing business in Tennessee, every applicant
shall submit to the Board Administrative Office, evidence of good moral character. Such
evidence shall consist of two (2) recent (within the preceding 12 months) original signed
and dated letters, attesting to the applicant's personal character and professional ethics.

(5) Applicants who are not licensed as massage therapists in Tennessee shall submit proof
that they have completed at least two (2) hours of education in Tennessee Law relating to
massage therapy. These courses must be approved by the Board.

(6) Applicants who are corporations doing business in Tennessee shall submit a copy of their
corporate charter and shall submit a statement identifying the corporation's registered
agent for service of process.

(7) An applicant shall disclose the circumstances surrounding any of the following
concerning himself:

(a) Conviction of any criminal offense (except minor traffic offenses) of any country,
state or municipality, including without limitation conviction for prostitution or any
sexual misconduct offense. A conviction for prostitution or sexual misconduct
offenses shall disgualify an applicant from receiving a license. A conviction for a
felony under the laws of Tennessee may disgualify an applicant from receiving a
license.

(b) The denial of professional licensure/certification by any other state or the
discipline of licensure/ certification in any state.

(c) Loss or restriction of licensure/certification.
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CHAPTER 0870-01

(Rule 0870-01-.05, continued)
(d) Any civil suit judgment or civil suit settlement in which the applicant was a party

defendant for any actions involving malpractice, negligence, andlor fraud.

(8) An applicant shall cause to be submitted to the Board Administrative Office directly from
the vendor identified in the Board's licensure application materials, the result of a criminal
background check.

(9) An applicant shall submit the establishment application fee and state regulatory fee as
provided in rule 0870-01-06.

(10) When necessary. all regulred documents shall be translated into English and such
translation and original documents certified as to authenticity by the issuing source. Both
versions must be submitted to the Board's administrator.

(11) All applications shall be sworn to and signed by the applicant and notarized.

(12) All documents submitted for licensure purposes become the property of the State of
Tennessee and will not be returned.

(13) The application form and all reguired documents must be dated no more than one (1)
year before receipt by the Board Administrative Office.

(14) An establishment license may be denied, conditioned, restricted andlor disciplined for the
same causes and pursuant to the same procedures as a massage therapist's license.

(15) Application review and licensure decisions shall be governed by rule 0870-01-.07.

Authority: T. C.A. §§4-5-202, 4-5-204, 63-18-104, 63-18-105, 63-18-108, and 63-18-111.
Administrative History: Original rule filed November 26, 1996; effective February 9, 1997. Amendment
fifed November 12, 1999; effective January 26, 2000. Amendment fifed July 25, 2002; effective October
8, 2002. Amendment fifed June 15, 2004; effective August 29, 2004. Amendment fifed December 29,
2004; effective March 14, 2005. Amendments filed March 24, 2006; effective June 7, 2006. Amendment
fifed June 16, 2006; effective August 30, 2006. Amendment filed February 2, 2007; effective April 18,
2007

0870-01-.06 FEES.

(1) The fees authorized to be established by the Board and necessary to the operation of the
Board are established as follows:

(a) Individual Application Fee - A non-refundable fee to be paid by all applicants for a
massage therapist's license including those seeking licensure by reciprocity. This fee
includes an initial licensure fee and the state regulatory fee. In cases where an
applicant is denied licensure or the application file closes due to abandonment, only the
initial licensure fee will be refundable upon request. The state regulatory fee is not
refundable.

(b) Establishment Application Fee - A non-refundable fee to be paid by all applicants who
wish to license a massage establishment. This fee includes an initial licensure fee and
the state regulatory fee. In cases where an applicant is denied licensure or the
application file closes due to abandonment, only the initial licensure fee will be
refundable upon request. The state regulatory fee is not refundable.
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(Rule 0870-01-.06, continued)
(c) Biennial Licensure Renewal Fee - A non-refundable fee to be paid prior to the issuance

of the renewal certificate. This fee must be received on or before the expiration date of
the license.

(d) Initial License Fee - A fee to be paid at the time of application for initial licensure.

(e) Late Renewal Fee - A non-refundable fee to be paid when a licensee fails to renew on
or before the license's expiration date. This is an additional fee which must be
submitted with the biennial licensure renewal fee and state regulatory fee.

(f) Replacement License Fee - A non-refundable fee to be paid when an individual
requests a replacement for a lost or destroyed "artistically designed" wall license or
renewal certificate, or when a licensed massage establishment requests a change of
name and/or address, pursuant to rule 0870-01-.15 (3).

(g) State Regulatory Fee - A non-refundable fee to be paid by all individuals at the time of
application and with all renewal applications.

(h) A reinspection fee is a nonrefundable fee to be paid by an establishment when an
establishment does not pass inspection, fails to schedule an inspection, does not
appear for a scheduled inspection, or moves to a new location requiring an inspection
of the new establishment.

(i) A continuing education course approval fee is a nonrefundable fee to be paid by a
continuing education course provider upon the submission of a continuing education
curriculum to be approved by the Board each continuing education cycle.

(2) Fee Schedule:

(a) Individual application fees shall include the following:

Amount

1. Application fee $85.00

2. Initial licensure fee $185.00

3. State regulatory fee $10.00

Total application fees due upon submission of an application $280.00

(b) Establishment application fees shall include the following:

1. Application fee $95.00

2. Initial licensure fee $120.00

3. State regulatory fee $10.00

Total application fees due upon submission of an application $225.00

(c) Individual biennial licensure renewal fee $185.00

(d) Establishment biennial licensure renewal fee $135.00

(e) Late Renewal Fee $100.00
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(Rule 0870-01-06, continued)
(f) Replacement License Fee .

(g) State Regulatory (biennial) ...........................................•..•..•

. $25.00

. .. $1 0.00

(h) Reinspection fee

1. due to a failed inspection or for a failure to allow or to appear for
inspection.. ... ... ... ... ... ... ... ... ... ... ... ... .... .....$11 0.00

2. due to a change of address because of moving to a new
location $135.00

(i) Continuing education course approval fee $1 00.00
(per course)

(3) Fees may be paid in the following manner:

(a) All fees paid by money order, certified, personal, or corporate check must be submitted
to the Board's Administrative Office and made payable to the Tennessee Massage
Licensure Board.

(b) Fees may be paid by Division-approved credit cards or other Division-approved
electronic methods.

Authority: T.C.A. §§4-3-1011, 4-5-202, 4-5-204, 63-1-103, 63-1-104, 63-1-107, 63-1-108, 63-1-112, 63­
18-104, 63-18-105, 63-18-106, 63-18-105. and 63-18-111. Administrative History: Original rule filed
March 25, 1996; effective June 8, 1996. Repeal and new rule filed November 13, 1996; effective January
27, 1997. Amendment filed August 10, 1999, effective October 24, 1999. Amendment filed July 31,
2000; effective October 14, 2000. Amendment filed November 14, 2000; effective January 29, 2001.
Amendment filed July 25, 2002; effective October 8, 2002. Amendment filed September 17, 2002;
effective December 1, 2002. Amendment filed December 29, 2004; effective March 14, 2005.
Amendment filed March 24, 2006; effective June 7, 2006. Amendment filed June 16, 2006; effective
August 30, 2006. Amendment filed April 9, 2009, effective June 23, 2009. Amendments filed April 9,
2009; effective June 23, 2009.

OS70 01 .07 APPliCATION REVIEW, APPROVAl, .6.NC CENIAL

(1) Compleleg applioalioRs reoeiveg iR IRe Boarg MmiRislralive Offioe by IRe ~ItR (aIR) gay of
aRy mORlh shall be sybmilleg 10 a member of IRe Boarg, IRe Boarg's oORsYllaRl or gesi!jRee
for review. AR iRilial gelermiRalioR as 10 aooeplaRoe or geRial of Ihe applioalioR sRall be mage
prior 10 Ihe eRg of IRe mORlh iR whioR IRe applioalioR is reseiveg. Eaoh member of IRe Beam
aRg Ihe Boarg's sORsYllaRI or gesi!jRee is vesleg wilh Ihe aYlRorily 10 make lRese iRilial
gelermiRalioRs.

(2) A liseRse may be issyeg pyrsyaRllo IRe iRilial gelermiRalioR mage by IRe Boarg member or
IRe Boarg's sORsYllaRl or gesi!jRee re',iewiR!j IRe applisalioR. However, SYSR gelermiRalioR
sRall Rol besome fYlly effieslive YRlil SYSR lime as Ihe fYIl Board rali~es it.

(J) If aR applisalioR is iRoomplele wheR reseiveg by the Board AdmiRislralive Offise or Ihe
re'liewiR!j Board member or IRe Board's sORsYllaRl or desi!jRee delermiRes agdilioRal
iRformalioR is re~Yireg from aR applisaRI before aR IRilial delermiRalloR saR be made, lhe
Board AdmiRislralive Offise sRall Rolify Ihe applisaRl of Ihe iRformalioR re~Yired. TAe
appllsaRl sRall sayse the re~Yesleg iRformalioR 10 be reselved by the Board AdmiRislrali\'e
offise OR or before Ihe sixlielh (llllIR) day alter reseipl of IRe Roli~salioR.
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(Rule 0870-01-.07, continued)
(a) S~sh nolifisalions shall ee sent serlilied mail rel~rn reseipt req~ested Irom lhe Board

Adminislrali'Je Offise.

(e) " the req~ested informalion is not limely reseived, the applisation shall ee slosed and
lhe applisanl nolified. Ng I~rlher Board aslion shall lake plase ~ntil a new applisation.is
reseived p~rs~ant 10 lhe r~les governing lhe Iisens~re prgsess, insl~ding anolher
payment 01 all lees.

(4) II a sompleled applisation is initially denied ey the reviewing Board memeer or the Board's
Gons~llant or designee, lhe applisant shall ee informed 01 that initial desision and that final
delerminalion shall ee made ey lhe Board at ils next meeting. If the Bo.ard ralifies the initial
denial, the astign shall eesome final and lhe following shall gss~r:

(a) A nolifisalign of the denial shall ee senl ey the Board Adminislratlve Offise ey serlified
mail rel~rn reseipl req~ested. Spesifis reasons for denial will ee slaled, s~sh as
insomplele informatign, ~noffisial resords, examinalion tail~re, or matters j~dged

ins~ffisient for serlifisatign, and s~sh notlfisalion shall sontain all the spesifis slat~tory

or r~le a~lhorilies for the denial.

(e) The notifisation, when apprgpriale, shall also sonlain a statement 01 the applisant's
righl to req~est a sontesled sase hearing ~nder lhe Tennessee Adminislrati'ie
Prosed~re Ast (T.G.A. §§ 4 5 1Q1, et ~) 10 sgnlesl the denial and the prosed~re

nesessary to assomplish lhal aslion.

1. An appiisant has a right 10 a sontested sase hearing oniy If the lisens~re denial
was eased ofl-&llbjeGliv&-or-Gissrelionary sriteria.

:1. An applisant may ee granled a sontesled sase hearing if liGellSllf9-Genial is
eased on an gtljestive, slearly defined srileria only If alter review and attempted
resol~tion ey lhe Bgard's JI,dminislralive staff, lhe lisens~re appiisation sannol ee
approved and lhe reasgns for sontin~ed denial present a gen~ine iss~e of tast
andlor law whish is appropriate for appeal.

(5) The inilial determinalion prosed~res 01 this r~le will nol apply if the f~1I Bgard reviews and
makes final determinalion gn lhe applisalion d~ring its meelings.

(6) Any applisanl who has s~ssessf~lIy sgmplied wllh all req~iremenls 01 the r~les governing the
Iisens~re prosess shall ee enlilled to its iss~anse wilh lhe lollowing exseplions:

(a) Applisants who ey virl~e 10 any sriteria in lhe area of menial, physisal, moral or
ed~sational sapaeililies, as sonlained in the applisation and review prosess whish
indisates a potenlial risk to lhe p~elis health, safoty and '",eltare may ee req~ired 10
present lhemselves to the Board or selested memeer(s) of the Bgard lor an intervie.....
eefore final approval may ee granled.

(e) The iss~anse of lhe lisense applied for may ee wilhheld, reslrisled or sonditioned for
violation of lhe provisigns gf T.G.A. § 6J 16 1Q6 and any r~les prom~lgaled p~rs~ant

thereto or tail~re to 1~lIy sgmply '....ith all applisation req~irements.

(7) If the Board finds il has erred in lhe iss~anse of any lype of lisense, the Board will give written
ngtise ey serlified mail of ils intenllg revoke lhe Iisense. The nolise will allow lhe applisanl
lhe opporl~nily to meellhe req~iremenls for lisens~re wilhin lhirty (JQ) days ffllm the dale 01
reseipl gl lhe nolifisation. II lhe applisanl does nol GOns~r with lhe slated reason and the
intent to revoke lhe lisense, the appllsanl shall have lhe righl 10 proseed assgrding to r~ie

Q67Q Q1 .Q7(4)(e).
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(8) AeaAdoAfReAt of ApplisatioA

CHAPTER 0870-01

(a) TAe Qoard's MfRiAistrator is a~t~orized to deefR aA applisatioA slosed ey
aeaAdoAfReAt, or re~~ire ~pdated dOS~fReAtatioA, if t~e applisatioA ~as Aot eeeA
sOfRpleted ey t~e applisaAt YJit~iA t~e tifRes re~~ired ey r~les of t~e Qoard.

(e) AA applisatioA s~efRilled s~ese~~eAt to t~e deterfRiAatioA of aeaAdoAfReAt of a prior
applisatioA s~all ee treated as a Aew applisatioA.

(s) ApplisatioAs t~at are deefRed aeaAdoAed will re~~ire t~e applisaAt to s~efRit a Aew
appiisatioA, Aew applisatioA fee, aAd all Aew s~pportiA(ldos~fReAts.

0870-01-.07 Application Review, Approval, and Denial

(1) Completed applications received in the Board Administrative Office may be reviewed by
any member of the Board, the Board's consultant, or designee for initial determination.
An initial determination as to acceptance or denial of the application shall be made prior
to the end of the month in which the application is received. Each member of the Board
and the Board's consultant or designee is vested with the authority to make these initial
determinations.

(2) A temporarv authorization may be issued pursuant to the initial approval determination
made by the Board member or the Board's consultant or designee reviewing the
application. However, such determination shall not become fully effective until such time
as the full Board ratifies it.

(3) If an application is incompiete when received by the Board Administrative Office, or the
reviewing Board member or the Board's consultant or designee determines additional
information is reguired from an applicant before an initial determination can be made, the
Board Administrative Office shall notify the applicant of the information reguired. The
applicant shall cause the reguested information to be received by the Board
Administrative office on or before the sixty-fifth (65th) day after the date of notification.

(a) If the information is not received in a timely manner, then no further action shall
take place until a new application is received pursuant to the rules governing the
licensure process.

(4) In order for an application to be scheduled for review by the Board at a board meeting, all
reguired documentation must be completed and submitted to the Board's Administrative
Office at least fifteen (15) days prior to the board meeting.

(5) If a completed application is denied by the Board, the applicant shall be informed of that
decision and the following shall occur:

(a) A notification of the denial shall be sent to the applicant by the Board
Administrative Office by certified mail return receipt reguested which shall contain
the reasons for the denial and the specific statutory or rule authorities for the
denial

(b) The notification, when aoorooriate, shall also contain a statement of the
applicant's right to reguest a contested case hearing under the Tennessee
Administrative Procedures Act (T.CA §§ 4-5-101, et seg) to contest the denial
and the procedures necessary to accomplish that action.
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(Rule 0870-01-.07, continued)
1.

2.

An applicant has a right to a contested case hearing only if the licensure
denial was based on subjective or discretionary criteria and only if the
reguest for a contested case hearing is made in writing within thirty (30)
days of the receipt of the denial notification.

An applicant may be granted a contested case hearing if licensure denial
is based on an objective, Clearly defined criteria only if after review and
attempted resolution by the Board's Administrative staff, the licensure
application cannot be approved and the reasons for continued denial
present a genuine issue of fact andlor law which is appropriate for
appeal.

(6) Any applicant who has successfully complied with all reguirements of the rules governing
the licensure process shall be entitled to its issuance with the following exceptions:

(a) Applicants who by virtue of any criteria in the area of mental. physical. moral or
educational capabilities, as contained in the application and review process,
which indicates a potential risk to the public health, safety and welfare may be
required to present themselves to the Board or selected member(s) of the Board
for an interview before final approval may be granted.

(b) The issuance of the license applied for may be withheld, restricted or conditioned
for violation of the provisions of T,CA § 63-18-108 and any rules promulgated
pursuant thereto or failure to fUlly comply with all application requirements,

(7) If the Board finds it has erred in the issuance of any type of license, the Board will give
written notice by certified mail of its intent to revoke the license, The notice will allow the
applicant the opportunity to meet the requirements for licensure within thirty (30) days
from the date of receipt of the notification, If the applicant does not concur with the stated
reason and the intent to revoke the license, the applicant shall have the right to proceed
according to rule 0870-01-.07(5)(b).

Authority: T.C.A. §§4-5-102(3), 4-5-202, 4-5-204, 63-1-142, 63-18-104, 63-18-105, 63-18-108, 63-18­
109, 63-18-111, and 63-18-112, Administrative History: Original rule filed November 13, 1996,
effective January 27, 1997. Amendment filed June 15, 2004; effective August 29, 2004, Amendment
filed March 24, 2006; effective June 7, 2006. Amendment filed June 16, 2006; effective August 30, 2006,
Amendment filed May 10, 2007; effective July 24, 2007,

DOlD D1 ,DO ~XAMINATION,

(1) WitA tAo oxoofltioR of aflfliioaRl6 '1~alifyiRg fl~r6~aRI to R~lo 0870 01 ,04 (1) (m) 2. (ii) or R~le
0870 01 ,05, all flor60R6 iRtomjiRg 10 aflflly for liooR6~ro m~61 6~ooe66f~lIy oomflleto ORe-f1i
of tAo OOffiflotOROy oxamiRatioR6 aGOflloe Ily tAe Boare fl~r6~aRI to tAi6 R~le a6 a flrOro'1~i6ito

10 lioOR6~ro. S~OA oxamiRatioR6 m~6t Ilo oomflloloe flrior 10 aflfllioalioR for lioeR6~ro.

~vieoRoo of 6~00066f~1oomfllotioR m~611lo 6~llmiltoe Ily tAo examiRiRg agoRoy eirootly to tAo
Boare AemiRi61rati'lo Offioo a6 flart of tAo aflfllioalioR flrooo66 oORtaiRee iR R~lo 087001 ,04.

(2) ComflotoRoy o;xamlRatloR TAO Boare aoooflt6 6~00066f~1 oomfllotioR, a6 eotormiRoe Ily lAO
examlRiRg agoRoy, of aRy ORO (1) of lAe foliowiRg oxamiRatioR6:

(a) TAO ~I.C,B,T,M,B.'6 aRe/or it6 6~000660r orgaRizalioR'6 ~JalioRai Corti~oalioR

o;xamiRatioR, AflfllioalioR for, woof of AaviRg 6~ooe66flJlly oomflleloe a ma66ago,
Iloeywork, aRe/or 60matio tAoraflY o~rrio~l~m(6) a6 flrovieoe iR 6~llflaragraflA 0870 01
,04 (1) (t), aRe f006 Rooo66ary to tako tAO NalloRal Corti~oatioR o;xamiRatioR m~6t Ilo
60RI to tAo ~I.C,B,T,M.El. aRe ROt to tAO Boare,
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CHAPTER 0870-01

(Il) ,'Iny ol~er Board approved examinalion Application lor, prool 01 ~a>Jing s~ccessl~lly

compleled a massage, Ilodywork, andlor somatic I~erapy s~rric~l~m(s) as provided in
s~bparagrap~ 0870 01 .04 (1) (I), and lees necessary to take a Board approved
examination m~st be sent to s~c~ exam's lesting agency and nol to I~e Board.

0870-01-08 Examination.

(1) With the exception of applicants qualifying for reciprocity licensure pursuant to Rule 0870-01­
04(1 )(m), all persons intending to apply for licensure must successfully complete one (1) of

the competency examinations adopted by the Board pursuant to this Rule as a prerequisite to
licensure. Such examinations must be completed prior to application for licensure. Evidence
of successful completion must be submitted directly by the examining agency to the Board
Administrative Office as part of the application process contained in Rule 0870-01-.04.

(2) Competency Examination - Through January 1, 2012, the Board will accept successful
completion, as determined by the examining agency, of anyone (1) of the follOWing
examinations:

(a) The NCBTMB's and/or its successor organization's National Certification Examination
for Therapeutic Massage (NCETM); or

(b) The NCBTMB's and/or its successor organization's National Certification for
Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork (NCETMB); or

(c) The NCBTMB's and/or its successor organization's National Examination for State
Licensing (NESL); or

(d) The FSMTB's Massage and Bodywork Licensing Examination (MBLEx); or

(e) Any other Board-approved examination.

(3) Effective January 2, 2012, the exclusive competency examination accepted by the Board
shall be the FSMTB's and/or its successor organization's Massage and Bodywork Licensing
Examination (MBLEx).

Authority: T.C.A. §§4-5-202, 4-5-204, 63-18-104, 63-18-105, 63-18-111, 63-18-112, and 63-18-116.
Administrative History: Original rule filed April 17, 2003; effective July 1, 2003. Amendment filed
March 24, 2006; effective June 7, 2006. Amendment filed June 16, 2006; effective August 30, 2006.
Amendment filed May 10, 2007; effective July 24, 2007.

0870-01-.09 LICENSURE RENEWAL. All licensed massage therapists and massage establishments
must biennially renew their licenses to be able to legally continue in practice. Licensure renewal is
governed by the following:

(1) Renewal applicalion

(a) T~e d~e dale for certilication renewal is I~e lasl day 01 t~e mont~ in w~ic~ a licensee's
llirtMay falls p~rs~ant to t~e Oi'/ision's "biennial renewal system" as contained on t~e

expiration date on t~e renewal certi~cate.

(Il) Met~ods 01 Renewal

1. Inlernet Renewals Individ~als may apply for renewal and pay t~e necessary
lees via the Internet. The applicalion to renew can be accessed at:
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CHAPTER 0870-01

2. Pa~er Renewals Far ineivie~als wha have nat renewee their lisense an line via
the Internet, a renewal a~~lisalian form will ile mailee ta eash ineivie~allisensee

ily the Baare la the last aeeress ~revieee la the Baare. Fail~re ta reseive s~sh

nati~satian Gees nal relieve the lisensee Iram Ihe res~anslilility al meeling all
re~~iremenls far renewal.

(s) Ta ile eligiilie far renewal a lisensee m~st s~ilmil ta the Olvlsian, an ar ilefare the
ex~iratian eate, all af the follawing:

1. A sam~lelee ane signee renewal a~~lisatian farm; ane

2. The renewal ane state reg~latary fees as ~revieee in r~le 0670 01 .Oe.

(e) lisensees wha fail la sam~ly with the renewal r~les ar natifisalian reselvee ily them
sanserning fail~re la timely renew shall halle their Iisenses ~rasessee ~~rs~anlla r~le

120010 1 .10.

(e) Anyane s~ilmltting a signee rene.....al form ar letter whish is fo~ne la ile ~ntr~e is
s~9jest 10 eissl~linary astion ~~rs~anl to T.G.A. § eJ 16 106.

(2) Reinstatemenl of an Ex~iree ,lisense Reinstalement af a lisense Ihat has eX~iree may ile
assom~lishee ~~an meeting the falloWing soneitions:

(a) At the eissrelion af the !loare, either a~peaHlefore it or s~ilmit a natarizee statement
setting forth the sa~se far fail~re 10 rene.....; ane

(il) Payment of all ~ast e~e renewal ane the late renewal fees; ane

(s) l>~ilnnil;gjon of ~roaf of som~lianse .....ith sontin~ing ee~sation re~~irements of r~le

067001 .12.

(3) Renewal issuance decisions pursuant to this rule may be made administratively, or upon
review by the Board or the Board's consuitant.

(4) No application for renewal of an establishment license or reinstatement of an expired
estal?lishment license shall be considered unless the establishment has passed its most
recent inspection.

(1) Renewal application

(a) The due date for license renewai is set by the Division's biennial alternative
interval renewal system. The due date is contained on the renewal document as
the expiration date.

(b) Methods of Renewal

1. Internet Renewals - Individuals may apply for renewal and pay the
necessary fees via the Internet. The internet renewal method is not
available to establishments.

June, 2009 (Revised)

2. Paper Renewals - For individuals who have not renewed their license
online via the Internet, a renewal application form will be mailed to each
individual licensed by the Board to the last address provided to the
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Board. Failure to receive such notification does not relieve the licensee
from the responsibility of meeting all reguirements for renewal.

(c) To be eligible for renewai a licensee must submit to the Division, on or before the
expiration date, all of the following:

1. A completed and signed renewal application form; and

2. The renewal and state regulatory fees as provided in rule 0870-01-.06.

(d) Licenses which are not renewed within sixty (60) days of the expiration of the
license shall be administratively revoked, without further notice or opportunity for
hearing as provided in T.CA § 63-1-107(c). Reinstatement may be sought
pursuant to paragraph (2) of this rule.

(e) Anyone submitting a signed renewal form or letter which is found to be untrue is
subject to disciplinary action pursuant to T.C.A. § 63-18-108.

(2) Reinstatement of an Expired License - Reinstatement of a license that has expired may
be allowed, at the discretion of the Board, upon meeting the following conditions;

(a) Submission of a statement selting forth the cause for failure to renew; and

(b) Payment of the late renewal fee and all past due renewal fees that accrued while
the license was in an expiredl administratively revoked status: and

(c) Submission of proof of compliance with the continuing education requirements of
rule 0870-01-.12.

Authority: T.C.A. §§4-5-202, 4-5-204, 63-1-107, 63-18-104, 63-18-106, and 63-18-111. Administrative
History: Original rule filed November 13, 1996, effective January 27, 1997. Amendment filed July 31,
2000; effective Ocfober 14, 2000. Amendmenf filed July 25, 2002; effective October 8, 2002.
Amendment filed March 24, 2006; effective June 7, 2006. Amendmenf filed June 16, 2006; effective
August 30, 2006.

0870-01-.10 REPEALED.

Authority: T.c.A. §§4-5-202, 4-5-204, 63-18-104, and 63-18-111. Administrative History: Original
rule filed November 13, 1996; effective January 27, 1997. Amendment filed March 24, 2006; effective
June 7, 2006. Repeal filed June 16, 2006; effective August 30, 2006.

0870-01-.11 RETIREMENT, REINSTATEMENT, INACTIVATION, AND REACTIVATION OF
LICENSURE.

(1) Licensees who wish to retain their licenses but not actively practice may avoid compliance
with the licensure renewal process and continuing education requirements by doing the
following:

(a) Obtain from, complete and submit to the Board Administrative Office an affidavit of
retirement form.

(b) Submit any documentation which may be required by the form to the Board
Administrative Office.

(2) Any licensee whose individual license has been retired may reenter active practice' by doing
the following;
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(a) Submit a reinstatement application to the Board Administrative Office; and

(b) Pay the licensure renewal fee and state regulatory fee as provided in rule 0870-01-.06.

(6) If rs~Ys6tsd, aftsr rsvisw lly tRs Beard a dS6i9natsd Beard msmllsr er tRs Beard
cen6Yltant, appsar llsfers tRs Beard, a Beard msmllsr er tRs Beard cen6Yltant fer an
intsrvisw rS9ardin9 centinYsd cempstsncs in IRs svsnt ef licsn6yrs rstirsmsnt in
SXCS66 ef twe (2) ysar6.

ecl In the event of licensure retirement or inactivation in excess of two (2) years,
appear before the Board for an interview regarding continued competence if
requested.

(d) Comply with the continuing education provisions of rule 0870-01-12 applicable to
reactivation of retired licenses.

(3) Establishments that wish to retain their licenses but not operate as an establishment may
avoid compliance with the licensure renewal process requirements by doing the following:

(a) Obtain from, complete and submit to the Board Administrative Office a request for
establishment inactivation form.

(b) Submit any documentation which may be required by the form to the Board
Administrative Office.

(4) Any establishment whose license has been placed in inactive status may activate such
license by doing the following:

(a) Submit a reactivation application to the Board Administrative Office; and

(b) Pay the establishment biennial licensure renewal fee and state regulatory fee as
provided in rule 0870-01-.06, and

(c) No application for reactivation of an establishment license shall be considered unless
the establishment has passed its most recent inspection.

(5) Application review and decisions required by this rule shall be governed by ruie 0870-01-.07.

Authority: T.C.A. §§4-5-202, 4-5-204, 63-1-111, 63-18-104, 63-18-106, and 63-18-111. Administrative
History: Original rule filed November 13, 1996; effective January 27, 1997. Amendment filed July 31,
2000; effective October 14, 2000. Amendment filed October 4, 2004; effective December 18, 2004.
Amendment filed March 24, 2006, effective June 7, 2006. Amendment filed June 16, 2006; effective
August 30, 2006.

087001 ,12 CONTINUING I:;CUCATION.

(1) Ma66a9s TRsrapy CentinYing I:;dYcatien i6 cen6idsrsd te lls tRe6s prsplannsdlfermalizsd
activitis6 \VitR writtsn Isarnin9 elljsctivs6 tRat ars dirsctsd at ds\'siepin9 and snRancin9 an
individYal'6 ma66a9s tRsrapy knevlisd9S lla6s, er rslsvant 6ki1l6. Excspt fer Ceyr6S6 effersd
te msst tRs rs~YirSmsnt6 ef 6Yllpara9rapR (2) (s), tRs6s activitis6 may lls prs6sntsd in aflY
fermat aytRerizsd lly 6YllparagrapR (4) (d) and part (4) (ll) 5. erisntsd teward snRancsmsnt ef
ma66a9s tRsrapy and fer tRs pyrpe6S ef accempli6Rin9 6pscific writtsn elljsctivS6.

(2) CentinYin9 EdYcatien loleyr6 Rs~Yirsd
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(a) Ceyrses Ie se e!fered fGr sredilleward IRe re~Yired seAliAYiRg edYsalleA ReyrS FRysl,
YAless elRerwise previded, reseive apprevallreFR IRe Beard.

(s) Twe (2) year sysles:

1 JaRyaPj 1, 2QQ3 IG-GeseFRser 31, 2QQ4

2. JaRyaPj 1, 2QQ5 Ie QeseFRser 31, 2QQll

3 JaAyaPj 1, 2QQ7 Ie QeseFRser 31, 2QQ8

4. JaRyary 1, 2QQ9 Ie QeseFRser 31, 2Q1Q

5. JaAyaf)' 1, 2Q11 Ie QeseFRser 31, 2Q12

ll. JaAyary 1, 2Q1 3 Ie QeseFRser 31, 2Q14

7. JaAyary 1, 2Q15 Ie QeseFRser 31, 2Q111

(s) Every perseA wRe reseives a liseRse as a FRassage IRerapisl aller JaAyaf)' 1, 2QQ3 will
Rave Ris er Rer re~Yired SOAliAYiRg edYsalieR ReyrS pre raled, pyrsyaAlle IRe sRaFt iA
sYsparagrapR (2) (d), over IRe reFRaiAiA!j FReAIRS ellRe seAliAYiA!j edYsalieA sysle iA
wRisR IRe perseA sesaFRe liseAsed. EvePj IraslieA el aA Reyr resYlliAg IreFR aAy SYSR
pre raliA!j sRall se reYAded YP Ie IRe Rexl wRele Reyr aAd Ie a FRiRiFRYFR el fGyr (4)
Reyrs. AAy SYSR perseR sRa!1 Ra'Jele eslaiA OAe (1) aRd eRellweRly fGYFtR (1124) ReyrS
fGr evePj FReAIR FeFRaiRiA!j iA IRe seAliAYiR!j edYsalieA sysle iA ""RisR Re er sRe sesaFRe
liseAsed syllReSe ReyrS '....eR'1 se dye YRliliRe liRal QeseFRser 31s1 ellRe sysle. [Fer
exaFRple a perseA wRe seseFRes liseRsed iA JYRe el IRe lirsl year el a seAliAYiR!j
edysalieA sys!e (JaAyaPj 1" el eRe year IRreY!jR QeseFRser 31" ellRe fGllewiR!j year)
will se preraled ever IRe 18 FReRIRS lell eR IRe seAliAYiA!j edYsalieA sys!e IreFR JYly
IRreY!jR QeseFRser ellRe leliewiR!j year re~YiriA!j IRe perseA Ie eslaiR 18 aRd 14 ReyrS
el seAliAYiA!j edYsalieR (reYAded YP Ie 19 Reyrs) wRisR are dye eA QeseFRser 31"4
IRe fGllewiAg year.) Every perseA wRe is re~Yired, pyrsyaAlle IRe pre raled sysleFR, Ie
OOlaiA eAly leyr (4) ReyrS el seAliAYiA!j edYSatieA FRysl eslaiA IRese ReyrS iA IRe
sYbjesl areas re~Yired sy sYspara!jrapRs (2) (e) aRd (2) (I).

(d) New biseAsee Pre RalieA CRaFt PerseAs wRe seseFRe liseAsed will Rave IReir
re~Yired SORliAYiRg edYsalieA ReyrS pre raled ever IRe reFRaiAiA!j FReAIRS ellRe w/e (2)
year sysle iA wRisR IRey sesoFRe liseAsed asserdiA!jle IRe fGllewiR!j sRaFt:

Firsl Year ellRe Cysle

MeAIR biseAsed Fteyrs Re~Yired

SeseAd Year ellRe Cysle

MeAIR biseAsed Fteyrs Re~Yired

-JaAyary 25 JaRyaPj 13
Fesryary 24 Fesryary 12
MarsR 23 MarsR 11

---April 22 April 1Q
May 21 May 9
JYAe 2Q JYAe 8
JYly 19 JYly 7
,A,Y!jysl 18 AY!jysl II
SepleFRser 17 SepleFRser 5
Osleser 111 Osleser 4
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(Rule 0870-01-.12, continued)
NavemlJer
bleGemlJer

15
14

NavemlJer
bleGemlJer

4
4

(e) Twa (2) ha~rs of the lwenly ~ve (25) ha~r req~irement shall pertain 10 fegeral ang
Tennessee slal~les ang rules GanGernin~ massa~e lherapisls ang eslalJlishments.
PFOvigers m~sl Gamply wilh all the fallawin~ lJefere the Ga~rse Gan lJe presenteg;

1. The pFOviger m~st s~lJmillhe Ga~rse materials fer review ang appFOval p~rs~anl
to s~lJpara~raph (4) (G) of this rule; ang

2. The Ga~rse, InGI~gin~ m~lli megia Ga~rses, m~sllJe presenleg in a leGI~re format
with s~GGessf~1 Gampletian of a '.witten pasl experienGe examination 10 eval~ate

malerial relenlian; ang

J. The pFOviger m~sl s~lJmll gaG~mentalian s~ffiGient to shaw lhat the infarmallan
to lJe gisseminaleg in the Ga~rse is aGG~rale ang G~rrent ang is in GamplianGe
wilh para~raph (1) ang s~lJpara~raph (4) (G) of this r~le.

(f) Twa (2) ha~rs of the twenty five (25) ha~r req~irement shall pertain to the mana~emenl

of praGtiGin~ massa~e therapy, or to pFOfessianal elhiGs, or to s~lJstanGe alJ~se.

(~) The Ilaarg appFOves Ga~rses fer only the n~mlJer of ha~rs Ganlaineg in the Ga~rse. The
appFOVeg ha~rs of any Ingi'Jig~al Ga~rse will nat lJe Ga~nteg mare than anGe tawarg the
req~ireg lwa (2) year ha~rly talal re~argless of the n~mlJer of times the Ga~rse is
atlengeg or Gampleteg lJy any ingivig~alliGensee.

(J) Canlin~in~ Eg~Gatian PFOaf of CamplianGe

(a) The g~e gale for atlenganGe ang Gampletian of the req~ireg Gantin~in~ eg~Gatian ha~rs

is bleGernlJer J 1st.

(IJ) EaGh massa~e therapist m~st, an the lJiennial liGens~re renewal farm, atlest to timely
atlenganGe ang Garnplelian of the req~ireg Gantln~in~ eg~Gatian ha~rs.

(G) EaGh Mas6a~e therapisl m~sl relain ingepengent gaG~menlatian of atlenganGa ang
Garnpletian of all Gantin~in~ eg~Gatian Ga~rses. This gaG~mentatian m~sl lJe relaineg
fer a periag of fe~r (4) years. This gaG~menlatian rn~sllJe pFOg~Geg fer inspeGtian ang
verlfiGalian, if req~estag in writin~ lJy the Ilaarg g~rin~ its verifiGalian pFOGess.

(4) Canlin~in~ Eg~GaliGn Ca~rse AppFOval

(a) Ca~rses 10 lJa afferag fer Gregil lawarg the req~ireg Gantin~in~ eg~Galian ha~rs m~st,

~nlass alhel'wise pFO'/igeg, reGeive appFO'/al fFOm the Ilaarg.

(IJ) The fella'....in~ sponsors or Ga~rses neeg nal reGeive prior appFOval ang shall GanstiMe
Ilaarg appFOVeg Gantin~in~ eg~Galian Ga~rses;

1. ,A,ssaGiatians, Garporallans, or ar~anizalians a~tharizeg as a pFO'Jiger lJy the
Nalianal CertifiGatian Ilaarg for Therape~liG Massa~e ang llagY'Nark
(N.C.Il.T.M.Il.) or the Nalianal Commission fer Certifyin~ A~enGies (~J.C.C.A.).

PFO~'igeg however, any pFO'Jlger appFOVeg lJy any ar~anizatian igenli~eg in this
part who Intengs 10 inGI~ge in their Ga~rse the ha~rs neGessary to meel lhe
req~irements of s~lJpara~raph (2) (e) of this r~le m~sl also Gamply wilh all of the
fellawin~ lJefare those ha~rs Gan lJe presenleg;
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(I) TRe pHlviGeF m~sl s~bmll IRe Ga~FSe maleFials faF IRase Ra~Fs faF review

anG appHl'JalpYFsYanl la SYbpaFa~FapR (4) (G) af IRis FYle; anG

(ii) TRase RaYFS, inGIYGin~ mylli meGia GaYFSeS, mysl be pFesenleG in a
leGIYFe faFmal '!IilR sYGGessfyl Gampletlan af a wFitlen pasl expeFienGe
examinatian ta e'JalYale mateFial Felentian;---aOO

(iii) TRe pHlvlGeF m~sl sYbmil GaGYmentatian sYffiGlent ta sRaw IRat IRe
infaFmalian la be GisseminaleG in IRase RaYFS is aGGYFate anG GYFFenl anG
Is in GamplianGe '/IilR paFa~FapRs (1) anG SYbpaFa~FapR (4) (G) af IRis F~le.

(i'l) TRe pFaviGeF sRali sYbmlt tRe GanlinYin~ eGYGalian GaYFSe appHlval fee
establisReG in FYle Q07Q Q1 .Q€l(2)(i).

2. AmeFiGan HeaFl AssaGiatian Ga~FSe in CPR.

a. AmeFiGan Massa~e TReFapy AssaGialian.

4. AmeFiGan ReG CFass GaYFSeS in HIV, CPR, aF StanGaFG FiFSI AIG.

5. Calle~es aF YniVeFsitles aGGFeGileG by tRe Unites Siaies Departmenl af EGYGatian
as GesGFibeG in paFa~FapR (1 ).

€l. FaFmal eGYGalianal GaYFses Felatln~ GiFeGtly la tRe tReaF)' aF GliniGal appliGatian af
massa~e IRerapy spanSaFeG by an aGGFeGileG Galle~eIYnl'leFsity aF insliMians
appHlVeG by tRe Tennessee Hi~ReF EGYGatian Cammissian, BaaFG af Re~enls aF
its eqYlvalent in analReF state(s). If SYGR GaYFSe is laken faF aF assi~neG qyaFleF
aF semesteF GFeGit RaYFS, IRFee (a) semesteF RaYFS aF eqYi'/alenl qyaFleF RaYFS
sRali be eqYivalenl ta ~lteen (15) GantinYln~ eGYGatlan RaYFS. Na GFeslts will be
GaynleG faF GaYFSeS falleG.

7. Tennessee Massa~e TReFapy AssaGiatian.

(G) If a spansaF is ~nable la ablaln aF GRaaSeS nal la abtain appHl'lal pYFSyant la
s~bpaFa~FapR (4) (b) af tRis FYle, tRe spansaF may FeqYest BaaFG appHlval by
s~bmittin~ IRe lella\'lin~ inleFmatian ta tRe BaaFG MmlnistFatlan OffiGe at least leFty ~'Ie

(45) Gays pFiaF la IRe pFapaSeG aF sGReGyieG Gate Gf tRe GGYFse:

1. TRe wFitten leaFnin~ al}jeGtives af tRe GGYFse.

2. A GaYFSe GesGFiplian aF aYt/ine.

a. ~lames af alileGIYFeFs.

4. BFief FeSyme Gf alllectYFeFS inGIYGin~ expeFience aF tFainin~ in IRe sYbjecl matteF
bein~ taY~Rt

5. ~IYmbeF af RaYFS af eGycatianal cFeGil FeqYesteG.

€l. PHlpaSeG aF sGReGyles Gate af CaYFse.

7. Capies af maleFials la be ytilizeG in tRe GaYFse.

O. Haw '1eFi~catianaf attenGanGe is ta be GacYmenteG.
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(s) Insi'lis~al lisensees may reseive sontin~in~ es~salion SFesit fer so~rses presenles o~t

of slale with lhe aoars's s~llsequeRt appFOval, if the so~rse is preseRtes s~rin~ lhe
sORliR~in~ es~salioR cycle in whish the liseRsee is req~estiR~ sresit Ile applies, ~pon

s~llmiUin~ the feilowiR~ to lhe aoars ,A,smiRistrali'le Offise:

1. The '.willen iearniR~ objestives of the so~rse.

2. A so~rse sessriptioR or o~tiiRe.

J. ~lames of aillest~rers.

4. ~l~mller of ho~rs of es~calioRal sresil req~estes.

5. [late of sourse.

8. Copies of materials 10 Ile ~lilizes iR the so~rse, ~POR a aoars req~est.

7. The so~rse pro'liser's telephone R~mller.

B. The so~rse pFO'Iiser's pre printes Ilrosh~re, a~ensa or other materials whish
sessrille aRslor asvertise lhe so~rse.

(e) CORlin~iR~ Es~cation so~rses may Ile presenles in any of lhe feilowiR~ formats:

1. besl~re.

2. Multi mesia so~rses with s~ssessf~1 somplelioR of a wFilleR posl experieRse
examiRalioR 10 e'ial~ale material retenlioR. M~lli mesia so~rses insl~se, Il~t are
AGl-limites to, a~sio, a~siovis~al. closes cirs~il television, ans the Internet.

J. CorresponseRse with s~ssessf~1 sompletioR of a '!/Fillen posl experiense
examiRatioR 10 eval~ale maleriai releRtion.

4. I',Ry somlllRatioR of the allo'ie.

(I) Resors keepIR~. The spoRsor of eash sontiR~iR~ es~cation pro~ram shail keep
setailes resorss of the foiloy..iR~:

1. The sale ans 10satioR of the pro~ram presenlatioR;

2. The names of eash iRslr~stor or siss~ssion leaser;

J. A list of the serti~sale, liseRse aRs permit holsers allensin~ eash pFO~ram

preseRlalion; aRs

4. A wrilleR o~lIine of the pro~ram presentation.

(~) Eash spoRsor of a sORtin~iR~ es~satioR so~rse m~st provise a certificate to eash
partisipaRt. Resorss mainlaiRes Ily the pro~ram sponsor fer the p~rpose of verifyin~

alleRsaRse aRS sompliaRse of lhe sORtin~iR~ es~salioR ollli~atioR m~st have at least
the feilowiR~ iRfermalioR: biseRsee's Rame, liseRse n~mller, lolal R~mller of sORlin~in~

es~satioR Glock ho~rs awarses, Rame of spoRsor, pro~ram lille, ans sale(s).

(h) The resorss req~ires Ily s~llpara~raph (I) of this r~le shall Ile relaiRes for a perios of
~'Ie (5) years fellowin~ the sate of eash pFO~ram preseRlation.
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(i) Aflflfllval of aRy oORliRUiR!j eeuoalioR flfO!jram may be wilherawR by the boare if the
0floRsor of suoh flro!jram fails to oomflly with lhe flrovisioRS of this ohaflter.

(5) Waiver of GORtiRUiR!j eeuoatioR

(a) The Boare may !jraRI a waiver of lhe Reee 10 alteRe aRe oomfllete the required hours of
oORliRUiR!j eeuoalioR if il oaR be ShOWR to lhe Boare lhallhe failure to oomflly was Rot
altribulable to or was beyoRe the flhysioal oaflabilities of the flersoR seekiR!j the '....aiver.

(b) Waivers '....ill be oORsieeree oRly OR aR iRelvieual basis aRe may be requestee by
submiltiR!jthe foliowiR!l items 10 lhe Boare MmiRislralive Offioe:

1. A wrilteR requesl for a waiver whioh sfleoifies whal requiremeRt is sou!jhlto be
waivee aRe ..wilteR aRe si!jRed eXfllaRalioR of lhe reaSORS for the request.

2. ARy eooumeRlalioR whioh SUflflORS the reaSOR for lhe waiver requeslee or whioh
Is subsequeRlIy requested by lhe Boare.

(0) A '....aiver aflflrovee by lhe Boare is effeotive for oRly lhe reRewal flerioe for '.·.'hioh the
waiver is sou!jht uRless olherwise sfleoifiee iR wriliR!l by the Beare.,

(e) The Boare GORsullaRI is aulhorized 10 !lraRt or eeRy requesls for .....aivers subjeot to
subsequeRt Boare ratifioalioR.

(6) GORliRuiR!l eeuoal/oR for ReaolivalioR or ReiRstatemeRI of Retiree, eXfliree, or Revokee
bioeRse.

(a) ARy massa!le lheraflist who aflfllies for reaotlvalloR or reiRslalemeRt of a lioeRse whioh
has beeR reliree, or has eXfliree, or has beeR revokee for failure 10 oomfllete oORtiRUiR!l
eeuoalioR requiremeRts for O'ler two (2) years musl submil aIOR!l wilh lhe reaolilJatioR
or reiRslalemeRI requesl, flroof whioh iReioates the alteReaRoe aRe oomflletioR of
\WeRty (2Q) hours of Boare aflflrovee massa!le lheraflY relaled oORliRUiR!l eeuoalioR.
The oORliRuiR!l eeuoatioR musl have beeR eafAee iR lhe twelve (12) mORths flreoeeiR!l
aflfllioalioR for reaolivalioR or reiRstatemeRt.

(b) The oORliRuiR!l eeuoalioR hours oblaiRed as a flrerequlsile for lioeRsure reaolivalioR or
reiRslalemeRI may Rol be oouRlee toware lhe oORliRuiR!l eeuoalioR hours requiree 10
be oblaiRee before lhe eRe of the reRewal flerioe of reaoli'JalioR or reiRstatemeRt.

(0) The Boare may !lraRt a waiver of the oORtiRUiR!l eeuoatioR requiremeRls for reaol/vatioR
or reiRstatemeRI of a reliree, eXfliree, or revokee lioeRse as flrovieee iR flara!lraflh (5)
of this rule.

(e) The Boare is aulhorizee 10 !lraRt or eeRy requests for '....a~

(7) ViolatioRs

(a) ARy massa!le lheraflisl who falseiy allesls to atteReaRoe aRe oomflletioR of lhe
requiree hours of oORtiRUiR!l eeuoatioR may be subjeollo eisoiflliRary aolioR flursuaRllo
T.G.A § 6J 16 1Q6.

(b) ARy massa!le theraflist who fails to obtaiR lhe requiree oORliRuiR!l eeuoalioR hours may
be subjeolto eisGiflliRary aolloR flursuaRt to T.G.A § 6J 16 1Q6.
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(Rule 0870-01-12, continued)
(s) IiOQysatisn RSYFS siltaineQ as a FesYI! sf ssnnplianss witR tRs tSFnns sf any Qissiplinary

astisn sRal1 nst ils ssyn!sQ tswarQ tRs ssntinYin!l sQYsa!isn RSYFS Fs~YiFSQ ts ils
siltainsQ in any Fsnswal pSFisQ.

0870-01-.12 Continuing Education.

(1) All licensees must complete twenty five (25) hours of continuing education every two (2)
calendar years, as a prerequisite to licensure renewal. The first two year cycle for
continuing education ran from Januarv 1, 2003 to December 31, 2004 and shall continue
on two year cycles thereafter.

(a) Continuing education credit shall only be awarded for those courses which are
approved by the Board pursuant to paragraph (4) of this Rule. The Board
approves courses for only the number of hours contained in the course. The
approved hours of any individual course will not be counted more than once
toward the twenty-five (25) hour requirement of any two-year cycle, regardless of
the number of times the course is attended or completed by any licensee.

(b) Two (2) of the twenty-five (25) hours requirement shall pertain to Tennessee
statutes and rules concerning massage therapists and establishments. The two
(2) hour courses must be approved by the Board.

(c) Two (2) of the twenty-five (25) hours requirement shall pertain to the
management of practicing massage therapy, professional ethics or substance
abuse.

(d) Eight (8) of the twenty-five (25) hours requirement may be completed in any of
the following multi-media formats:

(2) Initial licensees shall have their required continuing education hours pro-rated over the
remaining months of the two (2) year cycle in which they become licensed according to
the following chart.
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Month Licensed Hours Required

January 25
February 24
March 23
April 22
May 21
June 20
July 19
August 18
September 17
October 16
November 15
December 14

Month Licensed Hours Required

January 13
February 12
March 11
April 10
May 9
June 8
July 7
August 6
September 5
October 4
November 4
December 4

(3) Continuing Education - Proof of Compliance

(a) Each massage therapist must, on the biennial licensure renewal form, attest to
timely attendance and completion of the required continuing education hours
during the preceding cycle.

(b) Each Massage therapist must retain independent documentation of attendance
and completion of all continuing education courses. This documentation must be
retained for a period of four (4) years from the end of the cycle in which the
continuing education was acquired. This documentation must be produced for
inspection and verification, if requested in writing by the Board during its
verification process. Acceptable documentation verifving the licensee's
completion of the continuing education program(s) may consist of either a
certificate or an originai letter on official stationery from the program's sponsor,
indicating the program title, date and length in hours, along with the licensee's
name and license number.

(4) Continuing Education - Course Approval

(a) Providers of courses to be offered for credit toward the required continuing
education hours must, unless otherwise provided, receive approval from the
Board. Approval once granted, regardless of whether approval is pursuant to
subparagraph (b) or (c) of this paragraph, is effective only during the continuing
education cycle (as identified in paragraph (2)) during which approval was
granted. Grant of approval of any course prior to January 31, 2012 will expire
December 31, 2012. After that all courses/hours provided for credit toward
meeting the requirements of this rule must be approved either pursuant to part
(b)1. or subparagraph (c) of this paragraph in every continuing education cycle
they are offered.

(b) The following sponsors or courses need not receive prior approval and shall
constitute Board approved continuing education courses:

June, 2009 (Revised)

1. Associations, corporations, or organizations authorized as a provider by
the National Certification Board for Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork
(NCBTMB) or the National Commission for Certifying Agencies
(N.C.CA). Provided however, any provider approved by any
organization identified in this part who intends to include in their course
the hours necessary to meet the requirements of subparagraph 0870-01-
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.12(1Hb) of this rule must nevertheless comply with all of the following
before those hours can be presented:

(i) The provider must submit the course materials for those hours
for review and approval pursuant to subparagraph (4) (c) of this
rule; and

(in The course may be presented in a live lecture format or a multi­
media format with successful completion of a post-examination;
and

(iii) The provider must submit documentation sufficient to show that
the information to be disseminated in those hours is accurate
and current.

2. American Heart Association course in CPR.

3. American Massage Therapy Association.

4. American Red Cross courses in HIV, CPR, or Standard First Aid.

5. Colleges, universities or massage schools accredited by the United
States Department of Education, the Tennessee Higher Education
Commission or the Tennessee Board of Regents.

6. Formal educational courses relating directly to the theory or clinicai
application of massage therapv sponsored by an accredited
college/university or institution approved by the Tennessee Higher
Education Commission, Board of Regents or its equivalent in another
state(s). If such course is taken for or assigned quarter or semester
credit hours, three (3) semester hours or equivalent quarter hours shall
be equivaient to fifteen (15) continuing education hours. No credits will
be counted for courses failed.

7. Tennessee Massage Therapy Association.

8. FSMTB

(c) If a sponsor is unable to obtain or chooses not to obtain approval pursuant to
subparagraph (4) (b) of this rule, the sponsor may request Board approval by
submitting the following information to the Board Administrative Office at least
forty-five (45) days prior to the proposed or scheduled date of the course:

June, 2009 (Revised)

1.

2.

3.

Copies of any and all materials to be utilized in the course. Sponsors
may submit the ISBN number and title of materials with ISBN numbers in
lieu of sending the actual materials.

Resume or Vita for all instructors that detaiis their experience or training
in the subject matter they will teach. Instructors must be licensed
massage therapists or demonstrate experience and training that qualifies
them to provide continuing education.

Written learning objectives as well as a detailed outline of the course.
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4.

5.

6.

A copy of any student course evaluations, cla'ss roster forms, check in
sheets and certificates of completion that will be provided at the course.

Number of hours of educational credit requested. An hour equals fifty
(50) clock minutes of instruction.

The Board may deny a request to sponsor continuinq education if it is
determined the sponsor will utilize copyriqhted materials without
appropriate permission.

7. The Board reserves the right to request additional information if the
information provided by the sponsor is deemed inadequate or
incomplete.

8. The Board may deny a request to sponsor continuing education if any of
the above information is not provided.

(d) Individual licensees may receive continuing education credit for courses
presented out of state with the Board's subsequent approval, if the course is
presented during the continuing education cycle in which the licensee is
requesting credit be applied, upon submitting the follOWing to the Board
Administrative Office:

1. The written learning objectives of the course.

2. A course description or outline.

3. Names of all lecturers.

4. Number of hours of educational credit requested.

5. Date of course.

6. Copies of materials to be utilized in the course. upon a Board request.

7. The course provider's contact information.

8. The course provider's pre-printed brochure. agenda or other materials
which describe and/or advertise the course.

(e) Continuing Education courses may be presented in any of the following formats:

1. Lecture.

2. Multi-media courses - with successful completion of a written post
experience examination to evaluate material retention.

3. Correspondence - with successful completion of a written post
experience examination to evaluate material retention.

4. Any combination of the above.

(f) The sponsor of each continuing education program shall keep detailed records of
the materials required in subparagraph (c) of this rule and a copy of the
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attendance record for not less than four (4) years from the date the course was
approved.

(g) Approval of any continuing education program may be withdrawn or denied by
the Board if the sponsor of such program fails to comply with the provisions of
this rule.

(5) Waiver of Continuing Education

(a) The Board may grant a waiver of the need to attend and complete the reguired
hours of continuing education where iHness, disability or other undue hardship
beyond the control of the licensee prevents a licensee from complying.

(b) Waivers wiH be considered only on an individual basis and may be reguested by
submitting the foHowing items to the Board Administrative Office prior to the end
of the licensure cycie in which the continuing education is due:

1. A written reguest for a waiver which specifies what reguirement is sought
to be waived and the reasons for the request.

2. Any documentation which supports the reason for the waiver requested
or which is subseguently requested by the Board.

(c) A waiver approved by the Board is effective for only the renewal period for which
the waiver is sought unless otherwise specified in writing by the Board.

(d) The Board Consultant and the designee are authorized to grant or deny requests
for waivers subject to subsequent Board ratification.

(6) Continuing Education for Reactivation or Reinstatement of Retired. Expired, or Revoked
License.

(a) Any massage therapist who applies for reactivation or reinstatement of a license
which has been retired or has expired for over two (2) years, or any individual
who applies for a new license after his or her prior license was revoked for failure
to complete continuing education requirements, must submit along with the
reactivation, reinstatement. or new license application, proof which indicates the
attendance and completion of twentv (20) hours of Board approved massage
therapy reiated continuing education. The continuing education must have been
earned in the twelve (12) months preceding the application for reactivation,
reinstatement. or new license. Eight (8) hours of the twenty (20) hour continuing
education requirement may be completed in a multi-media format.

(b) The continuing education hours required by the provisions of subparagraph (6)(a)
of this rule may not be counted toward the continuing education hours required to
be obtained before the end of the renewal period of the reactivated, reinstated or
new license.

(c) The Board may grant a waiver of the continuing education reguirements set out
in subparagraph (6Ha) of this rule. as provided in paragraph (5) of this rule.

(7) Violations

(a) Any massage therapist who fails to obtain the required continuing education
hours or who falsely attests to attendance and/or completion of the required
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hours of continuing education may be subject to disciplinary action pursuant to
T.CA § 63-18-108.

Ibl Education hours obtained as a result of compliance with the terms of any
disciplinary action shall not be counted toward the continuing education hours
reguired to be obtained in any renewal period.

.. ••••• u u u un _n __ "' __ • •• un u. • _ •• _ •• u u_ uu ··.·-- { Forn
Authority: T.C.A. §§ 4-5-202, 4-5-204, and 63-18-111. Administrative History: Original rule filed
November 13, 1996; effective January 27, 1997. Amendment filed August 21, 1998; effective November
4, 1998. Amendment filed November 12, 1999; effective January 26, 2000. Amendment filed July 31,
2000; effective October 14, 2000. Amendment filed July 25, 2002; effective October 8, 2002.
Amendment filed May 20, 2003; effective August 3, 2003. Amendment filed December 16, 2005;
effective March 1, 2006. Amendments filed March 24, 2006; effective June 7, 2006. Amendment filed
June 16, 2006; effective August 30, 2006. Withdraw of rule 0870-01-. 12(4)(b)1 filed and effective August
15, 2006. Amendment filed February 2, 2007; effective April 18, 2007. Amendment filed May 10, 2007;
effective July 24, 2007. Amendment filed April 30, 2008; effective July 14, 2008. Amendment filed April 9,
2009. effective June 23, 2009.

087001 .13 I)ISCIPlINARY GROYNI)S, ACTIONS, ANI) CIVil P15NAlTIE;S.

(1) YpeA a fiAaiAg ay the Boara that a liseAsee or registraAt has violatea aAy pFO'iisioA of the
TeAAessee Massage TRerapist Prastise (T.CA §§ 6318101, et ~) or the r~les

pFOm~lgatea p~rs~aAttheFato, th~oara may impose aAy of Ihe feliowiAg astioAs separately
or iA aAy somaiAatioA whisR is aeemea appropriale 10 IRe offeAse:

(a) Private CeAs~re TRis is a I'IrilleA astioA iss~ea fer miAor or Aear iAfFaStioAS. II is
iAfermal aAa aavisoFy iA Aal~re aAa aoes Aol sOAsliMe a feFmal aissipliAary astioA.

(a) P~alis CeAs~re or ReprimaAa TRis is a '.'.'rilleA aslioA iss~ea fer OAe lime aAa less
se'/eFa'iiolatioAs. II is a fermal aissipliAary aslioA.

(s) PFOaatioA TRis is a fermal aissipliAaFy astioA wRisR plases a liseAsee or registraAt OA
slose SGr~tiAY fer a fixea perioa of time. TRis aGlioA may ae GOmaiAea witR GOAaitioAs
WRiGR m~st ae met aefeFa pFOaalieA will ae liftea aAalor ....'RiGR FasiriGI asti'lilies a~riAg

tRe pFOaalioAaF)' pariea.

(a) S~speAsioA TRis is a fermal aisGipliAaFy aGtioA 'NRisR s~speAas a liGeAsee's right Ie
pFaGlise fer a fixea peRoa ef time. It seAtemplates IRe reeAlry iAto prastise ~Aaer IRe
liseAse or FagistratieA pre'lio~sly iss~ea.

(e) RevosalioA fer Ca~se. TRis is IRe most severe ferm ef aissipliAary aslioA whisR
removes aA iAaivia~al ffem the prastise of tRe pFOfessioA aAa teFmiAates tRe IiseAse
PFevio~sly iss~ea. TRe Beara, iA its aissrelioA, may allolY FaiAstalemeAt of a revoked
liseAse ~POA sOAaitieAs aAa after a perioa of lime il aeems appFOpriate. No pelitioA fer
reiAslatemeAt aAa AO Aew appliGalieA fer liseAs~re from a persoA whose liGeAse was
re~'okea sRall ae GeAsiaeFaa prior to IRe expiFatioA ef at least eAe year ~Aless etRerwise
stalea iA tRe Beara's re'/OGatioA oraer.

(I) COAaitioAs ,A,Ay aslioA aeemea appFOpRate ay IRe Boara Ie ae Fa'l~irea of a
aissipliAea liGeAsee a~riAg aAy perioa ef pFOaatioA er s~speAsioAor as a pFaFa'l~isite 10
IRe liftiAg ef pFOaalioA or s~speAsioAor IRe reiAstatemeAt of a revoked liGeAse.

(g) Civil peAally ,A, mOAetary aissipliAary aslieA assessoa ay IRe Beara p~rs~aAI 10
paragraph (4) of t!'lis r~le.
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(Al GAGe orgereg, prollatioA, suspeAsioA, revoGatioA, aSSOSSfAOAt at a Gi'/il peAalty, or aAy
otAer GOAgitioA at aAy type at gisGipliAary aGtioA fAay Aot lle lifteg uAless aAg UAtH tAe
liGeAsee petitioAs, pursuaAt to paragrapA (2l at tAis rule, aAg appears betore tAe Boarg
after tAe periog at iAilial prebatioA, suspeAsioA, revOGatiaA, ar otAer GaAgitioAiAg Aas
rUA aAg all GOAgitiaAs plaGeg aA tAe prellatiaA, suspeAsiaA, rellaGatiaA, Aave lleeA fAet,
aAg after aAy Gil/il peAalties assesseg Aave lleeA paig.

(2) GrGer at COfApliaAGe TAis praGegure is a AeGeSsary agjuAGt ta previously issueg gisGipliAary
orGers aAg is al/ailallie aAly wAeA a petitiaAer Aas GafApletely GafAplieg witA tAe pravisiaAs af
a previauslyissueg gisGipliAary arger, iAGlugiAg aA uAliGeASeg praGtiGe Givil peAalty arger, aAg
wisAes ar is requireg Ie olltaiA aA orGer reneGtiAg tAat GafApliaAGe.

(a) TAe BaarG will eAtertaiA petitiaAs fer aA GrGer af CafApliaAGe as a supplefAeAt to a
previously issueg arGor upaA striGt GOfApliaAGe witA tAo preGegures set fertA iA
sullparagrapA (Ill iA oAly tAe fellawiAgtAreo (3) GirGUfAstaAGes:

1. 'NAeA tAo potitiaAer GaA preve GafApliaAGe witA all tAe terfAs at tAe pre'liausly
issueg arGer aAg is soekiAg ta Aave aA orger issueg reneGtiAg tAat GafApliaAGe;
er

2. WAeA tAe petitiaAor GaA pre'/e GafApliaAGe l.... itA all tAo terfAS at tAe previously
issueg orger aAg is seekiAg ta Aave aA arGor issueg liftiAg a previously arGereg
suspeAsiaA ar prellatioA; ar

3. WAeA tAe potitiaAer GaA pra'lo safApiiaAGe witA all tAe terfAS at tAe prel/iGllSly
issueg argor aAg is seokiAg ta Aavo aA argor issueg reiAstatiAg a liGeAse
previously rel/akeg.

1. TAe potitiaAer sAall sullfAit a PetiliaA fer Grger af CafApliaAGe, as GaAtaiAeg iA
subparagrapA (Gl, to tAo Baarg's AGfAiAistrative GffiGe tAat sAall GaAtaiA all of tAo
fellawiAg:

(il A Gapy at tAo previously issueg arGer; aAg

(ii) A statefAeAt at WAiGA pravisiaA at subparagrapA (altAe petitiaAer is relyiAg
upaA as a llasis fer tAe requesteg erGer; aAg

(iii) A Gapy at all gOGUfAeAts tAat prave GafApliaAGe witA all tAo terfAs ar
OOfIditiGAS at tAe previously issueg arGer. It preat at GOfApliaAGe requires
testifAaAy at aA iAgivigual(s), iAGlugiAg tAat at tAe petitioAor, tAe petitiaAer
fAust sullfAit sigAeg statefAeAts trafA every iAgivigual tAe petitiaAer iAteAgS
ta rely upaA attestiAg, UAger aatA, ta tAe GOfApliaAGe. TAe Baarg's
GaAsultaAt aAg agfAiAistrative staff, iA tAeir gisGretiaA, fAay require SUGA
sigAeg slatefAeAts ta lle Aotarizeg. No gaGufAeAtatiaA or testifAOAy atAer
tAaA tAat subfAilleg willlle GaAsigereg iA fAakiAg aA iAitial geteffAiAatiaA aA,
ar a fiAal orGer iA respoAse ta, tAe petitiaA.

2. TAe Boarg autAarizes its GOAsultaAt aAg agfAiAistrative staff to fAake aA iAitial
geteffAiAatioA OA tAe petitiaA aAg take OAe of tAo feliowiAg aGtiaAs:

June, 2009 (Revised)

(il Cortify GafApliaAGe aAg Aave tAo fAaller sGAeguleg fer preseAtatiaA to tAe
BaarG as aA UAGaAtesteg fAalteF,-Gr
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(ii) gSRy tRs pslitieR, altsr GeRs~ltatieRwitR Isgal staff, il GempliaRGs witR all el
IRe pre',isieRs el tRs prsvie~s erssr is Ret pre'lSR aAs Aetil.,. IRS pslilieAsr
el wRat pre'/isieAs rsmaiA Ie lls fulfillss aAsier wRat preel el GempliaAGS
was eitRer Ael s~ffiGisAt er Aet s~llmittss.

3. II IRe pstitieA is preseAlss te tRs Bears tRe petitieAer may Ael s~llmit aAy
assitieAal seG~msAtatieA er testimeAy elRsr tRaA tRal seAtaiAes iA IRS pelitielHl5
origiAally s~llmitte4

4. II tRs Bears fiAss IRat IRe pelilieAer Ras Gompliss wilR all tRs tsrms 01 tRo
prsYie~s erSer aA OrSsr 01 GompliaAGe sRalills iss~ss.

5. II IRS pstitioA is sSAies eitRsr iAitially lly slaff or altsr preseAlatieA to IRS Boars
aAs tRS pstitioAer llelisves GompliaAGS witR IRe orSsr Ras llesA s~ffisisAtly

preYSA tRs pstitieAer may, as a~IRorizes lly law, file a petilioA 1m a sssiaralory
erssr p~rs~aAlle IRe preYisioAS ofT.G.A. § 4 5 223 aAs r~le 12QQ 1Q 1 .11.

(s) Form PotitieA

PslitieA lor Orssr 01 GompliaAss
TeAAsssss Massage biseAs~rs BearS

PetitieRs(s ~lams:

PolitioAS(S MailiAg Assress:

PetitioAS(S EMail Assress:
TslspReAs N~mller:

Attomsy far PelitioASr:
Attomsy's MailiAg Assress:

Attomey's EMail Assress:
TelepReRs N~mllsr:

TRo pelitioAsr rsspsstf~lIy rsprsssAts, as s~llstaAliates lly IRS allasRes ses~meAtatieA,

tRal all provisioAs 01 IRS attasRss sissipliAary erSsr Ra'lS lleeA somplies witR aAs I am
respestf~lIy rs~~ssliAg: (sirsle OAS)

1. AA orssr iss~ss rsflsstiAg IRal-Gemplia~

2. AA orSsr iss~es reflssliAg tRat sempliaAss aAs liltiAg a prel,ie~sly erssrss
s~speAsieAor prellatieA; er

3. AA orssr iss~ss roflssliAg tRal sompliaAss aAs reiAstaliAg a lissRss pre'/ie~sly

revekss.

