
G.O.C. STAFF RULE ABSTRACT 

DEPARTMENT: 

DIVISION: 

SUBJECT: 

STATUTORY AUTHORITY: 

EFFECTIVE DATES: 

FISCAL IMPACT: 

STAFF RULE ABSTRACT: 

Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners 

Regulatory Boards 

Mobile Shops 

2016 Public Chapter 983 was enacted by the 
Tennessee legislature creating a new mobile shop 
license which would allow cosmetologists and 
barbers to provide mobile services. The Act 
provides the Board with the authority to promulgate 
rules in order to regulate such mobile shops and 
those persons engaging in activities within mobile 
shops. There are no known federal laws 
mandating promulgation of such rules. 

November 27, 2017 through June 30, 2018 

The estimated state fiscal impact is determined to 
be minimal. It is assumed that the state will see an 
increase in state revenues in an amount of $9,050 
per fiscal year based upon an estimate of 1% of 
currently licensed shop owners who will apply for a 
mobile shop license. 

These rulemaking hearing rules create regulations 
for mobile cosmetology and barber shops. These 
mobile shop licenses were created by the 
legislature in 2016 Public Chapter 983 and 
rulemaking authority within. 
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Public Hearing Comments 

One copy of a document containing responses to comments made at the public hearing must accompany the 
filing pursuant to T.C.A. § 4-5-222. Agencies shall include only their responses to public hearing comments, 
which can be summarized. No letters of inquiry from parties questioning the rule will be accepted. When no 
comments are received at the public hearing, the agency need only draft a memorandum stating such and include 
it with the Rulemaking Hearing Rule filing. Minutes of the meeting will not be accepted. Transcripts are not 
acceptable. 

No public comments were received at the public hearing. 
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Regulatory Flexibility Addendum 

Pursuant to T.CA §§ 4-5-401 through 4-5-404, prior to initiating the rule making process, all agencies shall 
conduct a review of whether a proposed rule or rule affects small business. 

(1) The type or types of small business and an identification and estimate of the number of small businesses 

subject to the proposed rule that would bear the cost of, or directly benefit from the proposed rule; 

The proposed rules can potentially affect the approximately 8,550 cosmetology shops in the state of 

Tennessee, most of which are considered to be small businesses. 

(2) The projected reporting, record keeping and other administrative costs required for compliance with the 

proposed rule, including the type of professional skills necessary for preparation of the report or record; 

The proposed rules will create the following administrative costs: twenty-five dollars ($25.00) for a new 

mobile shop license; twenty-five dollars ($25.00) for renewal of a mobile shop license; twenty-five dollars ($25.00) 

for mobile shop inspection. No additional professional skills are necessary for preparation of the report or record. 

(3) A statement of the probable effect on impacted small businesses and consumers; 

The effect on small businesses will be positive. The proposed rules and law will offer an additional 

location for barber, cosmetology, and dual shops to meet the demand of its consumers. The proposed rules also 

establish safety and sanitary guidelines that will protect consumers. 

(4) A description of any less burdensome, less intrusive or less costly alternative methods of achieving the 

purpose and objectives of the proposed rule that may exist, and to what extent the alternative means might be 

less burdensome to small business; 

There are no less burdensome, less intrusive or less costly methods of achieving the purpose of these 

proposed rules. 

(5) A comparison of the proposed rule with any federal or state counterparts; and 

There is no federal counterpart to the proposed rules. The proposed rules share similarities with multiple 

different states, including, but not limited to Florida, Texas, California and North Carolina, that have enacted rules 

for mobile shops. 

(6) Analysis of the effect of the possible exemption of small businesses from all or any part of the requirements 

contained in the proposed rule. 

Exemption from the requirements of proposed rule would be unfeasible for a business of any size. The 

proposed rules establish safety and sanitary guidelines designed to protect consumers. 
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Impact on Local Governments 

Pursuant to T.C.A. §§ 4-5-220 and 4-5-228 "any rule proposed to be promulgated shall state in a simple 
declarative sentence, without additional comments on the merits of the policy of the rules or regulation, whether 
the rule or regulation may have a projected impact on local governments." (See Public Chapter Number 1070 
(http://state.tn.us/sos/acts/1 06/pub/pc1 070.pdf) of the 2010 Session of the General Assembly) 

These rules will not have an impact on local government. 
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Additional Information Required by Joint Government Operations Committee 

All agencies, upon filing a rule, must also submit the following pursuant to T.C.A. § 4-5-226(i)(1). 

(A) A brief summary of the rule and a description of all relevant changes in previous regulations effectuated by 
such rule; 

These rules create regulations for mobile cosmetology and barber shops. These mobile shop licenses were 
created by the legislature in 2016 Public Chapter 983~and rulemaking authority within. 

(B) A citation to and brief description of any federal law or regulation or any state law or regulation mandating 
promulgation of such rule or establishing guidelines relevant thereto; 

2016 Public Chapter 983 was enacted by the Tennessee legislature creating a new mobile shop license which 
would allow cosmetologists and barbers to provide mobile services. This Act provides the Board with authority 
to promulgate rules in order to regulate such mobile shops and those persons engaging in activities within 
mobile shops. There are no known federal laws mandating promulgation of such rules. 

(C) Identification of persons, organizations, corporations or governmental entities most directly affected by this 
rule, and whether those persons, organizations, corporations or governmental entities urge adoption or 
rejection of this rule; 

All licensees who currently own a shop or those persons who do not own a shop but would like to own a shop 
may be affected in that there is now a new opportunity to operate a mobile shop. It is unknown whether those 
persons urge adoption or rejection of this rule. 

(D) Identification of any opinions of the attorney general and reporter or any judicial ruling that directly relates to 
the rule or the necessity to promulgate the rule; 

There are no known opinions of the attorney general and reporter or any judicial ruling that directly relates to the 
rule or the necessity to promulgate the rule. 

(E) An estimate of the probable increase or decrease in state and local government revenues and expenditures, 
if any, resulting from the promulgation of this rule, and assumptions and reasoning upon which the estimate 
is based. An agency shall not state that the fiscal impact is minimal if the fiscal impact is more than two 
percent (2%) of the agency's annual budget or five hundred thousand dollars ($500,000), whichever is less; 

The estimated state fiscal impact is determined to be minimal. It is assumed that the state will see an increase 
in state revenues in an amount of $9,050 per fiscal year based upon an estimate of 1% of currently licensed 
shop owners who will apply for a mobile shop license. 

(F) Identification of the appropriate agency representative or representatives, possessing substantial knowledge 
and understanding of the rule; 

Cherrelle Hooper, Assistant General Counsel 

Roxana Gumucio, Executive Director, State Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners 

(G) Identification of the appropriate agency representative or representatives who will explain the rule at a 
scheduled meeting of the committees; 

Cherrelle Hooper, Assistant General Counsel 

Roxana Gumucio, Executive Director, State Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners 
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(H) Office address, telephone number, and email address of the agency representative or representatives who 
will explain the rule at a scheduled meeting of the committees; and 

Cherrelle Hooper 
Assistant General Counsel 
500 James Robertson Parkway 
Nashville, TN 37243 
615-741-3072 
Cherrelle.Hooper@tn.gov 

Roxana Gumucio 
Executive Director, State Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners 
500 James Robertson Parkway 
Nashville, TN 37243 
615-532-7081 
Roxana.Gumucio@tn.gov 

(I) Any additional information relevant to the rule proposed for continuation that the committee requests. 

None Known. 
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Department of State 
Division of Publications 
312 Rosa L Parks Avenue, 8th Floor Snodgrass/TN Tower 
Nashville, TN 37243 
Phone: 615-741-2650 
Email: publications.information@tn.gov 

For Department of State Use Only 

Sequence Number: o8-1Cri1-
Rule ID(s): G,$;"!0- CoS"!~ 

E~ec;~: ~:::~ ~f/~~j_:i 

Rulemaking Hearing Rule(s) Filing Form 
Rulemaking Hearing Rules are rules filed after and as a result of a rufemaking hearing (Tenn. Code Ann. § 4-5-205). 

Pursuant to Tenn. Code Ann. § 4-5-229, any new fee or fee increase promulgated by state agency rule sl1a/l take effect on July 1, following 
the expiration of the ninety (90) day period as provided in § 4-5-20T This section shall not apply to rules that implement new fees or fee 
increases that are promulgated as emergency rules pursuant to§ 4-5-208(a) and to subsequent rules t11at make permanent such emergency 
rules, as amended during the rulemaking process. In addition, this section shall not apply to state agencies that did not, during the preceding 
two (2) fiscal years, coflect fees in an amount sufficient to pay the cost of operating the board, commission or entity in accordance with § 4-29-
121(b). 

! Agency/Board/Commission: [ The-Board Olcosrnetology and Barber Examiners 
~------ --·-----"----------r-------=----- ------------------ -------------------------------

1 Division: 1 Regulatory Boards Division 
i · ----- ----- coi11:ac!Person: I Cherrelle Hooper- - - --
t ·------- ---- ---- -------------~--- --· - -- ------------------------------ ------

1 ____ -----~ddress: i 500 James Robert~on_!'~kvv_ay Nas~ville, TN 
Zip: '37243 

-- - ---------1------------

Phone: 1 615-741-3072 

Tmail: fcherrelle.hooper@tn.gov 

Revision Type (check all that apply): 
x Amendment 
x New 

Repeal 

Rule(s) (ALL chapters and rules contained in filing must be listed here: If needed, copy and paste additional 
tables to accommodate multiple chapters. Please make sure that ALL new rule and repealed rule numbers are 
listed in the chart below. Please enter only ONE Rule Number/Rule Title per row) 

~~:11ap~~r-~~fl1~el' _f:ctlapterlftie ___________________________ _ 

~
1·0200-01 ! Rules of the Barber Board 
--------------------------------------1-------------- ------------

Rule Number ! Rule Title 
... --··· ---········----------~ ~-----

t_CI20_()_::01_::~~ ___ _ L Mobile Shops 

---- --- --. ··---------- --·-------------------------

Chapter Number ! Chapter Title 
---- -+-------- ---

0440-01 ! Licensing 
-Riii·e--~fumber l' Rule Title 
o4<iO::ci1-:_13 - · -c- Fees 

r Mobile Shops 

Chapter Number I Chapter Title 
0440-02 I Sanitary Rules 
Rule Number : Rule Title 

- ------- -----------+----·-··-----
0440-02-.01 Definitions ·- __ _\ _______________________ --
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Chapter 0200-01 
Board of Barber Examiners 

Amendments 
Table of Contents 

0200-01-.01 Requirements for School License 
0200-01-.02 Curriculum 

0200-01-.10 Original License Fee 
0200-01-.11 Fees 

0200-01-.03 Transcripts 
0200-01-.04 Applications for Examination 
0200-01-.05 Posting of Licenses 

0200-01-.12 Inspections 

0200-01-.06 Expiration of Certificates of Registration 
0200-01-.07 Equipment and Location Requirements 

0200-01-.13 License Qualifications 
0200-01-.14 Teacher Training Programs 
0200-01-. 15 Student Kits 
0200-01-.16 Demonstrations 
0200-01-.17 Alcoholic Beverages 
0200-01-.18 Civil Penalties 

for Barber Shops 
0200-01-.08 Educational Equivalent 
0200-01-.09 Examinations 

Chapter 0200-01 
Board of Barber Examiners 

New Rules 

Chapter 0200-01 is amended by adding the following as new rule 0200-01-.19 [Mobile Shops]: 

Chapter 0440-01 
Board of Cosmetology 

Amendments 
Table of Contents 

0440-01-.01 Requirements for School License 
0440-01-.02 Change of School Ownership and 

Relocation 
0440-01-.03 Curriculum 
0440-01-.04 High School Equivalents 
0440-01-.05 Requirements for Schools 
0440-01-.06 Enrollment of Students 
0440-01-.07 Student Kits 
0440-01-.08 Expiration of School Registration Renewal 
0440-01-.09 Examination Passing Scores and Schools 

Attendance Ratio 

0440-01-.10 Original License Fee 
0440-01-.11 Teacher Training Programs 
0440-01-.12 Demonstrations 
0440-01-.13 Fees 
0440-01-.14 Civil Penalties 
0440-01-.15 Practice by Instructor 
0440-01-.16 Schools Providing Limited Instruction 
0440-01-.17 Communication with the Board 
0440-01-.18 Expedited Licensing for Certain Military 

Personnel and Spouses 

8



Chapter 0440-01 
Board of Cosmetology 

Amendments 

Chapter 0440-01 
Board of Cosmetology 

New Rules 

62-4-131 

Chapter 0440-01 is amended by adding the following language as new rule 0440-01-.19 [Mobile Shops]: 
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Chapter 0440-02 
Board of Cosmetology 

Amendments 

Rule 0440-02-.01(1)(e) is amended by deleting the subparagraph in its entirety and substituting instead the 
following language so that, as amended, the subparagraph shall read: 
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* If a roll-call vote was necessary, the vote by the Agency on these rulemaking hearing rules was as follows: 

Board Member Aye No Abstain Absent Signature 
(if required) 

Ron R. Gillihan II X 
Kelly Barger X 
Nina Coppinger X 
Judy McAllister ' X 
Becky Russell X 
Patricia J. X 
Richmond 
Mona Sappenfield X 
Frank Gambuzza X 
Amy Tanksley X 
Anita Charlton X 
Yvette Granger X 
Jimmy Boyd X 
Brenda Graham X 

I certify that this is an accurate and complete copy of rulemaking hearing rules, lawfully promulgated and adopted 
by the Tennessee Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners (board/commission/ other authority) on 
08/07/2017 (mm/dd/yyyy), and is in compliance with the provisions of T.C.A. § 4-5-222. 

I further certify the following: 

Notice of Rulemaking Hearing filed with the Department of State on: 05/04/2017 

Rulemaking Hearing(s) Conducted on: (add more dates). 0810712017 

Sign:::: =:/;fz=~=~==·=· =~=-:LJ=/========= 
Name of Officer: Cherrelle Hooper 

~~~~~~--------------------------

Title of Officer: Assistant General Counsel 

and sworn to before me on:~~ 
Notary Public SignatureL~ 

My commission expires onl}J }tmbeJ: d' 1 8c>\~ 
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All rulemaking hearing rules provided for herein have been examined by the Attorney General and Reporter of the 
State of Tennessee and are approved as to legality pursuant to the provisions of the Administrative Procedures 
Act, Tennessee Code Annotated, Title 4, Chapter 5. 

The Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners 
0200-01-.19 Mobile Shops 
0440-01-.13 Fees 
0440-01-.19 Mobile Shops 
0440-02-.01 Definitions 

Department of State Use Only 

I T Date 

Filed with the Department of State on: 

C'i'' 

L') 
? 
~c 

c:~ 

•. -- { _· 

Effective on: ~~~It+! :l:""":t-'+'-ll_,_:tM--1--:r"'!¥!-;J-/1-··­

~e Hargett 
Secretary of State 
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G.O.C. STAFF RULE ABSTRACT 

DEPARTMENT: 

DIVISION: 

SUBJECT: 

STATUTORY AUTHORITY: 

EFFECTIVE DATES: 

FISCAL IMPACT: 

STAFF RULE ABSTRACT: 

Commerce and Insurance 

Securities 

Securities Registration and Exemptions 

This rule is authorized by various provisions of the 
Tennessee Securities Act of 1980 (T.CA §§48-1-
101 et seq.), particularly T.CA § 48-1-116, which 
provides that the Commissioner "may from time to 
time make, promulgate, amend, and rescind such 
rules, forms, and orders as are necessary to carry 
out this part" and T.CA §§ 48-1-103(a)(7) and 48-
1-103(a)(12), the corresponding statutory 
provisions for non-profit company exemptions and 
bank holding company exemptions, respectively. 

November 12, 2017 through June 30, 2018 

None 

The amendments will add clarity and consistency 
for exemption filings. An added effective period 
and renewal instructions to each exemption will 
provide additional guidance to issuers claiming the 
exemption and provide consistency in application of 
internal policies for reviewing these exemptions in 
the Registration Section of the Securities Division. 
The amendments also clean up out-of-date 
references to an obsolete North American 
Securities Administrators Association's ("NASAA") 
Statement of Policy. 
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Public Hearing Comments 

One copy of a document containing responses to comments made at the public hearing must accompany the 
filing pursuant to T.C.A. § 4-5-222. Agencies shall include only their responses to public hearing comments, 
which can be summarized. No letters of inquiry from parties questioning the rule will be accepted. When no 
comments are received at the public hearing, the agency need only draft a memorandum stating such and include 
it with the Rulemaking Hearing Rule filing. Minutes of the meeting will not be accepted. Transcripts are not 
acceptable. 

Comment 1 
0780-04-02-.15(1 )(b) 

It was commented that many holding companies have a letter from the Federal Reserve Board that is probably 
buried in a file from thirty years ago and not easily accessible as proof of registration of that specific type of proof. 

Response to Comment 1 

Although proof of registration in the form of the original letter from the Federal Reserve Board may be difficult for 
companies to produce, the rule is sufficiently worded broadly as "proof of registration" leaving room for the 
Tennessee Securities Division staff to be flexible with accepting acceptable proof that the company is registered 
with the Federal Reserve Board. 

Comment 2 
0780-04-02-.15(1 )(c) and (3) 

It was commented that the rule reads that a holding company must file a registration with the US Securities and 
Exchange Commission ("SEC") to qualify for this exemption when before holding companies could use an 
exemption from registration with the SEC while applying for this state exemption. The commenter suggested 
adding the words "if any" to end of subdivisions (1)(c) and (3) to clarify 

Response to Comment 2 

The Department agrees with this comment. The words "if applicable" have been added to the end of subdivisions 
(1 )(c) and (3) to clarify that a copy of the SEC registration statement must be filed only if it is applicable. 
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Regulatory Flexibility Addendum 

Pursuant to T.C.A. §§ 4-5-401 through 4-5-404, prior to initiating the rulemaking process, all agencies shall 
conduct a review of whether a proposed rule or rule affects small business. 

The Department of Commerce and Insurance has considered whether the proposed rules in these Rulemaking 
Hearing Rules are such that they will have an economic impact on small businesses (businesses with fifty (50) or 
fewer employees). The proposed rules are not anticipated to have a significant impact on small businesses. 
Tenn. Code Ann. §§ 48-1-1 03(a)(7), 48-1-1 03(a)(12), and 48-1-116 authorize the Commissioner to promulgate 
rules to carry out the Tennessee Securities Act and specifically authorize the Commissioner to request additional 
information for the Non-Profit exemption and Bank holding Company exemption. The proposed amendments will 
add clarity and consistency for those exemption filings. 

The outcome of the analysis set forth in Tenn. Code Ann. § 4-5-403 is as follows: 

(1) The type or types of small business and an identification and estimate of the number of small businesses 
subject to the proposed rule that would bear the cost of, or directly benefit from the proposed rule. 

The proposed rules will only apply to non-profit companies, bank holding companies or savings and loan 
companies who seek to claim an exemption from filing a registration statement to sell securities in Tennessee. 
While there may be some of those companies considered to be small business affected by these rules, it is 
estimated that this number is small. 

(2) The projected reporting, recordkeeping and other administrative costs required for compliance with the 
proposed rule, including the type of professional skills necessary for preparation of the report or record. 

The projected reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs associated with compliance with 
this proposed rule are not anticipated to increase from that which exists under the current rules these proposed 
rules amend. 

(3) A statement of the probable effect on impacted small businesses and consumers. 

The effect on small businesses is minimal. The proposed amendment will provide more clarity and 
consistency for exemption filers. 

(4) A description of any less burdensome, less intrusive or less costly alternative methods of achieving the 
purpose and objectives of the proposed rule that may exist, and to what extent the alternative means might be 
less burdensome to small business. 

There are no alternative methods to make the proposed rule less costly, less intrusive, or less 
burdensome. 

(5) A comparison of the proposed rule with any federal or state counterparts. 

A federal exemption for non-profit companies issuing securities can be found in Section 3(a)(4) of the 
Securities Act of 1933, codified at 15 U.S.C. § 77c(a)(4). Most states have similar exemptions that provide 
registration exemptions for non-profit companies and bank holding companies. 

(6) Analysis of the effect of the possible exemption of small businesses from all or any part of the 
requirements contained in the proposed rule. 

Only non-profit companies, bank holding companies, or savings and loan companies who seek to claim 
an exemption from filing a registration statement to sell securities in Tennessee will use this rule. Exempting any 
company from these proposed rules would place Tennessee residents at a risk of investing in unfair or unjust 
securities offerings issued within the State of Tennessee. 
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Impact on Local Governments 

Pursuant to T.C.A. §§ 4-5-220 and 4-5-228 "any rule proposed to be promulgated shall state in a simple 
declarative sentence, without additional comments on the merits of the policy of the rules or regulation, whether 
the rule or regulation may have a projected impact on local governments." {See Public Chapter Number 1070 
{http://state.tn.us/sos/acts/1 06/pub/pc1 070.pdf) of the 2010 Session of the General Assembly) 

These rules do not impact local governments. 
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Additional Information Required by Joint Government Operations Committee 

All agencies, upon filing a rule, must also submit the following pursuant to T.C.A. § 4-5-226(i)(1). 

(A) A brief summary of the rule and a description of all relevant changes in previous regulations effectuated by 
such rule; 

The amendments will add clarity and consistency for exemption filings. An added effective period and renewal 
instructions to each exemption will provide additional guidance to issuers claiming the exemption and provide 
consistency in application of internal policies for reviewing these exemptions in the Registration Section of the 
Securities Division. The amendments also clean up out-of-date references to an obsolete North American 
Securities Administrators Association's ("NASAA"). Statement of Policy. 

(B) A citation to and brief description of any federal law or regulation or any state law or regulation mandating 
promulgation of such rule or establishing guidelines relevant thereto; 

This rule is authorized by various provisions of the Tennessee Securities Act of 1980 (T.C.A. §§ 48-1-101 et 
seq.), particularly T.C.A. § 48-1-116, which provides that the Commissioner "may from time to time make, 
promulgate, amend, and rescind such rules, forms, and orders as are necessary to carry out this part" and 
T.C.A. §§ 48-1-103(a)(7) and 48-1-103(a)(12), the corresponding statutory provisions for non-profit company 
exemptions and bank holding company exemptions, respectively. 

(C) Identification of persons, organizations, corporations or governmental entities most directly affected by this 
rule, and whether those persons, organizations, corporations or governmental entities urge adoption or 
rejection of this rule; 

These rules will only apply to non-profit companies or bank holding companies who seek to claim an exemption 
from filin a re istration statement to sell securities in Tennessee. 

(D) Identification of any opinions of the attorney general and reporter or any judicial ruling that directly relates to 
the rule or the necessity to promulgate the rule; 

I The Department is not aware of any attorney general opinions or any judicial rulings directly related to this rule. 

(E) An estimate of the probable increase or decrease in state and local government revenues and expenditures, 
if any, resulting from the promulgation of this rule, and assumptions and reasoning upon which the estimate 
is based. An agency shall not state that the fiscal impact is minimal if the fiscal impact is more than two 
percent (2%) of the agency's annual budget or five hundred thousand dollars ($500,000), whichever is less; 

I These rules will not affect state or local government revenues and expenditures. 

(F) Identification of the appropriate agency representative or representatives, possessing substantial knowledge 
and understanding of the rule; 

Frank Borger-Gilligan, Assistant Commissioner; 
Elizabeth Bowling, Direct of Registration for the Securities Division; 
Kaycee Wolf, Chief Counsel for Insurance, Securities, and TennCare Oversight 

(G) Identification of the appropriate agency representative or representatives who will explain the rule at a 
scheduled meeting of the committees; 

I Kaycee Wolf, Chief Counsel for Insurance, Securities, and TennCare Oversight 

(H) Office address, telephone number, and email address of the agency representative or representatives who 
will explain the rule at a scheduled meeting of the committees; and 

Floor, Nashville, TN 37243; (615) 253-1821; 
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(I) Any additional information relevant to the rule proposed for continuation that the committee requests. 
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Nashville, TN 37243 
Phone: 615-741-2650 
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For Department of State Use Only 

Sequence Number: 08-1\-li-
Rule ID(s): 

File Date: 

Effective Date: -~\J id-\!'t ···-·-· 

Rulemaking Hearing Rule(s) Filing Form 
Rulemaking Hearing Rules are rules filed after and as a result of a rulemaking hearing (Tenn. Code Ann. § 4-5-205). 

Pursuant to Tenn. Code Ann. § 4-5-229, any new fee or fee increase promulgated by state agency rule shall take effect on July 1, following 
the expiration of the ninety (90) day period as provided in § 4-5-207. This section shall not apply to rules that implement new fees or fee 
increases that are promulgated as emergency rules pursuant to§ 4-5-208(a) and to subsequent rules that make permanent such emergency 
rules, as amended during the ru/emaking process. In addition, this section shall not apply to state agencies that did not, during the preceding 
two (2) fiscal years, collect fees in an amount sufficient to pay the cost of operating the board, commission or entity in accordance with § 4-29-
121(b). 
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1 
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Departmental Commerce and Insurance 
Securities 

i-· 
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Kaycee Wolf, Chief Cou11sel 
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SECURITIES REGISTRATION AND EXEMPTIONS CHAPTER 0780-04-02 

RULES OF 
TENNESSEE DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE AND INSURANCE DIVISION OF SECURITIES 

CHAPTER 0780-04-02 
SECURITIES REGISTRATION AND EXEMPTIONS 

0780-04-02-.01 
0780-04-02-.02 
0780-04-02-.03 
0780-04-02-.04 
0780-04-02-.05 
0780-04-02-.06 
0780-04-02-.Q? 
0780-04-02-.08 
0780-04-02-.09 

TABLE OF CONTENTS 

Registration by Coordination 
Registration by Qualification 
Securities Registration Generally 
Advertising and Sales Literature 
Renewals 
Standards of Fairness and Reasonableness 
Non-Profit Exemption 
Uniform Limited Offering Exemption 
Successor Corporate Issuers 

0780-04-02-.10 
0780-04-02-.11 
0780-04-02-.12 
0780-04-02-.13 
0780-04-02-.14 

0780-04-02-.15 
0780-04-02-.16 
0780-04-02-.17 

NASDAQ/NMS Exemption 
Reserved 
Notice Filings for Covered Securities 
Notice Filings for Exempt Employee Plans 
Notice Filings for Securities Sold to 
Accredited Investors 
Bank Holding Company Exemption 
Unsolicited Transaction Exemption 
Invest Tennessee Exemption 

Rule 0780-04-02-.07 Non-Profit Exemption is amended by deleting the Rule in its entirety and replacing it 
with the following language: 

0780-04-02-.07 NON-PROFIT EXEMPTION. 

(1) All persons offering securities claimed to be exempt under T.C.A. §_48-1-103(a)(7} shall, at 
least ten (10) days prior to any sale of such securities, file a notice on Form U-1 (including all 
applicable exhibits thereto) accompanied by the following additional information: 

(a} The filing fee as set forth in T.C,A § 48-1-10].(a)(7).; 

\Bf(Jl.l.A statement of the basis for the issuer's qualification for the exemption under T.C.A. 
§_48-1-1 03(a)(7); 

fl;) A copy of the Charter and Bylaws of the issu§r or_ the equivalent entity formation 
governance documents; 

[<;12 Proof of consent to service of process as set forth in T.C.A. § 48-1-1£4; 

,liU A description of the method by which full disclosure of material facts will be made to 
each offeree and a copy of the prospectus, pamphlet, offering circular or similar 
literature should be provided; 

ill Copies of all advertising or other material to be distributed in connection with the 
offering; 

(.g)_ f\ copy of the subscription agreement or other similar agreement; 

itJ.l A copy of any proposed ;agreement or proposed form of agreement with a securities 
broker-dealer or underwriter· 

ill A copy of the preliminary or definitive Tr_ust Indenture and/or Trust Agreement if a!ll(; 

ill An QJlinion of. counsel attesting to the authorjJy of the issuer to offer and sell the 
securities and stating that after the sale the securities IIYill be valid, binding obligations of 
the issuer in accordance with the issuer's governin!U[Q_cuments; 

fl»lhl An undertaking to notify the commissioner immediately upon the receipt of any stop 
order, denial, order to show cause, suspension, or revocation order, injunction or 
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restraining order, or similar order entered by or issued by any regulatory authority or by 
any court, concerning the securities covered by the notice or other securities of the 
issuer currently being offered to the public; aBfl 

Mill A statement of whether or not the issuer has ever been the subject of any order 
described in subparagraph (1 )fl:>)ihl_of this Rule, and if so a description of the order;c 
and 

l1nl Any additional information or documentation that the commissioner may require. 

(2) The issuer-sfla!Hw+lisl1--at~li1B--!el~Bw~tion to offorees In order to be 
exempt under T.CA § 48-1-103/a)(?), a security must meet the following qualifications 

(a) 5;:hurch Bonds 

1. If the iSSHor is sel4Hjj~onds, a EliSG!esufe-ooswmmi--prepared in 
aGGBf€!~aiement of P-oliGy--Re~s--atlof>teEl 
~AA,a&-foported at CCH NA~orts '111001, as it~e amended 
!rom time to tim~~ows at this -~'Me-,---~~ 
stlall-r'!1ean certilicates I~ , , -i~ffi 

~-oo~i1-uroh that -r~ts an ooli§aliG-R-i~ 
S!lesifiG-j:lfiflGir>al-afflBW1! at a s-iaiOO-fate~lf the issuer is selling 
Church Bonds a disclosure document should be prepared in accordance with 
the Statement of Policy Regarding Church Bonds adopted by NASAA and any 
successor policy thereto. 

2. lf-tha-j~el4Hjj-Gefler.al-GllligaOOn-F-iflarwAr+~-e1iWooe 

fleoom~~--a--Gissl~-t!meJ"lt.-flffiJfflfOcl--ln accorEI3flG8-\!Ififfi-tl1e 
~-lo~-ai-Qbljgations ~nfj--i:Jy---Rel1§1ioos-00f\Gffiiflatisf1-s 

aflGj3le<:l--~AA,---a&-Fepofie4-at-GGH NASM Rej:lorls 'll'fl-1~B+,-as 
may-ij-ile amended- Ff}eses-e! this Rule, the-!efm 
~~inancin~-moaf1-l'leies, certificates, or--sim11ar debt 
instruments issued b~OO<; denominations that fef>rosenl a11-o~ 
~specific ~pal-amount a! a stateEk-ate-o!-ffi.!ef-est-For the purposes 
of this Rule the term "Church Bonds" shall be consistent with the definition set 
forth in the Statement of Policy Regarding Church Bonds adopted by NASAA 
and any successor policy thereto. 

(b) If the issuer is selling Health Care Facility Bonds, a disclosure dowm~afed-ffi 
3GGOf4ance with~-P~8H1ty Offerings adopte4-ily 
Ni\SAI\ as reported at CCH W\SAA Reports ~01, as it -may-be- amondofl-4rem 
time to time. Fef-!*Jrposos ol-!his-Rt!le,#lo-iefffi-"Heallh Care FaGility-BGruls"-&ha!l 
mea!+-80f4ificates -i~l-ooies, bends, er simila~umofll:.,...~--by-a 
non profi~faGil~OSORt an obligation to repay a sr>eGlfio principal 
~~interest Church Extension Funds 

1. II the issuer is selling notes issued by a Church Extension Fund. a disclosure 
document should be prepared 1n accordance with the Statement of Policy 
Regarding Church Extension Fund Securities adopted bv NASAA and any 
successor policy thereto. 

2. For the purposes of this rule the term "Church Extension Fund" shall _be 
consistent with the definition set forth in the Statement of Policy Regarding 
Church Extension Fund Securities adopted by NASAA and any successor 
policy thereto. 
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(c) lf--IAe~is-OOl~l'itJeG-ifl-~Fa~1 )(a b) -el--il1iB--Rt!le For all 
other securities exempt under TCA § 48-1-1 03(a)(7) lha! do not meet the 
qualifications o! subsection (2)(a)-(b), the disclosure document must contain the 
following information: 

1. Financial statements of the issuer prepared in accordance with generally 
accepted accounting principles including, but not limited to, the following: 

(i) A balance sheet as of the end of the most recent fiscal year of the 
issuer; and 

(ii) A statement of income for each of the issuer's three (3) most recent 
fiscal years. 

2. A statement from the issuer setting forth the issuer's plan for paying the 
principal and interest due on the securities to be sold, including, but not 
limited to, anticipated sources of revenue to be used in paying such principal 
and interest, and supporting financial information;-amt 

3. A statement as to whether or not the issuer or any affiliate or predecessor 
has had any material default during the past ten (10) years in the payment of: 

(i) Principal, interest, dividends, or sinking fund installments on any security 
or indebtedness for borrowed money; or 

(ii) Rentals under material leases with terms of three (3) years or more-; and 

(d) Legend. for _all s§g_urities exempt under T.CA §. 48-1-1 O:;t@lfZt +!he offering 
document shall display on its cover substantially the following information, to the 
extent appropriate, in capital letters and, if printed, in boldface roman type at 
least as high as ten (10) point modern type: 

IN MAKING AN INVESTMENT DECISION INVESTORS MUST 
RELY ON THEIR OWN EXAMINATION OF THE ISSUER AND 
THE TERMS OF THE OFFERING, INCLUDING THE MERITS 
AND RISKS INVOLVED. 

THESE SECURITIES HAVE NOT BEEN RECOMMENDED BY 
ANY FEDERAL OR STATE SECURITIES COMMISSION OR 
REGULATORY AUTHORITY. FURTHERMORE, THE 
FOREGOING AUTHORITIES HAVE NOT CONFIRMED THE 
ACCURACY OR DETERMINED THE ADEQUACY OF THIS 
DOCUMENT ANY REPRESENTATION TO THE CONTRARY 
IS A CRIMINAL OFFENSE. 

THESE SECURITIES ARE SUBJECT TO RESTRICTIONS ON 
TRANSFERABILITY AND RESALE AND MAY NOT BE 
TRANSFERRED OR RESOLD EXCEPT AS PERMITTED 
UNDER THE SECURITIES ACT OF 1933, AS AMENDED, AND 
THE APPLICABLE STATE SECURITIES LAWS, PURSUANT 
TO REGISTRATION OR EXEMPTION THEREFROM. 
INVESTORS SHOULD BE AWARE THAT THEY MAY BE 
REQUIRED TO BEAR THE FINANCIAL RISK OF THIS 
INVESTMENT FOR AN INDEFINITE PERIOD OF TIME. 
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Ql Effective Period. Each offering shall be effective for a period of one (1) year from the date of 
effectiveness. 

l!)) Amendments. During the effective period, the issuer undertakes to file supplements and 
amendments to the originally filed offering documents pursuant to paragraph (1 ){e) with the 
commissioner prior to use in the offerm 

L§l Renewal. The offering may be renewed lor an additional period .of one (1) year by filing the 
notification requirements ofT CA § 48-1-103(a)(7) and this Rule, incl\!_ding thEUaPJ1ropri;Jte 
filing fee no later than ten ( 1 0) days prior to the expiration of effectiveness. 

Authority: T.C.A §§ 48-1-103(a)(7), 48-1-113 48-1-115, ami 48-1-116J!Dd48-1-124. 

Rule 0780-04-02-.15 Bank Holding Company Exemption is amended by deleting the Rule in its entirety 
and replacing it with the following language: 

0780-04-02-.15 BANK HOlDING COMPANY EXEMPTION. 

( 1) All issuers .w1'19--wisl1--te--Bfferc--seGllfilies--ffi--eHflffi--tflis·-Blaie--ifl--f.elianco on a~ 
afford ad to sales--of-.sesurities by a -f>all.k--holdillfl-GofFf138~ifl§'&·.aAEl·-1BaR--lmkiif'l§ 
semf*lll'j-rntffil~comfllissiooor-R<l-ial€+--tilan-tel+-{~fk>r-to the first-saJec 
persons offering securities claimed to be exempt under T.C.A. § 48-1-103{a)(12) sh~\ 
least ten {1 0) days prior to. any sale of such soc~rjjj.es file a notice on Form U-1 (includin.ll.J![l 
.?QQiicable exhibits thereto) accompanied by the following additional information: 

{c) li'-iho issuer-is-a--Gefj:lOf.ai:i~orm-\J.-~-{}rm-e!-Gefflorate R.eseltilief1_6 
copy of the registration statement filed with the SEC, if applicable; 

(d) ~~!ee-ffi-too amount o~4ollafs-($4.Qll~Rtl Proof 
of consent to service of process as set forth in T.CA § 48-1-124; 

(e) A-BGJ3.Y-ef.-all sales ·el' advertising literature useE! or proposeEI to be use4-.<,;m:Jies of all 
advertising or other material to be distributed in connection with the offering;_and 

ill Any additional information or documentation that the commissioner may require. 

0 Effective Period. Each offering shall be effectil(e for a period of one (1) year from the date of 
effectiveness. 

Ql Amendments. During the effective period, the issuer shall concurrently file with the 
commissioner '!DY amendments filed with the SEC if applicable. 

ill Renewal. The offering may be renewed for an additional period of one (1) year i;2y filing the 
notification requirements of T.CA§ 48-1-103(a)(12) and this Rule, including the appropriate 
filing fee, no later than ten (10) days prior to the expiration of effectiveness. 

Authority: TC.A §§ 48-1-103f!JjfW)@llfll, 48-1-113, 48-1-115, 48-1-116, and 48-1-124. 
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* If a roll-call vote was necessary, the vote by the Agency on these rulemaking hearing rules was as follows: 

Board Member Aye No Abstain Absent Signature 
(if required) 

I certify that this is an accurate and complete copy of rulemaking hearing rules, lawfully promulgated and adopted 
by the Commissioner of Commerce and Insurance (board/commission/ other authority) on U! I S l1 I 
(mm/dd/yyyy), and is in compliance with the provisio~s of T.C.A. § 4-5-222. 

I further certify the following: 

Notice of Rulemaking Hearing filed with the Department of State on: December 13, 2016 

Rulemaking Hearing(s) Conducted on: (add more dates). February 6, 2017 

Date: 

Signature: 

Title of Officer: Commissioner of Commerce and Insurance 

Subscribed and sworn to before me on: (.p }5flL ~ ,. 
Notary Public Signature: tA..f)j_&:f_[~,{U,f 

My commission expires on: ----'--;111'-/-'-I~S"i/'-'dD:"'-'"'------------
All rulemaking hearing rules provided for herein have been examined by the Attorney General and Reporter of the 
State of Tennessee and are approved as to legality pursuant to the provisions of the Administrative Procedures 
Act, Tennessee Code Annotated, Title 4, Chapter 5. 

Dl!l!artment of State Use Only 
V\ !·o-

I' 

--
(_, 

ery Ill 
Attorney General and Reporter 

7/i..!/un r r Date 

Filed with the Department of State on: ----"l?"-llwl.=4'-l[rt~1=L-______ _ 

Effective on: ___ .l.l\.4 t__,\_.',l,_\l-
1 
tlf'-,t""]"~-~t---:J"""A __ _ 

~reHargett 
Secretary of State 
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G.O.C. STAFF RULE ABSTRACT 

DEPARTMENT: 

DIVISION: 

SUBJECT: 

STATUTORY AUTHORITY: 

EFFECTIVE DATES: 

FISCAL IMPACT 

STAFF RULE ABSTRACT: 

Board of Equalization 

Multiple Use Subclassification 

Tennessee Code Annotated, Section 67-5-801 (b), 
requires the State Board of Equalization to 
establish guidelines by rules as to how to apportion 
subclassifications and assessment percentages 
when a parcel of real property is used for more than 
one purpose. 

November 21, 2017 through June 30, 2018 

Minimal 

These rulemaking hearing rules represent an 
attempt by the State Board of Equalization to 
comply with the language in Tennessee Code 
Annotated, Section§ 67-5-801 (b), which requires 
the State Board of Equalization to establish 
guidelines by rules as to how to apportion 
subclassifications and assessment percentages 
when a parcel of real property is used for more than 
one purpose. Because there are no rules currently 
in place, split use classifications are not always 
handled uniformly. These rules will help ensure 
that assessors across the state are handling these 
classifications fairly and uniformly and will provide 
both taxpayers and assessors with guidance. The 
proposed rules also provide multiple examples to 

· help assessors and taxpayers. 
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Public Hearing Comments 

One copy of a document containing responses to comments made at the public hearing must accompany the 
filing pursuant to T.CA § 4-5-222. Agencies shall include only their responses to public hearing comments, 
which can be summarized. No letters of inquiry from parties questioning the rule will be accepted. When no 
comments are received at the public hearing, the agency need only draft a memorandum stating such and include 
it with the Rulemaking Hearing Rule filing. Minutes of the meeting will not be accepted. Transcripts are not 
acceptable 

We did receive comments from several individuals at the Public Hearing on the first version of these 
proposed rules, on October 17, 2016. Don Collier (on behalf of the Tennessee Farm Winegrowers Alliance) 
testified about slim profit margins in the winery industry and the growth of that industry. AI Ganier, a farm owner, 
read written comments and urged consideration of the Right to Farm Act's definition of agriculture in the proposed 
rules. Jay Catignani, a tax representative, testified that the proposed rules would generate many appeals, that 
farm uses would be the most impacted, and that he was concerned about uniform implementation. Stephanie 
Hazeltine, a farm owner, testified that Tennessee needs more, not fewer, farmers. Amy Ladd, a farm owner and 
officer of the Tennessee Agritourism Association, read written comments in support of the agritourism industry 
and its supplementation of farm income. Dan Elrod, on behalf of the Tennessee Farm Bureau Federation, 
discussed the evolution of farming and encouraged revisions of the proposed rules to incorporate the definitions 
of agriculture from the Tennessee Code Annotated. Marshall Albritton, an attorney who represents a farm owner 
in an appeal, testified that he believed the proposed rules conflicted with statutes and would result in arbitrary 
implementation. Brandon Witt, a farm owner, testified that he already has a slim profit margin and he expected 
arbitrary implementation under the proposed rules. Cindy Delvin, a farm owner and officer in the Tennessee 
Organic Growers Association, testified regarding the growing popularity of farmers markets, the food movement 
bringing people back to the farm, and the legal expenses of property tax appeals. Will Denami, on behalf of the 
Tennessee Association of Assessing Officers, testified that his organization would submit written comments. Stan 
Butt, on behalf of the Tennessee Dairy Producers Association, testified that rural assessors would resist these 
proposed rules. Chas Pullen, a vineyard manager, testified that his vineyard is presently taxed at a commercial 
rate. (The SBOE looked into this statement and the vineyard in question is presently only partially classified 
commercial.) 

Based on many of the comments received at the Rulemaking Hearing, we revised the proposed rules. At 
the SBOE meeting on June 22, 2017, Dan Elrod, on behalf of the Tennessee Farm Bureau Federation, spoke in 
support of the current version. 
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Regulatory Flexibility Addendum 

Pursuant to T.C.A. §§ 4-5-401 through 4-5-404, prior to initiating the rule making process, all agencies shall 
conduct a review of whether a proposed rule or rule affects small business. 

(Insert statement here) 

These rules could affect small businesses if those,small businesses are part of a property used for multiple 
purposes. These rules are generally meant to codify existing practice, and so they should have only a minimal 
effect. 
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Impact on Local Governments 

Pursuant to T.C.A. §§ 4-5-220 and 4-5-228 "any rule proposed to be promulgated shall state in a simple 
declarative sentence, without additional comments on the merits of the policy of the rules or regulation, whether 
the rule or regulation may have a projected impact on)ocal governments." (See Public Chapter Number 1070 
(http://state.tn.us/sos/acts/1 06/pub/pc1 070.pdf) of the 2010 Session of the General Assembly) 

(Insert statement here) 

These rules could impact local governments in that the rules offer guidance to local assessors as to how to 
assess real properties with more than one use. Though these rules are meant to codify existing practice, it is 
possible that different counties across the state have been assessing multiple-use properties in somewhat 
different manners, and so there could be some changes in assessment classifications for certain properties and 
therefore some changes in tax amounts collected by counties. 
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Additional Information Required by Joint Government Operations Committee 

All agencies, upon filing a rule, must also submit the following pursuant to T.C.A. § 4-5-226(i)(1). 

(A) A brief summary of the rule and a description of all relevant changes in previous regulations effectuated by 
such rule; 

These proposed rules represent an attempt by the State Board of Equalization to comply with the language of 
Tenn. Code Ann. § 67-5-801(b) which requires the SJate Board of Equalization to establish guidelines by rules 
and regulations as to how to apportion subclassifications and assessment percentages when a parcel of real 
property is used for more than one purpose. Because there are no rules currently in place, split use 
classifications are not always handled uniformly. These rules will help ensure that assessors across the state 
are handling these classifications fairly and uniformly and will provide both taxpayers and assessors with 
guidance. The proposed rules also provide multiple examples to help assessors and taxpayers. 

(B) A citation to and brief description of any federal law or regulation or any state law or regulation mandating 
promulgation of such rule or establishing guidelines relevant thereto; 

Tenn. Code. Ann. § 67-5-801(b) requires the State Board of Equalization to establish guidelines by rules and 
regulations as to how to apportion subclassifications and assessment percentages when a parcel of real 
property is used for more than one purpose. 

(C) Identification of persons, organizations, corporations or governmental entities most directly affected by this 
rule, and whether those persons, organizations, corporations or governmental entities urge adoption or 
rejection of this rule; 

Assessors; taxpayers who own real property used for more than one purpose; Comptroller of the Treasury, 
Division of Pro ert Assessments. Those entities ur e ado lion of these rules as most recent! amended. 

(D) Identification of any opinions of the attorney general and reporter or any judicial ruling that directly relates to 
the rule or the necessity to promulgate the rule; 

None 

(E) An estimate of the probable increase or decrease in state and local government revenues and expenditures, 
if any, resulting from the promulgation of this rule, and assumptions and reasoning upon which the estimate 
is based. An agency shall not state that the fiscal impact is minimal if the fiscal impact is more than two 
percent (2%) of the agency's annual budget or five hundred thousand dollars ($500,000), whichever is less; 

I Minimal fiscal impact anticipated. These rules are meant to codify existing practice. 

(F) Identification of the appropriate agency representative or representatives, possessing substantial knowledge 
and understanding of the rule; 

I Stephanie Maxwell, General Counsel to the Comptroller 

(G) Identification of the appropriate agency representative or representatives who will explain the rule at a 
scheduled meeting of the committees; 

I Stephanie Maxwell, General Counsel to the Comptroller 

(H) Office address, telephone number, and email address of the agency representative or representatives who 
will explain the rule at a scheduled meeting of the committees; and 

Stephanie Maxwell, General Counsel to the Comptroller, 505 Deaderick Street, Suite 1700, Nashville, TN 
37243; 615 401-7964; ste hanie.maxwell cot.tn. ov 

(I) Any additional information relevant to the rule proposed for continuation that the committee requests. 

31



I Available upon request. 
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0600-12-.01 PURPOSE 

The purpose of these rules is to implement the provision of T.C.A. § 67-5-801(b) concerning the establishment of 
guidelines for apportionment among subclasses where a parcel of real property is used for more than one (1) 
purpose, which would result in different subclassifications and different assessment percentages. 

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 4-3-5103,67-1-305 and 67-5-801(b). 

0600-12-.02 APPLICABILITY 

These rules apply to those situations where a parcel of real property is used for more than one purpose and it is 
necessary to assign different subclassifications and assessment percentages to each use. 

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 4-3-5103, 67-1-305 and 67-5-801(b). 

0600-12-.03 DEFINITIONS 

As used in these rules, unless the context otherwise requires: 

(1) "Assessment percentage" means the rate of assessment set forth in T.C.A. § 67-5-801(a) for 
'public utility property,' 'industrial and commercial property,' 'residential property,' and 'farm 
property.' 

(2) "Farm property" is defined as in T.C.A. § 67-5-501(3). 

(3) "Industrial and commercial property" is defined as in T.C.A. § 67-5-501(4). 

(4) "Mobile home" is any movable structure and appurtenance that is attached to real property by 
virtue of being on a foundation, or being underpinned, or connected with any one (1) utility 
service, such as electricity, natural gas, water, or telephone. 

(5) "Multiple-use subclassification" means the apportionment of different assessment percentages 
among subclasses when a parcel of real property is used for more than one purpose which would 
result in different subclassifications. 

(6) "Public utility property" is defined as in T.C.A. § 67-5-501(8). 

(7) "Residential property" is defined as in T.C.A. § 67-5-501(10). 

(8) "Subclass" and "Subclassification" mean the classification of real property as public utility 
property, industrial and commercial property, residential property or farm property in accordance 
with T.C.A. §§ 67-5-501 and 67-5-801(a). 

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 4-3-5103, 67-1-305 and 67-5-801(b). 

0600-12-.04 

( 1) 

(2) 

DETERMINING WHEN MULTIPLE-USE SUBCLASSIFICATION IS APPROPRIATE 

Many properties are used for more than one purpose simultaneously. Where the uses of a 
property fall into two (2) or more subclasses, the assessor shall determine the share of the 
market value of the property attributable to each subclass and assess the property according to 
the proportion each share constitutes of the total market value. 

Multiple-use subclassification is appropriate only where each of the uses recognized for 
subclassification is distinct and ongoing. Where a parcel is used predominantly for one purpose 
and another use is sporadic and generates de minimis annual income, the parcel should be 
assessed in accordance with the predominant use. Where a parcel is used predominantly for one 
purpose and another use as described above is sporadic but generates regular annual income 
that is not de minimis, the parcel should be assessed using multiple-parcel subclassification. 
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(3) Below are examples of when multiple-use subclassification is appropriate: 

(a) Home businesses run from a residential property to carry on a trade or business such as 
a beauty salon, small day care, or car repair service {portion used in business to be 
subclassified commercial); 

(b) A building with a retail store on the first floor and an owner-occupied residence on the 
second floor (portion used in business to be subclassified commercial); 

(c) A manufacturing facility with excess land used for farming (portion farmed to be 
subclassified farm); 

(d) Mobile home parks with on-site privately owned mobile homes (portions rented to be 
subclassified commercial, owner-occupied mobile home to be subclassified residential); 

(e) Properties used in the commercial production of farm products and nursery stock but 
which also have uses not within the definition of "agriculture" otherwise provided by law. 
As used in the rules, "commercial production of farm products and nursery stock" means 
the production is consistent with a farm operating for profit for federal income tax 
purposes. Examples requiring a split subclassification of agricultural property would 
include portions of a farm that generate regular annual income (as opposed to sporadic 
and de minimis income) from regular rental of space set aside for parking or camping, or 
portions of a horse farm devoted to uses such as a shop engaged in the retail sale of 
tack. Boarding of animals integral to breeding, raising and development of horses and 
other livestock at the property is not considered a commercial use for purposes of these 
rules; 

(f) Portions of farms with commercial activities unrelated to production of farm products or 
livestock, except commercial activities constituting "agriculture" as defined by law. 
Improvements and structures on, and land that is part of, a farm engaged in the 
commercial production of farm products or nursery stock that are used for "agriculture" 
may be classified as farm property, provided the land improvement or structure in 
question is used for one or more of the following: (1) recreational or educational 
activities; (2) retail sales of products produced on the farm, but only if a majority of the 
products sold are produced on the farm; or (3) entertainment activities conducted in 
conjunction with, but secondary to, the commercial production of farm products or 
nursery stock. Commercial subclassification of those portions of a farm used for events 
unrelated to agriculture shall be limited to the actual land and structures dedicated to the 
unrelated uses. 

The foregoing are only examples and do not represent all situations where multiple-use 
subclassification is appropriate. 

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 4-3-5103, 67-1-305 and 67-5-801(b). 

0600-12-.05 APPORTIONING ASSESSMENT PERCENTAGES AMONG SUBCLASSES 

Where the uses of a property include two (2) or more subclasses, the assessor shall apply the appropriate 
assessment percentage to each subclass. In order to determine the appropriate assessment percentage for each 
subclass, the assessor shall first determine the share of the total market value attributable to each subclass. 

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 4-3-5103,67-1-305 and 67-5-801(b). 

0600-12-.06 APPORTIONING VALUE AMONG MULTIPLE SUBCLASSES 
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(1) Where the uses of a property include two (2) or more subclasses, the assessor shall determine 
the share of the market value of the property attributable to each subclass and value the property 
according to the proportion each share constitutes of the total market value. 

(2) In determining the market value of the property, the assessor shall determine the highest and 
best use of the property. 

(a) In certain instances, the predominant use of the property constitutes the highest and best 
use and the assessor must apportion the total value of the property among the 
subclasses based upon the predominant use. An example of such a situation is a 
residence with a home business that does not increase the overall market value of the 
property, such as a small hair salon. In this example, the assessor should value the 
property as a single family residence and apportion the total value between the 
residential and commercial uses. 

(b) In certain instances, the highest and best use of the property is for multiple purposes. An 
example of such a situation is a manufacturing facility with excess acreage utilized for 
farming. In this example, the highest and best use of the acreage is for two distinct 
purposes: farming and manufacturing. The assessor must value the acreage and 
buildings used for farming separately from the acreage and buildings utilized in 
conjunction with manufacturing. The two resulting values would then be added together 
to determine the total value of the property. 

(3) The assessor shall apportion the total market value of the property by assigning separate values 
to each subclass. The apportionment shall reflect the land and improvement values assigned to 
each subclass. In those instances where the land or improvements has insignificant value for one 
of the uses, the assessor may properly assign a separate value to only the component having a 
measurable value. 

(4) The assessor may utilize whatever appraisal methodology appears most appropriate in a 
particular situation so long as it is reasonably designed to arrive at the market value of the 
respective subclasses and/or total value of the parcel. 

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 4-3-5103, 67-1-305 and 67-5-801(b). 

0600-12-.07 EXAMPLES OF APPORTIONING AMONG SUBCLASSES 

EXAMPLE A 

The Taxpayer owns a 2,000-square-foot single residence situated on a one (1) acre lot with a 
total market value of $110,000. The assessor has appraised the home at $100,000 and the land 
at $10,000. The Taxpayer utilizes 500 square feet of her home as a hair salon. Customers park 
in her gravel driveway. The market value of the Taxpayer's parcel is $110,000 with or without the 
hair salon. The assessor should value the property at $110,000 since the predominant use of the 
property as a residence constitutes the highest and best use and the hair salon does not increase 
the overall value of the property. The assessor should subclassify the 500 square feet used for 
the hair salon as "industrial and commercial property." The assessor would subclassify the 
remaining 1,500 square feet as "residential property." Since there is no dedicated parking area 
and the use of the driveway by customers is insignificant, there is no need to assess any of the 
land as "industrial and commercial property." 

EXAMPLE B 

Suppose the facts are the same as in Example A except that the Taxpayer has gone ahead and 
created a designated parking area by paving and setting aside a 0.1 acre portion of the driveway. 
In this example, the assessor would subclassify the 0.1 acre portion of the driveway designated 
for customer parking as "industrial and commercial property" because the predominant use of that 
portion of the driveway is for customer parking. 
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EXAMPLE C 

A Corporation purchased a 1 00-acre parcel of land and constructed a manufacturing facility. 
Although the manufacturing operation only requires 25 acres of land, the corporation purchased 
100 acres in the event it ever decides to expand. Presently, the corporation has no use for 75 
acres and leases it to a farmer who raises soybeans. In this example, the assessor should 
subclassify 25 acres and the associated buildings and improvements as "industrial and 
commercial property." The remaining 75 acres is properly subclassified as "farm property." 

EXAMPLED 

A farmer has been operating a 1 00-acre horse farm which the assessor has historically 
subclassified as "farm property." The farmer decides to open a tack shop and utilizes two (2) 
acres for a retail store and associated parking. In addition, the farmer accepted the local public 
utility's offer to lease five (5) acres for its operations. In this example, the assessor should 
subclassify the 93 acres and associated buildings and improvements used for the horse farm as 
"farm property." The two (2) acres and building used for the tack shop should be subclassified as 
"industrial and commercial property." The five (5) acres leased to the public utility should be 
subclassified as "public utility property." 

EXAMPLE E 

A mobile home park owner owns the land and multiple homes located on the land within the 
mobile home park, and he leases out the mobile homes to tenants. All of the property (land, 
improvements, and mobile homes) should be subclassified as "industrial and commercial 
property". On the other hand, if a mobile home park owner owns the land within the mobile 
home park but leases the land out to multiple tenants who own their own mobile homes situated 
on the land, then the land and any improvements rented with the land should be subclassified as 
"industrial and commercial property" but each mobile home that is used for residential purposes 
by the mobile home owner or owner's lessee should be subclassified as "residential property" 
unless it is part of multiple rental units under common ownership. 

Authority: Tennessee Constitution, Article II,§ 28; T.C.A. §§ 4-3-5103, 67-1-305, 67-5-502(a)(1), 67-5-501, 67-5-
502(a)(1), 67-5-801(b), and 67-5-802(a)(1). 

0600-12-.08 ASSESSOR'S RECORDS 

The assessor shall note on the property record card all instances wherein multiple-use subclassification has been 
used. Although no particular format must be utilized due to the various assessment systems employed 
throughout Tennessee, two acceptable formats are the creation of special interest cards or listing the multiple 
subclasses on different pages of the property record cards. Regardless of the format used, the property record 
card shall reflect both the value and assessment percentage assigned to each subclass. 

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 4-3-5103, 67-1-305, 67-5-801(b) and 67-5-804. 

* If a roll-call vote was necessary, the vote by the Agency on these rulemaking hearing rules was as follows: 

Board Member Aye No Abstain Absent Signature 
(if required} 

Bennett X 
Burchett X 
Hargett X 
Lillard X 
Gerreqano X 
Tarwater X 
Wilson X 

I certify that this is an accurate and complete copy of rulemaking hearing rules, lawfully promulgated and adopted 
by the State Board of Equalization on 06/22/2017 and is in compliance with the provisions of T.C.A. § 4-5-222. 
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I further certify the following: 

Notice of Rulemaking Hearing filed with the Department of State on: 08/22/2016 

Rulemaking Hearing(s) Conducted on: (add more dates). 1011712016 

Date: , ~ - ~ ~ d, 0 \'"'l 
Signature: ij ~~~ 
of Officer: Betsy Knotts 

Title of Officer: Executive Secretary, SBOE 

and sworn to before me on: ~~ 

Notary Public Signature: c~ 
My commission expires on: ·1- lo- 'LO'L-0 

Agency/Board/Commission: State Board of Equalization 

All rulemaking hearing rules provided for herein have been examined by the Attorney General and Reporter of the 
State of Tennessee and are approved as to legality pursuant to the provisions of the Administrative Procedures 
Act, T$R\1essee Code Annotated, Title 4, Chapter 5. 

-·· r···· 
(-f') 

di_iMt>J: .JI /;fM: i1r 
Herbert H:Sf:~ Ill 

Attorney General and Reporter 

t'/u~ /'JA>tl 
.· I Date 

:,_l 

Filed with the Department of State on: ---~--''6'1-/ ..,.:2""3'+/'-n_j_ ____ ~_ 
c< ~-
···-L. ~~ 

\.J..l 
en 

Effective on: ____ _,!-"1/c:-:61~1/'"-11_,_ ____ _ 
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Tre Hargett 
Secretary of State 
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G.O.C. STAFF RULE ABSTRACT 

DEPARTMENT: 

DIVISION: 

SUBJECT: 

STATUTORY AUTHORITY: 

EFFECTIVE DATES: 

FISCAL IMPACT: 

STAFF RULE ABSTRACT: 

Alcoholic Beverage Commission 

Sales of Wine at Retail Food Stores 

Tennessee Code Annotated, Title 57, Chapter 3, 
Part 8 (i.e. sale of wine in retail food stores) and 
Part 9 (i.e. the unfair wine sales law). 

November 15, 2017 through June 30, 2018 

Minimal 

These rulemaking hearing rules clarify several 
components of the "wine in grocery store 
legislation," including, but not limited to, the 
definition of wine, the calculation method for the 
20% minimum markup, the definition of the 
closeout, and the definition of the case discount. 
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Public Hearing Comments 

One copy of a document containing responses to comments made at the public hearing must accompany the 
filing pursuant to T.C.A. § 4-5-222. Agencies shall include only their responses to public hearing comments, 
which can be summarized. No letters of inquiry from parties questioning the rule will be accepted. When no 
comments are received at the public hearing, the agency need only draft a memorandum stating such and include 
it with the Rulemaking Hearing Rule filing. Minutes of the meeting will not be accepted. Transcripts are not 
acceptable 

Responses to comments are attached to the end of the form. 
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MEMO 

From: Clayton V. Byrd, Executive Director 

Re: Responses to comments made at public rulemaking hearing 

Date: June 7, 2017 

On March 14,2017, arulemaking hearing was held in accordance with the law. In addition, written 
comments were accepted for a certain period following the hearing. The Tennessee Alcoholic 
Beverage Commission (T ABC) received two comments relevant to the proposed amendments to Ruie 
0100-11. Below is a summary of the comments and the Tennessee TABC's responses to such 
comments: 

WINE THAT MAY BE SOLD IN FOOD STORES -Rule 0100-11-.03(2)-A comment was 
made asking the TABC to revise the proposed rules such that products that are wine based 
imitation cocktails, spirits, or liquors could be sold as wine in licensed food Stores. T.C.A. § 57-3-
802 specifies that products that have been substantially changed due to the addition of flavorings 
and additives cannot be sold as wine in a retail food store. It is the legal opinion of the T ABC that 
such products that are marketed or bottled to appear as imitation cocktails, spirits, or liquors have 
been substantially changed and thus cannot be sold as wine at retail food stores. In response to a 
separate comment, the T ABC further clarified the definition of wine to be sold in food stores to 
conform with the federal Alcohol and Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau (TTB) regulations related to 
suitable agricultural products. 

Sincerely, 

l/f!0 Y 
Executive Director 
Tennessee Alcoholic Beverage Commission 

Tennessee Alcoholic Beverage Commission • 500 james Robertson Parkway 

3'd Floor, Davy Crockett Tower· Nashville, TN 37243 

Tel: 615·741-1 602 • Fax: 615·741·0847 • tn.gov/abc 
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Regulatory Flexibility Addendum 

Pursuant to T.C.A. §§ 4-5-401 through 4-5-404, prior to initiating the rule making process, all agencies shall 
conduct a review of whether a proposed rule or rule affects small business. 

(Insert statement here) 

These rules will impact small businesses that are licensed as retail food stores, retail package stores, and 
wholesaler operations. An exact number of such smpll businesses affected is impossible to estimate at this time, 
but is expected to be substantial and significant. The rules clarify what type of wine may be sold in the 
Tennessee market after the passage of WIGS and the minimum price at which the wine may be sold. The rules 
also clarify when the 20% minimum markup does not apply to the sale of wine in these locations by defining 
several exceptions that are undefined in state law. The rules also establish prohibitions unique to the WIGs 
legislation on corporate advertising for retail food stores as a result of the unfair wine sales law. The rules require 
wholesalers to incorporate some administrative costs in ensuring that certain necessary information is included on 
all invoices, but such requirements are projected to have a minimal impact on small businesses and including 
such information on the invoices is already standard industry practice at the time of adoption of these rules. The 
impact of the rule is beneficial to both small businesses by increasing clarification and certainty on the impact of 
state law, especially with regards to specifying the acceptable exceptions to the 20% minimum markup 
requirement. The portion of the rule clarifying the type of wine that may be sold in food stores was taken in part 
from federal regulations dealing with the definition of wine, but otherwise, there are no state or federal 
counterparts for which this rule can be effectively compared to. The exemption of small businesses from this rule 
would be detrimental to the small businesses of this state and would be contrary to statute. 
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Impact on local Governments 

Pursuant to T.C.A. §§ 4-5-220 and 4-5-228 "any rule proposed to be promulgated shall state in a simple 
declarative sentence, without additional comments on the merits of the policy of the rules or regulation, whether 
the rule or regulation may have a projected impact on local governments." (See Public Chapter Number 1070 
(http://state.tn.us/sos/acts/1 06/pub/pc1 070.pdf) of the 2010 Session of the General Assembly) 

(Insert statement here) 

These rules will not impact local governments. 
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Additional Information Required by Joint Government Operations Committee 

All agencies, upon filing a rule, must also submit the following pursuant to T.C.A. § 4-5-226(i)(1). 

(A) A brief summary of the rule and a description of all relevant changes in previous regulations effectuated by 
such rule; 

These rules clarify several components of the "wine in grocery store legislation," including, but not limited to, the 
definition of wine, the calculation method for the 20%<minimum markup, the definition of the closeout, and the 
definition of the case discount. 

(EI) A citation to and brief description of any federal law or regulation or any state law or regulation mandating 
promulgation of such rule or establishing guidelines relevant thereto; 

Tenn. Code Ann. Title 57, Chapter 3, Part 8 (i.e. sale of wine in retail food stores) and Part 9 (i.e. the unfair wine 
sales law. 

(C) Identification of persons, organizations, corporations or governmental entities most directly affected by this 
rule, and whether those persons, organizations, corporations or governmental entities urge adoption or 
rejection of this rule; 

These rules impact nearly every stakeholder in the alcoholic beverage industry: retailers, wholesalers, 
manufacturers. These rules will impact retail food stores and retail package stores and the items/products that a 
wholesaler may deliver to both retail types under the WIGs law. Moreover, these rule will clarify the price at 
which wine may be sold by both retail types under the unfair wine sales law. 

(D) Identification of any opinions of the attorney general and reporter or any judicial ruling that directly relates to 
the rule or the necessity to promulgate the rule; 

N/A 

(E) An estimate of the probable increase or decrease in state and local government revenues and expenditures, 
if any, resulting from the promulgation of this rule, and assumptions and reasoning upon which the estimate 
is based. An agency shall not state that the fiscal impact is minimal if the fiscal impact is more than two 
percent (2%) of the agency's annual budget or five hundred thousand dollars ($500,000), whichever is less; 

Minimal 

(F) Identification of the appropriate agency representative or representatives, possessing substantial knowledge 
and understanding of the rule; 

I Clay Byrd, Executive Director; Zack Blair, Assistant Director 

(G) Identification of the appropriate agency representative or representatives who will explain the rule at a 
scheduled meeting of the committees; 

I Clay Byrd, Executive Director 

(H) Office address, telephone number, and email address of the agency representative or representatives who 
will explain the rule at a scheduled meeting of the committees; and 

Clay Byrd, Executive Director, 500 James Robertson Parkway, 3rd floor, Nashville, TN, 37243; Clay Byrd 
Cia .B rd tn. ov; 615-741-7620 

(!) Any additional information relevant to the rule proposed for continuation that the committee requests. 

A vast majority of the statutory provisions governing the WIGs legislation took effect on July 1, 
2016. This effective date rom ted an indus! meetin I ublic forum for stakeholder comment on 
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July 7th 2016, in which industry members expressed concerns over ambiguities imbedded within the 
comprehensive framework of the new law. Through communication and collaboration, the TABC 
published guidance to settle the industry's concerns, and these rules represent the product of that collaboration 
and hard work. 
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RULES OF THE TENNESSEE ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE COMMISSION 

CHAPTER 0100-11 RULES FOR SALES OF WINE AT RETAIL FOOD STORES 

Rule 0100-11-.02 is amended bv deleting the rule in its entirety and by substituting instead. the following 
language: 

0100-11-.02 Issuance of Initial Licenses. 

A retail food store wine applicant mav not sell wine to patrons or customers for off-premise consumption, 
in sealed packages only, and not-fur consHmplion on the premises until it has been issued a retail food 
store wine license. Retail food store ~consos shall not be issYe~le-,July 1, 2016. 

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 57-3-104(c)(4) and 57-3-803. 

Rule 0'1 00-11-.03 is amended by deleting the rule in its entirety and by substituting instead, the following 
language: 

01 

I~: 
I I, 

'1: ' ' 
I :I 
I [j 

i il 
:i 

'[i 

fs!l The advertised price per bottle shall not represent or assume a case discount 
unless the requirement of a case purchase is conspicuously stated in the 
advertisement. 

@ A retail food store wine licensee's advertisement shall not use the words 
"exclusive" or "exclusively" in reference to wine. 

ill A retail food store wine licensee's advertisement may use the phrase "select 
varieties" only when advertising a brand but not a specific type of that brand. If 
the advertisement uses the phrase "select varieties," then each wine type from 
that brand shall be available at the advertised price. The phrase "select 
varieties" shall not be used if the advertisement identifies a particular brand and 
~ 

ill Wine that May Be Sold. 

@ The commission will analyze particular products on a case-by-case basis to 
determine whether a product may be sold in a retail food store. In determining 
which products are included in the definition of "wine" at T.C.A. § 57-3-802(2), 
the following factors among others, will be considered: 
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_L whether the product has had substantial changes due to the addition of 
flavorings and additives; 

£. whether the product had been sold in grocery, convenience, and similar 
stores before July 1 ,.2016; 

;t the specific nature of !he product and the manufacturing process; and 

the manner in which the product is marketed and labeled. 

_(h) The nature of the product and the manufacturing process are critical factors for 
determining whether a product is included in the definition of "wine" at T.C.A § 
57-3-802(2). 

ti Ji i;) 
! ,, i Iii 

@.@} Responsibility for Penalties and Violations. 

(a) Licensees are at all times responsible for the conduct of their business and are at 
all times directly responsible for any act or conduct of any employee which is in 
violation of the laws of Tennessee, the rules and regulations of the Commission, 
whether the licensee be present at any such time or not. This section is defined 
to mean that any unlawful, unauthorized, or prohibited act on the part of an agent 
or employee shall be construed as the act of the licensee, and the licensee shall 
be proceeded against as though it were present and had an active part in such 
unlawful, unauthorized, or prohibited act, and as if having been at the licensee's 
direction and with its knowledge. 

(b) In disciplinary proceedings, it shall be no defense that an employee or agent of a 
licensee acted contrary to an order, or that a licensee did not personally 
participate in the unlawful, unauthorized, or prohibited action or actions. 
However, mitigating factors as permitted under the Responsible Wine Vendor 
program may be considered by the Commission. 

(c) In a disciplinary actions brought against a retail food store wine licensee, any 
suspension or revocation of a license shall suspend or revoke the ability of the 
retail food store to sell wine and accept deliveries of wine from wholesalers. A 
suspension or revocation of a license shall not affect the ability of the retail food 
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store to remain open or to sell other items not regulated by the TABC, including 
food items, non-food items, and beer. 

ill Pricing of Wine at Retail Food Stores . 

.@l Pursuant to T.C.A. § 57-3-903, the minimum price at which a retail food store 
wine licensee may sell or advertise a particular wine is twenty percent (20%) 
more than the price per bottle of the particular wine on the retail food store wine 
licensee's most recent wholesaler invoice. 

JQ2 A wholesaler's invoice for wine sold to a retail food store wine licensee shall state 
the cost per bottle of each wine. including all taxes, fees, and charges passed on 
from the wholesaler to the retail food store wine licensee. These taxes, fees. and 
charges include, but are not limited to: 

gallonage taxes; 

1,_ during the final liquidation of a licensee's business: 

£. under the direction of a court. such as a bankruptcy court; 

~ when offering a closeout, which is a reduced price on a brand of wine 
that will no longer be sold by a particular retail food store: provided that: 

(i) the retail food store wine licensee sold the brand offered at 
closeout for at least one hundred twenty {120) days before the 
beginning date of a closeout sale; 

illl the closeout sale shall not last more than ninety {90) days; and 

illlJ. the retail food store wine licensee shall not sell the brand of wine 
sold at closeout for at least one ( 1) year afl"lr the closeout sale 
concludes. 

4. when offering a discount on a case of wine, which may include various 
brands of wine chosen by the consumer and which must include at least: 
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ill twelve (12) bottles containing seven hundred fifty (750) milliliters 
of wine· 

.illl six (6) bottles containing one and a half (1.5) liters of wine; or 

ill12 four (4) boxes containing three (3) liters of wine. 

i§2 A retail food store wine licensee may not sell or advertise wine at a price below 
the cost paid by the retailer to purchase the wine from the wholesaler. 

flli22 Delivery of \IIJine. /\ wholosa10f- may deliver wine to a retail food store wino lioensee at 
onv time the rotai1-fee<l-stsre-1ocalion is open to the public and shall deliver only to the 
business address of the retail food store lioensee al ils ouslomarv loading docl<. If a retail 
food store fails to sell all wine offered during a closeout it may only: 

Donate the wine for use at a licensed special occasion event; 

'!: ,,, 
1 .!1~ W f!l ~~] 

Licerifiee may , ·.:A Retail sell wine only the 
hours of 8:00 a.m. and 11:00 p.m. on Monday through Saturday. A Retail Food Store 
may not make any sale of wine on Sunday or on Christmas, Thanksgiving, Labor Day, 
New Year's Day, or the Fourth of July, 

Mandatory Carding. Prior to making a sale of wine, a Retail Food Store certified clerk 
must inspect a valid unexpired government issued form of identification to ensure that the 
purchaser is over the age of 21. The inspection of the identification must take place in a 
face-to-face transaction. Any government-issued document that has expired shall not be 
deemed to be "valid" for purposes of T.CA § 57-3-808, and as such, a retail food store 
may not sell wine to a person who has not provided an unexpired government-issued 
document that meets the requirements ofT.CA § 57-3-808. 

Sales to Intoxicated Customers. A retail food store shall not make a sale of wine to a 
customer who is visibly intoxicated or accompanied by a person who is visibly 
intoxicated. 

f!lli1ID Customer assistance. An employee of a retail food store may assist customers with 
loading wine in their vehicles as long as the vehicle is parked in the parking area of the 
licensee and such parking area is identified in the application of the retail food store. A 
retail food store permitted clerk must check the identification of any person purchasing 
wine as part of the sale prior to assistance being given to that customer by an employee 
with loading of wine to a vehicle. 
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fllliill Managers. 

(a) Each retail food store wine licensee shall have at least one designated permitted 
manager, but may have two or more designated permitted managers. Only the 
retail food store wine licensee's designated permitted manager(s) may place 
orders for wine with wholesalers. A designated permitted manager may not be 
assigned to more than one retail food store wine licensee. 

(b) A designated permitted manager of a retail food store may transfer his or her 
permit to another retail food store wine licensee by notifying the Commission in 
writing of the effective date of the transfer. All transfer notifications must be made 
prior to the designated permitted manager(s) involvement in the placement of 
wine orders at the new retail food store wine licensee's location. 

i-+Q1(12)Free Access to Licensed Premises Without Warrant. Immediate access, without a 
warrant, to all parts of a retail food store shall at all times be accorded agents, officers or 
representatives of the Commission. 

:· 
1
.:Any license1~~~~~~:~;!agent, or e:~~~:~~~~.~~~~~:~:~ f~f~:.~,~!~![lt:#1 1,~~:~6!i:~~ 

.•• . .. infor~~\~~~il 1to, or who \pfpishes false and/or l!ij1isleading 
' ·:I, or fW~r~~~~tative of t~.~i;Commission upon ~r);y matter 

the conJ~~~~,t' of!ij~~iretail fooU:tore premises shall ~~~~bject the 

Law a~1 ~/!0rder ,,~:~, License,~! ftr~~~~i~~~~ Each lic~p~ee shall 
in a d'9ffi~rt, ordeiiM!i~nd resp1~?)~R!.r.IIJ19f1ner in full f8.?JPiiance 

ComiTliSSIOn. rul~s and ~~gulat1ons, federal St<i\!u:tes, and 
·• •. 1 mu~i,/;,i~f11i\~il~n,~~~hipounty ~rere the licensed pr~[i)ises are 

' renting;]Rri leasing''~)ii!re liceps('ld premises for an ~~~~·ent to a 
. ,, , or cg~f1~ration is sp~9iiically ¢1ffiemed not to be a d~f~rse for a 
· "' 

1 
'.~;*t diminish liq~n;~ee's ~~~~ponsibility to comp

1

1Yiiwith this 
:;i 1·'1 'l;pitl !J,i!.,ii;l,: ::1,

1
!,11.:! ,,::.:.i,<ii. 

i,' ;.. •,',· ~~~~:,!,'.· I I' ' :!! L!.' if,:! 1:: .. 1 

ffili15)Restriction as to Age of Licensee's Employees. Nothing herein shall prohibit a licensee 
from hiring a person under the age of 18 years, however employees under the age of 18 
shall not be permitted to sell wine, beer, malt beverages or hard cider in any 
establishment licensed under the provisions ofT.C.A. § 57-3-803. 

{44)(16)Purchases. Only the designated permitted manager(s) of a retail food store wine licensee 
may place orders for wine with wholesalers. No discounts for wine may take into account 
orders for wine at other locations owned by the licensee. 

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 57 1 209, 57-3-104(c)(4), a~, 57-3-202 57-3-207 57-3-210 57-3-404{+), 57-3-
406 57-3-412, 57-3-802 57-3-803, a+-J.-001>, 57-3-807 57-3-808, 57-3-811' 57-3-812, aOO 57-3-815 57-
3-903 and 57-3-909. 
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* If a roll-call vote was necessary, the vote by the Agency on these rulemaking hearing rules was as follows: 

Board Member Aye No Abstain Absent 

Bryan Kaegi 

Richard Skiles 

John A. Jones 

I certify that this is an accurate and complete copy of rulemaking hearin es, lawfully promu ed and adopted 
by the Tennessee Alcoholic Beverage Commission (board/commission/ other authority) on 05/23/2017 
(mm/dd/yyyy), and is in compliance with the provisions ofT.C.A. § 4-5-222. 

I further certify the following: 

Notice of Rulemaking Hearing filed with the Department of State on: 01/17/17 

Rulemaking Hearing(s) Conducted on: (add more dates). 0311412017 

Date: .-L:._>""'z-.c"'3'-· c:-1_~)_: ---:..-----------

tJYvtz£ Signature: 

Name of Officer: Cia B rd 
~~~~------------------------------