Nele Ye~ m~st SAsiess all ses~meAts Aesessary te prevo ye~r rs~~sst iASI~siAg a
sepy el tRs origiAal erssr. II aAy el tRe preel ye~ are rslyiAg ~peA te sRew sempliaAse
is IRe IsstimeAy el aAy iASil,is~al, iASI~siAg ye~rssll, ye~ m~sl eAsloss SigASS
slatemsAls lrem svery iASil/is~al ye~ iAIsAS Ie rely ~peR allestiAg, ~Aser oatR, te tRe
sempliaAss. TRs Bears's seAs~ltaAt aAs asmiAistrati'/s slaff, iA tReir sissretieA, may
re~~ire s~sR sigAes statsmeAls te lls Aetarizss. ~le ses~meAlatieA er tsstimeAy etRer
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tl1aA Il1at sullmiltes will llo cOAsisoros iA makiAg aA iAitial sotermiAatioA OA, or a ~Aal

orsor iA rospoAsO to, Il1is polilioA.

Rospoctfully sullmiltos tl1ls tl10 say of

PolitioAO~S SigAaluro

, 2Q

(3) Oreor Mosi~calioAs Tl1is procosuro is Aol IAloASOS 10 allow aAyoAo uAsor a proviousiy
issues siscipliAaF)l orsor, iAclusiAg aA uAlicOASOS practice civil pOAaity orsor, to mosily aAY
~AGiAg6 of fact, cOAclusioAs of law, or 1110 roaSOAS for tl10 socisioA cOAtaiAos iA tl10 orsor. It
is also Aol iAtOASOS 10 allow a potilioA fer a lesser siscipliAaF)l actioA, or civli pOAalty otl1or
tl1aA 1110 OAO(S) proviously oreoros. All sucl1 provisioAS of Boars oreors woro sullioct to
rocoAsiseralioA aAs appoal uAsor tl10 pro'lisioAS of tl1e UAiform AsmiAistralivo Procosuros
Act (T.G.A. §§ 4 a 3Q1, ot ~). TRis procosuro is Aol a'/ailallio as a sullslituto fer
rocoAsiseralioA aAslor appoal aAs is oAly availallio after all recoAsisoratioA aAs appoal rigl1ts
l1ave 1l0eA oill1or oxl1austos or AOt limoly pursues. II is also Aol a'lailallie fer tl1oso wl10 l1avo
accoptos aAs 1l00A issues a roprimaAs.

(a) Tl10 Boars will oAlortaiA politioAs fer mosi~catioA of tl10 siscipliAaF)l pOrtiOA of
proviously issues orsors UpOA strict compliaAco \Vitl1 1110 procosuros sot fortl1 iA
sUllparagrapl1 (ll) oAly \V110A tl10 politioAor caA provo Il1at compliaAco '.vill1 aAY OAO or
moro of 1110 cOAsitioAS or torms of tl10 siscipliAo proviously orsoros is impossillio. For
purposos of tl1is rule 1110 lorm "impossilllo" SOOS AOt moaA tl1al compliaAco is
if!COAVOAioAt or impractical for porsoAal, ~AaAsiai, scl10suliAg or otl1or reaSOAS.

(ll) Procosuros

1. Tl10 politioAor sl1all sullmil a wrilloA aAs SigAoS PotitioA fer Orsor Mosi~catioA aA
tl10 ferm caAtaiAos iA sullparagrapl1 (c) to tl10 Baars's AsmiAistrali'/o Offico Il1at
sl1all caAtaiA all af 1110 feliowiAg:

(i) A capy of 1110 proviously issues arsor; aAs

(ii) A statomeAt af wl1y tl10 potiliaAor lloliovos it is impassillio to camply witl1
tl10 orsor as issuos; aAs

(iii) A capy af all socumoAls tl1al provos Il1at sampliaAco is impassillio. If preaf
of impassillilily of samllliaAco ro~uiros 10stimoAy af aA iAsivisual(s),
iAclusiAg tl1at af tl10 potitiaAor, tl10 potiliaAor must sullmil SigAoS aAs
Aotari~os statomoAts tram ovoF)l iAsi'/isual 1110 politioAor iAtOASS ta rely
upaA allosliAg, uAsor aatl1, la tl10 roaSOAS wl1y campliaAco is impassillle,
No sacumoAlatioA ar 10stimaAy atl10r tl1aA tl1at sullmillos will llo
cOAsisoros iA makiAg aA iAilial solormiAaliaA aA, ar a ~Aal arsor iA
rospaAso ta. tl10 potiliaA.

2. Tl10 Boars autl1ori~os ils caAsultaAI aAs asmiAislralivo slaff ta mako aA iAitial
solormiAatiaA aA tl10 politioA aAS tako aAO af tl10 feliowiAg acliaAs:

(i) Gortify impossillility af campliaAco aAS ferwars tl10 poliliaA ta 1110 Offico af
GOAoral GauAsol fer prosoAtaliaA to tl10 Boars as aA uAcaAlostos mallor;
Qf

(iI) gOAY 1110 politiaA, aftor caAsultalioA will1 logal staff, if impassillilily of
campliaAco will1 tl10 previsiaAs af tl10 proviaus arsor is Aol prevoA aAs
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Aalify the petiliaAer of what proof of impassillility of sampliaAse was either
Aat s~ffjsieAt or Aal s~llmitleG-c

3. If the petitioA is preseAtee to the Baare the petitiaAer may Aat s~llmil aAy
aeeiliaAal eas~meAlatiaA or testimaAy ather IhaA thai saAtaiAee iA Ihe peliliaA as
arigiAally s~llmilleG,

4. If the petiliaA is graAtee a Ae','.' areer shall lle iss~ee reflestiAg Ihe maeifisatiaAs
a~therizee lly the Baare Ihat il eeemee appropriate aAe Aesessary iA relatiaA to
the vialatiaAs fe~Ae IA the previa~s areer.

5. If the petitioA is eeAiee either iAitially lly staff or aller preseAtatiaA to the Baare
aAe the pelltiaAer llellavas impassillility of sampliaAse with the areer has lleeA
s~ffjsieAtly proveA the petitiaAer may, as a~tharizae lly law, file a petitiaA fer a
eeslaratary areer p~rs~aAtta Ihe provisiaAs of T.eA. §4 § 223 aAe r~le 12QQ
1Q 1 .11.

(s) Farm PetitiaA
PetitioA fer Oreer MaeifisatiaA

TaAAessee Massage biseAs~re Baare

PetitiaAer's Name:
PeliliGAer's MailiAg Aeef8ss:

PetitiaAer's EMail Aeeress:
TelephaAe N~mller:

AtlafAey fer PetitiaAer:
AtlafAey's MailiAg Aeeress:

NtafAey's EMail Aeef8ss:
TelephaAe N~mller:

The petitiaAer respeslf~lIy represeAts Ihat fer the fellawiAg reasaAs, as s~llslaAtiatee lly
the atlashee eas~meAtallaA, the ieeAtifiee provisiaAs of the atlashee eissipliAary areer
are impassillie fer me to samply with:

Nate Ya~ m~sl eAslase all eas~meAts Aesessary to preve ya~r re~~est iAsl~eiAg a
sapy of the arigiAal areer. If aAy of the preaf ya~ are relyiAg ~paA 10 shaw impassillility
is the testimaAy of aAy iAei,'ie~al, iAsl~eiAg ya~rself, ya~ m~st eAslase sigAee aAe
Aalarizee slatemeAts from every iAeivie~al ya~ iAteAe to rely ~paA atlestiAg, ~Aeer

oath, to the reasaAS why sampliaAse is impassillie. No eas~meAtatiaA or testimaAy
ather thaA Ihal s~llmitlee wilille saAsleeree iA makiAg aA iAitial eelermiAatiaA aA, or a
fiAal areer iA respaAse to, thispetitiaA.
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I<R&es6jlll€elGstt!lI~Mlllyy-£s<l~lJ91m'lllltitle<egG-tl'thHlisHt;l'\hee-::~gl<alYy-£e>l-1======,-;12{fQ==

PetitiGAer's SigAat~fe

(4) Civil PeAalties

(a) P~fllese The Il~fllese el this f~le is te set e~t a ssheg~le gesigAatiAg the miAim~m-aflG

maxim~m si'/il lleAalties whish may lJe assesseg ll~fs~aAt te T.C.A. § ad 1 1d4.

(lJ) Ssheg~le el Civil PeAalties

1. A TYlle A Civil PeAalty may lJe imlleSeg wheAevef the 80arg HAgS a llersoA who
is f8q~ireg to lJe liseASeg, seFliHeg, Ilermitleg, or registereg lJy the 80arg, g~ilty

01 a willfully aAg kAowiAg violatloA 01 the Massage TherallY Prastise Ast, or
reg~latioAs Ilrom~lgateg ll~fs~aAt thereto, to s~sh aA exteAt that there Is, or is
likely te lJe, aA immiAeAt, s~lJstaAtial threat te the health, salety aAg wellaFe el aA
iAglvig~al slieAtele or the ll~lJlis. for Il~rlloses el this seslioA, willl~lIy aAg
kRGwiAgly IlrastislAg massage therallY or 0lleraliAg a massage estalJlishmeAt
withe~t a liseAse, IFem the 8earg is OAe 01 the violatioAs 01 the Massage TherallY
Prastise Ast fOf ',vhish a TYlle A Civil PeAalty is assessalJle.

2 A Tylle 8 Civil PeAalty may lJe Imlleseg wheAever the 8earg HAgS the llersoA
Feq~ireg to lJe liseAseg, seFliHeg, Ilermitleg, or Fegistereg lJy the 80arg Is g~i1ty of
a-violatioA 01 the Massage ThefallY Prastise Ast or reg~latioAs Ilrom~lgateg

ll~fs~aAt thereto iA s~sh maAAer as te imllasl glrestly OA the safe 01 slieAts or the
~

d. A TYlle C Civil PeAalty may lJe imlleSeg '....heAever the 80arg HAgS the llersoA
feq~iFeg to lJe liseASeg, seFliHeg, Ileffllitleg, or registereg lJy the 8earg Is g~ilty 01
a vielatloA of the Massage The<FaIlY Prastise Ast or feg~latioAs IlFem~lgateg

ll~fs~aAt thereto, whish aFe Aeither gifestly getrimeAtal to the llatieAts or ll~lJlis,

Aor glrestly imllast their sare, lJ~t have oAly aA iAgirest rolatieAshill te slieAtele
safe or the ll~lJlis.

(s) Ame~At ef Civil PeAalties.

1. Tylle P, Civil PeAalties shall lJe assesseg iA the amo~At of AOt less thaA $aQQ aAg
AOt mere thaA $1QQQ.

2. TYlle 8 Civil PeAalties may lJe assesseg iA the amo~At of AOt less thaA $1QQ aAg
Aet more thaA $aQQ.

d. TYlle C Civil PeAalties may lJe assesseg iA the amo~At of AOt less thaA $aQ aAg
Aet mere thaA $1QQ.

(g) Pf8seg~res fer AssessiAg Civil PeAalties

1. The DivisioA of Health Relateg 8eams may iAitlate a civil lleAalty assessmeAt lJy
IiliAg a MemOraAg~m el AssessmeAt el Civil PeAalty. Tho DivisioA shall state iA
the memOraAg~m the lasts aAg la'll ~IlOA whish it relios iA aliegiAg a violatioA, the
IlfOIleSOg amo~At of the civil lleAalty aAg the lJasis fef s~sh lleAalty. The DivisioA
may iAsorllorate the MemoraAg~m of AssessmeAt 01 Civil PeAal~/ with a Netise
ef Charges whish may lJe Iss~eg attoAgaAt thereto.
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2. Civil PeAallies may also lle iAitiated aAd assessed lly tAe Board dllriAg

sOAsideratioA of aAy Notise of CAarges. IA additioA, IAe Board may, IlpOA good
sallse sAowA, assess a type aAd amollAt of sivil peAally wAisA was AOt
resommeAded lly tAe QivisioA.

J. IA assessiAg tAe sjvil peAalties pllrsllaAlle IAese rilles tAe Board may sOAsider
tAe tellowiAg tastors:

(i) WAetAer IAe amollAI imposed will lle a sllllslaAtial esoAomis delerreAt to
IAe vialater;

(ii) TAe sirsllmstaAses leadiAgle tAe violalioA;

(iii) TAe severily of IAe '/iolalioA aAd tAe risk of Aarm to IAe plllllis;

(iv) TAe esoAomis lleAefits gaiAed lly tAe violator as a resllil of AOA
sompliaAse; aAd

(v) TAe iAterest of IAe plllliis.

4. All pFBseediAgs for tAe assessmeAt of sl'/il peAallies sAall lle go'/erAed lly tAe
sOAtestod sase provisioA otTilie 4, CAapler 5, T.C.A.

(5) All sOAtested sase AearlAgs llefore tAe Board sAall lle sOAdllsted pllrsllaAt to tAo IJAiterm
Rlllos of PFOsedllres for COAtesled Case HeariAgs Betere Stale AdmiAistrative AgeAsies,
Rllies CAapter 1Jag 4 of TAe Offisial CompiialioA of Rilles aAd ReglllatioAs of tAe State of
TeAAessee.

0870-01-.13 Disciplinary Actions and Civil Penalties

(1) Actions - Upon a finding by the Board that any provision of the Tennessee Massage
Therapist Practice Act or the rules promulgated pursuant thereto has been violated, the
Board may impose any of the following actions separately or in any combination deemed
appropriate to the offense.

(a) Denial of an application for licensure.

(b) "Letter of warning." This is a written action. It is informal and advisory in nature
and does not constitute a formal disciplinary action.

(c) "Formal reprimand." This is a written action. It is a formal disciplinary action.

(dl "Probation." This is a formal disciplinary action for a fixed period of time.

(el "Licensure suspension." This is a formal disciplinary action which suspends a
licensee's right to practice for a fixed period of time. It contemplates the re-entry
of the licensee into the practice under the license previously issued.

CD "Licensure revocation." This is a formal disciplinary action which removes a
licensee from the practice of the profession and terminates the license previously
issued. No new application for licensure from a person whose license was
revoked shall be considered prior to the expiration of at least one (1) year unless
otherwise stated in the Board's revocation order.
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(g) Conditions - Any action deemed appropriate by the Board to be required of a

disciplined licensee in any of the following circumstances:

1. During any period of probation, suspension;

2. As a prerequisite to the lifting of probation or suspension; or

3. As a stand-alone requirement or requirements in any disciplinary action.

(h) Civil penalty - A monetary disciplinary action assessed by the Board pursuant to
paragraph three (3) of this rule.

(i) Once ordered, probation. suspension. assessment of a civil penalty, or any other
condition(s) of any type of disciplinary action may not be lifted unless and until
the licensee appears before the Board after the period of initial probation,
suspension, or other conditioning has run and all conditions placed on the
probation, suspension, have been met. and after any civil penalties assessed
have been paid.

(2) Order Modifications - A licensee can petition the Board to moditv a previously issued
disciplinary order if the licensee cannot fulfill the conditions of the imposed discipline.
This procedure is only available after all reconsideration and appeal rights have been
either exhausted or not timely pursued. This procedure cannot be used to moditv any
findings of fact. conclusions of law, or the reasons for the decision contained in the order.

(a) The Board will entertain petitions for modification of the disciplinary portion of
previously issued orders upon strict compliance with the procedures set forth in
SUbparagraph (b) only when the petitioner can prove that compliance with any
one or more of the conditions or terms of the discipline previously ordered is
impossible. For purposes of this rule the term "impossible" does not mean that
compliance is inconvenient or impractical for personal, financial, scheduling or
other reasons.

(b) Procedures

1. The petitioner shall submit a written and signed Petition for Order
Modification to the Board's Office that shall contain all of the following;

(i) A copy of the previously issued order; and

(ii) A statement of why the petitioner believes it is impossible to
comply with the order as issued; and

(iii) A copy of all documents that proves that compliance is
impossible. If proof of impossibility of compliance requires
testimony of an individual(s), including that of the petitioner, the
petitioner must submit signed and notarized statements from
every individual the petitioner intends to rely upon attesting,
under oath, to the reasons why compliance is impossible. No
documentation or testimony other than that submitted will be
considered in making an initial determination on, or a final order
in response to, the petition.
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(i) Certify impossibility of compliance and fOlWard the petition to the
Office of General Counsel for presentation to the Board as an
uncontested matter: or

(ii) Deny the petition, after consultation with the Office of General
Counsel, if impossibility of compliance with the provisions of the
previous order is not proven and notify the petitioner of what
proof of impossibility of compliance was either not sufficient or
not submitted.

3. If the petition is granted, a new order shall be issued reflecting the
modifications authorized by the Board that it deemed appropriate and
necessarv in relation to the violations found in the previous order.

4. If the petition is denied either initially by staff or after presentation to the
Board and the petitioner believes impossibility of compliance with the
order has been sufficiently proven, the petitioner may reguest, in writing,
to appear before the Board not less than thirty (30) days before the next
regularly scheduled meeting of the Board.

(3) Civil Penalties - The purpose of this ruie is to set out a schedule designating the minimum
and maximum civil penalties which may be assessed pursuant to I.C.A. § 63-1-134.

(a) Schedule and Amount of Civil Penalties

1. A Type A civil penalty may be imposed whenever the Board finds the
person who is reguired to be licensed by the Board is guilty of a violation
of T.CA § 63-18-101, et seq. or regulations promulgated pursuant
thereto, to such an extent that there is, or is likely to be a substantial
threat to the health, safety and welfare of an individual client or the
public. For purposes of this section, a type A penalty shall include, but
not be limited to, a person who is or was practicing massage therapy
without a license from the Board. Type A civil penalties shall be
assessed in the amount of not less than $500 and not more than $1,000.

2. A Type B civil penally may be imposed whenever the Board finds the
person required to be licensed by the Board is guilty of a violation of
I.CA § 63-18-101, et seq. or regulations promulgated pursuant thereto
in such manner as to impact directly on the care of clients or the public.
Type B civil penalties may be assessed in the amount of not less than
$100 and not more than $500.

3. A Type C civil penalty may be imposed whenever the Board finds the
person required to be licensed, permitted, or authorized by the Board is
guilty of a violation of I.CA § 63-18-101, et seq. or regulations
promulgated pursuant thereto, which is neither directly detrimental to the
clients or public, nor directly impacts their care, but has only an indirect
relationship to client care or the public. Type C civil penalties may be
assessed in the amount of not less than $50 and not more than $100.

(b) Procedures for Assessing Civil Penalties
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1. During a contested case proceeding the Board may assess civil

penalties in a type and amount which was not recommended by the
Office of General Counsel.

2. In assessing civil penalties pursuant to these rules the Board may
consider the folloWing factors:

(i) Whether the amount imposed will be a substantial economic
deterrent to the violator:

(Ii) The circumstances leading to the violation:

(Iii) The severitv of the violation and the risk of harm to the public:

(Iv) The economic benefits gained by the violator as a result of non­
compliance: and

(v) The interest of the public.

3. All proceedings for the assessment of civil penalties shall be governed
by the contested case provisions of T.CA Title 4, Chapter 5.

Authority: T.CA §§4-5-202, 4-5-204, 4-5-217, 4-5-223, 63-18-106, 63-18-108, 63-18-109, and 63-18­
111. Administrative History: Original rule filed November 13, 1996; effective January 27, 1997.
Amendment filed Juiy 31, 2000; effective October 14, 2000. Amendment filed July 25, 2002; effective
October 8, 2002. Amendment filed August 2, 2004; effective October 16, 2004. Amendment filed March
24, 2006; effective June 7, 2006.

0870-01-.14 LICENSE.

(1) Display of License - Every person who has received a license from the Board in this state
shall display that license in a conspicuous place in his/her office/establishment and produce
the license when required by the Board or its authorized representatives.

(2) RelllaGemeAt liGeAse A liGeAsee wllese "artistiGally sesi9Aes" IiGeASe llas beeA lest er
sestreyes may be iss~es a relllaGemeAt liGeAse ~lleA reGeillt ef a wrilteA rel1~est iA tile
Bears /lsmiAistrative OIliGe. S~Gh rel1~est sllall be a_llaAies by a Aetarizes Ilassllert
tylle Ilhete9rallh aAs aA allisavit (si9Aes aAs Aetarizes) statiA9 the faGts GeAGerAiA9 the less
er sestr~GtieA ef the eri9iAailiGeAse aAs the rel1~ires fee 1l~f6~aAt te r~le Q87Q Q1 .QEl.

(2) Replacement License - A licensee whose initial or renewal license has been lost or
destroyed may be issued a replacement license upon receipt of a signed, written request
in the Board Administrative Office. The licensee shall include in such request the facts
concerning the loss or destruction of the original license and include the required fee
pursuant to Rule 0870-01-.06.

(3) Requests for Certificates of Fitness for licensees or registrants desiring to practice in another
state must be made in writing to the Board Administrative Office.

(4) Requests for verification of license must be made in writing to the Board Administrative
Office.
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Authority: T.G.A. §§4-5-202, 4-5-204, 63-1-106. 63-1-108, 63-1-109. 636 W6, 63-18-104, and 63-18­
111. Administrative History: Original rule filed November 13, 1996; effeclive January 27, 1997.
Amendment filed March 24, 2006; effective June 7, 2006.

0870 01 .15 CHANGE OF NAME ANg/OR AggRESS,

(1) CRaAge af Name 1\ liseAsee sRall Aatify tRe Ilaa~ iA writiAg wilRiA 3Q eays af a AafAe
GRaIl!le aAe ',','i11 pmviee lJatR tRe ale aAe Aew Aames. A req~est far Aame sRaAge fA~st alsa
iAsl~ee a sapy af tRe affisial eeS~meAt iAval'lee aAe refereAse tRe iAei'lle~al's ar
estalJlisRfAeAt's, pmfessiaA, sasial ses~rily, aAe liseAse A~mlJers.

(2) CRaAge af "'eeress EasR liseAsee wRa Ras Rae a sRaAge af aeeress ar plase af
emplaymeAt, sRall file iA I'IritiAg \'IitR IRe lJaare Ris/Rer s~rreAt aeemss, giviAg lJatR ale aAe
Aew aeeresses. S~SR Feq~esls sRall lJe reseivee iA tRe Ilaa~ AefAiAistrative Offise Aa later
tRaA 3Q eays after S~SR sRaAge is effestive aAe fA~st f9feFeASe tRe iAei'/ie~al's ar tRe
estalJlisRfAeAt's AafAe, sasial ses~Rty A~mlJer, aAe sertifisatiaA A~fAlJer.

(3) CRaAge af EstalJlisRmeAt Name aAelar Aeeress A liseAsee fAassage estalJliSRfAeAt sRall
Aatify tRe Ilaa~ iA writiAg easR time tRe estalJlisRfAeAt's Aame aAelar aeeress sRaAges Aa
later tRaA tRirty (30) eays after S~SR sRaAge is effestive. S~SR AatifisatiaA sRall iAsl~ee tRe
eslalJlisRmeAt's IiseAse A~fAlJer, ale aAe Ae'.... AafAeS, ale aAe Aew aeeresses, aAe IRe
FeplaSefAeAlliseAse fee, p~rs~aAt ta r~le 0070 01 .Oli (1) (I) aAe 0070 01 .Oli (2) (I).

Rule 0870-01-.15 Licensee Address and Name

The contact information required in this Rule is necessary for and shall be used for, among other things,
obtaining service of process in the event of a disciplinary action.

(1) Change of Name - Each licensee whose name has changed shall notify the Board in
writing of the name change and will provide both the old and new names. A notification
of name change must also include a copy of the official document demonstrating the
name change and must reference the licensee's license number. Such notification must
be received in the Board's Administrative Office no more than thirty (30) days after such
name change became effective.

(2) Change of Address - Each licensee who has had a change of practice address and/or
mailing address shall notify the Board in writing of his/her current practice and mailing
addresses, giving both old and new addresses. Such notification shall be received in the
Board's Administrative Office no more than 30 days after such change is effective and
must reference the individual's or the establishment's name and license number. If the
licensee has no current practice address, he/ she shall so inform the Board.

(3) Change of Establishment Name and/or Address - A licensed massage establishment
shall notify the Board in writing each time the establishment's name and/or physical
address changes no more than thirty (30) days after such change is effective. Such
notification shall include the establishment's license number, old and new names. and old
and new addresses. If the establishment has changed its name, it must pay the
replacement license fee, pursuant to rules 0870-01-.06(1)(0 and 0870-01-.06(2)(0. A re­
inspection fee is reguired when an establishment changes its physical address.

Authority: T.G.A. §§4-5-202, 4-5-204, 63-1-106, 63-1-108, and 63-18-111. Administrative History:
Original rule filed November 13, 1996; effeclive January 27, 1997. Amendment filed August 10, 1999;
effeclive October 24, 1999. Amendment filed July 25, 2002; effeclive October 8, 2002. Amendment filed
March 24, 2006; effeclive June 7, 2006.
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087001 ,16 OFFICERS, CONSUlTANTS, RECORDS, DEClARATORY ORDERS, J\ND
SCREENING Pl..NElS.

(1) TAe Bears sAall ann~ally elesllFem ils memeers IAe lellewing ellisers:

(a) CAairl'lersen wAe sAall, ~nless aesenl, I'lresiSe allAe BearS meelings.

(e) SesrelaF)' TFeas~rer wAe aleng \'lilA lAe Bears ,Mminislraler sAall ee resl'lensiele ler
serresl'lensense IFem lAe BearS. TAe sesrelaF)' sAal1 I'lresiSe al all meelings al wAisA
IAe sAairl'lerson is aesent.

(2) Min~les ollAe BearS meolings anS all reserss, sos~menls, al'll'llisaliens, ans serrosl'lensonso
'.... i11 ee mainlaines in lAe BearS Asminislralive Olliso.

(a) All re~~esls, al'll'llisalions, nelisos, soml'llainls, olAor somm~nisalions ans
serresl'lonsense sAall ee Sireslos 10 lAe BoarS Asminislrali'Jo Olliso. Any re~~esls or
in~~iries re~~iring a BoarS sesisien er ollisial BoarS aslien oxsol'll sos~monls relating
Ie Sissil'llinary asliens, seslaralery oFSers or AoaFing re~~esls m~sl ee rosei'Jos
le~r1een (14) says I'lrior te a sSAes~los Bears moeling ans will ee rotainos in tAo
Asminislralivo Ollise anS I'lresenles Ie lAO Bears al tAo Bears meoting. S~sA

ses~menls net timely resoivos sAall ee sel e'Jor te lAO noxt Bears mooling. .

(e) All reserss ellAo BoarS, exsol'lllAeSo mase senHsenlial ey law, are ol'len ler insl'lostien
anS oxaminalion, ~nSor lAO s~l'lorvision 01 an oml'lleyoo 01 lAe Civision al tAe Boars
Asminislralivo Olliso s~ring neFFAal e~siness Ae~rs.

(s) COl'lies 01 I'l~elis resorss sAall ee I'lFe'JiSeS Ie any I'lorsen ~I'len I'laymont el a sel'lying
fee,

(S) 1\11 soml'llainls againsllisonsees er eslaelisAmenls sAe~ls ee sirestes 10 IAe Civision's
Invosligaliens SosUen ans net 10 tAe Bears or any el its memeers.

(d) TAO Bears a~tAorizes ils sons~llant, wAo may ee a BearS memeer er a BoarS sesi!jlla\eS
lisensos massago lAoral'lisl eilAer serving vel~nlarily or eml'lloyos I'l~rs~anllo sonlrasl wilA
lAO Civision, Ie asl, ans wAe is vesleS '.... ilA lAe a~IAerily ollAe BoarS 10 So lAO lellowing asls
on eOAa11 01 tAe BoarS:

(a) Reviow ans mako inilial selerminalions on lisens~re, renewal, ans reastivalion 01
lisens~ro al'll'llisaliens s~9jesl 10 lAe r~les govorning lAOSO resl'loslivo al'll'llisalions. A
BoarS sosigneo may also I'lerferm lAese sorvises.

(e) Sorvo as Cens~ltanlle lAe Civision Ie aosiso lAe lelle'lling:

1. WAolAer ans '....Aallyl'lo Sissil'llinary asliens sAo~ls eo instiMes ~I'len seml'llainls
roseives or invesUgaliens senS~sleS ey lAO Civision.

2. WAolAor ans ~nSer wAallerms a seml'llainl, saso er Sissil'llinary astien migAI eo
soltioS. Any malter I'lFel'leses ler soltlemonl m~sl eo s~ese~~onlly ralilies ey IAe
I~II Boars eolere ilwill eesome elfestive.

d. Any olAer maltor a~tAerizoS ey IAeso r~los or a majorily velo 01 lAO BoarS.

(4) Ceslaralory OFSers TAe Bears aSol'lls, as ill~lIy sol 0~1 Aorein, r~le 1200 1Q 1.11, 01 lAO
Civision 01 ~eallA Rolales Boarss anS as il may IFem limo Ie lime eo amensos, as ils r~lo
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gevemiRg Ihe deslaralery erder ~fQsess. All deslaralePj erder ~etitieRs iRvelviRg slaMes,
HIles er erners '/IithiR the j~risdislieR ef the Beam shall Ile addressed Ily the Beard ~~rs~aRI

Ie Ihat r~le aRd Rei Ily the Qi'/isieR. Qeslaratery-Gfder PetitieR terms saR Ile elllaiRed Hem
Ihe Beam's admiRistrati'Je effise.

(5) The Beard a~lherizes the memller whe shaired the Beard ter a seRtested sase Ie Ile Ihe
ageRsy memller te make the desisieRs a~thmized ~~f6~aRt te r~le 136G G4 G1 .18 fBgarniRg
~etilieRs fer reseRsideralieRs aRe stays iR Ihat sase.

(6) £sreeRiRg PaRels The Beare ade~ls, as if f~lIy set e~t hereiR, r~ie 12GG 1G G1 .13, ef the
QivisieR ef Health Relaled Beards aRe as it may ffQm lime Ie time Ile ameRded, as ils r~le

gevemiRg Ihe ssreeRiRg ~aRel ~fQsess.

0870-01-.16 Officers, ConSUltants, Records, Declaratory Orders, and Screening Panels.

(1) The Board shall annually elect from its members the following officers:

(a) Chairperson - who shall, unless absent, preside at the Board meetings.

(b) Secretary-Treasurer - who along with the Board Administrator shall be
responsible for correspondence from the Board. The secretary shall preside at all
meetings at which the chairperson is absent.

(2) Minutes of the Board meetings and all records, documents, applications, and
correspondence will be maintained in the Board Administrative Office.

(a) All requests, applications, notices, complaints, other communications and
correspondence shall be directed to the Board Administrative Office. Any
requests or inquiries requiring a Board decision or official Board action except
documents relating to disciplinary actions, declaratory orders or hearing requests
must be received fourteen (14) days prior to a scheduled Board meeting and will
be retained in the Administrative Office and presented to the Board at the Board
meeting. Such documents not timely received shall be set over to the next Board
meeting.

(b) All records of the Board, except those made confidential by law, are open for
inspection and examination, under the superyision of an employee of the Division
at the Board Administrative Office during normal business hours.

(c) All complaints against licensees or establishments should be directed to the
Division's Investigations Section and not to the Board or any of its members.

(3) The Board shall appoint a Board Consultant, who may be a Board member or a Board
designated licensed massage therapist either serving voluntarily or employed pursuant to
contract with the Division, and authorizes said Consultant to act with the authority of the
Board to do the following on behalf of the Board:

(a) Review and make initial determinations on licensure, renewal, and reactivation of
licensure applications SUbject to the rules governing those respective
applications and subject to subsequent ratification by the Board.

(b) Serve as Consultant to the Division to review complaints and request patient
records under T.CA § 63-1-117.
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(4) Declaratory Orders - Petitions for Declaratory Order shall be resolved in accordance with
the Tennessee Uniform Administrative Procedures Act.

(5) The Board authorizes the member who chaired the Board for a contested case to be the
agency member to make the decisions authorized pursuant to rule 1360-04-01-.18 of the
Rules of the Department of State regarding petitions for reconsiderations and stays in
that case.

(6) Screening Panels - The Board adopts, as if fUlly set out herein, rule 1200-10-01-.13. of
the Rules of the Division of Health Related Boards and as it may from time to time be
amended. as its rule governing the screening panel process.

Authority: T.G.A. §§4-5-202, 4-5-204, 4-5-223, 4-5-224, 63-1-138, 63-18-103, 63-18-108, 63-18-109,
and 63-18-111. Administrative History: Original rule fiied November 13, 1996; effective January 27,
1997. Amendment filed August 10, 1999; effective October 24, 1999. Amendment fiied July 31, 2000;
effective October 14, 2000. Amendment fiied March 24, 2006; effective June 7, 2006. Amendment fiied
June 16, 2006; effective August 30, 2006.

0870-01-.17 ADVERTISING.

(1) Palicy Slalement. The lack af sallhisticatian an lhe llaFt af many meml3aFS af the llijl3lic
canceming Ilmtessianal massage saFVices, lhe imllaFtance af lhe interests affectee l3y lhe
chaice at a massage lheFallisl aF a massage eslal3lishment ane the faFeseeal3le
canse~ijences af ijnFeslFiclae advaFtising l3y massage theFallisls aF an l3ehalf af massage
estal3lishmenls, which is Fecagnized la Ilase sllecial llassil3ililies teF eecelltian, Fe~ijiFe lhat
sllecial cam l3e laken ta avaie misleaeing the llijl3lic. The massage lheFallisl ane massage
estal3lishmenls mijstl3e minefullhallhe l3ene~ls at adveFtising eellene ijllan its Felial3ilily ane
accijFacy. Since ad'leFtising is calcijlated and nat sllanlaneaijs, Feasanal3le Fegijlatian
designee la fesleF camlliiance wilh allllmllFiale slaneaFds seFVes lhe llijl3lic inteFesl '.vilhaijl
imlleding lhe ~aw af ijsefijl, meaningful, and rele'Janl infeFmatian la lhe llijl3lic.

(2) lJe~nitians as ijsed in this Fijle lhe fellawing leFms shall have the meanings aSGFil3ee la
them;

(a) Ae'leFtisement InfeFmalianal cammijnicalian la lhe llijl3lic in any manneF eesignee ta
allFacl llijl3lic allantian la lhe IlFaclice af a Tennessee licensee massage lheFallisl aF
massage eslal3lishment.

(13) licensee. ,'\ny lleFSan haleing a license ta IlFactice massage theFallY aF as a massage
eslal3lishment in lhe Slale af Tennessee. Whem alllllical3le lhis shall inclijee
llaFtneFShills anelaF caFllaFatians,

(c) MaleFial ~act. Any facl which an aFeinary Feasanable-ane IlFijeent lleFsan >,Vaijle neee
la knaw aF Fely ijllan in making an infeFmee eecisian canceming lhe charGe af
IlFaclilianeFs aF eslal3lishmenls ta seFVe his aF heF llaFticijlaF neees.

(e) Bait ane Switch AeveFtising. An allijFing l3ijt insinceFe alieF la sell a Ilmeijct aF seFVice
which lhe aeveFtiseF in tFijlh eees nat inlane aF >'vanlla sell aF IlFeviee. lis llijFllase is ta
swilch canSijmeFS fFem l3ijying aF Fecei'/ing the aevertisee meFchaneise aF seFVicas, in
aFeeF ta sell aF Ilmviee sametlling else, ijsijally at a higheF tee m an a l3asis maFe
ae'Janlageaijs ta the aevertiseF.

(e) lJiscaijnlee fee. Shall mean a tee alleFee aF chaFgee l3y a lleFsan, mganizatian aF
eslal3lishmenl feF any massage theFallY IlFeeijct aF seFVice thai is less than lhe tee lhe
peFS9n aF aFganizatian ijsijally alleFs aF charoges faF lhe IlFeeijct aF seFVice. Pmeijcts aF
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(Rule 0870-01-.17, continued)
seNiees expressly offeree wee of ehaFlJe shall not ee eeemee to ee offeree at a
"eiseountee fee".

(3) Aevertising fees ane SeNiees

(a) fixee fees. fixee fees may ee ae'iertisee for any serviee.

1. It is presumee unless othefWlse statee in the aevertisement that a ~xee fee fGf-a
serviee shall ineluee the eost of all professionally resognizee eomponents '.... ithin
generally aeeeptee staneares that are re~uiree to somplete the serviee.

(e) Ranges of fees. A range of fees may ee aevertisee for servises ane the aevertisement
must eisslose the faetors usee in eet8ffilining the aetual foe, neeessary to prevent
eeeeption of the puelie.

(e) Qiseount fees. Qiseount fees may ee aevertisee if:

1. The eiseount foe is in faet lower than the lieensee's eustomary or usual fee
ehargee for the seNiee; ane

2. The lieensee proviees the same quality ane eomponents of serviee ane materiai
at the eiseountee fee that are normally provleee at the regular noneiseountee fee
for that serviee.

(e) Relatee SeNiees ane Aeeitional fees. Relatee seNlees whieh may ee requiree in
eonjunetion with the aevortisee servieo for whieh aeeitional fees will ee ehargee must
ee ieenti~ee as sueh in any aevortisement.

(e) Time perioe of Aevertisee fees. Aevertisee fees shall ee honoree for those seeking the
aevertisee seNiees euring the entire time porioe statee in the aevertisement whether or
not the seNiees are aetually reneeree or eompletee within that time.

1. If no time perioe is statee in the aevertisement of feos, the aevertisee fee shall ee
honoree for thirty (3Q) eays wom the last eate of puelisation or until the next
seheeuloe puelieation whiehe'ier is later whether or not tho seNiees are aetually
reneeree or eompleteewithin that time.

(1) Policy Statement. Lack of sophistication on the part of many members of the public
concerning professional massage services, the importance of the interests affected by
the choice of a massage therapist or a massage establishment and the foreseeable
consequences of unrestricted advertising by massage therapists or on behalf of massage
establishments, which is recognized to pose special possibilities for deception, require
that special care be taken to avoid misleading the public. Massage therapists and
massage establishments must be mindful that the benefits of advertisinq depend upon its
reliability and accuracy. Since advertising is calculated and not spontaneous, reasonable
requlation designed to foster compliance with appropriate standards serves the public
interest without impeding the flow of useful, meaningful, and relevant information to the
public.

(2) Definitions - As used in this ruie, the following terms shall have the meanings ascribed to
them:
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(Rule 0870-01-.17, continued)
(a) Advertisement - Informational communication to the public in any manner

designed to attract public attention to the practice of a Tennessee licensed
massage therapist or massage establishment.

(b) Material Fact - Any fact which a reasonable and prudent person would need to
know or rely upon in making an informed decision concerning the choice of
practitioners or establishments to serve his or her particular needs.

(c) Bait and Switch Advertising - An alluring but insincere offer to sell a product or
service which the advertiser in truth does not intend or want to sell or provide. Its
purpose is to switch consumers from buying or receiving the advertised
merchandise or services, in order to sell or provide something else, usually at a
higher fee or on a basis more advantageous to the advertiser.

(d) Discounted Fee - A fee offered or charged by a person, organization or
establishment for any massage therapy product or service that is less than the
fee the person or organization usually offers or charges for the product or
service. Products or services expressly offered free of charge shall not be
deemed to be offered at a "discounted fee."

(3) Advertising Fees and Services

(a) Fixed Fees. Fixed fees may be advertised for any service. It is presumed, unless
otherwise stated in the advertisement. that a fixed fee for a service shall include
the cost of all professionally recognized components within generally accepted
standards that are reguired to complete the service.

(b) Ranges of Fees. A range of fees may be advertised for services. However, the
advertisement must disclose the factors used in determining the actual fee,
necessarv to prevent deception of the public.

(c) Discount Fees. Discount fees may be advertised if:

1. The discount fee is in fact lower than the licensee's customary or usual
fee charged for the service: and

2. The licensee provides the same quality and components of service and
material at the discounted fee that are normally provided at the regular
nondiscounted fee for that service.

(d) Related Services and Additional Fees. Related services which may be reguired
in conjunction with the advertised service for which additional fees will be
charged must be identified as such in any advertisement.

(e) Time Period of Advertised Fees. Advertised fees shall be honored for those
seeking the advertised services during the entire time period stated in the
advertisement whether or not the services are actually rendered or completed
within that time. If no time period is stated in the advertisement of fees, the
advertised fee shall be honored for thirty (30) days from the last date of
publication or until the next scheduled publication, whichever is later, whether or
not the services are actually rendered or completed within that time.

(4) Advertising Content. The following acts or omissions in the context of advertisement by any
licensee shall constitute unethical and unprofessional conduct, and subject the licensee to
disciplinary action pursuant to T.CA § 63-18-108.
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CHAPTER 0870-01

(a) Claims that the services performed, personnel employed, materials or office equipment
used are professionally superior to that which is ordinarily performed, employed or
used, or that convey the message that one licensee is better than another when
superiority of services, personnel, materials or equipment cannot be substantiated.

(b) The misleading use of an unearned or non-health degree in any advertisement.

(c) Promotion of a professional service which the licensee knows or should know is
beyond the licensee's ability to perform.

(Q) TesRAi~<Jes af samm<JAisaliaA wRisR iAlimiQale, exert <JAQ<Je ~ress<Jre ar <JAQ<Je
iAfl<JeAse aver a ~ras~estive slieAlele.

(dl Techniques of communication which intimidate, exert undue pressure or undue
influence over a prospective client.

(e) Any appeals to an individual's anxiety in an excessive or unfair manner.

(I) The use of any personal testimonial attesting to a quality or competence of a service or
treatment offered by a licensee that is not reasonably verifiable.

(g) Utilization of any statistical data or other information based on past performances for
predication of future services, which creates an unjustified expectation about results
that the licensee can achieve.

(h) The communication of personal identifiable facts, data, or information about a client
without first obtaining client consent.

(i) Any misrepresentation of a material fact.

U) The knowing suppression, omission or concealment of any material fact or law without
which the advertisement would be deceptive or misleading.

(k) Statements concerning the benefits or other attributes of procedures or products that
involve significant risks without including:

1. A realistic assessment of the safety and efficiency of those procedures or
products; and

2. The availability of alternatives; and

3. Where necessary to avoid deception, descriptions or assessment of the benefits
or other attributes of those alternatives.

(I) Any communication which creates an unjustified expectation concerning the potential
results of any treatment.

(m) Failure to comply with the rules governing advertisement of fees and services, and
advertising records.

(n) The use of "bait and switch" advertisements. Where the circumstances indicate "bait
and switch" advertising, the board may require the licensee to furnish data or other
evidence pertaining to those sales at the advertised fee as well as other sales.
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CHAPTER 0870-01

(0) Misrepresentation of a licensee's credentials, training, experience or ability.

(p) Failure to include the corporation, partnership or individual licensee's name in any
advertisement. Any corporation, partnership or association which advertises by use of
a trade name or otherwise fails to list all licensees practicing at a particular location
shall:

1. Upon request provide a list o(aillicensees at that location; and

2. Maintain and conspicuously display at the licensee's office, a directory listing all
licensees practicing at that location.

(q) Failure to disclose the fact of giving compensation or anything of value to
representative of the press, radio, television or other communicative medium in
anticipation of or in return for any advertisement (for example, newspaper article)
unless the nature, format or medium of such advertisement make the fact of
compensation apparent.

(r) After thirty (3Qj eays, the ~se af the Rame af aRY liseRsee formerly praslisiR~ at ar
assasiatee with aRY aeveRisee lasatiaR ar aR eflise si~Rs er ll~ileiR~s. (This r~le shall
Ret apply iR the sase ef a retiree er eeseasee former assesiate whe prastisee iR
assesiatieR with eRe er mere ef the preseRt ess~paRts if the stat~s ef the former
assesiate is eisslesee iR aRY aeveRisemeRt er si~Rj.

(r) The use of the name of any licensee formerly practicing at or associated with any
advertised location or on office signs or buildings after thirty (30) days from the
departure of that licensee. (This rule shall not apply in the case of a retired or
deceased former associate who practiced in association with one or more of the
present occupants if the status of the former associate is disclosed in any
advertisement or sign).

(s) Stating or implying that a certain licensee provides all services when any such services
are performed by another licensee.

(t) Directly or indirectly offering, giving, receiving or agreeing to receive any fee or other
consideration to or from a third party for the referral of a client in connection with the
performance of professional services.

(5) Advertising Records and Responsibility

(a) Each licensee who is a principal partner, or officer of a firm or entity identified in any
advertisement, is jointly and severally responsible for the form and content of any
advertisement. This provision shall also include any licensed professional employees
acting as an agent of such entity.

(b) Any and all advertisement are presumed to have been approved by the licensee
names therein.

(c) A recording of every advertisement communicated by electronic media, and a copy of
every advertisement communicated by print media, and a copy of any other form of
advertisement shall be retained by the licensee for a period of two (2) years from the
last date of broadcast or publication and be made available for review upon request by
the Board or its authorized representative.
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CHAPTER 0870-01

(d) At the time any type of advertisement is placed, the licensee must possess and reply
upon information which, when produced, would substantiate the truthfulness of any
assertion, omission or representation of material fact set forth in the advertisement or
public communication.

(0) Sevefaeility. It is l1efeey aeclaFea tl1at tl1e sectieRs, clauses, seRteRces aRa Ilafl el tl1ese
fules afe se'/efaele, afe Ret mattefs el mutual esseRtial iRaucemeRt, aRa aRy el tl1em sl1all ee
exsciRaeG-if-tllese fules \'Ieula etl1erwise ee uRceRstilutieRal ef iReffective. II aRy eRe ef mere
sectieRs, clauses, seRteRces ef Ilafls sl1all fef aRy feaseR ee questieRea iR ceufl, aRa sl1all
ee a(jjuagea uRceRstitutieRal ef iR'/alia, sucl1 jua9meRt shall Ret affect, imllaif ef iRvaliaate
tl1e femaiRiR9 IlFevisieRs tl1efeel, eut sl1all ee ceRfiRea iR its ellefatieR te tl1e sllecific
IlFe'/isieR ef IlFevisieRs se l1ela uRceRstilutieRal ef iR'Ialia, aRa tl1e iRalllllicaeility ef iRvaliaity
el aRy sectieR, clause, seRteRce ef Ilafl iR aRy eRe ef meFa iRstaRces sl1all Ret ee takeR te
affect ef Ilfejuaice iR aRy way its alllllicaeility ef valiaily iR aRy etl1ef iRstaRce.

Authority: T.C.A. §§4-5-202, 4-5-204, 63-1-145, 63-1-146, 63-18-108, and 63-18-111. Administrative
History: Original rule filed November 13, 1996; effective January 27, 1997. Amendments filed March 24,
2006; effective June 7, 2006.

0870-01-.18 CONSUMER RIGHT-TO-KNOW REQUIREMENTS.

(1) MalllFactice FellefliR9 fequiremeRts. Tl1e tl1fesl1ela ameuRt eelel'll'll1icl1 meaical malllFactice
jua9meRts, a\'lafaS eF seUiemeRts iR wl1icl1 llaymeRts afe awaraea te cemlliaiRiR9 Ilaflies
Reea Ret ee fellertea IlUfSuaRt te tl1e "I<lealth Cafe CeRsumef Ri911t Te KRe'.·I Act el 1QQ8"
sl1all ee teR tl1eusaRa aellafs ($10,000).

(1) Malpractice reporting requirements. Pursuant to the "Health Care Consumer Right-to­
Know Act of 1998" codified at T.C.A. § 63-51-105, licensees shall report any and all
professional malpractice judgments, awards or settlements in which payments to
complaining parties exceed ten thousand dollars ($10,000).

(2) Criminal conviction reporting requirements. For purposes of the "Health Care Consumer
Right-To-Know Act of 1998", the following criminal convictions must be reported:

(a) Conviction of any felony.

(b) Conviction or adjudication of guilt of any misdemeanor, regardless of its classification,
in which any element of the misdemeanor involves anyone or more of the following:

1. Sex.

2. Alcohol or drugs.

3. Physical injury or threat of injury to any person.

4. Abuse or neglect of any minor, spouse or the elderly.

5. Fraud or theft.

(c) If any misdemeanor conviction reported under this rule is ordered expunged, a copy of
the order of expungement signed by the judge must be submitted to the Department
before the conviction will be expunged from any profile.
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(Rule 0870-01-.19, continued)
(3) Licensees shall notify the Board Administrative Office within thirty (30) days of a

reportable event under this Rule (malpractice payment or conviction).

Authority: T.G.A. §§4-5-202, 4-5-204, 63-18-111, 63-18-111, and 63-51-101, et seq. Administrative
History: Original rule 0870-01-.18 filed March 14, 2000; effective May 28,2000. Amendment filed March
24, 2006; effective June 7, 2006.

087001 .19 PROFESSIONAl ETWICAl STANDARDS.
Therapists And Establishments............... .. ..

Professional and Ethical Standards for
• •• •• • _ ••••••• u • • •• • -."., { Forn

(1) TAe !laafs fall~ifes liGensaes ta ~JjAals Jjfefessianal etAiGal stansafss tAat allaw fef tAe
JjfeJjef SiSGAafge af tAeif fesJjansigilities ta tAase serves, tAat JjfeteGt tAe integfity af tAs
Jjfefessian, ans tAat safeg~afs tAe intefest af insivis~al Glients. Ta aSAsfB ta tAsss
Jjfafessianal stAiGal stansafss, liGansess will:

(a) I',GG~ratsly infafm Glisnts, atAsf AsaltA Gafe JjfaGtitianefs, ans tAs Jj~gliG af tAs sGaJjs
ans Ilmitatians af tAsif SisGiJjlins; ans

(g) AGknawlssgs tAs limitatians af ans GantrainsiGatians fef massags ans gasywafk ans
fBfef Glisnts ta aJjJjfeJjfiats AealtA-pfefessianals; ans

(G) Avais any intefest, aGtivity af infl~snGs \'IAiGA migAt ge in GanmGt 'NitA tAS liGensee's
agligatian ta aGt in tAa gest intefests af tAS Glient af tAe Jjfefessian; ans

(s) CamJjly '/IitA all aJjJjliGagle Tennessee staMes ans feg~latians as .....ell as Gfsefs
isslJes sy tAs !laafS Jj~fs~ant ta its sisGiJjlinal)' anslaf SeGlafatal)' afsef a~tAafity; ans

(e) Cans~Gt tAeif g~siness ans Jjf8fessianal aGtivities \'IitA Aanesty ans integfity, ans
fesJjeGt tAe inAefent 'NaRA af all Jjefsans; ans

(I) Cansistently maintain ans imJjfa'..e Jjfafessianal knawlesge ans GamJjetenGe, stfi'/ing
fef Jjfafessianal sXGelienGe tAfa~gA feg~laf assessment af Jjefsanal ans Jjfefessianal
stfengtAs ans '....eaknesses ans tAfB~gA Gantin~es sS~Gatian tfaining; ans

(g) ExefGiss tAe figAt ta fef~se ta tfeat any Jjefsan af JjaR af tAe gasy faf j~st ans
fBasanagle Ga~se; ans

(A) Ha...s a sinGefe Gammitment ta Jjfe,..ise tAe AigAest ll~ality af Gafe ta tAase tAat seek
tAeif JjfBfessianal sefViGes; ans

(i) Pfa\'ise sfaJjing ans tfeatment in a way tAat enS~fes tAS safety, GamfeR ans JjfivaGy af
tAe Glient; ans

UJ Pfe... ise tfsatment anly wAefe tAefe is feasanagle eXJjeGtatian tAat it .....iII ge
asvantagea~s ta tAe Glient; ans

(k) Re!fain, ~nsef all GifG~mstanGes, ffem initiating af engaging in any sex~al Gans~Gt,

sex~al aGtivities, af sex~alizin!l geAa"iaf invalving a Glient, even if tAe Glient attsmJjts ta
sex~alize tAe felatiansAiJj; ans

(I) Reffain, if tAe liGensees afB awnefS af emJjlayees af a massage tAeraJjy eS~Gatianal

Jjfagram aJjJjfa'/es gy tAe !loafS Jj~fs~ant ta R~le Q87Q 2 .Q2, !fam sating af Aa... ing a
sex~al fBlatiansAiJj witA any st~sant wAile tAe st~sent is enfalles, inGI~sing tAe Jjefias
af time setween samestefs af attensanGa; ans
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(m) Refrain, if the lisensees are ewners er emllleyees ef a massage therallY ealJsalienal
IlfGgram allllfG'Jea lJy the Beare IllJrslJant to RlJle 0870 02 .02, frem selislting any
stlJaent te lJe a client er s~stemer fer massage therallY servises '.·.·hile the st~aent is
enfGllea, insl~aingthe 1l8fi~me lJetween semesters ef attenaanse; ana

(n) Refrain ffem IlfGlJiaing servises when they are either Ilhysisally er mentally insallalJle ef
safely aeing se. The term "safely" as ~sea in this rlJle means safely ef the massage
therallists ana anyene they seme in sentact with a~ring the se~rse ef IlFGfessienal
Ilrastise; ana

(e) Refuse any gifts er lJenefits whish are intenaea te in~~ense a referral, aesisien er
treatment that afe-j}~rely fer Ilersenal gain ana net fer the geea ef the slient; ana

(Il) Ref~se te IJnjlJslly aissriminate against clients er ether health Ilrefessienals; ana

('1) Rellresent their '1~alifisatiens heneslly, insl~aing their ea~satienal ashie'/ements ana
IlFGfessienal affiliatiens, ana IlFGviae enly these servises '....Ilish they are '1~alifiea ana
Iisensea te Ilerform; ana

(r) Resllest the client's lJe~naaries with regara te Ilrivasy, aissles~re, eXlleslJre, emetienal
eXllressien, lJeliefs, the slient's a~tenemy, ana the slient's reasenalJle eXllectatiens ef
IlrefessienallJehalJier; ana

(s) Resllest the slient's right te ref~se, meaily, er terminate treatment regaraless ef Ilrier
sensent given; ana

(t) Resllest the client's right te treatment with infermea ana vel~ntary sensent lJy elJtaining
ana reseraing infermea vel~ntary written sensent ef the slient, er client's aavesate,
lJefere Ilerforming

1. theralle~tis treatments lJeyena the nermal narfGwing ef the ear sanai ana nermal
narfGwing ef the nasal Ilassages; ana

2. theralle~tic treatments in the efGllharnyx; ana

3. theralle~tis same genaer IJreast massage; ana

(~) Resllestthe slient's rightte treatment witll infeffRea ana '/ellJntary sensent lJy elJtaininl}
ana reseraing infeffRea vel~ntary written er 'JerlJal sensent ef the slient, er slient's
aavesate, lJefere IlFGlJiaing treatment etller than the tre,atments iaentifiea in
s~lJllaragrallh (1) ('1) ef this r~le; ana

('I) Safeg~ara the senfiaentialily ef all client infermatien, ~nless the client IlFGlJiaes written
Ilermissien te release slJsh infermatien; er

1. when slJsh infermatien is re'1lJestea a~ring a feffRal inllestigatien lJy
rellresentatives ef the State ef Tennessee er ether law enfersement agensies; er

2. when re'1lJirea te ae se IllJfGlJant te any astien in a SelJR ef law; er

3. where re'1~irea lJy law te relleR te state er feaeral agensies; ana

(w) Net Ilrastice in an ~nlisensea massage estalJlishment. {I, massage therallist may net
lJe IlfGseclJtea IJnaer this rlJle if helshe has a written statement, signea lJy the
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eslalJlisRmeRI eWRer aRa Relarizea prier Ie IRe aale ef IRe IRerapisl's empleymeRI,
slaliRglRallRe eslalJlisRmeRI is liseRsea as a massage eslalJlisRmeRI.

(2) Violation of any provision listed in paragraph (1) is grounds for disciplinary action, as provided
in Rule 0870-01-.13.

0870-01-.19 Professional and Ethical Standards for Therapists and Establishments. Forn
Italic

(1) The Board requires licensed therapists and licensed establishments to uphold
professional and ethical standards that allow for the proper discharge of their
responsibilities to those served, that protect the integritv of the profession, and that
safeguard the interests of individual clients. To ensure compliance with these
professional ethical standards, licensed therapists. and, when applicable. licensed
establishments, must:

(a) Accurately inform clients, other health care practitioners, and the public of the
scope and limitations of their discipline: and

(b) Acknowledge the limitations of and contraindications for massage and bodvwork
and, when appropriate, refer clients to appropriate health professionals: and

(c) Avoid any interest. activitv or influence which might be in conflict with the
licensee's obligation to act in the best interests of the client or the profession: and

Id) Comply with all applicable Tennessee statutes and regulations as well as Orders
issued by the Board pursuant to its disciplinarv and/or deciaratorv order authority:
and

Ie) Conduct their business and professional activities with honesty and integrity, and
respect the inherent worth of all persons: and

<0 Consistently maintain and improve professional knowledge and competence.
striving for professional excellence through regular assessment of personal and
professional strengths and weaknesses and through continued education
training: and

Ig) Exercise the right to refuse to treat any person or part of the body for just and
reasonable cause: and .

Ih) Have a sincere commitment to provide the highest guality of care to those that
seek their professional services: and

(j) Provide draping and treatment in a way that ensures the safetv, comfort and
privacy of the client: and

(j) Provide treatment only where there' is reasonable expectation that it will be
advantageous to the client: and

(k) Refrain, under all circumstances, from initiating, arranging for, or engaging in any
sexual conduct. sexual activitv, or sexualizing behavior involving a client. even if
the client attempts to sexualize the relationship: and

(I) Refrain, under all circumstances, from providing the following treatments, which
are prohibited and not within the scope of practice for massage therapists:
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1.

2.

3.

Treatments to the anus or anal canal, including. but not limited to, colonic
irrigations and enemas;

Cross-aender breast massage;

Treatments to the genitals.

(m) Refrain, if the licensees are owners or employees of a massage therapy
educational program approved by the Board pursuant to Rule 0870-02-.02, from
dating or having a sexual relationship with any student of such program while the
student is enrolled, including the period of time between semesters of
attendance; and

(n) Refrain. if the licensees are owners or employees of a massage therapy
educational program approved by the Board pursuant to Rule 0870-02-.02. from
soliciting any student of such program to be a client or customer for massage
therapy services while the student is enrolled. including the period of time
between semesters of attendance; and

(0) Refrain from providing services when the licensee is either physically or mentally
incapable of safely doing so. The term "safely" as used in this rule means safety
of the massage therapists and anyone they come in contact with during the
course of professional practice; and

(p) Represent their gualifications honestly. including their educational achievements
and professional affiliations. and provide only those services which they are
gualified and licensed to perform; and

(g) Respect the client's boundaries with regard to privacv. disclosure. exposure.
emotional expression. beliefs. and autonomy. as well as the client's reasonable
expectations of professional behavior; and

(r) Before proceeding with a massage. explain to the client expected draping
technigues and provide the client a clean drape large enough for the purpose of
draping the buttocks and genitalia and. in the case of female clients. the breasts.
Such body parts must remain covered except during therapeutic treatment of
those specific areas. with the exception of the genitalia. which shall always
remain covered; and

(s) Respect the client's right to refuse, modify. or terminate treatment regardless of
prior consent given; and

(t) Respect the client's right to treatment with informed and voluntarv consent by
obtaining and recording informed voluntarv written consent of the client. or
client's advocate. before performing;

1. Therapeutic treatments beyond the normal narrowing of the ear canal
and normal narrowing of the nasal passages; and

2. Therapeutic treatments in the oropharnyx; and

3. Therapeutic same-gender breast massage.

(u) Respect the client's right to treatment with informed and voluntarv consent by
obtaining and recording informed voluntarv written or verbal consent of the client.
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or client's advocate, before providing treatment other than the treatments
identified in subparagraph (1) (p) of this rule: and

(v) Safeguard the confidentiality of all client information, unless the client provides
written permission to release such information: or

1. Unless such information is requested during a formal investigation by
representatives of the State of Tennessee or other law enforcement
agencies: or

2. Unless required to do so pursuant to any action in a court of law: or

3. Where required by law to report to state or federal agencies.

(w) Refrain from practicing in an unlicensed establishment.

(x) Launder or sanitize, before reuse, all materials, equipment and supplies utilized
for each client.

Authority: T.G.A. §§ 4-5-202, 4-5-204, 63-18-108, and 63-18-111. Administrative History: Original
rule filed May 30, 2003; effective August 13, 2003. Amendment filed October 4, 2004; effective
December 18, 2004. Amendment filed March 24, 2006; effective June 7, 2006. Amendments filed June
16, 2006; effective August 30, 2006. Amendment filed February 2, 2007; effective Apri/18, 2007.

June, 2009 (ReVised) 63

175



RULES
OF

TENNESSEE MASSAGE LICENSURE BOARD

CHAPTER 0870-02
GENERAL RULES GOVERNING MASSAGE THERAPY EDUCATIONAL PROGRAMS

TABLE OF CONTENTS

0870·02-.01 Definitions
0870-02-.02 Program Approval and Curriculum Requirements
0870-02-.03 Withdrawal of Program Approval
0870-02-.04 Program Admission Requirements

0870·02-.05 Minimum Standards for Directors, Instructors and
Classrooms

0870-02-.06 Program Policies and Procedures
0870-02-.07 Annual Report
0870·02-.08 Fees

0870-02-.01 DEFINITIONS. As used in this chapter, the following terms and acronyms shall have the
following meanings ascribed to them:

(1) Board - Tennessee Massage Licensure Board

(2) Program - any massage therapy program or school

(3) TBR - Tennessee Board of Regents

(4) THEC - Tennessee Higher Education Commission

(5) NCETMB - National Certification Examination for Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork

(6) NCBTMB The National Certification Board for Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork

(7) FSMTB The Federation of State Massage Therapy Boards

(8) MBLEx The Massage and Bodyworks Licensing Examination established by the
FSMTB

Authority: T.CA §§ 4-5-202, 4-5-204, 63-18-111, and 63-18-115. Administrative History: Original
rule filed March 24, 2006; effective June 7, 2006.

0870-02-.02 PROGRAM APPROVAL AND CURRICULUM REQUIREMENTS.

(1) Massage therapy prggrams m~st reGeive "/FitteR appreval frem the TeRRessee Massage
biseRs~re agard.

(:1) .A.ppliGatigR PreGess

(a) Massage therapy pregrams seekiRg appreval m~st s~llmit aR appliGatigR '/IhiGh
prgvides the fgllgwiRg iRfgrmatigR a miRim~m gf thirty (3g) days prigr tg the Rext
reg~larly sGhed~led agard meetiRg iR grder fgr the agard tg review the appliGatigR:

1. ~Iame gf pareRt iRStiMigR aRd a~thgrity ror gperatigRS;

:1. bgGatigR gf priRGipal sliRiGal faGilities;

3. bgGaligRS gf all satellite faGilities;

,
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4. ~James aRa liGeRSe Rijmber of all liGeRSea teaGAiRg stan aRd tAe program
aireGlor;

a. CijFl'iGijlijm vitae, iRGlijaiRg professioRal liGeRSe Rijmbers aRa desGriptioR aRa
explaAalioA of aRy prior aisGipliAary aGtioA takeA agaiAsl a liGeASe, fur all
leaGAiAg stan, iAGlijdiAg tAe program direGtoF,

o. Maximijm Glass size;

7. SijbmissioA of tAe program Gatalog; aAa

8. SijbmissioA of otAer SijGA iAfurmalioA IAaitAe Boara may aeem AeGeSsary.

(b) TAe pmgram aireGtor sAall appear befure IAe Boara as paR of tAe iAitial approval
pmGess. TAe GijrriGijlijm sAall be preseAlea altAe meeliAg.

(3) TAe Board appro~'ea pmgram sAall aaAeF8 lolAe fulloY/iAg miRimijm slaAdaras:

(a) IAstrijGlorlstijaeAt ralio sAall be at leasl ORe (1) iRslrijGlor to elJery teA (10) workiAg
stijdeAts fur aRy AaAas OA Glass;

(b) TAe program GijrriGijlijm sAall iAGlijde, bijl Aot be limilea 10, tAe topiGS GOAtaiAed iA tAe
GijrreAt NatioAal CeRi~GatioA Boara fur TAerapeijliG Massage aAd Boaywork
(NCBTMB) examiAatioA, ils SijGGessor aAdlor otAer approved examiAalioA, GOAleRI
OijtliAe at tAe time of admi6SioA of IAe SlijaeAl. TAe program sAall, at a miAimijm,
GOAsislof ~ve AijAared (aOO) Glassroom AOijrS aAa mijst GOAlaiA:

1. Two AijAarea (:lOO) Glassroom AOijrS of SGieRGeS iAGlijaiAg, bijt Aol limited 10,
aAatomy, pAysiology WesteFA aAdlorl~aslerA, kiAesiology, patAology, follV,lAIQS,
aAa blooa bOFAe patAogeAs, aAa AygieAe (iRGlijaiAg slaAdard preGaijlioRs).
OIAer SGieAGeS related 10 tAe AijmaA body may be iAGlijded witA Boara approlJal.

:l. Two AijAared (:lllll) Glassmom AOijrS of basiG massage tAeoFy aAa praGtiGe
iAGlijaiAg, bijt Aot limited to, Aistory, beAeHls, iAdiGatioAs, GOAlraiRaiGalioAS,
aemoAslratioA aAa sijpeF\'ised praGtiGe, GlieAt assessmeAlJelJalijatioR, soft tissije
maAipijlatioAs iAGlijaiAg: gliaiAg, kAeaaiAg, friGlioA, GompreSsioR, lJibratioA,
peFGijSSiOA, strelGAiRg, joiAt movemeAls, arapiAg, positioRiAg, lijrRiAg, feeabaGk,
GAaRiAglGoGijmeAtatioA, proper body meGAaAiGs, aAa self Gare.

3. ~igAty ~ve (8a) Glassroom AOijrS of relatea sijlljeGls iAGlijdiAg, bijt Aol limitea 10,
bijsiAeSS staAaaras of praGtiGe, GommijAiGalioA skills, CPRI~irsl Aia, IAe
AmeRGaAS '.'lilA gisabililies AGI, referral melAoas, speGialized popijlatioAs, aAa
speGializea aRa adjijAGttAerapieslmodalities (iAGlijaiAg AydrotAerapy).

4. TeA (111) Glassroom AOijrS of etAiGs GOijrses.

a. ~ive (a) Glassroom AOijrS of GOijrses regaraiAg TeAAessee massage staMes aAa
F8llijlatioAs.

(G) TAe pmgram Gatalog, program syllabijs, poliGies, proGeaijres aAd tAe ~JCBTMB

AaAdbook or broGAijre regaraiAg tAe examiAatioA, its SijGGessor aAa/or otAer approvea
examiRatioA, GijrreAt GOAteAt oijtllAe aAa eligibility Griteria, are to be aistribijted OR or
befure tAe ~rsl (1st) Glass sessioA.
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(d) II baaks ars pravidsd by tRs pragram, tRs baaks aR a parliGYlar SYtljsGI sRall bs
dislribYlsd priar ta tRs Glass SR tRal SYtljSGt;

(S) TRS pragram mYsl iRfarm saGR slYdsRt sl tRs rS'lYirSmsRts lar liGSRSyrS aRd mYsl
SpSGmGaily iRGlyds IRS prsyisiaRS rsgardiRg GrimiRal GaR\'iGliaRs.

(I) TRS pragram mYst Ravs a 'IIrittsR paliGy aR tRs aGGsptsd pass fail Fates ar gradiRg
systsm Yssd by tRs pragram.

(g) TRS pragram mYst Rays a writtsR pralaGal ar paliGy SR IRS mSGRaRism la svalYats a
slYdsRI's pSOOrmaRGs. At Isasl aRS (1) svalYatisR is re'lYirsd wilRiR tRs nrst Rail al tRs
pregram.

(R) TRS pragram mYst Ravs a writtsR paliGy aR IRS dismissal al stYdsRls.

(i) TRS pragram sRall Greals aRd maiRlaiR rSGsrds aR saGR slYdsRI, iRGIYdiRg affiGial
IraRsGripls, iR GampliaRGs \'IitR tRs ryiss sl IRS TSRRsssss ~igRsr EdYGatiaR
CammissiaR sr IRS TSRRSSSSS Baard al RsgsRls.

(j) UpaR rS'lYssl, a Gapy al IRS IraRSGripl sRall bs pravidsd la IRS slYdsRt YpaR GamplstiaR
al ar witRdrawal If8m IRS pragram. TAs slYdsRI mYsl Gamply \'IilR IRS sRrallmsRI
agrssmsRlla reGsiys a Gapy.

(k) TRS IraRsGripl sRall iRGIYds IRS fallawiRg al a miRimYm:

1. TRS pragram Rams;

2. Nams sl tRs slYdsRI;

J. SYtljsGls Ga'/srsd iR tRs pragram;

5. SigRalyre sl aR aYtRarizsd pragramlsGRaal affiGial;

e. [lats issYsd;

7. [lals al gradyaliaR; aRd,

8. NYmbsr sl GaRtaGI Rayrs Gamplslsd.

(I) TAs Bsard sRall bs Rslinsd al aRy GRaRgs iR dirsGtarsRip aRdiar iRstrYGtars wilRiR ISR
(1 Q) days al Rirs ar disGRargs. [laGymsRlaliaR sl tRs traiRiRg aRd sl(pSriSRGS sl aRy
RSW Rirss mYst bs rSGsi'/sd witRiR tSR (1 Q) days al Rirs.

(m) TAs Baard sRall bs Ratinsd immsdiatsly al aRy GRaRgss mads iR IRS spsraliaR al tRs
sGRaal SYGR as a GRaRgs al aWRsrsRip, dirsGtar al sdYGaliaR, iRslilYtiaRal dirsGlar,
laGatiaR, aRdlar appraval slatYs ""ilR T~EC ar TBR;

(R) Baard appraYal aRd SYbSS'lYSRI rs appravals sRall bs issYsd aRRYally. AppliGatiaR far
rs appravals sRall msst all rS'lYirsmsRls sl IRis rYls;

(a) ,A,l aRy tims, dssigRSSS al tRs [lsparlmsRI al ~saltR ar atRsr slals agsRGiss sRall bs
pravidsd full aGGSSS la pragram malsrials, Sl(amiRatiaRs, aRd tRs Glassraam dYriRg
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iRslr~slioR. Fail~re 10 provide assess p~rs~aRI 10 IRis provisioR may s~9jesl IRe
provider 10 wilRdrawal of program appro'Jal.

(p) As a pf8req~isile 10 approval or sORliR~ed approval, IRe Board's professioRal peer
assislaRse program m~slile alloVled 10 make a preseRlalioR ~POR req~esl.

(ql,A, memller 01 IRe Board or a Board desigRee may iss~e prelimiRary program approlJal
s~9jesllo s~llseq~eRI Board ratifjsalioR.

(4) TAe program providers sRall pay all applisaille fees eslalllisRed iR r~le g07g g2 .gO for IRe
applisalioR aRd reRewal of IRe program approval lly IRe Board as well as fees 10 prosess a
replasemeRI sertifjsale aRd a remedial plaR.

(1) Massage Iherapy programs must receive written approval from the Tennessee Massage
Licensure Board through the application process described in paragraph (2) below. Such
approval is not transferable.

(2) Application Process

(a) Massage therapy programs seeking approval must submit an application to the
Board a minimum of thirty (30) days prior to the next regulariy scheduled Board
meeting in order for the Board to review the application. The application must
provide the foliowing information:

1. Name of parent institution and authority for operations;

2. Location of principal clinical facilities;

3. Locations of all satellite facilities;

4. Names and license numbers of all licensed teaching staff and the
program director;

5. Curriculum vitae, including professional license numbers and description
and explanation of any prior disciplinary aclion laken against a license,
for all teaching staff, including the program director;

6. Maximum class size;

7. A complete copy of the program catalog, submitted on plain copy paper,
front-side only; and

8. Submission of other such information that the Board may deem
necessary.

(b) The program director shall appear before the Board as part of the initial approval
process. The curriculum shall be presented at the meeting.

(3) The Board-approved program shall adhere to the following minimum standards:

(a) Instructor/student ratio shall be at least one (1) instructor to every fourteen (14)
students for any hands-on class;
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(b) The program curriculum shall include, but not be limited to. the topics contained
in the current National Certification Board for Therapeutic Massage and
Bodywork (NCBTMB) examination, its successor and/or other approved
examination, content outline at the time of admission of the student. The
program shall, at a minimum. consist of five hundred (500) classroom hours and
must contain:

1. Two hundred (200) classroom hours of sciences including, but not limited
to, anatomy, physiology-Western and/or/Eastern, kinesiology, pathology,
HIV/AIDS and blood-borne pathogens, and hygiene (inclUding standard
precautions). Other sciences related to the human body may be
included with Board approval.

2. Two hundred (200) classroom hours of basic massage theory and
practice including, but not limited to, history, benefits, indications,
contraindications, demonstration and supervised practice, client
assessment/evaluation, soft tissue manipulations including: gliding,
kneading, friction, compression, vibration, percussion, stretching, joint
movements, draping, positioning, turning, feedback,
charting/documentation, proper body mechanics, and self-care.

3. Eighty-five (85) classroom hours of related subjects including, but not
limited to, business standards of practice, communication skills,
CPR/First Aid, the Americans with Disabilities Act. referral methods,
specialized populations, and specialized and adjunct
therapies/modalities (including hydrotherapy).

4. Ten (10) classroom hours of ethics instruction.

5. Five (5) classroom hours regarding Tennessee massage statutes and
regulations.

(c) The program catalog, program syllabUS, policies, procedures and the handbook
or brochure regarding the approved examination, current content outline and
eligibility criteria, are to be distributed on or before the first (1 stl class session.

(d) The program shall ensure that each graduating class shall have received a
minimum of two (2) hours classroom presentation prior to graduation by the
impaired professional assistance program contracted by the Board. Both the
program and the impaired professional assistance program shall each maintain
documentation of each presentation reflecting the date, time and attendance of
the presentation and shall make such documentation available upon reguest by
the Board. Failure to comply with this provision may subject the program to
withdrawal of program approval.

(e) The program must document that each student has signed and dated an
acknowledgement that they understand the reguirements for licensure,
specifically the provisions regarding criminal convictions, upon application to the
program.

10 The oroaram must have a written policy on the accepted pass-fail rates or
grading system used by the program.
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(g) The program must have a written protocol or policy on the mechanism to
evaluate a student's performance. At least one (1) evaluation is required within
the first half of the program.

(h) The program shall create and maintain records on each student. including official
transcripts, in compliance with the rules of the Tennessee Higher Education
Commission or the Tennessee Board of Regents.

(i) Upon request, the program shall provide a copy of the transcript to the student
upon completion of or withdrawal from the program. The student must comply
with the enrollment agreement to receive a copy.

(i) The transcript shall include the following, at a minimum:

1. The program name;

2. Name of the student;

3. Subjects covered in the program;

4. Grades and contact hours for each subject pursuant to Rule 0870-01­
.04(1)(e);

5. Signature of an authorized programlschool official;

6. Date issued;

7. Date of graduation; and,

8. Total number of contact hours completed.

(k) The program shall notify the Board of any change in directorship andlor
instructors within ten (10) days of hire or discharge. Documentation of the
training and experience of any new hires must be received within ten (10) days of
hire.

(I) The program shall notify the Board within ten (10) days of any changes made in
the operation of the school such as a change of ownership. director of education,
institutional director, location, andlor approval status with THEC or TBR;

(m) At any time, designees of the Department of Health or other state agencies shall
be provided full access to program materials, examinations, and the classroom
during instruction. Failure to provide access pursuant to this provision may
subject the provider to withdrawal of program approval.

(n) A member of the Board or a Board designee may issue preliminary program
approval subject to subsequent Board ratification.

(0) The program must have a written policy on the dismissal of students.

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 4-5-202,4-5-204, 63-1-136, 63-18-111, and 63-18-115. Administrative History:
Original rule filed March 24, 2006; effective June 7, 2006. Amendmenf filed April 30, 2008; effective July
14, 2008. Amendment filed April 9, 2009; effective June 23, 2009.
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0870 02 .03 WITHDR.<l;WAb OF PROGRAM .<l;PPROIJJl,b. PfG~ram appfGval may ee withGrawn if the
BoarG /jnGs the pfG~Fam in violation of any of its staMes or re~~lations or if the BoarG /jnGs the pfG~ram

inaGe~~ate for sertifisalion p~rposes easeG ~pon ranGom a~Gitin~ of the pfG~ram anG/or its effesti'leness
in pFOGllSin~ ~~alifieG ~raGllates. The minimllm stanGarG fer sontinlleG pfG~ram appfG'Ial shali ee at least
se'lenty persent (7G%) of the st~Gents over at least a six (e) month perioG passin~ the lisensllre
examinations on the first (1st) attempt.

0870-02-.03 Withdrawal Of Program Approval. Program approval may be withdrawn if the Board finds
the program in violation of any of the Board's statutes or regulations or if the Board finds the program
inadeguate for certification purposes based upon random auditing of the program andlor its effectiveness
in producing qualified graduates. The minimum standard for continued program approval based on
effectiveness in producing gualified graduates shali be at least seventy percent (70%) of the students
passing the licensure examination on first (1") attempt over at least a twelve (12) month period.

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 4-5-202, 4-5-204, 63-18-111, and 63-18-115. Administrative History: Original
rule filed March 24, 2006; effective June 7, 2006.

0870·02-.04 PROGRAM ADMISSION REQUIREMENTS.

(1) Students must be at least eighteen (18) years old;

(2) Students must have either a high school diploma or GED certificate;

(3) Students must be legaliy entitled to live and work in the United States; and

(4) Students may not have been convicted of the offense of prostitution or sexual misconduct.

Authority: T.G.A. §§ 4-5-202, 4-5-204, 63-18-111, and 63-18-115. Administrative History: Original
rule filed March 24, 2006; effective June 7, 2006.

0870-02-.05 MINIMUM STANDARDS FOR DIRECTORS. INSTRUCTORS AND CLASSROOMS.

(1) Directors and Instructors

(a) Program Director - The program director of the massage therapy program must be
currently licensed in Tennessee as a massage therapist with at ieast five (5) years
experience. The program director must meet ali other conditions required by THEC or
TBR to be a program director. For purposes of this chapter of rules, the program
director is the individual who has direct responsibility for the supervision and daiiy
operations of the massage therapy program or school.

(b) Director of Education - The director of education must meet ali conditions required by
THEC or TBR to be a director of education. If the director of education also functions
as the massage therapy program director, helshe must be currently licensed in
Tennessee as a massage therapist with at least five (5) years experience.

(c) Institution Director - The institution director must meet all conditions required by THEC
or TBR to be an institution director. If the institution director also functions as the
massage therapy program director, helshe must be currently licensed in Tennessee as
a massage therapist with at least five (5) years experience.

(G) Instr~stors Any persons who instrllst mllst ee sllrrently Tennessee lisenseG
pFOfessionals in their appropriate profession if s~sh pfGfession re~llire6 lisenSllre. If
the instrllstor is re~~ireG to ee lisenseG in orGer to prastise his/her pfGfession, the
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GENERAL RULES GOVERNING MASSAGE THERAPY
EDUCATIONAL PROGRAMS

(Rule 0870-02-.05, continued)

CHAPTER 0870-02

iASlrYsler may teasR eAly priAsiples aAd seAsepts frem IRat prefessieA. TRey myst
Rave al least tRree (3) years 'If prastisal experieAse witRiA IRe past seveA (7) years iA
tRe sY9jest area te be taYgRI.

(d) Instructors - Any persons who instruct must be currently Tennessee licensed
professionals in their appropriate profession if such profession requires licensure.
Instructors must have at least three (3) years of practical experience within the
past seven (7) years in the subject area to be taught.

(e) Instructors who are professionally licensed/authorized by any state or certified by any
national organization must disclose to the program any prior disciplinary action by such
states or national organizations, and the program shall so notify the Board. The Board
may deny approval of a program based upon an instructor's past disciplinary history.

(I) The program director shall establish an evaluation system to evaluate the performance
of each instructor.

(g) The program director shall ensure that staff meetings are held to discuss progress of
students, policies and procedures for the school, and changes to the statutes and rules
of the Tennessee Massage Licensure Board which will affect the program's students.

(h) The program director is responsible for the conduct of the instructors and students and
any violation of the rules or statutes may result in the discipline of the program
director's license, the withdrawal of program approval and/or the assessment of civil
penalties.

(2) Classrooms

(a) The classroom size must accommodate the number of students enrolled in the
program, and;

(b) The classroom must be appropriately equipped to promote effective instruction.

Authority: T.eA §§ 4-5-202, 4-5-204, 63-18-111, and 63-18-115. Administrative History: Original
rule filed March 24, 2006; effective June 7, 2006.

0870-02-.06 PROGRAM POLICIES AND PROCEDURES.

(1) IAfestieYs Disease MaAagemeAt

(a) TRe pregram myst Ra~'e a writteA pelisy eA iAfestieYs disease maAagemeAt aAd
iAfestieA seAtrel; aAd

(b) TAe pelisy myst be iA sempliaAse with all applisable state aAd federal reQYlalieAs aAd
gYideliAes.

(2) EmergeAsy MaAagemeAt

(a) Pretesels shall be established Ie eASyre the safety 'If iAslrYcters, stYdeAts, slieAts, aAd
the pYblis iA the eveAI 'If aA emergeAsy;

(b) First aidlemergeAsy kits myst be available at all times, aAd

(s) All iASlrYsters myst be seAtiAYeYsly certified iA basis life sYppert.

June, 2009 (Revised) 8
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GENERAL RULES GOVERNING MASSAGE THERAPY
EDUCATIONAL PROGRAMS

(Rule 0870-02-.06, continued)

(3) Fire aR9 Safely

(a) All pre~rams m~sl semply '.VilR lesal aR9 slale ~re seges.

CHAPTER 0870-02

(b) WrilleR ~re aR9 safely prese9~res sRall be mage available Ie easR sl~geRl. PertiReRI
~re safety prese9~res sRall be 9isplaye9 iR seRspis~e~s plases.

(4) Sex~al HarassmeRI

(a) All pre~rams m~sl Ra'/e a wrllleR pelisy eR sex~al RarassmeRI Ie a99ress sil~alieRs

bew/eeR iRstr~slers, siieRls, aR9 sl~geRls.

(b) TRe pellsy m~sl be iR sempliaRse '/litR all applisable slale aR9 fegeral re~~lalieRs aoo
!JlIiG&IiRes, aR9;

(s) TRe pelisy m~sl be reviewe9 '/lilR ami 9istrib~le9 te all iRslr~slers, slall, aR9 sl~geRls.

(5) eq~al empleymeRI Oppert~Rity CemmissieR (eeOC) All pre~rams m~sl abige by tRe
req~iremeRts Impese9 by IRe eeOC.

(1) All programs shall create written policies for all of the following and shall distribute them
to all students:

(a) Infection control;

(b) Emergency management:

(c) Fire and safety: and

(d) Sexual harassment and misconducl.

(2) All programs shall have at least one (1) person gualified in Basic Life Support (BLS)
available during all clinical and classroom hours.

Authority: T.CA §§ 4-5-202, 4-5-204, 63-18-111, and 63-18-115. Administrative History: Original
rule filed March 24, 2006; effective June 7, 2006.

0870 02 .07 ANNUAl RI;PORT. TAe pre~ram sRal1 ~Ie aR aRR~al repert \'IilR tRe Bear9.

0870-02-.07 Annual Report. Everv Board-approved program shall file an annual report with the Board
on or before December 31 of each calendar year.

(1) The report shall contain:

(a) the number of students enrolled;

(b) the number of students graduated;

(c) the number of students dismissed or withdrawn;

(d) the number of students silting for the licensure test; and
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GENERAL RULES GOVERNING MASSAGE THERAPY
EDUCATIONAL PROGRAMS

(Rule 0870-02-.06, continued)

CHAPTER 0870-02

(e) the percentage of students taking the test for the first (1st) time and passing the
licensure test.

(2) A copy of the report filed with THEC or TBR is deemed to meet the requirements of this rule.

Authority: T.CA §§ 4-5-202, 4-5-204, 63-18-111, and 63-18-115. Administrative History: Original
rule filed March 24, 2006; effective June 7, 2006.

0870-02-.08 FEES.

(1) Types of Fees.

(a) Program application fee is a non-refundable fee to be paid by all applicants for
approval of a new massage therapy program. This fee includes an initial approval fee
and the state regulatory fee.

(b) Annual program renewal fee is a non-refundable fee to be paid prior to the issuance of
the renewal certificate. This fee includes an annual renewal fee and the state
regulatory fee. This fee must be received annually on or before June 30th.

(c) Existing program registration fee is a non-refundable fee to be paid by all massage
programs that (within ninety (90) days of the effective date of this rule) are currently
approved by the Board.

(d) Late renewal fee is a non-refundable fee to be paid when the program fails to submit
the required annual report. This is an additional fee which must be submitted with the
annual program renewal fee and state regulatory fee.

(e) State regulatory fee is a non-refundable fee to be paid by all programs upon initial
application and renewal.

(f) Replacement certificate fee is a non-refundable fee to be paid when an approved
massage program requests replacement approval for the massage therapy educational
program due to name andlor address changes.

(g) Remedial application fee is a non-refundable fee to be paid when an approved
massage program is required to submit a remedial plan.

(2) Fee Schedule:

(a) Program application fee shall include the following:

1. Initial approval fee

2. State regulatory fee

$500.00

$5.00

(b) Existing program registration fee $100.00

(c) Annual program renewal fee shall include the following:

1. Annual renewal fee $250.00

June, 2009 (Revised)
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GENERAL RULES GOVERNING MASSAGE THERAPY
EDUCATIONAL PROGRAMS

(Rule 0870-02-.08, continued)

CHAPTER 0870-02

(d)

(e)

(f)

Late renewal fee

Replacement certificate fee

Remedial application fee

$500.00

$25.00

$750.00

Authority: T.e.A. § 63-18-111, and 63-18-115. Administrative History: Original rule filed April 9,
2009; effective June 23, 2009.
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* If a roll-call vote was necessary, lhe vote by the Agency on Ihese rulemaking hearing rules was as follows:

Board Member Aye No Abstain Absent Signature
(if reaulred)

Phvllis B. Salvers X
Faith MavtOn X
Chris Sluss X
Marcela Collins X
Cvnthia Janners X
Pamela Edmond X
Marilvn Field X

I certify that this is an accurate and complete copy of rulemaking hearing rules, lawfully promulgated and adopted
by the Massage Licensure Board on 10/26/2009 & 02/23/2010, and is in compliance with the provisions of TCA 4­
5-222.

I further certify the following:

Notice of Rulemaking Hearing filed with the Department of State on: 09/03/09

Rulemaking Hearing(s) Conducted on: (add more dates). 10/26/09 & 02123/10

\~-

! 5 ,: ,,- .'

Cc~: i: _
C)
lL'
,,)

, Date

Department of State Use Only

Tre Hargett
Secretary of State

RDA 1693

Effective on: -~~..p.~tF'!;"I-!=;;==-----

31

Filed with the Department of State on: -'~.p.:..!f;.u:=7J!6l"---------

SS-7039 (October 2009)
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G.O.C. STAFF RULE ABSTRACT 
 
 
DEPARTMENT: University of Tennessee 
 
DIVISION: University of Tennessee at Knoxville 
 
SUBJECT: Student Conduct Code 
 
STATUTORY AUTHORITY: Tennessee Code Annotated, Section 49-9-209 
 
EFFECTIVE DATES: September 28, 2012 through June 30, 2013 
 
FISCAL IMPACT: Minimal 
 
STAFF RULE ABSTRACT:  
 
The University of Tennessee at Knoxville has revised its code of conduct for students. 
The following briefly summarizes the new rule and the key changes from the rule being 
repealed: 
 
Rule 1720-04-03-.01 provides a description of the University's interests in students' 
conduct. 
 
Rule 1720-04-03-.02 defines key terms used in the code of conduct. 
 
Rule 1720-04-03-.03 sets forth the University's position on common jurisdictional issues 
that arise in student conduct cases. 
 
Rule 1720-04-03-.04 sets forth: (1) the rights of students and student organizations 
charged with violating the University's standards of conduct; and (2) the rights of victims 
in sexual assault cases. 
 
Rule 1720-04-03-.05 sets forth the standards of conduct for University students and 
student organizations. Some former standards have been combined, and three 
standards have been added (harassment, sexual assault, and invasion of privacy). 
However, the total number of standards of conduct is not changing under the new rule. 
The new rule also eliminates unnecessary language, clarifies other language, and adds 
language to the former standards of conduct. 
 
Rule 1720-04-03-.06 differs from former Rule 1720-04-03-.11 by: (1) providing a non-
exclusive list of examples of academic dishonesty in addition to cheating and plagiarism; 
(2) clarifying that the Office of Student Judicial Affairs, not the class instructor, is 
responsible for determining whether to charge a student with violating the standards of 
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conduct; (3) clarifying a student's right to appeal an instructor's imposition of an 
instructor's penalty for alleged academic dishonesty; and eliminating the "student appeal 
statement" as a part of a student's appeal to an Academic Review Board. 
 
Rule 1720-04-03-.07 adds guidance for administrators and hearing boards in 
determining the appropriate penalty for a violation of the standards of conduct; adds a 
non-exclusive list of aggravating and mitigating factors that an administrator or hearing 
board may consider in determining a penalty; informs students that intoxication or 
impairment because of alcohol, drugs, chemicals, or other substances does not excuse 
a violation of the standards of conduct; adds four penalties; informs students about 
which penalties become part of the student's record; informs students about the 
University's policy concerning coursework and pending disciplinary charges; informs 
student organizations about the penalties that may be imposed if a student organization 
violates the standards of conduct; and clarifies the penalty of indefinite suspension. 
 
Rule 1720-04-03-.08 is a new rule describing a no-contact directive, which is a tool used 
by student affairs administrators in appropriate cases to prohibit a student from having 
verbal, physical, or written contact with specific persons for a definite or indefinite period 
of time. 
 
Rule 1720-04-03-.09 is a new rule describing an interim suspension, which may be 
imposed on a student prior to the conclusion of a full due process hearing in certain 
situations. 
 
Rule 1720-04-03-.10 is substantially the same as former Rule 1720-04-03-.17. 
 
Rule 1720-04-03-.11 differs from former Rule 1720-04-03-.08 by: (1) clarifying the 
original and appellate jurisdiction, membership, and hearing procedures for each hearing 
board; (2) including Academic Review Boards in the list of hearing boards (listed in a 
separate section of the current rule); (3) clarifying the process of appealing a decision of 
an Academic Review Board; (4) creating a single Greek judicial board by combining the 
Interfraternity Council Judicial Board and Panhellenic Judicial Board; and (5) creating a 
subgroup of the Student Life Council to hear appeals from the Student Tribunal or an 
Academic Review Board. 
 
Rule 1720-04-03-.12 differs from former Rule 1720-04-03-.10 by adding procedures for 
appeal by victims in sexual assault cases. 
 
Rule 1720-04-03-.13 is substantially the same as former Rule 1720-04-03-.05. 
 
Rule 1720-04-03-.14 is substantially the same as former Rule 1720-04-03-.07. 
 
Rule 1720-04-03-.15 is substantially the same as former Rule 1720-04-03-.13. 
 
Rule 1720-04-03-.16 is substantially the same as former Rule 1720-04-03-.15. 
 
Rule 1720-04-03-.17 is substantially the same as former Rule 1720-04-03-.16. 
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Impact on Local Governments

Pursuant to T.C.A. 4-5-220 and 4-5-228 "any rule proposed to be promulgated shall state in a simple declarative
sentence, without additional comments on the merits of the policy of the rules or regulation, whether the rule or
regulation may have a projected impact on local governments." (See Public Chapter Number 1070
(http://state.tn.us/sos/acts/106/pub/pc1070.pdf) of the 2010 Session of the General Assembly)

The University of Tennessee anticipates that this rule will have no financial impact on local governments.

SS-7038 (July 2010) 31 RDA 1693
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Regulatory Flexibility Addendum
Pursuant to § T.C.A. 4-5-401 through 4-5-404, prior to initiating the rule making process as described in T.C.A.
§ 4-5-202(a)(3) and T.C.A. § 4-5-202(a), all agencies shall conduct a review of whether a proposed rule or rule
affects small businesses.

(If applicable, insert Regulatory Flexibility Addendum here)

88-7038 (July 2010) 30 RDA 1693
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Department of State
Division of Publications
312 Rosa L. Parks Avenue, 8th Floor SnodgrassITN Tower
Nashville, TN 37243
Phone: 615-741-2650
Fax: 615-741-5133
Email: register.information@tn.gov

Proposed Rule(s) Filing Form

For Department of Stale Use Only

Sequence Number: {).lfl-/(-(:l
Rule ID(s): C!)/Q6
File Date: OJ/JII.ll:!)-O/(!l

Effective Date: Oct I:J-'if'1:)212.--

Proposed roles are submitted pursuant to T. G.A. §4-5-202, 4-5-207 In lieu of a rulemaking hearing. It is the Intent of the Agency to promulgate
these rules Wiffioul 8 rulemaking hearing unless 8 petition requesting such hean"ng is filed within sixty (60) days of the first day o( the month
subsequent to the filing of the proposed rule with the Secretary of State. To be effective, the petition must be filed with the Agency and be
signed by twenty-fIVe (25) persons who will be affected by the amendments, or submitted by 8 municipality which will be affected by the
amendments, or an association of twenty-five (25) or more members, or any standing committee of the General Assembly. The agency shall
forward such petition to the Secretary of State.

e-Agency/Board/Commlsslon: University of Tennessee
f---- Division:

Contact Person: Matlhew Scoggins, Assistant General Counsel
Address: 719 Andy Holt Tower, 1331 Circle Park, Knoxville, TN

Zip: 37996-0170
Phone: 865-974-3245
Email: scoggins@tennessee,edu

Revision Type (check all that apply):
Amendment

x New
x Repeal

Rule(s) Revised (ALL chapters and rules contained in filing must be listed here. If needed, copy and paste
additional tables to accommodate multiple chapters. Please enter only ONE Rule Number/Rule Title per row)

Chapter Number Chapter Title
1720-04-03 Student Rights and Responsibilities
Rule Number Rule Title
1720-04-03-,01 Introduction
1720-04-03-.02 Disciplinary Regulations and Procedures
1720-04-03-.03 Standards of Conduct
1720-04-03-,04 Fundamental Rights of the Accused
1720-04-03-.05 Inspection and Search Policy
1720-04-03-.06 Reauests to Report to an Administrative Office
1720-04-03-.07 Administrative Procedures
1720-04-03-.08 The Hearing Boards
1720-04-03-,09 Penalties
1720-04-03-.10 Appeal and Scope of Review
1720-04-03-.11 Honor Statement
1720-04-03-,12 Student Academic Conduct
1720-04-03-,13 Emergency Powers
1720-04-03-.14 Training and Advising
1720-04-03-,15 Termination of Student Employees
1720-04-03-.16 Termination of Financial Assistance
1720-04-03-,17 Withdrawal or Temporary Suspension due to Mental or Physical Problems
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(Place substance of rules and other info here. Statutory authority must be given for each rule change. For
information on formatting rules go to http://state.tn.us/sos/rules/1360/1360.htm)

Substance of Proposed Rules
of

The University of Tennessee at Knoxville

Repeal

Rule 1720-04-03 Student Rights and Responsibilities is repealed.

New Rule

Chapter 1720-04-03
Student Rights and Responsibilities

1720-04-03-.01 Introduction.

(1) Students at the University of Tennessee at Knoxville are members of both the University
community and the larger community of which the University is a part Accordingly, students are
responsible for conducting themselves in a lawful manner and in compliance with University rules
and policies. The University has established the following rules in order to advance the mission
of the University by maintaining a safe and secure learning environment; protecting the rights and
privileges of all members of the University community; providing a basis for orderly conduct of the
affairs of the University; promoting a positive relationship between the University and its
surrounding community; preserving institutional integrity and property; encouraging students to
engage in conduct that brings credit to themseives and the University; and ensuring that each
student who matriculates at the University graduates ready to contribute to society as an ethical
and law-abiding citizen.

(2) The University of Tennessee is committed to respecting students' constitutional rights. Nothing in
this chapter is intended or shall be interpreted to restrict students' constitutional rights, including,
but not limited to, rights of freedom of speech and assembly.

(3) Students are responsible for being fully acquainted and for complying with the University catalog,

SS-7038 (July 2010) 2 RDA 1693
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handbook, and other rules and policies relating to students. Failure or refusal to comply with the
rules and policies established by the University may subject a student to disciplinary action up to
and including permanent dismissal from the University.

Authority: T.CA § 49-9-209(e)·and Public Acts of Tennessee, 1839-1840, Chapter 98, Section 5, and Public
Acts OfTennessee, 1807, Chapter 64.

1720-04-03-.02 Definitions.

(1) The term "University" means the University of Tennessee at Knoxville.

(2) The term "studenf' means a person admitted, enrolled or registered for study at the University of
Tennessee, either full-time or part-time, pursuing undergraduate, graduate, or professional
studies, as well as non-degree students. Persons not officially registered or enrolled for a
particular term but who have a continuing relationship with the University also are considered
students for purposes of these rules.

(3) The term "student organization" means an organization that is composed solely of University
students that has submitted a pending application or has completed the process for registration
according to University rules.

(4) The term "University-controlled property" means all land, buildings, facilities, grounds, structures,
or any other property owned, leased, used, maintained, or operated by the University. For
purposes of this rule, University-controlled property includes all streets, alleys, sidewalks, and
public ways abutting such property. University-controlled property also includes computers and
network systems owned, maintained, or controlled by the University or funded by the University.

(5) The term "University-affiliated activity" means any activity on or off University-controlled property
that is initiated, aided, authorized, sponsored, or supervised by the University.

(6) The term "University official" means an employee of the University, including faculty members
and staff, or for purposes of this rule a University-recognized volunteer. Student employees may
be considered University officials when acting in the performance of their duties (e.g., event staff,
resident assistants, and teaching assistants). .

(7) The term "member of the University community" means any person who is a student, University
official, campus visitor, or participant in a University-sponsored or University-affiliated activity.

(8) The term "possession" means actual knowledge of a substance or property and/or being in such
close proximity to the substance or property that it is a reasonable presumption that one had
knowledge of the substance or property.

(9) The term "weapon" means any device, instrument, or substance that is designed to, or
reasonably could be expected to, inflict a wound, incapacitate, or cause serious bodily injury or
death, including, but not limited to, firearms (loaded and unloaded, real and replica), ammunition,
electronic control devices (such as tasers and stun guns), devices designed to discharge an
object (such as bb guns, air guns, pellet guns, potato guns, and slingshots), explosives,
dangerous chemicals (such as mace, tear gas, and oleoresin capsicum), martial arts weapons,
bows and arrows, artificial knuckles, nightsticks, blackjacks, dirks, daggers, swords, and knives
with fixed blades longer than three (3) inches. The term "weapon" does not include chemical
repellents available over-the-counter for self-defense; instruments used solely for personal
hygiene, preparation of food, maintenance, University-related instruction, or University
employment-related duties. .

(10) The term "notice" means notice given in writing delivered by regular mail, courier service, or hand
delivery to the address the University has on file for the student or student organization, or by e­
mail to the student's or student organization's University-provided e-mail account.

Authority: T.CA § 49-9-209(e) and Public Acts of Tennessee, 1839-1840, Chapter 98, Section 5, and Public
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Acts of Tennessee, 1807, Chapter 64.

1720-04-03-.03 Jurisdiction.

(1) The Standards of Conduct, Chapter 1720-04-03-.05, apply to conduct that occurs on University­
controlled property.

(2) The University also has the discretion to discipline a student for an act in violation of the
Standards of Conduct that occurs off University-controlled property if the conduct adversely
affects the interests of the University, including, but not limited to, conduct which:

(a) Occurs in connection with a University-affiliated activity, including, but not limited to, an
overseas study program or a clinical, field, internship, or in-service experience;

(b) Involves another member of the University community; or

(c) Threatens, or indicates that the student may pose a threat to, the health or safety of
him/herself or others or the security of any person's property, including, but not limited to,
alcohol-related offenses, drug-related offenses, arson, battery, fraud, hazing, participation
in group violence, rape, sexual assault or misconduct, stalking, and theft.

(3) The Standards of Conduct have been adopted in furtherance of the University's interests and
serve to supplement, rather than substitute for, the enforcement of the civil and criminal law.
Accordingly, University disciplinary action may be instituted against a student charged with
conduct that potentially violates both the criminal law and the Standards of Conduct without
regard to the pendency of criminal charges or civil litigation. At the discretion of the Vice
Chancellor for Student Ufe, or his/her designee, disciplinary action relating to a violation of the
Standards of Conduct may be carried out prior to, simultaneously with, or following criminal
proceedings. Students accused of violating the Standards of Conduct may not challenge the
University disciplinary proceedings on the grounds that criminal charges, civil litigation, or other
University proceedings regarding the same incident are pending or have been terminated,
dismissed, reduced, or not yet adjudicated.

(4) Each student shall be responsible for his/her conduct from the time of application for admission
through the actual awarding of a degree, even though conduct may occur before classes begin or
after classes end, as well as during the academic year and during periods between terms of
actual enrollment (and even if conduct is not discovered by the University until after a degree is
awarded). Should a student withdraw from the University with disciplinary charges pending, the
student's academic record and/or ability to register for classes may be encumbered by the
appropriate University office.

(5) Graduate or professional programs within the University may initiate charges against students for
alleged violations of professional standards or ethics as a separate issue or as an extension of
alleged acts of academic dishonesty or other violations of the Standards of Conduct.

Authority: T.CA § 49-9-209(e) and Public Acts of Tennessee, 1839-1840, Chapter 98, Section 5, and Public
Acts of Tennessee, 1807, Chapter 64.

1720-04-03-.04 Fundamental Rights of the Accused.

(1) Students and student organizations charged with violating the Standards of Conduct, Chapter
1720-04-03-.05, are entitled to the following rights under the University of Tennessee at
Knoxville's student judicial system:

(a) Notice of charge(s), account of the alleged misconduct, witnesses, and notice of the
scheduled hearing delivered seventy-two (72) hours before the hearing. The student may
request additional time by showing good cause.

(b)
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(c) The right to a hearing closed to the public.

(d) The right to: (i) a non-adversarial hearing before the Director of Student Judicial Affairs or
his/her designee; or (Ii) an adversarial hearing before a University hearing board with
jurisdiction.

(e) The right to be assisted by a Student Judicial Advisor before a University hearing board.
If an adversarial criminal proceeding has been initiated against a student (e.g., a criminal
charge or indictment) arising out of the same conduct at issue in the disciplinary hearing,
then the student also has a right to have an attorney present during the hearing before a
University hearing board. The attorney's role shall be limited to advising the student
about answering questions that may be self-incriminating.

(f) Testify or remain silent in a University hearing at his/her option. However, a University
hearing board is not prohibited from drawing an adverse inference against a student if the
student remains silent or refuses to attend a disciplinary hearing or testify in response to
evidence offered against him/her. A University hearing board shall not base its decision
solely on a student's failure to attend a hearing or a student's refusal to testify or remain
silent.

(g) Present the testimony of witnesses and other evidence.

(h) The presumption of innocence. The burden of proof rests with the University, such that
the University must prove the student's guilt by a preponderance of the evidence.

(i) A written decision specifying the rule violated, penalty assessed, and right of appeal.

(j) Challenge the seating of any board member for good cause. The dismissal of a
challenged hearing board member shall be at the discretion of the hearing board
chairperson. If the chairperson is challenged, he/she may be excused at the discretion of
the majority of the hearing board.

(k) Have his/her case heard only on the misconduct specified in the written notice.

(I) Challenge the admissibility of evidence.

(m) Cross-examine all available adverse witnesses.

(n) Appeal the decision of a University disciplinary board in accordance with Chapter 1720­
04-03-.12.

(2) In cases involving a complaint of sexual assault or misconduct, the alleged victim shall have the
right to:

(a) Notice concerning the process by which the University will handle the complaint and an
opportunity to ask questions about the process;

(b) A prompt, thorough, and impartial investigation of the complaint;

(c) The same opportunity as the accused student to present his/her explanation of the facts
during the University's investigation;

(d) Have the investigation of the complaint concluded within sixty (60) days of the
University's receipt of a complaint, unless circumstances make it impracticable for the
University to complete its investigation within that timeframe;

(e) Notice of the outcome of the University's investigation;
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(I) Have a disciplinary hearing conducted within thirty (30) days of a University charge that
the accused student committed sexual assault or misconduct, unless circumstances
make it impracticable for the University to conduct a hearing within that timeframe;

(g) Notice of the date, time, and location of the disciplinary hearing, the right to have the
disciplinary hearing closed to the public, and the right to request rescheduling of the
hearing for good cause;

(h) The same access as the accused student to any information or documents that will be
used by the University during the disciplinary hearing, unless prohibited by law;

(i) Challenge the seating of any disciplinary board member for good cause, which will be
determined at the discretion of the chairperson of the hearing board, or, if the seating of
the chairperson is challenged, then at the discretion of the majority of the hearing board;

U) Be accompanied by a person, other than a Student Judicial Advisor, of his/her choosing
during the University's investigation or a disciplinary hearing, but the person shall not be
permitted to speak for the victim during a disciplinary hearing;

(k) The same opportunity as the accused student to be present during the hearing, present
witnesses and other evidence through a Student Judicial Advisor, challenge the
admissibility of evidence through a Student Judicial Advisor, and cross-examine adverse
witnesses through a Student Judicial Advisor during the disciplinary hearing;

(I) Testify or remain silent in a hearing at his/her option;

(m) Not to be questioned directly by the accused student during the disciplinary hearing;

(n) Submit a written impact statement to the Student Disciplinary Board for consideration of
the sanctioning phase of the disciplinary hearing, if the accused student is found guilty of
the charges against him/her, or to the Office of Student Judicial Affairs for consideration
during the sanctioning phase of the administrative hearing, if the accused student pleads
guilty to the charges against him/her;

(0) Notice of the decision of the Student Disciplinary Board or the outcome of an
administrative hearing within three (3) business days of the hearing; and

(p) Appeal the decision of a University disciplinary board in accordance with Chapter 1720­
04-03-.12(3).

(3) As an alternative to the procedures described in this Chapter, any student or student organization
whose legal rights, duties or privileges are required by any statute or constitutional provision to be
determined after an opportunity for a hearing shall be afforded that opportunity for hearing in
accordance with the Tennessee Uniform Administrative Procedures Act, T.CA § 4-5-301, et seq.
The University's procedures for conducting contested case hearings under the Tennessee
Uniform Administrative Procedures Act are contained in Chapter 1720-01-05, and the University's
rules concerning waivers of contested case hearings are contained in Chapter 1720-01-03.

Authority: T.C.A. § 49-9-209(e) and Public Acts of Tennessee, 1839-1840, Chapter 98, Section 5, and Public
Acts of Tennessee, 1807, Chapter 64.

1720-04-03-.05 Standards of Conduct. A student or student organization may be disciplined for the following
types of misconduct:

(1) Cheating, plagiarism, or any other act of academic dishonesty, including, but not limited to, an act
in violation of the Honor Statement.

(2) Providing false information to a University official.
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(3) Falsifying, distorting, misrepresenting, or withholding information in connection with a University
investigation or hearing.

(4) Forging, altering, destroying, falsifying, or misusing records, identification, or documents, whether
in print or electronic form.

(5) Causing physical harm to any person (including oneself); endangering the health or safety of any
person (inclUding oneself); engaging in conduct that causes a reasonable person to fear harm to
his/her health or safety; or making an oral or written statement (including electronically) that an
objectively reasonable person hearing or reading the statement would interpret as a serious
expression of an intent to commit an act of unlawful violence to a particular individual or group of
individuals, although the speaker need not mean to carry out the act of unlawful violence in order
to constitute a violation of this rule.

(6) Harassment, which is defined as unwelcome conduct that is so severe or pervasive, and
objectively offensive, that it substantially interferes with the ability of a person to work, learn, live,
or participate in or benefit from the services, activities, or privileges provided by the University. In
no event shall this rule be construed to discipline a student for speech protected by the First
Amendment to the United States Constitution (e.g., mere insulting or offensive speech).

(7) Sexual assault or misconduct. "Sexual assault" is defined as any sexual act or attempt to engage
in any sexual act with another person without the consent of the other person, or in
circumstances in which the person is unable to give consent due to age, disability, or an
alcohol/chemical or other impairment. "Sexual misconduct" is defined as any intimate touching of
another person, or forcing a person to engage in intimate touching of another, without the consent
of the other person, or in circumstances in which the person is unable to give consent due to age,
disability, or an alcohol/chemical or other impairment. It is the responsibility of the person initiating
sexual activity to ensure the other person is capable of consenting to that activity. Consent is
given by an affirmative verbal response or acts that are unmistakable in their meaning. Consent
to one form of sexual activity does not mean consent is given to another type of sexual activity.

(8) Invasion of another person's privacy when that person has a reasonable expectation of privacy,
including, but not limited to, using electronic or other means to make a video or photographic
record of any person in a location in which the person has a reasonable expectation of privacy,
without the person's knowledge or consent. This includes, but is not limited to, making a video or
photographic record of a person in shower/locker rooms or restrooms. The storing, sharing,
and/or distributing of such unauthorized recordings by any means is also prohibited.

(9) Theft, misappropriation, unauthorized possession, or unauthorized sale of private or public
property, including but not limited to University-controlled property.

(10) Vandalizing, destroying, damaging, engaging in conduct that reasonably could cause damage to,
or misusing private or public property, including but not limited to University-controlled property.

(11) Participating in hazing. "Hazing" is defined as any intentional or reckless act, on or off University­
controlled property, by one (1) student, acting alone or with others, which is directed against any
other student, which endangers the mental or physical health or safety of that student, or which
induces or coerces a student to endanger his or her mental or physical health or safety. "Hazing"
does not include customary athletic events or similar contests or competitions and is limited to
those actions taken and situations created in connection with initiation into or affiliation with any
organization.

(12) Engaging in disorderly, lewd, indecent, or obscene conduct. "Disorderly" conduct means fighting
or other physically violent or threatening conduct; creating a hazardous or physically offensive
condition by any act that serves no legitimate purpose; making noise that could unreasonably
disturb others who are carrying on lawful activities; or conduct that breaches the peace. "Lewd,
indecent, or obscene" conduct includes, but is not limited to, public exposure of one's sexual
organs, public urinating, and public sexual acts.
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(13) Engaging in speech, either orally or in writing, that Is directed to inciting or producing imminent
lawless action and is likely to incite or produce such action.

(14) Any act of arson; falsely reporting a fire, the presence of an explosive or incendiary device, or
other emergency; setting off a false fire alarm; or tampering with, removing, or damaging fire
alarms, fire extinguishers or any other safety or emergency equipment from its proper location
except when removed in a situation In which there is a reasonable belief of the need for such
equipment.

(15) Possessing, using, or duplicating University keys, access cards, or identification cards without
authorization; possessing, using, or entering·Universlty-controlied property without authorization.

(16) Theft, misuse, or unauthorized use of information technology facilities, resources, or access
codes, including, but not limited to: unauthorized entry into or transfer of a file; using another
person's identification and/or password without that person's consent; using information
technology facilities or resources to interfere with the work of another student, faculty member,
staff member, or other member of the University community; using information technology
facilities or resources to interfere with normal operation of a University information technology
system or network; circumventing University information technology system or network security;
using information technology facilities or resources in violation of copyright laws; falsifying an e­
mail header; and conduct that violates the University's policy on the Acceptable Use of
Information Technology Resources.

(17) Possessing, using, storing, or manufacturing any weapon or any facsimile of a weapon on
University-controlled property or in connection with a University-affiliated activity, unless
authorized in writing by the Chief of Police or his/her designee.

(18) Consuming, manufacturing, possessing, distributing, dispensing, seiling, or being under the
influence of alcoholic beverages on University-controlled property or in connection with a
University-affiliated activity.

(19) Consuming, manufacturing, possessing, distributing, dispensing, selling, or being under the
influence of alcoholic beverages, If prohibited by federal, state, or local law.

(20) PrOViding an alcoholic beverage to a person younger than twenty-one (21) years of age, unless
permitted by law.

(21) Using, manufacturing, possessing, distributing, selling, dispensing, or being under the influence of
drugs or drug paraphernalia, if prohibited by federal, state, or local law; using or possessing a
prescription drug if the prescription was not issued to the student; or distributing or selling a
prescription drug to a person to whom the prescription was not originally issued.

(22) Failing to pay a University bill, account, or other University financial obligation.

(23) Failing to respond to a request to report to a University administrative office; failing to comply with
a lawful directive of a University employee or other public official acting within the scope of his/her
duties; or failing to identify oneself to a University employee or other public official acting within
the scope of his/her duties when requested to do so.

(24) Falling to appear at a University hearing, including, but not limited to, a hearing of a University
judicial board, following a request to appear either as a party or as a witness.

(25) Violating the terms of an interim suspension, a no-contact directive, or a disciplinary penalty
imposed by the University.

(26) Obstructing or disrupting teaching, learning, studying, research, public service, administration,
disciplinary proceedings, emergency services, or any other University-affiliated activity, or the free
flow of pedestrian or vehicular traffic on University-controlled property. In no event shall this rule
be construed to discipline a student for speech protected by the First Amendment to the United
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States Constitution.

(27) Violating a University policy or rule, including but not limited to University policies or rules relating
to facilities use, smoking, the acceptable use of information technology resources, research or
service misconduct, finder's fees relating to clinical investigations involving human subjects or
access to University data or materials, University libraries, dining services, parking or
transportation, University identification card use, sexual harassment, residence halls, and
registered student organizations.

(28) Committing an act that is prohibited by local, state, or federal law.

(29) Attempting to commit a violation of a Standard of Conduct or being an accessory to the
commission of an act or attempted act in violation of a Standard of Conduct.

Authority: T.CA § 49-9-209(e), T.CA § 49-7-123, and Public Acts of Tennessee, 1839-1840, Chapter 98,
Section 5, and Public Acts of Tennessee, 1807, Chapter 64.

1720-04-03-.06 Honor Statement.

(1) Honor Statement. An essential feature of the University of Tennessee at Knoxville is a
commitment to maintaining an atmosphere of intellectual integrity and academic honesty. As a
student of the University, I pledge that I will neither knowingly give nor receive any inappropriate
assistance in academic work, thus affirming my own personal commitment to honor and integrity.

(2) A thorough understanding of the Honor Statement is essential to the success of the honor
system. To facilitate implementation of the Honor Statement, the following avenues will be
utilized:

(a) The Honor Statement, with its attendant pledge, will appear on applications for admission
(undergraduate and graduate); and applicants to the University will be required to
acknowledge their affirmation by signing the document in a designated location.

(b) Information regarding the Honor Statement will be included in the catalogs
(undergraduate and graduate), Hilltopics, and in a brochure specifically addressing the
Honor Statement.

(c) The Honor Statement will be discussed during freshman, transfer, graduate student, and
international student orientation programs.

(d) A thorough discussion of the Honor Statement in freshmen English is encouraged.

(e) Implementation methods and alternatives will be discussed during faculty orientation
programs.

(I) The Honor Statement is furthered by Standard of Conduct No.1, Chapter 1720-04-03­
.05.

(3) Prohibited Conduct.

(a) The Honor Statement prohibits cheating, plagiarism, and any other type of academic
dishonesty.

(b) Plagiarism is using the intellectual property or product of someone else without giving
proper credit. The undocumented use of someone else's words or ideas in any medium
of communication (unless such information is recognized as common knowledge) is a
serious offense, subject to disciplinary action that may include failure in a course and/or
dismissal from the university. Specific examples of plagiarism include, but are not limited
to:
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1. Using without proper documentation (quotation marks and a citation) written or
spoken words, phrases, or sentences from any source;

2. Summarizing without proper documentation (usually a citation) ideas from
another source (unless such information is recognized as common knowledge);

3. Borrowing facts, statistics, graphs, pictorial representations, or phrases without
acknowledging the source (unless such information is recognized as common
knowledge);

4. Collaborating on a graded assignment without the instructor's approval; and

5. Submitting work, either in whole or in part, created by a professional service and
used without attribution (e.g., paper, speech, bibliography, or photograph).

(c) Specific examples of other types of academic dishonesty include, but are not limited to:

1. Providing or receiving unauthorized information during an examination or
academic assignment, or the possession and/or use of unauthorized materials
during an examination or academic assignment;

2. Providing or receiving unauthorized assistance in connection with laboratory
work, field work, scholarship, or another academic assignment;

3. Falsifying, fabricating, or misrepresenting data, laboratory results, research
results, citations, or other information in connection with an academic
assignment;

4. Serving as, or enlisting the assistance of, a substitute for a student in the taking
of an examination or the performance of an academic assignment;

5. Altering grades, answers, or marks in an effort to change the earned grade or
credit;

6. Submitting without authorization the same assignment for credit in more than one
course;

7. Forging the signature of another or allowing forgery by another on any class- or
University-related document such as a class roll or drop/add sheet;

8. Failing to observe the expressed procedures or instructions relating to an exam
or academic assignment; and

9. Engaging in an activity that unfairly places another student at a disadvantage,
such as taking, hiding, or altering resource material, or manipulating a grading
system.

(4) Responsibilities.

(a) All groups within the University community have responsibilities associated with the
Honor Statement. These responsibilities are unique to each sector of the University
community.

(b) Student Responsibilities. Each student is responsible for his/her own personal integrity in
academic life. While there is no affirmative duty to report the academic dishonesty of
another, each student, given the dictates of his/her own conscience, may choose to act
on any violation of the Honor Statement. Each student is responsible for knowing and
adhering to the terms and conditions of the Honor Statement and may acknowledge
his/her adherence to the Honor Statement by writing "Pledged" and signing each graded
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class assignment and examination.

(c) Instructor Responsibilities. Regulation of academic dishonesty is the immediate
responsibility of the instructor. However, students are not excused from complying with
the Honor Statement because of an instructor's failure to prevent or discourage academic
dishonesty.

(5) Process.

(a) When an act of alleged academic dishonesty is discovered by or brought to the attention
of an instructor, the instructor shall inform the student orally or in writing about the alleged
academic dishonesty, describe the evidence supporting the allegation, and give the
student an informal opportunity to respond to the allegation(s) and evidence. The
instructor may proceed with imposing an academic penalty for academic dishonesty if the
student has not responded to the instructor's notice to the student concerning the alleged
academic dishonesty.

(b) After giving the student notice and an informal opportunity to respond, if the instructor
concludes that the student engaged in academic dishonesty, then the instructor may take
any or all of the following actions:

1. Impose an academic penalty of a failing or reduced grade in an academic
exercise, assignment, examination, and/or course; loss of credit for the work
involved; an assignment to repeat the work, to be graded on its merits; or an oral
or written reprimand.

a. If the instructor decides to impose an academic penalty, then the
instructor shall notify the student of the charges, evidence, findings,
penalties imposed, and the procedures to appeal the findings and/or
penalties. The notice should be countersigned by the department head.

b. Copies of the notice to the student shall be submitted to the Office of
Student Judicial Affairs, the administrative head of the instructor's
academic unit, and, where different, the head of the academic unit in
which the student is enrolled.

c. After receiving notice from the instructor, the Office of Student Judicial
Affairs shall provide the student with notice and information relating to an
appeal of the instructor's findings of academic dishonesty and/or
academic penalties.

2. Request that the Office of Student Judicial Affairs charge the student with
violating Standard of Conduct No.1, Chapter 1720-04-03-.05, and impose one or
more of the disciplinary penalties described in Chapter 1720-04-03-.07. The
instructor is not required to notify a student that a request has been made to the
Office of Student Judicial Affairs.

(c) The Office of Student Judicial Affairs is responsible for determining whether to charge a
student with violating Standard of Conduct NO.1. The decision of the Office of Student
Judicial Affairs not to charge a student with violating Standard of Conduct NO.1 may not
be used by the student to support an appeal of an academic penalty imposed by the
instructor. The Office of Student Judicial Affairs may charge a student with violating
Standard of Conduct No. 1 regardless of the response of the instructor to the alleged
academic dishonesty.

(d) If a student denies a charge of academic dishonesty made by an instructor and/or the
Office of Student Judicial Affairs, and/or if the student does not accept the academic
penalties imposed by the instructor and/or the penalties recommended by the Office of
Student Judicial Affairs, then the student may appeal to the appropriate Academic
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Review Board within seven (7) days of the date of the notice of the academic penalty or
disciplinary charge, whichever occurs later. If the student does not file a timely notice of
appeal, then the determination of academic dishonesty and the recommended academic
penalty and/or disciplinary penalty become final.

(6) The University of Tennessee College of Law has adopted and promulgated its own Code of
Academic Conduct, Chapter 1720-04-09, which governs academic dishonesty by students
enrolled in the College of Law and controls in the event of a conflict between this Chapter and
Chapter 1720-04-09,

Authority: T,C,A, § 49-9-209(e) and Public Acts of Tennessee, 1839-1840, Chapter 98, Section 5, and Public
Acts of Tennessee, 1807, Chapter 64,

1720-04-03-,07 Penalties,

(1) Disciplinary penalties are primarily intended to educate students and student organizations about
appropriate behavior, encourage students and student organizations to take responsibility for
misconduct, promote the personal and professional development of students, discourage other
students and student organizations from violating the Standards of Conduct, and protect
members of the University community, The penalties imposed should be appropriate for the
particular case based on the gravity of the offense (including without limitation how the violation
affected or reasonably could have affected other members of the University community),
Consideration may also be given to the student's or student organization's conduct record; the
student's or student organization's responsiveness to the conduct process; whether the student
acted in self-defense, and, if so, whether the amount of force used was reasonable under the
circumstances; student academic classification; and other aggravating or mitigating factors,

(2) The following penalties may be imposed on any student found to have violated the Standards of
Conduct:

(a)

(b)

(c)

(d)

(e)

(I)

(g)
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Warning, A warning is a notice that the student is violating or has violated the Standards
of Conduct.

Loss of Privilege, A loss of privilege is intended to serve as a reminder of the Standards
of Conduct and is for a specific period of time, Privileges that may be lost include, but are
not limited to, scholarships, stipends, participation in extracurricular activities (e,g,
intramurals), housing privileges, participation in social activities, and use of certain
University-controlled property (e,g" information technology resources),

Education, Students may be required to attend classes, at their own expense, dealing
with issues such as the consequences of alcohol or drug use, civility, ethics, or other
topics as deemed appropriate by the Dean of Students or his/her designee,

Restitution, Restitution may be required in situations that involve destruction, damage, or
loss of property, or unreimbursed medical expenses resulting from physical injury,
Restitution may take the form of a monetary payment or appropriate service to repair or
otherwise compensate for the destruction, damage, or loss,

Disciplinary Reprimand, A disciplinary reprimand is used for minor violations of the
Standards of Conduct. A reprimand indicates that further violations will result in more
severe disciplinary actions,

Disciplinary Probation, Disciplinary probation permits a student to remain at the
University on probationary status but with the understanding that a future violation of the
Standards of Conduct may result in suspension, Probation may be for a defined or
indefinite period, Other conditions of probation are specific to each individual case and
may include a requirement of community service or other requirement or restriction,

Suspension for a Specific Period of Time, Suspension for a specific period of time
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means that the student is withdrawn from the University and is not eligible to apply for
readmission for a designated period of time. Usually, the period of designated
suspension does not exceed one (1) calendar year. Upon return to the University
following a suspension for a specific period of time, the student may be placed on
indefinite disciplinary probation.

(h) Indefinite Suspension. Indefinite suspension is imposed in cases of serious or repeated
misconduct or in cases in which the prognosis for rehabilitation is uncertain. Indefinite
suspension means that the student is withdrawn from the University for an unspecified
period of time but typically for a minimum of one (1) calendar year from the effective date
of the indefinite suspension. A student who receives the penalty of indefinite suspension
is not eligible to apply for readmission until the student successfully petitions the Student
Life Council to lift the suspension. The student will be expected to meet regularly with the
Dean of Students, or his/her designee, throughout the period of indefinite suspension. At
a minimum, the student is expected to contact and begin meeting regularly with the Dean
of Students, or his/her designee, at least fifteen (15) weeks prior to the semester for
which the student desires to be readmitted to the University. Upon return to the
University following an indefinite suspension, the student shall be placed on indefinite
discipiinary probation.

(i) Permanent Dismissal. Permanent dismissal means that a student is permanently barred
from matriculating as a student at the University of Tennessee at Knoxville. This penalty
is used when the violation of one (1) or more of the Standards of Conduct is deemed so
serious as to warrant total and permanent disassociation from the University community
without the possibility of re-enrollment; or when, by his/her repeated violation of the
Standards of Conduct, a student exhibits blatant disregard for the health and safety of
other members of the University community or the University's right to establish rules of
conduct. If a disciplinary hearing board desires to impose permanent dismissal, then the
board shall communicate a recommendation of permanent dismissal to the Dean of
Students. In the event a recommendation of permanent dismissal is not approved by the
Dean of Students, he/she may substitute any less severe penalty; if probation is
substituted, it may be for a greater period than the period specified for suspension. The
Dean of Students shall notify the Director of Student Judicial Affairs when a
recommendation for permanent dismissal is not approved.

U) Revocation of Degree. Revocation of a degree means revoking a degree already
awarded to a student by the University. If a disciplinary hearing board desires to revoke
a degree, then the board shall communicate the recommendation to the Dean of
Students, who shall either accept or reject the recommendation. Revocation of a degree
shall be approved by the University of Tennessee Board of Trustees.

(3) The following penalties, by themselves, do not create a disciplinary record for a student in the
Office of Student Judicial Affairs for purposes of reporting a student's conduct history: (a)
warning; (b) loss of privilege; (c) education; and (d) restitution. However, those penalties may be
considered as part of a student's conduct history for purposes of determining what penalty should
be imposed for a future disciplinary offense.

(4) A disciplinary hold may be placed on a student's account until the completion of the student
disciplinary process and/or until the student satisfies the terms and conditions of any penalties
imposed. A student who, at the time of commencement, is subject to a continuing disciplinary
penalty or an unresolved disciplinary charge shall not be awarded a degree before the conclusion
of all penalties and/or resolution of all disciplinary charges.

(5) The following penalties may be imposed on a student organization found to have violated the
Standards of Conduct:

(a) Warning. A warning is a notice that the student organization is violating or has violated
the Standards of Conduct.
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(b) Education. Student organizations or their representatives may be required to attend
classes, at their own expense, dealing with issues such as the consequences of alcohol
or drug use, civility, ethics, or other topics as deemed appropriate by the Dean of
Students or his/her designee.

(c) Loss of Privilege. A loss of privilege is intended to serve as a reminder of the Standards
of Conduct and is for a specific period of time. Examples of privileges that may be lost
include participating in extracurricular activities (e.g., intramurals), housing privileges,
participating in social activities, and using certain University-controlled property.

(d) Restitution. Restitution may be required in situations that involve destruction, damage, or
loss of property, or unreimbursed medical expenses resulting from physical injury.
Restitution may take the form of a monetary payment or appropriate service to repair or
otherwise compensate for the destruction, damage, or loss.

(e) Social Probation. Social probation prohibits a student organization from sponsoring or
participating in specified social activities. While on social probation, a student
organization may not host social events (e.g., mixers, date parties, formals, and band
parties) or participate in University-affiliated activities (e.g., Homecoming, All Sing,
Carnicus, intramurals). Any exceptions to social probation must be approved, in
advance, by the Dean of Students or his/her designee.

(f) Disciplinary Probation. Disciplinary probation means that a student organization is
permitted to retain University registration on a probationary status. Violation of the
Standards of Conduct during the period of disciplinary probation may result in more
serious penalties, including revocation of University registration.

(g) Revocation of University Registration. In cases of serious or repeated misconduct, a
student organization's University registration may be revoked.

(6) More than one (1) of the penalties listed above may be imposed for any single violation of the
Standards of Conduct.

(7) Except for an interim suspension, disciplinary penalties shall not become effective until after
opportunities for appeal have been exhausted. Penalties may be applied retroactively to the date
of the offense. Coursework performed while disciplinary charges are pending or disciplinary
proceedings are underway shall be considered conditional. Coursework may be affected or
disregarded based on a final finding of misconduct or the penalty imposed, which may result in
loss of course credit, a loss of tuition and/or fees, a delay in the awarding of a degree, or
revocation of a degree that was awarded prior to a final decision in the disciplinary proceeding.

(8) Intoxication or impairment because of alcohol, drugs, chemicals, or other substances does not
diminish or excuse a violation of the Standards of Conduct.

Authority: T.CA § 49-9-209(e) and Public Acts of Tennessee, 1839-1840, Chapter 98, Section 5, and Public
Acts of Tennessee, 1807, Chapter 64.

1720-04-03-.08 No Contact Directive. In cases involving allegations of assault, injury, sexual abuse, harassment,
or in cases where there is reason to believe continued contact between a studenUstudent organization and
specific persons, including complainants and witnesses, may interfere with those persons' security, safety or
ability to participate effectively in work or studies, the Vice Chancellor for Student Life, or his/her designee, may
require that the studenUstudent organization not have verbal, physical, or written contact with specific persons for
a definite or indefinite period of time. The studenUstudent organization will receive notice of the no contact
directive. Any student, faculty or staff member or other person with a reasonable justification may request that a
no contact directive be issued to a studenUstudent organization. In addition to an internal University no contact
directive, complainants are advised that other similar options exist and can be obtained from law enforcement and
civil and criminal courts.

Authority: T.CA § 49-9-209(e) and Public Acts of Tennessee, 1839-1840, Chapter 98, Section 5, and Public
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Acts of Tennessee, 1807, Chapter 64.

1720-04-03-.09 Interim Suspension.

(1) When the Vice Chancellor for Student Life or his/her designee has reasonable cause to believe
that a student's or student organization's continued presence on University-controlled property or
at University-affiliated activities poses a significant risk of substantial harm to the health or safety
of others or to property or poses an ongoing threat to the disruption of, or interference with, the
normal operations of the University, the Vice Chancellor for Student Life or his/her designee may
impose an interim suspension prior to the conclusion of a full hearing on the alleged misconduct.

(2) An interim suspension shall be confirmed by notice to the student or student organization that
explains the basis for the interim suspension and shall remain in effect until the conclusion of a
full hearing in accordance with the rules of the University of Tennessee, which shall be held
without undue delay.

(3) Within three (3) business days of the imposition of the suspension, the student or student
organization shall be offered an opportunity to appear personally before the Vice Chancellor for
Student Life or his/her designee in order to discuss the following issues only: (i) the reliability of
the information concerning the student's or student organization's conduct; and (iI) whether the
conduct and surrounding circumstances reasonably indicate that the student's or student
organization's continued presence on University-controlled property or at University-affiliated
activities poses a significant risk of substantial harm to the health or safety of others or to property
or poses an imminent threat of disruption of or interference with the normal operations of the
University.

(4) During an interim suspension, the student or student organization shall be denied access to
University-controlled property, including residence halls, and all other University-affiliated
activities or privileges for which the student or student organization might otherwise be eligible, as
the Vice Chancellor for Student Life or his/her designee determines in his/her sole discretion to
be appropriate. A student or student organization who receives an interim suspension and
violates the terms of the interim suspension shall be subject to further disciplinary action and may
be treated as a trespasser. Permission to be on University-controlled property or participate in
University-affiliated activities may be granted by the Vice Chancellor for Student Life or his/her
designee.

(5) When a student is placed on interim suspension, he/she may be assigned a grade of 'W" or "I,"
whichever is deemed appropriate by the faculty member involved.

Authority: T.C.A. § 49-9-209(e) and Public Acts of Tennessee, 1839-1840, Chapter 98, Section 5, and Public
Acts of Tennessee, 1807, Chapter 64.

1720-04-03-.10 Involuntary Medical Withdrawal or Suspension.

(1) When a student is unable to effectively pursue his/her academic work, or when his/her behavior is
disruptive to the normal educational processes of the University, or constitutes a threat to
members of the University community, due to, among other things, alcohol use, drug use, or a
physical or mental incapacitating illness or condition, he/she may be withdrawn or temporarily
suspended from the University as hereinafter provided.

(2) Withdrawal. A student may be withdrawn from the University only after an evaluation of his/her
mental and physical condition by a panel of at least three (3) persons appointed by the Vice
Chancellor for Student Life. The student shall be notified of the reasons for the evaluation and
given an opportunity to present evidence to the committee. The committee's findings and
recommendations shall be forwarded to the Vice Chancellor for Student Life, who will notify the
student in writing of his/her decision. A student withdrawn under this procedure shall not be
readmitted to the University without the approval of the Vice Chancellor for Student Life.

(3) Temporary Suspension. Whenever a student, because of his/her mental or physical condition
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constitutes an apparent danger to persons or property, or when his/her behavior is disruptive to
the normal educational processes of the University, he/she may be suspended from the
University, for a reasonable period of time, by the Vice Chancellor for Student Life or the Dean of
Students. If the University does not withdraw the student in accordance with procedures outlined
above, he/she may return to the University at the end of the suspension period.

(4) Grades. When a student is withdrawn or temporarily suspended from the University, he/she may
be assigned a grade of "W' or "I," whichever is deemed appropriate by the faculty member
involved.

Authority: T.CA § 49-9-209(e) and Public Acts of Tennessee, 1839-1840, Chapter 98, Section 5, and Public
Acts of Tennessee, 1807, Chapter 64.

1720-04-03-.11 The Hearing Boards.

(1) Greek JUdicial Board.

(a) This board has original jurisdiction in cases in which a Greek student organization has
allegedly violated the InterFraternity Council (IFC), Panhellenic, or National Pan-Hellenic
Council (NPHC) Rules, Constitution, or By-Laws, or University Standards of Conduct.
Hearing procedures shall afford student organizations all of the rights set forth in Chapter
1720-04-03-.04 ("Fundamental Rights of the Accused") and be similar to the procedures
used by the Student Disciplinary Board. Following a hearing,. the board shall determine
gUilt or innocence and decide upon an appropriate penalty. Appeals from these decisions
are to the Student Tribunal in accordance with Chapter 1720-04-03-.12.

(b) An individual(s) member of a Greek student organization alleged to have violated a
University Standard of Conduct will be referred to the Office of Student Judicial Affairs for
appropriate action. The Director of Student Judicial Affairs, who will decide all
jurisdictional questions, may assign jurisdiction over cases of individual discipline to the
Greek Judicial Board, except for cases involving allegations of sexual harassment, sexual
assault, or sexual misconduct. In such cases the Greek Judicial Board will operate under
the procedures established for the Student Disciplinary Board. Appeals from these
decisions are to Student Disciplinary Board and must be filed with the Office of Student
Judicial Affairs in accordance with Chapter 1720-04-03-.12.

(c) Students serving as members of the Greek Judicial Board must be active members of a
Greek organization and in good standing during their terms of office. Guidelines for
appointing, replacing and removing board members will be suggested by the Greek
Council to the Office of Student Judicial Affairs for approval. Members of the Greek
Judicial Board will be required to participate in training seminars scheduled by the Office
of Student Judicial Affairs.

(2) Student Disciplinary Board.

(a) Jurisdiction. The Student Disciplinary Board has the following responsibilities:

1. To hear allegations of student misconduct involving violations of the Standards of
Conduct;

2. To determine the innocence or guilt of the student charged and establish an
appropriate penalty in cases where the student is found guilty; and

3. To hear individual discipline cases appealed from the Greek Judicial Board and
to make decisions appropriate with appellate responsibility.

(b) Membership. Members of the Student Disciplinary Board must be sophomores or above.
Undergraduate and law students must have at least a 2.0 overall grade point average.
Graduate students must have at least a 3.0 grade point average in all graduate work
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attempted. Members shall be screened and selected by a committee that consists of
Office of Student JUdicial Affairs staff. A member may be removed from office, for cause,
by the Student Ufe Council following notice and a hearing.

(c) Hearing Procedures.

1. For each hearing, three (3) to seven (7) student board members will be selected
from a pool of members. A quorum of three (3) board members must be present
in order to hear a case. A majority vote of the members present is required for all
decisions of the board. The chairperson votes in all cases.

2. Any board member who cannot hear the evidence fairly and objectively for any
reason shall dismiss himself/herself from the case.

3. The Director of Student Judicial Affairs shall appoint a chairperson prior to the
start of each hearing. The chairperson shall conduct the hearing and rule on all
motions, objections, and other procedural issues. The chairperson shall
ascertain that the accused has been advised of his/her rights and shall then read
the statement of charges. A student who fails to appear before the Student
Disciplinary Board in accordance with proper notification shall be deemed to
have waived his/her rights to be present during the hearing, to know the evidence
against him/her, to present evidence in his/her own behalf, and to exercise
reasonable cross-examination of witnesses appearing against him/her. This
waiver shall become effective if the student fails to appear at the designated time
and place of the hearing unless, at least twenty-four (24) hours prior to the
hearing, the student communicates in writing to the Office of Student JUdicial
Affairs good cause for granting a continuance of the hearing.

4. The accused shall enter a plea of guilty or not guilty. If a guilty plea is entered,
he/she shall be advised of the maximum penalty.