Title of Officer: -=E.:.:xe:::c:::u::.ot:.:iv.::e_:D::.:i:.:re'-'c"'to"'r-'-, _:.T.:...A:::B:.::C:.._ ___________ _ 

My commission expires on: ·7 (n (~ o).t2. 
---"-~L2~~-------------------

Agency/Board/Commission: _____________ _ 

Rule Chapter Number(s): _____________________________ __ 

All rulemaking hearing rules provided for herein have been examined by the Attorney General and Reporter of the 
State of Tennessee and are approved as to legality pursuant to the provisions of the Administrative Procedures 
Act, Tennessee Code Annotated, Title 4, Chapter 5. 

Department of State Use Only 
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Filed with the Department of State on: _()'-"----'"75'----------\_l-'----\_,__l,__ ____ _ 

Effective on: _ __,\'-'-\_-____,_\ ~S,__:__,_.,_\_J_..,..,_~-------,.· +---

JiljydJ 
/ Tre Hargett 

Secretary of State 
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G.O.C. STAFF RULE ABSTRACT 

DEPARTMENT: 

DIVISION: 

SUBJECT: 

STATUTORY AUTHORITY: 

EFFECTIVE DATES: 

FISCAL IMPACT: 

STAFF RULE ABSTRACT: 

Finance and Administration 

Administration 

Access to Public Records 

Tennessee Code Annotated, Section 10-7-503(g). 

November 23, 2017 through June 30, 2018 

None 

These rules are being repealed in accordance with 
Tennessee Code Annotated, Section 10-7-503(9), 
which requires each agency to adopt a public 
records policy. The Department of Finance and 
Administration has adopted the public records 
policy designed by the Office of Open Records 
Policy, in large part. 
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Regulatory Flexibility Addendum 

Pursuant to T.C.A. §§ 4-5-401 through 4-5-404, prior to initiating the rule making process, all agencies shall 
conduct a review of whether a proposed rule or rule affects small business. 

This rule will not have any impact on small businesses. 

Impact on Local Governments 

Pursuant to T.C.A. §§ 4-5-220 and 4-5-228 "any rule proposed to be promulgated shall state in a simple 
declarative sentence, without additional comments on the merits of the policy of the rules or regulation, whether 
the rule or regulation may have a projected impact on local governments." (See Public Chapter Number 1070 
(http://state.tn.us/sos/acts/1 06/pub/pc1 070.pdf) of the 2010 Session of the General Assembly) 

This rule will not have any impact on local governments. 
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Additional Information Required by Joint Government Operations Committee 

All agencies, upon filing a rule, must also submit the following pursuant to T.CA § 4-5-226(i)(1). 

(A) A brief summary of the rule and a description of all relevant changes in previous regulations effectuated by 
such rule; 

These rules are being repealed in accordance with Tenn. Code Ann.§ 10-7-503(g), which requires each agency 
to adopt a public records policy. The Department of Finance and Administration has adopted the public records 
policy designed by the Office of Open Records Policy, in lar~e part. http://comptroller.tn.gov/openrecords/ 

(B) A citation to and brief description of any federal law or regulation or any state law or regulation mandating 
promulgation of such rule or establishing guidelines relevant thereto; 

I Tenn. Code Ann. §10-7-503(g) 

(C) Identification of persons, organizations, corporations or governmental entities most directly affected by this 
rule, and whether those persons, organizations, corporations or governmental entities urge adoption or 
rejection of this rule; 

Citizens of Tennessee are afforded access to the public records of state government pursuant to the Public 
Records Act. Tenn. Code Ann.§ 10-7-503(g) requires that each agency adopt a policy with regard to access for 
public records, and the Comptroller's Office of Open Records Counsel has prepared a model policy for adoption. 
This repeal will allow the Department of Finance and Administration to ensure that its public records rules are in 
line with the model policy adopted by the Comptroller's office and consistent with public records policies 
throughout the State. We are unaware of any opposition to repealing these rules. 

(D) Identification of any opinions of the attorney general and reporter or any judicial ruling that directly relates to 
the rule or the necessity to promulgate the rule; 

None. 

(E) An estimate of the probable increase or decrease in state and local government revenues and expenditures, 
if any, resulting from the promulgation of this rule, and assumptions and reasoning upon which the estimate 
is based. An agency shall not state that the fiscal impact is minimal if the fiscal impact is more than two 
percent (2%) of the agency's annual budget or five hundred thousand dollars ($500,000), whichever is less; 

None 

(F) Identification of the appropriate agency representative or representatives, possessing substantial knowledge 
and understanding of the rule; 

Mark S. Cherpack 
Deputy General Counsel 
Tennessee Department of Finance and Administration 
201

h floor, 312 Rosa L. Parks Avenue 
Nashville, Tennessee 37243 
(615) 253-4706 
Mark.Cherpack@tn.gov 

(G) Identification of the appropriate agency representative or representatives who will explain the rule at a 
scheduled meeting of the committees; 

Mark S. Cherpack 
Deputy General Counsel 
Tennessee Department of Finance and Administration 
20th floor, 312 Rosa L. Parks Avenue 
Nashville, Tennessee 37243 
LCC==~'-'--'-"'-""-=-'-=-'--"-C~'----------------·--------
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Nashville, Tennessee 37243 
(615) 253-4706 
Mark.Cherpack@tn.gov 

(H) Office address, telephone number, and email address of the agency representative or representatives who 
will explain the rule at a scheduled meeting of the committees; and 

MarkS. Cherpack 
Deputy General Counsel 
Tennessee Department of Finance and Administration 
20'" floor, 312 Rosa L. Parks Avenue 
Nashville, Tennessee 37243 
(615) 253-4706 
Mark.Cherpack@tn.gov 

(I) Any additional information relevant to the rule proposed for continuation that the committee requests. 

None 
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Department of State 
Division of Publications 

For Department of State Use Only 

312 Rosa L. Parks Avenue, 8th Floor SnodgrassffN Tower 
Nashville, TN 37243 

Sequence Number: 

Rule ID(s): Phone: 615-741-2650 
Email: pub!ications.information@tn.Qov 

File Date: 

Effective Date: 

Proposed Rule(s) Filing Form 
Proposed rules are submitted pursuant to Tenn. Code Ann. §§ 4-5-202, 4-5-207, and 4-5-229 in lieu of a rulemaking hearing. It is the intent of 
the Agency to promulgate these rules without a rulemaking hearing unless a petition requesting such hearing is filed within ninety (90) days of 
the filing of the proposed rule with the Secretary of State. To be effective, the petition must be filed with the Agency and be signed by ten (10) 
persons who will be affected by the amendments, or submitted by a municipality which will be affected by the amendments, or an association 
of ten (1 OJ or more members, or any standing committee of the General Assembly. The agency shall forward such petition to the Secretary of 
State. 

Pursuant to Tenn. Code Ann. § 4-5-229, any new fee or fee increase promulgated by state agency rule shall take effect on July 1, following 
the expiration of the ninety (90) day period as provided in§ 4-5-207. This section shall not apply to rules that implement new fees or fee 
increases that are promulgated as emergency rules pursuant to§ 4-5-208(a) and to subsequent rules that make permanent such emergency 
rules, as amended during the rulemaking process. In addition, this section shall not apply to state agencies that did not, during the preceding 
two (2) fiscal years, collect fees in an amount sufficient to pay the cost of operating the board, commission or entity in accordance with § 4-29-
121(b). 

............... -.. --.--.--.----·---------·--·---------------------------------·-------"-----·---·· ................. ----- ------------ ------ ---- --- .. 
Agency/Board/Commission: [)epf!rtrn~~t ()f ~in;;nce andf\drninistration 

············ ·············································································o;liision: ' Administration 

contact Person: ~~~~Ei3 (;ti~rpa~k;[jepui~(;~iier§l(;(}u~s~l · ····· ·· ········· 
Address: L?Ofloor,312 Rosa L. Parks Avenue,Nashville,:rennessee 

.... ······ :Zip: 37243 ............ . 
Phone: L((315)??}:47Q6 
Email: J [\/]ark c;~~rp;;gk@tn,gov ................. . 

Revision Type (check all that apply): 
Amendment 
New 

x Repeal 

Rule(s) (ALL chapters and rules contained in filing must be listed here. If needed, copy and paste additional 
tables to accommodate multiple chapters. Please make sure that ALL new rule and repealed rule numbers are 
listed in the chart below. Please enter only ONE Rule Number/Rule Title per row) 

,~t~~~J]::;ber:t~~;~?~=c~~~~~d~Ma~~tal~ei~y~t~~~~~par~n1~~~~~Fin-aiic~:and_~d~l=is~alion=-=l 
· 0620-3-10-.01 . JPu_rpose_and_SC()[le_ _ __________ _ 

0620-3-1 0-.02 i Definitions 
0620-3-1 o-. 03 Ti'feg~ests~i(,r}\g~e::S:SJ()Becords ·· ····· ·· ·-- -

0620-3-1 0-.04 1 "'_e_g_UE3s.ts_fo_r~e]Jro_ducti()n()ff<ec()r<]s_ __ _ 
_ 0620-3-10-.05 1 Ee.es and Costs for Re]Jr()d_uctiong.IR_ecorcl~-- ______ _ __ _ 
0620-3-10-06 J PayrnentJor_f<e_c()r<&_ _____ _ 
0620-3-10-.07 ... i Waiver of Fees 
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(Place substance of rules and other info here. Please be sure to include a detailed explanation of the changes 
being made to the listed rule(s). Statutory authority must be given for each rule change. For information on 
formatting rules go to http://sos.tn.gov/sites/default/files/forms/Rulemaking Guidelines August2014.pdf) 

These rules are being repealed in accordance with Tenn. Code Ann§ 10-7-503(g), which requires each agency to 
adopt a public records policy. The Department of Finance and Administration has adopted the public records 
policy designed by the Office of Open Records Policy, in large part. http://comptroller.tn.gov/openrecords/ 
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• If a roll-call vote was necessary, the vote by the Agency on these rules was as follows: 

Board Member Aye No Abstain Absent Signature 
(if required) 

I certify that this is an accurate and complete COP)!, ij>f proposed rules, lawfully promulgated and adopted by the 
Department of Finance and Administration on 'Gj'J/§12017), and is in compliance with the provisions of T.C.A. § 
4-5-222. The Secretary of State is hereby instructed that, in the absence of a petition for proposed rules being 
filed under the conditions set out herein and in the locations described, he is to treat the proposed rules as being 
placed on file in his office as rules at the expiration of ninety (90) days of the filing of the proposed rule with the 
Secretary of State. 

7• "11 n. W'JI _... 
Date: --~---V\LE~~------. ~------~~~~------------

Signature: b &M:.Jl. 

N~:: :::::::: ~~~a;nCcl ' 
;tlllt(Nt. 

and sworn to before me on~ f; ~ (p ~q__ 
Notary Public Signature:CZ]a)f ~; e, \IY7 ~a... 

My commission expires on: My Commission Expires 
May 5, 2019 

Agency/Board/Commission: Department of Finance and Administration 

Rule Chapter Number(s): 0620-3-10 

All proposed rules provided for herein have been examined by the Attorney General and Reporter of the State of 
Tennessee and are approved as to legality pursuant to the provisions of the Administrative Procedures Act, 
Tennessee Code Annotated, Title 4, Chapter 5. 

. l.W 
De~rtment of State Use Only 
~ 4 

1--···u 
(,/) ~:?: 
!l ___ c-

l.J...l 
(/) 

Filed with the Department of State on: 

Effective on: 

Herbert H. Sl II 
Attorney General and 

ff/J,;,.,.,~, 
/ 

1 Date 

lTfe Hargett 
Secretary of State 
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G.O.C. STAFF RULE ABSTRACT 

DEPARTMENT: 

SUBJECT: 

STATUTORY AUTHORITY: 

EFFECTIVE DATES 

FISCAL IMPACT: 

STAFF RULE ABSTRACT: 

Children's Services 

Legal 

Tennessee Code Annotated, Section 37-2-415 

November 6, 2017 through June 30, 2018 

None 

This rulemaking hearing rule sets out procedures 
for the qualification, selection, and training of foster 
parent advocates; provides for a foster parent 
advocacy committee, and complaints and 
mediation of issues between the Department and 
its foster parents. The proposed amendments 
reflect recent legislation recognizing that there may 
be more than one foster parent association. Thus, 
a foster parent advocate may now be selected from 
the membership of any recognized statewide foster 
parent association, and the advocacy committee 
now may include members of any recognized 
statewide foster parent association. Other changes 
to the rule are minor, such as streamlining the 
mediation/grievance process. 
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Public Hearing Comments 

One copy of a document containing responses to comments made at the public hearing must accompany the 
filing pursuant to T.C.A. § 4-5-222. Agencies shall include only their responses to public hearing comments, 
which can be summarized. No letters of inquiry from parties questioning the rule will be accepted. When no 
comments are received at the public hearing, the agency need only draft a memorandum stating such and include 
it with the Rulemaking Hearing Rule filing. Minutes of the meeting will not be accepted. Transcripts are not 
acceptable. 

On September 12, 2016 the Department of Children's Services held a public hearing regarding Foster Parents' 
Bill of Rights 0250-7-15. We invited attendees to comment on each provision in the proposed rules. We did not 
receive any written comments. 

We received no comments on proposed rules 0250-17-15.01 or 0250-07-15.02. In the following section we will 
address each comment in the order of the Rule it addresses. 

Comments regarding 0250-7-15.03 (1)- Selection of Advocates 

Commenting Person or Entity: Myra Cooper, Tennessee Foster Adoptive Care Association 
Comment Summary: Ms. Cooper commented that Rule 0250-7-15.03 (1) should be clarified to 
determine if means that there would be one advocate per recognized association that would be chosen 
or if there would be one association from which DCS would select any advocate. She expressed that 
there needs to be only one advocacy association recognized as the official association by the 
Department of Children's Services. 
Department's Response: The rule provides the Department of Children's Service with the discretion to 
choose advocates from any recognized foster association. 

Comments regarding 0250-7-15.03 (2)- Qualification of Advocates 

Commenting Person or Entity: Myra Cooper, Tennessee Foster Adoptive Care Association 
Comment Summary: Ms. Cooper noted that no time frame was listed in Rule 0250-7-15.03 (2) 
subparagraph (b) for the time the foster home could be closed and still be considered an advocate by the 
Department of Children Services 
Department's Response: We incorporated into the rules a provision requiring that the home would have 
to be closed in good standing within the past two years in order for a foster parent to be eligible to be an 
advocate. 

Commenting Person or Entity: Nancy Woodall, Tennessee Foster Adoptive Care Association 
Commenting Summary: Ms. Woodall also had concerns regarding Rule 0250-7-15.03 (2) subparagraph 
(b) in reference to advocates being chosen from a closed foster home. She suggested language stating 
that the selected advocate, if from a home closed in good standing, should also be required to maintain 
ongoing training to remain aware of current standards 
Department's Response: We incorporated into the rules a provision requiring an advocate to maintain 
training hours. 

Comments regarding 0250-7-15.03(3)- Committee for the Advocacy Program 

Commenting Person or Entity: Cheryl Gillenwater (TNCSA) 
Commenting Summary: Ms. Gillenwater noted that in Rule 0250-7-15.03(3)(b) that the Regional 
Administrator was not specifically listed but are part of the board. She wanted to know if they would be 
attending the advocacy training. 
Department's Response: The final rule will exempt departmental employees from the training. 
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Comments regarding 0250-7-15.03 (4)- Advocate's Training 

Commenting Person or Entity: Myra Cooper. Tennessee Foster Adoptive Care Association 
Comment Summary: Ms. Cooper wanted clarification added regarding Rule 0250-7-15.03 (4) about if 
there was only one recognized foster parent ,association from which to choose the representative 
Department's Response: Consistently with statute, the Rule contemplates that there may be more than 
one recognized foster parent association. 

Comments regarding 0250-7-15.03(5)- Complaints and Mediation 

Commenting Person or Entity: Myra Cooper, Tennessee Foster Adoptive Care Association 
Comment Summary: Ms. Cooper wanted clarification added regarding Rule 0250-7-15.03(5)(h) and (i) 
about the Regional Administrators' review being the final authority.. She wanted to know if there was any 
further recourse and if the Regional Administrators have someone they can seek advice from. 
Department's Response: The Rule allows the final authority to rest with the Regional Administrator. 
Consistently with statute and policy, the rule will allow for consultations with Central Office. 

Commenting Person or Entity: Nancy Woodall, Tennessee Foster Adoptive Care Association 
Comment Summary: Nancy Woodall wanted the definition of the role of advocate to include partnership 
with the Department of Children's Services. This would clarify if advocates could be involved in a case at 
the request of the Department of Children's Services rather than at the request of the foster parent. 

Department's Response: This issue is important but will be addressed outside of the rules. 
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Regulatory Flexibility Addendum 
Pursuant to T.C.A. §§ 4-5-401 through 4-5-404, prior to initiating the rule making process as described in T.C.A. 
§ 4-5-202(a)(3) and T.C.A. § 4-5-202(a), all agencies shall conduct a review of whether a proposed rule or rule 
affects small businesses. 

(If applicable, insert Regulatory Flexibility Addendum here) 

~ 

This Rule is expected to have no effect on small businesses. 
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Impact on Local Governments 

Pursuant to T.C.A. §§ 4-5-220 and 4-5-228 "any rule proposed to be promulgated shall state in a simple 
declarative sentence, without additional comments on the merits of the policy of the rules or regulation, whether 
the rule or regulation may have a projected impact on local governments." (See Public Chapter Number 1070 
(http://state.tn.us/sos/acts/1 06/pub/pc1 070.pdf) of the 2010 Session of the General Assembly) 

This Rule has no projected impact on local government. 
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Additional Information Required by Joint Government Operations Committee 

All agencies, upon filing a rule, must also submit the following pursuant to T.C.A. § 4-5-226(i)(1). 

(A) A brief summary of the rule and a description of all relevant changes in previous regulations effectuated by 
such rule; 

This Rule sets out procedures for the qualification, st;)lection and training of foster parent advocates; provides for 
a foster parent advocacy committee and complaints and mediation of issues between the Department and its 
foster parents. The proposed amendments reflect recent legislation recognizing that there may be more than 
one foster parent association. Thus, a foster parent advocate may now be selected from the membership of any 
recognized statewide foster parent association and the advocacy committee now may include members of any 
recognized statewide foster parent association. Other changes to the rule are minor, such as streamlining the 
mediation/flrievance process. 

(B) A citation to and brief description of any federal law or regulation or any state law or regulation mandating 
promulgation of such rule or establishing guidelines relevant thereto; 

T.C.A. §37-2-415 sets out foster parents' rights and authorizes DCS to promulgate rules to implement the 
ur oses of the statute. 

(C) Identification of persons, organizations, corporations or governmental entities most directly affected by this 
rule, and whether those persons, organizations, corporations or governmental entities urge adoption or 
rejection of this rule; 

I Foster parents and foster parent associations 

(D) Identification of any opinions of the attorney general and reporter or any judicial ruling that directly relates to 
the rule; 

N/A 

(E) An estimate of the probable increase or decrease in state and local government revenues and expenditures, 
if any, resulting from the promulgation of this rule, and assumptions and reasoning upon which the estimate 
is based. An agency shall not state that the fiscal impact is minimal if the fiscal impact is more than two 
percent (2%) of the agency's annual budget or five hundred thousand dollars ($500,000), whichever is less; 

I No fiscal impact is expected. 

(F) Identification of the appropriate agency representative or representatives, possessing substantial knowledge 
and understanding of the rule; 

I Douglas Earl Dimond, General Counsel Department of Children's Services 

(G) Identification of the appropriate agency representative or representatives who will explain the rule at a 
scheduled meeting of the committees; 

I Douglas Earl Dimond, General Counsel Department of Children's Services 

(H) Office address, telephone number, and email address of the agency representative or representatives who 
will explain the rule at a scheduled meeting of the committees; and 

TN Dept. Children's Services 7 Floor UBS Tower, 315 Deaderick Street, Nashville, TN 37243 Phone: 615-741-
7236, Dou las.E.Dimond Tn.Gov 

(I) Any additional information relevant to the rule proposed for continuation that the committee requests. 

None 
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Department of State 
Division of Publications 
312 Rosa L. Parks Avenue, 8th Floor SnodgrassrrN Tower 
Nashville, TN 37243 
Phone: 615-741-2650 
Email: publications.information@tn.aov 

For Department of State Use Only 

Sequence Number: 

Rule ID(s): 

File Date: 

Effective Date: 

Rulemaking Hearing Rule(s) Filing Form 
Ru/emaking Hearing Rules are rules filed after and as a result of a rulemaking hearing (Tenn. Code Ann. § 4~5-205). 

Pursuant to Tenn. Code Ann. § 4-5-229, any new fee or fee increase promulgated by state agency rule shall take effect on July 1, following 
the expiration of the ninety (90) day period as provided in§ 4-5-207. This section shall not apply to rules that implement new fees or fee 
increases that are promulgated as emergency rules pursuant to§ 4-5-208(a) and to subsequent rules that make permanent such emergency 
rules, as amended during the ru/emaking process. In addition, this section shall not apply to state agencies that did not, during the preceding 
two (2) fiscal years, collect fees in an amount sufficient to pay the cost of operating the board, commission or entity in accordance with § 4-29-
121(b). 

i. t\I1eiicyis<)ar<ii¢<)itililission: Lt5eRariitiei1!0f(;hildren·~ i.;~rvi~e~ 
Division: , ... Leg§l ...................................................................................................................................... . 

Contact Person: : Qouglas .. Earl[)illl()Qd ............................................................................. . 
Address: J?'" Floor UBSTmver,315 Deaderick Street, Nashville, TN 

Zip:j 37243 
Phone:; 615-741-7236 
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x Amendment 
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tables to accommodate multiple chapters. Please make sure that ALL new rule and repealed rule numbers are 
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i Chapter Number 1 g~~pf~rfiti~ : : ....................................... - : : . 
I ci25o:o7: 15 · · · · ·· ······: Lf()ster F'.CIE§Dt!3ill ()f f<ight~ -·--··-····-···-··--·······-

-~ 

i f<LIIet-JIJilll:lE!r I Rule Title 
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(Place substance of rules and other info here. Please be sure to include a detailed explanation of the changes 
being made to the listed rule(s). Statutory authority must be given for each rule change. For information on 
formatting rules go to http://sos.tn.gov/sites/default/files/forms/Rulemaking Guidelines August2014.pdf) 
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TABLE OF CONTENTS 

RULES 
OF 

TENNESSEE DEPARTMENT OF CHILDREN'S SERVICES 
PROGRAM SERVICES DIVISION 

CHAPTER0250-7-15 
FOSTER PARENTS' BILL OF RIGHTS 

0250-7-15-.01 Purpose of Chapter 

Parents' Bill of Rights 0250-7-15-.02 

0250-7-15-.03 Procedures for Foster 

Definitions for Purposes of This Chapter 

0250-7-15-.01 PURPOSE OF CHAPTER. 

(1) The purpose of this chapter is to provide, in compliance with TenneS£B&~-AFlflGI.aled 
T.C.A.§ 37-2-415, procedures for the selection, training, and implementation of Foster 
Parent Advocates in conjunction with the Foster Parents' Bill of Rights. It also provides 
procedures for foster parents, with the assistance of the Foster Parents' Advocates, to file 
grievances and appeals when necessary, and when the foster parents are not in agreement 
with actions taken by the Department of Children's Services. 

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 37-5-105, 37-2-405, and 37-2-415. Administrative History: Original rule filed 
October 26, 2001; effective January 9, 2002. 

0250-7-15-.02 DEFINITIONS FOR PURPOSES OF THIS CHAPTER. 

( 1 ) Advocate -An advocate~eciafl.y trained laster parent, appointed by tt1e ~"'resident-and the 
Boerd-oiDirectorsot--ln&+enHeSGee-FBster Care -Association,-whe iseducafetl-silllGOffiiR§­
prooedmes Hllevant te investi§at4eHs-ol alleged ab~o~se and neg!Bct by the Departmoof-o1'. 
Ghildren' s Serv4oes end-ffle.-Jci§l-1ffi-Bf-the .. accused footer parent or-- parents, and--a&SslRf!-­
.foster parents in fnllowing-pelicy-end filing grievances and appeals withtl-1eDepar-tment-ef 
Ghildren'sSercvice&c Advocate- An advocate is a specially trained foster parent, who is 
educated concerning procedures relevant to allegations of abuse/neglect and investigations by 
the Department of Children's Services (DCS), including the rights of accused foster parents, and 
trained in assisting/supporting said parents in following policy or filing grievances/appeals with 
DCS. The advocate shall be permitted to be present at all portions of investigations where 
foster parents are present, and all communications received by the advocate therein are strictly 
confidential. 

(2) Foster Parent - A person who has been trained and approved by the department or 
licensed child- placing agency to provide full-time temporary out-of-home care in a private 
residence for children who, for various reasons, can no longer remain in their own homes, or 
the prospective adoptive parents who have received a child as a result of the surrender of 
parental rights, a parental consent, or as the result of a termination of parental rights. 

(3) Department- The Tennessee Department of Children's Services or any of its divisions or units. 

Authority: T.C.A. §§~4--1()2 37-5-105 and 37-2-415. Administrative History: Original rule filed 
October 26, 2001; effective January 9, 2002. 

0250-7-15-.03 PROCEDURES FOR FOSTER PARENTS' BILL OF RIGHTS. 

(1) Selection of Advocates in child abuse/neglect investigation involving the foster parent(s):(a) 
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FOSTER PARENTS' BILL OF RIGHTS CHAPTER 0250-7-15 

(Rule 0250-7-15-.03, continued) 
:p'JB-AGJ.v-ocate(s)-shal~ bearpointedny trle-fJfe&k:lent of the T ennesseef'G&ler-Gafe.­
Association,· witt"-lhe-aj:>preval-ollhe l'lGaHJ-Bl"-IJirecloF&of lheTennesseeFester-Gam­
AsSGGialion. Advocates will be selected and approved by a representative from the recognized 
statewide foster parent association, a DCS Central Office Program representative, and the 
Regional Administrator or designee from the region where the advocate will serve. 

(2) Qualifications of the Advocates: 

(a) Each potential Advocate must complete an application form, and supply names of 
references. 

(b) The Advocate must beaR--current approved foster parent or a previous foster parent who 
closed in good standing with the Tennessee Department of Children's Services within two 
years of appointment and who has maintained ongoing training to remain aware of current 
standards. 

(c) The Advocate must be a member in good standing of-tl1s-TenRsssee-Fos\er-Care 
Assesialion a recognized statewide foster parent association. 

(d) The Advocate must have completed the official Department of Children's Services foster 
parent training or equivalent training as determined by the Department of Children's 
Services. 

(e) The Advocate must be able to communicate effectively with-foster parents as 
evidenced through the interview process wel,--a-s-theDepartmente!ChilfJren's-~ewiees. 

(3) The Advocacy Boan:l Committee for the Advocacy Program: 

(a) AR-a<:lvisor.y board4otrlead¥eGate-&-Bhall be appointedbylliepr-e-siden-t--a-1-t-Re­
~::ermessee Fosl-e-r-GaFe--Association,. with -lhe appf-G\Ia,-e-f--the--@oar-G--ef--Qirectors el-lhe-­
Tenl1€H3see-f-'este-F-·-Gare Associatiort A committee for the advocacy program shall be 
established with representation that consists oi' two representatives from recognized 
statewide i'oster parent associations, two Department of Children's Services Regional 
Administrators, one Central Office Program representative, and two existing Advocates. 
Committee members will serve one year terms and must either be re-appointed or 
replaced by their respective entities/agencies. 

( t>) - -TheAd\leGas-y--lileani--sl>aii-·GOnsisl el-lf1e-state---p!B&i00Hl-e1'-t~nes-see-F-este-r-Gam 
As-WGiation,at-leastoneex-rnfiBiGmemleef-!fem-the-Qepar-tmentoiChihlr011'-s-SeF¥fces 
Geffira,-Qffice-Pregram staff-,--ooe--FefJre&ef1tative. ffom the .:;ertified -officia,-.Qepartment 
of-Children' sServic-es-fusler-parent training orlosterparen-i-trail1eF&,-anEI-at-least two fGslBF 
parenls. 

(-B)( b) All members of the Advocacy Board Committee who are not departmental employees shall 
receive the Advocate's training, as set out in Part flGrl 4. 