5. The chairperson is responsible for maintaining an orderly discussion throughout
the hearing. Proceedings should be conducted with fitting dignity and should
reflect the importance and seriousness of the hearings. Any person who fails to
follow the instructions of the chairperson, after a warning, shall be referred to the
Director of Student Judicial Affairs for appropriate disciplinary action.

6. In the event that the accused pleads guilty, the board shall review the
circumstances of the case and make appropriate decisions or recommendations
regarding the penalty.

7. If accused's attorney is present, the accused's attorney shall not question any
individual, introduce evidence, raise objections, present arguments, or otherwise
participate in the hearing. The failure of an accused's attorney to attend the
hearing shall not be grounds for delaying the proceeding or challenging the
validity of the proceeding.

8. The Student Judicial Advisor, on behalf of the University, shall present such
evidence as he/she has at the hearing, including any witnesses. He/she shall not
present written statements as evidence, unless circumstances make such
presentation necessary and unavoidable. Under similar restrictions the accused
may present written statements in his/her defense. Unsigned statements shall
not be admitted as evidence. However, a statement submitted via electronic mail
may be admitted if party against whom the statement is offered does not object
to its admission or the chairperson determines that the statement's authenticity
and validity has been verified. Hearsay evidence is, however, admissible.
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9. After the presentation of evidence by the Judicial Advisor, the accused shall be
allowed to present all relevant evidence. If a not guilty plea has been entered,
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evidence in mitigation of the alleged offense shall be presented only after the
board has determined the issue of innocence or guilt.

10. During board deliberations all persons except the board members shall be
excused from the hearing room. The decision shall be based solely upon the
evidence presented. No mention will be made during the hearing on innocence or
guilt of the student's previous disciplinary record, unless appropriate as rebuttal
to character evidence introduced by the accused.

11. After a determination of guilt by the board, the Student Judicial Advisor, on behalf
of the University, shall present the previous disciplinary record of the accused, if
any, and evidence of any other aggravating circumstances, to the board together
with the recommendation of the Director of Student Judicial Affairs as to an
appropriate penalty.

12. After presentation of evidence by the Judicial Advisor, the accused shall be
allowed to present character evidence, evidence of mitigating circumstances, and
an alternative penalty recommendation.

13. After the board determines the penalty, the accused shall be advised in writing of
its decision.

14. The results of the board's decision shall be kept on official University judicial
forms. If a verbatim record of the hearing is prepared, it shall be retained in the
custody of the Office of Student Judicial Affairs and considered a confidential
disciplinary record. If necessary for adjudication of an appeal, the Director of
Student Judicial Affairs may prepare a summary, certified by the chairperson of
the Student Disciplinary Board, or provide that portion of the record that has been
designated by the Student Tribunal or Student Life Council as material to the
appeal.

15. A board member shall not discuss cases prior to or after the hearing. The
information received by members of the board during a case is considered strictly
confidential. Violations of this confidence by any board member could result in
disciplinary action.

16. In cases involving an allegation of sexual assault or misconduct, the hearing
procedures shall be modified to afford the alleged victim all of the rights
described in Chapter 1720-04-03-.04(2). The board may consider evidence
presented by the victim as part of the University's proof.

(d) Appeals. Appeals from decisions of the Student Disciplinary Board may be made to the
Student Tribunal in accordance with Chapter 1720-04-03-.12.

(3) Academic Review Boards.

(a) Jurisdiction. Academic Review Boards have original jurisdiction over cases of alleged
academic dishonesty (I.e., violations of Standard of Conduct No.1, Chapter 1720-04-03­
.05) that arise out of a course or program offered by the college or a student's appeal of
an academic penalty imposed as a result of alleged academic dishonesty relating to a
course or program offered by the college. Jurisdiction may include cases of academic
dishonesty which involve violations of other Standards of Conduct, but such cases shall
initially be referred to the Office of Student Judicial Affairs for determination of
appropriate jurisdiction.

(b) Membership. The Academic Review Board of each college shall consist of an ad hoc
group of three (3) faculty members and three (3) students selected from the college's
membership by the administrative head of the college. Alternative methods of selection of
the three faculty members and the three students may be adopted by an individual

SS-7038 (July 2010) 18 RDA 1693

209



college with the approval of the administrative head of the college. Also, under
extenuating circumstances, a college may recommend, for approval by the Student Life
Council, a board composition which differs from that prescribed above.

(c) Hearing Procedures.

1. A quorum shall consist of four (4) members. The college shall make provision for
alternates to insure the availability of a quorum.

2. In order to establish continuity among the various Academic Review Boards and
to ensure the maintenance of procedural due process, a member of the Dean of
Students staff shall serve as the non-voting chairperson of each Academic
Review Board. His/her responsibilities shall include the scheduling of meetings,
notification of parties and witnesses, and other duties as needed to ensure due
process is afforded.

3. Hearing procedures shall be established by the Office of Student Judicial Affairs.
Hearing procedures shall afford students all of the rights set forth in Chapter
1720-04-03-.04 ("Fundamental Rights of the Accused") and be similar to the
procedures used by the Student Disciplinary Board. All decisions shall be by a
majority vote.

(d) Appeals.

1. Appeal of Decision Concerning Academic Dishonesty.

(i) Student Appeal. A student may appeal a decision of the Academic
Review Board that a student is guilty of academic dishonesty to the
Student Life Council in accordance with Chapter 1720-04-03-.12.

(Ii) University Appeal. The University may appeal a decision of the
Academic Review Board that a student is not guilty of academic
dishonesty to the Student Life Council in accordance with Chapter 1720­
04-03-.12. The administrative head of the college involved makes the
decision whether to appeal.

2. Appeal of Decision Concerning Academic Penalty.

(i) A student may appeal a decision of the Academic Review Board
concerning an academic penalty to the Student Life Council in
accordance with Chapter 1720-04-03-.12.

(Ii) If the Academic Review Board recommends that the instructor change
the academic penalty proposed by the instructor, the Office of Student
Judicial Affairs shall notify the instructor of the Academic Review Board's
recommendation. The instructor may either accept or reject the
Academic Review Board's recommendation to change an academic
penalty, and the instructor or the administrative head of the college
involved shall notify the Office of Student Judicial Affairs of the decision
to accept or reject the Academic Review Board's recommendation within
seven (7) days of the Academic Review Board's recommendation. If the
instructor rejects the Academic Review Board's recommendation, then
the Office of Student Judicial Affairs shall notify the student of the
student's right to appeal the instructor's academic penalty in accordance
with Chapter 1720-04-03-.12, in which case the student shall submit the
request for appeal within seven (7) calendar days of the notice of the
instructor's decision to reject the Academic Review Board's
recommendation.

SS-7038 (July 2010) 19 RDA 1693

210



(iii) In the event the instructor rejects the recommendation of the Student Life
Council following an appeal by the student of an academic penalty, then
the student may appeal to the Chancellor, who, in consultation with the
Provost, shall be the final decision maker concerning changes to
student's grades on the student's official University academic record.
The student must file a request for appeal within seven (7) calendar days
of the notice to the student concerning the instructor's rejection of the
recommendation of the Student Life Council.

(4) Student Tribunal.

(a) Original Jurisdiction. The Student Tribunal has original jurisdiction in cases of conflicts
between (non-Greek) student organizations, conflicts between individuals and student
organizations, cases which involve allegations that a student organization has violated
the Standards of Conduct, cases which involve interpretation of the Student Government
Constitution, cases of challenge to results of Student Government elections, and
discipline cases involving charges of dishonesty in these elections.

(b) Appellate Jurisdiction. The Student Tribunal has appellate jurisdiction to review decisions
of the Student Disciplinary Board and the Greek Judicial Board. Any other jurisdiction
may be assigned by the Director of Student Judicial Affairs. The forms to be used on
appeal and other procedural requirements shall be established by the Office of Student
Judicial Affairs.

(c) Membership. The Student Tribunal consists of three (3) to seven (7) members, selected
by the Director of Student Judicial Affairs or designee from the Student Disciplinary
Board.

(d) Hearing Procedures. A quorum of three (3) members is required for a hearing before the
Student Tribunal, and a majority vote of the members present is required for all decisions.
Other hearing procedures shall be established by the Office of Student JUdicial Affairs. In
cases of original jurisdiction, the hearing procedures shall afford students all of the rights
set forth in Chapter 1720-04-03-.04 ("Fundamental Rights of the Accused") and be
consistent with the procedures used by the Student Disciplinary Board.

(e) Appeals. Appeals from decisions of the Student Tribunal may be made to the Student
Life Council in accordance with Chapter 1720-04-03-.13.

(5) Student Life Council.

(a) Jurisdiction. The Student Life Council is the hearing board for appeals from decisions of
the Student Tribunal, Academic Review Boards, and for appeals filed by the Dean of
Students or his/her designee. It is the final decision making board in the judicial system.
The Council also hears petitions to lift the disciplinary penalty of indefinite suspension.
The Council may periodically review the status of student conduct and the judicial system
and make appropriate recommendations.

(b) Membership. The Student Life Council is composed of the following members:

1. The Vice Chancellor for Student Life, who serves as the chairperson;

2. All the Deans of the University of Tennessee at Knoxville;

3. Three (3) faculty members, associate professor or above, appointed by the
Faculty Senate (the initial appointments shall be staggered in terms so that one
(1) new faculty member is appointed each year after the initial appointment); and
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4. Eight (8) student members (one of whom shall be a graduate student), appointed
by the Student Government Association, for a period of one (1) year.
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(c) Except for appeals from the Student Tribunal, a majority of the Student Life Council shall
constitute a quorum for the conducting of all business, and a majority vote of the
members present is required for all decisions.

(d) Appeals from the Student Tribunal. A sUbgroup of eleven (11) members of the Student
Life Council, four (4) of whom shall be students, shall hear appeals from the Student
Tribunal or an Academic Review Board. The Vice Chancellor for Student Life or his/her
designee shall serve as the chairperson of the subgroup and shall select the ten (10)
other members of the subgroup from the general membership of the Student Life Council.
The Student Life Council will hear appeals on the record, unless it elects by a majority
vote of members present to hear the case de novo.

Authority: T.CA § 49-9-209(e) and Public Acts of Tennessee, 1839-1840, Chapter 98, Section 5, and Public
Acts ofTennessee, 1807, Chapter 64.

1720-04-03-.12 Appeal and Scope of Review.

(1) Appeal. The disciplinary action of any board may be appealed to the next higher board.

(a) In all cases the request for appeal must be submitted in writing to the Office of Student
JUdicial Affairs within seven (7) calendar days of written notice of the board decision. If
the seventh day falls on a weekend or holiday, the time is extended to the next regular
workday.

(b) If written briefs are submitted or if required by the appellate board's bylaws, they must be
submitted within fourteen (14) calendar days of submission of the request for appeal.
Under normal circumstances appeals will be heard within seven (7) days after written
briefs have been submitted.

(c) All appeals (except those to the Student Life Council, which may elect to hear the case
de novo) must be taken upon the record made before the original board.

(d) Pending the outcome of an appeal, the penalty specified in the original decision shall not
be imposed.

(2) Scope of Review. The appellate board will review the request for appeal together with any written
briefs or other supporting documents to determine if the appeal presents a substantial question
within the scope of review. The scope of review shall be limited to the following:

(a) Appropriateness of the Penalty. In cases appealing the appropriateness of the penalty,
the appeal board shall uphold the penalty unless the penalty is shown to be clearly
unreasonable (i.e., that which has been clearly and fully proven to have no sound basis
or justification in reason).

(b) New Evidence. In cases appealed on grounds of new evidence, the moving party must
show that such evidence is material to the decision of the board on the issue of
innocence or guill, and that said evidence could not have been discovered by due
diligence prior to the original hearing.

(c) Due Process. In cases appealed on the grounds of denial of due process, the moving
party must show that the adjudicatory process of the initial hearing was not conducted in
conformity with properly prescribed procedures. The moving party must also show that
the alleged discrepancy was materially adverse to the moving party's interest. Nothing
contained in the foregoing shall be construed as limiting the right of the Dean of Students
to request the Student Life Council to review the decision of any judicial board.

(3) In cases of involving a finding that a student is guilty of sexual assault or misconduct, the alleged
victim shall have the right to appeal the decision of a University disciplinary board to the next
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higher board. The appellate board will review the request for appeal together with any written
briefs or other supporting documents to determine if the appeal presents a substantial question
within the scope of review. The scope of review shall be limited to the following:

(a) Appropriateness of the Penalty. In cases appealing the appropriateness of the penalty,
the appeal board shall uphold the penalty unless the penalty is shown to be clearly
unreasonable (i.e., that which has been clearly and fully proven to have no sound basis
or justification in reason).

(b) New Evidence. An alleged victim may appeal a decision by showing that there is new
evidence material to the decision of the board on the issue of innocence or guilt, and that
the evidence could not have been discovered by the exercise of due diligence prior to the
original disciplinary hearing.

(4) The decision of any board or administrative officer of the University of Tennessee at Knoxville is
subject to review by the Chancellor and the President pursuant to the University of Tennessee
Bylaws, Article V, Section 7.

Authority: T.C.A. § 49-9-209(e) and Public Acts of Tennessee, 1839-1840, Chapter 98, Section 5, and Public
Acts ofTennessee, 1807, Chapter 64.

1720-04-03-.13 Inspection and Search Policy.

(1) Entry by University authorities into occupied rooms in residence halls, fraternity houses, or
sorority houses on University-controlled property will be divided into three (3) categories:
inspection, search, and emergency. Inspection is defined as the entry into an occupied room by
University authorities in order to ascertain the health and safety conditions in the room, to check
the physical condition of the room, to make repairs on facilities, or to perform cleaning and
janitorial operations. Search is defined as the entry into an occupied room by on-campus
authorities for the purpose of investigating suspected violations of campus regulations. An
emergency situation exists when the delay necessary to obtain a search authorization constitutes
an apparent danger to person, property, or the building itself.

(a) Inspection: Scheduled inspections by on-campus authorities with the exception of daily
janitorial operations shall be preceded, if possible, by twenty-four (24) hours' notice to the
residents. During the inspection there will be no search of drawers, closets, or personal
belongings.

(b) Search: On-campus authorities will not enter a room for purposes of search without
permission from the resident(s) or prior permission from the Dean of Students, the Vice
Chancellor for Student Life, or a designee of Dean of Students or Vice Chancellor for
Student Life, unless in compliance with federal or state law.

(c) Procedure for Search in Residence Hall Rooms: A request for permission to search may
be made by the Hall Director, Assistant Hall Director, or their superiors when reasonable
cause exists to suspect that a violation is occurring or has occurred. If permission to
search is verbally authorized, it must be verified in writing to the occupant(s) of the facility
searched by the hall staff members requesting the search. A copy of the authorization
form is presented to the occupant(s) or left in the room if the occupant(s) is absent. The
authorization form shall contain the following:

1. Description of the place to be searched;

2. Name of the person authorizing the search;

3. Description of the item(s) sought; and

4. Name of the person requesting the search authorization.
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(d) Procedure for Search in Fraternity or Sorority Houses: For purposes of search, the
fraternity or sorority house will be divided into open and closed areas. The closed areas
will be the dorm section and chapter room. University authorities may enter the open
areas for purpose of inspection or search without permission, but there will be no search
of personal belongings or closed areas of the house. University authorities will not enter
the closed areas without the written permission of the Dean of Students, the Vice
Chancellor for Student Life, or their designees, or in compliance with federal or state
laws.

(e) Resident Complaint: Should a resident believe that a University staff member has
misused or abused his/her authority to inspect his/her room, the resident should file a
complaint. He/she may prepare a written statem'ent for review by the Office of Student
Judicial Affairs. Or, if he/she prefers, the resident may state his/her complaint to an Area
Coordinator or to a staff member of the Office of Student Judicial Affairs. The complaint
will then be investigated, appropriate action will be taken, and the student will be
informed in writing of the results of the investigation.

Authority: T.CA § 49-9-209(e) and Public Acts of Tennessee, 1839-1840, Chapter 98, Section 5, and Public
Acts of Tennessee, 1807, Chapter 64.

1720-04-03-.14 Administrative Procedures.

(1) Residence Hall Regulations. Initially, violations of residence hall regulations will be handled by
the Hall Director of the appropriate residence hall. Based upon the nature of the alleged violations
and the past conduct of the accused, the Hall Director shall determine if the Hall Director Option
is appropriate or refer the case to the Office of Student Judicial Affairs. If the Hall Director Option
is deemed appropriate, it will be administered as follows:

(a) The accused student will be notified:

1. That he/she is suspected of an alleged violation;

2. Of circumstances of the violation;

3. Of his/her rights under the judicial system;

4. Of his/her rights to have his/her case heard by a student disciplinary board;

5. That the Hall Director Option does not include imposition of a penalty; and

6. That acceptance of the Hall Director Option constitutes an admission of guilt
which may be introduced at any sUbsequent disciplinary hearing.

(b) If the student accepts the Hall Director Option he/she shall reply, in writing:

1. Acknowledging his/her participation in the alleged violation;

2. Waiving his/her right to a hearing before the Student Disciplinary Board; and

3. Waiving a right to appeal the administrative decision.

(c) If the student rejects the Hall Director Option, his/her case will be forwarded to the Office
of Student Judicial Affairs for action in accordance with violations of Standards of
Conduct.

(2) Standards of Conduct. When allegations of individual misconduct are referred to the Office of
Student Judicial Affairs, the case will be adjudicated in accordance with procedures governing
alleged violations of Standards of Conduct.
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Authority: T.CA § 49-9-209(e) and Public Acts of Tennessee, 1839-1840, Chapter 98, Section 5, and Public
Acts of Tennessee, 1807, Chapter 64.

1720-04-03-.15 Emergency Powers. When, in the judgment of the Student Life Council of the University of
Tennessee, conditions are such that it is impractical for the Student Disciplinary Boards to function, the Vice
Chancellor for Student Life may suspend these procedural regulations and appoint an ad hoc committee to hear
disciplinary matters. Any such ad hoc committee shall follow procedures that will insure the protection of the rights
of the students involved, as stated herein. Any decisions by the ad hoc committee may be appealed to the
Student Life Council.

Authority: T.CA § 49-9-209(e) and Public Acts of Tennessee, 1839-1840, Chapter 98, Section 5, and Public
Acts of Tennessee, 1807, Chapter 64.

1720-04-03-.16 Termination of Student Employees.

(1) General:

(a) The provisions of this policy statement apply to all student employees except those on
college work-study (see policy statement on termination of financial assistance).

(b) The purpose of this statement is to provide procedures for the termination of student
employees.

(2) Definitions:

(a) Student Employee. An employee who is classified as a "student employee" by the payroll
section of the Office of the Treasurer, University of Tennessee.

(b) Contract Employee. A student employee who has a written contract with the University
providing employment for a specified period of time.

(c) Non-Contract Employee. A student not employed for a specified period of time, whose
employment is terminable at the will of the University irrespective of the quality of the
performance of the student.

(d) Gross Misconduct. Theft or dishonesty, gross insubordination, destruction of University
property, falsification of records, acts of moral turpitude, reporting to duty under the
influence of intoxicants, using or selling illicit drugs on University premises, disorderly
conduct, provoking a fight, and such other similar acts involving intolerable behavior by
the employee.

(e) Grounds for Termination of Contract Employees. A contract employee may be terminated
during the term of his or her employment for gross misconduct or inadequate job
performance.

(3) Notice:

(a) Non-Contract Employee. Whenever, in the opinion of the supervisor, a non-contract
employee should be terminated, he/she shall be notified in writing selling forth the date of
termination. If the reason for termination involves gross misconduct, the supervisor will,
prior to termination, consult with the Vice Chancellor having administrative responsibility
for the employee.

(b) Contract Employee. Whenever a supervisor is of the opinion that a contract employee
should be terminated, he/she shall notify the appropriate Vice Chancellor. The Vice
Chancellor shall notify the employee in writing of the reasons for his/her immediate
termination or suspension, as appropriate, and of his/her right to request a hearing in
accordance with the Administrative Procedures Act (T.CA § 4-5-301, et seq.) or as
hereinafter provided.
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(4) Request for a Hearing:

(a) Contract Employee. The request of a contract employee for a hearing together with
his/her election of an Administrative Procedures Act hearing or one under this policy
statement shall be forwarded in writing within five (5) business days of the notice of
termination to the Vice Chancellor having administrative responsibility for the employee.

1. If the employee elects a hearing under the provisions of the Administrative
Procedures Act, the Vice Chancellor shall forward the file to the Chancellor for
the appointment of a hearing officer.

2. If the employee elects a hearing under this policy statement, the Vice Chancellor
shall immediately thereafter establish a three member hearing committee.

(b) Non-Contract Employee. A non-contract employee may appeal his or her termination
through the appropriate Dean/Director and Vice Chancellor to the Chancellor. No right to
a hearing accompanies this right of appeal.

(5) Responsibility of the Hearing Committee: It shall be the responsibility of the hearing committee to:

(a) Conduct a hearing within ten (10) business days of the employee's request for said
hearing;

(b) Make findings of fact and recommendations to the appropriate Vice Chancellor;

(c) Notify the employee within five (5) business days after the hearing of the committee's
findings and recommendations; and

(d) Prepare and forward as soon as it is practicable a written report of the hearing to the
appropriate Vice Chancellor.

(6) Hearing Procedures: Employees who are entitled to a hearing as provided above are entitled to
the following procedural rights:

(a) A written account of the alleged misconduct or grounds for inadequate work performance;

(b) Reasonable notice of the time and place of the requested hearing;

(c) The assistance of a representative of his/her choice; if the employee requesting a hearing
desires to be represented by an attorney, the appropriate Vice Chancellor must be
notified by the employee at least three (3) days prior to the scheduled hearing;

(d) To present all pertinent evidence including witnesses; and

(e) To confront and cross-examine all adverse witnesses.

(7) Decision and Appeal:

(a) Hearing Committee. The appropriate Vice Chancellor shall within five (5) business days
after receipt of findings and recommendations of the hearing committee notify the
employee in writing of his/her decision and of the employee's right to appeal as provided
by Article 5, Section 7 of the University By-Laws. An employee's appeal must be
submitted in writing to the Chancellor within ten (10) business days after receipt of the
decision.

(b) Administrative Procedures Act. The decision of the Chancellor is final in all cases heard
under the contested case provision of the Administrative Procedures Act. Further appeal
shall be in accordance with the provisions of that Act.
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Authority: T.CA § 49-9-209(e) and Public Acts of Tennessee, 1839-1840, Chapter 98, Section 5, and Public
Acts of Tennessee, 1807, Chapter 64.

1720-04-03-.17 Termination of Financial Assistance.

(1) General:

(a) Coverage: The provisions of this policy apply to student financial assistance except
graduate assistantships and fellowships.

(b) Purpose: The purpose of this policy is to provide procedures for the termination of
student financial assistance.

(2) Definitions:

(a) Athletic Grant-in-aid: A contract for financial assistance which has been approved by the
Advisory Committee on Student Financial Aid and awarded in accordance with the
provisions of the Constitution and By-Laws of the Southeastern Conference and the
National Collegiate Athletic Association.

(b) Financial Aid: Assistance awarded to a student in one (1) of the following categories:
college work-study, scholarships (including graduate), loans, and grants.

(3) Notice:

(a) Athletic Grant-in-Aid.

1. Whenever the Athletic Department proposes that a student's financiai assistance
be terminated within the contract period, the student shall be notified in writing by
the Director of Financial Aid of the proposed termination. The notice shall contain
the reasons for termination, the student's right to a hearing in accordance with
the contested case provision of the Administrative Procedures Act or in
accorda)1ce with the provisions hereinafter provided.

2. Whenever athletic financial aid is not to be renewed at the end of the contract
period, the student shall be notified of his/her right to a hearing, in accordance
with the requirements of the Constitution of the National Collegiate Athletic
Association, before the Advisory Committee on Student Financial Aid.

(b) Financial Aid. Whenever financial aid is to be modified or terminated, the student shall be
notified of the reasons for the proposed modification or termination and of the right to
appeal by contacting the Director of Financial Aid. If the Director of Financial Aid is
unable to amiably resolve the student's appeal, it shall proceed as follows:

1. If the appeal concerns interpretation of policy, the student shall be afforded the
right of further appeal through the Dean of Admissions and Records and the Vice
Chancellor for Academic Affairs to the Chancellor.

2. If the appeal concerns a disputed question of fact, the student shall be advised of
the right to a hearing before the Advisory Committee on Student Financial Aid or
in accordance with the Administrative Procedures Act.

(4) Request for a Hearing: The request for a hearing together with his/her election of an
Administrative Procedures hearing or one under this policy shall be made in writing to the Director
of Financial Aid within five (5) calendar days of receipt of the notice of proposed termination.

(a) If the student elects a hearing under the provision of the Administrative Procedures Act,
the Director of Financial Aid shall forward the file to the Provost for the appointment of a
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hearing officer.

(b) If the student elects a hearing under this policy statement, the Director of Financial Aid
shall immediately forward the request for a hearing together with a copy of the complete
file to the Chairperson of the Advisory Committee on Student Financial Aid.

(5) Hearing Committee. At the beginning of each semester, the Chairperson of the Advisory
Committee on Student Financial Aid shall appoint a hearing subcommittee of not less than three
(3) persons who shall be charged with the responsibility of hearing all appeals during that
semester.

(6) Responsibility of the Hearing Committee: It shall be the responsibility of the hearing committee to:

(a) Conduct a hearing within ten (10) business days of the student's request for said hearing.
When the University is not in session, the hearing shall be held as soon as reasonably
possible.

(b) Make findings of fact and a determination as to the termination of financial aid.

(c) Notify the student as soon as possible of the committee's decision.

(d) Notify the student of his/her right to appeal, as indicated below.

(7) Hearing Procedures: Students who are entitled to a hearing as above provided are entitled to the
following procedural rights:

(a) A written notice of the alleged grounds for termination of financial assistance.

(b) To reasonable notice of the time and place of the requested hearing.

(c) The assistance of a representative of his/her choice. If the student requesting a hearing
desires to be represented by an attorney, the University must be notified by the student at
least three (3) days prior to the scheduled hearing.

(d) To present the testimony of witnesses and other evidence.

(e) To confront and cross-examine all adverse witnesses.

(8) Appeal:

(a) Hearing Committee Decision. The student may appeal the decision of the hearing
committee in accordance with Article V, Section 7 of the University By-Laws. An appeal
must be submitted in writing to the Chancellor within five (5) business days.

(b) Administrative Procedures Act. The decision of the Chancellor is final in all cases heard
under the contested case provision of the Administrative Procedures Act. Further appeal
shall be in accordance with the provisions of that Act.

Authority: I.C.A. § 49-9-209(e) and Public Acts of Tennessee, 1839-1840, Chapter 98, Section 5, and Public
Acts of Tennessee, 1807, Chapter 64.

• If a roll-call vote was necessary, the vote by the Agency on these rules was as follows:

Board Member Aye No Abstain Absent Signature
lif reouiredl

Governor Bill Haslam x

Commissioner Julius Johnson x
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Commissioner Kevin Huffman x

Dr. Joe DiPietro x

Dr. Richard D. Rhoda Non-voting

Charles C. Anderson, Jr. x

Ann Holt Blackburn x

Dr. JAM. "Toby" Boulet x

William Y. Carroll x

George E. Cates x

Spruell Driver, Jr. x

Teresa K. Fowler Non-voting

John N. Foy x

Crawford Gallimore x

Monice Moore Hagler x

James E. Hall x

Douglas A. Horne x

Andrea J. Loughry x

James L. Murphy, III x

Karl A. Schledwitz x

Carey Smith x

Don Stansberry x

Robert S. Taiboll x

Belly Ann Tanner x

Charles E. Wharton x

Dr. Janet M. Wilbert Non-voting

I certify that this is an accurate and complete copy of proposed rules, lawfully promulgated and adopted by the
University of Tennessee Board of Trustees on June 23, 2011, and is in compliance with the provisions of TCA 4­
5-222. The Secretary of State is hereby instructed that, in the absence of a petition for proposed rules being filed
under the conditions set out herein and in the locations described, he is to treat the proposed rules as being
placed on file in his office as rules at the expiration of sixty (60) days of the first day of the month subsequent to
the filing of the proposed rule with the Secretary of State.

Date: (Y\A(c.J- Ll.I I z. U\ '-

Signature: .--0cVZS:~---­

Name of Officer: Matthew Scoggins

Title of Officer: Assistant General Counsel

Subscribed and sworn to before me on:~~I ""
Notary Public Signature: ~"l~4---------

SS-7038 (JUly 2010) 28 RDA 1693

219



17291 . . fF 811ciel!S915161tCe I
1129 "I 3 .16 'Fertnit181'8R 6 111 . Stt'PCIl3ioli due Ie Melita
1729 13.17 Willulf8.mleFFcftlpeFe"

6f Ph)3ieel P.eble1ll3

IWbES
9F

TIlE HNl'iERSITV OFTENNESSEE

Ell • P~'ER 1128 4 J
Rim;;; • NO RESPOPISIBlblTlESSTI:JDEP'T n

TABbE OF EONTENTS

1729 43.11 1I0ilOI StatcillCll~ C d el
172913 .Ii! EtttdefltAee6efllle Bit 1:I

172913.13 EI\,e.tene:t Peul':'.
11 l=miflitlg end AtI.ISlflg

1729 I ~ "IS ;;ffi:inBti8R ef8tmJlfti Efllpl~)ee3

1729 I 3 .91 liI.lto~tl~lio" R lello'" 0116 Pfoee8Ul"u17294 3 .92 815Cll'hnsf) egtt
d d, eFC6lidtiei

1729 I 3 .93 &Inl~ 81 :181 Rig-hb eftlle "'emelt
172943.91 Ftln 8,,~e Scereh P81i~

1729 ~ ~ .~: :::::;::~:~~Jl6Jt te 81. Adl1,ini'lfftli ie eRiee
::~~ 4 3 :97 Athnini31~li. e Pfoeethtre,
1729 1 3 .98 "Fhe 1l~8F11,g B08ftb

29 I 3 99 Ilcnfl:lhu .
17. • 1 d Scope ofRelle ..172913.19 ""pen Ill.

B) leg;.'e",,!,> '" Ihe U~"d"el hi:lll,el pelSo"el hre ill Ih~ oil demon,hele ,e",eel fOI
' , Eaeh studelit sh . 't' e:q)eetea that stti ellts ill

:!8 .:3 81 IPfFROBI:JC=F18N. d 0 e 10 II e fieedolii to lenlh is
19 . dOt" ..o"~"e" I r 0

' ., I e and to lespeet genelal e~Ii~1I01i: . hfts tl dtlt) to de,elol' 1'6 leles
The ,e.po""blhl) ~o 3C::o~he ".edem;e eO"""""il): n". ~""e~::;h pel;ei.. e"d p,o.ed,,,e. ere
.hmed b) ell me"" el~ ° ide e .ere!,>"e,d 10 tI". fi.e el~o 'ft! e e.ed."de eO""""llIl) 0

and pr6eeallles .. 11~ 1 ~r • 'tl the I'!11'tieipfttioll 6fall mem ers 6 1 •

de. eloped nt Utis institutl6Ii lil 1 • II 0' esenl)es the dutie3 of 8

oI I e. Ihe "!'> I • " " t!., ni i elsit), the student neltlelo~. eonte.<t of mutuol legal dellte

A!<lj 27, t ," ':, '995 (fi!e,;.. Bew" ". j 0 d 'bed

A",.."imeJl:jiledA"gh.r3" , , " EEDHRES The ""lieie. end p,oeedllie...~:; 10

" REGHbATIONS AND PRO II' belS of Ihe U,,;,elSil) eo"""",,, f't!

Me'eh. 2881 (Re,i.ed) +

O~220



STUDENT RIGHTS AND Il£SI'ONSlBlbITIES

1120 4 3 .03 STANllARllS OF CONllUCT.

CIIAPTER 1729 4 3

fB E.telusien Frem the Uni.e,sit, 61 flli) lessel penalty may be the result fielll ali) esr'he f811ening
In i3eelllBl1et ,

tn1 Academic clteH'ilig 61 plngim i:mi,

fb1 Ftllilishing false infefl1Ultioli to tlte UlihelJit, "itL the ililell' (6 deeche,

te7 1(116 .. illgl) gil iilg false i"lfmnatioli 01 (estill iOn) tll1lillg the it" estignti81i 81 !tearing of ft

diseiplilis", Illstter,

td1 Vielati61t 61' tile tellliS esr I'16bfltiOlt,

te1 Vnlidalisrlt. IiHllieictl3 aeslrueti61i, d8mage, 81 Ii,i::mse esr I3lilflte 61 f'ublie pI6pel't),
including libra!) 1i18terial,

FOIgel). ulteltl:tioli, dMtI ttetiol1 61 llii:uue esr UBi. flJit) deeuments, Ieee)! eh 61
idelltifieutiOlI,

ObstIttetioJi 81 di:nuptioli ,,[tenching, le3e81eh, 8dli1inistlntioli, disei,'liliftl) ploeeediltgs,
01 othel U"i.elait) neti.itiea, il'eluaing publie ael.iee klltetiolla, 131 ef 811) 8tttholi:i'::ed
8eti Ihies 13" U"i I eL~it) premises,

Ph) sienl 8ettSe et' fill) peI361., er ethel eellauet •• hiell til! e8tells 13' enaBlige! a the he81th 131
ssfet) ef 81\) persall, Ii hether sueh e6Aauet eeeUfS en 131 off Ulti ,ersit) plepel"t). In n8
e.ent slullI thislllle be eellstilled t8 ple,elit speeeh J=lleteelea b) the First Amenaf"ent te
the United States C8113titutiell.

A TloeR, ," o"Sf,II "pplopliotio" (i.e., lloeR "illl i,,'e,,' to te",pOlo, ii, oepd, e lloe 0" "e, of
pfissession), ulintlthoI i:i'::ed pMsessi8n, 81 s81e 81 dnlilfige to plopert) fif the Uni ; elsit) 81
ofm,) eIgulliattiolluFfilinted "itlt the Uuilelsit, 01 ofaliotltef IliCilibet of the UIiil'elsit)
e0ll11l1tlliit) (i.e., fnetllt,. staff, student, 81 efll1.ptlS TisitOI).

ffl U"o,,'IoOl;"o "oe of 01 enll' 10 Ulii,e"it, faeilities nn"",,1 "no"'hod,,o po"e"io" of
I(e) a t8 U"i •erait) fueilities,

Unitt .. Ful tlse, nUl:I1ufnetttl e, p8ssessi61l, distlibttti61i 61 disJ=lensing of al tlgs er 81eehel 6n
Uni.efsit) 6"l1e661 e6ntl611ed pl6perl) 6r6tlling Uni,C1sil) aeti,ities.

A Resel,eo.

tm1 Posse:13ioll, .. hile eli Uni.etsit) fi .. ned el eelitlelled propelt) 61 8t Uni.elsit)
SP611S61ea 61 supel, bea aeti lities, of an) .. e8p61l suell 8S, bllt nBt limited t6, fiAes,
sh6tgllns, 8ltil\ltmitiBI1, hflltdgulis, and nit gUllS, ineluding e,<pI6siles, stleh ttS fiICerftekel3
unless autli6liz:ed iii "liting b) the Chief6fP6liee,

Bisel def I) e611attel 61 Ie •• a, illaeeel1l, 01 obseene etmdtlet 68 Vfli iersil) 6 lInea 61
controlled pl6pelt) 61 fit Uni. ersit) SJ=l611s81ed 61 supel , ised runetiel,s,

F8ih:ll e to !,fly !,Iompll" nRer hotiee, all Viii "fsit) bills, uee6unts, and 6the! Uni. et sit)
financial ebligntitms,

Phltieipati611 ofsttldellts ill gloup aeti.ities 01. 01 ndjaeellt te tile eamptl3 .,I,iel. eauses
dflltlugO to publie 01 plLnte plopeI1" eatlses injtllies to per SOliS, 01 intelfe,es .. ith the
old"l, funeti8nillg8ftlleUni,elsit) 61 thel181mal He •• efhaffie,

Pol'" eh, 288 I (Reo i3<o)

221



ClIAP'FER 1728 4 3

Use, p633Msien, 81 being undel
6 "Ilea 81 e8lttl811ee I'lepeR) ,

'",Alienee af ttleeh61ie "e.ClOgeg 811 UnLersit,the

Reftt3fl:1 18 IeSpel116 16 a Ieqtles 6 I

Ii itlt diteeti. e3 of the Viii .elsi!) eBieiul:i aeting ill ti,e I'fl fell Inanee 6f

:~~i:1e3 ~Ii Uni>elsit) 8 .. Ilea 81 e61ttrellee "fevell) ,

t t epal; 16 a VIIi. ersil' 661i1inislltlti,e 6ftiee,

appel\! eilliel 83 a pall) et us a "'Iness,

p,'Oliiulgatea a"a a""",,,,eea b) u"lI,o, i.ea pe"Oll"e, , , .

. 1II 16 ftll e (plash e 61 ilteendifll" de lIee .. Ith tlte
Fahel) lep61ting the plesenee. ef fUl i Ii f' ftl e Unhelsit, 6r a scheduled e,e"l
ilitent t6lltisleae, deeehe, 61 dIsrupt tlie epel8 IBIt 6 i

31'61lSBledb) t1.eUni,elsit),

. ffafile. file 81 ethel etnelgene), lalseb SCUll'S 6
.. I) ftct at' 813611, fal:~el) rel,erllllg a. IBeatian fil e e,<tingttislieI3, 1163es, 61n, . HO'" It. plOpet . I
81811". ttlliipelilig "ith el feliiell,ng tiel delle "ith leal Iieed fal sue i
flit) ether file e",elgelie) eqUll'llie"t e,<eep ,I i I
equil'lIIent,

I beal d heal ing F611e .. ilig plel'ef l1etifietilielt teWi II fttl fniltlle te til'l"'etil fit a j,lIdieie

.. I vHel pI Ie eelilmit 181 te be tIeee33el) . f aet in • ielntieli efIe the eemmissl61i 18 ttll)

an) membel 181 Ihenl I erSI ) . .. r6r aUen pt 181 IJUGat te eemmlt lape,. did la s eemm,S516n e r

61i
tm

aeeell"t "IIllettt heme .. e J d' t itheut llullieJiailieli ef Ihe 18 .. liel, IheA 18

dding te tlte l'legl hillS, files fllidr61 fli a ;' I 11~l't seeurity ef the eempulel S) stelil,
" I' lIee. aUelllp. 0 ''', f! f!
I"legl hill dfittI 181 III"e lilie Ieset , . f the GellipUlel S) stela, ineluding !tfit .. ttl e tinattempts te disrupt the "elliittl epelt\hel1s 18

soft"a,e,

. hen it tIppetI, s thetf; dial lal etl.e' eli el eli ettmlms, .. . I I"ielfl:tiell ef leeal, stnte, e,e e . "'d' 'I !feets el seti6ttsl) intelfeles .. Ih tIe
• a . a) "IIIeh a •elSe ) a IH of
the sttteelit liM aete III .. :' . hieh injllle3 er elidfillge,s tlte He Bole
Uni.G1sit, 's lt61IHfl:I edueahenal fttiletl~il, ~ 'i . I tien inelttde3 btd is Bet limited te,

• I:J' 't eeIHIHuillt) tte 1 ,Ie a , .

ef tI at stttdent 181 .. lie, III tt t f fl ielent ehUSh e, sheme tl ,I I. I I ealti el safet), and inelttdes II etilmen 18 •• ,P ()Stet! i (

dileeted against ali) ehef S u eli ,r., I deilt te endal gel his 181 hel menta 181
I . I . d ees er eeel ees a S tt I , f I

Maleh, 2881 (Re,;"a)

222



STUDENT RIGIITS MID RESPONSIBILITIES CIIAPTER 1729 13

(Rlile 1729 4 3 .93, e<u!illtled)
~IiSl:tltiIig, 6r.lll.1I11iIi6~ing Ilftttlle. Such aelieR is prehibited "hell e61iILeetee it!' 'f t'
iii!., ~I affillatt611 .. Ith 811 61!;Sl1b:atiell ella tl6e3 !Let inelttde .. . ': i 1It1 181611
utldehe e.enls 81 simihn e6l11fietiliel1. pathelpahel1 iii ettst6111ttl'

,lI.lIwri/). ToC". §49 ,. In. ,.tltttfftiffrttth~or)' e, '*', ,', 'e Ii' "'! n', d e '4;'e ' ,! , 22 '99 . '0" n '" ..,,, ",0) zr ;986 <ffee"", gIJ' '2 '986~;;..:''': "'J illi'illIell,~' t 8, .ift.I',e.!""e 26,1998. ,/"'.","';....,fil..UJe'·o... j~ '99 ,,, ;.' ')' .
, ,99.. "", ..",,,,.,,Ifiwli No"",." 28 1998 effie'i ~. n'9' i ,,' 8, 4ft·,,,e "'""it'''

(;flce.';,,! f)eumhe, 29 /992 I J t: J e; l1j'e I j • :(;~}:e I~;;' ,I 9.. AilJelJtlmewj1fedSeptw,be/ J, 1992
, ., j' Iii"" "J n· d'g' .. - 'n_ .u ,. B • '

JlI1,t: 18, /996. e..ffali l(; Oeiahl, 28, /996. ,. ',' . eovt!e... eeee/li el 38, /995. Ame"dmell.. jUet1

In9 4 3 ,0 I nJ~IBAME~ITAb RIGHTS OF THE ACClcISEB,

fldditiemtrl time b) slle II illg geed eattsc.leICB:I!l1g.,e student 11m) Icquest

The light te a !'tlblie healing. A ptlblie headI g ean il 0\ e ..

Uliee. Tlte Viti; fiSH, e-r Tellnes3ee JtHJiei I S stell e . .
.tlles tllid'6l legtllatiells er the ,esidenee ;:all; 16~d!' rs~ns aeetlsed er "eI8~!eI1S er e.<istilIg
PClIlhellenie Ceulteil, alld Ti,e Uili elsit) orTe' sel'l~es, tile IIItel ft atel lilt) Cetmeil, the• "hessee are entItled to the fallo Ii ing lights.

W '" 'tt .~'~l:et ~::~~e tr e!, ..,g~(:?, tteeetint of the alleged miseendttet, l,itnesse3, alld Iletiee ef
• e ,C !CaIIIlS e I.cled 72 Items befele tl I . TI

~Jetiee ef tile Illft,(iIllUlll aile I.aBle !,enall) (i.e., pellnanent dismissal).

The ftssistftllee of tile eotinseloflliJlI.el eheiee.

Testif) 01 lemain silwt at his/tel eptioJi.

PlesCllt "itllesscs.

the UliiTelsil) li1ust 1" e Ie the sttldelit's gtlilt b) a pi el}ellde'~lie~ el~ t~~i~'T ~~~,?e~~lIe" tltat

A .. Iitteli deeisieli speeif) ilig the Itlle Tielftted, !,elUtlt, 8ssessed, and tight ef appeal.

Chal.lelige the seating efan) beall:I,Heliibel fer geed eause, The dislHissftle

'I'he p,estll11ptien efinneeenee. The Burde"erl',eerlests itl tl . .

lIthe hisfhel (tHe hefud elil) 61i tlte ",iseoliduet s!,eeif-i:ed in the .nitten netiee.

Challenge tIle adli.issibilit, ef e. idellee.

,. .. eft ,else "ttflcs3es,Remain sileht er eenHooht or CI053 e (an ine all fl aHael d .

AJ:'peal te the "e.tt !lighcl BOftl d.

;j"HttJ, itj. Plihl-ie:t le,'s o-} 'Fe;me:uee. /839 ,'80/9 el.t"'fp'el 98 8ee"BII -5 j n b,. ,
6 J. :tfdm;"ij!1l1Nte HjsM;" 01 jg;" <r' II 'f! ~'e j' • ; ~ 27 '986ff ~ ..1ft do lie; el:J ~l 'J'tJllllt!S"!Jt!t!, 1897, ehttp/e.r n Ir J Pi "u' • e.' e It 1:'" '2 '986 /

2, /998, effi::cH\e J1l1le 26, 1998 Allt!I' f w't' J 0 .' b 3" ''ii98'':It' II I, I. ;mendllltJ'lfjf.lull'{w ell
. I lti",UJI I I a erG CI f" ~9 '

,j"gliSl H, ,'995, ,ffnS.. {)e.e", ... 38, /995.' " ' , • e." .. J"""'''" ,991. "",.,,,I,,,ell/fi,""

Morelr, 2891 (Relised)

223



CIIAP=FCR 1728 4 3nN8 RESPONSI81blTIESSTU8ENT RIGIITS '

belongings '1'1 is I~e Ii.."eellen Ihere ' III b'" e, b) I.. elil) full; h . epllen ef d.i1)
. , pe ,e) i, .p"IIeoble IF" . e ne ,e•• eh ef d.. ",", lieliee Ie Ihe• 61 ,e"de, ee I II .. ero, ele,el' .

See,eh. 0, ... "lid fi.le,.II) I' e' pe..en.1

I'e . . I eallllRls t1:tltheIitie3 'II It'lttses.
.1111331011 flol tl e ...1 Iiel eIter fl

;:::;:,::: :"~::;= .::,:::;::';i:,:'~:': :;;,~;;~:~"~:;:;::.:i ;::'~::;~~";:;.:::~",.,,;" ., ~~"•. ~.." ,•••0,,"; .":~ ...... "0 "'''''w '"~,."... '0 ......: "
,1.le", fede..1;. "e.~e,e "f 111I e,llgelilig ,e, ,e enll) inl" .n "ee~pled" !,e, fu.nl ele.ni.g ~nd
.elheri""tieli een';:;':I:~ e'~1ergelie) ,lleollen :~~:~d ,:el.tien, efeempe, .e;~:;· b) en eo,npe,a angel tel Mer36' .. len the delft) 11 18113 anelel eit)., , '.,,,.,, ,-"'" ". .

In,peellen Sid ,e, lie belldlng iI,elf " e 1.111 • .... eh

J

" . e ,ealiled i.,"eet" .
tUlI!OI isl 6fjelflt' t' 18m B) 611 ea

n PObICY.

fB Elill) b) 8' .nt ; CIJI!) tn:ltl ..
eategeIies, in31,eeti61i~~61Ihe3 iute eeeufjiea r6611' .'''''lil b) 8nl e' ,ereh, elid emel e. " .Ii '<o,de.ee h.1I .

1120 43.05INSPECTION Mm SE • RCII

e senrehee

N.. lie eHI e ,e ', I 13011 ..uthOI i:l':inw IIo ie sealch

t8l<e,.,,,erilil'plit"6lt-..l'llt~·""'*',...""!h+....~ ,16ll arthe Item(s) 3ellght, flfll3

Nonie eflhe "e13811 requesting the seareh .

el mto 8f'el 8ne I . 01 f'tU ~ose f..pier '60' 8' .' e e,ed "' ee, '1'1 e' e oem el II Ii
e, ,ee, eh .. I;i:e,,:"' m'.I) .,,11,61 il!e, "'0) 'e, /e e:e,ed e"e, "ill b"'II,;e

d~ .ler.II) he",e
."e, ef Ihe he Pellll,.,'''II, bellhe,e ill ~ e. I'e e"ell ",ell' fu, !}t., orm seetlon 8fle

. ve,e. 8, Ie' .. oe lie ,eo' I f !,eoe ef In .
,,"llell pelllll..I", el"lI' • '011) ",.Ihe,il!e, III • e, e "elOen.1 belens·,peel,ellt ie .. 1I0t enter the el d Iltgs 01 elosedosee 81 efts . I
+0 '1'1 ",he,,1 Ihe

ie Det\l1 of Stttdenls,

lell be ,". estigftted memeel of, ftPI,,"opIinte net'• • lOll

The Viee Pie ,e,1 fu, Slede. I ' ff .I no 8113, 01

Their desigt ees ". i , or III eOHiplianee tI ith ~

ReOlde,,1 Ce",pl.lnl ,I e ede,.lerol.le I... ,.

81 8eused hisAlel m;tl ~ ~lld u I~sidellt belie. e thtlt "
lIelshe '''ll) p,e ..·e ' III.' Ie ",,~eel hl,lIte, ,e' .8,",e..ll) ".ffmembe
"I.le",e,,1 ,heel: be: ,:"Ilen ,IOIe'"e.\ fur re i

em
, Ihe ,e,idenl ,het.ld iii ' ho, ,","e,ed

Ihe,eoidenlm.) e111e,edlelheOfliee f; e.. b) IheJlIdlei.1 'd' e.ee,"pl.i,,1.

Ihe 8e"" ef SI"d:,~~:e~,;:..r eell,pl.lnl ." ~, I ~e 8e~" ef SI"de"".'~,'';'r"? ,~e", d. The
ee. The ee",pl.I"I·:' :~'~. eel din.le, el Ie ~ 'I~~' .. 1" efe..,

Me,eh 2081 (R ., e",ed)
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(Rule 1729 4 3 .95, eOlili"ued)

'11 b I 811f1 the student "ill ee infallLled iii uriling ef the results of thelile fa <elt,
iIi. estigatiert:

A 1"0'1) TO / §49 9 209<4. ,hh"i"i.h"h·" ,W'ffl.,. OdS""": ''''"fi,.d M'l) 27, 1986, tffteli .. A"S",II2,
". Ii. . .,. \ , .". '990 If "/986. ;lmlildwl;Ujio'ed J.{meh 22, 1999, e.ffu:.... \t! V)1I1e 26, 199£J. Am{;m/illlllrjUt:,f GO? lj~, ':: ' eru",'t!

, 29 '99! tme} Ine ,'4:;'t: I I g J' 3 1/995 e{ft:eS. t! BUllllhl, ]9, 1995. ,'meJltilllt;;rtjiit:d Nt'" eJlJhel ] 7,Jt1,Jiitlij ,j I. i It. , I J Pi ; " '" ',' '.

2000, effhti.. >H"wl "0, 2001.

1120 4 3 .06 REQlcIESTS TO REPORT TO AN A9MINISTRATIVE OFFICE. Sueb teqlieot" i"eludi,,!,: •
3UIlillions te ali) jttdieinl healing, liiust be J=lIemptl) tallied at'lt. When the lequest. (6 le~6lt at 8 speCific date
eouHiets "ith ft 3tttaent's schedule, 1i6tilieati81l of el833 sescltee tel:meh "elsBh ,;Ill be 133ttea b) the Deali Bf
Students er hisA,el designee.

@ . -5 J n h'· I' !'f' '807 e/'~'J1.eii AI tJrifj P f h fie le'~ (J-' ·C'elllfeS'3U /839 :8~9, dmpl-el 98, ~elltJJf flit.. J " rtl le,'S ~ • t:1l1lt:S'3U, l,n l'; "Hi •. 1 • t ; I :J I • J H' f ,
64 i., ... 'I'i~t! n'sttJ, 0, ·gill 'I' ,,1e1i't: i'la) 27 /986 effteH. t: AII!>.iJ" 12. }986. ;!lJIllful1lelUj j~r; flgMt. ) MII'/lUii" in j. I F, .. J' , " , '.

H, 1995, ~ffteli .. Bee.",... "0, /995.

1120 4 3 .07 A9MINISTIMTI\'E PROCEDURES.

Residenee Iiall Regtllfl:tiens. Initial!), • ielutielis ef I ~idenee hall regulfttiens Ii ill be Ittll:cHe~ b)
tlte [lull Diteet81 e[tlie applepIiate lesidellee Itall. Based tipeli tlte l1attile efthe alleged delatl~liS

ftfld tile pust eenduet e[the aeeused, the Ilftll Dileeter sl1ftll deteltni!te iftlte Ilftll Dileeter Optlell
is ftppl6pliote 8r lefel tlte ease t8 the Defill 8e 8tHdefits. If the lIall Dheet81 Optiell is deemed
ftPf'181}!iate, it .. ill be administered as fuIl8"s.

~ Tire aecused studellt .. ill be netiRed itt .. liting,

TII ..t I,ehl,e is suspeeted 6fun alleged. ielatiel1,

Orei,etlll1stanees erlhe .ielatien,

Of hisfhe I lights ulidel thejtldieial S) stelll,

Of his/Lei tights le ha. e hisA,el ease heftl d b) a student diseiplinal' befH d,

Thot the Hall Biteelel Optieli dees"e! inelude iI11f'6si!iell efft penfl:lt), ftlld

Tltat fteeept811ee e[ the Ilftll Direet61 O!}tiall ea!istitutes all admissi6n ef guilt
.. "ieh Itla) be intredueed at an) subsequeflt diseiplinfll) hefl! ing.

Irthe student aeeepts tlie I1all Dileet61 Of'tien Itelshe sLalllepl), in ,,,Hillg.

+:- Aeklte"ledgillg hisAtel pattieif}atien in the alleged effeltse,

~ Wai, il.g hi!tl'hel right te a heflring befBle the 8'tldel.t Diseif'lifun) Reald, alid

3-: Wai dng a light ta appeal the administrati i e deei3ian.

I[the stttBell' lequests t1tfl:t hisA,el ease be heard e)' fl8tudent Diseif}linfll'). BB~rd, t~le eRse
shall be I efell ed te the Dean ef Students ftH aetiell iii fleeat dfUlee "ltl1 i1elatl6R3 ef
Stftlidalds efC8l1dtlet.

Standal ds e[ Celtdtlet. Wlten allegatiells ef iudi ddttal lI1ise6nduet at e Iefell ed t6 tlte I?efln 6f
Stude,,'s, tlte studellt "ill be sehedtlled [61 8 e6nfelenee. III tlte e"ent tltnt the 3ttlden~ ,lIshes te
.. ai'e "is/hel light te a healing "efele the Stt:Idellt Diseif'lhlalj Beale mid hale 11IyLei euse

M...b, 2891 (Reoisedj 6
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'"let fielell,it) ce~:~~;ele In IIftlnl"g ,e,"lnft" ,ehe u e . I' I ft 'ft,elil),
be ,equ"ed Ie pm ., . eft,e, III .. lie , B

' i"'ftl') j", i,dlellen '0 C6I ,Wulie", e,)

ealelldal da):1 .. It 'eu 1 •

be el,,,eftled Ie lite SI" e~, '; Ie ftn ftpp,eprielebM'd. '89;< ;('ple'

Dee efSI"delll' ,hftli Ie~' I P, Fe leis "fT.", ...,.., I ;'t, ''11 eM

II , , 98 tieeli"" >"'Itt, , .. "986 IIIIe"eilll.,,:ji•.,r ..h, ,r",,,, ...,.. 1839 1849, e""j;' '986 1f<eiioe ,IIIgII.ll I~" ~9' '991 """"d",...::/;'e"

~ee~i~; :11 j:ni,dielienul }ue'III~';~,t~h ';Ieh ee,e, II~ b~ep'I~V\~1nOIii these deeisi6l13
o I IFC JUoletft , . r ,Beft'o', 1\. f Siudelll' indi,eipllne Ie he .; d I'm Ihe Slude..1D"el" .. ,ft, d ilh Ihe Defto e

PlOe~d'~~:d:~:;lb~~'~~Plin.ftl) Beftrdl'''~:P:~'lu:~db~e:~: ei~Oi ie .. " (belel'), .
ft'e e . I II ,eqonetuenl,e , Ibeftel"e

"e(618ftnee lilhie ftl e II telilatelllit, C6t~lieil JUdieit~18~::~~ ~:li~e1il1e3 fal
' n e",be" e 'I d' g II elf Ie, "', e d b) IheSiudenl' ,e, ""g ., 't: in geod ,le"di"g'"11l 'be" .. ill be ,,,ggesl\ d III

fe) ",e",be" ef finlell" 10', nd ren,o",ng boo,d ",en, ftl. Me",be" eflh" eft' ..
eppeinllng, ,e"lftelll~ I: Ihe Deftn ef SII,denl' fo~ fti~~; Ihe Deftn ef Siudenl'.

illnetenee und deCIde ltt~;~t\~ jli:~de ill .. tiling "Ithlli set I
Siudeni Trib"nftl ftnd , , 'II be

. . d I' Cenduel .. ,aee13161t. U . ersll) Stflllflfll e I 6 ill
• ielfl:ted ft Ill. Elf Studelits, .. I ... I( ) olleged Ie he," . Ie oelie... The Dee.. f iodi ",d"ftl

£..b,}, An indl.16Utl: 3
De.', erS'uelwts f81 8""18PIl~ , J"'lisdietiel1 6,el ettJe3 6

1e

", del tlte
'U} d Ie II e ~ ., . ) ."'g i 'II epe,e. ,

, . I Beord. Thi, bftft,d hft' P, I led lite pftnhellellie ,nle" II e ~IUdenl T,lbun.1
PUl1hellenie JUdlel~1 "e,' L

el :1 hlhe allegedl) "lola ef II ese deeisiells nre t~ ~ 'e" ~ dditiellnll),
ell) .., 110 • ppe. , .. , . f oceISl..... no

,e,etille":';'::'il) SlftndB,d, efCendnel. ';;~ e~lendft' dft)' ef lIel:e;.,:lPlh" lelhe Pe..hellenle
Lft"" e, "' d' ,IIIlIg .. llhll' ,e,ell eft,e, efindl"dlle, ,lebll,1 ed FOt Ihe

;':~:: :;';:':';":;~':~;~:'~::'~'~:";';;-,,;,~~ ~~'~:';':';;'''"?'' :;;~:: :~J,
'IAieial Beald, III sue 1 A ~ t'ltt'let;\s ef stieh aeeJSle . "II, the lequitemellts 0 I'
o . I' ) B.B' 0'. n.. 'ee,dunee ..Student DiselfHli81 D I of Students lit ae .

b iii d .. Ilh Ihe eft I

",u'lee. "(bele .. ). 1 Publieftlleo, e' Ihe
Seepe el' Re "e.. . . eilhel Ihe Mftn.gO' ef Siude, I len hft, ,Iel.led ft

' ord IF in Ihe eplllien ef of ft Unl. e"i" pobheftl hel U"I,""II)
L2..}. Student publieStl61i1• ~~Ie, ' ft ',Iudenl 'lftFf nlO'~be'iel) efNelispnpeI Edit813 ~II.:~ he/she heIds,
\J} • te .I"den e , . I " elle... oee io Ihe pftSl I • (' 8)

ft","ep' 1ft. I Cede ef Elide, el he 1\ ". d I i~! he, effeeli, ene" . d I Ie e...eed len
'I nd",d III I ,e ',e Ie, ee"'p,e",,,e, 1ded fo, ft pelle lIe een,idOlS, end
Ie~ulftlie", ft ..d ~) d::,,;O' "'~) be len,pm?, i:) ~~:,~:: I P,:blieulle", AMI d ",eel',tlint student 3tU. 1

111
t i~1 ltlleial "enalt), tllltll t ,e l

1729. ::::::'I::llI:j:i:ei~n;1;B~e;fl:l;d;'::::;:::::~~;~;~~:::E':!i:lft~t~e~'Ii~i;ti~e~"~~e,
Lll 1"le,fiele,nll) CellllOl, • , . ee,e, I" .. ltlelt e fielell ..I), e, B) La .. , e,

"} '"ri,diel,e" II' 'c Ie, Ce..,III"lIe.. , '11 a,.. , 00 ,d h., 1"1",ft" J dl ieleled Ihe II ,n • d ,hell delell"l"e gnl

(oj : ~"',,: """'~":';;'J.:=.,~;"",'.,',:""~;;:,:::;.", M""";';",':;';;
Un;' e"it) Sift.. or. ' "I'p,e", Iftle pe..ft.'.,,, e, (7) eelend", dft), e "

6 I .dmh,j:Yh tll1Ve N'J'. ;6' '990 ;Imendmelt.'j ,f;U I
V. , go " e 'I",. r , i. '99>

22, 1999, ':iJ
ee

" , ;& . e £Jeee",b .. 39. ,. 3 I '995 erp::eii'Allg"3i t, t '.

4 3 88 TilE HEARING BOARDS.

RESPONSIBILITIES
",'Ban mm, ffi A"' .. "

' e e""l11e j"l I,dlellell,R"le In8 4 3 ,87, eelllll,,,ed) 're "e,lllte Deell ef SI"delll' \elellell .. e, eel11l11illed,

I . m'.'."''''" '_'~ "m ..... """"""m ",m .. ".",,'.....".detelltllliee 88 . ',"'Ietiell hershe 111ft), I" L

eell
IIifalllled ef, I' eftl e Dffill ef

<pi' J"" 0, III del>! ,. 0 00 d II e ee.,ell .
lite Deell ftee riele pellftlt). O"ee. ft , eerillg befo,e Ilteft' " i,,,,I,,,,1 .. hielt '11ft)
ill'I""e ~II ft"PI:~ ill .. IIIIlIg, Itl~q,el II

g:,1 ~ ~,I"ile ,,,,pell,lell el l,ell;I",~'~)dlhe eellrolenee, II,e
IJoIUl,tftill)1 ';;'~e finel, e.,eepl i" eft,e, e "

i
'l ~f Ihe "'ftlle, I, lIel le,e ,eStt/deli!;] :1 1U do t" fifth:1 CettlLe .

• /' ,,~''4. p ..bHe .le:J ff/l :. '1>'" ~I j IOi-ejUed Utf) ',: 3: "';990. effee....'e Jtflllh"/., . I
"'171 '" • ,,' '" , ~,'o I Po Ii' '(}e',,".. " r .

I h 288 I (Re ,j,ed)~ lue ,
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(Role Ina 4 3 .as, eellti""eo)

CHAPTER Ina I 3

adjudicates the alleged infJaetion. A Hlldilig b) the Student PI:tblicatiel13 BeRrd I1UI) be ftl'lf,lcaled
by titliel part) thlotlgh tlte applopIiate aeh"i"istI8ti,e challnels.

Stttaelit Di3eipliIldi) boatds.

W JurisdictioIi. Tlte ""ililfll) hetlling 6881C:13 81e tlte Sttleelit Diseiplili81) 888[8S, eaeh
eOlilplised of Aie stUBwt Illentbel3. The Iittliieel of betmh ,eqtlilcd .. ill be detellllilied
b) the Deftll efStudelds, These beHuBs slHue n peeler 15 ftltellitlte mew},cl!) 16 be used 83
needed dtuing the ,eftl. The StttBent Diseipliliftl., 8681tb litHe the falle .. ing
I eSI,ollsibilities.

+: '1'8 Iteftl allegations of Sltleel •• liiiscOluiuet iIi i 61 i ins ; ielatioli3 of the Stnnclt1l6S
ef Conduct 81 lesidellee halls 81 feed set .iees Hiles ana regttlatiens lefellee te
the b68\ e fal eligil18\ jlll iseielieli b) lite De8ft er Students.

~ Te detelliiilte the ililieee"ee el gtlilt er the student ehsiged 811a establish Sli
applel" inte peIl8It).

3-; 1'e ltetH ineliddual diseiplille eftses appe81ed fielll Ihe IlitelflfltellIit) Cettlieil
Jtleieial 8e81 d anel te m81ee deeisiens n"pte"rifite ,i itl. al,pellate IeSI,ellsibilit) .

4-: Af'f'eals flem Ihe Stllaeltt Diseif'linR,I) BeRres 1118) be Riaee te the Stllelent
Tribunal e\ Stueellt Allhifs Celllleil in aeeeraallee •• ith the "reeeattl e I}le. iaee
ill "AI,pe81 and Seape er Re. ie .. u (beI6li).

Melllbeiship. DUling S"ting Tellli l filld ..t ethel tillies "hell ...eallcies mise, tlte Oefill ef
Sttlelellts slHlll eall fal applientiells fal membershi" el1 the Sttteeltt Diseiplinal) Bearels b)
plaeing filt applepliate alinOtllieellleltt iii TILe Delil) Beneell. Meliibels el alterflates
seleeted fell lI.en.beJ3hip IIm3t be 30plloillole3 el abo"e. Undelglaatlate alie la .. students
Iiltlst 11th e ftt leftst a 2.8 o. eisli glade "eint a, erage. 61 atlllnte students l"lISt !tn, e at lenst
a 3.8 grade peilit ft. el fige iii all gl fielllate .. el Ie attempted. Membels nltel altellttltes e'- the
Studelit Diseiplillftl) Bemds shall be seteened alie seleeted b) a eenlliiittee eOllipesee of
Ihe Sttleel,t Diseipline Speeialist, 8 ehait"elseli of one ef tlte Sttleent Diseiplilialj
BeRlds, ftlut the Dean et' Stueeills, er t1teil lepleselltali .es. ~le "els6n lil8) sell e In61e
than elie nendemie ) cal (1i5t ilielueilig Stimmel seheel) tlliless helslte h83 beeli
leappeintetl te the beftra b) the seleening e61lilllittee (seleenillg is Iiet leqtliled NoH
leappeilltillent). A I1tembel nUl) be Jellie.ed f1elll eCfiee, fal eatlse, b) the Studelit
"Cfails C6tllleil fallening netiee ftfl8 a heatiflg. At Ihe first meeting in lite fall, 6r aRel a
.aefine, in tlte eHiee, tILe Student Diseipline Speei8list sh811 8p"eint a eh8hpersell fal
eaeh beald. Unless lenppeillted, the ehailpel3fHi's tellll ends at the filst n.eetilig in the
fnll. III the abseliee er tlte ehail "elseh, elie ef the liieltlbelS shall a3Stll1ie the etltie3 6r the
eimitpel35Il 8lia slt811 eelleluct the "efHing 8lid ttJie 81i alllIieti6lis, stlbjeet t6 6bjeeti61i
fielll ethel bettie melllbelS.

IIe81 ing Pteeeellles.

+: A queltllll er three bB818 melilbers nlust be plesent ill eldel te heftl a ease. A
lIi8.j6rit) .ete eflhe meillbeis plesClit is lequiled fal all aeeisieli3 efthe beflld.

r:- All) beatd n.elileel .. he eanllet heftr the e,ieellee fairl) aflelebjeeti.el) fer ftt1)

leasell i3 ebligsted te disllliss hilllsel&'helSelr fi ell. the ease.

3-: Tlte ehailpel3eII sh811 8seelluill tl18t the aeet13ed hfts been ad.ised er hi:,Alet
t igiJts Wid sl",11 then Jelld tI.e statel.lelit orehfltges. A studeIIt .,1,0 fails t8 appeal
eefell e the Studellt Oiseiplillfll' Beard in aeeel danee .. hit "Ie"el Beti Aefttieli

"I., eh, 2aa I (Re, i.eo)
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(Rule In8 I 3 .8S, eontiltuea)

CIIAPTER 1728 I 3

slltll! be decided te htlie .. ai,ed hisA.er rights 16 be l"eSthl allling the beard's
delibelUtiem, Ie Ime .. the e.idenee against himAtel, 16 !"resenl e.idenee iii
hi3fhel """I "eludf, and te e,<ereise teftsemtble CI833 eJ<ftldinftti61t 6f "itne33es
tlppetuillg against i&iliJhel. This .. ailei sh811 beeeillie elfeeti.e if the sttieellt fails
t6 appe81 at the desiglt8ted time fiHd I'loee Elf the hefn ing Hitless I"Jiel t6 the time
set f81 the !tel\! ins, the student e611llltUflieales in .. titiltg t6 the Deall Elf Sttteelits
gead eause fot gl fll,tilig 8 e6"tilitlanee Elf 8 sehedttled heftl ing.

4: The accused shall ef'ltel 8 l'lea efguilt) 81' net gttilt). If 8 guilt) plett is enteled,

hehhe sh6\1 be ad. isea Elf the l11fmilllllln "8I1ftl!).

~ The thai! person is in eharge of l11aintaif!ing af! orderl) diseussion throughout the
heat ing. Ploeeedil1gs should be eondueted .. itlt fitting dignit) and shottld refleet
tlte i1nptwtallee and seli6uslless of the hearings. Ali) pel SOli "Ito foils to fallo ..
the i"sh aetio"s of tlte c!tait "eISOIi, aRe, a .. t\lnillg, shull be Iefell ed to the Deall
of Stude'tts fat tll'l'lOPI iRte disei"linRI) fietion.

&. III Ihe «ellt IhOl the aeeuoea pleaa. guill) , the boa.a .hall lO,ieli lile
eileullisttlnee3 of the etlse tllld walee apploptiate deeisions 01 lee61111lielldatiolls
regal ding tlte penall).

=/-; The Dean of Studellts 61 hisfl.el designee shall pleSel1t sueh etiElef!ee 83 he/she
Iuts at the he81 ing, inelttding all) .. itliMse3. lIehhe shall flOt preseflt .. Iitten
3tatemel.ts as e, idenee, ttflless eireumstanees malce stleh preselltatiol' neeess81.,
allEl tIlHl\oidable. Under similar lestlietions the aeeused mfl:) present .. litteli
statelnellt3 iii his/hel defelLse. UllsiglLed staten.ents shall net be a8mitteEl a3
eTideliee. lIeal3a) etidellee is, he .. e,el, udntissible.