(4) Advocates' Training: 

(a) Each Advocate selected shall receive a minimum of fifteen (-1-€>) hours of pre-service 
training, consisting of, but not limited to ,Ch.ild- Proteolive-ServiGes Office of Child 
Safety policy and procedures; Risk-Grieffied--Gase-MaHagement risk-oriented case 
management information; the official Department of Children's Services foster parent 
training; FoslerCamiloaf<i--1"-ayment (ChiP FinS) foster care board payment information, 
Case ManageF'&-fJeliGy--and procedures an overview of case management 
policies/procedures, Advocate protocols, communication techniques, and record-keeping. 
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FOSTER PARENTS' BILL OF RIGHTS CHAPTER0250-7-l5 

(Rule 0250-7- I 5-.03, continued) 
(b) The training shall be ocmduoted facilitated by !he AdVGGaGJL!roaFd a contract agency, in 

conjunction with the Department of Children's Services oerr\Fa!-effise program staff and 
with oversight by a recognized statewide foster parent association representative. 

(c) Each Advocate will receive a minimum of twenty -12 hours in-service training per year, 
including program policy and procedure updates on both foster care and child protective 
services. 

(a) ---Eas11M¥Gsale's-nar-ne--and-lel8f'hGRe-flilll\ller--wil!-t>e-availal:>le--via-lhe--Fe&ierer,-ll1e 
newsleller-ffi-lhe--'eOf\f\BSsee-F-e-&i-er--Gare-Associal:ion,-and--wil!-t>e-d-issemiAaleEl--tly-l11e­
Qe~et-Gl-GhiiElren's-Services t-oalffest-erparent&, 

(b) - -Upef1-f88Gif'l--ol-a-Galk>f-o&rnplaint, ti1e AdvOGatemusl relurn411ecemplaiflaffi'&-Gall­
witi1i-n--f.2-hour-s, and obtain inlormatkm on !11e mrur-e---ol-ticle--GGffiplaiRl~ll--i&­
antiGipated that-manyquestions---Fe@aFdiH9 pokcy-and-prooedHres can-beanswered1n 
ene-lelej:lf1ene--Gall--14t>wever,-il-lurl:l'1-erinvestigationi&-wafr-anteEl,-ti1eAd-110cala-will­
anange-fm-the--le&ter--parent t:-omplainantle-sign--a-fBiease--ef--in-IGmlatioR--SG--tflat--tf1e 
Affifeoate--Bafl--la1k-Ao-lf1e--Qepartrnentof Ghildren's-ServiGesstaf-l'-anEI--eti1er--r-ele-vaAt­
paftie&-arn;k;ompleteanassessrnentefihe£-omplainl, 

{e) . The AdvOGatemay£-oH<:IL!GtpG!'&eAal-inter-vinw-s,-may accompaRy the-losterparenisle­
seheduled-rneetir~ 

{a) ---E'aoR--AEiv-ooate--w-HI be responsible for keepin1J a--reGonl-ofall-col~l:ac.~o--or~-bei'lalf----ol a 
fosteFparont cemplainaFJt 

(h) TheD€fffiflm-er-l-l:--oi-GhildFeA's Services shall be 1JWen access, uponrequee-t,-t&-ticle­
oomplaintfile. 

(-7)(5)Cornplaints and Mediation: 

(a) Any foster parents who Eiet-e>mines believes that the Department of Children's Services is 
in violation ef the Foster Parents' Bill of Rights, T.C.A. § 37-2-415, or otherwise has a 
complaint should first discuss their concerns with the Case Manager assigned to the 
foster home and attempt workeu!an-agr-eement to resolve the issue. This step rnay 
involve showing the foster parent the written policy and procedures relative to approval of 
a foster home or any ongoing casework activities. 

(b) If the Case Manager and the foster parent cannot r-eacil1anundefslandin§ resolve the 
issue, then the foster parent shall notify the Team Leader and request assistance from 
the Tearn Leader in mediating the conflict tetweenl-he CaseManager'and-lhe-toster 
parent:, 

(a)(c)lf the Case Manager and the Team Leader cannot make correction or adjustments, the 
foster parent shall notify the Team Coordinator in writing of their concerns, and request 
an appointment a meeting with the Team Coordinator. 

tb)(d)A schedule4-meeting with the Team Coordinator and all parties rnust take place 
within 7 seven working days of the receipt of the foster parent complaint. 
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FOSTER PARENTS' BILL OF RIGHTS CHAPTER 0250-7-15 

(Rule 0250-7-15-.03, continued) 
fG)(e)The outcome of the meeting with the Team Coordinator shall be documented in writing 

within 2-two working days of the meeting; responsibility for the documentation is with the 
Case Manager with the supervisory approval and signature of the Team Leader. 

(tJ)(f)The Team Coordinator must then make a recommendation in writing for aGoHeGtive any 
action(orpossitlly no action.-) or decision resulting from the meeting. Copies of the 
Team Coordinator's OOGision-recommendation must be forwarded to all participants. 

(a)(g) Within :!'-seven working days of lfie-gfievaoc-el1eafiH§receiving the Team Coordinator's 
recommendation, the foster parents may eleGl--1:8-iile-aH-apr:JeaC.seek review witH by the 
Regional Administrator of the Department of Children's Services. 

f9)(h) Upon receipt of eR-appealletter the request lor review, the Regional Administrator 
shall reviews-all the information, and eitheraccept therecommendationol!l1eTeam 
GoofEiina!Bf,.-or,.al-ll1eir-4isGr.ffiioft,may shall schedule an additional interview with the 
foster parent(s), DCS staff, and/or other relevant parties. 

(i). Copies of the Regional Administrator's approval or modification of the Team 
Coordinator's recommendation must be forwarded to all participants. 

(j.) Within seven working days of the Regional Administrator's decision, tl·1e foster parent may 
seek review from DCS' Central Office. 

Authority: T.C.A. §§ J:1-24Qf'; 37-5·105 and 37-2-415. Administrative History: Original rule filed 
October 26, 2001; effective January 9, 2002. 
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* If a roll-call vote was necessary, the vote by the Agency on these rulemaking hearing rules was as follows: 

Board Member Aye No " Abstain Absent Signature 
.. (if required) 

NA 

I certify that this is an accurate and complete copy of rulemaking hearing rules, lawfully promulgated and adopted 
by the Department of Children's Services (board/commission/ other authority) on _,e3::._-1!_!7_:-2~0,_1.c,7~-----­
(mm/dd/yyyy), and is in compliance with the provisions of T.C.A. § 4-5-222. 

I further certify the following: 

Notice of Rulemaking Hearing filed with the Department of State on: 07/19/16 

Rulemaking Hearing(s) Conducted on: (add more dates). 09/12/16 

Date: _o"'6""/"'b9"'-i'F'?0"-1'-'7ri''--!-/+'i,.__-+-----------
·/·.-~ ;' /;>~ l/,' ;) 

Signature: :_,...;.../.LJ/c-' c_·'--;£+l-f-?-".l.;...'.:c' .;...'-,'f!-j/_' ___________ _ 

Name of Officer: Douglas Earl Dimond 

Title of Officer: General Counsel 

Subscribed and sworn to before me on: 

Notary Public Signature: 

My commission expires on: 

All rulemaking hearing rules provided for herein have been examined by the Attorney General and Reporter of the 
State of Tennessee and are approved as to legality pursuant to the provisions of the Administrative Procedures 
Act, Tennessee Code Annotated, Title 4, Chapter 5. 

LW 
r· ~ 
('-J .. ~ 

~--·'" (j 

en:-;,--

(..!',; :~-.....:: ;--_--

DepJi[tm!lntof State Use Only 
f ~ ·- r-... L;..::. f;­

(_J 
LLi 
(() Filed with the Department of State on: 

Herbert H. Sl 
Attorney General and Reporter 

t/~r'7 Date 

Effective on: _____ __jlull'-,Jf¥q~T'----r---- WJdMA,/-
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G.O.C. STAFF RULE ABSTRACT 

DEPARTMENT: 

DIVISION: 

SUBJECT: 

STATUTORY AUTHORITY: 

EFFECTIVE DATES: 

FISCAL IMPACT: 

STAFF RULE ABSTRACT: 

Health 

Pain Management Clinics 

Pain Management Clinics 

Public Chapter 1033, which was signed by the 
Governor on April 20, 2016. 

November 26, 2017 through June 30, 2018 

None 

Rule Chapter 1200-34-01 [Pain Management 
Clinics] is being repealed and rewritten. (NOTE: No 
further information was provided on the rule.) 
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Public Hearing Comments 

One copy of a document containing responses to comments made at the public hearing must accompany the 
filing pursuant to T.C.A. § 4-5-222. Agencies shall include only their responses to public hearing comments, 
which can be summarized. No letters of inquiry from parties questioning the rule will be accepted. When no 
comments are received at the public hearing, the agency need only draft a memorandum stating such and include 
it with the Rulemaking Hearing Rule filing. Minutes of the meeting will not be accepted. Transcripts are not 
acceptable. 

Comments: 

Rulerpaking Hearing 
Pain Management Clinics- July 24, 2017 

Public Hearing Comments 

There was a general consensus that a great deal of work has been done over the last three to four years and 
strides have been made towards improving pain management and pain medicine in Tennessee, but that there is 
still a problem in the primary care realm with patients being initiated on opioids and referred to pain management 
clinics only after they have been receiving one hundred and twenty morphine milligram daily equivalents. The 
comments indicated that pain management physicians believe based upon IMS data that the current opioid 
problem in the state is a result of primary care, dentists, and orthopedic physicians more than pain management 
specialists. 

Response: 

The Department recognizes and appreciates all the work that has been done by the General Assembly and the 
pain management physicians in Tennessee to create an environment wherein healthy and appropriate treatment 
of pain management can occur. The Department has been given statutory authority to regulate pain management 
clinics and unlicensed pain management clinics, and though the individual health related boards continue to 
investigate and discipline inappropriate providers at any type of clinic, should the General Assembly see fit to 
further regulate other specialties, the Department looks forward to working towards effective, achievable 
regulation of other prescribing practices. The Department has seen enormous improvements across the state 
over the last few years, and though there is still much to be achieved, is heartened to know population-wide 
treatment is moving in the right direction. 

Comment: 
Terri A Lewis, Ph.D. commented that patient injury associated with pain clinics and outpatient ambulatory surgery 
centers is sometimes being overlooked by physicians who fail to recognize the inherent opportunities for profound 
injuries associated with infectious injuries in the form of both bacterial and fungal infections with the utilization of 
compounded drugs. She also expressed concern that the public comment at the rulemaking hearing did not 
include patient comment and a concern that the rules do not sufficiently address patient outcomes and clinical 
staff training. 

Response: 
The Department agrees that infectious injury is a potentiality that can occur in any clinical setting, but which must 
be minimized to every extent possible. The Department addresses this to some extent in the rules at 1200-34-01-
.10, and expects that all practitioners in pain management clinics will also follow the requirements of their 
licensing boards, as well as all applicable state and federal requirements and guidelines for patient safety. The 
public rulemaking hearing time and location, as well as the text of the rules, were posted to the Secretary of 
State's website in compliance with the requirements for all rulemaking hearings. The public rulemaking hearing 
was open to the public, and though the Department is unaware of who all the unidentified members of the 
audience listening were that day, the Department agrees that no one who offered verbal or written comment 
identified themselves as a patient. The Department believes that the responsibilities and requirements placed 
upon a medical director in these rules will address patient outcomes and clinical staff training to the extent that the 
Department can practicably do so in these rules. 

Comments specific to the rules: 

Comments on Rule 1200-34-01-.01 
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Comment: 
TMA objected to the definition of a pain agreement providing that prescriptions for controlled substances may only 
be filled at one pharmacy to be identified by the patient. 

Response: 
The definition of pain agreement outlines the minimum safeguards which ought to be explained to and agreed to 
by the patient. The Department firmly believes that filling prescriptions at only one pharmacy, identified by the 
patient, is a safeguard that every pain agreement ought to contain. Should a patient falter in maintaining 
compliance with pain agreement, the prescriber(s) aod medical director should react appropriately, which will be a 
situation specific determination. 

Comments on Rule 1200-34-01-.02 

Comment: 
Charles Key, Esq. from Lifeline requested clarification be added to 1200-34-01-.02(1) that currently certified 
clinics may continue operating until the expiration of their certificate. 

Response: 
It was the intent of the Department in these rules to reflect that the statute allows currently certified pain 
management clinics to continue operating on that certificate, which shall be treated as a license under the new 
law, until the expiration of that certificate. The Department has added to the rule some statements to that effect as 
requested by Lifeline in order to clarify any confusion in this area. 

Comment: 
Dr. David Arehart stated that obtaining two letters of good moral character from a fellow medical doctor, as 
required in 1200-34-01-.02(3)(b) is too high of a burden on pain management physicians attempting to open a 
clinic. 
TMA felt that the requirement of two letters of moral character for initial licensure as a physician in the state 
should be sufficient and having another requirement of letters of moral character to open a pain management 
clinic is onerous. 

Response: 
The Department has agreed to remove the requirement of two letters of moral character from the pain 
management clinic license application. 

Comment: 
Charles Key, Esq. from Lifeline requested clarification be added to 1200-34-01-.02(3)(f) and .03(5)(a) to allow for 
a mailing address separate from the clinic's physical address. 

Response: 
The Department is primarily concerned with obtaining the physical address of a clinic as, pursuant to the statutes, 
the license is issued to a specific location; however, it will look into adding an option for a separate mailing 
address into its application. 

Comment: 
With regard to the requirements found in 1200-34-01-.02(4), Dr. Damen Dozier agreed that while the goal is to 
have no bad players working in clinics, requiring the medical director to conduct checks of employees is 
overbearing. 

Dr. William T. Williams stated that information technology managers and cleaning services and environmental 
services should not be included in required background checks. 

Dr. James Chao states he contracts with similar companies who come in and do cleaning in the middle of the 
night, and he should not have to check what they are doing with their own time. 

Alex Munderloh, Esq. of Comprehensive Pain Specialists (CPS) made written comment that this requirement is 
broad and burdensome. 

The Tennessee Medical Association (TMA) shared concerns that independent contractors for things such as 
waste management might be included in the disclosure requirement. 
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Response: 
The statute states in Tennessee Code Annotated § 63-1-316(d)(1)(E) and (g)(1) that the medical director shall 
report, and the Commissioner may deny, discipline, or restrict pain management clinic licenses based upon, 
certain criminal dispositions and licensure discipline for all employees and individuals with whom the clinic has 
contracted. The Department, based on feedback received during the Task Force formed to consult the Board of 
Medical Examiners, the Board of Osteopathic Examination, the Board of Nursing, and the Committee on 
Physician Assistants, determined that it would be most appropriate for the rule to require criminal background 
checks of all those who have a DEA registration whq are providing services at the clinic. The Department further 
determined that it would only require the medical director to disclose certain criminal dispositions and licensure 
discipline for only those who have contact with patients, contact with on-site patient information, or have 
management responsibilities. Thus for those individuals, an appropriate inquiry, and disclosure of relevant 
findings, is required of the medical director, but not a full criminal background check on each employee or person 
with whom the clinic contracts. Because this provision seems to have caused confusion, in an effort to further 
clarify this more limited scope of disclosure, the Department has added additional terminology to ensure the 
medical directors applying for pain management clinic license understand which employees and independent 
contractors are part of the required disclosures, indicating that disclosure is only required for those with clinical 
contact with patents, contact with ensile patient information or specimens, or management responsibilities. 
Additionally the Department will promulgate on its website an affidavit form for use by medical directors in 
discussing with their employees and independent contractors whether they have had disciplinary or criminal 
action(s) taken against them. The Departments believes that this form may help facilitate discussions with 
employees and independent contractors that the medical directors may otherwise find difficult. 

Comments on Rule 1200-34-01-.03 

Comment: 
Alex Munderloh, Esq. of Comprehensive Pain Specialists objects to the 90 business day eligibility inspection 
timeframe and requests a requirement that the Department approve an application no less than five business 
days following its submission and schedule an inspection in a window of two weeks to create certainty in 
determining when the inspection will occur. 

Additionally CPS and TMA, on behalf of Dr. John Schneider's clinic, raised concerns regarding the process when 
a clinic determines to move from one location to another. CPS specifically requested that clinics be permitted to 
move locations up to 25 miles away without being required to obtain a new license. 

Dr. Williams expressed concerns about a license being issued to a medical director rather than the clinic as a 
facility. 

Dr. Schneider expressed frustration and wondering why the clinic has to get relicensed if it moves to a new 
location. 

Response: 
Before July 1, 2017, under the certificate system, the owner, who had to be one of four licensure categories, was 
the certificate holder who held the property interest in the certificate. Under the current licensure system, the 
medical director holds the property interest in the license. The General Assembly saw fit to assign a medical 
director both of the authority and responsibilities that come with being the license holder and property interest 
owner. The Department does not have the legal authority to change the statute. The Department points out that 
while this statutory requirement that the medical director is issued the license means that certain responsibilities 
which had previously belonged to the certificate holder, when that person was different from the medical director, 
are now the medical director's, this also gives the medical director additional power and control over his clinic. 

Under the certificate system the certificate was tied to a specific location and a new certificate had to be applied 
for in order for clinic to move. Under the current licensure system the license is tied to the location, and a new 
license must be applied for in order for a new location to be opened. These requirements for location specific 
certificates and licenses are and have always been contained in the statutes and cannot be changed by rule. 

In response to concerns regarding the practicalities of moving clinic locations under the licensure system, the 
Department has adjusted the rules to account for a situation in which a clinic is moving locations and the need for 
an inspection in that process may lead to concerns regarding patient continuity of care. Based upon this 
adjustment if a clinic wishes to move locations it may arrange with the Department to have its current pain 
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management clinic inspected prior to moving, and should the pain clinic pass inspection and be otherwise 
qualified for licensure, the Department may issue a license to the new location, which will be inspected after the 
license is issued, allowing the clinic more freedom to determine when it's move will occur. The Department will 
charge a re-inspection fee for the inspection of the new clinic location. 

Comments on Rule 1200-34-01-.04 

Comment: 
Charles Key, Esq. with Lifeline inquired how early a .renewal application could be submitted. 

Response: 
Currently the rules address that a clinic with a certificate that is expiring must submit a completed application for 
licensure at least 90 days prior to the expiration of that certificate. For those clinics who will become licensed and 
renew their license, the determination of how early a renewal can be submitted will partially depend upon the new 
departmental online application system. Such a timeframe does not need to be addressed by rule but will be 
addressed by the Department and announced on the pain management clinic website. 

Comment: 
Concerns were raised by TMA, Dr. Schneider, and others that the rules require physicians to get fingerprinted at 
every renewal. 

Response: 
The rules require a disclosure regarding: (1) criminal offenses involving controlled substances; (2) denial of 
licensure as a prescriber; and (3) disciplinary action for conduct involving controlled substances, at renewal, if any 
information regarding employees or independent contractors with clinical contact with patients, contact with ensile 
patient information or specimens, or management responsibilities, has changed since the initial application for 
licensure. These rules have never required a medical director to get fingerprinted multiple times. With regard to 
employees and independent contractors the renewal merely requires an attestation from the medical director that 
none of the concerning circumstances have occurred. Should the medical director inform the Department that 
there was an intervening conviction for an offense involving the sale, distribution, or dispensing of controlled 
substances, then the Department may request a criminal background check or other supporting documentation. 

Comment: 
Charles Key, Esq. with Lifeline commented on the time crunch that the Department will be under to inspect those 
clinics who have certificate expiring and apply timely for a license. 

Response: 
The Department will not refuse to issue a license based solely on an inability on the part of the Department to 
inspect a pain management clinic where the clinic has timely applied under these rules. 

Comments on Rule 1200-34-01-.05 

Comment: 
Dr. Williams commented that it is inappropriate that hospitals are excluded from the same oversight as licensed 
pain management clinics and that hospital-based intervention and medication-assisted facilities ought to fall under 
the same licensure rules required to be followed by pain management clinics. 

Dr. Dozier also believes that hospital based pain management clinics should be under the same regulatory 
requirements that the pain management clinics are. He commented that they should have to follow the 
Tennessee Chronic Pain Guidelines, drug screen patients, and look at the Controlled Substance Monitoring 
Database. 

Response: 
Pain management clinics which are part of a hospital and regulated under title 68, are statutorily exempt from 
these licensure provision. That exception cannot be changed by the Department in a rule. The inspection of 
hospital pain management clinics is part of the hospital inspection process. Methadone clinics are regulated by 
the Tennessee Department of Mental Health and Substance Abuse. The requested changes cannot be 
accomplished by these rules. 

Comment: 
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Dr. Browder expressed concerns that practices may try to keep their number of pain management patients at 48% 
to 49% of their patient population in order to avoid having to become licensed as a pain management clinic. 

Response: 
The Department has been given the authority with the laws that were enacted July 1, 2017, to further investigate 
potentially unlicensed pain clinics, those who were at or above the 50% pain management patient population limit, 
and take action against them. 

Comments on Rule 1200-34-01-.06. 

Comment: 
CPS comments that they believe the fee for the combined licensure and inspection is excessive. They request 
that fees remain where they were under the certificate system. 

Response: 
The regulatory shift from certification to licensure, which will cause pain management clinics to be treated more 
similarly to licensed healthcare facilities than they were previously, is attended by additional regulatory costs. The 
fees have been established based upon an accounting of the anticipated costs of regulation. Additionally, the 
inspection fees are new due to the requirement for an initial and a minimum of every renewal cycle inspection. 

There were no comments on Rule 1200-34-01-.07. 

Comments on Rule 1200-34-01 -.08 

Comments: 
Dr. Schneider stated satellite clinics should be allowed to keep their records in a centralized location rather than 
on-site. 

TMA requested a period of no less than 60, but preferably 90, days for physicians to access their health records 
and give them to the Department where requested pursuant to an inspection or investigation. TMA also requested 
that the Department formalize in rule exactly what a physician should expect from an inspector upon inspection. 

Response: 
The Department will alter these rules where appropriate to reflect the requested change regarding keeping 
records onsite as opposed to a centralized location. Patient records should always be available onsite to 
practitioners who are treating patients; however, the Department recognizes that in the present era of electronic 
health records, the practitioner may have access the record onsite, though that information is stored in a 
centralized location. 

Additionally T.C.A. § 63-2-101 & 102 requires medical records to be produced, and certified if requested, within 
1 0 business days, and T. C.A. § 63-1-117 allows a Department inspector or investigator to provide a required date 
of production for records. In the present era of electronic health records which should be accessible onsite, and 
particularly in light of other requests herein that the Department inspection speed is increased, and absent any 
articulated need on the part of the public, the Department does not deem it necessary to allow a practitioner two 
to three months to give records to the Department in response to an inspection. Lastly, it is a long standing tenet 
of the inspection process for any facility inspected by the Department, that inspections are conducted on a 
surprise basis. Allowing a practice to prepare ahead of time exactly that which is needed to pass a scheduled 
inspection defeats the purpose of an inspection process. 

Comments on Rule 1200-34-01 -.09 

Comment: 
Robin Hoyle, Esq. with the Tennessee Pain Society expressed that allowing only 30 days for a clinic to find a new 
medical director would cause a scramble and requested a 90 day process. She also suggested a trustee system 
similar to the appointments made in bankruptcy court be instituted, wherein the interim medical director may be 
appointed by the Department and provided immunity to serve in a particular clinic. She acknowledged the 
position of interim director is already addressed in the rules but asked for that person to be provided to the clinic, 
in order to keep it open, from a pool of individuals that the Department would require to be responsible based 
upon having been pre-proven to hold the required pain management specialist credentials. 
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Brett Snodgrass, APRN with Lifeline commented that the focus needs to be returned to the community and the 
patients that are being protected, that the focus should be directed to those other providers who are addicting 
patients, not the pain practitioners. She commented that patients are being displaced, which can increase 
primary care visits and illegal use of medication. She commented that more rules will not create better practices 
in the state. She requested 90 days or longer to transition patients. 

Charles Key, Edq. of Lifeline requested 90 days or longer, potentially 180 or more. He acknowledged that a pain 
management specialist would have to serve in the medical director's position during this transition time. 

Dr. David Arehart clarified that patient should only be transferred to other pain management specialists rather 
than primary care providers and that it would be inappropriate for them to go to a non-pain management 
specialist. He commented that an emergency medical director might be contemplated in lieu of an interim 
medical director. 

Ben Simpson, Esq. with TMA requested the introduction of a co-medical director to serve from a remote facility for 
some period of the time, commenting that 90 days is preferable to 30, but still too short of a time to replace a 
medical director. TMA acknowledged that during the Task Force's review of the Department's proposed rules, 
that the TMA and Tennessee Pain Society made public comment that the previously effective rule's requirement 
for an alternate medical director position be eliminated from the new rules, which occurred prior to this rulemaking 
hearing, clarifying that they agree a serviceable medical director must be in place during a transition period, but 
the manner in which the alternate medical director was required under the original rules was indigestible. 

Dr. Dozier commented that patient access is an issue but patients also have trouble with the provider down the 
road not taking their insurance. 

Dr. Choo stated there are so few qualified pain management specialists that finding one in 30 days would be an 
impossibility. However, he did not think that finding an interim medical director would be a problem. 

Dr. Browder commented that an interim director would make a lot of sense. 

Dr. Schneider commented that there is often no place for patients to go when a clinic closes, explaining that 
patients burn bridges at pain clinics in their area and have to drive longer and longer distances to find another 
pain clinic. He believes this is going to make it more and more difficult to re-assign patients to new clinics. 

Response: 
Despite T.CA § 63-1-316(!) addressing that a license is neither assignable nor transferable, in the interest of 
patient safety, the Department has created by rule a structure that gives the clinic the ability to operate for a grace 
period of between 30 and 90 days by waiver, by bridging the gap with an interim medical director until the clinic is 
able to find a more permanent medical director. Based upon commentary that there is a need for the interim 
medical director to maintain such status longer, and in the interest of maintaining a qualified pain management 
specialist as medical director at a licensed pain management clinic, the Department will allow the interim medical 
director to apply for a truncated, six-month license at the conclusion of the grace period, in order to operate in an 
interim status for a longer period of time, while maintaining all of the responsibilities that go along with being a 
qualified pain management specialist in a medical director position. The Department agrees that a pain 
management specialist should be in charge of and available to the pain management clinic at all times. It 
believes that the rules as amended will allow as much flexibility as possible for an interim director to cover the 
clinic while attempting to find a more permanent pain management specialist to act as medical director. The 
Department does not believe that it would be appropriate for it to assign qualified pain management specialists to 
attend to an interim medical director's responsibilities at clinics where a medical director is no longer able to 
serve, nor does it believe there is a process to grant such an individual immunity in the position of pain 
management clinic interim director. 

Comment: 
Charles Key, Esq. of Lifeline comments that the current medical director remaining responsible for anything 
within the clinic after he has left presents a problem and requested a narrowing or clarifying of the language. He 
also requested that .09(1 )(f) be amended to include that all of the patients must be notified in the event the 
medical director leaves and closes the clinic, not just those seen by the medical director. 

Dr. Williams commented with regard to .09(1 )(f) that if his clinic were to close it would be impossible for him to 
arrange continuity of care. 
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Response: 
The Department will amend the language in .09(1)(b) to state that the current medical director's pain management 
clinic license itself, rather than the departed medical director's Board of Medical Examiner's issued license, shall 
remain responsible for actions or inactions occurring at or caused by the pain management clinic after his or her 
departure. This does not preclude the medical director's medical license from being disciplined for any actions or 
inactions occurring at or caused by the pain management clinic during his or her tenure there, nor for 
inappropriately leaving the pain management clinic in the position of having to retain a new and/or interim medical 
director. 

The Department recognizes the fact that it is difficult to recruit a pain management specialist to be a medical 
director; however, the Department also recognizes that the medical director is the license holder under the law. 
Despite creating a method for a pain clinic to continue operating on a medical director's license after his or her 
departure, the Department recognizes that a medical director may begin working at a clinic and discover it is not 
being run appropriately. Rule 1200-34-01-.09(1)(f) allows a medical director who wants or needs to close a clinic, 
without allowing it to continue operating on a grace period, the ability to do so appropriately by inactivating the 
license. The Department agrees that in such an event all patients at the clinic should be notified. The Department 
will so amend that rule. · 

Comment: 
Dr. Browder asked for clarification regarding certificate holders who renewed their certificate before July 1, 2017. 

Response: 
A certificate holder whose certificate was renewed before July 1, 2017 can continue to operate on that certificate 
until its expiration, and it will be deemed and treated as a license until that time. The rules require that such a 
certified pain management clinic have a completed application turned in to the Department no less than 90 days 
before the expiration of the certificate in order for the Department to have time to inspect the clinic before issuing 
a license. Should the medical director fail to turn in a complete application 90 days prior to the expiration of the 
certificate, and the Department have insufficient time to inspect the clinic, the clinic must cease operations on the 
day that its certificate expires. The Department will not refuse to issue a license where the medical director timely 
submitted a complete application and a failure to inspect the clinic is based upon the Department and no 
shortcoming of the clinic. 

Comment: 
Dr. Williams commented that the requirement to report the number of patients seen by the clinic each month in 
the preceding year is not difficult however the two requirements listed in (d) and (f) seem to be a redundancy. He 
voiced concern that a requirement to report all drug samples dispensed is an opportunity for honest errors which 
the state could make much of. Additionally he expressed that the advertising reporting requirement could be 
clarified since so many physicians give educational presentations at conferences. 

Dr. Dozier commented it is overly burdensome to have to report dispensing samples of things such as ibuprofen 
or Zantac. 

Dr. Arehart commented that requiring the medical director to notify the clinic within 30 days of certain occurrences 
presents a problem when the medical director does not know something because it is impossible to know or 
disguised or hidden. He also commented that reporting patients seen and patients being treated for non­
malignant pain would be difficult. 

Response: 
The requirement to report the number of patients seen by the clinic and the number of patients seen who are 
receiving controlled substances for chronic nonmalignant pain are both statutory requirements simply repeated in 
the rule. The Department has agreed to remove non-controlled drug samples from the reporting requirement. 
The Department also clarified in rule what is considered advertising for purposes of the annual report to the 
Department. To the extent that a medical director does not report certain occurrences due to them being hidden 
or disguised, medical directors should exercise appropriate thoroughness and caution in carrying out their 
responsibilities, and may certainly make an explanation to be considered by the Department where any report is 
untimely due to deceit by an employee. 

Comments on Rule 1200-34-01-.10 
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Comment: 
Dr. Arehart commented that he is disturbed by the number of requirements being placed on medical directors 
which would not otherwise be their job. He believed that things are being required of the medical director in 
.1 0(1 )(a)(3-5) and .1 0(2)(b) that are outside their control. 

Dr. Browder believes the language stating that the medical director shall "ensure" various things creates a difficult 
situation. 

TMA commented they believe the use of the term epsure creates strict liability for the medical director for things 
that may be outside of his or her control. TMA further suggests that the Department place liability on the 
individuals who are violating the rules and have control over their own conduct, rather than with the medical 
director. TMA made a number of suggestions regarding language deletions and requirements the medical director 
create policies and procedures to educate and randomly audit samplings rather than "ensure" that such policies 
and procedures were effectuated. TMA suggests deletion of the requirements surrounding establishment of an 
infection control program. TMA suggests that rather than ensuring each health care provider employed by a pain 
management clinic maintain complete and accurate records, that the medical director periodically audit or have a 
supervising physician audit a sample of medical records. TMA suggests that the medical director shall have 
policies and procedures in place to periodically audit a sampling of billing records by a qualified outside auditor. 

Robin Hoyle, Esq. from the Tennessee Pain Society commented that she agreed with TMA's concerns about the 
use of the term "ensure". 

Charles Key, Esq. with Lifeline requests clarification regarding the requirement that the medical director be on­
site at least 20% of the clinic's weekly total number of operating hours with the addition of coverage language. 

Response: 
The majority of the requirements placed on the medical director in these rules are requirements that have been in 
place for the medical director since the promulgation of these rules in 2011. Other requirements that were 
previously placed on the certificate holder have been migrated to the medical director, since that individual is now 
the license holder. Many of these rules require the medical director to ensure the appropriate policies and 
procedures are in place. 

TMA did not provide any examples of lawsuits where a medical director of a pain management clinic was held to 
a standard of strict liability based upon the word ensure, which has existed in the rules for medical director 
responsibilities since 2011. The case cited by TMA in their written comment, the unpublished decision in an 
appeal from the United States District Court for the Eastern District of Kentucky, Lee v City of Newport, 947 F. 2d 
945, 1991 WL, can be differentiated from the imagined litigation TMA is concerned about in a number of ways, 
notably the court's analysis did not entertain the idea that a licensee could be held to a standard of strict liability in 
a malpractice or other lawsuit unrelated to the administrative revocation of her license. In this case the court 
found that absent a showing that the business owner's fitness to operate her adult entertainment club was 
affected by the conviction of her employees for acts of prostitution, a showing such as her knowledge of the 
conduct, and without allowing her the opportunity to present evidence in her defense, her occupational license 
could not be revoked. The ordinance in question stated that a license may be revoked or suspended where a 
criminal conviction occurred on the premises, stating that the criminal judgement served as conclusive evidence 
of a violation. In determining the call of the question, the court conflated conclusive evidence, irrebuttable 
presumption, and the elimination of any knowledge requirement or the licensee's ability to present a defense on 
the subject. The court found that the use of convictions unrelated to the government's legitimate purpose in 
regulation deprive a person of their right to engage in an occupation. Governmental requirements must bear a 
rational relation to the person's fitness to engage in the particular occupation or business, and the court found an 
insufficient nexus in the fact pattern presented. This case can be distinguished by King's Health Spa, Inc. v. Viii. 
Of Downers Grove, 2014 IL App (2d) 130825, 11N.E. 3d 489, which found that an ordinance allowing for the 
revocation of a massage establishment's license if any massage therapists practicing at the licensed premises 
committed specific criminal acts such as prostitution, did not violate the licensee's due process rights, as the 
ordinance was reasonably related to governmental interest in preventing prostitution at massage establishments. 
The rules in question directly relate to the medical director's responsibilities to the patients at a pain management 
clinic, the responsibilities of a highly trained professional to a vulnerable patient population. The Department does 
not agree that it is unreasonable for a medical director who is fit to and desirous of running a pain management 
clinic, to confirm, guarantee, and safeguard to his patients that supervising physicians are following their 
supervision requirements, that health care providers are complying with state and federal laws relative to the 
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prescribing of controlled substances, that protocols are established between supervising physicians and their 
supervisees, and that records are appropriately maintained. 

With regard to TMA's request that liability be placed on those individuals who are violating the rules, the 
Department responds that these rules in no way alleviate the responsibilities of the individual providers. T.C.A. § 
63-1-311(a) states that a violation of the pain management clinic act or these rules is grounds for disciplinary 
action against the practitioner by the board that licensed that practitioner. Rule 1200-34-01-.10 states in rule the 
responsibilities of the medical director, but does not replace or annul the responsibilities of the individual 
practitioners working in the clinic. 

With regard to TMA's request to delete the requirements for establishment of an infection control program to 
provide a sanitary environment, the Department believes that these requirements are important in any setting in 
which patient care is effectuated, and though the Department has deleted some of the requirements which were 
previously in the rules, the Department is of the opinion that it is appropriate for the Department to inspect such 
policies and procedures in any clinic which it regulates through licensure and inspections. 

With regard to TMA's suggestion that the medical director periodically audit or have a supervising physician audit 
a sample of medical records, the rules regarding supervising physicians' responsibilities already require a 100% 
review of, and physician signature on, charts in which a controlled substance is prescribed. With regard to TMA's 
suggestion that the rules require the medical director to have policies and procedures in place to periodically audit 
a sampling of billing records by a qualified outside auditor, the Department believes the specifics of how to 
effectuate compliance with this rule should be left to the individual clinics. 
In response to these comments, the Department has amended Rule 1200-34-01-.1 0(2)(b) to state that the 
medical director must have a system in place to ensure adequate medical documentation rather than the 
language requiring actually ensuring such documentation, and the Department has amended Rule 1200-34-01-
.1 0(3) to require the medical director to take appropriate steps, including having a system in place to ensure 
adequate billing records, rather than the language requiring actually ensuring adequate billing records are 
maintained. In response to previous comments made regarding the difficulty some clinics have with maintaining 
billing records ensile, such ensile billing requirements have been removed from this rule. 

In response to the concern about coverage language in Rule 1200-34-01-.1 0(1 )(a)2., the Department believes 
that Rule 1200-34-01-.10(1)(a)6 sufficiently explains that where a medical director is unable to fulfill his duties on 
a temporary basis, temporary, short-term coverage may be provided by another pain management specialist. 
The rule states that the covering physician shall share responsibility for those times during which he or she is 
providing coverage, which responsibilities would include being on-site 20% of the clinic's weekly operating hours. 
Having identified such coverage, does not alleviate the licensed Medical Director's responsibilities, nor his or her 
requirements to be on-site other than for a temporary, short-term basis and is not intended to avoid his or her 
requirements under T.C.A. § 63-1-309(d). 

There were no comments on Rule 1200-34-01-.11. 

Comments on Rule 1200-34-01-.12 

Comment: 
TMA thanked the Department for the clarifying language added since the Task Force version of the rules, 
clarifying that the disciplinary parameters listed in .12 would be discipline placed on the medical director's pain 
management clinic license, noting that the medical license of the medical director would still be under the 
jurisdiction and purview of the Board of Medical Examiners. TMA stated that licensure suspension, under Rule 
1200-34-01-.12(1)(d)2, which requires a clinic to be completely closed during any period of suspension, severely 
limits a medical director's options to give his patients access to their records. 

Response: 
The Department recognizes that requiring a clinic to be completely closed during a period of suspension means 
that the Medical Director's policies and procedures to ensure patients have access to their medical records must 
account for such a situation. The Department must afford due process requirements in order to suspend a pain 
management clinic license, thus a medical director will have ample warning that a suspension will or is likely to 
occur, and should take necessary actions to assure continuity of care for his or her patients. The Department 
would be unable to ensure that patients are coming to a clinic purely for the purpose of picking up medical records 
rather than prescriptions, and as the Department is aware such situations have occurred, in the event that 
violations are sufficient to warrant suspension of a pain management clinic license, the clinic must remain closed. 
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Comment: 
Dr. Chao expressed that he believed a peer review panel should be part of the process to guide the Department's 
decision making. He requested a process by which ABMS board-certified physicians chosen by TNSIP, TPS, 
TMA, and the Department review records in question and give a gold-standard peer review. He believed that this 
would create continuity through the administration change and protect potentially some of the decisions by others 
in the future. 

Dr. Dozier agreed it would place his faith back intp the process to be looked at by peers who are American 
medical subspecialty trained pain doctors who are fellowship trained. 

Dr. Schneider, as president-elect of the Tennessee Pain Society, concurred with the voiced peer review panel 
idea. 

Dr. Arehart stated that it should not only be a matter of protecting themselves but helping direct Department 
investigations. 

Dr. Browder added that the panel ought to have individuals who are not only proceduralists who do not use 
opiates. 

Brett Snodgrass, APRN, added that if such panel is developed that APRN's have appropriate representation. 

TMA supported the peer-review process in the disciplinary review to ensure due process is afforded. 

Response: 
The Department recognizes that the statute refers to ABMS, ADA, ABIPP, and ABPM statuses in defining pain 
management specialists. In the current process the Department employs to review investigations and inspections 
there is already a process of peer review that takes place. As complaints come in they are reviewed by an 
attorney and a practitioner of the same license as the individual named in the complaint. The department has 
physicians and advanced practice registered nurses who are reviewing complaints with attorneys and has 
recently retained an ABMS certified pain management specialist to review pain management clinic inspections 
and pain management specialist related complaints. Additionally the Department has employed the use of 
experts in pain management and pain medicine to serve in both a reviewing and testifying capacity from time to 
time for assessing disciplinary actions. The Department is cognizant of the ruling in the case of the North Carolina 
Board of Dental Examiners versus the Federal Trade Commission and will not allow self-protectionism from pain 
management specialists. However, the Department recognizes the request from pain management specialists 
that their records particularly be peer reviewed. The Department may determine to utilize some form of panel or 
consultation with pain management specialists as needed upon the commissioner's request. The Department 
has added such a provision at 1200-34-01-.12(1 )U). 

Comments on Rule 1200-34-01-.13. 

Comment: 
CPS commented that they believe the inclusion of a gross deviation or pattern of deviations from the Chronic Pain 
Guidelines in the non-exhaustive list of conditions that are likely to be detrimental to the health, safety, or welfare 
of a patient skirts the rulemaking process. 

Response: 
The Department was required by the Tennessee General Assembly to create the Chronic Pain Guidelines. They 
were created in consultation with stakeholders from across the state and over the course of multiple public 
meetings, and have been readdressed with care and public input. Since their creation, they have been frequently 
discussed at board meetings and adopted as policy by all the prescribing boards. It is the Department's position 
that a gross deviation or pattern of deviation from these guidelines can constitute conditions that are or are likely 
to be detrimental to the health, safety, or welfare of a patient. Listing this among the conditions for which the 
Commissioner may exercise his statutorily-granted ability to suspend new or existing patient treatment for 
purposes of patient safety does not skirt a rulemaking process but in fact puts practitioners on notice, through this 
rulemaking process, of the importance with which the Department takes compliance with the peer-developed 
guidance contained therein. 

Comments on Rule 1200-34-01-.14 
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Comment: 
TMA wanted to know if the Department could retroactively apply these rules to a non-licensed pain management 
clinic upon determination that they are operating unlicensed. 

Response: 
The Department does not believe it can impose the specifics required of a licensed pain management clinic 
contained in the licensure rules to an unlicensed facility as there would be no license to discipline at an 
unlicensed facility; however, pursuant to T.C.A. § 93-1-311 a practitioner's licensing board may assess a civil 
penalty of between $1,000 and $5000 per day against any individual working in an unlicensed pain clinic. 
Additionally, pursuant to T.C.A. § 63-1-315, the statutes now permit the Department to take action against a clinic 
suspected of operating as an unlicensed pain management clinic, including suspending new admissions. 
Furthermore pursuant to T.C.A. § 63-1-317, operation of an unlicensed pain management clinic is a Class A 
misdemeanor, and the Department, through the Office of the Attorney General, may apply for injunctive relief in 
any court of competent jurisdiction. A person who aids or requires another to violate the statutes or rules, or a 
person who allows a pain management clinic license to be used by anyone other than the licensee, is subject to a 
civil penalty of up to $5,000 per day of continued violation. 

Comments on Rule 1200-34-01-.15 

Comment: 
Comprehensive Pain Specialists commented that use of operating expenses as a basis for the amount statutorily 
mandated financial requirement seemed nonsensical. 
Dr. Williams expressed that did not understand the purpose. He believes medical doctors are already compelled 
to keep medical records available for 10 years, so a financial requirement would not benefit patients in retrieving 
their medical records. 
TMA commented that it did not believe the financial requirement was purposefully included in the public chapter, 
and vehemently requested that the option for a bond rather than liability insurance be removed from the rule. 
Dr. Dozier commented that this requirement is too much. 

Response: 
The Department is required by statute to promulgate rules regarding financial requirements in the form of a bond 
or liability insurance. The Department cannot speak directly to the legislative intent in requiring the Department 
promulgate such rules, but the Department believes that this is intended to protect patients in the event the clinic 
closes or other unforeseen issues occur such as the disciplinary suspension of a clinic or a medical director's 
untimely death, ensuring that there are sufficient funds for the patients to have continuity of access to care and 
availability to access their medical records. The Department believes that by keeping a requirement in the rule to 
have either bonds or liability insurance, it is providing practitioners with options. To strike the option for a bond as 
requested by TMA, would limit the options available to medical directors in determining how to meet their financial 
requirements. 

Despite the Department eliciting suggestions regarding the amount or type of bond or liability insurance that pain 
clinics should be required to pay, both from individuals and organizations who commented negatively regarding 
this rule, and requests made during the public rulemaking hearing, the Department has received zero 
suggestions. The Department, however, will lower the amount of the required bond or liability insurance to one 
year of operating expenses. 

Comments on Rule 1200-34-01-.16 

Comment: 
Dr. Browder asked for clarification regarding what is an advertisement. 

Alex Munderloh, Esq. on behalf of CPS asked for clarification regarding what advertisements must be disclosed 
for a clinic with multiple locations. 

Response: 
Such clarifications were added to the rule regarding reporting requirements. 

There were no comments on Rule 1200-34-01-.17. 
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Regulatory Flexibility Addendum 

Pursuant to T.C.A. §§ 4-5-401 through 4-5-404, prior to initiating the rule making process, all agencies shall 
conduct a review of whether a proposed rule or rule affects small business. 

(1) The extent to which the rule or rule may overlap, duplicate, or conflict with other federal, state, 
and local governmental rules. 

These rules do not overlap, duplicate, or conflict with other federal, state, or local governmental rules. 

(2) Clarity, conciseness, and lack of ambiguity in the rule or rules. 

These rules exhibit clarity, conciseness, and lack of ambiguity. 

(3) The establishment of flexible compliance and/or reporting requirements for small businesses. 

The reporting requirements included in these rules are uniform for each licensed clinic upon licensure 
application and renewal and in an annual report. 

(4) The establishment of friendly schedules or deadlines for compliance and/or reporting 
requirements for small businesses. 

The reporting requirements are uniform for each licensed clinic. These rules allow for a 30 day grace 
period and potentially an additional 60 day grace period with waiver for those clinics whose medical 
director has departed and are struggling to find a new medical director. 

(5) The consolidation or simplification of compliance or reporting requirements for small businesses. 

The rules require reporting upon licensure and renewal and annually during licensure cycles. 

(6) The establishment of performance standards for small businesses as opposed to design or 
operational standards required in the proposed rule. 

These rules require each medical director to create his or her own performance, standards for his or her 
own clinic. 

(7) The unnecessary creation of entry barriers or other effects that stifle entrepreneurial activity, curb 
innovation, or increase costs. 

These rules do not create unnecessary barriers or stifle entrepreneurial activity or innovation. 
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STATEMENT OF ECONOMIC IMPACT TO SMALL BUSINESSES 

Name of Board, Committee or Council: Pain Management Clinics 

Rulemaking hearing date: July 24, 2017 

1. Type or types of small business and an identification and estimate of the number of small businesses 
subject to the proposed rule that would be<!,r the cost of, and/or directly benefit from the proposed 
rule: 

These proposed rule amendments will have an impact on all pain management clinic owners and medical 
directors, in keeping with last year's statutory changes. While the medical directors and owners will be subject 
to some additional requirements such as greater reporting to the Department of Health, more frequent 
inspections, and higher licensing fees, these new rules will follow the statutory changes from last session to 
ensure a safer environment in pain management clinics, serving the public with another step towards 
lessening the addiction rate in Tennessee. 

2. Projected reporting, recordkeeping and other administrative costs required for compliance with the 
proposed rule, including the type of professional skills necessary for preparation of the report or 
record: 

These proposed rule amendments will require additional annual reporting requirements by the medical 
director, but these new reporting requirements should have a minimal financial impact on the clinics. 

3. Statement of the probable effect on impacted small businesses and consumers: 

These proposed rule amendments, following the statutory changes from last session, vest more responsibility 
and control in the medical director of pain management clinics, and while some of the rules create additional 
burdens, the new rules should have a positive impact on pain management clinics by creating more specific 
requirements. Additionally, these new rules will ensure better service to the public and will serve as another 
step towards lessening the addiction rate in Tennessee. 

4. Description of any less burdensome, less intrusive or less costly alternative methods of achieving the 
purpose and/or objectives of the proposed rule that may exist, and to what extent, such alternative 
means might be less burdensome to small business: 

There are no less burdensome, less intrusive, or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose 
and/or objectives of the proposed rule amendments. These rules are required by Public Chapter 1033, which 
was signed by the Governor on April 20, 2016. 

5. Comparison of the proposed rule with any federal or state counterparts: 

Federal: There are no federal regulations for pain management clinics. 

State: Most doctor's offices are not regulated in this manner, but compared to licensed healthcare 
facilities, these requirements are less burdensome. 

6. Analysis of the effect of the possible exemption of small businesses from all or any part of the 
requirements contained in the proposed rule. 

The proposed rule amendments do not provide for any exemptions for small businesses. 
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Impact on Local Governments 

Pursuant to T.C.A. §§ 4-5-220 and 4-5-228 "any rule proposed to be promulgated shall state in a simple 
declarative sentence, without additional comments on the merits of the policy of the rules or regulation, whether 
the rule or regulation may have a projected impact on local governments." (See Public Chapter Number 1070 
(http://state.tn.us/sos/acts/1 06/pub/pc1 070.pdf) of the 2010 Session of the General Assembly) 

The proposed rule amendments should not have a financial impact on local governments. 
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Additional Information Required by Joint Government Operations Committee 

All agencies, upon filing a rule, must also submit the following pursuant to T.C.A. § 4-5-226(i)(1). 

(A) A brief summary of the rule and a description of all relevant changes in previous regulations effectuated by 
such rule; 

I Rule Chapter 1200-34-01 [Pain Management Clinics] is being repealed and rewritten. 
~ 

(B) A citation to and brief description of any federal law or regulation or any state law or regulation mandating 
promulgation of such rule or establishing guidelines relevant thereto; 

I Public Chapter 1033, which was signed by the Governor on April20, 2016. 

(C) Identification of persons, organizations, corporations or governmental entities most directly affected by this 
rule, and whether those persons, organizations, corporations or governmental entities urge adoption or 
rejection of this rule; 

These proposed rule amendments will have an impact on all pain management clinic owners and medical 
directors, in kee in with last ear's statuto chan es. 

(D) Identification of any opinions of the attorney general and reporter or any judicial ruling that directly relates to 
the rule or the necessity to promulgate the rule; 

None. 

(E) An estimate of the probable increase or decrease in state and local government revenues and expenditures, 
if any, resulting from the promulgation of this rule, and assumptions and reasoning upon which the estimate 
is based. An agency shall not state that the fiscal impact is minimal if the fiscal impact is more than two 
percent (2%) of the agency's annual budget or five hundred thousand dollars ($500,000), whichever is less; 

These rules should not result in any increase or decrease in state or local government revenues or 
ex enditures. 

(F) Identification of the appropriate agency representative or representatives, possessing substantial knowledge 
and understanding of the rule; 

I Mary Katherine Bratton, Deputy General Counsel, Department of Health. 

(G) Identification of the appropriate agency representative or representatives who will explain the rule at a 
scheduled meeting of the committees; 

I Mary Katherine Bratton, Deputy General Counsel, Department of Health. 

(H) Office address, telephone number, and email address of the agency representative or representatives who 
will explain the rule at a scheduled meeting of the committees; and 

Department of Health, Office of General Counsel, 665 Mainstream Drive, Nashville, Tennessee 37205, (615) 
741-1611, Mar .Bratton tn. ov. 

(I) Any additional information relevant to the rule proposed for continuation that the committee requests. 

None. 
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1200 31 01 .92 l:lomiiTIONS. 

-I-A--aEIGilie-R---te--the-deffnHfens--wntained~1-J.G-1-,--tAe-foUowing··definitions---are-appliBable--te--tffis 
GRapt-er.;. 

f-~p1iGa-r#---rneaAs----a----f:lefSOR---WRe--Ras----sldbmitted -"of-~is-i-fl----#1$---f>reeess--of----submitting-·aA 
appliGation--te-opemte -a-p-aifl--m-aA-agemen!-B!ini&.-

(2) "Cemrnissie~ans CeFRmissioAeF--e:f-.Me.al-#1-:-

~4-)------'.:cert-if~t:-ate--J=l.e.IGef--'---ffie.a.R&--tAe---!3er-soo---wfm--ftel ds a eeFtifieate as a pakl--maRa§BfR€-fl-t-G1-ffl-iB 
anG--is---tRe----ewrter---Gf-ene-ef--t.Ae-eWAefS--Gf--t-Ae-G!ifli-c--,-
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PAIN MANAGEMENT CLINICS CHAPTER 1200-34-01 

(Rule 1200-34-01-.02, continued) 
t51--~frtfellc€1 gtlestanee" ffieans a Eirl:l§, substance, or---fm-fl::ledlate fJFCGHrsor iEi-e-A-tl-HeEI, Eleflfl-B9 

ee-li&teEI-ii1-Mie-J9,-BAaJ'leF-\+,-I"!Fl-4-aOO-lii~ec-~1-

\B)-"Flealffi-----Gafe--roviEler" FReans a rnedi-Ba~BeRseG-------ImEier-+fHe----@3,----G~----6-i­
es-te-ej3-atRiB---j3-f-lysiB-i-a-R--Hee-n-se4--t!RGer----+it!e 82, Chaf*er~ti-Ge--A-UfSB--l.IE:-BflseG 
undef--+itle--63-;--Gflapter---7-;--who--meet&--!Ae---requlr-ements--sontained-4n-T-"'"G-"A .... §Q0-7-1.26-i-Or-a 
f}h-y&ic-ian--assi-&t-aRI.-tk:-emed- u-n-der--THie--63,--Gflaj}tef-1-9-.-

f71------'-'Meffi€al Director" ffleans an~fi-.a.&-&-f>Ay&i-eian-l:tWi~tle-&3.,-G~r:-&-er 
Ghaj3ter--9---whe--j3FaBtises---ifl.--.tJ:H~~--te€i-,---ld-fleRG!;;ffA-9er-etl---tiB-e-R-Se-afiEI-wfi.G 
j3Fo-vides--Gver-sight--rela Uve--to--the-e!}BFaffeA-s--o-f--fl:l&-fJ-a-i-A--manag e FA e nt G!ffii-B:-

~8-} -~'l'Aedi-E:-a~-geGE!rEr'-shall~have--tRe-same-me-a-niH§--as-se-t--fu.ftl:i-in T.C. '\. § Bd 1 117. 

~9)---~.Pain-Mana§emeffi-GllAi&:--9~~-Aalt-h-a-ve--tf:te--same--rn-eafl-iflg--a&-se-t-fufth--in--T-,G-,A--§--6-3-
-t-;lG+~ 

fcj~-alft---Management---SefviGes'-'--m-eans--evah-Jat-ion-,--diagno&is,---er-tr-e-atment--feF-l-he---fJ-FeveA-t1eR-;­
Fe€1-oc-tie-A,-----Gf------£-essatieR-------ef-------the------symp-tem-------ef-----paiR~·~through~pharmaoo!egieat,-------A-e-n 
pRafm-aool-egk--a~--a-AE!--etAer--a-ppr-e--acJ::Jes-; 

(11) "Patient l\§-f68f11BfH~e-aR&--a--wffiten-6-e-G'dffieffi-si§-fl-B4---By----t-~hioh, at a FAffiHm:!-m,­
ad-dfess-e-s--patient--responsi!.:li!ft-y-f-or-pFeper-Hse-a-flE!-----sa-fe§-ua-FEl-i-fl§J ef FFl e d i c-a-H-om--,---Ele-s-c-f-IDe& 
tRe--£--liRi-B's--drtt@-SGFeeRiRg-poliey-,--p.rev4Ele-s-f-oF--fJfBSGf-$l-i-e-Fts---te---Be-fi-lte-d---at-----0Riy---o~li-ar-mac-y 
-to--b-e--ffiBRHfie-d--Gy--the-patieRt--aRd---addre-sse-&-l:he--use--ef-ooAtf-e-t1e4----6-uB&fa-fle9-S---f1f€-8C-fiBetl-9y 
et-Rer--pmviEJe-r-&.-

(-1-2-)-- ~P.e-F&Gff'-----ffieaA~-i-viG-t!a-l-------leR-8-e€l-----L--lfi-E!e-F-Htl-e---€l-J----w!m-+"R--a)I----9WR-----0f-F-ffl----a-R-----e-Rtity 
providing-J3-8-fA-+~ewi-Ge-s,---i-RB-l~~m-itee-t-e-a-prefussiona+--BoFPeFa-ti-eR 
er--j}r--e-fes-siena-l----ll-fl::HE!:---I-i-abHHy----c---0ffipa~t-tB 8f3fJiioa81e Tennessee laws and r1o1les. 

f-1-J-)-~t!9stan-Ge--Ab-t!se---Ri-&k--Asse&&ffiB-R~--me-a-A&--tf:l-e.--as-s-essmen:l---ef-an-iRdWiEW-ai:~HJfli-que--risk-for. 
aOOi-G-tie-R-;--------a-9-Hse,--------m-ffis-e,------Gl-v-FSi-GR-----eF------a-fl-Ol-l=l-er-.. .adve-rse-eerrse-EJUBRGe---re-&tJ!-URg-ff-0ffi 
)3re-sc---fipti-Gn----FFl-€-Gi£--a-tfe-R-i-H-tenGe-EI---te-----tfOat pain . S~;~9s-tance-abuse-r~sk-assess-rnent-FA-a-y-9e 
ac--G-empHsfle-d----tA-FeHgA---a--stanEiaFdized-.wr.lUen-or--era-Uy-OOilv-e-re-d---q--He&t-i-9flfl--a-i-fe---er----tA-roU§-A-----a 
B-lJA-fBa~-i-fl-te-FView~ 

(14) "UneRouml:l~eans an aotive-HGeAs-e-thaHs-not Sl:1s)3endeEl er eR J3Feeati-0H----a-t----tR-e----tim-e 
lhe--Biinie-eweef\&)-sllllrnil-a-J*il~-awliealioo-arul-lflaklee&-ooi-llave-­
eeRditiens,-reslf-isliens-,eF--lim-i-tafi-eA&.-

f-1-5j-----:'VF-ifle-Qf~::~!}----Sor-ee~-means---ur.ina~ys-is------J3eFfGf-ffie-G----1::l-Siflg---a----wm-FR€fGia! test ~~~t in a J3aifl 
manage-m-eA-t-0f-etAef--Glinfc---eF-a-t-a-FefefeFtee---la-OOratefy---t-A-a-t--tests--feF-the---pfe&8RW---of---a-t--lea-st 
tAe-----wntmHeEl su~-~eQ as '''ell as--mar~juana-,----B-ne---er~mofe----0f-.tA-e 
E>f!feid&,-----BemBdi-alBpines--,--BGeaiR-e---anEl-FA etA a mFJAeta-m-fRes---and----m-ay---fA-BtuGe----aRY----aGditieAal 
GOR1Felle-d-s-I::IJ3.s-ta-nses--a-t----tRe---4s-reti--eJ:-1----e-ffle-Gliffic----. 

-l#y;--JC~--r-:J~Q:J,anfi-!iJ--1--306---Adminis#affife-M~-mergene)'-fiJie-filefl 
S~r~4i-€#ec-!We-lllr<W§ii-MaFG~2.----Iiirnerg&RejHtile-filefi-&flember-do,;!01--1--­
e#eG!We-lhfoo[JII-MaFGit--2fi,-20-1-2;-on-Mareh-2-9,-;IQI;!-I!Je-eme~f!eRe)HYi""~-8Afi-Fevel'lec! te-ils 
{}fe-VietiS----slaW-s. Rerrna-nent~rule-s .. --f-200-34-cO,t--fhroiJgh-----:40-----ffle-4---Qere-mh-e-r-----2;1-,-----JM1--i----te-----Ra¥e--B-een 
e#ec--ti¥-e-----M-am-R--26,20-1-2--:--T-fre-Gevemme-Rt--O#ef8-#GR-S-Gemmi#e-e--fife.EI---a---seven-Eia-y---s-tay--ef---effes#ve 
4ate--ef--t4e---rules;--ne-w··e-ffee#v-e---4a-te---Afi>rJI-2:,----2{}-1-J~------Gri-----MaFGh--2l3,----2{)1--2,--ffie---G--ewmme-l-1-t--GpeFatiens 
-Gem-m-i-ttee.-w#hd-rew-its-stay-i----A&-w-effee#ve-d-ate-Mamh---2-&,----2-0--1-2--:-
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Eaj-BeginniRg~Januar.y~-1,--20-1-2,---ift--er-GeHe-eb-laffi--a-eertffic--at-e--a-s-a-ftai-A-FR-aAa§eme-Af-GJ.iffi&,­
an-aJO)pHeaRt--shatl--submit-t-Re-fellewiA-§--ffi----tAe-Qepartment-:-

2. a eemp!eteEI feFffi----i*e&eFiSeEl t:Jy tRe--Gey-aRm-eAt-----B-Rewiflg FJFGef ef -fl-a-v-ffi§--a 
f'Fl-B-di-BaJ.---direeter--wR-e---i-s----a--f)A-ysiBiaR---wRe---j}FaC---!iBes---iR--T--eRRess-ee-urH;Ier:---aR 
oor-e-stfie-t-eEl---and--uA€-flC--lffflheFed--~iGeRse--i-ssued---pursuarn---to-T,G.-A.---§---@3-6--2-G~---GF 

W-9-11l4i 

:,l--- - --pr-oo:f--ef---A-av}ng--ebtained---a--Qrug~Rfor-Gement-Admfnistratien-r-e§i&tFatie-R---f-eF-tAe 
elini-B;--if-fe-EJ uir-ed-ftu-Fs-uan-IA-e-fede-Fal-la-ws---and~rule&i-

4-.-------f)r-eef---ef-Qryg-!~nfersemeRt--Administ-ralien-r-e§istrat-iefl-S----fef-tR-e---fn-EI+v-iEI-u-al-----Re-atm 
G3Fe-fJ-Fe-v-iEle-F&-WAo---p~aRa-§BffiBAt---se-Rr4Be-s---at----#te--c-li-fti-c-,- i~-r-eq-ui-fed­
f.ltlf-Bttaffi--te-feEle-Fal--1-aws----anG--FHle&;-

5, -----the--r-esults-.-.of--a-eriminai-Baek:gret~REI--c---fle-ek-eF-Gr-ffi:t+R-a-1----ta-BkgfOHREI-eR-eGks--fef---a-!l­
-ef----tA-e--paifl mana§emont --eli-n-i-c--ew-ReF&---fw-A-e-1-e--9f-----ftartial ewneFs) te Be sent 
E!freB~!-y-fr-om-the---v-efl-der---te---tOO--Q-epar!:men-t-; 

@. a list ef inEliviEI-Ha-ls-----wAe-m,--------£-G-GWfi,------Bj}er-al:e----er----Gtherwl-se---prev-i-d-e---pa~R 
rn-a-nage-m-en-t----se-FV-k:-e-s--i-n--t-Ae----Gli-R-is--as-an--em-pleye-e--er--a-peFson--with-whom--tRe 
eHn iG-GentFaet&---fur---s-er=viGes~ 

:;z.___________--Gfsc--le-wre---ef-----an-y-tisense--dG-Ria!,--res-trietien, .. er--diseif>line-imposeQ-en--an-GWReF;­
-efale~Ha!-wRe-fcaviaes-&eRJiBe&-aHM-BiifliGo-Bm~lsyee-BI 
the---elinie,.·-er-persen-with··--wRem .. -t-Ae-----el-ifliG-----C---B-RtFa-Bt&-~t-----fe 
+,CA-%;;:J-1-J()S; 

9-. -aey-ell1-.maliBfl-fefl1Jesle<l-By-lAB-G~ 

f£+----AA---B-ftfWBaRt shall st:JBmit a SCFJarate aJ3FJiiGatien f9f---Ge-ftifJ-Gatien fer sash elinie leeatien 
~lc ss ef v ·R etR e F---tRe--BI-iffiG-is---ej3erate-El----unEier-the---same-EH:l-SlRess-name,ewRershif.l,-
9f-mana§effient as another elif:l-i-c-. 

-ftj If an 8FJJ3Iieant Elee&--ne-t-Geffi-i3-lete the aflf*i-Ga-OOF1---flf9eess--witAiA-----SOOy-E@Qj--El-a-y-s-----a#ef 
t-Ae----Qeya-Ftment--rec----ef-v-e.s----the-a~tJ3Heatie-n----B-eeaHSe-----lhe--apfllleatieR--Iack:s----the-.··requir.eE:I 

iRfBFm-atieR-er-fails-te-.meet-the-prerequisite-s-fer---eeffifiBatieA-;----tRen--the-a~-i-eA-Wilt---be 
E:-fw-e-G-,t-he---aJO)pliGatien-fee--will-net-----tle-refunEletl-,-----3-flEI------tA8----a-j3-j3-~Gan--t---sRaii-FCappty---feF 

Ge-Hi-ffGa-t-i-en--. 

(41----AHY-8!'>PfiGation-tRaHs--sYbmitted-to--t-he··DepafimeR-t----ma-y---be---wi-!RdfawA--at-aR-Y---t-ime---tffier 
te--t-Ae--gr:a-R-t---or----EIG-R-ial--e-keRi:flsatienT--J}feviE:Ied-,---Reweve-r-,----th-at----the-apf.lliGalion-fee--wm---RBt 
Oe-reft:JREieth 

(-2-)----ReRewal.,. 

(a-)~A··f!afn-man-a§e-me-n-t--c-!iniG-----Gertifieate------Bha-!l----e-X-flire-twe~the Elate ef 
is&t~aR€B-:---AI-I--Ge-Rifleate s s half----B.e--fe-ne-we-EI---en----e-r--bre--th-e--last--Eia-y----e-f---the---twe----f2-)---¥Bar 
Gertifl€ate---Gy8~e. 
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PAIN MANAGEMENT CLINICS CHAPTER 1200-34-01 

(Rule 1200-34-01-.03, continued) 

fOj~-certifioate-hakleF--m-aY-r-e-Rew-a-o~liEi-Beffifl.Bate--J*f.er---fo its mcpirati-efl--€1-ate--l,:)y 
su9mittin§-tRe-fo!lewin§-te-t-Ae-G~Rf.-

~having a FllBfliea! Elireoter wRe-rneets the reEjuireFAents eentaineG---ffi 
these--rules; 

4-.- -------oo---atte&i:atkm--tha-t-the--elinit>fs-not-ewned--who!ly--or--!Mrt~y-by--a-person-wAo--has 
Gee-n-GORVicted--of-,--pleaded-no!o--oontendere--to-,.-or--r-eoeived-deferred-adjudication 
foF; 

(-H:}----a-H---effense--.ffia-1:--c-oostit-ute&--a--mi&defHeanGF-;--the--fa-ets--o-f-wAi-Gh--mtate-to-#Je 
~tf-ti.B.R---of--iUB§al--p-rBSB-F$-Uoo----dftlgs---er---a----B-GA-tr-e-~ed-----su&stanB-e-----as 

eefil1ed-if>4J947-4();;c~ 

e----~~coste€1 by lfle.-[)epaflmeflh 

f;J)--t-~ooewal-an<IReappliBatie»-

(a-)----+Ae---p-a}n-management-o!inio-.. may--renew--it&-ee-FlJfieate-witf:Hn---R-inely---f9-G1--Gays-a-#ef--tRe 
certifioa-l:e-e-x-}3iFa:!:iBR--El-ate--wi-#t--f:taymeflt-ef--tl:le--FeReWal--fee-a-nd--lai:B-feRBWal-f'leRa-!ty-fee,­
aH4-af:l:er-l~-aviA§--B0FA-t3feteEl-aU-e-f---tlie---e#te-~efflBflt&--.fe-H-e-Rewah-----Af:l:e-r----tAe---R-iRety 
f9-0-}-day~grace-perieEl-,the-eeF!ffleate----Re1El-e-F---ma-Y-Fe~a--Rew--ee-FhliBa-l:e-:-

-AH-t-lwr--i-ty-i----+-kA--§§----W-1----3G-~3-4-3-Q+,a-R-fi----BJ-1--3-fJ8,--AdmiRi--str-a-ti-ve--#i-s-ter:y;-Em8-!fJMG:Y 

Htle---fi-led---&e{He-m--Ber dQ, 2Q1--1--;----e-ffer=*'/8 t'i o:eufj-R--Ma-Fc~-,----E---Fm?-rfJenG}'-tYie--!ileEI----$e-pie-mfJer----:JO, 
~~-ti¥e---fhfe-Hgh-Mamh-28--,--2-9-1--2i-eR---Ma-T-GI+--2-9-,--20-12-the-emergeney--rule-e><-pir-ed-aAd--reverted 
-te-i-ts---pfev-ield-8--8tatus-,-----F?-e-fFFiaflent-roles--1-'200-J4--,--0-1-throi:JfJ~1---9-filed-DeGember-2-7, ... 2.Q4-:f;-to-ha-ve ... t;een 
e-ffe-Gti-ve---MaF~ 2012. Y:fie Go'/emment Opemtiens--Gemmitfee-#led-a-seven-f:la-y-sfa-y--ef-.--e#ee-#ve 
4a-te-----tJ!-----th~---fi€W---f3ffeGtPie--flafe--April----'2,--·'20--f.&.~Gn----Mareh----2-&,----2-Q-1-2-,------#!e-G-eveffJffleA-t------Gf;e-ra-ti0fl-s 
-G9mmi-tfe-~aJF,----ReW--effe-Gf:ive-tlat-e-Mamh---2-0,--20-1-2---: 

(4)-iaewrt#iiiBea3lte-e f<fe"'e'-' .. ~~~~~~~--.. -... -.. -................ , ............................................. $40l>09 

\2)----Renewaf-fiaeee-..~ .. ~~-, ............................................................................................ $40§.90 

\Jl------Re!J"IatBFY-fee.~. ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~lhOO 

(4}-···---T-he-late--r-ene¥~-alfeA-alt-y-fee-is-----e-ne-AHR~8f---fRGA-tl:1-fef----6a-£--R-~ 
fFa-Gtien-of.--a-mentR-t-Aat----Fe-Rewa-1-i-s---J-a-!e-: 

Auther!ty: :f---;--(;;A---§-§----&-J-4--J~JQ@,--a-R~Q&--c----Adm-inis-trative--Histor:y.;-.-fimergency-rule-fifed 
-S~--dQ,----2Q-1-1-,'----e#eG#-ve-tl-1fml-gti---Ma-mR----2-&;-----24--2.--------E---merfJ&RGY-FUie-fi/ed---$ef1temhe-r--d0,.2-CJ-1-:f-.~nd 
e#ostive throogA---Mamh------28,--20-1-2i-on---March---29,-20-12~the---eme-r-gerw:y-wle---ex-pireEI--a-m:J--re-veFfe-4---te---iffi 
previ€ws------sfa-t-lJ.----------P-er-manent-r-ule-s-1-200-J~G-1---thwwf}/q------,-fQ-filed---Deeember-----2+-,--2()-1--1-;---te-have----fJeeA­

c#csti','8 M-a-FGh---2-f3-,----2tJ-1-2,--T-he--Geve-rn-ment-----0{JCfatifms--Gemmittee-4iled---a ... -seven-day-stay--ef-~effeetive 
date ef tf:l e mies; ----AeW---e-ffer;tive-----fi-a-te---Atyii-21 ----2;()-12-.------G-R---Mar:cA----'2-6,--2--0-1-'2,--the-Gevemment-Gperatiens 
~r>-witRElrew-its-.slayi-Rew-e#eeliwHJa~ 
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PAIN MANAGEMENT CLINICS CHAPTER 1200-34-01 

(Rule 1200-34-01-.03, continued) 

f-1j~blpen-the-tnspe€tiBfl---B-f-a-);}ai-A-ma-Aa§Bffie-A-t---Bl+RiB---By--lfte.--.f:le-a-FEfs--fe§-BfatiAj3----tAe-ReaJ.th-Bar-e 
previEler-s-weFk-ing-fef-er-----at-tHe------GlifHe-,----tRe----ewef&,---B#ic--er-B-;----emp-feyee&;---Gr---al::fffier~El­
FBJ3ffiS8fltati¥e&---e-f.--:tl:te-FJ-3-in--m-a-AagBffiBf1t---G~iR-i&-shall--a~lew--OOafEl-~Wes--ac--G-ess---te 
the----pafR---m-a-fl-a§Bmefl-l:---Giffif€--anG--ffie-r:ec-eff.l-s--c---GRtafned--t~~--Btlt--RG-t--1-fl:HiteEI-40 
medisal-rec--Bfl::!&.-

{2-1 ---+he--ewneFs-,--effiBer-s,-emp!oyees-or---autR-eFfz.ed-Fepr-esentatives--efAhe--pain .. mana§ement--o!inio 
OF--~ft€l.BpendeR-t--GeRtraot-ers--wmking---a-t--tA8---f>ain-management--G!iRi&-shal!-provide--Bopies--ef-·afl 
OOe-umeA!-atie-n,-----im,;J.uGi-ng---but---not----lim-ited---t-o---medioa!---r-eoords,---requested---.. t:J.y---the----9-oard 
Fe§Hlatffi.§----tRe---heaf.t.h----B-ar-e---pr-o-viGer-s----wefJ.;JRg---fuF---of---at--the----G!iRi&,---iR-GORAOOt-iOfl----w!th---an 
iR&pBGtien-or--investiga-tion-of-thfrpain-mana§ement-Gl-ini&-i-H---a-GwFEl-a-nGe-WHh--+:-G-A.,--§---€hl---+-
4n, 

AutheFi-t~A-§§-6-J--WO-J,--6-3--1-3-04,--@-3--1-3{).5,--and--63-·1--JOG,----Adm-inist?ati-ve--Hi-stow.'----Emergency 
rule--file4--Se{Jiem-9e~::J-1; eEfeeti~'O --#1-fe-Hf}h--M&FGh---2-iiJ,---2:-0-1-2,-----E-merge-ncy--rule-- -file-d---Sep-tember --30,-
2f}1-4----fmd--e-ffetrti-v-e--lR-re-ugh----MafG-h---'YJ,-'J01-2-i-oo--Ma-fGR--2-9-,--'J04---2----thfH}{FieffjenGy-rule"expired-and-re:ve-rled 
te----#s---fH-~e,vmanont -r-llle-s----:f--2!}Q-.-3-4-,.0-1-thfGYf}-h--.-1--0---filefl-De-Ge-mber-2-7----,---20i-1---i--te-h-av-e--been 
e-ffe-e#ve----Ma-FBR----2-B-, 2012. Fte---G~effifie.n-s----Gemm-i#ee---#led--a--se:ven-day----&tay-ef-effe-G-tive 
fia-le-----{)-f-fh-e---rvle--s-;--new--effefJti-ve---date---Aprit--2-,--201-2.,.--0n--March-2-6,. .. 2Q12,---the-"GGvemmen-t--Gperatiens 
-GomrRittee ;~ritft~e#eGti-ve4me.-..Maroh-~.,. 

t-1-j------tA-tRe-e-v-entARat-there-is---a-GliaA§e-tn---the--m-ajeffiy--e-wA~-BH-n i G, the Ge Ftif-i-Bate-Re-k:l-e-F 
sRa-!1---fle-ti·fy-the-"Department--withfn .. -ten---(.:J-Q-)--9!±SiAe-&s------El--ay&-F-t-Ae-c--fl-a-R§-B---i-A-+Ba-jeff-ty 
GWReffi-R.ip.,-

(-2-)--W-ft-hin-ten--(-t-Gj-E>tJsfRess--El-a-y-s-a-fier---fl-e-t-i-f-lB-atiBfl-----ef-----t-A-e-----ha-R§-B---i-R----rn-aiBf-ity------GwRBF-SA-iv,-t-Ae 
oortlfiGate-ho!der.-shall-submit---a--Aew-a~FJfiGa-tien----fuf-a-Gerti-HB-ate--4e---ffie-Qepa-FI:-ffi-6fi-h 

(3)-----fFl-tAe-eve-Rt---#i-a-t-1-he-GiiFHB----RG----tf!-§Bf----A-a-s----a--me-El-iBa-I-Gi-FGBter----Gf----ffie---meEl i Gal El ire Gt-eF----n-e---19-A-§-BF 
meets-----tf:te-reEt-Hi-FerR-e+1t&-c----GJ'lta-fR-ed--i-B-the--+-:G-.-A---§-§W-WQ-i--et---&etj-,------anEl----t-hese--r-8les-,----t-he 
oort-1€1ef-sfli3U--H!y-#l~J>·ien-{l1Jf-wsffless-<Jaj'&-BI-#ie-i<lenMy-ef 
an-e-t-her---f!fty-&k:---la--A--w!:t-e---wi-1 serve as--the-meffiBal-El-ifB-Bffir----fe-F---#te--BiirtfG-Gn----a----fefffl----f)fe-&E:-fi-8e-EI----9-y 
#le---Gepa-HmeR-h-~ure te el3tain----a---fle-\¥ meElioal Elirector ~ (1Qj Elays may resW+---i-n 
Gls-BirHn-a-fY---@-Gtfe-n--,i-RGI-H-Glfl§--F0-vGGatien-e-f-oortifieate, 

~ A oertifieate ReiEieF shal-l-RGt#y-----#le-Qeyaffin-ent-within-~1en--(1-0}-business-day&-of-·the 

ees-llfrenc---e--if--a-R-y-J3Bf&B-R--wR-e----ewR&,w-ewR-&;----G!38Fate-&,---f}Fev-iEies-pain--mana€Jemen-t--seFViees 
in---#le---BHni-e,--fs----an---€-fRJ}!-e-yee---e:f-the-e!iniG-;--OF-G-On-tFaets-witA-the-eli-flic-----tB----fmwiE!e--serv-iBe-&-R-as 
been-denied,--he!d---a-restrfGte4---BerH-Heate-,-----ef-----eeR---B00~RaPJ aGtien relative to 
prescribing-,-d-ispensing,administering-,--supplyin§-GF-seUiR§----3--Berttr--elle€!----su9s-ta-R-Be-:-

(51 ~~ !n-"t-he----even-t---tha-t--the--n-ame-ef---the-c---l-fRic---B~ifiC--ate-001€1er------s-haH-fl-Bti-fy------Ui-e­
QepartmeRt~of-the-name-.ch-a-R§e--within-ten--f-tGj--9Hsirl e s s El ays after 1-he----name----Bha-R§e----e-BBUf&;-

Amh~-+.--G.A----§-§----6---3--1--~~~ministr-ative--History;.-".f2mergency-rule-fifed 
Se-fHem&er----J(),-2-04---~;, •. e t/froygR-MafeR----2£-,----2-01--2-.--E----FflfJFgfJRG'f-r--ldfe-filed-$eptember-30,-2-0-1-1---and 
e-ffetr#-ve----fhr-eug-A--M8r-Gh---'J8,---20-1--2,:-en--Mamh-2-9-,-20--1--2---the ... emer-ge-ne-y--fi:Jie----e-x-pife-d--a-nfi--r-e-ve-Fte4--te----#s 
prevields statv-s-,-------P--e-r-manen-t--rufe-s---1-2-{){)-34--.-()1----fhro-ugh-AO---filed--.. Qeee-mbef---2-7---,----29---1-1+----fe-have---bee-A 
e#e-eti'/e &1f.l r:e 9----2-0,--2-0--1-2-.----"JR-e---Go-vemmen-t---Opera-#eA-s---Gemmittee.-."filed-a---se-ven-da-y-.. sta y-ef-e-ffe-e#ve 
fia-te----ef-#re--rt!le-Si----A8+v----e#e-G-tive-----d-afe-Apr-ii-2-,---2-01-6-----GR---Mar:eh-----2--9-,---201-2-,the-Gevemme-nt-Gperations 
Gem'Ritfee t•dtftflrew-f~effe-etive-da-te-Mamh-26;-~ 
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PAIN MANAGEMENT CLINICS CHAPTER 1200-34-01 

(Rule 1200-34-01-.06, continued) 

fa-1--The- mediGaf--El-ireBter-e-f-a--paiA-managemenl-Biinie-sha11~ 

-t-. ------ -ever-see-a 11--of--the-~ain-ma-nagerneRt-ser-viees-pr:ovided-at-tl:le-eliniGi-

::h----------Be-eA---S-He--at---tAe--BH-Alc---at least twenty pe~%j-ef---th-e---BJ.i.A.k:-'-s-weekly----ro-tat 
FH::lfflbef--Bf-BJ;')efatifl§--ftetlf-&;-

3,·-·-~-ensur-e---tAat--eae!:l----st!pewisifi§----FlhysfGi-a-R----fe-r-eaBA-ef---#-1-e---Re-at!R----Gare 13 reviElefs 
wo-r-k:i-Ag--at--the--c--ti-A-ffi----B-em-pli-e&---wittl--t-he---sl:Ji3eFVisioo--- req-ui-rem-el-1t&--c--Bfl-ta}neEI---i-R 
+eee--GBmjH'\Hies-aA~iioos-Ghaj3iBF-OOil0-W-aru:I--Gt\aj:lief-OOil0-00,--or 
Rule--UI-8~-aS----af}J3HeaBI&.------SJ::tettlEI--tAe--mediGal-Qfr-eBt-oF-ef-tAe-GiiniG-SeFVe 

as---a----Aealffi---Baf€----Flf9-V-i4er~si-Ag----Flftysi-Gi-aA,---tRe-meGieal---dir:eGtGF-must 
ensur-e--that--he---e-r:-she--ce-mpfies-with---Gha pter-OBSQ-0&---a nE!-Gfta J.')ter--Q88Q-Q6.,--{J-F 
RuleHJW-()2-.15-, a& appliealole; 

4-o-------8-fl-&ldf-e----IR-at---aH----he-alffi---c-are----J*G-Vi-ders----empleyeQ----by--er--wefkiAg----at----the--jHin 
rna-R-a§€rnBRt-eHnfe-eeA'lfll-y-wi-fA--awt+ea-8-le---&ta-te a REl feEie ra I -1-av. s a ml rt~les 
relative~to----th6---f)FeSGr--ll3iA§----e:f-----Beffif-e-!l-eEl-----s-Hhs--ta-AGe&--i-R---t-he-----paffi--tn-af!-a§effieffi 

sfinie; 

€>: -- -eASl.::l-f-&-the-esta-fJ-t-l&l:!meffi----Gf--p-fe-eels fer the hea-lt-R----B-ar-e--}1f9-V-id-ef&--Bff1-ftl-8-ye-4----By 
ef---JN-e-r-kffig-a-t-tfle---p-a-i-R----ffiaR-a§BffiB-At--G-I-fRic----as---ffF-B-Vi-Ele4--iR--+eRFh----G-efA-!3-;-~1es-anEI 
Re§Wati9f\&-GlhljoleF-ll880 03 a"d Gflajo!BF-illlW-~oF~F& 
wm~~-eeel-&,------a-&-\"'etl-a-&----afi-Y-e-tABf-------BSt-a-B-li-s--hetl----fl-91i-Bi€-&------8-Rc--l 

jj-Fe--Ge-GHre~ 

@. 0 RSUFe---ffi-at-,-iR--tlie-e-ve-ffi---t-ha-t---tR-e---fA-BEI-i-caJ---d-i-Fe-Gt-8-f-feF-the---G!i-nic----i&-UHab!e-te-fu!:fi-li 
Ats------er------ABf--------Eitlties-----eR--------a-----mf)eFafY-basis.---beeause-ef--iU ness,-v-a Gati en-,----GF 
Ufl-a-Va-i-la-9iH-ty,---tAe-Fe---f&----aR-altem-a-te-e-r----&ub&tftut-e--meGieal---direeter.-meetiAg--the 
&am<HfU8HftGatiens-as-a-meE.tieal-direei-er-uFu.:f~4--Q-'1-----:-Q-9-;-

-7--.---------e-&ta&lisfl----EtwlHy--a-ssumRGe-fJ-elfGies---anG-.... preGeEl-t:tre-s,-wR-iG!'I-,--------at------a-ffifnimHm--, 
1-R-BiuEie, B~;~t are R~El-fe~ 

{~~-Gewme-ffia-tiOfl----0-f--thc 9 a Gl<g re unEl , tFa-iAl-R-§-,----IiBeRS-uFe-;----a-AG---B-B-FhliB--a-ti-eR&---fG 
a!l-paiA-maRageme-Rt--G1-i-Ai&-Sta-f:f-fJ-~-i-e-Rt----Gare;-

Ei~)-----a-wFi#eA--Ei-F-Hg----&€f8€-ft~ioy anEl G8Ffl--!3lianoe plan-fe-f----j}ati-effi&---ie----ff~Biu-EJB. 
Fa00em--uF-iRB-----tl-fUg--fe-8fl-i-F1-§-----8-S--B-Jffiisa-ll-y----iRdiea-teEl--,----bu-t--at----a-FA-fflim-um--, 
upe-R--e-aC---A--Rew aElrnissien anEl enoe every sb< (€l) ffientAs-tRe-Fea-fte-F,-

(-i-iij----------use----suBBta-fl-Be----a-9~;~-S&-fisk----a-ssessFR-eRt-te-e-~&-tlfl-GR-R€-W--f>at~ent-aGmis&ieR 

aFtEl-J3er-i-OO-io ;evie¥' oF-fe-a-sse-ssff!-eftt-i 

(-i-vj-------ev-atua-ti-Rg-aOO--ffiGHi-tef-i-Rg--#le-Efuality-and-appr.epRat-eRe&s--c}f-j}atient-.. eaFe,­
tRe FHethoE1s ef irnproviAg--pa-tie-H~H-fyffi~eFFee#flg 
GefieieReies,-a-m:l-~tRe-epi"JGr-tunitie-s- t-o- im !}r-e-ve-t-he-elfn-ie%--pelietm--aRGe---a-mi 
~oalily-<.>kafei 

f-v-)~····meGieatieR--Got~nts~fer:--aAy-eenlr-e!leEl----s-HGsta-R-Ge-S---pr-e-s-sr~eeEi---9-y----t-he-Gl-i-Ri-G----W 
tfle-eHHi&&---j3at-ie-A-ttr,-
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PAIN MANAGEMENT CLINICS CHAPTER 1200-34-01 

(Rule 1200-34-01-.07, continued) 

fvB-~use--of-.patient-agmemen~s-anEl--j3eFie€1ic-Fe-v-iew--e-f--s~o~eR-agrFeemeAt&, 

(vii)----he-alth--e-aFe-J;}r-eviEieF--aBC--es&--m---a-REl--fev.iew-ef.--j3at-ie-Rt--4-1-fermati-eA-GJ.mt-aineEi 
in--the--eentrelleEI----st!&stafl-Be--ffi9AHeHR§--El-afabase--fR-aGC--e-r-d-aA€e-wit-l'l-.::r-:-GA 
§§---§.d--1.Q...JG:J---5-d-4Q.-.J.Q9,--a&-BitAiB-atl-y---fRdi-c--ate-El-,.--Bt/t----at--a--mi.ffim-Uffl-*$9R 
eaBR-A~-anG--enc-e~}-looRtRs-thefea-ftef;-

3, ------ -e-staGJ.i-sJ::t--an--i-RfeGtiB-n---c--e-Rtml--pmgr-am--te--prevlde--a--sanitaJ¥-e-FWiFOnment-for-·tAe 
pr-eve-R-t-ioR-;--c--oo-tr-e-l-,---and--i-nvestig-atien--ef-iRfe-E:-tions--aRG--GemmuRiea91e-diseases, 
i-nc-1-uGffi§-,--But--oot--limi-teB--te; 

fiij~-lecRAiques-.-.-anEl-----systems-feF-iEi~~rting, inve&ti§-atffi€J------aREI­
GGffirol-lin§-4Flfe€tie-R&--al---tJ:te--Giifl.i.Bi-

(iiij----wriHenfGHeies-aml-weeedur-e-s-Fe!at+ve-t-e-#te-t-ISB--Bf-a-se-r-tJc--te-c...fmiq'de&i­

ff.v:}--~--fe-r--GHnie staff J3reviding-4lre8t---fta-tient care rolat-fve.-..ID-iJ:::I.fe.eti-8-fl 
c-oRtml-and--aseytiG--tecJ:mique&,---afld 

M---a--1-Bg--Bf-iftc--kl-B-nts-reta-tetl--te--infa-'ti-Gus-anG-e0ffimunieaf>.le-4isea-&es-and--l:he 
wr-r-e-stive-aGtioo--t-a-k.-8-fti-

9-.-----------estab!isl+-wF~HeR-f.le!icies-and--flrGGedl:lfe&-:fBf---l::l.ea-!-fR--a-A~tlifemeRts--a-J: 

-tfle-GfiAiGi--

.'f-\l----ensure~Gemp!iane-e--witR-the-pat1e-Ht-safety-&toodartP....-est-al3-li&AeEI----B-y--tAe--l-i-Be-RSi-Rg 

boards-fereaGh~he-a!th -G-af&--flHW-ifler-;-

-1-1-. -e-staJ.:t!i-sR-wFffiet1----fJ-B-#Gie&---anEI----pros-e4-t!fes---ID-a-s-sttr-B---j3-ati 0 At 3 GGG S s---te----t-f:t}F 
modi ea I ~e c-9-f€J-s--a-Ad-wRti-R-1:Hty-Bk-are--sAOOEJ--:IJ:te-13a-fA-m-aRa§emeA-t-efiRie-GI-ese-c 

(~+---Rec~i~fll&,af\EI-P-alient 8illin~ P-roeOOCIJ'e& 

(a) The rnediGal-ElifBBlehSilall-eflSoFe--that--eaeh~heallA-eafe-JoFBVkl~leyeEl-l;y-<>F 
we rki R g at a eo Ftifi e g fjai-R---m-aA-agemeA-t-G!iRie-shall-maiRtaffl--c-Bfl'$1e-te-afi€1--aeettr-al:e 
ll'I-B4Bal-~ooASUI-ta-~FHfAatfen,--diagRosis,-aREi-treatment,.whieh 
sRall-iRBI\ffie,-9\Jl-net~·-itefJ-lG-lfle-fellewifl§; 

-1-·.---.. -~patientrnedieaJ .. hist&PJ~ 

e-. --aoc~-0-f----fFt-f0fn:te-€l----E.:-0RS€At----a-Rd--di-s€t~-SBJB-A---B-f--r-i&k&---afld----l;}eRe-fits---ef 
tfea!Fflefll-J>-i 
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PAIN MANAGEMENT CLINICS 

(Rule 1200-34-01-.07, continued) 
'h----4realffieRis-afld4Fealffi-~ 

CHAPTER 1200-34-01 

~ reasen feF--ftF8SBri8ing er Elispensin§! mere than a seveRty-twe (72) hetJr Elese ef 
Gentr-eWeEi--BYbstance-s--feF-the-tre-atment-of-e-hr-eniG--flBAmaligAaF\t--i3-afn~ 

-l2, --- -a--flGtalkm---indieatiAg---whether-the--GontFE>!Jed-st:Jb&lanre-monitorin§-El atab-ase-flad 
bee-n---a-Beessed-fer--a--pa FtieulaF- ~atien-t; 

-l3o-····Ge-pies-.-of~reeords,--Fef)Orts,--e-F-ettlef--Eiec--ttmentatiGfl----fffitaiRed-.fFem--etABf---fte.a-ill:l 
Ga-Fe-pro-viEier-s;-

44:----~--e-f---tffiRe----Grug----scr-eens --to---&e---f}e-lienned --as--- cHR-iGa ffy---indica-ted,--but--at---a 
ffiiAirnum-tlftGA--eaBR--rtew-a-Eimi-&sioo--aREI--oo-ee--every--&ix--{6)--montl:ts--thereafteF-,-

Aif#1-efiiy-i--~A-§§4J-.1--W3,----W--4--JOO,---and--9J--1--J-99,-----Admi-nistrati-ve--H-istoty;-~mergeno~nJ!t;;.-.filed 
Septe-miJer--J0;-2-0-1-1,'-effwfive--thr-eugh-March-.. 28,--201-2o----P.erFA8-Aen-t+IJ!e-s-4-2-fJQ-.J4-o-~~Q-#fefi 
.QeremtJe·· 27, 2Q11--i-te.-.fw:we-beelt-e#es-#ve-Ma~er-Ame-Af-G-fJ~mrRf.#ee 
filed--a--se-ve-n-tla--y--st-a-y-of-effee#ve-da-te-e-f--tf:Je---Rll-e--s-;---rtew-e#ec----#ve--EI-ak-AftR-I---2--,----XJ-1-2.,.---G-R--Mar-sA-2£,--2fJ-1-J, 
#te-Gevemment- -G-per-atieRs-Gommittee-wHhdre-w-i1&--s-tay-;----Ae-W--Bfti-ve-fla-te A1a rc!:J 2-&,--2--G:t£:-

f4--1---------+Ae----Geftifk:ate--he!der---shall-enstJfe-t-A-at-aGeEfH-a-1e---Bi-tl-fflg----reeer-d s are FA a inta inetl-----e-Rsite-a-t-tR-e 
pa-iR-Atafl-3§eFA-eA-t----e1-ffiitr-~t-a-El-e€j-ld-a-te----B-i-l-g-reeeFEl-&--a-Fe---mAB&-fef---at! 
paUents-aHEI----fuF--a-tl-fJ-ffiie-ffi----vis#S:-------B-il-liA11--f-&--efEI-s----&Ralt----9e--m-aGe---for--a-!l--me--IJ:l-GEl-s---of--payFfl-Bflt-.­
BiHJRg--reGeFE!s-sl--1-3ll-9e--m-aGe-av-a-H-a-Bie----te---#te----Q.e-p.-a-fen-t----uj3ef1----FeQu-e-st-.-

--------Bf-ll-i-Ag--reeeFEl-s-sR-a-l-l---i-RB-uEl e , 8 tJt net 8-e--!-im-i-te4--t-e----tJ::e--fel-l-ewif!.g-; 

fB-1-----ffietReEl ef payment; 

(El) Elate ef taayrnent; an-G 

E2t--------+fle----BeHifioate--Rolder-sA-aH----e-nsttFB----ffiat taatie nt !3i-lli-R§-f-B€-9r4&---a-Ad-----pa-tieflt-fReGisal----fe.Befds 
shaU-he-FAa inta i ne El feF-seveR---f7-j---s from the Elate of----the----fl-a-tie-R-t:&--l-a&t----trea-tm-eR-t-----a-t-4Re 
elinioc 

(~)--T4Je_,;ertiAeate-llel~if-BASUFB-1Ral-aiHleal!h-'"""flFB¥iOer&-Bffij)i<>yoo-l>y-M-workiR~I 
the pain mana§ement olinio are !3f9J3Bfl-y-lioensed aml oeR:ifieEI at all tirnes-.-

f4-)--+-Re---€0r-ti-fiea-te---fl-el€ler----B-Ba-l-J------e.As-e the El e livefY-~Hy-oare--afl~lda-tity---ser:vioes-at--the 
GltR-iG-: 
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(Rule 1200-34-01-.08, continued) 
(5) The eeFtifieate--hel€1eH>flaH-eHstJFe-#tat-t.fteFB-i-s---a---me8iea-l--6tFeeter-at-easR-e!iftie-wRe-ffieets 

the.-req ~::~ir-emen-t-s-eeAfa-in-eEl-fA-Iaws--afiEl--fl::tle&.-

f6j-------+Ae-eeffifi-Bafe---flet4ef-sRall-eRStJre that all meneta~c--H~§Bffi€fl-l: 
GltR-ic---sh-all--be-fn-ac-£--0ff!.a.oc-e--wi-l:h---+-:-G-A.-§--@-J-:J--.d-'Uf--whic-A--f)r-evkie-~Ma§e-ment 
Bli-ffiG--FA-aY--aB£-e-f*--eAI-y---a-£-fte.Gk-,---B-IBGit--£-affi--B-f-fl1-0-fteY---Gfdef-~R---j3-8-yffieffi--.fur se r:viee s Flf-ev-id-B-G 
at-ffie--c--l-i-AiB-i-----ffi<C-ef}t-~t--m-ay--8e----maGe---ifl--Ba-S-H----fef----a----Bo pa)', ee iRwfaRGe-----Gf 
Eleduc--l:afJ.te---wA.e-R-----tRe---rem-aiAGer---e-f----tRe----c-har-ge-fer---#1e----8efvic--€-&---Wi-ll----Be----&1:J-tffiille4---te----tAe 
f}ati e n-t' s insu FaR8e--ft/aA--fef- re im 8tJrsemffih 

{7-1 -----+he---celiiHcate---R-elder--shaU--en-sure--tRat--patioots-have--aseess--t-e--their--meG-ieal-reee-Fds-iR--the 
event-tR-at the--GHnic-G!eses. 

Au#leFftyf-::r..,..G:A~-§§-~3,€i---3-4-3Q6,--aRfl Sd 1 J1Q. Admi-Rist::a#·.-e Uistery: ~ner "tJ'e fJeEI 
Septembe~JQ,---2Q-1-1-i-e#eetiv-e---thr-eldf}h--Ma-feh-2-IJ-,---2tJ-1--:b-Eme-!ff&RGY-FI:J-fe-fiJetl-$ epte mbe r ~-2-Q-1-1---a-mi 
e#eefive----tR-ro/lf.ji:I-M&feR--U,--2-fJ--1-2-;--GR--Mar-Bh--2.9;---2-01-2---the---erne-rgeAfJy--rule---e-xpired---and---reverled---te--#s 
fJf€--V-ieus-----sta-Ws-o-------P--ffffi8Re-Fif---ftl-le-8----1-2lJ0--34-.-0:f---thrOO§Ih--A-{}--file-4---D-e-c-ember---2--7-;-----'J0-1--1-;----te--haV€J---been 
effee#v-e-Marel+-2-fi--;-----2-0:J---b--+-f:IB--Geve-mmen-t---Gpe-r-afifms---Gom-mi-tte-e---file-4---a---seven--da-y---s-tay---of---e-tk-Gtiv-e 
fia-te--ei----tA-IH'Il-le-s-i--R-e-w--e-f:ffN;tiv-e---d-a-te--AfJffi-----2.,-20--+-2,-GFI----MafGA---2-0-,------20--1--2--,----th-e----GGV-emment-Gpe-ratieRs 
-Gemmt#ee---w-ftAEIFe-'N-its----s-taJ'i-~ffe.Gtive----Eiate ,n,'larch--2-fh---2-Q-1-2--.-

f-1+---!iiia-BR--p-fty&i-c-+aR---sefVffig----as--tfte--me4-c--al---€11-r-e-B-tor-a!--a--c---Hn}G---shafl--mee-t--a-t--!e-a-st-GRe-(-1-)-ef--tAe­
fol-l-ew-iRg--r-e-Eft:l-i-f-e-rRe-n-t&.-

Ea}---.. £uGGessfu~-complet+oA-of-a--fe-&i€1eAGJI---f)Fe§f-a-fR---i-A-r:;>A-ys-iBa-f----ffieEl-iBi-R-e-aAEl-Fefta-B-#ftafioo,­
aRestResie!og-y-,--adEliction---meElieiAe,-Re-8Fe!-e§-y-;-------Aet1-f9&H~ffii-!-y-------f'Jf-8-etiBe-,­
f'f-6\'8-Rt~ve--me-Ef.fGiRe-,-intema!-medieiRe-;- .. SUF§eFy-,----0R-ftof}e-8iGS--Gf--i}sy-GR-i-a-Hy-aJ3f3F9-VBEI---t3y 
tfle-AeBfedi-tati-eR--Gel;lflei-1-fur--Gr.OOt~a-te--MeEiiGal EE:ItJeati GA (/' CG ME) ef-----A-mef-iG­
Gste-op-afl:!i&-As-soe}at4oR-Bt.!rea-l:l--9:f-~G----0-r:;>e-s-ia-l-f&f&~ 

tft-)----------Bea----eRifi-B-a-t-i-eR----~is-i-fle-------a-AG---reR-aBitft-a-t-ien, aAestResi-e-I~GtieA 
m-eEl:JGiAB-;--------RBI:l-f-01-eg-y,--------Re-HFOSUF§BPf;-famil-y----fl-FE:-tiBe-,-----~i-Bifle-,--iA-tem-a-f 
m-eEii-c--iRe,Stlfge-f--y-,--BR-A-ej3e-diGs-or---f*\-YC---tl-i-8tfy---a-p.f.lfeJ-.Je9----ey--tf:le-AG-GME-9F--AGA300i-

~liy--BeHiliBalieR-i~&f'i£,;--aA<J--fli'IHalive--m&iiGioo, 
§Bfiatf-ie lfleElieiAe, FReHFflatele!ff;- ReFflatele~AWiegy, §yReeole§ie 
oowle§-Y-;---+Afe-GtiBu&-El-}sease,-p-etl-iatRG-J:Jematolo§y---0-fl-eelo§Y;-Or---fte-ffiaffie---ffie-tlffi-ate!egy 
FeGO@fl~~itA----a--eertffleate--ef-adGe-EI-EjHaHfieaHoR-from-t-fte 

~~-ialislsi 

(-f)- ----Gornple-tien----of--fort-y---f4fl.-)----hoHFs-of-iR-p-er-6-0fl-;-l-i-ve---J3-3fti€:$-aiDFY----AMA Cate§ePf -1--------ef 
AOABQS--Gategory .. ,! .. CME--c--oHFSe-W0Fk--i-Fl----f3ain---m-a-R~teG---wit-Ri-R-IJ:H:e-e-EJ} 
years-p-~ior~to--fmplementation--of-this--ru!e---or-f3r-fef--to---sew-i-A~l-EI-ife€tef---fe-F---1Ae 
ellAi-tr,-----wA-ieR-e-ve-r-----e-v-t-i-s----m-est---r-eBO-A-h-T-tle-----€-et!fSBW0rl< sA all a El El res s tR e fu II 0\vlA§-

"""* 

-2--.-------e-entr-o-i-!-eG--------suBsta-f\E:-9---------j:)-iB-ifl§--fHle&;--inel-uGi-H§--wAt-r-o[l-e8--------st~8-staFl-Ge 

8-§-Fe-em-e-ffi&,-
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(Rule 1200-34-01-.09, continued) 

4-:--------tAe--HSe--e-f--c-BffiF0!1eG-------stl-9s-ta-Rc--e&-iR-----tfeati-~~R@Blftg----fffiiR 
syrrGmme-s,irrcfttEl-in§-t!se-fuffie-S&---a-R-EI---~ 

&--- ---- apf3fOJ)fiffie--j3-r-G§fBSS--AOte-keepiRgi-

41J-. -substaRGe-ab~o~-se-aR~iRc--tttffiA-§-alwf:wl-aftd.--.aivefs-ieR,-a-AEI FtFGVentie-R-ef 
same-;-

1 -1 .. ~--Ffsk-rn-a na§emBfiF, 

fJt-------E-a-eJ:r--l::tea+ffi--Gar-e--{3fGVider-pre-v-i-EI-ffl§--paffi--fflanageme-nt--services-at--a-G!ini&-shal!-Bemplete-teR 
~etlf&---ciR---£-Gffii.R.t.l-i-Ag--eOOe-aHoo---c-eurse&---El-Ufi-Ag---each---Re-allh---care .. -provider2.s--lieenst:Jre 
re-n-ewal-G-ycle-w-Rk:-R---sh-all--tle--a-paft-of-the-GentfRuln§--edt~eaUeA-r-etjtotlrem-em&-e-staBIJ.sReEf--.By 
ea-B4--ef-ffie-Realtl:l-Gare .. -previde-F'-s-fe-SfieB-l-i-ve--B-earEis . The to R---(-.:t-Qj---89-fl-t.i.ffiliR-§-BGI:lea--OOR 
R-oof&-&R-aU-aGIGr-ess-a-t-!ea-st-one--er-m-or-e-ef-ffie--f-el-1-Bw-iA§-teFtiBS relato8 te FJ-aift--fR-af}8gem-BRt;-

fB1------GHJ§-SGr-eening.-.orAes ling-;-

f&)--phann-ace-legiea+-aREl-Ae-R-~-ac-el-e§-~R'l-aA-8geme-ffii­

fEl1----c--oFAfJ-letifl§-----&-PaiR-----ffiaRa§Bffieffi-fec-u-seG--R+stefY-----Bfl~l:tysi-sal-e-xam}R-atieR-afld 
m-afnta-ff1-iA§--rtflJ3FB-[3fia!e--flfe§re&8--R-B-te&;-

-Efj~se-----a9ldSB------afl4----misuse-iRBlBGiR§---El-i-ver-sion,-pFevefltieR-0-f-&affie-,--afH':l-Fisk 

asse&SFAeRt~ 

Autherity: T.C.A. § 82 1 202 an~ 1 2Qfi_ AfimiRist-."a#ve M-istery: Er:nerger?Sy rule fi'ed SeptemBer 
J(},-2M-1i-effeotiv&ihr<W~Ii-Mafeil-2~role-file4-$"f'lem-,--1-1-aRGi-&fieGIWe 
thfoogR-Ma!t>A---28,----20-t2-;-en--Mareh--29;---2-01-2---#t~-fJie--ei$iFetl---an4---re-ve-rted--/G-i-t&--pFeVifws 
stafld-&---P--e-rmamm-t---r::ules--1200-34-,-01-threugA--;-1-0-fi.le4-Qee-embe" 27, 2011; te 4-a-\·e Been e#cctWe--MafeA 
2-6,---2-0-12~-+he-GevemmeRf-Gper-atieR-s----Gefn.ittee filed a se'.rert-day--stay--e-f-e#cctive--Gf.ate--ef-the-A,des; 
new-e:ffective-Giate--Aprif.--.2,---2Q-t2-c----Gn--Ma-feA--26,--2-04-2-,---t~--Gperotioos---Gemmi-ttee--witluJFew 
itS--Stay;--new--effee#ve date Maref:.J-2e,.--2{)-1-2-c 

f+}------With-f€-Spect-to-afly--BeffiHeG--pa-iA-m-a~iffiB-,--tfte--Q8f}affioont--m-ay..ffi-aGE!-i-ti-e-R--te--eF-iR 
lield--of-any-otA€f-.!aw..fldi-GisB$-Iiftafy-ac--ti e R, assess a--Gi-v-fl-renaHy-fe-F-eas-R--separ-at~iela tieR--of 
a---s-ta~le-er-Gemmissiooe-r--eF4ef:-.ffi-.aBGeFE:IanGe-with-the-fel-lewifi§-SeheOOie:-

c-c----::-:-- ,,, ___ , 
i Formatted j 
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(Rule 1200-34-01-.10, continued) 

----VielaiiBfl---------·------ -·----P-eRally 

---~J;-I'c-.· §.JN+-!;J,4------$G-$1,0GO 

---+.GA-§-1l3--1-306------------$0-$4,()GO 

.......... H:A-%63-1-300-------$0-$1,000 

···----RHle-1-2llfl----1iil-$-1,GOO 

-R\Jle 1200 a4-\l1-.00------· ---------$G-$1,DOO 

CHAPTER 1200-34-01 

(-31 -----ln---d-eten:nining----tl:le----amot~rtt ... -of--any-pena~ly--te-----Be-assesseEI pttFSBa:Rt--to---thiB -ft!le-,----the 
Qepa-rtm-ent-may-e0flS.ider-sucA-faeter-s-as-the--fe!l ewffig-:-

{-aj-------Wfte.ther-tfle--am-e-unt~mpose-G-wi-l-!-be--a--substantia1--eeeAemiB-Eie-teFf€flt--t.e--l:R-e-vi-e+ateF,-

fB-------+A-&-wil1.flll.Re.s&-ef-tf:te---vie1-ati-erh­

AY#roFitj!+--T-cG,A--§§-6J-1-JQ-3--aAEI-6J-4--:JQ~i-st:ery+--EmergeRG-y--rvfe-.file4-Se-p.f:e-m!Jer 

J~1-1-,'-effeB-tive--thre-uf}h--Ma-reh--28,-2--CJ-4-b-~ile4-Sef)femtte-f--J0,--204-1--and--e#eB#ve 
#tfe-ufjA-Mamh-28,...2fJ:!-2.;---e'? Ma"Gh 29, 2Q1-2-#le emer€Je'16'f--RJ/e-~fl--a.A4-f~pFeVioo-s 
statt~-S-c--PerrnaneA-t-r-u~tJ:i-Fe-ldfJf:J .10 fi'eEI~~te-have-&een--e-ffec;tive-Maroh 
26,-2-Q-~T-Ae-GevemmeA-t-OpeF&tieA-S--Gemmittee-file4--a---se-ven-fla;'---stey-ef-effeGtiv-e---tia-te-ef-the-A-Jie-s; 

new--e#eGt-ive---tlate-Apfii-2-,-2Q-1-2-c--G-A-M~tRc Ge';emmeRt----GjJefa#eR-s--Gemm#l:ee-vv#hGirew 
its-stay;--ne-w-e-~1-2-.-

Rule Chapter 1200-34-01 Pain Management Clinics is being_ repealed and rewritten. including the Table 
of Contents but not the Chapter Title and shall now read: 

1200-34-01-01 
1200-34-01-.02 
1200-34-01-.03 
1200-34-01-.04 
1200-34-01-.05 
1200-34-01-.06 
1200-34-01-.07 
1200-34-01-.08 
1200-34-01-.09 
1200-34-01-.10 
1200-34-01-.11 
1200-34-01-.12 

Definitions 
~icensure Process 
Application Review. Approval and Denial 
Licensure Renewal 
Exemptions 
Fees 
Licensure Inactivation 
Inspections and Investigations 
Notifications and Reporting 
Medical Director Responsibilities 
Training Requirements 
Licensure Discipline and Civil Penalties 
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(Rule 1200-34-01-.10, continued) 
1200-34-01-.13 Commissioner Suspensions of Treatment of New or Existing Patients 
1200-34-01-.14 Unlicensed Pain Management Clinics 
1200-34-01-.15 Financial Requirement 
1200-34-01-.16 Advertising 
1200-34-01-.17 Infectious Disease and Building Standards 

1200-34-01-.01 Definitions 

In addition to the definitions contained in T.C.A. § 63-1-301 the following definitions are applicable to this 
chapter: 

(1) "Administrative Office" means the Tennessee Department of Health Division of Health Related 
Boards. at which the Pain Management Clinic reqistrv office for administrative sJJQQQii_Qf__Q§_ily 
functions is located at 665 Mainstream Drive. Nashville TN 37243. 