&:- ARer the "Iesentation of e. idetlee b) tl.e Deall of Stueel.ts, the ueetlsed shall be
alloned te "Iesent all lele,unt elidellee. If a 110t guilt) "lea has beeh el1teled,
eTi8ellee ill mitigatioll of tlte alleged effense shRII be I9teselitea 0111) 8Aet the
botH d ha3 detelliiine8 tl.e issue of innoeenee 01 guilt.

~ Dm ing bORI a delibeltltiens al\ "elsolls e:teept tILe b011l d membels sltfill be
e,ceused from tlie healing I661Ii. All matters upon .. hieh the deeision ma) be
based solei) u!,on the eddenee !"eseAted. ~Io mentiofl .. ill be made 8ttlillg the
hetlling Oli i1,lioeenee 01 guilt of the studelJt's pletious aisei"linfll" lecold,
\l1.les3 a"l"lopliate as lebuHal to ehUIfl:etel e. idet.ee illtlodtteed b) tlte aecused.

,'I-\(I a detellltination of guilt b) the boald, the I'teti6\1S diseil'lilltH)
tlie aecused, if ali). shall be gi. eli to tILe bottl d tegethel
IeeonlliiClldatioll 6f tlie Dean of StudCllt., a3 to m. ap"lopl iate penalt).

leeotd of
,dth the

hi", eli, 288 I (Reo isea)

ARer the BeRI d detellttines the "ellaIt), tlte aeetl3ea shall be ad li3ed ill C\I itilig
of its deeision.

The lesltlts of the beUla's deeisioli sliull be ke"t Oil oFfieial Uni. elsit) judieial
MIII13, alid sueh 8 leeold "ill be eOll3ideled 3uRieielit. If a .elbatil11 leeoltl of
the heatilig is p,e"tiIed, it shall be letfiined iii the etlsted) of the Deall of
Studelits hlid eon3ideled a eont1dentifll E1isei"linftl., leeeld. If neeeSSftl., ful
adjudieati6n of ali ftpl'e81, the Deftn of Students lila) "Iepme 8 3UnmUtl),
certified b) tILe eh8ilpelson of the Student Diseil"lilla,., Botud, 6r that pert ion of
tile leeol8 that has been designated b, the Ttibul1al 01 Student AWails Coulieil
as Illatel ial t6 the appeal.

9
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STUD6NT RIGIITS MID R6SPONSIBlblTI6S

(Ro'e 1729 4 3 .98, e6nti"ned)

CIIAPTSIl 1729 'I 3

~ A 66lu d liien''''1 sllall 1181 disetl:J:J eases pi iel t6 81 aRer tl:e healing. Tlte
informatioll leeeil cd b) lIielilbel3 of 5: judicial beiard during 8 eftse is eensidel cd
stricti) confidential. \'iolatioIi3 of this eOJif1denee by tHi) bORld mehlber could
result ii' disei,,1i1l8i} aetioli.

Sttldent Tr ibtll181

ttt1 .Atoppelltlle Jttl isoietioll. The Student Tlibtll1al eemi:its of :ie. eli 1"'llibel3. It Iift3 nppellute
jurisdiction to lede .. decision] of the Student 8iseil"liflftr) B08rtb, the Panhelleltie
Jtldieial BORit!, 8ud decisions of the Imediatel Iiit) Cotll1eil Jtldieial BOl!! d ii, those eases
eOlleellling ftlleged Iiolntioli3 eftl.e Ire .tlles, COflstihdiol1, or e, La.,s or •iola'ions of
Uni i ersil) Stnndftltb of CeJI8uet '" 8: FI8ternit~. Afl~ ether jtJris8ietien mft~ be Rssiglle8
b~ the De811 of Stu8elits. The feln19 to be used Oil 8ppeRI 8n8 othel ploee8t:1I81
lequiremellt3 3h811 be estftblishe8 b) Tribun81 B) L8"S. Tlie Tribullftl B~ Lft .. s must be
"pp'6iOd'" Ihe Judie;'" ,~d, i.OI' Board ."d Ihe DeollofSlodellt•.

tb} OJigillal JUlis8ietioll. Tile Stlt8e;.t Tribun811.8s origil181julisdietion ill CRSts ofeOliRiet3
"e".eell student OlgtliliiuttioliS 01 eoaRiets bet .. eeli illdi, idual3 811d student etgnnilfiliolls,
e"ses .. hieh iliYohe iutelpletfttioll of the Student Ce.ell1l1lellt COll3titutioll, en3e3 of
elitlllenge te lesults of Studellt Co,ellllllel1t e1eetieml, and diseiplille eose3 illiOldllg
ehnrge3 of dishollest) iii these electiolis. PIOeC8111e3 Mr henling flle 3et felth iii tlte
Tlibunftl B~ Ln.(s.

Metabership. Duling Sprilig Teilli, ftnd at ethel times .. hen .afaneies et'ise, the Dcan of
Sttlttents sl1all ettll fal aPl'lieatiens faJ membelship b~ plaeing 611 ftppl'0l"Hiate
ftlilieUlteellielit ill The Dail, Beneell, Menteels 01 8ltelnfltes selected !llust be jUlli6l3 01
"bo,e. Tlte ,nillillillin o.el"1I gl"de point ",clagc lequiled i3 2.9 fal undelglftdtlatc3 fllid
1ft .. students and 3.9 fel graduate student3. Membel3 and "IICII'8te3 .. ill be selected b~ n
seleehing eOllilllittee eOliiposed of the Student Diseipline Speeifllist, the Chnilpelsoli of
tILe Tlibtlllfll, 811d tlte Sheelol of Sh:tdent Judieinl ARnils, or tl1eh Iepresentatites.
Because of the b"sie ol,pell"te n8111e of Utis boold, speeinl fensideratioli •• ill be gi. ell to
811 8pplienllt .. ith tl leg"1 bnekglotllid 01 "ledou3 e-<J'elienee on n Studelit Diseiplinfll)
B0818. tlo pelson 111ft) sel' e wore than one aeademie) e81 (not ineluding sun 111 lei 3ehool~

unless hehhe hos eeen le8pJ'ointed to the board e) the sereening eomliiiUee (seleeHing is
net lequired fe, I'eSPI,ointnlent).

Student A[fai,s Cotllleil. The Student ARsirs Couneil i3 the hettring bosrd fer 6pJ'eals frOIii
6eeisions of the Aeedemie Relie .. BOSI6S 8lid the Student Tribunel snd fer Rppeels I1lea b, the
Betlli of Studelits. It is the fillsl decision IHsking boara iii the judieial S) stem. A majority of the
Studelll "Hilils Coulleilshnll cOlislitute a qt:iOIUIt. fol the eOllduetillg of811 bt:tsille33.

The council i3 eomposed of the fallo .. illg Ilieliibels.

(ft) Tile '1iee Pre. ost fer Student AffftilsJ Ii he sel •e3 8!t eh8irpelson,

tb} All the Deans of The Uni. ersit~ efTenne!tsee, KnO.h iIIe,

(e) Thlee (3~ faeult, memeers, associate "rofessor or aeo.e, sJ'J'oihted b) the raeult) Senate
(the initial 8J'J'ointliients sh611 be stRggered in terms so that one /len faeult, member is
nppeinle8 eaeh) ear RRer the iliitial appoilitment), alld

Student Co.ermac"t Assoeiation, fe,; 8 r;eliod of one )eor. TILe council shall r;eliedieall)
,ede .. the stttttH of studellt (oBduet 811d the judicial 3)3telli flud IHnke npploptitlte
IeeOliilllelldntiol13.

MOIeIt, 2991 (Re';.ed)
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'ndeli"lle SlI.pell"o~,..I.~;o" of the 'lI.pellded 'I:;~~ ~~"L6 oddlliollol e"dC"~I~ Applieotioll' FOII
00 ,d fB, Iea "" .! II 00 ,d de3l1e3 , . d 10 the U""e" .b) I'c. ". . "eeIloi" 0'10 L6 ", I i. "od"uUe .

",..",M,,,, "," ...",. .,,,,, '_: " ••,,, CoM'" ,
">e"led b) lie • o".ide,ed b) Ihe Slu ell , . ,,,,one,,lI) boned ,on'".~,'"'~••"... '" ",0 ..... "", .""',.,"",."

o"e,,1 di."""o' hIeo, I i. enoU) I. l1"d " Ie" Oil 0,,1 tolol ond

. . Iimll) Reprin181i '. illle:nlit iii mOle se.

,,~, "" ,"",","" " . . ",
''''~'''''~";;; "'0"'" " ,,, '" ,&,,,."', ,.,,, """,""" '"."""::: :';0;,
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ae . . I II e 'e>po""o' . .e.

eI 0' ged ,,'lI, . d of II",e i. tI.ed '" eo
' . .,,,,,•• , , d,'obat'on. 10" Fo' 0 .peel. . ilhd,o'd' tlOI.
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u· '0' b' I " n~, i i" em ,., , ,
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of >edom lII~ee,:,o~ eligible 10 oppl) Fo' ~~:,;eeed olle ) eo..

Uni'flsi., tlIto I~ ted 31:iSpe1lSi611 86esIL I heel lee6liillieli8etl
I

'd 3Ig"o·· .lie dole "0'". '. ofIhe pedod oe . leO,,, thol "0 'ree,. ed he" Ihe p,og"?,,
. deli"ile 'lI'pe""o" II 'I Thl'l'e"oll) ""' "of "hobilital'o" be

AIIMo".,. , , fi't!d ,'':''''rl, • 3' '995, ~(fe,."e'986 Amf!lf[hlh!1I. J • J",s ,"1ilt:tiAlIgc,s( t, j• . 9 '99 t 'mena: ~j './
.-.- .. , n'Jllilln", :o· •{11 elf 3fJ, 28m °.000, cjft"". nil

! 6 1Jt:I.dillfjJ(j U: 1 '1i't:tAllglI:J, t, j

,98 },. '99' flllfllttme1l
J

l , I "ero ffille",s .
•9- • , 0' I ,o.e•.Jill"'''') .' "H'dO'O I. d d bdefe.<plollo 0') .

""•. 'ffi""" "",. . .,"",., '" •••" .. ,~ ,~.,~.., "..1
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I
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STUDENT RIGIITS AND RESPONSIBILITIES

1728 4 3 .18 APPEAb AND SCOPE OF REVIEW.

CHAPTER InG I 3

t+1 Appeal. Tlte disei"lillm., oetielli ",[nil) beald lila, be appealed t8 the He.d hightl beftut

111 all eases the I(que]! fOl 8PI'eal 111I;'131 be submitted iii .. tiling to tlie Deall of Students
.. itldll St. en (7) en1e1i6ft1 dtl)3 of "linen Ilotiee cHhe b6ttl d decision. If lite se i Clitlt dn)

falls Oil a "eekend 61 holiday I tlie tillie i3 ',(telided to the lle,(t I,gulm .. 61 kdft) .

If •• 1ittG" briefJ flle stlbll1itted eI if I eqtliled b) the flppellflte btHlrd's b) 1ft .;S, the) I11U3t be
submitted "ilhill the 3m", tillie ,,\lolied fell Filing tt leqttesl f61 appeal. Unael hOlliiSI
eiletllilslanees appeals .. ill be "etUB ,.ithin fetllteell (II) dap nAel the) IUlle becH filed.

All appenl3 (',<fer'll those to the StudelLt Affairs COttl1eil, •• hich lila) eleet toliett! tlte euse
de BO,O} liiU~t he taken UpOIi the reeoldlliade heMIC the oligilial eentrd.

fd7 Pending tloe outcOlne of an al'pcal. the pelialt) ~peeif1ed ill tlie original deei~ion ~hall Iiot
be illlpo~ea.

Appellate JtH i~aietioli. The appellate juli~dietiollof eaelt judieial boaId is set f"",th us Mile... s.

W Studelit Diseiplilial) BCJfild. Dcebiol1s of the IlitClfltltelllit) Ct'.llllleil Judicial Boald,
in. 01. i"g i"di. id1:tal diseiplille.

Student Tlib1:tlttd. Deeisions of tlte Btueellt Diseiplinal) BOfHds, the Ptmliellenie Judieial
Boal d and eeeisions of the IItterfJ ateillit) Cotllieil hldieial Botti el in eases of alleged
,iolnt{on ortlte Ire ItIles, Constitutiol1, 01 B) LR .. S 01 • iolations of Uni. ersit) Stal18alds
of COli8uet b) a fratelltit). If a studelit appe81s a piOfeSSOli81 pe1181t) fal alleged
aC8delilie di~ltollest) to 8n Ae8delliie Rede .. Bomd, ana the boald SUppOI;S the
illstltlet6l. tlte student lilt\) make ali al'l,eal based Oil ploeeetH ..1 atle pioecss to Studelit
Tlibuliul.

Studelit AWails Couneil. Deeisions ofSttlaelit Tlibunal, Deeisioll3 of Aeaaenlie Relic ..
Bemels, e.:eept a 868ld's deei~ieli te SUppOlt tlte ilistltletel it, fI shteelit's appeal of fI

Plofe3~orial penolt). Appeals b) tlie Deali ofStuelents OfOfl) beRtel's deeisieli.

The deeision of al\) beard or administrati> e offieel of The Uni. elsit) of Tehnessee is
suBjeet to reo ie,. 6) the PIO. €1st Rnd the President.

Scope of Ite de ... The f1ppellate board .. ill Ie, ie.: tit: Ieqttest fer lipfleal togethel .. itk .8n) .. rit~el1
bliefJ 01 otltel Stlppolting dOetllilellt3 to detell1illle If the appe81 plesellts 8. subStUlltlRI questloli
•• itllin the ~eope of Ie. ie.,. Tile seope of Ie, ie •• 311811 be limited to the f6110 •• llig.

ApplOpl i8telless of tile Pel1alt). III eoses 8ppe81illg the apl"opl iutetless of tIle pen8lt), tile
8ppe81 botud sliall uphold the pClt81t) t1llle3s the pen8It) is sl1o"l1 to be "ele811.)
llt\reaSeI18ble" (i.e., "that .. hieh has eeen elearl) 8nel full) pl8.en to ha,e no ~otllid b8SlS
01 jttstifieati6n in leasan"}.

Ne .. Eddenee. In elises lil'fleftleaOIi gl6ttnaS of ne" edaenee, the !Holing palt) IlittSt
Sh8" that sueh e. idenee is 1118tel ial to tile deeision of the e8BI d 811 the issue of iJtIl6eenee
01 guilt, 811a that said e. idenee e8ulali6t hth e eeen disee j erea b) due diligene) 1'1 iel t6
tlie 01 igilia! ltCI'll ilig.

Due PloeeJs. III efi~e~ t1:ppe8led OIl tIle glauHds of delii81 of dtte ploeess, tile nlo, illt; P8:I~)

IIidSt sh8" tLat tlte adjudicat81) I'18eess 81' tlie i1tithl' hearilig "8S Iiot condueted til

cOllfe! mit) .. ith pl6peli) I'le~elibed ploeedUl ro. Iii this IegRrd, tlte IliO ,jlit; 1'81;) Ilittst
alsa ~IIO" that tile alleged diselep81le) •• 8S IIIfiteri811) "d,else to the IHo.int; 1'811)'3
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STUDENT RIGHTS AND RESPONSII3IL1TIES

(Rule 1720-4-3-.10, continued)

CHAPTER 1720-4-3

intelc3t. Netl.ilig cOl1tfti"ea in the fereg6ing shall be e6flstrt;tea ftslililiting tile right eftlie
Dean of Stttdents t6 request the Student Affairs Council Ie reo it .. the decisioll 8f 81i)

jodieio' boo' d.

A"ffftl. i/)'. rCA. §~9 9 289{0j. A,t",illi:JtJ "JIM JJiJ!tJ.,. 01 jg;JIlf,' I ,defiled AhU 27, 1986, c!fte.'j, e iftlgll;J{ /2,
1986. Ame"tlme,,"ji{ed Male" 22, /999. ejftc:;,e Jrlll' 26, 199B. Ame"dmeJltjikd eetohel 3/, /999. cffle/i\l
JtIIltlff', 29. 1991. ;'me"till,e1l.'jifed ;fhg',J} J". /995, cffuH, e BealllhlJ 36. 1995. J'll,elldmeJ,tjiltd No. "i1h" }7,
2999, cf/Ce";, e ,\ltrl eN 39. 2891.

1129 43 .11 1I0~IOR STATIlMIl~IT.

foB AI, e33elltial feattlle efTI.e Vlli.elsi', efTenne33ee, Kt.o:<. illt is ft e6ltll11itment 18 Illaintoiniflg 8ft
lltl,J6Sphere of intellectual integrit) ttnd ttettdelliie IIOlles!) . As n student of the Uni, ersit), I I'ledge
thttt I "ill neither kilO .. illgl) gh e JiO) 1eeeh e till) illtll'l'lOPI itlte assista'lee i" neadeltlie .,orl<, thtls
nAil Illiilg ill) a .. It pe1301l81 COilll"i"'''I,t to 1,01,01 811d i1ltegl it).

ffl A lIlolotig" t1l1dClst8ndilig of the 1I0l1or Statement is eS3C11tiai t6 the sueees] of the hOl1ol S) stel".
TO faeilitate iUlplelilentatioli of lI,e 3tfltemel,t, the f8110 .. illg 8. 'I'ttes .. ill be utililCd.

~ IllIplementation

ftt1 Tile IloILO. Statement, •• ith its attendant I"ledge, i.ill 81"I"eal Oil al"l"lieatiol1s fel ndmissioll
(t1l1delg.flthlftt, find grttdmjte), find ftl"plieftl1ts to tile Ulli,ersit, i,ill be requiled to
aekflo1iledge tl1eh llAirmfttioli b) signing the doeume..t iii a designated loeaHetr.

laMllllatioll lega.tlil'!l the 1101101 StatemelH "ill be ilteluded in tiLe catalogs
(U1ldelgladtthte 81,d gladuate), Ililitopies. The Sttl6elll Iltmdbool<, and ill tt eloehille
spccifieall, addlessing tile 1I0nor StatCineltt ttt UT.

The 1101101 Slatell,ellt Ii ill be diseussed dtn ing freslUHttl1, tlol1sfel, glfldufitte siliaellt, ond
illternatiol,ol 31udel,t 01 iel,totioll plograllls.

ttI1 It tholotlgh diseussioli of the 1I0110r Statement itt freshmen English is eneoUl aged.

{e} hnplellientatioli lI,etl,ods aud alterliath es "i11 be diseussed during [aeillt) olielltalion
progrlllils.

f47 ResponsibilitieJ

fa) All glOttpS "itlli" the l:JllheiSit) eonlllltl1lil) hthe IC3p6llsibilities tlssoeittted .. ith tlte
1101101 Statemellt. "Filese iC3p0l13ibilitiC3 ftle unique to each seetol of the uni'C1sitj
eonilllttl1il) .

Eaeh studellt i3 ICspohsiele Fal hi3flter 0 .. " per:solial i"tegrit) il, aeadelHie life. \Vhile
there hi 110 affilliiati I e dtlt) to "pori Ihe aeademie dishonest) ef another, eaeh studeRt,
gi.en the dietates ofllisfllCi e"11 eOI,sciCliCe, hlA) eh6ese te aet Oil fill) ,iolation of II Ie
1I01i0r StatCinent. Eaell student i3 ICs"oll:tible tal !thO .>ing the terms aRd eonditions of
the 1I0noi Stotenlellt and nut) aclcllo .. ledge hisAlCl ndhelellee to the 1I0lior Statemeht b)
•• 1iting "Pledged" alld siglring eftell grttded eltts:t 8s:tigfifileftt 8ftd e,talniliatiol1.

Students shull 1I0t plagiOi ite. Plftginlislii i3 usil1g tile intelleetual plopert) or produet of
SOIl'ieone el3e "ithout giling ,"opel eledit. The undoeulnented lise af salUeOfie el:te'J
.. eld" 01 ideM iii fill) lIleditllii efeoliilliullieatiolJ (unles" sueh infellilt\tiel1 is reeognis~ed

ftJ eommon !<Jio.. leage) i3 ft 3erio1l3 oRclI3e, 3ttbject to di3eiplinfll') aetiel' thftt mft)
include fnilme in n eOtll3e findlor di31nisJfti floIn the lIlli.eIJit).

Mo'eh, 2881 (Reo ised)
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8TUI')GJ>IT RIGIITS ANI') RESPONSIBILITIES

(Rule 17'28 4 3 ,II, eouliuued)

CIIAPTER 17'28 I 3

Bello .. iltg [fitts, stalI3he:J, glftl' ,p I . fr afel is leeegf'lilled 8S Bemlliefl
ael{l'8,.ledging the settlee (\II,le33 Juet lit 6rrn I i

I,u",dedge),

Cellfl:eelating 011 a glmled fi:lSiglillient "iHleut the instluet6f'3 apple .81,

.. . nut cleated b) 8 pl8fe33ieli8! sClTiee

SUIlilllarll:lJJg ,"tl;ottt P[~p. tv l11t1:tiel1 iSlee8gllil':ed 83 e6liili1811 kIi6 .. ledge),tlli8tlter 38ttl ee (un e33 sue, III 61

. . 113 iet81i81 leple:3entntiell3, Of ,,!lya3eS "iUtettt

Speei fie exmii"les t'Jf plaghu iSI" toll e.

U . g itl (') It popel dOettllIelitatioJl (quotation ."tub dlla a eitatioll) .. dUel' 01+ 3111 \I 1 l I

spokeli "6163, "lilUSeJ, 61 sentenees fi6l11 ali) 36\lIee,

. .. (I aOettlllelitatiem (bSuall) a eitatieli) ideas flelll

Stlbl[[iHing "elk, elt.hel ,1[, (,hele 61 In ~I'le:eh biblieglaph), erl'l[eteglftl'h).
find tl3ed .. ithell! flttll6utlen e.g.) pal'el, ,

J n h" I 1 &<'''e'Jlasee 1807, e!rtlple." '839 '8 '0 el, pte' 98, See....BII 5 alia I " lie; e.s :J l, ,h" f' r 'eHIlt!:JSU i r, . u ~' '999AltMo"·,,. p" he 2 ehf u.rr ,.',', 11' f ''fHl '" /3, 1999, e.fftethe .HaJj, • .6' 1""',,',, ,,',eHh."oTiJ. OJ.g'f1tft/ltle J .~rJr "-r. ;·m I. iF. .r

gual antee the e33et1 [a 3 .... , t 9 fr eueh ef tlte fullo .. ing aeademie tUlIts.Aeadenlie R:ede .. Bomel has been eleft e el .

1128 4 3 ,12 BHJBEPIT ACADEMIC CONDUCT, , ,

. . . .. ef all members ef the aeademie eallil1lunit). In fI Ut,,1t et SIt)
(-l-) Aeaclemie iutegllt) 13 a [e3peI13Iblh~) 't f T "' e33ee u s)stem ta l1laniter, superilse, find

83 large find ealnl,le,: flS The UIl,:er~l) e. ~ I 3;81' 1"e itnplen;elit stleh a s)S!em nt,
t' I ofe del lie IIItegllt) 13 neee ) . .

Oldduale Belteel

Cellege efAglieultllle

Seheel ef .>\1 ehiteetul e

Cellege ef Business lHhninisttfltiem

College of Cellil"unieatiel,3

College of Edue.!ioll

Cellege of Ellginee[ illg

Callege ofllull'.1l Eeolo/;)

Cellege 8f bft ..

Cellege afLibelal Alis (ilieludes Bacial WeilE fmd Ail and /'.. 111) ROTC)

Callege ofNulSiug,

College ofVetel il'tlI) Medieine

College of Soe;.1 Woll..

M.lelt, 2881 (Re<ioed)
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nil I ,ilh all) ,een",,,, f ~p,np,;ole oelinn.

Ingelle "d roeull) Se"oten, a , I II enn,i,lnftl"ee

Cnllllell a" ',d ef eoeh oeode",Ie ,n:'t :~:"'be"h;p '" the

A qllo, "'" "": e the o.ollobll,t) n , bn6ld'
I le"nlll'u, 'n,,, ,e"e"

Ii" a 101 ftO . ,It) o",ong Ihe •a" nf Ihe Dean
In o,de, 10 e"obli,h enn~::ol due p,nee", a "'e"'b;' eoeh of the

, c' "" "e", . I dlff,,, ,n", ,. . .
e;tell""I""e , den" p"illn" "h,e , '1 'loll "'ol<e p,n. ",nilCnll"e;l, " bno' , .. TI e oeode",;e um , ,

. efn"ers. T 1I II eensist efslA III . . f8 qtteFUlH.+.

I 2881 (Re. i,ed)Mfllel, +5

234



STUDENT RIGHTS AND IlliSI'ONSIBILITIES

(Rule 1129 4 3 .12, eelitiliued)

CHAPTER 1129 I 3

Notification. An ilistltletol shsllliotif), ill .. filing, coulitersigned 6) the dCl"8111hCIlt head,
81i) student to "hOI" 8 pcnalt) is assigned, pointing ott! 16 the 3tud~l1! the ~eI18lt, aBd tlte
loute of upl'eal. Cupies slmll go to ti,e Dean of Stude.,'s, tlte adlltllllstI8t.\ e Ilead of the
instltletol's ttendclilie till!!, alld "ltele diffel'"!, tlie Iiead {'JEthe actHtell1ie unit ill .. hieh
the student is ciliolled.

Appeal ofPlofe:nol ifl:l Pellal!,.

"lilial BiscU3Siolls. IIii.iuU), a student shall discuss lite pCliftlt) Ii i.1i the instrttetol
ili,ol.ed Rile, if l,eeCJ3fi1) , tIle dCl"ftl'tmcnl head. (Wilen 118 DepftltIlielit (.fist ,.ithin the
fteadclnie unit, tlte nehninistlftti.e head 111f1) 81"1"6int all i"di.idual te fulfill this
lespensibilit»). If the sttlBellt is tInable te lese"e the penalt) .. itb tlte instl"uetel anB
depfH'tllient head, "ehhe l11a) ap"eal saiB "enalt) te the Aeadel~'ie Re. i.e .. 8eft~B b)
Hotir) ing tlie Deall of Students .. ithin se.en ellleliBfl1 dll) s ef leeelpt ef .. IIHell 110tlee of
the "enalt) f10111 the illstltletol.

Stueel.t Ap"eal Statelnellt. All uppeal b) a sttleelit te an Aeadel'lie Rei ie,l 80ale Illtlst
be in .. liting. It is the lespeHsibilit) eftlle stttee"t to IIittke Reomplete ane tla616ttgh e~se

1'61" the appeal t6 the b6aut This is paltiettlali) illipeltaRt beeause efthe Pleeeettle .. Iileh
alle .. s the Aeadende Rede .. Be81e to Iliake u eetellninatiell basee ell Beet:J:IllelLtal,
e.idenee i,ith6ttt pl6.idiltg tile sttleellt alleppelh:l:llit) t61l1al(e all 61al plesentttti6fI. The
appeal statement slleuld eelitain the 1'6l1e ii iRS iHfermatiell.

-I-: ~~ahie the pelS611 )ell!" appeal is against, .. ltat elass (if ftH») is hl+6],ed, tine
"lie" ""d "lie, e tlie pi eblelti leek plaee.

r: \VlEttt is )Otll eel"plaillt? III .. Imt lit,) "ele )6t1 agglie.ee, Imlluee, injtlled 61
dellied )Olll lights? (ExUlliple. tlldt!st allegation Oflleaeelilie dishonest,).

:h Gi.e speeifie:. ef the '}Ieblem. A mele statel1iellt lilee. "I did Iiet eheat, lIiistl.1e
mateIial, ete. " is n6t stlffieient. State .. Ii) )Ott feel tlte penalt) is implopel el
ttftfuito,

4: Velifieatiell. What papels, e.(8I11S, lepelts, ete., e.dst .. hieh .erif) )OUl
statements? Is tltele ttli) elie (anether student, ad .iS61, ete.) Ii 1.6 ean •erir) tlte
Iiteto'I

5: Histel). What I1ft,e )OU d6lie t6 selLe the pI6blel"? IIn.e ,en talked t6 the
"eISOIi .. itli "lielll )6t! hl"e tlte pleblelli? ''''he else ha.e )Otl talked to el
8Hem,>ted to tal Ie te? When?

6: Remed). Wltat s61t1tioli eo ) eu .. alit to ,eur appeal?

=/-; Identi Iieatien. Gil e ) etll nallie, fuldl e33, teleplt6lie "tlIHbe!", and sttleellt
ieelltifieatieli munbet. Sign the apl3eal statement.

Ilefuing.

-I-: PI oeeettle. The pl6eedUle fal this l) pe ef hearilig shall be establishes b) the
lteadelllie Relic .. 80Ul d \I itll tlte ftppltHlll of the Student Affnil s Cotllieil. Tlte
"roeeeUle Ud6ptee shall 1'10. ide neeessal' sufeguards te illStile that fUI.dftlllel.tal
fail ness is cAteJiSee both to tile student alld the instlttetol in. oil ed. The Itettring
ploeedt!le shall also plodde fal 8 tno step ploee3s as fallo1is.

Mmeh, 2991 (Re,;,.d)
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11£SPONSIBILITIESENT RIGIITS ANDSTUD

8 4 3 12 e6uliuued)(Rule 112 "

CIIAPTER 1128 I 3

'e 8\1 "Iitten.. Befuashallle.I." . H611t6The Aeadwile Relle.. 8 lelimil181) IIlTestlgtl

Slel' T"6, IF 0 d Ie f6' Ihol heotiug ,holll i I ed I eoling, Ihe lighl16
Beo'd, Ihe I"6ee " o, .. iuoI16", Ihe tighl16 0 e

d
6:

ghl
;6 leeeLe 0 .. ,illeR

the light t8 el6SS e.< fthe BetUe f61 cause, al1 I
eh811enge l1iembel3 8
deeisiel1 ef the e68r6.

deeUtltenlatlel1 II I 'del tifllj ltetl:lll1g ) le
' 'F It, eo, I ,

delellnille1 0 I ...del1lle Re"e ..
db)I"". I"ermal hearing is 8PPlele~1 elude tlte tight Ie e6ttliSe I

Cetllleil su~~eRs

the ease is terlnillated.

dfltieFis of the Student
Ple.S3t. /'''1) sthe.' teeotl1le::d~d te the PIO.ost fm
"H"airs Couneil .. III be ef'" e iI1IoI.es fl glflduftte
" <I'd'eolieR (" hen 0 e", IDeo" 6C Ihe11"01 " jU , COl ",ded 16 lie Ii I
student, it shall be ttl ti' .tlte PH" ost fmllii61 ttduttte Seheel ,

.<lj"dieoli6n), I

' db I 'eI ,I oil be FR, .. 0' de ry
The ,estills erf the apt'~a a~millistlfltj,e heBe of 811
Detlll ef Students t6 t ie
aeft~ell1ie twits ifl i 01. ed,

e1eel' ". d II e '1,,<leRI Iii", opp OR- ee .F1he De"" 6Ite';e .. BRO', I 'I b) '6Iif:>i"g lite'

Ins'lut 8 K tl t' s of the Beftr , leell a lOll

Ihe ,ee61lllll , IFli e in'lI"eI61
mellBatloli. I .~ lot Aeeel,t Reeom , sf tlte AeftBefme

.. 8erlll CI .Studelit A[ltuis ,

SI"denl', d I • Rili"
' IF Ihe Siu ell 1\

d t ... RHi,s Cetlnel!. 'sf tI e illstluetol,6ht en n. the detetllliti6t101l I

1"31' "e161 D6e~;1 1I e "e61lllllelldOM", p" .11) 16 Ihe
I Ie 6 6" I eol lie i f

N61 SUI'I'el~iug ;e~;lo;,~e .. ilh Ihe delellu:;,"I:~~I,uel~', o"d 16 Iheleeemmenaal18l1S 6.•. h811 be fal .. tllded t8 Ie
e"68116113 3 ..these lee6n~1ll d fthe a:endelille t111lt.

odurl"iSllol"eheo 6 , IFUe i",I,uelel oeeep"
len!ah811. i . tedt f .. eeepis IteeeI1n. . d tl eBse is tellUII\8 .

Suppe'lillg I eu~It), e i, lellui"oled, lIe .. "~,, Slude,,1 T,ibuuol u,11 e instI tlelel, t ie eM I) be ilIade t6 t ie
' d )18ee33 lia

pleeedutultle I ieee pI aeesttle.
' 't1 '1'1""" d

oeeRid""ee ..III "01<., liudiug, ou

It I f the baal d. I. 6t' (I e ins!1 tletel,

R' It ef AI'I'eRI. , d b)
Deei';6" o"dlg I tI e delellni,,01l6u 1110 e

" If Ihe b60ld 'Ul'I'611' 1 0" oppeo' bo,.d up~u

Piece Ul.e· Re: ie " 8081e shull be III uee

,~e~~~"~,e'il) SI."do,d, 6FC6"duel. , B60,d e6l1ee",ing olleged

e [ 0 , , F lite ,~eodell1ie Re"e .. d I II he e6l1d"eled III
• e.1 6f " dee"'611 6 'Froi" C6UleIi"" ":: The Iighl 6F IheAppeol. "" opp '16 lite Sludelil , I , 'lIiIl16pi." )[vl.

, I CO,." d '<li'h6ne3l) b) IheAeod.,,,ie D,,1t611") " r olleged oel' 6F oeo en"e elh.,. ielotien'
d TI e t'l oeeetll e fOr 8d:iU.dlefttt::~:l1ee "itlt the I tiles go i crlllllg

I I 2881 (Re 0 ised)~. ale 1,
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STUBEtrr R:ICIITS AtJB RESPONSIBILITIES

(Rtlle 1728 4 3 ,12, eOlllilltled)

CIIAPTER 1728 'I 3

Uni.clsit) to 8ppe..1 811) decisioh of em Aeademie Redell Board Jegflldillg alleged
dolatiolis of fteftdemie dishone"t) ma) be e.~ereised b) the head of the aeadeJilie unit
i", 01< cd b) 1I0lil) illg Ihe Offiee oftile Beall of Sltldellls,

The deeisioli of flll) bom d 01 admi"i"trath e offieer of The Ulli. ersit) of Tenne3"ee is subject to
rede .. b) the PJ'6.ost and the Plesident.

If .. t.t,tJritj. 1:C.A. § J9 9 209(~. Admi"i,'" fffitJl .\ti,ftj.". 91 ;.g;If(f/ • ,de fHed MCf' 27, 1986. ef!ee,'i, e ,-I"g''',' 12,
1986. AlJleildlJlemjil'eti It:',,eh 22, /990. e.Bfeo'i.e J""e 26. .'990. AJ1Ie.,d'11emjifed ()eUJhei 3 ... /990. if/uNie
Jnll/ltb>, 29, J99/. Jlmtilt{;JlllI,'fi/(t/;I ..g"3l 3/. /995, tffic....'{ 8uellJ/uJJ 30. /995. Amel1(;me1l,' ,'" Rell/lil/hel , w'e
flo", /720., 3.1.' file./Jm"..", B, /999. effte,·;'t; loft." 31. 1999. "",e,ftl",e,rtfiktlN-o,e",hel /7,2000, t:/fee....'e
,\1m eh 39, 29M,

172843,13 EMERGENCY PO·.... ERS, \Vhe", ill Ihejtldg'lie"t oFlhe Sltldellt Affairs COtl"eil of Tile U"i,e,sil)
of 'Felillessee, collditiolls are stlell tllat it is iliiplf\etieal fi.oh the Studellt Diseiplil181' Botud" to nmetioll, tlie Viee
PIO¢ost rOI Sttldellt Affails ilia) suspend these 1)loeedlJlRI regulatiolls Rlld sppoil1t an ad hoc eOlllliiittee to hesl
diseiplinsl') IliaUeiS. All) sueli sd hoe eOliiluittee sllall Milo .. ploeedures that "ill insure the ploteetionofthe lights
oFthe studellts imolied, <13 stated "elein. An) deeisioli" b) tlie ad hoe eommittee ilia) be apl)etlled to the Studellt
Affnhs Couneil.

,j,,~~.. ilj, 7:C'/.§/9 9299{e), Atlmiili'hnh'" JoN'lot" €'high",I""_fil_" MftJ 27, 1986, ejfteljoe ,I"g,," J2,
1986. ,III,ellt!me""fih:d},!tf,elt 22.1'998. ejfte/i.e JI".e 26, /990. ,'",e.,dmelltjih:tlJ'r.g,,;y.. 31,1995, ejfte.... ,e
fJecemhei 38, /995. Ame",fme""18 lle,lll1"be, ,,,It:fio,,, 172fJ 4 3 .12jUed JtI""tI" .'3, 1'999, e.{fee....'e ,Htry 31,
/999 Aml;"dmemjil-ed Nt" emhtf:J 17. 2f/nO. ~fft;e"" Ie l"\,, elf 38. 28M.

1128 4 3 ,14 TRAINING MIS ABYISING,

t+1 Jttdieial Addse,,) BOlild. Tlte Judieitl:l Adli301') Boftld Iift3 tl pJimfll') lespo113ibilit) to obsel.e Slid
.. 61 k .. itlt all judieial bodies ill eOllsultatioll, tl <tilling, ill> estigatioll, alld e, alutltion. The BOlli d
shall eOli3ist of the ehail J'elsoli or ehftill)eISOn's designated leple3entati. e of tile fello •• illg 60S1 tb.
Student Tlibunal, eaeh Student Biseil)linftl') Board, 111(" Htl:telllit) Couneil JudieiRI Boftldand the
Panhellenie Judieial BORld.

W The JudieiRI Addsol) BOfUa Sl1611 meet at the eall ofthe Student Diseipline Speeiftlist to
disetlss 06sel, atiolls, ihRke appropriste leeolllnlendfttiollS, and reeeh e suggeslions for
eOllsideratioli HOIl1 the 8e6n oFSludelits.

At the beginning of eseh tell II, tlte Iesreetio e boards shsll designate their I eplesentati. e
rOI thst tellii.

Training Semiltals. Anlltlall), and RI sueh olli" times ss is neeC5SSI), seminars Oli jttdieisl snd
diseiplillsl') proeedures shsll be condueted b) the Offiee of tile Desn ofStudelits. All illdiliduals
sellillg Oli Uni,ersit) jttdieifll boslds IIIUS! attend these tlaining selllilisrs. A .. ahel of this
legulstioll illS) be issued b) the BeaflOfStuaelltS onI) fer 'Igood el1use." TIRining semillars sllottld
eOliil11enee 6S SOOIi as possible fello" illg seleetieR of Reu jttdieial besrd melllbel s. Iii sdditioh (0
the DesR of StudeRts, the Student Tribttnal, the Judieial Ad. i30r, Board, the Student Diseipline
Speeialist, snd Re3idellee lIali staff pelsollnel "ill be illiol.ed in the sRllual seminar ana iii 8
eontinuing tl 6i1lhlg plOgl fun.

Ifht"fJ'''I). Phhlic ,'ctJ fJ/Te""e~et!. /839 /8/0. el1ap"el 98, 8ee....oll 5 tlifd P"bHe "e,~ tt/Fe""eHu, /867, eh{fpi'e
64. ,.dm;lJi3t, alive HisMrj. Or ;g;Iltl{ , iii'!; fihd 101•." 27. /986. effect;, l ,1"g1lM "2. 1986. •'",lllt/ilIl'''' JUeti Ilia' elt
22, 1998, cfftCli'l Jime 26,1990. A",eilffmelltji/etiAugl,J" 3}. "995. e.f!ee.... ie Buelllhel 30, /995. JllIle",fmew if)

Relllllllhl, ,lIl'ejitJllJ 1720 /3 .13fi"t:dJtI,,',tI,) }3. /999. t:ffr:e"·j,e lilt; 3/. /999.

Ma,.h, 2881 (Re, ised) +8
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STloJDElJT IHGIITS AND RESPONSIBILITIES

112943.15 TERMINATION OF STl!BENT EMPbO'iEES.

(-Ii Genellil.

CIIAPTER 1729 I 3

W Tile plo.isiol13 efthisl)olie) slatel.,,", appl) 10 all studer.l emplo)ees e-<ecpt those 61.

cellege "611[3tuEl) ~3ee I)elit) state.!.,,,! Oli termilistiel1 of financial 8ssistonce.)

~ The purpose of this statement is to ",Iodd, pl8ee6tUeS fer the terminatioll of 3ttldellt
ct11plo) ee3.

Definitiolls.

W StttdcJit £IIII,lo)ee. "" ('liple)" .. lie i3 classified 83 ft "studeril eliiple)ee" b) the pfll)r'611
]eetioll of the OAice of the T. eflSlIl (I, Uni. (!'sit:, efTennessee.

Contrnet £1"1'10)((. A studeltt ('''1'10)(( "h8 1t83 8 .. riUe" cOlltract "Hit the Uni.el3il)
1'10. iding (1111'16) liIent for ft specified peried aftinic.

NOli COlitiS'! Emplo) ees. All students hot eMple) cd ~I 8 specified "edod of thile, theil
e".plo) II.el1t being terminable at the Ii ill of either pRI t) il respeeti, e of Ihe qtlalit) of the
pel Wllljflliee of lite otlter I)art).

W GlOSS Misconauet. TheR 01 dishoneSI), gross ilistlboll:lination, aestltletioll of Uni i ersil)
1'1 opel;) , falsiAeatioli of leeOI(!s, aets of 1110181 ttllpittlae, lepol;iltg to dUl) \ll1ael the
iliAuenee of into.cieal1ts, using or selling illicit drugs Oil Ulli I ersil) 131 emises, aisol aeli)
eOl1atlet, 1'10 i okillg 8 light, fwd suel. othel similar aets in. 01. ing intolerable bella. ior b)
ti,e en.plo)ee.

Glotlllds WI TelillinfltioIl ofColltlftet Elllplo)ees. COlltlaet e"'plo),es IiUl:) be telliiili8led
during the tel 111 oftl,eil elHl)lo)II,ellt [81 gloss liliseol,duet 01 inftdequatejob pel wllnanee.

W Non Contraet En'plo)ees. Whene.er, iii the opinion of the s\lper. iSOI, a non eontfftet
emplo,ee should be telillilioted, Iiehhe shall be notiAed in .. ri_ittg setli"! felth the date
of _"millation. If the leaS81. fer tern.ination in. 01. es gross miseol.dtlet, the stipe .... isol
"ill, prior to termillatioli, ,oustslt .. it" the Viee Pro. ost Iaa ,jng administrati. e
lesp6llsibilit) fer the emplo) ee.

tb} Colill ael Eml)lo) ee3. Wllenet" .. 3t1pel dsol is of the opinioli thnt 8 cOlltl8el eliiplo) ee
3"ould be lelillinnlcd, "chile 3hallliotif) the appropriate Viee PIO.OSt. The "ice P16.03t
31hill 1I0tif) the e"'I)lo) ee iii hi iti"g of Ihe Ie830113 WI hiy!&er iliilllediale lellliin8tioli or
Stl3pClISioll, 83 tll'l'rol'rinte, 811d of hi:!A.cr rigl.1 10 leqtlest n hetll illg ill aeeol daIle, •• itll
the Atlli.inis_lttti. e Ploeedtlres Aet (T.C.A. § I 597, e.' Jet).) 01 83 hereinaAer I)M, ided.

Retltle3t f61 a Itearillg.

W Cofttraet EIilf'lo) ee. The reEtuest 6f the elilf'lo)'ee togethel ,,jth l,isA.el eleetion of ali
Administrati.e Ploeedures Act liearillg or olle ulider this pelie, statement shall be
far .. al tied ill .. riling .. ithin fi. e "8ddu! da) s to the Viee PIO. ost ha ;ing afhiiini3tratio e
re3pol13ibilit) fOI tile "111'18) ee.

If the emplo)ee dee.s a healing untlel llie f'1'8;Jsions of the Adlliinistrati.e
PloeedulC3 Aet, the Vice PIO,031 shull FOl"\,ard the Ale 16 the PIO,OSt Fer the
appointment ofal,e81illg oAteel.

MOl eil, 299 I (I~e';.ed) +9
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STUDENT RIGIITS AND RESPONSIBILITIES

(Rtlle 1729 4 3 .15, eOlililitled)

CIIAI'TER 1729 I 3

r:. Ifll!e emple,ee eleet3 fll;esling tlltaet this ~6Iie, sttttement, the Viee Preiest
:d.ull i,nliiediatel) 11,eleaAel establish t\ till ee membel hesl ins e8111l1liHee.

t46li CeJlll, ..e! Elilplo)ee3. tJOIi centulet emple,ees Ilia) 81'peal theil te'llliliatiell tlH8ugh
the ftl'p'81'Iinte DealJDireet61 811f1 Viee P,e,as! 18 tile PI"6,8sL Ne light 16 ft healing
aeeelill'ftllie3 this Iigh! ef appeal.

Resp8l1sibilit) ef the Ileafing Cemmittee. It shall be the resl'8Hsibilitj ef the "eflring Gemmittee

""
(it1 Cendue! fl heating .. ithin tell .. 811dng dR)::I ef tlte emple) ee's request fel said heating,

tb1 Make Nndiltgs of faet and I eeelllil'ielh~ati8113 18 the apple!" isle Viee Pie i 6St,

(e1 Nolie, lite ell,plo)ee .. itl';11 H<e .. o,killg d'll' .Re, tlte Iteming of lloe eOlililiittee',
Hlidi"gs 811e ,eeemmendfttiol1s,

fd) P,crtue and f81 .. sid 83 3661i 83 it i3 p.aetieable ti .. Iitten repellt of tlte healilig to the
ttpflffipi inte "iee 1'18 i 8St.

Ilcaril,!,> Preeedtlre3. EIllI,lo)cro \,1.8 tUG (,[titled 16 a hetlling as 1'18. idee Rbe.e ale (Idilled t8 tile
[8118 Ii in!,> preeedtlfal rights.

ta1 A "IiUen fleeOtilil flf the alleged miscenduct 6f gt8t1t1(h [61 in8deifluate .. 81k
pel falmt1nte,

tb1 R:eu30lHlble Ilotiet Dr tile time lind plnee of tile leque3teel 11(81 ins,

te7 Tile assistailce of a .epl e3elltati ~e of hiolA.e, (Itoiee, if tl,e (1"1"'10) ee lequc3th,g 8 Iletll iIlg
de3il (3 18 be IcfJresenteei b) all flUel/le) , tile 8f'p18rH iete Viee Pie. 8St Ilitl3! be 1i6tiAed b)
the empie) ee at left31 thl ee df!) 3 pi iet 18 the sehedttled heftl ins,

fd} To plese,,! all pel'tillent e. i6ellee inelu6ing •• itlle:nes,

fe1 To eenfIol1t !tlld el6S3 e.(fUlliue all ae.else llitliesseJ.

Deei3i611 "lie Appeal.

Eft} lIearing COlnndHee. Tlte al,propliute Viee PIO,Ost shall .. ithin n.e .. olking 6a,s aRel
leeeipt 6f f1lidiligs alld Ieeollilnendati6113 of tile healing eommittee notif) tlte emplo, ee ill
,,1 itil.g ofhiJlhel eeei3ioll al1d of tile emplo,ee's light to appeal8s plo.ided '" Artiele 5,
Seetioll? of tILe Ulli.e.sit) B) Ltt"s.

Offiee.s, faettlt, and staR'Inembers, students, eInI,le,ees, ahnnlii and allotllels .. ho feel
that the) Ina) ha.e ft grie.aRee agsinst the Uni.ersit') shall hfhe the light of appeal
Hu ottgh tlte Pro ..ost t6 the PI esident.

1\011 ellll'16)ee'S appeftl IIItt3t be Jtlblllitted iii "liting to tlte Proiost "itbin ten .. 61ldng
dap nRel leeeipt of the deeision.

Admini3tltltile PI6eedures Aet. Tlte deeiJioli of the P,6.6St is Anal in all eases lleal6
ttl Ide. tile e611te3te6 euse 1',6. isi611 of the AdIninistfati. e P,oeedtll es Aet. Furtl.el appeal
sllall be in aeeol danee Ii it" the I" O. isifll1s of that aet.
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112943.16 TERMINATION OF FINANCIAL ASSISTANCE.

(-17 Generol.

W 06. el age. The pIe. isiens ef this relie) ap"l) 16 student fimuteial assistance e)(eept
glflBtlate 833istftlltsltil}3 1mB fellelllsitips.

PtllpMe. The purpese this velie, is 18 pre Tide "leGeettl e3 fal tile tel Iltinati61i ef HI1811eiai
ussistftllce.

Defi.litioI13.

(0) "Hattie GI811t iii aid. A eentlae! fell filt81leial U3sishiltce aliieli has eeen fll'I}16.ed B) tlte
Ad. iS6" C81i1liiittee 811 Stueent Filluneial Aie tine fl .. ardee iii aeeeitlallee "ith the
1'15, isiel's ef tile Censtihttien aile B) La"s ef the SeutileaslelH COllreletlee aile tile
Natienttl CBllegiale Athletie AssBeiatiBIl.

Fil1alleittl Aid. Assistaliee ail 81 ded tB ft stutlent in ene ef the f8l1e .. ing ealeget ies. eellege
,. BI kstUB) , sehelfilships (illeltlding gladu8le), IB8ns, anti giants.

ftt1 Atltletie Gltlnt in Aid.

+: Wltene,el tlte Athletic Bel'altmcnt I"Iep6ses that the Nllfllieinl tt33i3tfillee be
teltainated .. jthin the eelihaet pelied, the sttldent shall be lletif1ed in .. titing e)
the Bileetel ef FilHtneial Aid Bf the plepesed terminati5n. The netiee 3hall
eelitaili the leaS811S fal terminatien, the shtdeltl's light te a healing iii
aeeelelanee •• ith the eel1testeel ease I'le.isiell erlhe Adl"illishati,e P,eeedtires
Aet el in aeeeldanee 'lith the ptel isiel1sllel,eillaRel pt8. ided.

~ Whelie.el athletie f1lialicial aid is net te be le"eiled at the end ef the eentrset
!"eliod, ti,e stude!lt shttll be Ilotif1ea efl,islhcl ligllt to tt heming, ill aeeOlaallee
"ith the lequilements ef tlte Ceustitutieli ef the Natiel1al Cellegiate Athletie
Ass8eitttiol1, "eklle tIle Finm,eial Aid Ileming Cenil"ittee.

FiI1tUleial Aid. V/hene"el lillttneial aid is to be Illodif1ed 01 telminated, the sludent shsll
be lietif1ed efthe "a30M feu tlie plal,osed Illadif1eatiall Ot telttlinatieli alta Bfthe light te
uppeal b) e811taeting the Bireetel af Fillalleittl /'dd, If tlte Bileet81 8f Filislleiftl Aid is
tillable ta ali,ia"l) leseLe tlte student's ttppettl, it shall I'H'leeed ItS falle .. s.

-h If the appeal eeneell1S intel"I'letatien 6f pelie), the sttldellt sl1811 be sfl6rded the
right ef fttlthel 81'",e81 tLIElugh tile Dean ef Adlais9iens and )lee8l(h ana the
Viee Pla.03t fa! Aeadel"ie Affails t8 tlte P,8,63t.

l:- If tl,e ttppeal eaneelllS a djsl'uted tjuesti8n ef faet, ti,e student shttll be aa. ised ef
tlte ,ight to a healing "eMle the )'iI1aneiltl Aid lIeftlilig COllimittee el iii
flee61amlee •• jtl1 the AdlIiinistlati, e P,eeeau, e3 Aet.

Request WI It lleatilig. The lequest fen tl healing togeUlel "ith hi:lIhel eleeti61t Bf alI
AOllii"istlltti.e PIBeedllles hettlitlg Elf ene tlllaef this t'elie, shall be Ittttae iii ,,!itiug te tlte
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"(arill! oRiee•.

If the stude lit eleets t\ hearing tuttlel this polie) slatelilelll, the Diteo!". of Fintlltcia\ Aid
:duIII i1ill11ediatel) rOJ .. ttl d tlte .oquest Mr 8 healilig tog-ethel .. itli 8 COP) of the cel11plete
file to the CittlilPCI361t o[the "ell iso" COlltlllittee Oli Student Fimmeial Aid.

lIeMing COIlimittee. At tlte eegiltliillg of each semeslel, the Ch8i1pef501l of the mldsel)
committee Oli Student Finaneial /'d6 shall "ppoillt a healing stleeallililittee af 1i6t less thall tLlee
(3) ~e"ol" "ho ,hall be eholged "ith the ,,,~oli,ihiIit) of heating all o~~eol. dotiilg thai
,1cl"estel.

t61 ReSl"6llsibilit) 6f tlte (Iearing C6lilmittce. It sliall be tlie lesp6lt3ibilit) ef the lieBI ilig eelIilliittee
W.

Celi6uct ft healing .. ithirl tell .. addng 6a)S 6f tile stu6elJt's leque3t f61 3ai6 hetuing.
"Vheli the UlIi,elsit) is net in se3si61l, tlie heHling 3hall be held a3 38611 a3 leas6nabl)
P633ible.

Make f1lidings ef faet tll1d ft detelJldltatieli a3 t6 the tellniMatien af finaneial aid.

lJotif) tile studellt 8S SOOII ds"ossible of the eOI"'ilittee'g deeisiell.

Notie) tile studellt of Iii sAleI light t8 appeal, as indieated bele, •.

lIetn ing Pl"oeedlll es. Student3 .. lte me entitled to ft heftl ing ft3 "bene 1"10 i ided ftl e elititled to the
fallo"illg pleeedurallights.

A .. Iittell Ilotice of the alleged glotlnds fel tel Ilihlatien of f1llalleial a3sistance.

Teleasenuble nelice efthe tilile and I"lace efHle Icquested heal ing.

Tlie assistanee of tt teplesentuti.e of hi31qlel eh6iee. If the stttdeltt tcqttesliltg a hctuiltg
desiles te be Icplescnted b) fill attetlie,. the Uni.elsit) Iiltl3tbe liotif1cd b) the studcltt at
leftst tin ee dll) s "liel te the scheduled hCflling.

To ealinent ftlld elB3S eAallline Blilld I else" itnesses.

"eaping Call1liiiUce Deei3ien. The stuclerlt Ina) 8pfle81 the t:leeisial1 af the
eaIHt"iHee in aeeatdftnce .. ith Artiele V, Seetian 7 oCtile Uni.elsit) B) La .. s.

Ile8li,lg

t: Offieels, faeult) mid staR~ Inen.bels, studellts, empl6) ee:s, altlllll,i alld all etllers
.. he feel that the, Il1ll) lime n grielanee aguili3t tlte Ulii,elsit) shall La,e the
Ii€)ht of apl'Jeal tin BUg" the PIO. O:it to tlie PI esidelit.

t: An ul'l'eulliltlsl be 3ublilitted iii ",itili€) to the PIOloSt "ithili fi,e (5) .. olkilig

d!tr"
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Adliiiliistltlti,e Preeedtues Act. The decisioll of the PIOlost is HI181 in 811 eases Iieftrd
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172943 .17 WITIIBRA\VAb Oil TEMPOIMRY SliSPENSION BliE TO MENTAb OR PlI'/SICAb
PROBbEMS.

When a 3tttdelit is tllUlble to ,Recti-el) pursue hi3fltc. ncndct"ie "61Ie, or .. hen hisll,c. beh8YiOJ is
di3. dpti ~e to the JiOiillltl educational pi 0'(33'3 of the Uiii. 'IJit), 0. eo,'3titUles n tllleat to ".tlithCiJ

of the Ulii. cui!) eOlii,lItmit), due to nlcoholislii, dltig addiction, MClIlttl ili3ttlbilit, or ether
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teliipOlftl iI) suspended flo", tl'e Viii. elsit) 83 he. ei'il\f\er 1'16. ided.

V/ithdra •• al. A student m~ be Ii itl.dr8 Ii" from the URi I ersil) 6111) aller all c. allls'ioR of
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e. tlltftltion find gi. en fUI O"pol'lttnit, to present e. ideliee te the committee. The
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G.O.C. STAFF RULE ABSTRACT 
 
 
DEPARTMENT: University of Tennessee 
 
DIVISION: University of Tennessee at Chattanooga 
 
SUBJECT: Student Conduct Code 
 
STATUTORY AUTHORITY: Tennessee Code Annotated, Section 49-9-209 
 
EFFECTIVE DATES: September 28, 2012 through June 30, 2013 
 
FISCAL IMPACT: Minimal 
 
STAFF RULE ABSTRACT:  
 
The University of Tennessee at Chattanooga has revised its code of conduct for 
students. The following briefly summarizes the new rule and the key changes from the 
rule being repealed: 
 
Rule 1720-02-05-.01 provides a description of the University's interests in students' 
conduct. 
 
Rule 1720-02-05-.02 defines key terms used in the code of conduct. 
 
Rule 1720-02-05-.03 sets forth the University's position on common jurisdictional issues 
that arise in student conduct cases. 
 
Rule 1720-02-05-.04 sets forth the standards of conduct for University students. The 
number of standards of conduct have been increased from twenty-one (21) to twenty-
nine (29). The new rule also eliminates unnecessary language, clarifies other language, 
and adds language to the former standards of conduct. 
 
Rule 1720-02-05-.05 contains the same text as former Rule 1720-02-05.03 except for 
the deletion of section (1). 
 
Rule 1720-02-05-.06 contains the same text as former Rule 1720-02-05-.04 except for 
the addition of a list of rights for victims in sexual assault cases, to comply with recent 
guidance by the United States Department of Education concerning Title IX of the 
Education Amendments of 1972. The new rule also clarifies that its provisions also apply 
to student organizations. 
 
Rule 1720-02-05-.07 contains the same text as former Rule 1720-02-05-.05 except for 
the addition of a sentence describing how hearing procedures shall be modified in cases 
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of sexual assault and language clarifying that its provisions also apply to student 
organizations. 
 
Rule 1720-02-05-.08 adds guidance for administrators and hearing boards in 
determining the appropriate penalty for a violation of the standards of conduct; adds a 
non-exclusive list of aggravating and mitigating factors that an administrator or hearing 
board may consider in determining a penalty; informs students that intoxication or 
impairment because of alcohol, drugs, chemicals, or other substances does not excuse 
a violation of the standards of conduct; and adds four penalties. 
 
Rule 1720-02-05.09 is a new rule describing a no-contact directive, which is a tool used 
by student affairs administrators in appropriate cases to prohibit a student from having 
verbal, physical, or written contact with specific persons for a definite or indefinite period 
of time. 
 
Rule 1720-02-05-.10 is a new rule describing an interim suspension, which may be 
imposed on a student or student organization prior to the conclusion of a full due 
process hearing in certain situations. 
 
Rule 1720-02-05-.11 revises former Rule 1720-02-05-.07 to simplify and clarify the 
grounds for a student's appeal. 
 
Rule 1720-02-05-.12 contains essentially the same text as the former rule. 
 
Rules 1720-02-05-.13, 1720-02-05-.14, 1720-02-05-.15 contain the same text as former 
rules 1720-02-05-.08, 1720-02-05-.09, and 1720-02-05-.10, respectively. 
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Regulatory Flexibility Addendum
Pursuant to § T.CA 4-5-401 through 4-5-404, prior to initiating the rule making process as described in T.CA
§ 4-5-202(a)(3) and T.CA § 4-5-202(a), all agencies shall conduct a review of whether a proposed rule or rule
affects small businesses.

(If applicable, insert Regulatory Flexibility Addendum here)

88-7038 (July 2010) 17 RDA 1693
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Impact on Local Governments

Pursuant to T.CA 4-5-220 and 4-5-228 "any rule proposed to be promulgated shall state in a simple declarative
sentence, without additional comments on the merits of the policy of the rules or regulation, whether the rule or
regulation may have a projected impact on local governments." (See Public Chapter Number 1070
(http://state.tn.us/sos/acts/106/pub/pc1070.pdf) of the 2010 Session of the General Assembly)

The University of Tennessee anticipates that this ruie will have no financial impact on iocal governments.

SS-7038 (July 2010) 18 RDA 1693
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Substance of Proposed Rules
of

The University of Tennessee at Chattanooga

Repeal

Rule 1720-02-05 Student Code is repealed.

New Rule

Chapter 1720-02-05
Student Code

1720-02-05-.01 Introduction.

(1) Students at the University of Tennessee at Chattanooga are members of both the University
community and the larger community of which the University is a part. Accordingly, students are
responsible for conducting themselves in a lawful manner and in compliance with University rules
and policies. The University has established the following rules in order to advance the mission of
the University by maintaining a safe and secure learning environment, protecting the rights and
privileges of all members of the University community, providing a basis for orderly conduct of the
affairs of the University, promoting a positive relationship between the University and its
surrounding community, preserving institutional integrity and property, encouraging students to
engage in conduct that brings credit to themselves and the University, and ensuring that each
student who matriculates at the University graduates ready to contribute to society as an ethical
and law-abiding citizen.

(2) The University of Tennessee is committed to respecting students' constitutional rights. Nothing in
this chapter is intended or shall be interpreted to restrict students' constitutional rights, including,
but not limited to, rights of freedom of speech and assembly.

(3) Disputes between student organizations (including fraternity/sorority cases which may be within
the jurisdiction of the appropriate Greek governing council and/or the Dean of Students office)
shall be subject to the jurisdiction of the Vice Chancellor for Student Development or his or her
designee.

(4) The Vice Chancellor for Student Development or his or her designee shall have jurisdiction over
disputes between individual students and student organizations when such arbitration is
requested by either of the parties involved.

Authority: T.C.A. § 49-9-209(e) and Public Acts of Tennessee, 1839-1840, Chapter 98, Section 5, and Public

SS-7038 (July 2010) 2 RDA 1693
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Acts of Tennessee, 1807, Chapter 64.

1720-02-05-.02 Definitions.

(1) The term "University" means the University of Tennessee at Chattanooga.

(2) The term "student" means a person admitted, enrolled or registered for study at the University of
Tennessee at Chattanooga, either full-time or part-time, pursuing undergraduate, graduate, or
professional studies, as well as non-degree students. Persons not officially registered or enrolled
for a particular term but who have a continuing relationship with the University also are
considered students for purposes of these rules.

(3) The term "student organization" means an organization that is composed solely of University
students that has submitted a pending application or has completed the process for registration
according to University rules.

(4) The term "University-controlled property" means all land, buildings, facilities, grounds, structures,
or any other property owned, leased, used, maintained, or operated by the University. For
purposes of this rule, University-controlled property includes all streets, alleys, sidewalks, and
public ways abutting such property. University-controlled property also includes computers and
network systems owned, maintained, or controlled by the University or funded by the University.

(5) The term "University-affiliated activity" means any activity on or off University-controlled property
that is initiated, aided, authorized, sponsored, or supervised by the University.

(6) The term "University official" means an employee of the University, including faCUlty members
and staff, or a University-recognized volunteer. Student employees may be considered University
officials when acting in the performance of their duties (e.g., event staff, resident assistants, and
teaching assistants).

(7) The term "member of the University community" means any person who is a student, University
official, campus visitor, or participant in a University-sponsored or University-affiliated activity.

(8) The term "possession" means actual knowledge of a substance or property and/or being in such
close proximity to the substance or property that it is a reasonable presumption that one had
knowledge of the substance or property.

(9) The term "weapon" means any device, instrument, or substance that is designed to, or
reasonably could be expected to, inflict a wound, incapacitate, or cause serious bodily injury or
death, including, but not limited to, firearms (loaded and unloaded, real and replica), ammunition,
electronic control devices (such as tasers and stun guns), devices designed to discharge an
object (such as bb guns, air guns, pellet guns, potato guns, and slingshots), explosives,
dangerous chemicals (such as mace, tear gas, and oleoresin capsicum), martial arts weapons,
bows and arrows, artificial knuckles, nightsticks, blackjacks, dirks, daggers, swords, and knives
with fixed blades longer than three (3) inches. The term "weapon" does not include chemical
repellents available over-the-counter for self-defense; instruments used solely for personal
hygiene, preparation of food, maintenance, University-related instruction, or University
employment-related duties.

(10) The term "notice" means notice given in writing delivered by regular mail, courier service, or hand
delivery to the address the University has on file for the student or student organization, or by e­
mail to the student's or student organization's University-provided e-mail account.

Authority: T.CA § 49-9-209(e) and Public Acts of Tennessee, 1839-1840, Chapter 98, Section 5, and Public
Acts of Tennessee, 1807, Chapter 64.

1720-02-05-.03 Jurisdiction.

SS-7038 (July 2010) 3 RDA 1693
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(1) The Standards of Conduct, Chapter 1720-02-05-.04, apply to conduct that occurs on University­
controlled property.

(2) The University also has the discretion to discipline a student for an act in violation of the
Standards of Conduct that occurs off University-controlled property if the conduct adversely
affects the interests of the University, including, but not limited to, conduct which:

(a) Occurs in connection with a University-affiliated activity, including, but not limited to, an
overseas study program or a clinical, field, internship, or in-service experience;

(b) Involves another member of the University community; or

(c) Threatens, or indicates that the student may pose a threat to, the health or safety of
him/herself or others or the security of any person's property, including, but not limited to,
alcohol-related offenses, drug-related offenses, arson, battery, fraud, hazing, participation
in group violence, rape, sexual assault or misconduct, stalking, and theft.

(3) The Standards of Conduct have been adopted in furtherance of the University's interests and
serve to supplement, rather than substitute for, the enforcement of the civil and criminal law.
Accordingly, University disciplinary action may be instituted against a student charged with
conduct that potentially violates both the criminal law and the Standards of Conduct without
regard to the pendency of criminal charges or civil litigation. At the discretion of the Vice
Chancellor for Student Development, or his/her designee, disciplinary action relating to a violation
of the Standards of Conduct may be carried out prior to, simultaneously with, or following criminal
proceedings. Students accused of violating the Standards of Conduct may not challenge the
University disciplinary proceedings on the grounds that criminal charges, civil litigation, or other
University proceedings regarding the same incident are pending or have been terminated,
dismissed, reduced, or not yet adjudicated.

(4) Each student shall be responsible for his/her conduct from the time of application for admission
through the actual awarding of a degree, even though conduct may occur before classes begin or
after classes end, as well as during the academic year and during periods between terms of
actual enrollment (and even if conduct is not discovered by the University until after a degree is
awarded). Should a student withdraw from the University with disciplinary charges pending, the
student's academic record and/or ability to register for classes may be encumbered by the
appropriate University office.

(5) Graduate or professional programs within the University may initiate charges against students for
alleged violations of professional standards or ethics as a separate issue or as an extension of
alleged acts of academic dishonesty or other violations of the Standards of Conduct.

Authority: T.CA § 49-9-209(e) and Public Acts of Tennessee, 1839-1840, Chapter 98, Section 5, and Public
Acts of Tennessee, 1807, Chapter 64.

1720-02-05-.04 Standards of Conduct. A student or student organization may be disciplined for the following
types of misconduct:

(1) Cheating, plagiarism, or any other act of academic dishonesty, including, but not limited to, an act
in violation of The Honor Code.

(2) Providing false information to a University official.

(3) Falsifying, distorting, misrepresenting, or withholding information in connection with a University
investigation or hearing.

(4) Forging, altering, destroying, falsifying, or misusing records, identification, or documents, whether
in print or electronic form.

(5) Causing physical harm to any person (including oneself); endangering the health or safety of any
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person (including oneself); engaging in conduct that causes a reasonable person to fear harm to
his/her health or safety; or making an oral or written statement (including electronically) that an
objectively reasonable person hearing or reading the statement would interpret as a serious
expression of an intent to commit an act of unlawful violence to a particular individual or group of
individuals, although the speaker need not mean to carry out the act of unlawful violence in order
to constitute a violation of this rule.

(6) Harassment, which is defined as unwelcome conduct that is so severe or pervasive, and
objectively offensive, that it substantially interferes with the ability of a person to work, learn, live,
or participate in or benefit from the services, activities, or privileges provided by the University. In
no event shall this rule be construed to discipline a student for speech protected by the First
Amendment to the United States Constitution (e.g., mere insulting or offensive speech).