(2) "Adjacent" means within 1 000 feet. 

(3) "Advisory Panel" means a pane! selected bv the Commissioner and convened at his or her 
discretion for advisory purposes and to issue recommendations to the Commissioner. 

{4) "Applicant" means a medical doctor licensed under Title 63 Chapter 6__Qf_gm osteopathic 
physician licensed under Title 63 Chapter 9 who has submitted or Ls in the process of submitting 
an application for a license to operate a pain management clinic. 

(5) "Certificate Holder" means a medical doctor licensed under Title 63 Ch@j_er 6· osteopathic 
physician licensed under Title 63 Chapter 9: advanced practice registered nurse licensed under 
Title 63 Chapter 7 who meets the requirements contained in T.C.A. § 63-7-126· or a physician 
assistant licensed under Title 63 Chapter 19 who practices in this state with an unrestricted. 
unencumbered license who was issued a pain management clinic certificate prior to July 1 2017 
and whQ_may contl_nu(i_lQ_QQ_erate that certificate as a !icense under Title 63 Chapter 1 until its 
expiration. 

(6) "Commissioner" means the Commissioner of Health or his designee. 

(7) "Controlled Substance" means a drug substance. or immediate precursor identified. defined or 
listed in title 39 chapter 17 part 4 and title 53 chapter 11. 

(8) "Department" means the Tennessee Department of Health. 

(9) "Licensee" means any person licensed under Title 63 by one of the Tennessee Department of 
Health Division of Health Related Boards. 

(1 0) "Medical Director" means an individual who meets the definitions of Title 63 Chapter 1 Section 
301(5) and 301(9) and holds a license to operate a pain management clinic issued by the 
Department. 

(11) "Medical Record" shall have the same meaning as set forth in T.C.A. § 63-2-101. 

(12) "Owner" means a medical doctor licensed under Title 63. Chapter 6· osteopathic physician 
licensed under Title 63 Chapter 9: advanced practice registered nurse licensed under Title 63 
Chapter 7. who meets the requirements contained in T.C.A. 63-7-126~ysicia!J..jlssista!Jl 
licensed under Title 63 Chapter 19. 

{13L "Pain Agreement" means a written document signed by the patient which at a miniml!!!1 
addresses patient responsibility for proper use and safeguarding of medications describes the 
clinic's drug screening policy. provides that prescriptions for controlled substances may only be 
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(Rule 1200-34-01-.10, continued) 
filled at one pharmacy to be identified by the patient and addresses the use of controlled 
substances prescribed by other providers. 

(14) "Pain Management Clinic" means a orivately-owned clinic. facility or office in which the majoritv 
of patients are prescribed or dispensed opioids. _benzodiazepines barbiturates. or carisoprodol 
for ninety (90) days or more in a twelve-month period for pain unrelated to cancer or palliative 
care. For purposes of determining if a clinic, facility or office qualifies as a pain management 
clinic the entire clinic facility or office caseload of oatients who received medical care services 
from all medical doctors osteooathic physicians advance practice registered nurses and 
physician assistants who serve in the clinic facility or office shall be counted. Pain Management 
clinic also means a privately-owned clinic. facility or office which advertises in any medium for 
pain management services of any type. 

(15) "Substance Use Disorder Risk Assessment" means the assessment of an individual's unique risk 
for addiction. abuse misuse diversion or another adverse consequence resulting from 
prescription medication intended to treat pain. Substance use disorder risk assessment may b~ 
accomplished through a standardized written or orally-delivered questionnaire or thrQlliJh___§_ 
clinical interview. 

(16) "Unencumbered" means an active license that is not suspended or on probation and that does 
not have any conditions. restrictions_,_QcJiolitations_,_ 

(17) "Urine Drug Screen" means urinalysis performed using a commercial test kit in a pain 
management or other clinic or at a reference laboratory that tests for the presence of at least the 
s:;ontrol!ed substance_i§_L_Q_~o.g____Q[_escribed as well as marijuana one or more of the opioids 
benzodiazepines cocaine and methamphetamines and may include any additional controlled 
substances at the discretion of the clinic. 

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 63-1-301 63-1-303 63-i-306 63-i-316 and 63-1-318 

1200-34-01-.02 Licensure Process 

(1) Before operating or practicing in a pain management clinic as defined in T.CA & 63-1-301<8) on 
or after Ju!:LL_?~1LJ.lliLM<:ill.ical Director of that clinic shcill first QQtain__§__E§ln__Manilli_EtmeoLC!inig 
License from the Department except as provided in Rule 1200-34-01-.04(2). 

(2) An f!QQ!icant shall obtain an application from the Administrative Office respond truthfully and 
completely to every question or request for information contained in the application and submit it 
along with all documentation and fees required by the application and rules to the Administrative 
Office. When available this may be accomplished through an online application. 

(3) An applicant shall submit all of the following as part of their application: 

(a) The initial licensure fee state regulatory fee and inspection fee provided in Rule 1200-
34-0i-.06· 

(b) Proof that the Medical Director meets the statutory requirements defined in T.CA § 63-1-
301 (9) to be a pain management specialist· 

(c) The names and if licensed by the Department the licensure numbers of every person 
with any owne[§l::!iQ interest in the pain management clinic for which the applicant seeks 
licensure and each person's percentage of ownership· 

.UD. Information regarding the form of business entity the clinic will be established as and 
whether there is already an existing medical practice at the clinic's proposed location· 
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.@L__ The physical mailing address of the clinic for which the applicant seeks licensure· 

m Identification of any other licenses or applications including oendinq or denied 
applications for pain management clinics associated with the applicant including as an 
owner employee or contractor· 

(g) The names. and if licensed by the Department the licensure numbers of every employee 
of the clinic· 

(h) The names and if licensed by the Department the license numbers of everv person with+ -----(Formatted: Indent: Left~·-o.s;;: Ha~g~·g;·~OSJ 
whom the clinic has contracted for services including persons involved in daily operation 
of the clinic· 

(i) The Drug Enforcement Administration ("DEA") Registration numbers for each individual 
employed by the clinic or with whom the clinic has contracted who holds a DEA 
registration· 

(j) The result of a criminal background check submitted to the Administrative Office directly 
from the vendor identified in the appHcation for the following personnel: 

_1_. ____ Jhe Medical Director· 

2. Each person with any ownership interest 

3. Each person who holds a DEA registration who will be Qroviding services at thgt 
clinic: and 

4. Where anv disclosure required in 1200-34-01-.02(4)(a)-(d) has yielded an 
affirmative answer that employee or individual or comoany with whom the clinic 
has contracted who has clinical contact with Q_.qti._ents contCJ.Ct with on~@ patient 
information or specimens and/or has management responsibilities· 

fr.l___The name license number and address of everv pharmacy in which either the Medical 
Director or any owner of the clinic has any ownership interest that is greater than one 
percent (1%) and the percentage of that ownership interest· 

£0. Proof that al! supervising physicians who are supervising any of the advanced practice 
registered nurses or physician assistants providing services at the pain management 
clinic are pain management specialists· 

(m) A statement of verification that the Medical Director has read and understood the statutes 
and rules governing pain management clinics as well as the Tennessee Chronic Pain 
Guidelines 
(http://www. tn . g ov I assets/entities/health/attach ments/Chron icP a inGuideli nes. pd D and 
the Tennessee Pain Clinic Guidelines 
(http://www. tn .gov/assets/enHties/hea!th/atlachments/Pain Clinic Guidelines.pdD: and 

(n) Any other information requested by the Department. 

(4) An applicant shall disclose the circumstances and produce any documentation requested by the 
Department surrounding any of the following: 

(a) Whether any owner has ever been convicted of pled nolo contendere to or received 
deferred adjudication for an offense that constitutes a felony· 

(b) Whether any employee or person with whom the clinic contracts who has clinical contact 
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(5) 

with patients contact w1th ons1te natlent information or specimens and/or has 
management responsibilities has ever been convicted of any felony· 

(c) Whether any owner employee or person with whom the clinic contracts who has clinical 
contact with patients contact with onsite patient information or specimens and/or has 
management responsibilities is under indictment for any offense involving the sale 
diversion or dispensing of controlled substances under any state or federal law· 

(d) Whether any owner employee or person with whom the clinic contracts who has clinical 
contact with patients. contact with onsite patient information or specimens and/or has 
management responsibilities has ever been convicted of any offense involving the sale 
diversion or dispensing of controlled substances under any state or federal law· 

(e) Whether any owner employee or person with whom the clinic contracts who has clinical 
contact with patients contact with onsite patient information or specimens. and/or has 
management responsibilities has ever applied for or held any license issued by any 
jurisdiction under which that license holder may prescribe dispense administer supply 
or sell a controlled substance which has been restricted disciplined or denied· 

m Whether any owner employee or person with whom the clinic contracts who has clinical 
contact with patients contact with onsite patient_information or specimens and/or has 
management responsibilities has ever been subject to disciplinary action by_ any lics:_'l~D..9 
entity for conduct that was the result of inappropriately prescribing dispensing. 
administering suoplyin9..:..Q[ selling a controlled substance· 

(g) Loss or restriction of privileges at any hospital or health care facility on the part of the 
Medical Director· 

(h) Whether anv owner medical director employee or person with whom the clinic contracts 
who has clinical contact with patients contact with onsite patient information or 
specimens and/or has management responsibilities is under any board order requiring 
advocacy from a professional assistance program that monitors for substance abuse· 

(i) Whether any owner employee or perso[l with whom the clinic contracts who has clinical 
contact with patients contact with onsite patient information or specimens. and/or has 
management responsibilities has ever had a DEA registration that was surrendered for 
cause or disciplined. 

Where appropriate the applicant shall cause to be submitted from the DEA documentation+ 
regarding any surrender for cause revocation or other discipline of a DEA registration certificate. 

(6) An applicaDt shall submit a separate application for licensure for each clinic location regardless of 
whether the clinic is operated under the same business name ownership or management as 
another clinic. Each clinic location shall be licensed separately. 

Authorjjy;_ T.C.A. §§ 63-1-301 63-1-303 63-1-306 63-1-309 63-1-316 and 63-1-401. 

1200-34-01-.03 Application Review Approval and Denial 

(1) Administrative staff shall determine when an application file is complete. 

(2) If an applicant does not complete the application process within ninety (90) days after the 
Department receives the application because the application lacks the required information or 
fails to meet the prerequisites for lictlns_ure then the application will be closed the licensure fee 
will not be refunded and the applicant shall be required to reapply in order to pursue licensure. 

j Formatted: Indent: Left: -0", Hanging: 0.5'' 
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(3) Any applicant who has successfully complied with all requirements governing the licensure 

process shall then be subject to an inspection of the clinic. The applicant must successfully pass 
the inspection prior to being eligible for licensure. Upon inspection if evidence is found that any 
practice act or any requirement of these rules has been violated the application may be denied. 
and the Department may use the evidence in a separate disciplinary matter against any of the 
licensees involved. Representations in the application which are deemed by the Department to 
be untrue or incompletely disclosed may also subject the applicant to disciplinary action before 
his or her licensing board and may subiect the pain management clinic application to denial and 
a previously issued pain management clinic license or certificate to revocation or other 
disciplinary action. 

(4) The Department will conduct its eligibility inspection within 90 business days from the date the 
application is deemed complete by administrative staff. If the applicant does not initially oass the 
inspection. the Department at its discretion may re-inspect the clinic subject to a payment of a 
re-inspection fee. Such re-inspection may take place beyond the 90 business days from the 
application completion date. If the applicant maintains a current practice at a certified or Hcensed 
pain management clinic and the application is for a new location the Department may inspect the 
current practice and approve the license at the new location subiect to a re-inspection and re­
inspection fee at the new location after the practice has moved to the new location . 

.{§1_ If the application is denied. or the license is_ issued with conditions or restrictions the following 
§_hall occur: 

(a) A notification of the denial shall be sent from the Administrative Office by certified mail 
return receipt requested which shall contain reasons for the denial condition or 
restriction as well as the statutory or rule authority for the denial condition. or restriction. 

(b) The notification when appropriate shall also contain a statement ofJhe applicant's right 
to a contested case hearing under the Tennessee Administrative Procedures Act (T.C.A. 
§§ 4-5-101 et. seq.) to contest the denial~ondition or restriction. An~n_t__b_g_~a right 
to a contested case hearing only if the denial condition or restriction was based upon 
subjective or discretionary criteria and only if the request for the contested case hearing 
is made in writing and received by the Department's Office of General Counsel on or 
before the thirtieth f30thl day after receipt of the notice by the applicant. 

(6) If the Department finds that it has erred in the issuance of a license the AdministratiVe Office will 
give written notice by certified mail of its intent to revoke the license. The notice will allow the 
Medical Director the opportunity to meet the requirements for licensure within thirty (30) days 
from the date of receipt of the notification. If the Medical Director does not concur with the stated 
reason and the intent to revoke the license the Medical Director shall have the right to proceed 
according to T.C.A. § 63-1-3160). 

Authority: T.CA §§ 63-1-303 63-1-304 and 63-1-316. 

1200-34-01-.04 Licensure Renewal 

(1) Renewal. 

(a) A pain management clinic license unless another time is given at the time of licensure 
sha!l expire two (2) years from the date of issuance. AI! licenses must be renewed on or 
!lli_fore the Ia_§!__ day of the two (2) year licensure cycle . 

.illl_ A Medical Director may renew a current valid license prior to its expiration date by 
§_ubmittinq the_following to the Department: 

1. a renewal application form prescribed by the Department· 
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f.. the required renewal fee· 

3. proof of having a medical director who meets the requirements contained in 
these rules and is a pain management specialist· 

4. an attestation that the clinic is not owned wholly or partly by a person who has 
been convicted of pleaded nolo contendere to or received deferred adjudication 
for: 

{i) an offense that constitutes a felony· or 

(ii) an offense that constitutes a misdemeanor the facts of which relate to 
the distribution of illegal prescription drugs or a controlled substance as 
defined in§ 39-17-402· 

5. an attestation that no owner em~e or person with whom the clinic contracts 
who has clinical contact with patients contact with onsite patient information or 
specimens and/or has management responsibilities: 

6. 

(i) has been convicted of an offense involving the sale distribution or 
dispensing of controlled substances under state or federal law· 

(ii) has been denied by any jurisdiction a license under which that person 
may prescribe diSllill'l..§S._ administ.~_.sup~QL-~_Q.Qntro~Q. 
substance· 

(iii) has been subject to disciplinary action by any licensing entity for conduct 
that was the result of inappropriately prescribing dispensing 
.ill!ministerinq supQ.!y~~el!ing a contrQ!l_~§..ubstan~ 

proof the Medical Director has maintained the status of pain management+ 
specialist· 

7. any other information requested by the Department. 

{2) A clinic whose certificate was renewed before July 1 2017 and continued operation on that 
certificate as a license until its expiration shall have its Medical Director apply as a new applicant 
for licensure under this part and must meet all requirements for licensure in order to continue 
operation beyond the expiration date of the certificate. In order for the Department to timely 
process the application and inspect the clinic the Medical Director must have submitted a 
complete application as a new applicant a minimum ot.nit1.§.!Y..l90) days before the expiration of 
the clinic's certificate. For purposes of an expired certificate there shall be no grace period for 
operation between expiration of the certificate and the initial licensure date. 

(3) Late Renewal aJlt.Lf3.eaQ.P.!l.Qation_,_ 

The pain management clinic may renew Its license within sixty 160) days after the license 
expiration date with payment of the renewal fee and late renewal penalty fee and after having 
completed all of the other requirements for renewal. After the sixty (60) day grace period the 
Medi..Qill_Qirector ffi.§YR<JP_Qiy for a new license but must cease operations until such time as a 
new license is granted. 

Au!b.QO)l';_L_~63-1-303 63-1-306 63-1-307 63-1-308 63-1-309 and 63-1-316. 

1200-34-01-.05 Exemptions 
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(1) A pain management clinic is not a clinic facility or office which provides interventional pain 
management as defined in § 63-6-244 and whose clinic facility or office does not provide chronic 
non-malignant pain treatment to a majority of the patients of a clinic facility or office for ninety 
(90) days or more in a twelve-month period. 

{2) A oa1n manaaement clinic 1s not a med1cal or dental school an osteopathic medical school a 
nursing schooL a physician assistant program or an outpatient clinic associated with any of the 
foregoing schools or programs including but not limited to clinics that have an agreement to 
train residents by members of that clinic who are appointed as adjunct faculty of the school or 
program. 

(3) A pain management clinic is not a hospital as defined in§ 68-11-201 including any outpatient"" ------~;~~tted:Indent: Left: O", Hanging: O.s~ 
facility or clinic of a hospital if such outpatient facility or clinic is regulated under title 68. ----------------

{4) A pain management clinic is not hospice services as defined in § 68-11-201. 

(5) A pain management clinic is not a nursing home as defined in § 68-11-201. 

(6) A pain management clinic is not a facility maintained or operated by this state. 

(ll_ __ A____Q§j_n management clinic is not a hospital or clinic maintained or operated by the federal+-­
government. 

1\lJJtl_Q[jjy~T.CA §§ 63-1-301 and 63-1-302. 

1200-34-01-.06 Fees 

(1) Initial licensure fee .. 

(2) Renewal fee ... 

(3) State Regulatory fee .. 

(4) Inspection fee .. 

.................... $1 500.00 

... $1 500.00 

. .... $ 10.00 

. ..................................................... $1 500.00 

(6) The late renewal penalty fee is five hundred dollars ($500.00) per month for each month or 
fraction of a month that renewal is !ate. 

(7) The Inspection fee is to be paid with the initial licensure fee upo_n_gtQplication_,_gnd again biennially 
within thirty (30) days following the random biennial inspection. 

(8) A re-inspection fee shall be assessed and shaH be paid by the Medical Director any time an 
investigator is forced to return to the clinic to complete his or her inspection due to actions or 
omissions on the part of the Medical Director or anyone working in the pain management clinic. 
A re-inspection fee shaH also be assessed and shall be paid by the Medical Director any time the 
Department re-inspects a clinic which did not pass an inspection. Payment of the re-inspection 
fee must be remitted to the Department within thirty (30) days of there-inspection date. 

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 63-1-303 63-1-306 63-1-308 and 63-1-316. 

1200-~~-01-.07 Licensure Inactivation 

(i) If the Medical Director and/or owners of a pain management clinic determine that the site will 

o=ormatt~Indent: Left: 0", Hanging: 0.5'' 
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close and cease operation or that the site will no longer provide services that meet the statutorv 
definition of a pain management clinic the Medical Director must notify the Department. If the 
Department has not been notified of a closure and appears at the clinic for an inspection or 
investigation the Medica! Director may be held responsible for the inspection fee or the actual 
cost of the investigation. 

(2) The Medical Director shall notify the Department and inactivate the pain management clinic+- ------(FOrmatted: Indent: Left: O", Hanging: 0.5'' 
license as follows: 

{a) Obtain from the Administrative Office an official inactivation form: 

(b) Complete and submit that form along with any supporting documentation that may be 
required by the Administrative Office. 

QL Upon successful completion and submission of the required forms to the administrative office the 
Department shall register the pain management clinic license as inactivated. A clinic that has 
inactivated its license shall not operate as a pain management clinlc. and doing so shall subject 
the practitioners in that clinic to penalties from the Department. 

Authority: T.CA §§ 63-1-303.63-1-304 63-1-305 and 63-1-316. 

1200-34-01-.08 Inspections and Investigation§. 

(1) Upon application for licensure as a pain management clinic the Medical Director shall pay the 
Inspection fee and permit the Department to conduct an in;m!0!_9:iQ_Il__QUO_t;!...s;ll_ol9 which-~ 
include in addition to inspection of the physical site review of medical records business records. 
and any other documents the Department may require. 

(2) The Medical Director owners officers. employees authorized representatives of the pain 
managem!mt clini~and ind~ndent contractors working at the pain management clinic shall 
allow Department representatives access to the pain management clinic and shall provide copies 
pf all documentation including but not limited to medical records and business records requested 
by the Department in connection with an inspection or investigation of the pain management 
clinic. The Medical Director shall be responsible for thEL.Q..illn_ management clinic remitting 
payment of the biennial inspection fee to the Department within thirty (30) days of the inspection. 

(3) If a clinic does not pass an inspection_,__gt its discretion the Department may re-ins..Q§_ct the clinic 
and assess a re-inspection fee. The Department .!JJ3Y require submission of a corrective action 
12.!.e.o._prior to the re-inspection. 

(4) Failure or refusal of the Medical Director to grant the Department access to the pain management 
clinic to !Wrform an audit inspection or investigation shall constitute mounds for immediate 
suspension of the pain management clinic's license as contemplated in T.C.A. § 4-5-320(c). 

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 63-1-303.63-1-304 63-1-305 and 36-1-316. 

1200-34-01-.09 Notifications and Reporting 

(1) A pain management clinic license shall not be assignable or transferable. However the 
Department recognizes that some circumstances may cause a Medical Director to depart from a 
clinic. While best practice would be for the new Medical Director· to seek licensure from the 
Department while the current Medical Director is still actively serving at his clinic's licensed 
location in the event that the current Medical Director no longer meets the requirements 
contained in T.C.A. §§ 63-1-301 et seq. and th§S_\l rules to be a Medical Director or departs from 
a clinic the Department will allow a grace period during which a clinic may continue to operate 
provided the following occurs: 
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(a) The clinic may continue to operate on the current Medica! Director's license for a grace 
period of up to thirty (30) calendar days from the date that the current Medical Director no 
longer met the requirements contained in T.C.A. §§ 63-1-301 et seq. and these rules to 
be a Medical Director or the date the current Medical Director departs the clinic provided 
the clinic notifies the Department on a form prescribed by the Department within ten (10) 
business days of the identity of another pain management specialist who will serve as the 
interim Medical Director for the clinic· 

(b) During this grace period after which the current Medical Director no longer meets the 
requirements of this part or has departed from the clinic which shall total no more than 
thirty (30) calendar days both the pain management clinic license and the interim 
Medical Director are liable for any actions or inactions occurring at or caused_by the QQin 
management clinic· 

(c) The new Medical Director shall submit a completed pain management clinic application 
immediately upon agreement to assume the duties of medical director at the clinic: 

(d) Should the clinic have difficulty obtaining a new medical director it may apply for a waiver 
of up to an additional sixty (60) calendar days in which to operate with the interim Medical 
Director. The waiver form shall be promulgated by the Department. The waiver will__Qojy 
~anted upon good cause shown demonstrated reasonable efforts to locate and 
retain a new medical director and a reasonable belief by the Department that public 
health will be harmed by not granting the waiver. Both the pain management clinic 
license and the interim Medical Director are liable for any actions or inactions occurring at 
or caused by the pain management clinic during any granted grace period· 

(e) Upon expiration of thirty {30) calendar days or upon the expiration of ninety (90) calendar 
days if a waiver was applied for and granted if a new pain management clinic license has 
not been issued by the Q£illartment the _clinic must cease operation. Each dqy__gf 
continued operation would constitute a separate violation for any licensee who continues 
to work in the clinic: 

ill_ Notwithstanding these provisions. if the current Medical Director of a clinic chooses to 
inactivate the license the clinic must cease operating as a pain management clinic 
immediately upon inactivation. Prior to inactivating the license the Medical Director shall 
have the responsibility to notify all patients receiving care at the clinic and arrange for 
continuity of C§ILand 

(g) In the event the clinic is unable to find a permanent new Medical Director during the 
grace period the individual serving as interim Medical Director may apply for a pain 
management clinic license to be issued for a term of six (6) months. At its discretiill1__!3nd 
upon such request by the interim Medical Director applicant the Department may issue a 
pain management clinic license for a term of six months. The fee for such a license shall 
be proportional to the annual fee but other than the term the license shall be modified in 
no other. mano.ff:_ upon issuance of the truncated licensEh.lhe interim Medical Director 
applicant shaH become the licensee. 

(2) The Medical Director shall notify the Department within thirty (30) days of the occurrence if any of 
the following occur to any person who owns is an employee of or is a person with whom the 
clinic contracts who has clinical contact with patients contact with onsite patient information or 
specimens and/or has management responsibilities: 

.(_&__ that person has applied for any state or federal license registration or certificate that has 
been denied· 
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.{Q) that person has held any state or federal license registration or certificate that has been 

restricted or subject to disciplinary action relative to prescribing dispensing 
administering supplying or selling a controlled substance· or 

(c) that person has been convicted of a felony or any offense involving the sale diversion or 
dispensing of controlled substances under state or federal law related to operation of or 
work in the clinic. 

(3) In the event that the name of the clinic changes the Medical Director shall notify the Department 
of the name change within ten (1 0) business days after the name change occurs. 

(4) In addition to the reporting requirements above the Medical Director shall make an annual report 
to the Department on a form promulgated for such reporting. The report shall be due to the 
Department sixty (60) days prior to the pain management clinic's certificate or license anniversary 
date and shalf cover the previous twelve {12) months. The report shall include the following: 

(a) Whether the pain management clinic is associated with a hospital; 

(b) Whether the pain management clinic is adjacent to a pharmacy· 

{QL__The names of each Qhysician physician assistant and advanceQ_Qractice registered_ 
nurse who worked in the clinic each month du~iog_jbe preceding year along with their 
license numbers· 

(d) The number of patients seen by the clinic for each month in the precedi~L 

(e) The number of patients seen in each month who received controlled substances for 
chronic nonmalignant pain from a practitioner at the clinic· 

f..fL___ A list of all controlled drug sam _pies which were dispensed in the preceding year or a copy 
of the clinic's log pursuant to Title 21 C.F.R. § 1304.11 with regard to those samples· 

(g) A list of all owners of the clinic and their percentage of interest in the clinic for each 
month in the preceding year· 

(h) The names of any employees hired or separated within the preceding year as well as the 
license number of that employee if any are or were licensees· and 

(i) A summary of each advertisement for that clinic location and where more than one 
location exists each advertisement for the larger oraanization as a whole. For purposes 
of this rule an advertisement is any material or spoken word which is: (1) paid for in 
consideration of any kinti?l intended to promote a clinic's services· or (3) created or 
given in any manner not in association with a bona fide unpaid other than customary 
coverage of expenses media encounter interview or professional continuing medical 
education event 

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 63-1-303 63-1-306 63-1-309 63-1-316 63-1-317 and 63-1-319. 

1200-34-01-.10 Medical Director Responsibilities 

_{1) Clinic Operation and Personnel. 

(a) The Medical Director of a pain management clinic shall: 

1. oversee all of the pain management services provided at the clinic: 
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2. be on-site at the clinic at least twenty percent (20%) of the clinic's weekly total 

number of operating hours: 

3. ensure that each supervising physician for each of the health care providers 
working at the clinic complies with the supervision requirements contained in 
Tenn. Camp. Rules and Regulations Chapter 0880-03 and Chapter 0880-06 or 
Rule 1050-02-.15 as applicable and is a pain management specialist· 

4. ensure that all health care providers employed by or working at the pain 
management clinic comply with applicable state and federal laws and rules 
relative to the prescribing of controlled substances in the pain management 
clinic· 

5. ensure the establishment of protocols for the health care providers employed by 
or working at the pain management clinic as provided in Tenn. Camp. Rules and 
Regulations Chapter 0880-03 and Chapter 0880-06 and ensure that providers 
comply with such protocols as well as any other established policies and 
procedures· 

_9. identify a pain management specialist who has agreed to provide coverage in the 
?Vent that the Medical Director is unable to fulfill his or her duties on a temporary 
basis because of illness vacation or unavailability. Such coveraqt";! may b©. 
provided on a temporary short-term basis and serving in this capacity will not b~ 
considered to count against the limit of four (4) pain management clinics at which 
a pain management specialist may serve as medical director. The Medical 
Director maintains all responsibility during any period where coverage is 
provided but the covering physician shall only share responsibility for those 
times during which he or she is providing coverage: 

L __ " es tab I ish ......stuality assura nee oo I iciilll_i:!O_Q__pr_Q_G_©.9J,JL~§_,____yy_bl_Qb-"-_<!! __ l!_fll iniD:L!J!Jl_,_ 
include but are not limited to: 

(i) documentation of the background training. licensure and certifications 
for all pain management clinic staff providing patient care· 

(ii) a written drug screening policy and compliance plan for patients to 
include random urine drug screening as clinically indicateU.!JL at a 
minimum upon each new admission and once every six (6) months 
thereafter: 

(iii) use of substance use disorder risk assessment tools upon new patient 
admission and periodic review or re-assessment· 

(iv) evaluating and monitoring the quality and appropriateness of patient 
care the methods of improving patient care as well as identifying and 
correcting deficiencies. and the opportunities to improve the clinic's 
performance and quality of care· 

(v) medication counts for any controlled substances prescribed by the clinic 
to the clinic's patients· 

(vi) use of pain agreements and periodic review of such agreements· 

(vii) health care provider access to and review of patient information, 
contained in the controlled substance monitoring database in accordance 
with T.CA §§ 53-10-301 - 53-10-309 as clinically indicated but at a 
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minimum upon each new admission and once everv six (6) months 
thereafter· 

(viii) documentation of requests for records from other health care providers· 

(ix) creation of a written process for clinical practice evaluation and evidence 
of regular aporopriate supervisory action based on results of the clinical 
practice evaluation; 

8. establish an infection control program to provide a sanitary environment for the 
prevention control and investigation of infections and communicable diseases 
including but not limited to: 

(i) written infection control policies and procedures· 

(ii) creation of written policies that are consistent with the Centers for 
Disease Control and Prevention's guidelines for minimum prevention for 
outpatient settings· and 

{iii) a log of incidents related to infectious and communicable diseases and 
the corrective action taken· 

9. establish written policies and procedures to assure oatient access to their 
medical records and continuity of care should the pain management clinic close. 

(2) Records Reporting Requirements and Patient Billing Procedures. 

(a) The Medical Director shall ensure that each health care provider employed by or working 
at a certified or licensed oain management clinic shall maintain complete and accurate 
medical records of ..PQ1ient consultation examination--'-_Qlf;lg[l_Q_~i§.,__<ill.Q_fLf;"!5!t!Il.§:!lL whic.h 
shall include. but not be limited to the following: 

1. patient medical history and physical examination· 

2. diagnostic therapeutic and laboratory results. evaluations and consultations 
and records from other health care providers as available or aitemQts to obtain 
such· 

3. documentation of informed consent and discussion of risks and benefits of 
treatment provided· 

4. treatments treatment options and treatment objecti~ 

5. medications prescribed (including date type dosage and quantity prescribed)· 

6. instructions and i!.9.f!tements· 

7. periodic reviews· 

8. a notation indicating whether the controlled substance monitoring database had 
been accessed for a particular patient· 

9. results of urine drug screens to be performed as cllnJcallv 1nd1cated but at a 
minimum upon each new admission and once every six (6) months thereafter. 

(b) The Medical Director's responsibilities shall include having a system in place to ensure 
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adequate medical documentation and responsibility for addressing inadequate 
documentation. Medical records must at all times be available to clinicians to review 
onsite. but may be maintained at a separate location. 

(3) The Medical Director shall take appropriate steps including having a system in place to ensure 
that adequate billing records are maintained for the pain management clinic and shall ensure that 
adequate billing records are maintained for all patients and for all patient visits. Billing records 
shall be made for all methods of payment. Billing records shall be made available to the 
Department upon request. 

Billing records shall include but not be limited to the following: 

ill.L.__ the amount paid for the co-pay and/or remainder of servic~ 

{b) method of payment· 

{gL__ date of the deliverv of services· 

(d) date of payment· and 

(e) description of services. 

(4) The Medical Director shall ensure that patient medical records sh?ll be maintained for ten (10) 
years from the date of the patient's last treatment at the clinic. 

(5) The Medical Director shall ensure that patient billing records shall be maintained for seven (7) 
years from the date of the patient's last treatment at the clinic. 

@l_ The Medical Director shaH ensure that all health care providers employed by or working at the 
Qain_Ql<:lmement clinic are prQP_ElliYJLG...~ns~Q__c:!_nd certlfL<:Ld_<!]:_~J.Ul!I13JL 

m_ The Medical Director shall ensure the deliverv of quality care and quality services at the clinic. 

ffi The Medical Director shall ensure that all monetary transactions at the Qain management cliniQ 
shall be in accordance with T.CA § 63 1 310 which provides that a pain management clinic may 
accept only a check or credit card in payment for services provided at the clinic·· except that 
payment may be made in cash or money order for a co-pay coinsurancso. or deductible when ttt©. 
remainder of the charge for the services will be submitted to the patient's insumnce plan for 
reimbursement. 

(9) The Medical Director shall ensure that patients have access to their medical records at any time 
upon request of the patient in keeping with T.C.A. §§ 63-2-101 et seq. and especially in the event 
that the clinic closes_ The Medical Director shall also ensure that the Department has access to 
the records upon request. 

AuthQd!)': T.CA §§ 63-1-303 63-1-306 63-1-309. and 63-1-310. 

1200-34-01-.11 Training Requirements 

(1) Each physician serving as the Medical Director or a supervising physician to an advanced 
Q@Qtice registered nurse or physician assistant at the clinic shall meet the statutory requirements 
to be a pain management specialist and shall complete the requisite continuing education to 
maintain that status. 

(2) Each health care provider providing pain management services at a clinic shall complete ten (10) 
hours in continuing education courses during each health care provider's licensure renewal cycle 
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which shall be a part of the continuing education requirements established by each of the health 
care provider's respective boards. The ten {1 Q) continuing education hours shall address at least 
one or more of the following topics related to pain medicine: 

(a) prescribing controlled substances· 

l.Ql__druq screening or testing· 

&_ pharmacological and non-pharmacological pain management· 

(d) completing a pain management focused history and physical examination and 
maintaining appropriate proqress notes· 

(e) comorbidities with pain syndromes· and 

m substance abuse and misuse including diversion prevention of same and risk 
assessment for abuse. 

(3) Each health care provider providing pain management services at a clinic shalL in addition to the 
ten (10) hours of continuing education outlined above thoroughly read the Tennessee Chronic 
Pain Guidelioes and the Tennessee Pain Clinic Guidelines QLomulqated _ _Qy__tb_e D~_Qlent. 

Aulhority: T.C.A. § 63-1-303 and 63-1-306. 

1200-34-01-.12 Licensure D.l.§_QQiine and Civil Penalties 

(1) Upon a finding that a pain management clinic is in violation of any provision of the Tennessee 
Pain Management Clinic Act (T.CA §§ 63-1-301 et seq.) or the rules promulgated pursuant 
thereto the Commissioner may impose any of the following actions separately or in any 
combination which is deemed appropriate to the offense: 

(a) Private Censure- This is a written action issued to the Medical Director for minor or near 
infractions. It is informal and advisory in nature and does not constitute a formal 
Q_isciplina!Y_actioll_ 

{b) Reprimand - This is a written action issued on a Medical Director's pain management 
clinic license for one time and less severe violations. It is a formal public disciplinary 
g__ction_,_ 

(c) Probation - This is a formal disciplinary action which places a Medical Director's pain 
management clinic license on close scrutiny for a period of time. 

1. This action may be combined with any other formal disciplinary action and 
include conditions and requirements which must be met before probation can be 
lifted and/or which restrict or condition the clinic's activities during the 
probationary period 

2. Once ordered probation may not be lifted unless and until the Medical Director 
petitions pursuant to paragraph (2) of this rule after the period of initial probation 
has run and all conditions placed on the probation have been met and the 
Commissioner is satisfied that a further probationary period is riot warranted such 
that the probation may be lifted. 

{gj Licensure Suspension :._This is a formal disciplinary action which suspends the right of 
the Medical Director and his staff to operate the pain management clinic for a fixed period 
of time. It contemplates the reopening of the practice under the license previously issued 
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at that location. 

CHAPTER 1200-34-01 

1. Once ordered a suspension may not be lifted unless and until the Medical 
Director petitions. pursuant to paragraph (2) of this rule after the period of initial 
suspension has run and: 

m All conditions placed on the suspension have been met· and 

(ii) The Commissioner is satisfied that the Medical Director and his staff are 
competent to return to practice and that no further period of suspension 
is warranted such that the suspension should be lifted. 

2. The clinic must be completely closed during the period of licensure suspension. If 
any licensee admits or sees any new or existing patients during the suspension 
that shall be considered a violation of the suspension and the length of 
suspension shall toll for any time during which the practice was open in violation 
gf the suspension. 

(e) Revocation- This is a formal disciplinary action which doses a clinic and terminates the 
license previously issued to operate that location as a pain management clinic. 

(f} Conditions - Any action deemed appropriate by the Commissioner to be required of a 
disciplined Medical Director and/or clinic in any of the following circumstances: 

_1. __ Durio_g_<illY....P§riod of probation or suspension· or 

2. As a prerequisite to the lifting of probation or suspension· or 

3. As a stand alone requirement(s) in any disciplinary order. 

(g) Civil penalty - A monetary disciplinary action assessed by the Commissioner pursuant to 
paragraph (4) of this rule. 

{bl_"·-·" Summary Suspension - This is a formal disciplinary action which immediately and entirely 
suspends the rights of the Medical Director and his staff to operate the pain management 
clinic until it is lifted or until a final disposition of the matter after a full hearirig. This type 
of suspension may be ordered ex-parte pursuant to the notice procedures contained in 
T.C.A. § 4-5-320 upon a finding that the public health. safety or welfare imperatively 
requires emergency action. 

(j) Assessment of costs in disciplinary proceedings shall be as set forth in T.C.A. § 63-1-+ -----1 Formatted: Indent: Left: 0.5", Hanging: ill 
144. 

m The Commissioner at his discretion may convene an advisory panel of one or more to 
make a recommendation to the Commissioner prior to the Commissioner's determination. 
The Commissioner shall not be boun.Q_Qy the recommendation of the advisory panel. 

(2) Order of Compliance - This procedure is a necessary adjunct to previously issued disciplinary 
orders and is available only when a petitioner has completely complied with the provisions of a 
previously issued disciplinary order and wishes or is required to obtain an order reflecting that 
com..Qli.ancEt 

illl__ The Commissioner will entertain petitions for an Order of Compliance as a supplement to 
a previou~sued order upon strict compliance with the procedures set forth in 
subparagraph (b) only when the petitioner can prove compliance with all the terms of the 
previously issued order and is seeking to have an order issued reflecting that compliance 
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or is seeking to have a suspension or probation lifted. 

(b) Procedures 

1. The petitioner shall submit a Petition for Order of Compliance. as contained in 
subparagraph (c). to the Administrative Office that shall contain all of the 
following: 

.m A copy of the previously issued order· and 

(ji) A statement of which provision of subparagraph (a) the petitioner is 
relying upon as a basis for the requested order· and 

(iii) A copy of all documents that prove compliance with all the terms or 
conditions of the previously issued order_ If proof of compliance requires 
testimony of an individua!(s) including that of the petitioner the petitioner 
must submit signed sworn to and notarized statements from each 
individual the petitioner intends to rely upon attesting under oath to the 
petitioner's compliance. No documentation or testimony other than that 
submitted will be considered in making an initial determination on or a 
final order in respon§!? to the petitio..rr_ 

2. The administrative staff may make an initial determination on the petition before it 
is heard by the Commissioner and take one of the following actions: 

(i) Certify compliance and have the matter scheduled for presentation to the 
Commissioner as an uncontested matter· or 

(ii) Deny the petition after consultation with legal staff if compliance with all 
of the provisions of the previous order is not proven and notify the 
petitioner of what provisions remain to be fulfilled and/or what proof of 
compliance was either not sufficient or not submitted. 

l_ __ JL!.he petition is presented to the Commissioner .!..b!LQ_etitioner may not submit 
any additional documentation or testimony other than that contained in the 
petition as originally submitted. 

1.. If the Commissioner finds that the petitioner has complied with all the t~rms of 
the previous order an Order of Compliance shall be issued. 

5. If the petition is denied either initially by staff or after presentation to the 
Commissioner and the petitioner believes compliance with the order has been 
sufficiently proven the petitioner may as authorized by law file a petition for a 
declaratory order pursuant to the provisions of T.C.A. § 4-5-223. 

(c) Form Petition 

Petition for Order of Compliance 
Pain Management Clinic 

Petitioner's Name: 
Petitioner's Mailing Address: 

Petitioner's E-Mail Address: 
Telephone Number: 
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Attorney for Petitioner: 
Attorney's Mailing Address: 

Attorney's E-Mail Address: 
Telephone Number: 

The petitioner respectfully represents as substantiated by the attached documentation 
that al! provisions of the attached disciplinary order have been complied with and I am 
respectfully requesting: (circle one) 

1. An order issued reflecting that compliance· or 

2. An order issued reflecting that compliance and lifting a previously ordered 
suspension or probation. 

Note- You must enclose at! documents necessary to prove your request including a copy 
of the original order. If any of the proof you are relying upon to show compliance is the 
testimony of any individual including yourself vou must enclose signed statements from 
§.YSllYJndividual you intend to__@j_y_yp_Q!l___§_i_tes1i.o_g,_under oath. to the compliance. The 
Committee's consultant the Disciplinary Coordinator and legal staff in their discretion 
may require such signed statements to be notarized. No documentation or testimony 
pther than that submitted will be considered in __ makio.g___g_n initial determination on or a 
final order in response to this petition. 

Respectfully submitted this the day of .20 

Petitioner's Signature 

(3) Order Modifications - This procedure is not intended to allow anyone under a previously issued 
disciplinary order. including an unlicensed practice civil penalty order to moc!ify____§_o_y_ndings of 
fact conclusions of law or the reasons for the decision contained in the order. It is also not 
intended to allow a petition for a lesser disciplinary action or civil penalty other than the one(s) 
previously ordered. All such provisions of Commissioner Orders were subject to reconsideration 
and appeal under the provisions of the Uniform Administrative Procedures Act (T.C.A. §§ 4-5-
301 et seq.). This procedure is not available as a substitute for reconsideration and/or appeal 
and is only available after all reconsideration and appeal rights have been either exhausted or not 
timely pursued. It is also not available for those who have accepted or been issued a reprimand. 

(a) The Commissioner will entertain petitions for modification of the disciplinary portion of 
previously issued orders upon strict compliance with the procedures set forth in 
subparagraph (b) only when the petitioner can prove that compliance with any one or 
more of the conditions or terms of the discipline previously ord~red is impossible. For 
purooses of this rule the term "impossible" does not mean that compliance is 
inconvenient or impractical for personal financial scheduling or other reasons. 

(b) Procedures 

1. The petitioner shall submit a written and signed Petition for Order Modification on 
the form contained in subparagraph (c) to the Administrative Office that shall 
contain all of the fotlowi(l,Z 

(i) A copy of the previously issued order· and 
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(ii) A statement of why the petitioner believes it is impossible to comply with 
the order as issued· and 

Oii) A copy of all documents that prove that compliance is impossible. If 
proof of impossibility of compliance requires testimony of an individual(s) 
induding that of the petitioner the petitioner must submit signed sworn 
to and notarized statements from each individual the petitioner intends 
to rely upon attesting. under oath to the reasons why compliance is 
impossible. No documentation or testimony other than that submitted 
will be considered in making an initial determination on or a final order in 
response to the petition. 

2. The administrative staff may make an initial determination on the petition before 
the Commissioner hears it and take one of the following actions: 

(i) Certify imQQ_ssibility of compliance and forward the petition to the Office 
of General Counsel for review and presentation to the Commissioner· or 

.WL_Deny the petition after consultation with legal staff. if impossibility of 
~ompliance with the provisions of the previous order is not proven and 
notify_E __ petitioner of what proof of irrmossi.QlliiY...Qt compliance yvas 
either not sufficient or not submitted. 

3. lf the petition is presented to the Commissioner. the petitioner may not submit 
any additional documentation or testimony other than that contained in the 
petition as originally submitted, 

4. If the petition is granted the Commissioner may issue a new order reflecting the 
authorized modifications that he deem~QIQJJ_IiaiEL..§.D_cl_neG__~inELC!iionJQ 
the violations found in the previous order. 

5. If the petition is denied either initially bv staff or after presentation to the 
Commissioner and the petitioner believes impossibility of compliance with the 
order has been sufficiently proven the petitioner may as authorized by law file a 
petition for a declaratory order pursuant to the provisions of T.CA § 4-5-223. 

{!j__ Form Petition 

Petition for Order Modification 
Pain Management Clinic 

Petitioner's Name: 
Petitioner's Mailing Address: 

Petitioner's E-Mail Address: 
Telephone Number: 

Attorney for_petition'."e"lrc-: --------------'------­
Attorney's Mailing Address: 

Attorney's E-Mail Address: 
Telephone Number: 
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The petitioner respectfully represents that for the following reasons as substantiated by 
the attached documentation the identified provisions of the attached disciplinary order 
are impossible for me to comply with: 

Note- You must enclose all documents necessary to prove your request including a copy 
of the original order. If any of the proof you are relying upon to show impossibility is the 
testimony of any individual including yourself you must enclose signed and notarized 
statements from every individual you intend to rely upon attesting under oath. to the 
reasons why compliance is impossible. No documentation or testimony other than that 
submitted will be considered in making an initial determination on or a final order in 
m_~ons~ this____Q§_@QD_,_ 

Respectfully submitted this the day of 20 

Petitioner's Signature 

(4) Civil Penalties 

iEl__ Purpose - The puroose of thi~<mb_ is to set out a schedule designating _the 
minimum and maximum civil penalties which may be assessed pursuant to T.CA §§ 63-
1-134 and 63-1-316. 

(_QL_ Schedule of Civil Penalties 

1. A Type A civil penalty may be imposed whenever the Commissioner finds the 
medical director an owner or clinic staff guilty_of a willful a.nd knowing violation 
of Tenn. Code Ann. §§ 63-1-301 et seq. or regulations promulgated pursuant 
thereto. to such an extent that there is. or is likely to be an imminent substantial 
threat to the health safety and welfare of an individual client or the public or in 
such a manner as to impact directly on the care of patients or the public. 

2. A Type 8 civil penalty may be imposed whenever the Commissioner finds 
medical director an owner or clinic staff is guilty of a violation of Tenn. Code 
Ann.§§ 63-1-301 et seq. or regulations promulgated pursuant thereto which are 
neither directly detrimental to the 12_atients or public nor directly impact their care. 

(c) Amount of Civil Penalties 

1. Type A Civil Penalties shall be assessed in the amount of not less than $500 or 
more than $1 000. 

2. Type 8 Civil Penalties may be assessed in the amount of not less than $100 and 
not more than $500. 

(d) Procedures for Assessing Civil Penalties 
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1. The Department may initiate a civil penalty assessment by filing a Memorandum 
of Assessment of Civil Penalty. The Department shall state in the memorandum 
the facts and law upon which it relies in alleging a violation the proposed amount 
of the civil penalty and the basis for such penalty. The Department may 
incoroorate the Memorandum of Assessment of Civil Penalty with a Notice of 
Charges which may be issued attendant thereto. 

2. Civil Penalties may also be initiated and assessed by the Commissioner or his 
designee during consideration of any Notice of Charges. In addition the 
Commissioner or his designee may upon good cause shown assess a type and 
amount of civil penalty which was not recommended by the Department 

3. In assessing the civil penalties pursuant to these rules the Commissioner or his 
designee may consider the following factors: 

the 
(i) IJL __ "W".!hether the amount imposed will be a substantial economic deterrent to 

(ii) 

(iii) 

(iv) 

(V) 

violator· 

The circumstances leading to the violation· 

The severity of the violation and the risk of harm to the_Q.Idblic: 

The economic benefits gained by the violator as a result of non-~------{ Formatte~:_!~dent: Left: 1.5", Hanging: -us] 
compliance· and 

The interest of the public. 

4. A!! proceedings for the assessment of civil penalties shall be governed by the 
contested case_provLsion~f Titi~~Qbapter 5. Tennessee Code Annotated. 

(5) At the conclusion of a hearing should the Commissioner determine to hold the case under 
advisement and make a recommendation as to requirements to be met by the pain management 
clinic in order to avoid suspension revocation or other discipline of a license or suspension of 
admissions such recommendations shall be a public record and shall be considered formal 
discipline. 

(a) Should the Commissioner make such a recommendation. the clinic must present proof of 
having met those requirements to the Commissioner for a determination regarding 
whether they have been satisfactorily met. 

(b) Should the Commissioner determine that the recommended requirements have not been 
met the Commissioner shall make a finding and record of this determination and shall 
impose appropriate formal discipline. 

{.QL..._ Should the clinic com~h the recommendations the Comm1ss1oner has the authontv 
to impose a lesser sanction as outlined in his recommendation or no sanction at all 
provided however that both the initial recommendations and final order shall be a public 
record and shall be considered formal discipline. 

Authority:_T.CA §§ 63-1-303 63-1-306 and 63-1-316. 

1200-34-01-.13 Commissioner Suspensions of Treatment of New or Existing Patients 

(1) In cases where the Commissioner determines that the conditions of any pain management clinic 
are or are likely to be. detrimental to the health safety or welfare of any patient the 
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Commissioner may suspend treatment of any new or existing patients in whole or part at the 
Commissioner's sole discretion pending a prompt hearing and in accordance with the 
requirements and provisions set out at T.C.A § 63-1-318. The Commissioner may also convene 
an advisory panel at his discretion. to make recommendations regarding the conditions of any 
clinic. 

(2) The following is a non·exhaustive list of conditions wl1ich are. or are likely to be detrimental to the 
health. safety or welfare of a patient: 

(a) Where there is aross deviation or a pattern of deviation from the Chronic Pain Guidelines 
or Pain Clinic Guidelines promulgated by the Department· 

(b) Where there is a___Q_attern of negligence or a pattern of noncompliance with normal 
standards of care· 

(c) Where there is dispensing of schedule II or schedule Ill drugs in violation of T.CA §...§l:"' ------{ Formatted:_!ndent: Left:- ?.5"~.!1~~ging: o.iJ 
1-313· 

(d) Where a provider in the clinic demQnstrates active untreated impairment or substance 
use disorder. 

Authority T.CA~Jc3_Q~nd 63-1-318. 

1200-34-01-.14 Unlicensed Pain Management Clinics 

(1) When the Department has reason to believe that a health care provider's office is operating as an 
unlicensed pain management clinic such health care provider shall produce satisfactory evidence 
to the Department that the maiority of its patient population is not receiving chronic nonmalignant 
pain treatment to avoid establishment of a rebuttable presumption that the clinic is operating as 
an unlicensed pain management clinic. For purposes of this determin_9,1i0[1...Q.?lients seen witblo 
the preceding twelve (12) months will be considered in determining the percentage of patients 
receiving chronic non-malignant pain treatment 

(2) Upon request from the Department the health care provider's office shall _Qroduce _medical 
records business records and any information responsive to the list below within ten (10) 
business days. After initial review the Department may ask for any necessary additional 
information to be produced within another ten (10) business days from the Department's request 
for add!tionJ!.I information. Evidence which will be required by the Department during this process 
may at the discretion of the Department include: 

(a) A complete list of everv patient seen at the clinic to include a listing of all dates during the 
Qreceding twelve (12) months when that patient was seen or treated· 

(b) A complete list of everv patient seen at the clinic within the preceding twelve (12) months 
which delineates each patient's diagnosis as well as what was orescribed to that patient 
the drug name drug strength number of pills to Q@.....Qispensed and number of days of 
intended use· 

(c) A complete list of all the billing codes which were submitted for each patient seen by the 
clinic as well as copies of the bills with remittances during the preceding twelve (12) 
montt)..§.;_®J! 

(d) A complete list of every clinic patient seen by the clinic during the preceding twelve (12) 
IJlO!lths who did not receive chronic non-malignant .Q..illn_treatment with a description of 
.the type of services that patient did receive. 
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(3) After being provided any of the patient lists above should the Department need to review charts 

of any of the clinic's patients to assist in making its determination the clinic will be notified of the 
names and given ten (10) business days to produce those patients' charts. 

(4) Should the health care provider's office be unable to provide satisfactory evidence the 
Department shall notify the clinic of such determination in writing. The clinic shall be prohibited 
from admitting any new patients to the practice and all owners and practitioners who worked at 
the clinic shall be subject to revocation of their licenses. 

(5) The Commissioner may issue a determination or at the Commissioner's discretion may convene 
an advisory panel to meet regarding whether the clinic was operating as an unlicensed pain 
management clinic and to make a recommendation to the Commissioner prior to the 
Commissioner's determinatiqn. The Commissioner shall not be bound by the recommendation of 
the advisory paneL 

(6) The Department has discretion to await the Commissioner's determination and th~ 
recommendations of the Advisory Panel before proceeding against the health care practitioners 
at the clinic for providing services in an unlicensed pain management clinic. 

Authority: T.CA §§ 63-1-311 63-1-315 and 63-1-317. 

1200 34 01 .15 Financial Requirement 

(1) Licensed pain management clinics shall be required to hold as surety either bonds or !lability 
insurance in an amount at least__§_Q_!!_<!l_IQ_one year's operating expense. 

(2) The bond or insurance must remain in force as long as the Medical Director's pain management 
clinic license is active. Upon notice of cancellation for any reason the Medical Director shall 
cease operating and shall cause all the staff to cease operating the clinic 

(3) Proof of such surety shall be produced to the Department upon request. 

Authority: T.C.A. § 63-1-316. 

1200-34-01-.16 Advertising 

(1L_ The vulnerability on the part of some patients concerning pain management services and the 
foreseeable conseill!.§.nces of unrestricted advertising_Qy_Qain clinics requires that special care 
be taken in advertising for pain management services. 

(2) The following statements acts or omissions in the context of advertisements by or for any clinic 
shall not be permitted: 

(a) Any communication including the use of personal testimonials attesting to the quality of 
a service or treatment offered at the clinic or the competency of those at the clinic 
rendering the service or treatment w!lh~u!._liLJ20tential results of any secvice or 
treatment that is not reasonably verifiable if that communication is in exchange for 
consideration of any form. 

(bl Any communication which creates an uniustified expectation concerning the potential 
results of that treatment. 

(c) Failure of the pain management clinic to include all the following in the advertisement: 

1. The licensure or certification number of the clinic as well as the official name in 
which the clinic is licensed· 
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2. The name of the medical director_ 

(d) Use of the name of any licensee formerly practicing at or associated with any pain 
management clinic after thirty (30) days from that licensee's departure. including use of 
the name on any siqnage for the office or building. 

(e) Stating or implying that a certain licensee provides or w11l be orov1dma all serv1ces when 
any such services are regularly or will be performed by another licensee. 

(f) Directly or indirectly offering giving receiving or agreeing to receive any fee or other 
consideration to or from a third party for the referral of a patient in connection with the 
gerformance of professional services. 

(3) A copy of everv advertisement whether communicated through electronic or printed media must 
be kept in as close to the original communication method as possible for at least two (2) years 
from the last date of communication and shall be submitted to the Department for review upon 
request. 

(4) The Medical Director is responsible for all advertising content which must also be in compliance 
with the rules of the Tennessee Board of Medical Examiners. 

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 63-1-311 and 63-1-317. 

j_f00-34-01-.17 Infectious Disease and Building Standards 

Each pain management clinic shall meet aU health and safety standards necessary to protect the health 
and welfare of patients seeking medical assistance from the clinic. 

Authority: T.CA §§ 63 1 311 ard 63 1-317. 
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* If a roll-call vote was necessary, the vote by the Agency on these rulemaking hearing rules was as follows: 

Board Member Aye No Abstain Absent Signature 
(if required) 

N/A 

I certify that this is an accurate and complete copy of rulemaking hearing rules, lawfully promulgated and adopted 
by the Commissioner of the Tennessee Department of Health (board/commission/ other authority) on 08/16/2017 
(mm/dd/yyyy), and is in compliance with the provisions of T.C.A. § 4-5-222. 

I further certify the following: 

Notice of Rulemaking Hearing filed with the Department of State on: 05126117 (mmldd/yy) 

Rulemaking Hearing(s) Conducted on: {add more dates). 07124117 (mmlddlyy) 

Date: '[I ~I I 1-

Signature: ~"CJA~cl~ 
Name of Officer: Mary Katherine Bratton 

Deputy General Counsel 

,,,,111\\\\ 

Title of Officer: Department of Health , , 
1 ,,,H lo1

11 
,,, ~'«~MECHI(, '', 

..,, ::\t.~ ··········· .. oft..'.., 
Subscribed and sworn to before me on: ' .. il pr·-1 ~~ 

Notary Public Signature:~~~~ 
""' •• PUBUC .' .., 

My commission expires on: ___:__-:.,'7:--"M~yc,;C;::o:::m':m".:':?ls';CSI;;r·o..,n~Eli;':':P"'I"-'re,.s.__ ____ _ 
•,,, s~!1UIIrli;~,2-ll?1 

., :[RC:@ ,, 

All rulemaking hearing rules provided for herein have been examined by the Attorney General and Reporter of the 
State of Tennessee and are approved as to legality pursuant to the provisions of the Administrative Procedures 
Act, Tennessee Code Annotated, Title 4, Chapter 5. 

Departmt'nt of State Use Only 
C::J ~ 

~-. 
r;;:J (/) 

Lt.J 
dJ 

~WvJ-~. 
Herbert H. ry Ill 

Attorney General and Reporter 

sb~I:J.{)t7 
I I Date 

Filed with the Department of State on: ____ __.,%;"-1/!-".;\"-'8"-1-'/ 1_'1.__ ____ _ 

Effective on: \ \~11 , -----~~~~'L-"7~, -----

{at~ 
I Tre Hargett 

Secretary of State 
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G.O.C. STAFF RULE ABSTRACT 

DEPARTMENT: 

DIVISION: 

SUBJECT: 

STATUTORY AUTHORITY: 

EFFECTIVE DATES: 

FISCAL IMPACT: 

STAFF RULE ABSTRACT 

State Board of Education 

Non-Public School Approval Process 

Tennessee Code Annotated, Section 49-1-
302(1 )(2)(A) mandates that the State Board 
promulgate rules to establish standards for 
programs operated by private schools. Section 49-
50-801 (e) authorizes the State Board to approve 
church-related schools that voluntarily seek 
approval from the State Board. 

November 9, 2017 through June 30, 2018 

None 

State Board of Education rule 0520-07-02 currently 
establishes the requirements for six categories of 
non-public schools in Tennessee. In an effort to 
provide greater clarity and remove outdated 
language within the non-public school approval 
process rules, the Department recommends this 
updated language to provide clearer requirements 
for each non public school category. 
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Regulatory Flexibility Addendum 
Pursuant to T.C.A. §§ 4-5-401 through 4-5-404, prior to initiating the rule making process as described in T.C.A. 
§ 4-5-202(a)(3) and T.C.A. § 4-5-202(a), all agencies shall conduct a review of whether a proposed rule or rule 
affects small businesses. 

Not Applicable 
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Impact on Local Governments 

Pursuant to T.CA §§ 4-5-220 and 4-5-228 "any rule proposed to be promulgated shall state in a simple 
declarative sentence, without additional comments on the merits of the policy of the rules or regulation, whether 
the rule or regulation may have a projected impact on local governments." (See Public Chapter Number 1070 
(http://state.tn.us/sos/acts/1 06/pub/pc1 070.pdf) of the 2010 Session of the General Assembly) 

These rules will have no impact on local governments. 
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Additional Information Required by Joint Government Operations Committee 

All agencies, upon filing a rule, must also submit the following pursuant to T.C.A. § 4-5-226(i)(1 ). 

(A) A brief summary of the rule and a description of all relevant changes in previous regulations effectuated by 
such rule; 

State Board of Education rule 0520-07-02 currently establishes the requirements for six categories of non-public 
schools in Tennessee. In an effort to provide greater clarity and remove outdated language within the non-public 
school approval process rules, the Department recommends updated language to provide clearer requirements 
for each non ublic school cate ory. 

(B) A citation to and brief description of any federal law or regulation or any state law or regulation mandating 
promulgation of such rule or establishing guidelines relevant thereto; 

T.C.A. § 49-1-302(1)(2)(A) mandates that the State Board shall promulgate regulations pursuant to the Uniform 
Administrative Procedures Act, compiled in title 4, chapter 5, part 2, to establish standards for programs 
operated by private schools. 
T.C.A. § 49-50-801(e) Authorizes the State Board to approve church-related schools that voluntarily seek 
approval from the State Board. 

(C) Identification of persons, organizations, corporations or governmental entities most directly affected by this 
rule, and whether those persons, organizations, corporations or governmental entities urge adoption or 
rejection of this rule; 

Non-Public Schools and the Non-Public School counsel. All proposed rule changes have been reviewed and 
approved b the Tennessee Non-Public Advisor Council. 

(D) Identification of any opinions of the attorney general and reporter or any judicial ruling that directly relates to 
the rule; 

Please see Tenn. Op. Atty. Gen. No. 15-58 (Tenn. A. G.), 2015 WL 4502245 attached to this filing. 

(E) An estimate of the probable increase or decrease in state and local government revenues and expenditures, 
if any, resulting from the promulgation of this rule, and assumptions and reasoning upon which the estimate 
is based. An agency shall not state that the fiscal impact is minimal if the fiscal impact is more than two 
percent (2%) of the agency's annual budget or five hundred thousand dollars ($500,000), whichever is less; 

I This rule will not impact state and local government revenues or expenditures. 

(F) Identification of the appropriate agency representative or representatives, possessing substantial knowledge 
and understanding of the rule; 

Elizabeth Taylor 
Elizabeth. Taylor@tn.gov 

Nathan James 
Nathan.Jame~@tn_,gov 

(G) Identification of the appropriate agency representative or representatives who will explain the rule at a 
scheduled meeting of the committees; 

r=~·-·-------------------- ---------------
Elizabeth Taylor 
ElizabeJh.Taylor@tn.gov 
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Nathan James 
Nathan.James 

(H) Office address, telephone number, and email address of the agency representative or representatives who 
will explain the rule at a scheduled meeting of the committees; and 

Elizabeth Taylor 
1'1 Floor, Andrew Johnson Tower 
710 James Robertson Parkway 
Nashville, TN 37243 
(615)-253-5707 
Elizabeth. Taylor@tn .qov 

Nathan James 
Nathan.James@tn.gov 
1st Floor, Andrew Johnson Tower 
710 James Robertson Parkway 
Nashville, TN 37243 
(615)-532-3528 

(I) Any additional information relevant to the rule proposed for continuation that the committee requests. 

~M------------------------------------------------------------~ 

131



The Honorable Russ Deaton, Tenn. Op. Atty. Gen. No. 15-58 (2015) 

Tenn. Op. Atty. Gen. No. 15-58 (Tenn.A.G.), 2015 WL 4502245 

Office of the Attorney General 

State of:Fenncssec 
Opinion No. 15-58 

July 14, 2015 

Uniform Grading Policy and HOPE Schobrship Eligibility 

*1 The Honorable Russ Deaton 

Interim Executive Director 
Tennessee Student Assistance Corporation 
Suite 1510, Parkway Towers 

404 James Robertson Parkway 

Nashville, TN 37243-0820 

Question 

Are private secondary schools as defined in Tennessee Code Annotated§ 49-4-902(10)(B) required to usc the slate 
Uniform Grading Policy as set forth in Tenn. Code Ann.§ 49-4-902(41) for purposes of establishing student eligibility 

for the HOPE scholarship? 

Opinion 

No. It appears that the Legislature intended that HOPE scholarship eligibility may be determined either through the 

use of the State uniform grading scale or another grading method that permits a determination of the mathematical 

equivalence to grades on the uniform scale. 

ANALYSIS 

This question arises from an apparent inconsistency between the language of Tenn. Code Ann.§ 49-4-902(JO)(B) and 

Tenn. Code Ann.§ 49-4-902(41) regarding the usc of grades on a 4.0 scale to determine eligibility for HOPE scholarships. 

Tennessee Code Annotated§ 49-4-907 addresses general eligibility requirements for HOPE scholarships as follows: 
To be eligible for a Tennessee HOPE scholarship as an entering freshman, a student who graduated from an eligible high 

school after December l, 2003, upon having completed curriculum requirements of the high school for graduation, shall: 

( 1) Meet the requirements of§§ 49-4-904 and 49-4-905; 

(2) Be admitted to and enroll in an eligible postsecondary institution no later than sixteen (16) months after gradlmtion 

from high school; and 

(3)(/\) Achieve a final overall weighted high school grade poinl averagC of at least 3.0; or 

(B) Attain a composite ACT score of at least 21 on any single ACT test date or a combined SAT score of at least 980 

on any single SAT test date. 
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(Emphasis added.) 

Tennessee Code Annotated§ 49-4-902(1 0) defines "eligible high school" to mean: 

(A) Tennessee public secondary school, 

(B) A private secondary school that is located in this state and is approved by the state board of education as a Category 1, 

2 or 3 secondary school in accordance with the applicable rules and regulations, 

(C) A secondary school operated by the United States department of defense on a military base that is located in whole 

or in part in this state, 

(D) An out-of-state boarding school attended by a bona fide Tennessee resident that is accredited by: 

(i) A regional accrediting association; or 

(ii) member of the National Association oflndependent Schools Commission on Accreditation; 

(Emphasis added.) 

Tenn. Code Ann.§ 49-4-902(41) defines "weighted grade point average" to mean a 

. grade point average on a 4.0 scale calculated with additional points awarded for advanced placement, honors or other 

similar courses, according to the uniform system of weighting of courses adopted by the state board of education, under§ 

49-I-302(a}(l7);. 

*2 (Emphasis added.) 

While private secondary schools are "eligible high schools" for purposes of HOPE scholarship eligibility, many private 

secondary schools employ a grading scale other than a 4.0 grading scale. In light of the statutory language quoted above, 

this leads to the question of whether graduates of private high schools that employ a different grading scale than a 4.0 

scale arc eligible for HOPE scholarships. 

Chapter 0520-07-02 of the Rules of the State Board of Education govern the ""Non-Public School Approval Process." 

These rules set forth numerous requirements and conditions that must be met by the various types of private schools 1 

before they gain State approval to operate, but there is no requirement under current Tennessee statutes, rules, or 

regulations that private schools employ a 4.0 grading scale, or any particular grading scale. 2 Nevertheless, the statutes 

that govern eligibility for HOPE scholarships broadly encompass graduates from non-public high schools as well as 

home-schooled students .. graduates of Tennessee high schools that are not ""eligible high schools," and students who 

have obtained aGED, 3 students who graduate from out-of-state schools while their parents are serving in the military, 4 

students who graduate from high school in a foreign nation while their parents arc serving as religious workers, 5 and 

other "non-traditional" students. 6 

Additionally, the General Assembly has established that gifted students in pubJic or private high schools are eligible to 

enroll in college credit courses and receive college credit if they have "a grade point average equimlent to three point two 

(3.2) on a four point zero (4.0) maximum basis[.]" Tenn. Code Ann.§ 49-6-3lll(a) (emphasis added). This language 

recognizes that (1) there may be difrcrences in grading systems employed by public and private high schools, and (2) 

grades can be mathematically converted to their equivalents on a 4.0 scale. 
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When interpreting statutes, the role of the interpreting court is "to ascertain and give effect to the legislative intent." 

Sharp 1'. Richardson, 937 S.\V.2d 846,850 (Tenn. 1996). In construing statutes relating to the same subject matter, a court 

has a duty to avoid a construction that will place statutes in conOict and to resolve such conflicts, whenever possible, 

so as to provide a harmonious interpretation of the la-...vs. Jd. In the absence of ambiguity, legislative intent is derived 

from the face of a statute, and the interpreting court shoU'ld not depart from the "natural and ordinary" meaning of 

the statute's language. Hmvkins v. Case Management Incorporated, 165 S.W.3d 296, 300 (Tenn. 2004). Statutes relating 

to the same subject should be interpreted in pari materia, i.e., construed together and in such a way that they are in 

harmony rather than in connicl. See Cronin v. !lowe, 906 S.W.2d 910, 912 (Tenn. 1995); r¥ilson v. Johnson Cmy., 879 

S.W.2d 807, 809 (Tenn. 1994). 

*3 Applying these principles of statutory construction, it appears that the General Assembly, in defining such a broad 

spectrum of students eligible for HOPE scholarships, did not intend that Tennessee private school students be rendered 

ineligible based upon their schools' use of grading scales other than the 4.0 scale. For example, in extending eligibility to 

students who arc Tennessee citizens but are not graduates from "eligible high schools," the General Assembly did not base 

the criteria on the school's usc of a uniform grading scale but rather on its operation by the United States government or 

its accreditation by a rccogniL:ed accrediting association, both regional and foreign. 7 The approved regional accrediting 

associations do not include use of a uniform 4.0 grading scale as a criterion in their standards of accreditation. 8 By 

extending eligibility to schools recognized by accrediting associations, uniformity in academic standards can be obtained 

without rendering students ineligible simply because the institution they attend uses a system of grading other than a 

4.0 scale. 

Of the four types of eligible high schools, only Tennessee public secondary schools are certain to employ the uniform 

grading system as set forth in Tenn. Code Ann.§§ 49-l-302(a)(l7) and 49-6-407. But HOPE scholarships arc available to 

students from a wide variety of non-eligible high schools, and there is no requirement that Tennessee private schools usc 

the uniform grading system in order for their students to be eligible for HOPE scholarships. Moreover, weighted grade 

point averages lmdcr Tenn. Code Ann. 9 49-4-902(41) may be obtained by determining the mathematical equivalence of 

grades from another system to those on the uniform scale. Thus, it appears that the General Assembly did not intend 

for Tennessee private school students to be rendered ineligible for HOPE scholarships based upon their schools' use of 

grading scales other than the 4.0 scale; rather the General Assembly intended that HOPE scholarship eligibility may 

be determined either through the use of the State uniform grading scale or another grading method that permits a 

determination of the mathematical equivalence to grades on the unifonn scale. 

Herbert H. Slatcry Jll 
Attorney General and Reporter 

Andree Sophia Blumstein 

Solicitor General 

Kevin Steiling 

Deputy Attorney General 

Footnotes 
The six categories of non-public schools are: I -schools approved individually by the State Department of Education; II­
schools that belong to an agency whose accreditation process is approved by the State Board of Education; TIT- schools which 

arc regionally accredited; TV- schools which are "church related" and exempt from regulations according to Tenn. Code 

Ann. ~ 49-50-801; V- all other schools, except home schools; and VI - international schools affiliated with a Tennessee public 

university acting as an agency whose accreditation process is approved by the State Board of Education. Tenn. Comp. R & 

Regs. 0520-07-02-.01 
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2 Tenn. Code Ann.§ 49-1-302(a)(17) provides !h<ll a uniform grading .system should be adopted and implemented by all 

Tennessee public schools. There is no such requirement applicable to private schools, however. 

3 Tenn. Code Ann.§§ 49-4-905(b), 908. 

4 Tenn. Code Ann.§§ 49-4-926, 928. 

5 Tenn. Code Ann.§ 49-4-934. 

6 Tenn. Code Ann.§ 49-4-931. See also Tenn. Code Ann. §§"49-4-935; 942. 

7 Tenn. Code Ann. §§49-4-926, 934; see also Tenn. Comp. R. & Reg. 1640-01-19 .05(5)-(6) (2010). 

8 Tenn. Code Ann.§ 49-4-902(29). See, e.g., New England Assoc. of Schools and Colleges, Standards & Indicators (Feb. 2014), 

https:l/ cis.neasc.org/standards-policies/standards-indicators; Middle States Assoc. of Colleges and Schools, Standards of 

Accreditation (2014), http://www .msa-cess.org/CustomizedfUploads/ByDate/201 Sf April_20 1 5/April_23rd_20 I 5/Standards 

%20f or'~,C20Accreditation%C20f or%C20Schools%(#20 14)69218. pdf. 

Tenn. Op. Atty. Gen. No. 15-58 (Tenn.A.G.), 2015 WL 4502245 

End of Dnnuuent c.;;·, 2017 Thomson R.t:lHtT5. No ch1im to \Jdgimd U.S. G\wernrnent \Vorks. 
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0520-07-02-.01 

RULES 
OF 

THE STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION 

CHAPTER 0520-07-02 
NON-PUBLIC SCHOOL APPROVAL PROCESS 

TABLE OF CONTENTS 

Categories 0520-07-02 _05 (.§llegorv IV- Exempted Schools0520-07_.. 
02---.04 Category--Ill:-. Regiooa~AGGI'OOilatiAA 

0520-07-02-.02 
Educa!ion 

Category ~Department of 0520 07-02.06 _____ Qill.~gory V: Acknowledged for 
OperationQ520-07 -02-. 05----------Gale§Of)'-1-V-c---€-xem~eEl--..Sffieols 

EducatiQ0..8QQroval Aweval 0520 07-02 .07 ReQealedG32G Q? 00 _Q6--------Gala§OI)'-V-
AGkAQWie{iged-for--GperatiOn- ------------------------ -- ·-

0520-07--02-.03 
0520-07-02-_04 

Category 11: Agency ApprovaiAccredltaliol] Q~20 07 02-.08 Repe~I~.9_0520--D+--0-2-,08~aleEi 
Category Ill: Regional Accreditation 

0520-07-02-.01 CATEGORIES. 

(1) There shall be five ili.}_categories of non-public schools in Tennessee. 

(a) Category I schools are those approved individually by the State-Department of 
Education. Special purpose elasses-programs which address a student's education 
while receiving short term medical or transient care may also be approved as Category 
I schools. 

{b) Category II schools are those which beleng-toare accredited by an agency whose 
accreditation process is approved by the State Board of Education. 

(c) Category Ill schools are those which are regionally accredited. 

(d) Category IV schools are those schools which are "church related" and exempt from 
regulations according to T.C.A. § 49-50-801. 

{e) Category V schools itiGJOOe--all etHer seAeels, exeept-heme-sel=toels, as ElefiAeEl iA 
T.C.A. § 19 e d~are acknowledged for operatiQO .. !?:Y the Tennessee Department of 
Education. 

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 49-1-201 and 49-1-302. Administrative History: (For history prior to June 1987, 
see pages ii-iii). New rule filed Apri/24, 1987; effective June 8, 1987.- Repealed and new rule filed March 
16, 1992; effective June 29, 1992.- Amendment filed December 19, 2002; to be effective April 30, 2003; 
however, on April 29, 2003, the State Board of Education stayed amendment to 0520-07-02-.01 (1 )(f) until 
June 28, 2003.·- Amendment to become effective June 28, 2003.··· Repeal and new rule filed December 
28, 2005; effective April 28, 2006.- Amendment filed February 20, 2008; effective June 27, 2008 Repeal 
and new rule filed July 29, 2011; effective December 29, 2011 

0520-07-02-.02 CATEGORY 1: SlA+E-DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION APPROVAL. 

{1) A school seeking Category I status may receive §state approval by direct application to the 
State-Department of Education. The criteria and procedures used in the evaluation of such 
schools are the same as for the public schools, and include the following: 

{a) Each school shall comply with the requirements of T.C.A. § 49-6-3007 regarding the 
reporting of the names, ages, and addresses of all pupils in attendance to the 
&HJ3effAtenGent"·director of schools offor the public school system in which the student 
resides. 

. ·. [Formatted: Font 8 p~· 

·· [ Formatted: Indent: left: 0"', First line: 0" 
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(Rule 0520-07-02-.02, continued) 

{b) Eash-S€hoel-shall-€omply-·with-all·· rules,. .. regulations .. and codes- of-the· city, .. cou nty., .... and 
state Fe§larEliR§ plaRRiRg,--wRSffit£ijeR-;-IflaiAteRaFt6e;-and-eper-ation-ef-t-Ae-sefleehEach 
school shall Gcomply with all laws rules and regulations and codes of the city countv 
and state regarding planning of new buildings -alterations -and health and safety. 

(c) Each school shall observe all fire safety regulations and procedures promulgated by 
the Tennessee Fire Marshal's Office. 

(d) Each school shall comply-ensure students entering kindergarten have reached five (5) 
years of age on or before August 15 pursuant to T.C.A. § 49-6-201(b)(3). with-the 
requirements----o-f-l=.G·A § § 19 6--lG4fa}-aRd---49--@-2.Q-1f8}f.!)---regaf€!iAg-the--age 
requiremeAts-fer-stuGeffis-eAteffA!}-k+Ader.gaff:en-aAd--pre--kiOOef@arteA. 

(2) Qasses-Programs which address a student's education while receiving short term medical or 
transient care may be approved as £peGfa~FfJGSe-Category I g_R§cial Pumos!Lschools. 
The criteria and procedures used in the evaluation of such classes are the same as for the 
public schools and other schools recognized as Category I schools including, but not limited 
to: 

(3) 

(a) Teaching experience shall .count towards years of experience on the Personnel 
Information Reporting System. 

(b) -Teachers sha!l be evaluated. Each school shall develop procedures for evaluation of 
all teaching personnel~ 

(c) All teachers must-shall be licensed by the Tennessee Department of Education. At 
least oAe-one_J1lJeacher shall have an endorsement licensed ·in special education and 
shall fWf&t-be made-available to provide services for eligible students. 

(d) Schools shall report attendance to the school where the student is officially enrolled 
where applicable. 

(e) Schools shall order and administer state achievement and End::--of=-Course 
assessments to current students to help them stay on track for graduation. 

(f) ~f38Gia~ose-Category I Special Purpose schools shall be deemed appropriate 
training schools for those seeking specialized student teaching placements. 

Category I schools seeking approval of a pre-k program shall satisfy the standards for 
infanVtoddler, preschool and schoo!-aQe.extended care programs outlined in Rule 0520-12-
01 

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 49-1-201, 49-1-302, 49-6-101, 49-6-3001 and 49-50-801.·· Administrative History: 
(For history prior to June 1987, see pages ii-iii).·· New rule filed April 24, 1987; effective June 8, 1987. 
Repealed and new rule filed March 16, 1992; effective June 29, 1992.- Amendment filed October 29, 
2008; effective February 28, 2009.·- Repeal and new rule filed July 29, 2011; effective December 29, 
2011. Amendment filed March 24, 2014; effective August 29, 2014 

05?0-07-02-.03 CATEGORY II: AGENCY AP-MOVA'"'ACCREDITATION. 

(1) The State Board of Education may approve the school approval accreditation procedures of 
non-public school accrediting agencies. 

(2) Schools holding full accreditation status with an approved agency are approved by tile gtate 
Department of Education. 
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(Rule 0520-07-02-.03, continued) 

(3) Home schools which may affiliate with an approved agency are not approvable under this 
category. 

(4) Procedures for Application as an Approved Non-Public School Accrediting Agency. 

(a) An agency seeking approval shall apply to the State-Department of Education and shaH 
supply relevant information needed by the Qdepartment. 

(b) The £tate-Department of Education shall review the application of the agency with 
respect to the criteria for approval and recommend to the State Board of Education that 
the application be approved or denied. The applicant ·agency may address the State 
Board of Education at the time its application is being considered. 

(5) Period of Approval. 

(a) The period of approval for a recognized agency shall be five L~Lyears. 

(b) An agency which fails to meet the minimum standards for agency approval will have its 
approval revoked. 

(6) Criteria for Approval of a Non-Public School Accrediting Agency. 

(a) Scope of Operation of Agency. The agency shall: 

1. Have a clearly written statement of its-objectives; 

2. Delineate the process by which it aPf3Feves-accredits schools; and 

3. Have at least five f..a_member schools, each with at least ten UQl_full-time 
students. 

(b) Organization of Agency. The agency shall: 

1. Specify qualifications for professional personnel for the agency; 9.!J.9. 

2. Employ at least one ill full time director of schools or superintendenU ami 

~e--permitted-to-regulate-seRoels-wAieR are Rot fully apJ3ffive4 

(c) Agency responsibilities. The agency shall: 

1. Maintain written descriptions of the requirements for school accreditation, and of 
the levels or types of membership granted; 

2. Re-evaluate approved schools annually; 

3. Give advance publication of proposed changes in appreval-accreditation 
standards to schools. These changes must be approved in advance by the .£tate 
Department of Education; 

4. Advise schools or directly provide them with technical. assistance to address 
deficiencies; 

5. Publish a~ccreditation policies and lists of afll*-eveG-accredited schools; 
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{Rule 0520-07-02-.03, continued) 

6. Require schools to report on deficiencies which could affect appreval-accredlted 
status; 

7. Have procedures for revocation of aftpmva!accreQ.[tation; 

8. Provide a list of all courses taught and the grade levels at which they are taught 
at each school; 

9. Publish and follow minimum standards using the following criteria (or, the agency 
may use the standards as set forth in the RHI~~o~latleAs anEl MiAiFAUFfl 
£tandaffi&-fer-the--GovemanGe-of.-P-ublic--SGhools--in--the--State-of--:::renne&seeS!at~ 

Board's Minimum Requirements for the Approval of Public Schools Rule): 

(i) Curriculum and Graduation. 

(I) +Ae-prewamThe program shall inc!ude.L.. -{but not be limited tot, the 
areas of reading, OOA'tf**'itie-A,--s~R!anguage arts, mathematics, 
social studies, science, art, music, health and physical education. 

(H) Each school shall use print and non-print materials, including 
textbooks, which are adequate to meet the needs of the instructional 
program. See-G-hapter-052-0-0-1-03. 

(Ill) Each student shall meet the same- minimum requirements for 
graduation set by the State Board of Education in as students--in 
puS!ie-----seAeels.--------+he---speoi-fiG--requiFements- are -listed---in--Chapter 
0520-01-03. 

{ii) In-service. 

Each school shall have a minimum of five_lhl days for in-service education 
per school year. 

(iii) Teacher Licensure and Evaluation. 

(I) Each agency shall submit its procedures for licensing teachers. If the 
agency does not use the Tennessee State-Department of Education 
licensure system, it must use a comparable system based upon 
educational training. 

{II) Each teacher or principal shall hold a valid teacher license or permit 
as defined by the agency covering the work assignment. 

(Ill) Each agency shall develop procedures for evaluation of all 
professional school personnel. 

(iv) Facilities. 

{ !) E-aGh----sGheel----shaii-Gem[')ly.-wHR-----rule&;-regulatiens-,---anG---GEJfles-----ffi-t-he 
eity-,-----c--eunty,---and---state----regarding ...... p[anning---of--new---buildings, 
alterations,.--and--safety._!;ach sc!)ool slli!JL9grrmlLWJ1tu::JRJ9~S._,___l__l!tE;!.::O: 
and regulations and codes of the city county and statEtE0?..£9J!J.9 
planning of new buildings. alterations and health and safety 
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(Rule 0520-07-02 .03, continued) 
(II) 

(Ill) 

Each school shall observe all fire safety regulations and procedures 
promulgated by the Tennessee Fire Marshal's Office. 

Each school shall have classrooms, laboratories, and libraries which 
are sufficient in number, adequate in space, and so constructed and 
arranged as to be conducive to carrying on the assigned activities. 
Playgrounds and physical education facilities shall be well 
maintained, free from hazards, and large enough to permit an 
adequate program of physical education. 

(v) Administrative Rules. 

(I) Each school shall maintain an operating schedule that includes the 
minimum number of instructional days and hours required of public 
schools. See-Ghapter-Q§2Q Q1 QJ. 

(!!) Each school whish-that provides services to students-t:ertified.-.as 
e~glble-stHGeR-Is with disabilities shall meet all standards of the State 
Board of Education SQecial Education Prowams andJi,ervi_c:es __ FE!JJe 
0520-01-00-,09. 

(Ill) Each school shall develop and implement a written policy on 
promotion and retention. -The written policy shall be communicated 
to students and parents. 

(IV) The maximum enrollments for an individual class shall be specified, 
shall not be subject to waiver, and shall not exceed the following: 

I. Kindergarten through grade thregj3}: twenty-five 125} students 

II. Grade four (4}: twenty-eight (281 students 

Ill. Grades fiveS through six {5~6}: !!:!Lf1YJ30l students 

IV. Grades seven-7- through twelve {7 121: thirty-five (35} st~Jdents 

V. Vocational education, grades seVen-7----_through 1w.elve F-12}: 
twenty eight (28} students; the average daily membership for 
any full-time vocational teacher shall not exceed twenty three 
123} students. 

(V) Each school shall maintain complete and accurate permanent 
records: A cumulative record for each student for all work through 
high school is required. 

(VI) Each school shall evaluate records and report the needs and 
progress of its pupils. 

{VII) Each school shall provide a sufficient number of appropriately 
qualified administrators. librariansl and guidance counselors for the 
student body served. 

{VIII) Each principal or headmaster shall comply with the requirement of 
T.CA § 49-6-5001 that each child enrolled in school be vaccinated 
against disease. 

· [ Formatted: Not H.~;~g~h~lig~h~~c_ _______ _) 
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(Rule 0520-07-02-.03, continued) 

(IX} Each principal or headmaster shall comply with the requirements of 
T.C.A._-·§ 49-6-3007 regarding reporting the names, ages, and 
addresses of all pupils in attendance to the SblflCFiR!eAE!eAt director of 
schools e-f-for the public school system in which the student resides. 

(X) Each school shall ensure students entering kindergarten have 
reached five (5) years of age on or before August 15 pursuant to 
J.C.A. § 49-6-201(b}(3).EaGI:J SGI:Jeel sAall G9FRf'lly---witR----#le 
requiremeAts ef T.C. 11

• §§ 19 8 1G1(a) ami 49 e 291(B)(d) Fe§aFEiiA'9 
tAe.-age ... requirements-fer-student&-enteriAg·-.timlergarten--aAd--f3fe­
k-ifiEier§aft8fl-:: 

(vi) Testing Program . 

.(!L__At least once every school year, each school shall give a nationally .. 
standardized achievement test covering the areas of reading, 
language arts, speUing,math, science, and social science-studies to 
each pupil 'in third fd«~t-through twelfth ~~~}-grade; the results must 
be communicated to teachers and parents and kept on file at the 
school for onei1} calendar year. 

Authority: T. C. A. §§ 49-1-201, 49-1-302 and 49-50-801.- Administrative History: (For history prior to 
June 1987, see pages ii-iii). New rule filed April 24, 1987; effective June 8, 1987.·· Repealed and new rule 
filed March 16, 1992; effective June 29, 1992.- Amendment filed August 31, 2001; effective December 28, 
2001 ... - Amendment filed October 29, 2008; effective February 28, 2009.-- Amendment filed March 24, 
2014; effective August 29, 2014. 

0520-07-02-.04 CATEGORY Ill: REGIONAL ACCREDITATION. 

(1) Schools in this category are accredited by one (1) of the following: any accreditation division of 
AdvancED (the North Central Association Commission on Accreditation and School Improvement 
(NCA CAS I), the Northwest Accreditation Commission (NWAC), and the Southern Association of 
Colleges and Schools Council on Accreditation and. School Improvement (SACS CAS I)), the 
Middle States Association of Colleges and Schools (MSA), the New England Association of 
Schools and Colleges (NEASC), the Western Association of Schools and Colleges (WASC), any 
accrediting association recognized by the National Association of Independent Schools (NAIS) 
Commission on Accreditation (e.g., the Southern Association of Independent Schools (SAIS)) or 
the National Council for Private School Accreditation (NCPSA} according to the procedures and 
criteria established by the association. 

(2) Each Category Ill school shall: 

(a) Comply with the requirement of T.C.A. § 49-6-3007 that the names, ages, and addresses 
of all pupils in attendance be reported to the sti~AEieflt-director of the public school 
system in which the student resides; and 

(b) .Ensure students .e:nterinq _kindergarte_n have .~eached fi_ve (5l_xears of age on or befo@ _ 
August 15 pursuant to T.C.A. § 49-6-201 (b)(3l.Gemf3ly-Wi~e-reqHiFemCA-1&-Gf--T..,.G-A--§§ 
49--G--1-04fa)- ... and-49-€i-20-=l-fb}~-egafffiAg---t~:te--age--r-eqtffi:emoots--fef----StOOeHts-eAICFiAg­
kindergarten-and--pre-kiAGer.gaHefh 

Authority: T.C.A_._§.§ 49-1-201, 49-1~302 and 49-50-.801.:- Administrative History: (For history priorto 
Ju.ne 1987, see pages-li-li/f NeW ·rule rrled Aj;Tii 24: -i 9fYr.= efteCHVe -JiJf-Je- f{ 1'"9af.-.. Riipeated and new rule 
filed March 16, 1992; effective June 29, 1992.-· Repeal and new rule filed February 20, 2008; effective 

- [Formatted: Font color: Auto ; 
~-------------·-----.. ·--· 

~rmatted: Font color: Auto J 
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NON-PUBLIC SCHOOL APPROVAL PROCESS CHAPTER 0520-07-02 

(Rule 0520-07-02-.03, continued) 
June 27, 2008.-- Amendment filed March 25, 2010; effective August 29, 2010 ... Amendment filed October 
23, 2013; effective March 31, 2014. 

0520-07-02-.05 CATEGORY IV: EXEMPTED SCHOOLS-. 

(1) Schools in this category are exempt from regulation~ regarding faculty, textbooks, and 
curriculum. T.C.A. § 49-50-801 defines a church related school as "a school operated by 
denominational, parochial or other bona fide church organizations, which are required to 
meet the standards of accreditation or membership of the Tennessee Association of Christian 
Schools, the Association of Christian Schools International, the Tennessee Association of 
Independent Schools, the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools, the Tennessee 
Association of Non-Public Academic Schools, the Tennessee Association of Church Related 
Schools, Tennessee Alliance of Church Related Schools or a school affiliated with 
Accelerated Christian Education, Inc." 

(2) Each school shall: 

(a) Comply with all laws rules and regulationsi and codes of the city, county, and state 
regarding planning of new building~, alterations, and health and safety. 

ft:J-)----GemfllY----WHh----a!l--r-ule&--aAd-----reg-ulations-ot--the~TeRne&&ee -Oepartment .. of. ... Health--and 
Environment-regarding--<>onstfuG!ion,maintenanGe-,-aAd--ofleFatioA--O-f----the--seheol----fl-la-nb 

(Qe) Observe all fire safety regulations and procedures promulgated by the Tennessee Fire 
Marshal's Office. 

(i;d) Comply with the J~-q~j~~-111-~~-~~- ~f_ J::__~:A~ _§ _4~---~-::~9_Q J _ J~-~t _e?.C:~ _ r:;_~i_l~ _ ~_r)f9!1_~~- !f)_ sCI:t9t?l_ 
be vaccinated against disease. 

(_Qe) Comply with the requirement of T.C.A. § 49-6-3007 that the names, ages, and 
addresses of all pupils in attendance be reported to the Sl;l-J3efiA-t-e-A6eA-t-director of the 
public school system in which the student resides. 

{~f) Ensure students entering kindergarten have reach~d five (5} years of age on or before 
August 15 pursuant to T.C.A. § 49-6-201(blQLGomply-with----tRe--fEH¥J-i-Fements ef T.C. 1\. 

§§-" .. 49-6-·1 04( a )·----and--4-9-6-2-0-1{13)(-31----re§a-Fding----the------a~EJ-HtFemeA-ts----fer-----st:HdeA-ts 
enteriA-g .. kindergarten--and-pre--kindergaR:-eno 

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 49-1-201, 49-1-302 and 49-50-801.- Administrative History: (For history prior to 
June 1987, see pages ii-iii).-- New rule filed April24, 1987; effective June 8, 1987.-- Repealed and new rule 
filed March 16, 1992; effective June 29, 1992.-" Amendment filed February 20, 2008; effective June 27, 
2008.--- Amendment filed October 29, 2008; effective February 28, 2009.-· Amendment filed March 25, 
2010; effective August 29, 2010.- Amendment filed March 24, 2014; effective August 29, 2014. 

0520-07-02-.06 CATEGORY V: ACKNOWLEDGED FOR OPERATION-. 

(1) Schools in this category are acknowledged for operation. Schools in this category shall not 
include home schools. 

(2) Each school seeking acknowledgement for operation shall furnish to the .£tate--Department of 
Education the following information by October 1st of each year: 

(a) Name, mailing address~ and telephone number of the school; 

(b) Name and academic credentials of the principal or headmaster of the school; 

[iorrnatted: Font color: A~to 
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NON-PUBLIC SCHOOL APPROVAL PROCESS CHAPTER 0520-07-02 

(Rule 0520-07-02-.07, continued) 

(c) Number of students in each grade level as of October 1 of current school year; 

(d) Name and academic credentials of each teacher and the subjects taught by that 
teacher; and 

(e) Certification that the school year provides an operating schedule that includes the 
minimum number of instructional days and hours as required of public schools. See 
CAafjler Q§2Q Q1 Qd. 

(3) Each school shall keep on file the curriculum offered and shall make copies available for 
inspection by the State-Department of Education and the public upon request. 

(4) Each school shall have facilities and fixed equipment which conform to the safety and health 
requirements of city, county, or state agencies. 

{5) Each school shalt comply with all Qf_the laws rules and regulations~ and codes of the city, 
county, and state regarding planning of new buildings, alterationsi and health anc;! safety. 

(6) E;aeR seReel sAall eemfJIY "'iiR all fi,Jles aAEl re€)bllattEH;.s-ef.-the~-Kmnessee-f)epaHmeffi-..e.f 
l=lealtR regarEliA€) GeAslrbiG!ieR, maiAteRaAGe aRfl--e.peFatieJ+-ef-the-scheol·plallt. 

(§.7-) Each school shall observe all fire safety regulations and procedures promulgated by the 
Tennessee Fire Marshal's Office. 

(I3) Each school shall comply with the requirement of T.C.A. § 49-6-5001 that each child in 
school be vaccinated against disease. 

{.!!9) Each school shall comply with the requirement of T.C.A. § 49-6-3007 that the names, ages, 
and addresses of all pupils in attendance be reported to the director of schools for the public 
school system in which the student resides. 

(~.-1-0) Each teacher shall possess at least !!_baccalaureate degree. 

(1Q·1) --Each school shall administer a nationally standardized achievement test covering the basic 
academic areas to each pupil in third {J'd}--through twelfth ~lht-grade. Results of -the test 
shall be used to improve the instruction of the students. 

{112) Each school shall ensure students entering kinderoarten have reached five (5)_y_~illS of age 
on or before August 15 pursuant to T.C.A. § 49-6~201(b)(3).&3GR--sGho_o!-sha!J....sel:npP.l-WitR 

tRe FeEJHiremeAts ef T.C.". §§ 49 €i 104{a) and---494-201-(b){3}--regar8in@ tAe a€)e 
reEJuirements..for-students-entering--k~ndergarten--and,pre-k.fndergaFtert: 

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 49-1-201, 49-1-302 and 49-50-801.- Administrative History: (For history prior to 
June 1987, see pages ii-iii). New rule filed April 24, 1987; effective June 8, 1987.- Repealed and new rule 
filed March 16, 1992; effective June 29, 1992.- Amendment filed October 29, 2008,: effective February 28, 
2009.- Amendment filed March 24, 2014; effective August 29, 2014. 

0520-07~02-.07 REPEALEQQ., 

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 49-1-302 and 49-6-3001.- Administrative History: Original rule filed December 
19, 2002; to be effective April 30, 2003; however, on April 29, 2003, the State Board of Education stayed 
rule 0520-07-02-.07 until June 28, 2003.·· Original rule to become effective June 28, 2003. 

0520-07-02-.08 REPEALED. 
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NON-PUBLIC SCHOOL APPROVAL PROCESS CHAPTER 0520-07-02 

Authority: TC.A. §§ 49-1-201, 49-1-302, 49-6-101, 49-6-3001 and 49-50-801.- Administrative History: 
On'ginal rule filed December 28, 2005; effective April 28, 2006.--· Amendment filed October 29, 2008; 
effective February 28, 2009.-- Repeal filed July 29, 2011; effective December 29, 2011. 
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* If a roll-call vote was necessary, the vote by the Agency on these rules was as follows: 

'Board Member Aye No Abstain Absent Signature 
(if required) 

Chancey X 
Cook X ' 
Edwards X .. 

-
Ferquson X 
Hartgrove X 
Johnson X 
Kim X 
Rolston X 
Tucker X 
Troutt X 

I certify that this is an accurate and complete copy of proposed rules, lawfully promulgated and adopted 
by the Tennessee State Board of Education (board/commission/other authority) on 01/27/2017 
(date as mmldd/yyyy), and is in compliance with the provisions of T.CA § 4-5-222. The Secretary of 
State is hereby instructed that, in the absence of a petition for proposed rules being filed under the 
conditions set out herein and in the locations described, he is to treat the proposed rules as being placed 
on file in his office as rules at the expiration of sixty (60) days of the first day of the month subsequent to 
the filing of the proposed rule with the Secretary of State. 

Name of Officer: , Elizabeth Taylor 

Title of Officer: _-,G"e"n"e_,ra"'-1 C=o.,.u.,n"'se._.l._ ______________ _ 
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State Board of Education Rules 
Chapter 0520-07-02- Non-Public School Approval Process 
Rules 0520-07-02-.01 through .06 

All proposed rules provided for herein have been examined by the Attorney General and Reporter of the 
State of Tennessee and are approved as to legality pursuant to the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedures Act, Tennessee Code Annotated, Title 4, Chapter 5. 

~tAb£» ~ &~~1 
Herbert Sl tery, Ill 

Attorney Ge 

Date 

Department of State Use Only 

Filed with the Department of State on: ~~~--'if_/11 /1 '7 

Effective on: --------'-Y~~t~~~J%,<-of~--; __ 
Tre Hargett 

Secretary of State 
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DEPARTMENT: 

DIVISION: 

SUBJECT: 

STATUTORY AUTHORITY: 

EFFECTIVE DATES: 

FISCAL IMPACT: 

STAFF RULE ABSTRACT: 

G.O.C. STAFF RULE ABSTRACT 

State Board of Education 

Special Education Program and Services 

Tennessee Code Annotated, Section 49-10-101 

November 9, 2017 through June 30, 2018 

Minimal 

The last overall review of disability category definitions, 
guidelines, and standards was conducted in 2008. A 
current review was requested by the Tennessee 
Department of Education Special Populations Division to 
address updates related to disability disorders and 
assessment practices that have occurred in the past eight 
years. Pursuant to Tennessee Rules & Regulations, 
Chapter 0520-01 -09-.11, Rules for Special Education 
Programs and Services, a task force was developed to 
address disability categories. The multidisciplinary state­
wide task force consisted of special education supervisors, 
school psychologists, and speech and language 
pathologists as well as representatives of 
parents/advocates, vision specialists, hearing specialists, 
preschool specialists, gifted specialists, and the 
Tennessee Department of Education. The task force met 
and reviewed comments, identified themes from the 
comments, discussed concerns, and made additional 
revisions. Proposed changes were reviewed with the 
Students with Disability Advisory Council, and they 
approved moving forward with revisions. 

The following list is a summary of the changes made: 

·Autism: Evaluation procedural changes related to 
communication assessments, sensory, and adaptive 
behaviors for clarity of needed components. Evaluation 
participant changes were made to adjust who is required 
and who are additional participants as needed. Speech 
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Language Teachers were removed as they are not 
licensed to evaluate. 

• Developmental Delay: Evaluation participant 
changes to generalize needed educational professionals 
rather than~ separate out early childhood specialists based 
on age bands. 

• Emotional Disturbance: Rewording of language 
to mirror federal regulations (Change from January 2017 
final read item). 

• Intellectually Gifted: Evaluation procedure 
changes related to the cognitive assessment including 
additional considerations when assessing 
underrepresented youth and consideration of the standard 
error of measurement at the 90th percent confidence 
interval. Revisions to the assessment matrix (referenced 
in the standards) to include standard changes and updated 
testing materials. 

• Orthopedic Impairment: Evaluation procedure 
revisions made to the example lists of adaptive behaviors 
measured. 

• Other Health Impairment: Evaluation procedure 
revisions move an assessment area (social emotional 
development) into the list of informal/formal assessments 
for clarity. 

• Specific Learning Disability: Evaluation procedure 
reworded for clarity only in regards to observational data to 
reduce chances of misinterpretation. 

• Speech or Language Impairment: Evaluation 
procedure revisions to include clarification of language 
evaluation components and articulation evaluation 
components. Evaluation participants revised to remove 
Speech Language Teachers as they are not licensed to 
evaluate. 
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Public Hearing Comments 

One copy of a document containing responses to comments made at the public hearing must accompany the 
filing pursuant to T.C.A. § 4-5-222. Agencies shall include only their responses to public hearing comments, 
which can be summarized. No letters of inquiry from parties questioning the rule will be accepted. When no 
comments are received at the public hearing, the agency need only draft a memorandum stating such and include 
it with the Rulemaking Hearing Rule filing. Minute~ of the meeting will not be accepted. Transcripts are not 
acceptable. 

Please see attached document 
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TENNESSEE 
STATE BOARD pF EDUCATION 

RESPONSES TO COMMENTS AT RUlEMAKING HEARING 

The Tennessee State Board of Education held a public rulemaking hearing on Rule 0520-01-09 of the 

Tennessee State Board of Education, Special Education Programs and Services. The hearing was held on 

September 23, 2016, at 10 a.m. CDT at the Andrew Johnson Tower- 1st Floor Multipurpose Room, 710 

James Robertson Parkway, Nashville, Tennessee 37243. The changes to the rule were proposed by the 

staff of the Special Populations division of the Tennessee Department of Education (TDOE). 

Public comment on the materials approved through first reading were obtained through the public 

hearing in addition to received written comments. The comments regarding the rule centered on the 

definition of emotionally disturbed-' This concern primarily centered on the effect the changes would 

have on disadvantaged, minority, and/or underserved students. 

In response to the comments, which urged the State Board to replicate the definition of emotionally 

disturbed contained in the federal regulations under the Individual with Disabilities in Education, 

representatives from the TDOE responded that the comments and suggestions would be presented to the 

task force for consideration. 

The task force considered the recommendations, met and reviewed comments, identified themes from 

the comments, discussed concerns, and made additional revisions. In addition, staff of the TDOE and State 

Board met to discuss further changes and clarifications. Proposed changes were reviewed with the 

Students with Disability Advisory Council and they approved moving forward with revisions .The final 

version of the rule incorporates the mirrors that definition of emotionally disturbed from the federal 

regulations. 

1 There was also a lot of concern expressed regarding raising the eligibility of gifted students to receive services 

under an Individualized Education Plan (IEP) due to the effect the changes would have on disadvantaged, minority, 
and/or underserved students. However, this is covered in the standards and is not a part of this rule filling. 
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Regulatory Flexibility Addendum 
Pursuant to T.CA §§ 4-5-401 through 4-5-404, prior to initiating the rule making process as described in T.C.A. 
§ 4-5-202(a)(3) and T.C.A. § 4-5-202(a), all agencies shall conduct a review of whether a proposed rule or rule 
affects small businesses. 

Not Applicable 
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Impact on Local Governments 

Pursuant to T.C.A. §§ 4-5-220 and 4-5-228 "any rule proposed to be promulgated shall state in a simple 
declarative sentence, without additional comments on the merits of the policy of the rules or regulation, whether 
the rule or regulation may have a projected impact on local governments." (See Public Chapter Number 1070 
(http:l/state.tn.us/sos/acts/1 06/pub/pc1 O?O.pdf) of the 2010 Session of the General Assembly) 

Not applicable 
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Additional Information Required by Joint Government Operations Committee 

All agencies, upon filing a rule, must also submit the following pursuant to T.C.A. § 4-5-226(i)(1). 