(7) Sexual assault or misconduct. "Sexual assault" is defined as any sexual act or attempt to engage
in any sexual act with another person without the consent of the other person, or in
circumstances in which the person is unable to give consent due to age, disability, or an
alcohol/chemical or other impairment. "Sexual misconducf' is defined as any intimate touching of
another person, or forcing a person to engage in intimate touching of another, without the consent
of the other person, or in circumstances in which the person is unable to give consent due to age,
disability, or an alcohol/chemical or other impairment. It is the responsibility of the person initiating
sexual activity to ensure the other person is capable of consenting to that activity. Consent is
given by an affirmative verbal response or acts that are unmistakable in their meaning. Consent
to one form of sexual activity does not mean consent is given to another type of sexual activity.

(8) Invasion of another person's privacy when that person has a reasonable expectation of privacy,
including, but not limited to, using electronic or other means to make a video or photographic
record of any person in a location in which the person has a reasonable expectation of privacy,
without the person's knowledge or consent. This includes, but is not limited to, making a video or
photographic record of a person in shower/locker rooms or restrooms. The storing, sharing,
and/or distributing of such unauthorized recordings by any means is also prohibited.

(9) Theft, misappropriation, unauthorized possession, or unauthorized sale of private or public
property, including but not limited to University-controlled property.

(10) Vandalizing, destroying, damaging, engaging in conduct that reasonably could cause damage to,
or misusing private or public property, including but not limited to University-controlled property.

(11) Participating in haZing. "Hazing" is defined as any intentional or reckless act, on or off University­
controlled property, by one (1) student, acting alone or with others, which is directed against any
other student, which endangers the mental or physical health or safety of that student, or which
induces or coerces a student to endanger his or her mental or physical health or safety. "Hazing"
does not include customary athletic events or similar contests or competitions and is limited to
those actions taken and situations created in connection with initiation into or affiliation with any
organization.

(12) Engaging in disorderly, lewd, indecent, or obscene conduct. "Disorderly" conduct means fighting
or other physically violent or threatening conduct; creating a hazardous or physically offensive
condition by any act that serves no legitimate purpose; making noise that could unreasonably
disturb others who are carrying on lawful activities; or conduct that breaches the peace. "Lewd,
indecent, or obscene" conduct includes, but is not limited to, public exposure of one's sexual
organs, public urinating, and public sexual acts.

(13) Engaging in speech, either orally or in writing, which is directed to inciting or producing imminent
lawless action and is likely to incite or produce such action.

(14) Any act of arson; falsely reporting a fire, the presence of an explosive or incendiary device, or
other emergency; setting off a false fire alarm; or tampering with, removing, or damaging fire
alarms, fire extinguishers or any other safety or emergency equipment from its proper location
except when removed in a situation in which there is a reasonable belief of the need for such
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equipment.

(15) Possessing, using, or duplicating University keys, access cards, or identification cards without
authorization; possessing, using, or entering University-controlled property without authorization.

(16) Theft, misuse, or unauthorized use of information technology facilities, resources, or access
codes, including, but not limited to: unauthorized entry into or transfer of a file; using another
person's identification and/or password without that person's consent; using information
technology facilities or resources to interfere with the work of another student, faculty member,
staff member, or other member of the University community; using information technology
facilities or resources to interfere with normal operation of a University information technology
system or network; circumventing University information technology system or network security;
using information technology facilities or resources in violation of copyright laws; falsifying an e­
mail header; and conduct that violates the University's policy on the Acceptable Use of
Information Technology Resources.

(17) Possessing, using, storing, or manufacturing any weapon or any facsimile of a weapon on
University-controlled property or in connection with a University-affiliated activity, unless
authorized in writing by the Chief of Police or his/her designee.

(18) Consuming, manufacturing, possessing, distributing, dispensing, selling, or being under the
influence of alcoholic beverages on University-controlled property or in connection with a
University-affiliated activity.

(19) Consuming, manufacturing, possessing, distributing, dispensing, selling, or being under the
influence of alcoholic beverages, if prohibited by federal, state, or local law.

(20) Providing an alcoholic beverage to a person younger than twenty-one (21) years of age, unless
permitted by law.

(21) Using, manufacturing, possessing, distributing, selling, dispensing, or being under the influence of
drugs or drug paraphernalia, if prohibited by federal, state, or local law; using or possessing a
prescription drug if the prescription was not issued to the student; or distributing or selling a
prescription drug to a person to whom the prescription was not originally issued.

(22) Failing to pay a University bill, account, or other University financial obligation.

(23) Failing to respond to a request to report to a University administrative office; failing to comply with
a lawful directive of a University employee or other public official acting within the scope of his/her
duties; or failing to identify oneself to a University employee or other public official acting within
the scope of his/her duties when requested to do so.

(24) Failing to appear at a University hearing, including, but notlimiled to, a hearing of a University
judicial board, following a request to appear either as a party or as a witness.

(25) Violating the terms of an interim suspension, a no-contact directive, or a disciplinary penalty
imposed by the University.

(26) Obstructing or disrupting teaching, learning, studying, research, public service, administration,
disciplinary proceedings, emergency services, or any other University-affiliated activity, or the free
flow of pedestrian or vehicular traffic on University-controlled property. In no event shall this rule
be construed to discipline a student for speech protected by the First Amendment to the United
States Constitution.

(27) Violating a University policy or rule, including but not limited to University policies or rules relating
to facilities use, smoking, the acceptable use of information technology resources, research or
service misconduct, finder's fees relating to clinical investigations involving human subjects or
access to University data or materials, University libraries, dining services, parking or
transportation, University identification card use, sexual harassment, residence halls, and
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registered student organizations.

(28) Committing an act that is prohibited by local, state, or federal law.

(29) Attempting to commit a violation of a Standard of Conduct or being an accessory to the
commission of an act or attempted act in violation of a Standard of Conduct.

Authority: T.CA § 49-9-209(e), T.CA § 49-7-123, and Public Acts of Tennessee, 1839-1840, Chapter 98,
Section 5, and Public Acts ofTennessee, 1807, Chapter 64.

1720-02-05-.05 Residence Hall Inspections.

(1) Entry by University officials into occupied rooms in residence halls will be divided into three
categories: inspection, search, and emergency. Inspection is defined as the entry into an
occupied room by University officials in order to ascertain the health and safety conditions in the
room, or to make repairs on facilities, or to perform cleaning and janitorial operations. Search is
defined as the entry into an occupied room by on-campus authorities for the purpose of
investigating suspected violations of campus regUlations and/or city, state, or federal law. An
emergency situation exists when the delay necessary to obtain search authorization constitutes
an apparent danger to persons, property, or the building itself.

(2) Inspection: Scheduled inspections by University officials, with the exception of daily janitorial and
maintenance operations, shall be preceded, if possible, by twenty-four (24) hours' notice to the
residents. During the inspection, there will be no search of drawers or closets or personal
belongings.

(3) Search: University officials will not enter a room for purposes of a search except in compliance
with state law or with the permission of the resident or the permission of the Vice Chancellor for
Student Development or his or her designee. University officials shall have, if possible, the
Resident Director or his or her designee accompany them on the search.

Authority: T.CA § 49-9-209(e) and Public Acts of Tennessee, 1839-1840, Chapter 98, Section 5, and Public
Acts of Tennessee, 1807, Chapter 64.

1720-02-05-.06 Due Process, Student Rights, and Student Organization Rights.

(1) Due process shall guarantee to the accused student or student organization the following:

(a) The right to be informed of charges in writing prior to the hearing.

(b) The right of reasonable time in which to prepare a defense.

(c) The right to a fair and just hearing.

(d) The right to challenge all charges and testimony used against the accused student or
student organization and to question witnesses.

(e) The right to be informed in writing of:

1. The final decision of the case.

2. The proper procedure for appeal.

(I) The right to be accompanied by an advisor he/she/it chooses, at his/her/its own expense.

1. The accused student or student organization is responsible for presenting
his/her/its own information, and therefore, advisors are not to speak or participate
directly in a University hearing.

SS-7038 (July 2010) 7 RDA 1693

253



2. A student or student organization should select as an advisor a person whose
schedule allows attendance at the scheduled date and time for the University
hearing.

3. Delays will not normally be allowed due to the scheduling conflicts of an advisor.

(2) Any student or student organization shall be formally charged in writing with the alleged offense.
The date, time, and place of occurrence of the offense shall be stated on the statement of
charges.

(3) The Dean of Students office must keep accurate records of each hearing and the disposition of
each case.

(4) In cases involving a complaint of sexual assault or misconduct, the alleged victim shall have the
right to:

(a) Notice concerning the process by which the University will handle the complaint and an
opportunity to ask questions about the process;

(b) A prompt, thorough, and impartial investigation of the complaint;

(c) The same opportunity as the accused student to present his/her explanation of the facts
during the University's investigation;

(d) Have the investigation of the complaint concluded within sixty (60) days of the
University's receipt of a complaint, unless circumstances make it impracticable for the
University to complete its investigation within that timeframe;

(e) Notice of the outcome of the University's investigation;

(I) Have a disciplinary hearing conducted within thirty (30) days of a University charge that
the accused student committed sexual assault or misconduct, unless circumstances
make it impracticable for the University to conduct a hearing within that timeframe;

(g) Notice of the date, time, and location of the disciplinary hearing, the right to have the
disciplinary hearing closed to the public, and the right to request rescheduling of the
hearing for good cause;

(h) The same access as the accused student to any information or documents that will be
used by the University during a disciplinary hearing, unless prohibited by law;

(i) Challenge the seating of any Student Conduct Board member for good cause, which will
be determined at the discretion of the University Hearing Officer;

U> Be accompanied by an advisor of his/her choosing during the University's investigation or
a disciplinary hearing, but the advisor shall not be permitted to speak for the victim during
a disciplinary hearing;

(k) The same opportunity as the accused student to be present during the hearing, present
witnesses and other evidence, challenge the admissibility of evidence, and cross­
examine adverse witnesses during the disciplinary hearing;

(I) Testify or remain silent at his/her option; however, choosing to remain silent may result in
the University dismissing the charges against the accused student or the Student
Conduct Board or University Hearing Officer finding that there is insufficient evidence to
find the accused student guilty of the charges against him/her;

(m) Not to be questioned personally by the accused student during the disciplinary hearing;
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(n) Submit a written impact statement to the Student Conduct Board or University Hearing
Officer for consideration during the sanctioning phase of the disciplinary hearing, if the
accused student is found guilty of the charges against him/her;

(0) Notice of the decision of the Student Conduct Board or University Hearing Officer within
three (3) business days of the disciplinary hearing; and

(p) Appeal the decision of the Student Conduct Board or University Hearing Officer to the
Vice Chancellor for Student Development.

Authority: T.CA § 49-9-209(e) and Public Acts of Tennessee, 1839-1840, Chapter 98, Section 5, and Public
Acts ofTennessee. 1807, Chapter 64.

1720-02-05-.07 Student Conduct Hearing Procedures.

(1) Complaints

(a) Any member of the University community may present a complaint to the Dean of
Students office against a student or student organization for violations of the Student
Code. Any complaint should be submitted as soon as possible after the event takes
place. Any chargers) shall be prepared in writing by the Dean of Students office.

(b) All charges shall be presented to the accused student or student organization in written
form.

(2) Hearing Options

(a) An accused student or student organization desiring to contest the chargers) against
them must do so by requesting a hearing within five (5) days of their receipt of written
notice of the chargers).

(b) The accused student or student organization may, at their option, request a hearing
before a panel of individuals (Student Conduct Board) or by a University Hearing Officer
selected by the Vice Chancellor for Student Development (or his or her designee). A
hearing before a Student Conduct Board will be chaired by a University Hearing Officer
similarly selected. Board members and hearing officers shall be impartial and anyone
lacking such impartiality shall recuse him/herself or may be removed by the Vice
Chancellor for Student Development upon request of any party to a University hearing.

(c) A requested hearing shall be scheduled promptly after receipt of the request.

(d) In the absence of a voluntary written waiver of the accused student's or student
organization's right to a hearing under the provisions of the Tennessee Uniform
Administrative Procedures Act (T.CA § 4-5-108, et seq.), a requested hearing will be
conducted in accordance with the University's APA hearing procedures and these
procedures shall not apply.

(3) Hearing Procedures - The Student Conduct Board or University Hearing Officer silting alone will
conduct the hearing within the following general gUidelines:

(a) All University hearings shall be closed to the public.

(b) The accused student (and certain "victims" where permitted by law) or student
organization, and their advisor, if any. shall be allowed to attend the entire portion of the
University Hearing at which information is received (excluding deliberations).

(c) Each party will be afforded a full and fair opportunity to present all evidence, including
witnesses, reasonably relating to the charge or action at issue; evidence which is
irrelevant, immaterial, repetitious or voluminous may be limited.
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(d) All procedural questions are determined by the University Hearing Officer.

(e) The Student Conduct Board or University Hearing Officer sitting alone will consider all
evidence presented, giving due consideration to the credibility or weight of each item
presented; technical rules of evidence will not apply.

(f) The standard for a finding of responsibility is a preponderance of the evidence.

(g) Following the conclusion of the University hearing, the Student Conduct Board or
University Hearing Officer sitting alone will consider the evidence and present written
findings.

(h) An appropriate record will be made of the hearing procedures. Deliberations shall not be
recorded. Defects in the record will not invalidate the proceedings.

(4) In cases involving an allegation of sexual assault or misconduct, the hearing procedures shall be
modified to afford the alleged victim all of the rights described in Chapter 1720-02-05-.06(4).

Authority: T.CA § 49-9-209(e) and Public Acts of Tennessee, 1839-1840, Chapter 98, Section 5, and Public
Acts of Tennessee, 1807, Chapter 64.

1720-02-05-.08 Penalties.

(1) Disciplinary penalties are primarily intended to educate students and student organizations about
appropriate behavior, encourage students and student organizations to take responsibility for
misconduct, promote the personal and professional development of students, discourage other
students and student organizations from violating the Standards of Conduct, and protect
members of the University community. The penalties imposed should be appropriate for the
particular case based on the gravity of the offense (including without limitation how the violation
affected or reasonably could have affected other members of the University community).
Consideration may also be given to the student's or student organization's conduct record, the

student's or student organization's responsiveness to the conduct process, student academic
classification, and other aggravating or mitigating factors.

(2) The following penalties may be imposed on any student found to have violated the Standards of
Conduct:

(a) Warning. A warning is a notice that the student is violating or has violated the Standards
of Conduct.

(b) Loss of Privilege. This penalty is intended to serve as a reminder of the Standards of
Conduct and is for a specific period of time. Privileges that may be lost include, but are
not limited to, scholarships, stipends, participation in extracurricular activities (e.g.
intramurals), housing privileges, participation in social activities, and use of certain
University-controlled property (e.g., information technology resources).

(c) Educational Sanction. Students may be required to attend classes, at their own expense,
dealing with issues such as the consequences of alcohol or drug use, civility, ethics, or
other topics as deemed appropriate by the Vice Chancellor for Student Development or
his/her designee.

(d) Restitution. Restitution may be required in situations that involve destruction, damage, or
loss of property, or unreimbursed medical expenses resulting from physical injury.
Restitution may take the form of a monetary payment or appropriate service to repair or

otherwise compensate for the destruction, damage, or loss.
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(e) Disciplinary Reprimand. A disciplinary reprimand is used for minor violations of the
Standards of Conduct. A reprimand indicates that further violations will result in more
severe disciplinary actions.

(f) Disciplinary Probation. This penalty permits a student to remain at the University on
probationary status but with the understanding that a future violation of the Standards of
Conduct may result in suspension. Probation may be for a defined or indefinite period.
Other conditions of probation are specific to each individual case and may include a
requirement of community service or other requirement or restriction.

(g) Suspension for a Specific Period of Time. Suspension for a specific period of time
means that the student is withdrawn from the University and is not eligible to apply for
readmission for a designated period of time. Usually, the period of designated
suspension does not exceed one (1) calendar year. Other conditions of suspension are
specific to each individual case and may include a requirement of community service or
other requirement or restriction. Upon return to the University following a suspension for
a specific period of time, the student may be placed on indefinite disciplinary probation.

(h) Permanent Dismissal. Permanent dismissal means that a student is permanently barred
from matriculating as a student on the Chattanooga campus. This penalty is used when
the violation of one (1) or more of the institution's Standards of Conduct is deemed so
serious as to warrant total and permanent disassociation from the University community
without the possibility of re-enrollment; or when, by his/her repeated violation of the
institution's Standards of Conduct, a student exhibits blatant disregard for the health and
safety of other members of the University community or the University's right to establish
rules of conduct.

(i) Revocation of Admission or Degree. Revocation of admission or degree means revoking
a student's admission to the University or revoking a degree already awarded by the
University. Revocation of a degree shall be approved by the University of Tennessee
Board of Trustees.

(3) A disciplinary hold may be placed on a student's account until the completion of the student
disciplinary process and/or until the student satisfies the terms and conditions of any penalties
imposed. A student who, at the time of commencement, is subject to a continuing disciplinary
penalty or an unresolved disciplinary charge shall not be awarded a degree before the conclusion
of all penalties and/or resolution of all disciplinary charges.

(4) The following penalties may be imposed on a student organization found to have violated the
Standards of Conduct:

(a) Warning. A warning is a notice that the student organization is violating or has violated
the Standards of Conduct.

(b) Educational Sanction. Representatives of student organizations may be required to
attend classes, at their own expense, dealing with issues such as the consequences of
alcohol or drug use, civility, ethics, or other topics as deemed appropriate by the Dean of
Students or his/her designee.

(c) Loss of Privilege. This penalty is intended to serve as a reminder of the Standards of
Conduct and is for a specific period of time. Examples of privileges that may be lost
include participating in extracurricular activities (e.g., intramurals), housing privileges,
participating in social activities, and using certain University-controlled property.

(d) Restitution. Restitution may be required in situations that involve destruction, damage, or
loss of property, or unreimbursed medical expenses resulting from physical injury.
Restitution may take the form of a monetary payment or appropriate service to repair or

otherwise compensate for the destruction, damage, or loss.
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(e) Disciplinary Probation. Disciplinary probation means that a student organization is
permitted to retain University registration on a probationary status. Probation may be for
a defined or indefinite period. Violation of the Standards of Conduct during the period of
disciplinary probation may result in more serious penalties, including revocation of
University registration.

(f) Revocation of University Recognition. In cases of serious misconduct, a student
organization's University registration may be revoked.

(5) More than one (1) of the penalties listed above may be imposed for any single violation of the
Standards of Conduct. Penalties may be applied retroactively to the date of the offense.

(6) Intoxication or impairment because of alcohol, drugs, chemicals, or other substances does not
diminish or excuse a violation of the Standards of Conduct.

Authority: T.CA § 49-9-209(e) and Public Acts of Tennessee, 1839-1840, Chapter 98, Section 5, and Public
Acts of Tennessee, 1807, Chapter 64.

1720-02-05-.09 No Contact Directive. In cases involving allegations of assault, injury, sexual abuse, harassment,
or where there is reason to believe continued contact between a studenUstudent organization and specific
persons, including complainants and witnesses, may interfere with those persons' security, safety or ability to
participate effectively in work or studies, the Vice Chancellor for Student Development, or his/her designee, may
require that the studenUstudent organization not have verbal, physical, or written contact with specific persons for
a definite or indefinite period of time. The studenUstudent organization will receive notice of the no contact
directive. Any student, faculty or staff member or other person with a reasonable justification may request a no
contact directive. In addition to an internal University no contact directive, complainants are advised that other
similar options exist and can be obtained from law enforcement and civil and criminal courts.

Authority: T.CA § 49-9-209(e) and Public Acts of Tennessee, 1839-1840, Chapter 98, Section 5, and Public
Acts of Tennessee, 1807, Chapter 64.

1720-02-05-.10 Interim Suspension.

(1) When the Vice Chancellor for Student Development or his/her designee has reasonable cause to
believe that a student's or student organization's continued presence on University-controlled
property or at University-affiliated activities poses a significant risk of substantial harm to the
health or safety of others or to property or poses an ongoing threat to the disruption of, or
interference with, the normal operations of the University, the Vice Chancellor for Student
Development or his/her designee may impose an interim suspension prior to the conclusion of a
full hearing on the alleged misconduct.

(2) An interim suspension shall be confirmed by notice to the student or student organization that
explains the basis for the interim suspension and shall remain in effect until the conclusion of a
full hearing in accordance with the rules of the University of Tennessee, which shall be held
without undue delay.

(3) Within three (3) business days of the imposition of the suspension, the student or student
organization shall be offered an opportunity to appear personally before the Vice Chancellor for
Student Development or his/her designee in order to discuss the following issues only: (i) the
reliability of the information concerning the student's or student organization's conduct; and (i1)
whether the conduct and surrounding circumstances reasonably indicate that the student's or
student organization's continued presence on University-controlled property or at University­
affiliated activities poses a signific;;lnt risk of substantial harm to the health or safety of others or
to property or poses an imminent threat of disruption of or interference with the normal operations
of the University.

(4) During an interim suspension, the student or student organization shall be denied access to
University-controlled property, inclUding residence halls, and all other University-affiliated
activities or privileges for which the student or student organization might otherwise be eligible, as
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the Vice Chancellor for Student Development or his/her designee determines in his/her sole
discretion to be appropriate. A student or student organization who receives an interim
suspension and violates the terms of the interim suspension shall be subject to further disciplinary
action and may be treated as a trespasser. Permission to be on University-controlled property or
participate in University-affiliated activities may be granted by the Vice Chancellor for Student
Development or his/her designee.

Authority: T.CA § 49-9-209(e) and Public Acts ofTennessee, 1839-1840, Chapter 98, Section 5, and Public
Acts ofTennessee, 1807, Chapter 64.

1720-02-05-.11 Appeals.

(1) Decisions of the Student Conduct Board or University Hearing Officer sitting alone may be
appealed to the Vice Chancellor for Student Development by delivering a signed statement
containing:

(a) A statement that he/she appeals the decision;

(b) A brief statement of the grounds for the appeal. The appeal shall be submitted within five
(5) business days of receiving written notification of the decision. The basis for filing an
appeal is limited to the following grounds:

1. The student's or student organization's rights were violated in the hearing
process;

2. New relevant material evidence or information has been provided that could not
have been discovered at the time of the hearing;

3. The information presented did not support the decision by a preponderance of
the evidence (more likely than not) standard; or

4. The sanction(s) imposed were not appropriate for the violation.

(2) The Vice Chancellor for Student Development may:

(a) Uphold the decision;

(b) Amend the decision;

(c) Return the case for reconsideration; or

(d) Overturn the decision.

(3) Either party may appeal to the Chancellor of the University. In cases of involving a finding that a
student is guilty of sexual assault or misconduct, the alleged victim shall have the right to appeal
the decision of the Student Conduct Board or University Hearing Officer to the Vice Chancellor for
Student Development.

Authority: T.CA § 49-9-209(e) and Public Acts of Tennessee, 1839-1840, Chapter 98, Section 5, and Public
Acts of Tennessee, 1807, Chapter 64.

1720-02-05-.12 Withdrawal or Temporary Suspension Due to Physical or Psychological Illness.

(1) When a student is unable to pursue his or her academic work effectively, or when his or her
behavior is disruptive to the normal educational processes of the University, or constitutes a
threat to members of the University community, due to, among other things, the use of alcohol,
drugs, or a physical or mental incapacitating illness or condition, he or she may be withdrawn or
temporarily suspended from the University as hereinafter provided.
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(a) Withdrawal. A student may be withdrawn from the University only after an evaluation of
his or her mental, physical condition, or behavior by a panel of at least three (3) persons
appointed by the Vice Chancellor for Student Development. The student shall be notified
of the reasons for the evaluation and given an opportunity to present evidence to the
committee. He or she shall enjoy the rights of normal due process procedures. The
committee's findings and recommendations shall be forwarded to the Vice Chancellor for
Student Development who will notify the student in writing of his or her decision. A
student withdrawn under this procedure shall not be readmitted to the University without
the approval of the Vice Chancellor for Student Development.

(b) Grades. When a student is suspended or withdrawn from the University for reasons
described in this section, he or she will be assigned a grade of "W' or "I".

(c) Committee Composition and Hearing. The panel referred to herein will include at least
one (1) member of the faculty at large and representative of the Counseling Center or a
psychologist. The Dean of Students or his or her designee would normally have
responsibility for preparing the charges and presenting the case. The student in question
would have the right to normal due process provisions.

(2) Temporary Suspension. Whenever a student, because of his or her mental or physical condition,
is unable to pursue his or her academic work effectively, or is disruptive to educational processes
or constitutes an apparent danger to persons or property, he or she may be suspended from the
University for a reasonable period of time by the Vice Chancellor for Student Development. The
University will then schedule a hearing within five (5) class days of the beginning of the
suspension. If the University does not withdraw the student after the hearing, he or she may
return to the University at the end of the suspension period.

Authority: T.CA § 49-9-209(e) and Public Acts of Tennessee, 1839-1840, Chapter 98, Section 5, and Public
Acts ofTennessee, 1807, Chapter 64.

1720-02-05-.13 Parking Appeals. Appeals of student parking tickets are reviewed by the Student Parking
Appeals Board. Decisions concerning the appeals are based on a majority vote of the Board.

Authority: T.CA § 49-9-209(e) and Public Acts of Tennessee, 1839-1840, Chapter 98, Section 5, and Public
Acts of Tennessee, 1807, Chapter 64.

1720-02-05-.14 Composition of Student Parking Appeals Board.

(1) The Student Parking Appeals Board shall be composed of six (6) student members plus a Chair
and six (6) alternates. Two (2) students will be appointed by the Student Senate from the general
student body. Two (2) students will be appointed by the faculty, one (1) appointed by the
President of SGA, and one (1) appointed by the Office of Student Development. Each appointing
body shall also appoint the alternates. An alternate will serve when a regular member cannot be
present or when a member is excused for reasons such as personal friendship with the principals.

(2) All members must have a 2.00 cumulative grade point average and be enrolled as full time
students and not be on any form of probation.

(3) The Chair will be elected by the Board and votes in case of a tie.

(4) A temporary chair will be elected by the members of the Board in the event:

(a) The Chair is a party to the case;

(b) The Chair is absent; or

(c) The Chair removes himself/herself from the case.

(5) Once appointed, students remain on the Student Parking Appeals Board until they terminate at
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the University, cease to be eligible to serve, or resign voluntarily.

Authority: T.CA § 49-9-209(e) and Public Acts of Tennessee, 1839-1840, Chapter 98, Section 5, and Public
Acts of Tennessee, 1807, Chapter 64.

1720-02-05-.15 Emergency Situations. When in the opinion of the Chancellor, conditions are such that there
exists a clear and immediate danger to the physical safety or well-being of the members of the University
community or safety of University property, he or she may direct that the accused student or organization be
suspended pending initiation (and completion) of normal disciplinary proceedings provided those procedures are
offered as soon as can reasonably be accomplished. The Chancellor may delegate this authority to the Vice
Chancellor for Student Development.

Authority: T.CA § 49-9-209(e) and Public Acts of Tennessee, 1839-1840, Chapter 98, Section 5, and Public
Acts of Tennessee, 1807, Chapter 64.

• If a roll-call vote was necessary, the vote by the Agency on these rules was as follows:

Board Member Aye No Abstain Absent Signature
(if required)

Governor Bill Haslam x

Commissioner Julius Johnson x

Commissioner Kevin Huffman x

Dr. Joe DiPietro x

Dr. Richard D. Rhoda Non-voting

Charles C. Anderson, Jr. x

Ann Holt Blackburn x

Dr. JAM. "Toby" Boulet x

William Y. Carroll x

George E. Cates x

Spruell Driver, Jr. x

Teresa K. Fowler Non-voting

John N. Foy x

Crawford Gallimore x

Monice Moore Hagler x

James E. Hall x

Douglas A. Horne x

Andrea J. Loughry x

James L. Murphy, III x

Karl A. Schledwitz x

Carey Smith x

Don Stansberry x

Robert S. Talbott x

Betty Ann Tanner x

Charles E. Wharton x
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I Dr. Janet M. Wilbert I Non-voting

I certify that this is an accurate and complete copy of proposed rules, lawfully promulgated and adopted by the
University of Tennessee Board of Trustees on June 23, 2011, and is in compliance with the provisions of T.CA §
4-5-222. The Secretary of State is hereby instructed that, in the absence of a petition for proposed rules being
filed under the conditions set out herein and in the locations described, he is to treat the proposed rules as being
placed on file in his office as rules at the expiration of sixty (60) days of the first day of the month subsequent to
the filing of the proposed rule with the Secretary of State.

Date:

Signature:

Name of Officer: Matthew Scoggins

Subscribed and sworn to before m~ on:

Title of Officer: Assistant General Counsel

1J{JCm4li4n2 I

Notary Public Signature: _~--ltl"'lf-j~.y>~-"fb",...WJtiLLL1""">=" _

My commission expires on: --"_'--'!JJ=--1-'----'-'-IS=- _

All proposed rules provided for herein have been examined by the Attorney General and Reporter of the State of
Tennessee and are approved as to legality pursuant to the provisions of the Administrative Procedures Act,
Tennessee Code Annotated, Title 4, Chapter 5.

Date

Department of State Use Only
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STIHlElIIT C09E

TABbE OF COlllTEPITS

17292 S ,91
I1lQ 1 S .Q1
17292 S .901
17292 S ,91
17292 S ,9S
I1lQ H .Q~

Jllrisflietien
I\eglilatiells Go leming Shlflenl G8ndllel
In, eSligoliOJ1S ofSilldent eSflEhm
Que Jlfeeess 8fld SlIdell' RighlS
StlldeRt G8REhlet Ilearing Preeedufes
QiseiflliRa" AeliBJ1S Bfld Pell811ies

I1lQ 1 S .Q7
17292 S ,98
I1lQ 1 S .ll9
I1lQ 1 S .IQ
I1lQH .11

Awe<>k
Pafldng Aflfleals
Cell1fl8sitiell efStlldel:t P8fl-illg A flfleals HS8Hl
I":Alefgel\8} SitlllllisRS
WiUuhfl'Nal Sf 1=elllflsRU)' SliSflensisn Que Ie
Ph}sieelef Ps}ehelegiealillfless

17101 § .01 dI:JRISDICT10I>L

tij The s\l~eR'isien afsludent diseifJline is delegaledl:lr the Ckaneellar ta the "iee Chaneellar fer Student
De'lelBpmBllt, and the Viee ChanBallar fer Simien' Devela~lHenlJ nlay in ~:IFnJ identitO)' 8p~ral3ri8te

Ulliversil'} ameials Ie ftSsisl in this dll'" anellar ta seR e as Yiliversity Ilearing Omeers.

f2} The Uni';'Brsi~ Student Cede shall ftP13ly Ie eenduel lhal Beems an Yni\'ersily premises, al University
s"enaBred aeti AIiBS, Rl1d Ie elf eRI11"US eendnel thR' Ad lersely AWeets A mernl:ler af tha Uni'lersil'}
CellllHunit). ERell studenl shall ~e respel1sihla fer his ar her eBndue' ",em Ihe lime BfaJ3J3lieatiBn fer
admissiBIl threugh the aeltlel awerding ef a Regree, even t!leugh eenEluet BUt)' eeet" hetere elasses
~egin sr after elesses enEl, AS well as during the aeat4emie year And auring I)erieds het Ii een terms sf
aettlBI enrBlhnenl (aBEl even if their BenEiliet is net EliseBveFeEi until after a ElagFee is awaFded~, The
Studen' CBEle shall apply t9 a sluelent's eenEluel even if the sludent withdrAWS fmIn sellae. '/I'hila a
diseiplinaf)' maHer is pending,

(3) Disputes ~etVleen arganimtions (e)leept in M:Aternily,lsererity eases whieh J11~' ~e within the
jurisdieliBIl ef tile 81)~repriate Creel( geverning eellneil Andler the Dean ef ShldeRts emee) shall I:le
sul:ljeel.a thejllrisdie'ien sf the Viee ChAl1eellor fer Studenl DelelafHHenl ar Ilis or her elesignee.

(4) The Viee Challeeller fer Student DelalBpmenl ar his ar her designee shall have jurisdietion o\'er
disflules het~1i Ben i!tdi\'idual students And ergRni28tiells when sueh ftrhitraliell is reEJuestedl:ly eilher af
the J3arties in o'elved.

(5) The lIener Cede applies Ie aBAdemie metters prilnarily, altllsugh its fHlr~ase has hnplieatiens fer all
student BanEitlet. The Ilener CBEla regulales eer'ain eetivi'ies sf all students and fReul.)' IneInl:lers in
an)' eallege Of divisien efthe University during All sessians.

A.'lih8J&i1y: TCl §J9 9 2B9(ej. Adml..,ls,f,nlHl'e .¥:':SI91j\' ()dgina,' ndefiJed 3'e·pMmhe.u o'i, 1976; efj::e#.e gel8ber
Ii. 1976. Heflea/eli It, Pt.hlie GJra,'j.'e. 57:5, e:f!eelhe o't./j 0', 0'986, Ne,1 •{defiled Afa,' 27, :'986; effee,":l'e ;1'''gl.3:
12, /986. A",e.rtlme'Il'jileti A/mell f2, 1987, eff'ee::,e Jwre 29, .'987. .iolleml",e''''fi"edo'..ue 22, 2BB6, effee::.'e
ee18hel 27, 2996.

1710 1 § .01 REGlolbATIONS GOVERNIPIG STIol9EPlT COPI9IolCT.

tij All sttldents vielatillg Civil 9r Criminal ba ii, il helher en Yni I arsil'}' ~rspe~' ef Ret, Rre AIlS\',erAhle la
ei o'il sr erillliflElI Atdllarilies. In addition, stliElents al the Yf1iversil~' will I:le res~ansihle far Raiding hy
Uta FaglllRtief1s gaverning student eanelliet. 8~aeiHe vialatians Rre:

~ Ji:RilYra te RElhera Ie the 'Ionar CaEle PleEige.
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8nJ9E~IT RIGlIT8 AN9 RE8pml81BlblTIE8

(Rule J729 2 5 ,92, eelttilUleEl)

CllAPTgR 1719 :2 j

~ f8rgef)', alteration, ElestFtletisR, ffilsiHeatien 8f misuse sf UniYefSit~' aaeNIll8Rls, raearEts, SF
iEleRtiliefttien, Br Rating in R eens~iF8ey Bf Assisting elheFS Ie 130rferm 8f 8efflmit 811)[ of the
ftwrel'R8ntieneEi asts.

~ KR8Willgly ~feyjE:le fulse informAtion Ie the UniveFSi~! 8F ether siinilftF farills sf dishonesty in
Hni. scsi.,· related altairs.

f61 Disfl:l~liel1. ehstruetien, 8F inteFFuptien sf teaehing, reseftFeh, AdministrAtion, eemluBI
",sesames 6f ether Uni. ersil)' aeti.,.ities, ineluding ils pul3lie S8r. iae fUlletiens, Bf ether
fttlthBfii!:ee Uni'/ersity 8etL Hies. In ne e\'eltt shall lhis wle l:Ie eenstruee is pr8\'ent speeeh
pfBteeteEi h) the First Am8ltElme"t Ie the Yltiled Slates Censtitutian.

~ Threat ar hafftssment af all)' f3efSall, ar eelHhtet whieh f3eses a elear and f3resent Etanger te the
heaUIl, safe~' eF well eeing af any f3ersan on Ultiversi~' awned ar 8alllrslleEt f3ral3eFly ar al
University su~e~/iseel funeliaAs.

f#} Physieal aeuse efany f3ersaR, ar ather aonEtuet whieh tllreaterts ar endaltgers Ihe health ar safety
ofeAy f3ersall, whether sueR eenduet eeeurs eft Br affUniv8rsiti pre~eFty. In RS B'/ent shall this
rule i:le eens.rued ta pFe lent sf3eeeh prateeteel i:I) the fifSt AmenEtlnent te the UniteEt States
Cellstihtlielt.

~ V8lH'hllism, malieiaus ElesiFuetian, damage, aF misllse af I3rhate aF IHI~lie I3FepeFty, ineluEling
li~raF)' malerinl.

W TheA, miSAIJp~riatian, ullauthsrileEl Ilessessial1, sale, ar 8aIHage te ~FafJe~' l3elenging te the
Universit)', alt orgal,lilation afliliateel ',\ itlt the Universit~,., a Ineml3er sf tlH~ i:Jniversi~'

earmtnmity, sr AefuHfJus visiter.

E# Vialatielts sf l)fe~erly Gellstituteel rules And regulatiells gaverRing the lise sf tHetar vehieles all
UnivefSity' ewned fJr8Jlerty.

EN behd, ebsee"e, indeae"t, Bf diserEtBrly eenduel Bn Univarsil')' o,....ned er e8R'relied prepertj ar
at Uni. Brsit)' super. ised ftmetiens.

~ Possessien, "hile ell Uniwersitya'lned ar eeldrelled prapeFly ar at UnivefSit)' supeFYised
aeti ..i"., ef Any weapen gush as, ~t11 net limited te, riAes, shotguns, anmnmilien, hnndgtms, air
gUllS, enplesh es slieh 8S fireerael£ers, and ~Iaded weapons, unless authoriled i:I) the '1iee
Challeellor far Simient Deveisilment or his er her designee.

fij Una\llhoriled use af sr entry into Yni..rersity faeililies anEl'er ul1Autheriitea possessian ar
auplienlien afli:eys te Universil')' faeilities.

~re~eFty.

fit) Gameliflg en Universit)' e.....flea er eentrelled property.

~ U1l1aYlft11 use, mAllufaeture, pessessien, distri~utiefl eF dispensing of drugs er eleallel an
bini I ersil)r I3re~ert~,. Br during Yni'/ersity aeli lilies.

~ failUFe te eempl~' with the direetiells of any Uftiversit)' aUieiol, oeting in the nermal disehArge
of their duties.

Geleber, 2996 (Re, i,ed) 2
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STUDE~lT RICIITS AND RE8PO~1818IbJTIES

(Rule InQ 2 ) .Q2, eentinued)

CIIAPTIOR InQ 2 )

ftt) Any aet af Afsan, falsely fe~aFting Afife sr ather emeFgeney, falsely setting aff a fife alafR1,
tAl11~ering with ar r8ma... ing frsm its ~ra~ef laeatian Afe eJ!tit1guishers, heses, ar an~r athef Are
emergensy eEtuit3ment eneet3t when dane with real need fer sueh eEtui~ment.

fF1 Vielatian of leeal, state, af federal law, whether all ar aff eam~us, wheR it a~t3ears that the
student has aeteEl in a wa~' whieh aEl...ersel~' affeets er seriausly interferes with the Unit.'ersity's
nsrmal eEltleRtiallal fi:lnetian, af whieh injures af enElangers the welfare sf an~' Ineml:Jer ef the
Uni I erail) eemlllunity. Bueh 'lielatiall il1elmles, l:Jut is net lilnitefl ta, •ialatian 8f state 8f
feeeral dfUg Ifms, eeltllnisaien af sr attel11~t Sf threat ts eenllnit ra~e, violent or non \'ielent
semlal etfenses, murder, felsnieus assRult, arson or an~r ether felenious eriAle against l3ersen ar
~,e~eft)'.

W Unauthori:l:ed use er misuse efthe University's eem~uting ifleilities. This ineluees:

-I-: bagging en Rn aasaunt withaut the ImawleElge and ~erll1issieR efthe awner.

~ Changing, Eleleting, al1ft afilEling ta the I9regrall1s, files and data withaut AutherizAtisn ef
the s .....ner.

3-: TheR ofl3rsgralll eata anEllllaehine resetlrees.

4: Atteml3ts Ie Ih,.ftR seeurit} eflhe eemputer s)slem(s).

& Attempts te EliSftlllt the Hannal alleratians af the eal11pllter a) stem(s), ineltlfiling hard .. are
and seR Ii Rre.

(t1 An Rttelllllt la eaml11it Sf ts ae all aeeesse~' te the eemlllissien ef any Ret in ...ialatien ef the
stueent eeee.

ftt1 PaFtiei138tian afstuElellts in haling Reth·ities. "IIRzing" meRns any inteRtianal er feel:less aet, en
sr aff Uni ,'srsil)' pre~eFty, ay slle stueent, aeting alene er with ethers, whish is EliresteElagaillst
any ather shldent, that enEl8ngers the mental ar physieal health ar safel)' ef that student, ar
whieh induees Sf eeeress a stliElent ta endanger his ar her mental ar J3hysieal health ef safe~'J

aHEI ineludes treatment sf a •ielsltt, a8usi. e, shal11efi:II, insulting, ar hlln:iliating naHlre, whether
the stuElent •aluntarily paFtiei~Rtes er net. Sush aetien is J3fslliaiteEl Ii hen eallneeted .. ith
initiation inte er Rfflliatian with an argal1iffitian al1a Elees nat ineluae l3artieipatien in ettsternar)'
athletie e\'snts er similar eemlletitien.

liullltJ}/lUy: 'FCA J/9 92fJ9(ej. Admhr;s..·.,alh'e .tt..Yi"8tj',' Oiigidtl.' It,.tejiletl&ple.. rhel .'5. .'97-6; e;ffi:e.';'e 0e"81Jel'
15, 1976. Repealed by P"bNe ChajJh....' 575; e.ffeetive July i, 1986. Nell' rulefile.4 l'.tay 27, .'986; ejfeeo'i'.'e IJ"gl,sl
.'2, 1986. •Lllendmello'jiJeti fJe.·B8e, 31, .'990; ef!ee....'e Jaalitl,' 29, /99.' . •lmemiNleu.·jUed Nai'ember lB, .'99B;
cffCeli.e FelJl14W' 27,1991. •hue,ui",e,r,'jiletl8e,J,'e.J18e. 3, 1992; tffeeH';,e f}eeembe.' 29,1992. •lmemiHlellljiled
Jt4lle 18, 1996. cffeetil e ee,'abe, 28, 1996. 1 'meat/mell" filed JWie 22, 2006; effee.';' e Qe.'88e, 27, 2fJ(}6.

1720 2 5 .03 IP1VESTIGATIOP1S OF STH9EPIT COP19HCT.

E+1 All Uniyersit} ill. estigatislls shall ae eenElueteEi in an ethieal mannef, h:eeping in millEl the rights sf
stueenls, The folia ;'ling regulations shall ae strietl~! ellser\'etl,

R1 Insf3eetisn anEl 8eareh Poliey. entf)' lly Yniversity ameials iRte eeeuf3ietl reeills in resiElenee halls will
lle Elivitlefl inte three eategeries: inspeetian, seRreh, RnEl emergene~'. Inslleetien is aeAHedas the entf)'
inte an eeeH~ied realH l:Jy Ynh'ersity ameials in arder ta aseeFtain the health and safe~! eenditiens iA
the ream, ar la malee repairs en faeilities, er te l3erlefm eleaning and j81litsrial olgeratiens, SeArek is
Elef1neEi 8S tile entry ints all aeeupieEl realH l:Jy an ealHl3us autharities fer tke ~url3esB ef iAYestigatiRg

Getebe" 2QQ6 (Re.'ised)
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CIIAPTgR 1729 2 §

'd I, During the mStJeetlen, 1fBSlaeH .

belel1gings. f h eJfeept in 8ell1pliftl1ee
t fef pUFf'8ses e seRre f I ,(" e. . ffl ia:ls will net Biller ft rBell. ,., 'tt 1 1eFlllissial1 e He ,Ie

W 1II,~e.liell: Seheaulea ;!'~;: ,h.1I he ~Feeeaea, if~a'91hle, h} ~".II';':F .Ia,el' .F ~ers.II.1
ana Itlftll1telHmee BJ3eFA ~8 '. II ere will he 1\8 seareh e Fa" r

(b1 Se...h: 1~~~"~F:~I'.,\~tJ:~h. ~eFln;ssiall .f Ihe Fe,,:::: ::elhou::: .:;i~ .ffi.i.l, ,h.II h.,'e, if

~;,I~:':~~I.F ~; Sluaellt D.,'el·~lHt~lI .FI::':::,!~~:e••e;.",~••y Ihe'" .11 Iho ,e.F.h.. I ResiElellt DlfeeteF eF liS er
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STUDENT RIGHTS MID RESpmlSIBlblTIES

(Rule 17<Q 2 S .Q3, ealll;lIl1ea) f d I I.... A.
II

emergelle~[ situatiBIl
til 'p' stAte BF tettBFfI w. r tS

S\lSl3eeteE'l vielatiel1s Bf eal11J3us Fe,glllflti~I::i:ll;e::e~: :'utl:eri'ii'!8tien 681lstihltes R Elanger Ie parsst •
8nists when the ~el~r l~eeeS5Rf) te e

f
F8

tJ
Br

(;y, BF the 8UllEhng Itself. . I . eolian sf €laB)' janiterial
. ffi' .1, ·",Ih 1-1••J,e " I. etiens By UniverSity 8 6': ,w !... . fel;tF hel;tFS Belies Ie He

W The FIght I. 0 III •

. I ej3are a sefense.fD1 The righl efreasenaale lime in wille 1 Ie pr

fB Due preeess shall guaran e .

. a' fhFlnes ef ehRrges in wriling prier Ie Ihe heaFlNg.

Ihe Reauses slueenl ane Ie

The Fighl Ie a fair aRejusl hearing.

ellar-ges ails leslimel1)' usee againslThe Fight I. oh.llo"g•• 11
Eluestial1 willtesses.

. '1' afThe right Ie Be illfeFll1ee III WFI mg .

The Hllal seeisiell ef his Br her ease.+,

I ,Ia 'oleol .,., . , .
8tueents s lel . t¥ II e UniYersit'). heaFlng.sehseulss sate fll1S Illne er 1 .

I a r g eel1Aiels efan fle\'lser.II 'h .11.' 'ea a"o I. Iho ,e ,e "Ill

The aeausee sllleenl is respens) e If' ate eirselly in a University hearmg.ere as"isBrs are nel Ie sfJ8alc ef pa lel13

IhoFe~ , ' I a I II... ·' .1I."a••e. at Ih,
I Re'riser a j38rseH whese se la u e R "

2, Tho ~F.~eF ~F.eeallF. fer .~~e.1. .

. . ... '.F h••F,he eha.,e" at hi' aF hOF aw. OJ,~O"'O.. hI Ie ae aeeempal11ee bly aN Re, 1 •

.. n)' stueanl ef stusent ergal1il:Rtiell S;'~II a~:~~I~h~11 Be slated en Ihe statemenl efeharges.
rt ..,/ I e ef eesurrenee e I Ie e I
a.to, limo, .,," ~ ., . a Ihe ai,~.,ili." af eae ,

aseure'e rsearas sf eash heRrlllg allf Sllldents aAiee must keepThe DeAn e
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CIIAPTER InG. I

.. FI , allelea III eeeB' ,
hee,i"g w,lI ". eBn hell nBI eppll', ,

d Illese RreeeaurBS 5 f' d" iOllals 8F hearmg
Rna " " pe"el B_1110" , ,

' '"'ill be p'B,iaeal e ee BfepplieeblB pBhB'B'

EaeII part) te :' hgeefl~:~e;~e" ,ee'Blle~ll' '~I~llllg :B ;::~llliIlBtI' Illel be lim ilea;eYiae"ee, inelu~1I1, ". immaterial, repetltlau9 0 •

I
, 'ghl Ie R heRring III aeesFEI T C '" s 1 5 1Q8 at sef1. In til f I pAp '\ R rBfjUBSleaI, .. FI a ,'el ~,~,n, , ,,' , '" B-IIB Cd , ,

, a",i"!,I,eli,,. P'B:e ~IF~ I ;; .. hee,ing lI"aB' IhB p'B"51\", 'P', hee,ing p'Beeall,e,
n 'He" .. ei,e, BfhlS FIg' , ae"eB with Ihe U""'e",, n,

Hetti iltg P, tJeestJ~ reeeaures, in sueh lHal1lter a5 "leehnieal rules a p II

I tliaelilles: , I .,e,elll efullB" illg gelle,e g a fei, BppB"lIlllIl'B p, ,

' ill be af-'feraea ft [u,1I all elIarge ar aetian ttt IS9Me,

. . "f' shall reellse hunse

lI11peFl,e .' , " .. ilhelll ,ege,a IB

!e-tt-I>_ pe"el will ee"allellhB heem gi ,7,'liee wilhi" IheThe ehairmRIl erR !leafing . 'iII best Sff'S the sause 8 J

" . p PR".I A ,e~lIestea hee,~"g ;liBie, Bf UTM B', ill Ihe e,""e" Bee"allBlea bl e penBI=:.;,:"''':-~:.;~:~~~:, .;;~'~, ''';~'~;,:':: ~=;::;;':,~ .~... ::~;:: ;:::;
Sf 13feeeeUr€s,) I led Panel members 51 CI ,eellsr lipan the fBEllies' 'le,ll' ,.·ee a, a bl' ti,e ~ Ie'eltairmal1 511111 . If er ~e relHaH

8TUDE~IT CONDUCT

I ,

°4, eBnlilll!i,",ea~)~~4&-Ie~~':::::::::~:::;;;~::=:~~::;;;1'Rille I nG • ~ I' aB'i'ea, he lilli'

< , bl' eatlnss IS I ~ ,
81 If Fe~resentfl:tl811 t uri.1t his rsEtlies ~I

I 6f ether eatlns . b! t 11581 eeneurren n . t tes sfIIi, 'ighl IBege :, lIB be ,ep,e,e"leal eB:' I "'ill withi" Ihe a,e e
6, p'B,iae nBliee Bf 111' ""en f 'neh nBliee, Ihe heeFlng pene ,:e Bf eBlln,el B' Ihel Ihe

a hearing; in til: "bSe~le; : hearing }ueeeeEl "'itheut preser' I',ee direst either t 18

J"', a '~
hee'ing "B pB,lpB"e ; a ee'B ,"B','i,iBn, Bf Ih. UnH""~

. Rllee with the eenteste e absenee sf R "slnntHI')

'II he,e Ihe "",aell B p', ble'
,,' 'B' lIll,ee'Blle , 'a •
e,bil,e'l', eep,i.'BtI', 'I '"'ill Bell,iae, Ih••,', elle

I 'en ef the hearing, the !leafing J3al1B "felle .. ing tile eaneusl,
anallfesent written f.inamgs,

, te reeara Ii I ,
An appraprla. 1'..,Iate the Ilroaeeamgs; Ille

a ill IlBIIll,e '" flhe .... i8ellee,
,e.B' " , ~ , e p,epB"aeFRllee e he' e

' 'Ie e Ihe "tI,aell ef p,e"'lIlg,l 'otilla IB be IFlIe, Ihe pemBIl e ~,
The Ulli, e,SI\)' ",III " e '''he,e Ihe ellRFge(,) " ~ liell lel,ell B' pFBpB,eatruth oftlIe eharge(s) at 1~9U ~.I:ng that the aiseiplil1ar~t ae

praae rs that .. III mSlIFa i

aiseiplinar, matte "hts e~the slttaeuts.
tinte saf.'eguard the basle fig

Me;, 1999 (Re,'i,ea)
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STUI)HIT RICIITS ANI) RESpmlSIBlblTIES

(Rule In9 2 S .9S, ea"ti,,"e~)

The Unj'lersity 'I/ill Itft. e the luuElen sf ~re\'ing, lJ) 8 prepanElenmee of the evidenee. the Iruth
sf the ehftfge{s) at issue.

fellowing the eenelusien sf the Uni "Brait) heRring, the Slutton! CenEluet BaRrel Sf l:JttiV8FSity
.leRfing GAieer sitling alene .iill eensiEler the 8viElenee and presen' written findings.

All ftl"prepriate rBeord dill ~e Illafla of the hearing preeeElures. Qelit3erAtiens shall net ae
resented. Defeats in the rBeard .. ill net invalidate the preeeeElings.

•1UIl'8...i lj'! TC I :f19 9 209{e). j 1d.",h,l-sf·"'ffl·";"e !lt9I6j'j. gi' igilf('" I,.,tefl/ed SepteJllbe. IS, ! 976; effee.';,·t,· 0e18bel
, 4~' 4 , 22 '989 {fc ,. /} b' '989 R . '·'b·" b'· G' '1". H~ ejf•.,;".15, 1'976, llepeau!.) .et;"gl03,', .: t!:4?e.ne ~eelll eo I, I. i4!pe(f.~.. ~ v to .,e 013 • ',"

dId, J, 1986. Nell ,,"'ejiledlUaj 27, :'986, e.{fee":,e.lrigt'3: 12, /986.• 'meuffolleu:jtled Jrilre 22, 2B96, effCe..... e
()el.be. 27. }99ti.

17292 § .9IJ 9ISCIPbIPh\R\, AGfIQNS .\P19 PKPIAb:rIES.

f+-) DiseiplinaFY aetiens are tol(el1 and penalties are 8ssigRed hy the Student CandNet Beard er Uni'w'ersity
Hearing Of.fleer silting alane an the hasis efallaHendant eireul11stol1ees.

W The penalties whieh may he assessed fer vielatieR eflhe Student Ceele are:

.J.: bass af Privilege. This IJenalty l11a~' invelle less ef sehehushilJ, stipend, right te
IJal'lieipate in sertain eJltraeurriBular aeti'lities, ete.

;;; ~dueational SanetiBn.

~ HBusing Prebatien. "Busing IUBbatien l11eans a student is pefl1liUed Ie reltlain in
UnivBFSity hSlIsing en a prebalienaFy status.

4: DiseiplilUu~' Reflrimand. QiseiplinaF)' rBflrimands BFe used fer miRer iRHaeliaRs sr
miseenduet VIhere it is e'/ident the miseenduet eeeurred with Imewledge and Awareness
af the Uni ..tecsi~ regulations. Rel'Jrirtlands Are given ta students in either verbal ar
,'/riUen farm. Any speeitie e8ndili8ns en the student's hehBvier ef Retivities may he
eleserieeEl iii a tJers8I1al letter Ie the shtdent.

~ DiseiplinBF)' Prebatien. Diseiplinapi IJfal:1atian mea liS Ihal a studeRt is permiUed ta
remain in the University with a prehatialtaf) status. SheulEl ft violalien Bf regulatiBns
eeem during wehalian, the student is nermally suspendeEl. Any speeifie eelHHtiens Rre
deseribeEi in ft flersanalleHer te the student.

~ ~lIspensien, SlIslJensisn is lIsed ill eases efserieus miseBIHluet, sr 'w'islatian eflJrelJatien,
and means that the student is reEtuirea ta eaneel his registfAtioll ftnd is 110t eligiele ta
fllJiJly fer readmissiBIl fef a designated periad sHime. Slispensielt 11\8)' lJe inde~nite ef
fer a slJeei~eEl time, and a suspeusien may lJe deferred peBding gaed hehB'/ier, (Persens
suspended frent the Uni'w'ef5it)' l11fto~,. nat cetm.. te the ealltlHls fef the dUfatien af their
suspensi8n, elEeelJt to eonauet ameial lJusiness '/lith an aElministrative ameer ar raeull)
memher,)

+-: Dismissal, Qismissal is used '/IheR the miseeRduet is seciaus eRough la warrant the
deaisian that tha s~uElent is nat te raturR ta the Universil)'.

~ The fellewing sanetians Itt&}' ~e intlJesed t1fJan grBufls Bf argftllizatialls:

These saltetions listed altaye in seetians 1.,2.,5.,6,

Oelaee., 2996 (Re,i,e~) 6
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STUD6~IT RICIITS MID R6SPO~ISIBI6ITI6S

(Rule InO 2 , ,06, eenlilmea)

CIIAPT6R lno 2 ,

;h DeaetivRtien. Less sf all ~fiyileges. ineiliding University reeegllitial1, fer 8 Sl3eeiHea
~eri8el sf lima.

A"O'8. {IJ'! TC J § tV 9 )99(eJ. .1d..'11.1..,':s:·j'"a#t'e Nfs:fJtj': 0, igfua,l nlefilefi Mp.'emhe ... li, 1976; e.6feeo'ive Oe:ehe...
15,1976. RefJCffledjtl·uiAftgwJo' 22, .'989, cfleelhe f>t:eem8c. I, 1080. Repealed b,. Pt,hlie GJtap.'e. 575; ejJeelj,c
Ji'I, J, 1986. NCH I', ..'ejUeti All" 27, 1986; efjee:il'c dt/gM.' :'2, 1986. .....,endme..,.. jUedJwtc 22, 2fJQ6; elfeeth'c
0 ••'00.. 27, 2006.

1729 2 5 .07 APPEAbS.

fB Deeisiells sf the Student Canduet Beard SF Ulliversit)' IleflFing Omeer sitting 8101'18 may ~e appealed
Ie the Viee Chaneeller fer Stueent DevelsJllnent By delivering ft signeEl statelnent eentaining:

fa1 A statement that helshe Af}~eals the eeeisian;

(8) A Brief statement sf grellnes ef appeal. The appeal Blust Be sUBmitted within HVB (5) lntsiness
eft) s ef reeeiving written netif.ieatien efttle eeeisian.

f27 The Viee Chaneellsl nuty:

(eJ U"hela Ihe aeei'iell

t&) Amend tlte deeisiel1

fet Return ease far reesnsideFAtien

Eti1 O\[eFtuFIt eeeisien

~ Either Part') may appeal te the Chaneeller efthe Universit)[.

A,,','ttJ,;(J', :CCA §19 92fJ9(e). Affl"j.Ioisha.t,.',e N·bh."81j'! 0. ig:""'H 'lolejtlet'ISeplemhel 15. 1976, elfee.';'e OeN,!Jet
.'5, 1976. Re,'Je..kd bJ Pl.h.'ie G'fap,'eJ 575; efJee,';,e o'EI/j :', 1986. A/ell .ttiejh'ed .Ha, 27, .'986: effeeH ..e .h,g..s,'
:'2, 1986. AoIIeml",e",'jikdJt.Jfe 22, 2{}{}6; elfeeti\ e ()e,'abe. 27, 2{}{}6

1720 2 6 ,08 PARhtlPIG APPEAb8

P8rldng Appeals. Appeals sf student parlting tielests are reviewed By the gtlldent Parlting Apfleals Beare.
Deeisiells eeneeFlting the appeals are Based en a majeril'y vete eflile Beara.

ANt-h81·ilj': TCl fl9 92B9(e). A.(.f;'IIJ:,,;";.Yflllre f-NSf-8Fj': o.·:g:d{'l.' ru.'ejiletlSep,teollbel J5, 1976; e.ffeeHl'e Oe:sber
.'5, 19M. Repealed bJ Pllh.~·e Clt<tj'J,'eJ 575, e.ffee:i1e JEI/j :', 1986. A/ell. utefl/ed A{:1'." 27. 1986: effeeH.e .ft,gt,S"
12, 1986. AmElftliile, ... jUedJEOIfe 22, 2006, e.{f€et;' e ()e,'aBe. 27, 200G.

1729 2 5 .09 CQMPQSITION OF SHmENT PARKING APPEAbS BOARD.

fB The Stueent PaflEing Appeals BeRre shall Be ealHpesee sf sin stueent IhemBefs plus ft Chair ana ShE

alternates, T,.,[e stueents will Be apl)einted Ily the gtudent Sellate [rsm the general Btueent aee)[, Twe
'luaenls will be a""einl.a bl' Ihe foault", ene .""eintea bl' Ihe P,a,iaanl .[SGA, ana ena a~~.iRteei

By the Omes ef Stueent Qe ,'elspnlent. eaeh appeintiHg Bedy shell alse apfleint the alterNates, An
Alternate will sef,'e when a regular memller eannet Be present sr when ft memBer is eJl:euseEi fer
reasans sueh as "ersenal friendship with the prineiflals.

Oelebe" 2006 (Re, isea)
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STUD6~IT RIGHTS MID R6SpmlSIBlblTI6S

(Rule 1729 2 S .99, eonlinued)

CIIAPTJ;R 1720 2 3

~ All 111Bmeers must have A2.0Q elllllulatiYB grafts fleint a\'BFOge and he-ettrelleel as mil time sllieants
amlnel Be en any farm eff3reeatisn.

(;1 The Chai, will be eleelad by Ihe Bea,dand ,'oles in ease of lie.

E41 A temflBfSf) altair" ill Be Bleeted ey the memeers sfll1e eeara in the Byent:

ta1 The Chair is n 138ft) 16 the Base.

(b) The Chair is aBsent.

fe1 The Chair rBIllS\'eS himself Hem the Base.

~ Onee ftflJ3sinteEJ, stlll:tents rBAlfl:in en the Student ParldAg Aflfleals Bean. until they terminate at the
Uni\'eFsi~, aease Ie Be eligiBle Ie S8r ..e, BF resign YellintArit)'.

A,',H'B. Uy: TC J § J9 9 2~J9.{e). )1tf""i..,.'sl"j'¥I#t'e R..'s.~8ty: ()",ig;n(o'! ,''lo'le filetl f.{(lj 27, :'986; cfJee.'; I e ,1"gliS.' 12,
1986. l'melltlmcn:jiJedo'-flllc 22, 2(}(}6, ef!eef;l'e gaMha. 27, 2(}06

17292 5 .19 EMERGEPIC,/ SITUATIONS.

Wilen in the e~inien Bf the Chaneellef, eenElitiel1s RrB sueh that there tmists ft eleRr ana inuneaiata flAnger Ie the
~hysieAI SAfety Bf '....ell eeiltg sf the memBers Bf the UniYersi~ eemmunit) Bf saret) Bf Uni. ersit)' J:1F8fJ8r.y, he SF
she may direst that Ihe aeansae stuelent ef 8rgauia:.tian 138 SlISf38IH:lea fJeneling initiatien (ami 8emfJletien) sfnannel
aiseij3linaF)' (iFeeeeelings fJf8\'iElea these fJrseeelures 8rB et=fereel 85 S8811 85 eEm r8asenftsly ae aeeelt1plisheEi. The
Chaneeller may eelegate this Autherit,r Ie the Viee Chaneeller fer £tuElent DeyeIBf3l11ent.

AUl-.'lo:'Uj. Tel J/9 92(}9fe). Admh,':·slf'.'1h',e if.l..¥il6.'j'! OIigiUt'i{ •[de filed .tfaj 27, .'986; cffee..... e A,.gl.S: l2,
/986. ,1".."",,,.,,.,},,,."1I,,,. 22. 29g6; ~{fe./;,. De/ab•• , 27. 2gg.

1729 2 5 .11 WlTlIllRAWAb OR T6MPORARY SUSPENSION In!E TO PIlYSICAb OR
PS,/CIiObOGlCAb IbbNESS.

t+1 When 8 sttltient is unable Ie ~lIfSlle his BF her ft8fUilemie .. srlt effeetivel), Bf .. halt his BF her belulYisf
is disFupti ,'e Ie the 118rl11al BeitleR.iollal preeesses sf the Ullhrersit)', Bf eenstitutes ft threat Ie members
sf the Ul1i\'ersi~ eSJnltlunit)', due te, AlHong ether things, the use sf aleallsl, Elrugs, 8f ether
psyshelegieally ineRpasitating illnesses SF eenElitiens, he SF she may Be withElrawn SF tempennily
slIspended Hem the UnivBrsil)' as hereinafter pre't'ideEi.

fe1 WithaFftWal. A stues". may be witlulfftVlIl fram the Uni\'ersit~,. enl)' RAe' all evaluation efllis Sf
her mental, ph) sieal 8entlitiell, BF l:lehfl:'w'ier By fl pallel sf at least three persells appointee l:ly the
Viee Chaneellef An Stueent Qevelsj3lnent. The shIEls,,! shall Be l1etifieEl ef the reasens fer the
evaillatien allEi gi I en an epperlunity te present e..'itlenee te the eelHlnittee. lie er site shall
enjs) the rights sf narmal dtle praees9 preeeehires. The eeBll11itiee's tindings and
reeaBlmendatisns shall be fer .. ardetl te the Viee Clumeellar fer Stutlent De..'elepment .....he will
nstify the student in driting af his ar her deeisisn. A student ..... ithtlrawn unEler this prseedure
shall nat be readlnitted ts the Uni: ersit)' witltaut the appre,,'al sf the Viee Chaneeller fer
Student Develeflntent.

f9:) GrAtles. When Astutlent is suspentletl ar withtlFA'....n Hem the Ulli ..'eFsity fer FeAsans tlaseribetl
in this seetian, he eF she will 8e assigned ft gratle 6f"W".

te1 CellHnittee Csmpasitien anti Hearing. The panel referretl te hereht will ineluBe at least ene
member sf the faeulty at large anB representati ..'e af the Caunseling Center sr R ps)'ehelegist.

Oelobe" 2996 (Red,ed)
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STUI)HIT RIGHTS MIl) R6SpmlSIBlblTI6S

(Rul. 1129 2 •. 11, .enlinu.~)

CIIAPTBR 172Q 2 S

The Dean 8f Simien's ~F his SF her assignee Vl8uM IlBfltlfllly luws reSIJensieilit)' fef preparing
the eharges R.n~ presenting the ease. The stlll:teHt in f1ues.ien "'BuIEi haye tlte right 18 Harmel thlB
IU888SS Pf8\'ISleI1S.

(2) TempefRFY £llspen~ien. \Vhen8\'8r ~ student, eeeause sf his SF her mental SF fhysieal eenElitien is
ttllftBl,e fa pllFsue his Sf her a8aeen1l8 wBrl( effeeti Iely, al' is EliSfupth e fa eElueatienal preeeSS8S' 81'
eel1stltutes 8 ~Rl1geF t~ persel1s e: .,uaper.)', he Sf she may Be slispenfteEi Kent the UlliYersit)' fer ft

r8asBI18131e fJefl~8 sf !11t~e By the 4188 Chaneeller feF Blueanl Qe.elspluent. The bini ..ersit)! ,lill then
se.heEllll~, fl heftflllg Yl'lthm 5 alftss tift). s sf the aeginning af the sklspensian. If the Univefsif.)' elees nat
.. ltluIFft: the ~tklelent ftfteF tile heflnng, he SF she 111~[ Fett'lFR ta the UniYeFsi~' ftt the enel f tI
sklspenslsn !lenstt, J S lS

'986 I I,. j •• ~, ;.;; \ :.! j ':l";Moh:".~ .11.5160''':.'': 0. tgldal ndeji!ed I..'aJ 27, /986; ejfi?:eti,'e 11l.gt09t l2
•. lme,tt\iile:t. J .e•• ,.aretl.2, r987;efjeet.,'eo4.. te29 '987 J'11ell,I"le1t'4/'c4 ','te22 2(}()6'f/ ' (fr h'27. 2006 . • . " <ow • J • hN • • ~ <ie.""e el8 eI'

O.teb.f, 2996 (R....i'.~) 9
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G.O.C. STAFF RULE ABSTRACT 
 
 
DEPARTMENT: University of Tennessee 
 
DIVISION: University of Tennessee at Martin 
 
SUBJECT: Traffic and Parking Regulations 
 
STATUTORY AUTHORITY: Tennessee Code Annotated, Section 49-9-209 
 
EFFECTIVE DATES: September 28, 2012 through June 30, 2013 
 
FISCAL IMPACT: Minimal 
 
STAFF RULE ABSTRACT:  
 
The University of Tennessee at Martin has revised its traffic and parking regulations to allow for 
a $200 fine for possessing, using, reproducing, or altering a University registration decal in a 
manner that would violate state or local law and to allow restitution to the victim. 
 
The provision also states that University students and employees may be subject to discipline 
under other University policies and procedures. 
 
The proposed changes are a result of the request of local officials, so that offenders are handled 
through university procedures rather than the Weakley County court system. 
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Regulatory Flexibility Addendum
Pursuant to § T.GA 4-5-401 through 4-5-404, prior to initiating the ruie making process as described in T.GA
§ 4-5-202(a)(3) and T.GA § 4-5-202(a), all agencies shall conduct a review of whether a proposed rule or rule
affects small businesses.

(If applicable, insert Regulatory Flexibility Addendum here)

88-7038 (July 2010) 4 RDA 1693
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Impact on Local Governments

Pursuant to T.CA 4-5-220 and 4-5-228 "any rule proposed to be promulgated shall state in a simple declarative
sentence, without additional comments on the merits of the policy of the rules or regulation, whether the rule or
regulation may have a projected impact on local governments." (See Public Chapter Number 1070
(http://state.tn.us/sos/acts/106/pub/pc1070.pdf) of the 2010 Session of the General Assembly)

The University of Tennessee anticipates that this rule change will have minimal impact on local governments.
The rule change was made at the request of local government officials so that offenders are handied through
university procedures rather than the Weakley County court system.