(A) A brief summary of the rule and a description of all relevant changes in previous regulations effectuated by 
such rule; 

The last overall review of disability category definitions, guidelines, and standards was conducted in 2008. A 
current review was requested by the TN Department of Education Special Populations Division to address 
updates related to disability disorders and assessment practices that have occurred in the past eight years. 
Pursuant to Tennessee Rules & Regulations, Chapter 0520-01-09-.11, Rules for Special Education Programs 
and Services, a task force was developed to address disability categories. 

The multidisciplinary state-wide task force consisted of special education supervisors, school psychologists, and 
speech and language pathologists as well as representatives of parents/advocates, vision specialists, hearing 
specialists, preschool specialists, gifted specialists, and the Tennessee Department of Education. The task force 
met and reviewed comments, identified themes from the comments, discussed concerns, and made additional 
revisions. Proposed changes were reviewed with the Students with Disability Advisory Council, and they 
approved moving forward with revisions. 

The following list is a summary of the changes made : 
• Autism: Evaluation procedural changes related to communication assessments, sensory, and adaptive 

behaviors for clarity of needed components. Evaluation participant changes were made to adjust who is 
required and who are additional participants as needed. Speech Language Teachers were removed as 
they are not licensed to evaluate. 

• Developmental Delay: Evaluation participant changes to generalize needed educational professionals 
rather than separate out early childhood specialists based on age bands. 

• Emotional Disturbance: Rewording of language to mirror federal regulations (Change from January 
2017 final read item). 

• Intellectually Gifted: Evaluation procedure changes related to the cognitive assessment including 
additional considerations when assessing underrepresented youth and consideration of the standard 
error of measurement at the 9Q1h percent confidence interval. Revisions to the assessment matrix 
(referenced in the standards) to include standard changes and updated testing materials. 

• Orthopedic Impairment: Evaluation procedure revisions made to the example lists of adaptive 
behaviors measured. 

• Other Health Impairment: Evaluation procedure revisions move an assessment area (social emotional 
development) into the list of informal/formal assessments for clarity. 

• Specific Learning Disability: Evaluation procedure reworded for clarity only in regards to observational 
data to reduce chances of misinterpretation. 

• Speech or Language Impairment: Evaluation procedure revisions to include clarification of language 
evaluation components and articulation evaluation components. Evaluation participants revised to 
remove Speech Language Teacher as they are not licensed to evaluate. 

(B) A citation to and brief description of any federal law or regulation or any state law or regulation mandating 
promulgation of such rule or establishing guidelines relevant thereto; 

T.C.A. § 49-10-101 provides that the state board shall adopt rules and regulations to implement the state's 
special education ro ram. 
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(C) Identification of persons, organizations, corporations or governmental entities most directly affected by this 
rule, and whether those persons, organizations, corporations or governmental entities urge adoption or 
rejection of this rule; 

Disabled students, their parents, and their educators are most directly affected by this rule. They were able to 
voice their concerns via oral and written comments urging adoption of the rule according to their comments. 
(See response to comments document attached herEito) 
Students with Disability Advisory Council reviewed the changes and urges adoption. 
The Tennessee Department of Education urges adoption of this rule. 
The Tennessee State Board of Education urges adoption of this rule 

(D) Identification of any opinions of the attorney general and reporter or any judicial ruling that directly relates to 
the rule; 

N/A 

(E) An estimate of the probable increase or decrease in state and local government revenues and expenditures, 
if any, resulting from the promulgation of this rule, and assumptions and reasoning upon which the estimate 
is based. An agency shall not state that the fiscal impact is minimal if the fiscal impact is more than two 
percent (2%) of the agency's annual budget or five hundred thousand dollars ($500,000), whichever is less; 

I This rule will not impact state and local government revenues or expenditures. 

(F) Identification of the appropriate agency representative or representatives, possessing substantial knowledge 
and understanding of the rule; 

Elizabeth Taylor 
Elizabeth.Taylor@tn.gov 

Nathan James 
Nathan.James@tn.gov 

Elizabeth Fiveash 
Elizabeth.Fiveash@tn.gov 

(G) Identification of the appropriate agency representative or representatives who will explain the rule at a 
scheduled meeting of the committees; 

Elizabeth Taylor 
Elizabeth.Taylor@tn.gov 

Nathan James 
Nathan.James@tn.gov 

Elizabeth Fiveash 
Elizabeth.Fiveash@tn.gov 
(H) Office address, telephone number, and email address of the agency representative or representatives who 

will explain the rule at a scheduled meeting of the committees; and 

I Elizabeth Taylor 
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1'1 Floor, Andrew Johnson Tower 
710 James Robertson Parkway 
Nashville, TN 37243 
(615)-253-5707 
Elizabeth.Taylor@tn.gov 

Nathan James 
Nathan.James@tn.gov 
1st Floor, Andrew Johnson Tower 
710 James Robertson Parkway 
Nashville, TN 37243 
(615)-532-3528 

Elizabeth Fiveash 
Elizabeth.Fiveash@tn.gov 
Assistant Commissioner Policy & Legislative Affairs, Tennessee Department of Education 
9th Floor, Andrew Johnson Tower 
710 James Robertson Parkway 
Nashville, TN 37243 
(615) 253-1960 

(I) Any additional information relevant to the rule proposed for continuation that the committee requests. 

N/A 
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Department of State 
Division of Publications 
312 Rosa L. Parks Avenue, 8th Floor Snodgrass/TN Tower 
Nashville, TN 37243 
Phone: 615-741-2650 
Email: publications.information@tn.aov 

For Department of State Use Only 

Sequence Number: 

Rule ID(s): --"'~~--­
File Date: 

Effective Date~·:· ..... ~==L':===~ 

Rulemaking Hearing Rule(s) Filing Form 
Rulemaking Hearing Rules are rules filed after and as a result of a rulemaking hearing (Tenn. Code Ann. § 4-5-205). 

Pursuant to Tenn. Code Ann.§ 4-5-229, any new fee or fee increase promulgated by state agency rule shall take effect on July 1, following 
the expiration of the ninety (90) day period as provided in§ 4-5-207. This section shall not apply to rules that implement new fees or fee 
increases that are promulgated as emergency rules pursuant to§ 4-5-208(a) and to subsequent rules that make permanent such emergency 
rules, as amended during the ru/emaking process. In addition, this section shalf not apply to state agencies that did not, during the preceding 
two (2) fiscal years, coffect fees in an amount sufficient to pay the cost of operating the board, commission or entity in accordance with § 4-29-
121(b). 

LJI.gencylE!()<I'~l(;()lllrnission:' Tennessee State Board of Education 
Division: 

Contact Person: Elizab~th faylor 
Address: !. 71(JJalllesRobertson PkvvY 
. . . . . :Z:ip: 1st floor Phone: ; 37243 ........................................................................................................................................................................................................................ . 

Email: 1 615-253-5707 

Revision Type (check all that apply): 
X Amendment 

New 
Repeal 

Rule(s) Revised (ALL chapters and rules contained in filing must be listed here. If needed, copy and paste 
additional tables to accommodate multiple chapters. Please enter only ONE Rule Number/Rule Title per row) 

1 chapter NilmilerTcilal>terTitTe:==--: ==-=--~=---------~---- ....... _______ , 
' _ _(l!);2Q~01-09 ' Special EdLJC<Jti(Jn_f>r()gram and Services __________ _ 

Rule Number Rule Title 
CiJ5~o:o1=o9--~01 J Gef18.raiR.E?gulation. Adoption byf<eJerence 

L05_2()~Q1~Q9~():Z ____ Definitions_···-- --··--
; 0520-01-09-.03 ; Consent 
I 0520-01-09-.05---r-Freeappropriate public e-ducailon--
i o52o=a1:o9- oG-fciiTICi liriiJ ·· · · 

··~~------ ----·- -·- -- - - - --- - - - - - -·- -
I 05_20-0J.:09.::(lfj jLocai.Education AgencyEiigi[Jility 
Ul!5;2_()-:.Q1.::()9-12 _J Defi~i(io_~_of_IEP 
; 0520-01-09-.15 JP_ar<?ntparticipati()n 
io52o:o1 :a§:.16 ___ ~_F'ri(Jrnotice. by.local educationagency 
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[_ 05?0-01:Q~:_18 Jllllpar(i<JI cjue processh13:3ring _ ___ __ ____ __ , 
[Q5_2_0_-:.01~0~-:.?Q_J~urrogat!3PCirents _ __ _ ______ _ __________ .... 
iQ[i20:01:09:22 _____ lt\ll1€JQdrn!3ntofr"cords atp<Jren(sr€Jquest ______ ______________ _ 1 

l__.Q_~~Q:Q.1.:.9_~.:.: .. ? .. ~----- _____ L!_§I_Cl_l_~!l2e! ___ ~-~.9 .... B.~~-~r.~ __ i_rl_tf2f __ ~Jllg __ ~_t:~_t~ ___ B.~_g_§_!.Y.}.Q.9. ... ~P.~-~_i_§l.!. ---~9Y.~_?_tig_Q ___ ~-~-~-[~_!?_~ ....................... i 

AMENDMENT 

Chapter 0520-01-09, Special Education Pro rams and Services, is amended by changing the language in section 
.01 to reflect the proper website, updating an clarifying the disability definitions in section .02, abbreviating "Local 
Education Agency" in sections .03, .05, . 6, .09, .15, .16, 18, .20, .22 and .23, clarifying the eligibility 
requirements in .09, clarifying eligible stud' nt in .12, adding guardian notification and clarifying change in 
educational placement in .20, and adding gu fdian and surrogate parent to notice provision, clarifying isolation 
and reporting requirements in .23, so that, as a'ended, it shall read: 

\RULES OF 

0520-01-09-.01 

0520-01-09-.02 
0520-01-09-.03 
0520-01-09-.04 
0520-01-09-.05 
0520-01-09-.06 
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July 15, 1 976; effective August 16, 1976. Amendment filed February 28, 1 978; effective March 30, 

158



0520-01-09-.01 

0520-01-09-.02 
0520-01-09-.03 
0520-01-09-.04 
0520-01-09-.05 
0520-01-09-.06 
0520-01-09-.07 
0520-01-09-.08 
0520-01-09-.09 
0520-01-09-.10 
0520-01-09-.11 
0520-01-09-.12 

RULES OF 
STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION 

CHAPTER 0520-01-09 
SPECIAL EDUCATION PROGRAMS AND 

SERVICES 

TABLE OF CONTENTS 
General Regulations. Adoption by 
reference 
Definitions. 
Consent. 
Parent. 
Free appropriate public education. 
Child find. 
Placements. 
State advisory paneL 
Local education agency eligibility. 
Repealed. 
Evaluation procedures. 
Definition of IEP. 

0520-01-09-.13 
0520-01-09-.14 
0520-01-09-.15 
0520-01-09-.16 
0520-01-09-.17 
0520-01-09-.18 
0520-01-09-.19 
0520-01-09-.20 
0520-01-09-.21 
0520-01-09-.22 
0520-01-09-.23 

When IEPs must be in effect. 
Review and revision of the IEP 
Parent participation. 
Prior notice by local education agency. 
Mediation. 
Impartial due process hearing. 
Civil action. 
Surrogate parents. 
Transfer of parental rights at age of majority 
Amendment of records at parent's request 
Isolation and Restraint for Students 
Receiving Special Education Services 

0520-01-09-.01 GENERAL REGULATIONS. ADOPTION BY REFERENCE. 

The State Board of Education adopts by reference the Compilation of Federal Regulations at 34 
C.F.R. Parts 300 and 301 in their entirety unless otherwise provided herein as the policies and 
procedures for administration of special education programs and services in the slaleState._:-The 
regulations, evaluation procedures~ and eligibility criteria are available from the Division of Special 
Education, Tennessee Department of Education, 710 James Robertson Parkway, Nashville, TN 
37243, or on the internet by accessing the &late-State department Department of eclucation's 
Education's website at J.UJu)L\0Zif1!W._ l_n. ~y_w(e\_'l_ti~,:~:Uj_s-:nU~,lUi.s;h.:pt}(:i;--:tl·-~-;clt H :<J l.io1·1 

Authority: T. C. A. §§ 49-10-101 and 49-10-701. Administrative History: Original rule filed June 10, 
1974. Amendment filed October 3, 1974; effective November 2, 1974. Amendment filed June 30, 
1975;_ 
effective July 30, 1975. Amendment filed January 15, 1976; effective Apri115, 1976. Amendment 
filed_ 
July 15, 1976; effective August 16, 1976. -Amendment filed February 28, 1978; effective March 30, 
1978. 
Amendment filed January 9, 1979; effective February 23, 1979. Amendment filed April 14, 1980; 
effective 
_May 28, 1980. -Amendment filed June 27, 1984; effective July 27, 1984. Amendment filed May 12, 
1985;_ 
effective August 13, 1985. -Amendment filed October 1, 1985; effective January 14, 1986. 
Amendment 
filed May 28, 1986; effective June 27, 1986. Amendment filed July 10, 1986; effective October 29, 
1986. Repeal and new rule filed March 16, 1992; effective June 29, 1992. Repealed and new rule filed 
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0520-01-09-.02 DEFINITIONS. 

(1) "Charter school" means a public charter school as defined at Tenn. Gode-AlmT.C.A. § 49-
13- 1 04\Bt. 

0_"Child with a Disability" means, 

(a) childrenChildren witt·r clisabililies and youl11 between t11ree (3) ancl twenty-one (2'1) 
Years of age inclusive who have been evaluated in accordance with 34 C F.l~ 
§§300.304 tl1rouql1 3@ 311, I CA § 49-10·'102 and requlations of the s§_tate &Board 
of eEclucation. and foun€1-te-Mvo intellectual disa&il+J)I,_g hoaring:±rrwairmoffi (including 
deafness). a speecl1-sf--la+J:§ua9:'Ll!TIJ:lairment, a visual impairmBJ-~ 
blindness}, emotional disltrf~_QQ,__Q£jj}Qpedic imQilirrn_Qfrt, autism .. J@umatic brain 
jl]:ll£6:::_other health impair-m,mtJ;Qegilic learning disa\lility mult[lle disal>ilities deal 
BlffidA~e.vB!GtQmental dela-y,----!l±BstiGJ1al dela)'---Bf---iB-\elje&lb!ally gifted and wf\Gdlv 
ffiaSGfl-1-hereol, needs SIQOGial educatiOA--and related se~Any child with a 
disability wl1o attains twenty-two (22) years of aqe subsequent to tl1e commencement 
of a school yc"ar continues to be a child with a clisability for the rcl[l+aincler of that school 
year. 

(b) A child with intellectual disability, a hearing impairment (including deafness). a speech 
or language impairment. a visual impairment (including blindness), emotional 
disturbance. orthopedic impairment. autism traumatic brain injury other health 
impairment. specific learning disability. multiple disabilities deaf blindness. 
developmental delay, functional delay. and intellectually gifted and who, by reason 
thereof, needs special education and related services. 

~1j----GRilcl~witiCJ--a~dffiallility"-c+Ko'iJH-;;,Gh ildrccm~witR--EW,aootie&-and--y&utiJ~c)otwe-e+r~UmJe~fo-) 
aH4-Iwe nt.y~&He--{-:1'1-)-'{Loaf"~efca§JB,-i ncl usive~wlw-fl;.:we-tJeeR-eva luatc"cl-in-aGGGJ'EiafJBL~witl+ 

\Jl-----il~-Go-~R.Jj§;>QQ,3G4-1Jlf9Hgl+-ilGQ"~'l'l-,+GA.ll-4-94G4-G&aHcH'E'f5ll1trtWH-s-&14fl€-£ttri'e-Beil+cJ 

ol'-&ffiK:-atiefJ.,-AFPf-<eeciiEI-witiJ--a-8i5atJili+y-w-he-atlxrifls-lw&Rt.y4we-{6L)--yeilFs-ef~age 

&tlllse-Eit!BHHB 

ff'(tri&-GCi;W-Q-1-G-0-cG2-,-GO ntiH tretl-) 
lRB-BommeRGGfflt'J-~,GI'JOel-year-oeetielJ€)1;-IB-lJe-cJ--GRilcl-witiCJ-a-clhsaf>ility-fBf-tliB--rocw+iHcler 

ef-t1Jat-SGI1Bei-y"'%-

( 4) '' C Rilcl-wi!A-a-4samlity"-meafl&-a-Bhi lci-Witl+-iRteHeGtBahJi-s;;rllility;-a~+eaAA§-iffifJaifmBT-H-fjHBiciEiiH §I 

ciS><lfRess-},--a-speeoll~N~IaH§Ua§ e--irnf>airm e nt, a vis ual .... im!"aineent---(jHBIHEiil-1§---BiiooHe&s), 
emetien~af!OO;-{Jftllef'edi<;--jmf>aiHHeflt,-atrtl-&m,trxruma~G-9 rain i nj Elf)',ethef-lleajtlcr 
ifl'-lflai rmeffi,---Bpeoifio--leaffling-clisalJijily-,--H\tl1lip lo d isallil itios,c:leaf blind 11 o-ss,--Bs,velof>meHtal 
delay,.ftJRBtieBal--delay-and~intelleotl-k<l~)'--jJH"ted and w11e,-lJy~reawn-tll e roof, n eed&-Bf>eeial 
oEI-HGiffierr-an d-I'Colateci-<'vBfViBe"= 

fe}(]l_"Autism" means a developmental disability, which significantly affects verbal and nonverbal 
communication and social interaction, generally evident before age three (3) that adversely 
affects a child's educational performance. Other characteristics often associated with autism 
are engagement in repetitive activities and stereotyped movements, resistance to 
environmental change or change in daily routines, and unusual responses to sensory 
experience. The term does not apply if a child's educational performance is adversely affected 
primarily because the child has an Emotional Disturbance, as defined in this section. 

The term of Autism also includes students who have been diagnosed with an Autism Spectrum 
Disorder such as Autism, "Pervasive Developmental Disorder·--Not---OUir•r-wir:o-CiJX•Gii1orl 
(PI'lL-J .. r\!q~;t or Asperger's Syndrome when the child's educational performance is adversely 
affected. /V~fH1:~(~ Fl~J lly, !!: I n<JY--.'-.ll:':',i_l--i-n<-;kl sle-:J-+J iau I" I m~is- (J r---{-l-PE:n:v-:Jr~i-vc! Dc:vdopi-FlCt rl< 11--1 ) i;-;(-}j-(-'1 (:) F 
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~:HGh-<"ih F<uu·~~; ur C!iiklf-Jq~Hcl--lc)i:3illi:C:fJI<·lU-vc Ui~_!tJFtl\-:r:--Autism may exist concurrently with other 
areas ofdisability. 

Aiim HIJO illi'UU(;i),--d-1\ child could be-ilki\jiH>e><HI IBU-n<J~-ff}ffWt:fl&-fHCJViHg-AuU&m-fou llQ 

to be A>ltist_ic &-if the child manifests ll""¥e-alxwu-~~characteristics 11_1 
,,,_uly childl10orl (11:> cle;n;mclr: iiH:tl>~H>I1). Children with Autism demonstrate both of the 
following characteristics (i:e., (a) and (b) below):: Gfliltl!en with--A~tiBffl--EieA>GH-S-lFale----lhe 
18119Wffig-Gi-1<'.lfaBl€risliGS-pi lOI lo 

(;J) I:,.J_j i fk·;uJi:-y--ru!c_-\i.ill:J tu oU-1Cl--'~:t-(-JF-inJ.-(-;j:;,l(-_;\-il-lH-iH -a-;_;q(:;.inll-y -2.1pp1'opFi;J i:u-H l-ar-II'IOFJ 1_~-;t::-:i_:-::t_c:ll i rlu ricit:5 

{II) 

.111 ::~o_ci~--!1 ~::~mnn__lll)i(~nqon (-JC)'((',s_ nuJ!Ur:h~ _ _:;_QuJr~x_l:.-:_, d~; llJ!.Ulil(:_~-\1(;(! hy 
all of ll1u lnllcl~lilllli: 

_I_ l.Q_tl_v_~;_tJ.1i·,ll curn 1 n u nk:;-d.ivc~ ht:! 1<-.lyi __ ()p;; __ JI_~_~:::J i_ur ::_.;ocir::d i! 1 i.c:r<.Jc!.ion 

1111 ~.:_1_.,_,_,," 1n_., '''--·'-''-"'''' !J.~,;c of c,:yr: _crml.!:lcl_, _ u;_:_:q_ i-:1!'1.\U,_I_D_<:_I_f~r~_;l,;_.lndinu q i' j'Jocly f!Cl~_;(tl_r~;~~. 
1,.1 II<J(_;uA;;H)\Ji_t !D oi' qu~: lurc;_~_·;_; ____ <;~L)_I_'l\-_lft _ _11i~l_[ __ _vsJIUll_l_U, pit()l, it_ltom)i:iun, 

pro __ ~_;-~l~.l_y, DllC_I/~"Jr vol_rtrr~!S-' __ ot a_l)nurt n_;_,tl_t. I_::; c.: d_tld _t_tndc'r;_Ji.<_l_!'_!(.-l[l_t_q 
~;1 rf!.-;~:: L_ 1_-_1 ~ I!WC r!);J I _C_<n!J!U.\-.U.!.l~:;_;J_ll_(_l_[ __ !, -- _<;l_t_)c_L-· ( .l r 
~:o~,nc li_n;JI.iqn nq_r_tv_r:;r_:!_.·,~f.LI ___ \_.:_\_l)_l)fi'I_UJ J_it..:ql_i(_)ll )7· and 

-1---,.}__!J('IIC 1[', Ill (j('IIC'iCqli!Hj lil'_l_IJ JOI;_:_Jiion~;hi_p~; 

juv_cl, I'<JI_l_c:JillU fron:_1 : l<lJll_~;_i iii(J LH :IJ;:Ivior '''-----''-''-'-·"-'' 
clifi'ictil!iu:.; in ~;l_l{Jfi!lq ir_(lj:!qi.ttqUyr; r.lli.IV, i.<J an HPP'!LC __ I __ ll "''-':'''":" 

l\ 1 IJ(,:~~~--~_I(_lp r 11 t: 11_i.n I 
1hrot_I(JII 

i11 people. 

,. ""'''"''' .iil:r,lllliUI ,- or-r.:\o-kl-'{ -il Hil ;j{.J;_--\1--<.H-1{!/HI--1-IHI-IVCI LJ;-_jj Ct-ll-l-IH-1 U-HiC~;_)-1-ion ;--<:11 

' .. cc':!'.::c .,_,_.,, p;:d (r! Ill!_-; f) i' ~:JC [J; I \1 iCl !', ;-j;_; _111 H tl i h_~!; i.Ccl _)J y _; __ I! 

__ l:i!r:t~(J\)_typ(,,-!<J ()t' ruputilivc ;_;pq_t::_l,~[_-L_J)_')_0J[2_L_ __ I_II ~,)\f(-)tJ')(:!!'l l>, 
~-;g_l:l_Q[~·l_lj_~J_, _I\~ pq_i:itivc II bC o_f f2!2_i_:~~-t:!. ·-· _ _i.cJJs:~_::; Y !' l_c:rp_( if: 
.U-.~~_r_c,~(J_typ He_;_::)~ 

"''!:'"•; (IC!l. 
''-"-'- _;:: :.• .. :v:•, __ r_IJ!:"!_ig_r 

2_. __ ~);(~q;~;-.; ]\((,! __ {:·!-~-l!.!£2l:.Q)Jg~i_Jn ____ .. L<::~u .. t.i.n \~Q, _ 1·iJ: !El! izs~~:! _ J2_i-JH~-l!~:-.... .Q.t ____ yq tJhl_l_ ___ SJ t:_ tJ9 n_vc rbd I 
I J C ll2iiV IC\ r_,cJifl~(;f'."-':1\1(:_1 f1 c 1: i[IJII_~;-~;:_ ~ (} _(!J'L ~-U _l q _f} __ (g _: ~1., J .. IJ.Qi~:~u.:J\\,_I_f:l ]_;; , __ i! L~~--i :}_l~)_l} c~ C __ on_ ; -;_;:I U I c ~ 
r o u t e .. .9_LJP9.\"J ,_Xf? P ~,~ U_ t i '\_[_~:; __ r_tt, 1 Q !.:! t i_Q n.tn £L __ QLS2.lBi.!JJ~u:J _i_~_, Jr~_l_~:c~:.; _ ;,:,~ L? m.~.JJ .L~~JEltlH ct!) ~ 

_3_. __ Ll1nl1iy 1.<_1s(nctecJ, . I~ICII()I;jji_il<]lQ_>; ls __ll_iiJ[ fllCl . aiJI] 01111 Ill ii:L_I[l[l)I_IQily_Qj__l(J<;II_S (<;1 <L 
~!JfQ_t_lfj__ __ E\ tj.;~K:I) II!_Q_r) L __ J(L __ JlL ___ p__[~_Q_(~~\;_\.!PfJUD t \- -yy !1 h 
f~j_ ~~~::_r.u :i1 ~}~J.iJ:! _q ~:l __ 9 r _ .P _q_mt:~~ e r QJjy_~~! ... l.! _l .I.DJ£ 1_~? .t~!) _;_Q_[ 

iJ ".JJYt}~;_r~~_9_1~ _ll_ypq,:l~U}.l!-;tjyjty ___ IS~-~>S~~~E>.Q!'.Y. jtlpuj. _qj" __ Uilt.[: __ ;Lk! I inl:'lfcc'lJD :;c:l_l:>'lrY il;>[J_I':c;l_;; 11i 
~'~f.L\(_i t~~nrn ~~-!! 1: ( q. [j_. -' (:l_pJ:~YJ.:S"LlJ _L l !:! ~jJ H r,;_ t: (:'I l_ q _q __ _i.q p L\ i 1:1/1 ! ~; 5:1 tl~~_q_l ~L-D.\-J Y .. ~ I:?.S~_J~~-i.0 !]g_tr~;-~~l-. ~g_ 
~-~Q_t_!Jlih> _5_~_1_· j:c]~1:u IT.;::;_,_ i-:~~<_(.~5_:!~~~)_j,Y£~_5XD _c~ II i_n q ~J!"_ toLI_C ll in q o{ 0 bj)}S,:J;;~_, Jq_!~52 iJl!J]._iQ IJ !~[j_!.j"1 _ __l jq j·l_i,;';_ 
0L.~-:p_ip_tlii_!E:J {)!Jit;:)_:t_;_;) 

(-!;Jj--- Ono--ol--lnl-ll-n- qi-U lo-:f(-)tlqvv-i-1-ifF-

1---l-Ft-s.ir::.te Fl c-;o- u n :~ .:.11 n u 11 (-H~h- ;_-\ G -ov i r-:1 o 1-1 Gf:'H~J-J:J-v -H-:-:-::;tri c l od-p lay- p; J l to n-th ,-n:-~-p f! i,j i.-i-v (- ~ ---I~H~Hcl-Y­

FFI AVe I-ll t:ttl i:;, pQI'~~ k;k; n 1~ ( 1 1-'--1 J-1-1 t u;-t J;--tl-t~P--:'!-8H8U pn i ionr,,--a ltd/ o r:--FC-H--.ir;t-<-mG-e--l~(..:J--s-l-1ai+~~Jc~ 
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fGfffi"Deaf-Biindness" means concomitant hearing and visual impairments, the combination of 
which causes such severe communication and other developmental and educational needs 
that they cannot be accommodated in special education programs by addressing any one of 
the impairments. A child with deaf-blinsJness shall be: 

(a) A child who meets criteria for Deafnessi_Q[_Hearing Impairment and Visual Impairment; 
and 

(b) A child who is diagnosed with a degenerative condition or syndrome which will lead to 
Deaf-Blindness, and whose present level of functioning is adversely affected by both 
hearing and vision deficits; or 

(c) A child with severe multiple disabilities due to generalized central nervous system 
dysfunction, and who exhibits auditory and visual impairments or deficits which are not 
perceptual in nature. 

(+Jili.L"Deafness" means a hearing impairment that is so severe that the child is impaired in 
processing linguistic information through hearing, with or without amplification that adversely 
affects a child's educational performance. The child has: 

(a) An inability to communicate effectively due to Deafness; and/or 

(b) An inability to perform academically on a level commensurate with the expected level 
because of Deafness; and/or 

(c) Delayed speech and/or language development due to Deafness. 

(~)ill.L"Developmental Delay" refers to children aged three (.:lj-years, zero months (3:0) through nine 
years, eleven months (9J1) who are experiencing developmental delays, as measured by 
appropriate diagnostic instruments and procedures, in one lll_or more of the following areas: 
physical (<JI(JS!i_motor illlcl!ol line motor), cognitive, communication, social or emotional, or 
adaptive development that adversely affects a child's educational performance. Other disability 
categories shall be used if they are more descriptive of a young child's strengths and needs. 
L ocu !--hGl-1 c-J o l--t>-y-s-i:eFFJ-~;-ht1VU tl1c opt[(-) t J--o f'--u~-:ir1 Si f- )(-J\!(! lt=Jfll m~}nta! Du 1;_-J-Y-iJh--~-~ (jj;--;;·:~ !)~1 i-t-y-(-~ak-1~:1 H 1:y:. 
Initial eligibility as Developmental Delay shall be determined before the &1-l+ltl's-child's seventh 
birthday. The use of Developmental Delay as a disability category is option for local school 
systems. 

(7) "Emotional Disturbance" Emotional disturbance means a condition exhibiting one (1) or more 
of the following characteristics over a long period of time and to a marked degree that adversely 
affects a child's educational performance: 

(a) Inability to learn which cannot be explained by intellectual, sensory, or health factors; 

(b) Inability to build or maintain satisfactory interpersonal relationships with peers and school 
personnel; 

(c) Inappropriate types of behavior or feelings under normal circumstances; 

(d) General pervasive mood of unhappiness or depression; 

(e) Tendency to develop physical symptoms or fears associated with personal or school 
problems. 

Emotional Disturbance includes schizophrenia. The term does not apply to children who are 
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socially maladjusted. unless it is determined that they have an emotional disturbance. 

(9) "Emotional Di&t~-F9af1oe" means a oondilioo exhibiting one oF more of the following 
characteristics lt>-a-marked degree that adversely affects a child's ed~cational performaF>ce 
over an e)(lendeEI-pefiod of time (d~ring which lime documenlalion-GI-informal assessments 
anEI-inleRientions are occurring): 

(a) Inability to learn which CaAABHe explained by limited school experieAGe;-Gioflttlfal 
Gifferences, or intelleott~al, sensory, or heallh-faolofsi 

fB)-----+F~alo>ility to build or maintaiH-satisfaotory interpersooal relationships w+tf\-~ 
school personnel; 

(-e) Inappropriate typos of b~1&R no major or ~nu&Yal strossors are 
evident; 

(d) General pervasive-mood of ~nhappiness OF depression; 

(e) Tond&ooy to develop physical symptoms or foars assoeiatod-with personal or school 
j}ffii::>l&ffh'l-c 

TRe-term may include olher-n-1Bf1tal health diagnoses. T-Ho term does not apply t-o-el+i-ltl+eH 
wl1o are socially maladjusted, UHiess it is determined thal-li+@y have an Emotional Dislurbaneo 
ws.en social_maladjustmenl.,IB:--~Jqe-primary cause .of tbOc:fllypical behavi.ors_ <Jsseoi<3lod~wilh-afl 
emotional disturbancq. Soeial-maladjt~StmBF~t-iHGit!dos, but is Ret-limited to, substance ab~se 
related behav-iors, gang rela!ed bGilav-ior~ositional deliaH! behaviors, and/or conduct 
behavior p•ef>lem&c 

f'~i@L"Functional Delay" means a continuing significant disability in intellectual functioning and 
achievement wi+Gil-that adversely affects the student's ability to progress in the general 
w~leol-educatiQ.Ilprogram, but !b~_studE)Ilt's adaptive behavior in the home or community is not 
significantly impaired and is at or near a level appropriate to the student's chronological age,c 
Such di_~abilities inclucle one or more of the following:-inGIB9fR§F 

(a) Significantly impaired intellectual functioning which is two !2l_or more standard 
deviations below tho mean, and difficulties in these-the following areas cannot be 
the primary reason for significantly impaired scores on measures of intellectual 
functioningi: 

ti::>)_L _Limited English proficiency; 

fG)ji__Cultural factors; 

fdfjjL__Medical conditions that impact school performance; 

(8-)bL__Environmontal factors; 

tff)L_ Communication, sensory or motor disabilities; 

f§t.{Q)_Deficient academic achievement which is at or below the fourth percentile in two ill 
or more total or composite scores in tho following areas: 

1. Basic reading skills; 

2. Reading fluency skills; 

3. Reading comprehension; 
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4. Mathematics calculation; 

9c-----Mathematics problem solving; 
_5._ 

Written expression; or 
_6._ 

&c.--

fQ__ Home or school adaptive behavior scores that fall above the level required for 
meeting Intellectual disability eligibility standards. 

9o0ther disability categories shall be used if they are more descriptive of student strengths 
and needs. The team must determine that underachievement is not primarily the result of 
Visual, Motor, or hearing Disability, Intellectual Disability, Speech or Language Impairment, or 
a Specific Learning Disability. 

f+'ft(9) "Hearing Impairment" means an impairment in hearing, whether permanent or 
fluctuating, that_ -adversely affects a child's educational performance but does not include 
Deafness. 

A hearing impaired child shall have one ill or more of the following characteristics: 

fllt@Linability to communicate effectively due to a Hearing Impairment; 

fij.(QLinability to perform academically on a level commensurate with the expected level 
because of a Hearing lmpairment;_QI 

BJ.(tl_Delayed speech and/or language development due to a Hearing Impairment. 

f'h61(1 0) "Intellectually Gifted" means a child whose intellectual abilities, r 1 u;li;v;ly, and 
potential for achievement are so outstanding that the child's-+•<luc;;Uor~:c;l pcrrolllldllcu ''' 
<-J{~!-v-cr:ec1-y---Ll~fet.:;-te~l~/\tA-ver~;o a! fuel"- rnu<:lt-H>-IJ-Ju---quHl':!r-di-1.:;-H-FFiGHlunl a!011u if._;_ inddr~qt1d!<:~ to 
:J ppt=9pri<l t C)!y---lll flf!i.-~l-le---13-'l-l:!de n'i.' b uduc::.iU\.~J1-k1-1--r I ()-Utl g __ I_!_E;!~~~t.: ... -.. ~~)?5c~!Si~~,~~L ~J!Hc_; t\~n _l_i !:! V~c! __ ur_; [_I() r;_! I_ 
c•cl_ucaji()ll J)l'f)IJI£1111iQ[L adversely affect educational performance and requires-~ 
;_;_p_q£j tiS-~£:11 j y __ ~-'1 ~:!~ilDE~~~L lr!l>.!l!JS:il9JL Q r ..... t:;_q f!Em't __ ;~_SJ_ tY ic,;_q ~;_, ___ c:: t 1j_l \Xu~~~~~L_-UD!1Li:1lt_ pg Q ~J[~!_l, i_o n_::; _(_r:: .. q . , __ ~J II 
~~~-JJ t~-' E~L _ r_;::t_ c~_i_{:J _1_,._ -~lrL c;J__ ~:?JJ.li~lf'~~\JJ:.C~JJ2.~~"-E .. n9 tl~;Jl_ L~-: ~J_U! ~-') 1~s_, _ kll_l_ E_; c,;_\-! r19 .!JJj.Q ... ~~tnJ 1g1, JYVJ~~-~'~ :·_q~~::(:,:: pJ. i _q_ n ~11 , 
qtc:)c0E~I t'c;fcJIIIlrJtoJ2l1'''-''"'" Jllgo:;gnllilili;>s. Children identified as intellectually gifted are 
exempted from the discipline procedures at 34 C.F.R. §300.530-537. Children with a dual 
diagnosis that includes intellectually gifted must be considered as children with a disability 
and may not be exempted from the discipline procedures at 34 C.F.R. §300.530-537. 

('l-ilf(11) "Intellectual disability" is characterized by significantly impaired intellectual 
functioning, existing concurrently with deficits in adaptive behavior and manifested 
during the developmental period that adVersely affects a child's educational performance. 

(-1--41('12) __ "Multiple Disabilities" means concomitant impairments (such as Intellectual 
disability- Deafness, Intellectual disability-Orthopedic Impairment), the combination of which 
causes such severe educational needs that they cannot be accommodated by addressing 
only one .(Jl_of the impairments. The term does not include Deaf-Blindness. 

(-t8f(13) "Orthopedic Impairment" means a severe orthopedic impairment that adversely 
affects a child's educational performance. The term includes, _l)_iilJ•; IJ''' .. Ii'nilccci 
impairments caused by congenital anomaly (e.g. club foot, absence of some member), 
impairments caused by disease (e.g., poliomyelitis, bone tuberculosis), and impairments 
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from other causes (e.g. cerebral palsy, amputations, and fractures or burns that cause 
contractu res). 

\+81(14) "Other Health Impairment" means having limited strength, vitality or alertness, 
including a heightened alertness to environmental stimuli, that results in limited alertness 
with respect to the educational envi~onment, that is due to chronic or acute health problems 
such as asthma, Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder, diabetes, epilepsy, a heart 
condition, hemophilia, lead poisoning, leukemia, nephritis, rheumatic fever, sickle cell 
anemia, and Tourette's Syndrome that adversely affects a child's educational performance. 

A child is "Other Health Impaired" who has chronic or acute health problems that require 
specially designed instruction due to: 

fl')(QLimpaired organizational or work skills; 

fljl.<!l_lnability to manage or complete tasks; 

fmjffi...Excessive health related absenteeism; or 

fAf.(g]_Medications that affect cognitive functioning. 

\'l-+f(15l "Specific Learning Disability" means a disorder in one Ul_or more of the basic 
psychological processes involved in understanding or in using language, spoken or 
written, which may manifest itself in the imperfect ability to listen, think, speak, read, write, 
spell, or do mathematical calculations, and that adversely affect a child's educational 
performance. Such term includes conditions such as visual processing (perceptual) 
disabilities, brain injury ~that s not caused by an external physical force,, dyslexia, 
and developmental aphasia. Specific Learning Disability does not include a learning 
problem that is primarily the result of Visual Impairment, Hearing Impairment, Orthopedic 
Impairment, Intellectual disability, Emotional Disturbance, limited English proficiency, or 
environmental or cultural disadvantage. 

"Speech or Language Impairment" means a communication disorder, such as stuttering, impaired 
articulation, a language impairment, or voice impairment that adversely affects a child's educational 
performance. 

Speech or Language Impairment includes demonstration of impairments in on e ( 1 l o r 
more of the following areas of language, articulation, voice, or fluency;7 

(a) Language Impairment - A significant deficiency HEJI--<Xli!Sbloni -wii.l1--ll1o c;iudcJnl';_; 
G!:JH,:ll-1(:)1 (~Jg-is-aJ-a~jO in · onu 0!~-!+lOW--of- U~\0- followi Fl ~~j-E.IH~~CIG~jtL!.:;~Q.I_Tl !2\:~_IJ~; n:,; iS? I']_ iJ n f_lfqJ _l:i_;;;q __ uf 

-~'J:l_S!l~~E~_J2.~m uaq~:LJJE·!L m_~W ---~'!l.?_q __ !!_nr_k_l i r ~Atr) l-lPtL_£!D.s~!/ OLg_t1J£L .. ;'Y.m t!P! ___ :,;y_~;_[:t~ rn'-:'----~!(J_r,_! _ i~,~ 
Jlf2U£l_Li.Y\c1 __ 1y _i.rn [!_f1 ~~_I: in £1 _ i. h_ q _c; h i I~ 1_\;_ ,~J[?J.Lt!;y JQJ,"!__QJE0P£liQ .JJ-! _ p-1_q __ ~~ kt:> ::.!rP_C_J rn _ \:: n Y iJ9JI rn r:')_n_t . J 1-! e, 
i m_[!SJ_ll:nJ.f!.n.t xn~1 y_ ___ i EYQ b( ~? __ iJ n y _ Q 1: _ i~l __ ~,:qj:ntLlD.fillQJJ._QLllJg JQ_I_[ Q_W i n_q_:__J h (} to rm _ !J f l_:i,t n q u <JD ~':_ 
.I.J2t!2JJQJQ.ft.Y_. _mDfP_I_l QJQUY, u n_cl s yn ]X10) J •• t!1S~--s~:!Jltf~L0Lk1_1Jq_! E}5;1 q_ (_f:;e nvc:!lll;it;:~-:;) i'-1J1C!/~Jr __ lho_ 
!,J.~l£U:!Ll9rlSLUf:dtLQjiJ __ \i)[ll_ITl_IJiljC(':l_l:i_o_l_1 <Jfff1~].inu ·JJJ_Q_ c_lli!_(J';,:;_ 
5-J _cl_\,1 8~tti.0IillLJ2YL[Ql!JJEl! .. V~i·.:~ 

~-. ----,8...-clulic:iur!cy- iri-+Ot,~cpi:ivo laH~JHDqn-hl{ill-n-tq-Ej-c.Jil'l inforrr1uUt-Jt-1~ 
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(b) Articulation (:.:pc.ot:rcl> ::utlllll i'>c•cltidlon) Impairment- A significant deficiency in ability 
to produce sounds in conversational speech not consistent with chronological age. ·rr'"' 
incluslr_;;~ t) :::;iqtli_fk:_<-:~1_11, ---~-l_ty_pi\,~ . .:~L_J}J\l_~~ltJ_qJ_tntl of ;_;pc(:;~;h f1v 

! ';:;~;':'J~','(,;;;~c,f'!,:~:;;,;;';; 1;~). -'·-:~.1~'.1 i!J!Jn~;, __ ~"lr: vv_iUl intclliqil-?ili!y ___ in ? ~:\11_\J q !)~-;J r_tt_<;_:J~-; ve:_:Jt_J_;JJ _cornrn _t_l n iq:_d i_Q 1 Jj ~--~ 
. ,,,,,,.,,,. ~~~'·'""·', qf _il n p;-:!il_-_1:'~<:_1 _phsnJqtq5JY, 

(c) Voice Impairment- An excess or significant deficiency in pitch, intensity, '""''l'""'''c, 
or quality resulting from pathological conditions or inappropriate use of the vocal 
mechanism;_Q[c 

(d) Fluency Impairment - Abnormal interruption in the flow of speech by 
''nniypic:,l c;:~ie or iliytlm>,;IIICIID.r repetitions or I•IHIPFlli'·'''orc: sound~!. syllablec:, 
\~l(l_r_cl ;'>_, _ __;:.!_n_rj_ _ph u·1_::J(;')_ t 1·1. S)_ 

!Jl_~:; l_q;;l rJ ljnq __ qnvirClrll1_l_(J _ _!_) L(lr- !'-lY--dVE1idaHl'.[~- nnd ul ruuuk~ 1-;.c;-I:J:.t-ViHH:;-.,-

Speech or Language deficiencies identified cannot be attributed to characteristics of second 
language acquisition, C()(JIIIIiv<> id"'''IICIIIIJ, and/or dialectic differences. 

('l-llj('l7) "Traumatic Brain Injury" means an acquired injury to the brain caused by an external 
physical force, resulting in total or partial functional disability or psychosocial impairment, or 
both, that adversely affects a child's educational performance. The term applies to open or 
closed head injuries resulting in impairments in one Ul_or more areas, such as cognition; 
language; memory; attention; reasoning; abstract thinking; judgment; problem-solving; 
sensory, perceptual, and motor abilities; psychosocial behavior; physical functions·, 
information processing; and speech. The term does not apply to brain injuries that are 
congenital or degenerative, or to brain injuries induced by birth trauma. 

Traumatic Brain Giwi'Eie!'-!Dl!!J:y_may include all of the following: 

fGt@l_An insult to the brain caused by an external force that may produce a diminished or 
altered state of consciousness; and 

{!'>}!QL The insult to the brain induces a partial or total functional disability and results in one ill 
or more of the following: 

1. Physical impairments such as, but not limited to: 

(i) Speech, vision, hearing, and other sensory impairments, 

(ii) Headaches, 

(iii) Fatigue, 

(iv) Lack of coordination, 

(v) Spasticity of muscles, 

(vi) Paralysis of one or both sides, 

(vii) Seizure disorder. 

2. Cognitive impairments such as, but not limited to: 

(i) Attention or concentration, 
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(ii) Ability to initiate, organize, or complete tasks, 

(iii) Ability to sequence, generalize, or plan, 

(iv) Flexibility in thinking, reasoning or problem solving, 

(v) Abstract thinking, 

(vi) Judgment or perception, 

(vii) Long-term or short term memory, including confabulation, 

(viii) Ability to acquire or retain new information, 

(ix) Ability to process information/processing speed. 

3. Psychosocial impairments such as, but not limited to: 

(i) Impaired ability to perceive, evaluate, or use social cues or context 
appropriately that affect peer or adult relationships, 

(ii) Impaired ability to cope with over-stimulation environments and low 
frustration tolerance, 

(iii) Mood swings or emotional lability, 

(iv) Impaired ability to establish or maintain self-esteem, 

(v) Lack of awareness of deficits affecting performance, 

(vi) Difficulties with emotional adjustment to injury (anxiety, depression, anger, 
withdrawal, egocentricity, or dependence), 

(vii) Impaired ability to demonstrate age-appropriate behavior, 

(viii) Difficulty in relating to others, 

(ix) Impaired self-control (verbal or physical aggression, impulsivity), 

(x) Inappropriate sexual behavior or disinhibition, 

(xi) Restlessness, limited motivation and initiation, 

(xii) Intensification of pre-existing maladaptive behaviors or disabilities. 

The term does not aj:lj:)iy-to-9rain injuries that are congenital or dogenerati-ve,-el'-to-9rail'f 
injuries induced by-loMtf1~r-aum& 

(-1-9-)(18) "Visual Impairment," including blindness, means impairment in vision that, even 
with correction, adversely affects a child's educational performance. The term includes both 
partial sight and blindness. 

Visual Impairment includes at least one ffiof the following: 

\fl1.(tl_ Visual acuity in the better eye or both eyes with best possible correction: 

1. Legal blindness- 20/200 or less at distance and/or near; 
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2. Low vision - 20/1~0-_/IJ or less at distance and/or near. 

fft!QL Visual field restriction with both eyes: 

1. Legal blindness- remaini~g visual field of 20 degrees or less; 

2. Low vision- remaining visual field of 60 degrees or less; 

3. Medical and educational documentation of progressive loss of vision, which may 
in the future affect the student's ability to learn visually. 

fst@l_Other Visual Impairment, not perceptual in nature, resulting from a medically 
documented condition(i.r.>., cnllic;;l vl::l_l<lllrl(l)illlll.l<clt_i)_. 

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 49-10-101 and 49-10-701. Administrative History: Original rule filed June 19, 
2001; effective September 2, 2001. Repeal and new rule filed November 30, 2007; effective February 13, 
2008. Amendment filed April 30, 2009; effective August 28, 2009. Amendment filed August 13, 201 0; 
effective January 29, 2011. 

0520-01-09-.03 CONSENT. 

If a parent revokes consent, the revocation must be in writing and the revocation is not effective until it is 
received by the JGcal education ageAcyLEA to which consent was granted. 

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 49-10-101 and 49-10-701. Administrative History: Original rule filed June 19, 
2001; effective September 2, 2001. Amendment filed August 30, 2004; effective December 29, 2004. 
Repeal and new rule filed November 30, 2007; effective February 13, 2008. 

0520-01-09-.04 PARENT. 

(1) A foster parent may act as a parent if the biological or adoptive parent's authority to make 
educational decisions on the child's behalf has been terminated under Tennessee law; and 

(2) The foster parent: 

(a) Has an ongoing relationship with the child for more than one (1) year induration; 

(b) Is willing to make the educational decisions required of parents under the law; and 

(c) Has no interest that would conflict with the interest of the child. 

Authority: T. C.A. §§ 49-10-101. 49-10-701 and 49-10-102 49 10 701. Administrative History: Original 
rule filed June 19, 2001; effective September 2, 2001. Repeal and new rule filed November 30, 2007; 
effective February 13, 
2008. 

0520-01-09-.05- FREE APPROPRIATE PUBLIC EDUCATION. 

(1) A free appropriate public education (FAPE) shall be available to all children with disabilities, 
ages three (3) through the school year the student turns twenty-two (22), including those 
children who have been suspended or expelled from school for more than ten (10) school 
days in a school year. To meet this obligation each local education agencyLEAshall: 

(a) Identify, locate, and evaluate all children with disabilities; 
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(b) Develop and implement child find activities to ensure that all children- including highly 
mobile children (migrant and homeless children) and those children who are suspected 
of being a child with a disability, even though they are advancing from grade to grade -
are identified, located and evaluated; and 

(c) Provide services that address 911 of a child's identified special education and related 
services needs, based on the child's unique needs and not on the child's disability. 

(2) Facilities. 

(a) Facilities that serve children with disabilities must be comparable to facilities that serve 
children without disabilities. 

(b) Educational programs and facilities must be accessible where children with physical 
disabilities and children without disabilities are both in attendance. 

(c) Entrance to and from the facility must be accessible. If access is not visible at the front 
of the facility, signs must be present to indicate where parking and access to the facility 
for children and other individuals with disabilities are available. 

(3) Transportation. Local education agencies shall provide children with disabilities with special 
transportation, where necessary. 

(a) Children with disabilities shall, whenever appropriate, be provided transportation along 
with children who are not disabled. Adaptations shall be made to meet the needs of 
children with disabilities rather than separate transportation whenever appropriate. 

(b) Travel time for children with disabilities shall not exceed the travel time for other children, 
provided that exceptions may be made on the recommendation of an IEP team. 

(c) Vehicles used to provide special transportation must meet the requirements established 
by the state board of education. 

(d) Operators and attendants of vehicles providing special transportation requirements 
established by the state board of education shall be given special training regarding the 
needs and special requirements of children with disabilities, except when parents are 
transporting children with disabilities. Special attendants shall be provided when an IEP 
team determines that such services are necessary. 

(e) It is permissible to contract for special transportation provided that the operators, 
attendants, and vehicles used by a contractor meet the requirements established by the 
state board of education, except when parents are transporting children with disabilities. 

(4) FAPE requirements for children with disabilities in adult prisons. 

(a) The following requirements do not apply to children with disabilities who are convicted 
as adults under state law and incarcerated in adult prisons: 

1. The requirements relating to participation of children with disabilities in general 
assessments, and 

2. The requirements relating to transition planning and transition services with 
respect to the students whose eligibility under IDEA Part B will end, because of 
their age, before they will be eligible to be released from prison based on 
consideration of their sentence and eligibility for early release. 

(b) Modifications of IEP or placement. 

169



1. If a child with disabilities is convicted as an adult under Tennessee law and 
incarcerated in an adult prison, the IEP team may modify the child's IEP or 
placement if the state has demonstrated a bona fide security or compelling 
penological interest that cannot otherwise be accommodated. 

2. The requirements of 34 c:F.R. § 300.320 relating to the definition of an IEP and 
the general requirements of 34 C.F.R. § 300.114 relating to least restrictive 
environment do not apply with respect to these modifications. 

(5) Charter schools. Charter schools must ensure compliance with the IDEA. 

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 49-10-101, 49-10-701, 49-13-105, and 49-13-126. Administrative History: 
Original rule filed June 19, 2001; effective September 2, 2001. Amendment filed August 30, 2004; 
effective December 29, 2004. Amendment filed March 1, 2005; effective July 29, 2005. Repeal and new 
rule filed November 30, 2007; effective February 13, 2008. 

0520-01-09-.06- CHILD FIND. 

(1) Each IBGal-Local education Education agency-Agency shall develop and implement procedures 
for creating public awareness of special education programs and services. This includes a 
comprehensive system of child find activities for all children suspected of having a disability in 
public and private schools and facilities and who are homeless. Any child find activities shall 
be comparable for children in private schools and facilities. 

(2) A notice must be published or announced in newspapers, other media, or both, with circulation 
adequate to notify parents of the activities conducted by the lGGal-education agencyLEA. 

(3) Any child suspected of having a disability may be referred to the local education agencyLEA. 
All referrals shall be in writing to the school principal or director of special education. The 
lGGal-eaccation agencyLEA shall establish written procedures for accepting, processing 
and documenting receipt of each referral. The procedures shall be approved by the state 
department of education. 

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 49-10-101, and 49-10-701. Administrative History: Original rule filed June 19, 
2001; effective September 2, 2001. Repeal and new rule filed November 30, 2007; effective February13, 
2008. 

0520-01-09-.07 PLACEMENTS. 

(1) A homebound placement is instruction provided at home, hospital or related site to children 
with disabilities who are eligible pursuant to IDEA and state regulations. Instruction provided 
to children with disabilities in homebound placements shall be provided by qualified personnel, 
pursuant to IDEA and state regulations. 

(2) Eligibility for Homebound Placements. 

(a) Eligibility for instruction as a child with a disability pursuant to IDEA and state regulations 
shall be established prior to implementation of homebound services. Children with 
medical conditions of a short duration or temporary nature, and not previously certified 
as eligible pursuant to IDEA and state regulations, shall not be eligible for homebound 
placements pursuant to this regulation, and special education funds shall not be used 
to fund homebound placements for such children. 

(b) The IEP team shall consider a medical homebound placement only upon certification by 
a licensed doctor of medicine or osteopathy that a child with a disability needs a 
homebound placement, is expected to be absent from school due to a physical or 
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mental condition for at least (1 0) consecutive school days and that the child can receive 
instruction in a homebound placement without endangering the health of personnel 
providing it. 

(3) Use of Homebound Placement. 

(a) All homebound placements shall be temporary. Homebound placements shall not 
exceed thirty (30) school days duration. The IEP shall contain a goal of returning the 
child to a less restrictive environment within the school year, unless there is a medical 
necessity that requires extended homebound instruction, in which case additional 
homebound placements of thirty (30) school days or less may be instituted. 

(b) An IEP containing a homebound placement shall be reviewed at intervals of thirty (30) 
school days by the child's IEP team to ensure appropriateness of the provision of 
instruction and appropriateness of continuing the homebound placement. 

(c) Where behavioral and/or disciplinary issues cannot be safely addressed in any other 
educational setting, the IEP team may consider a homebound placement. Such changes 
in placement may be instituted strictly on an emergency basis and for a temporary period 
of time not to exceed thirty (30) school days to determine how to best address the child's 
needs. The IEP team must document that a homebound placement is necessary, 
temporary and consistent with requirements for the provision of a free appropriate public 
education. 

(d) The frequency and duration of instruction necessary to provide a free appropriate public 
education (FAPE) during a homebound placement will be determined by the IEP team. 

(e) IDEA Part B funds may be expended only for instruction in homebound placements of 
children with disabilities who are eligible for special education pursuant to IDEA and 
state regulations. 

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 49-10-101 and 49-10-701. Administrative History: Original rule filed June 19, 
2001; effective September 2, 2001. Repeal and new rule filed November 30, 2007; effective February 13, 
2008. 

0520-01-09-.08- STATE ADVISORY PANEL. 

The state has established an advisory council on the education of children with disabilities for special 
education as provided by Tenn. Code Ann.§ 49-10-105. The Governor appoints advisory council members. 

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 49-10-105. Administrative History: Original rule filed June 19, 2001; effective 
September 2, 2001. Amendment filed August 30, 2004; effective December 29, 2004. Amendment- filed 
September 6, 2007; effective January 28, 2008. Repeal and new rule filed November 30, 2007;- effective 
February 13, 2008. 

0520-01-09-.09- LOCAL liiillUC/\TION AGENCYLEA ELIGIBILITY. 

(1) Each lGGal-Local Eeducation ajJeRBy-Agency (LEAl shall demonstrate to the satisfaction of the 
slate-State department Department of education Education that it does the following: 

(a) Identifies, locates, and evaluates all children who are suspected of having disabilities, 
including children attending non-public schools, regardless of the severity of their 
disabilities, and who may be in need of special education and related services. These 
services may be provided to children with disabilities under early transition agreements 
who are not yet three (3) years of age. If the child's birthday falls during the summer 
months, the IEP team will determine when special education services begin but no later 
than the beginning of the next school year. 
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(b) Makes available a free appropriate public education to all children with disabilities, ages 
three (3) through the school year in which they reach age twenty-two (22}, including 
children with disabilities who have been suspended or expelled for more than ten (10) 
school days in a school year. 

(c) Includes children with disabinties in state and district-wide assessments, with 
appropriate accommodations and modifications where necessary, or in alternate 
assessments. The type of assessment must be determined by the IEP team consistent 
with the state guidelines for participation of students with disabilities in state/district wide 
assessments. 

(d) Ensures that children with disabilities participating in early intervention programs shall 
experience a smooth and effective transition to preschool programs and, that by the 
third (3rd) birthday, an IEP has been developed and implemented for the child. The lGGal 
education agencyLEA shall participate in the transition planning meeting not less than 
ninety (90) days prior to the third (3rd} birthday of a child who may be a child with a 
disability. 

(e) Ensures that children with disabilities who are enrolled in private schools or facilities by 
the local education agencyLEA are provided special education and related services, 
in accordance with the IEP, at no cost to them or to their parents. 

(f) Ensures that children with disabilities who are enrolled in private schools by their 
parents have an opportunity for special education services and that the amount spent to 
provide those services is a proportionate amount of the federal funds made available to 
the district. No unilaterally placed private school child with a disability has an individual 
entitlement to receive some or all of the special education and related services that the 
child would receive if enrolled in a public school. 

(g) Establishes and has in effect policies, procedures, and programs that are consistent 
with 0520-01-09 for implementing the provision of special education and related 
services. Ensures compliance with applicable state and federal regulations including, 
but not limited to: 

1. Free appropriate public education; 

2. Child Find procedures; 

3. Evaluation/reevaluation and determination of eligibility procedures; 

4. IEP/IFSP procedures; 

5. Confidentiality procedures; 

6. Private school services procedures; 

7. Goals for performance of children with disabilities through school improvement 
planning; 

8. Inclusion of children with disabilities in state and district-wide assessment 
programs with appropriate accommodations and modifications and the reporting 
of assessment data; 

9. Interagency agreements to ensure FAPE for all children; 

10. Maintenance of effort. 
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(h) Supplements the prov1s1on of special education funds but does not commingle or 
supplant the provision of special education funding. 

(i) Al-1HHall.y-··flUGiiGi«E>SPul1licizes annual information regarding its special education 
programs and services and child find activities. 

U) Ensures that special education professionals and paraprofessionals are provided 
professional development collaboratively with general education personnel. 

(k) Ensures that school administrators have professional development, training and the 
resources to establish challenging expectations and provide access to the general 
education curriculum in the regular classroom to the maximum extent possible for all 
children including those eligible for special education. 

(I) Submits to the State Department of Education &tate department of educalioH-a 
comprehensive application annually on or before July 1 with program narratives and 
assurances for the provision of special education and related services including, but 
not limited to, the following: 

1. A census of children with disabilities showing the total number and distribution of 
children within its jurisdiction who are provided special transportation; 

2. An inventory of the personnel who provide instruction and other services to 
children with disabilities and a listing of facilities; 

3. A description of the extent to which state department of education standards 
governing special education services will be met including a goal of providing full 
educational opportunity to all children with disabilities; 

4. An assurance that IDEA funds will be used to supplement and not to supplant 
state and local funds and will be expended only for the excess cost of providing 
special education and related services to children with disabilities; 

5. An assurance that to the maximum extent appropriate, children with disabilities, 
including children in public and private facilities, are educated with children without 
disabilities. Special classes, separate schooling or other removal of children with 
disabilities from the general educational environment occurs only if the nature or 
severity of the disability is such that education in the general education classes 
with the use of supplementary aids and services cannot be achieved 
satisfactorily; 

6. An assurance that a continuum of alternative placements and related services are 
available to meet the needs of children with disabilities; 

7. A detailed budget and end of the year report of expenditures of all funds available 
to provide special education and related services is provided; and 

8. An assurance that a free appropriate public education is available to all children 
with disabilities from age three (3) through the school year in which the student 
reaches twenty-two (22) years of age, including children who have been 
suspended or expelled for more than ten (1 0) school days in a school year. 

(2) Specific funding requirements: 

(a) For the purpose of entitlement to academic program funds from the Basic Education 
Program (BEP), children with disabilities shall be counted in the same manner as 
children without disabilities. To supplement the academic program funds earned and 
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paid from the BEP, special education funds from the BEP shall be paid to local education 
agencies for the purpose of providing special education and related services to children 
with disabilities. 

(b) Special education funds from the BEP shall be allocated to each 1eGal--€lduoation 
agooo.yLEA in an amount to be.determined by applying the prescribed formula to the 
number of children with disabilities identified and served during the preceding school 
year. 

(c) The leGa+-eeucatiOA-a§B+!GYLEA complies with maintenance of effort if it budgets at least 
the same total or per-capita amount from the combination of state and local funds as 
the leoa1-etluoatien agencyLEA spent for that purpose from the prior year. The lecal 
effi~eHe-yLEA may reduce the level of expenditures below the level for the 
1m>ceedingpreceding_ year if the reduction is attributable to the following: 

1. The voluntary departure, by retirement or otherwise, or departure for just cause, 
of special education or related services personnel, who are replaced by qualified, 
lower salaried staff; 

2. A decrease in the enrollment of children with disabilities; 

3. The termination of the obligation of the agency, consistent with this part, to 
provide a program of special education to a particular child with a disability that is 
an exceptionally costly program, as determined by the state department of 
education, because the child: 

(i) Has left the jurisdiction of the a§B+!GYAqency; 

(ii) Has reached the age at which the obligation of the O§eFIGJLAqency to provide 
FAPE to the child has terminated; or 

(iii) No longer needs the program of special education. 

4. The termination of costly expenditures for long-term high cost purchases. 

(d) Each local eeucation agencyLEA shall establish appropriate policies and procedures for 
the administration of IDEA and preschool funds and shall maintain appropriate records 
and reports to be used in planning and evaluating special education programs and 
services. The State Department of Education division shall notify each local edu&atieR 
a§B+!GYLEA of its allocation of federal funds annually. 

(e) Two !..1...L_or more local education agencies may submit a consolidated annual 
comprehensive plan, with the approval of the State Department of EducationGAAsioo, 
under the conditions of federal law: 

1. Those participating in a consolidated plan will be jointly responsible for 
implementing a free appropriate public education program in the participating lecal 
eeucation ageRB-yLEA; and 

2. The consolidated plan must designate oneJJ.l of the local education agencies as 
the fiscal agent for the plan. 

(f) Local education agencies shall use IDEA funds for the excess costs of providing special 
education and related services to children with disabilities. IDEA funds received by the 
1o~LEA must not be commingled with state funds. 

(g) Local education agencies must maintain records that demonstrate compliance with the 
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excess cost, non-supplanting, and comparability requirements for at least three (3) 
years after completion of the project described in the application. 

(h) For children with disabilities unilaterally placed in private schools, the same 
proportionate amount that is spent on public school children with disabilities from IDEA 
and preschool grants is alloc.ated for the number of private school children with 
disabilities within the local educatiGn-ageAB)'LEA's jurisdiction. The preceding December 
1 census count is used in calculating private and public school ratios to determine the 
proportionate amount. 

(3) The curriculum adopted by the state-State bea14-Board of effilsatioR-Education shall serve as 
the basis for developing educational programs. Each local education agencyLEA must 
provide a variety of services, interventions and programs to meet the educational needs of all 
students including the needs of children with disabilities. 

(a) Alternative programs must be provided when appropriate educational goals cannot be 
met in the general education program. 

(b) School improvement plans must include a continuum of educational services, programs 
and interventions to address the educational needs of all students, including the needs 
of children with disabilities. 

(c) As a component of child find activities, general education programs within each IGGal 
educa~ion agencyLEA have specific responsibilities that include the following: 

1. Systematic screening of all children in specific grade levels residing within its 
jurisdiction; 

2. Reviewing the educational performance of children who are high risk; 

3. Providing interventions and documentation prior to referral for special education 
evaluation. These intervention strategies should be implemented in the general 
education program. 

(d) The State Department of Education state department oi-BducatiGR-shall make available 
to the public reports on assessments of all children with the same frequency and in the 
same detail as it reports on the assessment of children without disabilities to include: 

1. The number of children with disabilities participating in: 

(i) Regular assessments; and 

(ii) Alternate assessments. 

2. Reports to the public must include: 

(i) The performance results of children with disabilities if doing so would be 
statistically sound and would not result in the disclosure of performance 
results identifiable to individual children; 

(ii) Aggregated data that include the performance of children with disabilities 
together with all other children; and 

(iii) Disaggregated data on the performance of children with disabilities. 

(4) Each local education agenB)'LEA shall maintain an accurate record of all children with 
disabilities ages three (3) through the school year a student turns twenty-two (22) years of age 
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who are residing within its jurisdiction. The census shall be taken on December 1 of each year 
and at other times as required. 

(5) Local education agencies shall evaluate their special education programs and related services 
according to evaluative criteria issued by federal and state authorities. 

(6) Monitoring> 

(a) Local education agencies, state agencies and private schools shall be monitored on a 
periodic basis by the State Department of Education ffivisiGA--to determine the extent 
to which special education and related services are being implemented in the least 
restrictive environment and to assure compliance with applicable laws and regulations. 

(b) The state department of education shall provide technical assistance in self-evaluation, 
program planning and implementation of any necessary corrective action plans. 

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 49-10-101 and 49-10-701. Administrative History: Original rule filed June 19, 
2001; effective September 2, 2001. Amendment filed August 30, 2004; effective December 29, 2004. 
Repeal and new rule filed November 30, 2007; effective February 13, 2008. 

0520-01-09-.10- REPEALED. 

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 49-10-101 and 49-10-701. Administrative History: Original rule filed June 19, 
2001; effective September 2, 2001. Amendment filed August 30, 2004; effective December 29, 2004. 
Repeal and new rule filed November 30, 2007; effective February 13, 2008. Amendment filed August 13, 
2010 to be effective January 29, 2011; rule was withdrawn by the State Boarrl of Education on October 
15, 2010. Repeal filed August 29, 2013; effective January 29,2014. 

0520-01-09-.11- EVALUATION PROCEDURES. 

Guidelines and standards will be established for determining program eligibility criteria, evaluation 
procedures, and evaluation participants. Revisions to the eligibility criteria must be recommended by a 
task force within the disability category. Upon recommendations from the Advisory Council for the 
Education of Students with Disabilities, the assistant commissioner for special education will submit the 
standards to the State Board of Education for final review and approval. 

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 49-10-101 and 49-10-701. Administrative History: Original rule filed June 19, 
2001; effective September 2, 2001. Repeal and new rule filed November 30, 2007; effective February13, 
2008. 

0520-01-09-.12- DEFINITION OF INDIVIDUALIZED EDUCATION PROGRAM(IEP). 

Prior to the ninth (91hl grade or age fourteen (14) (or younger, if determined appropriate by the IEP 
team), all eligible students with a disability will develop an initial four (4)-year plan of focused and purposeful 
high school study. The plan will be reviewed annually and amended as necessary and will connect the 
student's goals for high school including, the courses and/or training and/or skills necessary to meet their 
potential after high school. This required plan will include identifying possible transition service needs of 
the student under the applicable components of the student's IEP. This plan may be developed through a 
process in general education but a copy must be in the ;;t~4cmffistudent's' IEP after approval by the IEP 
team. 

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 49-10-101 and 49-10-701. Administrative History: Original rule filed June 19, 
2001; effective September 2, 2001. Amendment filed August 30, 2004; effective December 29, 2004. 
Repeal and new rule filed November 30, 2007; effective February 13, 2008. Amendment filed October 23, 
2013; effective March 31,2014. 

0520-01-09-.13- WHEN IEPS MUST BE IN EFFECT. 
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The IEP must be implemented as soon as possible after completion. If agreement was not reached, no 
change in the child's IEP or eligibility status will be made for fourteen (14) days, in order to afford a parent 
time to request a due process hearing. 

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 49-10-101 and 49-10-701. Administrative History: Original rule filed June 19, 
2001; effective September 2, 2001. Repeal and new rule filed November 30, 2007; effective February 13, 
2008. 

0520-01-09-.14- REVIEW AND REVISION OF THE IEP. 

Upon written request of any member, the IEP team shall be convened within ten (10) school days to 
review or revise the IEP or consider the child's placement. 

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 49-10-101 and 49-10-701. Administrative History: Original rule filed June 19, 
2001; effective September 2, 2001. Amendments filed March 1, 2005; effective July 29, 2005. Repeal 
and new rule filed November 30, 2007; effective February 13, 2008. 

0520-01-09-.15- PARENT PARTICIPATION. 

The local educatiOB-agem;yLEA must notify the parents of a child with a disability at least ten (1 0) days 
before an IEP meeting to ensure that a parent will have an opportunity to attend. A meeting conducted 
pursuant to 34 C.F.R. §300.530(e) may be conducted on at least twenty-four (24) 1-lGidf"o-rmtieehours' notice 
to the parents. 

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 49-10-101 and 49-10-701. Administrative History: Original rule filed June 19, 
2001; effective September 2, 2001. Amendments filed March 1, 2005; effective July 29, 2005. ·--Repeal 
and new rule filed November 30, 2007; effective February 13, 2008. 

0520-01-09-.16- PRIOR NOTICE BY lOCAl EIJLJCATION !\GENG¥LEA. 

Written notice must be given to the parents of a child suspected to have a disability or a child with a 
disability at least ten (1 0) school days prior to a local education a§enGyLEA either proposing or refusing 
to initiate or change the identification, evaluation, or educational placement of the child or the provision 
of FAPE to the child. 

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 49-10-101 and 49-10-701. Administrative History: Original rule filed June 19, 
2001; effective September 2, 2001. Amendment filed March 1, 2005; effective July 29, 2005. Repeal and 
new rule filed November 30, 2007; effective February 13, 2008. 

0520-01-09-.17- MEDIATION. 

All special education mediations shall be conducted by mediators listed by the Alternative Dispute 
Resolution Commission as general civil or family mediators pursuant to Tennessee Supreme Court Rule 
31 and employed by or contracted by the secretary of state. The administrative office of the courts shall 
provide legal training in special education law to the mediators who conduct special education mediations. 
All parties shall participate in mediation in good faith. 

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 49-10-101 and 49-10-701. Administrative History: Original rule filed November 30, 
2007; effective February 13, 2008. 

0520-01-09-.18- IMPARTIAL DUE PROCESS HEARING. 

(1) Special education due process cases shall be heard by administrative law judges employed 
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by the secretary of state. Administrative law judges shall have jurisdiction to hear complaints 
arising under the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act, 20 U.S. C. §§ 1400, et seq., as 
from time to time amended, and Rules of the State Board of Education. The administrative 
office of the courts shall provide legal training in special education law to the administrative 
law judges assigned to hear special education due process cases sufficient to comport with the 
requirements of 20 U.S.C. § 1415, as from time to time amended. 

(2) When a hearing is requested, the director of schools shall immediately contact the Division of 
Special Education. 

(3) The local edYcatiOA-~LEA shall be responsible for providing an appropriate meeting 
place, a stenographic record of the hearing and a typed transcript of the hearing 
proceedings, and shall bear the administrative costs of the hearing, with the exception of 
the services of the hearing officer. 

(4) Expenses for the services of a court reporter, the original copy of the transcript for the hearing 
officer and one copy for the parents will be reimbursed upon submission of appropriate 
documentation to the Division of Special Education. 

Authority: T. C.A. §§ 49-10-101 and 49-10-701. Administrative History: Original rule filed November 30, 
2007; effective February 13, 2008. 

0520-01-09-.19- CIVIL ACTION. 

Any party aggrieved by the findings and decision of an impartial due process hearing has the right to bring 
a civil action with respect to the complaint presented. The action may be brought in any state court of 
competent jurisdiction in accordance with Tenn. Code Ann.§ 4-5-322 and Tenn. Code Ann.§ 49-10-601 
or in a district court of the United States without regard to the amount in controversy. 

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 49-10-101 and 49-10-701. Administrative History: Original rule filed November 30, 
2007; effective February 13, 2008. 

0520-01-09-.20- SURROGATE PARENTS. 

(1) Each leGal edYcation agencyLEA shall have written policies and procedures for the 
recruitment, training and appointment of surrogate parents. 

(2) Each local edYcatioo agencyLEA shall appoint a surrogate parent to represent the child in 
all matters relating to the identification, assessment, educational placement, and the provision 
of a free appropriate public education, including meetings concerning the individualized 
education program, and any mediation and due process hearings pertaining to the child_ when 
it determines that: 

(a) No parent can be identified; 

(b) It is unable to locate a biological parent or legal guardian by calls, visits and by sending 
a letter by certified mail (return receipt requested) to the last known address of the 
biological parent or the guardian and allowing thirty (30) days for a response of the 
intention to appoint a surrogate parent; 

(c) If the child is a ward of the State (including a ward of the court or a state agency); or 

(d) The educational rights of the parents or guardians regarding participation in the student's 
education have been terminated or transferred. 

(3) If the health or safety of the child or other persons would be endangered by delaying the 
change in placement, due to the unavailability of a surrogate, the change in the 
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e ducat ion a I pI ace men t may be made sooner, but without prejudice to any rights that 
the child and parent may have. 

(4) The surrogate parent shall continue to represent the child until one (1) of the following occurs: 

(a) The child is determined by the, IEP team no longer IE>-be eligible for, or in need of 
special education or related services, except when termination from such programs is 
being contested; 

(b) The fl81Bflparent or guardian!, who was previously unknown, or whose whereabouts 
were previously unknown, becomes known; 

(c) The legal guardianship of the child is transferred to a person who is able to fulfill the 
role of the parent; 

(d) The lecal ed~cation agencyLEA determines that the appointed surrogate parent no 
longer adequately represents the child; 

(e) The child attains eighteen (18) years of age. 

(5) Criteria for selection of surrogate parents. 

(a) A person selected as a surrogate parent may not be an employee of the state education 
agency, the local ed~cation ageHGyLEA, or any other agency that is involved in the 
education or care of the child. 

1. A person is not considered to be an employee of the local ed~cation 

agencyLEA solely because he or she is paid by the loGaJ..effiJGatiefl-ageRG-yLEA 
to serve as a surrogate parent. 

2. A person is not considered to be an employee of the State solely because he or 
she is paid by the State to serve as a foster parent. 

(b) A public agency may select a surrogate parent to represent the child for educational 
purposes. The selected person may be an employee of a nonpublic agency that only 
provides non-educational care for the child provided they are able to ffiBel-ti'lBmeet the 
standards and perform the responsibilities of a surrogate parent. 

(c) Foster parents, selected by a state agency as the custodian for a child, who have had a 
foster child_ or children with disabilities for less than one (1) calendar year, may be 
appointed by a lecal edYcation ageF!G)'LEA to serve as surrogate parents for their 
foster child or children and may represent the child for educational purposes, provided 
that they perform the responsibilities of a surrogate parent. Foster parents selected by 
a state agency as the custodian for a child, who have had a foster child or children 
with disabilities for one (1) calendar year or more may act as a parent for their foster child 
if they meet the definition of a parent. 

(6) Responsibilities of a surrogate parent. 

(a) A surrogate parent must have no interest that would conflict with the interests of the 
child to be represented; 

(b) A surrogate parent must have knowledge and skills that ensure adequate 
representation of the child, including a functional understanding of the educational rights 
of children with disabilities; 

(c) A surrogate parent must participate in whatever training program might be offered to 
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ensure that they will have knowledge and skills to provide adequate representation of 
the child; 

(d) A surrogate parent must represent the child throughout the special education decision 
making process of identification, evaluation, program development, initial placement, 
review of placement, and reevalyation, as appropriate; 

(e) A surrogate parent must be acquainted with the child and his or her educational needs; 

(f) A surrogate parent must attemptto ascertain the child's educational needs and concerns; 

(g) A surrogate parent must respect the confidentiality of all records and information; 

(h) A surrogate parent must become familiar with the assistance provided by other human 
service agencies in the community that affects the child or that might be helpful 
resources; and 

(i) A surrogate parent must monitor the child's educational program and placement. 

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 49-10-101 and 49-10-701. Administrative History: Original rule filed November 30, 
2007; effective February 13, 2008. 

0520-01-09-.21- TRANSFER OF PARENTAL RIGHTS AT AGE OF MAJORITY. 

The procedure for determining whether a child with a disability who has attained eighteen (18) years of 
age is competent to make educational decisions is provided at Tenn. Code Ann. §34-1-101 et seq. and 
§34-3-101 et seq. Unless the child has been adjudicated incompetent, all rights vest in the child when the 
child attains eighteen (18) years of age. 

Authority: T. C. A. §§ 49-10-101 and 49-10-701. Administrative History: Original rule filed- November 30, 
2007; effective February 13, 2008. 

0520-01-09-.22- AMENDMENT OF RECORDS AT PARENT'S REQUEST. 

The local education agoncyLEA, upon receiving a request from a parent pursuant to 34 C.F.R. §300.618, 
shall decide, within ten (10) school days of its receipt of the request, whether to amend the information 
as requested. 

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 49-10-101 and 49-10-701. Administrative History: Original rule filed- November 30, 
2007; effective February 13, 2008. 

0520-01-09-.23 ISOLATION AND RESTRAINT FOR STUDENTS RECEIVING SPECIAL EDUCATION 
SERVICES. 

(1) Definitions; 

(a) "Extended isolation" means isolation which lasts longer than one (1) minute per year of 
the student's age or isolation which lasts longer than the time provided in the child's 
individualized education program (IEP). 

(b) "Extended restraint" means a physical holding restraint lasting longer than five (5) 
minutes or !:!__physical holding restraint which lasts longer than the time provided in 
the child's IEP. 

(c) "Noxious substance" means a substance released in proximity to the student's face or 
sensitive area of the body for the purpose of limiting a student's freedom of movement 
or action, including but not limited to Mace and other defense sprays. 
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(2) Local education agencies are authorized to develop and implement training programs that 
include: 

(a) Use of positive behavioral interventions and supports; 

(b) Nonviolent crisis prevention and'de-escalation; 

(c) Safe administration of isolation and restraint; and 

(d) Documentation and reporting requirements. 

(3) Local education agencies are authorized to determine an appropriate level of training 
commensurate with the job descriptions and responsibilities of school personnel. 

(4) Local education agencies shall develop policies and procedures governing: 

(a) Personnel authorized to use isolation and restraint; 

(b) Training requirements; and 

(c) Incident reporting procedures. 

(5) Only the principal, or the principal's designee, may authorize the use of isolation or restraint. 

(6) When the use of restraint or isolation is proposed at an IEP meeting, parents/guardians shall 
be advised of the provisions ofT.C.A. § 49-10-1301, et seq., this rule and the IDEA procedural 
safeguards. 

(7) An IEP meeting convened pursuant to T.C.A. § 49-10-1304 may be conducted on at least 
twenty-four (24) lml!JCs-H&tiG<:ohours' notice to the parents/guardian/surrogate parent. 

(8) State agencies providing educational services within a residential therapeutic setting to 
children in their legal and physical custody shall develop and adhere to isolation and restraint 
policies in such educational settings which conform to the TDMHDD (Tennessee Department 
of Mental Health and Developmental Disabilities) state standards as applicable and at least 
one Ul._of the following national standards: ACA (American Correctional Association), GOA 
(Council on Accreditation), CMS (Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services), JCAHO (Joint 
Commission for Accreditation of Healthcare Organizations), CARF (Commission on 
Accreditation of Rehabilitation Facilities), as they apply in the educational environment. 
Development of, and adherence to, such policies shall be overseen by a licensed qualified 
physician or licensed doctoral level psychologist. 

(9) Reports. 

School personnel who must isolate or restrain a student shall report the incident to the school 
principal or the principal's designee. The Department of Education shall develop a report form" 
which shall be used by school personnel when reporting isolation or restraint to the school 
principal or the principal's designee. 

(a) The report form must include the following information: 

1. Student's name, age and disability; 

L_Student's school and grade level; 
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3. Date, time and location of the isolation or restraint; 

4. Length of time student was isolated or restrained; 

5. Names, job titles and signatures of the personnel who administered the isolation 
or restraint; 

6. Whether the personnel who administered the isolation or restraint were certified 
for completing a behavior intervention training program; 

7. Names and job titles of other personnel who observed or witnessed the isolation 
or restraint; 

8. Name of the principal or designee who was notified following the isolation or 
restraint and time of notification; 

9. Description of the antecedents that immediately preceded the use of isolation or 
restraint and the specific behavior being addressed; 

10. A certification that any space used for isolation is at least forty (40) square feet; 

11. A certification that school personnel are in continuous direct visual contact at all 
times with a student who is isolated; 

12. How the isolation or restraint ended, including the student's demeanor at the 
cessation of the isolation or restraint; 

13. Physical injury or death to the student, school personnel or both during the isolation 
or restraint; 

14. Medical care provided to the student, school personnel or both during the isolation 
or restraint; 

15. Description of property damage, if relevant; and 

16. Date, time and method of parent notification. 

(b) A copy of the report form must be provided to the lGGal-etl~oation agenoyLEA's director 
of special education who shall determine whether an Individualized Education Program 
(IEP) Team meeting must be convened pursuant to T.C.A. §49-10-1304. 

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 49-10-1306. Administrative History: Original rule filed October 20, 2009; effective 
January 18, 2010. Amendments filed March 21, 2012; effective August 29,2012. 
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* If a roll-call vote was necessary, the vote by the Agency on these rules was as follows: 

Board Member Aye No Abstain Absent Signature 
(if required) 

Chancey X 
Cook X 
Edwards X 
Ferguson X 

Hartgrove X 
Kim X 
Rolston X 
Tucker X 
Chancey X 
Cook X 

I certify that this is an accurate and complete copy of rulemaking hearing rules, lawfully promulgated and adopted 
by the Tennessee State Board of Education (board/commission/ other authority) on 05/24/2017 
(mm/dd/yyyy), and is in compliance with the provisions of T.C.A. § 4-5-222. 

I further certify the following: 

Notice of Rulemaking Hearing filed with the Department of State on: 08/09/2016 

Rulemaking Hearing(s) Conducted on: (add more dates). 0912312016 

Date: 07/31/2017 

Signature: 

Elizabeth '¥a lor Name of Officer: 

Title of Officer: General Counsel 

Subscribed and sworn to before me on: 

Notary Public Signature: 

My commission expires on: ------=3---El--·_.?.,-_L_ _________ _ 
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G.O.C. STAFF RULE ABSTRACT 

DEPARTMENT: 

DIVISION: 

SUBJECT: 

STATUTORY AUTHORITY: 

EFFECTIVE DATES: 

FISCAL IMPACT: 

STAFF RULE ABSTRACT: 

State Board of Education 

Leave for Teachers I Fiscal Accountability 
Standards I Approval of Textbooks 

Tennessee Code Annotated, Section 49-5-108 
provides "the state board of education is 
authorized, empowered and directed to set up rules 
and regulations governing the issuance of licenses 
for supervisors, principals and public school 
teachers." 

Tennessee Code Annotated, Section 49-1-210 
provides "[t]he commissioner shall recommend 
standards of fiscal accountability and soundness for 
local school systems to the state board of 
education, and the state board shall promulgate 
rules based on these standards to be used in 
evaluating the fiscal operations of local school 
systems." 

November 9, 2017 through June 30, 2018 

None 

The revisions to 0520-01-02-.04 remove the current 
reference to career ladder evaluator professional 
leave in the Leave for Teachers Rule. Tennessee 
repealed the Career Ladder program in 2013 and 
career ladder evaluators referenced in the rule are 
no longer utilized. As such, this reference is 
obsolete and recommended for repeal. Repeal of 
this portion of the rule will help ensure State Board 
rules and regulations are current and relevant for 
LEAs. 

The revisions to 0520-01-02-.13 remove an 
outdated provision on the Tennessee Education 
Network (TEN) in the Fiscal Accountability 

185



Standards rule. The department no longer utilizes 
TEN but instead manages student information 
using Education Information System (EIS). EIS 
manages enrollment, membership, and attendance 
but does not have a financial management 
application as outlined in the Fiscal Accountability 
Standards rule. As such, the specific provisions 
related to TEN are obsolete and recommended for 
repeal. Repeal of this portion of the rule will help 
ensure State Board rules and regulations are 
current and relevant for LEAs. 

0520-01-02-.15 is repealed as this rule is now 
covered by State Board rule 0520-05-01, Policies of 
the Tennessee State Textbook Commission. 
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Regulatory Flexibility Addendum 
Pursuant to T.C.A. §§ 4-5-401 through 4-5-404, prior to initiating the rule making process as described in T.C.A. 
§ 4-5-202(a)(3) and T.C.A. § 4-5-202(a), all agencies shall conduct a review of whether a proposed rule or rule 
affects small businesses. 

Not Applicable 
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Impact on Local Governments 

Pursuant to T.CA §§ 4-5-220 and 4-5-228 ":omy rule proposed lobe promulgated shall state in a simple 
declarative sentence, without additional comments on the merits of the policy of the rules or regulation, whether 
the rule or regulation may have a projected impact on local governments." (See Public Chapter Number 1070 
(http://state.tn.us/sos/acts/1 06/pub/pc1 070.pdf) of the 2010 Session of the General Assembly) 

These rules will have no impact on local governments. 
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Additional Information Required by Joint Government Operations Committee 

All agencies, upon filing a rule, must also submit the following pursuant to T.CA § 4-5-226(i)(1 ). 

(A) A brief summary of the rule and a description of all relevant changes in previous regulations effectuated by 
such rule; 

The revisions to 0520-01-02-.04 remove the current reference to career ladder evaluator professional leave in 
the Leave for Teachers Rule. Tennessee repealed the Career Ladder program in 2013 and career ladder 
evaluators referenced in the rule are no longer utilized. As such, this reference is obsolete and recommended 
for repeal. Repeal of this portion of the rule will help ensure State Board rules and regulations are current and 
relevant for LEAs. 

The revisions to 0520-01-02-.13 removes an outdated provision on the Tennessee Education Network (TEN) in 
the Fiscal Accountability Standards rule. The department no longer utilizes TEN but instead manages student 
information using Education Information System (EIS). EIS manages enrollment, membership, and attendance 
but does not have a financial management application as outlined in the Fiscal Accountability Standards rule. As 
such, the specific provisions related to TEN are obsolete and recommended for repeal. Repeal of this portion of 
the will help ensure State Board rules and regulations are current and relevant for LEAs. 

0520-01-02-.15 is repealed as this rule is now covered by State Board rule 0520-05-01, Policies of the 
Tennessee State Textbook Commission. 

(B) A citation to and brief description of any federal law or regulation or any state law or regulation mandating 
promulgation of such rule or establishing guidelines relevant thereto; 

T.CA § 49-5-108 provides "the state board of education is authorized, empowered and directed to set up 
rules and regulations governing the issuance of licenses for supervisors, principals and public school teachers." 

T.CA § 49-1-210 provies "[t]he commissioner shall recommend standards of fiscal accountability and 
soundness for local school systems to the state board of education, and the state board shall promulgate rules 
based on these standards to be used in evaluating the fiscal operations of local schools stems." 

(C) Identification of persons, organizations, corporations or governmental entities most directly affected by this 
rule, and whether those persons, organizations, corporations or governmental entities urge adoption or 
rejection of this rule; 

This rule is likely to affect educators and LEAs who have neither urged acceptance or rejection of this rule. The 
State Board urges acceptance of this rule. 

(D) Identification of any opinions of the attorney general and reporter or any judicial ruling that directly relates to 
the rule; 

NM = 
(E) An estimate of the probable increase or decrease in state and local government revenues and expenditures, 

if any, resulting from the promulgation of this rule, and assumptions and reasoning upon which the estimate 
is based. An agency shall not state that the fiscal impact is minimal if the fiscal impact is more than two 
percent (2%) of the agency's annual budget or five hundred thousand dollars ($500,000), whichever is less; 

I This rule will not impact state and local government revenues or-expenditures. 

(F) Identification of the appropriate agency representative or representatives, possessing substantial knowledge 
and understanding of the rule; 
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Elizabeth Taylor 
Elizabeth.Taylor@tn.gov 

Nathan James 
Nathan.James@tn.gov 

(G) Identification of the appropriate agency representative or representatives who will explain the rule at a 
scheduled meeting of the committees; 

--;-~-c;c-------·----·-·~-------------------------, 

Elizabeth Taylor 
Elizabeth. T aylor@tn .gov 

Nathan James 
Nathan.James@tn.g_(lv 

(H) Office address, telephone number, and email address of the agency representative or representatives who 
will explain the rule at a scheduled meeting of the committees; and 

Elizabeth Taylor 
1'1 Floor, Andrew Johnson Tower 
710 James Robertson Parkway 
Nashville, TN 37243 
(615)-253-5707 
Elizabeth. Taylor@tn.gov 

Nathan James 
Nathan.James@tn.gov 
1st Floor, Andrew Johnson Tower 
710 James Robertson Parkway 
Nashville, TN 37243 
(615)-532-3528 

(I) Any additional information relevant to the rule proposed for continuation that the committee requests. 

N/A 
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RULES 
OF 

THE TENNESSEE DEPARTMENT OF 
EDUCATION 

THE STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION 

CHAPTER 0520-01-02 
ADMINISTRATIVE RULES AND REGULATIONS 

0520-01-02-.04 LEAVE FOR TEACHERS. 

(1) The term "teacher" shall mean any person employed by a local board of education in a position 
which requires a license issued by the State Department of Education. The term "teacher" 
shall not apply to a substitute teacher. 

(2) Sick Leave. "Sick leave" shall mean leave of absence because of illness of a teacher from 
natural causes or accident, quarantine, or illness or death cif a member of thy immediate family 
of a teacher, including the teacher's wife or husband, parents, grandparents, children, 
grandchildren, brothers, sisters, mother-in-law, father-in-law, daughter-in-law, son-in-law, 
brother-in-law,law and sister-in-law-c-law. Upon written request of the teacher accompanied 
by a statement from her physician verifying pregnancy, any teacher who goes on maternity 
leave shall be allowed to use all or a portion of her accumulated sick leave for maternity leave 
purposes during the period of her physical disability only, as determined by a physician. 

(3) Personal and Professional Leave. A teacher may take two__(£) days of personal and 
professional leave per school year in accordance with policies of the local board of education. 

(4) Career Ladder--Evaluater-P.rolessional Leave. 

(a) Leave may-be--@ranteEI-By a local schogl-system-te-ceHiliGaleG-employees to comlt!cl 
evaltlalions-ifl.-tF!e-Careef.-hadder certilicati<lfl-pr-owss,-pHrsiJafl-l..le-Jaw. 

(£.) S ucl1-leave-sf1all-nel-be-censtrued-to-lorteit-any.-rights,benefits-or-cFBdits-earfled-tlflder 
tRe-Jecal-lleard-ef..education . 

(-o) Careef.-hadderevaluater-s-sflall be u nder-llle-supervisieA-Bf-lfle-CafBer-badder...QivfsioR, 
State Department ol EducatiorL-Nething in this rule shall be constr'1ed-te-mquire the 
State-DepartmeRt-ef.-EdHcalion-te-compensate--local-tJeafds-GI-educatigfl-lor-teacflers 
employed as E;ubstitutes fer-teachers on such Careef--LaGDer-evaluater-rmlessional 
leav&-

(5){LI)_Personallnjury Leave. 

(a) When a school system determines that a teacher's absence from assigned duties was 
required as a result of personal physical injuries caused by a physical assault or other 
violent criminal act committed against the teacher while on duty, the school system shall 
grant personal injury leave for those days of absence. 

(b) Each local school system shall develop policies and procedures for determining 
eligibility for and implementing personal injury leave consistent with these rules. The 
policies and procedures may include provisions such as time.ly notification of the incident 
and injuries sustained, a requirement that medical attention be sought immediately, 
submission of a doctor's statement verifying the nature, extent and duration of the 
disability, option by the school system of a third party opinion, and guidelines for a 
process to make periodic redeterminations of eligibility if the absence exceeds a given 
time frame. 
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ADMINISTRATIVE RULES AND REGULATIONS CHAPTER 0520-01-02 

(Rule 0520-01-02-.03, continued) 

(c) Nothing in Rule 0520-01-02-.04(1&) shall preclude a teacher at his or her option from 
directing that an absence which would otherwise qualify for personal injury leave under 
paragraph five-f.Q~I.(Ei1) be charged to accumulated sick leave or personal leave instead 
of personal injury leave. 

(6)L§)Substitute teachers are those persons employed to replace teachers on sick, professional, or 
personal leave or to fill temporary vacancies (this exists until a licensed teacher is available 
and employed). Substitutes are employed and paid in the following manner: 

(a) A person without a teacher's license or permit may serve as a substitute for the first 20 
consecutive days of absence of a regular teacher on approved leave. 

(b) After 20 consecutive days of approved leave, a person serving as the substitute must 
be licensed and hold the appropriate endorsement for the assignment or must be a 
retired teacher and have held the appropriate endorsement. 

(c) After the regular teacher's accumulated leave is exhausted, the replacement teacher 
must be licensed and hold the appropriate endorsement for the assignment or be a 
retired teacher and have held the appropriate endorsement and must be paid based on 
the replacement teacher's training and experience record in accordance with the state 
and local salary schedules. 

(-1).(§L The total accumulated sick leave shall mean the total number of sick leave days which have 
been earned but not yet used. A teacher in need of sick leave shall be allowed to use unearned 
sick leave up to the amount of days which such teacher rnay accumulate during the remainder 
of the current school year. 

(<l).(ZLEach local board of education shall participate in the state leave program. Local boards of 
education shall provide the required local contribution from public school funds for payment of 
substitute teachers. Teachers shall not pay any part of the state required local contribution. 

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 49-1-302; 49-3-312 and 49-5-701 et seq; Section 27 of Chapter 535 of the PublicActs 
of 1992. Administrative History: Original rule certified June 10, 1974. Amendment filed June 10, 1974; 
effective July 10, 1974. Amendment filed June 30, 1975; effective July 30, 1975. Amendment filed 
July 15, 1976; effective August 16, _1976. Amendment filed February 28, 1978; effective March 30, 1978. 
Amendment filed January 9, 1979; effective February 23, 1979. Amendment and new rule filed October15, 
1979; effective January 8, 1980. Amendment filed November 13, 1981; effective March 16, 1982. 
Amendment filed June 4, 1982; effective September 30, 1982. Amendment filed August 17, 1983; effective 
November 14, 1983. Amendment filed August 20, 1984; effective November 13, 1984. Amendment filed 
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RULES 
OF 

THE TENNESSEE DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION 
THE STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION 

CHAPTER 0520-01-02 ADMINISTRATIVE RULES AND REGULATIONS 

0520-01-02-.13 FISCAL ACCOUNTABILITY STANDARDS. 

(1) Data Collection 

(a) The Commissioner of Education shall prescribe a system of school fiscal accounting for all 
school systems which ensures that the expenditure of funds is properly accounted for and 
safeguarded in accordance with current law and State Board of Education rules, 
regulations, and minimum standards. The Commissioner shall require such reports from 
school systems as are required by federal or state law, State Board of Education rules, or 
as are otherwise necessary for ensuring fiscal accountability standards. 

(b) To ensure proper financial reporting of revenue and expenditures for all public school 
purposes, the system of school fiscal accounting shall include a standard chart of accounts 
and audit procedures. The standard chart of accounts shall be the basis for the Annual 
Public School Budget Document, which shall contain the account codes necessary to 
ensure the capability for meaningful comparisons of school systems.- At a minimum, the 
Budget Document shall include separate account codes for all classroom and non­
classroom components of the Basic Education Program (BEP), or for accounts which may 
be compiled into BEP components, and sufficient revenue account codes to differentiate 
between federal, state and local revenue. 

(c) The report of actual expenditures shall be the Annual Public School Financial Report and 
shall include sufficient information to allow a system by system comparison of budgeted 
and actual expenditures for BEP funding within the classroom and non-classroom areas. 
The Financial Report shall, at a minimum, contain account codes identifiable as BEP 
program components, or accounts which may be compiled into BEP components, and shall 
differentiate between federal, state and local revenue when reporting actual revenue for 
the prior year and estimated revenue for budget purposes. 

fGt----Wflen-implemented, the student managemefll--iHfGrmati~FI--Gf--the 
+eHnessee--Educati ·Ge-<>Gnsistent- and accurate student 
informatiGn-refjuirB<i-fer-the distribution of funds and fef-8\/aluating-tfle-effectiveness of tlie 
BEP and othef-ilfD!Jfam-elJjeGtives. Among other items, the TEN-student managemem 
system shall provide net-emollment, membership, and atlendano~Fa<leand program. 
The TEN shall also repeft-tihe-§Fade-anG-jJFDgram of each studeffi-ifl-state-oustGE!y and the 
duration of such custo<:}y7 

fet-- ··-The financial management application-Gf-the--TEN-Bhall provide consistent an<i-accurate 
financial-information maintained in accGrdancewith-the-Gf1art of accounts devefeped-Gy-#le 
Oepartment-ef-EGuc:ation. The TEN shall also provide-the-financial information requirecl-fgr 
the-.State-Beard-01-EGucation to set policies for the-fair-<md-equitatJie distribution and-use 
ofpublis-fUf\Gs-aRG-to monitor the distribution and-expenditure-of those funds. 

(f) The~TEN-shall--proviEle sufficient financial Elata to ascertain-that all e)(penditures of 
&Gucation---funds-are-prepe~ffiaflce-withcurrent-law-and >;tate Boarfl 
of.-€GidoatiGn-rules,-regulatiGfl&,-and minimum standards, and to make-cElffiparisons on a 
scf\ool-ancl-system-l:>asis-

(gg) The Department of Education shall establish procedures for collecting and verifying 
average daily memberships for use in determining BEP.-allocations. entftlements, ... T-flese 
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ADMINISTRATIVE RULES AND REGULATIONS CHAPTER 0520-01-02 

(Rule 0520-01-02-.03, continued) 

fJFGGedures-will-pmvi9e-lo~eUeGt~fl9 the lirst thFee months' aveffige-daily 
membe~GSeS-oklevel~l-thB-gtateBeaffi-01-~lion Annual Funcling 
Neecls Report an9 tJuclget inlormation-fer--the-Departmenl-ei-Finanooan9 /\9ministration, 
the General Assembly, anclschool--~ystem-so 

(2) Reports & Documents 

(a) Within thirty (30) days of the beginning of each school year, each school system shall 
submit to the Commissioner of Education, on a form provided by the Department of 
Education, a complete and certified copy of its entire school budget for the current year. 

(b) On or before August 1 of each year, each school system shall submit to the Commissioner 
a correct and accurate financial report of public school revenues and expenditures lor the 
school year ending on June 30.- The Commissioner of Education shall require such reports 
and maintain such documents as will allow a comparison of BEP allocations with actual 
expenditures for each school system. 

(c) The Commissioner shall provide to the State Board of Education on or before October 1 of 
each year a report of ADM for each school system for the previous school year. 

(d) The Department of Education shall prepare and the State Board of Education shall approve 
estimated BEP allocations for each school system no less than 90 days prior to the 
beginning of the fiscal year. 

(e) Modifications, revisions, or corrections to estimated BEP payments to LEAs will be made 
by the Department of Education and approved by the State Board of Education. 

(3) Review and Verification 

(a) The budget submitted by each school system will be reviewed by the Department of 
Education to ensure that state funds are not being used to supplant local funds and that 
each school system has appropriated funds sufficient to fund its local share of the BEP. 

(b) Revenue derived from local sources must equal or exceed prior year actual revenues -
excluding capital outlay and debt service, and adjusted for decline in average daily 
membership (ADM). 

(c) The Department of Education shall verify that BEP funds are being budgeted for eligible 
expenses and that BEP funds earned in the classroom components, as defined by the State 
Board of Education, are budgeted for use in the classroom.- The Commissioner shall advise 
the State Board of Education of all systems which fail to meet these minimum standards. 

(d) Each school system shall provide to the Commissioner of Education or a designated 
representative copies of all school system related audit reports, including those made by 
governmental or independent public accountants. 

(e) The Department of Education shall conduct review and follow-up procedures to ensure that 
audit exceptions are evaluated and appropriate actions are taken. The Commissioner shall 
notify the State Board of Education of any material and significant findings which reflect on 
the ability of the LEA to provide a quality education or which indicate that progress toward 
satisfactory resolution is not being made. 

(4) Audit 

(a) An Internal Audit Section will be maintained in the Department of Education for the purpose 
of testing and evaluating school system administrative and accounting controls, 
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ADMINISTRATIVE RULES AND REGULATIONS CHAPTER 0520-01-02 

(Rule OS20-01-02-.03, continued) 

compliance, and financial and program accountability for state and federally funded 
programs, and for compliance with State Board of Education rules, regulations, and 
minimum standardS.·· The Internal Audit Section shall make such full and limited scope 
audits as it deems necessary under the circumstances, and special audits as requested by 
responsible government officials:' The audits will be performed in accordance with 
standards for the professional practice of internal auditing and with generally accepted 
governmental auditing standards. 

(b) To provide reasonable assurance that attendance and financial reports are reliable and 
accurate, the Internal Audit Section shall conduct audit procedures for the review and 
testing of the attendance accounting system .. The Internal Audit Section shall review such 
programs as necessary to provide reasonable assurance that funds are properly accounted 
for and safeguarded in accordance with current law, applicable federal standards, and State 
Board of Education rules, regulations, and minimum standards.- Audits shall include 
evaluating program objectives, grant performance and accountability to determine that 
each LEA has a system in place to ensure compliance with program regulations and 
guidelines. 

(c) The Commissioner of Education shall be advised of all audits, including a summary of the 
scope of the audit, the findings, recommendations, management comments, and 
conclusions including a determination as to the adequacy of corrective action planned or 
implemented. The State Board of Education, Superintendent, and representatives of the 
Comptroller's Office shall be provided copies of all audits conducted. 

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 49-1-201; 49-1-210 and 49-1-302. Administrative History: Original rule filed 
November 3, 1993; effective March 30, 1994. Amendment filed June 30, 1995; effective October 27, 1995. 
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RULES 
OF 

THE TENNESSEE DEPARTMENT OF 
EDUCATION THE STATE BOARD OF 

EDUCATION 

CHAPTER 0520-01-02 
ADMINISTRATIVE RULES AND REGULATIONS 

052.fl--0-'t-02-.15----AP-P-RQ-V AL--OF--T~X+BGQ-KS~ 

Af-!eF--Jaffila~§,no-··newly---a€la-p-!e4---be~;~f14---j3FiA-t---te-x-tbook---shaii-----OO---af:l'lFeV-e4---b-y-the .. .state-Boafd--ef 
EGtJGa-t-ien--ld-flless-the-r'HffilisRer Ras GernmitteGI in-writing----te----furnisR te !Re----£-ta-~.Oepar-tment ef EGI~o~Gatien, tRe 
AffieRGan-Rrinting--Ple~;J-Se fer IRe Blin8, OF-a---n-alional-repesitory," i!RiA €lG--day-s-of-reeeipt ef a F8EitJest, ele-Gtfen-iG 
romp~o~ter-te-xt-files- from-whkR-apJ3UGable-Braille--versions- of--the -tel>ltBeokc-m-ay--be -produ0ed, ... 

{!1Jtl1erity: TC.f'. §§-49--1-JQ2(~ aFJ9 49 S 22Q2fs). 11 riminis/rafi•'e '=lisle')': OFif}iRal-rufe-filed--Ja~ 
:t-fJ9fY,--e#ee#-ve--May---:#--,-95,---AmendmeRI:-filetl----AHfJIJSl----+-,1--9-95,'--effeG#ve-f)eBem9ef---29-,----+995: 

----··----·------ .. '"·-------~---~-~~~----·--- --

" · · Formatted; Justified l: --~-""""""-·------~"~-"""- "" 

Formatted; Justified 
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• If a roll-call vote was necessary, the vote by the Agency on these rules was as follows: 

Board Member Aye No Abstain Absent Signature 
(if required) 

Chancey X 
Cook X . 
Edwards X .. 

---· 
Ferguson X -
Hartgrove X ---
Johnson X 
Kim X --·--·· 
Rolston X 
Tucker X 

··--·-~--

Troutt X ·--

I certify that this is an accurate and complete copy of proposed rules, lawfully promulgated and adopted 
by the Tennessee State Board of Education (board/commission/other authority) on 01/27/2017 
(date as mmldd!yyyy), and is in compliance with the provisions of T.CA § 4-5-222. The Secretary of 
State is hereby instructed that, in the absence of a petition for proposed rules being filed under the 
conditions set out herein and in the locations described, he is to treat the proposed rules as being placed 
on file in his office as rules at the expiration of sixty (60) days of the first day of the month subsequent to 
the filing of the proposed rule with the Secretary of State. 

Title of Officer: General Counsel 

Subscribed and sworn to before me on: 

Notary Public Signature: 

My commission expires on: 
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State Board of Education Rules 
Chapter 0520-01-02- Administrative Rules and Regulation 
Rules 0520-01-02-.04, .13, .15 

All proposed rules provided for herein have been examined by the Attorney General and Reporter of the 
State of Tennessee and are approved as to legality pursuant to the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedures Act, Tennessee Code Annotated, Title 4, Chapter 5. 

I I Date 

Department of State Use Only 

Filed with the Department of State on: ------'"i>u/.Lil'-'/._1 'l_,_ _____ _ 

Effective on II{"' In 
-----Tjt,~QAd-'---::-~---

~ Tre Hargett 
Secretary of State 

.(j._1 

·.-,~ .. 1 

:.:_1 
~--.--~ 

199


	1. Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners - p. 1
	2. Commerce and Insurance - p. 15
	3. Board of Equalization - p. 27
	4. Alcoholic Beverage Commission - p. 40
	5. Finance and Administration - p. 55
	6. Children's Services - p. 62
	7. Health - p. 74
	8. State Board of Education - p. 127
	9. State Board of Education - p. 148
	10. State Board of Education - p. 185