SS-7038 (July 2010) 5 RDA 1693
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Department of State
Division of Publications
312 Rosa L. Parks Avenue, 8th Floor SnodgrassITN Tower
Nashville. TN 37243
Phone: 615-741-2650
Fax: 615-741-5133
Email: register.informalion@tn.qov

Proposed Rule(s) Filing Form

For Department of State Use Only

Sequence Number: OJ/-IO -f:l
Rule ID(s): -71"'21+78'L-3+--,---­
File Date: °.f(f:?j:)o\ 'J-..

Effective Date: (')Cj/2%/9-f J-

Proposed rules are submitted pursuant to T.G.A. §4-5-202, 4·5·207 in lieu of B rulemaking hearing. It is the intent of the Agency to promulgate
these rules wi/hout Bru/smaking hoaring unless 8 petition requesting such hearing is filed within sixty (60) days of the first day o( the month
subsequent to the filing of the proposed rule with the Secretary of State. To be effective, the petition must be filed with the Agency and be
signed by twenty-five (25) persons who will be affected by the amendments. or submitted by 8 municipality which will be affected by the
amendments, or an association of twenty-five (25) or more members, or any standing committee of the General Assembly. The agency shaff
forward such petition to the Secretary of State.

~gency/Board/Commlsslon: I Universit~ of Tennessee
Division:

- Contact Person: Matthew Scoggins, Assistant General Counsel
Address: 719 And~ Holt Tower, 1331 Circle Park, Knoxville, TN

- Zip: 37996-0170
Phone: 865-974-3245
Email: scoRgins@tennessee.edu

Revision Type (check all that apply):
x Amendment

New
Repeal

RUle(s) Revised (ALL chapters and rules contained in filing must be listed here. If needed, copy and paste
additional tables to accommodate multiple chapters. Please enter only ONE Rule Number/Rule Title per row)

Chapter Number Chapter Title
1720-05-06 Traffic and ParkinQ ReQulations
Rule Number Rule Title
1720-05-06-.05 Penalties

(Place substance of rules and other info here. Statutory authority must be given for each rule change. For
information on formatting rules go to http://state.tn.us/sos/rules/1360/1360.htm)

Substance of Proposed Rules
of

The University of Tennessee at Martin

Amendments

Chapter 1720-05-06
Traffic and Parking Regulations

Subparagraph (a) of Paragraph (1) of Rule 1720-05-06-.05 Penalties is amended by adding the following
language as subparagraph (8):

SS-7038 (July 2010) 1 RDA 1693
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Unauthorized possession of registration decals; falsification of registration information; and/or illegal use,
reproduction, or alteration of registration decals - at the discretion of the University, up to two hundred dollars
($200) per violation and restitution to the victim; or referral to City or General Sessions Court. University students
and employees also may be subject to discipline under other University policies and procedures.

Authority: T.CA § 49-9-209(e) and Public Acts of Tennessee, 1839-1840, Chapter 98, Section 5, and Public
Acts of Tennessee, 1807, Chapter 64.

Subparagraph (b) of Paragraph (1) of Rule 1720-05-06-.05 Penalties is amended by deleting the words, "or
illegally uses, reproduces, or alters a vehicle registration decal," so that, as amended, the subparagraph will read:

A person who commits a moving violation will be referred to City or General Sessions Court.

Authority: T.CA § 49-9-209(e) and Public Acts of Tennessee, 1839-1840, Chapter 98, Section 5, and Public
Acts of Tennessee, 1807, Chapter 64.

* If a roll-cail vote was necessary, the vote by the Agency on these rules was as follows:

Board Member Aye No Abstain Absent Signature
(if required)

Governor Bill Haslam x

Commissioner Julius Johnson x

Commissioner Kevin Huffman x

Dr. Joe DiPietro x

Dr. Richard D. Rhoda Non-voting

Charles C. Anderson, Jr. x

Ann Holt Blackburn x

Dr. JAM. "Toby" Boulet x

George E. Cates x

Spruell Driver, Jr. x

J. Brian Ferguson x

Teresa K. Fowler Non-voting

John N. Foy x

Crawford Gallimore x

Monice Moore Hagler x

James E. Hall x

Douglas A. Horne x

Andrea J. Loughry x

James L. Murphy, III x

Karl A. Schledwitz x

Carey Smith x

Don Stansberry x

Robert S. Talbott x

Betty Ann Tanner x

Charles E. Wharton x

SS-7038 (July 2010) 2 RDA 1693
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Tommy G. Whittaker x

Dr. Janet M. Wilbert Non-voting

I certify that this is an accurate and complete copy of proposed rules, lawfully promulgated and adopted by the
University of Tennessee Board of Trustees on February 29, 2012, and is in compliance with the provisions of
T.CA § 4-5-222. The Secretary of State is hereby instructed that, in the absence of a petition for proposed rules
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RULES
OF

THE UNIVERSITY OF TENNESSEE AT MARTIN

CHAPTER 1720-05-06
TRAFFIC AND PARKING REGULATIONS
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1720-05-06-.01 REGISTRATION OF VEHICLES.

(1) All motor vehicles operated by faculty, staff and students in connection with their
employment or attendance at UTM must be registered at the UTM Department of Public
Safety.

(2) All persons employed by other agencies who regularly use University facilities must
annually register their vehicles with the University. "Vendor" decals will be used for this
purpose. "Honorary" decals will be issued to all retired University personnel and "Special
Guests" decals may be issued to all others who do not fit the vendor classification.

(3) Vehicle registration decals are issued at the time of student registration and must be
properly displayed.

(4) Faculty and staff vehicle registration and collection of associated fees will be conducted
prior to the beginning of each Fall Semester and will be valid for the entire academic year.
Vehicle registration will not be completed until the previous year's citations have been
cleared. New employees will be required to pay the registration fee at the time of their
employment.

(5) Student vehicle registration and collection of associated fees must be renewed at, or prior
to, the beginning of each fall semester and will be valid for the entire academic year.

(6) Student vehicle registrations must be completed prior to the first day of classes, or within
24 hours for those who enroll at a subsequent date or acquire a vehicle.

(7) Generally, a student vehicle can only be registered in one classification: commuter or
non- commuter. However, students who meet certain requirements may register vehicles as
staff. To register as a staff member the student must teach eight (8) semester hours or have
a forty (40) hour work week specified on appointment papers. The registration of student
vehicles as staff members will be by agreement between the appropriate department
chairman or dean and the Department of Public Safety.

(8) The annual vehicle registration decal will be provided at no cost to anyone qualifying for
a permanent disability sticker.

(9) The person to whom a vehicle is registered is responsible for that vehicle and all
violation citations issued thereto. If the person operating the vehicle is other than the
registrant when a violation is committed, both he and the registrant may be cited.

(10) Expired campus registration decals must be removed so that only the current
registration decals are displayed.

1
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TRAFFIC AND PARKING REGULATIONS CHAPTER 1720-05-06

(11) Only one parking decal may be purchased by each staff/faculty member or student, unless
it is a replacement decal. The decal may be transferred to another vehicle either
permanently or temporarily.

Authority: T.CA §49-9-209(e), Public Acts of Tennessee, 1839-1840, Chapter 98, Section 5, and
Public Acts of Tennessee, 1807, Chapter 64.

1720-05-06-.02 PARKING.

(1) Staff parking areas are designated for all academic buildings. Students are not to park
in these areas.

(2) Student parking areas are designated by letter, e.g., C-Commuting students, N­
Non- commuting students. Student's vehicles may be parked only in lots designated on the
student's registration decal.

(3) Parking lot designations are not applicable from 3:00 p.m. to 8:00 a.m. nor on
weekends except where posted. The designations are for the hours between 8:00 a.m.
and 3:00 p.m. Monday through Friday.

Authority: §49-9-208(e), Puqlic Acts of Tennessee, 1839-1840, Chapter 98, Section 5, and Public Acts
of Tennessee, 1807, Chapter 64.

1720-05-06-.03 VEHICLE OPERATION.

(1) All persons operating vehicles on University property or in the campus area, which
includes city streets adjacent to University property, must be properly licensed operators

(2) Pedestrians have the right-of-way at established pedestrian crossings, except where
regulated by traffic control lights or police officers.

(3) Under normal conditions the maximum speed limit on campus streets is 15 mph and 30
mph on the city streets. However, vehicles may not be operated at any speed which is
excessive for the conditions which may exist as a result of weather, traffic congestion,
pedestrians, etc.

(4) Traffic control signs and directions of police officers must be obeyed.

(5) All persons operating vehicles are responsible for maintaining control of the vehicle,
safe operation, and observance of traffic control signs, barriers and devices.

(6) Operating or parking a motor vehicle in any area other than a street, roadway, or parking
lot intended for motor vehicles is prohibited.

1720-05-06-.04 VIOLATIONS.

(1) Registration.

2
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TRAFFIC AND PARKING REGULATIONS CHAPTER 1720-05-06

(a)

(b)

(c)

(d)

(e)

(2) Parking.

(a)

(b)

(c)

(d)

(e)

(I)

(3) Moving.

(a)

(b)

(c)

(d)

(e)

(I)

(g)

(h)

(i)

OJ

(k)

(I)

Vehicles not registered.

Registration decals not properly affixed to vehicle.

Unauthorized possession of registration decals.

Falsification of registration information.

Illegal use, reproduction, or alteration of registration decals.

In no parking areas, loading zones, or on grass.

In unauthorized areas.

In such a manner as to block or obstruct traffic, street, sidewalk, driveway, fire
hydrant, building entrance or exit, or another vehicle.

In areas where curb is painted yellow or where not marked as a parking arEia with
painted white lines.

Vehicles parked in such a manner as to prohibit the emptying of trash dumpsters
will be towed away at the owner's expense.

Disability parking violation, as defined by state law (e.g., an unauthorized use of a
disabled parking space, ramp, plate, or placard; parking a vehicle so that a portion
of the vehicle encroaches into a disabled parking space in a manner which restricts,
or reasonably could restrict, a person confined to a wheelchair from exiting or
entering a vehicle properly parked within the disabled parking space).

Exceeding posted speed limit.

Excessive speed for existing conditions.

Failure to obey traffic control sign or signal.

Failure to obey police officer.

Operating vehicle without valid operator's license.

Driving off of roadway or street.

Reckless driving and/or racing.

Failure to yield right-of-way at pedestrian crossing.

Leaving scene of accident.

Failure to signal turn or stop.

Following too closely.

Operating mechanically unsafe vehicle.

3
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TRAFFIC AND PARKING REGULATIONS

(m) Driving while under the influence of alcohol or narcotics.

CHAPTER 1720-05-06

(n) Operating vehicle causing loud or unnecessary noise, such as loud mufflers, horns,
PA systems, etc.

1720-05-06-.05 PENALTIES.

(1) Fines and Other Penalties.

(a) The fine for registration or parking violations is twenty-five ($25) dollars, except for
the following violations:

1.

2.

3.

4.

5.

6.

7.

8.

Registration decal not properly affixed to a vehicle - twenty ($20) dollars;

Parking in a no parking area or a loading zone - thirty ($30) dollars;

Parking in such a manner as to block or obstruct traffic, a street, a
driveway, a fire hydrant, a building entrance or exit, or another vehicle ­
thirty ($30) dollars (the fine is twenty-five ($25) dollars for blocking a
sidewalk or building entrance or exit);

I

Parking in an area where curb is painted red - forty ($40) dollars;

Parking in an area that is not marked as a parking area with painted white
lines - twenty ($20) dollars;

Parking in such a manner as to prohibit the emptying of trash dumpsters ­
thirty ($30) dollars and the vehicle will be towed; and

The fine for a disability parking violation is set by State law, T.CA § 55­
21-108. As of July 1, 2008, the fine was set at two-hundred ($200) dollars.
The fine imposed under these regulations will increase or decrease
automatically when increased or decreased by State law. The fine
shall not be suspended or waived. In addition to the fine, not more than
five (5) hours of community service work may be imposed. Any
community service work requirements imposed shall be to assist the
disabled community by monitoring disabled parking spaces, providing
assistance to disability centers or to disabled veterans, or other such
purposes.

Unauthorized possession of registration decals: falsification of registration·- - n 1Fom
information: and/or Illegal use. reproduction, or alteration of registration Righi
decals - at the discretion of the University. up to two hundred dollars ($200)
per violation and restitution to the victim: or referral 1 0 City or General - { Fom
Sessions Court. University students and employees also may be subject to
discipline other University policies and procedures.

(b) __A person who commits a moving violation er illegally uses, rellffieUGeS, er·- - --1 Fom
alters a veRiGle registratieR eeGal will be referred to City or General Sessions Court. Righi

(2) Disciplinary Action.

(a) Students who persist in violating these regulations or commit a single
violation surrounded by aggravated circumstances will be referred to the Office
of Student Affairs for discipiinary action.

4
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TRAFFIC AND PARKING REGULATIONS CHAPTER 1720-05-06

(b) If more than five citations are issued to a student in one semester, the student will
be notified that the vehicle is subject to being towed. If, after this notification, the
student receives another citation during the same semester, the student's
vehicle will be subject to towing for that citation and each subsequent citation for
the remainder of that semester, even if the previous citations have been satisfied
by paying fines or other penalties.

(c) Any student having outstanding citations (citations which have not been paid) will
not be allowed to register for further work until all such charges have been paid.

No transcripts or other information will be made available for such students who
are seeking entrance into other institutions.

(3) Enforcement.

(a) A citation for any type of parking violation must be paid or appealed within
fourteen (14) calendar days after the issuance of the citation. If a fine is not paid
or appealed within fourteen (14) calendar days after the issuance of the citation, a
$15.00 late charge will be added.

(b) Windshield notices and/or other methods of notification will be used to provide
the owner of the vehicle with: (1) advance notice of the University's intent to
tow the owner's vehicle as a result of the owner receiving more than five citations in
one semester and (2) the owner's right to a hearing. In the event the owner
does not request a hearing or prevail at the hearing, his or her vehicle will be
towed whenever it is next found upon the University property parked illegally.

(c) Vehicles parked in a fire lane, designated disability parking space, reserved
parking space, or in such manner as to impede the flow of traffic or disrupt the
orderly affairs of the University may be towed/booted/impounded.
Owners of vehicles towed/bootedlimpounded for the above reasons have
a right to a hearing by a University official that will be provided on request prior
to the payment of any tow charges, fines, and penalties. If tow charges, fines, or
penalties are assessed after such hearing, impounded/towed/booted vehicles will
be released upon proper identification and receipt of payment of all tow charges,
fines, and penalties.

Authority: T.C.A. §49-9-209(e), Public Acts of Tennessee, 1839-1840, Chapter 98, Section 5, and
Public Acts of Tennessee, 1807, Chapter 64.

1720-05-06-.06 APPEALS.

(1) Appeals must be made within fourteen days of the date of citation issuance.

(2) Citations may be appealed to the Traffic Office and then to the Traffic Appeals Board.
The Traffic Appeals Board, which is composed of faCUlty, staff and students, meets
each semester.

Authority: Public Acts of Tennessee, 1839-1840, Chapter 98, Section 5, and Public Acts of Tennessee,
1807, Chapter 64.

1720-05-06-.07 RESTRICTIONS.

(1) University streets or grounds may not be used by any firm, corporation, or
unauthorized person for advertising or commercial purposes.

Authority: Public Acts of Tennessee. 1839-1840, Chapter 98, Section 5, and Public Acts of Tennessee,
1807, Chapter 64.

5
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TRAFFIC AND PARKING REGULATIONS
1720-05-06-.08 PEDESTRIAN REGULATIONS.

CHAPTER 1720-05-06

(1) Students and staff members must not endanger their safety or constitute an
unreasonable impediment to lawful vehicular traffic by crossing streets at other than
authorized lanes or by willfully walking or congregating in the streets.

Authority: §49-9-209(e), Public Acts of Tennessee, 1839-1840, Chapter 98, Section 5, and Public Acts
of Tennessee, 1807, Chapter 64.

1720-05-06-.09 SPECIAL OCCASIONS AND EMERGENCIES.

(1) On special occasions, such as athletic events, concerts, and graduation exercises, and
in emergencies, parking and traffic limitations may be imposed by the Department of Public
Safety as required by the conditions which prevail.

Authority: Public Acts of Tennessee, 1839-1840, Chapter 98, Section 5, and Public Acts of Tennessee,
1807, Chapter 64.

6
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G.O.C. STAFF RULE ABSTRACT 
 
 
DEPARTMENT: University of Tennessee 
 
DIVISION: University of Tennessee at Martin 
 
SUBJECT: Student Conduct Code 
 
STATUTORY AUTHORITY: Tennessee Code Annotated, Section 49-9-209 
 
EFFECTIVE DATES: September 28, 2012 through June 30, 2013 
 
FISCAL IMPACT: Minimal 
 
STAFF RULE ABSTRACT:  
 
The University of Tennessee at Martin has revised its code of conduct for students. The 
following briefly summarizes the new rule and the key changes from the rule being 
repealed: 
 
Rule 1720-05-01-.01 provides a description of the University's interests in students' 
conduct. 
 
Rule 1720-05-01-.02 defines key terms used in the code of conduct. 
 
Rule 1720-05-01-.03 sets forth the University's position on common jurisdictional issues 
that arise in student conduct cases. 
 
Rule 1720-05-01-.04 sets forth the standards of conduct for University students. UTM 
currently has twenty-two (22) Standards of Conduct. The proposed rule adds seven (7) 
new standards and combines other standards, for a total of twenty-nine (29) standards 
of conduct, which are the same standards of conduct being proposed by the other UT 
campuses. The most significant additions and changes to the new standards of conduct 
relate to academic dishonesty, physical harm, harassment, sexual assault or 
misconduct, invasion of privacy, information technology, compliance with University 
instructions, alcohol, and drugs. 
 
Rule 1720-05-01-.05 addresses penalties imposed for violations of the Standards of 
Conduct in a separate rule, in contrast to the former Rule 1720-05-01-.04. The proposed 
rule adds guidance for administrators and hearing boards in determining the appropriate 
penalty for a violation of the standards of conduct; adds a non-exclusive list of 
aggravating and mitigating factors that an administrator or hearing board may consider 
in determining a penalty; informs students that intoxication or impairment because of 
alcohol, drugs, chemicals, or other substances does not excuse a violation of the 
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standards of conduct; adds four penalties; informs students about the University's policy 
concerning coursework and pending disciplinary charges; informs student organizations 
about the penalties that may be imposed if a student organization violates the standards 
of conduct; and clarifies the penalty of indefinite suspension. 
 
Rule 1720-05-01-.06 is a new rule describing a no-contact directive, which is a tool used 
by student affairs administrators in appropriate cases to prohibit a student from having 
verbal, physical, or written contact with specific persons for a definite or indefinite period 
of time. 
 
Rule 1720-05-01-.07 is a new rule describing an interim suspension, which may be 
imposed on a student or student organization prior to the conclusion of a full due 
process hearing in certain situations. 
 
Rule 1720-05-01-.08 explains the ways in which a student or student organization may 
oppose a charge that he/she has violated the standards of conduct. The rule also 
provides a list of rights for victims in sexual assault cases, to comply with recent 
guidance by the United States Department of Education concerning Title IX of the 
Education Amendments of 1972. 
 
Rule 1720-05-01-.09 explains the process by which a student or student organization 
may appeal the decision of a disciplinary board. The proposed rule also explains the 
types of the decisions that may be appealed, to whom decisions may be appealed, and 
the procedures for appeals. 
 
Rule 1720-05-01-.10 is substantially the same as former Rule 1720-05-01-.04(1 )(e). 
 
Rule 1720-05-01-.11 is the same as former Rule 1720-05-01-.05, except the proposed 
rule addresses: (1) the issue of what grades a student may be assigned if he or she is 
involuntarily withdrawn or suspended; and (2) the procedures through which a student 
who has been involuntarily withdrawn or suspended may reapply for admission. 
 
Rule 1720-05-01-.12 is substantially the same as former Rule 1720-05-01-.13. 
 
Rule 1720-05-01-.13 sets forth the University 's expectations of students concerning 
academic integrity. 
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Substance of Proposed Rules
of

The University of Tennessee at Martin

Repeal

Rule 1720-05-01 Student Conduct is repealed.

New Rule

Chapter 1720-05-01
Student Rights and Responsibilities

1720-05-01-.01 Introduction.

(1) Students at the University of Tennessee at Martin are members of both the University community
and the larger community of which the University is a part. Accordingly, students are responsible
for conducting themselves in a lawful manner and in compliance with University rules and
policies. The University has established the following rules in order to advance the mission of the
University by maintaining a safe and secure learning environment; protecting the rights and
privileges of all members of the University community; providing a basis for orderly conduct of the
affairs of the University; promoting a positive relationship between the University and its
surrounding community; preserving institutional integrity and property; encouraging students to
engage in conduct that brings credit to themselves and the University; and ensuring that each
student who matriculates at the University graduates ready to contribute to society as an ethical
and law-abiding citizen.

(2) The University is committed to respecting students' constitutional rights. Nothing in this chapterJs
intended or shall be interpreted to restrict students' constitutional rights, including, but not limited
to, rights of freedom of speech and assembly.

(3) Students are responsible for being fUlly acquainted and for complying with the University catalog,
handbook, and other rules and policies relating to students. Failure or refusal to comply with the
rules and policies established by the University may subject a student to disciplinary action up to
and including permanent dismissal from the University.

Authority: T.CA § 49-9-209(e) and Public Acts of Tennessee, 1839-1840, Chapter 98, Section 5, and Public
Acts of Tennessee, 1807, Chapter 64.

1720-05-01-.02 Definitions.

(1) The term "University" means the University ofTennessee at Martin.

(2) The term "studenf' means a person admitted, enrolled or registered for study at the University of
Tennessee, either full-time or part-time, pursuing undergraduate, graduate, or professional
studies, as well as non-degree students. Persons not officially registered or enrolled for a
particular term but who have a continuing relationship with the University also are considered
students for purposes of these rules.

SS-7038 (July 2010) 2 RDA 1693
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(3) The term "student organization" means an organization that is composed solely of University
students that has submitted a pending application or has completed the process for registration
according to University rules.

(4) The term "University-controlled property" means all land, buildings, facilities, grounds, structures,
or any other property owned, leased, used, maintained, or operated by the University. For
purposes of this rule, University-controlled property includes all streets, alleys, sidewalks, and
public ways abutting such property. University-controlled property also includes computers and
network systems owned, maintained, or controlled by the University or funded by the University.

(5) The term "University-affiliated activity" means any activity on or off University-controlled property
that is initiated, aided, authorized, sponsored, or supervised by the University.

(6) The term "University official" means an employee of the University, including faculty members
and staff, or for purposes of this rule a University-recognized volunteer. Student employees may
be considered University officials when acting in the performance of their duties (e.g., event staff,
resident assistants, and teaching assistants).

(7) The term "member of the University community" means any person who is a student, University
official, campus visitor, or participant in a University-sponsored or University-affiliated activity.

(8) The term "possession" means actual knowledge of a substance or property and/or being in such
close proximity to the substance or property that it is a reasonable presumption that one had
knowledge of the substance or property.

(9) The term "weapon" means any device, instrument, or substance that is designed to, or
reasonably could be expected to, inflict a wound, incapacitate, or cause serious bodily injury or
death, including, but not limited to, firearms (loaded and unloaded, real and replica), ammunition,
electronic control devices (such as tasers and stun guns), devices designed to discharge an
object (such as bb guns, air guns, pellet guns, potato guns, and slingshots), explosives,
dangerous chemicals (such as mace, tear gas, and oleoresin capsicum), martial arts weapons,
bows and arrows, artificial knuckles, nightsticks, blackjacks, dirks, daggers, swords, and knives
with fixed blades longer than three (3) inches. The term "weapon" does not include chemical
repellents available over-the-counter for self-defense; instruments used solely for personal
hygiene, preparation of food, maintenance, University-related instruction, or University
employment-related duties.

(10) The term "notice" means notice given in writing delivered by regular mail, courier service, or hand
delivery to the address the University has on file for the student or student organization, or by e­
mail to the student's or student organization's University-provided e-mail account.

Authority: T.CA § 49-9-209(e) and Public Acts of Tennessee, 1839-1840, Chapter 98, Section 5, and Public
Acts ofTennessee, 1807, Chapter 64.

1720-05-01-.03 Jurisdiction.

(1) The Standards of Conduct, Chapter 1720-05-01-.04, apply to conduct that occurs on University­
controlled property.

(2) The University also has the discretion to discipline a student for an act in violation of the
Standards of Conduct that occurs off University-controlled property if the conduct adversely
affects the interests of the University, including, but not limited to, conduct which:

(a)

(b)

(c)

SS-7038 (July 2010)

Occurs in connection with a University-affiliated activity, including, but not limited to, an
overseas study program or a clinical, field, internship, or in-service experience;

Involves another member of the University community; or

Threatens, or indicates that the student may pose a threat to, the health or safety of
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him/herself or others or the security of any person's property, including, but not limited to,
alcohol-related offenses, drug-related offenses, arson, battery, fraud, hazing, participation
in group violence, rape, sexual assault or misconduct, stalking, and theft.

(3) The Standards of Conduct have been adopted in furtherance of the University's interests and
serve to supplement, rather than substitute for, the enforcement of the civil and criminal law.
Accordingly, University disciplinary action may be instituted against a student charged with
conduct that potentially violates both the criminal law and the Standards of Conduct without
regard to the pendency of criminal charges or civil litigation. At the discretion of the Vice
Chancellor for Student Affairs, or his/her designee, disciplinary action relating to a violation of the
Standards of Conduct may be carried out prior to, simultaneously with, or following criminal
proceedings. Students accused of violating the Standards of Conduct may not challenge the
University disciplinary proceedings on the grounds that criminal charges, civil litigation, or other
University proceedings regarding the same incident are pending or have been terminated,
dismissed, reduced, or not yet adjudicated.

(4) Each student shall be responsible for his/her conduct from the time of application for admission
through the actual awarding of a degree, even though conduct may occur before classes begin or
after classes end, as well as during the academic year and during periods between terms of
actual enrollment (and even if conduct is not discovered by the University until after a degree is
awarded). Should a student withdraw from the University with disciplinary charges pending, the
student's academic record and/or ability to register for classes may be encumbered by the
appropriate University office.

(5) Graduate or professional programs within the University may initiate charges against students for
alleged violations of professional standards or ethics as a separate issue or as an extension of
alleged acts of academic dishonesty or other violations of the Standards of Conduct.

Authority: T.CA § 49-9-209(e) and Public Acts of Tennessee, 1839-1840, Chapter 98, Section 5, and Public
Acts of Tennessee, 1807, Chapter 64.

1720-05-01-.04 Standards of Conduct. A student or student organization may be disciplined for the following
types of misconduct:

(1) Cheating, plagiarism, or any other act of academic dishonesty as described in Chapter 1720-05­
01-.13.

(2) Providing false information to a University official.

(3) Falsifying, distorting, misrepresenting, or withholding information in connection with a University
investigation or hearing.

(4) Forging, altering, destroying, falsifying, or misusing records, identification, or documents, whether
in print or electronic form.

(5) Causing physical harm to any person (including oneself); endangering the health or safety of any
person (including oneself); engaging in conduct that causes a reasonable person to fear harm to
his/her health or safety; or making an oral or written statement (including electronically) that an
objectively reasonable person hearing or reading the statement would interpret as a serious
expression of an intent to commit an act of unlawful violence to a particular individual or group of
individuals, although the speaker need not mean to carry out the act of unlawful violence in order
to constitute a violation of this rule.

(6) Harassment, which is defined as unwelcome conduct that is so severe or pervasive, and
objectively offensive, that it substantially interferes with the ability of a person to work, learn, live,
or participate in or benefit from the services, activities, or privileges provided by the University. In
no event shall this rule be construed to discipline a student for speech protected by the First
Amendment to the United States Constitution (e.g., mere insulting or offensive speech).
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(7) Sexual assault or misconduct. "Sexual assaulf' is defined as any sexual act or attempt to engage
in any sexual act with another person without the consent of the other person, or in
circumstances in which the person is unable to give consent due to age, disability, or an
alcohol/chemical or other impairment. "Sexual misconduct" is defined as any intimate touching of
another person, or forcing a person to engage in intimate touching of another, without the consent
of the other person, or in circumstances in which the person is unable to give consent due to age,
disability, or an alcohol/chemical or other impairment. It is the responsibility of the person initiating
sexual activity to ensure the other person is capable of consenting to that activity. Consent is
given by an affirmative verbal response or acts that are unmistakable in their meaning. Consent
to one form of sexual activity does not mean consent is given to another type of sexual activity.

(8) Invasion of another person's privacy when that person has a reasonable expectation of privacy,
including, but not limited to, using electronic or other means to make a video or photographic
record of any person in a location in which the person has a reasonable expectation of privacy,
without the person's knowledge or consent. This includes, but is not limited to, making a video or
photographic record of a person in shower/locker rooms or restrooms. The storing, sharing,
and/or distributing of such unauthorized recordings by any means is also prohibited.

(9) Theft, misappropriation, unauthorized possession, or unauthorized sale of private or public
property, including but not limited to University-controlled property.

(10) Vandalizing, destroying, damaging, engaging in conduct that reasonably could cause damage to,
or misusing private or public property, including but not limited to University-controlled property.

(11) Participating in hazing. "Hazing" is defined as any intentional or reckless act, on or off University­
controlled property, by one (1) student, acting alone or with others, which is directed against any
other student, which endangers the mental or physical health or safety of that student, or which
induces or coerces a student to endanger his or her mental or physical health or safety. "Hazing"
does not include customary athletic events or similar contests or competitions and is limited to
those actions taken and situations created in connection with initiation into or affiliation with any
organization.

(12) Engaging in disorderly, lewd, indecent, or obscene conduct. "Disorderly" conduct means fighting
or other physically violent or threatening conduct; creating a hazardous or physically offensive
condition by any act that serves no legitimate purpose; making noise that could unreasonably
disturb others who are carrying on lawful activities; or conduct that breaches the peace. "Lewd,
indecent, or obscene" conduct includes, but is not limited to, public exposure of one's sexual
organs, public urinating, and public sexual acts.

(13) Engaging in speech, either orally or in writing, which is directed to inciting or producing imminent
lawless action and is likely to incite or produce such action.

(14) Any act of arson; falsely reporting a fire, the presence of an explosive or incendiary device, or
other emergency; selling off a false fire alarm; or tampering with, removing, or damaging fire
alarms, fire extinguishers or any other safety or emergency equipment from its proper location
except when removed in a situation in which there is a reasonable belief of the need for such
equipment.

(15) Possessing, using, or duplicating University keys, access cards, or identification cards without
authorization; possessing, using, or entering University-controlled property without authorization.

(16) Theft, misuse, or unauthorized use of information technology facilities, resources, or access
codes, inclUding, but not limited to: unauthorized entry into or transfer of a file; using another
person's identification and/or password without that person's consent; using information
technology facilities or resources to interfere with the work of another student, faculty member,
staff member, or other member of the University community; using information technology
facilities or resources to interfere with normal operation of a University information technology
system or network; circumventing University information technology system or network security;
using information technology facilities or resources in violation of copyright laws; falsifying an e-
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mail header; and conduct that violates the University's policy on the Acceptable Use of
Information Technology Resources.

(17) Possessing, using, storing, or manufacturing any weapon or any facsimile of a weapon on
University-controlled property or in connection with a University-affiliated activity, unless
authorized in writing by the Department of Public Safety.

(18) Consuming, manufacturing, possessing, distributing, dispensing, selling, or being under the
influence of alcoholic beverages on University-controlled property or in connection with a
University-affiliated activity.

(19) Consuming, manufacturing, possessing, distributing, dispensing, selling, or being under the
influence of alcoholic beverages, if prohibited by federal, state, or local law.

(20) Providing an alcoholic beverage to a person younger than twenty-one (21) years of age, unless
permitted by law.

(21) Using, manufacturing, possessing, distributing, selling, dispensing, or being under the influence of
drugs or drug paraphernalia, if prohibited by federal, state, or local law; using or possessing a
prescription drug if the prescription was not issued to the student; or distributing or selling a
prescription drug to a person to whom the prescription was not originally issued.

(22) Failing to pay a University bill, account, or other University financial obligation.

(23) Failing to respond to a request to report to a University administrative office; failing to comply with
a law1ul directive of a University employee or other public official acting within the scope of his/her
duties; or failing to identify oneself to a University employee or other public official acting within
the scope of his/her duties when requested to do so.

(24) Failing to appear at a University hearing, including, but not limited to, a hearing of a University
judicial board, following a request to appear either as a party or as a witness.

(25) Violating the terms of an interim suspension, a no-contact directive, or a disciplinary penalty
imposed by the University.

(26) Obstructing or disrupting teaching, learning, studying, research, public service, administration,
disciplinary proceedings, emergency services, or any other University-affiliated activity, or the free
flow of pedestrian or vehicular traffic on University-controlled property. In no event shall this rule
be construed to discipline a student for speech protected by the First Amendment to the United
States Constitution.

(27) Violating a University policy or rule, including but not limited to University policies or rules relating
to facilities use, smoking, the acceptable use of information technology resources, research or
service misconduct, finder's fees relating to clinical investigations involving human subjects or
access to University data or materials, University libraries, dining services, parking or
transportation, University identification card use, sexual harassment, residence halls, and
registered student organizations.

(28) Committing an act that is prohibited by local, state, or federal law.

(29) Attempting to commit a violation of a Standard of Conduct or being an accessory to the
commission of an act or attempted act in violation of a Standard of Conduct.

Authority: T.CA § 49-9-209(e), T.CA § 49-7-123, and Public Acts of Tennessee, 1839-1840, Chapter 98,
Section 5, and Public Acts ofTennessee, 1807, Chapter 64.

1720-05-01-.05 Penalties.

(1) Disciplinary penalties are primarily intended to educate students and student organizations about
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appropriate behavior, encourage students and student organizations to take responsibility for
misconduct, promote the personal and professional development of students, discourage other
students and student organizations from violating the Standards of Conduct, and protect
members of the University community. The penalties imposed should be appropriate for the
particular case based on the gravity of the offense (including without limitation how the violation
affected or reasonably could have affected other members of the University community).
Consideration may also be given to the student's or student organization's conduct record; the
student's or student organization's responsiveness to the conduct process; whether the student
acted in self-defense, and, if so, whether the amount of force used was reasonable under the
circumstances; student academic classification; and other aggravating or mitigating factors.

(2) The following penalties may be imposed on any student found to have violated the Standards of
Conduct:

(a) Warning. A warning is a notice that the student is violating or has violated the Standards
of Conduct. A disciplinary warning is used for minor infractions and consists of a
restatement of the Standard(s) of Conduct violated with an official warning concerning
future behavior.

(b) Loss of Privilege. A loss of privilege is intended to serve as a reminder of the Standards
of Conduct and is for a specific period of time. Privileges that may be lost include, but are
not limited to, scholarships, stipends, participation in extracurricular activities (e.g.
intramurals), housing privileges, participation in social activities, and use of certain ,
University-controlled property (e.g., information technology resources).

(c) Education. Students may be required to attend classes, at their own expense, dealing
with issues such as the consequences of alcohol or drug use, civility, ethics, or other
topics as deemed appropriate by the Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs or his/her
designee.

(d) Restitution. Restitution may be required in situations that involve destruction, damage, or
loss of property, or unreimbursed medical expenses resulting from physical injury.
Restitution may take the form of a monetary payment or appropriate service to repair or
otherwise compensate for the destruction, damage, or loss.

(e) Disciplinary Probation. Disciplinary probation permits a student to remain at the
University on probationary staWs but with the understanding that a future violation of the
Standards of Conduct may result in suspension. Conditions of probation include loss of
eligibility to join a student organization and to serve as an officer in a student
organization. Other conditions are specific to the individual case and may include
ineligibility to participate in certain student activities. Probation may be for a definite or
indefinite period.

(I) Suspension for a Specific Period of Time. Suspension for a specific period of time
means that the student is withdrawn from the University and is not eligible to apply for
readmission for a designated period of time. Usually, the designated period of time does
not exceed one (1) calendar year. Persons suspended from the University may not
return to the campus for the duration of their suspension, except to conduct official
business with an administrative officer or faculty member. Upon return to the University
following a suspension for a specific period of time, the student shall be placed on
indefinite disciplinary probation.

(g) Indefinite Suspension. Indefinite suspension is imposed in cases of serious or repeated
misconduct or in cases in which the prognosis for rehabilitation is uncertain. Indefinite
suspension means that the student is withdrawn from the University for an unspecified
period of time but typically for a minimum of one (1) calendar year from the effective date
of the indefinite suspension. A student who receives the penalty of indefinite suspension
is not eligible to apply for readmission until the student successfully petitions the
University Council to lift the suspension. Upon return to the University following an
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indefinite suspension, the student shall be placed on indefinite disciplinary probation.

(h) Permanent Dismissal. Permanent dismissal means that a student is permanently barred
from matriculating as a student on the Martin campus. This penalty is used when the
violation of one (1) or more Standards of Conduct is deemed so serious as to warrant
total and permanent disassociation from the University community without the possibility
of re-enrollment; or when, by his/her repeated violation of the Standards of Conduct, a
student exhibits blatant disregard for the health and safety of other members of the
University community or the University's right to establish rules of conduct.

(i) Revocation of Degree. Revocation of a degree means revoking a degree already
awarded to a student by the University. Revocation of a degree shall be approved by the
University of Tennessee Board of Trustees.

(3) A disciplinary hold may be placed on a student's account until the completion of the student
disciplinary process and/or until the student satisfies the terms and conditions of any penalties
imposed. A student who, at the time of commencement, is sUbject to a continuing disciplinary
penalty or an unresolved disciplinary charge shall not be awarded a degree before the conclusion
of all penalties and/or resolution of all disciplinary charges.

(4) The following penalties may be imposed on a student organization found to have violated the
Standards of Conduct:

(a) Warning. A warning is a notice that the student organization is violating or has violated
the Standards of Conduct. A disciplinary warning is used for minor infractions and
consists of a restatement of the Standard(s) of Conduct violated with an official warning
concerning future behavior.

(b) Loss of Privilege. A loss of privilege is intended to serve as a reminder of the Standards
of Conduct and is for a specific period of time. Examples of privileges that may be lost
include participating in extracurricular activities (e.g., intramurals), housing priVileges,
participating in social activities, and using certain University-controlled property.

(c) Education. Student organizations and/or their representatives may be required to attend
classes, at their own expense, dealing with issues such as the consequences of alcohol
or drug use, civility, ethics, or other topics as deemed appropriate by the Vice Chancellor
for Student Affairs or his/her designee.

(d) Restitution. Restitution may be required in situations that involve destruction, damage, or
loss of property, or unreimbursed medical expenses resulting from physical injury.
Restitution may take the form of a monetary payment or appropriate service to repair or
otherwise compensate for the destruction, damage, or loss.

(e) Social Probation. This penalty prohibits a student organization from sponsoring or
participating in specified social activities. While on social probation, a student
organization may not host social events (e.g., mixers, date parties, formals, and band
parties) or participate in University-affiliated activities (e.g., Homecoming). Any
exceptions to social probation must be approved, in advance, by the Vice Chancellor for
Student Affairs or his/her designee.

(I) Disciplinary Probation. Disciplinary probation means that a student organization is
permitted to retain University registration on a probationary status. Violation of the
Standards of Conduct during the period of disciplinary probation may result in more
serious penalties, including revocation of University registration.

(g) Revocation of University Registration. In cases of serious misconduct, a student
organization's University registration may be revoked.

(5) More than one (1) of the penalties listed above may be imposed for any single violation of the

SS-7038 (July 2010) 8 RDA 1693

293



Standards of Conduct. Penalties may be applied retroactively to the date of the offense.

(6) Intoxication or impairment because of alcohol, drugs, chemicals, or other substances does not
diminish or excuse a violation of the Standards of Conduct.

(7) Except for an interim suspension, disciplinary penalties shall not become effective until after
opportunities for appeal have been exhausted. Penalties may be applied retroactively to the date
of the offense. Coursework performed while disciplinary charges are pending or disciplinary
proceedings are underway shall be considered conditional. Coursework may be affected or
disregarded based on a final finding of misconduct or the penalty imposed, which may result in
loss of course credit, a loss of tuition and/or fees, a delay in the awarding of a degree, or
revocation of a degree that was awarded prior to a final decision in the disciplinary proceeding.

Authority: T.CA § 49-9-209(e) and Public Acts of Tennessee, 1839-1840, Chapter 98, Section 5, and Public
Acts of Tennessee, 1807, Chapter 64.

1720-05-01-.06 No Contact Directive. In cases involving allegations of assault, injury, sexual abuse, harassment,
or in cases where there is reason to believe continued contact between a studenUstudent organization and
specific persons, including complainants and witnesses, may interfere with those persons' security, safety or
ability to participate effectively in work or studies, the Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs, or his/her designee, may
require that the studenUstudent organization not have verbal, physical, or written contact with specific persons for
a definite or indefinite period of time. The studenUstudent organization will receive written or electronic notice of
the no contact directive. Any student, faculty or staff member or other person with a reasonable justification may
request that a no contact directive be issued to a studenUstudent organization. In addition to an internal
University no contact directive, complainants are advised that other similar options exist and can be obtained from
law enforcement and civil and criminal courts.

Authority: T.CA § 49-9-209(e) and Public Acts of Tennessee, 1839-1840, Chapter 98, Section 5, and Public
Acts of Tennessee, 1807, Chapter 64.

1720-05-01-.07 Interim Suspension.

(1) When the Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs or his/her designee has reasonable cause to
believe that a student's or student organization's continued presence on University-controlled
property or at University-affiliated activities poses a significant risk of substantial harm to the
health or safety of others or to property or poses an ongoing threat to the disruption of, or
interference with, the normal operations of the University, the Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs
or his/her designee may impose an interim suspension prior to the conclusion of a full hearing on
the alleged misconduct.

(2) An interim suspension shall be confirmed by a written statement that explains the basis for the
interim suspension and shall remain in effect until the conclusion of a full hearing in accordance
with the rules of the University of Tennessee, which shall be held without undue delay. The
statement shall be delivered to the student in person, to the address the University has on file for
the student, or to the student's University-provided e-mail account. The statement shall be
delivered in person or via e-mail to the advisor to the student organization.

(3) Within three (3) business days of the imposition of the suspension, the student or student
organization shall be offered an opportunity to appear personally before the Vice Chancellor for
Student Affairs or his/her designee in order to discuss the following issues only: (i) the reliability
of the information concerning the student's conduct; and (ii) whether the conduct and surrounding
circumstances reasonably indicate that the student's or student organization's continued
presence on University-controlled property or at University-affiliated activities poses a significant
risk of substantial harm to the health or safety of others or to property or poses an imminent
threat of disruption of or interference with the normal operations of the University.

(4) During an interim suspension, the student or student organization shall be denied access to
University-controlled property, including residence halls, and all other University-affiliated
activities or privileges for which the student or student organization might otherwise be eligible, as

SS-7038 (July 2010) 9 RDA 1693

294



the Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs or his/her designee determines in his/her sole discretion to
be appropriate. A student or student organization who receives an interim suspension and
violates the terms of the interim suspension shall be subject to further disciplinary action and may
be treated as a trespasser. Permission to be on University-controlled property or participate in
University-affiliated activities may be granted by the Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs or his/her
designee.

(5) When a student is placed on interim suspension from the University, he/she may be assigned a
grade of "W" or "I," whichever is deemed appropriate by the faculty member involved.

Authority: T.CA § 49-9-209(e) and Public Acts of Tennessee, 1839-1840, Chapter 98, Section 5, and Public
Acts of Tennessee, 1807, Chapter 64.

1720-05-01-.08 Hearing Procedures.

(1) A student charged with violating the Standards of Conduct, Chapter 1720-05-01-.04, shall be
provided written notice of:

(a) The substance of the chargers) against him/her;

(b) The disciplinary action taken or proposed; and

(c) His/her rights to a hearing should he/she wish to contest the chargers) and information
concerning the process for requesting a hearing, including the requirement that a request
for a hearing before the Disciplinary Hearing Board must be made within five (5) days of
the student's receipt of the notice of the charges against him/her.

(2) A student charged with violating the Standards of Conduct, Chapter 1720-05-01-.04, shall have
the following options for a hearing:

(a) An administrative hearing before the Student Conduct Officer;

(b) A hearing before the Disciplinary Hearing Board; or

(c) A hearing in accordance with the contested case provisions of the Tennessee Uniform
Administrative Procedures Act ("TUAPA"). All disciplinary cases that may result in
suspension or permanent dismissal of a student, the revocation of a degree, or the
revocation of registration of a student organization are subject to the contested case
provisions of the TUAPA. The University's procedures for conducting contested case
hearings under the TUAPA are contained in Chapter 1720-01-05, and the University's
rules concerning waivers of contested case hearings are contained in Chapter 1720-01-3.
Disciplinary hearings will be conducted in accordance with the University's procedures for
conducting contested case hearings under the TUAPA unless the student waives those
procedures in writing and elects to have his or her case disposed of in accordance with
the University procedures established by these rules.

(3) Administrative Hearing. A student charged with violating the Standards of Conduct has a right to
resolve a disciplinary case through an administrative hearing with the Student Conduct Officer by
accepting responsibility for violating the Standards of Conduct. Following the student's written
acceptance of responsibility and written waiver of the right to a hearing under the TUAPA, the
Student Conduct Officer will assess a penalty that is appropriate under Chapter 1720-05-01-.05.
Following the assessment of the penalty, the student may acknowledge the acceptance of the
penalty in writing or appeal the penalty to the Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs in accordance
with Chapter 1720-05-01-.09. A student who resolves a disciplinary case through an
administrative hearing with the Student Conduct Officer may only appeal the penalty to the Vice
Chancellor for Student Affairs.

(4) Disciplinary Hearing Board.
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(a) The Disciplinary Hearing Board is an ad hoc board composed of five (5) members of the
University Council, in addition to the Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs, who shall serve
as the non-voting chairperson of the Disciplinary Hearing Board. The Disciplinary
Hearing Board hears cases of alleged violations of the Standards of Conduct and other
cases deemed appropriate by the Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs. The Vice
Chancellor for Student Affairs shall select the members of the Disciplinary Hearing Board
from the membership of the University Council. A majority vote of the members present
is required for all decisions of the board.

(b) A request for a hearing before the Disciplinary Hearing Board shall be made within five
(5) days of the student's receipt of the notice of the charges against him/her. A hearing
shall be scheduled promptly after receipt of the request for a hearing. A student shall be
notified of the date, place, and time for the hearing at least se\(enty-two (72) hours in
advance of the hearing. A student has no right to have a hearing before the Disciplinary
Hearing Board unless the student waives the provisions of the TUAPA in writing.

(c) Members of the Disciplinary Hearing Board shall be impartial and anyone lacking such
impartiality shall recuse himself/herself. The accused student has the right to challenge
any member of the Disciplinary Hearing Board for good cause and request that he/she be
dismissed and replaced. The chairperson of the Board determines whether to dismiss
and replace a member of the Disciplinary Hearing Board.

(d) .The chairperson of the Disciplinary Hearing Board will conduct the hearing, without
regard to technical rules of procedures in such a manner as will best serve the cause of
justice within the following general guidelines:

1. An accused student has a right to a hearing closed to the public. In cases
involving more than one (1) student, the chairperson may permit the hearings
concerning each student to be conducted separately.

2. The chairperson shall rule on all motions, objections, and other procedural
issues. The chairperson shall ascertain that the accused student has been
advised of the charges against him/her and shall then read a statement
describing the charges. A student who fails to appear before the Disciplinary
Hearing Board following proper notice shall be deemed to have waived his/her
rights to be present during the hearing, to know the evidence against him/her, to
present evidence in his/her own behalf, and to exercise reasonable cross­
examination of witnesses appearing against him/her. This waiver shall become
effective if the student fails to appear at the designated time and place of the
hearing unless, at least twenty-four (24) hours prior to the hearing, the student
communicates in writing to the Dean of Students good cause for granting a
continuance of the hearing. However, no student may be found to have violated
the Standards of Conduct solely because the student failed to appear before the
Disciplinary Hearing Board. In all cases, the evidence in support of the charges
shall be presented to and considered by the Disciplinary Hearing Board.

3. The accused shall enter a plea of guilty or not guilty. If a guilty plea is entered,
he/she shall be advised of the maximum penalty, and the Board shall review the
circumstances of the case and make appropriate decisions or recommendations
regarding the penalty.
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4. The accused student may be accompanied by no more than one (1) advisor
during the hearing, inclUding but not limited to a parent, spouse, friend, or
attorney. The role of the advisor shall be limited to providing advice or support to
the accused student. Even if accompanied by an advisor, the accused student is
responsible for presenting his/her own case to the Disciplinary Hearing Board.
An advisor is not permitted to: introduce evidence; raise objections; present
arguments; directly address the members of the Disciplinary Hearing Board, the
Student Conduct Officer, or any witnesses participating in the hearing; or
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otherwise participate in the hearing. In consideration of the limited role of the
advisor, and of the compelling interest of the University to expeditiously conclude
the matter, a hearing shall not be delayed due to the unavailability of an advisor.
The accused student shall inform the Student Conduct Officer of the name of the
student's advisor, if any, at least three (3) days before the hearing before the
Disciplinary Hearing Board.

5. Each party to a hearing shall be given an opportunity to make opening and
closing statements.

6. Each party to a hearing shall be afforded a full and fair opportunity to present all
evidence, including witnesses, reasonably relating to the charge or action at
issue. Each party will have the right to question opposing witnesses. Technical
rules of evidence will not apply. Evidence which is irrelevant, immaterial,
repetitious or voluminous may be limited or excluded. Hearsay evidence is
admissible. If a not guilty plea has been entered, evidence in mitigation of the
alleged offense shall be presented only after the Board has determined the issue
of innocence or guilt.

7. The Student Conduct Officer shall present the case on behalf of the University.
The University shall have the burden of proving, by a preponderance of the
evidence, the truth of the charge(s) at issue. Where the charge(s) is found to be
true, the accused student shall have the burden of proving that the disciplinary
action taken or proposed is arbitrary, capricious, or unreasonable.

8. The Board will consider all evidence presented, giving due consideration to the
credibility or weight of each item presented. During Board deliberations all
persons except the Board members shall be excused from the hearing room. The
decision shall be based solely upon the evidence presented. No mention will be
made during the hearing on innocence or guilt of the student's previous
disciplinary record, unless appropriate as rebuttal to character evidence
introduced by the accused.

9. After a determination of guilt by the Board, the Student Conduct Officer, on
behalf of the University, shall present the previous disciplinary record of the
accused student if any, and evidence of any other aggravating circumstances, to
the Board together with the recommendation of the Student Conduct Officer as to
an appropriate penalty.

10. After presentation of evidence by the Student Conduct Officer, the accused shall
be allowed to present character evidence, evidence of mitigating circumstances,
and an alternative penalty recommendation.

11. After the Board determines the penalty, the accused student shall be advised in
writing of its decision within forty-eight (48) hours of the hearing.

12. A record will be made of the hearing procedures. However, defects in the record
will not invalidate the proceedings. The results of the Board's decision shall be
kept on official University forms. If a verbatim record of the hearing is prepared, it
shall be retained in the custody of the Office of Student Conduct and considered
a confidential disciplinary record.

13. Appeals from decisions of the Disciplinary Hearing Board may be made to the
Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs in accordance with Chapter 1720-05-01-.09.
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14. In cases involving an allegation of sexual assault or misconduct, the hearing
procedures shall be modified to afford the alleged victim all of the rights
described in Chapter 1720-05-01-.08(4)(e). The Disciplinary Hearing Board may
consider evidence introduced by the alleged victim as part of the University's
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proof.

(e) In cases involving a complaint of sexual assault or misconduct, the alleged victim shall
have the right to:

1. Notice concerning the process by which the University will handle the complaint
and an opportunity to ask questions about the process;

2. A prompt, thorough, and impartial investigation of the complaint;

3. The same opportunity as the accused student to present his/her explanation of
the facts during the University's investigation;

4. Have the investigation of the complaint concluded within sixty (60) days of the
University's receipt of a complaint, unless circumstances make it impracticable
for the University to complete its investigation within that timeframe;

5. Notice of the outcome of the University's investigation;

6. Have a disciplinary hearing conducted by the Disciplinary Hearing Board within
thirty (30) days of a University charge that the accused student committed sexual
assault or misconduct, unless the accused student chooses an administrative
hearing under Chapter 1720-05-01-.08(3) or the circumstances make it
impracticable for the University to conduct a hearing within that timeframe;

7. Notice of the date, time, and location of the hearing before the Disciplinary
Hearing Board, the right to have the hearing closed to the public, and the right to
request rescheduling of the hearing for good cause;

8. The same access as the accused student to any information or documents that
will be used by the Student Conduct Officer during the hearing before the
Disciplinary Hearing Board, unless prohibited by law;

9. Challenge the seating of any Disciplinary Hearing Board member for good cause,
which will be determined at the discretion of the Vice Chancellor for Student
Affairs;

10. Be accompanied by an advisor of his/her choosing during the University's
investigation or a hearing before the Disciplinary Hearing Board, but the advisor
shall not be permitted to speak for the victim during a hearing;

11. The same opportunity as the accused student to be present during a hearing
before the Disciplinary Hearing Board, present witnesses and other evidence,
challenge the admissibility of evidence, and cross-examine adverse witnesses
during a hearing before the Disciplinary Hearing Board;

12. Testify or remain silent at his/her option; however, choosing to remain silent may
result in the University dismissing the charges against the accused student or the
Disciplinary Hearing Board finding that there is insufficient evidence to find the
accused student guilty of the charges against him/her;

13. Not to be questioned directly by the accused student during the hearing before
the Disciplinary Hearing Board;

14. Submit a written impact statement to the Disciplinary Hearing Board or Student
Conduct Officer for consideration during the sanctioning phase of an
administrative or disciplinary hearing, if the accused student is found guilty of the
charges against him/her;

SS-7038 (July 2010) 13 RDA 1693

298



15. Notice of the decision of the Student Conduct Officer or Disciplinary Hearing
Board within three (3) business days of an administrative or disciplinary hearing;
and

16. Appeal the decision of the Student Conduct Officer, following an administrative
hearing, or the Disciplinary Hearing Board to the Vice Chancellor for Student
Development.

(5) For purposes of this rule, the term "student" shall mean a student or a student organization.

Authority: T.CA § 49-9-209(e) and Public Acts of Tennessee, 1839-1840, Chapter 98, Section 5, and Public
Acts of Tennessee, 1807, Chapter 64.

1720-05-01-.09 Appeals.

(1) Appeal. A decision of the Disciplinary Hearing Board, or a decision of the Student Conduct
Officer concerning a penalty following an administrative hearing, may be appealed to the Vice
Chancellor for Student Affairs.

(a) The request for appeal shall be submitted in writing to the Vice Chancellor for Student
Affairs within seven (7) calendar days of written notice of the decision of the Disciplinary
Hearing Board or Student Conduct Officer. If the seventh day falls on a weekend or
holiday, the time is extended to the next regular workday.

(b) The request for appeal shall contain:

1. A statement that the student or student organization appeals the decision of the
Disciplinary Hearing Board or Student Conduct Officer; and

2. A brief statement of the grounds for the appeal.

(c) All appeals to the Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs are written and heard based upon
the record made before the Disciplinary Hearing Board.

(d) Pending the outcome of an appeal, the penalty specified in the decision of the
Disciplinary Hearing Board shall not be imposed.

(2) The Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs may:

(a) Affirm the decision of the Disciplinary Hearing Board or Student Conduct Officer;

(b) Amend the decision of the Disciplinary Hearing Board or Student Conduct Officer;

(c) Return the case to the Disciplinary Hearing Board or Student Conduct Officer with
instructions for reconsideration of the case; or

(d) Overturn the decision of the Disciplinary Hearing Board.

(3) The decision of any board or administrative officer of the University of Tennessee at Martin is
subject to review by the Chancellor.

Authority: T.CA § 49-9-209(e) and Public Acts of Tennessee, 1839-1840, Chapter 98, Section 5, and Public
Acts of Tennessee, 1807, Chapter 64.

1720-05-01-.10 Emergency Powers. When, in the judgment of the Chancellor of The University of Tennessee at
Martin, conditions are such that an emergency exists which makes it impossible for the system of judicial boards
to function, he/she may suspend these procedural regulations. If the procedures are suspended, he/she may
substitute for them arrangements for handling disciplinary matters that will insure the orderly functioning of the
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University and at the same time safeguard the basic rights of the students and student organizations.

Authority: TCA § 49-9-209(e) and Public Acts of Tennessee, 1839-1840, Chapter 98, Section 5, and Public
Acts of Tennessee, 1807, Chapter 64.

1720-05-01-.11 Involuntary Medical Withdrawal or Suspension.

(1) When a student is unable to effectively pursue his/her academic work, or when his/her behavior is
disruptive to the normal educational processes of the University, or constitutes a threat to
members of the University community, due to, among other things, alcohol use, drug use, or a
physical or mental incapacitating condition, he/she may be withdrawn or temporarily suspended
from the University as hereinafter provided.

(1) Withdrawal. A student may be withdrawn from the University only after an evaluation of his/her
mental and physical condition by a panel of at least three (3) persons appointed by the Vice
Chancellor for Student Affairs. The student shall be notified of the reasons for the evaluation and
given an opportunity to present evidence to the committee. The committee's findings and
recommendations shall be forwarded to the Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs, who will notify the
student in writing of his/her decision.

(2) Temporary Suspension. Whenever a student, because of his/her mental or physical condition
constitutes a danger to persons or property, or when his/her behavior is disruptive to the normal
educational processes of the University, he/she may be suspended from the University, for a
reasonable period of time, by the Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs. If the University does not
withdraw the student in accordance with procedures outlined above, he/she may return to the
University at the end of the suspension period.

(3) Grades. When a student is withdrawn or temporarily suspended from the University, he/she may
be assigned a grade of "W or "I," whichever is deemed appropriate by the faculty member
involved.

(4) Readmission.

(a) A student who is involuntarily withdrawn under this rule may not be readmitted to the
University before the start of the next semester or without the approval of the Vice
Chancellor for Student Affairs. The student shall also meet all of the admission
requirements of the University and of the school or college in which he/she wishes to be
readmitted.

(b) A student shall submit a written request for permission to reapply to the University with
the Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs by October 1 for Spring enrollment, by February 1
for Summer enrollment, and by May 1 for Fall enrollment. The student's written request
shall include an explanation of why the Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs should allow
the student to reapply and an explanation of the student's plan to transition successfully
back into the academic community.

(c) The Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs may require the student to provide the panel of
individuals who recommended that the student be involuntariiy withdrawn with proof that
the condition that caused the withdrawal is no longer present or that the condition is
under control through treatment such that the student does not present a direct threat to
the health or safety of him/herself or others and will not disrupt the normal educational
processes of the University. Proof may consist of a current medical or mental health
evaluation, demonstration of ongoing medical or mental health treatment, and a plan for
treatment upon readmission. The panel may request any other information or
documentation that it deems necessary. In exceptional circumstances, the panel may
request a second, independent opinion of a qualified medical or mental health
professional paid for by the University. In cases where the Vice Chancellor for Student
Affairs has imposed other conditions for readmission, it is the responsibility of the student
to provide documentation of compliance with those conditions.
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(d) The panel's recommendation concerning reenrollment or readmission shall be provided
to the Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs, who will notify the student in writing of his/her
decision. The decision of the Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs is final and may not be
appealed.

Authority: T.CA § 49-9-209(e) and Public Acts of Tennessee, 1839-1840, Chapter 98, Section 5, and Public
Acts ofTennessee, 1807, Chapter 64.

1720-05-01-.12 Inspection and Search Policies.

(1) Entry by University authorities into occupied rooms in residence halls will be divided into three (3)
categories; inspection, search, and emergency. Inspection is defined as the entry into an
occupied room by University authorities in order to ascertain the health and safety conditions in
the room, to check the physical condition of the room, to make repairs on facilities, or to perform
cleaning and janitorial operations. Search is defined as the entry into an occupied room by on­
campus authorities for the purpose of investigating suspected violations of campus regulations.
An emergency situation exists when the delay necessary to obtain a search authorization
constitutes an apparent danger to person, property, or the building itself.

(2) Inspection: Scheduled inspections by on-campus authorities with the exception of daily janitorial
operations shall be preceded, if possible, by twenty-four (24) hours' notice to the residents.
During the inspection there will be no search of drawers, closets, or personal belongings. This
policy is applicable for residence halls and fraternity houses.

(3) Search: On-campus authorities will not enter a room for purposes 'of search without the
permission of the resident unless they have a campus authorization to search, authorized by the
Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs or his/her designee, which specifies the reasons for the
search and the objects or information sought, or unless they enter in compliance with federal or
state law. If possible, the student should be present during the search. Normally these searches
will not be made unless the Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs or his/her designee is present.

(4) If the search reveals objects the possession of which violates a law or a University rule, the
University may take appropriate disciplinary action even though the objects were not listed on the
search authorization.

Authority: T.CA § 49-9-209(e) and Public Acts of Tennessee, 1839-1840, Chapter 98, Section 5, and Public
Acts ofTennessee, 1807, Chapter 64.

1720-05-01-.13 Academic Dishonesty. The University ofTennessee at Martin has chosen as its primary objective
quality undergraduate education. Commitment to this objective must include an obligation by all members of the
University community to promote and protect the highest standards of integrity in study, research, instruction and
evaluation. Dishonesty or unethical behavior does not belong at an institution dedicated to the promotion of
knowledge and learning. Integrity of the academic process requires fair and impartial evaluation by faculty and
honest academic conduct by students. A student may be found to have violated this obligation if he/she:

(1) Refers during an academic evaluation to materials, sources, or devices not authorized by the
instructor;

(2) Provides assistance during an academic evaluation or assignment to another person in a manner
not authorized by the instructor;

(3) Receives assistance during an academic evaluation or assignment from another person in a
manner not authorized by the instructor;

(4) Possesses, buys, sells, obtains, or uses a copy of any materials intended to be used as an
instrument of academic evaluation in advance of its administration;

(5) Acts as a substitute for another person in any academic evaluation or assignment;
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(6) Utilizes another person as a substitute for him/herself in any academic evaluation or assignment;

(7) Practices any form of deceit in an academic evaluation or assignment;

(8) Depends on the aid of others, in a manner expressly prohibited by the instructor, in the research,
preparation, creation, writing, performing, or publication of work to be submitted for academic
credit or evaluation;

(9) Provides aid to another person, knowing such aid is expressly prohibited by the instructor, in the
research, preparation, creation, writing, performing, or publication of work to be submitted for
academic credit or evaluation;

(10) Indulges in plagiarism by presenting as one's own, for academic evaluation or assignment, the
ideas, representations, or works of another person or persons without customary and proper
acknowledgment of sources;

(11) Submits the work of another person in a manner that represents the work to be one's own;

(12) Knowingly permits one's work to be submitted by another person without the instructor's
authorization;

(13) Attempts deceitfully to influence or change one's academic evaluation or record; or

(14) Indulges in conduct that is so disruptive as to infringe upon the rights of an instructor or fellow
students during a class or examination session.

Authority: T.CA § 49-9-209(e) and Public Acts of Tennessee, 1839-1840, Chapter 98, Section 5, and Public
Acts of Tennessee, 1807, Chapter 64.

* If a roll-call vote was necessary, the vote by the Agency on these rules was as follows:

Board Member Aye No Abstain Absent Signature
(if required)

Governor Bill Haslam x

Commissioner Julius Johnson x

Commissioner Kevin Huffman x

Dr. Joe DiPietro x

Dr. Richard D. Rhoda Non-voting

Charles C. Anderson, Jr. x

Ann Holt Blackburn x

Dr. JAM. "Toby" Boulet x

William Y. Carroll x

George E. Cates x

Spruell Driver, Jr. x

Teresa K. Fowler Non-voting

John N. Foy x

Crawford Gallimore x

Monice Moore Hagler x

James E. Hall x
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Douglas A. Horne x

Andrea J. Loughry x

James L. Murphy, III x

Karl A. Schledwitz x

Carey Smith x

Don Stansberry x

Robert S. Talbott x

Betty Ann Tanner x

Charles E. Wharton x

Dr. Janet M. Wilbert Non-voting

I certify that this is an accurate and complete copy of proposed rules, lawfUlly promulgated and adopted by the
University of Tennessee Board of Trustees on June 23, 2011, and is in compliance with the provisions of T.CA §
4-5-222. The Secretary of State is hereby instructed that, in the absence of a petition for proposed rules being
filed under the conditions set out herein and in the locations described, he is to treat the proposed rules as being
placed on file in his office as rules at the expiration of sixty (60) days of the first day of the month subsequent to
the filing of th,e proposed rule with the Secretary of State.

Date: Mc,.-d... I lei I z..o, L-

Signature: "d-? q
Name of Officer: Matthew Scoggins

Tille of Officer: Assistant General Counsel

Subscribed and sworn to before me on:~Old-..."
Notary Public Signature:~...",q _

My commission expires on. -------'I-,--"'al-'7+-/--./h:2..<----------

All proposed rules provided for herein have been examined by the Attorney General and Reporter of the State of
Tennessee and are approved as to legality pursuant to the provisions of the Administrative Procedures Act,
Tennessee Code Annotated, Tille 4, Chapter 5.
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STUDENT CO~II)UCT

(Rule 1729 S I .93, eentil1tted)

CHAPTER 1729!i I
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STUIJE~IT CONIJUCT

(Rtlle I72Q S I .Q3, eelltilltled)

CHAPTER I72Q S I

fi1 Inaiting anEllsF aiEitttg----ethers 1a vielate wriuen Uni't'8rsity f)elieies And reg\llatieAS as
prell1ulgateEJ alla Rl1l1BUI1BeEi B)' BtitherizeEi persennel.

fs1 All)' Ret sf 0fSe11, falsely repeRing ft fife BF-ether emergen6)" falsel)' setting eli' R fife Blsflft,
tampering with, Bf rem8\'ing rram its preper laeoliaH f.ire 8Jttinguishers, "ases, SF allY ether
fife emergeney 8f1uipment 8Jteept '....Ilan Elene with feR) HeBEl fer slieh Bflui,unent.
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St.lld.,", ef Celldtlel.

ftt7 Vielatisll sf le8ftl, state, BF feder"1 la .. , .. !tether en SF efT Bft1ftl)llS, '....ilan it appears that the
student has aetea in ft WRy whish ft(h'ersel) ftffeets Bf serieusl)' interreres .. illl the UniYersi~)"s

fleFlnal edueatienal funetian, ar ',.hjeh injures ar endangers the •• elfare ef any meml3er af the
Uni't[ersity eemnulnit). Sneh ...islatian ifleludes, hut is net limitea ta, .. ialatian af state ar
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TeNnessee, 1897, Clwpo'e. 6 f. .4d..'Il':uhilf .-a#t'e M,isl6'-j'1 Orighullnlefiled £e.ptemhe. lJ, 1976. Repeal a.u/'leu
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Jan/'Ct•.,· 13, 1999; effie,.;, e },{tij 31, 1999

InQ 5 I .04 IIBARIPIG PROCBIHJRBS.

f-l-} Unless ethen',ige sl'eeifiea in the publishea pelieies ane J3reeeEiures afTlte Uniyersity afTennessee at
Martin, a stuHent ehargeEi "jtlt miseendttet ar .. ha is etherwi!Je entitles ta an epl'BFttmil)' f.'er a
hearing Ii ill, upen his/her request, be IlreJo,'iaea a hearing itt aeesrEianee with the falle .. ing
preeeaures:

W NeNee A persell ehargea with miseenauet will reeeive written netifi€atien aftlIe fella'....ing:

The substanee ef the eharge(s) against him;

The aiseilliinary aetiett talten ar prepesee;

His rights ta a hearing shauld he .. ish ta eantest tke eharge(s) ef aetien;

Ts whem a reEttiest f.'er a hearing shaula be aHEIressea;

That a reEtliest fer 8 Itearing must ae maEte '....ithin five (5) 8B)'S ef the tJersen's reeeipt af
this netiee;
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G.O.C. STAFF RULE ABSTRACT 
 
 
DEPARTMENT: University of Tennessee 
 
DIVISION: University of Tennessee Health Science Center 
 
SUBJECT: Student Conduct Code 
 
STATUTORY AUTHORITY: Tennessee Code Annotated, Section 49-9-209 
 
EFFECTIVE DATES: September 28, 2012 through June 30, 2013 
 
FISCAL IMPACT: Minimal 
 
STAFF RULE ABSTRACT:  
 
The University of Tennessee Health Science Center has revised its code of conduct for 
students. The following briefly summarizes the new rule and the key changes from the 
rule being repealed: 
 
Rule 1720-03-03-.01 provides a description of the University's interests in students' 
conduct. 
 
Rule 1720-03-03-.02 defines key terms used in the code of conduct. 
 
Rule 1720-03-03-.03 sets forth the University's position on common jurisdictional issues 
that arise in student conduct cases. 
 
Rule 1720-03-03-.04 sets forth the standards of conduct for University students and 
student organizations. The most significant additions and changes to former Rule 1720-
03-03 relate to academic dishonesty, providing false information, physical harm, 
harassment, sexual assault or misconduct, invasion of privacy, arson, information 
technology, compliance with University instructions, alcohol, and drugs. 
 
Rule 1720-03-03-.05 addresses penalties imposed for violations of the Standards of 
Conduct. The proposed rule adds guidance for administrators and hearing boards in 
determining the appropriate penalty for a violation of the standards of conduct; adds a 
non-exclusive list of aggravating and mitigating factors that an administrator or hearing 
board may consider in determining a penalty; informs students that intoxication or 
impairment because of alcohol, drugs, chemicals, or other substances does not excuse 
a violation of the standards of conduct; adds three (3) penalties; informs students about 
the University's policy concerning coursework and pending disciplinary charges; and 
informs student organizations about the penalties that may be imposed if a student 
organization violates the standards of conduct. 
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Rule 1720-03-03-.06 is a new rule describing a no-contact directive, which is a tool used 
by student affairs administrators in appropriate cases to prohibit a student from having 
verbal, physical, or written contact with specific persons for a definite or indefinite period 
of time. 
 
Rule 1720-03-03-.07 is a new rule describing an interim suspension, which may be 
imposed on a student prior to the conclusion of a full due process hearing in certain 
situations. 
 
Rule 1720-03-03-.08 changes former Rule 1720-03-03-.05 by providing a list of rights for 
victims in sexual assault cases, to comply with recent guidance by the United States 
Department of Education concerning Title IX of the Education Amendments of 1972. 
 
Rule 1720-03-03-.09 and Rule 1720-03-03-.10 are the same as former Rule 1720-03-03-
.03 and Rule 1720-0303-.07, respectively. 
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Regulatory Flexibility Addendum
Pursuant to § T.GA 4-5-401 through 4-5-404, prior to initiating the rule making process as described in T.GA
§ 4-5-202(a)(3) and T.GA § 4-5-202(a), ali agencies shali conduct a review of whether a proposed rule or rule
affects smali businesses.

(If applicable, insert Regulatory Flexibility Addendum here)

88-7038 (July 2010) 20 RDA 1693
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Impact on Local Governments

Pursuant to T.CA 4-5-220 and 4-5-228 "any rule proposed to be promulgated shall state in a simple declarative
sentence, without additional comments on the merits of the policy of the rules or regulation, whether the rule or
regulation may have a projected impact on local governments." (See Pubiic Chapter Number 1070
(http://state.tn.us/sos/acts/106/pub/pc1070.Ddf) of the 2010 Session of the General Assembly)

The University of Tennessee anticipates that this rule will have no financial impact on local governments.

SS-7038 (July 2010) 21 RDA 1693
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1720-03-03-.07
1720-03-03-.08
1720-03-03-.09
1720-03-03-.10

Interim Suspension
Hearin Procedures
Student Identification Cards
Student Health Insurance

_-1
(Place substance of rules and other info here. Statutory authority must be given for each rule change. For
information on formatting rules go to http://state.tn.us/sos/rules/1360/1360.htm)

Substance of Proposed Rules
of

The University of Tennessee, Health Science Center

Repeal

Rule 1720-03-03 Student Rights and Responsibilities is repealed.

New Rule

Chapter 1720-03-03
Student Rights and Responsibilities

1720-03-03-.01 Introduction.

(1) Students at the University of Tennessee Health Science Center are' members of both the
University community and the larger community of which the University is a part. Accordingly,
students are responsible for conducting themselves in a lawful manner and in compliance with
University rules and policies. The University has established the following rules in order to
advance the mission of the University by maintaining a safe and secure learning environment,
protecting the rights and privileges of ali members of the University community, providing a basis
for orderiy conduct of the affairs of the University, promoting a positive relationship between the
University and its surrounding community, preserving institutional integrity and property,
encouraging students to engage in conduct that brings credit to themselves and the University,
and ensuring that each student who matriculates at the University graduates ready to contribute
to society as an ethical and law-abiding citizen.

(2) The University of Tennessee is committed to respecting students' constitutional rights. Nothing in
this chapter is intended or shall be interpreted to restrict students' constitutional rights, including,
but not limited to, rights of freedom of speech and assembly.

(3) Students are responsible for being fully acquainted and for complying with the University catalog,
student handbook, and other rules and policies relating to students. Failure or refusal to comply
with the rules and policies established by the University may subject a student to disciplinary
action up to and including permanent dismissal from the University.

Authority: T.C.A. § 49-9-209(e) and Public Acts of Tennessee, 1839-1840, Chapter 98, Section 5, and Public
Acts of Tennessee, 1807, Chapter 64.

1720-03-03-.02 Definitions.

(1) The term "University" means the University of Tennessee Health Science Center.

(2) The term "studenf' means a person admitted, enrolled or registered for study at the University of
Tennessee, either full-time or part-time, pursuing undergraduate, graduate, or professional
studies, as well as non-degree students. Persons not officially registered or enrolled for a
particular term but who have a continuing relationship with the University also are considered
students for purposes of these rules.

(3) The term "student organization" means an organization that is composed solely of University
students that has submitted a pending application or has completed the process for registration

SS-7038 (July 2010) 2 RDA 1693

316



according to University rules.

(4) The term "University-controlled property" means all land, buildings, facilities, grounds, structures,
or any other property owned, leased, used, maintained, or operated by the University. For
purposes of this rule, University-controlled property includes all streets, alleys, sidewalks, and
public ways abutting such property. University-controlled property also includes computers and
network systems owned, maintained, or controlled by the University or funded by the University.

(5) The term "University-affiliated activity" means any activity on or off University-controlled property
that is initiated, aided, authorized, sponsored, or supervised by the University.

(6) The term "University official" means an employee of the University, including faculty members
and staff, or for purposes of this rule a University-recognized volunteer. Student employees may
be considered University officials when acting in the performance of their duties (e.g., event staff,
resident assistants, and teaching assistants).

(7) The term "member of the University community" means any person who is a student, University
official, campus visitor, or participant in a University-sponsored or University-affiliated activity.

(8) The term "possession" means actual knowledge of a substance or property and/or being in such
close proximity to the substance or property that it is a reasonable presumption that one had
knowledge of the substance or property.

(9) The term "weapon" means any device, instrument, or substance that is designed to, or
reasonably could be expected to, inflict a wound, incapacitate, or cause serious bodily injury or
death, including, but not limited to, firearms (loaded and unloaded, real and replica), ammunition,
electronic control devices (such as tasers and stun guns), devices designed to discharge an
object (such as bb guns, air guns, pellet guns, potato guns, and slingshots), explosives,
dangerous chemicals (such as mace, tear gas, and oleoresin capsicum), martial arts weapons,
bows and arrows, artificial knuckles, nightsticks, blackjacks, dirks, daggers, swords, and knives
with fixed blades longer than three (3) inches. The term "weapon" does not include chemical
repellents available over-the-counter for self-defense; instruments used solely for personal
hygiene, preparation of food, maintenance, University-related instruction, or University
employment-related duties.

(10) The term "notice" means notice given in writing delivered by regular mail, courier service, or hand
delivery to the address the University has on file for the student or student organization, or by e­
mail to the student's or student organization's University-provided e-mail account.

Authority: T.CA § 49-9-209(e) and Public Acts of Tennessee, 1839-1840, Chapter 98, Section 5, and Public
Acts ofTennessee, 1807, Chapter 64.

1720-03-03-.03 Jurisdiction.

(1) The Standards of Conduct, Chapter 1720-03-03-.04, apply to conduct that occurs on University­
controlled property.

(2) The University also has the discretion to discipline a student for an act in violation of the
Standards of Conduct that occurs off University-controlled property if the conduct adversely
affects the interests of the University, including, but not limited to, conduct which:

(a) Occurs in connection with a University-affiliated activity, including, but not limited to, an
overseas study program or a clinical, field, internship, or in-service experience;

(b) Involves another member of the University community; or

(c) Threatens, or indicates that the student may pose a threat to, the health or safety of
him/herself or others or the security of any person's property, including, but not limited to,
alcohol-related offenses, drug-related offenses, arson, battery, fraud, hazing, participation
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in group violence, rape, sexual assault or misconduct, stalking, and theft.

(3) The Standards of Conduct have been adopted in furtherance of the University's interests and
serve to supplement, rather than substitute for, the enforcement of the civil and criminal law.
Accordingly, University disciplinary action may be instituted against a student charged with
conduct that potentially violates both the criminal law and the Standards of Conduct without
regard to the pendency of criminal charges or civil litigation. At the discretion of the Chief Student
Affairs Officer, or his/her designee, disciplinary action relating to a violation of the Standards of
Conduct may be carried out prior to, simultaneously with, or following criminal proceedings.
Students accused of violating the Standards of Conduct may not challenge the University
disciplinary proceedings on the grounds that criminal charges, civil litigation, or other University
proceedings regarding the same incident are pending or have been terminated, dismissed,
reduced, or not yet adjudicated.

(4) Each student shall be responsible for his/her conduct from the time of application for admission
through the actual awarding of a degree, even though conduct may occur before classes begin or
after classes end, as well as during the academic year and during periods between terms of
actual enrollment (and even if conduct is not discovered by the University until after a degree is
awarded). Should a student withdraw from the University with disciplinary charges pending, the
student's academic record and/or ability to register for classes may be encumbered by the
appropriate University office.

(5) Graduate or professional programs within the University may initiate charges against students for
alleged violations of professional standards or ethics as a separate issue or as an extension of
alleged acts of academic dishonesty or other violations of the Standards of Conduct.

Authority: T.CA § 49-9-209(e) and Public Acts of Tennessee, 1839-1840, Chapter 98, Section 5, and Public
Acts of Tennessee, 1807, Chapter 64.

1720-03-03-.04 Standards of Conduct. A student or student organization may be disciplined for the following
types of misconduct

(1) Cheating, plagiarism, or any other act of academic dishonesty, including but not limited to an act
in violation of the Honor Code.

(2) Providing false information to a University official.

(3) Falsifying, distorting, misrepresenting, or withholding information in connection with a University
investigation or hearing.

(4) Forging, altering, destroying, falsifying, or misusing records, identification, or documents, whether
in print or electronic form.

(5) Causing physical harm to any person (including oneself); endangering the health or safety of any
person (including oneself); engaging in conduct that causes a reasonable person to fear harm to
his/her health or safety; or making an oral or written statement (including electronically) that an
objectively reasonable person hearing or reading the statement would interpret as a serious
expression of an intent to commit an act of unlawful violence to a particular individual or group of
individuals, although the speaker need not mean to carry out the act of unlawful violence in order
to constitute a violation of this rule.

(6) Harassment, which is defined as unwelcome conduct that is so severe or pervasive, and
objectively offensive, that it substantially interferes with the ability of a person to work, learn, live,
or participate in or benefit from the services, activities, or privileges provided by the University. In
no event shall this rule be construed to discipline a student for speech protected by the First
Amendment to the United States Constitution (e.g., mere insulting or offensive speech).

(7) Sexual assault or misconduct. "Sexual assault" is defined as any sexual act or attempt to engage
in any sexual act with another person without the consent of the other person, or in
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circumstances in which the person is unable to give consent due to age, disability, or an
alcohol/chemical or other impairment. "Sexual misconduct" is defined as any intimate touching of
another person, or forcing a person to engage in intimate touching of another, without the consent
of the other person, or in circumstances in which the person is unable to give consent due to age,
disability, or an alcohol/chemical or other impairment. It is the responsibility of the person initiating
sexual activity to ensure the other person is capable of consenting to that activity. Consent is
given by an affirmative verbal response or acts that are unmistakable in their meaning. Consent
to one form of sexual activity does not mean consent is given to another type of sexual activity.

(8) Invasion of another person's privacy when that person has a reasonable expectation of privacy,
including, but not limited to, using electronic or other means to make a video or photographic
record of any person in a location in which the person has a reasonable expectation of privacy,
without the person's knowledge or consent. This includes, but is not limited to, making a video or
photographic record of a person in shower/locker rooms or restrooms. The storing, sharing,
and/or distributing of such unauthorized recordings by any means is also prohibited.

(9) Theft, misappropriation, unauthorized possession, or unauthohzed sale of private or pUblic
property, including but not limited to University-controlled property.

(10) Vandalizing, destroying, damaging, engaging in conduct that reasonably could cause damage to,
or misusing private or public property, including but not limited to University-controlled property.

(11) Participating in hazing. "Hazing" is defined as any intentional or reckless act, on or off University­
controlled property, by one (1) student, acting alone or with others, which is directed against any
other student, which endangers the mental or physical health or safety of that student, or which
induces or coerces a student to endanger his or her mental or physical health or safety. "Hazing"
does not include customary athletic events or similar contests or competitions and is limited to
those actions taken and situations created in connection with initiation into or affiliation with any
organization.

(12) Engaging in disorderly, lewd, indecent, or obscene conduct. "Disorderly" conduct means fighting
or other physically violent or threatening conduct; creating a hazardous or physically offensive
condition by any act that serves no legitimate purpose; making noise that could unreasonably
disturb others who are carrying on lawful activities; or conduct that breaches the peace. "Lewd,
indecent, or obscene" conduct includes, but is not limited to, public exposure of one's sexual
organs, pUblic urinating, and public sexual acts.

(13) Engaging in speech, either orally or in writing, that is directed to inciting or producing imminent
lawless action and is likely to incite or produce such action.

(14) Any act of arson; falsely reporting a fire, the presence of an explosive or incendiary device, or
other emergency; selling off a false fire alarm; or tampering with, removing, or damaging fire
alarms, fire extinguishers or any other safety or emergency equipment from its proper location
except when removed in a situation in which there is a reasonable belief of the need for such
equipment.

(15) Possessing, using, or duplicating University keys, access cards, or identification cards without
authorization; possessing, using, or entering University-controlled property without authorization.

(16) Theft, misuse, or unauthorized use of information technology facilities, resources, or access
codes, including, but not limited to: unauthorized entry into or transfer of a file; using another
person's identification and/or password without that person's consent; using information
technology facilities or resources to interfere with the work of another student, faculty member,
staff member, or other member of the University community; using information technology
facilities or resources to interfere with normal operation of a University information technology
system or network; circumventing University information technology system or network security;
using information technology facilities or resources in violation of copyright laws; falsifying an e­
mail header; and conduct that violates the University's policy on the Acceptable Use of
Information Technology Resources.
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(17) Possessing, using, storing, or manufacturing any weapon or any facsimile of a weapon on
University-controlled property or in connection with a University-affiliated activity, unless
authorized in writing by the Chief of Police or his/her designee.

(18) Consuming, manufacturing, possessing, distributing, dispensing, selling, or being under the
influence of alcoholic beverages on University-controlled property or in connection with a
University-affiliated activity.

(19) Consuming, manufacturing, possessing, distributing, dispensing, selling, or being under the
influence of alcoholic beverages, if prohibited by federal, state, or local law.

(20) Providing an alcoholic beverage to a person younger than twenty-one (21) years of age, unless
permitted by law.

(21) Using, manufacturing, possessing, distributing, selling, dispensing, or being under the influence of
drugs or drug paraphernalia, if prohibited by federal, state, or local law; using or possessing a
prescription drug if the prescription was not issued to the student; or distributing or selling a
prescription drug to a person to whom the prescription was not originally issued.

(22) Failing to pay a University bill, account, or other University financial obligation.

(23) Failing to respond to a request to report to a University administrative office; failing to comply with
a lawful directive of a University employee or other public official acting within the scope of his/her
duties; or failing to identify oneself to a University employee or other public official acting within
the scope of his/her duties when requested to do so.

(24) Failing to appear at a University hearing, including, but not limited to, a hearing of a University
judicial board, folloWing a request to appear either as a party or as a witness.

(25) Violating the terms of an interim suspension, a no-contact directive, or a disciplinary penalty
imposed by the University.

(26) Obstructing or disrupting teaching, learning, stUdying, research, pUblic service, administration,
disciplinary proceedings, emergency services, or any other University-affiliated activity, or the free
flow of pedestrian or vehicular traffic on University-controlled property. In no event shall this rule
be construed to discipline a student for speech protected by the First Amendment to the United
States Constitution.

(27) Violating a University policy or rule, including but not limited to University policies or rules relating
to facilities use, smoking, the acceptable use of information technology resources, research or
service misconduct, finder's fees relating to clinical investigations involving human sUbjects or
access to University data or materials, University libraries, dining services, parking or
transportation, University identification card use, sexual harassment, residence halls, and
registered student organizations.

(28) Committing an act that is prohibited by local, state, or federal law.

(29) Attempting to commit a violation of a Standard of Conduct or being an accessory to the
commission of an act or attempted act in violation of a Standard of Conduct.

Authority: T.CA § 49-9-209(e), T.CA § 49-7-123, and Public Acts of Tennessee, 1839-1840, Chapter 98,
Section 5, and Public Acts ofTennessee, 1807, Chapter 64.

1720-03-03-.05 Penalties.

(1) Disciplinary penalties are primarily intended to educate students and student organizations about
appropriate behavior, encourage students and student organizations to take responsibility for
misconduct, promote the personal and professional development of students, discourage other
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students and student organizations from violating the Standards of Conduct, and protect
members of the University community. The penalties imposed should be appropriate for the
particular case based on the gravity of the offense (including without limitation how the violation
affected or reasonably could have affected other members of the University community). Efforts
are made to keep penalties consistent with those applied to similar cases. In recognition of the
fact that the University is an educational institution with a rehabilitative point of view, penalties are
assessed in accordance with conditions accompanying each offense. Consideration may also be
given to the student's or student organization's conduct record; the student's or student
organization's responsiveness to the conduct process; whether the student acted in self-defense,
and, if so, whether the amount of force used was reasonable under the circumstances; student
academic classification; and other aggravating or mitigating factors. Penalties may be applied
retroactively to the date of the offense. Intoxication or impairment because of alcohol, drugs,
chemicals, or other substances does not diminish or excuse a student violation of the Standards
of Conduct. Additionally, official violation notifications are given by the appropriate office, and
official records are maintained in that office.

(2) The following penalties may be imposed on any student found to have violated the Standards of
Conduct:

(a) Disciplinary Warning. A disciplinary warning is a notice that the student is violating or has
violated the Standards of Conduct. It is used for minor violations and consists of a
restatement of the regulation violated with an official warning concerning future action.

(b) Disciplinary Reprimand. A disciplinary reprimand is used for minor violations of the
Standards of Conduct when it is evident the misconduct occurred with knowledge and
awareness of applicable Standards of Conduct. A reprimand indicates that further
violations will result in more severe disciplinary actions. Reprimands may be given to
students in either verbal or written form.

(c) Loss of Privilege. Loss of privilege is a penalty imposed most commonly cases involving
violation of University rules governing hours, social standards, intramural sports, or
misuse of University facilities. The loss of privilege is ordinarily established for a specific
period of time, and actions are recorded in appropriate records. Privileges that maybe
lost include, but are not limited to, scholarships, stipends, participation in extracurricular
activities (e.g. intramurals), participation in social activities, and use of certain University­
controlled property (e.g., information technology resources).

(d) Education. Students may be required to attend classes, at their own expense, dealing
with issues such as the consequences of alcohol or drug use, civility, ethics, or other
topics as deemed appropriate by the Chief Student Affairs Officer or his/her designee.

(e) Restitution. Restitution may be required in situations that involve destruction, damage, or
loss of property, or unreimbursed medical expenses resulting from physical injury.
Restitution may take the form of a monetary payment or appropriate service to repair or
otherwise compensate for the destruction, damage, or loss.

(I) Disciplinary Probation. Disciplinary probation means that a student is permitted to
remain in the University on a probationary status. Should a violation occur during
probation, the student is normally suspended. Disciplinary probation is recorded on the
student's personnel file in the Office of Student Affairs. Conditions of probation are
specific to the individual case and may include loss of eligibility to serve as a student
organization officer or participation in major student activities. Any specific probation
conditions are described in a personal letter to the student. Other conditions of probation
are specific to each individual case and may include a requirement of community service
or other requirement or restriction.

(g) Suspension. The penalty of suspension is imposed in cases of serious or repeated
misconduct or a violation of probation. A student who is suspended shall have his/her
registration cancelled and is not eligible to apply for readmission for a designated period
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of time. Suspensions are always recorded on the student's permanent record. (Persons
suspended from the University may not return to the campus for the duration of their
suspension, except to conduct official business with an administrative officer or faculty
member).

(h) Permanent Dismissal. Permanent dismissal means that a student is permanently barred
from matriculating as a student at the University of Tennessee Health Science Center.
This penalty is used when the violation of one (1) or more of the Standards of Conduct is
deemed so serious as to warrant total and permanent disassociation from the University
community without the possibility of re-enrollment; or when, by his/her repeated violation
of the Standards of Conduct, a student exhibits blatant disregard for the health and safety
of other members of the University community or the University's right to establish rules
of conduct.

(i) Revocation of Degree. Revocation of a degree means revoking a student's a degree
already awarded by the University. Revocation of a degree shall be approved by the
University of Tennessee Board of Trustees.

(3) A disciplinary hold may be placed on a student's account until the completion of the student
disciplinary process and/or until the student satisfies the terms and conditions of any penalties
imposed. A student who, at the time of commencement, is subject to a continuing disciplinary
penalty or an unresolved disciplinary charge shall not be awarded a degree before the conclusion
of all penalties and/or resolution of all disciplinary charges.

(4) The following penalties may be imposed on a student organization found to have violated the
Standards of Conduct:

(a) Disciplinary Warning. A disciplinary warning is used for minor violations of the Standards
of Conduct and consists of a restatement of the Standard of Conduct violated with an
official warning concerning future action.

(b) Loss of Privilege. This penalty is intended to serve as a reminder of the Standards of
Conduct and is for a specific period of time. Examples of privileges that may be lost
include participating in extracurricular activities (e.g., intramurals), housing privileges,
participating in social activities, and using certain University-controlled property.

(c) Education. Student organizations or their representatives may be required to attend
classes, at their own expense, dealing with issues such as the consequences of alcohol
or drug use, civility, ethics, or other topics as deemed appropriate by the Chief Student
Affairs Officer, Student Conduct Officer, and/or his/her designee.

(d) Restitution. Restitution may be required in situations that involve destruction, damage, or
loss of property, or unreimbursed medical expenses resulting from physical injury.
Restitution may take the form of a monetary payment or appropriate service to repair or
otherwise compensate for the destruction, damage, or loss.

(e) Social Probation. This penalty prohibits a student organization from sponsoring or
participating in specified social activities. While on social probation, a student
organization may not host social events or participate in University-affiliated activities.
Any exceptions to social probation must be approved, in advance, by the Chief Student
Affairs Officer or his/her designee.

(f) Disciplinary Probation. Disciplinary probation means that a student organization is
permitted to retain University registration on a probationary status. Violation of the
Standards of Conduct during the period of disciplinary probation may result in more
serious penalties, including revocation of University registration.

(g) Revocation of University Registration. In cases of serious misconduct, a student
organization's University registration may be revoked.
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(5) More than one (1) of the penalties listed above may be imposed for any single violation of the
Standards of Conduct.

(6) Except for an interim suspension, disciplinary penalties shall not become effective until after
opportunities for appeal have been exhausted. Penalties may be applied retroactively to the date
of the offense. Coursework performed while disciplinary charges are pending or disciplinary
proceedings are underway shall be considered conditional. Coursework may be affected or
disregarded based on a final finding of misconduct or the penalty imposed, which may result in
loss of course credit, a loss of tuition and/or fees, a delay in the awarding of a degree, or
revocation of a degree that was awarded prior to a final decision in the disciplinary proceeding.

Authority: T.CA § 49-9-209(e) and Public Acts of Tennessee, 1839-1840, Chapter 98, Section 5, and Public
Acts ofTennessee, 1807, Chapter 64.

1720-03-03-.06 No Contact Directive. In cases involving allegations of assault, injury, sexual abuse, harassment,
or in cases where there is reason to believe continued contact between a studenUstudent organization and
specific persons, including complainants and witnesses, may interfere with those persons' security, safety or
ability to participate effectively in work or studies, the Chief Student Affairs Officer, or his/her designee, may
require that the studenUstudent organization not have verbal, physical, or written contact with specific persons for
a definite or indefinite period of time. The studenUstudent organization will receive notice of the no contact
directive. Any student, faculty or staff member or other person with a reasonable justification may request that a
no contact directive be issued to a studenUstudent organization. In addition to an internal University no contact
directive, complainants are advised that other similar options exist and can be obtained from law enforcement and
civil and criminal courts.

Authority: T.CA § 49-9-209(e) and Public Acts of Tennessee, 1839-1840, Chapter 98, Section 5,and Public
Acts ofTennessee, 1807, Chapter 64.

1720-03-03-.07 Interim Suspension.

(1) When the Chief Student Affairs Officer or his/her designee has reasonable cause to believe that a
student's or student organization's continued presence on University-controlled property or at
University-affiliated activities poses a significant risk of substantial harm to the health or safety of
others or to property or poses an ongoing threat to the disruption of, or interference with, the
normal operations of the University, the Chief Student Affairs Officer or his/her designee may
impose an interim suspension prior to the conclusion of a full hearing on the alleged misconduct.

(2) An interim suspension shall be confirmed by a notice that explains the basis for the interim
suspension and shall remain in effect until the conclusion of a full hearing in accordance with the
rules of the University of Tennessee, which shall be held without undue delay.

(3) Within three (3) business days of the imposition of the suspension, the student or student
organization shall be offered an opportunity to appear personally before the Chief Student Affairs
Officer or his/her designee in order to discuss the following issues only: (i) the reliability of the
information concerning the student's or student organization's conduct; and (Ii) whether the
conduct and surrounding circumstances reasonably indicate that the student's or student
organization's continued presence on University-controlled property or at University-affiliated
activities poses a significant risk of substantial harm to the health or safety of others or to property
or poses an imminent threat of disruption of or interference with the normal operations of the
University.

(4) During an interim suspension, the student or student organization shall be denied access to
University-controlled property, including residence halls, and all other University-affiliated
activities or privileges for which the student might otherwise be eligible, as the Chief Student
Affairs Officer or his/her designee determines in his/her sole discretion to be appropriate. A
student or student organization who receives an interim suspension and violates the terms of the
interim suspension shall be subject to further disciplinary action and may be treated as a
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trespasser. Permission to be on University-controlled property or participate in University­
affiliated activities may be granted by the Chief Student Affairs Officer or his/her designee.

Authority: T.C.A. § 49-9-209(e) and Public Acts of Tennessee, 1839-1840, Chapter 98, Section 5, and Public
Acts of Tennessee, 1807, Chapter 64.

1720-03-03-.08 Hearing Procedures.

(1) Unless otherwise specified in the published policies and procedures of the UT Health Science
Center, a student charged with misconduct or who is entitled to an opportunity for a hearing will,
upon request, be provided a hearing in accordance with the following procedures:

(a) Notice - A person charged with misconduct will receive written notification of the
following:

1. The substance of the charge(s) against him/her.

2. The disciplinary action taken or proposed.

3. His/her right to a hearing should he/she wish to contest the charge(s) or action.

4. To whom a request for a hearing should be addressed.

5. That a request for a hearing must be made within five (5) days of the person's
receipt of this notice.

6. His/her right to be accompanied by no more than one (1) advisor during the
hearing, including but not limited to a parent, spouse, friend, or attorney. The
role of the advisor shall be limited to providing advice or support to the accused
student. Even if accompanied by an advisor, the accused student is responsible
for presenting his/her own case to the hearing panel. An advisor is not permitted
to: introduce evidence; raise objections; present arguments; address directly the
members of the hearing panel, the student conduct officer, or any witnesses
participating in the hearing; or otherwise participate in the hearing. In
consideration of the limited role of the advisor, and of the compelling interest of
the University to expeditiously conclude the matter, a hearing shall not be
delayed due to the unavailability of an advisor.

7. His/her rights to a hearing in accordance with the contested case provisions of
the Uniform Administrative Procedures Act, T.CA § 4-5-108 et seq. In the
absence of a voluntary written waiver of his/her rights to a hearing under the
provisions of the TUAPA, a requested hearing will be conducted in accordance
with the University's TUAPA hearing procedures shall not apply.

(b) Hearing Panel - A requested hearing will be provided by a panel of individuals or a
hearing examiner, selected in accordance with policies of UT Health Science Center or,
in the absence of applicable policies or procedures, by the Chancellor of the UT Health
Science Center or his/her designee. The hearing will be conducted by a panel chairman
similarly selected. Panel members shall be impartial and anyone lacking such impartiality
shall recuse himself or be removed by the Chancellor of the UT Health Science Center or
his/her designee upon the request of any party to a hearing.

(c) Hearing Process - The chairman of a hearing panel or hearing examiner will conduct the
hearing, without regard to technical rules of procedure, in such manner as will best serve
the cause of justice within the following general guidelines:

1. Each party to a hearing will be afforded a full and fair opportunity to present all
evidence including witnesses, reasonably relating to the charge or action at
issue; evidence which is irrelevant, immaterial, repelilious or voluminous may be
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limited.

2. The hearing panel or examiner will consider all evidence presented, giving due
consideration to the credibility or weight of each item presented; technical rules
of evidence will not apply.

3. Each party will have the right to question opposing witnesses.

4. A record will be made of the hearing procedures. However, defects in the record
will not invalidate the proceedings.

5. The University will have the burden of providing, by a preponderance of the
evidence, the truth of the charge(s) at issue. Where the charge(s) is found to be
true, the person charged will have the burden of proving that the disciplinary
action taken or proposed is arbitrary, capricious, or unreasonable.

6. Following the conclusion of the hearing, the hearing panel or examiner will
consider the evidence and present written findings within a reasonable time.

7. In cases involving an allegation of sexual assault or misconduct, the hearing
procedures shall be modified to afford the alleged victim all of the rights
described in Chapter 1720-03-03-.08(1 )(d).

(d) In cases involving a complaint of sexual assault or misconduct, the alleged victim shall
have the right to:

1. Notice concerning the process by which the University will handle the complaint
and an opportunity to ask questions about the process;

2. A prompt, thorough, and impartial investigation of the complaint;

3. The same opportunity as the accused student to present his/her explanation of
the facts during the University's investigation;

4. Have the investigation of the complaint concluded within sixty (60) days of the
University's receipt of a complaint, unless circumstances make it impracticable
for the University to complete its investigation within that timeframe;

5. Notice of the outcome of the University's investigation;

6. Have a disciplinary hearing conducted within thirty (30) days of a University
charge that the accused student committed sexual assault or misconduct, unless
circumstances make it impracticable for the University to conduct a hearing
within that timeframe;

7. Notice of the date, time, and location of the disciplinary hearing, the right to have
the disciplinary hearing closed to the public, and the right to request rescheduling
of the hearing for good cause;

8. The same access as the accused student to any information or documents that
will be used by the University during a disciplinary hearing, unless prohibited by
law;

9. Challenge the selection of any member of a hearing panel or a hearing examiner
for good cause, which will be determined at the discretion of the Chancellor or
his/her designee;
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Regulatory Flexibility Addendum

Pursuant to T.C.A. §§ 4-5-401 through 4-5-404, prior to initiating the rule making process as described in T.CA
§ 4-5-202(a)(3) and T.C.A. § 4-5-202(a), all agencies shall conduct a review of whether a proposed rule or rule
affects small businesses.

(If applicable, insert Regulatory Flexibility Addendum here)

The rule has no effect on small businesses.
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Impact on Local Governments

Pursuant to T.C.A. §§ 4-5-220 and 4-5-228 "any rule proposed to be promulgated shall state in a simple
declarative sentence, without additional comments on the merits of the policy of the rules or regulation, whether
the rule or regulation may have a projected impact on local governments." (See Public Chapter Number 1070
(lltlp:/Istale.tn.us/sos/acts/106/DUb/pc1070.pdf) of the 2010 Session of the General Assembly)

(Insert statement here)

The rule is not projected to have an impact on local governments.
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Bureau of TennCare
George Woods
310 Great Circle Road
37243
(615)507-6446
George.woods@tn.gov

Revision Type (check all that apply):
X Amendment

New
Repeal

Rule(s) Revised (ALL chapters and rules contained in filing must be listed here. If needed, copy and paste
additional tables to accommodate multiple chapters. Please enter only ONE Rule Number/Rule' Tille per row)
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(Place substance of rules and other info here. Statutory authority must be given for each rule change. For
information on formatting rules go to http://state.tn.us/sos/rules/136011360.htm)

SUbparagraph (d) of Paragraph (1) of Rule 1200-13-14-.04 Covered Services is amended by deleting the
reference to paragraph (20) in the first sentence and replacing it with a reference to paragraph (29) so as
amended Subparagraph (d) shall read as follows:

(d) The MCC shall be allowed to provide cost effective alternative services as defined in paragraph 1200-13­
14-.01(29). Cost effective alternative services are not reimbursable in any circumstances other than
those described in that paragraph.

Statutory Authority: T.CA §§ 4-5-202 and 71-5-105.
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TENNCARE STANDARD

(Rule 1200-13-14-.03, continued)
3. High cost medical bills.

CHAPTER 1200-13-14

Coverage by a particular MCO shall cease at 12:00 midnight local time on the date that
an individual has been reassigned by TennCare from one MCO and placed in another
plan. Coverage by the new MCO will begin when coverage by the old MCO ends.

Authority: T.C.A. §§4-5-202, 4-5-208, 4-5-209, 71-5-105, 71-5-109, Executive Order No. 23. AdminIs­
trative History: Public necessity rule filed July 1, 2002; effective through December 13, 2002. Original
rule filed September 30, 2002; to be effective December 14, 2002; however, on December 9, 2002, the
House Government Operations Committee of the General Assembly stayed rule 1200-13-14-.03; new
effective date February 12, 2003. Emergency rule filed December 13, 2002; effective through May 27,
2003. Public necessity rule flied December 29, 2005; effective through June 12, 2006. Public necessity
rule flied December 29, 2005, expired June 12, 2006. On June 13, 2006, affected rules reverted to status
on December 28, 2005. Amendment flied March 31, 2006; effective June 14, 2006. Amendment flied Au­
gust 14, 2006; effective October 28, 2006. Amendment flied January 26, 2007; effective Apri/11, 2007.
Amendment flied September 13, 2007; effective November 27, 2007. Public necessity rule flied February
8, 2008; effective through July 22, 2008. Repeal and new rule flied May 7, 2008; effective July 21, 2008.
Amendments flied September 25, 2009; effective December 24, 2009. Amendment flied November 30,
2009; effective February 28, 2010. Emergency rule flied March 1, 2010; effective through August 28,
2010. Amendment filed May 27, 2010; effective August 25, 2010. Amendments filed October 26, 2010;
effective January 24, 2011.

1200·13·14·.04 COVERED SERVICES.

(1) Benefits covered under the managed care program

(a) TennCare MCCs shall cover the following services and benefits subject to any applica­
ble limitations described herein. TennCare MCCs shall cover TennCare CHOICES
services and benefits in accordance with Rule 1200-13-01-.05.

1. Any and all medically necessary services may require prior authorization or ap­
proval by the MCC, except where prohibited by law.

2. An MCC shall not refuse to pay for a service solely because of a lack of prior au­
thorization as follows:

(i) Preventive, diagnostic, and treatment services for persons under age 21.
MCCs shall provide all medically necessary, covered services regardless
of whether the need for such services was Identified by a provider whose
services had received prior authorization from the MCC or by an in­
network provider.

(ii) Emergency services. MCGs shall not require prior authorization or ap­
proval for covered services rendered in the event of an emergency, as de­
fined in these rules. Such emergency services may be reviewed on the
basis of medical necessity or other MGG administrator requirements, but
cannot be denied solely because the provider did not obtain prior authori­
zation or approval from the enrollee's MGG.

3. MGCs shall not impose any service limitations that are more restrictive than
those described herein; however, this shall not limit the MCC's ability to establish
procedures for the determination of medical necessity.

4. Services for which there is no federal financial participation (FFP) are not cov:
ered.
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TENNCARE STANDARD

'(Rule 1200-13-14-.04, continued)
7. Nonprescription drugs.

CHAPTER 1200-13-14

8. Covered outpatient drugs, which the manufacturer seeks to require as a condi­
tion of sale that associated tests or monitoring services be purchased exclusively
from the manufacturer or his designee.

9. TennCare shall not cover drugs considered by the FDA to be Less Than Effec­
tive (LTE) and DESI drugs, or drugs considered to be Identical, Related and Sim­
ilar (IRS) to DESI and LTE drugs or any other pharmacy services for which fed­
eral financial participation (FFP) is not available. The exclusion of drugs for
which no FFP Is available extends to all TennCare enrollees regardless of the
enrollee's age. TennCare shall not cover experimental or investigational drugs
which have not received final approval from the FDA.

10. Buprenorphine and buprenorphine/naloxone products and sedative hypnotics for
persons aged 21 and older are restricted to the quantity limits specified below:

(i) Generic buprenorphine, Subutex (buprenorphine), and Suboxone (bupre­
norphine/naloxone) products shall not exceed sixteen milligrams (16 mg)
per day for a period of up to six (6) months from the initiation of therapy.
For enrollees who are pregnant while receiving this dosage, the six-month
period does not begin until the enrollee is no longer pregnant. At the end
of either six month period, the covered dosage amount shall not exceed
eight milligrams (8 mg) per day.

(ii) Sedative hypnotic medications shall not exceed fourteen (14) pills per
month for sedative hypnotic formulations in pill form such as Ambien and
Lunesta, one hundred forty milliliters (140 ml) per month of chloral hydrate,
or one (1) bottle every sixty (60) days of Zolpimist.

(d) The MCC shall be allowed to provide cost effective alternative services as defined in
paragraph 1200-13-14-.01(20). Cost effective alternative services are not reimbursa­
ble in any circumstances other than those described in that paragraph.

(2) Use of Cost Effective Alternative Services.

(a) MCCs shall be allowed, but are not required, to use cost effective alternative services if
and only if:

1. These services are listed in the MCC contract and/or in Policy BEN 08-001; or

2. These services are provided under the CHOICES program in accordance with
Rule 1200-13-01-.05; and

3. They are medically appropriate and cost effective.

(b) Use of approved cost effective alternative services is made at the sale discretion of the
MCC.

(3) Emergency Medical Services.

Emergency medical services shall be available twenty-four (24) hours per day, seven (7)
days per week. Coverage of emergency medical services shall not be subject to prior autho­
rization by the MCC but may include a requirement that notice be given to the MCC of use of
out-of-plan emergency services. However, such requirements shall provide at least a twen­
ty-four (24) hour time frame after the emergency for notice to be given to the MCC.
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TENNCARE STANDARD CHAPTER 1200-13-14

(Rule 1200-13-14-.01, continued)
(5) APPLICATION PERIOD shall mean a specific period of time determined by the Bureau of

TennCare during which the Bureau will accept applications for the TennCare Standard
Spend Down category as described in the Bureau's rules at 1200-13-14-.02.

(6) BENEFITS shall mean the health care package of services developed by the Bureau of
TennCare and which define the covered services available to TennCare enrollees. Addition­
al benefits are availabie through the TennCare CHOICES program, as described in Rule
1200-13-01-.05. CHOICES benefits are available only to persons who qualify for and are
enrolled in the CHOICES program.

(7) BUREAU OF TENNCARE (BUREAU) shall mean the administrative unit of TennCare which
is responsible for the administration of TennCare as defined elsewhere in these rules.

(8) CALL-IN LINE shall mean the toll-free telephone line used as the single point of entry during
an open application period to accept new applications for the Standard Spend Down Pro­
gram.

(9) CAPITATION PAYMENT shall mean the fee which is paid by the State to a managed care
contractor operating under a risk-based contract for each enrollee covered by the plan for the
provision of medical services, whether or not the enrollee utilizes services or without regard
to the amount of services utilized during the payment period.

(10) CAPITATION RATE shali mean the amount established by the State for the purpose of pro­
viding payment to participating managed care contractors operating under a risk-based con­
tract.

(11) CARETAKER RELATIVE shall mean that individual as defined at Tennessee Code Anno­
tated § 71-3-153.

(12) CATEGORICALLY NEEDY shall mean that category of TennCare Medicaid-eligibles as de­
fined at 1240-03-02-.02 of the rules of the Tennessee Department of Human Services - Divi­
sion of Medicai Services.

(13) CHOICES. See "TennCare CHOICES in Long-Term Care."

(14) CHOICES 217-Like Group. See definition in Rule 1200-13-01-.02.

(15) CHOICES Group 1. See definition in Ruie 1200-13-01-.02.

(16) CHOICES Group 2. See definition in Rule 1200-13-01-.02.

(17) CMS (CENTERS FOR MEDICARE AND MEDICAID SERVICES) (formerly known as HCFA)
shall mean the agency within the United States Department of Health and Human Services
that is responsible for administering Title XVItI, Title XIX, and Title XXI of the Social Security
Act.

(18) COBRA shall mean health insurance coverage provided pursuant to the Consolidated Omni­
bus Budget Reconciliation Act.

(19) CODE OF FEDERAL REGULATIONS (C.F.R.) shall mean Federal regulations promulgated
to explain specific requirements of Federal law.

(20) COMMENCEMENT OF SERVICES shall mean the time at which the first covered service(s)
islare rendered to a TennCare member for each individual medical condition.
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TENNCARESTANDARD CHAPTER 1200-13-14

(Rule 1200-13-14-.01, continued)
(21) COMMISSIONER shall mean the chief administrative officer of the Tennessee Department

where the TennCare Bureau is administratively located, or the Commissioner's designee.

(22) COMPLETED APPLICATION is an application where:

(a) All required fields have been completed;

(b) It is signed and dated by the applicant or the applicant's parent or guardian;

(c) It inciudes all supporting documentation required by the TDHS or the Bureau to deter­
mine TennCare eligibility, technical and financial requirements as set out in these rules;
and

(d) it includes all supporting documentation required to prove TennCare Standard medical
eligibility as set out in these rules.

(23) CONTINUATION OR REINSTATEMENT shall mean that the following services or benefits
are subject to continuation or reinstatement pursuant to an appeal of an adverse decision af­
fecting a TennCare service(s) or benefit(s), unless the services or benefits are otherwise ex­
empt from this requirement as described in rule 1200-13-14-.11, if the enrollee appeals within
ten (10) days of the date of the notice of action or prior to the date of the adverse action, whi­
chever is later.

(a) For services on appeal under Grier Revised Consent Decree:

1. Those services currently or in the case of reinstatement, most recently provided
to an enrollee; or

2. Those services provided to an enrollee in an inpatient psychiatric facility or resi­
dential treatment facility where the discharge pian has not been accepted by the
enrollee or appropriate step-down services are not availabie; or

3. Those services provided to treat an enrollee's chronic condition across a conti­
nuum of services when the next appropriate level of covered services is not
available; or

4, Those services prescribed by the enrollee's provider on an open-ended basis or
with no specific ending date where the MCC has not reissued prior authorization;
or

5. A different level of covered services, offered by the MCC and accepted by the
enrollee, for the same illness or medical condition for which the disputed service
has previously been provided.

(b) For eligibility terminations, coverage will be continued or reinstated for an enrollee cur­
rently enrolled in TennCare who has received notice of termination of eligibility and
who appeals within ten (10) days of the date of the notice or prior to the date of termi­
nation, whichever is later.

(24) CONTINUOUS ENROLLMENT shall refer to the ability of certain individuals determined eli­
gible for the TennCare Program to enroll at any time during the year. Continuous enrollment
is iimited to persons in the following two groups:

(a) TennCare Medicaid enrollees as defined in rule 1200-13-13-.02.
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TENNCARE STANDARD CHAPTER 1200-13-14

(Rule 1200-13-14-.01, continued)
(b) Individuals who are losing their Medicaid, who are uninsured, who are under nineteen

(19) years of age, and who meet the qualification for TennCare Standard as "Medicaid
Rollovers," in accordance with the provisions of Rule 1200-13-14-.02.

(25) CONTRACT PROVIDER shall have the same meaning as Participating Provider.

(26) CONTRACTOR shall mean an organization approved by the Tennessee Department of
Finance and Administration to provide TennCare-covered benefits to eligible enrollees in the
TennCare Medicaid and TennCare Standard programs.

(27) CONTRACTOR RISK AGREEMENT (CRA) shall mean the document delineating the terms
of the agreement entered into by the Bureau of TennCare and the Managed Care Contrac­
tors.

(28) CORE MEDICAID POPULATON shall mean individuals eligible under Title XIX of the Social
Security Act, 42 U.S.C. §§1396, et seq., with the exception of the following groups: individu­
als receiving SSI benefits as determined by the Social Security Administration; individuals el­
igible under a Refugee status; individuals eligible for emergency services as an iIIegai or un­
documented alien; individuals receiving interim Medicaid benefits with a pending Medicaid
disability determination; individuals with forty-five (45) days of presumptive eligibility; and
children in DCS custody.

(29) COST-EFFECTIVE ALTERNATIVE SERVICE shall mean a service that is not a covered ser­
vice but that is approved by TennCare and CMS and provided at an MCC's discretion.
TennCare enrollees are not entitled to receive these services. Cost-effective alternative ser­
vices may be provided because they are either (1) alternatives to covered Medicaid services
that, in the MCC's judgment, are cost-effective or (2) preventative in nature and offered to
avoid the development of conditions that, in the MCC's judgment, wouid require more costly
treatment in the future. Cost-effective alternative services need not be determined medically
necessary except to the extent that they are provided as an aiternative to covered Medicaid
services. Even if medically necessary, cost effective alternative services are not covered
services and are provided only at an MCC's discretion.

(30) COST SHARING shall mean the amounts that certain enrollees in TennCare are required to
pay for their TennCare coverage and covered services. Cost sharing includes copayments.

(31) Covered Services shall mean the services and benefits that:

(a) TennCare contracted MCCs cover, as set out elsewhere in this Chapter and in Rule
1200-13-01-.05; or

(b) In the instance of enrollees who are eligible for and enrolled in federal Medicaid waiv­
ers under Section 1915(c) of the Social Security Act, the services and benefits that are
covered under the terms and conditions of such waivers.

(32) CPT4 CODES are descriptive terms contained in the Physician's Current Procedural Termi­
nology, used to identify medical services and procedures performed by physicians or other li­
censed health professionals.

(33) DBM (DENTAL BENEFiTS MANAGER) shall mean a contractor approved by the Tennessee
Department of Finance and Administration to provide dental benefits to enrollees in the
TennCare Program to the extent such services are covered by TennCare.

(34) DELAY shall mean, but is not limited to:
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Impact on Local Governments

Pursuant to T.CA §§ 4-5-220 and 4-5-228 "any rule proposed to be promulgated shall state in a simple
declarative sentence, without additional comments on the merits of the policy of the rules or regulation, whether
the rule or regulation may have a projected impact on local governments." (See Public Chapter Number 1070
(http://state.tn.us/sos/acts/106/pub/pc1070.pdf) of the 2010 Session of the General Assembly)

(Insert statement here)

The rule is not projected to have an impact on local governments.

SS-7038 (September 2011) 5 RDA 1693
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Regulatory Flexibility Addendum

Pursuant to T.CA §§ 4-5-401 through 4-5-404, prior to initiating the rule making process as described in T.GA
§ 4-5-202(a)(3) and T.CA § 4-5-202(a), all agencies shall conduct a review of whether a proposed rule or rule
affects small businesses.

(If applicable, insert Regulatory Flexibility Addendum here)

The rule has no effect on small businesses.

55-7038 (September 2011) 4 RDA 1693
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(Place substance of rules and other info here. Statutory authority must be given for each rule change. For
information on formatting rules go to hllp:l/state.tn.us/sos/rules/1360/1360.htm)

Subparagraph (d) of Paragraph (1) of Rule 1200-13-13-.04 Covered Services is amended by deleting the
reference to paragraph (25) in the first sentence and replacing it with a reference to paragraph (29) so as
amended SUbparagraph (d) shall read as follows:

(d) The MCC shall be allowed to provide cost effective alternative services. as. defined in paragraph 1200-13­
13-.01 (29). Cost effective alternative services are not reimbursable in any circumstances other than
those described in that paragraph.

Statutory Authority: T.CA §§ 4-5-202 and 71-5-105.
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TENNCARE MEDICAID CHAPTER 1200-13-13

(Rule 1200-13-13-.01, continued)
(b) Individuals who are losing their Medicaid, who are uninsured, who are under nineteen

(19) years of age, and who meet the qualification for TennCare Standard as "Medicaid
Rollovers," in accordance with the provisions of Rule 1200-13-14-.02.

(25) CONTRACT PROVIDER shall have the same meaning as Participatin9 Provider.

(26) CONTRACTOR shall mean an organization approved by the Tennessee Department of
Finance and Administration to provide TennCare-covered benefits to eligible enrollees in the
TennCare Medicaid and TennCare Standard programs.

(27) CONTRACTOR RISK AGREEMENT (CRA) shall mean the document delineating the terms
of the agreement entered into by the Bureau of TennCare and the Managed Care
Contractors.

(28) CORE MEDICAID POPULATION shall mean individuals eligible under Title XIX of the Social
Security Act, 42 U.S.C. §§ 1396, et seq., with the exception of the following groups:
individuals receiving SSI benefits as determined by the Social Security Administration;
individuals eligible under a Refugee status; individuals eligible for emergency services as an
illegal or undocumented alien; individuals receiving interim Medicaid benefits with a pending
Medicaid disability determination; individuals with forty-five (45) days of presumptive or
immediate eligibility; and children in DCS custody.

(29) COST-EFFECTIVE ALTERNATIVE SERVICE shall mean a service that is not a covered
service but that is approved by TennCare and CMS and provided at an MCC's discretion.
TennCare enrollees are not entitled to receive these services. Cost-effective alternative
services may be provided because they are either (1) alternatives to covered Medicaid
services that, in the MCC's judgment, are cost-effective or (2) preventative in nature and
offered to avoid the development of conditions that, in the MCC's judgment, would require
more costly treatment in the future. Cost-effective alternative services need not be
determined medically necessary except to the extent that they are provided as an alternative
10 covered Medicaid services. Even if medically necessary, cost effective alternative
services are not covered services and are provided only at an MCC's discretion.

(30) COST SHARING shall mean the amounts that certain enrollees in TennCare are required to
pay for their TennCare coverage and covered services. Cost sharing includes copayments.

(31) COVERED SERVICES shall mean the services and benefits that:

(a) TennCare contracted MCCs cover, as set out elsewhere in Ihis Chapter and in Rule
1200-13-01-.05; or

(b) In the instance of enrollees who are eligible for and enrolled in federal Medicaid
waivers under Section 1915(c) of the Sociai Security Act, the services and benefits that
are covered under the terms and conditions of such waivers.

(32) CPT4 CODES are descriptive terms contained in the Physician's Current Procedural
Terminology, used to identify medical services and procedures performed by physicians or
other licensed health professionals.

(33) DBM (DENTAL BENEFITS MANAGER) shall mean a contractor approved by the Tennessee
Department of Finance and Administration to provide dental benefits to enrollees in the
TennCare Program to the extent such services are covered by TennCare.

(34) DELAY shall mean, but is not limited to:
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TENNCARE MEDICAID CHAPTER 1200-13-13

(Rule 1200-13-13-.03, continued)
(a) When it has been determined that an individual no ionger meets the criteria for

TennCare eligibility, that individual shall be disenroiled from the TennCare Program.
Services provided by the TennCare MCO in which the individual has been placed, as
well as the PBM and DBM, if applicable, shall be terminated upon disenrollment. Such
disenrollment action will be accompanied by appropriate due process procedures as
described elsewhere in this Chapter. Disenrollment from the CHOICES program shall
proceed as described in Rule 1200-13-01-.05.

(b) Coverage shall cease at 12:00 midnight, local time, on the date that an individual is
disenrolled from TennCare.

(c) TennCare may reassign individuals from a designated MCO and place them in another
MCO as described elsewhere in these rules. A TennCare MCO may not reassign an
enrollee without the permission of TennCare. A TennCare MCO shall not re.quest the
reassignment of a TennCare enrollee for any of the following reasons:

1. Adverse changes in the enrollee's health;

2. Pre-existing medical conditions; or

3. High cost medical bills.

Coverage by a particular MCO shall cease at 12:00 midnight local time on the date that
an individual has been reassigned by TennCare from one MCO and placed in another
pian. Coverage by the new MCO will begin when coverage by the old MCO ends.

Authority: T.GA §§4-5-202, 4-5-203, 4-5-208, 4-5-209, 71-5-105. 71-5-109, Executive Order No. 23.
Administrative History: Public necessity rule liied July 1, 2002; el/ective through December 13, 2002.
Original rule liied September 30, 2002; to be effective December 14, 2002; however, on December 9,
2002, the House Government Operations Committee of the General Assembly stayed rule 1200-13-13­
.03; neW el/ective date February 12, 2003. Emergency rule liied December 13, 2002; el/ective through
May 27, 2003. Public necessity rule filed April 29, 2005; el/ective through October 11, 2005.
Amendments liied July 28, 2005; effective October 11, 2005. Public necessity rule liied December 29,
2005; el/ective through June 12, 2006. Public necessity rule liied December 29, 2005, expired June 12,
2006. On June 13, 2006, al/ected rules reverted to status on December 28, 2005. Amendment filed
March 31, 2006; el/ective June 14, 2006. Amendment liied August 14, 2006; el/ective October 28, 2006.
Pubiic necessity rule liied February 8, 2008; effective through July 22, 2008. Repeal and new rule filed
May 7, 2008; el/ective July 21, 2008. Amendments filed September 25, 2009; el/ective December 24,
2009. Amendment liied November 30, 2009; el/ective February 28, 2010. Emergency rule liied March 1,
2010; el/ective through August 28, 2010. Amendments liied May 27, 2010; el/ective August 25, 2010.
Amendments liied October 26, 2010; el/ective January 24, 2011.

1200-13·13-.04 COVERED SERVICES.

(1) Benefits covered under the managed care program

(a) TennCare MCCs shall cover the following services and benefits subject to any
applicable limitations described herein. TennCare MCCs shall cover TennCare
CHOICES services and benefits in accordance with Rule 1200-13-01-.05.

Any and all medically necessary services may require prior authorization or
approval by the MCC, except where prohibited by law.

2. An MCC shall not refuse to pay for a service solely because of a lack of prior
authorization as follows:

January, 2012 (Revised) 35
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TENNCARE MEDICAID

(Rule 1200-13-13-.04, continued)

1. Agents for weight loss or weight gain.

CHAPTER 1200-13-13

2. Agents to promote fertility or for the treatment of impotence or infertility or for the
reversal of sterilization.

3. Agents for cosmetic purposes or hair grow1h.

4. Agents for symptomatic relief of coughs and colds.

5. Agents which are benzodiazeplnes or barbiturates.

6. Prescription vitamins and mineral products, except prenatal vitamins and fluoride
preparations.

7. Nonprescription drugs.

8. Covered outpatient drugs, which the manufacturer seeks to require as a
condition of sale that associated tests or monitoring services be purchased
exclusively from the manufacturer or his designee.

9. TennCare shall not cover drugs considered by the FDA to be Less Than
Effective (LTE) and DESI drugs, or drugs considered to be Identical, Related and
Similar (IRS) to DESI and LTE drugs or any other pharmacy services for which
federal financial participation (FFP) is not available. The exclusion of drugs for
which no FFP is available extends to all TennCare enrollees regardless of the
enrollee's age. TennCare shall not cover experimental or investigationat drugs
which have not received final approval from the FDA.

10. Buprenorphine and buprenorphine/naloxone products and sedative hypnotics for
persons aged 21 and older are restricted to the quantity limits specified betow:

(i) Generic buprenorphine, Subutex (buprenorphine), and Suboxone
(buprenorphine/naloxone) products shall not exceed sixteen milligrams (16
mg) per day for a period of up to six (6) months from the initiation of
therapy. For enrollees who are pregnant while receiving this dosage, the
six-month period does not begin until the enrollee is no longer pregnant.
At the end of either six month period, the covered dosage amount shall not
exceed eight milligrams (8 mg) per day.

(Ii) Sedative hypnotic medications shall not exceed fourteen (14) pills per
month for sedative hypnotic formulations in pill form such as Ambien and
Lunesta, one hundred forty milliliters (140 ml) per month of chloral hydrate,
or one (1) bottle every sixty (60) days of Zolpimist.

(d) The MCC shall be allowed to provide cost effective alternative services as defined in
paragraph 1200-13-13-.01(25). Cost effective alternative services are not
reimbursable in any circumstances other than those described in that paragraph.

(2) Use of Cost Effective Alternative Services.

(a) MCCs shall be allowed, but are not required, to use cost effective alternative services if
and only if:

1. These services are listed in the MCC contract and/or in Policy BEN 08-001; or
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appeal when ehRFged with violations sf the standRrds sf eenauel that have ~een estABlished fer
Unh'ersity students.

fH I'REEI)OM FOR UW.vARRA~ITE8 SEARCII.

W EntF)' By UniYersi~' authorities ints eeeupied r88ms in resielenee halls 8F UniYsrsit)' apaFtll'lents
..... i11 Be divideR inte t .. 8 6ategeries: inspeetien aile saRrell. Inspeetisll is aSHnea as entry ints A
f88m Ie assaf.Rill health Rile saFet)' 6enditians, Ie malES repairs, SF Ie perferm eleaning Allfil
janitorial operations. 8efueh is eeHneel as entr), illte B ream By 6ampus authorities fer the
purpose sf ill'9'6stigating slIspeeted violation sf 8ampus regulations anElf'ef le8al, state, sr
fe<IeroHttws,

fb1 On eftl11pUS ftutherities .. ill flst enter flo ream fer purpeses ef seareh witheHt--#te pefll1issien ef
the resiElent unless the)' luwe a eaIHIHIs autltariiffitien ta seareh, RutherileEi ~y the Viee
Cltaneeller fer Student AffftiFS Br his designee .. hieh speeif.ies the Feasans fer the seaFeh and
the al:ljeets er in[erlHatielt seught eF unless they enter in eaIHplianee '"itlt state !t\\V. Ifpessihle,
the stuElent silauM he present ElliFing the seareh. }lafll1ally these searehes ·,.\'ill nat he IHaae
unless tke Viee ChalleelisF fsr Stllaent Affairs sr his aesignee is present.

~ In ease the saarett re,'eRls eejeets the pessessien af whish Yielates a law sr a UrtiYeFsity
regulatian, the UniYersit)' Iflay talEe apprepFiate aiseipliHaI)' aetien eyeH thaugh the ehjeets
were net listed en the seareh autheriZfttien.

f6) FREE80M FROM ABUSE OR IIAIMSSME~JT 8URING MI 1~ITERROGATlml. ~Ie feflll ef
intilniaatien will ~e used hy UniYersi~' autharities ta eaeree aeIHissians efguilt,

Aufh8..'Ij, PttbHe "eM ttl7'e'lt:le:fflu, 1839 181B, GhajJte.' 98, 8eet;8,1 5, add Puhtle lJels of TeWte!Hiee. 18B7,
Chap:e, 61. 11 d·mJ.'tis.f..a#l'e Mv..1.Bly: 0. :gil/a! I Ide Jf.led beiJ,'emheJ' lJ, .'976. Repeal .'illt! .Ieu ,'id·e filed iHaj' 27,
.'986; elfee#ve .t"gltS,' l2, .'986. •lmemINieutfi.'ed Oe0'8he, 3.', /99B; effeeHle Jam,'m,' 29, 1991. •'me'le/lIIe",'

jiledo'aJlllaJ, ll, 1999; effee";\e i\{ti' 3.', 1999,

1729 5 1 ,93 STANDARDS OF COPIDIoICT.

tI-1 When persaus ellrall in The Uni\'ersit,' afTenuessee at Martin, they Fetain the rights Rilti duties efa
eitilen. Atiditienally, the)' IHust flSSUIl1e the duties and eusen'e the regulatiells impesee B) the
Uni ,ersi~ eemIHllItity,

~ Failure er refUSAl te eemp.)' ·... ith the rules Rna palieies estft~lished u)' the UniYefsil) IHa; suujeet the
affender te eiseiplinRf)' aetien uli ta ana inelueing ~eflnanent eismissal [rem the Uni\'ersit)',

E31 The palieias allti lireeetiures eeseFiaed BeleYl' ha'w'e eeen estal:llished ta insl:tre the rights ane priyileges
efall IHell1~ers efthe UlliYersi~' eeIHl11uni~.. te eal11nnmieate tha aKpes.atiens efthe eelllfflunity te its
InemheFs ane ta pra'w'iEl:e a hASis fer artierly eentiuet efthe affairs efthe UAiYersi~rr

t41 Miseetttittet--fer Ythieh stuElents are suejeet te diseipline inelude the fellsYI'ing eategeries:

W Plagiarism, eheating, Imewingl)' fUfI1ishing false infarmatien te tile Uni,tersif)' Br ether similar
farms ef El:ishenesl)' iIt Uni ,'eFsil)' relAted affairs,

fit) Fergef)', aheratiell, tiestruetien er misuse efUl1ileFsi~ eeeUlnents, reeares, ar ideHtif.ieatien.
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8TUDE~IT RIGIIT8 AND RI':81'ml81BlblTI1':8

(Rule 1720 2 5 .o~. eentinnea)

CIIAPTER 1720 2 5

-Att#to'Uj': Tel §t9 9 2B9(e). Admh'lsl........·itl€ H..'slo'-j'l Original,.,deji!edSepleJllhe. fi, 197-6; effeeti ..e OeMBer
15, /976. Repet"fl-etljUed 1 It.gllSf 22. J989; ef{cetil€ fJeeemhe. I, 198B. Repealetl hj; Pt/hUe C/iap:el 575, e./fee.·:.€
Ji,Ij l, -'?Sa. Nell j,,1e filed ;\/N" 27, /986; effeeiive )JUgU5.' -'d, 1986. •1,U€,ram8'11 filed JWle22, 2QBG; elfee.'il'e
Ge,'ohm 27, 2006.

Ino 2 5 ,05 STIJ96NT CO~I9IJCT116ARI~IG PROC69IJR6S,

(B Celll~laint•.

fe1 Any member sf the Uni\'er9i~ eenllnllni~' may present ft eemplaint Ie the DeRn sf Students
aniee against ft student ier dela.iells sf the SImIen! Cede. Any eemplaint sheula ~e SU8I11i"eEl
89 58811 EtS l~e9siale aAer the event .alres plaea. An) eharge(s) shall l:Je prepareel in writing 8)[
the Dean sf Stueents el+ieB.

f&) All eharges shall ee flresented ta the aaeHsed student in written farm.

R1 Ilea,i"g O~'ie"s.

fft1 An aaeused stmient desiring ta eantest the eluuge(s) against him ar her must de sa ay
reE1ue9tiltg ft hearing '1l'ithin Ii. e (5) da) s afhis ar her reeeiflt afwritten natiee artlla eharge(s).

f&) The aeeused student(s) ma), at his ar her afltian, request ft hearing aefele ft panel af inEli\'iauftls
(Stuaent Ce"an.t B.a,a) e, B)' a U,,!,'e,.il) Ilea,i"g Omee, seleel.a B) the Viee Cha"eelle,
fer Student De. elapment (ar hi9 ar her designee). A hearing Before a Stuaent Canauet Beard
dill ae ehaired e) a Uni, ersity Ilearing ameer similarly seleeled. Baard melneers and hearing
emeers shall Be imflartial and al1)'ene laelting sueh imflartialit) shall reellse ItimAterself Br Hta)
Be reIns I ed B)' the Viee CluUleeller fer 8ttldenl Develapment llflen request af an)' flart)' Ie a
Uni'/ersity hearing.

(e) A-fe<tnestea hea,i"g shall be seheaulea ~,alll~tly all., ,ee.i~l efth. ,e~u.sl.

ftI1 In the a"'senee af a ,ahmtary written waiver af the aeeuseff student's right to a hearing unser
the pre. i9ians af the Tennessee Uniferrn AEimirtistrati I e Praeedures Aet (T.e.A. § 4 5 lQ8 et
98q.), ft reqllestes hearing •• iII be eansueted in aeeardanee with the University's APA hearing
praaeduras ans these preeedures shall net aflply.

~ lIearing PreeeduFes The 8tusent CaAduet Baard aF University lIearing Omeer sitting alene will
eallduet the hearing within the fallawing general gHidelines:

ffl1 All University heRrings shall ae elased ta the flub lie.

f&) The aeeuses student (and eertain "vietims" where permitted 13y law) and his ar her asviser, if
an).. shall ae allewed ta attend the entire flaRian erthe University lIearing at whieh infermatien
is reeeived (e~leltlding deliBeratiens).

te1 ERelt pRr~ "ill Be aH-'Emlea a ~hll ails fair eppartunil) ta present all elisenee, inelusing
"itnesse9, rea9alUlal) relating to the abarge ar aetian at issue; eyidenee whieh is irreleyant,
immaterial, re~etitiells Sf \[aluminaus mft:)[ he limited,

t61 All flraeeElHfal fJuestisns are fteteFlnined ay the Uni /ersi~y IleRring OfHeer.

te1 The Student Cenduet BeRrd er University Ilearing OfHeer sitting alene will eansider all
e\'idenee presented, gi\'ing due eallsiderRtien ta the eredi~ility ar weight sf eeah itelu flresentea~

teehtlieel rules sfe\'iElenee will net Rp~I)'.

OeteBe,. 2006 (Re, i,ea)
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10. Be accompanied by an advisor of his/her choosing during the University's
investigation or a disciplinary hearing, but the advisor shall not be permitted to
speak for the victim during a disciplinary hearing;

11. The same opportunity as the accused student to be present during the hearing,
present witnesses and other evidence, challenge the admissibility of evidence,
and cross-examine adverse witnesses during the disciplinary hearing;

12. Testify or remain silent at his/her option; however, choosing to remain silent may
result in the University dismissing the charges against the accused student or the
hearing panel or examiner finding that there is insufficient evidence to find the
accused student guilty of the charges against him/her;

13. Not to be questioned personally by the accused student during the disciplinary
hearing;

14. Submit a written impact statement to the hearing panel or examiner for
consideration during the sanctioning phase of the disciplinary hearing, if the
accused student is found guilty of the charges against him/her;

15. Notice of the decision of the hearing panel or examiner within three (3) business
days of the disciplinary hearing; and

16. Appeal the decision of the hearing panel or examiner to the Chancellor and the
President.

(2) The decision of any board or administrative officer of The University of Tennessee is subject to
review by the Chancellor and the President.

(3) For purposes of this rule, the term "student" shall mean a student or a student organization.

(4) When, in the judgment of the Chancellor of the University of Tennessee, Health Science Center,
conditions are such than an emergency exists which makes it impossible for the system of judicial
boards to function, he/she may suspend the procedural regulations described in this Chapter. If
the procedures are suspended, he may substitute for them arrangements for handling disciplinary
matters than will ensure the orderly functioning of the University and at the same time safeguard
the basic rights of the students.

Authority: T.CA § 49-9-209(e) and Public Acts of Tennessee, 1839-1840, Chapter 98, Section 5, and Public
Acts ofTennessee, 1807, Chapter 64.

1720-03-03-.09 Student Identification Cards.

(1) All currently registered students are required to have a UT Health Science Center Student
Identification Card. Lost and found I.D. cards should be reported to the Office of Campus Safety
and Security. Replacement for lost cards may be obtained from the Office of Campus Safety and
Security. A replacement charge will be assessed.

(2) In order to determine the identity of students, all students are required to present their University
identification cards promptly on request of a University police officer or member Of the
administration or faculty of the University. Identification cards will not ordinarily be retained;
however, a card may be retained if an emergency situation exists or if the card may be needed as
evidence. The retained card, if valid, will be returned to the student as soon as possible

Authority: T.CA § 49-9-209(e) and Public Acts of Tennessee, 1839-1840, Chapter 98, Section 5, and Public
Acts of Tennessee, 1807, Chapter 64.

1720-03-03-.10 Student Health Insurance. All students are required to obtain basic health care and medical care
insurance to protect themselves, their families, their professional health care associates and providers. The
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